Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (155)
Hot Spot (150)
Vibrant Bar Scene (138)
See All
Fun (134)
Special Occasion (123)
Good for Groups (107)
Good for Birthdays (107)
Fit for Foodies (101)
People Watching (101)
Creative Cuisine (100)
Modern Decor (90)
Handcrafted Cocktails (67)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Romantic (56)
Casual (55)
Neighborhood Gem (53)
Late-night Find (51)
Bar Seating (48)
Tasting Menu (48)
Great for Lunch (47)
Happy Hour (46)
Scenic View (42)
Tapas (41)
Great for Brunch (40)
Business Meals (40)
Authentic (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (37)
Cozy (36)
Worth the Drive (32)
Comfort Food (32)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Healthy (27)
Open Kitchen (26)
Family Style (24)
Notable Wine List (23)
Good Vegetarian Options (22)
Spicy (21)
Gluten Free Options (19)
Vegan (17)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Quick Bite (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Dancing (11)
Seasonal (10)
Outstanding Value (9)
Paleo Friendly (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Organic (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Great Beer (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Waterfront (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Live Music (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (2)
Live Sports (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
3474 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 20 hours ago

The food was delicious and the service was impeccable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Extremely poor service. Rudeness of the hostess and her manager made my experience particularly unpleasant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

Muuuuy bueno!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

After waiting for 45 min when we had a reservation we finally got our table. 2 min after we were seated, the table right next to us leave. We kindly asked the waitress and he called the host. She was the most rude person I have ever encounter with a CUSTOMER FACING position. First, she didn't talk to us directly. She came to the table, saw us and ask the waitress to tell us that wouldn't be possible. I when to ask for a reason, and she in a very impolite way said "that is reserved for another person". I asked if it was another couple, and the response was "THAT IS RESERVED FOR THE OWNER OF THE PLACE AND...". What do you think the owner of the place would say after see how you people react with your customer. Zero customer service, zero respect for your time and reservations made. I DONT RECOMMEND THIS PLACE AT ALL, unless you would like to have a really bad time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Our reservation was at 9:15, and we didn't get seated until 10:45. Surprisingly, however, this didn't bother us and we didn't complain, because the atmosphere and rooftop waiting area (entirely different floor) were so lively and fun. We also had visited Chelsea Market an hour earlier and ate oysters there, so we weren't starving. Once we finally did get seated, we didn't even get a waiter to acknowledge our presence until another 20 minutes later. Yes, it was past 11 PM at this point. The food did come out super fast after that, which was probably because they were getting ready to close the kitchen! The restaurant, on a Tuesday night, was still packed until midnight--past open hours. The food was just OK. The sashimi tasted a bit fishy. The lobster mashed potatoes were slightly too salty. The lobster mac and cheese and the ceviche were pretty good. Overall, only come here if you want to be surrounded by an energetic crowd at a trendy spot. It's not really a culinary experience whatsoever. The music that was playing was awesome though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Not at all what it use to be. Good was ok but not at all worth the price specially with their service, way too rushed. Felt like a fancy IHOP.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a reservation at 8.30 and had to wait more than 45mn to have the 'signal' that the table was ready
We went to see the waiter at front desk who apparently was more focus on a discussion with another waiter during few minutes. Then we decided to say 'ok - no worries for the table we are leaving' and the waiter responded to us 'ok - have a good night'

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Good food, great service, something for everyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Vegan, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Service has declined. The restaurant was very quiet, however our server was rarely seen. The food is great but felt like everyone who worked there thought they were above providing good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual Catch provided great food, solid service, and accommodating people at the front door. Food came out in a timely fashion, tasted wonderful, and there is always something going on that agrees with your eyes and stomach. Highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (México)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was ok, not outstanding... the waiter was very pushy and not customer focused.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Love the environment and food selection. Poor service -- lack of attention from server and we had to ask if we could order drinks and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Very good food as always. I'm rather have been a regular (2xweek) now I've to re-think cause the best manager Laure left.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value3

