Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Cavanaugh's

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Chuck Subra

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

Noise

Quiet

89% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (24)
Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (20)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Waterfront (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Scenic View (15)
Business Meals (11)
Live Music (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Casual (8)
Cozy (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Authentic (2)
Healthy (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
397 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My business partner and senior staff members were in town for a important corporate meeting and went to Cavanaugh's upon recommendation from others and prior experience - and once again you totally stepped up with excellent food, wine, atmosphere, and service. Our senior staff members had never been so this was the perfect choice to help show them our thanks for all their hard work. Thank you Cavanaugh's for a great dinner and night

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place for business meetings or just a night out. Full wine list with great food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Casual
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Very friendly and accommodating. Did wait for food a bit, but most enjoyable. And close to casino

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Highly recommended for upscale dining!! Food was fantastic and the overlooking view of the river was awesome.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Well I will start by saying that the setting and appearance is great. My wife had the pork chop and said it was great. The callamari was good for the appetizer. I had the prime rib and it's was very mediocre in my opinion. We waited 45 mins to be served our food and all came out room temperature along with the asparagus I had. Prime rib had a lot of excess fat. I definitely would much rather have me a Texas Roadhouse or Logan's any day any time. The ambiance is cool and mice to experience. Other then that all it is overpriced and very overrated

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

I would have given an outstanding rating overall, however our service was very slow. It took us two hours from time we sat down to time we left (for a party of two 8:30pm-10:30pm). Our waiter spent more time chatting up and giving hugs to other tables and neglected us along with two other tables beside us. They were also complaining. Waiter only refilled our drinks once (in tow hours!). I rarely saw him during the two hour experience. After 10 minutes I had to take my bill/credit card to him as he would not come back to get it. He said they were busy......was not even at 30% capacity at that time (10:30pm).
This is not my typical experience with Cavanaugh's. I have only had outstanding experiences in the past, both in a personal and business dinner setting.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2017

It wasn’t the best at Cavanaugh’s tonight. When you cut corners with food and service on a $300 bill, it just doesn’t make the customer very happy. I’ve been drinking double-oaked Woodford reserves which are $9.50 per drink. The drinks were too weak, and I was waiting for refills several times. The lobster bisque was salty and cold, and brought out the same time as my cocktail shrimp. My wife asked for a spinach salad with salmon added to it, but the salad was brought out by itself with no salmon, and a separate salmon entree was brought out later for the main course. Last but not least my $42 steak ordered medium was somehow burned on the outside and rare on the inside. Sitting in a pool of blood after I cut a few pieces but still Couldn’t have sent it back to cook anymore because the outside was already charred and black. I’ve been to this place probably 50 times now and it’s really tough to say things about Cavanaugh’s because I have loved my experience on so many occasions, but we were cut short tonight, and it just didn’t feel like a special occasion treatment with the food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great restaurant and very good food. The lobster bisque was very salty, I could not finish it; however, they made it right by taking it off the bill.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on December 25, 2017

Dining area was too bright and we ordered the roasted broccoli from the menu and it was actually steamed. Overall the experience was good.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2017

Filets at Cavanaughs are a family tradition for Christmas Eve. Everything was perfect. Joanne fantastic server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

I've always enjoyed Cavanaughs but this trip was just ok. Steak was pretty good, shrimp were tough and tasteless. Waitress was ok, not overly personable, but we'll probably return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
·Dined on December 11, 2017

Quiet dinner for two. Food was good just over priced.
A nice evening out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 10, 2017

Everything was great. Our waitress (Shelby) was the best I've ever had. I'll be sorry to see her go after she graduates from collage.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 6, 2017

Alaskan King Crab and filet is one of the best meals you’ll ever have anywhere!! One of my favorite restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 4, 2017

It wasn't busy but our food took 30 minutes to arrive. The waitress avoided eye contact when I tried to ask about the wait. Hostess offered free dessert but we didn't want it. Very disappointed with the poor service.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
·Dined on December 1, 2017

The food was terrible. The soup tasted like it came out of a Campbell’s soup can. The 40.00 steak had absolutely no flavor and the dessert tasted like it expired the week before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 30, 2017

Our server, Bridgett Kitchens, was outstanding. She made the meal very special for all four guests.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on November 29, 2017

The food wasn’t that great. The service was very good and very attentive. I wish the meal was better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on November 28, 2017

First visit of many more to come. The ambiance was business professional on a Monday night, yet a very romantic ambiance. 6 ounce filet needed no knife, it was tender, juicy and aged to perfection. King crab legs were decadent! The carrot cake was the perfect way to end a very delicious meal.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 26, 2017

We were SOOO glad to see the previous manager back. She is Cavanaughs in the truest sense of the word. We were so upset with the poor quality of food prep, lack of friendly attitude, and rude servers after she left the business. We had determined not to return but sons birthday came and he wanted to eat at Cavanaughs. So we decided to try again and we were so thrilled. Food was awesome. Thank you for bringing her back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 25, 2017

Excellent as always! The food, drinks, ambience, music and service were top notch! We were lucky enough to have seasoned waiter Jon N. (he's the best!) attend to us and he made sure everything was perfect. We thoroughly enjoy Cavanaugh's and highly recommend.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Live Music, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Grand Rapids)·Dined on November 24, 2017

Overall, a very good meal. Not great, but good. Worth the prices? Probably not. The server was good but made a few novice mistakes. One entree came out cold. Clearly the kitchen didn’t time it well. Some in our party were “not impressed”. I enjoyed my cocktail and steak, and perfectly cooked asparagus and potatoes au gratin.

