About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Report a photo problem

Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch New York, New York, NY
S'mores Pizza - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster Rolls - Catch New York, New York, NY
Salmon Belly Carpaccio - Catch New York, New York, NY
Salmon A La Plancha - Catch New York, New York, NY
Kali Cocktail - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mango Shrimp Summer Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Steamed Mussels - Catch New York, New York, NY
Corn Skewers - Catch New York, New York, NY
"Hit Me" Chocolate Cake - Catch New York, New York, NY
Grilled Swordfish - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mandy - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster,Steak&Sushi - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crispy Shrimp - Catch New York, New York, NY
Smores pizza - Catch New York, New York, NY
Truffle Parmesan Fries - Catch New York, New York, NY
Beef Sliders - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crunchy Rice Cakes - Catch New York, New York, NY
Dungeoness Crab Spaghetti - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crab Salad Wonton Crisps - Catch New York, New York, NY
Pretzel Bread With Honey Mustard Butter - Catch New York, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Cup Popsicles - Catch New York, New York, NY
Herb Roasted Branzino - Catch New York, New York, NY
MUSHROOM SPAGHETTI - Catch New York, New York, NY
Parmesan Truffle Fries - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mahi Mahi Wonton Tacos - Catch New York, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Cup Souffle - Catch New York, New York, NY
Scallop Dumplings - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crunchy Rice Cake - Catch New York, New York, NY
Pumpkin Doughnut - Catch New York, New York, NY
Hamachi Tartare - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mahi Tacos - Catch New York, New York, NY
Scallops Rockefeller - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crispy Crab Buns - Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch Roll And General Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Zulu Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Special Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Chicken Lettuce Wraps - Catch New York, New York, NY
Cantonese Lobster - Catch New York, New York, NY
Tartare Trio - Catch New York, New York, NY
Black Smoke Cocktail - Catch New York, New York, NY
Tuna Tartare - Catch New York, New York, NY

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (94)
Fun (78)
Good for a Date (77)
See All
Good for Birthdays (71)
Vibrant Bar Scene (70)
Special Occasion (61)
Creative Cuisine (57)
People Watching (57)
Good for Groups (52)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Modern Decor (38)
Romantic (33)
Handcrafted Cocktails (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Tapas (32)
Late-night Find (31)
Casual (29)
Cozy (22)
Comfort Food (19)
Worth the Drive (19)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Happy Hour (19)
Scenic View (18)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (15)
Healthy (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Open Kitchen (13)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Family Style (11)
Spicy (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Dancing (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vegan (5)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Music (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3012 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My reservation was al 10:30. I arrive 10 ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

My reservation was al 10:30. I arrive 10:25 and we were seated at 11:15. Similar waiting time Vs no reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was just as expected. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was just as expected. It was a great scene for a date and was highly anticipated. The food met the expectations. The only critique would be the service was a bit distracted, granted there were many tables to tend to. But the server did realize he was all over the place and offered a free famous "hit-me" desert to us to make up for the inconvenience. Warm hospitality and a delicious fresh take on classic dishes. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a reservation at 9:30pm and we sa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

We had a reservation at 9:30pm and we sat down at our table at 10:45pm.

The lady at the front desk was not accommodating at ALL. I went to see her every 30 minutes or so to see what the status of our table was, and she would rudely answer "I have no idea. It will be ready when it will be ready". Once we sat down, the waitress was very nice and the food was good too! But I will never go back there because of the way the hostess treated my friends and I. No one should have to wait 1 hour and 15 minutes for a table when you have a reservation, and have nothing to be accommodated with in return. A simple appetizer on the house would've been enough......

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

They were an hour late in seating us and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

They were an hour late in seating us and essentially forgot about our reservation. More of a night club than anything else. Food was mediocre.

