Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (170)
Good for a Date (143)
Fun (131)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (122)
Special Occasion (118)
Fit for Foodies (109)
Creative Cuisine (100)
Good for Birthdays (99)
Good for Groups (97)
People Watching (93)
Handcrafted Cocktails (60)
Modern Decor (59)
Romantic (59)
Great for Outdoor Dining (58)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
Great for Lunch (49)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Bar Seating (45)
Casual (44)
Scenic View (43)
Happy Hour (42)
Tasting Menu (40)
Late-night Find (40)
Great for Brunch (39)
Tapas (37)
Worth the Drive (36)
Business Meals (35)
Cozy (32)
Healthy (29)
Authentic (29)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Comfort Food (28)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Spicy (22)
Open Kitchen (21)
Vegan (20)
Family Style (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Gluten Free Options (18)
Seasonal (17)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Quick Bite (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Great Beer (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Dancing (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Organic (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Music (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Waterfront (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3547 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

I started using OpenTable regularly 2.5 years ago and since then have dined over 500 times. My husband and I head out to dinner almost every night of the week, literally. We rarely issue a lengthy review and when we do, want to be sure important detail, whether very positive or otherwise, is shared. Terribly overpriced. There are multiple options which deliver a stronger dining experience in every aspect, within blocks. The shrimp cocktail was only slightly chilled, and not exactly fresh. The lobster roll was more bread than lobster. The clams were less than average quality, which is equally puzzling as the restaurant name is "Catch"! And martinis at $20 each. They delivered the wrong bill to us and a corrected version with a chocolate chip cookie as the apology?? Our server was the best part of the experience - she was very friendly and thorough with recommendations. We spend thousands of dollars every month on dining, more toward a higher end experience. Dinner for two at $250 was horribly overpriced and we will not be returning. We can also tell you this was not a one night experience based on the multiple courses and the quality of the food. And a $20 martini is only justified when it's served on a rooftop or in a far more luxurious setting. Avoid.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent all around.
You will definitely see us again.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

Some of the best food I've ever had. An amazing waiter and some fantastic music... hostess stand was my only complaint

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a an amazing time there. The food and service was good. The rooftop was so much fun after dinner. The DJ was awesome. I would definitely go back!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Nate was an amazing server! So kind and attentive-wonderful experience!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Overall, I really wasn't impressed. We made a reservation for 5:30 PM and got there around 4:45 PM so we could enjoy the rooftop bar. It took almost 30 minutes to have 3 drinks made and we were the only ones at the bar. When we finally got our drinks, we made our way outside to the general bar area that was reserved for people not eating dinner on the roof. After one group was done with their drinks, we sat down and were then told that this table was going to be included in the dining area of the roof so we got up and just went downstairs, hoping to be sat early (it was 5:25). When we got downstairs, the hostess informed us that they don't start seating until after 5:30 (so why could we make 5:30 reservations??) and instructed us to stand in the corner with a buzzer until we were called. A few other parties joined us in the corner while we waited for our tables. Eventually some of their buzzers went off and they were called to sit down. I could hear other guests arriving and informing the host that they had reservations for 5:30 (it was now about 5:45) and they were seated right away. I went back up to the host stand and asked why we were the first ones here, had a 5:30 reservation and still hadn't been seated yet - there was only 3 of us! She looked at me like I had 5 heads and brought us to our table. We waited a while before a server came over and by the time she got there, we put in our drink and food order at the same time. One portion of the order was incorrect and we had to wait for that to be corrected. The food was delicious, but overall I just don't see the hype. The rooftop bar situation was a mess and the hospitality of the host stand was lacking. Don't think we'll be going back here.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, nice vibe, great location. food is fresh and yummy

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

My nephew recommended Catch as his #1 pick for seafood and it did not disappoint. From the minute we sat ambiance fun atmosphere. Menu outstanding.we loved our dinner

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Spicy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We were taken upstairs to a quiet table only to realize there was a speaker above my head. Disaster! The food was great. The drinks delicious.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food was great, hostesses were very accommodating. Service was sub par, our server repeatedly walked by without asking how our meal and drinks were. I had toscream out 'excuse me' serveral tubes to get his attention. Not what I expected spending $250 for meal for 2

