About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Vegetarian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.5

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (38)
See All
Local Ingredients (32)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Authentic (21)
Casual (18)
Business Meals (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Cozy (12)
Seasonal (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Romantic (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Fun (7)
Organic (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (3)
Vegan (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
People Watching (1)
Spicy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1078 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

The stars aligned and we were finally able to give "Catch" a try..... Not disappointed in the least and anticipate many more evenings.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined 4 days ago

Best seafood in Wilmington! Great service, menu and wine list. My favorite is the scallops and mussels -- done just right, tender and excellent sauces.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 5 days ago

Catch continues to impress. The staff is friendly and responsive. The menu showcases the kitchen's knowledge and creativity with seafood and local produce. We had local littlenecks, conch fritters, soft shells with a Texas Pete alioli over okra, and red drum that was perfectly cooked. We left with the warm feeling of having eaten very well and having been taken care of by a dedicated team. We hit the Catch food truck much more often, but we were reminded of just how good the restaurant is.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

First, let me say that the staff are all exceptional. Better yet are the creative and absolutely delicious dishes from chef Keith Rhodes! If you are visiting the Wilmington NC area, this is a must visit dining experience. All dishes are prepared to order, individually. Enjoy! We did again and again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2017

This place is a little difficult to find if you don't know the area. The decor is low key and in keeping with the beach atmosphere. The food is amazing and is more like what I would expect from a more fancy / opulent restaurant. This was truly some of the best seafood I've ever eaten. The wait staff was very friendly and attentive. The music was quiet, thereby allowing us to have a normal conversation without trying to compete with other diners. The wines offered are more than reasonably priced. If I lived in Wilmington, this would be one of my weekly go to places for fabulous seafood. I'm hoping to see them again very soon. Thanks for a wonderful evening. Truly five star service and food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

A bit above our usual budget, but always a great dining experience. Chef Keith is a culinary genius!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 18, 2017

My wife and I had dinner on our anniversary recently. The service was great and the food exceptional! Catch has moved back into the leading spot for favorite local restaurants!!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I recently moved to Wilmington on August 23rd and have already been twice for dinner and was thoroughly impressed both times. Will definitely be back soon. They got a great thing going at Catch.

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Food and service are excellent. Love the leisurely pace. Some complain about wait time for food, but if I am out for a nice gourmet dinner, I hate to feel rushed. I like time to sip wine, talk, and digest a little before moving to the next course.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 11, 2017

I took my wife here for her birthday. We had a wonderful meal, service was excellent.The chef even came out to talk to my wife, she wanted to know about the shrimp appetizer we ordered. Best dinner out in Wilmington since we moved here two years ago. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Peking duck was awesome!!! Blackened swordfish --- none better since K-Paul's in NOLA. They gave US a gift certificate for our next visit cuz it was our anniversary!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

I had seen this chef being interviewed on a local news show and decided to give The Catch a try. Excellent. I liked the pace of the service, a bit on the slower, take your time, side. I hate being rushed. I had the dirty south oysters on the 1/2 shell. Very good. But the lobster tempura was my main dish, simply amazing. In fact that lobster was probably the best entree I've eaten in a very long time. Priced at $38.00 it was worth every yummy bite.

My date had the grouper which he said was very good. He didn't like the side vegetables but then he's not much for vegetables. Very nice wine list. My date had a cold so we didn't stay for dessert but the ones we saw looked delicious. This is my new favorite in the Wilmington area.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Entree was well presented but over-spiced. Dessert, a coconut cake, was dry and not very flavorful (by comparison, Pepperidge Farm in the grocery section is much better). My bill for an entree, two glasses of house wine and dessert, was almost $63 without a tip. That was just for me! My dining companion and I looked at each other when we got our bills and agreed that this was a disappointing dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 6, 2017

Cuisine is outstanding; competitive with ANY seafood restaurant in USA!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Food is great but takes forever. Poor location in strip center from town.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 5, 2017

The food was wonderful as always. While the waiter was terrific, the food took forever to come out. Not just for us, but for all diners, even though the restaurant was not full. Really, really not great to have to wait so long. Ruins an otherwise really nice experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 30, 2017

Another trip to Catch Modern Seafood Cuisine on Market Street in Wilmington, NC was worth the effort. We enjoyed nice drinks to start and I had a half dozen raw oysters on the half shell that were larger select and delicious. For dinner I enjoyed a nice house salad, while my wife had a shrimp and grits bowl to die for. We once again enjoyed our meal and visit.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Organic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Vegan, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 22, 2017

One of our best meals on our Wilmington adventure, excellent service ... overall a 10

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Bar Seating, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 20, 2017

As always, food was terrific and fish was fresh with great flavors and prepared perfectly.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Amazing soft shell crab special, reliable swordfish from the main menu. The chef was able to improvise to accommodate a dietary requirement (diabetics shouldn't eat sweet potatoes) with ease.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 19, 2017

