Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

Noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (143)
Fun (129)
Special Occasion (126)
See All
Good for a Date (120)
Good for Groups (113)
Fit for Foodies (112)
Vibrant Bar Scene (110)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Creative Cuisine (92)
People Watching (80)
Great for Outdoor Dining (80)
Good for Anniversaries (74)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Happy Hour (53)
Scenic View (53)
Casual (52)
Late-night Find (50)
Romantic (50)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Bar Seating (45)
Great for Brunch (44)
Great for Lunch (41)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Business Meals (33)
Healthy (33)
Tasting Menu (30)
Good Vegetarian Options (29)
Tapas (28)
Authentic (28)
Cozy (24)
Notable Wine List (21)
Comfort Food (19)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Quick Bite (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Vegan (10)
Spicy (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Organic (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Seasonal (5)
Live Music (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Live Sports (3)
Waterfront (3)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
3946 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 13 hours ago

As always food and service was great in the restaurant. However we had a bad experience with the guy at the entrance; before dinner we had a smoke outside and he asked us in a very rude way to move (without being clear where did he wanted us to move), after day in an even more rude style he asked us to move where in the first place we where supposed to be - believe me when I tell you that being a smoker in this city I know and respect other and rules, but this was beyond rude.
Additionally this person was so "mad" that he had to tell us where to smoke that he was welcoming all customers and he did not even say hi and same thing when we left...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

Had a 9:45 reservation & we were seated at 11. Food was average. People go there for the name & the scene

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great joint! Frenetic and high energy, good food! A good time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was great.

I felt that the beer, spirits, and wine although relatively well chosen, is noticeably over priced. That's why it's not moving, as well, and remains on the shelf. High West is too pricey given consideration to service and tax costs. The bottles likely don't move as much as they could.

As a regular spirits drinker, and server, I was disappointed with price points. Beer at $7 to 8 for what was on tap. There are no wine choices per glass at a level comparable to what would allow a two glass meal unless there is a second drinker.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined 2 days ago

Incredible service and the food was creative and delicious.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Food was good, lively place, expensive, overall good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Entertaining, good fresh food, would recommend the catch roll

Tags: People Watching, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Okay. Stick to the hot cold menu and avoid the entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Server was on point with food recommendations. Whole branzino was amazeballs. 10/10 would do again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Birthday dinner

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The Sushi was expensive, mushy and fishy in taste and smell. We were kept waiting for 40 minuets. Bad service and overall unpleasant experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Died and gone to seafood heaven. Can’t say enough great things about this restaurant. The food, wine and service exceptional. I wish I could have eaten more because I wanted to try everything on the menu. We had the crunch rice cake with spicy tuna. This was literally one of the best things I have ever eaten. The honey glazed shrimp was the perfect bite of sweet, spice and crunch in every bite. It was perfectly cooked. We had two rolls, I don’t even know what they were called but both amazing, fresh, and unique. Then we had this desert that was incredible. It was a cinnamon doughnut with coffee ice cream that was worth every.single.calorie. Our server was also fantastic. He made us feel very welcome and made great recommendations. My only complaint about this place is the noise. It’s LOUD but who cares, the food and service more than make up for itZ run, don’t walk to Catch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Unfriendly reception at front desk, who completely ignored us for 5 minutes and stared blankly at the computer screen. We were then very disappointed that despite having a table reservation for 3 ppl we were handed a pager and waited OVER AN HOUR for our table. After 45min wait I went to enquire (again) and overheard walk-in diner without a reservation being told it would only by a 15-20 min wait tops!?! Either their reservation system doesn’t work or they don’t prioritize people who did reserve. We still waited a further 20 mins after that! Unlikely to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

I just didn't understand why we waited 35 mins beyond our reservation to be seated, isn't that the point of a res? It seems to be a common problem because a manager came over to apologize when we were seated. Then the couple that sat next to us shortly after also received an apology for an hour wait beyond their reservation! The food was tasty although very overpriced. Our waitress was great, no complaints there. Probably would not rush back as there are so many other choices in the area with lower prices.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (London)·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent food, best we had in New York all week. Excellent service , excellent atmosphere, really buzzing tonight

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Popular place on great location. Staff treats you like cattle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

We ordered several tapas and everything was delicious. We had a range of seafood, meat and vegetarian, and nothing disappointed. The cocktails were unique and fun.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the roof top! Service was great and food was YUMMY!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

One of the best dining experiences in NYC. I visit every time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a restaurant with a great atmosphere and a great menu. I thought that the menu items were fairly priced and the quality was fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 16, 2017

We were treated so rudely upon entering. Level of hospitality was appalling. Reception could not have cared less that we were dining with them. We left. Would not recommend this restaurant to anyone. There are so many establishments in this city that make you feel welcome and valued.

