Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.08mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.32mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Cavanaugh's

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (36)
Good for Anniversaries (36)
Scenic View (34)
See All
Good for a Date (28)
Romantic (27)
Waterfront (26)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Live Music (16)
Cozy (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Business Meals (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Fun (6)
Casual (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Authentic (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Private Room (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Happy Hour (1)
Healthy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Family Style (1)
Organic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined 3 days ago

From service to food, our experience was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was fabulous and very friendly. Beauty smile and very attentive. Kudos to her! Samantha- I think

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We enjoyed dinner and loved the glowing menus! We would defiantly go back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We were disappointed with our meal. My husband returned his steak. He ordered prime rib cooked medium. The steak was fully uncooked and full of fat and gristle. I ordered lobster bisque and a salad. My salad was good and soup was not warm. The server was very kind and we had great service. He offered my Husband another steak we declined. When he gave us the bill he actually took the steak off . We did not even ask and just wanted to pay our bill and leave. He still brought out a piece of cake as I requested for a surprise for my husbands birthday. Overall we were not pleased with our meal and how we were seated by a big group and another couple. The restaurant was not crowded , and it would have been nice to have more privacy. Thank you, Mattingly's

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 9, 2017

As always top notch food and service. I would recommend Cavanaugh's to anybody and everybody. Nice to have a restaurant of this caliber at the casino. Cavanaughs is worth the 2 1/2 drive just for the food and service alone.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Cozy, Business Meals, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We came there to celebrate a birthday. We sat at a table by the window that had a good view of the river. The food was good. I recommend the lamb chops. Someone was playing the piano and singing to set the mood. Overall I'd recommend it to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I came with my fiance to this restaurant for our 10 months anniversary. As soon as we were greeted we noticed the fine modern decor that encapsulated our eyes. The weary head nod of the pianist electrified the bar as we were led to our table. As our server brought us drinks we searched the menu effortlessly looking for our options. Our server took our orders and the food came out with efficient speed. The entire restaurant seemed to work in tip top fashion as a nod to the well prepared staff. My fiance got a salad that was quite excellent and very proportionally priced. I ordered a chicken dish that was alright. The proportion was relatively small for what I paid for it. Overall it was a lovely dining experience and I would mostly recommend it as a nice lunch venue with a beautiful view, dining room, and classy operation as a whole.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Service is normally great. But last 2 times. Not 5 star

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 24, 2017

After reading previous reviews, I almost cancelled our reservation...Would have been a Huge mistake! Our reservation was for 5:30 and yet Dinner was excellent, everything perfectly prepared, our waiter Sergey was helpful and prompt. We will Definitely be coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 23, 2017

My husband a I try to make it at least once a year. Always the best steak!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 21, 2017

My husband and I frequent Cavanaugh's and really enjoy this restaurant. This time we shared a filet and king crab and both were outstanding. In addition, the Manager took our wine order since our server was busy which was a nice touch meaning we didn't have to wait for anything. A wonderful evening!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We ordered a 16oz prime rib and asked our waiter if we could split this steak. Mike (our waiter) not only did that but he told us to split the potato as well . We really had a good steak and still could not finish it. Cudos to the staff for making our special day even better.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 17, 2017

While the service was EXCEPTIONAL and the food was solid, the manager made a fool of himself by interrupting a speech, and making our large table feel unwelcome. I was appreciative of the server who apologized for him over and over, but the manager left a bad taste in the mouth of several guests. He also failed to check in on the table: didn't ask us how our food/ experience was or why we were having a large get-together. I don't think he wanted us there, and he is going to get his wish the next time we are in town.

Again, the server saved the day - but I don't know if I would ever recommend this place to others who were visiting the Casino.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great food and great service but in the pricey side. Similar to Ruth Chris. No kids menu.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were celebrating my husbands birthday at Cavanaughs. It was our first visit and the food was delicious, the waitress was outstanding and the chef greeted us at our table and wanted to know how everything was. He also gave us his card- he was very friendly and the food is wonderful! We definitely will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Casual, Quiet Conversation
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Good food and good service for our 10 yr anniversary.

Tags: Bar Seating, Business Meals, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Love the Ribeye French onion soup and potato. Took my mother in-law. She had the scampi and loved it.

