Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Cavanaugh's

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (34)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for a Date (33)
See All
Romantic (31)
Waterfront (31)
Scenic View (25)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Business Meals (22)
Quiet Conversation (17)
Worth the Drive (15)
Cozy (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Live Music (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Modern Decor (6)
People Watching (5)
Private Room (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Casual (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Authentic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fun (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
337 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 11 hours ago

Wonderful, as always!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Very thoughtful staff. Great tasting food and decent portions. I'd like more chicken options.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Live Music, Bar Seating, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything about our dinner was spot on. The Alaskan King crab was cooked perfectly, the Calamari again was perfect, as was the dessert. The service was as if we were the only people there. Can't say enough about the service and quality of the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

I was very disappoint that they did not have ribeye steaks or porterhouse steaks available. The waiter, Collins was very good, overall the dining experience was good.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 22, 2017

The food was good but it was slow coming out of the kitchen. Waiter was attentive. The vegetable side are big enough to serve 2 or more.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

I LOVE CAVANAUGHS!! MY LATE HUSBAND AND I WENT THERE EVERY CHANCE WE GOT. NOW I BRING MY CHILDREN AND ADULT GRANDCHILDREN AS OFTEN AS THEY ASK! THE FOOD AND SERVICE IS ALWAYS TOP NOTCH PERIOD!!

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 20, 2017

An excellent wine list, waiter was well trained, gormet food from around the world. Rather adult atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our lobster and king crab legs were cooked to perfection, as well as the filets that were ordered by the parties in our group. Other dishes ordered were the chicken & biscuit, ahi tuna,shrimp cocktail appetizers and the scalloped potatoes & creamed spinach sides. The only thing that was not well liked was the chicken & biscuit appetizer. Everything else was a hit!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Service was wonderful! Food was delicious and came out in a timely fashion! Very clean and good views!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Lots of staff walking around together talking, disrupting the ambiance for my wife and I. Restaurant was not busy 8 pm on Saturday yet too many waiters and others walking around, in packs of 2 and three. My water glass was empty for a long time. Had to grab another waiter to fill.
Bread was not very good. Too sweet. Nice texture but not tasty at all.
Filet and seafood was ok. Sauce on filet with crab meat was gummy.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Celebrating 4th of July holiday, we spent the day & night in Henderson. We had a great table overlooking the river even though it was a cloudy evening. We also enjoyed the piano music & singer. My husband got a pound of king crab & it was more than he could eat with the mushrooms as his side. I got the tomato/mozzarella salad & lobster mac & cheese. It was all delicious!!
Plenty of food!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 2, 2017

View was great looking out on the river. Wife's filet was excellent as was her salads. I ordered the Prime Rib medium rare. Unfortunately, it arrived at the table well done and for the price I paid for it I was very disappointed. Our waitress was very polite and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Service was good but a little fast for this type of restaurant.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The waiter was very knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Cavanaughs has always been a favorite of mine. Always excellent service and Outstanding ambiance. I usually get the prime rib and usually its amazing but this time it was anything but. It was tough and over half was fat. I'll come back but was definitely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 21, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. I would definitely recommend Cavanaugh's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Such a great evening. Very low key, knowledgeable and truthful service. Highly recommend for great quality plates of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The prime rib, golden mashed garlic potatoes and asparagus with hollandaise sauce was spectacular. The spinach artichoke dip was luscious. I really enjoyed the complimentary bread, bitter and roasted garlic. Mmmmmm Shelby is THE BEST ! A1! SUPERB!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I have eaten and in many very nice, elegant four and five star restaurants. We found Cavanaugh's, though pleasant, a great disappointment. The food itself was lacking in flavor and the service was mediocre. The steak was flavorless and the scampi had barely a hint of garlic, I was very surprised to have shrimp that was also almost flavorless. We cannot justify spending $250 for what we got. For that kind of price we should've had far more pleasant and attentive service and a meal that we would've wanted to return to a later date. We were sorely disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Beautiful scene from our table. Amazing service and the food was awesome too!! Great for a romantic evening date.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Calamari was just six pieces and the rest potoatoes and zucchini- steak was ordered med and came well done- twice! Waiter was not knowledgeable and drinks at bar served with no. Apkins so they dropped all over you. Have always loved this place but something has changed-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The river view was gorgeous!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Order the prime fillet, it was lacking in flavor. Ordered Oscars and they brought crab and asparagus no béarnaise. The crabmeat was canned white crab. The wine list was lacking. Ordered Parmesan fries, they were extremely over seasoned, The Parmesan was shaved which does not work with fries. It needed to be graded. The bread served with butter and roasted garlic was delicious. And the stuffed mushrooms were OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 13, 2017

Our server Andry I think was his name was fantastic..... he is a true asset there. Food was amazing

