About Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine

6623 Market St
Wilmington, NC 28405
View Larger Map

Serving the Best Seafood in North Carolina. James Beard Finalist and Bravo Tv's "Top Chef Season 9" contestant, Chef Keith Rhodes explores the Cape Fear Coast,for the best it has to offer. We feature Wild Caught & sustainably raised Seafood. Organic and locally sourced Produce & Herbs.Provide the perfect compliment to our fresh Catch. Consecutively Voted Wilmington's Best Chef 2008-201.3 Dubbed “Modern Seafood Cuisine” we offer an array Fresh Seafood & Steaks,including our Signature NC Sweet Potato Salad. Appetizers include our Mouth watering “Fire Cracker” Shrimp, Crispy Cajun Fried NC Oysters & Blue Crab Claw Scampi, Seafood Ceviche& Conch Fritters to name a few. Larger Plates include Plancha grilled Painted Hills Steaks, Blackend Red Drum Filet, Charleston Crab Cakes, Tempura OBX Scallops, Flounder Escovitch & Pan roasted Queen Trigger fish. Full ABC Permits.Wines by the Glass & Mixed Drinks

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Contemporary Southern, Southeast Asian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:00pm;
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 799-3847

Website:
http://catchwilmington.com/

Entertainment:
Watch Chef Keith Rhodes on Bravo's Top Chef Texas_Season 9
Vote for Chef @ Bravo TV Top Chef Fan Favorite

Catering:
Contact us directly @ 910-799-3847

Executive Chef:
Keith Rhodes

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

Jumbo lump crab cake, brunoise root vegetables, sweet corn shellfish velouté
Tuna Tartare With Peach Seaweed Salad And Shrimp Puff Cracker
Diver Scallops With Mussels Over Coconut Curry Rice
Blueberry Quail
Stone Crab Scampi Claws
Cajun Fried Nc Oysters
Scallop Ceviche
Crispy Fried Conch
Pan Roasted "Oriental, NC" Backfin & Lump Crab Cakes
Chocolate Lava Bundt Cake
Scallops And Grits
Atomic Beef
Sneads Ferry Little Neck Clams
Salmon
Ribs
Scallops with Kushuro with leche de tigre
Grilled Trout With Sweet Potato Salad
Banana And Sweet Potato Ice Cream
Softshell Crabs
Blackened Mahi
Fried Shrimp with Cheese Grits
Crabcakes
Tempura Fried Lobster Tail
Lamb Shank
Striped Bass
Heritage Farms "Cancun" Pork
Sweet Potato Salad
Blackened Catfish Tacos

Catch - Modern Seafood Cuisine Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
4 More
Best Food
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (48)
special occasion (42)
romantic (18)
See All
neighborhood gem (18)
notable wine list (10)
hot spot (7)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
late-night find (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
829 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love Catch! Ate there two nights in a ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

We love Catch! Ate there two nights in a row this past week while we were at the beach. Super restaurant. Everything we had was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Liked the food and service very much but ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Liked the food and service very much but ambiance is not good. Restaurant is pricey especially for what you get and the wine menu even wine by the glass expensive and thus a turn off to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

This was our favorite meal (and most exp ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

This was our favorite meal (and most expensive) in Wilmington during our weekend getaway. We got the calamari, sweet potato salad, the shrimp and grits, and the scallops special of the day. We had a hard time deciding what we liked the best. The sauces were amazing and the seafood was different (and better) than any other I have had before. Presentation was right on point and the servers were knowledgeable and attentive. You can't go wrong with Catch and you definitely don't want to miss it when you are in Wilmington!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food was outstanding. We h ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

As always the food was outstanding. We had the soft shelled crabs for our entrees. Chef Rhodes always has the freshest and best preparation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic all the way around. Owner an ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Fantastic all the way around. Owner and employees all very friendly and the food was fresh and fantastic!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have lived in Wilmington for 15 years ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

I have lived in Wilmington for 15 years and anyone that has lived here long enough knows that there is an abundance of food choices. It was our first time at Catch and the best compliment that I can give is that is was the one of the best meals that I have had in a very, very long time. Great menu choices, incredible bar and the staff was incredible. When the owner and founder is in the kitchen you know that you are in good hands. It was an experience my wife and I will not soon forget and we will most certainly be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Catch us excellent. The am ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

The food at Catch us excellent. The ambiance is okay. The specialties are awesome

