Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 9 times today

Cavanaugh's

4.5
439 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Top Tags:
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Special Occasion
  • Waterfront
Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(812) 433-4333
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Chuck Subra
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Piano Bar Nightly
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 439 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
4.1
value
Noise · Quiet
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

The dinner and service was outstanding. The bone-in ribeye was cooked rare as requested. The shrimp and scallops were delicious. Great service even though it was a very busy night.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Horrible experience. The server warned us of how terrible it would be upon us sitting down. Management was rude and inconsiderate. Food was horrible, you can make better steaks at home. Salmon was tasteless, food overall was cold.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

The food was great. My steak came out exactly how I ordered it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 14, 2018

Our group of four on a recent Saturday night couldn't have been more satisfied with our experience at Cavanaughs. We were celebrating a birthday and really appreciated the atmosphere, professionalism of the staff, the cuisine- oh my, the cuisine! After our meal we migrated to the bar area to listen to the live piano music. Very good! Will be a special place for us in the future. Keep doing what you're doing... We haven't stopped sharing our experience with family and friends for days.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent as usual. Delightful server named Alexis. Great salmon with grits, seafood scampi and filet. We will return again and again.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 4, 2018

Quality was a joke, everything overcooked, manager didn't seem helpful

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 3, 2018

Steaks were undercooked for a medium, came out with a red center. Guest sent his back and they gave him a new steak cooked the same way. Pink is pink.

Server was very good and attentive which was appreciated. Was a quiet night but have dined at Cavanaughs before and it’s typically a quiet room.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Ahi Tuna is always great. Service was accommodating as well.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Great place for a birthday meal. I had the swordfish picatta and the fish was a bit tough. Others had steak and pork chop which were excellent. One filet was overcooked. Salads were great. Wine choice was nice. Our Waiter was terrific, knowledgeable and attentive but not pushy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Beautiful restaurant, quiet, outstanding Riverview.
Food is different and delicious.
Service is excellent

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Enjoy the ability to have a great meal,great service and be able to have a conversation without raising your voice!!! My wife and I enjoy the atmosphere at Cavanaugh's.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 23, 2018

I chose to take my boyfriend and two other couples to Cavanaughs on Friday, March 23. The occasion was my boyfriend's 66th birthday. The atmosphere and food was so special and romantic. We felt like we were so young and in love❤️

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 21, 2018

We had a reservation and were seated immediately. Our server was friendly and attentive. The entire dinner was excellent. We had Oysters Rockefeller for an appetizer, which was a special on that night. Hubby had the Lamb Chops with red wine reduction and I had the Prime Filet , which was perfectly seasoned and perfectly prepared. I will admit that although the filet was perfect and needed nothing to add as a compliment, I did sneak a few bites with the delicious red wine reduction. The baked potatoes are enormous! Next time (and there will be a next time!), we will share and there will probably still be some left behind. I would also suggest the spinach salad, it was very nice and enough to share. We are both big eaters, so if I suggest sharing....SHARE! lol The lovely warm fresh bread was very tasty and served alongside butter with shaved sea salt and also a dish of roasted garlic was offered. Our drinks were perfect, as well (gin and tonic). We did not have dessert, although the assortment looked great. We were seated by a window with a view of the river, which was nice. There was live music in the front dining section that we were able to enjoy and yet still have good conversation. We will be back soon!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 14, 2018

I brought a friend to dinner for her 87 birthday. We had a wonderful experience. The service was great and food delicious! We will be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 12, 2018

our reservation was about 30 minutes after opening so the restaurant was quiet when we arrived. It was quickly filling by the time we left. The food was wonderful. The spinach salad was delicious and the steaks were done just as we requested and they were full of flavor. The shrimp cocktail had 6 JUMBO shrimp. Wonderful! The prices were in line with other upscale steak houses. It may not be somewhere you could dine every night but it certainly somewhere you should dine when you can. The service was fantastic. The view is wonderful and will get even better as spring and summer come along. Don't miss it!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 10, 2018

We were a little disappointed this time. The quality of food has dropped off significantly. Both of our filets were a little tough. I would question whether they were indeed cut from the tenderloin. My wife's broccoli was cold. The bearnaise sauce was very thick and not much taste. On the positive side, the French onion soup was delicious and the creme brulee was good. Our waiter, Collin, was energetic and attentive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 5, 2018

We were in town for work and it was our wedding anniversary. Everyone there was so nice and the food was excellent. They wanted to give us a free dessert but we were too full. Then we sat at the piano bar and we even had a dance.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2018

