About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday through Saturday: 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Rhode Island
Best Food
Rhode Island
3 More
Best Service
Rhode Island
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Newport ›

special occasion (122)
scenic view (121)
romantic (111)
See All
fit for foodies (81)
notable wine list (58)
great for outdoor dining (56)
great for lunch (50)
great for brunch (41)
good for groups (21)
kid-friendly (9)
neighborhood gem (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1444 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful restaurant in magnificent set ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful restaurant in magnificent setting. Great food, great service. The fixed price meal was a treat to eat . The three course selection was plea t

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! The view of th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was wonderful! The view of the sunset and the bay from our table was the cherry on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall the best dinning experience that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Overall the best dinning experience that we had while in Newport, outstanding across the board, awesome wine list. Great for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is hard to imagine a better situated ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It is hard to imagine a better situated restaurant on the eastern seaboard. Located on the southwest tip of Newport, the views across the water to Jamestown sparkle in the evening sun. The dining room is small and quiet, the service efficient and friendly while remaining discreet. The tasting menu options are a bit complicated, but I was impressed by the presentation and taste of every course.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and views, however, the m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great location and views, however, the meal was overcooked. With such prices, you would expect more.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife went up to Castle Hill Inn for h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife went up to Castle Hill Inn for her birthday, as we have done for the past 10+ years (we don't live in Newport, if we did we would go more often). The meal and service was absolutely superb. We chose the six course tasting menu, but selected our own wine from their extensive wine list rather than the pairings (if you are an oenophile go to this restaurant, you will be impressed with their selection). The tasting menu was delicious. Each of the six courses was excellent, a melange of flavors and textures. When you go ask to sit in the glass alcove and go around sunset. My wife and I sat there looking over Narragansett Bay watching the sun go down as the sail and fishing boats returned to dock. It was a very romantic dinner, served by a crew that knew exactly what they were doing, with food and wine that you only manage to find rarely.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined with friends selecting the prix ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We dined with friends selecting the prix fixe 3 course menu. The service was exceptional, very attentive. The meal was excellent across the board. If there was one drawback it was that the portions were a bit small, however that being said, we did not leave the restaurant feeling hungry. The overall ambience was relaxed and the view of the ocean from the restaurant is spectacular. This was a special occasion type of experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I choose this spot based on the Opentab ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I choose this spot based on the Opentable encouraging reviews. I eat out often, I cannot remember being so disappointed in the food. I suppose being specific is important considering the number of positive reviews. Two of us were celebrating a reunion after many years. I ordered the salmon which was fine. My friend ordered the lamb priced at a premium. She asked for the meat to be medium but the first serving was raw. We notified Brian, he stated he would resolve. I waited to eat the salmon while the chef was committed cooking the meat properly. The lamb, when returned was cut in half, one side was cooked the other remained raw. The accompanying condiments were overcooked. In the meantime the salmon had cooled due to the time it took for the chef to reheat the lamb The lamb was still raw. I advised Brian, the waiter before leaving we were disappointed. He shook my hand as if the raw lamb was routine. In my view this was not a server issue but a chef's indifference.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Everything was perfect. I did find the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was perfect.

I did find the menu to be limited and yet complicated.

Perhaps I would have enjoyed the patio menu more.

No complaints. All is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an exceptional experience: the wi ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had an exceptional experience: the wine pairing was the best we could remember. The perfect location for a special occasion. Highly recommended.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food, the service, the friendliness ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food, the service, the friendliness of all the staff. Shout out to Carl, he' s a great guy. A memorable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined there for many years as I f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have dined there for many years as I followed Casey Riley from the Westin to Castle Hill. His influence is still present and I have never been disappointed, it is an experience and it my #1 choice in RI. The crew is great. Keep up the good work!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding. U ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Unfortunately the weather was not ideal and we could not see the boats going by, just a lot of fog, but everything else was perfect. I would recommend getting there early so you can spend some time on the lawn watching the sailboats go by and have a few cocktails before.

We would definitely go back again next time we are celebrating in Newport.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience could not have bee ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our dining experience could not have been better. From the attentiveness of the maitre 'd and servers to the superb cuisine of chef Rossi, our evening at Castle Hill was a memorable one!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We treated our son and his wife for thei ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We treated our son and his wife for their first anniversary. You can't beat The Inn at Castle Hill for location, service, and food. They provided complementary champagne for our celebration. The food was creatively and perfectly prepared. The dining room is a very formal and quiet atmosphere. Their outdoor area is much more casual.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was charming and romantic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our experience was charming and romantic. We ate in the curved dining room and enjoyed fine service from the entire staff. We drank in a gorgeous sunset as we dined. As a bnonus, we also were treated to 11 different fireworks shows (July 3rd) occurring across the Naraggansett Bay from what seemed like 10-15 mile views!

Sadly, It was too windy for us to enjoy the outdoor dining or sitting on the lawn (in chairs) before dinner, but we can imagine that to be a lot of fun.

