About Catch New York

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Restaurant Photos

Catch New York, New York, NY
S'mores Pizza - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster Rolls - Catch New York, New York, NY
Salmon Belly Carpaccio - Catch New York, New York, NY
Salmon A La Plancha - Catch New York, New York, NY
Kali Cocktail - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mango Shrimp Summer Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Steamed Mussels - Catch New York, New York, NY
Corn Skewers - Catch New York, New York, NY
"Hit Me" Chocolate Cake - Catch New York, New York, NY
Grilled Swordfish - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mandy - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crispy Shrimp - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster,Steak&Sushi - Catch New York, New York, NY
Smores pizza - Catch New York, New York, NY
Truffle Parmesan Fries - Catch New York, New York, NY
Beef Sliders - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crunchy Rice Cakes - Catch New York, New York, NY
Dungeoness Crab Spaghetti - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crab Salad Wonton Crisps - Catch New York, New York, NY
Pretzel Bread With Honey Mustard Butter - Catch New York, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Cup Popsicles - Catch New York, New York, NY
Herb Roasted Branzino - Catch New York, New York, NY
MUSHROOM SPAGHETTI - Catch New York, New York, NY
Parmesan Truffle Fries - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mahi Mahi Wonton Tacos - Catch New York, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Cup Souffle - Catch New York, New York, NY
Scallop Dumplings - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crunchy Rice Cake - Catch New York, New York, NY
Pumpkin Doughnut - Catch New York, New York, NY
Hamachi Tartare - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mahi Tacos - Catch New York, New York, NY
Scallops Rockefeller - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crispy Crab Buns - Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch Roll And General Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Zulu Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Special Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Chicken Lettuce Wraps - Catch New York, New York, NY
Cantonese Lobster - Catch New York, New York, NY
Tartare Trio - Catch New York, New York, NY
Black Smoke Cocktail - Catch New York, New York, NY
Tuna Tartare - Catch New York, New York, NY
Island Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Bagel Bread Basket - Catch New York, New York, NY
Spider Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna - Catch New York, New York, NY
Black Smoke - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster Mashed Potatoes - Catch New York, New York, NY
Iris - Catch New York, New York, NY
Beef Potstickers - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster Mac - Catch New York, New York, NY
Spicy Shrimp - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese - Catch New York, New York, NY
Burbon-Miso Seabass Wraps - Catch New York, New York, NY
Lobster - Catch New York, New York, NY
Spicy Crab Spaghettini - Catch New York, New York, NY
Truffle Fries - Catch New York, New York, NY
Pumpkin Pie Donut Dessert Ala Mode - Catch New York, New York, NY
Banana Foster Type Dessert - Catch New York, New York, NY
Grilled Shrimp - Catch New York, New York, NY
Ceviche - Catch New York, New York, NY
Crispy Red Snapper - Catch New York, New York, NY
Pretzel Bread - Catch New York, New York, NY
Truffled Fries - Catch New York, New York, NY
Whole Fried Snapper - Catch New York, New York, NY
Scallop Gnocchi - Catch New York, New York, NY
Brussels Sprouts - Catch New York, New York, NY
Root Vegetables - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mahi Mahi - Catch New York, New York, NY
Catch Salmon Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
Peanut Butter Souffle - Catch New York, New York, NY
Coconut Shrimp Sushi - Catch New York, New York, NY
Bucket Of Cookies - Catch New York, New York, NY
Red Snapper - Catch New York, New York, NY
King Crab Legs - Catch New York, New York, NY
Steak - Catch New York, New York, NY
Kane - Catch New York, New York, NY
Sushi - Catch New York, New York, NY
Zeus Cocktail - Catch New York, New York, NY
Dirty Bastard Cocktail - Catch New York, New York, NY
Mahi Fish Tacos - Catch New York, New York, NY
Hellfire Roll - Catch New York, New York, NY
 Chocolate Sphere With Whipped Cream Ice Cream And Honeycomb - Catch New York, New York, NY
Apricot Tart - Catch New York, New York, NY
strawberry shortcake - Catch New York, New York, NY
Chilean Sea Bass - Catch New York, New York, NY

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

Hot Spot (129)
Vibrant Bar Scene (109)
Good for Groups (98)
See All
Special Occasion (97)
Fit for Foodies (85)
Fun (79)
Good for a Date (70)
Good for Birthdays (63)
Great for Outdoor Dining (52)
People Watching (51)
Creative Cuisine (48)
Late-night Find (42)
Romantic (40)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Scenic View (33)
Modern Decor (32)
Bar Seating (28)
Tapas (28)
Handcrafted Cocktails (27)
Great for Brunch (27)
Casual (27)
Great for Lunch (27)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Notable Wine List (18)
Happy Hour (18)
Business Meals (16)
Cozy (16)
Healthy (15)
Worth the Drive (14)
Family Style (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Tasting Menu (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Authentic (12)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Dancing (9)
Spicy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Historic (2)
Live Sports (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Waterfront (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
2773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This place deserves 0 stars, they have n ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 20 hours ago

