Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Monday – Wednesday
Dinner: 5:30PM-12:30AM

Thursday – Friday
Dinner: 5:30PM-1:00AM

Saturday
Brunch: 11:00AM-3:30PM
Dinner: 5:30PM-1:00AM

Sunday
Brunch: 11:00AM-3:30PM
Dinner: 5:30PM-12:30AM



Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or email canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

Noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (105)
Fun (96)
Hot Spot (96)
See All
Special Occasion (84)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Good for Groups (71)
Fit for Foodies (71)
Vibrant Bar Scene (69)
Creative Cuisine (67)
People Watching (56)
Good for Anniversaries (52)
Late-night Find (44)
Romantic (42)
Handcrafted Cocktails (40)
Casual (38)
Great for Brunch (37)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Bar Seating (32)
Great for Outdoor Dining (32)
Scenic View (31)
Cozy (30)
Happy Hour (29)
Worth the Drive (28)
Great for Lunch (25)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Authentic (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Healthy (21)
Comfort Food (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Business Meals (20)
Tapas (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (15)
Notable Wine List (13)
Kid-friendly (10)
Seasonal (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Vegan (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Spicy (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Organic (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Live Music (2)
Waterfront (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort by
S
4213 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

There were seats only on the upper floor- and I did not want to seat there. I was told that there were no more seats at the lower level for the night! This was around 845pm!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Went for brunch and absolutely loved it. Food was fantastic! So delicious and tasty (Especially the avocado toast). A very cute atmosphere with many options to choose from. Would definitely recommend and looking forward to returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The booking was poorly managed, we waited 45 min. for our table, and the hostess was was cold and quite the opposite of service-minded from the minute we walked in. When I complained about waiting that long, NO action was taken from her end, no initiative to try and soften the situation by apologizing or offering us a gesture on the house. Our hostess finally led us to our table and with her rude / poor attitude she made the impression that we should be thankful for even getting a table at all, after which she started arguing with us about the exact number of minutes we waited....hold on I’m the guest here?!

The point is not only, that I’ve never dined at a restaurant where you’re waiting 45 min. and your hostess completely ignores the situation, what baffles is WHY you hire people in a service industry who hasn’t got a clue about what service means?

For the record, this goes for the whole hostess team as well as our waitress who has the same lack of service-minded approach, kindness and engagement at the table. And later when we got upstairs, a jacket and a bag was stolen - we caught the thief and took back our stuff, and when we told the doorman he said “what do you want me to do?”

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Would have been a perfect score. Food was delicious and great service but I made reservations for a reason. What’s the point of a reservation if I arrived early/on time and got seated over an hour later? Thats bizarre and it was my fiancé birthday and he fell asleep in the restaurant bc of the late dinner :(

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

One of my favorites in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I absolutely LOVE this place. Very creative menu. The fish was the freshest I've ever tasted! I will go back. The only negative; my wife and I sat next to the loudest people we've ever heard. This one person had a laugh that was so annoying and loud, my wife got a migraine. It would've been nice if the staff had told her to tone it down. I know it's a fun and loud place, but these two people acted like they were at an outdoor concert rather than a restaurant.

Hopefully, we'll get seated at a better table next time.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food. Cool ambient. Good price. Loved it. Just the sound could be a little bit lighter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is amazing delicious!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Always delicious, every time I bring someone new they love it. A favorite for our team! Noise level is just a little high, but still worth it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 17, 2018

Happy to find a great seafood resturant in the neighborhood. Great waiter, wonderful food.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2018

Waiter was awesome! Everything was on point food was delish!

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 15, 2018

Never again we made a reservation at 9:30 mind you we got there 20 minutes early and still waited and hour to get sitted . The service was horribles waited two hours for my food and on top the food was horrible . they kept bringing the wrong order over 6 time in a row I was so overrated I got to the point where I just wanted to get up and leave

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 15, 2018

There was a long wait since our time for reservation until the table was assigned, however they did make up with a comp plate for the wait

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Excellent....everything was perfect!
Red snapper w mash and lobster Mac&cheese was phenomenal. The hitcake is a MUST!!!#bestChocolateicecreamcake!

