About Cavanaugh's

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Cavanaugh's, Evansville, IN

Report a photo problem

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (19)
Romantic (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
See All
Quiet Conversation (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Scenic View (12)
Business Meals (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Waterfront (10)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Fun (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Private Room (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Live Music (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fit for Foodies (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Casual (3)
Healthy (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great Beer (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
240 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our steaks were delicious, although I di ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 4 days ago

Our steaks were delicious, although I did have to send my first eight ounce filet back as it was cooked slightly more than medium when I ordered Medium Rare. That gave me a little more time to enjoy my Tomato and Mozzarella salad which was yummy although a bit large for one person. I love the wine selections there with my favorite glass of wine being 'B Side." The service was good and they were kind enough to store my left over steak in their fridge while I spend a little time at the casino. When we returned, we sat in the bar for a bit and listened to the live piano and saxophone playing which rounded out our evening. I will go back!

Tags: Casual, Scenic View, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Best place I have eaten at in Evansville ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Best place I have eaten at in Evansville. I really liked the setting and atmosphere cavanaughs provided for my anniversary.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are very happy to have a restaurant o ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We are very happy to have a restaurant of this quality in Evansville.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tonight was my friend and I having dinne ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Tonight was my friend and I having dinner in between partying at the casino. If you've read my previous reviews of Cavanaugh's, I have the same thing just about every time: cocktail shrimp, lobster bisque, NY strip steak medium Oscar add-on and Au gratin potatoes. Everything was to die for. The drinks are always well made. Our only complaint was the slow service on drinks and taking dirty dishes from our table. We did not penalize our server for this because we noted the restaurant was packed and they did not have enough people working. Come on Cavanaugh's- for a $200 - $300 dinner why can't you have enough staff to give every patron A+ treatment?

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We really enjoyed the food. My wife and ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We really enjoyed the food. My wife and I thought it was some of the best steaks we have ever had. The service was very good too. The only negative was the smoky smell which comes from the nearby casino. We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our family wanted something different fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our family wanted something different for Christmas Eve. I hope this will become a tradition. The ambiance was sublime, sparkly, light, and the glittery Ohio beyond. From my Lemon Drop martini to the last bite of my perfectly cooked filet (with amazing bearnaise), the meal was perfect. All three of us enjoyed a filet, cooked differently and with three different sauces. My son and I shared some potatoes au gratin, which was so fresh and had an excellent, cheesy but not overwhelming flavor. My husband and son had the ample mozzarella and tomato salad (Caprese?), and I had the wedge salad. I so appreciate that it was with Bibb lettuce and not the tasteless iceberg. The service was terrific. Our waiter, Jorge, gave excellent service but did not hover. Cannot stand a fine dining experience where the staff hovers and doesn't allow the customer to enjoy the meal. We were all so pleased. A plus plus and will do it again next year if not sooner.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cavanaugh's has always been a must do wh ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Cavanaugh's has always been a must do when in Evansville. We were looking forward to a really great meal on Christmas eve. This visit was just so so. Waiter was somewhat distant and not on top of his game. Food was not as wonderful as previous visits. We were somewhat disappointed but,will try again.

Tags: Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I'm not sure how to politely say my husb ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I'm not sure how to politely say my husband was served Prime Rib that was cold. Arg, our meals were presented to the table and I was enjoying my crab cakes when he cuts into the center of his meat and says "feel it". The Server was prompt and said he'd bring another. He returned with the same piece of meat, now with grill marks but still cold inside. The Manager stopped by to explain "medium rare" is at 110 degrees. He had a hard time understanding what cold meant and it wasn't 110 degrees. On a brighter note drinks were good. As we were leaving, we heard a Server comment to a guest at a nearby table that she would take "that" off of the bill and apologized. You might think twice about this place it lacks integrity.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

Service and food was excellent.

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The asparagus was not steamed all the wa ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 23, 2016

The asparagus was not steamed all the way. While the portion was good size, was very hard.

Tags: Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Unfortunately my mother in laws funeral ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Unfortunately my mother in laws funeral brought my husband and I to Evansville after many years of my husband and his family not living there. We came in the evening before and wanted to enjoy a relaxing nice dinner. This was a great choice! The restaurant is very pretty. Loved the backlit menus (never experienced those before). We each had the filet. Cooked perfectly; great taste. The sides are shareable and we're also great as we're our salads. It made an otherwise not fun trip something positive to remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service are phenomenal. We bot ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Food and service are phenomenal. We both ordered the NY Strip and it was cooked to perfection. I can't say enough about the cooks and service staff at Cavanaugh's. Thanks so much for another great evening!!

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Business Meals
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well, I've been here at least 20 - 30 ti ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Well, I've been here at least 20 - 30 times and I never cease to be amazed at the quality and always having left satisfied and happy. After raving about this place to my mom and step-dad for several years, I finally was able to treat them to a special occasion dinner. I was simply hoping the food and service would match the expectations I had for my parents to have an amazing meal and evening, and my expectations were exceeded again. The overall experience of eating there and the taste and quality of the food literally stole the show. I won't go into my usual detail of everything I has this time, but my usually NY Strip steak was just totally amazing, and everything else was as well. My mom went on and on about her crab cakes, filet mignon steak, and au gratin potatoes. Her friend went on about her prime rib. My wife's salmon was tasty and cooked to perfection. Thank you Cavanaugh's for another great dining experience!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Only thing wrong with the experience was ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Only thing wrong with the experience was the cigarette smell in the building.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best filet and lobster I've had in the p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 6, 2016

Best filet and lobster I've had in the past 20 years. Lobster was absolutely perfectly cooked.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Live Music, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Private Room, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

