Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (148)
Fun (130)
Special Occasion (129)
See All
Good for a Date (125)
Fit for Foodies (117)
Vibrant Bar Scene (113)
Good for Groups (112)
Good for Birthdays (106)
Creative Cuisine (94)
People Watching (84)
Great for Outdoor Dining (82)
Good for Anniversaries (77)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Scenic View (54)
Romantic (52)
Happy Hour (52)
Casual (51)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Bar Seating (45)
Late-night Find (45)
Great for Brunch (42)
Great for Lunch (40)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Worth the Drive (35)
Business Meals (33)
Tasting Menu (30)
Good Vegetarian Options (30)
Tapas (27)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Quick Bite (11)
Vegan (11)
Spicy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Seasonal (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Organic (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Music (3)
Live Sports (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3921 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

We were treated so rudely upon entering. Level of hospitality was appalling. Reception could not have cared less that we were dining with them. We left. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. There are so many establishments in this city that make you feel welcome and valued.

You blew it, Catch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing place! Very modern and cool! Just fashion and beautiful people! Make your reservation and enjoy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The scallop gnochi is amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I went to Catch with a couple of friends for a Sunday brunch. We ordered savory and sweet dishes as well, and everybody was really satisfied with his/her food.
At the beginning, our waiter broke a bottle of water, and other two came there right away to help him cleaning up. I don't know if it was for this accident or it's something they usually do, but they brought us a wonderful fruit plate whit whipped mascarpone - on the house.
Me and my friend had a great time, with really good food and in a really nice place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice spot with the decoration and in a great area. Very nice rooftop. Service ok/standard. Food good and trendy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant was great but did nothing to acknowledge special birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We went for the second time this weekend and really enjoyed our dining experience. The last time was several years ago. This time much better!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Food and service was blah.. not the great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Bonne cusine. Terrasse sympa à proximité du Whitney Museum. Service très moyen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The worst customer service. Unprofessional, unhelpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Dont go to the 2 floor.....its Too much loud!!! Impossible to eat!! Its more like a disco as a restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Loved the location and look of the place. Food was delicious, we split the crispy shrimp and crunchy rice cakes and washed them down with plenty of mimosas. Price was fair and service was amazing, they never let your glass of water go lower than half full!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Excelente! Ambiente maravilhoso e comida deliciosa!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined 5 days ago

Grandioses Essen, tolles Konzept mit Essen zum Teilen um mehr kennen zu lernen
Tolle Empfehlungen unserer Kellnerin
Sehr gute Weinkarte
Wie allgemein in NY nicht günstig, aber jeden Penny wert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I am a publicist and took an editor friend here for dinner. We had a great time with great food and a fun atmosphere. I will definitely be back with fellow media friends, and personal friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

I’ve been to this restaurant plenty of time for dinner and brunch due to living in the area. However, the service sucked, our waiter was not very attentive and kept forgetting things. It was my friend bday and they left it up to me to pick the restaurant and they were not impressed at all due to lack of service given. He also, had someone shadowing him and didn’t really introduced himself or the other guy what was shadowing him. When it was time to place order for food, we found out one of the items that was my favorite on the menu that they ran out... so we selected something else. When our food came, he forgot to place the order for the alternative option we selected. Then our food came, 10-15min passed he didn’t check upon us, when he did, I told him, we did not have any napkins that goes with the utensils for us to place on our lap while we eat. We was very apologetic about that. Overall, my friends that were visiting stated they would never return back to this restaurant when visiting nyc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great restaurant, but way too expensive. I would go back, but price was way too high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Family brunch. Slow service…

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

7:30 dinner at the upstairs dining area. Very lively atmosphere, but the service was slow - more so than I would have expected. Still a good time and great food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on October 7, 2017

I made a reservation for 1pm, and even though I had to wait 40 minutes, the staff felt so bad they gave a complimentary fruit basket and dessert for my mother's birthday. The food is so wholesome and fresh too. Only downside is that I was sitting in the sun and squinting the entire time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 6, 2017

They want change table so fast .Greate food and place

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Great patio and menu. Recommend sitting outside as inside (upstairs) noise level was really high. Must get: crispy chicken bao buns!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Fantastic food and atmosphere. Our waitress was a gem!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Everything was great food amazing different lol but good service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Amazing service. Food was exquisite and full of flavour. Best dishes were the scallop gnocchi and the octopus. Desserts are massive and need to be shared!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Just the best! We love the food and the service is great!

