Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 14 times today

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

4.9
1853 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$50 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary American
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Good for Anniversaries
  • Worth the Drive
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary American, Seafood
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday through Thursday 5:45pm – 8pm
Friday & Saturday 5:45pm – 9pm
Mansion Bar 5:00pm – 10:00pm daily
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(401) 849-3885
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Louis Rossi
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Castle Hill Avenue
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1853 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.9based on recent ratings
4.8
food
4.9
service
4.8
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Quiet
92% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Everything was perfect. It was for an anniversary and the staff was exceptional. They were knowledgeable and friendly; very attentive but not overly so. Food was excellent and the setting with views of the water was terrific. Just an exceptional experience

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was good , but I got sick to my stomach after eating the soup course

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

Food was phenomenal, service was even better.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

If there were more stars I would have given them in every category! This place is spectacular. The flavor and presentation is amazing, the service impeccable from the moment you walk thru the door. We try to fit a dinner in here each time we are in Newport. It isn’t cheap, but the creativity and quality makes it worth the cost.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Went to Castle Hill for Mother's Day dinner. Our whole group was very impressed with the tasting menu and wine pairing. Very vibrant ingredients and unique flavors. The staff go above and beyond to ensure you are well informed and catered to.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

One of the best meals I have ever had!!! We chose the tasting menu along with the accompanying wines. Each dish was an adventure in taste and visual experience. For example, the bread pudding had a smear of onion paste in the bottom of the bowl and the server poured the clear broth over it all. Fabulous!
Our waitress was so very knowledgeable about the food and the wines served with the food. She loves her job which was so obvious. Fantastic evening!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Dining here is a special experience. The food was fantastic, the view is amazing and the service was exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 8, 2018

The service was phenomenal! Food was fresh and delicious. Beautiful dining room with a window facing the ocean.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Absolutely amazing food with impeccable service.
One of the more expensive dining experiences I have ever had.
My only complaint was the lack of view from the beautiful dining room where we were seated toward the back of the inn.
We could barely see any of the bay, although I could see the bar patrons nearby enjoying the fabulous view.
Apparently they had a private party in the better dining room...a fact I would have appreciated knowing when I made my reservation as I would have chosen another evening.
We appreciated the small welcome glass of bubbly and small parting gift in acknowledgement of our 50 the anniversary.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Great place with gorgeous view

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Our dinner was a wonderful experience! We had heard good things but were beyond pleased. Our server Alison was delightful, attentive and knowledgeable. My husband and I We’re both very happy with the food and beverage choices, we shared a wine pairing, which was not frowned upon, and the combinations were excellent. We enjoyed a four course meal with cocktails and wine with each course for just over 300 dollars and felt we totally got our money’s worth! Highly recommend, look forward to going back!!
All this with a beautiful view...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great place however, in comparison to other Newport Group restaurants we find this to not be our favorite choice. Boathouse Restaurant In Tiverton RI is much better value.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent spot for a special occasion. You will not be disappointed. Much better - food, ambiance, and value, than Ocean House in Westerly. Ask for Dan - he will make your night memorable and take good care of you!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We loved our experience at this restaurant. We enjoyed the 3 course tasting menu with wine parings plus some oysters. The waitstaff could not have been more polite and well informed. The food was absolutely delicious and artfully presented, once course better than the next. I would highly recommend this restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We went to celebrate my birthday! Beautiful place with a nice menu and wine list. Did the 4 course with pairing. The staff was knowledgeable and attentive. Overall wonderful experience and I would highly recommend. Also the view is breathtaking!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Great service and excellent meal overlooking the bay

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

It was another perfect evening. The food is well done and the staff is great. It is just special and pleasant - very comfortable, but fine. Looking forward to returning soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 24, 2018

This is hands down one of the best restaurants I have ever been to!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

My wife and I were there for our anniversary, everything about Castle Hill Inn was fantastic. The service, the view and especially the food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 21, 2018