Our experience was wonderful! Not somewhere to go if one is looking for “value”, but the food was definitely worth what we paid. Delicious! And great service!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 28, 2018

They’re missing a few attention to detail service items that would usually come with the price point but it was a good meal and good service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 26, 2018

Meeting halfway between Louisville & St. Louis with our son gave us the opportunity to try Cavanaugh's. Our server was attentive to our needs but a little chatty. The price for the quality of food was most disappointing to these foodies. We were also privy to an incredibly LOUD and disruptive whistling serenader to the piano player clear in the OTHER room for at least 45 minutes...not once did we see a manager approach this obviously drunk man to quiet him down (we mentioned it more than once to our server). Not the best experience but we will try once more time in the future to see if food quality and ambiance is restored to an exceptional level as it was touted to be by those that recommended it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 25, 2018

We met up with some dear family for a special dinner and catch up time at Cavanaugh’s. The food was delicious! Everyone’s steak was so tender and tasty! Our service was wonderful and we enjoyed every moment of our visit. Also the lobster Mac and cheese was scrumptious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Everything was great. Business celebration. Our waiter was very attentive...kept us informed of times throughout dinner. Great dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

It was a return visit for my husband and me, but the first time for the couple with us. Everything was exceptional. We had a table with a view of the river. Excellent drinks, atmosphere great and our appetizer was wonderful. They ordered Filets and said they were cook the best they had had as well as the best flavor. I had crab legs and my husband had the bone-in ribeye. They were both excellent as well. A great experience all around. Although the desserts looked delicious, no one saved room. We recommend it Highly!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 18, 2018

Went here for Valentines with my wife. I have heard it was expensive but decided to try anyway. For the portion sizes we received (from the side items), it was definitely worth the price. Best steak hands down. Best sides we have ever eaten. Everything was cooked to perfection.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 16, 2018

Excellent dining experience. Great food, great service, beautiful view, great ambiance. A little bit pricey but usually dine here for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine’s Day date

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

It was an amazing Valentine's day dinner. The food was delicious and the company was fabulous. Service was on it. Could not ask for more.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentine’s Day dinner. Great Food with a beautiful setting!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 13, 2018

Was celebrating an anniversary. Server was nice. Food was less desirable than previous visits. Steak was well done - not medium.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 13, 2018

We dine at Cavanaugh's fairly often. Especially for Business events. This was the FIRST Time our meal was not very good. We had a party of 7....Everyone ordered steak, to different degrees of rare or medium well. All 7 steaks were overcooked, and we lost our waiter for about an hour. We had to go to the bar to get a drink. We were extremely embarrassed. We will more than likely still come, hoping this was an isolated event.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2018

We always go here for our Anniversary. Waiter was awesome!
Potatoes were a little too cheesy, steak a little tough.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 11, 2018

Cavanaugh's is a fantastic restaurant with great service, fantastic food, and wonderful drink menu.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 10, 2018

Cavanaughs made our first date super special. This night was the first night I had worn heels in several years and I felt like Julia Roberts walking in with Richard Gere in Pretty Woman. The staff were all very friendly and accommodating. The food was excellent. Overall a very classy place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

Excellent fine dining in Evansville at the Tropicana Casino!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 6, 2018

The service was superb and the quality of the food itself, very good. However, our dinner's took longer than expected to be served and everything was luke warm at best, including the soup appetizer. This was disappointing. The warm cornbread loaf that was served prior to the meal was a nice change. Due to the delay in our meals, they did offer us complimentary desserts, which were fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2018

We enjoyed the filet and lamb chops - split a wedge salad to start - and order asparagus as a side. With the food we ordered and the bread that came at the beginning, we were stuffed with amazingly great food. We were able to have a conversation while the pianist played and sang in the background. We had great service and enjoyed the feel of the restaurant. The restaurant was bigger than I thought, but it still felt small.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 28, 2018

Service and ambiance was very good but I had the bone in rib eye and it just didn't taste fresh. I got the impression I was served a steak that had been in the fridge too long.

Pretty disappointed overall.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Cavanaugh’s is quickly becoming our favorite restaurant for special occasions! This time it was my Daughters 21st Birthday. Food was superb, service excellent, and the card signed by the staff is such a nice touch!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Place was almost empty but they managed to spill wine on my guests, cook everyones steak to well done and generally absent for service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

As parents, we do not have many kid free nights. We decided to do a date night at Cavanaugh's. We had a wonderful dinner. Food was delicious, the server was very nice, and the atmosphere was warm and welcoming.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
11