About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday 5:45pm – 8:00pm
Friday & Saturday 5:45pm – 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (22)
Waterfront (22)
Romantic (22)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Historic (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Cozy (12)
Good for a Date (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Tasting Menu (10)
Fireplace (7)
Authentic (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Private Room (4)
Healthy (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Seasonal (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Business Meals (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Dancing (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
S
1611 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 6 days ago

Amazing experience, will definitely return! Thank you to the staff for making our date night so magical.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Dan was on point! Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Great food, but maybe too few choices on the menu. Out of seven things (appetizers and main) we only could 'understand' about three of them - makes it challenging to decide which might suit our tastes . . .

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a truly amazing dinner and experiance!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food and service were both excellent. The attention to detail by the staff was as good as I have ever experienced. Well worth the cost for a special occasion.

Tags: Cozy, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We had an elegant dinner for our Anniversary at Castle Hill. The food was superb. We chose the wine pairings suggested by the chef and each was delightful. The staff was attentive and informative without being overbearing or intrusive. We are looking forward to a return visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Superb dining and service. Exceptional in every way, from the moment you are greeted by the manager, to the impeccable wait staff (Alex, Nick, Brian, etc.) The food is absolutely delicious and uniquely prepared with every attention to detail. A fabulous experience not to be missed!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Healthy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

My boyfriend and I enjoyed the fine dining at your restaurant. The service was wonderful and the dinner was superb! We enjoyed the ambience and had a lovely time. Excited to come back for another visit!

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great restaurant with highly knowledgeable and professional staff. Delicious menu, congrats to the chef. Waterfront location with gorgeous views. Worth every penny!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Scenic View, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Year's Eve Dinner...outstanding setting, exceptional food (great chef created a very special menu), Dancing to fabulous band with an amazing singer, impeccable service (Our server, Dan, made for great evening). Can't wait until next year!

Tags: Scenic View, Hot Spot, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Why is it that some very fine restaurants take advantage of holidays like New Year’s Eve and serve abysmal food at exorbitant prices? Why is it that the Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn did that at a “Capodanno” dinner I and three dinner guests attended on December 31, 2016?

We knew it would be a limited and expensive tasting menu; but we were still excited about the Italian theme. After all, it was Castle Hill.

Unfortunately, I spent over $800 for that meal and I felt robbed. The “Bagna Cauda” opener, typically a hot dipping sauce made with garlic, oil, and anchovies that’s served with assorted fresh vegetables, was nothing more than a pile of wilted greens with a dressing that tasted like it came from a bottle. It could have been an extraordinary opportunity for an otherwise fine kitchen to do something uniquely spectacular with this rustic, yet elegant dish; instead we got a graceless, amateurish, and no doubt cost-conscious heap of greens and some kind of fluid that likely, at some point, had a Kraft label on it.

Our long-awaited holiday dinner at Castle Hill went downhill from there.

Another course, sausage with lentils, had a spicy after-taste that was reminiscent of a Sabrett hot dog. The pork braciola, with a pre-cooked texture that could have doubled as shoe leather, had a bread-like stuffing that tasted like something out of a days’ old turkey. A fish course was served. At least we think it was fish.

My wife and another guest ordered a risotto and added white truffles (at a $38 surcharge per serving). The rice was terribly under-cooked, about as creamy as sand, and the truffles were tasteless. The desert was so unimaginative it’s not worth mentioning. The Inn’s renowned wine list offered the only satisfaction during the meal.

It was a terribly disappointing, valueless, and costly experience. One we’ll not repeat for a very long time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

I have to say that I was somewhat concerned to be visiting the Castle Hill Inn during the evening, in the middle of the winter, as I knew the scenic vista it offers wouldn't be visible. I wasn't sure if the ambiance would be effected. Nonetheless, literally everything about the meal and experience was perfect. It now ranks as one of the finest meals of my life, having traveled & eaten well from Manhattan to the French Concession - absolutely outstanding! Thank you for a lovely time.

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

My husband and I went to Castle Hill and had a great meal! We did the 3 course dinner with the wine paring and it was amazing! The food was outstanding, and the wines that the chef pick to go with our meal was perfect! If you get a chance to go to Castle Hill, especially around Christmas, it is so beautifully decorated!

Tags: Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fireplace, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

There are not many restaurants like this one. The drive to the restaurant is mysterious and beautiful in the evenings. The menu is beautifully put together and every detail is given careful consideration. There is a wonderful wine list and competent and helpful serving staff.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Beautiful historic facility. First class service, creative menu, stunning views.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Our meal was probably one of the best we have evr enjoyed. This was Christmas Day lunch with a special menu. This was unanticipated but the choices would fit anyone's preferences.

The food was spectacular, the service even better.

We will now plan to stay at the Inn to enjoy their wonderful ambiance.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Historic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The Inn is a rather special place to dine. Set on Newport's waterfront, away from the hubbub of the commercial district, the Inn provides an elegant and tasty dining experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Fantastic service, very attentive and dedicated. Food was great as usual. Good wine list. Keep coming back since 5 years and never been disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is an outstanding restaurant with service that is second to none. We shall be back!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

This is one of my favorite places in Newport. While it's not inexpensive, every morsel of food, every drop of wine, every interaction with the staff makes it worth every penny. Whether it's dinner and after dinner drinks around the fireplace in winter, or summer sunsets on the lawn, Castle Hill will always be the best.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Everything about our night was perfect, from start to finish. Fine dining, unbelievably delicious food, extremely attentive and experienced staff and a lovely setting made for a perfect evening. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 4, 2016

A special place!