Tags: Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Scenic View, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent across the board, as always. Chilean Sea Bass and Neptune dinners were excellent, and so was the services.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Dinner was a great gift for my family celebrating my daughter's 17th birthday. Great experience!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Overall had a great time and great service, food, etc

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Very attentive staff. Nice table next to the window. Food was ok but not great. The restaurant became very noisy with the piano player and the crowd in the bar as there is no separation from the restaurant. What started out as a quiet table next to the window became noisy as the rather exuberant bar crowd got louder.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The steak was delicious. The dessert was delicious. The sides were plain. The service was slow. The price was high. The noise level inside the restaurant was extremely loud. I would rate it a 4 out of 5.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Fantastic restaurant! The food is amazing and Sergey is an exceptional server.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Live Music, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Excellent food and great service!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Cavanaugh's was an excellent place to eat and relax. My fiance and I drove 2 hours to eat there for our Valentine's dinner and we were not disappointed. I had the porterhouse steak and she had pasta and both dishes were perfection. It is agreeable that the food we had was well worth the price and we will be back as soon as possible!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Delicious food in a very nice environment with live piano music.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This restaurant was absolutely incredible. The bone-in ribeye and filet were incredible. Lobster mac and cheese, mashed potatoes, and Parmesan fries were all outstanding. Best cheesecake I've ever had in my life. The only negative is that there is still a slight aroma of smoke from the casino entrance area. Very very slight, but still there. Outstanding service. Would recommend to anyone and everyone.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Wow! Where do I start,
Firstly I LOVE-ED this place, it's the ONLY REAL fine dining establishment in Evansville PERIOD, so it's always a go to place to dine when I'm in town from Chicago.

The menu WAS great especially after the addition of the Dry aged bone-in ribeye! The seafood selection was also up to par. With a Wine selection to match!

Now after this most recent visit I was honestly devastated when I found out the menu was changed! And NOT for the better, the menu now resembles that of an over glorified TGI Fridays at 3x's the price.

Unfortunately until the menu changes I will not return,

For management please feel free to contact me on this new yelp account as I may be able to help with some one on one constructive criticism.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had issues with our steaks, but was taken care of by Chief Jess. Jonathon was our waiter, best waiter in a long time. All and all even with steak issues was a overall good experience.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We have dined here several times and the cuisine is always phenomenal. However, our most recent visit was somewhat disappointing. The food was excellent, but it took an hour for the entree's to arrive. We had finished out salads and appetizers 40 minutes before the steaks and crab legs made it to the table. As we were finishing our meal, the restaraunt staff began closing duties. One of the staff was using a vaccuum and came right up to our table with it!! Being that this steakhouse is top tier-this is totally unacceptable. Had our meal been served to us in a reasonable time frame. We wouldnt have been in their way for clean up. We felt as though they wanted us to hurry up and get out!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had picked our seats ahead off time and they tried to seat us in the inner part. I told them we had seats picked by the window so they did that. The food was good but way over priced. The best thing was the menu how it lit up.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The food was adequate and extremely over priced for the quality. I could not recommend this restaurant because of that.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The Valentine Special was delicious! Our service was outstanding. We will definitely return for special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Although it was expensive, we felt it was well worth it. Our steaks were among the best we've had and everything else was delicious as well. The service was wonderful and we had a view of the river while we dined. Great special occasion restaurant!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have no complaints on the service. I do have one opinion on a salad option, and overall price. The 16 oz NY strip and baked potato were good. The Cesar salad was on the bland side for my taste. Our bill was $150 without any alcohol, appetizer or dessert. For what we had, it should be closer to the $80-100 range in my opinion. Overall, a good experience. I'll go back...just not every week :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I went here on Valentine's Day and I couldn't have been more pleased. Our services was phenomenal and the food was even better. Will definitely be back

Tags: Scenic View, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food ambience first time there. Delicious food. Def worth going back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Piano bar was too loud. Other than that, we had an incredible time.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (SW Indiana)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Overall great business dinner. Good food, good service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for an early Valentine's Day. My partner chose crab and was well pleased with it. I chose chicken and was well pleased with it as well as the rice. Our friends ordered the filet and it was cooked as ordered. The waitress was attentive. We were disappointed in the salad choices, though. Overall, a good experience!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.