Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi
  1. Distance: 0.35mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.48mi
  4. Distance: 1.30mi

About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (53)
Waterfront (49)
Special Occasion (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Romantic (40)
Tasting Menu (33)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for a Date (31)
Worth the Drive (30)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Quiet Conversation (26)
Notable Wine List (24)
Local Ingredients (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Authentic (11)
Business Meals (9)
People Watching (9)
Cozy (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Bar Seating (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Fun (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
1714 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Beyond amazing experience . Service was beyond outstanding and Caitlyn couldn't have been any more than perfect and caring to every need. Food was exceptional and our best dining experience in Newport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

We've dined at upper level restaurants all over the world, and this was not a good experience. Food was mediocre at best. Foie Gras torchon was just room temperature, soft and mushy, bad flavor. Beef tartare was nothing more than thin slices of beef on top of an inch of cream cheese, straight out of the package. Wild boar was salty, tasted like a bad ham. Cheese plate at the end was totally insulting, with 3 little pieces, a tasteless camembert, a dry crumbly blue cheese from Vermont, and a tasteless cheddar. They should be ashamed to serve this when there are so many great cheeses in the world to offer. Their excuse was supporting New England farmers. When I pay those kind of prices, I expect the best, even if it has to come from outside the local area. Waiter was snooty and didn't care about satisfying customers. Wine was OK. Don't go here if you're looking for "gourmet dining" or for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 9, 2017

best thing is the fabulous lawn. you can come here early and sit in lawn chairs and be served wonderful drinks while you watch the sunset.
We dined inside with the pre fixe 3 course meal which was fantastic. For dessert we chose a cheese course and shared a dessert. Great idea.
They do try to push you into higher priced wines, but the list is extensive and Im sure all are great.

Tags: Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

We enjoyed our special evening at Castle Hill. The food was exceptional and the service efficient and gracious. The views from dining room windows is spectacular!
My husband was disappointed with the flavor and texture of his boar chop. Our waiter noticed and offered him a different entree free of charge. The duck he received next was perfect!
We will definitely return next time we visit Newport.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Outstanding experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 7, 2017

This was one of the best dining experiences we've had in a long time. Wonderful service, friendly and knowledgeable... wonderful view and out of this world food. A little pricey but expected and worth every penny. Special occasion dinner for our anniversary. Thank you!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

One of the best overall dinning experiences in a long time. Excellent service. Well paced meal. Attentive but not overdone service. Excellent and varied food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Excellent restaurant. Exceptional cuisine &wonderful service
View was amazing!!!
Would definitely come back &recommend!!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 3, 2017

Unfortunately this was one of the worst dining experiences I've ever had in my life. We parked the car, took two steps towards the restaurant and the valet ran over and made us get back in the car and drive it to the valet stand so he could go park it. We arrived at the hostess stand and the incredibly rude Hostess told us that even though it was 7:23 we had to sit in the waiting area for our 7:30 reservation. There was one table occupied in the dining room. The staff is trying so hard to be impressive that they forget to be polite and they need to recognize thst guests should be treated with respect and dignity. I would have no problem paying the incredibly high prices they charge for their meals and service if the experience and the food was worth the value. It most definitely was not!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We went to Castle Hill twice during our recent vacation stay. The first time was for brunch. I would recommend making reservations as the alternative may be to sit at the bar area or wait up to 2 hours. The bar area is still nice as they have wonderful views. The food is excellent! We were so happy with the brunch that we went back for dinner but this time made reservations. First and foremost, the service was excellent. The meal was equally impressive. However, don't go here if you are looking for low cost dinning. It is expensive but definitely worth the price we paid. We had dinner at the Mooring and spent only slightly less than we did at Castle Hill BUT did not get nearly the food and service experience. We have been going to Newport for the past decade and this restaurant is by far the best restaurant we are at. Others we highly recommend at the Spiced Pear and 22 Bowen...

Tags: Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2017

The wild boar with grits carrots and Swiss chard worth getting again. Can't go wrong with Inn grown heirloom tomatoes and apricot soufflé was the best. My husband's duck had good flavor but a bit dry. We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

What a fantastic meal! Well worth the money and experience. Incredible. It's a course menu with the choice of a three, 4 or 6 course menu. Highly recommend this place especially in the summer around sunset. Just overall a wonderful experience. Fine dining at its best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 29, 2017

We had an amazing anniversary dinner here! We chose the 6-course chef's tasting menu with the wine pairing and everything was absolutely wonderful! The choices complimented the delicious food perfectly. The service was also top-notch. We were seated by the window with a view of the pink skies during sunset and the bridge all lit up once it got dark. Thank you for a great experience!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

We came to castle hill inn to celebrate my girlfriends birthday. We had the chefs tasting menu and everything was delicious. Karl or Carl, was our server and start to finish was amazing. We will be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food is always outstanding! Our initial server was not friendly and we were sat at a table that should not be used due to being in front of the service station. It was also my husbands birthday and they forgot, come time for dessert. When they moved our table we had Harrison as a server and he was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