Tags: Dancing, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food , cocktails and service

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing food , cocktails and service

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite restaurant in the city!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Favorite restaurant in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I've ate here a few times and never had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I've ate here a few times and never had a bad experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, especially crispy spinach ha ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, especially crispy spinach hamachi, toro, mac and cheese. Service is was outstanding. Asked to lower the music and immediately the music was lowered !!! Thank you, a it made our night, we could converse easily despite multi-generations! Our server, Chris, was above and beyond! All around great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fun brunch place!! Great food and great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 3 days ago

Fun brunch place!! Great food and great location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We decided to eat here to celebrate my b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 3 days ago

We decided to eat here to celebrate my birthday, and the food tasted phenomenal; however, several of the hosts were extremely impertinent and unwelcoming upon our arrival. We also were not seated until an hour after our reservation time, and also ended up becoming ill with food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great meal, great service, and great amb ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

Great meal, great service, and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional cuisine. Great vibe. Expensi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Exceptional cuisine. Great vibe. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu is not typical because it has m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The menu is not typical because it has more small shares than entrees. So it was confusing for me at the beginning. However, the four of us all chose the entrees anyway. The drinks were strong and solid. By 8 pm on a Thursday, the place was filled. I ordered the Dorade fish which was a delight. The beautiful young waitress mixed up the order for two of us but it was quickly remedied with a few complimentary extras. At least six servers aided us at out table during the meal. The crowd is young. We were the oldest people there (in our sixties). In sum, the dinner was some of the best fish I have had.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The 'hit me' chocolate dessert was the h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The 'hit me' chocolate dessert was the highlight of our dining experience. My girlfriend was very excited about it while I just thought it was more novelty than culinary achievement. Glad to have been proven wrong. All the flavors, textures, temperatures...it just worked! We also ordered 2 rolls. The Hellfire and Catch rolls. Both outstanding! And the Hamachi was awesome! The bao...not so much. Flavor wise, it was ok but the breading of the chicken came off completely. Hard to eat. Service started off rocky. In the beginning, he was cold and dismissive. We felt like an inconvenience. A couple that sat 10, maybe 15 mins after us got their order taken and their drinks way before us. But our server picked it up at the end. Overall, as far as service is concerned, it was ok. Regardless, we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was amazing and the staff was w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing and the staff was wonderful!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 2 at 8:30 on a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation for 2 at 8:30 on a Tuesday night. Did not get called for our table until nearly 10 pm. Ended up eating standing up at the bar. Seems like the food is not as good as on previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Some of the best Seafood I have had in t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Some of the best Seafood I have had in the city to date. Great entrees and apps as well as the atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone looking for seafood in meatpacking.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, , Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience, the waiter was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great overall experience, the waiter was not very patient to explain the menu and we had a hard time finding our waiter every time we needed him

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great! The service was fan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was great! The service was fantastic. Everyone was friendly and willing to please. We were t here for my daughters birthday and they were so kind to give us celebratory drinks. We can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here for brunch this past Sunday. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Dined here for brunch this past Sunday. Great feel and accommodations. Very attentive waitstaff. Great experience and would dine here again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Catch a number of times b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been to Catch a number of times before and the food is always excellent! This past weekend I went with my daughter and her best friend to celebrate her 13th birthday. The waiter didn't really seem too excited to have children there even though they are extremely well-behaved tweens. Also, we sat on the top floor instead of the main level and didn't like that nearly as much. They may have put us up there because of the girls but the atmosphere was not nearly as energetic and fun. A little disappointed, especially since we were spending such an important night there...but, the food was amazing as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Tuna crispy rice cake is op

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tuna crispy rice cake is op

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great but the service is aw ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great but the service is awful. They cannot keep reservations and don't understand the reservation concept. Our Rez was for 830 and they told me to get my party (the other 2 were early and having drinks) and they would seat us immediately. My friends rushed to close their tab in 2 min and the hostess said - oh you need to wait - and gave us a buzzer as if we were at TGI Friday's. it was another 35 minutes until they seated us. We begged them for water 20 times until they finally brought water and bread. They can't make you wait 35 min past your reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

I've been to Catch many times and this w ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 7, 2017

