Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Cavanaugh's

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Anniversaries (35)
ScenicView (33)
SpecialOccasions (31)
See All
GoodForDates (31)
Waterfront (30)
Romance (29)
Birthdays (20)
QuietConversation (18)
BusinessMeals (17)
WorthTheDrive (16)
LiveMusic (10)
BarSeating (10)
NotableWineList (9)
CreativeCuisine (9)
Cozy (8)
Casual (7)
Groups (7)
Foodies (6)
PrivateRoom (6)
PrePostTheatre (6)
ModernDecor (6)
TastingMenu (5)
PeopleWatching (5)
HandcraftedCocktails (4)
NeighborhoodGem (4)
HotSpot (4)
Authentic (4)
VibrantBarScene (3)
ComfortFood (3)
Fun (3)
Lunch (2)
DisabledAccess (2)
SundayLunch (2)
LocalIngredients (2)
LateNightFind (2)
HappyHour (2)
GlutenFree (1)
OutstandingValue (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
GreatBeer (1)
PaleoFriendly (1)
Brunch (1)
ChildFriendly (1)
Sort By:
S
321 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 3 days ago

The waiter was very knowledgeable and made excellent recommendations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined 4 days ago

Cavanaughs has always been a favorite of mine. Always excellent service and Outstanding ambiance. I usually get the prime rib and usually its amazing but this time it was anything but. It was tough and over half was fat. I'll come back but was definitely disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious and the service was great. I would definitely recommend Cavanaugh's.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Such a great evening. Very low key, knowledgeable and truthful service. Highly recommend for great quality plates of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The prime rib, golden mashed garlic potatoes and asparagus with hollandaise sauce was spectacular. The spinach artichoke dip was luscious. I really enjoyed the complimentary bread, bitter and roasted garlic. Mmmmmm Shelby is THE BEST ! A1! SUPERB!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My husband and I have eaten and in many very nice, elegant four and five star restaurants. We found Cavanaugh's, though pleasant, a great disappointment. The food itself was lacking in flavor and the service was mediocre. The steak was flavorless and the scampi had barely a hint of garlic, I was very surprised to have shrimp that was also almost flavorless. We cannot justify spending $250 for what we got. For that kind of price we should've had far more pleasant and attentive service and a meal that we would've wanted to return to a later date. We were sorely disappointed.

Tags: Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Calamari was just six pieces and the rest potoatoes and zucchini- steak was ordered med and came well done- twice! Waiter was not knowledgeable and drinks at bar served with no. Apkins so they dropped all over you. Have always loved this place but something has changed-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. The river view was gorgeous!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Order the prime fillet, it was lacking in flavor. Ordered Oscars and they brought crab and asparagus no béarnaise. The crabmeat was canned white crab. The wine list was lacking. Ordered Parmesan fries, they were extremely over seasoned, The Parmesan was shaved which does not work with fries. It needed to be graded. The bread served with butter and roasted garlic was delicious. And the stuffed mushrooms were OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great dinner, with superior service. Food was prepared exactly as we asked. Johnathan our server was personable and very attentive.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 8, 2017

As always great steaks great service great management. It is a must do in Evansville.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Our waiter Jonathan made the evening. He allowed us to dine at our pace rather than constantly bothering us about the next course and had a great personality for serving. The food was great but it was not an inexpensive evening. For a great steak and bottle of wine, this is the place to go in Eville.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 6, 2017

I have been to Cavanaugh's several times for Business dinners and have always had an enjoyable experience with great food and a wonderful atmosphere. I visited on 6/6/17 for another business dinner and was completely disappointed with the food. I ordered the prime rib and it looked as if it had been boiled in a pot of water. It was very gray and even the color of the fat was unappetizing. I wish I would have said something to the waiter, who was very helpful, but we were in the middle of a business discussion which I did not want it to create a distraction to our conversation. After dinner I discussed with one of the members of my party and he mentioned that his filet was also poorly cooked and commented on my prime ribs appearance. I plan to revisit in July for a large group business dinner and I certainly hope the food quality is better than 6/6 visit. Cavanaugh's has always been my go to restaurant when I am in Evansville but if this happens again even the great piano bar cannot make up for poorly prepared food when I am dropping $$$$.

