Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (153)
Good for a Date (150)
Fun (136)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (124)
Special Occasion (112)
Fit for Foodies (105)
Good for Birthdays (102)
Good for Groups (102)
People Watching (100)
Creative Cuisine (99)
Modern Decor (89)
Good for Anniversaries (69)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Romantic (56)
Casual (53)
Late-night Find (53)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Happy Hour (45)
Bar Seating (43)
Business Meals (43)
Great for Brunch (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
Tasting Menu (38)
Scenic View (37)
Cozy (36)
Tapas (36)
Authentic (35)
Comfort Food (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Healthy (26)
Open Kitchen (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Family Style (23)
Spicy (20)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Good Vegetarian Options (19)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Outstanding Value (15)
Vegan (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Quick Bite (12)
Dancing (11)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Organic (8)
Seasonal (8)
Live Music (7)
Waterfront (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Great Beer (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3377 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Amazing location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Hostess was very rude and full of herself, yet the food and service after we eventually got our table was impeccable and highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, attentive accommodating service, cool surroundings, lively crowd. Fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Very bad service and poor management. Kitchen was slow at 10:40 pm. Server was terrible, she didn't have any idea about food or service. I'll never go back and don't recommend this place to anybody.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 3 days ago

Regardless of whether you have a reservation they make you wait. Defeats the purpose of making a reservation.

Tags: Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazingly disappointing experience! Showed up 15 mins early for reservation. After waiting 55 minutes and being dismissed at the hostess stand, a call was made to Scarpetta (at 14th & 9th) where we went, and as usual, had an amazing meal & evening! Thank you Scarpetta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food & service. This was our second time on our annual girls trip to NYC & we will probably go back next year.

Tags: Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Tapas, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrible service combined with smirking hostesses. Reservations not honored. Terrible experience, and wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always such a fabulous experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Had a reservation for 10 pm but was not seated until 10:45 pm. Very frustrating!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great night! Birthday celebration. Amazing food!

The vibe is as good as it gets!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 23, 2017

I was very excited to go to Catch, I made reservations 2 weeks prior. But even with reservations I was told to wait which ended up being 1 hour 20 minutes after the time or our reservation. I had to complain and ask to sit several times during the period. When we finally sat our dinner was very good. I had the swordfish , my mom had the snapper which was also great, and my aunt had the salmon. No matter how much I pay I like to be treated with respect and I didnt feel like we were because they didnt respect our time. I felt that the service was lacking and to a point it was rude since we were waiting for so long. The place is fun, but I would not go back for two reasons: long wait and high prices

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service is terrible and although you make a reservation they still make you wait at the bar for at least 20 minutes before being seated. The hostesses are a bunch of bimbettes with limited social skills or social cues. Great ambiance but the service (or lack there of) really put a damper on the experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (London)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great buzz here. The bar is fun and the restaurant is vibrant. The service was good although we were sightly disappointed that our first two choices of wine were not available. We shared a fish for the main which was very tasty. They do pack the tables in a bit so if you are looking for a romantic night without the table next door earwigging, probably not the best place for that. Would def go back.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Took my girlfriend here for our anniversary. We had a great time and the food was fantastic. Only downfall was we were completely finished with our meal after an hour and 15 minutes as we were hoping for a prolonged dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

the waitress jasmin was amazing. she told us take our time, even brought out cookies and a special shot to give us energy. i would definitely go back for her service

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Catch was lively and welcoming the Saturday evening I went to catch up with some friends. The atmosphere couldn't have been better, and the restaurant / bar area had a very cool, open floor plan. The only downside would be how noisy it was, and this difficult to hear each other at a large table. Otherwise, the food was delicious and fresh. I recommend ordering several small dishes for the table to split.

Tags: Tapas, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was great.. Food was Amazing sooo FRESH

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

All around Great Experience
Food Amazing, Service Friendly paid attention to detail
Overall Phenomenal Experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

First time at Catch with my family. We regularly dine out and Catch was worth the visit. The service was perfect and tge food was as good as it gets. It is a little pricey but that was expected for the area. The metal seats were a little uncomfortable but fit the decor perfectly. You can't have it all. Food came out in a timely manner and our server recapped our entire order before sending it to the kitchen. That is a key process that is not done in other restaurants.

