About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef Season 9" contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes explores the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce & Herbs.Provide the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef 2008-201.3 Dubbed “Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood & Steaks,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our Mouth watering “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, Crispy Cajun Fried NC Oysters & Blue Crab Claw Scampi, Seafood Ceviche& Conch Fritters to name a few. Larger Plates include Plancha grilled Painted Hills Steaks, Blackend Red Drum Filet, Charleston Crab Cakes, Tempura OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Queen Trigger fish. Full ABC Permits.Wines by the Glass & Mixed Drinks

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chocolate Lava Bundt Cake
Lobster
Jumbo lump crab cake, brunoise root vegetables, sweet corn shellfish velouté
Tuna Tartare With Peach Seaweed Salad And Shrimp Puff Cracker
Blueberry Quail
Diver Scallops With Mussels Over Coconut Curry Rice
Stone Crab Scampi Claws
Scallop Ceviche
Crispy Fried Conch
Cajun Fried Nc Oysters
Pan Roasted "Oriental, NC" Backfin & Lump Crab Cakes
Scallops And Grits
Atomic Beef
Sneads Ferry Little Neck Clams
Salmon
Ribs
Banana And Sweet Potato Ice Cream
Grilled Trout With Sweet Potato Salad
Scallops with Kushuro with leche de tigre
Softshell Crabs
Blackened Mahi
Fried Shrimp with Cheese Grits
Lamb Shank
Blackened Catfish Tacos
Crabcakes
Heritage Farms "Cancun" Pork
Sweet Potato Salad
Tempura Fried Lobster Tail
Striped Bass

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
2 More
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Fit for Foodies (31)
Special Occasion (24)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
See All
Romantic (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Good for a Date (8)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Casual (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Authentic (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Seasonal (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Business Meals (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Spicy (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
Newest
858 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As always just great service, great food ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 3 days ago

As always just great service, great food with friends! Don't be in a rush, excellence doesn't happen instantaneously!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food great delivery of food and drink to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food great delivery of food and drink too entirely too long. From arrival to leaving 21/2,hrs

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2

This was our first time at Catch. We ha ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

This was our first time at Catch. We had read several reviews about slow service, however our service was extremely good and very professional. Our waitress was very knowledgeable about the items on the menu and had very good suggestions. We will definitely go back more often.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Most disappointing evening. The restaura ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Most disappointing evening. The restaurant's website is out dated and they offer little of what is on the website currently. It took over 90 minutes to get our food- we were a table of five and they had many open tables so not sure why the kitchen could not get the food out of the kitchen. They were out of bread for the table on a Sat night. They were out of filet and lobster and when the ribeye came which was ordered med rare it was well done. Don't waste your money on this restaurant-way to many excellent choices in WIlmington to spend the evening here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The food was spectacular. Had seafood d ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

The food was spectacular. Had seafood dishes all fresh and all very creative. Great service. Will be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my 3rd visit to Catch and likel ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

This was my 3rd visit to Catch and likely my last...it's a mix of great salads, good apps and weak mains with consistently indifferent, unhelpful service. Does offer some interesting wines. Overall it falls short of being worth the price.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Fantastic food, service and presentation ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Fantastic food, service and presentation. Best in the Cape Fear.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My dish was very good but my husband had ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

My dish was very good but my husband had blackened fish that was burned not blackened with spices. Also it took them an hour and s half to bring our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Catch....worth the wait. My wife and I ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Catch....worth the wait.

My wife and I knew that Chef Rhodes had created a special restaurant and we desperately wanted to give it a try. Unfortunately we kept forgetting to make reservations. The August issue of Salt Magazine had an article on the local effort (Eats 40) to publicize the great cuisine of Wilmington dining and included Catch.

