About Cavanaugh's

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for a Date (22)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Scenic View (19)
Waterfront (18)
Cozy (16)
Business Meals (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Live Music (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Private Room (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Family Style (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Organic (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have dined here several times and the ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We have dined here several times and the cuisine is always phenomenal. However, our most recent visit was somewhat disappointing. The food was excellent, but it took an hour for the entree's to arrive. We had finished out salads and appetizers 40 minutes before the steaks and crab legs made it to the table. As we were finishing our meal, the restaraunt staff began closing duties. One of the staff was using a vaccuum and came right up to our table with it!! Being that this steakhouse is top tier-this is totally unacceptable. Had our meal been served to us in a reasonable time frame. We wouldnt have been in their way for clean up. We felt as though they wanted us to hurry up and get out!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

We had picked our seats ahead off time ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

We had picked our seats ahead off time and they tried to seat us in the inner part. I told them we had seats picked by the window so they did that. The food was good but way over priced. The best thing was the menu how it lit up.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The food was adequate and extremely over ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was adequate and extremely over priced for the quality. I could not recommend this restaurant because of that.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

The Valentine Special was delicious! Ou ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined 5 days ago

The Valentine Special was delicious! Our service was outstanding. We will definitely return for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although it was expensive, we felt it wa ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Although it was expensive, we felt it was well worth it. Our steaks were among the best we've had and everything else was delicious as well. The service was wonderful and we had a view of the river while we dined. Great special occasion restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I have no complaints on the service. I ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 5 days ago

I have no complaints on the service. I do have one opinion on a salad option, and overall price. The 16 oz NY strip and baked potato were good. The Cesar salad was on the bland side for my taste. Our bill was $150 without any alcohol, appetizer or dessert. For what we had, it should be closer to the $80-100 range in my opinion. Overall, a good experience. I'll go back...just not every week :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I went here on Valentine's Day and I cou ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

I went here on Valentine's Day and I couldn't have been more pleased. Our services was phenomenal and the food was even better. Will definitely be back

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food ambience first time there. De ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food ambience first time there. Delicious food. Def worth going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Piano bar was too loud. Other than that, ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Piano bar was too loud. Other than that, we had an incredible time.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall great business dinner. Good foo ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 6 days ago

Overall great business dinner. Good food, good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We went for an early Valentine's Day. M ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 7 days ago

We went for an early Valentine's Day. My partner chose crab and was well pleased with it. I chose chicken and was well pleased with it as well as the rice. Our friends ordered the filet and it was cooked as ordered. The waitress was attentive. We were disappointed in the salad choices, though. Overall, a good experience!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Waiter was super nice... forget name. ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Waiter was super nice... forget name. He had black hair from Russia.

Awesome scallops...

Decor is cool.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The staff were professional and courteou ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The staff were professional and courteous from our arrival until we finished our date. Our meals were prepared just as we requested.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very nice view of the river, expanded wi ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Very nice view of the river, expanded wine list, sever was well train, piano bar in full swing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food but too expensive. Need a br ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great food but too expensive. Need a broader menu. Menu needs to be more appealing. Service was good. Al la carte too expensive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food. Server, Todd was magnifi ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Very good food. Server, Todd was magnificent. Nice atmosphere.

Favorite place for a "nice" diner.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food. Great time. Will be back. Wi ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great food. Great time. Will be back. Wine list, drinks and bread help get us settled in.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Organic, Live Music, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Afternoon Tea, Romantic, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best restaurant in Evansville.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Best restaurant in Evansville.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We attended for dinner to celebrate my h ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We attended for dinner to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was wonderful and the service was great. We had a very nice time! I'm sure

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Steak was overdone and overpriced. The ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Steak was overdone and overpriced. The cake was literally all frosting.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

We have eaten at Cavanaughs multiple tim ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We have eaten at Cavanaughs multiple times and every time, the service and food is great!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, , Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Bar closed at 10..disappointed about tha ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Bar closed at 10..disappointed about that since we had a 9:45 reservation.

Tags: Waterfront, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our steaks were delicious, although I di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Our steaks were delicious, although I did have to send my first eight ounce filet back as it was cooked slightly more than medium when I ordered Medium Rare. That gave me a little more time to enjoy my Tomato and Mozzarella salad which was yummy although a bit large for one person. I love the wine selections there with my favorite glass of wine being 'B Side." The service was good and they were kind enough to store my left over steak in their fridge while I spend a little time at the casino. When we returned, we sat in the bar for a bit and listened to the live piano and saxophone playing which rounded out our evening. I will go back!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best place I have eaten at in Evansville ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best place I have eaten at in Evansville. I really liked the setting and atmosphere cavanaughs provided for my anniversary.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are very happy to have a restaurant o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We are very happy to have a restaurant of this quality in Evansville.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tonight was my friend and I having dinne ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tonight was my friend and I having dinner in between partying at the casino. If you've read my previous reviews of Cavanaugh's, I have the same thing just about every time: cocktail shrimp, lobster bisque, NY strip steak medium Oscar add-on and Au gratin potatoes. Everything was to die for. The drinks are always well made. Our only complaint was the slow service on drinks and taking dirty dishes from our table. We did not penalize our server for this because we noted the restaurant was packed and they did not have enough people working. Come on Cavanaugh's- for a $200 - $300 dinner why can't you have enough staff to give every patron A+ treatment?

