Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Cavanaugh's

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (23)
Waterfront (22)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Scenic View (17)
Business Meals (14)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Bar Seating (12)
Live Music (12)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Casual (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort by
S
370 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful restaurant! Highly recommend and would go again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Couldn't have asked for a better experience! Staff was wonderful. Food was amazing. The whole atmosphere was great! We were in from out of town and would definitely go back if we are in the area again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Overall good experience! Food was good & made reservations so no wait time to be seated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Our first time visit did not disappoint. Will keep it on the special occasion, date night rotation!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Staff was friendly and on the spot. They start with awesome warm bread with roast garlic on the side. Everything was outstanding . We had, vodka tonics, lobster bisque, stuffed mushrooms, the Neptune, filet, agratin potatoes, carrot cake, and coffee. I would recommend all of them. The shrimp were cooked perfect as was the steak. The portions are large so along with the view it is well worth the money. But do bring a fat wallet excellence doesn't come cheap.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 6, 2017

IT was great! The carrot cake was the best that we had ever had...all seven layers! One of the best meals I ever remember having. It was phenomenal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Picked the restaurant due to reviews. Excellent dry aged steak, and the lobster mac & cheese was tremendous. Wife had the spinach salad & lobster bisque, and ate every bite!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great steaks, however the shrimp was well over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was just okay. Our server was sweet, but inexperienced. The sparkling wine was served entirely too warm. Our special occasion (birthday) was not acknowledged even though it was mentioned in the comments on Open Table and through a phone call. For the price it was not the best experience. It's a lovely location though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Wedding anniversary

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent service. Nice river view. Good wine list. Steaks were great.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

THE WORST DNING EXPERIENCE WE HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED! To summarize the experience, I will say that he food was awful ( used a microwave to reheat my Shrimp and Scallops Scampi) and the service was beyond lacking. More detailed information: We arrived at our reserved time. The hostess was nowhere to be found. We waited abut 10 minutes and she finally appeared. She was not organized, didn't seem to know what she was doing, and didn't reserve a booth for us as requested. The bread and water were served promptly. After that we didn't see our waiter for several minutes. He finally arrived to take drink orders. We waited another 10 minutes on our drinks. The bartender was not busy as there were only 5 people in the bar area. Drinks were just okay. They used the cheap Triple sec rather than Cointreau. We ordered crab cakes. They were not pan seared. They were mushy with some strange sauce on the bottom. We asked for the 2 sauces that are listed on the menu. We received watered down tarter sauce and thousand island dressing. Drink glasses were now empty and our waiter did not ask if we would like something to drink, refill our water glasses, or remove the dirty dishes. The waiter told us that the special was Swordfish. When I asked how it was prepared, he was clueless. I had to ask for a glass of wine with my dinner and even though my husband's glasses were empty the waiter did not ask my husband if he would like something to drink. Empty water glasses not refilled. The Shrimp and ScallopScampi was served with 3 medium (not jumbo) shrimp ,and 3 scallops with approximately 1 cup of cooked linguini in a sauce that had the consistency of water. I complained, meal was returned to the kitchen, served again 5 minutes later after having removed some of the sauce and then MICROWAVED the dish. The shrimp and scallops were not fit to eat. My husband ordered the 8oz Prime Filet which was served rare (not what he had requested). The Au gratin potatoes were also not fit to eat.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was not our first time dining at Cavanaugh's. This is our favorite place to come for special occasions. The wait staff is excellent and the food is out of this world!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our evening was great, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and it was a Tuesday evening there were not a lot of people there. The food was excellent, service was outstanding and our view at our table was perfect. I would highly recommend Cavanaugh's for dining.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

We go there for special occasions the food and service is excellent That's the reason we pay a little more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Used to be good. Food quality was very poor (especially prime rib). Side portions were tiny (especially spinach). Very disappointed.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great service. Great food. Elegant atmosphere. Will visit again.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We had not been to this restaurant in a long time. They had really good food, friendly staff and the view was really nice.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Wedge salad could use some work steak was good, sides were ok, also was ask to move from our seats to accomadate others. Overall was an ok place.

