About Catch New York

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978

Restaurant Photos

Catch New York
Crispy Shrimp
Corn Skewers
"Hit Me" Chocolate Cake
Grilled Swordfish
Smores pizza
Mandy
Lobster,Steak&Sushi
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Beef Sliders
S'mores Pizza
Burbon-Miso Seabass Wraps
Scallop Gnocchi
Brussels Sprouts
Crunchy Rice Cakes
Dungeoness Crab Spaghetti
Crab Salad Wonton Crisps
Pretzel Bread With Honey Mustard Butter
Peanut Butter Cup Popsicles
Herb Roasted Branzino
Salmon A La Plancha
MUSHROOM SPAGHETTI
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Mahi Mahi Wonton Tacos
Peanut Butter Cup Souffle
Scallop Dumplings
Crunchy Rice Cake
Pumpkin Doughnut
Hamachi Tartare
Mahi Tacos
Scallops Rockefeller
Crispy Crab Buns
Catch Roll And General Roll
Zulu Roll
Special Roll
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Cantonese Lobster
Tartare Trio
Black Smoke Cocktail
Tuna Tartare
Island Roll
Bagel Bread Basket
Spider Roll
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Black Smoke
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Iris
Salmon Belly Carpaccio
Beef Potstickers
Lobster Mac
Spicy Shrimp
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese
Lobster
Spicy Crab Spaghettini
Truffle Fries
Pumpkin Pie Donut Dessert Ala Mode
Banana Foster Type Dessert
Grilled Shrimp
Ceviche
Crispy Red Snapper
Pretzel Bread
Lobster Rolls
Truffled Fries
Whole Fried Snapper
Root Vegetables
Mahi Mahi
Catch Salmon Roll
Peanut Butter Souffle
Coconut Shrimp Sushi
Bucket Of Cookies
Red Snapper
King Crab Legs
Steak
Kane
Sushi
Zeus Cocktail
Dirty Bastard Cocktail
Mahi Fish Tacos
Hellfire Roll
 Chocolate Sphere With Whipped Cream Ice Cream And Honeycomb
Apricot Tart
strawberry shortcake
Chilean Sea Bass

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $26.00

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Promotions

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $26.00

Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM

Details

Three Course Prix Fixe Meal for $26.00. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Aug 29, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 11:30 AM - 3:00 PM.

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

Hot Spot (252)
Fit for Foodies (216)
Good for Groups (190)
See All
Special Occasion (186)
Vibrant Bar Scene (179)
Great for Outdoor Dining (116)
Neighborhood Gem (81)
Late-night Find (77)
Romantic (76)
Scenic View (70)
Great for Lunch (64)
Great for Brunch (54)
Notable Wine List (34)
Kid-friendly (8)
Good for a Date (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Sports (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Modern Decor (1)
People Watching (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Tabble reserved for 1:30 and they called ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Tabble reserved for 1:30 and they called us 2:30

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Portions were WAY too small for the pric ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 2 days ago

Portions were WAY too small for the price!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Outstanding

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined 2 days ago

Outstanding

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They took forever to seat us. The hostes ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined 3 days ago

They took forever to seat us. The hostesses were a little rude.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a great time at Catch. Will definetl ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined 3 days ago

Had a great time at Catch. Will definetly comeback.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Fun, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Trendy spots can often under deliver on ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Trendy spots can often under deliver on the overall experience but that is not the case at Catch. Over multiple visits the kitchen turns out beautiful and fresh food at the highest level. The service is friendly and smart and the scene is something only available in NY.

The reception desk remains the one consistent flaw in the experience. Whether the receptionist is friendly or haughty they seem very uncoordinated and easily lose track of dinners who have checked in and are waiting for a table.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, People Watching, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent experience. A bit pricey, but ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent experience. A bit pricey, but totally worth it!

The staff were very polite, informative, and efficient.

The food was top-notch and well prepared.

