About Catch New York

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Patio/Outdoor Dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978

Restaurant Photos

Catch New York
Grilled Swordfish
"Hit Me" Chocolate Cake
Corn Skewers
Crispy Shrimp
Smores pizza
Mandy
Lobster,Steak&Sushi
Truffle Parmesan Fries
Beef Sliders
S'mores Pizza
Burbon-Miso Seabass Wraps
Brussels Sprouts
Scallop Gnocchi
Crunchy Rice Cakes
Dungeoness Crab Spaghetti
Crab Salad Wonton Crisps
Pretzel Bread With Honey Mustard Butter
Peanut Butter Cup Popsicles
Herb Roasted Branzino
Salmon A La Plancha
MUSHROOM SPAGHETTI
Parmesan Truffle Fries
Mahi Mahi Wonton Tacos
Peanut Butter Cup Souffle
Scallop Dumplings
Crunchy Rice Cake
Pumpkin Doughnut
Hamachi Tartare
Mahi Tacos
Scallops Rockefeller
Crispy Crab Buns
Catch Roll And General Roll
Zulu Roll
Chicken Lettuce Wraps
Special Roll
Cantonese Lobster
Tartare Trio
Black Smoke Cocktail
Spider Roll
Island Roll
Bagel Bread Basket
Tuna Tartare
Crispy Rice with Spicy Tuna
Black Smoke
Lobster Mashed Potatoes
Iris
Salmon Belly Carpaccio
Beef Potstickers
Lobster Mac
Lobster Macaroni and Cheese
Spicy Shrimp
Lobster
Spicy Crab Spaghettini
Banana Foster Type Dessert
Truffle Fries
Pumpkin Pie Donut Dessert Ala Mode
Ceviche
Crispy Red Snapper
Grilled Shrimp
Pretzel Bread
Truffled Fries
Lobster Rolls
Whole Fried Snapper
Root Vegetables
Mahi Mahi
Catch Salmon Roll
Coconut Shrimp Sushi
Bucket Of Cookies
Peanut Butter Souffle
Red Snapper
Steak
King Crab Legs
Kane
Zeus Cocktail
Sushi
Dirty Bastard Cocktail
Mahi Fish Tacos
 Chocolate Sphere With Whipped Cream Ice Cream And Honeycomb
Hellfire Roll
Apricot Tart
strawberry shortcake
Chilean Sea Bass

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
New York / Tri-State Area
Most Booked
Manhattan
Best Restaurants in Meatpacking District ›

hot spot (224)
fit for foodies (184)
vibrant bar scene (173)
See All
good for groups (172)
special occasion (162)
great for outdoor dining (85)
romantic (68)
late-night find (67)
neighborhood gem (67)
scenic view (55)
great for brunch (48)
great for lunch (47)
notable wine list (28)
kid-friendly (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2387 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Today the service was Very poor usually ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined a day ago

Today the service was Very poor usually it's so good !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Awesome food awesome service

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Awesome food awesome service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food and beautiful restaurant. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing food and beautiful restaurant. The fish was so fresh and their extensive drink/wine menu is fantastic.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It took over 30 minutes before we got se ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

It took over 30 minutes before we got service at our table. We were handed menus and than ignored for 30 minutes. No water, no manager, nobody telling us somebody would help us soon. We got up and left. When we told management about this on the way out, they just said fine. They didn't offer us anything to asked us to stay. It was disgusting that lack of customer service that they provided. No wonder all of heir other restaurants have gone out of business. I would never recommend this restaurant to anybody after the way I was treated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Amazing food. Our best meal in New York

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing food. Our best meal in New York

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Unbelievable menu and incredible food! D ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Unbelievable menu and incredible food! Definitely one of the best meals I've ever had!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brunch nonalcoholic beverages.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

Brunch nonalcoholic beverages.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Lobster mac and cheese and lobster roll ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Lobster mac and cheese and lobster roll were good. The croque madame was amazinggggg!!! The cinnamon roll pancakes were really good too. Great spot for brunch at the rooftop and amazing dinner as well at night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and ambiance were good. Howeve ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food and ambiance were good. However I left disappointed because it was my girlfriends birthday and I called the receptionist Danielle prior to let them know. She said as long as we order a desert she would be sure to send out a candle and such. But this didn't happen. I ordered it a desert and it came out with NOTHING. I complained to the hostess and she was nice enough to give us champagne but it was still awkward. Will never do a birthday or special occasion here ever.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great small plates to share, which gave ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Great small plates to share, which gave us a lot of variety. Loved the Hit me Chocolate Cake :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely wonderful. Just go!!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Absolutely wonderful. Just go!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Nice presentation of food , salmon was v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Nice presentation of food , salmon was very fresh & perfectly cooked. Service was excellent. Would definitely go back for lunch / brunch.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and great atmosphere. ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Excellent service and great atmosphere. Our waitress was amazing and gave us some excellent choices of food to order. We were taken to our table within 5 minutes of arriving, and the ladies at the front desk were extremely polite and welcoming to us.

Great atmosphere as all the servers were very friendly and attentive, taking the finished plates away but allowing a proper period of time to pass, so very relaxed and pleasant dinning.

Food looked great and was amazing to eat, many congrats to the Chef's, thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Christopher was our server. He was amazi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Christopher was our server. He was amazing! Great recommendations and personality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Great food and great service. I ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Amazing! Great food and great service. Innovative menu. Really enjoyed. Will be back very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Scallop and truffle gnocchi were delicio ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Scallop and truffle gnocchi were delicious. The fish was incredible.

Food was great, the drinks weren't anything special, especially for NYC. Waiter was rude and not very friendly.

