About Cavanaugh's

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cavanaugh's
Cavanaugh's

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Southwest Indiana / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Evansville
Best Restaurants in Evansville ›

Special Occasion (48)
Scenic View (40)
Romantic (36)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Waterfront (8)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for a Date (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Modern Decor (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Cozy (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
People Watching (1)
Fun (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Casual (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Healthy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
211 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Menu presentation idea was very cool and ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 7 days ago

Menu presentation idea was very cool and innovative.

Food and service were very good.

We all enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUR WAITER WAS EXCELLENT AND IT WAS ALL ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

OUR WAITER WAS EXCELLENT AND IT WAS ALL AND ALL A VERY ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood and steak. Service was exc ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great seafood and steak. Service was exceptional. Perfect cocktails. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Had a very enjoyable experience. Service ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a very enjoyable experience. Service was excellent

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a reservation and were seated prompt ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a reservation and were seated promptly... very busy... nice ambiance and view of the Ohio River... slightly understaffed as it took a awhile for food to arrive... dinner was good... fair price and we will dine here again...

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Waitress was very nice but my steak was ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Waitress was very nice but my steak was overcooked. After sending it back, it came back extremely chewy. It was a filet and it chewed like jerky. No offer to get anything else or to comp the steak. Still had to pay $55 just to go eat somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Terrific food and service. Love the pian ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Terrific food and service. Love the piano bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and good food

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great service and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great and the entire party enjo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was great and the entire party enjoyed their menu selections. Our waiter Mike was terrific!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are so glad we decided to spend our a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are so glad we decided to spend our anniversary dinner at Cavanaugh's. They made the dining experience a very special time. Food, Service, Atmosphere were all excellent !! We could not have been more pleased with our experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, and great Hos ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, great service, and great Hostess!!! Worth a drive if you are close.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good, but waitress was trai ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was good, but waitress was training and we had down time waiting for service. Otherwise, the experience was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great. Service was great. Music ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was great. Service was great. Music was great. We enjoyed our evening. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great and exceptional service a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great and exceptional service as usual! This is our favorite spot when we want a good steak and cocktails

Tags: Scenic View, Modern Decor, Waterfront, People Watching, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dining experience. Good choi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent dining experience. Good choices of steaks and Seafood. Enjoyed the oysters on 1/2 shell special. Good value. Wonderful location on the river. Live music was super, my husband and I danced one dance on the way out to see the Dolly Parton Concert. Great evening!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very average food and our food took a lo ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very average food and our food took a long time to get. Server was nice, but slow for top end of price spectrum in the area. Place has a nice feel and appeal, good views, etc. but I really expected more.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

My boyfriend randomly reserved our dinne ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

My boyfriend randomly reserved our dinner reservation to this restaurant. I LOVED it. The alligator tail is amazing, their chef is from Louisiana and he exactly how to season perfectly. Our server was such a nice gentleman, he did everything in his will to make our night special (even if we were a little late from our reservation)

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was outstanding and our server, ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The food was outstanding and our server, Sergey, was the best.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most of our food was very good , the sal ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Most of our food was very good , the salmon dish would have been perfect if not for the slightly dry salmon. A scallop and shrimp dish came out with very little pasta and three shrimp still had there skins on. Steaks were amazing! Our waiter was a little on the snooty side. Maybe he was having a bad night. We still had a great time

