Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.3

Noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (65)
Special Occasion (61)
Waterfront (53)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (51)
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (45)
Good for a Date (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Creative Cuisine (37)
Tasting Menu (35)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Local Ingredients (33)
Notable Wine List (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Cozy (11)
Authentic (10)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Great for Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
People Watching (7)
Seasonal (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Organic (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
1755 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Lovely dining room overlooking the water with beautiful sunsets (so we are told-it was raining when we went!). Prix fixe menu has several creative selections with seafood, meat and vegetarian options. Portions are a generous considering this is a multi-course meal; we went with three courses and I couldn't finish my dessert. Highly recommend the wine pairing option, which definitely elevated the already delicious food. Everything was flavorful and perfectly cooked and the service was top-notch. It was the perfect choice for our anniversary dinner, and we will definitely return next time we are in Newport. Worth the cost!

Tags: Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 10, 2017

Choosing our favorite course among the six offered on the tasting menu befuddled us. Surely it was the tuna, but what about the pheasant or the lucious beet salad? In other words, everything delighted us, including the weird sounding but ultimately delicious desert...grape soufflé with peanut butter sauce (a riff on a PBJ sandwich).

The dinner was a memorable highlight to a birthday visit to Newport. Lest I forget, my partner and I shared a complimentary mini birthday cake (the size of a cupcake). Something bright blue with speckles cannot be that good -- but it was.

The service matched the food...simultaneously professional and caring. In short, don't miss the place.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Awesome Place. We waited till the last day of our vacation to try this place and wish we would have went here first and everyday in between. The meal was one of the best I have had in a long time. Will definitely be back on our next trip!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Married at Castle Hill...always a great way to spend our anniversary.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Was delicious and romantic. Food was great. We should have arrived earlier to have a drink at the outdoor bar overlooking ocean sunset.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The setting, the food and the wine are all exceptional. Elegant dining, sophisticated service and superb wine make this a must go to location for fine dining in Newport. Al did a great job of providing a high level of service and information. The food is prepared perfectly as is the presentation. Go with the 3 course meal. Bu have the chef prepare what they think is th best meal they are serving. Had pheasant with a great chardonnay. Worth it and also fun.
C

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Breathtaking views from the dining room! Our table was next to the window, but I don't think any table could have a bad view in this place. There are only about a dozen tables in the dining room, so it is quiet and romantic. The service is outstanding and made me feel like a VIP; from the complementary valet, to the greeting from the hostess, and straight through the entire dining experience. It was definitely a special treat to have dinner here to celebrate a birthday! Expensive, as the menu offers 3-course, 4-course, or 6-course tasting, but we knew that going in. You can choose to have wine pairings with any of the dinner options, which we opted not to do, but discussed coming back to do so in the future. The swordfish was fresh-as-can-be, as was the tuna. The flavors in everything we had were delicious, especially the dessert! I would definitely recommend this to someone looking to celebrate something very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Phenomenal top knotch service and meal. Nick and the service team were excellent! Chef tasting menu ranked amongst the best we havs had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Excellent service. Great food. Sunset view worth the drive

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 28, 2017

We celebrated my niece's birthday there with the wine pairing chefs menu. Everything was delicious and the pairings amazing. The staff that took care of us from the welcome at the door to all the people at our table who served us were friendly, professional and happy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 23, 2017

The food, service, and view were spectacular! We had the four course prefix with wine pairing. Two starters, a main and a dessert. We tried the pork belly. It was infused with a plum sauce and was exquisite as was the tuna and the beef tenderloin. We had a wonderful table overlooking the water. The sunset was amazing as was the total experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Great experience from the moment we entered Castle Hill until the time we left. Service was impeccable, the food was beautifully plated and delicious, the little extras were special. Will definitely return!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Amazing service, great ambiance, wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The meal and presentation was superb. Every dish was tasty and the pairings were spot on. Only complaint was I felt they rushed the courses a bit. Didn't have time to finish my cocktail before the appetizer and first pairing arrived, and that cadence continued. Other than that it was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 18, 2017

The perfect balance of friendliness and excellent service. Too often there is dichotomy of either too familiar and intrusive on one end or haughty superiority on the other.
The food was very well prepared and the fixed price levels allowed the diner to match their appetite with their pocketbook.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2017

Lovely spot, attentive service and excellent food. While a very nice dining experience, we did feel a bit rushed by the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Dinner was delicious and service was great. The dining room is beautiful

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was pretentious
We had to ask for water refill and bread
Food was good but not fantastic
Price was expensive for what you got

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 15, 2017

OMG. The food was absolutely amazing. From the bread to the dessert. The staff was incredibly professional. We were given tiny plates in between courses to cleanse the pallet. The food was cooked perfect and very flavorful. The portions were not oversized yet they were very filling.

It is pricey, however it is worth the experience. If you can afford to treat yourself to a meal fit for royalty then this place is a must go to. It is business casual, however many of the men wore jackets. Only a collard shirt is required. For women it is easy.

