Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (48)
ScenicView (48)
Romance (46)
See All
SpecialOccasions (38)
Anniversaries (37)
NotableWineList (28)
GoodForDates (25)
WorthTheDrive (24)
CreativeCuisine (24)
TastingMenu (22)
QuietConversation (21)
Foodies (18)
Birthdays (15)
Cozy (15)
LocalIngredients (13)
Historic (11)
Authentic (10)
OutdoorDining (10)
Fireplace (8)
BusinessMeals (7)
HandcraftedCocktails (6)
BarSeating (5)
NeighborhoodGem (4)
PeopleWatching (4)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
AfternoonTea (3)
Brunch (3)
Groups (3)
Organic (2)
PrivateRoom (2)
VibrantBarScene (2)
VegetarianOptions (2)
Lunch (2)
SundayLunch (2)
PrePostTheatre (1)
Fun (1)
GlutenFree (1)
MolecularGastronomy (1)
GreatBeer (1)
HotSpot (0)
Sort By:
S
1057 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We chose a night at The Castle Hill for our honeymoon and our dinner in the dining room was the absolute best meal I've ever had. It was a night we will never forget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We loved it. Great service excellent food and outstanding wine list. We had a ball. Ceo

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Cozy, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We went to Castle Hill expecting an amazing meal.... but it just wasn't. It was average. We had 4 in our party and we all got something different. A couple of dishes were of the quality we were expecting - roasted mushrooms for example. The other dishes were ok, but nothing exciting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

If ambiance, great food, great wine pairing and a friendly and attentive wait staff in Newport is what you are seeking, look no further. From the moment we arrived, it was an experience. For an addded visual binus,Plan your dinner so that you are finishing your last courses as the sun sets.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Anniversary vacation. 6 course chefs tasting menu was expensive, but superb. The wine pairings were outstanding. Service, ambience, and the view were wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

absolutelys tunning location. They gave us a wonderful table, was very kind. Service was impeccable. Portions were quite large and didn't seem to be adjusted down for multi-course. The wine pairing was very good. Food was very good, just not 5 star. Fish main course was a bit dry & not terribly original. Steak Tartare specialty was outstanding. Very much worth it for the view and overall experience.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 10, 2017

A fine dining experience in a spectacular setting
The Dining Room at Castle Hill provides an excellent fine dining experience. Our group of five was very pleased with all aspects. We started with the scallop crudo special. We then progressed through the 3 course tasting menu. Two of us had the wine pairings. All the wines were well chosen and thoughtfully explained. All the mains were superb. I was particularly impressed with the lamb main which was a collection of lamb cuts and preparations. Excellent. The accompanying vegetables were satisfactory but not wowing. My rhubarb tart would have benefited from more rhubarb flavor. All the amuse bouche presentations were very nice as was the collection of small truffles and candies at the end.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 7, 2017

The dining room at Castle Hill has been a favorite for years. Perfect for a special wedding anniversary celebration!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Fantastic tasting menu, excellent service and unbeatable views - highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Excellent food options in the pre fixe menu. We each loved our selections and the tasty morsels offered in addition. Service attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

The best meal I've had in Newport, hands down. Tasting menu was great, pacing was good, and service was awesome.

Tags: Waterfront, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 31, 2017

The menu is prixe fixe and we had the wrong understanding of the chef's tasting menu. It was our very expensive mistake. But what was annoying was the 45 minute wait to just order. There's no reason it should have taken that long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 24, 2017

Lovely service. They aim to please. We enjoyed our waiter.He was informative and excellent.I did have a problem with the main course. It was not up to standards. I spoke with the waiter and manager. They were glad that I spoke up. Corrective criticism is important at a restaurant of that quality. They were kind enough to not charge for the tea and also charged half price for my glass of wine. Upon leaving they gave me a jar of their jam. Again I was okay with this. I would go back and dine there again,when we return for a future trip.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My wife and I eaten at Castle Hill on Mother's Day for the past several years. This time long time friends joined us, and we all agreed the experience was fantastic -- as usual.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Historic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Came here for our anniversary, chose 3 course pre fixe with pairings, expensive BUT... amazing food and pairings, service was on point .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Amazing! From the wine to the complimentary jar of preserves!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 13, 2017

It was a lovely spot for my birthday dinner. Even though it was a chilly and rainy night, we had a drink at the outside bar and had a seat by the window in the dining room with lovely views. This is definitely an expensive place, but we felt the food, ambiance and service were worth it. The service is very attentive. We chose to do the wine pairings with the tasting menu and while it was nice to try multiple wines, I'm not sure it's a very good value (you only really get half a glass of each wine). Also, I'm not a big sherry/port drinker which is the likely pairing with dessert. We did the 3 course pairing and shared everything, and we truly found all of the entrees and appetizers to be delicious and special. I would certainly recommend Castle Hill for an anniversary, birthday, or other special occasion. I know my parents (in their 60's) would love it too. Thank you!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Seasonal, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Birthday dinner

Tags: Historic, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2017

The experience was worth it. We were sitting in the main dining room so we could see the sun setting during dinner. We did the four course option and it was plenty of food. Beef tartar was our favorite. We ordered the beef tenderloin and duck for our entrees and they were good. Wait staff was amazing. I would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had a terrific time. The Inn is in a beautiful setting. It has a small, quiet indoor dining room overlooking the water and we saw a great sunset. There appears to be a larger seating area outdoors that is used when the weather is warmer.

