About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef Season 9" contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes explores the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce & Herbs.Provide the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef 2008-201.3 Dubbed “Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood & Steaks,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our Mouth watering “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, Crispy Cajun Fried NC Oysters & Blue Crab Claw Scampi, Seafood Ceviche& Conch Fritters to name a few. Larger Plates include Plancha grilled Painted Hills Steaks, Blackend Red Drum Filet, Charleston Crab Cakes, Tempura OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Queen Trigger fish. Full ABC Permits.Wines by the Glass & Mixed Drinks

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Lava Bundt Cake - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Lobster - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Jumbo lump crab cake, brunoise root vegetables, sweet corn shellfish velouté - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Tuna Tartare With Peach Seaweed Salad And Shrimp Puff Cracker - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Blueberry Quail - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Diver Scallops With Mussels Over Coconut Curry Rice - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Stone Crab Scampi Claws - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Scallop Ceviche - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Crispy Fried Conch - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Cajun Fried Nc Oysters - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Pan Roasted "Oriental, NC" Backfin & Lump Crab Cakes - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Scallops And Grits - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Atomic Beef - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Sneads Ferry Little Neck Clams - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Salmon - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Ribs - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Banana And Sweet Potato Ice Cream - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Grilled Trout With Sweet Potato Salad - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Scallops with Kushuro with leche de tigre - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Softshell Crabs - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Blackened Mahi - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Fried Shrimp with Cheese Grits - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Lamb Shank - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Blackened Catfish Tacos - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Crabcakes - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Heritage Farms "Cancun" Pork - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Sweet Potato Salad - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Tempura Fried Lobster Tail - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC
Striped Bass - Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine, Wilmington, NC

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Fit for Foodies (23)
Local Ingredients (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
See All
Good for a Date (18)
Special Occasion (16)
Worth the Drive (10)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Casual (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Romantic (6)
Authentic (5)
Healthy (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fun (2)
Family Style (1)
Spicy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Cozy (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
886 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Absolutely delicious food, nothing I cou ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely delicious food, nothing I could ever cook myself! (Hate to pay for a steak or chicken or anything that I can cook just as well) The Cajun oysters were melt in your mouth delicious, my scallops/mussels were even better and my husband's fried seafood platter was the best fried seafood I've ever tasted. In addition to the taste the portions were generous, we both took home and later devoured the leftovers. Excellent, friendly, attentive (but not overly so) service. We'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Healthy, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our food was amazing. Keith is such an a ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

Our food was amazing. Keith is such an amazing chef. Reservation recommended they get full quickly. I have never had a bad meal here everything is amazing. Plan to spend $20-30 per plate.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Such good food. Chef Rhodes is definite ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

Such good food. Chef Rhodes is definitely one of the best in NC. Not to be missed. The shrimp and grits is my favorite, but frankly, everything is good.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have traveled to eat at restaurants o ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We have traveled to eat at restaurants of the different cooking show contestants and I will have to honestly say for the price of the food and the quality of service this was the worst. I can understand paying the price for a good portion of tasty food but honestly my spouse got the $36 special grouper plate, which included some garnishings and ONE piece of fish and my mother got the $29 seafood sampler which included several pieces of shrimp, oysters and two pieces of grouper bigger than my spouses. I had the special tuna plate which I could have lived the rest of my life without ever tasting again. The waitress was very slow and not even the slightest friendly. We asked for a second serving of bread and still 20 mins later no bread which could be under stable if they were packed but our table of 3 was the only table in the entire restaurant. $122 for three people to eat dinner with very small inconsistent servings and bad service was right diculous. Never will I return the or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Went to Catch for our anniversary. The s ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Went to Catch for our anniversary. The service was wonderful. Our waitress was very helpful in describing dishes. We were delighted with all our choices and will definitely return in the near future. Also love that we could make our reservation on line through Open Table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat at the bar and had a wonderful me ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We sat at the bar and had a wonderful meal. The bartender was great and the owner was very sweet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Unique mix of new seafood choices and Ca ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Unique mix of new seafood choices and Catch's versions of old favorites like shrimp and grits. Delicious and enjoyable experience. The ambiance doesn't quite measure up to the dining experience but well worth the trip to its odd location

