Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Make CATCH NY part of your Easter Celebration! We will offer our full a la carte menu for Brunch & Dinner while featuring some Chef inspired specials during our afternoon Brunch service held on our Rooftop!

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (134)
Good for a Date (128)
Fun (108)
See All
Special Occasion (101)
Vibrant Bar Scene (98)
Good for Birthdays (93)
Fit for Foodies (90)
People Watching (88)
Creative Cuisine (87)
Good for Groups (86)
Modern Decor (79)
Good for Anniversaries (62)
Handcrafted Cocktails (62)
Late-night Find (51)
Romantic (49)
Casual (47)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Happy Hour (40)
Bar Seating (39)
Business Meals (36)
Tapas (35)
Cozy (34)
Scenic View (31)
Tasting Menu (28)
Great for Brunch (27)
Authentic (27)
Comfort Food (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Open Kitchen (24)
Worth the Drive (23)
Healthy (22)
Sunday Lunch (21)
Notable Wine List (19)
Family Style (18)
Outstanding Value (17)
Good Vegetarian Options (16)
Spicy (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Local Ingredients (13)
Pre/post Theatre (13)
Dancing (11)
Vegan (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Quick Bite (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Organic (6)
Seasonal (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Live Music (4)
Waterfront (4)
Historic (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3261 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Amazing all around. Love this place for years now

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Cozy, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Our reservation wasn't respected. 7:45 PM reservation became a 8:40 PM seating. When I asked about why we weren't seated after a 30 minute wait and later arrivals were seated, I was told everyone had reservations and they did not accept walk ins. Once we were seated, our server asked about the service and he told us they had a lot of walk ins. On the following day, Open Table sent an e mail to me wondering why we missed our dinner reservation! Something is fishy at the Catch. Food was great. The reservation problems spoiled the experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I love catch however this time the service was horrible..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my 2nd time eating at Catch NYC. I brought a friend from out of town. She loved the atmosphere & the food is delicious. We sat along the window in the 2nd floor dining room. It's fun to see the open kitchen. It's a beautiful decor with exposed brick walls. We ordered 2 salads, a special sushi roll, braised short ribs tacos, and a special dessert - all to share - perfect meal!

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tapas, People Watching, Fun, Vegan, Vibrant Bar Scene, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The blonde skinny attendee it's rude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Tables for two extremely close. Might as well have shared the table. Food was nothing special and portions small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Wonderful Brunch! they have a fixed price 3 course menu + 1 bottle of sparkling wine for 60$ per two persons. Usually I do not like these fixed menus, but this one had several options to choose from and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I only gave the service/ambiance a 3-4 because after our wonderful meal, my lady and I wanted to have a drink at the rooftop. We were told by the bouncer that we needed to go downstairs to see a guy named George, and to get 'stamped' for admittance. I think after spending $200 for a dinner for 2, needing to do all that should not be necessary. Not only did we have to get out of our cozy environment and bundle up again, but we were made to wait there until George was ready to see us. - not classy at all. I understand it's a 'hot spot' in the meatpacking district - but we did not come off the street as Random club goers - we wanted to continue the night with an extra drink, and enjoy the view of the roof top. I wish management could look into that and fix it so that diners won't have to go through that hustle and bustle. Being head of security for a lounge in NJ (myself), while assisting high end promoters at the door - i know exactly how the club life is - so the 'extra mile' should be from the venue's employees, NOT the customer/patron.
Besides that, the wait staff at the restaurant were very attentive and helpful. Food was wonderful -definitely worth the extra money. I just wanted to show my lady a special night - wish it would have ended better!

Kevin S

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a 10:30 reservation made through open table and we arrived around 10:20.. by 11:00 we were still standing around a crowded waiting area .. I then spoke to one of the young ladies that were taking reservations and reminded them that I had a reservation .. I was then told it should be a table available soon ... well soon ended up turning into 11:40.. I then asked for a manager while I was waiting on the 2nd floor..the manager who I spoke to was a slender Caucasian woman with dark brown hair .. she was very sympathetic and she then immediately found us a table .. it was my friends 40th birthday and it was disappointing to have to wait so long after making a reservation .. it just kind of ruined the whole experience ..by the time we were seated everything that followed was just lack luster ..won't be returning

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We had a reservation for 10pm and only got the table after 11pm. Not the first time this happens so getting annoyed about it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Still thinking about the truffle fries ... amazing!!

