About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Vegetarian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Tapas Two days

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Specials

Tapas Two days

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details

Tuesday's enjoy Half priced Appetizers and a special Tapas menu including Specialty Cocktails from 5:30-7:30. Wednesday's enjoy Half priced Appetizers and a special Tapas menu including free Wine tasting from 5:30-7:30. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not to be combined with other discounts, gift cards or coupons. Special valid Dec 27, 2016 - Apr 27, 2017 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM.

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Local Ingredients (26)
Creative Cuisine (26)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (18)
Good for a Date (17)
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (12)
Romantic (11)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Authentic (10)
Casual (9)
Tasting Menu (6)
Notable Wine List (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Healthy (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Tapas (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Vegan (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
947 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

First time to catch and will definitely be back. Try the firecracker shrimp app!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The food, as always, was outstanding! Such wonderful blends of seasonings, such fragrant smells. Get the lobster, it's to die for. The salads! The fried oyster appetizer!! Food this good is otherworldly, but it's right here in wilmington! Yay!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Catch is refreshing especially as a NYer now living in NC :) Food was delish.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and nice atmosphere. Loved the local seafood and produce incorporated into a delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were vacationing in Carolina beach and I wanted an upscale dining experience with good seafood for my family. Ended up being overpriced for the offerings. A sirloin steak and French fries was $27. My tempura lobster tail was more tempura than lobster and the crab risotto seemed like just ride. The servers, while nice, were all under dressed in jeans. For our one nice meal out I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. That service was also great! Thank you for a wonderful date night!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very disappointed. The food was lackluster and proteins overcooked. One portion of protein was the smallest I have ever seen served by a factor of 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious. One of the best seafood restaurants I have gone to. Rivals the best restaurants in the state.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Catch is one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. The service and food are consistently excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I have wanted to try Catch for ages, and finally made it there this week. It was wonderful. From the bread with herbed oil to the entree and dessert, the food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The service was excellent as well. My husband I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food. Worth the high price tag. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in Wilmington! Loved the innovative dishes. Excellent drinks and dessert as well as main course. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great plac e food was excellent as was the service we have been a few times and will continue to return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Don't judge this place by its location (in a strip of stores on north market st). The atmosphere is inviting, relaxing and friendly, and the seafood is creative and outstanding. As good as anything I've eaten in Charleston

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fabulous food from a truly gifted chef and a "winner" Top Chef, or not.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time there, very pleased!!! server very friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful !!! Atmosphere is nice, and inside is bigger than it appears from the street. The price $$$ point is well worth it and we will go back for sure // * ( 5 star all the way ) !!!!!! and chef Keith is the bomb !!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 4, 2017

CATCH...AN UBER ELSEWHERE! I don't know what was happening in the Catch kitchen last night, but our food was really lackluster. Burnt scallops. Frisée represented as micro greens. Soft shell Crab so over-battered it could have been KFC. She-Crab soup so gritty it was off-putting. Only good dishes were small plates and apps. Ugh! Staff also seemed to want to rush us. Waitperson actually tried to convince a seasoned food blogger (myself) that the scallops weren't burnt--just blackened. Lesson learned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food, as always, was extraordinary! That's why Catch will always be my Wilmington New Years (and any other time I'm in town) spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding we are sorry it took us so long to dine here

Can't wait to go back

We have eaten conch fritters all over Bahamas ,Fla Keys,these were the best

Our entres were some of the best meals we have ever had

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food, wine and desert was outstanding! We had read about the restaurant and the Chef and it exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend Catch!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I am embarrassed that we have lived so long in Wilmington and this was our first visit to Catch, especially since we have heard only good things about the restaurant. Everything we had was nicely presented and had an excellent blend of tasty flavors. Items were nicely seasoned but not overbearing. The seafood is fresh and paired with an interesting, and very delicious, accompaniment of starch and vegetables (e.g., salmon with "drunk noodles, calamari with red hummus and guacamole).

We will be back, regularly!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The bar tender should learn to be less abrasive and learn to read his customer better. The wait staff was great and good excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Review posted on Tripadvisor that describes our wonderful meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Very nice meal Xmas eve. Great 'Drunken Lobster' entree. My dinner partner had an undercooked steak, ordered MW but deliver MR. it was promptly fixed with a smile. Terrific service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The restaurant was fine, even though, it did not have much ambience. Felt a little cheap with the location and decor. Food was good, but, too heavy with potatoes and a lobster cream sauce. Nice Hostess, nice waitress, good service, but, just average food and atmosphere.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 20, 2016

My finance and I had an early dinner on Tuesday, December 20 at 530 PM.

The restaurant was empty and the hostess seated by a door with air seeping in. I asked to be moved and they did so.

While the food appeared enticing the mussels underneath the greasy diver scallops were cold and disappointing. The grouper was tasty, but the cut skimpy. The sweet potato puree was lukewarm, but tasty.

