About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday through Saturday: 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Rhode Island
Best Food
Rhode Island
6 More
Best Service
Rhode Island
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Best Value
Rhode Island
Romantic
Rhode Island
Scenic View
Rhode Island
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Newport ›

Scenic View (81)
Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (80)
See All
Fit for Foodies (58)
Notable Wine List (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (44)
Great for Lunch (23)
Great for Brunch (21)
Good for Groups (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Historic (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1467 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We visit Castle Hill every summer and we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 3 days ago

We visit Castle Hill every summer and we always look forward to our special dinner there. We were not disappoint beet salad, melon salad, salmon and duck were very good as was my Johnny cake dessert. We were surprised after several reminders regarding the dress code that standards have been lowered in the dinning room. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant for our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Our favorite restaurant for our anniversary! The food was sublime, the service impeccable and the sunsets are priceless!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Had dinner at The Castle Hill Inn this ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I Had dinner at The Castle Hill Inn this past week with my husband and 12 year old daughter while vacationing in Newport. Our server, Madeline, was exceptional. She had an extensive knowledge of the menu and was polite. Each of our meals were delicious and wonderfully prepared and presented. It is definitely pricy, but in my opinion, worth it. Our server made the experience perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Newport and I wanted to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were visiting Newport and I wanted to do something special for my wife's birthday. Castle Hill made it special. The food, service, room and view were all outstanding. My wife's birthday was acknowledged subtlety and tastefully. A most memorable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service, incredible, fresh, hea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Superb service, incredible, fresh, health food, unbelievable views

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was superb, especially the porc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

the food was superb, especially the porcelet du lait

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been going to the Castle Hill fo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been going to the Castle Hill for years and unfortunately the food is not as delicious as it was in the past. Some of the signature memorable dishes are no longer on the menu and we were all disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time here, for our 6t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first time here, for our 6th wedding anniversary dinner. We were a little shocked by the prices, but it was the best meal we have had in years and the service was outstanding. Our waitress Caitlin was superb, wish we could have her follow us around to every restaurant we go to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything at Castle Hill was amazing. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything at Castle Hill was amazing. The food, the mood, the service - all top notch. Our waiter, Dan, was the result treat however. He was the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks, very enjoyable. Hope to come bac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Thanks, very enjoyable. Hope to come back. Yada, yada yada.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is great. In the past we ate ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place is great. In the past we ate on the patio, but this time we ate in the dining area. My only suggestion is that eating in the dining area is not a last minute decision (no reservations on the patio, bar or lawn -- but for the dining area, plan ahead!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! The food was p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The food was plated so beautifully and tasted just as good as it looked. We enjoyed a cocktail and the amazing sunset view from the lawn before dinner which I would recommend to anyone visiting Castle Hill Inn. The service was also spectacular. A must for anyone visiting the Newport area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is nice and quiet. Waiters are ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The place is nice and quiet. Waiters are very attentive. Unfortunately, the food wasn't as great as expected. We had two dishes extremely salty - tuna tartar (presented on a salt) and swordfish. I expected more from the Chef who used to work in Per Se.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

So glad we got to experience Castle Hill ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

So glad we got to experience Castle Hill while we were visiting Newport!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the beautiful setting but we' ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We enjoyed the beautiful setting but we're most impressed by the food choices and the prix fixe options. The wine list was also outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter "DAN", and wait staff were E ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The waiter "DAN", and wait staff were EXCELLENT.

The surroundings were BEAUTIFUL.

The food was TERRIBLE

The portions were small, which is to be expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Castle Hill exceeded my expectations. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Castle Hill exceeded my expectations. The staff makes you feel like you are the only party in the restaurant and the food was excellent. It is a "must" when traveling to Newport. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and food without the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Impeccable service and food without the stodginess you would expect to find in a white tablecloth restaurant. . . Our first interaction with the valet and hostess made us feel comfortable and welcome. The bartender who served us our drinks while we waited for our table was relaxed and courteous. And, our server found the right balance between being informative and responsive. The food was excellent. We would definitely return for a family gathering or another special event, and look forward to trying the lawn sometime soon during the space in between. Thank you to the entire staff there and congratulations to the management on a running a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better then expected! I took my GF here ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Better then expected! I took my GF here to propose out on the front lawn and it was a perfect experience. The service was very professional and the atmosphere on the lawn could not have been better. We had dinner in the dining room and it was an amazing dining experience. The service and food was the best in Newport hand s down. This is not an inexpensive restaurant but for special occasion it is well worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We experienced the 3 course pairing dinn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We experienced the 3 course pairing dinner.

Most romantic & fun dinner! Looking forward to a chance to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We weren't informed there was a dress co ...

 
 (Anchorage)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We weren't informed there was a dress code, we had come from an informal day with family, they accommodated us by putting us in a private room but not before my 60 year old mother was reduced to tears because she heard staff making fun of her. So it spoiled the experience for us, a lot. Especially when I paid over $600 for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

The service and attentiveness of the sta ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

The service and attentiveness of the staff was impeccable.

The food was excellent --- very well presented.