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Good seafood

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great sea foo8

Server forgot bardrinks and appetizers.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Excellent food. Took over 2 hours to ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Excellent food. Took over 2 hours to get our food, wasn't even that busy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

Delicious food, slow wait

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was absolutely outstanding. I ate there with 3 other people, everyone got a different dish, and every single one of us was licking our plates. I told my husband this was the most wonderful meal I have had in a long time (I ordered the special of the week, scallops and muscles cooked in a coconut curry sauce). The only downside was that the service was pretty slow - it took over an hour to get our food. Thankfully we weren't in a rush and were enjoying the company so we didn't mind, but if you are looking for a quick dinner, this isn't it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Had a great opportunity to interact with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Had a great opportunity to interact with chef; helped me get (pickled) ramps to take back to Pasadena, California, for a recipe my husband loves to cook. Amazing food, great ambiance, helpful staff, a true winner. My husband is going there when he visits Wilmington next month!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best seafood in Wilmington.

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Best seafood in Wilmington.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

The food was excellent! The sweet potato ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

The food was excellent! The sweet potato salad was awesome as usual. The twist on the mussels (Thai curry broth) was simply divine. Every dish went beyond our expectations. We will keep coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overpriced and overrated as well as over ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Overpriced and overrated as well as overpriced. My husband ordered the salmon and was less than impressed. I had soft shell crab that was ok and the grits were not tasty. Oyster appetizer was the best part of the meal. We will take our $130 elsewhere next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

This was our first visit to Catch and we ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

This was our first visit to Catch and we were a little surprised with the location. Not off the beaten path but not what you would expect for an upscale establishment. The food and drinks were a little pricey for an every weekend outing but the food was absolutely outstanding. The presentation was up to par and the wait staff was attentive but not hovering. Definitely a do again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Never disappointed

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Enjoyed the meal and the attentive staff. Always a great meal

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good! Upscale presentatio ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Food was very good! Upscale presentation. Wait staff was good but nothing special. The cost for 4 people was $350. 3 of the 4 had the lobster special. That included 4 glasses of wine, one glass of beer and no dessert. The ambiance is nothing special.

Overall I'm glad i experienced the restaurant, but probably won't go back. For the cost of the evening I want either a fantastic view or great ambiance along with great food.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overpriced for the food being offered

 
 (Alabama)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Both my friend and I ordered seafood entrees which were to have side items included. The "side items" were miniscule and were tucked under the entree. Who wants mashed sweet potatoes and kale beneath their seafood entree?

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Sweet potato salad was outstanding. Ban ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Sweet potato salad was outstanding. Banana creme brûlée was excellent also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Highly Recommend

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was friendly and timely. Prices are on the high side but the quality and portions make it worthwhile. The dishes are unusual and very tasty. I would definitely recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Best Shrimp and Grits in Wilmington

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Fire Shrimp and Cajun Oysters were wonderful. Best Shrimp and Grits and the Salmon over drunken noodles were outstanding. Our first time there, but we will be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Catch in Wilmington.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 27, 2016

Catch is a friendly fine dining restaurant. The food is excellent and the staff is extraordinary. My only complaint is that I live too far away to make it my weekly dining experience. Great job Chef Rhodes and staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not up to its usual standards

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

We had dinner at Catch on Saturday night and were disappointed for the first time. The best part of the meal was the Brussels sprouts appetizer our waiter brought us after hearing how much we like them. My salmon was overcooked, the fried flounder and shrimp dish was OK, but not worth the price. The meal was disappointing.

I imagine I will go back since this experience was not like my last two times at Catch. Maybe the chef had the night off?

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Get the calamari!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed the atmosphere, love the art. The mussels and shrimp and grits were fabulous but the winner was the calamari, would go just for that dish. I would not order the lobster again.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

excellent food

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

food was excellent - ambience could have been better - would definitely recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was exceptional and the service ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

The food was exceptional and the service was impeccable. It was a great evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So good we booked dinner @ Catch twice in one week

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

We love Catch! We've dined in restaurants all over the country and Catch is definitely one of the absolute best. We were in Wilmington for three days and dined at Catch for dinner on two of those days. The Angry Lobster was amazing. Vegetarian platter was spectacular. The Chef is incredible. Cocktails were very good as well.Bartender makes an amazing Thai Gimlet.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First Time at Catch