Tags: Happy Hour, Live Music, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I love this place. Cavanaugh's has one of the best filets I have ever had. I crave these filets! I also love the asparagus. Side dishes are big enough to share. I have never had bad service at this place.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Arrived early and was accommodated immediately with friendly host service. Table had excellent river view. Drink order was taken immediately. Menu was heavy on traditional comfort foods so don't expect to eat light. I ordered an item off the daily feature's menu. The steak was tough/grizzled and barely warm. The "Diane" sauce was unlike any I've had before. More of a lighter brown gravy that added nothing to the taste profile of the dish. If you are going to feature something then it should be noteworthy or why bother? Partner had fillet and it was excellent although it just arrived naked on a bare plate with absolutely no garnish of any kind. A bit surprising! Bread and accompaniments were excellent. Nice touch with salt flakes on the generous pat of butter. The baked garlic was wonderful as well but could have been outstanding if served warm. The wine menu is a little dated with no unique offerings, but sufficient for most. There were no tasting hints listed so you are on your own. Ok for general run of the mill wines, but for $35 a glass one might take a chance with just a hint of a tease as to what to expect. Waiter was pleasant, a bit quiet and no descriptions given for daily or other items. Pretty much an order taker, but efficient. Desserts have been the same for several years so nothing new there. Most are super premium brought in from out of house and are delicious but very heavy and gigantic. Would be nice to feature something made on premises and/or a small ampling of several items a table could share. A bit of a wait for final check which is a drag when you are ready to go. A pleasant birthday evening meal total experience just above average. Excellency could be achieved with some freshening of the menu and total attention to detail. Caught in a bit of dogma from yesteryear. Still recommended!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 28, 2017

All the food was great
Our waiter was very friendly
Took my wife and mother in law for something special
We had a reservation and I made a special request for a window table
Great table great food great time

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Exceptional food service and ambiance as always. My halibut was moist and flavorful. The table bread was different in the past, but great tasting with butter and garlic. The au gratin potiatoes are always the best. Always a good experience in Evansville.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great steaks and seafood (Halibut). Overall excellent food.

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 27, 2017

very overpriced and food was mediocre at best me and my date both left hungry and it cost us $100

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 23, 2017

i entertained a group of 9 and they really enjoyed it...and the private room was great........portions were very hearty.......I was a little disappointed with my lamb chops as they were dry and tough (and I should have sent back but was entertaining and did not want to do so.....but my customers enjoyed it

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Joanne our server was amazing! She deserves a raise!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Sergei made it a great experience! Our wedding anniversary was great at cavanaughs!

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 19, 2017

We have been going to Cavanaugh's for our anniversary for the last 3 years. It is a fantastic place to eat and enjoy each others company. The staff are very attentive and the food is excellent. The cost is on the high side, but worth it for the atmosphere. The desserts are a must.

Tags: Great Beer, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Casual, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I've been to Cavanaugh's multiple times. I took my wife here for Mother's Day and she simply enjoyed it as always. We had the pleasure of having Sergey as our server again and that set the tone for the evening. I think going forward when we make reservations we will request that he is our server. He is exemplary at his craft and takes pride in making sure his dinner patrons are taking care of without being overwhelming or showing lack of service.

The meal itself was outstanding. Both of us had the prime rib and I added a 1/2 lb king crab legs. Everything was prepared as ordered and as usual the food was excellent. Just like the majority of our visits, we were way too full for dessert. I recommend this restaurant to anyone with a taste for fine cuisine.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Casual, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Romantic, Cozy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 13, 2017

As always the best around. The food was awesome I had the bone in rib-eye. I took my mother in law for mother's day . April took very good care of us and the manager stopped by the table and spoke to us. I cannot wait to go back next time. It is a 2 1/2 hour drive but well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on May 6, 2017

