Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (153)
Hot Spot (153)
Fun (136)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (124)
Special Occasion (115)
Fit for Foodies (108)
Good for Birthdays (105)
Good for Groups (102)
People Watching (102)
Creative Cuisine (99)
Modern Decor (90)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Handcrafted Cocktails (59)
Romantic (56)
Casual (53)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Late-night Find (52)
Happy Hour (45)
Business Meals (43)
Bar Seating (42)
Tasting Menu (40)
Great for Brunch (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Scenic View (38)
Tapas (35)
Authentic (35)
Cozy (35)
Worth the Drive (30)
Comfort Food (30)
Open Kitchen (29)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Healthy (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Notable Wine List (23)
Family Style (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Spicy (20)
Outstanding Value (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Vegan (15)
Gluten Free Options (15)
Quick Bite (12)
Dancing (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Paleo Friendly (9)
Organic (8)
Live Music (7)
Seasonal (7)
Great Beer (5)
Waterfront (5)
Wood Oven (5)
Historic (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3366 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Always such a fabulous experience!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined 2 days ago

Had a reservation for 10 pm but was not seated until 10:45 pm. Very frustrating!

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Great night! Birthday celebration. Amazing food!

The vibe is as good as it gets!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, People Watching, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

I was very excited to go to Catch, I made reservations 2 weeks prior. But even with reservations I was told to wait which ended up being 1 hour 20 minutes after the time or our reservation. I had to complain and ask to sit several times during the period. When we finally sat our dinner was very good. I had the swordfish , my mom had the snapper which was also great, and my aunt had the salmon. No matter how much I pay I like to be treated with respect and I didnt feel like we were because they didnt respect our time. I felt that the service was lacking and to a point it was rude since we were waiting for so long. The place is fun, but I would not go back for two reasons: long wait and high prices

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 2 days ago

Service is terrible and although you make a reservation they still make you wait at the bar for at least 20 minutes before being seated. The hostesses are a bunch of bimbettes with limited social skills or social cues. Great ambiance but the service (or lack there of) really put a damper on the experience. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Took my girlfriend here for our anniversary. We had a great time and the food was fantastic. Only downfall was we were completely finished with our meal after an hour and 15 minutes as we were hoping for a prolonged dinner.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Authentic, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

the waitress jasmin was amazing. she told us take our time, even brought out cookies and a special shot to give us energy. i would definitely go back for her service

Tags: Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Vegan, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 2 days ago

Everything was great.. Food was Amazing sooo FRESH

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

First time at Catch with my family. We regularly dine out and Catch was worth the visit. The service was perfect and tge food was as good as it gets. It is a little pricey but that was expected for the area. The metal seats were a little uncomfortable but fit the decor perfectly. You can't have it all. Food came out in a timely manner and our server recapped our entire order before sending it to the kitchen. That is a key process that is not done in other restaurants.

Overall, I can't wait to go back with my bride for a hot date at Catch!! ;)

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for a Date, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

I still wanted to try Catch despite the recent mediocre reviews, and I'm glad I did. We were seated within 3 minutes of our 8:30pm reservation. Food was really good (must try sushi and the crispy shrimp) and the drinks were fantastic.

Service was good until we were about halfway through our meal. The waitstaff literally stood behind our table and kept trying to grab things the moment we appeared finished with them. Our waitress took away a plate that still had food on it! So, yes. For all those people saying this place wants to turn tables over ASAP, it's true. If we didn't feel so rushed, we may have spent another $100 on drinks. Oh well.

We also ordered a bottle of water but our waitress refilled our water with tap water.

When we got the bill, she had charged us for something we didnt order.

Would I go again? Sure. But I'm in no rush. I like to enjoy my time. Hang out. Drink. Catch doesn't let you do that. Not my first choice in NYC. Maybe not even my top 10.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We had a ton of appetizers and they were all so yummy. The truffle sashimi was to die for. Waiter was great, had the food come out at a good pace and overall great vibe

Tags: People Watching, Tapas, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome!
It's a bit expensive but the dishes are really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Best dinner in NYC. Catch is the place to be and the food and service is amazing. Plenty of vegan and vegetarian options. The sushi tools were delicious and almost too many delicious ones to choose from. We had seafood entrees as well as the chicken and steak. Everyone loved their dinner. Wait staff was attentive and first class all the way!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Awesome, as usual !!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

We had an 8:45 pm reservation so we arrived to the restaurant early at 8:20pm. We were not seated until 10:15pm in the rooftop part of the restaurant and then were told to leave at 11:30 so they could remove our table for a private event. After spending $200+ on drinks while we waited and then $400+ on dinner, this was ridiculous! We went downstairs and asked about the private event and they said there's no private event however it's now only bottle service so we would need to spend an additional $1300 if we wanted to go back up to buy a bottle. Our waitress and food were excellent however the fact we were rushed out after only being seated for an hour, was not ok. In addition, no one informed us we would need to leave our table by 11:30 as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This restaurant doesn't honor reservations so if you plan on going plan on waiting a loooong time.

The host staff is rude and unhelpful. 45 min after my reservation I asked how much longer and the woman I spoke to said I was under consideration. Really?

Open Table you should rethink offering reservations for Catch they're meaningless.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food but very noisy!

