About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef Season 9" contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes explores the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce & Herbs.Provide the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef 2008-201.3 Dubbed “Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood & Steaks,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our Mouth watering “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, Crispy Cajun Fried NC Oysters & Blue Crab Claw Scampi, Seafood Ceviche& Conch Fritters to name a few. Larger Plates include Plancha grilled Painted Hills Steaks, Blackend Red Drum Filet, Charleston Crab Cakes, Tempura OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Queen Trigger fish. Full ABC Permits.Wines by the Glass & Mixed Drinks

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

3.8

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
3 More
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (59)
special occasion (50)
neighborhood gem (22)
See All
romantic (19)
notable wine list (12)
hot spot (6)
good for groups (6)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (1)
kid-friendly (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
817 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent! The sweet potato ...

vip
Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent! The sweet potato salad was awesome as usual. The twist on the mussels (Thai curry broth) was simply divine. Every dish went beyond our expectations. We will keep coming back!

food2
ambience2
service3

Overpriced and overrated as well as over ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Overpriced and overrated as well as overpriced. My husband ordered the salmon and was less than impressed. I had soft shell crab that was ok and the grits were not tasty. Oyster appetizer was the best part of the meal. We will take our $130 elsewhere next time.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

This was our first visit to Catch and we ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Catch and we were a little surprised with the location. Not off the beaten path but not what you would expect for an upscale establishment. The food and drinks were a little pricey for an every weekend outing but the food was absolutely outstanding. The presentation was up to par and the wait staff was attentive but not hovering. Definitely a do again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed

Dined on May 12, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and the attentive staff. Always a great meal

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was very good! Upscale presentatio ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was very good! Upscale presentation. Wait staff was good but nothing special. The cost for 4 people was $350. 3 of the 4 had the lobster special. That included 4 glasses of wine, one glass of beer and no dessert. The ambiance is nothing special. Overall I'm glad i experienced the restaurant, but probably won't go back. For the cost of the evening I want either a fantastic view or great ambiance along with great food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Overpriced for the food being offered

Dined on May 10, 2016

Both my friend and I ordered seafood entrees which were to have side items included. The "side items" were miniscule and were tucked under the entree. Who wants mashed sweet potatoes and kale beneath their seafood entree?

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4

Sweet potato salad was outstanding. Ban ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

Sweet potato salad was outstanding. Banana creme brûlée was excellent also.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Highly Recommend

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was friendly and timely. Prices are on the high side but the quality and portions make it worthwhile. The dishes are unusual and very tasty. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Shrimp and Grits in Wilmington

Dined on April 29, 2016

Fire Shrimp and Cajun Oysters were wonderful. Best Shrimp and Grits and the Salmon over drunken noodles were outstanding. Our first time there, but we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Catch in Wilmington.

Dined on April 27, 2016

Catch is a friendly fine dining restaurant. The food is excellent and the staff is extraordinary. My only complaint is that I live too far away to make it my weekly dining experience. Great job Chef Rhodes and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Not up to its usual standards

Dined on April 23, 2016

We had dinner at Catch on Saturday night and were disappointed for the first time. The best part of the meal was the Brussels sprouts appetizer our waiter brought us after hearing how much we like them. My salmon was overcooked, the fried flounder and shrimp dish was OK, but not worth the price. The meal was disappointing. I imagine I will go back since this experience was not like my last two times at Catch. Maybe the chef had the night off?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Get the calamari!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere, love the art. The mussels and shrimp and grits were fabulous but the winner was the calamari, would go just for that dish. I would not order the lobster again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

excellent food

Dined on April 16, 2016

food was excellent - ambience could have been better - would definitely recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional and the service ...

Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service was impeccable. It was a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good we booked dinner @ Catch twice in one week

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We love Catch! We've dined in restaurants all over the country and Catch is definitely one of the absolute best. We were in Wilmington for three days and dined at Catch for dinner on two of those days. The Angry Lobster was amazing. Vegetarian platter was spectacular. The Chef is incredible. Cocktails were very good as well.Bartender makes an amazing Thai Gimlet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time at Catch

Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I had read various reviews about Catch and were very excited to have a reservation last Saturday evening. Catch is a little hard to find but once you enter the restaurant you know you are in for a good time. The hostess and wait staff were charming and knowledgeable. The entrees we ordered were delicious. Our only small complaint was that our meals were luke warm when served. We mentioned this and were immediately attended to. We would certainly return to Catch and recommend it to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful dining experience!

Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I visited Catch for the first time for our anniversary last weekend, and were very pleasantly surprised at the wonderfully charming interior of an otherwise metal-sided strip mall. The food was fantastic. Delicious Caesar side salad that wasn't overly salted and dressed. I had the grouper which was wonderful, and my husband had the vegetable platter, which was HUGE and offered a great combination of items for a perfectly meatless option. Our only regret was that we had no room left for dessert. Next time for sure, as the tiramisu looked amazing! Will definitely go back, and can't wait to try other dishes on this menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Ambience

Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding food from an award-winning Chef Keith Rhodes, and knowledge of ingredients, tastes, specials from wait staff. Freshest seafood you can find anywhere, prepared with ingenious blend of seasonings and presentations. The music selections were awesome, easy, relaxing. So many great flavors and menus items to choose from, we need to go back just to try them all! We will dream about the Cajun fried oysters forever!

Tags: fit for foodies
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Over priced, over hyped

Dined on March 21, 2016

Food was mediocre at best and very over priced. For the reputation and the price level , every mouthful should have been bursting with a flavor combo that only a master chef could create. Not the case here. Dessert was very good, as was the Firecracker Shrimp. But neither was worth the price. Shrimp and Grits for $29 better be the best S&G I ever tried but it was barely flavorful. Really really disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Tucked Away Gem

Dined on March 20, 2016

The sign when you arrive says it all, "Yes, this is the place"! Tucked away in a tiny, nondescript strip mall, this place is a hidden gem. Definitely a local's restaurant and they usually know the best spots to each at. All of our meals were outstanding and the service was excellent, but the mussels especially were to..die..for! The broth they were prepared in was plentiful enough that we were able to soak up the leftovers with the brioche they provided. Nice variation of wine and beer offered and our waiter brought samples, so we could determine if we liked what we ordered. We did! We'll be back to this tucked away, friendly gem of a restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

A job well done!

Dined on March 12, 2016

Thank you for feeling like we found a secret! The food was delicious with a great presentation. The calamari was flavorful and light. The service was attentive and the manager came by to check on everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience1
service3

It was a Thursday night, the restaurant ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

It was a Thursday night, the restaurant was about 1/4 filled. Why did it take me 1.25 hours to get my grouper dinner? I only ordered a half doz raw oysters as an appetizer then sat for an hour with no mention why it took so long. The oysters were terrible, about the size of a teaspoon each but cost $15 for the half dozen. The chef did not prepare the oysters as they were still attached to the shell. The grouper was awesome though. But $16 martini plus 1 dinner and appetizer cost $70. That's for 1 person.

food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Good food, but experience was not worth it.

Dined on February 28, 2016

The restaurant was so loud that we could hardly hear ourselves think!! There is something wrong with the room, every table sounded like they were shouting. The food was very good, probably eating at the bar would be a good experience. The service was good, but not outstanding. I think for the price, it was an overall disappointment.

food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Ray

Dined on February 28, 2016

the restaurant was not full but it took a while to get our drinks. Two people ordered a salad and a soup. After they were finished with the starters it tool over an hour to get our meal. Three tables came in after we did and one was served, completed their meal and left before we were served. The other two tables were served before us. When we inquired about the delay and other service the waiter stated that they like for the party to enjoy the starters and then have time to relax. Pretty lame!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Catch is a superb restaurant, 5-Star cuisine!

Dined on February 28, 2016

If you are anywhere near Wilmington NC, "Catch" is the place you want to go for a superb meal. Creative and delicious cuisine (including desserts)!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good but pricy

Dined on February 27, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. When I am in the Wilmington area I love to eat fresh seafood and Catch seemed like a great idea. The food was very good but I thought the options available were a bit different than what I expected. I am used to spending a lot on a meal for special occasions, which this was, but I did not think the value was there for the offerings, portion sizes and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Seafood was fresh and good. Uses local s ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

Seafood was fresh and good. Uses local seafood and not the import stuff. I had the NC crab cakes and was very good

