Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (165)
Fun (134)
Special Occasion (134)
See All
Good for a Date (131)
Fit for Foodies (122)
Vibrant Bar Scene (120)
Good for Birthdays (110)
Creative Cuisine (107)
Good for Groups (106)
People Watching (88)
Great for Outdoor Dining (87)
Good for Anniversaries (73)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Happy Hour (58)
Casual (54)
Romantic (53)
Scenic View (51)
Late-night Find (48)
Bar Seating (46)
Neighborhood Gem (43)
Great for Lunch (42)
Great for Brunch (37)
Business Meals (37)
Worth the Drive (37)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Tasting Menu (32)
Good Vegetarian Options (32)
Tapas (28)
Authentic (27)
Cozy (22)
Comfort Food (20)
Notable Wine List (19)
Seasonal (14)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Vegan (12)
Spicy (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Disabled Access (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Great Beer (5)
Organic (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Live Music (3)
Live Sports (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Waterfront (3)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3866 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 13 hours ago

Great waitress and vibe but the food just ok...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Honestly awful. i have only been to this place for drinks before this but the service was slow, our table was dirty, the food was not good. Would never come back for brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food, atmosphere and servers are amazing. This place is very trendy and once you are sitting is amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Great feel service in restaurant was weak but the service in the lounge above did a great job

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was incredible overall! The rice base for the rice cakes could've definitely been fresher, and the waitress cared more to talk to her friends than take to our orders, or refill our waters promptly and discreetly. But the food is incredible! Music is a notch to loud, but overall good.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing food 👍🏼

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 19, 2017

We weren't sat until 50 minutes past our reservation time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Celebrated my daughter's birthday. This was my second visit and worth the return. Got to the restaurant early (about ½ hour) and we were able to secure a seat on the roof. It was a beautiful night. The hostesses both in the restaurant and on the roof were friendly and accommodating. Loved the speciality cocktail - lemonade something (forgot the full name of the drink) served in a copper goblet. We ordered the east coast oysters which were small but tasty and no shells - thank you! We had the grilled octopus. A small serving but grilled to perfection. We also had the scallops with cauliflower. Scollops were cooked well. The carrots and petite string beans were undercooked. We had two desserts. The tower klondike that you smash when presented was chocolate all the way. To die for was the glazed donut with ice cream and cream. Wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

HORRIBLE SERVICE. Had a reservation and still waited an hour to be seated and another 45 min to be waited on. Manager ended up taking our order. Brought us champagne but it was a disaster. I usually have amazing service here so this was disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Trouble getting a seat for our friend 6 months pregnant at the bar since bar stools are against their policy. Waiter kept forgetting about us. Food was subpar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Was delayed seating by 30 mins despite the reservation. Didn't seem as though they cared. Great vibes but that didn't overcome the lack of service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food was excellent! Quick, perfect and tasty. Our waitress, Elena was of great help and was always very attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food = excellent
Waitstaff = excellent
Host/management staff = the reason we likely won't be returning.

This review is for my 5th visit there in a month for different work functions. The original reservation was for 8 people @9:15pm, I called early in the day to increase to 10 people. Was told my reservation time would change to 10:00pm, but that if my entire party was there by 9:30, we could potentially be set earlier. We arrived at 9:30, and greeted by a group of hostesses, two of which were rude and pretentious, and a "manager" who also rude to the group. We were told they were extremely busy and we would be sat closer to 10pm, which as fine. 10pm rolls around, nothing, 10:30pm, still nothing, 10:45pm, we are told it would be another few minutes. At this point we see tables open up in the bar, turn in our pager and sit there. Our group of 10 is tired, hungry and frustrated. Once we were seated our waitress was phenomenal, she was attentive and helpful and ensuring that the actual dinner portion of the evening was quite enjoyable. The food, as always was excellent, however my team and I will be hesitant to return here again. We have spent over 6k at this restaurant over the last month, and only one time were we actually set at a table, the rest of the trips we waited around long past our reservation time and eventually grabbed tables at the bar. The management and hostess staff keep this restaurant from living up to its potential.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Everything was perfect until our waitress came back to inform us that we only tipped 10%, when we gave her a $200 tip on a $1070 tab. Her math was wrong, and it was completely ungrateful and unprofessional for her to complain about $200 in 3 hours.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Love, love, love this place. Food was incredible. Request a table in the lounge/rooftop for best experience.

Only thing I didn't like was the music in the lounge on Wednesday- it's retro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Great food and great service as usual. I'll be back! ❤️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 13, 2017

Awesom place and food. We had a really great night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Food was phenomenal but the wait was crazy! We waited over an hour even with a reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Awful experience. We came for our anniversary and had a reservation but when we got there the hostess said she could only seat us at that time if we agreed to be finished in an hour, or we could wait until a different table opened up. The music is very loud and the tables close together, so it was very hard to have a conversation. The grilled swordfish had a mushy paste texture, and was more liquid than solid (which usually means it's been frozen and defrosted, or has gone bad) but the waiter said it was fine. The rest of the food was just ok. Overall, really overpriced, underwhelming food at best, and rude people. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Fabulous service & food /drinks. Great sushi . Cannot wait to go back.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

TERRIBLE atención de las hostess. Groseras, maleducadas. Después de hacer reservación esperamos 1 hora y la mujer se enojo por irle a reclamar. NUNCA regresar. PÉSIMO!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

It is the third time I go for dinner and even with a reservation, needed to wait an hour for a table. One time might be understandable but obviously the place have no capability to accept the number of reservations they do.