I've been to Catch many times and this was by far my worst experience. The hostesses were very friendly and handed me a buzzer when I arrived. The bartender took our order immediately and was very friendly as well. The poor experience began when we were taken upstairs to the roof area with blaring music and tons of children. It was a birthday celebration for my (young) mother and I was excited to show her one of my favorite New York restaurants. I was very disappointed to not even be seated in the restaurant. Service was poor, everyone was trying to rush us out of our table, and towards the end of the meal- we were definitely being pushed out for the bar crowd. The music was so loud we could hardly hear anything, the cushions we were sitting on we're terribly uncomfortable, and staff tried to take our plates after every bite we took. If the food wasn't so amazing, I would not be back after this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

The waitress, Lisa so was amazing. Very ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The waitress, Lisa so was amazing. Very friendly, but not overly friendly. We allowed her to make our dinner decisions and she knew exactly what to pick and explained the taste of our meals.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Extremely delicious and beauty dishes, b ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Extremely delicious and beauty dishes, but the service is a little slow. It takes about 10min after you order a beer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Was really looking forward to eating her ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Was really looking forward to eating here and had high expectations having read other reviews. Our waitress was great, let's start with that. The people who refilled our water were kind of sloppy (not on purpose of course) and accidentally spilled water on the table multiple times so I rushed to fill my own when it was low so there wouldn't be more spillage when the food arrived. Ordered 6 oysters. 2 of them had shell bits in them and a sufficient amount, not just one piece. So i did not enjoy them. Every bite had shell. I told the waitress. I was expecting her to return with more oysters (at least 2 to replace the ones with shell) but no dice. The tacos were delicious. Thought it was going uphill... then surf and turf skewers turned up. Wagu beef... over cooked. It was well done. Told the waitress, she brought replacement ones that we pretended were less cooked but they weren't and the lobster claw was overcooked the second time. We said nothing, we felt bad at this point. She brought us some free artichokes that were very good and the rest of the food was ok. At the end of the meal she brought us some free cookies, that was very nice of her. But all I was really hoping for were the 2 replacement oysters from the appetizer... not all this other stuff. Or comped oysters which they were not. I know the waitress did what she could to make us happy. But I was really there for the oysters and don't really enjoy over eating... so as nice as her gestures were, I won't go back or recommend the restaurant because of the issues I had with the food. Too bad.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful night! Food was aweso ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 3, 2017

We had a wonderful night! Food was awesome, thanks for the chef! Service also was good. Thank you very much again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was perfect and delicious! Th ...

 
 (Monterrey)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Everything was perfect and delicious! Thank you (: j

Happy New Year! <3

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress was AMAZING!

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Waitress was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love our meal and our waiter. So much ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We love our meal and our waiter. So much fun and delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've been a frequent diner at Catch over ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I've been a frequent diner at Catch over the years and love the vibe. However, I was quite surprised by the poor service my family receieved on Sunday evening. Although the food was fine, we were escorted to the 4th floor when there was enough tables of five on the 2nd floor. It took 15 minutes to get anyone to even notice us to take our order and received our beverage order at end of our meal. I have to admit that I was very upset by the poor service that it ruined our evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

The Truffle Caviar and Snapper were to d ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The Truffle Caviar and Snapper were to die for! Excellent choice for our NYE experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second trip to Catch. We ha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our second trip to Catch. We had an excellent meal with terrific service and great recommendations.

It is very pricey, especially the drinks, so I would reserve it for a fantastic celebration.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good. Enjoyed the food and service. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very good. Enjoyed the food and service. The menu was a bit different but made the experience more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

So good, the sushi was excellent, we had ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2016

So good, the sushi was excellent, we had several items and all were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Very expensive

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Friendly service and top-notch seafood i ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Friendly service and top-notch seafood in a cool space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My friends and I LOVE Catch - the food a ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 30, 2016

My friends and I LOVE Catch - the food and ambiance are phenomenal! Our only complaint is that the hostesses are sometimes rude - otherwise a flawless experience!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Server was awesome, Jacob. Food fantast ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server was awesome, Jacob. Food fantastic and ambiance awesome. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.