About Catch New York

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Restaurant Photos

Catch New York
S'mores Pizza
Lobster Rolls
Salmon Belly Carpaccio
Salmon A La Plancha
Kali Cocktail
Mango Shrimp Summer Roll
Steamed Mussels
Corn Skewers
"Hit Me" Chocolate Cake
Grilled Swordfish
Crispy Shrimp
Mandy
Smores pizza
Lobster,Steak&Sushi
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Beef Sliders
Burbon-Miso Seabass Wraps
Scallop Gnocchi
Brussels Sprouts
Crunchy Rice Cakes
Dungeoness Crab Spaghetti
Crab Salad Wonton Crisps
Pretzel Bread With Honey Mustard Butter
Peanut Butter Cup Popsicles
Herb Roasted Branzino
MUSHROOM SPAGHETTI
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Mahi Mahi Wonton Tacos
Peanut Butter Cup Souffle
Scallop Dumplings
Crunchy Rice Cake
Pumpkin Doughnut
Hamachi Tartare
Mahi Tacos
Scallops Rockefeller
Crispy Crab Buns
Catch Roll And General Roll
Zulu Roll
Special Roll
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Cantonese Lobster
Tartare Trio
Black Smoke Cocktail
Tuna Tartare
Island Roll
Bagel Bread Basket
Spider Roll
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Black Smoke
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Iris
Beef Potstickers
Lobster Mac
Spicy Shrimp
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese
Lobster
Spicy Crab Spaghettini
Truffle Fries
Pumpkin Pie Donut Dessert Ala Mode
Banana Foster Type Dessert
Grilled Shrimp
Ceviche
Crispy Red Snapper
Pretzel Bread
Truffled Fries
Whole Fried Snapper
Root Vegetables
Mahi Mahi
Catch Salmon Roll
Peanut Butter Souffle
Coconut Shrimp Sushi
Bucket Of Cookies
Red Snapper
King Crab Legs
Steak
Kane
Sushi
Zeus Cocktail
Dirty Bastard Cocktail
Mahi Fish Tacos
Hellfire Roll
 Chocolate Sphere With Whipped Cream Ice Cream And Honeycomb
Apricot Tart
strawberry shortcake
Chilean Sea Bass

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $26.00

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Specials

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $26.00

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $26.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

Hot Spot (226)
Fit for Foodies (202)
Good for Groups (177)
See All
Special Occasion (177)
Vibrant Bar Scene (174)
Great for Outdoor Dining (113)
Neighborhood Gem (73)
Scenic View (70)
Romantic (69)
Late-night Find (68)
Great for Lunch (57)
Great for Brunch (50)
Fun (35)
Notable Wine List (32)
Good for a Date (28)
People Watching (22)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Tapas (14)
Casual (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (11)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Bar Seating (10)
Kid-friendly (8)
Family Style (7)
Healthy (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Cozy (6)
Authentic (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Dancing (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Live Sports (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Private Room (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Waterfront (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Very popular with affluent locals this r ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Very popular with affluent locals this restaurant is situated in the fashionable meat packing district. Food is good and healthy but be prepared to part with a lot of money and don't expect a quiet romantic meal environment!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value1

Fantastic spot in the meat packing distr ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic spot in the meat packing district, our 2nd time (visiting from CA) and the service was fabulous, menu tasty and overall experience, memorable. A couple things of note: bring out serving spoons for shared sides, apps and entrees.. 2nd, don't charge for a dessert, we didn't order, however a server brings to recognize a special occasion.. that was odd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Combination of food, atmosphere, and ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 7 days ago

Combination of food, atmosphere, and service was excellent! I'd recommend this for personal fun or a business meeting looking for combination of energy and good food.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the tapas style dinner. The food ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Loved the tapas style dinner. The food was scrumptious, especially the mushroom spaghetti.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best food I have had in the l ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

One of the best food I have had in the last few years

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was extremely loud but food was delic ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

It was extremely loud but food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

We were visiting NYC from London and 4 ( ...

 
 (Berkshire)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We were visiting NYC from London and 4 (yes 4) people recommended Catch to us. Maybe we had built it up as the Crescendo of our trip too much.

Anyway. We are huge fans of the London fine sushi dining - places like Roka, Sticks N Sushi etc. Places that evoke great atmosphere, fantastic service and out of this world food and booze.

In all honesty - we found the experience just disappointing. Atmos was banging - so banging it felt like a club. But not in the Hakassan way. The tables were badly positioned so you miss out on a lot of

The vibe if you're badly seated.

Food was OK, but far from good. some of the stuff was quite cool - deep fried sushi was an experience... but I won't have it again.

Plenty of good reviews here. So don't pay too much attention to me. However if you are from the other side of the pond - don't expect it to be on par with London.

Cost was $150 USD for two people, lots of dishes and didn't walk out hungry. Couple of glasses of wine . Even the wine list was a little disappointing.

Cheers New York for a nice trip. We will be back - but not to Catch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value4

Loud, busy, fun. But very loud. the food ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Loud, busy, fun. But very loud. the food is good but they love pushing to share lots of plates.....good for profit but not for everyone.

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Tapas, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Outdoor tables are first come, first ser ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Outdoor tables are first come, first served unless your are a VIP. We had several small plates, all of which were excellent. Wine list is good, prices about triple retail. The restaurant was full by 8 pm, but the service remained great. We ordered in stages and the plates came out quickly. Would definitely go back and try some of the other dishes.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Such a lovely DELICIOUS brunch. Our wait ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Such a lovely DELICIOUS brunch. Our waiter was incredibly pleasant and helpful and made the whole experience that much better. Did I mention the food is delicious? Dreaming about that tartar trio!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We trusted our waitress to select items ...