HIGHLY recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy a memorable dinner experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service with well prepared food. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good service with well prepared food. The dinner is served over several courses and can be long. Our dinner was 3 1/2 hours with long waits in between courses. We didn't mind but other diners might dislike this type of dinner service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

One of America's great restaurants. Marv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of America's great restaurants. Marvellous food, impecable service and an unbeatable ambiance wether outdoors, by the sea, or in one of the cozy and elegant interior rooms

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful venue. Interesting food made w ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wonderful venue. Interesting food made with care. One big disappointment was our lamp chop was overcooked and had to go back. It took more than 20 minutes to bring the replacement, and for the kind of money they charge, accommodating our wine and beer might have been a classy touch. This really put a damper on what would have been a wonderful experience. I can't believe they were so cheap they could not comp a glass of wine and a beer for the incredible inconvenience...I expected better from this kind of operation. We were late for our next engagement because of it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

A lovely evening well worth the price. E ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

A lovely evening well worth the price. Excellent service, beautifully presented and delicious food. Stunning setting.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meal I have ever enjoyed. Fine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The best meal I have ever enjoyed. Fine dining with a touch of flair . Incredible flavors in each dish some keep you guessing.

Five stars for taste, presentation , originality and creativeness

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pricey, but worth every cent. Food was ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Pricey, but worth every cent. Food was fantastic, matched only by level of service. Great views.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Drinks on the lawn watching the fog roll ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Drinks on the lawn watching the fog roll in and out, sweet corner table in an Eastlake design dining room, caring service and delicious, well prepared food. What a fantastic way to celebrate a birthday!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

amazing experience...we can't wait to go ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

amazing experience...we can't wait to go back! We will return to Newport in part because of our experience at The Castle Hill Inn!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

when they called me to confirm reservati ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

when they called me to confirm reservation they said no jeans for dress code., I asked about nice jeans with blazer and they said no .. So my friend went and bought new pants.. There were three guys with Jeans on in dining room! My friend was very nice and told the manger .. He acknowledged it but didn't offer any explanation or offer a free drink or something for buying new pants. So I still don't understand dress code!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there to celebrate out 47th wed ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

We went there to celebrate out 47th wedding anniversary (we had also done so two years ago for our 45th). It would be an understatement to say it was outstanding! We were each treated at the outset to a complimentary glass of sparkling wine and the meal and service that followed were incredibly good. We certainly look forward to returning. It is one of the finest establishments that we have ever had the pleasure of visiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every aspect of our dining experience wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Every aspect of our dining experience was outstanding! The dining room was stunning. The service was professional as well as personable (I was reminded of the staff at Danny Meyer's restaurants). The food was truly memorable: Delicious, creative, attractively presented, and served in just the right portions and at the proper temperature. We chose the chef's tasting menu (and would choose it again) which contained a wonderful selection of dishes and was well paced for all courses. My dining companion chose the wine pairing. The server gave a brief description of each offering and the reason why that particular wine was chosen to complement each course, which added a bit of fun to it. Such a lovely evening and one that we won't soon forget.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We dined at Castle Hill for the second t ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined at Castle Hill for the second time recently and it continues to impress us. The service is phenomenal - the food delicious. Can't recommend this enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was excellent.

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The LAMB was it was very tough, no flav ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The LAMB was it was very tough, no flavor, the combination of sausge and red cabbage - did not compliment the lamb. Very salty. The price for this and quality was substandard. The halibut was the best I have had. Dessert was extremely good - the "chocolate hazelnut bar" was grand also was the sorbet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The setting and view are spectacular. Yo ...

 
 (New Mexico)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The setting and view are spectacular. You are surrounded on three sides of the dining room by Narragansett Bay. The service was stellar, each of the wait staff are professional, attentive without being intrusive and very pleasant and engaging. The food was delectable from appetizer through dessert. The presentation of the food was wonderful. It was a perfect setting to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was exactly what I had hoped the evening would be!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at the Castle Hi ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the Castle Hill Inn, starting with two glasses of Preseco(?) to toast our wedding anniversary. Each course was delicious and explained so well by our waiter Karl. The extra little treats between courses were great. (White asparagus tasting, beet sorbet) Overall, a great meal and evening with a nice view even though the weather was overcast. The sun did breakthrough while eating. Would recommend to others visiting the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great meal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was fantastic at Castle Hill! Our waiter Carl was just lovely, so attentive and new everything on the menu. I highly recommend this restaurant. A true Newport find!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best restaurant in Newport

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Newport

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food in a Spectacular Setting

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 2, 2016

Castle Hill Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the water and Jamestown; the dining room enjoys the best of the view. The fixed menus offered something for everyone's palate, the food was innovative and delicious. We especially enjoyed the offered wine pairings, which ranged from predictably appropriate to surprising and working well. We especially enjoyed the cookie dough soufflé for desert, the chef somehow included the cookie dough into a perfectly light and smooth soufflé. The pairing of a bitter stout with the soufflé was amazing.

Not a restaurant for every day, but a great place to celebrate an occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Terrific Place

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Everything about our meal here was terrific, including the view. The food & service is Michelin star quality. Really outstanding! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing as always!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Every single times here is such an experience!I love this place!The service is fully devoted, the location awesome and the food really tasty.Their lobster roll and the peach pie are a guarantee of success.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always the food was excellent. Our se ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

As always the food was excellent. Our server was attentive and really funny. Castle Hill is on our favorites list. 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. The food was as ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was outstanding. The food was as amazing as the location!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful Time

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Our group of five had a wonderful time. The food (individuals ordered very different dishes) was outstanding as was the service by Mae. The view from the dining room was spectacular. We dined in leisure in a quiet dining room on a Sunday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is not inexpensive though for a special occasion, it was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.