About Cavanaugh's

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cavanaugh's
Cavanaugh's

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Southwest Indiana / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Evansville
Best Restaurants in Evansville ›

special occasion (55)
scenic view (49)
romantic (43)
See All
notable wine list (17)
fit for foodies (14)
good for groups (13)
vibrant bar scene (11)
neighborhood gem (5)
hot spot (5)
late-night find (4)
great for lunch (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
175 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We invited two friends with us, because ...

Dined 6 days ago

We invited two friends with us, because we enjoyed ourselves so much on a previous visit. Michael provided excellent service and the remaining staff was very attentive. Our meal were cooked perfectly. Our friends said they would come back and invite others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Meal was very well prepared. Great place ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Meal was very well prepared. Great place for a business dinner or special occasion .

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic food,service and atmosphere.A ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic food,service and atmosphere.A little spendy but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great meal

Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a great business meal here and highly recommend it for future visits to Evansville.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great dinner exprience

Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and services excellent. Nice river view. Quiet place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyed food and wine and service. Was ...

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed food and wine and service. Was not pleased to be declined a window seat with river view that was requested early in my opentable reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at the Casino

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The Food was great and good ambiance. I had made a special request and it was followed up on. It was a nice surprise for a casino restaurant.!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View

Dined on May 29, 2016

We always enjoy Cavanaughs when we are in Evansville. Our server, Trevor, was outstanding. He took care of all our needs and then some. The food was excellent. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! The staff was at ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was delicious! The staff was attentive and it seemed important to them that we enjoyed our evening. Without spoiling the surprise opening the menu was a neat experience, at least for us. It took me three days to finish my carrot cake dessert. Would definitely recommend a visit to Cavanaughs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our special-occasion place for dinner.

Dined on May 27, 2016

We rarely spend this much for dinner, but for special occasions this can't be beat in the Evansville area. The portions were generous and the service and ambiance were of a high quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Very much over priced and the food wasn' ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Very much over priced and the food wasn't that exceptional

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great place! Excellent food! Recommend. ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

Great place! Excellent food! Recommend. River view quite serene. The rib-eye was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cavanaughs Dinner

Dined on May 15, 2016

Atmosphere is incredible, food is delicious, service is great. Love this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant has an excellent menu with a scenic view of the river. The service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service2

Service was spotty; friendly but not tha ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was spotty; friendly but not that attentive. Food was OK, but for these prices in Indiana (comparable to NY City where I currently reside) it should be superb. Prime rib was tough and shouldn't have been when priced at about $35.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Happy and you know it.

Dined on May 7, 2016

Great atmosphere and ambiance. Dessert tray was magically delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Impressive

Dined on May 6, 2016

The serve was very impressive. I really had a wonderful time while visiting the Kentucky Derby and the surrounding areas. Cavanaugh's was great.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Very excellent!!

Dined on May 1, 2016

Very excellent!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent good quality and excellent service.

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our second time eating there. We've never had a bad experience. The food is excellent, the view of the river is beautiful, especially at sunset. The staff were all wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

All's Well, But Doesn't End Well!

Dined on April 27, 2016

Made reservations for six at 5:00 P.M.. Had a concert to attend at 7:30 P.M. Waitress was made aware of the fact that we had a concert at 7:30 P.M. Food was excellent. Location was great! Service was good, although slow.When bills were brought to the table, waitress made some remark about her computer skills, placed all of them in the middle of the table, and said, " you figure them out ! " Two of the six were correct. The other four all had charges on them that were incorrect, such as one being charged for a beer, and no one at the table had a beer. She did change the bills, when it was brought to her attention, but this caused us to run later than we intended and caused undue stress. Unhappy ending to an otherwise great dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience!

Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a party of four, and we all had a variety of offerings. Everything was delicious. Our sever was awesome and was very attentive. Our friends were from out of town and really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, view

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was amazing. The view of the Ohio River and barge traffic was pleasing to the eye. We had a window seat with unobstructed views around the bend in the river. Inside, it was very quiet, but not eerily quiet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Perfect dining experience

Dined on April 15, 2016

The staff was perfect. Not too much attention yet always there at the right time.The food was outstanding.The steaks were perfectly cooked and delicious.I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone seeking a grand dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

I had the pleasure of dining at Cavanaugh's for my Wedding Anniversary. The bar was a blast and it was a good entertaining atmosphere. The dinner was fantastic. Our waitress was absolutely SPOT ON throughout the evening. Great experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good night out