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Really enjoyed the 6oz filet and calama ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Really enjoyed the 6oz filet and calamari. View was magnificent . SERVICE WAS GREAT! Very good experience. Highly recomend giving it a try.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cavanaugh's is a great place to go for a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Cavanaugh's is a great place to go for a special night out. The staff has always been very friendly, accommodating and always there to make your evening a great one.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated in the bistro area for ou ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We were seated in the bistro area for our dinner. It was quite loud from the piano player. I think many people would expect the music to be more in the background in such an upscale restaurant. The food and service was outstanding as always. Server was very attentive and pleasant.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had the lamb chops, they were tender and ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Had the lamb chops, they were tender and the flavor was good. My client had the scallops, he said they were great.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We bought a reasonably nice bottle of Pi ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We bought a reasonably nice bottle of Pinot Noir (about $60). Our standard is to drink one glass of wine with our dinner, then cork the wine and take the rest home. We don't want to drive if we've had more than 1 glass of wine. We've done this at restaurants all over the U.S., including in Evansville, IN where Cavanaugh's is located. The waiter told us we could not bring a corked bottle of wine out of the restaurant. We asked for the manager, who told us the same thing. Apparently, Cavanaugh's policy on this is different from all other restaurants. If you buy a bottle of wine at this restaurant, be prepared to drink the whole bottle or to leave some of the wine that you paid for on the table when you leave. The manager did "comp" our meal for the price of the bottle of wine in an attempt to make the situation more palatable to us. Cavanaugh's may want to consider alerting customers who purchase a bottle of wine of this policy, since it is a different policy from all other restaurants. Some customer's may opt to just order a glass of wine, rather than a bottle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Very nice seats by the window overlookin ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very nice seats by the window overlooking the water. Service was very good and food was delicious! Definitely a keeper! We'll be back when we're in the area again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My filet was excellent. My wife's Rigato ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My filet was excellent. My wife's Rigatoni was not prepared in a manner that was palatable to her. She ate 1 bite and left the rest. They did offer her another dish: however, she was to embarrassed to accept it. We were celebrating our 53rd anniversary and it won't be our fondest anniversary memory.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Cavanaugh's made a special night even mo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Cavanaugh's made a special night even more memorable! Loved everything about it...the decor, the service, the view and especially the food! We were treated like royalty from the time we entered the restaurant until we walked out the door. I don't feel like this is a place for small children, especially unruly ones. My wife and I would recommend Cavanaugh's to anyone wanting to make a special occasion or even just a date night even more special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was very enjoyable but food was a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner was very enjoyable but food was a little on the pricey side. Good place for a special occasion.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The feedback from everyone at the busine ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The feedback from everyone at the business dinner was that the food was outstanding and the attention given from the Cavanaugh's staff - specifically the Hostess (Jazmin) was superb.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was at Cavanaugh's on a Monday night a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I was at Cavanaugh's on a Monday night and as expected, the restaurant was not very busy. (We were also there fairly early (6:15 p.m.). The view of the Ohio River is magnificent and the restaurant is comfortable and nicely appointed. I sat with my back to the view so my business guest could enjoy it. I have no complaints whatsoever, just a few constructive comments. First, our server was excellent and attentive, but the pace of our meal was hurried. We ordered our salads and they came immediately. Our entrees then arrived before either of us had finished our salad. We accepted our entrees and enjoyed them. The mushroom risotto was excellent and so were our steaks. Our asparagus was cooked to the right al dente texture, but it was coated in butter, so neither of us ate much of it. We were offered desserts that looked scrumptious, but had no room. Altogether, with a glass of wine or two, salads, and dinner, we were in and out of there in an hour. We had a nice time, but it was just a little too fast particularly given that it was a light crowd. I do not hesitate to recommend the restaurant. It is a quality place and parking is easy. You simply will need to speak up about pacing and butter on fresh veggies, etc.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

AmazingserviceandfoodIwouldhighlyrecomme ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

AmazingserviceandfoodIwouldhighlyrecommendittoanyonewantingaromanticnightout

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrible!!!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was terrible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

We LOVE Cavanaughs!! Love the atmoshpher ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We LOVE Cavanaughs!! Love the atmoshphere, the amazing food and their wonderful staff! Be sure to ask for a window seat where you can enjoy the view of the river. You can not find better quality food in Evansville. The Blackened Neptune is fabulous and their steaks cannot be beat! So delicious. For the perfect experience, ask for server, Jon, he is the greatest!!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional. Sergey was a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was exceptional. Sergey was a fantastic server - he was very knowledgable about the menu and interesting to talk to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a return visit with superb pers ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was a return visit with superb personal treatment, service and meal. The hostess noted and kindly responded with a window table seating with river view. Our server indicated she was in training and would be assisted by a senior server named Jonathan. They were a perfect team with Jonathan's deep knowledge of the food preparations. We started with a nice Louis Martini Cabernet wine and warm bread. They allowed us the Sautéed Merlot Mushrooms as a starter followed by a nice Wedge Salad. For entrees I enjoyed the Seafood Scampi with Shrimp and Scallops while my wife enjoyed the Pan Seared Crab Cakes. Management checked with us for satisfaction during the meal and ended with a nice departure discussion. Very nice indeed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We invited two friends with us, because ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We invited two friends with us, because we enjoyed ourselves so much on a previous visit.

Michael provided excellent service and the remaining staff was very attentive. Our meal were cooked perfectly. Our friends said they would come back and invite others.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was very well prepared. Great place ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Meal was very well prepared. Great place for a business dinner or special occasion .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food,service and atmosphere.A ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic food,service and atmosphere.A little spendy but worth every penny.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a great business meal here and highly recommend it for future visits to Evansville.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner exprience

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and services excellent.

Nice river view.

Quiet place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.