About Cavanaugh's

421 NW Riverside Dr
Evansville, IN 47708
View Larger Map

Flawless steaks. Fresh seafood. Impeccable service. Enjoy the finest cuisine paired with sweeping river views. Cavanaugh’s is the perfect place for the perfect evening.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday
5:00pm - 10:00pm

Friday & Saturday
5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(812) 433-4333

Website:
http://tropevansville.com/dining

Entertainment:
Piano Bar Nightly

Parking Details:
Tropicana Evansville Parking Garage

Executive Chef:
Joseph Wilson

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Cavanaugh's
Cavanaugh's

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Wed 5:00PM - 8:00PM

Cavanaugh's Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Southwest Indiana / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Evansville
Best Restaurants in Evansville ›

special occasion (59)
scenic view (54)
romantic (47)
See All
notable wine list (20)
good for groups (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
fit for foodies (14)
late-night find (5)
hot spot (5)
neighborhood gem (5)
great for brunch (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
great for lunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very nice seats by the window overlookin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Very nice seats by the window overlooking the water. Service was very good and food was delicious! Definitely a keeper! We'll be back when we're in the area again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

My filet was excellent. My wife's Rigato ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My filet was excellent. My wife's Rigatoni was not prepared in a manner that was palatable to her. She ate 1 bite and left the rest. They did offer her another dish: however, she was to embarrassed to accept it. We were celebrating our 53rd anniversary and it won't be our fondest anniversary memory.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Cavanaugh's made a special night even mo ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Cavanaugh's made a special night even more memorable! Loved everything about it...the decor, the service, the view and especially the food! We were treated like royalty from the time we entered the restaurant until we walked out the door. I don't feel like this is a place for small children, especially unruly ones. My wife and I would recommend Cavanaugh's to anyone wanting to make a special occasion or even just a date night even more special!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner was very enjoyable but food was a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Dinner was very enjoyable but food was a little on the pricey side. Good place for a special occasion.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The feedback from everyone at the busine ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The feedback from everyone at the business dinner was that the food was outstanding and the attention given from the Cavanaugh's staff - specifically the Hostess (Jazmin) was superb.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was at Cavanaugh's on a Monday night a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

I was at Cavanaugh's on a Monday night and as expected, the restaurant was not very busy. (We were also there fairly early (6:15 p.m.). The view of the Ohio River is magnificent and the restaurant is comfortable and nicely appointed. I sat with my back to the view so my business guest could enjoy it. I have no complaints whatsoever, just a few constructive comments. First, our server was excellent and attentive, but the pace of our meal was hurried. We ordered our salads and they came immediately. Our entrees then arrived before either of us had finished our salad. We accepted our entrees and enjoyed them. The mushroom risotto was excellent and so were our steaks. Our asparagus was cooked to the right al dente texture, but it was coated in butter, so neither of us ate much of it. We were offered desserts that looked scrumptious, but had no room. Altogether, with a glass of wine or two, salads, and dinner, we were in and out of there in an hour. We had a nice time, but it was just a little too fast particularly given that it was a light crowd. I do not hesitate to recommend the restaurant. It is a quality place and parking is easy. You simply will need to speak up about pacing and butter on fresh veggies, etc.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

AmazingserviceandfoodIwouldhighlyrecomme ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

AmazingserviceandfoodIwouldhighlyrecommendittoanyonewantingaromanticnightout

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was terrible!!!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was terrible!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

We LOVE Cavanaughs!! Love the atmoshpher ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We LOVE Cavanaughs!! Love the atmoshphere, the amazing food and their wonderful staff! Be sure to ask for a window seat where you can enjoy the view of the river. You can not find better quality food in Evansville. The Blackened Neptune is fabulous and their steaks cannot be beat! So delicious. For the perfect experience, ask for server, Jon, he is the greatest!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional. Sergey was a ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The food was exceptional. Sergey was a fantastic server - he was very knowledgable about the menu and interesting to talk to.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a return visit with superb pers ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This was a return visit with superb personal treatment, service and meal. The hostess noted and kindly responded with a window table seating with river view. Our server indicated she was in training and would be assisted by a senior server named Jonathan. They were a perfect team with Jonathan's deep knowledge of the food preparations. We started with a nice Louis Martini Cabernet wine and warm bread. They allowed us the Sautéed Merlot Mushrooms as a starter followed by a nice Wedge Salad. For entrees I enjoyed the Seafood Scampi with Shrimp and Scallops while my wife enjoyed the Pan Seared Crab Cakes. Management checked with us for satisfaction during the meal and ended with a nice departure discussion. Very nice indeed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We invited two friends with us, because ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We invited two friends with us, because we enjoyed ourselves so much on a previous visit.