This place deserves 0 stars, they have no respect for reservations, we waited 45 minutes past the reservation time, then they told us there where still people ahead of us (REALLY? why do you take reservations then??!?!) FINALLY we where denied to speak to the manager. There where at least 5 other reservations with the same problem while we were there. They hostess look at you like they're doing a favor talking to you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

2nd visit. Good food but slow service. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

2nd visit. Good food but slow service. Biggest frustration was we were not seated until 50 minutes AFTER our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

This was a cool place for a birthday cel ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This was a cool place for a birthday celebration. It was quite noisy so not good for a romantic date. The scallop gnocchi with truffle oil was amazing. The seafood ceviche was expensive and very little seafood but it was pretty good. The Hit Me Dessert was awesome but enough for 4 people to share. The wait staff was frazzled probably because the place is understaffed. There were too many at the front desk and not enough serving tables. Overall, fun night.

Tags: Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our server was prompt to get us the wat ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Our server was prompt to get us the water to start with and then disappeared for 25 minutes. We had to request another server to take our order. Finally when our server came back, to find out we'd already placed our order; he continued to serve us the food but he had really long hair and kept running his hands through his hair and serving us food with the same hands (which was really gross!!) and then they forgot to bring us the truffle fries which we ordered and charged us for the fries on our bill! Anyways; they did take it off but it won't be my top choice to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

We had a rsvp done at 9:45 pm, we got th ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a rsvp done at 9:45 pm, we got there at 9:30. We waited over an hour to be seated. Then when we finally got to the table the waitress disappeared for a while. We saw empty tables while we waited for about 30 mins. Personnel was disorganized, a total mess. Not even an apology for waiting so long. It will definitely be my last time there and i will tell friends about my experience so they can avoid it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Had 9:45 reservations and were not seate ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Had 9:45 reservations and were not seated till 11:15. Clearly the place overbooks on opentable.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value3

Avoid at all means! They deserve a negat ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

Avoid at all means! They deserve a negative rating, too bad Open Table won't allow me to give them one...Meat Market to its fullest... which I don't mind.. this was our 5th time at Catch.. we try to come every time we r in town and we usually had to wait for about 20 to 30 minutes to be seated even with reservations which was fine.. this time we waited 1hour and 40 minutes.. the assistant general manager, Laure Sauvonnet should definitely not be managing a busy restaurant like this. she walks away when you talk to her, makes no eye contact and has no professionalism. She doesn't even know that the diabetic person in our group has to eat at a specific time.. her response was to call her if we have a medical emergency... as if we would call her and not 911! Horrible service, good food but there r so many nicer choices in NYC! Save yourself the aggregation and disappointment! Go to Vandal, Zuma, STK or TAO downtown instead! We def won't be returning. Thank you for ruining our anniversary dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

We had to wait 45 minutes for the table, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had to wait 45 minutes for the table, although we had a reservation. Hostesses were very rude and the level noise was unbearable.

Food was ok but not worth the wait and fame of this place. It was a Saturday night, truly hope it's better during week days.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The service in front desk is poor, very ...

 
 (Brazil)·Dined 6 days ago

The service in front desk is poor, very poor. We arrived 20' before to wait at the bar and request a table just in the same room at the bar. The attendent gave us no garanttee to have an avaiable table in the room requested at the timetable. We understood and told her: " there is no problem for waiting. The important is a table in this room". After around 25 minutes later I noticed that there was a table for 2 avaiable and when I ask the attendent she answered me that the onwer told her put a Friends of him there, even they arrived later than me. She was lying!!! There is no place in the world where the onwer is more important than the customers. Probably was her friends and not the onwer friends. There is not the first time that we have this problem at Catch. We're from Brasil, at least once a year come to NYC and the only one restaurant that we have this poor service at front desk is Catch. I have to right to seat when I feel good, but I know that I must to wait . But when I fight this kind of situation I can't accept. And , I repeat: It's not a first time I have this problem at Catch. Finally, there was no doubt what happened, because the attendent is brasilian person too and our dialogue was in Portuguese language.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

We had a great time! Out table indeed w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a great time! Out table indeed was not ready when we arrived, however we only way lied five minutes. The hostess was gracious and helpful. Our waitress was outstanding. She knew the menu, helped advise on sizes and shares and went to get the sommelier rather than pretend that she knew wines. Throughout the whole dinner service was attentive but never obsequious.

Food was excellent. The lobster mac and cheese is not something I would normally order but it was truly special. All of the courses were terrific. The wine wasn't anything special and was pricey, but that's true a lot of places. So glad we had desert!

Love Catch and will go back often.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was poor

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was poor

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Definitely eat on the 2nd floor during c ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 6 days ago

Definitely eat on the 2nd floor during cold weather. 4th floor not quite the same unless outside.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was very good except the host ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Everything was very good except the hostess, she had no manners.