I reserved a dinner at this restaurant and noted that it was for our anniversary celebration. I also called to confirm if they received the note. Upon check-in, we were seated at one of three dining rooms, of which was the worst one. They seated us in the back corner with no sunlight. I was completely shocked at how unthoughtful the seating arrangements were coordinated. From prior experiences, whenever I booked a reservation with a special occasion in New York, we've always been catered to each occasion and was never let down before. However, this was the first time where I felt the celebration was not taken into consideration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Excellent service. Fabulous food. Great wine list. Beautiful atmosphere

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

We had an amazing dinner on Friday evening. The service was outstanding. Our wait staff was very attentive without ever being intrusive. The pace of the service was very good and we were able to relax and enjoy a very leisurely dinner. The dinner choices were varied, creative and delicious. We loved the additional appetizer tasting and the palate cleanser in between courses as well. The outside of the inn is undergoing construction and outside our window was a large crane. The waitress asked if we would like to have our table moved, but as it was not in our direct line of sight we declined. While pricey, our meal and evening were wonderful. We would highly recommend the Dining Room at Castle Hill for your special occasion!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Lovely birthday dinner celebration. 3 course tasting menu was just perfect!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

One of the best meals I’ve had! I will definitely be back soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2018

Our server Caitlin was very attentive. We had a nice table overlooking the West Bay and the Point Judith Lighthouse. We enjoyed nice appetizers (steak tartare and asparagus) then had the dual beef followed by a chocolate incased mousse and ice cream . Food was excellent as were the views and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

Elegant restaurant in exquisite setting. Exceptional food, beautifully presented....and professional staff. 5 star+. 2 thumbs up. A definite 10. Highly recommended!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

I have heard so many good reviews and that the sunset view was lovely. They called the day before to confirm my reservation and explain their menu. Very nice.

All staff we encountered were professional. The only disappointment was the table, our view was to the parking lot! I asked if we could change our table. They were gracious enough to say yes. We happily move. But the next table had a view of the back of the kitchen. I mentioned to my husband that this view was worse.

The host heard and said there may be a table in the Sunset room. We moved a third time, but it was worth it. My poor husband. Lol!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

As usual, Newport Restaurant Group service, menu, cocktails, ambiance were all in play on the evening of our dinner. Beautiful sunset, came in through the Drive, to take advantage of those coastal views. Our dinner was superb.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Incredible food, impeccable service. It was the perfect dining experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent meal!!! We only wish that we had a table in the main dining room overlooking the ocean.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Fantastic, cannot wait to return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent food, service and ambiance. First class all the way.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Excellent service and memorable culinary choices are the norm here at Castle Hill. The dining room was busy but not crowded last Thursday evening; dinner is fine dining - never rushed. The staff , working as a team, are knowledgeable and helpful in guiding you through your courses. The chef oversees beautiful presentations, truly artistic masterpieces that delight the senses. Special thanks to Caitlin for making this a wonderful Newport experience - we will return!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

This is top of the line dining! We brought my parents here for a special occasion. The staff to table ratio is excellent; you get just the right amount of attention; without being intrusive. The extra touches - little treats between courses is great and makes it feel extra special and very indulgent if you want to make someone feel extra special. Great bar too if you want to get there a little early for a cocktail.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

This is a very special restaurant. Beautiful location, perfect service, amazing food. Have a drink on the lawn first, enjoy the ocean and the view. The only thing bad you can say about this restaurant.................It is not cheap to eat there. Special occasions, business dinner, or fine if money is no object in your life.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 7, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Exceptional; cuisine was amazing, service was perfection, & atmosphere is gorgeous.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 3, 2018

a must.since you seeing how the rich lived, its only appropriate for you to experience how the ruich ate.cant say enough about the location,service, and food.its pricey.but worth it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 30, 2018

It was wonderful and we will be back. I would recommend they speed up slightly between courses.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 28, 2018

Outstanding dining experience in every way!
World class food in a unique location by the Sea in beautiful Newport!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
47