Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Cavanaugh's

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (42)
Scenic View (39)
Special Occasion (38)
See All
Waterfront (33)
Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (32)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Live Music (18)
Cozy (18)
Business Meals (16)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Modern Decor (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Good for Groups (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Casual (8)
Private Room (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Authentic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great Beer (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Organic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Healthy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

i entertained a group of 9 and they really enjoyed it...and the private room was great........portions were very hearty.......I was a little disappointed with my lamb chops as they were dry and tough (and I should have sent back but was entertaining and did not want to do so.....but my customers enjoyed it

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 3 days ago

Joanne our server was amazing! She deserves a raise!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Sergei made it a great experience! Our wedding anniversary was great at cavanaughs!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

We have been going to Cavanaugh's for our anniversary for the last 3 years. It is a fantastic place to eat and enjoy each others company. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. The cost is on the high side, but worth it for the atmosphere. The desserts are a must.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I've been to Cavanaugh's multiple times. I took my wife here for Mother's Day and she simply enjoyed it as always. We had the pleasure of having Sergey as our server again and that set the tone for the evening. I think going forward when we make reservations we will request that he is our server. He is exemplary at his craft and takes pride in making sure his dinner patrons are taking care of without being overwhelming or showing lack of service.

The meal itself was outstanding. Both of us had the prime rib and I added a 1/2 lb king crab legs. Everything was prepared as ordered and as usual the food was excellent. Just like the majority of our visits, we were way too full for dessert. I recommend this restaurant to anyone with a taste for fine cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always the best around. The food was awesome I had the bone in rib-eye. I took my mother in law for mother's day . April took very good care of us and the manager stopped by the table and spoke to us. I cannot wait to go back next time. It is a 2 1/2 hour drive but well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a busy night. The mayor was there. Kentucky Derby day and the place was mostly full. Our server did what she could, but they were obviously understaffed. I love this place, I've probably been 30 times now and this is only second time this has happened, but my steak was raw inside, and was suppose to be medium. Waitress didn't come around until everyone was almost done, and I had to have it taken off bill and just not eat a steak this time. No biggie because I had shrimp, lobster bisque, and salad, and they were all great. My wife's salmon was over cooked as well. Don't know if they have new cook or just the busy night but not typical of Cavanaughs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Absolutely WONDERFUL!!! Never disappointed at Cavanaugh's!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was great and our waitress was the best

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was in town to visit family, and wanted to have a nice dinner for my Husbands birthday. Background- We live in an area filled with very nice restaurants. We also eat out....frequently. I made the reservation fully knowing that this is in a Casino... so I already knew it was going to have a different kind of atmosphere. But I was still hoping for a nice, quiet, romantic dinner. It KIND of was. But the majority of the time I was watching who I think was the manager running around frenetically flipping tables and running around the dining area trying to coordinate with the wait staff (also had hands-frees in the ears... so not sure why he had to run after everyone?). Keep in mind, it was a Friday night... and I think Prom and Graduation was going on. So it was going to be a busy night. Needless to say, He was very stressed... and that was obvious. The wait staff seemed to be avoiding him, and when he directly addressed one, you could see them immediately tense up and get defensive. He just looked angry. It was so obvious, that that was all I could see. The Hostesses seemed stressed as well. Too the point that I wasn't a guest, I was just another body coming through the door. They all just seemed... mismanaged. Also seemed interesting that they were stress-fully flipping plenty of tables that remained empty for the 1:30 that we were there... the restaurant was not packed.
Despite all of this, the food was delicious, the waitress was knowledgeable and friendly, the price was reasonable for what we ordered, and they were able to seat us at our Reserved time. So, at the end of the night, it was a good experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Cavanaughs is a must when we visit the Tropicana Casino. The food is great and the service is outstanding. My wife and I both had filet mignon. They were both prepared perfectly. The dessert cart was beautifully presented making our decision very hard. Since we we both full we decided to split a Creme Brulee. It was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 23, 2017

From service to food, our experience was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our waitress was fabulous and very friendly. Beauty smile and very attentive. Kudos to her! Samantha- I think

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed dinner and loved the glowing menus! We would defiantly go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were disappointed with our meal. My husband returned his steak. He ordered prime rib cooked medium. The steak was fully uncooked and full of fat and gristle. I ordered lobster bisque and a salad. My salad was good and soup was not warm. The server was very kind and we had great service. He offered my Husband another steak we declined. When he gave us the bill he actually took the steak off . We did not even ask and just wanted to pay our bill and leave. He still brought out a piece of cake as I requested for a surprise for my husbands birthday. Overall we were not pleased with our meal and how we were seated by a big group and another couple. The restaurant was not crowded , and it would have been nice to have more privacy. Thank you, Mattingly's