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great dinner, with superior service. Food was prepared exactly as we asked. Johnathan our server was personable and very attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 7, 2017

As always great steaks great service great management. It is a must do in Evansville.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our waiter Jonathan made the evening. He allowed us to dine at our pace rather than constantly bothering us about the next course and had a great personality for serving. The food was great but it was not an inexpensive evening. For a great steak and bottle of wine, this is the place to go in Eville.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I have been to Cavanaugh's several times for Business dinners and have always had an enjoyable experience with great food and a wonderful atmosphere. I visited on 6/6/17 for another business dinner and was completely disappointed with the food. I ordered the prime rib and it looked as if it had been boiled in a pot of water. It was very gray and even the color of the fat was unappetizing. I wish I would have said something to the waiter, who was very helpful, but we were in the middle of a business discussion which I did not want it to create a distraction to our conversation. After dinner I discussed with one of the members of my party and he mentioned that his filet was also poorly cooked and commented on my prime ribs appearance. I plan to revisit in July for a large group business dinner and I certainly hope the food quality is better than 6/6 visit. Cavanaugh's has always been my go to restaurant when I am in Evansville but if this happens again even the great piano bar cannot make up for poorly prepared food when I am dropping $$$$.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Very impressed, the food was excellent.. service was outstanding. We were celebrating our anniversary, great for a special occasion. I would recommend the steaks to anyone, tender, excellent taste. It was a very enjoyable meal and experienced.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I love this place. Cavanaugh's has one of the best filets I have ever had. I crave these filets! I also love the asparagus. Side dishes are big enough to share. I have never had bad service at this place.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Arrived early and was accommodated immediately with friendly host service. Table had excellent river view. Drink order was taken immediately. Menu was heavy on traditional comfort foods so don't expect to eat light. I ordered an item off the daily feature's menu. The steak was tough/grizzled and barely warm. The "Diane" sauce was unlike any I've had before. More of a lighter brown gravy that added nothing to the taste profile of the dish. If you are going to feature something then it should be noteworthy or why bother? Partner had fillet and it was excellent although it just arrived naked on a bare plate with absolutely no garnish of any kind. A bit surprising! Bread and accompaniments were excellent. Nice touch with salt flakes on the generous pat of butter. The baked garlic was wonderful as well but could have been outstanding if served warm. The wine menu is a little dated with no unique offerings, but sufficient for most. There were no tasting hints listed so you are on your own. Ok for general run of the mill wines, but for $35 a glass one might take a chance with just a hint of a tease as to what to expect. Waiter was pleasant, a bit quiet and no descriptions given for daily or other items. Pretty much an order taker, but efficient. Desserts have been the same for several years so nothing new there. Most are super premium brought in from out of house and are delicious but very heavy and gigantic. Would be nice to feature something made on premises and/or a small ampling of several items a table could share. A bit of a wait for final check which is a drag when you are ready to go. A pleasant birthday evening meal total experience just above average. Excellency could be achieved with some freshening of the menu and total attention to detail. Caught in a bit of dogma from yesteryear. Still recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

All the food was great
Our waiter was very friendly
Took my wife and mother in law for something special
We had a reservation and I made a special request for a window table
Great table great food great time

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Exceptional food service and ambiance as always. My halibut was moist and flavorful. The table bread was different in the past, but great tasting with butter and garlic. The au gratin potiatoes are always the best. Always a good experience in Evansville.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great steaks and seafood (Halibut). Overall excellent food.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 26, 2017

very overpriced and food was mediocre at best me and my date both left hungry and it cost us $100

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

i entertained a group of 9 and they really enjoyed it...and the private room was great........portions were very hearty.......I was a little disappointed with my lamb chops as they were dry and tough (and I should have sent back but was entertaining and did not want to do so.....but my customers enjoyed it

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Joanne our server was amazing! She deserves a raise!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Sergei made it a great experience! Our wedding anniversary was great at cavanaughs!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have been going to Cavanaugh's for our anniversary for the last 3 years. It is a fantastic place to eat and enjoy each others company. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. The cost is on the high side, but worth it for the atmosphere. The desserts are a must.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I've been to Cavanaugh's multiple times. I took my wife here for Mother's Day and she simply enjoyed it as always. We had the pleasure of having Sergey as our server again and that set the tone for the evening. I think going forward when we make reservations we will request that he is our server. He is exemplary at his craft and takes pride in making sure his dinner patrons are taking care of without being overwhelming or showing lack of service.

The meal itself was outstanding. Both of us had the prime rib and I added a 1/2 lb king crab legs. Everything was prepared as ordered and as usual the food was excellent. Just like the majority of our visits, we were way too full for dessert. I recommend this restaurant to anyone with a taste for fine cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.