About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:00PM
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 12:00PM-4:00PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

3.9

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (119)
Good for a Date (114)
Fun (103)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (95)
Good for Birthdays (92)
Special Occasion (89)
Creative Cuisine (81)
People Watching (79)
Good for Groups (76)
Fit for Foodies (70)
Modern Decor (68)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Handcrafted Cocktails (58)
Romantic (45)
Late-night Find (44)
Casual (42)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
Tapas (35)
Bar Seating (33)
Business Meals (31)
Happy Hour (31)
Authentic (25)
Cozy (25)
Comfort Food (25)
Tasting Menu (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Scenic View (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Sunday Lunch (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Healthy (17)
Open Kitchen (17)
Notable Wine List (16)
Outstanding Value (14)
Dancing (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Family Style (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Local Ingredients (12)
Spicy (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Seasonal (7)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vegan (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Great Beer (4)
Organic (4)
Live Music (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Historic (3)
Private Room (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Waterfront (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Sports (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3185 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

+Good food, trendy place to be. - We mad ...

 
 (London)·Dined 2 days ago

+Good food, trendy place to be. - We made a reservation at 8 but we had to wait for one hour to be seated. Quite expensive drinks and food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Loved Catch, great ambience, great servi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved Catch, great ambience, great service, food was delish! Will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food. Drinks are delic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great service and food. Drinks are delicious and creative. This was our second time eating here and both times they were running at least an hour behind on reservations. Careful if you have plans after.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We have a reservation for 9:45 and we ar ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

We have a reservation for 9:45 and we are seated at 11:30.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was great, loved the ambiance b ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was great, loved the ambiance but the hostesses were snobbish and unapproachable. They were 45 minutes to an hour behind on reservations and the hostesses did not attempt to explain the dynamics of the situation or give an apology. They almost ignored you at times when you asked for an update. However, when we were finally seated and hour after our reservation time, the wait staff made up for the hostesses lack of character and possibly management with complimentary appetizers and good service.Once you were able to get pass the hostesses attitude and service it was a nice evening with good food and great music.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is always great. Biggest compla ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The food is always great. Biggest complaint is that we made a reservation and then didn't get seated at that time. We had a late reservation (9:15pm) and we didn't get seated until 10:30. The bar is lively and fun, but there should be no reason to wait over an hour for a table reservation. By the time our dinner got served, our server's shift ended and there was another server scrambling to cover one to too many tables - makes no sense why a manager would let servers rotate off shift.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The only thing was the reservation was a ...

 
 (México)·Dined 3 days ago

The only thing was the reservation was at 8:15pm and they gave us the table one hour later.

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Excellent food and great atmosphere make ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent food and great atmosphere make Catch a must visit restaurant in New York's Meatpacking District.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We always have to wait before they take ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

We always have to wait before they take us to our table whether we are early or not. Otherwise, food is good!

Tags: Hot Spot, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

great food and great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

great food and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was awful!!! We ordered and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The service was awful!!! We ordered and waited forever!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

We've definitely had better food and ser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We've definitely had better food and service at Catch! This visit was disappointing...

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Roof top seating is cool , lobster was a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Roof top seating is cool , lobster was amazing , and the brunch special for 2 people is A MUST!

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Firstly, it is difficult to find the ent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Firstly, it is difficult to find the entrance, as it is listed, but not on, 9th Ave. I sat at a table without any menu for nearly 15 minutes, while waiting for my friend, who was walking around the neighborhood unable to locate the restaurant. Finally, after asking 3 staff, I finally received a menu. Waited another 15 minutes for cocktails, then dishes came out randomly. One appetizer came on time, the other, only after we asked, following the main course. I received my main course about 10 minutes before my guests arrived. The side dish came with dessert. What a mess!

I had avocado toast, which was not. The mashed up, very plain avocado was served on plain bread (not toast) and flavorless. My friend had the lobster, which she said was mediocre. The beet salad had the equivalent of one small beet in it but tasted good. Bacon side was very good (you can't spoil bacon). Fried shrimp appetizer was very good. And, sorbets were good, but on top of a bird's nest, which was not too appealing.

This brunch took 2.75 hours. One hour was spent waiting for staff to appear or do their jobs. I do not recommend this restaurant and will not return.

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

Took a long time to get table and to get ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Took a long time to get table and to get the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

it was a disaster!!!!! they ended up not ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

it was a disaster!!!!! they ended up not charging for 3 omelettes ,since they were all wrong. would never go back . plenty of other restaurants to choose from . waited over an hour for food. i will say it was not the waitresses fault. should just close ,if they can not handle the business!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value4

Great food, fun atmosphere. Very slow se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food, fun atmosphere. Very slow service. Our waitress was really nice, but it took two hours to get our food. We were not planning a three hour lunch. They definitely need more help.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Hicimos reserva 9:45 y nos sentaron 60 m ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 4 days ago

Hicimos reserva 9:45 y nos sentaron 60 minutos mas tarde. Hicimos el pedido de comida, pedimos la carta de vino y nunca vinieron a tomarnos el pedido del vino. La comida vino rápido, pero el pote de soja estaba vacio y no nos trajeron ni plato y palos de sushi.

Lo mismo para el segundo plato, nos trajeron la comida y no los platos.

Muy malo el servicio y muy ruidoso el lugar.