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointed

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Four of us went there for dinner recently for my wife's birthday. We live in Charlotte but try to visit this restaurant as often as possible when in town. We all had a different entrée and were jealous of each others plate. The food is incredible and never disappointing. The service and wait staff is always very good and a pleasure to talk with. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent Meal and Service

Dined on February 20, 2016

Food was excellent. Good selection of local seafood and it was prepared very well. The waitress, Jessica, was very attentive but not obtrusive. She was also very knowledgeable of the food being offered and how it was prepared and by whom. Jessica and the other wait staff helped out each other when any of them saw an empty plate or glass, extra bread, etc. Just be prepared to spend a little more than normal but the food and service complimented the higher prices paid. We would definitely go back again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Low on Ambiance and High on Price

Dined on February 17, 2016

This restaurant charges high-end prices with a view of the parking lot in a strip mall. Low on ambiance and high on pricing. As seems to be the case with many restaurants these days, there were no vintage years on the wine list. We ordered a Malbec for around $35 and it turned out to be a 2015 -- an absurd price for such a young wine. The food was quite good but there are many restaurants in the area with great food charging substantially less. Overall not worth the money.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Catch never disappoints. The food taste, ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Catch never disappoints. The food taste, presentation and portion size are consistently wonderful, The staff is very personable and the owners are always present. Also, the specials are always great to give you a chance to try different dishes each time you go.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Overpriced

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food tasted fine. Nothing special. I would say it is about 25% overpriced....not really much better than what you would get at another local restaurant. The atmosphere was similar to an average seafood restaurant...def nothing that stands up to the price tag. Lower the prices and you have an above average local seafood restaurant. Otherwise, to expensive for what it is and I do not plan on going back.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food, thought the portions wer ...

Dined on February 12, 2016

Excellent food, thought the portions were a little small. Nice intimate atmoshere.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service3

Outstanding food, very poor acoustics .. ...

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Outstanding food, very poor acoustics ...too loud to have conversation, had to ask wait staff to lean in to tell us the specials. Table was spartan, plain flatware, no tablecloths, no carpeting, uncomfortable chairs. Tables closely packed. Wait staff was polite & professional, food was delicious, a little pricey for what you got. Full bar, limited small plate choices, not the place to linger. Was in an industrial area along the highway...we almost drove by it not seeing anything that looked like a restaurant

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

A Very Pleasant Surprise!!

Dined on February 3, 2016

While ambiance was somewhat lacking it was more than made up for with excellent service and outstanding food. Would strongly recommend!!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience2
service4

Fantastic food. Nothing better in all ...

vip
Dined on February 2, 2016

Fantastic food. Nothing better in all of Wilmington

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Freshest seafood

Dined on January 31, 2016

Love those crab cakes and always a new oyst appetizer.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Did Not Live Up to the Hype

Dined on January 30, 2016

We went to Catch with really high expectations last Saturday night. We had an early seating and service was very slow. Our neighbor had a seating later and had the same experience. Food was good but did not wow us, especially given the pricing. Our neighbor got the wrong entree but kept it because of the slow service. Perhaps they were just off their game that night but it will be awhile before we return.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nice Dining Experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

We had a party of 4 for a Saturday night dining and only I had read the reviews and knew what to expect. The restaurant is tucked away between 2 retail stores in a small strip mall. The staff was very friendly and the restaurant was full. The menu did say that the staff was small and please be patient with delays, which we did encounter. The seafood, shrimp and grits, crab cakes and calamari were WONDERFUL but my husband was disappointed in the lamb entrée. We were somewhat surprised at the prices as they were higher than indicated on other websites. We would probably return to celebrate a special occasion .

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable experience

Dined on January 30, 2016

I took my boyfriend there for his 70th birthday because that's where he wanted to go. We were greeted with a beautiful smile from Mrs. Rhodes. The waiter was knowledgeable and accommodating. The menu consisted of a variety of foods containing truly interesting and delicious-sounding combinations of ingredients which impressed me immediately since I love to cook using non-traditional ingredients. We ordered an Old Fashion cocktail that had muddled blackberries in it, oysters on the half shell, and lobster with seasoned rice, and received a complimentary order of deviled eggs with a fried oyster on top and a slice of birthday chocolate cake. Everything was delicious. We plan to go back soon. It was a wonderful eating experience. I had no idea Chef Rhodes was creating such fabulous food.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.