The lighting in the lobby/bar was extremely bright. I cannot stress how annoyed I was by these blindingly bright LED lights. Ruined the atmosphere before you even entered. But in the dining room it was corrected with low, romantic lighting. There is no dress code, so expect to see some of the rough looking people from the actual casino here. Still I would reject this slovenly trend and go for a nice meal on a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Service was slow from beginning to end.
Food was good, not great.
No kids menu nor options.
Prices were ok, on the higher end given the food and service received.
Atmosphere was good.
I wouldn't recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on November 23, 2017

Steaks were overpriced, had better at Outback. Shrimp was stale and tough, cocktail sauce had very little heat that I could taste. The steak had too much pepper crust to suit me. A little less emphasis on upscale and more on food quality would go a long way.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 18, 2017

One of the nicest eateries in the try-state. Pricey but worth it. A great place for a special night. We'll never forget the great service on this amazing occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 15, 2017

This is a great place on the water in Evansville. Came here with friends looking for a good steak dinner. We are all from NJ/NY area so we have eaten at many of the more famous steakhouses like RuthChris, Peter Lugers, Morton’s, Palms, and Smith & Wollensky. Cavanaugh’s may not have the panache of the above mentioned steakhouses, but they do deliver in terms of quality of food, ambience, and service. They cooked our steaks a perfect rare, which is a hallmark of a great grill master. In addition, our appetizers, side dishes, and desserts were perfect. Even the cornmeal bread, served with roasted garlic... amazing. Our server was attentive, and offered much insight. Overall, I would highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Casual, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Live Music, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Wonderful restaurant! Highly recommend and would go again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 11, 2017

Couldn't have asked for a better experience! Staff was wonderful. Food was amazing. The whole atmosphere was great! We were in from out of town and would definitely go back if we are in the area again!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Overall good experience! Food was good & made reservations so no wait time to be seated.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Our first time visit did not disappoint. Will keep it on the special occasion, date night rotation!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Staff was friendly and on the spot. They start with awesome warm bread with roast garlic on the side. Everything was outstanding . We had, vodka tonics, lobster bisque, stuffed mushrooms, the Neptune, filet, agratin potatoes, carrot cake, and coffee. I would recommend all of them. The shrimp were cooked perfect as was the steak. The portions are large so along with the view it is well worth the money. But do bring a fat wallet excellence doesn't come cheap.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Live Music, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on October 6, 2017

IT was great! The carrot cake was the best that we had ever had...all seven layers! One of the best meals I ever remember having. It was phenomenal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Picked the restaurant due to reviews. Excellent dry aged steak, and the lobster mac & cheese was tremendous. Wife had the spinach salad & lobster bisque, and ate every bite!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Great steaks, however the shrimp was well over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Food was just okay. Our server was sweet, but inexperienced. The sparkling wine was served entirely too warm. Our special occasion (birthday) was not acknowledged even though it was mentioned in the comments on Open Table and through a phone call. For the price it was not the best experience. It's a lovely location though.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Wedding anniversary

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 20, 2017

Excellent service. Nice river view. Good wine list. Steaks were great.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2017

THE WORST DNING EXPERIENCE WE HAVE EVER ENCOUNTERED! To summarize the experience, I will say that he food was awful ( used a microwave to reheat my Shrimp and Scallops Scampi) and the service was beyond lacking. More detailed information: We arrived at our reserved time. The hostess was nowhere to be found. We waited abut 10 minutes and she finally appeared. She was not organized, didn't seem to know what she was doing, and didn't reserve a booth for us as requested. The bread and water were served promptly. After that we didn't see our waiter for several minutes. He finally arrived to take drink orders. We waited another 10 minutes on our drinks. The bartender was not busy as there were only 5 people in the bar area. Drinks were just okay. They used the cheap Triple sec rather than Cointreau. We ordered crab cakes. They were not pan seared. They were mushy with some strange sauce on the bottom. We asked for the 2 sauces that are listed on the menu. We received watered down tarter sauce and thousand island dressing. Drink glasses were now empty and our waiter did not ask if we would like something to drink, refill our water glasses, or remove the dirty dishes. The waiter told us that the special was Swordfish. When I asked how it was prepared, he was clueless. I had to ask for a glass of wine with my dinner and even though my husband's glasses were empty the waiter did not ask my husband if he would like something to drink. Empty water glasses not refilled. The Shrimp and ScallopScampi was served with 3 medium (not jumbo) shrimp ,and 3 scallops with approximately 1 cup of cooked linguini in a sauce that had the consistency of water. I complained, meal was returned to the kitchen, served again 5 minutes later after having removed some of the sauce and then MICROWAVED the dish. The shrimp and scallops were not fit to eat. My husband ordered the 8oz Prime Filet which was served rare (not what he had requested). The Au gratin potatoes were also not fit to eat.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This was not our first time dining at Cavanaugh's. This is our favorite place to come for special occasions. The wait staff is excellent and the food is out of this world!

Tags: Special Occasion, Live Music, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Our evening was great, as we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and it was a Tuesday evening there were not a lot of people there. The food was excellent, service was outstanding and our view at our table was perfect. I would highly recommend Cavanaugh's for dining.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.