Dined on April 9, 2016

We always like coming here for special occasions such as Anniversaries and Birthdays . The service is always great and the view of the river is nice and romantic. The food is great and the portion size is large. I like the 20 oz bone in rib-eye and the wife gets the fillet. Save room for the desert cart it is outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved it!!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Food and experience were great!! One of the top ten steaks I've ever eaten and the lobster macaroni and cheese was incredible.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The peanut brittle salad was so good. A ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

The peanut brittle salad was so good. A little sweet but the greens were so good. The Caesar salad was excellent. The prime rib was cooked very well and was tender and a large portion. The filet was excellent. The Asparagus with Hollandaise Sauce was excellent and could easily feed 3 people. The bread and garlic and olive oil and olive oil was different and tasted good. The crème brulee was rich and creamy. The ambiance was so quiet, with pretty river views and just a feeling of peace and get away from it all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Anniversary Dinner

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was delicious and our waitress was very attentive and pleasant. I ordered the 8oz filet and it was cooked perfectly....the best. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary dinner.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

carolyn

Dined on March 13, 2016

we are never disappointed with the food always high quality, prepared great

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The re-design is nice, food and service ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

The re-design is nice, food and service was excellent .

food3
ambience3
service3

Old fashioned steakhouse. Not terribly e ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Old fashioned steakhouse. Not terribly exciting but good food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining in Evansville

Dined on February 28, 2016

Cancelled table rez and chose to dine in bar at a table by the fireplace with a view of the river. Beautiful atmosphere - great music -fantastic steaks!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My Birthday

Dined on February 26, 2016

Excellent meal. The filet was the best I have ever eaten; tender and flavorful. Even though the brussel sprouts were not listed as a side, the kitchen as able to prepare them for me. My wife loved the potatoes au gratin especially how cheesy they were. We were in no hurry and sat enjoyed an excellent meal and wine. Compliments to the kitchen. Cavanaugh's does not have nightly specials up the menu gives you a varied selection of food. A little pricey but still good. We will definitely be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

A memorable evening

Dined on February 24, 2016

The food was excellent and our server was outstanding. One of the highlights was the music of Bob Green. He was the difference maker. The combination of a rainy evening, sitting near the fireplace, enjoying our food, an attentive server and listening to a talented musician will be hard to top. It will be the measure for future special occasions.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Almost perfect

Dined on February 20, 2016

Had reservations but they wanted to seat us next to the service station. That table should be a last resort place for people w/o reservations. Then I had to request another table. Then felt like I was inconveniencing them when we requested a new table. All of our food was wonderful except the wild mushroom risotto, but they removed it from our bill without question. Our server was great and did a great job helping my wife select a great bottle of wine.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on February 19, 2016

Everything about our visit was as good as good as it could possibly be. We will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great service and exceptional food! Fine place for a special occasion !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Steak

Dined on February 14, 2016

This is a great place to get a steak done right. They have all of the great steaks that you would expect to find at the top steak houses in the world. The service is always second to none. I usually have the bone in ribeye and a potato with French onion soup to start. If you are in the riverfront area I would strongly suggest stopping in for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We visited with a group of adults for Va ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

We visited with a group of adults for Valentines Dinner. It was a wonderful experience. Thanks

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

“A Special Valentine's Dinner”

Dined on February 13, 2016

I made reservations very simply with the Open Table App. That worked very smoothly. The restaurant has been totally renovated since we dined here last. The experience could not have gone any better. The ambience was exceptional. From the view overlooking the Ohio River, to the perfect background music, first through their sound system and then from a solo piano in the bar area to the lighting, all were just right. Since it was Valentine's Eve, every lady received a long stem rose. We started with sharing the Shrimp Cocktail. The cocktail sauce could have contained more horseradish for my taste but my wife thought it was great just as it came. I chose the house salad with ranch dressing and she chose the tomato, mozzarella, basil salad. We were both pleased with our choice. The main courses we chose were the filet mignon prepared perfectly medium with a side named Haricot Vert & Mushroom Ragout, which is actually green beans with mushrooms and caramelized onions. I chose the Lamb Porterhouses which is Two grilled lamb T-bone steaks accompanied with roasted fingerling potatoes and farmer's vegetables (squash and carrots) finished with marchands de vin. For Dessert we chose the Layered Chocolate Cake. Everything was absolutely fabulous and prepared and presented just right. Our waiter Matthew said he was new to the restaurant, but he was on the ball and knew the menu very well. He provided very good service and was always right on time throughout the evening. The prices may just be the highest in town, but the experience and the evening that we had dining here was worth the expense. Thanks for a special Valentine's Dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.