About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday 5:45pm – 8:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:45pm – 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Chi Dining Room - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Interior - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Ambiance - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Exterior - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Food - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Food - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Food - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Food - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Food - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI
Garden - The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn, Newport, RI

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Rhode Island
Best Food
Rhode Island
5 More
Best Service
Rhode Island
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Romantic
Rhode Island
Special Occasion
Rhode Island
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Newport ›

Special Occasion (52)
Romantic (43)
Scenic View (38)
See All
Waterfront (38)
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Worth the Drive (29)
Notable Wine List (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Good for a Date (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (20)
Historic (19)
Local Ingredients (15)
Tasting Menu (14)
Cozy (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Fireplace (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Fun (7)
Authentic (7)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Business Meals (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Seasonal (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Healthy (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Casual (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Organic (2)
Family Style (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sort By:
S
1528 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Everything about our night was perfect, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything about our night was perfect, from start to finish. Fine dining, unbelievably delicious food, extremely attentive and experienced staff and a lovely setting made for a perfect evening. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A special place! A pre fix menu was a s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

A special place!

A pre fix menu was a surprise, opentable should be aware and publish that it is the only way you can dine. There is No alacarte menu.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding taste and wonderfully paced ...

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined 4 days ago

Outstanding taste and wonderfully paced service. Pairings were a a real treat. Fun!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the second time that my husband ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is the second time that my husband and I dined at Castle Hill, and we have been delighted both times. This is not your every day dining experience. Business casual attire is required (collars for men, but many were in full suits or sports jackets). There are options for pre-fixe 3 or 4 course meals (with and without wine pairings) for a set price, or a traditional chef selected 6 course pairing menu (with or without wine pairings). We've opted for the 3 and 4 course meals, and it is a lot of food. They are each a set price, and then you select from approximately 6-8 choices per course.

While we love to eat out and try new restaurants, we don't consider ourself 'foodies' perse...we like to know what we are eating, and be able to pronounce it. Often restaurants like this I find the food to be too pretentious, but not here. It uses local, in season, creative ingredients in a way that is still approachable and absolutely delicious.

The service here is the best I've ever had at a restaurant outside of a private club. They address you by your name the entire meal, and make you feel like you're really at home. Plan on at least 2.5 hours for a leisurely dining experience (for 4 course for 2 people, longer if you do the 6 course tasting menu).

You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated the first night of our "mi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We celebrated the first night of our "mini-moon" at the Castle Hill Inn after arriving in Newport. It was the final night of Restaurant Week, and we were able to taste multiple items on the menu. Everything was delicious and clearly well thought out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Very special restaurant. Food and servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very special restaurant. Food and service were exceptional. Menu varied in price but was well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful as always! My husband have nev ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful as always! My husband have never had a bad evening at Castle Hill Inn

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was restaurant week. The menu is very ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was restaurant week. The menu is very constrained, but they did a nice job accomodating vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The food was outstanding - hands down to ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was outstanding - hands down to the chef - local fare with fantastic ambiance. The service we received was above and beyond our expectations.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Our family gathered from Newport, the Ca ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our family gathered from Newport, the Cape, and Boston to share a meal. The food was delicious, the Inn was beautiful, and the service was impeccable. We had a memorable meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything about our dining experience w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was perfect! The warm welcome by the staff, the excellent service and over-the-top food and drinks made for a great night out. Newport is beautiful, and our table offered a lovely view of the ocean with a near 3/4 moon - so enticing. We plan to visit again in the spring and Castle Hill will definitely be on our must-do list.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it!! Newport restaurant week. Alway ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Love it!! Newport restaurant week. Always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was very good and service was outst ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was very good and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The staff at Castle Hill are outstanding ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The staff at Castle Hill are outstanding. The food was excellent. i cannot recommend this restaurant enough. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect in every way. The food and prese ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect in every way. The food and presentation were amazing. Best seafood meal that we have ever had. Pace of meal was perfect too. This time of year it was dark, so no idea what the view would be like. We went during restaurant week, but selected the normal full price menu, very pleased that we did, worth every penny.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, service and food. Pric ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great atmosphere, service and food. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall, what I found most impressive wa ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Overall, what I found most impressive was the service. All the wait staff were extremely personable and professional without being overly intrusive. They were also very attentive. The food was excellent; the poached quail's egg steeped in Earl Grey tea was amazingly flavorful (it was served as an amuse bouche). The portions were very generous (I had the Maine lobster). Regina, our main server, was very professional and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I surprised my wife with an anniversary ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I surprised my wife with an anniversary trip to Newport and made a reservation at the Dining Room at Castle Hill. We walked in about 30 minutes before our reservation and headed to the bar for a glass of wine. The bartender was friendly and attentive, and we loved the recommended wines. We were seated in a room with a view of the water, and had a spectacular meal with excellent service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience in a beautiful sett ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful experience in a beautiful setting. Will go back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional dinner.