Dinner was spectacular! Oysters to start, grouper and soft shell crab, and a great dessert were amazing. If I were compelled to name only one item as a must have, it would be the risotto that accompanied the crab. Bravo!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Spicy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was amazing, and the staff wa ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The food was amazing, and the staff was courteous. The martini wax overpriced. I will eat there again if I am in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Among Wilmington's best restaurants—seaf ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Among Wilmington's best restaurants—seafood and otherwise. The food, the service, the Wilmington charm of the decor—it's all amazing. I'd just dim the overhead lights a bit.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall we had a good experience. Three ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Overall we had a good experience. Three of the four of us at our table were very pleased with our entrees. One of us wasn't - the soft-shelled crab was past its prime and no longer had a soft shell, meaning not much of it could be eaten. The grilled oysters and cocktails were excellent.

It took a REALLY long time to get our food. Forty-five minutes to get bread, an hour and 15 minutes to get salads and appetizers, and over an hour and a half to get our entrees. Our server was great, but I have no idea what was going on in the kitchen. The restaurant had a decent crowd, about 75% full on a Saturday night, but wasn't crowded.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Waitress forgot to follow drink order so ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Waitress forgot to follow drink order so only one drink supplied to me, none for wife. Serving size was small for me (I am 135 lbs wringing wet), can't imagine how a larger man would feel.

Waitress came three times to clear table and wife requested more bread three times to no avail.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Catch is one of the main stays of our li ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Catch is one of the main stays of our life. We have always enjoyed the food and have never been disappointed with the regular menu or the specials. I had oysters on the half shell as an appetizer and they were very fresh ad wonderful. We will return very soon. Catch has a very good food truck to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was outstanding.i had the lobst ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

The food was outstanding.i had the lobster special and it was one of the best meals I've ever eaten.Everyone ordered something different and each dish was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious; service was extremel ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was delicious; service was extremely leisurely.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

My very favorite restaurant in Wilmingto ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

My very favorite restaurant in Wilmington!! Chef Keith is amazing and wonderfully accommodating about my allergy to gluten. Everything is exquisite.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It took a long time to get the entrees e ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

It took a long time to get the entrees even after we had an appetizer. The food was overcooked and not a good value for what we got. The lobster was tough and expensive. My wife should have sent it back but she doesn't complain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Absolutely awful and completely disappoi ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Absolutely awful and completely disappointing. We waited an entire hour from the time we placed our order to the time the food reached our table. The grouper was terribly overcooked and sides were cold and dry. My husbands scallops were also cold and over seasoned. Manager removed the grouper from the bill ($32) but nothing else. Food was overpriced, bad, and extremely underwhelmed by the service and management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

The Sangria was excellent, great choices ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Sangria was excellent, great choices on the menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

This was our second dinner here in as ma ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

This was our second dinner here in as many weeks. The kitchen did not disappoint. Everything we had over those two visits makes us want to return. As appetizers we shared fried oysters on one visit and calamari on the other. Our main courses were crab cake and the evenings special fish dish. The kitchen has some strong skills. It pays to be patient with the service team, but Catch certainly merits repeat visits.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

My husband and I struggle to find restau ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

My husband and I struggle to find restaurants with good food near our home in Hampstead. We were celebrating our anniversary and I wanted to make sure we went somewhere for dinner that I could trust would serve good food. Well, Open Table has never steered me wrong with a review. Catch was far above our expectations for food quality, uniqueness in ingredients and taste! My husband ordered the tuna special for the evening and he said it was the best tuna he had ever had. Tuna is one of my husband's favorite food so this is really saying something. I had the grouper and it was fabulous too! We started off with their shrimp appetizer. The balance of spicy heat and other ingredients were spot-on. We will definitely return! One comment about the service. Our waitress was great and checked in with us often. It did take quite a while to receive our food. The wooden chairs we sat on got pretty hard by the end of our dinner. It would be nice to have cushioned seats and/ or faster servicing of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