Great scene and great food. Mediocre drinks. Waiter shouldn't really be a waiter with that personality.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We didnt have to wait long after a reser ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We didnt have to wait long after a reservation time..waiter very attentive...service great....food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectacular ambiance, great vibe, delici ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Spectacular ambiance, great vibe, delicious food and AMAZING dessert! A must dine experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was absolutely delicious, but after ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was absolutely delicious, but after waiting 20 minutes for the waiter he brought out a "free" shrimp dish which he charged us for in the end. Waiter was horrifically slow and had an attitude. Otherwise, great food, location and ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Food and service were great. I would re ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food and service were great. I would recommend highly!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great experience. The food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

This was a great experience. The food was fresh and delicious. The servers where friendly and helpful throughout the entire meal. I am definitely going to return and recommend this restaurant to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our only complaint was that my daughter' ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Our only complaint was that my daughter's food came after we all had finished, they were apologetic, but she is nine and her food was served 30 minutes late!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Bad service, the waiter forgot to delive ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Bad service, the waiter forgot to deliver an appetizer, slow delivery of the food despite the restaurant not being full. Atop ant hostesses. Bottom line a place for a drink if you want to drop lots of $$$ but otherwise avoid

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

It was a real disappointment. Inexperie ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

It was a real disappointment. Inexperienced service, below average food and below average decor. Ver disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Lovely place, friendly staff. Loved the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Lovely place, friendly staff. Loved the #hitme dessert

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place that is the cut. Highly ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

A great place that is the cut. Highly recommended

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Really good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I like Catch, but that is only because o ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I like Catch, but that is only because of their food. This was my second time there and again service was awful. Long wait time to even see my waiter, finally saw him and he asked if we wanted water, waited for water and even though we said we were ready to order he said he would come back...waited again....finally came back and was interrupted by another table that was also waiting a while but for their check. after yet another visit to the table, we finally ordered...waited a bit for the main dish, but the waiter never came to check on us. Not once after we started getting our food. He disappeared (and the table near us was also annoyed because they were seated and waited a while for his first appearance at their table) and we had to wave down another person to find him when we were ready for our check. Food is good but they have to care about their service and it would really help if they fixed up some of the seating in the rooftop (indoor at least)...there are rips on the couches.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

I had a reservation for 3 people on a Sa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had a reservation for 3 people on a Saturday night for 9:45. We arrived on time and were asked to wait in the bar area. The bartender was less than pleasant , hardly looked up to take drink orders, as if she just couldn't be bothered. Had to check numerous times with hostess on progress of our table being ready. Didn't end up being seated until close to 10:30, so almost an hour after reserved time. Food was good, sushi was the favorite. Wont be rushing back any time soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Great food very nice place and great atm ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great food very nice place and great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food....Very friendly and accommod ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great Food....Very friendly and accommodating hostesses, however, some waitstaff need better training as they were very unorganized and not attentive.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

Excellent all around! Great food, great ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent all around! Great food, great service. For appetizers, We had the lobster mac n cheese and the wagyu beef that you cook at the table and both were really good. For our entrees, we had the local snapper and lobster mashed potatoes and both were excellent. My husband had the filet mignon, which was just okay as far as the quality of the meat, but the added toppings made it tasty. Overall, excellent experience and would Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Fantastic meal. For 6, we ended up spend ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Fantastic meal. For 6, we ended up spending 250 which isn't that bad. Food was excellent. You must have the smores Pizza, lobster rolls and the truffle fries. Highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The waiter was horrible. We only saw him ...

vip
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The waiter was horrible. We only saw him every 30

Minutes!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Catch is always a go-to! Great food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Catch is always a go-to! Great food and great ambiance, with the rooftop just a few floors above. Highly recommend!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

3 hour meal -- disappointing how slow th ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

3 hour meal -- disappointing how slow the service was!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fantastic service and food. After spend ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Fantastic service and food. After spending hours planning where to eat dinner for our one night in NYC, was glad this turned out to be such a great find, including walking around in a great neighborhood (meat packing district) that we had never seen before.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very good dinning experience, fun and go ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Very good dinning experience, fun and good time.

Food is excellent staff very polite.

My second time there, definitely will come back!

Tags: group bookings, outdoor eating, lunch, late night find, neighbourhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

I have been to Catch many times prior to ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I have been to Catch many times prior to this trip and came back for the food and atmosphere and this is what brought me back with a group of 5 women total (aged 36+). Prior to being at Catch we were at a bar for 2 or 3 drinks. We then headed to Catch. We got to Catch and immediately 2 of us got violently ill (one was me). While I was COMPLETELY COHERENT, my friend was not as lucky. One minute she was talking with us and taking photos the next she went completely limp and was vomiting. Shortly after this I became ill and was projectile vomiting. I was completely aware of my surroundings etc. While I must state that Catch had nothing to do with us falling ill, the way this was handled by your establishment was mind blowing. We went to management for help and were told by a blonde manager that all our friend needed was "some bread, water and we could get back to raging". The one woman with us is a licensed nurse and immediately was at our sides asking a manager to call 911, checking pulses, etc. This same blonde manager told the nurse that she was "a f*$%^)" nurse and to handle it" and later told her that she was overreacting. 2 male managers then stepped in. I understand that there is no protocol for an event like this but when the ambulance finally arrived the paramedics were told that they couldn't bring a gurney up to the 2nd floor b/c there was no elevator. There indeed, is an elevator. We all rode it up to the 2nd floor upon arriving to "Catch". The paramedics were livid with management as well. I understand that in this business you probably see all types of incidences involving alcohol. But your management staff quickly judged my group of friends as "ragers" and treated us terribly. Any time an ambulance is involved, time is of the essence. There were many customers in your ladies restrooms that evening offering help, cell phones and glasses of water. They could see this wasn't a result of partying too hard. Your staff lacked complete compassion

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.