It was a busy night. The mayor was there. Kentucky Derby day and the place was mostly full. Our server did what she could, but they were obviously understaffed. I love this place, I've probably been 30 times now and this is only second time this has happened, but my steak was raw inside, and was suppose to be medium. Waitress didn't come around until everyone was almost done, and I had to have it taken off bill and just not eat a steak this time. No biggie because I had shrimp, lobster bisque, and salad, and they were all great. My wife's salmon was over cooked as well. Don't know if they have new cook or just the busy night but not typical of Cavanaughs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Absolutely WONDERFUL!!! Never disappointed at Cavanaugh's!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Live Music, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was great and our waitress was the best

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 30, 2017

I was in town to visit family, and wanted to have a nice dinner for my Husbands birthday. Background- We live in an area filled with very nice restaurants. We also eat out....frequently. I made the reservation fully knowing that this is in a Casino... so I already knew it was going to have a different kind of atmosphere. But I was still hoping for a nice, quiet, romantic dinner. It KIND of was. But the majority of the time I was watching who I think was the manager running around frenetically flipping tables and running around the dining area trying to coordinate with the wait staff (also had hands-frees in the ears... so not sure why he had to run after everyone?). Keep in mind, it was a Friday night... and I think Prom and Graduation was going on. So it was going to be a busy night. Needless to say, He was very stressed... and that was obvious. The wait staff seemed to be avoiding him, and when he directly addressed one, you could see them immediately tense up and get defensive. He just looked angry. It was so obvious, that that was all I could see. The Hostesses seemed stressed as well. Too the point that I wasn't a guest, I was just another body coming through the door. They all just seemed... mismanaged. Also seemed interesting that they were stress-fully flipping plenty of tables that remained empty for the 1:30 that we were there... the restaurant was not packed.
Despite all of this, the food was delicious, the waitress was knowledgeable and friendly, the price was reasonable for what we ordered, and they were able to seat us at our Reserved time. So, at the end of the night, it was a good experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Cavanaughs is a must when we visit the Tropicana Casino. The food is great and the service is outstanding. My wife and I both had filet mignon. They were both prepared perfectly. The dessert cart was beautifully presented making our decision very hard. Since we we both full we decided to split a Creme Brulee. It was delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on April 23, 2017

From service to food, our experience was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our waitress was fabulous and very friendly. Beauty smile and very attentive. Kudos to her! Samantha- I think

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed dinner and loved the glowing menus! We would defiantly go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were disappointed with our meal. My husband returned his steak. He ordered prime rib cooked medium. The steak was fully uncooked and full of fat and gristle. I ordered lobster bisque and a salad. My salad was good and soup was not warm. The server was very kind and we had great service. He offered my Husband another steak we declined. When he gave us the bill he actually took the steak off . We did not even ask and just wanted to pay our bill and leave. He still brought out a piece of cake as I requested for a surprise for my husbands birthday. Overall we were not pleased with our meal and how we were seated by a big group and another couple. The restaurant was not crowded , and it would have been nice to have more privacy. Thank you, Mattingly's

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always top notch food and service. I would recommend Cavanaugh's to anybody and everybody. Nice to have a restaurant of this caliber at the casino. Cavanaughs is worth the 2 1/2 drive just for the food and service alone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We came there to celebrate a birthday. We sat at a table by the window that had a good view of the river. The food was good. I recommend the lamb chops. Someone was playing the piano and singing to set the mood. Overall I'd recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I came with my fiance to this restaurant for our 10 months anniversary. As soon as we were greeted we noticed the fine modern decor that encapsulated our eyes. The weary head nod of the pianist electrified the bar as we were led to our table. As our server brought us drinks we searched the menu effortlessly looking for our options. Our server took our orders and the food came out with efficient speed. The entire restaurant seemed to work in tip top fashion as a nod to the well prepared staff. My fiance got a salad that was quite excellent and very proportionally priced. I ordered a chicken dish that was alright. The proportion was relatively small for what I paid for it. Overall it was a lovely dining experience and I would mostly recommend it as a nice lunch venue with a beautiful view, dining room, and classy operation as a whole.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service is normally great. But last 2 times. Not 5 star

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

After reading previous reviews, I almost cancelled our reservation...Would have been a Huge mistake! Our reservation was for 5:30 and yet Dinner was excellent, everything perfectly prepared, our waiter Sergey was helpful and prompt. We will Definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

My husband a I try to make it at least once a year. Always the best steak!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.