Tags: People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

I have been to Catch several times - always a good experience. The sushi rolls where great. They did overcook the "50 Day Dry Aged" steak we ordered though - we wanted medium rare plus and it was more like medium well - a shame for such a great piece. I have ordered it before and they usually nail the temperature. Aside from that - great experience.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Our reservation wast 10:15, got seated at 11:20 so keep this in mind before you get there! Drinks were really good but quite expensive... food was delicious although not worth the $90 per person we payed for four dishes and 1 drink each

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Boise)·Dined 6 days ago

Terrible service. Decided to give this place a second chance and it was, again, a let down. Go here if you want to "see and be seen".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing EVERYTHING!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Exceptional food and service. Not to be missed - we will be back regularly.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Definitely enjoyed myself I will be coming back. Server was amazing and very attentive. Only thing I didn't like was the grilled shrimp was too salty and my mother couldn't eat it. Other than that everything was on point .

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always a good time at catch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great service, the food is unique and they have a strong grasp on what they do with a focused menu that lets you know the quality of the food. It is an upbeat environment so not ideal for intimate conversations. Young crowd and comprehensive alcohol, menu make this ideal for a Friday night.

Tags: Historic, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The service was really good ! nice view and music . Fresh food- I would recommend the mashrom pasta. You can't move the drinks tab from the bar to the table which was a little upsetting and sitting next to the window is really nice but kind of cold . Besides that really great restaurant I would definitely go back.

Tags: Wood Oven, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Great experience. Food was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Wonderful food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Everything was incredible !!! The filet Mignon alongside the corn skewers & truffle fries is the way to go! Seafood tower was also great.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

It was quiet for a Monday night. Drinks and dinner were great. Servers were very attentive. As always the food was excellent.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Exceptional food and service. My 3rd time there in as many months A+

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We will definitly go back, the food was great! there was lots of variety and choice on the menu for everyone to enjoy.

Tags: Late-night Find, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Someone told me that this location was better than Los Angeles. The truth of the matter i was disappointed in menu selection. Service was not the greatest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I have never complained to open table about a restaurant. They were completely rude. The staff basically ignored me for 30 minutes wouldn't sweet us per our reservation. We finally left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

They didn't honor our reservation and we ended up eating in the bar over an hour past our reservation. Food was good but the menu seemed limited in the bar area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was great and service as well. However, I booked my reservation more than 2 weeks in advance for 6 people. We had a great round table on the club floor which was fun and lively. A "promoter" ended up at a table next to ours with 15 people at a 10 person table. They were literally on top of my back, we were shoulder to shoulder. It was extremely uncomfortable and inappropriate. Especially considering they just ordered fries while my friends and I ordered a significant amount of food and drinks.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Although the hostess was not in a good mood and disrespectful, the remainder of our experience was brilliant thankfully for our waitress. She was very passionate and made out night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Food was excellent! I can't eat sugar or preservatives and I found many things on the menu that I could eat. Very tasty, would definitely go back!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Healthy, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

the most disgusting overpriced meal I've had. everything was covered in sweet sticky sauce. the sushi and the cod lettuce wraps was not fresh and smelled bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We waited for our table 30 minutes beyond our reservation. But when we sat the service and food were superb!
Carolyn from corporate was especially helpful in obtaining a reservation to this very busy nite spot.
We will be back.
The lobster Cantonese is spectacular!

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Very cool atmosphere and food was delicious. Headed to the rooftop afterwards. Great NY scene.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was my second time to Catch. It was so great the first time and not so great the second. The service was mediocre and the bartender could not make any drink- could not even make a bourbon old fashioned when we told her exactly how to make it. The waitress was not particularly attentive. It was very disappointing after I had talked it up to all in my group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was authentic and delicious. We sampled and shared about 8-10 items from the menu and loved EVERYTHING! I would recommend this place to anyone!

Tags: Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Fun, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Always a great place for a business dinner or a celebration. Food is always excellent & the service is impeccable, better than most 5 star restaurants.
One of my go to places.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Catch was recommended to me by a friend and I was so surprised with everything! The ambiance was super fab. The food was fantastic. And the service was stellar. I brought a friend in from out of town and he was really jazzed about the overall awesome experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.