About Catch New York

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (100)
Fun (87)
Good for a Date (85)
See All
Good for Birthdays (77)
Vibrant Bar Scene (75)
Creative Cuisine (64)
Special Occasion (64)
People Watching (61)
Good for Groups (59)
Fit for Foodies (54)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Modern Decor (43)
Handcrafted Cocktails (36)
Romantic (35)
Tapas (34)
Late-night Find (32)
Bar Seating (31)
Casual (29)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Happy Hour (24)
Cozy (22)
Worth the Drive (20)
Scenic View (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Business Meals (17)
Great for Brunch (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Healthy (15)
Authentic (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
Spicy (11)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Dancing (11)
Family Style (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Pre/post Theatre (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Vegan (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Historic (2)
Live Music (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
3040 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

After waiting an hour for our table, wit ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

After waiting an hour for our table, with a reservation, we decided to eat in the bar area. Our server Amanda was amazing and saved our night. We will be back.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

This place embodies the Meatpacking Dist ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This place embodies the Meatpacking District culture with sky high priced cocktails (>$20) and relatively small yet delicious portions of food in this seafood driven hot spot. Definitely be prepared to spend at least $75 per person here to feel full and have a drink (maybe two). However stand out dishes are lobster mac and cheese (more like lobster bisque with macaroni, which is uniquely delicious) and the Catch Roll, which requires the staff to blow torch and melt miso on top of each piece of sushi. If you don't like crowds or your reservation time to merely be a suggestion, I'd recommend showing up early on the weekends or better on a weekday when you aren't crammed against strangers waiting to be called.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, People Watching, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Excellent food and service. This is for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Excellent food and service. This is for sure a place to go to for foodies!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was for a birthday celebration; we li ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

It was for a birthday celebration; we like the fact that there were variety to choose from the menu. The food was very delicious. We all enjoyed our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service experience, got t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food and service experience, got the recommendation from brother in law. The flavors are expertly balanced and service is awesome! Will return during next trip to the city.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Absolutely incredible time! The host rea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely incredible time! The host really made sure we had an amazing dining experience. One of the best meals I've had in NYC!

Tags: Cozy, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Dancing, Romantic, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Incredible place for dinner! Amazing atm ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Incredible place for dinner! Amazing atmosphere with really great food.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'm a repeat guest and still surprised a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

I'm a repeat guest and still surprised about the continuous excellent quality of drinks, food and service. Please keep on going...

Tags: Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food here was really great, as was t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food here was really great, as was the service. It was a little loud and I would not recommend it for a intimate date setting. But for a fun night out, it was great.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was outstanding. We really enjoyed ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was outstanding. We really enjoyed it but found it to be crazy expensive. $300 per couple is pretty steep.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

The food was very good, but the service ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was very good, but the service was erratic. They tried to clear my plate twice while I was still eating. The restaurant was very noisy - we had to shout to have a conversation. The view of the open kitchen was not attractive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

first time i was there and i must say th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

first time i was there and i must say the place was packed.they should have some kind of sign outside as we walked right by it without knowing it.The wait wasn't that long since we had reservations for 730 didn't enjoy being sat down right in front of a very loud kitchen.Spoke to a manager about we were moved which was good.The menu is based around sushi so if you don't like sushi stay away.Had some appetizers which were good a little pricey back to the main menu not much to chose from.Steak was decent but very overpriced at 98 dollars each .Much better steaks at real steak houses and a lot cheaper.Had some grilled shrimp okay do your self a favor keep on walking find something better

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Fantastic! The cod lettuce wraps are a ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Fantastic! The cod lettuce wraps are a must try! All seafood very fresh

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food amazing...go for hot appetizers onl ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Food amazing...go for hot appetizers only for your meal..BUT...literally so out and people so close to you we were screaming to speak and it was at 630 p.m.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My reservation was al 10:30. I arrive 10 ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My reservation was al 10:30. I arrive 10:25 and we were seated at 11:15. Similar waiting time Vs no reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was just as expected. It was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Everything was just as expected. It was a great scene for a date and was highly anticipated. The food met the expectations. The only critique would be the service was a bit distracted, granted there were many tables to tend to. But the server did realize he was all over the place and offered a free famous "hit-me" desert to us to make up for the inconvenience. Warm hospitality and a delicious fresh take on classic dishes. Would definitely recommend and go back.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a reservation at 9:30pm and we sa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We had a reservation at 9:30pm and we sat down at our table at 10:45pm.

The lady at the front desk was not accommodating at ALL. I went to see her every 30 minutes or so to see what the status of our table was, and she would rudely answer "I have no idea. It will be ready when it will be ready". Once we sat down, the waitress was very nice and the food was good too! But I will never go back there because of the way the hostess treated my friends and I. No one should have to wait 1 hour and 15 minutes for a table when you have a reservation, and have nothing to be accommodated with in return. A simple appetizer on the house would've been enough......