vip
 (Naples)·Dined 7 days ago

If you are looking for quiet, relaxing , laid back, wrong choice. Catch is vibrant, alive, hopping, energetic fill with enthusiastic, social people ready to party and have a good time. The same can be said for the food as it is a dining establishment to share food choices and taste different plates. We came for an evening of conversation and good food. We got into the atmosphere, had delicious food, and partied like the rest of the crowd.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Great food, very good service. Hit me chocolate cake is to die for!!!! Good wine list.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Brought my mom as Mother's Day gift, food & service were perfect! Highly recommend & will be going back again!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Crispy shrimp and the beet salad were very good, avocado toast was very average. Service was not attentive, barely saw him, and the waiter who served our food, dropped the tomato on the plate and did not bother to replace.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Graduation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Our waiter was more a salesman than a waiter - he made us feel like we weren't ordering enough food so we ordered one more dish than we had planned which ended up being entirely too much food. Fries were undercooked. Overall priced like it's a five star restaurant but service and food were three stars.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food and lovely service. Ambience is perfect. Food little overpriced but worth it.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Soooooo good! Wish west Texas had something like this!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food is AMAZING !!! The restaurant have different floors . The one up is very noisy (customers ) if you are looking for something a bit quite the first floor by the kitchen is good.
Our hosts accommodate us when we want to switch tables , she was so sweet and helpful.
I will definitely go back !

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was less than mediocre. The drinks and dessert options were the highlight. The rooftop was lively and the music was on point. I would recommend friends to go for the drinks and the desserts. We had the #hitme, it was worth it. But that is just about it. Seating was too tight, the waiters as well as the tables near by kept bumping into ours. Not worth the hype.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Visit Manhattan a few times every year and this is one of the best restaurants in the city especially the seafood menu, excellent

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Everyone there from the bar tender to the maître de to the waiters act like they are doing you a favor. Took 30 minutes to bring a drink each time even though the restaurant wasn't packed nor should it be. This place has gone down hill. It's a shame. Sushi and raw fish items were served warm and did not taste cool and fresh. For what they're charging and the experience they're providing, I'd do better at probably 10 other restaurants within 5 blocks of catch. I'll never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The truffle fries we ordered did not come with our meal so they give us peach sorbet to make up for it. The meal was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The bad: Had to wait almost 45 min for a table, even with a reservation. But once they seated us, since I complained, they gave us complimentary champagne which distinguishes them as an upscale restaurant. Food is served tapas style, which we didn't realize. It comes out as each item is ready. Make sure you are with ppl who want to share. Or u will be eating ur dish alone while the other person waits for what they ordered. On the flip side, super amazing delicious food and worth it despite all the above. DELICIOUS. I will be going back. And if I'm prepared to wait and get a drink at the bar, I'll be good.

Tags: Hot Spot, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Demasiado caro. Es lindo y se come bien pero no vale los precios que cobran

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

The manager and our waiter were brilliant!

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

More a drink/bar place than a food experience/restaurant. Go there to have fun on the roof top, do not expect to be a dining experience above average, as such it does disappoint and service isn't educated to accommodate this. Fun place to have drinks and laughs.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Catch was recommended by a colleague from Australia. My son and I went for dinner as a treat and a treat it was. The food was spectacular, the service was brilliant. I would definitely recommend it to anyone coming to NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

lovely food, great service at our table. Bartender was overrun and service there became nonexistent.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Kind of underwhelming. I went here as an anniversary dinner and they didn't even mention it despite my note. We got a raw tower and it was exactly what you expect it to be. It was pretty skimpy for the price. The lobster mac and cheese is salty as an internet troll so I would avoid that.

I would only come back if someone paid for my meal.

Oh if you get the Meatpacking Manhattan they give you a complimentary flask, which is nice if you're an alcoholic.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 17, 2017

We never even ate.
Waited for 45 minutes beyond our reservation time, didn't get seated so we left and ate somewhere else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Food was great but made the reservation for 730 and did not get seated until 820. When we finally recieved a table, it was small and by the stairs. When looking around, there were 7 empty tables around us. We were confused on why we waited almost an hour when we had a reservation. The service was ok. Our server was polite and friendly but rarely checked in on us. He had his hands full with a rowdy business party behind us and didn't give us much attention. The Busser ended up chatting with us and was great. Not enough for me not to return, but left feeling a little underwhelmed.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Had a reservation later than I wanted at 9:30, but showed up early, told table was momentary. At 9:53, I asked about table, they shunted me to the back back of the sushi bar even though I didn't want sushi. Prices are very high, wanted a table experience. Left at 10:38 w no food, no table. I'm a Google exec, 1000% unacceptable. Pretentious, insipid service, manager did nothing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Fantastic place with fantastic attention!
we'll come back!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It was okay but not good enough to come back. The waiter was not really good. He looks busy with something else.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The hostess didn't even know the right time the place is supposed to be opened. I had a RESERVATION for Sunday, 11:00 AM, and when my wife and I arrived, she informed we'd have to wait until 11:30, because they were still closed. Service was running slow in the beginning, but got back on tracks shortly.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.