We went with the four course pre fixe meal (two first course items, an entrée and a dessert). Everything tasted wonderful. The pace of the meal was leisurely and perfect. The staff was extremely attentive and willing to explain the items on the menu.

We were very pleased and happy to pay more for the service, ambience and delicious meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very friendly staff who answered all food related questions with professionalism and respect.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent service, food the charm of old Newport. A very nice place for friends to meet and enjoy a quite night out.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was my first time having dinner in the dining room. The food presentation was wonderful. The waiter explained everything on the menu that was very comforting . It was outstanding view of the bay from our table. A wonderful place

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great view of bay, great service and tasting menus were spot on

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous food & service. It was my mom's birthday and Castle Hill Inn made it very special for her. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food and service was outstanding! Will be dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great value and experience for Newport restaurant week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing food, views, and service. Castle Hill Inn has classic taste, but harbors a very relaxed environment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I was appalled following a delicious meal and a wonderful evening to have the server ask if I had meant to leave the tip that was left. Confused by his question, knowing that I had left a sizeable tip, the server left to count the money again and returned to say he had miscounted. Frankly, this question is unacceptable regardless of the tip left. This completely ruined a special birthday dinner and the wonderful evening that we were having. I cannot recommend a restaurant with such poorly trained and rude staff. Deplorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent from start to finish. Restaurant Week menu (as well as standard menus) offered a nice selection of dishes--something for every taste. High quality ingredients, superbly prepared. Fine service--attentive but unobtrusive. The setting and ambiance are to die for. Our favorite meal in Newport, and one of the best anywhere.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our reservation for our monthly "girls night out" happened to fall during Newport Restaurant Week. We liked the their NRW menu, so decided to head to Castle Hill.
Our meals were delicious with creative presentation.
We were not rushed and spent a good amount of time visiting through out our dining. A very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Location... Location... Location. Nothing better than the views of Jamestown and Narragansett Bay from the Dining Room at the Inn. We went with the three course prix fixe option, which is steep at $80, but well worth it for the service, quality, and unparalleled view. We went with an earlier reservation 5:45 to make sure we had some daylight to enjoy the view. Portions are small, but filling after amuse-bouche and three courses. As dessert options include soufflé, be prepared to place your full order from the get go. Also, be aware of the price-ups for some entrees (Duck +$12). You really cannot go wrong with anything on the menu and the servers are knowledgeable about the menu (and didn't try to upsell, which was refreshing). If you are drinking wine, review the wine list in advance, as the list is extensive and a little homework will uncover some very good wines at a lower mark-up.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A "foodie's" paradise! great ambience and well rehearsed service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food is amazing and the service impeccable. It is expensive but well worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fireplace, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Organic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

After living in Newport for over a year, we finally made it to Castle Hill to celebrate our anniversary, and were not disappointed. Food, service and ambiance were fantastic, we look forward to returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Dan was on point! Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve Dinner...outstanding setting, exceptional food (great chef created a very special menu), Dancing to fabulous band with an amazing singer, impeccable service (Our server, Dan, made for great evening). Can't wait until next year!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Why is it that some very fine restaurants take advantage of holidays like New Year’s Eve and serve abysmal food at exorbitant prices? Why is it that the Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn did that at a “Capodanno” dinner I and three dinner guests attended on December 31, 2016?

We knew it would be a limited and expensive tasting menu; but we were still excited about the Italian theme. After all, it was Castle Hill.

Unfortunately, I spent over $800 for that meal and I felt robbed. The “Bagna Cauda” opener, typically a hot dipping sauce made with garlic, oil, and anchovies that’s served with assorted fresh vegetables, was nothing more than a pile of wilted greens with a dressing that tasted like it came from a bottle. It could have been an extraordinary opportunity for an otherwise fine kitchen to do something uniquely spectacular with this rustic, yet elegant dish; instead we got a graceless, amateurish, and no doubt cost-conscious heap of greens and some kind of fluid that likely, at some point, had a Kraft label on it.

Our long-awaited holiday dinner at Castle Hill went downhill from there.

Another course, sausage with lentils, had a spicy after-taste that was reminiscent of a Sabrett hot dog. The pork braciola, with a pre-cooked texture that could have doubled as shoe leather, had a bread-like stuffing that tasted like something out of a days’ old turkey. A fish course was served. At least we think it was fish.

My wife and another guest ordered a risotto and added white truffles (at a $38 surcharge per serving). The rice was terribly under-cooked, about as creamy as sand, and the truffles were tasteless. The desert was so unimaginative it’s not worth mentioning. The Inn’s renowned wine list offered the only satisfaction during the meal.

It was a terribly disappointing, valueless, and costly experience. One we’ll not repeat for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My husband and I went to Castle Hill and had a great meal! We did the 3 course dinner with the wine paring and it was amazing! The food was outstanding, and the wines that the chef pick to go with our meal was perfect! If you get a chance to go to Castle Hill, especially around Christmas, it is so beautifully decorated!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Beautiful historic facility. First class service, creative menu, stunning views.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.