I would certainly return for a meal or drink here.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Catch for years!! ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been going to Catch for years!! Everything has always been great and still is. The only problem this time was that we had an 8pm reservation and table was not ready until past 8:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The overall experience, ambiance and foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The overall experience, ambiance and food was just outstanding. Me and a buddy dined late on in the evening and everything was exceptional!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this place! Service was GREAT! my s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this place! Service was GREAT! my server Chris was AMAZING! The lobster mac n cheese was to die for!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Modern Decor, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Server wasn't very good. Food was good.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Server wasn't very good. Food was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The brunch was ok. I think we should hav ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The brunch was ok. I think we should have gone later in the day but 1pm was approaching and we were hungry. They did not have all of the items on the menu which was disappointing. The waiter also seemed to be very entitled. He was training someone but we would have preferred the trainee, he was actually good. We probably wont be back

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Surprisingly great good and service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Surprisingly great good and service was spot on courteous and professional during brunch this past Sunday. Will be back. Maybe try dinner. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Went to catch with my husband for dinner ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Went to catch with my husband for dinner, sat on the rooftop and ended up partying till 2am. It's a great combo of lovely food and exceptional service then when you are done with your dinner and at around 12am it turns into a very mellow club . Loved It and would highly recommend going:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food is just not that great for the pric ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food is just not that great for the price, it was hit or miss. Chicken BBQ skewer was cold and boring. Tartare trio and Octopus were great. Had the bone in rib-eye entree which was $85 and nothing special, kind of cold like it had been sitting for a while. I would definitely say stick with the seafood options, this is where they excel. Hit me cake was very yummy! Cocktails were great but pricey. Service was ok but no where near exceptional. Overall its a cool, lively atmosphere so if your looking for a "scene-y" place this will do just fine. Hostess stand was also hit or miss, got a nice greeting when checking in but when my buzzer went off and I returned to get my table I waited 10 minutes just for someone to speak to me while 6 girls chatted amongst themselves behind the counter....typical for these types of establishments.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

I had a great birthday dinner here on Sa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

I had a great birthday dinner here on Saturday night. The tables are a little too close together but that's New York for ya. The food was delicious! I really enjoyed the summer roll and mushroom spaghetti! The Hit Me cake was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The best !!!!!!! Truffle sashimi is to d ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The best !!!!!!! Truffle sashimi is to die for I ordered 3! Also my waiter was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Truffle sashimi dish was amazing!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Truffle sashimi dish was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

This was, to date, the worst experience ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was, to date, the worst experience I have had in a restaurant. I have never been so disrespected by waitstaff and management in my life. The day began with having to walk up the backstairs as it rained inside (slightly annoying, totally recoverable) and culminated about four hours later with the manager suggesting that we were trying to skip out on our bill after we had verbatim followed his waiter's instructions (insulting, patently false, unacceptable). I am so disappointed, I have been to Catch many times and always love it. After this, I don't know that I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Went for Summer 2016 restaurant week and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Went for Summer 2016 restaurant week and the food was only OK. The best part was the salmon belly carpacio app. Our waiter was friendly and the service was good. The rest of the menu is super pricey, but looked enticing. The ambiance was "trendy" but seemed like the restaurant was filled with lots of tourists/bridge and tunnel crowd. Probably wouldn't go back.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We enjoyed our meal very much. Our waitr ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We enjoyed our meal very much. Our waitress was wonderful: attentive and easy going at the same time. And, she gave us great suggestions on what and how much to order. We had a delicious and fun night.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sautéed chicken with lettuce was too sal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Sautéed chicken with lettuce was too salty. Services was not that good. Server appeared to overlook our table