Tags: Modern Decor, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a fabulous dinner at Catch followed by their signature dessert, Hit Me Chocolate Cake. Went with three non-fish eaters and there was plenty for them to choose other than fish. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 4 days ago

Nice but not exceptional

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

My reservation was at 9pm, I got there 8:50pm and the table was ready almost 1 hour later! At 9:45!!!! This was really really bad! I never had such a bad experience with the front desk of the restaurant , 5 girls with nothing to do and no experience.

After that everything was fine.

But if I use open table is to have a table at certain time....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation, but still had to wait for our table at least 40 minutes. Front desk staff was a bit rude. Food was decent, but it's really loud. I loved the decor, too bad there were so many other things off. My daughter in her 20's thought it was great and said she'd come back. Personally, I'd go elsewhere. I would have liked to have seen a bigger gluten free menu as the menu was very interesting, but not much I could have.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (London)·Dined 6 days ago

We never got our table. After waiting for 1 hour we were sent to the bar and decided to leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Place to be seen if that's your thing. Felt it was too loud on top floor, had to yell across the table. Main dishes tasted were ok but found price outshadowed the taste. Sushi and octopus were delicious, lobster Kraft dinner disappointing. Found all food and basic drinks over priced. Wait staff very friendly.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Muy buen ambiente, espectacular comida

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Host staff and waitstaff were very responsive and friendly. Interestingly decorated, and great seating opportunities for couples. Well worth the trip to visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quick Bite, People Watching, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Sinceramente fue muy malo el servicio sobre todos de la manager !!! A pesar de haber ido con la reserva de open table nos hicieron esperar 35 minutos luego Después de 40 minutos de haber pedido la comida nos dijeron que había platos que ya no tenían ... finalmente nos fuimos sin terminar de comer - una experiencia muy mala !!! No es para volver definitivamente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I would recommend this restaurant to everyone! Such amazing food, service, and vibe!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Loved everything food was amazing outstanding service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Amazing experience! It was Easter brunch and they have a special menu. Excellent options. The restaurant was full but the service was perfect. I strongly recommend the place!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food was amazing and the staff was very friendly. We had a table on the rooftop which was very nice. someone wrote on the internet that the portions were small, but we found it rather the opposite! Will be coming back definitely.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Placed on reservation that we were celebrating my wife's birthday. Although the table across from us received attention for birthday, we did not. Also, our server put in the wrong appetizer order. Since she was seldom at our table, we found another server and informed him. He brought the correct appetizer several minutes later. Unfortunately, no apology or recognition from our server that a mistake was made.

Food was excellent. The server was not!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Girlfriends birthday great choice to go there

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very disappointed!!! We were seated at 3:15 and were told that we needed to order as soon as possible because the kitchen closed at 3:30. No waiter for over 35 minutes , we then approached someone who said they would have a manager come over , manager never came , a waitress finally came and said that most likely kitchen was closed but would try to get order in, placed our order only for her to come back and tell us the chef said kitchen was closed . We left after having been seated for over an hour without so much as a glass of water brought over to us. NO effort to make anything right!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very energetic crowd, they serve on three floors, we ate on the terrace level, we sat inside as it was just a little cool outside, the large windows made us feel like were were outside.

The food was very good, pricey but very good, the presentation beautiful. Very creative sushi choices. The salmon cooked on a plank was very enjoyable with the tamerind butter sauce. Two people in our party had the Branzino and it was excellent. The brussel sprouts and asparagus as sides were fantastic. The wine list is is so over priced that it is obscene. For example an bottle NZ wine I buy retail in my local store (I live in an expensive neighborhood in NYC) in $26 they were charging $90, I know there is always a markup in a restaurant but this is obnoxious.

The service was adequate, I ordered for the three of us, the waiter did not understand that each of the ladies wanted the Branzino. When only one arrived the server dropped it on the table and walked away, it took 8-10 minutes for me to attract the waiter as two of us let our entrees get cold. He claimed that he thought they were sharing the Branzino, mistakes happen. When the ladies agreed to share the entree, he put a salad plate in front of my wife to cut the serving in half. She had to ask that he have the chef split the entree. He took it back to the kitchen and finally came back out 6 minutes later. There was an offer to rush a second entree, in my experience never say yes to this, it is never good. So we all had cold entrees. There was an apology for the error and we accepted the apology. When we ordered dessert, no offer to pick it up, I was surprised that there was no offer to comp us, we ordered dessert and then he brought us cookies on the house, this was kind of wierd. We shared a very rich dessert they should have just picked up the piece of cake.

Overall, a good experience and we will give it another try.

Tags: Casual, People Watching, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 14, 2017

I made a reservation with Open Table two days in advance. I was greeted by an army of very hostile "hostesses." When I told them two of us would order dinner right away and a third would join us for desert and coffee later, they refused to seat us at all! After they spoke to the manager, they reluctantly seated us. Our waitress was very friendly but far too busy - I would give this one a miss, particularly if you are Manhattanites used to good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Solid, not spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Sat outside which was beautiful. Unfortunately our server seemed very behind and we finished our first courses before our drinks even came out. Tables of either side of us had the same issue with food coming out before beverages. Still had a nice time celebrating my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Food (appetizers, entre and deserts) were all absolutely delicious.
Our server (Anthony) was superb. Very engaging, friendly and provided excellent service.
Ambience were very good, though the restaurant was very busy, we were served within 15 mins of our reservation.
Minor issue - the stirers for the hot drinks were the cheap plastic straws... Which I believe was a let down for such a superb restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The food was good. It is a shame that when you book a table you expect it to be at the restaurant area and not the bar unless specifically indicated.

Tags: Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.