We thought the menu was a bit pricey for ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We thought the menu was a bit pricey for the ambiance. The peanut brittle salad was the high point of the dinner and was excellent. My friends steak was overcooked and my lamb chops were a little tough but flavorful. At over $120 for a dinner for two was a bit high for this restaurant experience. I also thought it was not intimate enough of a setting. I was also disappointed that for a restaurant Irish name they did not have Guiness on tap. I think you get much more for your buck at Biaggis and doubt that we will be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Atmosphere was very nice and yet laid ba ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Atmosphere was very nice and yet laid back. Service was excellence.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The drinks were good, and my wife's food ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The drinks were good, and my wife's food was delicious. The meat was tender and the shrimp tasty. On the other hand, the opah was overcooked. We have been here before and it seemed like the ambience was lacking this time. Maybe it was because the window next to the table faced a street light outside instead of the river as we had requested.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was okay but for the price I expect ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Food was okay but for the price I expected better. And wi e list was limited and over priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

We brought my family out to eat and enjo ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We brought my family out to eat and enjoyed dinner before my youngest daughter went back to college. She loves Cavanaughs. A great experience.

Tags: Healthy, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone enjoyed themselves and the meal ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Everyone enjoyed themselves and the meals and service were very good.

However, personally, I was a bit disappointed that we were placed near the entry, which is near the bar, which was near the musician, which precluded those sitting at that end of the long rectangular table from being able to hear conversations even from those near by. Although the music was good, the musicians break was welcomed.

Next time we will ask to be seated in the lower river view section or in a separate room. For this size party (12) I'd have hoped for better seating.

Tags: Fun, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Don't laugh, but I ended up getting a so ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Don't laugh, but I ended up getting a soup and salad at Cavanaughs. Their mozzarella and tomato salad was one of the best I've ever had. The French onion soup was good too. So you can go on a budget if you eat accordingly. And it was tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Seated in a very high traffic area. Was ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Seated in a very high traffic area. Was impossible to talk. Water glass was not refilled for 40 minutes even though all of the staff walked by every 3 minutes. Amazing lack of attention. Steak was very good but not great at $42.00 for an 8 oz fillet.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

What a shame such a beautiful setting on ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 29, 2016

What a shame such a beautiful setting on the sun setting Ohio river is upstaged by the overwhelming smell of smoke, loud piano carrying over from the bar, and mediocre food preparation. For the prices one should expect a perfect meal. My wife's freshly flown in halibut was over cooked and place atop precooked vegetables that had no flavor. It was sent back and a nicely cooked filet of beef was quickly brought with limp Parmesan fries. Our waiter handled everything very well. We found out the chef wasn't there ( on a Saturday night) to oversee the kitchen staff. I try this place about every 5 years hoping it will improve; however, it's clear the vision for this restaurant seems to be only as a reward dinner for the casino patrons.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Overall very good. Handicap access could ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Overall very good. Handicap access could be better. Could not use my walker, had to leave it on upper level of dining room. The table was not set up with the flowers I had ordered for my wife. This was the first time this happened since we started dining there, but the room was very busy when we arrived, but still a good experience. We'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

As good as it usually gets in towns the ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 16, 2016

As good as it usually gets in towns the size of Evansville. Tempting to not knock the place, given it is pretty good food and a pretty good menu, for a place that I'd guess struggles for business in a small town. Not uncommon for a small town higher end restaurant, the staff is not greatly experienced at higher end service. So, friendly, tries hard, but timing and other serving and etiquette cues are off. Combine that with the fact that half the clientele are also not too experienced at how to dine in such a place (dress, loud talking, use of cell phones, etc.) and you get an experience that is not up to what the kitchen produces. Grateful it was there, however. Reminds me of what they say about bumblebees: it isn't that it doesn't fly well, it's that it flies at all which amazes the scientists.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

The restaurant was a quick pick for a bu ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on October 11, 2016

The restaurant was a quick pick for a business meal and I would highly recommend going to anyone. The bar was a bit loud but the dining room was just right. Food was amazing and I would like to suggest trying the steaks.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Menu presentation idea was very cool and ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Menu presentation idea was very cool and innovative.

Food and service were very good.

We all enjoyed it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUR WAITER WAS EXCELLENT AND IT WAS ALL ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 18, 2016

OUR WAITER WAS EXCELLENT AND IT WAS ALL AND ALL A VERY ENJOYABLE EXPERIENCE.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great seafood and steak. Service was exc ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great seafood and steak. Service was exceptional. Perfect cocktails. Will definitely be going back.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Had a very enjoyable experience. Service ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a very enjoyable experience. Service was excellent

Tags: Waterfront, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a reservation and were seated prompt ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a reservation and were seated promptly... very busy... nice ambiance and view of the Ohio River... slightly understaffed as it took a awhile for food to arrive... dinner was good... fair price and we will dine here again...

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Waitress was very nice but my steak was ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Waitress was very nice but my steak was overcooked. After sending it back, it came back extremely chewy. It was a filet and it chewed like jerky. No offer to get anything else or to comp the steak. Still had to pay $55 just to go eat somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Terrific food and service. Love the pian ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Terrific food and service. Love the piano bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service and good food

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Great service and good food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was great and the entire party enjo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was great and the entire party enjoyed their menu selections. Our waiter Mike was terrific!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are so glad we decided to spend our a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We are so glad we decided to spend our anniversary dinner at Cavanaugh's. They made the dining experience a very special time. Food, Service, Atmosphere were all excellent !! We could not have been more pleased with our experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, and great Hos ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great food, great service, and great Hostess!!! Worth a drive if you are close.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was good, but waitress was trai ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The food was good, but waitress was training and we had down time waiting for service. Otherwise, the experience was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great. Service was great. Music ...

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was great. Service was great. Music was great. We enjoyed our evening. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.