Our reservations was for 9:30 and we waited for 40minutes to seat. I saw a lot of people complaining about the waiting!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

The place is very cramped, small portion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The place is very cramped, small portions and expensive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Food is good, nothing overly amazing but ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Food is good, nothing overly amazing but not worth those prices. They employ a fast casual waitstaff process with a constant parade of people delivering food and coming over to the table. Food is served very quickly almost fast food style, they couldn't wait to turn the table over, for prices they charge not a good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Catch was great, great food ,drinks and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Catch was great, great food ,drinks and location. We had a great time.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, People Watching, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Catch is a great place to eat - their fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Catch is a great place to eat - their food offerings are creative and healthy. I had their Prix Fixe lunch - beet salad, avocado toast, and sorbet dessert. Everything was delicious. My husband ordered the ceviche and sword fish - he said both was very good. Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Healthy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE.... 4 STARS ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

GREAT FOOD GREAT SERVICE.... 4 STARS

REALLY GREAT... WE LOVED IT

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Crowd was energetic. We had a reservati ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Crowd was energetic. We had a reservation for 10 PM for 6 people. Table was still not ready by 11 PM. What's the point of making a reservation, when you can't get sat on time??!! I was in the hospitality business for 15 years, and know a few things about the industry. A round of drinks should have been offered, or at the very least, an apology for the wait. Not recommending or returning any time soon.

We ended up going elsewhere and was sat within 5 minutes.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Overall, we enjoyed the restaurant, ho ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Overall, we enjoyed the restaurant, however, we had to wait for over an hour to be seated notwithstanding that we had a reservation

Tags: Fun, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a hit!!! This is my favorite rest ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Always a hit!!! This is my favorite restaurant!! Drinks were awesome!! Food was incredible...we had the tartar trio which was super fresh and the big fish we had the red snapper and wow!!! Just wow!!!! Always a Hit!!! Our server mike was awesome!! And very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service and food was phenomenal but ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The service and food was phenomenal but the ambiance clashed with the venue. We thought it would be more intimate and romantic. Maybe they aren't going for that kind of establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Delicioso, se tardó en sentarnos una jir ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Delicioso, se tardó en sentarnos una jira

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, music and atmosphere. Horrib ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great food, music and atmosphere. Horrible service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

It's annoying when you make a reservatio ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It's annoying when you make a reservation. And then you have to wait 30 minutes to be seated. Every single time I go to Catch I experience this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had to Waite an hour for our reserved ta ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Had to Waite an hour for our reserved table but that was only because no one wanted to leave. Food and drinks are great!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Bar Seating, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server, Argy was amazing! Always app ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our server, Argy was amazing! Always appreciate great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Catch is one of those places where you g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Catch is one of those places where you go to be seen and look around to see who else is there. The service is great, but the food is not the greatest, especially for the price. I recommend getting there early to secure a table and they stay awhile to check out the scene gets crowded.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Too bad the food is great. The hostess w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Too bad the food is great. The hostess was awful. I made a reservation for a party of 5. 1 was running behind. After they sat us in our table, the hostess came and asked us to go back to the bar and wait until he was there. We explained we were ready to order appetizers but she said we could not "do that " and had to order the whole meal all together. LUDICROUS. The restaurant was half empty. Terrible customer service. Will never recommend or go back.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value1

The food here is always spot on, but the ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food here is always spot on, but the service leaves a lot to be desired for the price point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

I had an incredible time.. After dinner ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 17, 2016

I had an incredible time.. After dinner or before, go to the bar for a Kali (that is a drink). This was the right kick of the night. Alejandra and Charlie at the bar are so welcoming and ready to make your time unforgettable. The service is great.

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

This place has definitely declined from ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 17, 2016

This place has definitely declined from what I remember it.

Food is not memorable service is good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

I ordered the short rib tacos and they w ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I ordered the short rib tacos and they were excellent. My sister ordered lobster Mac and cheese and also loved hers because it was not too rich. We both enjoyed the small portion, perfect size for females.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Food was too salty but recommend the bla ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food was too salty but recommend the black cod wraps. Ambiance was great for drinks and Nyc chic vibe. Service was adequate but these huge restaurants tend to lack on one on one service. Overall place to visit

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3

Very busy and loud, but it is worth it. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very busy and loud, but it is worth it. Reservations are a must, if not, you won't be able to get in.

Food was A-MA-ZING! Service was rather good considering the amount of people in the restaurant, even though it was almost a 10pm reservation.

Food was priced fairly, drinks were seriously overpriced, still, we just loved the food. The #hitme dessert is a must.

Would definitely recommend and go again!

Tags: People Watching, Late-night Find, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great atmosphere and lovely food

 
 (London)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Great atmosphere and lovely food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Everything was just great. Cocktails we ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Everything was just great. Cocktails were pricey but well worth it. My new favorite place!

Tags: Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

never been disappointed here especially ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

never been disappointed here especially for the weekend brunches they are great and the service is always on point

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great atmosphere and food! Would highly ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great atmosphere and food! Would highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Tapas, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Almost too loud to talk to people at our ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Almost too loud to talk to people at our table. We waited an hour for a table with a reservation & then we were told we needed to leave when we finished dinner so they could have the table for someone else. The area off the elevator by the hostess was so crowded that we couldn't even get to the elevator to leave. What a fire hazard & has to be a fire code violation. Way too many people in there.

Tags: Hot Spot, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.