About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Vegetarian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (42)
Creative Cuisine (39)
Local Ingredients (28)
See All
Fit for Foodies (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Good for a Date (25)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Casual (19)
Business Meals (16)
Authentic (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Romantic (10)
Cozy (10)
Healthy (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Seasonal (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Organic (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1037 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding appetizers. Very fresh, very seasonable and perfectly cooked. The oysters and calamari were especially good. Everyone in our party reviewed the online menu and preselected our entrées -- until we got to the restaurant and heard the specials. The soft shell crabs were among the best I have eaten as were the crab cakes. Terrific menu, all well prepared. The service was excellent and very professional. Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was very good but very expensive. I think I paid $38 for the smallest piece of fish I've ever had in a restaurant entree. Sweet potato and spinach salad is always delicious, but again, pretty pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding, per usual. Never disappointed. Server was knowledgeable and fun.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The best fried calamari!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Extraordinary food and service. We appreciated how all of the servers worked together to ensure that our needs were met.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 11, 2017

My disappointment came when I wanted to substitute a diff. veg. for Collards. they had only two choices and I would have to pay extra in addition to my $27. meal price to get a substitution. I took the meal without the collards and since they wanted to put a cost on vegetables, I suggest they adjust the price of the meal which they didn't do. I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Simply amazing food, fresh, fresh, fresh! Everything was perfectly seasoned. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Catch was noted in an article of 10 Best NC Restaurants You've Never Heard Of (or something like that), so we had to try it on a recent visit to Wilmington (we live in Raleigh). Very pleasantly surprised. It doesn't look like much from the outside but the food was FANTASTIC - flavorful, creative, pretty, fresh.... even the vegetarian dish I had was excellent. But the lobster special and the grouper were the stars of the show. The service was stellar too. Don't waste your money on tourist seafood places. Go to Catch. You'll be glad you did.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was fabulous! We ordered the calamari which was fresh and delicious. For dinner we had the tempura lobster tail (out of this world) and the swordfish which was fantastic! We had the chocolate lava cake another good choice. Service was excellent!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington. There is no better place to eat seafood this good in this state. They'll even fry it if you want them to! Creative, local, super fresh. Service much faster than usual this time. Slow or fast, it's just the best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Fun, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The food was great and the staff superb. Our waitress went above and beyond

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at Catch! We started with the crunchy calamari and kale. From now on, I only want to eat kale if it is tempura kale with guacamole and spicy sauce. A super food for sure! Our entrees were equally as delicious and memorable. I enjoyed the salmon with udon noodles. My husband hesitated to order ribs at a seafood restaurant, but the risk payed off. The ribs and shrimp with collards and sweet potatoes (with a brûlée topping) were outstanding. Executive chef, Keith Rhodes, has thought of every detail from micro greens to a chill atmosphere. We will definitely come back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

My second time to Catch and it did NOT disappoint. The food and specialty drinks were fantastic again and the staff and owner and his wife could not be more gracious and lovely. A definite place to have a great meal when you are in Wilmington, NC. I will be back for sure.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

The oysters were really tasty. Great selection of the oysters.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We had a fantastic meal. My wife had the Angry Lobster and it was fabulous. I couldn't decide between a couple of options and told Jessica (our waitress) to just bring me what she thought I would like and she didn't disappoint. I had the fresh grouper over the sweet potato purée and it was out of this world. Don't miss out on the dirty south oysters also. A great experience. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on June 30, 2017

A very nice blend of traditional and modern seafood dining experience. All dishes well prepared and presented. A nice find while visiting overnight in Wilmington, NC

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Great waitstaff and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Once again Catch hits the spot with a evening of fine food and good friends. I had the 1/2 dozen oysters on the half shell to start and followed up with nice Maine Lobster on a rice bed. My wife had the crab cake dinner and was delighted with it. Our friends had a fish dish and another crab cake with all the fixings and enjoyed every bite. Chef Rodes is a wonder in the kitchen. We will return very soon.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Organic, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Vegan, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good Vegetarian Options, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 24, 2017

A very pleasant experience. We found the food well prepared, ample and very good.

Our service was excellent and our server went well above and beyond to satisfy our needs.

We will definitely be back whether we have a special occasion or not.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Catch service is terrific! A sweet potato spinach salad was recommended- it was delicious with goat cheese and blue berries....I never would have thought of the combination. We also had the soft shell special on creamed corn base....very yummy! We finished the night off with the key lime tart - so tasty!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 21, 2017

This was our second trip there. Both visits were excellent. We had the Calamari app which included guacamole and sweet chili sauce and cooked to perfection. The fried seafood platter was excellent also.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 20, 2017

Outstanding , we drove from Raleigh on a business meeting @ 2pm with the intention of eating at Catch scheduled for 6pm We will be back next month to try other specials on the Chefs menu

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Comfort Food, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Fabulous as always service food presentation

Always the best

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Excellent food - crab cakes lacked filler and were served on a base of succotash featuring an unexpected but tasty combination of ingredients. Bread, appetizers, and salad were all excellent. Server was unobtrusive but attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Wonderful fresh ingredients and fabulous service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We always try to time a visit to Catch during soft shell crab season. Keith Rhodes buttermilk crusted soft shell crabs are the best we've ever had! As always they were delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 14, 2017

