Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (179)
Good for a Date (145)
Fun (136)
See All
Special Occasion (135)
Vibrant Bar Scene (130)
Fit for Foodies (120)
Creative Cuisine (112)
Good for Birthdays (109)
Good for Groups (106)
People Watching (85)
Great for Outdoor Dining (75)
Good for Anniversaries (72)
Handcrafted Cocktails (72)
Romantic (60)
Scenic View (57)
Happy Hour (54)
Great for Lunch (53)
Bar Seating (52)
Casual (46)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Late-night Find (42)
Tasting Menu (39)
Tapas (37)
Good Vegetarian Options (35)
Business Meals (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Worth the Drive (32)
Authentic (31)
Sunday Lunch (31)
Cozy (29)
Notable Wine List (23)
Modern Decor (22)
Comfort Food (19)
Seasonal (17)
Vegan (16)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Spicy (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great Beer (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Organic (6)
Live Music (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Dancing (4)
Waterfront (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Family Style (3)
Live Sports (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3763 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 18 hours ago

Amazing to take your baby mama to would recommend friendly waiters and everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

From start to finish it was a FANTASTIC evening. Our server Carley was lovely and incredibly accommodating. The food was yummy and some of the best Sushi ever!

Great picks,... The hot shrimp appetizer, and Crispy Tuna Tartar.. Sushi - Catch roll, Tuna Tartar Trio and Lobster Roll!

The Finale ... Hit Me Desert is a must

What a great way to celebrate my daughters 18th Birthday.
Thank U Catch... we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Pretty good I guess if you don't mind spending $200+ on a date to be sat 6 inches away from strangers on both sides and wait 1 hr between apps and entrees. I wouldn't recommend this thirst trap to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food, great service! definitely going back. Highly recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was Great thanks Corey. But the lobster Mac had no flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Shanghai)·Dined 3 days ago

Compare to last time , the service was sloppy and slow this time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The service sucked. The hostess station couldn't have been any ruder. The food was decent. I was looking forward to trying this place and I thought taking one of my accounts here could be a perfect occasion. But it was such a bummer how rude the hostesses were and their lack of customer service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

My friend and I had a great time, and the food was excellent. The only noticeable thing was that the patrons seemed to be very young (21St birthday parties) for such an expensive place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food!! Went there on a holiday trip and it was worth it!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

4階のオープンエアーの雰囲気がとても良かったです。ここではタバコも吸えます。
2階はインドアのレストランになってました。
お料理も美味しかったです。
サービスも良かったです。
オススメです。
人気があるので、予約して行かれることをオススメします。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

The glass of wine we ordered was poor quality and embarrassingly scant in the glass. My oysters which I was told would be large were tiny and for 6 for $24? My maui maui was almost dry and a small piece for $32. The salad mess on my plate. Also had no bread. My white peach sorbet was good.
My friend who paid for my birthday meal liked his lobster salad sandwiches but again thought it was overpriced but liked the fries. Also his deconstructed strawberry shortcake he said was adequate but has had much better. We ate on the roof. Terribly disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fui a almorzar al mediodía. La atención fue correcta pero la comida fue estándar, nada novedoso ni sorprendente. Cosas que uno mismo puede preparar en su hogar.
Al ser un almuerzo no puedo valorar el "ambiente" por el que es tan famoso el restaurante

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Good music, good vibes and good food. Place was perfect for my date night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food and drinks! Would highly recommend eating at Catch to anyone traveling to the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

First time trying their brunch menu and it was great! Nice rooftop seating for brunch and major plus was the Frose!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

The Management Team did their best to accommodate my guests and me on my birthday! The food was excellent and the weather was perfect making my birthday brunch on the rooftop awesome! Thank you Catch! I'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

THanks for accommodate our party. We had a good time we'll definitely come back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

It's a bit loud if you are looking for a quiet spot. Food is good.
Located in a great area. Service was fairly fast. Has a roof top...
Good for groups

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

After all the hype about Catch I was expecting a great experience, with amazing service but with sub par food. How wrong could I be!?

On walking into the restaurant, I was handed a buzzer by a rude woman, who didn't even greet us- like I was in a Cheap chain, this was how I was going to be informed my table was ready... they weren't even bothered to find their guests when a pre booked table became available. Really!? this is how you treat your customers when you are charging $30 for a snack.

My expectations were completely the wrong way round - The food was overall really good, the service however, was shocking. The waitress couldn't care less and actually got annoyed when we sent back the lobster mac and cheese- the only dud from an overall decent meal.

The worst part of Catch is, on finishing our meal we just wanted to check out the roof terrace and finish our ridiculously over priced wine. We were told by another employee (who could also do with a 101 course on customer services), that the restaurant and bar were owned separately and we had to pay for a table with bottle service ($500 minimum) just to see the roof terrace. We just wanted 10 mins to finish our drink and we were diners! Either this is the the best business model/ or a really bad lie to try and get more money out of people.

