About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Vegetarian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (29)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Good for a Date (27)
See All
Creative Cuisine (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (17)
Quiet Conversation (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Authentic (13)
Casual (12)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Healthy (5)
Vegan (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Family Style (2)
Private Room (2)
Tapas (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Organic (2)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Live Sports (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
993 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

We heard about Catch from friends and decided to give it a try. We are new to the area and wanted to take our neighbors out to a place they hadn't been before. They have lived here for 20 years. We had a wonderful time and a fabulous meal. Catch is now our new favorite place.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Food and cocktails are creatively prepared. The specials were very appealing although a little pricey. The bread was toasty and fresh! We had a party of 6 and needed to reserve with a credit card with cancellation penalty. We don't care for this practice, but maybe it's needed in the busier months?

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 15, 2017

Although the food is quite pricey, the quality was worth the price. Mixed drinks were a healthy size. There were a few non-seafood items on the menu and salad is an additional charge. Dessert, which was Key Lime Tart was large and wonderful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our experience was nothing less than exceptional. Thanks so much!

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on May 10, 2017

The food was excellent, the location in a small retail strip was a little difficult to locate, but we'll worth the trouble. Very nice blackened sword fish, nice presentation, and great taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

A friend and I decided to get together for a meal before the busy summer season was upon us and we chose Catch as it is quiet and the food outstanding. Just the right amount of food as I don't have a very big appetite. As usual the food was delicious and service outstanding!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 6, 2017

At Catch it's all about the food. The best prepared and freshest seafood in town and there really isn't a close 2nd.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on May 4, 2017

Awesome meal. One of our favorite places to eat when we are there. Salmon on stir fry noodles is crazy good!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent food. Great local spot.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 2, 2017

A return visit to Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine as we do a often a possible. Keith Rhodes is by far on of the top chiefs in the country and his staff prepare meals to remember each and every time we go. I had two soft shell crabs on a bed of pasta with bacon and asparagus that was perfect. My wife enjoyed a single crab cake with a side sauce covered potato mixture that she enjoyed very much. It is a good thing, or could be bad, that we live only a half mile away for Catch so we can visit often.

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Authentic, Modern Decor, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 27, 2017

Amazing. Top notch. Jessica offered fabulous service right before store closing. I will be back next time I go to Wilmington. This is how you customer service.
Great job Chef Keith!

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Authentic, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Spicy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Quick Bite, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our 7th visit to Catch from our Boone home to the ocean. Finally found it on our first try on our 6th visit. Consistently totally outstanding, especially the variety and size and freshness of the oysters and fish. We have dined at many of the other top gourmet restaurants in the area but always choose Catch first because of the creative dishes, freshness of seafood, and attentive service.

The shoeman

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Our dining experience at Catch was wonderful. Every morsel was so delicious. The staff was knowledgeable and very friendly. We can't wait to dine again at Catch.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 24, 2017

Extraordinary seafood. We enjoyed everything we ordered.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This is our third time to Catch and I have had the same experience...the service is extememly slow...we came at five thirty to miss the crowds and advised the staff we needed to be gone to go to a play...by 6:45....entrée was not served until 6:30pm...she offered to go boxes....don't think we'll be coming back after three similar experiences...too bad since the food was good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Took my fiancé for his birthday. The food was absolutely amazing!!!! Service was amazing. The food took a little while but it was definitely worth the wait.

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food is usually quite good, mussels this time very disappointing. Will return though.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Do yourself a favor and visit Catch. It is now several hours after dinner and I am still thinking about the spring salad! The crabcakes were delicious too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The food was excellent. Very different menu than usual in the Wilmington area though not so "far out" that it's scary.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Wonderful food, from appetizer to entrees and dessert. Also best sangria, so refreshing and natural flavors!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Best seafood ive ever had at in Wilmington area! Had fried flounder n shrimp and was most fresh and best tasting ive ever had. Hot out of the grease and delivered right to table! Not greasy at all. Wife had the jumbo lump crab cakes. Were delicious as well. Salad wad good but small and overpriced for what you get. Chocolate lava cake for dessert was outstanding. Would highly recommend this place and i will be going back

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 8, 2017

As someone who does not live in the Wilmington area, this restaurant has been on my Wilmington "to do" list for the last 4 years. Chef Keith and his staff never disappoint. The food is always amazing, and there are always a great selection of hand crafted cocktails to choose from.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Terrific, one of best kept secrets in Wilmington. It's not downtown but but so what. Fish perfectly prepared and presentation is photograph worthy. Worth the drive but remember it's Wilmington so we're not talking a great distance, also, it's in an area of commercial businesses but don't let the street you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Really enjoyed dinner

