Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (179)
Good for a Date (144)
Special Occasion (135)
See All
Fun (133)
Vibrant Bar Scene (129)
Fit for Foodies (113)
Good for Birthdays (111)
Creative Cuisine (110)
Good for Groups (109)
People Watching (85)
Handcrafted Cocktails (73)
Great for Outdoor Dining (73)
Good for Anniversaries (71)
Romantic (58)
Scenic View (57)
Happy Hour (57)
Great for Lunch (53)
Bar Seating (50)
Casual (48)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Late-night Find (40)
Tapas (37)
Tasting Menu (36)
Worth the Drive (36)
Business Meals (35)
Great for Brunch (34)
Good Vegetarian Options (34)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Authentic (30)
Cozy (27)
Notable Wine List (21)
Comfort Food (18)
Modern Decor (18)
Seasonal (17)
Vegan (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Spicy (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Quick Bite (7)
Great Beer (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Organic (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Dancing (4)
Waterfront (4)
Live Music (4)
Family Style (3)
Live Sports (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
3784 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined a day ago

Service was wonderful! All the recommendations were great. I don't usually visit NYC restaurants more than once however, I will return for another visit. Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined 2 days ago

The worst service I have personally ever experienced at a restaurant. We love the catch in LA. This was awful. Don't go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

As usual, great spot for all occasions

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice roof top dining but very sunny and hot at table. Had to move table twice because once totally in sun, umbrella did not cover table and another time seated next to noisy group having a baby shower brunch. Service and management were nice but indifferent. Food was not great. My organic chicken sandwich was hard, tasteless and uneatable . Waffle tower was amazing but omelets were just ok. Overall rating because food was not worth the price and nothing special.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Food is outstanding! Thank you!
Extremely dirty bathrooms- big minus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

By far my favorite restaurant. I love the vibe here. The food is amazing and the staff are friendly. Such an enjoyable place to have dinner.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was a little slow but overall great experience and amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service is not what it use to be.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Samantha made it a great experience. She was friendly attentive and funny. Food was excellent. Great experience

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Not worth it. Way overpriced for small portions and mediocre food. Would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing to take your baby mama to would recommend friendly waiters and everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I came for the restaurant week menu which was extremely limited. I expected more seafood choices. Restaurant didn't offerRW menu; I had to ask for it.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I went for a pre-theatre meal to celebrate our 40th anniversary. To say the least, the meal and the service were spectacular. I got to taste my wife's dishes and she shared some of mine. For appetizers, The Tornado Roll was crispy outside and creamy inside, with a wonderful dipping sauce that seemed the perfect compliment. I thought it one of the best appetizers I had ever had. The Hamachi Spinach was likewise wonderful, with enough crunch but not so much as to overshadow the shallot and sweet ponzu.

For the main course my wife had the Quinoa-Avocado Chicken Salad and I had the Salmon A La Plancha. Her salad, which I finished, was superb. The chicken was succulent and plentiful. Although my salmon was done to perfection and the complimentary vegetables delicious, I was so impressed with the Quinoa-Avocado Chicken Salad that I will order it next time.
Desserts were splendid. My wife's S'Mores Pizza featured a graham type cracker with melted chocolate and a separate cup of burnt marshmallow ice cream. The ice cream had a flavor I never had before and was a true treat for the pallet. I wanted to go light on the dessert and so ordered the Fresh Baked Cookies. There were four ample sized cookies and each was fresh and a joy.I had a beer with my meal and my wife had a glass of cabernet. She said her wine was "delightful".

We are native New Yorkers who love food and have eaten in some fine restaurants all over the world. We were there during Restaurant Week. If you thought the portions would be skimpy because of the value, you would be wrong. They were ample.

Complimenting all the wonderful food was the wait staff. Hearing it was our anniversary they came by several times to congratulate us. Dessert came with a burning "anniversary" candle. Service was prompt and genial. Even the manager came over to congratulate us! I do not believe we could have asked for a better dining experience to celebrate our 40th anniversary.
Thank you.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

I went there for NYC Restaurant Week during lunch. I got their salmon roll appetizer, lobster roll, and s'mores pizza. The roll was unforgettably bad. I don't understand why people recommended it. Lobster roll was great though. Lobster was with a nice mild salad on a tasty sweet bread. It was served with light salad and chips. The chips were of different varieties, from potatoes, to sweet potatoes, to even taro. I would recommend this dish. For dessert, I was served this "s'mores pizza" with s'mores ice cream. Skip the "s'mores pizza" and go for the ice cream. That ice cream was delicious. I also got a beer, it was a bottled lager. I thought it was a good recommendation by my waiter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Good food but the Door receptionists are not welcome. Maybe it's because there are too many tourists and they have no patience at all. Considering that I had an expensive dinner, I would like to be treated better than I was at the front desk.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing and crowd was young and trendy. Highly reccomend the crispy rice and the rock shrimp!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great dinner with terrific food and ambience!
The rooftop dining is awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

From start to finish it was a FANTASTIC evening. Our server Carley was lovely and incredibly accommodating. The food was yummy and some of the best Sushi ever!