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The dinner of mussels and mahi mahi were ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The dinner of mussels and mahi mahi were excellent. However, upon attention to detail our server brought a special message with our dessert. It was a birthday dinner and our server took the time to have the kitchen write happy birthday on the s'mores dessert. The s'mores were delicious as well!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I have been DYING to go to Catch & figur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have been DYING to go to Catch & figured restaurant week was the perfect time! While my friend & I didn't end up ordering off the rest week menu (how could you when we saw truffle on the menu?!) I was disappointed in the food. Perhaps because of all the hype I went in with insane expectations? Or because it’s August and all of the chefs are on vacation? I'm an event planner in the city and definitely a foodie, was not blown away & should have been for those prices. The pros are the service was great & it's an awesome vibe, fun atmosphere – just wish I could say the same for the food.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Dining experience was great. However, ve ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Dining experience was great. However, very pricey and so over the "selection " process for those worthy of going to the roof. If I spend $300.00 on dinner and I'm not invited to enjoy the roof deck unless I purchase bottle service then I have a suggestion of a very good place for you to put your pretentious, righteous, indignation. The phony wannabe nonsense was ridiculous. I would never spend another cent at Catch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food is amazing. We over ordered and wis ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food is amazing. We over ordered and wished the waitress would have been more help. We were told the plates were small so we ordered more than normal and couldn't finish. Plus it is pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Food was phenomenal!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Food was phenomenal!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Amazing truffle sashimi. Live environmen ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Amazing truffle sashimi. Live environment with good music and beautiful people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

In a word, superb .. Try to get a table ...

vip
 (Montreal)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

In a word, superb .. Try to get a table outside on the rooftop. Tapas style is the way to go. Literally every dish was excellent, especially the shrimp and the king crab rolls. An absolute enjoyable evening. Hopping bar scene is noisy but not near the outdoor space. A must when visiting NYC..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Sat behind a private party. I watched a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Sat behind a private party. I watched a group of intoxicated business men holding $100 bills cheer on a 12 year old boy as he used a steak knife to cut off a man's ponytail. At least 3 servers walked by as this was going on and did absolutely nothing. I felt like I was watching the animals at the Bronx Zoo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4

Waiter was nice but I don't feel like he ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Waiter was nice but I don't feel like he took my allergies seriously. Besides that I had a great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

went for restaurant week with my girlfri ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

went for restaurant week with my girlfriends. we got that a few minutes before our reservation and didn't get seated until an hour after. people who had later reservations were being seated before us. the hostess was very rude and barely made eye contact when we asked how much longer it would take. the appetizer was great. the entree could have been dressed a little better but the plate was a little sloppy but overall the fish was great. same as the dessert, great flavors but the playing could be dressed way better. the waiter we had was very great to us the whole night. would rather try lunch than have dinner there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

Everything was great aside from the fact ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was great aside from the fact that it was SOOO freaking hot in there!!!! Like toward the end of the meal we just wanted to get our check and run out. The server also was kind of MIA toward the end as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

If I was 20 years younger this would be ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

If I was 20 years younger this would be my place to pick up girls. Total meat market in the meat market district.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Everything was perfect!!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was perfect!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing rolls special standout sashimi w ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing rolls special standout sashimi with truffles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was awesome, food was excelle ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Everything was awesome, food was excellent and will definitely be coming back!

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our meal very much! Flavours ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

We enjoyed our meal very much! Flavours are unbelievable! Menu Selection is great. A bit crowded, tables too close together and I kept having to move for servers or other guests to get by. I travel the world to find exquisite restaurants and I would describe the menu as modern cuisine with flare! Thank you for a great culinary experience!

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Don't believe the hype!!! This is one of ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Don't believe the hype!!! This is one of those restaurants I have seen frequent on my Instagram feed as I marked on my list of my try's.... Wishing I had my $200 back. Location is great but the fact that the tables are packed so closely together that we literally had to move our table and the table next to it to get to the bench seat that was way too low for the table setting immediately annoyed me. Finally the waitress came, she was polite but as I sat and couldn't help but listen ( literally because we almost shared a seat) she offered the table next to us the restaurant menu along with the specials of the day, something she failed to do when she sat us. Our drinks arrived and were good amount of alcohol and nicely decorated, the second and third rounds were not as pretty or as strong, even after I asked the waitress if someone else made this batch and asked them to remake it. Our food arrived and the food was good, but nothing spectacular. My suggestion to the owner, take out a couple tables for guest comfort and re-train your wait staff.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

This was my first time at CATCH and it w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This was my first time at CATCH and it was phenomenal. I will definitely be coming back with more friends. It was very different, staff was friendly and the food was unforgettable. All positive things to say. The fried shrimps to die for!!! Must try... the deserts were amazing we tried the hit me chocolate, smores, and strawberry shortcake.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.