Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (37)
Scenic View (36)
Waterfront (33)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (21)
Worth the Drive (20)
Good for a Date (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Cozy (17)
Historic (14)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Fireplace (10)
Authentic (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Healthy (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Seasonal (4)
Business Meals (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Organic (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Private Room (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Dancing (1)
Fun (1)
Gluten Free Options (0)
Sort By:
S
1642 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The experience was worth it. We were sitting in the main dining room so we could see the sun setting during dinner. We did the four course option and it was plenty of food. Beef tartar was our favorite. We ordered the beef tenderloin and duck for our entrees and they were good. Wait staff was amazing. I would definitely go back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

We had a terrific time. The Inn is in a beautiful setting. It has a small, quiet indoor dining room overlooking the water and we saw a great sunset. There appears to be a larger seating area outdoors that is used when the weather is warmer.

We went with the four course pre fixe meal (two first course items, an entrée and a dessert). Everything tasted wonderful. The pace of the meal was leisurely and perfect. The staff was extremely attentive and willing to explain the items on the menu.

We were very pleased and happy to pay more for the service, ambience and delicious meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Incredible place. The menu is outstanding and the service impeccable

Tags: Fireplace, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 18, 2017

What an evening ! We arrived 30 minutes than the reservation to take advantage of the sunset. With a glass of wine we sat outside on the lawn and enjoyed fantastic views of the water/sunset. It is not summer yet so a little windy and we came inside and were seated immediately. The service was outstanding..and coordinated. The food presentation and quality was superior. We had a very good evening and I would recommend to anyone in the RI area..it is well worth any drive to get to ...and coincidentally is at the beginning of the 10 mile drive in the Mansion area, a very enjoyable take. Such a special evening at a special restaurant and Inn.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Beautiful, historic mansion overlooking the water. Wait staff had a slow start but overall was excellent. Food was amazing. We had a gift voucher for two free three-course meals, including tax and tip. We went with three other people. We dine out a lot and even with our voucher, we were surprised at the high total of the bill. They really upcharge on drinks ($14 glass of wine) and the halibut had an additional upcharge of $12 - small print - didn't see it until after I ordered. Overall, this is a great place for a special occasion, but very pricey for a regular night out.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Very friendly staff who answered all food related questions with professionalism and respect.

Tags: Cozy, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Excellent service, food the charm of old Newport. A very nice place for friends to meet and enjoy a quite night out.

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We are NEVER disappointed when we dine at Castle Hill. The service, ambience, location, menu/beverage selection and overall experience are consistently 5 star.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 13, 2017

This was my first time having dinner in the dining room. The food presentation was wonderful. The waiter explained everything on the menu that was very comforting . It was outstanding view of the bay from our table. A wonderful place

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Great view of bay, great service and tasting menus were spot on

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Castle Hill Inn has excellent food and excellent service. The menu consists of prix fixe options (3 course, 4 course, and 6 course) with optional wine pairings. Each of our courses (first, main, dessert) consisted of extremely well prepared high quality options. The wine pairing were exceptional. We greatly enjoyed our dining experience. The level of service was also exceptional. Multiple individuals worked in unison to exchange silver and glasses, deliver food, and pour wine. As one might expect, this level of cuisine and service does not come cheap.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Fabulous food & service. It was my mom's birthday and Castle Hill Inn made it very special for her. Highly recommend it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Joaquin)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Food and service was outstanding! Will be dining here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Great value and experience for Newport restaurant week!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Amazing food, views, and service. Castle Hill Inn has classic taste, but harbors a very relaxed environment.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I was appalled following a delicious meal and a wonderful evening to have the server ask if I had meant to leave the tip that was left. Confused by his question, knowing that I had left a sizeable tip, the server left to count the money again and returned to say he had miscounted. Frankly, this question is unacceptable regardless of the tip left. This completely ruined a special birthday dinner and the wonderful evening that we were having. I cannot recommend a restaurant with such poorly trained and rude staff. Deplorable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

I was in Rhode Island on business and leisure. I have come to see the lighthouse and the beautiful views in the past. My husband and I have never had a perfect dinner meal in Newport area! The Chef did an awesome cuisine for Resturant Week. Katlin, and the staff looked like they enjoy working for Castle Hill also. Thank you, The Alexanders

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Historic, Cozy, Waterfront, Organic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Beautiful semi formal setting on the water. The cuisine is creative and delicious. The staff is very friendly and knowledgeable. Perfect for an upscale meal,special occasion,date night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Private Room, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Excellent from start to finish. Restaurant Week menu (as well as standard menus) offered a nice selection of dishes--something for every taste. High quality ingredients, superbly prepared. Fine service--attentive but unobtrusive. The setting and ambiance are to die for. Our favorite meal in Newport, and one of the best anywhere.