We arrived early so we decided to drive along the coastline which was absolutely beautiful.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Incredible service , fantastic food and one of the best views in Newport . We were there for our 25th anniversary and the staff really made our special meal truly memorable. We went a little early and had a cocktail on the Lawn as we watched the sunset over the water

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 9, 2017

A true fine dining experience. Creative and delicious food with an emphasis on local ingredients. The service was superb. Everyone who came to the table addressed us by name and all were completely knowledgeable. The wonderful view across the bay and a beautiful sunset wrapped up the whole package.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Excellent great around dining experience service was excellent

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Celebrated our 32nd anniversary at the Castle Inn, as we have every year. Always excellent food, service, and ambiance. Will definitely go back next year!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 29, 2017

We visited Castle Inn for a romantic birthday dinner for my boyfriend. This establishment is a gastronomic tour de force. We arrived early to enjoy a cocktail on the lawn, however, rain precluded that. The bar inside was cozy and we were promptly served with drinks. This mansion is lovely, and we had a window seat in a cozy room. And now the best part, we were attended to by Harrison who is a perfect personality for the incredible cuisine that followed. From my beets appetizer to a tuna main, and my guy's vegetable ravioli to duck, all so incredibly delicious. We typically do not have dessert, but wow, we sure enjoyed chocolate cake with pistachio ice cream and raspberry soufflé. And, Harrison was kind enough to accompany all of this with a delectable birthday cake. My new favorite restaurant in the world, and we decided that we will visit annually from New York. Kudos to Castle Inn!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 29, 2017

We went here to celebrate our anniversary and everything was perfection from the start.
We are travel magazine publishers and eat our often around the country. It doesn't get any better than this.

Tags: Scenic View, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Incredible food, incredible presentation, incredible service. The homemade rolls alone are worth it! We even took the leftover rolls in a doggy bag.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Wonderful dinner
I haven't enjoyed a dinner as much as I did last night at Castle Hill. The combination of fine cuisine along with simple garden vegetables was impeccable.
The service was professional,attentive, knowledgeable showed a interest in our dining experience st all times. The server Desiree was fabulous.
Bravo Castle Hill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Absolutely outstanding... food, service, ambiance and experience...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 24, 2017

3 course prix fix food was incredible, service attentive, fabulous wine list. We go every year and once again a near perfect experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

Impeccable service, warm atmosphere, remarkable cuisine. Special thanks to Alex and Dan for taking such good care of us.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We had a wonderful anniversary dinner. The food and service were exemplary. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 21, 2017

Castle Hill is top notch from the moment you drive in until you leave. We had a beautiful time enjoying one of the most delicious dinners we've ever had. You can just tell the vegetables and fruit are so farm fresh. You can just taste it in every bite.

We had Carl as part of the wait staff and he was outstanding. He was easy going, friendly, professional in every sense of the word. I just adored him.

Since this was a birthday for my husband, Castle Hill even made a special little sponge cake with a candle in it for him.

We would go back in a second.

Also would like to say unfortunately I don't remember his name, but there was a young man at the reservation desk who was beyond helpful when we were deciding whether to sit outside or inside, but I'm so glad we tried the formal dining room. It was a great experience. I can't say enough about it or all of the people working there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 21, 2017

The food was tremendous. Chef Rossi is an outstanding chef! The head waiter, Dan Moriarty was terrific as were Steve and Maggie, who also waited our table. It was our anniversary, and can't wait to go back.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Been there many times before t this visit was especially outstanding, Dans great

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We always enjoy Castle Hill, which is our favorite restaurant and has become a tradition for our wedding anniversary which has now reached 39 years. The sunset was fabulous and Alfred, our main waiter, was very gracious.
We were sad to see a less formal and somewhat raucous atmosphere in the dining room which, unfortunately, mirrors other dining experiences that we have become accustomed to in recent years. No longer are jackets even suggested for the gentlemen and conversation was difficult due to the volume of noise, at times. This restaurant is no longer a sanctuary from the newer trends, which we will miss.
Nonetheless, we hope for a return to a more "civilized" atmosphere and will return, with renewed anticipation

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 18, 2017

One if the most wonderful and truly exceptional dining experiences. The staff is attentive and very well educated to offer suggestions of food and wine pairings. Expensive but so well worth what you pay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Alex our server was attentive and made excellent recommendations. We chose the 3 course meal with the wine pairings. The food was delicious and the Sommelier chose exceptional wines that went well with each course. It was a wonderful birthday experience!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Fantastic in every possible way. The staff are super experienced and way too good. We were served by Carl who was extremely Attentive and very pleasant to deal with. Returning again in 2 weeks. Obviously, highly recommend it :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

Castle hill is amazing! Everything was perfect!! Our dinner was spectacular! Extraordinary service, extraordinary food and ambiance was superb! Every bite was a culinary delight!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Beyond amazing experience . Service was beyond outstanding and Caitlyn couldn't have been any more than perfect and caring to every need. Food was exceptional and our best dining experience in Newport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.