About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (116)
Good for a Date (112)
Fun (101)
See All
Good for Birthdays (90)
Vibrant Bar Scene (90)
Special Occasion (86)
Creative Cuisine (78)
People Watching (72)
Good for Groups (72)
Fit for Foodies (69)
Modern Decor (61)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (56)
Romantic (43)
Late-night Find (43)
Casual (40)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Tapas (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Happy Hour (28)
Business Meals (27)
Comfort Food (24)
Cozy (23)
Scenic View (22)
Authentic (21)
Tasting Menu (21)
Great for Lunch (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Brunch (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Healthy (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Notable Wine List (15)
Dancing (14)
Family Style (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Spicy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Seasonal (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Vegan (5)
Great Beer (4)
Live Music (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Private Room (3)
Organic (3)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Waterfront (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Sort By:
S
3161 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Took a long time to get table and to get ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 hours ago

Took a long time to get table and to get the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Hicimos reserva 9:45 y nos sentaron 60 m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 21 hours ago

Hicimos reserva 9:45 y nos sentaron 60 minutos mas tarde. Hicimos el pedido de comida, pedimos la carta de vino y nunca vinieron a tomarnos el pedido del vino. La comida vino rápido, pero el pote de soja estaba vacio y no nos trajeron ni plato y palos de sushi.

Lo mismo para el segundo plato, nos trajeron la comida y no los platos.

Muy malo el servicio y muy ruidoso el lugar.

La comida muy buena, una lastima.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Great place

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate a proposal/engageme ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We came to celebrate a proposal/engagement and they sat us an hour late! We had to be at the engagement event on time and we were disappointed with the customer service. Do not plan to recommend to friends or go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Even though I was very late for my reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Even though I was very late for my reservation when I arrived we were seated immediately and service was great and the food and wine was excellent. The server even took the time to take a picture for us as we were celebrating my husbands birthday.

We'll definitely be back and tell others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a TERRIBLE dining experience. D ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

This was a TERRIBLE dining experience. Do not go to this restaurant.

Despite a reservation, we had to wait 45 minutes to be seated. My girlfriend and I made a reservation for dinner for 8:45pm. I arrived at 8:41 and was told they couldn't seat me until my girlfriend arrived. She arrived at 8:51. They then gave us a buzzer and told us that when it buzzed we would be seated. We then waited until after 9:30pm. We both separately approached the hostess station multiple times. Each time we were given a different answer as to when we would be seated and what the holdup was. "You're next on the list." "We're just waiting for a table to get up. They have already paid." Or later, "there are a couple of parties ahead of you" even! They never gave us a straight answer.

Once we were finally seated it took a very long time for us to get our food and the service was downright neglectful. The waiter was nice but stretched way too thin. We were only able to order one drink each because it was impossible to get anyone's attention. At one point, we got up to ty to get someone's attention but couldn't find anyone. It wasn't that crowded up there. The overall experience took over 3 hours and the food was just fine. There is no reason to ever go to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

One of the coolest spot I have been to i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

One of the coolest spot I have been to in years! Great food, service, ambiance and scene!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, the snapper was fantas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great atmosphere, the snapper was fantastic and leave space for the "#hitme" Klondike dessert! Good vibes.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far the worst service I have ever exp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

By far the worst service I have ever experienced. Rude hostess and insanely long wait time...even when you have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We had a great time! The service was gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We had a great time! The service was great and the food was excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for Valentine's day so I know th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

We came for Valentine's day so I know that what we experienced wouldn't be typical of Catch. I had high expectations though because a lot of people told me great things. The ambiance was excellent with great music and a very chic scene; however, I had to wait 45 minutes to be seated (we had reservations). They ran out of lobster and sea urchin. It took about 30 minutes for us to get our order in and another 15 to get my first drink. The steak we ordered was a bit over cooked. We were provided complimentary apps but overall we were a bit underwhelmed. I know we were probably victims of circumstance given the occasion and time of our reservation at 915 but I expected a bit more. I would probably give it another try but not on a busy night.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

$8 for a Pelligrino is a little expensiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

$8 for a Pelligrino is a little expensive, dont ya think?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was outstanding. Our hostess/ wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was outstanding. Our hostess/ waitress was friendly and attentive at all time, had great suggestions during dinner. She made sure that our special night went without any hiccup. Will definitely be back again soon......