Michael provided excellent service and the remaining staff was very attentive. Our meal were cooked perfectly. Our friends said they would come back and invite others.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal was very well prepared. Great place ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Meal was very well prepared. Great place for a business dinner or special occasion .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic food,service and atmosphere.A ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Fantastic food,service and atmosphere.A little spendy but worth every penny.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Had a great business meal here and highly recommend it for future visits to Evansville.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great dinner exprience

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Food and services excellent.

Nice river view.

Quiet place.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed food and wine and service. Was ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Enjoyed food and wine and service. Was not pleased to be declined a window seat with river view that was requested early in my opentable reservation.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Eating at the Casino

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

The Food was great and good ambiance. I had made a special request and it was followed up on. It was a nice surprise for a casino restaurant.!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great View

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We always enjoy Cavanaughs when we are in Evansville. Our server, Trevor, was outstanding. He took care of all our needs and then some. The food was excellent. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious! The staff was at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

The food was delicious! The staff was attentive and it seemed important to them that we enjoyed our evening. Without spoiling the surprise opening the menu was a neat experience, at least for us. It took me three days to finish my carrot cake dessert. Would definitely recommend a visit to Cavanaughs.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our special-occasion place for dinner.

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We rarely spend this much for dinner, but for special occasions this can't be beat in the Evansville area. The portions were generous and the service and ambiance were of a high quality.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very much over priced and the food wasn' ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Very much over priced and the food wasn't that exceptional

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

Great place! Excellent food! Recommend. ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

Great place! Excellent food! Recommend. River view quite serene. The rib-eye was excellent.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Cavanaughs Dinner

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Atmosphere is incredible, food is delicious, service is great. Love this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent food and Service

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The restaurant has an excellent menu with a scenic view of the river. The service was excellent.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was spotty; friendly but not tha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was spotty; friendly but not that attentive. Food was OK, but for these prices in Indiana (comparable to NY City where I currently reside) it should be superb. Prime rib was tough and shouldn't have been when priced at about $35.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Happy and you know it.

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Great atmosphere and ambiance. Dessert tray was magically delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Impressive

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The serve was very impressive. I really had a wonderful time while visiting the Kentucky Derby and the surrounding areas. Cavanaugh's was great.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Very excellent!!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Very excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent good quality and excellent service.

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Our second time eating there. We've never had a bad experience. The food is excellent, the view of the river is beautiful, especially at sunset. The staff were all wonderful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All's Well, But Doesn't End Well!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Made reservations for six at 5:00 P.M.. Had a concert to attend at 7:30 P.M. Waitress was made aware of the fact that we had a concert at 7:30 P.M. Food was excellent. Location was great! Service was good, although slow.When bills were brought to the table, waitress made some remark about her computer skills, placed all of them in the middle of the table, and said, " you figure them out ! " Two of the six were correct. The other four all had charges on them that were incorrect, such as one being charged for a beer, and no one at the table had a beer. She did change the bills, when it was brought to her attention, but this caused us to run later than we intended and caused undue stress. Unhappy ending to an otherwise great dinner.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

Wonderful experience!

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had a party of four, and we all had a variety of offerings. Everything was delicious. Our sever was awesome and was very attentive. Our friends were from out of town and really enjoyed the experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, view

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The food was amazing. The view of the Ohio River and barge traffic was pleasing to the eye. We had a window seat with unobstructed views around the bend in the river. Inside, it was very quiet, but not eerily quiet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect dining experience

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

The staff was perfect. Not too much attention yet always there at the right time.The food was outstanding.The steaks were perfectly cooked and delicious.I highly recommend this restaurant for anyone seeking a grand dining experience.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I had the pleasure of dining at Cavanaugh's for my Wedding Anniversary. The bar was a blast and it was a good entertaining atmosphere. The dinner was fantastic. Our waitress was absolutely SPOT ON throughout the evening. Great experience. Highly recommend.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a good night out

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

We always like coming here for special occasions such as Anniversaries and Birthdays . The service is always great and the view of the river is nice and romantic. The food is great and the portion size is large. I like the 20 oz bone in rib-eye and the wife gets the fillet. Save room for the desert cart it is outstanding.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved it!!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Food and experience were great!! One of the top ten steaks I've ever eaten and the lobster macaroni and cheese was incredible.

Tags: romantic, notable wine list
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The peanut brittle salad was so good. A ...

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

The peanut brittle salad was so good. A little sweet but the greens were so good. The Caesar salad was excellent. The prime rib was cooked very well and was tender and a large portion. The filet was excellent. The Asparagus with Hollandaise Sauce was excellent and could easily feed 3 people. The bread and garlic and olive oil and olive oil was different and tasted good. The crème brulee was rich and creamy.

The ambiance was so quiet, with pretty river views and just a feeling of peace and get away from it all.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary Dinner

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The food was delicious and our waitress was very attentive and pleasant. I ordered the 8oz filet and it was cooked perfectly....the best. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our Anniversary dinner.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

carolyn

 
 (SW Indiana)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

we are never disappointed with the food always high quality, prepared great

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.