About Cavanaugh's

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cavanaugh's, Evansville, IN
Cavanaugh's, Evansville, IN

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (22)
Special Occasion (21)
Scenic View (16)
See All
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Waterfront (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Business Meals (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Private Room (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Live Music (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Casual (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sort By:
S
224 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best filet and lobster I've had in the p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Best filet and lobster I've had in the past 20 years. Lobster was absolutely perfectly cooked.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Private Room, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We thought the menu was a bit pricey for ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

We thought the menu was a bit pricey for the ambiance. The peanut brittle salad was the high point of the dinner and was excellent. My friends steak was overcooked and my lamb chops were a little tough but flavorful. At over $120 for a dinner for two was a bit high for this restaurant experience. I also thought it was not intimate enough of a setting. I was also disappointed that for a restaurant Irish name they did not have Guiness on tap. I think you get much more for your buck at Biaggis and doubt that we will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Atmosphere was very nice and yet laid ba ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Atmosphere was very nice and yet laid back. Service was excellence.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The drinks were good, and my wife's food ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The drinks were good, and my wife's food was delicious. The meat was tender and the shrimp tasty. On the other hand, the opah was overcooked. We have been here before and it seemed like the ambience was lacking this time. Maybe it was because the window next to the table faced a street light outside instead of the river as we had requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was okay but for the price I expect ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was okay but for the price I expected better. And wi e list was limited and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We brought my family out to eat and enjo ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We brought my family out to eat and enjoyed dinner before my youngest daughter went back to college. She loves Cavanaughs. A great experience.

Tags: Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed themselves and the meal ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everyone enjoyed themselves and the meals and service were very good.

However, personally, I was a bit disappointed that we were placed near the entry, which is near the bar, which was near the musician, which precluded those sitting at that end of the long rectangular table from being able to hear conversations even from those near by. Although the music was good, the musicians break was welcomed.

Next time we will ask to be seated in the lower river view section or in a separate room. For this size party (12) I'd have hoped for better seating.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Seated in a very high traffic area. Was ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Seated in a very high traffic area. Was impossible to talk. Water glass was not refilled for 40 minutes even though all of the staff walked by every 3 minutes. Amazing lack of attention. Steak was very good but not great at $42.00 for an 8 oz fillet.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

What a shame such a beautiful setting on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

What a shame such a beautiful setting on the sun setting Ohio river is upstaged by the overwhelming smell of smoke, loud piano carrying over from the bar, and mediocre food preparation. For the prices one should expect a perfect meal. My wife's freshly flown in halibut was over cooked and place atop precooked vegetables that had no flavor. It was sent back and a nicely cooked filet of beef was quickly brought with limp Parmesan fries. Our waiter handled everything very well. We found out the chef wasn't there ( on a Saturday night) to oversee the kitchen staff. I try this place about every 5 years hoping it will improve; however, it's clear the vision for this restaurant seems to be only as a reward dinner for the casino patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Overall very good. Handicap access could ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall very good. Handicap access could be better. Could not use my walker, had to leave it on upper level of dining room. The table was not set up with the flowers I had ordered for my wife. This was the first time this happened since we started dining there, but the room was very busy when we arrived, but still a good experience. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As good as it usually gets in towns the ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

As good as it usually gets in towns the size of Evansville. Tempting to not knock the place, given it is pretty good food and a pretty good menu, for a place that I'd guess struggles for business in a small town. Not uncommon for a small town higher end restaurant, the staff is not greatly experienced at higher end service. So, friendly, tries hard, but timing and other serving and etiquette cues are off. Combine that with the fact that half the clientele are also not too experienced at how to dine in such a place (dress, loud talking, use of cell phones, etc.) and you get an experience that is not up to what the kitchen produces. Grateful it was there, however. Reminds me of what they say about bumblebees: it isn't that it doesn't fly well, it's that it flies at all which amazes the scientists.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The restaurant was a quick pick for a bu ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The restaurant was a quick pick for a business meal and I would highly recommend going to anyone. The bar was a bit loud but the dining room was just right. Food was amazing and I would like to suggest trying the steaks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Menu presentation idea was very cool and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Menu presentation idea was very cool and innovative.

Food and service were very good.

We all enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUR WAITER WAS EXCELLENT AND IT WAS ALL ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2016

OUR WAITER WAS EXCELLENT AND IT WAS ALL AND ALL A VERY ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood and steak. Service was exc ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great seafood and steak. Service was exceptional. Perfect cocktails. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Had a very enjoyable experience. Service ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a very enjoyable experience. Service was excellent

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a reservation and were seated prompt ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a reservation and were seated promptly... very busy... nice ambiance and view of the Ohio River... slightly understaffed as it took a awhile for food to arrive... dinner was good... fair price and we will dine here again...