The location is quite lovely -- all in all, a very pleasant evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful restaurant in magnificent set ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Beautiful restaurant in magnificent setting. Great food, great service. The fixed price meal was a treat to eat . The three course selection was plea t

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! The view of th ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The view of the sunset and the bay from our table was the cherry on top.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Overall the best dinning experience that ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Overall the best dinning experience that we had while in Newport, outstanding across the board, awesome wine list. Great for a special occasion!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is hard to imagine a better situated ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

It is hard to imagine a better situated restaurant on the eastern seaboard. Located on the southwest tip of Newport, the views across the water to Jamestown sparkle in the evening sun. The dining room is small and quiet, the service efficient and friendly while remaining discreet. The tasting menu options are a bit complicated, but I was impressed by the presentation and taste of every course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great location and views, however, the m ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Great location and views, however, the meal was overcooked. With such prices, you would expect more.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife went up to Castle Hill Inn for h ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

My wife went up to Castle Hill Inn for her birthday, as we have done for the past 10+ years (we don't live in Newport, if we did we would go more often). The meal and service was absolutely superb. We chose the six course tasting menu, but selected our own wine from their extensive wine list rather than the pairings (if you are an oenophile go to this restaurant, you will be impressed with their selection). The tasting menu was delicious. Each of the six courses was excellent, a melange of flavors and textures. When you go ask to sit in the glass alcove and go around sunset. My wife and I sat there looking over Narragansett Bay watching the sun go down as the sail and fishing boats returned to dock. It was a very romantic dinner, served by a crew that knew exactly what they were doing, with food and wine that you only manage to find rarely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined with friends selecting the prix ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We dined with friends selecting the prix fixe 3 course menu. The service was exceptional, very attentive. The meal was excellent across the board. If there was one drawback it was that the portions were a bit small, however that being said, we did not leave the restaurant feeling hungry. The overall ambience was relaxed and the view of the ocean from the restaurant is spectacular. This was a special occasion type of experience. Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

I choose this spot based on the Opentab ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

I choose this spot based on the Opentable encouraging reviews. I eat out often, I cannot remember being so disappointed in the food. I suppose being specific is important considering the number of positive reviews. Two of us were celebrating a reunion after many years. I ordered the salmon which was fine. My friend ordered the lamb priced at a premium. She asked for the meat to be medium but the first serving was raw. We notified Brian, he stated he would resolve. I waited to eat the salmon while the chef was committed cooking the meat properly. The lamb, when returned was cut in half, one side was cooked the other remained raw. The accompanying condiments were overcooked. In the meantime the salmon had cooled due to the time it took for the chef to reheat the lamb The lamb was still raw. I advised Brian, the waiter before leaving we were disappointed. He shook my hand as if the raw lamb was routine. In my view this was not a server issue but a chef's indifference.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Everything was perfect. I did find the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Everything was perfect.

I did find the menu to be limited and yet complicated.

Perhaps I would have enjoyed the patio menu more.

No complaints. All is top notch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had an exceptional experience: the wi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We had an exceptional experience: the wine pairing was the best we could remember. The perfect location for a special occasion. Highly recommended.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food, the service, the friendliness ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The food, the service, the friendliness of all the staff. Shout out to Carl, he' s a great guy. A memorable night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have dined there for many years as I f ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

I have dined there for many years as I followed Casey Riley from the Westin to Castle Hill. His influence is still present and I have never been disappointed, it is an experience and it my #1 choice in RI. The crew is great. Keep up the good work!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were outstanding. U ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food and service were outstanding. Unfortunately the weather was not ideal and we could not see the boats going by, just a lot of fog, but everything else was perfect. I would recommend getting there early so you can spend some time on the lawn watching the sailboats go by and have a few cocktails before.

We would definitely go back again next time we are celebrating in Newport.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dining experience could not have bee ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Our dining experience could not have been better. From the attentiveness of the maitre 'd and servers to the superb cuisine of chef Rossi, our evening at Castle Hill was a memorable one!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We treated our son and his wife for thei ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

We treated our son and his wife for their first anniversary. You can't beat The Inn at Castle Hill for location, service, and food. They provided complementary champagne for our celebration. The food was creatively and perfectly prepared. The dining room is a very formal and quiet atmosphere. Their outdoor area is much more casual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was charming and romantic ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our experience was charming and romantic. We ate in the curved dining room and enjoyed fine service from the entire staff. We drank in a gorgeous sunset as we dined. As a bnonus, we also were treated to 11 different fireworks shows (July 3rd) occurring across the Naraggansett Bay from what seemed like 10-15 mile views!

Sadly, It was too windy for us to enjoy the outdoor dining or sitting on the lawn (in chairs) before dinner, but we can imagine that to be a lot of fun.

HIGHLY recommend to anyone wanting to enjoy a memorable dinner experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good service with well prepared food. Th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Good service with well prepared food. The dinner is served over several courses and can be long. Our dinner was 3 1/2 hours with long waits in between courses. We didn't mind but other diners might dislike this type of dinner service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

One of America's great restaurants. Marv ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

One of America's great restaurants. Marvellous food, impecable service and an unbeatable ambiance wether outdoors, by the sea, or in one of the cozy and elegant interior rooms

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.