My spouse and I look forward to going at least once a year. This year there is a choice of 3, 4 or 6 course prix fixe meals. We took the 4 course with the wine pairings. Service was impeccable. There are a number of people assigned to insure you have the correct silver and glass ware for each serving. They work unobtrusively and you never feel rushed. The food was superb. Each course was good. Pick something you don't ordinarily get--it will be delicious and you will have tried something new.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Elegant, very creative, an extraordinary experience. the wait staff was friendly, very knowledgeable and attentive without being annoying. Carl and Caitlin our servers was so personable and comfortable to be with. The chef spoiled us with his perfect menu and his wonderful amuse bouches, he is an artist in addition to be one of the best chocolatiers I've ever had to the good fortune to come across, I live in NYC (and am a Batali groupie) where many restaurants are hard to beat-I would recommend this restaurant to a chef!!! I hope I can get a reservation again after this review!!! Thank you again.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great food and outstanding waiter, Nick. Nick was attentive, knew details of the food, wine and history of the hotel. Outstanding waiter.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Wonderful experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Honestly, one of the best meals I've ever had, and I eat out a lot! The watermelon-cherry-jalapeño gazpacho app, was perfect. Lamb cooked perfectly. Apricot soufflé was delicious. Fiancé had ravioli l, halibut and strawberry shortcake. Amazing wine and champagne list!

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 17, 2017

Excellent all-around!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 16, 2017

One of the best dining experiences I've ever had! The staff was absolutely incredible as well which really made the evening special! Bravo! We will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This place is always special. The service is exceptional. The sunset views from the dining room are magnificent. It is meant for a special romantic evening. It offers the kind of evenings that you think back on and say I can't wait to go back.
The food is fabulous!!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Both food and service are spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 14, 2017

This was our second trip to Castle Hill Inn in a year and both were equally superior. We had a table with a spectacular view of Narragansett Bay and the Atlantic Ocean, and both my wife and I had the three course prix fixe menu with the wine pairing; as with our previous visit the wine pairings were excellent and a bit "out of the ordinary" - wines we might not have tried otherwise. There was a small glitch with the service, but it was politely explained and quickly fixed. Castle Hill Inn is expensive, but quality is high, and it is perfect for that once or twice a year special occasion. Highly recommended.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Wonderful restaurant. Get there a little early and have a drink overlooking the water. Then go and have dinner with the wine pairings. Dining room also has a great view. Expensive but worth the money. Great food, service and view.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Impeccable service. Price fix menu only in main dining room. Beautiful water views.

Tags: Waterfront, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 10, 2017

My husband and I went to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and I cannot say enough good things about our dining experience. The service was unbelievable and the food was amazing. We had a beautiful table with a nice view of the sunset in a quiet and personal setting. Our experience was amazing and we hope to be back one day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2017

The service, ambience, wine pairings and of course the food was perfect. My husband totally enjoyed his Birthday celebration at this lovely location.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 5, 2017

The Castle Hill Inn is one of the magical dining spots in the USA. A spectacular waterfront setting, a historic building with marvelous interiors, a sophisticated menu, a huge wine list and the most attentive service make for an unforgettable experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

As usual the setting is breathtaking. This time the food was very disappointing. The Queen's greens were overdressed and too salty. The lamb chops were a tiny meal (only 2), and the halibut was relatively tasteless. The mushrooms to start were very good. Not happy to be required to have a minimum of 3 courses. Don't mind paying a bit more for EXCELLENT food and choosing to order only the courses I need.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 4, 2017

5 stars! An absolute must if visiting Newport! This was the best dinner of our Fourth of July trip! Can't wait to return next year!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Service was impeccable. We ordered the halibut and it was a bit dry and overlooked.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Having been to Castle Hill many times in the past, to prepare for our special evening with an out-of -town friend, I requested a specific location in the restaurant weeks in advance. When we arrived, we were escorted past the requested room (which had numerous window tables available!) to a small dining room off the lobby at a table facing the wall. Notwithstanding the marginal table and ignoring my request, the dinner itself was quite good. The appetizers, entrees and deserts were all tasty and interestingly presented, if ambitiously priced. The service was stuffy but competent. I would not repeat this experience without a more specific assurance of a better located table.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Awesome location and spectacular views of Newport harbor. Castle Hill is a classic, don't miss it.
Dynamite wedding venue

Tags: Hot Spot, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Fantastic meal at an iconic property. We did the tasting menu which was stellar.
Our server Danny was exceptional.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The food was outstanding. What sets this restaurant apart more than anything else was the unbelievable service. Our waiter and the sommelier were both extraordinarily courteous and knowledgeable about the menu. Our meal was a bit pricey, so this probably isn't a restaurant for everyday dining. But for a special date or an occasional visit to Newport, it's a must visit.

You will not leave hungry either. Serving sizes were ample - not plate stuffers, but not the small serving sizes that one frequently finds in restaurants of this caliber. Kudos to both the chef and the pastry chef. One of the best meals I've enjoyed for some time.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2017

outstanding meal in beautiful setting. must do in Newport..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Worth every penny! We actually decide to reserve a table at the last minute and didn't know the restaurant only served a tasting menu. What a pleasant surprise! The service was impeccable and they easily catered to those with gluten issues. Definitely come here for a special occasion!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, People Watching, Gluten Free Options, Waterfront, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We chose a night at The Castle Hill for our honeymoon and our dinner in the dining room was the absolute best meal I've ever had. It was a night we will never forget.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.