You blew it, Catch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Amazing place! Very modern and cool! Just fashion and beautiful people! Make your reservation and enjoy!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

The scallop gnochi is amazing!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

I went to Catch with a couple of friends for a Sunday brunch. We ordered savory and sweet dishes as well, and everybody was really satisfied with his/her food.
At the beginning, our waiter broke a bottle of water, and other two came there right away to help him cleaning up. I don't know if it was for this accident or it's something they usually do, but they brought us a wonderful fruit plate whit whipped mascarpone - on the house.
Me and my friend had a great time, with really good food and in a really nice place.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 15, 2017

Very nice spot with the decoration and in a great area. Very nice rooftop. Service ok/standard. Food good and trendy.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 15, 2017

First time visiting & it was amazing. Was sceptical because they only had a late reservation. But it worked out great. Great roof top party afterwards. Five stars

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2017

Restaurant was great but did nothing to acknowledge special birthday celebration.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

We went for the second time this weekend and really enjoyed our dining experience. The last time was several years ago. This time much better!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Food and service was blah.. not the great deal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Bonne cusine. Terrasse sympa à proximité du Whitney Museum. Service très moyen.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

The worst customer service. Unprofessional, unhelpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Dont go to the 2 floor.....its Too much loud!!! Impossible to eat!! Its more like a disco as a restaurant!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value5

 
·Dined on October 14, 2017

The dinner was horrible...vegetable roll, eggplant miso, sweet potato nokie was totally tasteless, just gross!! The fish I got was not that bad...the portion was extremely small and they served it with 2 strings of broccolini which was dry and had very little taste....I would definitely never ever go back and I would never recommend Catch to anyone....waitress was rude and she rushed us ...we ate outdoors on the terrace which was nice..the restaraunt opened into this nightclub which I found that the men in there were swarming all the young girls in a very provacitive and rude way...I was with my daughter and the whole experience was a nightmare!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 13, 2017

Loved the location and look of the place. Food was delicious, we split the crispy shrimp and crunchy rice cakes and washed them down with plenty of mimosas. Price was fair and service was amazing, they never let your glass of water go lower than half full!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

The waiter was angry, like doing favour to us. The food was good. When the place turned on a party, about 11pm, they reduce the space unnecessarily.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2017

Excellent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
·Dined on October 12, 2017

Excelente! Ambiente maravilhoso e comida deliciosa!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raum Hamburg)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Grandioses Essen, tolles Konzept mit Essen zum Teilen um mehr kennen zu lernen
Tolle Empfehlungen unserer Kellnerin
Sehr gute Weinkarte
Wie allgemein in NY nicht günstig, aber jeden Penny wert

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

I am a publicist and took an editor friend here for dinner. We had a great time with great food and a fun atmosphere. I will definitely be back with fellow media friends, and personal friends and family.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

I’ve been to this restaurant plenty of time for dinner and brunch due to living in the area. However, the service sucked, our waiter was not very attentive and kept forgetting things. It was my friend bday and they left it up to me to pick the restaurant and they were not impressed at all due to lack of service given. He also, had someone shadowing him and didn’t really introduced himself or the other guy what was shadowing him. When it was time to place order for food, we found out one of the items that was my favorite on the menu that they ran out... so we selected something else. When our food came, he forgot to place the order for the alternative option we selected. Then our food came, 10-15min passed he didn’t check upon us, when he did, I told him, we did not have any napkins that goes with the utensils for us to place on our lap while we eat. We was very apologetic about that. Overall, my friends that were visiting stated they would never return back to this restaurant when visiting nyc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.