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Not my first time here and definitely not my last. Favorite spot hands down. Service and food both A++++

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Catch has very good food and good service, also the ambiance is great.
I came to the catch this time for dinner, other time I came for brunch, both experiences were great.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 20, 2017

we like the restaurant and the food, but one of the dishes we ordered never appeared at all as we kept waiting, finally we told them to cancel, they wanted us to have it as a take out but thats not what we went there for. its a mistake the waitress responsible for.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Lovely ambiance, very good food, but a little pricey (which is understandable) and the waitstaff were barely cordial at best (which is not).

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Waitress was awesome...love how they inform you not to over order...that's the kind of thing that's will get me coming back. On top of the food being incredible.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Scenic View, Healthy, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

HORRIBLE! My scallops were burnt and my soda was flat! I would have never expected this in such a expensive restaurant! Also food portions were super small which shouldn't be when the price is so high! Don't recommend this !

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Food was outstanding and the service was great. It is a bit pricey but for what you're getting in that neighborhood it's quite reasonable. Looking forward to going back.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We enjoyed the food, but the music was so loud that we couldn't hear one another speak, which ruined the experience for us.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 17, 2017

I absolutely love this restaurant! It's one of my favorites for any occasion!

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

All good but why so many hot girls at the desk when you walk in? Why not one or two. Makes it feel like a you g persons place. And I like energy bit it's weird picking which girl.you are checking in with.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Seasonal, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fun, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food was good. Great bar. Good menu for everyoone. Reasonable price. The place may get too loud at times. Not a place for a relaxing and quiet dinner.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Late-night Find, Fun, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 15, 2017

They honored our request for a rooftop table and set it up perfectly for our team lunch. Very friendly service and a cute spot. Had a great lunch :D

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

The food and service was excellent but it was very crowded. We had to wait about 50mins with previous reservation and it was too noisy.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 15, 2017

To start, we ended up waiting for a 45 minutes for a reservation. I get it, it's a hot spot. We waited patiently & were seated.

Food was amazing. Server made a couple of recs for our party of 3. Was perfect with a mix of sushi & appetizers. Great ambiance, very beautiful crowd there.

Good spot, would just make sure to get reservation. Showing up without one sounds impossible.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Amazing food, great lunch fix led price menu! It was the perfect place for my quiet birthday lunch celebration...
Ow! Also loved the drinks!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 11, 2017

My sister and I were in town for the weekend and decided to check out Catch for sunday brunch. It was amazing to say the least. I had the steak and eggs and definitely wasn't disappointed. Next time I'm in town I will make sure to stop by once again.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Great dining experience, food and service was outstanding

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Service was very poor. Staff seemed to have no interest in being there or being polite at all

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Love location, beautifully decorated, creative menu and drinks!! Taste sensations!!! Came with future in-laws for dinner a month before our children are getting married and what a treat! I had been before and wanted to bring everyone as the first time was so outrageously good...and everyone loved it! Made me look great... thank you!!!!

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

No ac working during most of the meal rude GM and floor manager

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 10, 2017

One of my all time favorites this was my sixth time to the restaurants

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Pretty great. Fixed price lunch menu was awesome and hard to choose from. Will go again. Warning: iced tea is $7 a glass with no refill.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The food was incredible
The receptionist are not very friendly.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Our reservation was for 9:45 and we didn't get seated until an hour later. We even arrived early. The food was subpar at best and incredibly overpriced. And the bartender had an attitude We will not be returning nor will we recomend to anyone else. There are plenty of other restaurants in Manhattan that will provide good service and food for the price that we payed

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (México)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great Good, great ambiance, really nice Soho place. Can't miss it.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Tuna was too salty.

Service was excellent.

Lobster mac and cheese was excellent

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Seated 1 hr after reservation. Unacceptable.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

The food was good for one party, but for the other being allergic to onions, they could barely cook any dishes (as everything was pre-prepared.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Great food

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.