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not worth the hype.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Not worth the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We went to Catch for Valentine's Day din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We went to Catch for Valentine's Day dinner. They accommodated our reservation promptly. Everything went smoothly, the food was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food every time. The only disappoi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food every time. The only disappointing aspect was they no longer offer the going bananas desert which was easily the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service; great food. Me and my bu ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great service; great food. Me and my buddies really enjoyed our brunch here.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Business Meals, Family Style, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took my partners there for brunch to c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I took my partners there for brunch to celebrate our anniversary. It was a great experience , amazing food and an awesome waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Booked a table online. Took them an hour ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Booked a table online. Took them an hour to give me the table when I arrived. Nice ambiance but food is aversge.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We waited over an hour to be seated. It ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We waited over an hour to be seated. It is my understanding that Catch does this with regularity (i.e., not seating guests until 30-60 minutes after their reservation), so you should anticipate that they will not seat you for about an hour after your reservation time. Unclear if they do this to create an impression that they are so popular that they cannot handle it, or if they are really that inept about planning reservations. The food was amazing but they need to improve their service, expand the size of the restaurant, or not offer as many reservations at a given time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

I loved this place. Had the Lobster Bisq ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I loved this place. Had the Lobster Bisque. The drinks were very good had the Lush Lemonade! Totally recommend this Place.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Always an amazing experience at Catch

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always an amazing experience at Catch

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was on point

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was on point

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service (Jesse) and food were great- 5 s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service (Jesse) and food were great- 5 stars!!

Very generous portions. I took my GF on a brunch date and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Casual, Modern Decor, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service😁

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Good service😁

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

The food is delicious. The place has a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The food is delicious. The place has a very hip energetic vibe. Friendly service. It was a wonderful meal.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Despite the fact I got there 25 minutes ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Despite the fact I got there 25 minutes late, they were still able to accommodate me and my guests on time. Food was great, cocktails strong and very nice.

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and funding place and ver ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent food and funding place and very good service.

Tags: Modern Decor, Tasting Menu, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Came here to celebrate a birthday. Food ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Came here to celebrate a birthday. Food was amazing! Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Meal tasted like it was frozen and heate ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Meal tasted like it was frozen and heated in the oven. I definitely will not be coming back for restaurant week. Catch just treats it as a cheap way to get more customers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

The cocktails are a bit pricey... 18.00� ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The cocktails are a bit pricey... 18.00😳 thankfully they are strong and tasty, lol. Food portions are small, but well seasoned. The decor and vibe of the restaurant is trendy and cool. I like the staff! They were very nice and accommodating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fab food and drinks, thoroughly recommen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Fab food and drinks, thoroughly recommend! One of the best seafood dinners I've ever had.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Fun, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, People Watching, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

This was the strangest experience I have ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 9, 2017

This was the strangest experience I have ever had at a restaurant. My friend's credit card was stolen while we were paying the bill, and the manager was combative with us when we approached him about it. No one offered anything to alleviate our situation. The customer service was the worst I have experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

The waitress was really nice but didn't ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The waitress was really nice but didn't seem too pleasant when we decided to go for the restaurant week menu. There was a cockroache on the seat and although the waiter came to kill it, management didn't address it at all. It was an okay evening. Had better luck the first time I went to Catch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good, just way too loud and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was good, just way too loud and crowded. Long wait. Not bad, but also not amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value4

It's pricey, but it's a solid spot that ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

It's pricey, but it's a solid spot that you will have a lot of fun at. If your not looking for a loud, lively spot then it's not for you.

Food is very good and the bar drinks are very creative.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Organic, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Healthy, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Very disappointed- we waited for 1 hour ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Very disappointed- we waited for 1 hour 17 minutes for the table despite making a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We made a reservation for 7 pm and didn' ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

We made a reservation for 7 pm and didn't sit down until 8:10 ! Very frustrating too many attractive people behind the check in desk doing nothing .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a large group and we did the rest ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2017

We had a large group and we did the restaurant week pre fixe menu. Options were all delicious. The s'mores dessert was fantastic!! Great place--very loud and very crowded!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.