A pre fix menu was a surprise, opentable should be aware and publish that it is the only way you can dine. There is No alacarte menu.

Tags: Waterfront, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Outstanding taste and wonderfully paced service. Pairings were a a real treat. Fun!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Historic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is the second time that my husband and I dined at Castle Hill, and we have been delighted both times. This is not your every day dining experience. Business casual attire is required (collars for men, but many were in full suits or sports jackets). There are options for pre-fixe 3 or 4 course meals (with and without wine pairings) for a set price, or a traditional chef selected 6 course pairing menu (with or without wine pairings). We've opted for the 3 and 4 course meals, and it is a lot of food. They are each a set price, and then you select from approximately 6-8 choices per course.

While we love to eat out and try new restaurants, we don't consider ourself 'foodies' perse...we like to know what we are eating, and be able to pronounce it. Often restaurants like this I find the food to be too pretentious, but not here. It uses local, in season, creative ingredients in a way that is still approachable and absolutely delicious.

The service here is the best I've ever had at a restaurant outside of a private club. They address you by your name the entire meal, and make you feel like you're really at home. Plan on at least 2.5 hours for a leisurely dining experience (for 4 course for 2 people, longer if you do the 6 course tasting menu).

You will not be disappointed. I highly recommend!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 14, 2016

We celebrated the first night of our "mini-moon" at the Castle Hill Inn after arriving in Newport. It was the final night of Restaurant Week, and we were able to taste multiple items on the menu. Everything was delicious and clearly well thought out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very special restaurant. Food and service were exceptional. Menu varied in price but was well worth it.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Wonderful as always! My husband have never had a bad evening at Castle Hill Inn

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

It was restaurant week. The menu is very constrained, but they did a nice job accomodating vegetarians.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was outstanding - hands down to the chef - local fare with fantastic ambiance. The service we received was above and beyond our expectations.

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our family gathered from Newport, the Cape, and Boston to share a meal. The food was delicious, the Inn was beautiful, and the service was impeccable. We had a memorable meal.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Everything about our dining experience was perfect! The warm welcome by the staff, the excellent service and over-the-top food and drinks made for a great night out. Newport is beautiful, and our table offered a lovely view of the ocean with a near 3/4 moon - so enticing. We plan to visit again in the spring and Castle Hill will definitely be on our must-do list.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Love it!! Newport restaurant week. Always delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 8, 2016

Food was very good and service was outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

The staff at Castle Hill are outstanding. The food was excellent. i cannot recommend this restaurant enough. A wonderful experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Perfect in every way. The food and presentation were amazing. Best seafood meal that we have ever had. Pace of meal was perfect too. This time of year it was dark, so no idea what the view would be like. We went during restaurant week, but selected the normal full price menu, very pleased that we did, worth every penny.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Great atmosphere, service and food. Pricey but worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Overall, what I found most impressive was the service. All the wait staff were extremely personable and professional without being overly intrusive. They were also very attentive. The food was excellent; the poached quail's egg steeped in Earl Grey tea was amazingly flavorful (it was served as an amuse bouche). The portions were very generous (I had the Maine lobster). Regina, our main server, was very professional and friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I surprised my wife with an anniversary trip to Newport and made a reservation at the Dining Room at Castle Hill. We walked in about 30 minutes before our reservation and headed to the bar for a glass of wine. The bartender was friendly and attentive, and we loved the recommended wines. We were seated in a room with a view of the water, and had a spectacular meal with excellent service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Wonderful experience in a beautiful setting. Will go back soon.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 20, 2016

Exceptional dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

Without a doubt ,the finest restaurant in Newport. It excels in every aspect of fine dining.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Went for our 25th anniversary dinner. Service was excellent. The food was delicious; had the prex fixe with the wine pairing, and the portion sizes for both the food and wine were perfect. Fairly pricey, but worth it for special occasions. Would definitely come here again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Fantastic ambiance , excellent service and incredible food!

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fantastic eating experience , superior service and staff, awesome location!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Simply the best meal we have had in years. I am 74 and have had the opportunity to eat in many fine restaurants all over the world. The food, service and ambiance at your place is as fine as I have ever experienced. We hope to return and perhaps spend a night or two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Took my 93 yo mother here for her birthday dinner. Access for elderly was excellent (a ramp and assistance from the staff both helped). Our seating was prompt. Service was exceptionally proficient and polished, and menu explanations were clear and practiced. While pricey, the quality and preparation of the meal were both well executed, together with the wine pairings. We thought that the value/price relationship was reasonable, considering the quality of food, service, and ambience. The restaurant is very quiet.. conducive to low conversation, which we enjoyed. The view of the entrance to Narragansett Bay was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Carl was fantastic - and so was our incredible meal!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The dinner was fantastic. Very happy choosing the Castle Inn for our anniversary . You won't be disappointed .

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Waterfront, Organic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 6, 2016

I recently treated myself to an early birthday adventure. Dining at Castle Hill Inn was a part of the itinerary. We arrived early to watch the glorious sunset. It was magical! The meal was tasty, but the atmosphere was the selling point!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (London)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The prix fixe menu was filled with exceptional choices.

We had a gluten free guest with us and they couldn't have been more helpful towards her. Great job!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.