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

They were an hour late in seating us and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

They were an hour late in seating us and essentially forgot about our reservation. More of a night club than anything else. Food was mediocre.

Tags: Dancing, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing food , cocktails and service

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Amazing food , cocktails and service

Tags: Spicy, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We waited over an hour to be seated, eve ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We waited over an hour to be seated, even though we had a reservation. That was our only complaint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Favorite restaurant in the city!

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Favorite restaurant in the city!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, especially crispy spinach ha ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great food, especially crispy spinach hamachi, toro, mac and cheese. Service is was outstanding. Asked to lower the music and immediately the music was lowered !!! Thank you, a it made our night, we could converse easily despite multi-generations! Our server, Chris, was above and beyond! All around great night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I've ate here a few times and never had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 14, 2017

I've ate here a few times and never had a bad experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun brunch place!! Great food and great ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fun brunch place!! Great food and great location!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was absolutely amazing, however ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was absolutely amazing, however there seems to be little point to making a reservation at Catch, when even after you do, there is still a very long wait. Walk-ins were seated before we were.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

We decided to eat here to celebrate my b ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We decided to eat here to celebrate my birthday, and the food tasted phenomenal; however, several of the hosts were extremely impertinent and unwelcoming upon our arrival. We also were not seated until an hour after our reservation time, and also ended up becoming ill with food poisoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Great meal, great service, and great amb ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great meal, great service, and great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional cuisine. Great vibe. Expensi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Exceptional cuisine. Great vibe. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, People Watching, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had ladies from around the country co ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

We had ladies from around the country come into NY for a work offsite planning meeting. We chose first night dinner at Catch and was very pleased with the whole experience. Our out of town guests were also impressed.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The menu is not typical because it has m ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 13, 2017

The menu is not typical because it has more small shares than entrees. So it was confusing for me at the beginning. However, the four of us all chose the entrees anyway. The drinks were strong and solid. By 8 pm on a Thursday, the place was filled. I ordered the Dorade fish which was a delight. The beautiful young waitress mixed up the order for two of us but it was quickly remedied with a few complimentary extras. At least six servers aided us at out table during the meal. The crowd is young. We were the oldest people there (in our sixties). In sum, the dinner was some of the best fish I have had.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The 'hit me' chocolate dessert was the h ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The 'hit me' chocolate dessert was the highlight of our dining experience. My girlfriend was very excited about it while I just thought it was more novelty than culinary achievement. Glad to have been proven wrong. All the flavors, textures, temperatures...it just worked! We also ordered 2 rolls. The Hellfire and Catch rolls. Both outstanding! And the Hamachi was awesome! The bao...not so much. Flavor wise, it was ok but the breading of the chicken came off completely. Hard to eat. Service started off rocky. In the beginning, he was cold and dismissive. We felt like an inconvenience. A couple that sat 10, maybe 15 mins after us got their order taken and their drinks way before us. But our server picked it up at the end. Overall, as far as service is concerned, it was ok. Regardless, we'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

The food was amazing and the staff was w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

The food was amazing and the staff was wonderful!!!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 2 at 8:30 on a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

We had a reservation for 2 at 8:30 on a Tuesday night. Did not get called for our table until nearly 10 pm. Ended up eating standing up at the bar. Seems like the food is not as good as on previous visits.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Some of the best Seafood I have had in t ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Some of the best Seafood I have had in the city to date. Great entrees and apps as well as the atmosphere. Would recommend to anyone looking for seafood in meatpacking.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great overall experience, the waiter was ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Great overall experience, the waiter was not very patient to explain the menu and we had a hard time finding our waiter every time we needed him

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was great! The service was fan ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was great! The service was fantastic. Everyone was friendly and willing to please. We were t here for my daughters birthday and they were so kind to give us celebratory drinks. We can't wait to go back!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Fun, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dined here for brunch this past Sunday. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Dined here for brunch this past Sunday. Great feel and accommodations. Very attentive waitstaff. Great experience and would dine here again.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been to Catch a number of times b ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I have been to Catch a number of times before and the food is always excellent! This past weekend I went with my daughter and her best friend to celebrate her 13th birthday. The waiter didn't really seem too excited to have children there even though they are extremely well-behaved tweens. Also, we sat on the top floor instead of the main level and didn't like that nearly as much. They may have put us up there because of the girls but the atmosphere was not nearly as energetic and fun. A little disappointed, especially since we were spending such an important night there...but, the food was amazing as always.

Tags: Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Tuna crispy rice cake is op

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Tuna crispy rice cake is op

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great but the service is aw ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was great but the service is awful. They cannot keep reservations and don't understand the reservation concept. Our Rez was for 830 and they told me to get my party (the other 2 were early and having drinks) and they would seat us immediately. My friends rushed to close their tab in 2 min and the hostess said - oh you need to wait - and gave us a buzzer as if we were at TGI Friday's. it was another 35 minutes until they seated us. We begged them for water 20 times until they finally brought water and bread. They can't make you wait 35 min past your reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.