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

My husband and I had read various reviews about Catch and were very excited to have a reservation last Saturday evening. Catch is a little hard to find but once you enter the restaurant you know you are in for a good time. The hostess and wait staff were charming and knowledgeable. The entrees we ordered were delicious. Our only small complaint was that our meals were luke warm when served. We mentioned this and were immediately attended to. We would certainly return to Catch and recommend it to our friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dining experience!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

My husband and I visited Catch for the first time for our anniversary last weekend, and were very pleasantly surprised at the wonderfully charming interior of an otherwise metal-sided strip mall. The food was fantastic. Delicious Caesar side salad that wasn't overly salted and dressed. I had the grouper which was wonderful, and my husband had the vegetable platter, which was HUGE and offered a great combination of items for a perfectly meatless option. Our only regret was that we had no room left for dessert. Next time for sure, as the tiramisu looked amazing! Will definitely go back, and can't wait to try other dishes on this menu!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Ambience

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Outstanding food from an award-winning Chef Keith Rhodes, and knowledge of ingredients, tastes, specials from wait staff. Freshest seafood you can find anywhere, prepared with ingenious blend of seasonings and presentations. The music selections were awesome, easy, relaxing. So many great flavors and menus items to choose from, we need to go back just to try them all! We will dream about the Cajun fried oysters forever!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

Over priced, over hyped

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Food was mediocre at best and very over priced. For the reputation and the price level , every mouthful should have been bursting with a flavor combo that only a master chef could create. Not the case here. Dessert was very good, as was the Firecracker Shrimp. But neither was worth the price. Shrimp and Grits for $29 better be the best S&G I ever tried but it was barely flavorful. Really really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Tucked Away Gem

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The sign when you arrive says it all, "Yes, this is the place"! Tucked away in a tiny, nondescript strip mall, this place is a hidden gem. Definitely a local's restaurant and they usually know the best spots to each at.

All of our meals were outstanding and the service was excellent, but the mussels especially were to..die..for! The broth they were prepared in was plentiful enough that we were able to soak up the leftovers with the brioche they provided. Nice variation of wine and beer offered and our waiter brought samples, so we could determine if we liked what we ordered. We did!

We'll be back to this tucked away, friendly gem of a restaurant.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A job well done!

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

Thank you for feeling like we found a secret! The food was delicious with a great presentation. The calamari was flavorful and light. The service was attentive and the manager came by to check on everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

It was a Thursday night, the restaurant ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on March 11, 2016

It was a Thursday night, the restaurant was about 1/4 filled. Why did it take me 1.25 hours to get my grouper dinner? I only ordered a half doz raw oysters as an appetizer then sat for an hour with no mention why it took so long. The oysters were terrible, about the size of a teaspoon each but cost $15 for the half dozen. The chef did not prepare the oysters as they were still attached to the shell. The grouper was awesome though. But $16 martini plus 1 dinner and appetizer cost $70. That's for 1 person.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3

Good food, but experience was not worth it.

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

The restaurant was so loud that we could hardly hear ourselves think!!

There is something wrong with the room, every table sounded like they were shouting.

The food was very good, probably eating at the bar would be a good experience.

The service was good, but not outstanding. I think for the price, it was an overall disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

Ray

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

the restaurant was not full but it took a while to get our drinks. Two people ordered a salad and a soup. After they were finished with the starters it tool over an hour to get our meal. Three tables came in after we did and one was served, completed their meal and left before we were served. The other two tables were served before us. When we inquired about the delay and other service the waiter stated that they like for the party to enjoy the starters and then have time to relax. Pretty lame!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Catch is a superb restaurant, 5-Star cuisine!

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

If you are anywhere near Wilmington NC, "Catch" is the place you want to go for a superb meal. Creative and delicious cuisine (including desserts)!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good but pricy

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

This restaurant was recommended by a friend. When I am in the Wilmington area I love to eat fresh seafood and Catch seemed like a great idea. The food was very good but I thought the options available were a bit different than what I expected. I am used to spending a lot on a meal for special occasions, which this was, but I did not think the value was there for the offerings, portion sizes and ambience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Seafood was fresh and good. Uses local s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 23, 2016

Seafood was fresh and good. Uses local seafood and not the import stuff. I had the NC crab cakes and was very good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Never Disappointed

vip
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Four of us went there for dinner recently for my wife's birthday. We live in Charlotte but try to visit this restaurant as often as possible when in town. We all had a different entrée and were jealous of each others plate. The food is incredible and never disappointing. The service and wait staff is always very good and a pleasure to talk with. Cant wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.