I love their lobster but Catch is one of the best places to bring my vegan friends! All good!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We always love the sweet potato salad and the lobster dishes. Many other selections are good too, e.g. calamari, brussel sprouts, oysters. The coconut cake is great for dessert. It's easy to find plenty of good choices at Catch.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Good this time as compared to 5* our last visit. The restaurant staff was quite welcoming and the Service was pleasant but a bit lethargic; maybe it was the training in progress? One lobster tail was a bit too spicy while the other was perhaps "breaded" versus the anticipated "tempura" named on the menu. Salads and deserts were quite tasty and fresh. $40 for a screw top bottle of wine didn't sit well at all. Birthday gift certificate was a nice touch. Marie saved the evening for our service team. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My family had an amazing time at Catch. We loved the food and ordered a lot of their specials. The restauant looks deceiving from the outside but don't hesitate to try it. The specials and all menu items were just spectacular and innovative. We loved their medly of flavours. Only complaint is service was a little slow but it is a small restaurant. I will be back again when I return to Wilmington.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Awesome menu and specials...enjoyed every bite! happened to have a crying baby nearby. Staff moved us, however the intimate setting made it a little dicey until the tike had some of the great grub.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The food is always superb and the wait staff is polite, efficient and effective but it takes up to an hour for the food to arrive at the table. So allow plenty of time for this dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The Catch is great for any meal or occasion. You never have a bad meal or even just an ordinary meal - always special

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Food was excellent, especially the tempura lobster and the dirty oysters! Service was perfect. It could not have been a better evening.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Great dinning experience. From the greeting to the seating and the cocktails to dessert this place is the best.

Don't miss it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Fresh and delicious seafood, as always. Creative cocktails, nice wine list, excellent service. Wilmington's best!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 2, 2017

The food is wonderful and creative . I had the grouper which was fresh and well balanced with it accompaniments.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Some of the best seafood on the planet. We love Catch and make a point of eating here every time we are in the area. Don't miss out on the deserts - the coconut cake is stunning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We are at the beach for the week and we're looking for a nice place for dinner. Catch showed as recommended so we thought we would try it. It is in a small set of shops a good ways outside of downtown Wilmington. My wife ordered the grouper and I had the fried seafood platter. They informed me after I ordered that the flounder in the platter was not available and it would have catfish. To me this is a big step down. I asked if they could substitute grouper instead. The waitress said they could for an upcharge. I was surprised to see the upcharge was $10. My wife's grouper was good, though the sweet potato puree was bland. In general I thought the food was average but the price was high. Not a good value in my mind.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 30, 2017

My husband and our two friends had the best meal!! Honestly probably the best meal I can say we've had since we moved here a little over a year ago. We ordered the calamari and the firecracker shrimp. Then my hubby and I split the sweet potato salad and our friends split the collard green salad special. Our was really tasty and well paired! Theirs was also delicious. For main dishes I had the grouper, my hubby had the tuna special and our friends ordered the fried seafood platter and the cast iron mahi. For desert I ordered the chocolate Bundt cake, which was divine!!!! Can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Not a cheap evening, but the food was excellent. Majority of entrees are seafood based, but everything was very fresh and seemed locally grown or raised. NC grouper was fantastic and we shared a grilled octopus and warm potato salad appetizer that was one of the best things I've eaten in years. Decent wine selection, would definitely go back

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 27, 2017

Amazing food, service was great, a bit pricey but overall worth it! Will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

In celebration of our 32nd anniversary we chose The Catch for dinner. We have enjoyed this restaurant in the past and are usually very impressed with Chef Rhodes! I had the lobster and my husband had the yellow fin tuna. We were very disappointed in our meals. I was hoping the waitress would have asked how everything was, because I couldn't enjoy the lobster, as the whiskey sauce was so sweet it changed the flavor of the lobster, instead of complimenting it. The tuna was not seared, but gray and unappetizing. Our plates reflected out disappointment, as most of the food remained on the plate as we paid our tab and left.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The fried oysters as an appetizer was pretty good. I ate the scallop special as an entre. The mussels, sweet potatoes, and curry broth were great, but the scallops were very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Another wonderful meal at Catch. Truly a gourmet's delight. Always fresh and. Restive seasonal selections. Saturday night we enjoyed calamari, oysters, tempura lobster, soft shell crab, grouper and salmon. Each dish prepared to perfection. And, we had the best server ever. Marie, thank you for taking such good care of us!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Noise level was rather high. Grouper "special" was good but very expensive at $35. Excellent pesto dipping oil! Consider offering espresso and/or cappuccino, not just plain coffee. Server tried to charge us for an extra $14 glass of wine -- poor form.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.