I really liked the venue, and the food was good- but the way you are treated is appalling. I don't think I have ever had such bad service from a restaurant with this much success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

One of the best meals I have ever had. Our waiter was amazing which just added to the overall experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

My first visit but not my last. A bit pricey but the food is of excellent quality and b presentation. I had thought that they had a Restaurant Week menu on weekends but they did not and it was not clear on Open Table. We decided to eat there anyway. It was worth the price. The sushi is beyond first rate. If you drink wine, go for a bottle because the "by the glass" will cost you more if you do more than one glass a piece.
The wait staff was first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 7 days ago

Catch is an expensive rooftop bar with excellent food. Our waiters were wonderful. We ordered a drink and the Hit Me Chocolate Cake (went specifically to get this dessert). Our waiters stopped, took videos for us and were just great. The only negative, for me, was the wait to get a seat outside. We had a reservation, but were asked to wait at the bar. We could clearly see that every table but 2 were available but we still waited 20 minutes while the hostess tapped away on an iPad and then went outside to 'check for tables.' Had she sat us, and others who were asked to wait, we would have finished our food and drinks earlier and she could have seated the line of guests we saw as we left the bar. Very poor planning. And silly to make the place look busier than it really was. They could have made more money seating everyone right away.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 7 days ago

I really like the food, but unfortunately I had a inconvenient there. So I didn't have the good first impression. I was with some friends, and we made a reservation there, when the hoster was leaving us to the table I asked if we could change the table because we were under the air conditioner, she checked if it was possible first then change us the table. Sunddlely, another hoster come to our table and in the way unpolite asked us why we were sitting in that table, I was constraged with my friends, and before we answer her she accused us to move the table without permission. It was embarrassing...

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went for a dinner date with a friend and got our money's worth. The seafood tower is amazing and so fresh and the lobster mac and cheese was great too. Our waiter was super fun despite our later reservation at 10:45. He recommended us drinks we didn't like and returned them with new drinks with no problem. Super fun night :)

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Fun, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We went on a Friday night on the Restuarant Week menu. Sometimes RW can mean inferior service/food options, but we were very pleasantly surprised. Each course was delicious, and service was great. Catch is pricey, but we'd return here for a special occasion. The ambiance is hip, full of beautiful people & ladies wearing heels not suitable for the cobbled streets of the meatpacking district :). The restaurant (levels 2 & 3) is quieter, though still very hip (you can hold a conversation - the noise levels aren't crazy), the bar on level 4 is a lot louder both with people, and music. That's where the outdoor seating is though, so I think a little noise would be worth the great outdoor area. Plus we were there on a Friday night. I'm sure it would be calmer on a weekday/night. Big thumbs up from us!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Overpriced. Bad service and average food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Catch exceeded my expectations! We really enjoyed the food, drinks, dessert. Our server was wonderful and went through the menu extensively.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Outstanding as usual.... we had 5 clients in town and I think we tried half the menu.... every dish was better then the other. Really great place, energetic with an outstanding menu!!

Tags: Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food is just amazing . I've been there twice already and the food was always great. Very vibrant atmosphere as well.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Tasty but very small portions. Friends left still hungry after paying over $30 for their meals.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Wow this place is always crowded and noisy but worth it for the food that's always spot on. ALWAYS MAKE A RESERVATION.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Birthday


I am going through a really bad case of acid reflux. The waiter along with the chef were very accommodating. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Went here for Restaurant week 2017. Loved the menu options. Food was delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We had a reservation at 815 and wasn't seated till 920. Just know that if you have somewhere to be that you go for the food and bougie experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We were disappointed that the outdoor patio was not available as we requested when the reservation was made several weeks in advance. Our party of 8 had to squeeze into a booth/table that was clearly meant for a party of 6. We understand that a private event was going on but we would have made the reservation another night so that we could have enjoyed the patio. Our service was great and food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

I went to Catch for the 2017 Restaurant Week and i thought the food was fantastic.

I had the grilled Octopus, Roasted Eggplants skewers and Mussels. Everything was great and i drank the One Too Many, very good.

My only complaint was the dessert served on the Restaurant Week was very disappointing. The Smores Pizza and Assorted Cookies, could've been better.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was O.K., but RW menu was not very appealing. Decor slightly shabby, service very slow and indifferent. Rather noisy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Not my first time dining at Catch NYC .... I will continue coming here and celebrate any occasion.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food and ambiance was great but as usual with swanky new hot spits in Meat Packing district, hostesses and managers are snobby and pretentious! Get off your high horse kiddos, your job means nothing in this world!

Tags: People Watching, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Food was ok, but a bit overpriced with the quality. We had a booking for 845pm but ended up waiting for 45 mins before being seated.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.