Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.03mi
  2. Distance: 0.13mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Catch New York



CATCH features contemporary renditions of classic seafood dishes that are both sophisticated and approachable. Surprising the palette in the bright and clean complexity of each plate, this 2 floor, 275 seat restaurant offers a variety of unique dining experiences to its loyal clientele, boasting an open kitchen and communal dining tables that further compliment the restaurant’s inviting atmosphere.

21 Ninth Avenue
New York, NY 10014
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary American, Sushi

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30PM-12:30AM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday 11:00AM-3:30PM
Lunch: Monday - Friday 11:30AM-3:30PM

Cross Street:
13th Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 392-5978

Website:
http://emmgrp.com/restaurants/catch/

Parking Details:
15th Street Between 9th Avenue & 10th Avenue.

Public Transit:
A,C,E,L at 8th Ave & 14th Street.
Walk West to 13th Street & 9th Avenue.

Executive Chef:
John Beatty

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Outdoor dining, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
For Special Events & Banquets Please Call: 212-392-5978 or emeail canycinfo@emmgrp.com

Private Dining

With a variety of unique private and semi-private event spaces, CATCH can accommodate seated dinner groups ranging in size from 30-300 and cocktail parties for up to 600 guests throughout the bi-level restaurant, with the ability to annex the enclosed rooftop lounge for an additional 150-200 guests.

Catch New York Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.0

ambience

4.3

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Hot Spot (161)
Good for a Date (135)
Fun (127)
See All
Vibrant Bar Scene (125)
Special Occasion (116)
Fit for Foodies (111)
Creative Cuisine (98)
Good for Birthdays (97)
Good for Groups (96)
People Watching (86)
Great for Outdoor Dining (67)
Good for Anniversaries (63)
Handcrafted Cocktails (61)
Romantic (54)
Great for Lunch (49)
Happy Hour (48)
Neighborhood Gem (47)
Casual (46)
Scenic View (45)
Bar Seating (43)
Modern Decor (39)
Tasting Menu (37)
Late-night Find (37)
Great for Brunch (36)
Worth the Drive (35)
Tapas (35)
Good Vegetarian Options (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Business Meals (29)
Authentic (28)
Healthy (28)
Cozy (25)
Comfort Food (24)
Seasonal (18)
Notable Wine List (18)
Spicy (16)
Vegan (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Family Style (11)
Open Kitchen (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Great Beer (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
Local Ingredients (7)
Dancing (6)
Live Music (6)
Organic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Waterfront (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 15 hours ago

Food was good. A bit too noisy for my taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

I ate on the rooftop. I ordered the hellfire roll, rice cakes, crispy shrimp, lobster Mac and cheese, lobster roll, and parmesan truffle fries. I really enjoyed the crispy shrimp, the lobster roll brioche bun was delicious and the fries were amazing. There was nothing special to the hellfire roll and the rice cake. Overall, I would recommend this place and I would definitely come back to try out more food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food. Great vibe. Manager Megan was terrific.

Tags: Good for Groups, People Watching, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Wow, I don't even know where to begin. We came for my boyfriends birthday, and I was given the worst table ever even though I told them it was a special night in my reso and asked for the roof. The server was disorganized, didn't tell us about the specials until I asked, dropped the app without taking the entree order and left me holding menus to where I had to ask someone to please take them away and take our order. Once the entrees were dropped it took about 10mins later for the side to come and I had to ask about that. My boyfriend was embarrassed and angry at me for saying anything. I spoke with the managers after and they were kind and invited us back on them. And I appreciated that. Oh yea, and the server assistants were arguing on the floor in front of he guests and staff was literally running back and fourth from the kitchen which created an environment of chaos and perceived disorganization to the diners. In short, although it has a cool club feel, the staff needs to be taught how to work together and remain calm under pressure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

HORRIBLE! EXPENSIVE! Food was just ok.... The service just ok... drinks not good. It just a place for bloggers to get a free meal and post on their blog to attract people. Don't wast your time and money going to this tourist trap place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Ten year anniversary. The staff was disengaged and not very friendly. Great food and restaurant was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The most wonderful personable staff in New York!!!! The food.... phenomenal!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Spicy, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Food and drinks were awesome. It was extremely loud!