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Our reservation was 5:30. We got our fo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our reservation was 5:30. We got our food at 7:15. No children's menu. Our waiter was unaware that noodles and rice noodles do not taste the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We've been to catch several times always ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We've been to catch several times always good food and service. Last night the resturant was not busy, yet it took almost two hrs to get our dinner. Asked to talk to a manager but he never came. Really disappointed. Don't plan to go back again. Time to find another favorite seafood resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

I was fortunate to know Keith Rhodes fat ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on November 19, 2016

I was fortunate to know Keith Rhodes father, Royce, when I lived in Wilmington. I have looked forward to dining here since reading of Keith's story and success with this restaurant and with Port City Seafood Co. Catch was every bit as good as I expected and our guests loved it too. Alan M

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and service. The staff was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Amazing food and service. The staff was warm and knowledgeable about the menu items. Chef came out for a picture as I was celebrating my birthday. I posted on facebook and tagged him in the photo posting!! I will definitely return and recommend to friends and family.

Tags: Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

She crab soup with crab roe and caviar.. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 12, 2016

She crab soup with crab roe and caviar....best ever! Started with the firecracker shrimp, then on to the Amazing crab cakes. My boyfriend enjoyed his rib-eye that was cooked perfectly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal and service, will go again wh ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Great meal and service, will go again when I'm in Wilmington

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was incredible but took forever. 1. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was incredible but took forever. 1.5 hrs to be served from time of ordering. I little outrageous in my opinion. My husband ordered a beer which kicked the keg so only filled the glass half way...they only discounted the beer :( still had to pay $3.50 for the bottom of the keg??? Never compensated us for the long wait but comped the wine of another table.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overpriced for the quality level of food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Overpriced for the quality level of food and service. I ordered the catch of the day and it was over cooked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

We are never disappointed with Catch! Th ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We are never disappointed with Catch! The menu is a bit pricey, but the second you taste the quality of your meal, you understand why. The hostess even surprised my mother-in-law with a birthday cake and candle after reading that it was her birthday in my reservation notes.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The exotic choices are amazing, but it w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

The exotic choices are amazing, but it would be nice to see some simpler dishes as well.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

The Catch is one of our all time favorit ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The Catch is one of our all time favorite restaurants. My wife is a crab cake connoisseur. She says the crab cakes are the best she has ever had. Our meals at The Catch have always been a wonderful experience. The staff and service are excellent.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Unbelievable flavors...from the pesto di ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Unbelievable flavors...from the pesto dip with bread to the swordfish & everything in between! Great service & a talented chef! I wish I lived here just to eat there again & again!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great find via Open Table! Excellent foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great find via Open Table! Excellent food and service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Do not let the outside fool you, when yo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Do not let the outside fool you, when you walk inside it is a lovely bar area with the herbs growing along the wall. We had a lovely evening with good food and helpful staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I was really anticipating our visit to C ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 14, 2016

I was really anticipating our visit to Catch, but found it a little underwhelming. The food was great, but I won't be in a big hurry to go back. We were about 10 minutes early for our reservation and we weren't able to get a drink at the bar in the 10 minutes we waited for our table although there were only two other people at the bar.

We were seated at a table where my wife was almost sitting in front of an exit, but there were two other 'two-top' tables available. The hostess failed to bring menus while seating us, so the waitress returned to fetch them after she greeted us. The regular menu only has about five seafood dishes, but luckily there were three or four seafood specials.

We ordered a couple of cocktails that were not as good as I had hoped, especially for $12 and $13 each. Our drinks, bread, and food were all slower to get to our table than to a larger group of regulars that were seated next to us, but the bread was refilled without the need to ask and all of the food was delicious! The only other issue that I had was with the price. Dinner and drinks with an appetizer was $115.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was delicious ! Service was quite s ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Food was delicious ! Service was quite slow to get our main entree hecause a large party. However we were there 45 minutes prior to their arrival but were served after the large party. Would definitely go back as good was delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and staff. We enjoyed th ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Excellent food and staff. We enjoyed the lobster and crab cakes-they were excellent. The crab cakes were served with a delicious sauce, corn, and ocra. The presentation of the food is beautiful, and the taste is beyond delicious.

