About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef"contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes and his team, explore the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce.Providing the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef Dubbed by NYT's,"Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood and Vegetarian and Vegan offerings ,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, NC Oysters on the 1/2 Shell, Seafood Ceviche & Conch Fritters . Larger Plates include our "Angry" Maine Lobster, Prime Steaks, Blackend Mahi Mahi & our Award winning Charleston Crab Cakes, Seared OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Black Grouper. Full ABC Permits.Large selection of boutique Wines by the Glass, Hand crafted Cocktails And over a half a dozen rotating local beer offerings.

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Vegetarian, Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Tapas Two days

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Specials

Tapas Two days

Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM

Details

Tuesday's enjoy Half priced Appetizers and a special Tapas menu including Specialty Cocktails from 5:30-7:30. Wednesday's enjoy Half priced Appetizers and a special Tapas menu including free Wine tasting from 5:30-7:30. Excludes Tax and Tip. Not to be combined with other discounts, gift cards or coupons. Special valid Dec 27, 2016 - Apr 27, 2017 on Tuesdays and Wednesdays from 5:30 PM - 7:30 PM.

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Creative Cuisine (30)
Local Ingredients (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
See All
Special Occasion (21)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Authentic (14)
Romantic (14)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Cozy (13)
Casual (9)
Notable Wine List (7)
Business Meals (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Fun (4)
Healthy (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Vegan (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Seasonal (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tapas (1)
Private Room (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
S
964 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I had an excellent seafood meal but wished they had linen napkins and expresso.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 3 days ago

Our first visit and certainly will not be our last! Excellent dining experience -- food and service were both executed to perfection. Our server, Marie, was knowledgeable about all the menu offerings. She checked on us without being overbearing; everyone seemed focused on making dining there a special experience. I had the crab cake -- loaded with crab! My husband had the etouffee --he's still raving about the flavors two days later. I will say, it's all about the food and service -- the setting is quiet and simple.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Excellent in every way, food, drinks all top notch

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 17, 2017

One of the absolute best in Wilmington! Fresh local ingredients and seafood.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic as always! The hospitality, service, and food never disappoint, even waiting is a pleasure since the food is SO worth waiting for! (The drinks are great too!l

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Fantastic experience all around. Excellent service and exceptional food. This was not my first time there and I have never been disappointed and look forward to returning soon, a must visit!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We were visiting Wilmington and wanted a special restaurant for our first night in town. The online reviews we ready for Catch were very favorable. Unfortunately, the restaurant turned out to be a major disappointment. Out main issue was with the food. Lobster dish was overcooked (you had to saw through it with a knife) and the flavorings overpowered the natural taste. Grouper special was lukewarm and the flavors just didn't meld together. I don't usually bother to write a negative review. In this case, I hope to share other visitors to Wilmington our extreme disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We at at Catch for the first time the other night and as we drove up to what looked like a little strip mall, we didn't know what to expect. We were more than pleasantly surprised. We kept commenting to each other how the food was bursting with flavor. The thought that went into the seasoning was very apparent. For the appetizer we had the calamari, and I have never had calamari melt in our mouth like this did. The salmon was perfect and for dessert we ordered a cinnamon ice cream with little sprigs of basil on it. The combination of the ice cream and basil was amazing. Seriously. Perfect. We will be back, in fact, this is our new favorite place to eat hands down!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Not an easy place to find off Market Street. First impression as you walk up to the restaurant makes you doubt your selection. However, the food was amazing. Good wine selection. You could tell that chef takes time to prepare the food which makes it a perfect place to enjoy a get together with friends and family. Would recommend that you dine in early if you want the specials of the day (they sounded amazing) - by the time we dined it they were out of specials. Overall a great gem of a place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The Dirty South oysters were amazing. I had the last of the seafood etouffee, also very good.

It was very quiet and the tables are not so close together that you can hear other people's conversation. I was very impressed and can't wait to return.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Catch was a pleasant surprise for our whole group. It is a bit hidden in a shopping center strip so we never would have found it if we had not heard how great their crabcakes were while doing some online perusing. The crabcakes did live up to the hype! All of the appetizers, meals and desserts were of great quality and taste. The service was prompt and friendly. We will absolutely make the trip back to Catch!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I had heard great things about Catch and am a seafood lover. My date took my there and I admit that I was disappointed. The Shrimp appetizer which I ordered was so salty that I could barely eat it. I felt like I was drinking a bottle of soy sauce. When I asked my date how his drunken noodles with salmon was seasoned he said that it was very heavy soy sauce as well. Although he didn't mind it, loves salty things and Tai style food. I gave him the rest of my shrimp, since I had eaten two of the five before I felt I just couldn't handle the intense salty soy sauce flavor. I was very disappointed.