Plus the hostess are always so rude.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Buen lugar para cenar y ambiente. El rooftip está muy bien, aunque es algo caro para pedir mesa te exigen consumo mínimo de 800 US.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wow. Great food. Great view.
Great night!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on September 9, 2017

The food was amazing! A little pricey, however it's New York City..... would definitely go again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Second time here and this time I tried new dishes and all of them were amazing. Not only is this place beautiful but for once I can say the food was worth the price. Many of these bougie restaurants are pricey and the food is not even worthy. The food was soo good I wanted to come back the next day and repeat. The red snapper with lobster mash amazing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 8, 2017

I've been to this restaurant before and sat on the roof. It was great. Catch LA is great. This time we sat inside and the service was TERRIBLE. Waiter was condescending, constantly bumping into our chairs, but never bothering to check on us. Won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our visit wasnt very plesent , the hostes didnt even looked at me when we came (there were 4 girls that wasnt doing anything) our table was set for 20:30 and we needed to wait till we got a table in the uper floor next to a table of 10 little girls who was very nosiy celebrating.. i was very disapointed and we left after 30 min..

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Cool place -- menu is interesting and the mahi tacos were great. Not sure it's worth the price if not on an expense account given all the options within a few blocks!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was absolutely delicious and the service from our waiter was outstanding.
However—we have a 4-month old baby and we encountered a very kid-UNfriendly situation in that there was no changing table in the bathroom. We inquired and a manager offered that we could change our baby on the floor of the bathroom...really? On the floor of a NYC restaurant bathroom? Perhaps she has pets, not children.
After extensive discussion the manager somewhat begrudgingly led us on a long walk to an "alternate baby-changing location" (I'll spare the details as she gave the impression this was a major exception and not really kosher). In any case, after finally changing the baby, returning to our table, placing a dinner order...he needed to be changed again. Rather than go through all the hassle a second time we asked for our meals to be boxed up and we took them to go.
The waiter and busboy were absolutely terrific, very accommodating, friendly, and kind in helping us get everything packaged to go. And the food was extremely tasty, fresh and well-prepared (albeit cold by the time we got back to our hotel).
So all in all, if you are kid-free and looking for a hip, vibey place for seafood and drinks, enjoy. But if you have a small human in diapers with you, I would steer clear until they "Catch" up with 21st-century expectations of changing room facilities.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

The Coconut Kale Chicken Salad is divine . Lunch at the Rooftop is a good choice on summers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food and drinks were amazing. We ordered everything truffle and it was too die for. Definitely a young and trendy crowd and noisy! Good for a fun night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Expensive but good food and service. Service was quick.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 4, 2017

SHOCKINGLY LOUD.

This place should not be a restaurant it should just be a bar, it felt like having dinner at a concert. We sat in the roof dining area and there are speakers positioned all around the seating area, both above and at ear level. The food was fine but having to lean forward to hear and to shout to be heard is utterly ridiculous. Three tables complained and all were told the music wasn't going to be adjusted. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Impeccable friendly service; a wow factor birthday Hit Me pudding just topped by the best sushi - table-seared - ever! Fantastic experience.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Food is delicious.. we have been here twice and both times just had appetizers, sushi and dessert. Next time I am determined to try an entree but the apps are so interesting and tasty that I want to try them all! Only issue this time was service was a bit slow and inattentive, we had no dishes or silverware and were sitting with our hot food and nothing to eat it on! It was also very hard to hear each other talk with the music blasting and the packed restaurant (don't remember this as an issue the first time.... this time we were in the middle of the room instead of along the side so that might have made a difference). It's definitely a scene with good energy, but not if you want to talk.

Tags: People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Prix fixe brunch is the way to go! So much food and so much variety. The spicy crispy shrimp was my favourite item

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined on September 3, 2017

My favourite restaurant in NY. Service can sometimes be hit or miss since they are so busy but our server Omar on this visit was great. Also kudos to Sylfas the nightlife manager.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching, Hot Spot, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Very rude and snobby front end staff with a manager with absolutely no basic management skills.
Inquired about alternative seating, we were denied. The table next to us - who were seated after us, were then moved to a "better and larger" table.
We NEVER complain but this situation was so horrible. We will never, ever return. So unfortunate because we are frequent travellers and the LA and Mexico locations are amazing.
If service and fairness is what you look for in an overall experience, stay far far away

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food and service were excellent. It was dark in the restaurant the bar was very dark. Was a fun place, but very noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.