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the food. My wife and ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the food. My wife and I thought it was some of the best steaks we have ever had. The service was very good too. The only negative was the smoky smell which comes from the nearby casino. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our family wanted something different fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family wanted something different for Christmas Eve. I hope this will become a tradition. The ambiance was sublime, sparkly, light, and the glittery Ohio beyond. From my Lemon Drop martini to the last bite of my perfectly cooked filet (with amazing bearnaise), the meal was perfect. All three of us enjoyed a filet, cooked differently and with three different sauces. My son and I shared some potatoes au gratin, which was so fresh and had an excellent, cheesy but not overwhelming flavor. My husband and son had the ample mozzarella and tomato salad (Caprese?), and I had the wedge salad. I so appreciate that it was with Bibb lettuce and not the tasteless iceberg. The service was terrific. Our waiter, Jorge, gave excellent service but did not hover. Cannot stand a fine dining experience where the staff hovers and doesn't allow the customer to enjoy the meal. We were all so pleased. A plus plus and will do it again next year if not sooner.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cavanaugh's has always been a must do wh ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Cavanaugh's has always been a must do when in Evansville. We were looking forward to a really great meal on Christmas eve. This visit was just so so. Waiter was somewhat distant and not on top of his game. Food was not as wonderful as previous visits. We were somewhat disappointed but,will try again.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I'm not sure how to politely say my husb ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I'm not sure how to politely say my husband was served Prime Rib that was cold. Arg, our meals were presented to the table and I was enjoying my crab cakes when he cuts into the center of his meat and says "feel it". The Server was prompt and said he'd bring another. He returned with the same piece of meat, now with grill marks but still cold inside. The Manager stopped by to explain "medium rare" is at 110 degrees. He had a hard time understanding what cold meant and it wasn't 110 degrees. On a brighter note drinks were good. As we were leaving, we heard a Server comment to a guest at a nearby table that she would take "that" off of the bill and apologized. You might think twice about this place it lacks integrity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Service and food was excellent.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The asparagus was not steamed all the wa ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The asparagus was not steamed all the way. While the portion was good size, was very hard.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Unfortunately my mother in laws funeral ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Unfortunately my mother in laws funeral brought my husband and I to Evansville after many years of my husband and his family not living there. We came in the evening before and wanted to enjoy a relaxing nice dinner. This was a great choice! The restaurant is very pretty. Loved the backlit menus (never experienced those before). We each had the filet. Cooked perfectly; great taste. The sides are shareable and we're also great as we're our salads. It made an otherwise not fun trip something positive to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are phenomenal. We bot ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food and service are phenomenal. We both ordered the NY Strip and it was cooked to perfection. I can't say enough about the cooks and service staff at Cavanaugh's. Thanks so much for another great evening!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, I've been here at least 20 - 30 ti ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Well, I've been here at least 20 - 30 times and I never cease to be amazed at the quality and always having left satisfied and happy. After raving about this place to my mom and step-dad for several years, I finally was able to treat them to a special occasion dinner. I was simply hoping the food and service would match the expectations I had for my parents to have an amazing meal and evening, and my expectations were exceeded again. The overall experience of eating there and the taste and quality of the food literally stole the show. I won't go into my usual detail of everything I has this time, but my usually NY Strip steak was just totally amazing, and everything else was as well. My mom went on and on about her crab cakes, filet mignon steak, and au gratin potatoes. Her friend went on about her prime rib. My wife's salmon was tasty and cooked to perfection. Thank you Cavanaugh's for another great dining experience!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Only thing wrong with the experience was ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Only thing wrong with the experience was the cigarette smell in the building.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best filet and lobster I've had in the p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Best filet and lobster I've had in the past 20 years. Lobster was absolutely perfectly cooked.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Private Room, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We thought the menu was a bit pricey for ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We thought the menu was a bit pricey for the ambiance. The peanut brittle salad was the high point of the dinner and was excellent. My friends steak was overcooked and my lamb chops were a little tough but flavorful. At over $120 for a dinner for two was a bit high for this restaurant experience. I also thought it was not intimate enough of a setting. I was also disappointed that for a restaurant Irish name they did not have Guiness on tap. I think you get much more for your buck at Biaggis and doubt that we will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Atmosphere was very nice and yet laid ba ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Atmosphere was very nice and yet laid back. Service was excellence.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The drinks were good, and my wife's food ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The drinks were good, and my wife's food was delicious. The meat was tender and the shrimp tasty. On the other hand, the opah was overcooked. We have been here before and it seemed like the ambience was lacking this time. Maybe it was because the window next to the table faced a street light outside instead of the river as we had requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.