Overall, I can't wait to go back with my bride for a hot date at Catch!! ;)

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 22, 2017

I still wanted to try Catch despite the recent mediocre reviews, and I'm glad I did. We were seated within 3 minutes of our 8:30pm reservation. Food was really good (must try sushi and the crispy shrimp) and the drinks were fantastic.

Service was good until we were about halfway through our meal. The waitstaff literally stood behind our table and kept trying to grab things the moment we appeared finished with them. Our waitress took away a plate that still had food on it! So, yes. For all those people saying this place wants to turn tables over ASAP, it's true. If we didn't feel so rushed, we may have spent another $100 on drinks. Oh well.

We also ordered a bottle of water but our waitress refilled our water with tap water.

When we got the bill, she had charged us for something we didnt order.

Would I go again? Sure. But I'm in no rush. I like to enjoy my time. Hang out. Drink. Catch doesn't let you do that. Not my first choice in NYC. Maybe not even my top 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

We had a ton of appetizers and they were all so yummy. The truffle sashimi was to die for. Waiter was great, had the food come out at a good pace and overall great vibe

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Awesome!
It's a bit expensive but the dishes are really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Best dinner in NYC. Catch is the place to be and the food and service is amazing. Plenty of vegan and vegetarian options. The sushi tools were delicious and almost too many delicious ones to choose from. We had seafood entrees as well as the chicken and steak. Everyone loved their dinner. Wait staff was attentive and first class all the way!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Awesome, as usual !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We had an 8:45 pm reservation so we arrived to the restaurant early at 8:20pm. We were not seated until 10:15pm in the rooftop part of the restaurant and then were told to leave at 11:30 so they could remove our table for a private event. After spending $200+ on drinks while we waited and then $400+ on dinner, this was ridiculous! We went downstairs and asked about the private event and they said there's no private event however it's now only bottle service so we would need to spend an additional $1300 if we wanted to go back up to buy a bottle. Our waitress and food were excellent however the fact we were rushed out after only being seated for an hour, was not ok. In addition, no one informed us we would need to leave our table by 11:30 as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This restaurant doesn't honor reservations so if you plan on going plan on waiting a loooong time.

The host staff is rude and unhelpful. 45 min after my reservation I asked how much longer and the woman I spoke to said I was under consideration. Really?

Open Table you should rethink offering reservations for Catch they're meaningless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Great food but very noisy!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Had a fabulous dinner at Catch followed by their signature dessert, Hit Me Chocolate Cake. Went with three non-fish eaters and there was plenty for them to choose other than fish. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Nice but not exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 20, 2017

My reservation was at 9pm, I got there 8:50pm and the table was ready almost 1 hour later! At 9:45!!!! This was really really bad! I never had such a bad experience with the front desk of the restaurant , 5 girls with nothing to do and no experience.

After that everything was fine.

But if I use open table is to have a table at certain time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We had a reservation, but still had to wait for our table at least 40 minutes. Front desk staff was a bit rude. Food was decent, but it's really loud. I loved the decor, too bad there were so many other things off. My daughter in her 20's thought it was great and said she'd come back. Personally, I'd go elsewhere. I would have liked to have seen a bigger gluten free menu as the menu was very interesting, but not much I could have.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We never got our table. After waiting for 1 hour we were sent to the bar and decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Place to be seen if that's your thing. Felt it was too loud on top floor, had to yell across the table. Main dishes tasted were ok but found price outshadowed the taste. Sushi and octopus were delicious, lobster Kraft dinner disappointing. Found all food and basic drinks over priced. Wait staff very friendly.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Muy buen ambiente, espectacular comida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Host staff and waitstaff were very responsive and friendly. Interestingly decorated, and great seating opportunities for couples. Well worth the trip to visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quick Bite, People Watching, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Sinceramente fue muy malo el servicio sobre todos de la manager !!! A pesar de haber ido con la reserva de open table nos hicieron esperar 35 minutos luego Después de 40 minutos de haber pedido la comida nos dijeron que había platos que ya no tenían ... finalmente nos fuimos sin terminar de comer - una experiencia muy mala !!! No es para volver definitivamente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I would recommend this restaurant to everyone! Such amazing food, service, and vibe!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved everything food was amazing outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing experience! It was Easter brunch and they have a special menu. Excellent options. The restaurant was full but the service was perfect. I strongly recommend the place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.