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We trusted our waitress to select items from their menu without looking at it and she selected amazing dishes! Loved the food and service! 👍🏼👍🏼

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Few healthy options - so som ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great food. Few healthy options - so some of my model friends repeated the same dishes.

Tags: People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Dancing, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

overall we had a great time at Catch. my ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

overall we had a great time at Catch. my only complaint was that we felt very rushed by our server. She took my friend's mac & cheese plate without asking if she was finished and brought us the check right after she gave us dessert. then she came back twice and we hadn't put our credit cards in yet and it was obvious she wanted to turn the table fast.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

the staff requires better guidance from ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

the staff requires better guidance from management.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Great food and great service. Presentati ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and great service. Presentation is very impressive ! Fun place

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Sushi was spectacular and creative

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Sushi was spectacular and creative

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

a complete disaster. no one there is tra ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

a complete disaster. no one there is trained to work in the restaurant industry. definitely not a premium experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We had a hair in one of the dishes. The ...

 
 (Berlin)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

We had a hair in one of the dishes. The manager apologized with disclaimer that none of the kitchen employees had that kind of hair. Not really professional. We were not compensated however we were not charged for the spoled dish.

Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Food was phenomenal. And, service was fa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Food was phenomenal. And, service was fantastic. A little too noisy but otherwise great experience.

Tags: Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As expected probably waited 30min for ou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

As expected probably waited 30min for our reservation, seems waiting is the norm here. Would have been nice if the server came by more often. I really think he took our order, stopped by once, and the. Didn't see him for what seemed forever when we tried to order more wine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Once you are able to find the place very ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Once you are able to find the place very cool place. Our waiter was very nice but I think he had too many tables as the service was poor. Didn't put the order in correct so one appetizer came out late then the 2nd course came while still eating the appetizer. My fish was undercooked. Definitely better seafood restaurants in Manhattan.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

This is just a fun place, great vibe cou ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This is just a fun place, great vibe coupled with super food. Some creative drinks to start off the dinner and various small dishes to share. Jasmine took great care of us and it was pure fun.

Wish the wine by the glass menu had a bit more "teeth" as after the starter drink we weren't going to order a bottle.

Make sure and stay for dessert. Will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tapas, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

We ordered the large seafood tower and w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

We ordered the large seafood tower and were very disappointed.the mussels were frozen and it was missing the clams.the service was good and the manager acknowledged there was a problem and took $40 of the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Good food and venue but they lost my ban ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Good food and venue but they lost my bank card which was very inconvenient

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, People Watching, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food, the brunch on Sunday is ve ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Amazing food, the brunch on Sunday is very very good.... Truffle oil fries with parmesan are a treat....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Had a reservation at 11pm, they didnt ga ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Had a reservation at 11pm, they didnt gave us the table until an hour later. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The food was fantastic. The waitress was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was fantastic. The waitress was very helpful in ordering. I'll definitely visit again

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Authentic, Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best food ever. Been every year since th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Best food ever. Been every year since they opened and never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The truffle sashimi might literally be t ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

The truffle sashimi might literally be the best sushi I have ever had. This is one of the restaurants that I like going to every time I come to New York, even though I love exploring new places! Everything from the decor to the menu to the bar is executed pretty perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Arrived at 8:45 was seated at 9:25, alth ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Arrived at 8:45 was seated at 9:25, although the the hostess was nice they kept saying your table will be ready shortly but obviously it was no where near ready (I had my young daughter with me and there was no AC so it didn't add to the experience)..

so that took away from the experience..

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Just a great meal with great service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Just a great meal with great service. The rooftop deck of CATCH is a great place to have a post dinner cocktail.

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I haven't been in a long time but was wo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

I haven't been in a long time but was working in the area and meeting a friend for dinner to catch up with one another. I understand it is fashion week but we waited for our table even though we had a reservation to the point that they gave us a pager (after waiting 5 min to even get to the hostess) to let us know when our table was ready. When we were brought upstairs to be seated after dealing with an impossible bar area and rude bartenders half the place was empty tables. Within a half hour of being seated the place filled up and it was impossible to hear one another. It took a while for anyone to take our checks to run the cards and when they did the suggested gratuity calculation was wrong. It said something about being on pre-tax amounts but how is $22 18% on my $68 meal? I guess it was the total (not split check amount) but that is very misleading when they had you that information for your credit card receipt only.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

As per my past experiences with Catch, t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

As per my past experiences with Catch, the food and service were both exceptional.

Tags: Good for a Date, Live Sports, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great atmosphere on the rooftop. Perfect ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Great atmosphere on the rooftop. Perfect place for a date. Fantastic mix of seafood and the server was extremely attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I guess we caught them on a bad night. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I guess we caught them on a bad night. I had heard great things about the restaurant but had never been there before myself. I took a client there for dinner while he was in town. It was Labor Day and they had sold out of half the menu during the weekend so had to select from what was left. And, frankly, it wasn't that impressive.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

The service was surprisingly disappointi ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The service was surprisingly disappointing. I left hungry because the waiter forget to bring one of my dishes and took so long to return to the table that I just gave up. This restaurant either had a bad day or their reputation is completely overrated.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Dessert was good but the service was ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Dessert was good but the service was very slow. The manager and staff were nice but they need to hire more staff esp for the Price.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Outdoor Dining
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Everything delicious.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Everything delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

It was noisy. The food is just ok there ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

It was noisy. The food is just ok there are better places in NY

we had a reservation and it takes 15 min for them to take you to your table, we asked for a table on the terrace. they said they did not have one available and 3 tables outside were empty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Outstanding in every way. If you can get ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Outstanding in every way. If you can get a seat outside on the terrace it's a bonus.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.