Tags: Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at Castle Hill in the past and have always enjoyed it. Unfortunately our recent visit was a huge disappointment. I hate to say it, but I would have to rate my dinner as the most tasteless entree I have ever had, anywhere. And the presentation was not even close to Castle Hill standards! Hopefully this is not the norm, as I would hate to think that Castle Hill has lower it's standards to this.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 28, 2017

Our reservation for our monthly "girls night out" happened to fall during Newport Restaurant Week. We liked the their NRW menu, so decided to head to Castle Hill.
Our meals were delicious with creative presentation.
We were not rushed and spent a good amount of time visiting through out our dining. A very nice evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Walking into castle hill I had great expectations. The dining experience was warm and welcoming where they refer to you by your reservation name. The experience is one of a kind where everything is paced out slowly. However this is where we ran into trouble. My dinner entre came out freezing cold but the plate was incredibly hot, meaning it had been sitting for at least 5-15 minutes. It was hard to get a servers attention and my friend had finished her meal before they came over to ask how everything was. Other than that the experience was delightful and they seem very organized. However, I would recommend that if the food is ready and hot, bring it out even if the appetizer plate has not been cleared yet. I'd rather have two hot meals at once than one freezing entre to suffer through.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Lovely setting, delicious food served most elegantly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Location... Location... Location. Nothing better than the views of Jamestown and Narragansett Bay from the Dining Room at the Inn. We went with the three course prix fixe option, which is steep at $80, but well worth it for the service, quality, and unparalleled view. We went with an earlier reservation 5:45 to make sure we had some daylight to enjoy the view. Portions are small, but filling after amuse-bouche and three courses. As dessert options include soufflé, be prepared to place your full order from the get go. Also, be aware of the price-ups for some entrees (Duck +$12). You really cannot go wrong with anything on the menu and the servers are knowledgeable about the menu (and didn't try to upsell, which was refreshing). If you are drinking wine, review the wine list in advance, as the list is extensive and a little homework will uncover some very good wines at a lower mark-up.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Historic, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Had another wonderful dinner at Castle Hill. The menu had just changed from their online version which worked out well for us. The food we ordered was all delicious. The treats they offer are great. The staff is very friendly, relaxed and efficient. We had the best seats with a great view of the water. Come to think of it, this may be my favorite dining place.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Service in the beginning was extremely disappointing. As we sat down and had to wait over 5 mins before someone approached us. (at this price point that was unacceptable) Once we were acknowledged and placed our order things turned out great! The food and the choice of wine pairing was outstanding!!! Every server that bought out our food was very helpful and explained our dish and why the wine was chosen for that plate. All said in done I will be back in May for a birthday dinner again. Thank you for making it a great evening !

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

A "foodie's" paradise! great ambience and well rehearsed service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Picturesque view, wonderful food and excellent service make Castle Hill a perfect place for a special night out. The staff was attentive, friendly and informative. The view as the sun set was wonderful. This particular dinner was to celebrate a birthday - we received a special desert and small gift (lovely jam from the area.) It is a prefix menu so can be expensive however the service, view and quality of food create an experience money can't buy.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food is amazing and the service impeccable. It is expensive but well worth every penny.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fireplace, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Organic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

After living in Newport for over a year, we finally made it to Castle Hill to celebrate our anniversary, and were not disappointed. Food, service and ambiance were fantastic, we look forward to returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had a tremendous evening. This is a true dining experience. Our server, Harrison, was extremely knowledgeable, courteous and professional.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Amazing experience, will definitely return! Thank you to the staff for making our date night so magical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Dan was on point! Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, but maybe too few choices on the menu. Out of seven things (appetizers and main) we only could 'understand' about three of them - makes it challenging to decide which might suit our tastes . . .

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a truly amazing dinner and experiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service were both excellent. The attention to detail by the staff was as good as I have ever experienced. Well worth the cost for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had an elegant dinner for our Anniversary at Castle Hill. The food was superb. We chose the wine pairings suggested by the chef and each was delightful. The staff was attentive and informative without being overbearing or intrusive. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Superb dining and service. Exceptional in every way, from the moment you are greeted by the manager, to the impeccable wait staff (Alex, Nick, Brian, etc.) The food is absolutely delicious and uniquely prepared with every attention to detail. A fabulous experience not to be missed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the fine dining at your restaurant. The service was wonderful and the dinner was superb! We enjoyed the ambience and had a lovely time. Excited to come back for another visit!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great restaurant with highly knowledgeable and professional staff. Delicious menu, congrats to the chef. Waterfront location with gorgeous views. Worth every penny!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.