Tags: Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 3, 2017

awesome restaurant , great service and excellent chef !

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I LOVE this place and the food is amazing. I enjoy every trip I make the atmosphere is nice.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Everything was good except that I must have told the waitress 10 times I have a gluten allergy and the shrimp came breaded! Don't advertise gluten free is you can't do it. If you don't have any allergies this is good place to eat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I took my sister there for her retirement dinner. Everything was excellent, it made the night more memorable, right down to dessert and an after dinner drink. Marie, our waitress was great!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 21, 2017

First time to catch and will definitely be back. Try the firecracker shrimp app!

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

The food, as always, was outstanding! Such wonderful blends of seasonings, such fragrant smells. Get the lobster, it's to die for. The salads! The fried oyster appetizer!! Food this good is otherworldly, but it's right here in wilmington! Yay!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Catch is refreshing especially as a NYer now living in NC :) Food was delish.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on February 15, 2017

Small group celebration of a friend's birthday. Dinner was excellent. Dessert was superb and it was their treat to us. They also gave the birthday girl a gift certificate for a future visit. Totally unexpected but immensely appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food and nice atmosphere. Loved the local seafood and produce incorporated into a delicious meal.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We were vacationing in Carolina beach and I wanted an upscale dining experience with good seafood for my family. Ended up being overpriced for the offerings. A sirloin steak and French fries was $27. My tempura lobster tail was more tempura than lobster and the crab risotto seemed like just ride. The servers, while nice, were all under dressed in jeans. For our one nice meal out I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 11, 2017

My husband and I had a wonderful meal. That service was also great! Thank you for a wonderful date night!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very disappointed. The food was lackluster and proteins overcooked. One portion of protein was the smallest I have ever seen served by a factor of 3.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Delicious. One of the best seafood restaurants I have gone to. Rivals the best restaurants in the state.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Catch is one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. The service and food are consistently excellent!

Tags: Authentic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I have wanted to try Catch for ages, and finally made it there this week. It was wonderful. From the bread with herbed oil to the entree and dessert, the food was beautifully presented and absolutely delicious. The service was excellent as well. My husband I will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food. Worth the high price tag. Will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on January 21, 2017

My new favorite restaurant in Wilmington! Loved the innovative dishes. Excellent drinks and dessert as well as main course. Will be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great plac e food was excellent as was the service we have been a few times and will continue to return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Don't judge this place by its location (in a strip of stores on north market st). The atmosphere is inviting, relaxing and friendly, and the seafood is creative and outstanding. As good as anything I've eaten in Charleston

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Fabulous food from a truly gifted chef and a "winner" Top Chef, or not.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Authentic, Casual, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vegan, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

First time there, very pleased!!! server very friendly, knowledgeable, and very helpful !!! Atmosphere is nice, and inside is bigger than it appears from the street. The price $$$ point is well worth it and we will go back for sure // * ( 5 star all the way ) !!!!!! and chef Keith is the bomb !!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 4, 2017

CATCH...AN UBER ELSEWHERE! I don't know what was happening in the Catch kitchen last night, but our food was really lackluster. Burnt scallops. Frisée represented as micro greens. Soft shell Crab so over-battered it could have been KFC. She-Crab soup so gritty it was off-putting. Only good dishes were small plates and apps. Ugh! Staff also seemed to want to rush us. Waitperson actually tried to convince a seasoned food blogger (myself) that the scallops weren't burnt--just blackened. Lesson learned.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food, as always, was extraordinary! That's why Catch will always be my Wilmington New Years (and any other time I'm in town) spot!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding we are sorry it took us so long to dine here
Can't wait to go back
We have eaten conch fritters all over Bahamas ,Fla Keys,these were the best
Our entres were some of the best meals we have ever had

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food, wine and desert was outstanding! We had read about the restaurant and the Chef and it exceeded our expectations. I highly recommend Catch!

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I am embarrassed that we have lived so long in Wilmington and this was our first visit to Catch, especially since we have heard only good things about the restaurant. Everything we had was nicely presented and had an excellent blend of tasty flavors. Items were nicely seasoned but not overbearing. The seafood is fresh and paired with an interesting, and very delicious, accompaniment of starch and vegetables (e.g., salmon with "drunk noodles, calamari with red hummus and guacamole).
We will be back, regularly!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The bar tender should learn to be less abrasive and learn to read his customer better. The wait staff was great and good excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Review posted on Tripadvisor that describes our wonderful meal!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.