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always top notch food and service. I would recommend Cavanaugh's to anybody and everybody. Nice to have a restaurant of this caliber at the casino. Cavanaughs is worth the 2 1/2 drive just for the food and service alone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We came there to celebrate a birthday. We sat at a table by the window that had a good view of the river. The food was good. I recommend the lamb chops. Someone was playing the piano and singing to set the mood. Overall I'd recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I came with my fiance to this restaurant for our 10 months anniversary. As soon as we were greeted we noticed the fine modern decor that encapsulated our eyes. The weary head nod of the pianist electrified the bar as we were led to our table. As our server brought us drinks we searched the menu effortlessly looking for our options. Our server took our orders and the food came out with efficient speed. The entire restaurant seemed to work in tip top fashion as a nod to the well prepared staff. My fiance got a salad that was quite excellent and very proportionally priced. I ordered a chicken dish that was alright. The proportion was relatively small for what I paid for it. Overall it was a lovely dining experience and I would mostly recommend it as a nice lunch venue with a beautiful view, dining room, and classy operation as a whole.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service is normally great. But last 2 times. Not 5 star

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

After reading previous reviews, I almost cancelled our reservation...Would have been a Huge mistake! Our reservation was for 5:30 and yet Dinner was excellent, everything perfectly prepared, our waiter Sergey was helpful and prompt. We will Definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

My husband a I try to make it at least once a year. Always the best steak!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My husband and I frequent Cavanaugh's and really enjoy this restaurant. This time we shared a filet and king crab and both were outstanding. In addition, the Manager took our wine order since our server was busy which was a nice touch meaning we didn't have to wait for anything. A wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We ordered a 16oz prime rib and asked our waiter if we could split this steak. Mike (our waiter) not only did that but he told us to split the potato as well . We really had a good steak and still could not finish it. Cudos to the staff for making our special day even better.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

While the service was EXCEPTIONAL and the food was solid, the manager made a fool of himself by interrupting a speech, and making our large table feel unwelcome. I was appreciative of the server who apologized for him over and over, but the manager left a bad taste in the mouth of several guests. He also failed to check in on the table: didn't ask us how our food/ experience was or why we were having a large get-together. I don't think he wanted us there, and he is going to get his wish the next time we are in town.

Again, the server saved the day - but I don't know if I would ever recommend this place to others who were visiting the Casino.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and great service but in the pricey side. Similar to Ruth Chris. No kids menu.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were celebrating my husbands birthday at Cavanaughs. It was our first visit and the food was delicious, the waitress was outstanding and the chef greeted us at our table and wanted to know how everything was. He also gave us his card- he was very friendly and the food is wonderful! We definitely will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food and good service for our 10 yr anniversary.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love the Ribeye French onion soup and potato. Took my mother in-law. She had the scampi and loved it.

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent across the board, as always. Chilean Sea Bass and Neptune dinners were excellent, and so was the services.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dinner was a great gift for my family celebrating my daughter's 17th birthday. Great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall had a great time and great service, food, etc

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very attentive staff. Nice table next to the window. Food was ok but not great. The restaurant became very noisy with the piano player and the crowd in the bar as there is no separation from the restaurant. What started out as a quiet table next to the window became noisy as the rather exuberant bar crowd got louder.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The steak was delicious. The dessert was delicious. The sides were plain. The service was slow. The price was high. The noise level inside the restaurant was extremely loud. I would rate it a 4 out of 5.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! The food is amazing and Sergey is an exceptional server.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent food and great service!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Cavanaugh's was an excellent place to eat and relax. My fiance and I drove 2 hours to eat there for our Valentine's dinner and we were not disappointed. I had the porterhouse steak and she had pasta and both dishes were perfection. It is agreeable that the food we had was well worth the price and we will be back as soon as possible!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious food in a very nice environment with live piano music.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This restaurant was absolutely incredible. The bone-in ribeye and filet were incredible. Lobster mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, and Parmesan fries were all outstanding. Best cheesecake I've ever had in my life. The only negative is that there is still a slight aroma of smoke from the casino entrance area. Very very slight, but still there. Outstanding service. Would recommend to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wow! Where do I start,
Firstly I LOVE-ED this place, it's the ONLY REAL fine dining establishment in Evansville PERIOD, so it's always a go to place to dine when I'm in town from Chicago.

The menu WAS great especially after the addition of the Dry aged bone-in ribeye! The seafood selection was also up to par. With a Wine selection to match!

Now after this most recent visit I was honestly devastated when I found out the menu was changed! And NOT for the better, the menu now resembles that of an over glorified TGI Fridays at 3x's the price.

Unfortunately until the menu changes I will not return,

For management please feel free to contact me on this new yelp account as I may be able to help with some one on one constructive criticism.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had issues with our steaks, but was taken care of by Chief Jess. Jonathon was our waiter, best waiter in a long time. All and all even with steak issues was a overall good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.