Tags: People Watching, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 5, 2017

Excellent service and tasty food, with an innovative menu and ingenious presentations. Very recommendable.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

I absolutely loved catch, I will definitely be back there again! The food was delicious! Service was top notch too!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 4, 2017

NEVER been disappointed, but the restaurant can stand a facelift :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Went there for dinner with two coworkers, one of which was visiting from CA, so wanted to take him to a place that was fun and represented the city well without being to bourgie or touristy. Catch was the perfect place. Definitely has a fun, upbeat, energetic vibe, but isn't overwhelming or intimidating. Our server was awesome and very friendly and gave us great recommendations as to what to order. We ordered a bunch of recommended dishes and the biggest hits were the truffle sashimi, the crispy shrimp and the hellfire rolls. I had the octopus and the scallops with cauliflower which were both great but a little bit too saucey for my taste. The brussels sprouts side dish was also really good. Our waiter also gave us complimentary whiskey sours when our drinks orders were taking too long. Overall, it was a great experience and I would definitely go back. Would be great for big groups or a celebration dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 3, 2017

Use to be a little bit better. Food just pedestrian and adequate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
·Dined on October 3, 2017

Hostess was sweet clear and helpful
Neither the food nor the service matched the price. Not sure how to match a high quality wine list with sloppy service and overwrought low quality cuisine.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 2, 2017

We met friends who live in Brazil, but were in NYC visiting their son, for dinner at Catch. The design of the restaurant is bright, a lot of windows overlooking the Meatpacking District (the restaurant is on the 2nd floor), minimal "stuff" around. Service is very good without being obtrusive. Our reservation was early, so there were few people there when we were seated. As the evening wore on, the noise level rose as the customer base increased. We ordered a bunch of appetizers, then the whole red snapper for all four of us. When they brought it to the table - totally intact - we all just looked at each other. Thankfully, the staff took it back to the kitchen and opened it up so we could figure out how to eat it. Everything was delicious. We even had dessert, which we rarely do. A great meal, with great friends whom we do not get to see in person very often.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Gluten Free Options, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Great buzz, busy, fun, and great food. Many of the dishes are for sharing and there is a diverse mix between Japanese and then your more standard contemporary dishes. Quality is very good. Some dishes, particularly the fresh fish are pricey.

Nice staff, helpful waiter.

Was a bit put off that the table next to us had several dishes presented as "on the house". Must have been friends with someone but could have been more discreet when we were not afforded the same!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Overall experience was phenomenal. My boyfriend & I went for our anniversary. I wish I could remember the waiter’s name. He was very helpful in pairing a good wine (we went with the white wine) with our meal (which was the lobster mac & cheese). It was sensational! So much flavor, good amount of lobster; the portion looks small but it’s a lot. Very filling! The view is beautiful, the set up on the rooftop is cozy & chic. The wait for a table was not long at all & the staff was very friendly. I will definitely be back soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Cozy, Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Awesome . Sushi, drinks and staff, rock.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Love coming here ! Food is always good and so is the service. Sometimes hard to get a table so always book in advance.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Crispy shrimp, crispy tuna rice, whole snapper, brussel sprouts, cod lettuce wraps, chicken skewers, filet skewers, hit me ice cream sandwich and cinnamon roll doughnut were alll amazing!! Mrc roll and tornado roll were really good too. Fun great spot to go, great food, loud music, with a lounge/club upstairs on the rooftop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.