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

This was easily the worst dining experience in my 18 years living in NYC.
I advised my waitress that there was a heated argument between a man and a woman sitting at the table me... the man screaming all kinds of profanity and berating the woman.
Everyone sitting around in other tables was visibly affected by the situation yet dozens of staff swirling around like chicken without their heads did nothing to diffuse the situation.
My waitress said that she would advise management... NOTHING WAS DONE.
Nothing was done even after the man broke a glass drink over the table and woman. Total chaos.
After everything , the waitress said a manager would come speak with me ... that manager never came.
Maybe this type of scenario happens at this establishment often enough that they really don't care about customers' safety and enjoyment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Came with people from out of town...CHINA...

I own and operate a 100 million dollar company and the girls upfront are the rudest people I have met.

They sat us upstairs next to huge party and refused to move or help..

WE LEFT.. OR WERE FORCED TO LEAVE.. CAN YOU IMAGINE...

Terrible experience..

I have eaten there many times prior and this was the way I was treated..

Not right...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Catch used to be one of our favorite NYC hot spots. For our taste it has just become too busy and really, really noisy. Talking during dinner is not longer possible.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

From the greeter downstairs to the bartender, the hostesses and our multiple wait staffers, my women friends and I were treated in a warm and friendly way, even though we definitely did not fit the demographic of this restaurant. The food was delicious and inventive. I'm glad we ordered a bit less than they recommended because it was more than enough. And, although we probably stayed longer than they would have liked, we never felt rushed from the table. Be aware that it is very lively and noisy and you have to speak loudly to be heard by your tablemates.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

Felt very rushed by our waitress. Not very accommodating. Otherwise, good food selection, creativity and presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Always amazing. Get the steak and scallops!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 16, 2017

My wife and I went to Catch last Sunday for dinner, after having gone to another of the restaurants run by the group that runs Catch, the Lexington Brass. As we all know, Sunday was a hot day and a very warm evening. When we got to the restaurant we waited briefly in the bar, were it was comfortably cool. When we were seated, however, on the 9th Avenue side of the room, it was a bit warm. The service, given how many tables our waitress was serving, was admirable, except for her failing to get our initial wine order correct. We primarily ate sushi and sashimi, along with some "cut" rolls, and the wonderful egg plant skewers and the grilled octopus. All the food we ate was quite good. Given the heat of the day, we didn't feel like eating the larger (whole fish) and heavier (can you say meat?) offerings on the menu. Though we are wine people, for some reason I didn't look at the bottle list. The offerings by the glass were fine for what we planned to eat, except for the Sonoma Cutrer Chardonnay. I can't understand why this marginal chardonnay finds it way onto so many better restaurant wine lists. At $16 per glass, I'd rather pay the $19 per glass we paid for The Frank Family Chardonnay we had the night before at Upland. I guess the mark up is better on Sonoma Cutrer. I've already recommended Catch to several of our NYC friends, as well as our Philadelphia friends who are planning to be in the Big Apple this summer. All in all, a very, very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Excellent spot to go for dinner or grab a bite with friends. Drinks and food are always great.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our waiter, Craig, was outstanding - professional, friendly, knowledgeable and courteous. The food was delicious, the portions were plentiful and the value was great. The atmosphere was very nice. The only negative was that we indicated to our waiter that we were in no hurry and wanted to relax and enjoy a leisurely brunch - he passed that along to the kitchen. However, twice before we were even halfway through our appetizers, two people (other than our waiter) were sent to our table with our entrees - which we refused. I told our waiter and he passed the word along again to the kitchen, and then things slowed down. I would definitely go to Catch again - however, I would be very specific about relaxing and enjoying without any rush.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Happy Hour, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Love catch. Never disappoints. Service is always good and food is great. If you like shushi, the hellfire roll is delicious. The crispy rice cakes are amazing. Lobster rolls are always a good choice. And I never go to catch without having the mahi mahi tacos. Would highly recommend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Catch was amazing! Our server, Michael was very knowledgeable and fun. My daughters and I had a wonderful meal!
Thank you.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Tapas, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Great food great service! Highly recommend...will visit again soon