The scallops were lager and outstanding ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The scallops were lager and outstanding texture and flavor. The muscles were very nicely prepared. Also enjoyed the sweet potatoes that served as a base for the dish . Presentation was impressive. Service was also very good and amiable. The largest problem is the noise factor.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing food! Be sure to get the coconu ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Amazing food! Be sure to get the coconut cake for dessert:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ridiculously long wait for overrated, ov ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Ridiculously long wait for overrated, overpriced food with poor service and apathetic management that does not take complaints seriously nor try to rectify them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great bar service, wonderful, fresh and ...

vip
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Great bar service, wonderful, fresh and tasty main courses, with inventive ingredients. Always satisfying.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Excellent food and very nice folks runni ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent food and very nice folks running it! Fresh seafood creatively prepared. Wish the ambiance was a little better....but the FOOD wins out over everything. We'll be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Food was great, but took a long time eve ...

 
 (Birmingham)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Food was great, but took a long time even with an appetizer. It took at least an hour for two entrees, and we'd filled up on bread, and water by the time they arrived. In hindsight I believe they have a smaller kitchen, and that going on a Friday night might mean a long wait here.

Overall the menu was fresh and creative, and I would go back, just not on a busy night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Keith and Angela have created and contin ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Keith and Angela have created and continued to provide subperb fresh seafood accented with exceptional local vegetables/sides and appetizers that are exquisitely prepared for the selective palate. They clearly deserve an EXCELLENT/OUTSTANDING rating. 10 STAR!!!!!!! Michelin and Zagat rated.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Catch! Ate there two nights in a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We love Catch! Ate there two nights in a row this past week while we were at the beach. Super restaurant. Everything we had was delicious.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Liked the food and service very much but ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Liked the food and service very much but ambiance is not good. Restaurant is pricey especially for what you get and the wine menu even wine by the glass expensive and thus a turn off to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our favorite meal (and most exp ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This was our favorite meal (and most expensive) in Wilmington during our weekend getaway. We got the calamari, sweet potato salad, the shrimp and grits, and the scallops special of the day. We had a hard time deciding what we liked the best. The sauces were amazing and the seafood was different (and better) than any other I have had before. Presentation was right on point and the servers were knowledgeable and attentive. You can't go wrong with Catch and you definitely don't want to miss it when you are in Wilmington!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food was outstanding. We h ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

As always the food was outstanding. We had the soft shelled crabs for our entrees. Chef Rhodes always has the freshest and best preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic all the way around. Owner an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Fantastic all the way around. Owner and employees all very friendly and the food was fresh and fantastic!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lived in Wilmington for 15 years ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have lived in Wilmington for 15 years and anyone that has lived here long enough knows that there is an abundance of food choices. It was our first time at Catch and the best compliment that I can give is that is was the one of the best meals that I have had in a very, very long time. Great menu choices, incredible bar and the staff was incredible. When the owner and founder is in the kitchen you know that you are in good hands. It was an experience my wife and I will not soon forget and we will most certainly be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Catch us excellent. The am ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at Catch us excellent. The ambiance is okay. The specialties are awesome

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Good seafood

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great sea foo8

Server forgot bardrinks and appetizers.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent food. Took over 2 hours to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food. Took over 2 hours to get our food, wasn't even that busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Delicious food, slow wait

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was absolutely outstanding. I ate there with 3 other people, everyone got a different dish, and every single one of us was licking our plates. I told my husband this was the most wonderful meal I have had in a long time (I ordered the special of the week, scallops and muscles cooked in a coconut curry sauce). The only downside was that the service was pretty slow - it took over an hour to get our food. Thankfully we weren't in a rush and were enjoying the company so we didn't mind, but if you are looking for a quick dinner, this isn't it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Had a great opportunity to interact with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a great opportunity to interact with chef; helped me get (pickled) ramps to take back to Pasadena, California, for a recipe my husband loves to cook. Amazing food, great ambiance, helpful staff, a true winner. My husband is going there when he visits Wilmington next month!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.