The restaurant experience could have been better, but at this price point it was a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food! Even better service! Great environment and great people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

It was our first visit to Catch. We had a great time. It was a little noisy since there was a company holiday party on one side of the restaurant. Other then that, we had a really nice experience. I even received a birthday card with a gift; very generous and considerate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

We had a great evening had a coupon to use before the end of the year. Sorry we haven't been before this visit.

Tags: Modern Decor, Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 16, 2016

As I have stated before, Catch is the best seafood restaurant in Wilmington, NC. Keith Rhodes is an award winning chef that has the touch to create wonderful meals from what is available to him with a grand flair for the unusual. Taste and freshness mark the meals, appetizers and deserts prepared by Keith and his staff. I had oysters on the half shell that were baked with cheese, spinach and s sauce to die for. All in all the meal of grouper and fresh vegetables was fit for a King.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My favorite restaurant that never disappoints. I try something different every chance I get. Fantastic service, food and atmosphere.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 10, 2016

The food was delicious. We dined with friends at Catch and we able to have a excellent dinner with conversation. The wait staff was attentive.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 8, 2016

As usual, Chef Rhodes did not disappoint. The crabcakes are the best in Wilmington! Great dining experience: attentive and knowledgeable server, delicious food and specialty drinks makes for a very enjoyable and unique dinig experience!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Enjoyed the staff, food and special attention given to the birthday girl.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Absolutely delicious food, nothing I could ever cook myself! (Hate to pay for a steak or chicken or anything that I can cook just as well) The Cajun oysters were melt in your mouth delicious, my scallops/mussels were even better and my husband's fried seafood platter was the best fried seafood I've ever tasted. In addition to the taste the portions were generous, we both took home and later devoured the leftovers. Excellent, friendly, attentive (but not overly so) service. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our food was amazing. Keith is such an amazing chef. Reservation recommended they get full quickly. I have never had a bad meal here everything is amazing. Plan to spend $20-30 per plate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Such good food. Chef Rhodes is definitely one of the best in NC. Not to be missed. The shrimp and grits is my favorite, but frankly, everything is good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on November 29, 2016

The Caesar salad was very disappointing, small underdressed didn't come out anywhere near the same time as the soup.

Sweet potato ice cream was very tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have traveled to eat at restaurants of the different cooking show contestants and I will have to honestly say for the price of the food and the quality of service this was the worst. I can understand paying the price for a good portion of tasty food but honestly my spouse got the $36 special grouper plate, which included some garnishings and ONE piece of fish and my mother got the $29 seafood sampler which included several pieces of shrimp, oysters and two pieces of grouper bigger than my spouses. I had the special tuna plate which I could have lived the rest of my life without ever tasting again. The waitress was very slow and not even the slightest friendly. We asked for a second serving of bread and still 20 mins later no bread which could be under stable if they were packed but our table of 3 was the only table in the entire restaurant. $122 for three people to eat dinner with very small inconsistent servings and bad service was right diculous. Never will I return the or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went to Catch for our anniversary. The service was wonderful. Our waitress was very helpful in describing dishes. We were delighted with all our choices and will definitely return in the near future. Also love that we could make our reservation on line through Open Table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We sat at the bar and had a wonderful meal. The bartender was great and the owner was very sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Unique mix of new seafood choices and Catch's versions of old favorites like shrimp and grits. Delicious and enjoyable experience. The ambiance doesn't quite measure up to the dining experience but well worth the trip to its odd location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our reservation was 5:30. We got our food at 7:15. No children's menu. Our waiter was unaware that noodles and rice noodles do not taste the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We've been to catch several times always good food and service. Last night the resturant was not busy, yet it took almost two hrs to get our dinner. Asked to talk to a manager but he never came. Really disappointed. Don't plan to go back again. Time to find another favorite seafood resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was fortunate to know Keith Rhodes father, Royce, when I lived in Wilmington. I have looked forward to dining here since reading of Keith's story and success with this restaurant and with Port City Seafood Co. Catch was every bit as good as I expected and our guests loved it too. Alan M

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Amazing food and service. The staff was warm and knowledgeable about the menu items. Chef came out for a picture as I was celebrating my birthday. I posted on facebook and tagged him in the photo posting!! I will definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

She crab soup with crab roe and caviar....best ever! Started with the firecracker shrimp, then on to the Amazing crab cakes. My boyfriend enjoyed his rib-eye that was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great meal and service, will go again when I'm in Wilmington

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was incredible but took forever. 1.5 hrs to be served from time of ordering. I little outrageous in my opinion. My husband ordered a beer which kicked the keg so only filled the glass half way...they only discounted the beer :( still had to pay $3.50 for the bottom of the keg??? Never compensated us for the long wait but comped the wine of another table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Overpriced for the quality level of food and service. I ordered the catch of the day and it was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.