La comida muy buena, una lastima.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value2

Visiting from Toronto with a few friends ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Visiting from Toronto with a few friends and wanted to enjoy our evening as planned. Reservations were made for 9:45pm, we were given a buzzer upon arrival and was told to wait until the buzzer went off indicating our table was ready. Ended up waiting what seemed like forever at the bar area where we sat at the high top tables. We ordered drinks all around and continued to wait for a table. After 40 min of waiting around our server at the bar section told us we couldn't sit any longer as thr was a group waiting to be seated for dinner who didn't have reservations. She pretty much told us to finish our drinks and get off the table. We were quite confused as to what was going on as we hadn't finished our drinks and had never come across a situation where we were spending money but was told that the table was needed for a group of ladies who HADN'T made a RESERVATION. Our server told us if we were going to eat anything than

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Atmosphere: lively. Food: great. Just ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 4 days ago

Atmosphere: lively. Food: great. Just know that on Saturday night you will be waiting a while for your table even with a reservation. (45 minutes for us with a 930 reservation) Worth the wait? Yes! Save room for dessert. Get "Hit Me"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was great expect for the fact ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Everything was great expect for the fact it smells toooo much of food on the 2nd floor, I gotta take my jacket to drycleaners!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Delicious! Very trendy. Portion sizes o ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious!

Very trendy. Portion sizes on the small side. Not cheap but delicious!

Tags: Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Loved it! The food was outstanding and w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved it! The food was outstanding and waitress was very alert. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Family Style, Cozy, Late-night Find, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to celebrate a proposal/engageme ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

We came to celebrate a proposal/engagement and they sat us an hour late! We had to be at the engagement event on time and we were disappointed with the customer service. Do not plan to recommend to friends or go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

One of my favourite restaurants but be p ...

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

One of my favourite restaurants but be prepared to wait even with reservation. Bustling spot and only complaint is that we were 25 minutes early and didn't get our table until 40 minutes after our reservation time so don't book this restaurant if you have a show to 'catch' etc.. Food, cocktails, and service are awesome.

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Even though I was very late for my reser ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Even though I was very late for my reservation when I arrived we were seated immediately and service was great and the food and wine was excellent. The server even took the time to take a picture for us as we were celebrating my husbands birthday.

We'll definitely be back and tell others.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food and great service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

This was a TERRIBLE dining experience. D ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

This was a TERRIBLE dining experience. Do not go to this restaurant.

Despite a reservation, we had to wait 45 minutes to be seated. My girlfriend and I made a reservation for dinner for 8:45pm. I arrived at 8:41 and was told they couldn't seat me until my girlfriend arrived. She arrived at 8:51. They then gave us a buzzer and told us that when it buzzed we would be seated. We then waited until after 9:30pm. We both separately approached the hostess station multiple times. Each time we were given a different answer as to when we would be seated and what the holdup was. "You're next on the list." "We're just waiting for a table to get up. They have already paid." Or later, "there are a couple of parties ahead of you" even! They never gave us a straight answer.

Once we were finally seated it took a very long time for us to get our food and the service was downright neglectful. The waiter was nice but stretched way too thin. We were only able to order one drink each because it was impossible to get anyone's attention. At one point, we got up to ty to get someone's attention but couldn't find anyone. It wasn't that crowded up there. The overall experience took over 3 hours and the food was just fine. There is no reason to ever go to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

One of the coolest spot I have been to i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

One of the coolest spot I have been to in years! Great food, service, ambiance and scene!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, the snapper was fantas ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Great atmosphere, the snapper was fantastic and leave space for the "#hitme" Klondike dessert! Good vibes.

Tags: Private Room, Business Meals, Tapas, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

By far the worst service I have ever exp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

By far the worst service I have ever experienced. Rude hostess and insanely long wait time...even when you have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

great energy, fine food, new seafood tas ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 16, 2017

great energy, fine food, new seafood tastes

we sat at the cooks table and watched high energy skilled cooks really deliver

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a great time! The service was gre ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great time! The service was great and the food was excellent!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came for Valentine's day so I know th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We came for Valentine's day so I know that what we experienced wouldn't be typical of Catch. I had high expectations though because a lot of people told me great things. The ambiance was excellent with great music and a very chic scene; however, I had to wait 45 minutes to be seated (we had reservations). They ran out of lobster and sea urchin. It took about 30 minutes for us to get our order in and another 15 to get my first drink. The steak we ordered was a bit over cooked. We were provided complimentary apps but overall we were a bit underwhelmed. I know we were probably victims of circumstance given the occasion and time of our reservation at 915 but I expected a bit more. I would probably give it another try but not on a busy night.

Tags: Cozy, Modern Decor, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value2

$8 for a Pelligrino is a little expensiv ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

$8 for a Pelligrino is a little expensive, dont ya think?

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was outstanding. Our hostess/ wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was outstanding. Our hostess/ waitress was friendly and attentive at all time, had great suggestions during dinner. She made sure that our special night went without any hiccup. Will definitely be back again soon......

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Not worth the hype.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Not worth the hype.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

We went to Catch for Valentine's Day din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

We went to Catch for Valentine's Day dinner. They accommodated our reservation promptly. Everything went smoothly, the food was excellent and the ambiance was perfect for a date.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great food every time. The only disappoi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great food every time. The only disappointing aspect was they no longer offer the going bananas desert which was easily the best.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.