My fish, grouper was delicious
The swordfish was a bit salty
Service was nice friendly but not too friendly
Would recommend

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 1, 2017

All outstanding! Wonderful and flavor filled for the seafood lover. We also tried the pork ribs that were some of the best we've ever had. Enough for next day left overs too!!! Thanks to the staff - can't wait to go back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Enjoyed our meal at Catch for our anniversary. We'd followed the chef a little through his time on Top Chef a few years ago and were interested to give it a shot while in town. Many options on the menu that were tempting. Raw oysters and mussel appetizers were a little bit of miss-- mainly due to lacking flavor and punch in the mignonette and some mussels in the bunch that were past their prime. But the soft-shell crab salad was great and the tempura lobster tail with crab fried rice was very good flavorful with a nice crunch. We would definitely come back again and would recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Fabulous food - a real culinary experience. Keith Rhodes is a talented chef and Wilmington is lucky to have him. We hope to return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Excellent food and service. Highly recommend. I would rate Catch the best restaurant in Wilmington, NC

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 25, 2017

My wife and I had an excellent seafood meal but wished they had linen napkins and expresso.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our first visit and certainly will not be our last! Excellent dining experience -- food and service were both executed to perfection. Our server, Marie, was knowledgeable about all the menu offerings. She checked on us without being overbearing; everyone seemed focused on making dining there a special experience. I had the crab cake -- loaded with crab! My husband had the etouffee --he's still raving about the flavors two days later. I will say, it's all about the food and service -- the setting is quiet and simple.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent in every way, food, drinks all top notch

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of the absolute best in Wilmington! Fresh local ingredients and seafood.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic as always! The hospitality, service, and food never disappoint, even waiting is a pleasure since the food is SO worth waiting for! (The drinks are great too!l

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic experience all around. Excellent service and exceptional food. This was not my first time there and I have never been disappointed and look forward to returning soon, a must visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were visiting Wilmington and wanted a special restaurant for our first night in town. The online reviews we ready for Catch were very favorable. Unfortunately, the restaurant turned out to be a major disappointment. Out main issue was with the food. Lobster dish was overcooked (you had to saw through it with a knife) and the flavorings overpowered the natural taste. Grouper special was lukewarm and the flavors just didn't meld together. I don't usually bother to write a negative review. In this case, I hope to share other visitors to Wilmington our extreme disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We at at Catch for the first time the other night and as we drove up to what looked like a little strip mall, we didn't know what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised. We kept commenting to each other how the food was bursting with flavor. The thought that went into the seasoning was very apparent. For the appetizer we had the calamari, and I have never had calamari melt in our mouth like this did. The salmon was perfect and for dessert we ordered a cinnamon ice cream with little sprigs of basil on it. The combination of the ice cream and basil was amazing. Seriously. Perfect. We will be back, in fact, this is our new favorite place to eat hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Not an easy place to find off Market Street. First impression as you walk up to the restaurant makes you doubt your selection. However, the food was amazing. Good wine selection. You could tell that chef takes time to prepare the food which makes it a perfect place to enjoy a get together with friends and family. Would recommend that you dine in early if you want the specials of the day (they sounded amazing) - by the time we dined it they were out of specials. Overall a great gem of a place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Dirty South oysters were amazing. I had the last of the seafood etouffee, also very good.

It was very quiet and the tables are not so close together that you can hear other people's conversation. I was very impressed and can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Catch was a pleasant surprise for our whole group. It is a bit hidden in a shopping center strip so we never would have found it if we had not heard how great their crabcakes were while doing some online perusing. The crabcakes did live up to the hype! All of the appetizers, meals and desserts were of great quality and taste. The service was prompt and friendly. We will absolutely make the trip back to Catch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I had heard great things about Catch and am a seafood lover. My date took my there and I admit that I was disappointed. The Shrimp appetizer which I ordered was so salty that I could barely eat it. I felt like I was drinking a bottle of soy sauce. When I asked my date how his drunken noodles with salmon was seasoned he said that it was very heavy soy sauce as well. Although he didn't mind it, loves salty things and Tai style food. I gave him the rest of my shrimp, since I had eaten two of the five before I felt I just couldn't handle the intense salty soy sauce flavor. I was very disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.