Tags: Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Better than I expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 22, 2017

This was my 2nd visit, here to check the status of the new casino. The first time I ate here it was amazing but this time no so much. Service took FOREVER and there were only 10-12 tables seated. Ordered prime rib med rare and it was not very good, 40% gristle and fat. My friends had some steak shrimp combo and the sauce on top was crusted and looked like it had been sitting under a heat lamp for a while.(probably due to the slow service.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Outstanding! Better than expected! Joann is the best!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Great steaks! Always get really good service. Side dishes are large enough to be shared.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fun, Romantic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Cozy
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 17, 2017

I have always had very good food and service at this restaurant. Great for business dinners.
Restaurant manager, Giray, is very friendly and attentive. I highly recommend this restaurant. You may find it a little bit pricy, but you get what you pay for!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Music
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 17, 2017

PRICEY, but great for the rare occasional special dinner! Got a complimentary dessert OF OUR CHOICE, as well as a congratulatory card signed by the entire staff as we were celebrating our Daughter going off to College... Made the evening that much more special! I had requested a table with a view, and it did not disappoint!

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I just about order the same thing every time: shrimp cocktail, lobster bisque, NY strip steak with jumbo lump of crab and asparagus. The service was great, and all the food was cooked to perfection. My only complaint is that compared to last time, the shrimp on the jumbo shrimp cocktail weren't very big, no where near as big as the last time we ate here on 7/29, and they were not spiced as they were on the previous trip either. They weren't bad, just not as big and as crisp as they usually are. They could have got the wrong shrimp in their shipment for that day, who knows, but I've ate here 30 times or more and never saw them that little. It was to be noted, but to express how it affected the whole dinner; it really didn't, I would still give it all 5 stars.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2017

I had to sea bass which was undercooked both times

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Great dinner and fantastic service!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Nice greeting and fast seating at our favourite window overlooking the river, fast and attentive serving by server Collin, nice fried crabcakes to start followed by wedge salad. Wife had great Scottish salmon and I had special of the day seafood. Both has enormous baked to perfection potatoes and shared a side of mushrooms. Nice cabernet wine throughout. No room for dessert. We will return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Live Music, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Excellent food & service, great atmosphere & view of the river & river front. Save room for Dessert! I definitely recommend Cavanaughs!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2017

Wonderful, as always!!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Was wonderful as usual!! Service was excellent!! Desserts are to die for!!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Very thoughtful staff. Great tasting food and decent portions. I'd like more chicken options.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Bar Seating, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 26, 2017

Everything about our dinner was spot on. The Alaskan King crab was cooked perfectly, the Calamari again was perfect, as was the dessert. The service was as if we were the only people there. Can't say enough about the service and quality of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 24, 2017

I was very disappoint that they did not have ribeye steaks or porterhouse steaks available. The waiter, Collins was very good, overall the dining experience was good.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was good but it was slow coming out of the kitchen. Waiter was attentive. The vegetable side are big enough to serve 2 or more.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I LOVE CAVANAUGHS!! MY LATE HUSBAND AND I WENT THERE EVERY CHANCE WE GOT. NOW I BRING MY CHILDREN AND ADULT GRANDCHILDREN AS OFTEN AS THEY ASK! THE FOOD AND SERVICE IS ALWAYS TOP NOTCH PERIOD!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

An excellent wine list, waiter was well trained, gormet food from around the world. Rather adult atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our lobster and king crab legs were cooked to perfection, as well as the filets that were ordered by the parties in our group. Other dishes ordered were the chicken & biscuit, ahi tuna,shrimp cocktail appetizers and the scalloped potatoes & creamed spinach sides. The only thing that was not well liked was the chicken & biscuit appetizer. Everything else was a hit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was wonderful! Food was delicious and came out in a timely fashion! Very clean and good views!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.