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Exceptional dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Without a doubt ,the finest restaurant i ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Without a doubt ,the finest restaurant in Newport. It excels in every aspect of fine dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for our 25th anniversary dinner. S ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Went for our 25th anniversary dinner. Service was excellent. The food was delicious; had the prex fixe with the wine pairing, and the portion sizes for both the food and wine were perfect. Fairly pricey, but worth it for special occasions. Would definitely come here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic ambiance , excellent service a ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fantastic ambiance , excellent service and incredible food!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic eating experience , superior s ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fantastic eating experience , superior service and staff, awesome location!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply the best meal we have had in year ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Simply the best meal we have had in years. I am 74 and have had the opportunity to eat in many fine restaurants all over the world. The food, service and ambiance at your place is as fine as I have ever experienced. We hope to return and perhaps spend a night or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my 93 yo mother here for her birthd ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Took my 93 yo mother here for her birthday dinner. Access for elderly was excellent (a ramp and assistance from the staff both helped). Our seating was prompt. Service was exceptionally proficient and polished, and menu explanations were clear and practiced. While pricey, the quality and preparation of the meal were both well executed, together with the wine pairings. We thought that the value/price relationship was reasonable, considering the quality of food, service, and ambience. The restaurant is very quiet.. conducive to low conversation, which we enjoyed. The view of the entrance to Narragansett Bay was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Carl was fantastic - and so was our incr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Carl was fantastic - and so was our incredible meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The dinner was fantastic. Very happy cho ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The dinner was fantastic. Very happy choosing the Castle Inn for our anniversary . You won't be disappointed .

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Waterfront, Organic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I recently treated myself to an early bi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I recently treated myself to an early birthday adventure. Dining at Castle Hill Inn was a part of the itinerary. We arrived early to watch the glorious sunset. It was magical! The meal was tasty, but the atmosphere was the selling point!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

The prix fixe menu was filled with excep ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The prix fixe menu was filled with exceptional choices.

We had a gluten free guest with us and they couldn't have been more helpful towards her. Great job!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

website indicates "business casual" as a ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

website indicates "business casual" as attire. we were tourists for the weekend to this seaside town. informed by phone the day before that this means COLLARED SHIRT for men...my son's elegant cashmere sweater with suit jacket does not constitute business casual for them - so had to purchase a shirt in town beforehand.

appalled upon arrival that the maitre himself was dressed in a green striped short sleeved polo that he deemed "acceptable". we waited a good 5 minutes while he yakked loudly on the phone explaining the dress code to yet another poor blighter ...mercifully a young lady took over and checked us in and showed us our table. sunday evening and there was one other table occupied, and no other customers as yet waiting.

food was good, but initial reception less than professional. waitresses and servers made up for it throughout the meal, but restaurant should learn that the first impression is LASTING. especially at these prices and assumed level of cuisine.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Terrible host, abnormally rude. Not wort ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Terrible host, abnormally rude. Not worth the expense nor time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Our liaison Katelyn was fantastic! We ha ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 30, 2016

Our liaison Katelyn was fantastic! We had the four course meal and she made our experience. My swordfish was mushy and his tomato bisque was amazing, so we traded off pros and cons. My cappuccino after dinner hit the spot!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Modern Decor, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall fabulous

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Overall fabulous

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Alway such a treat. The elegance and sim ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Alway such a treat. The elegance and simplicity of this restaurant leaves you planning your next time back. I truly suggest this dining room to Everyone visiting Newport

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was wonderful and food was outst ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Service was wonderful and food was outstanding! Definitely will be back! Is a must try if you are in town looking to celebrate a special occasion or to have a beautiful sunset view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

If you like VIP treatment this is the pl ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 20, 2016

If you like VIP treatment this is the place for you! Everything was fantastic, service,wine and food. My lobster was great and husband duck was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After having a very unexceptional (and u ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 20, 2016

After having a very unexceptional (and unacceptable)

dining experienced at Castle Hill Inn several years ago ( there was a wedding going on ), with problems with both food and service, we decided to give it another try. The new experience was strictly top shelf from the moment we arrived. I had previously sent a note that we would be celebrating our anniversary. We were led into a more secluded side dining area and our waiter Brian introduced himself and proceeded to provide the finest service we have experienced short of Europe throughout the evening.

Totally first class. I was a little skeptical of the idea of a prix fixe menu in a fine dining situation, again, the meal and particularly with the wine pairings was exceptional throughout. All in all this was the antithesis of our previous experience at Castle Hill, we could not have been more pleased and will make a special point to dine there again the next time we are in Newport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Certainly the Castle Hill Inn Dining Roo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Certainly the Castle Hill Inn Dining Room is pricey. But the food was delicious and excellently prepared and presented. The service and ambiance were outstanding. The views are spectacular. A great place to enjoy a relaxing and satisfying dinner with friends or familt!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a pleasure to sit in the atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 19, 2016

Always a pleasure to sit in the atmosphere. Always a pleasure to interact with the staff. Always a pleasure to experience the artistry of the food. Always a pleasure.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.