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Rooftop dining was wonderful! We had an early reservation (5:30 pm) and were seated immediately. Great atmosphere, great service, great food.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Hostess was so accommodating wait staff were wonderful. We sat outside and enjoyed the rooftop breeze. The food and drinks (froze) was wesome as well !

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Always a great Sunday Brunch. The Prefix menu is amazing! The service is exceptional. Can't complain!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Groups, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Our server was amazing! The food was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Every time I come to the city, I have to go to Catch! Great ambiance, service, and it's so delicious!

Tags: Tapas, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Beautiful date night at a delicious restaurant. Food was outstanding. Ambiance fantastic for this hip hot spot! Our corner table really let us view the entire room. Drink of the night was the Kali! So Yummy! Catch is serving up some of the Best sushi rolls in the city and the sashimi is to die for!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Absolutely amazing! The service was super fast and friendly and the food was perfection. I was throughly impressed, best seafood in town! The staff made us feel welcome and celebrated the birthday with us! I love this place.

Tags: People Watching, Cozy, Vegan, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was very average, noisy space, friendly waiters

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Even though making a reservation one week earlier, we waited 50 minutes to be seated

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

My reservation was at 8:30 and was not seated until 9:45. Once seated, service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was great! Service from the beginning was less than desirable. We had a 7:45pm reservation to celebrate a 21st birthday and were not seated until after 9pm. We spent close to $600 on food and beverage and not one acknowledgement was made for the birthday we were celebrating or the wait we had. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

One of my worst customer service experiences as a long time open table customer. Very rude service between hostess and staff at the bar

Didn't even have an opportunity to stay for dinner the service was so disappointing

Thanks

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Such a great experience! Went for a lunch date/birthday occasion and the food was superb to split a few different plates. Informed them I was there for a birthday and they were so sweet, sent out a dessert and some champagne. Amazing time and will definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 13, 2017

generous portions of delicious seafood. I got stuck in the elevator with 3 other people, but the manager made it right in our food service and Bill.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Rude staff especially the hostesses. Didn't get seated until 40 minutes after our reservation even though there were open tables.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Restaurant would not seat us until whole party arrived, including our fifth person who we knew would be 10 to 15 minutes late. We went the third floor bar at which had one other guest seated. The bartender offered us cocktail menus that never arrived and we were never asked if we wanted a drink. Our fifth party member arrived at 7:10. Half an hour later we still were not seated and did not have a drink. We chose to leave. At every step of the way we were met with complete indifference by the staff of the restaurant. We ended up a La Sirena and recommend others do the same if they are in that neighborhood.

(I entered food and value ratings only because I could not otherwise leave a review. I did not eat the food or pay a bill, so have no view.)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Booked this for dear friend's wedding lunch which I indicated on the booking. Disappointed at the lack of recognition. What was planned to be a special occasion was marred by the off hand service.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

54 birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 11, 2017

I live in the west village and have always liked this place but I was shocked by how much it's declined. I was embarrassed to have clients there. The service at the bar was horrible and they act like they're doingvyou a favor to getvyou your $20 drink. The front desk was a circus and I was seated more than an hour after my reservation.
The most popular fish dish was sold out, then food took forever..... really shockingly bad.
I will say the steak was great otherwise, they need to restaff and improve the attitude of the whole place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 11, 2017

expensive, but worth it! food was awesome. recommend sharing dishes so you get to try everything. drinks took a while to get... and they brought the wrong "roll" and forgot a dish, but it was good overall. we had brussel sprouts for dessert .... not! get the hit me dessert. so fun! HB Rachel!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.