The waitresses obviously enjoy working together; their service was very pleasant and professional. Highly recommend.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As good as we had heard . Really enjoyed ...

 
 (Naples)·Dined on October 5, 2016

As good as we had heard . Really enjoyed the experience. Thought it would be more crowded...perhaps being mid week in October and not prime. Certainly added to a great night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This restaurant was a bit difficult to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This restaurant was a bit difficult to spot from the road because its exterior blends in with the stores it shares the strip mall with. My husband didn't think that the food would be good. But what a surprise when we walked in. The decor was modern and soothing. We went for our anniversary. We shared the mussels and little neck clam appetizers with the roasted sweet potato spinach salad. They were delicious with interesting flavors. Because they knew it was our anniversary, they sent out a special dessert. We also ordered their key lime pie. All delicately flavorful with beautiful presentation. Service was excellent. It was nice to have seafood that wasn't fried nor steamed. We are definitely going back.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fresh seafood and excellent servic ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Great fresh seafood and excellent service. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always just great service, great food ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 24, 2016

As always just great service, great food with friends! Don't be in a rush, excellence doesn't happen instantaneously!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food great delivery of food and drink to ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Food great delivery of food and drink too entirely too long. From arrival to leaving 21/2,hrs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

This was our first time at Catch. We ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our first time at Catch. We had read several reviews about slow service, however our service was extremely good and very professional. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the items on the menu and had very good suggestions. We will definitely go back more often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Most disappointing evening. The restaura ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Most disappointing evening. The restaurant's website is out dated and they offer little of what is on the website currently. It took over 90 minutes to get our food- we were a table of five and they had many open tables so not sure why the kitchen could not get the food out of the kitchen. They were out of bread for the table on a Sat night. They were out of filet and lobster and when the ribeye came which was ordered med rare it was well done. Don't waste your money on this restaurant-way to many excellent choices in WIlmington to spend the evening here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was spectacular. Had seafood d ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was spectacular. Had seafood dishes all fresh and all very creative. Great service. Will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd visit to Catch and likel ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was my 3rd visit to Catch and likely my last...it's a mix of great salads, good apps and weak mains with consistently indifferent, unhelpful service. Does offer some interesting wines. Overall it falls short of being worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Fantastic food, service and presentation ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic food, service and presentation. Best in the Cape Fear.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dish was very good but my husband had ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 28, 2016

My dish was very good but my husband had blackened fish that was burned not blackened with spices. Also it took them an hour and s half to bring our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Catch....worth the wait. My wife and I ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Catch....worth the wait.

My wife and I knew that Chef Rhodes had created a special restaurant and we desperately wanted to give it a try. Unfortunately we kept forgetting to make reservations. The August issue of Salt Magazine had an article on the local effort (Eats 40) to publicize the great cuisine of Wilmington dining and included Catch.

Dinner was spectacular! Oysters to start, grouper and soft shell crab, and a great dessert were amazing. If I were compelled to name only one item as a must have, it would be the risotto that accompanied the crab. Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Spicy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in Wilmington! Al ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 26, 2016

My favorite restaurant in Wilmington! Always delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was amazing, and the staff wa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was amazing, and the staff was courteous. The martini wax overpriced. I will eat there again if I am in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Among Wilmington's best restaurants—seaf ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Among Wilmington's best restaurants—seafood and otherwise. The food, the service, the Wilmington charm of the decor—it's all amazing. I'd just dim the overhead lights a bit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall we had a good experience. Three ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall we had a good experience. Three of the four of us at our table were very pleased with our entrees. One of us wasn't - the soft-shelled crab was past its prime and no longer had a soft shell, meaning not much of it could be eaten. The grilled oysters and cocktails were excellent.

It took a REALLY long time to get our food. Forty-five minutes to get bread, an hour and 15 minutes to get salads and appetizers, and over an hour and a half to get our entrees. Our server was great, but I have no idea what was going on in the kitchen. The restaurant had a decent crowd, about 75% full on a Saturday night, but wasn't crowded.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.