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Waitress was very nice but my steak was ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Waitress was very nice but my steak was overcooked. After sending it back, it came back extremely chewy. It was a filet and it chewed like jerky. No offer to get anything else or to comp the steak. Still had to pay $55 just to go eat somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Terrific food and service. Love the pian ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Terrific food and service. Love the piano bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and good food

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great service and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great and the entire party enjo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was great and the entire party enjoyed their menu selections. Our waiter Mike was terrific!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are so glad we decided to spend our a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are so glad we decided to spend our anniversary dinner at Cavanaugh's. They made the dining experience a very special time. Food, Service, Atmosphere were all excellent !! We could not have been more pleased with our experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, and great Hos ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, great service, and great Hostess!!! Worth a drive if you are close.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good, but waitress was trai ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was good, but waitress was training and we had down time waiting for service. Otherwise, the experience was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great. Service was great. Music ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was great. Service was great. Music was great. We enjoyed our evening. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and exceptional service a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great and exceptional service as usual! This is our favorite spot when we want a good steak and cocktails

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. Good choi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Good choices of steaks and Seafood. Enjoyed the oysters on 1/2 shell special. Good value. Wonderful location on the river. Live music was super, my husband and I danced one dance on the way out to see the Dolly Parton Concert. Great evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very average food and our food took a lo ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very average food and our food took a long time to get. Server was nice, but slow for top end of price spectrum in the area. Place has a nice feel and appeal, good views, etc. but I really expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My boyfriend randomly reserved our dinne ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 10, 2016

My boyfriend randomly reserved our dinner reservation to this restaurant. I LOVED it. The alligator tail is amazing, their chef is from Louisiana and he exactly how to season perfectly. Our server was such a nice gentleman, he did everything in his will to make our night special (even if we were a little late from our reservation)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and our server, ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was outstanding and our server, Sergey, was the best.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of our food was very good , the sal ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Most of our food was very good , the salmon dish would have been perfect if not for the slightly dry salmon. A scallop and shrimp dish came out with very little pasta and three shrimp still had there skins on. Steaks were amazing! Our waiter was a little on the snooty side. Maybe he was having a bad night. We still had a great time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Really enjoyed the 6oz filet and calama ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really enjoyed the 6oz filet and calamari. View was magnificent . SERVICE WAS GREAT! Very good experience. Highly recomend giving it a try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cavanaugh's is a great place to go for a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cavanaugh's is a great place to go for a special night out. The staff has always been very friendly, accommodating and always there to make your evening a great one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in the bistro area for ou ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were seated in the bistro area for our dinner. It was quite loud from the piano player. I think many people would expect the music to be more in the background in such an upscale restaurant. The food and service was outstanding as always. Server was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had the lamb chops, they were tender and ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had the lamb chops, they were tender and the flavor was good. My client had the scallops, he said they were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We bought a reasonably nice bottle of Pi ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 28, 2016

We bought a reasonably nice bottle of Pinot Noir (about $60). Our standard is to drink one glass of wine with our dinner, then cork the wine and take the rest home. We don't want to drive if we've had more than 1 glass of wine. We've done this at restaurants all over the U.S., including in Evansville, IN where Cavanaugh's is located. The waiter told us we could not bring a corked bottle of wine out of the restaurant. We asked for the manager, who told us the same thing. Apparently, Cavanaugh's policy on this is different from all other restaurants. If you buy a bottle of wine at this restaurant, be prepared to drink the whole bottle or to leave some of the wine that you paid for on the table when you leave. The manager did "comp" our meal for the price of the bottle of wine in an attempt to make the situation more palatable to us. Cavanaugh's may want to consider alerting customers who purchase a bottle of wine of this policy, since it is a different policy from all other restaurants. Some customer's may opt to just order a glass of wine, rather than a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very nice seats by the window overlookin ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very nice seats by the window overlooking the water. Service was very good and food was delicious! Definitely a keeper! We'll be back when we're in the area again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My filet was excellent. My wife's Rigato ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 16, 2016

My filet was excellent. My wife's Rigatoni was not prepared in a manner that was palatable to her. She ate 1 bite and left the rest. They did offer her another dish: however, she was to embarrassed to accept it. We were celebrating our 53rd anniversary and it won't be our fondest anniversary memory.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Cavanaugh's made a special night even mo ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Cavanaugh's made a special night even more memorable! Loved everything about it...the decor, the service, the view and especially the food! We were treated like royalty from the time we entered the restaurant until we walked out the door. I don't feel like this is a place for small children, especially unruly ones. My wife and I would recommend Cavanaugh's to anyone wanting to make a special occasion or even just a date night even more special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was very enjoyable but food was a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner was very enjoyable but food was a little on the pricey side. Good place for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.