Great picks,... The hot shrimp appetizer, and Crispy Tuna Tartar.. Sushi - Catch roll, Tuna Tartar Trio and Lobster Roll!

The Finale ... Hit Me Desert is a must

What a great way to celebrate my daughters 18th Birthday.
Thank U Catch... we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was outstanding, from the appetizers to the entrees and the desserts. Service was excellent and the entire staff was very helpful.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was delicious! The ambiance on outdoor patio/ rooftop is beautiful. The waitress was super friendly and accommodating however the hostess could use a bit of an attitude adjustment. I would recommend it

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Pretty good I guess if you don't mind spending $200+ on a date to be sat 6 inches away from strangers on both sides and wait 1 hr between apps and entrees. I wouldn't recommend this thirst trap to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is excellent, service is good, bar scene is fun and lively. Pricey for sure but special occasions are worth the visit.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food, great service! definitely going back. Highly recommend!

Tags: Healthy, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was Great thanks Corey. But the lobster Mac had no flavor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Shanghai)·Dined 6 days ago

Compare to last time , the service was sloppy and slow this time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

The service sucked. The hostess station couldn't have been any ruder. The food was decent. I was looking forward to trying this place and I thought taking one of my accounts here could be a perfect occasion. But it was such a bummer how rude the hostesses were and their lack of customer service.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My friend and I had a great time, and the food was excellent. The only noticeable thing was that the patrons seemed to be very young (21St birthday parties) for such an expensive place.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Amazing food!! Went there on a holiday trip and it was worth it!!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Fun, Healthy, People Watching, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2017

4階のオープンエアーの雰囲気がとても良かったです。ここではタバコも吸えます。
2階はインドアのレストランになってました。
お料理も美味しかったです。
サービスも良かったです。
オススメです。
人気があるので、予約して行かれることをオススメします。

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

The glass of wine we ordered was poor quality and embarrassingly scant in the glass. My oysters which I was told would be large were tiny and for 6 for $24? My maui maui was almost dry and a small piece for $32. The salad mess on my plate. Also had no bread. My white peach sorbet was good.
My friend who paid for my birthday meal liked his lobster salad sandwiches but again thought it was overpriced but liked the fries. Also his deconstructed strawberry shortcake he said was adequate but has had much better. We ate on the roof. Terribly disappointed.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Fui a almorzar al mediodía. La atención fue correcta pero la comida fue estándar, nada novedoso ni sorprendente. Cosas que uno mismo puede preparar en su hogar.
Al ser un almuerzo no puedo valorar el "ambiente" por el que es tan famoso el restaurante

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Good music, good vibes and good food. Place was perfect for my date night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Vegan, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Amazing food and drinks! Would highly recommend eating at Catch to anyone traveling to the area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

First time trying their brunch menu and it was great! Nice rooftop seating for brunch and major plus was the Frose!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The Management Team did their best to accommodate my guests and me on my birthday! The food was excellent and the weather was perfect making my birthday brunch on the rooftop awesome! Thank you Catch! I'll be back!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

THanks for accommodate our party. We had a good time we'll definitely come back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

It's a bit loud if you are looking for a quiet spot. Food is good.
Located in a great area. Service was fairly fast. Has a roof top...
Good for groups

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

After all the hype about Catch I was expecting a great experience, with amazing service but with sub par food. How wrong could I be!?

On walking into the restaurant, I was handed a buzzer by a rude woman, who didn't even greet us- like I was in a Cheap chain, this was how I was going to be informed my table was ready... they weren't even bothered to find their guests when a pre booked table became available. Really!? this is how you treat your customers when you are charging $30 for a snack.

My expectations were completely the wrong way round - The food was overall really good, the service however, was shocking. The waitress couldn't care less and actually got annoyed when we sent back the lobster mac and cheese- the only dud from an overall decent meal.

The worst part of Catch is, on finishing our meal we just wanted to check out the roof terrace and finish our ridiculously over priced wine. We were told by another employee (who could also do with a 101 course on customer services), that the restaurant and bar were owned separately and we had to pay for a table with bottle service ($500 minimum) just to see the roof terrace. We just wanted 10 mins to finish our drink and we were diners! Either this is the the best business model/ or a really bad lie to try and get more money out of people.

I really liked the venue, and the food was good- but the way you are treated is appalling. I don't think I have ever had such bad service from a restaurant with this much success.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 13, 2017

One of the best meals I have ever had. Our waiter was amazing which just added to the overall experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fun, Tapas, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My first visit but not my last. A bit pricey but the food is of excellent quality and b presentation. I had thought that they had a Restaurant Week menu on weekends but they did not and it was not clear on Open Table. We decided to eat there anyway. It was worth the price. The sushi is beyond first rate. If you drink wine, go for a bottle because the "by the glass" will cost you more if you do more than one glass a piece.
The wait staff was first rate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Tapas, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.