My husband and I went to Catch for a special dinner. Honestly, we were a little disappointed. We wanted the mussels, the server never mentioned that they were out of mussels....until we tried to order them. Instead, we ordered the little neck clams. They were sandy and the broth wasn't very good. For our main course, I had a spinach salad and added shrimp to it. It was good, but in no way worth the $24 they charged. My husband had the salmon with noodles....he said the salmon was tasty, but the noodles were overkill. It should have been served with rice. All in all, it was a good meal, but not a great meal. And the service was only o.k. For a $100 meal, I'd expect to be more impressed. Oh - and I had been to Catch a couple of years ago on a girls weekend....and I enjoyed it a whole lot more back then.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Don't judge Catch by its outside appearance or unassuming location - this small restaurant is a gem. Jessica, our server, was friendly, helpful, and attentive. We weren't hungry enough for appetizers, which was a shame, because the oysters and other appetizers were very tempting! The (truly) dinner-sized Caesar salad was one of the best I've had. We ordered two specials, an Asian-inspired lobster dish and scallops & clams in curry sauce - both incredibly good. Noise level is high but the nice wine list, good service and terrific food makes this a great place to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I love this place. I make it a point to go every time I'm in Wilmington. The food is amazing and the service is awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Service was great but being a local, I found the prices to be too high. You have to purchase the meal then add side dishes a la carte. I would only recommend for a first date or for tourists who don't know any better.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Hosting & service were excellent. We had the raw oysters for an appetizer, fried lobster special and vegetable plate and all were outstanding!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Outstanding seafood. I would characterize the atmosphere as relaxed, but not necessarily casual. The staff was exceptional in terms of being pleasant, attentive and helpful (in menu selection). We had the oyster appetizer (sort of southern twist on Oysters Rockefeller) which splits nicely into three each. My wife had the fried seafood platter which was excellent. The breading was light (not too crunchy, which is the way that we prefer it). It had the best tasting flounder that we had in a long time. The shrimp and oysters were outstanding. I had the swordfish, which was cooked perfectly, firm but not overcooked. I also have to give the grits that it was served on a major compliment and I even stomached a few leaves of collards (which I do not like). We had enough left over for another (lunch) meal. Price wasn't cheap ... but a special occasion or a true get-a-away for some fine seafood, it was well worth it. We will be going back again on our next trip to Wilmington.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Fabulous food, as always!!! The chef is exceptionally creative. The grilled swordfish was amazing - cooked perfectly!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Food is unique and great take on different seafood dishes. It is a small location so can be loud.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 5, 2017

We were a party of four and were all very disappointed with our meals. We ordered a variety of apps and main courses: calamari, oysters, scallops, crabs, and fish. None of the flavors came together in a satisfying way. We had heard such great things about this restaurant and were all so shocked that nothing was good except the bread and the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

For the prices tablecloths as shown in the photo would have made a big difference. Service was very confusing. About three waitstaff in we finally had someone stick with us and she was very good, Marie. When we arrived we stood at the host stand for quite a while before anyone acknowledged we were there - even to tell us to wait just a moment. Nothing and there were two people there working. We were ready to leave. When we were seated it was ages before anyone acknowledged we were there as well and that's with many employees going by. That's when we really should have left. Also, to print on the menu asking diners to be patient because of staffing was a bit much. First time we've ever seen that! There was absolutely no ambience.
One of us had the Cajun oysters which were outstanding followed by the soft crab special which was also outstanding. The crabcakes were hardly jumbo lump in any way, shape or form and that's after being told they were jumbo lump. They were just okay but the presentation was nice and the rest of it quite good.
Just felt ripped off! But want to say we wish this inventive chef all the best! Just needs to tweak the rest.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Outstanding service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Deliciously creative menu by Chef Keith Rhodes, with soft shells as the star.
The fabulous Jennifer as our server always makes the evening special.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Food is always awesome. Keith and Angela Rhodes do a great job with local ingredients and fresh fish.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 31, 2017

This was our first visit to Catch, a restaurant that welcomed us as if we were honored guests. Exemplary service, attention to detail, special touches to honor our anniversary and dishes that were beautifully presented, locally sourced and incredibly delicious, made this place an instant favorite. Chef Rhodes and his family are treasures for the Wilmington community and they understand how important it is to offer local ingredients. We dined on oysters, clams, shrimp, soft shell crab and skate, not to mention an abundance of fruits and vegetables, all locally sourced and prepared to showcase each component. The fried oysters were exceptional and the flavor reminded me of ones shared with my grandmother, many years ago, a pleasant, comforting memory induced by perfectly prepared food. Although we were completely satisfied with the meal, we could not resist a lingering moment at the beautiful bar and enjoyed conversing with others who were enjoying meals there.
We look forward to a return visit to Catch and highly recommend this special place for anyone who loves delicious food.

Tags: Happy Hour, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Organic, Paleo Friendly, Special Occasion, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Vegan, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.