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Authentic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Spicy, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Casual, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

Great food. Awesome service. Will be back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Great food and service, but, even though we had a reservation, we had to wait 40 minutes to sin at our table, we were with a pregnant woman and they didn’t even gave her a chair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

The Lobster Mac and Cheese and Beef French Onion Sandwich is divine and delicious. And if you're a stickler for brands its served in Mauviel copper serving pan. The cocktails are delicious, although the presentation of them could be improved.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2018

Food was great. Hostess called as we were entering the restaurant to confirm our reservation. Drinks were tasty. Due to It being the end of the night I felt the server was rushing us to order, and pick menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2018

There was a 30minute wait though we had a reservation but the food and the ambiance was trendy and energetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2018

I made a reservation at 815 and even though I checked in at 810, my party wasn’t seated until 925. Several other tables around us had the same problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

I was so impressed with this restaurant and I am not impressed easily. Everything that we ordered was delicious! The sweet potato gnocchi was the best! Will be thinking of it until it meets my taste buds again.

The service was wonderful and the ambience was great. We will be dining there again very soon!

Tags: Tapas, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2018

I made an appointment for 9PM and wasn’t seated until 10PM. That seriously defeats the purpose of making a reservation. The food was really good. But couldn’t get over the fact that I had to wait and hour to be seated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 11, 2018

Amazing service and food. Favorite place in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2018

Catch is positive energy place service was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2018

The food was amazing and the menu was great! The ambiance was really fun and lively yet still able to talk with friends easily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2018

We had an amazing time.. our server was great she made sure we ordered enough food for sharing, and all her suggestions were delicious!! Loved that she was careful of my nut and shellfish too. Definitely recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 7, 2018

No silverware , no entree brought to table, no water brought, waiter nonexistent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Seated almost an hour after we showed up for our 9:30 reservation. Cocktails were meh, most the food was amazing, tuna tartar was terrible do not order. Wagyu was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Amazing place with great cuisine and good playlist. Very atmospheric place, our fav one in NYC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 3, 2018

Our Waiter seemed disinterested because we had accents. I guess people just keep coming anyway and they stopped caring.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

Poor service ruined great food you can’t have wrong wine details when you charges high end prices

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

The waitress who first assisted us wasn't courteous at all, compared to the others who served us later on. She deserves to be in the kitchen with such an unwelcome attitude. When she later brought us the bill, it looked so obvious that she constrained herself to fake a smile.
I reported her to another waitress whose interaction with her customers looked very professional.
I also lost a pair of designer sunglasses that fell out of my jacket that I had put on the bench. I reported it to the lost and found but never got a call back.
The menu prices are different to the ones listed on the Open table website

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

It was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Anchorage)·Dined on January 2, 2018

Food was superb! The service seemed to take forever. We were here for over 3 hours to eat dinner and dessert. I asked for a breve with desert and paid $5 for a shot of espresso and half and half. Overall the experience was pleasant and what we expected.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 2, 2018

If your a foodie this place is amazing!! We ordered so much food! The wagyu is a must try! The toro was great I can’t say enough go here if you have the opportunity!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 2, 2018

Excelente menu y comida . ambiente agradable sin estar ruidoso.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Mal servicio y caro

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2018

Food was delicious, personable service, and great overall experience! Can't wait to dine here again during the summer for their rooftop!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

The ambiance is so pretty and cool! Food is amazingggggg!! Perfect for any occasion!! Grrat vibes, music and great service!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Our experience at Catch was very disappointing. Not only did we have to wait 45 minutes after our reservation time to be seated, we were then rushed through our meal once we did receive service. Not at all what we expected. We would have been fine waiting if the hostess was honest and just told us to go the bar. Instead they told us our table would be ready "shortly." The service at the table was even worse. Once we ordered, everything came out all at once. And the plates were cleared even before we were finished. To top it all off, they started putting down new place settings while we were waiting for our bill. Very poor experience.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.