About Castle Hill Inn

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 5:45pm – 9:00pm

Friday & Saturday: 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Castle Hill Inn is the perfect place to hold your next event. Corporate Events: Private, elegant, Castle Hill Inn offers an appropriate setting for executive meetings and social events. From corporate retreats to fundraisers, lectures, business seminars, reunions, and large cocktail parties, the Castle Hill Inn staff has the experience and flexibility to enhance a variety of occasions. Social Events: Spend your next special occasion with us in Victorian elegance, whether planning an Anniversary, Wedding Shower or Corporate Dinner. We provide award-winning cuisine, exceptional service and the best sunset views in Newport.

Private Party Contact:
Nancy Andrade: 4012484951x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Rhode Island
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Scenic View
Rhode Island
2 More
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Most Booked
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Newport ›

scenic view (125)
special occasion (124)
romantic (112)
See All
fit for foodies (77)
notable wine list (58)
great for lunch (54)
great for brunch (54)
great for outdoor dining (45)
good for groups (22)
neighborhood gem (13)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (9)
vibrant bar scene (6)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
1395 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous brunch!

Dined 3 days ago

From the moment we arrived and the valet took our car, everything was perfect! Our server, Emily, could not have been more knowledgeable, friendly, and efficient. She was a pleasure to speak with. Our food was phenomenal; we had the lobster roll, lobster hash, and the chowder. We will definitely return the next time we are in Newport.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing views and great ambience. Very ...

Dined 3 days ago

Amazing views and great ambience. Very polite staff and great and inventive food.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice place and day - bathrooms cou ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very nice place and day - bathrooms could use an upgrade. The timing of the first course came out BEFORE our drinks ! The fellow at the front entrance could have had better wits about him and not asking me and my 75 year old companion to go back out side , down the stairs and around to the front and then up more stairs to get to the hostess station and then the dining room. Luckily I am familiar with the restaurant and told him to get real and walked through. The summer staff could all use a refresher course in fine - high end dining and an Inn that rooms are $1,300 a night.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting. Lovely outdoor seatin ...

Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful setting. Lovely outdoor seating area as well as dining room overlooking the grounds and coast. The lobster roll was fabulous! Great way to celebrate my birthday!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious. The food was amazing. The but ...

Dined 6 days ago

Delicious. The food was amazing. The butter asparagus melted in your mouth. We enjoyed each item we selected. The room is intimate and quiet. A beautiful view if you arrive early enough. Service was attentive.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Castle Hill Inn was recommended by a fri ...

Dined 7 days ago

Castle Hill Inn was recommended by a friend. We celebrated our 20th anniversary and it couldn't have been better. The ambiance, scenic view, food were just amazing. Truly a special place! Thank again for a great time!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were given a Christmas gift and were so happy to have a delightful lunch. The preparation of both entrees was outstanding. We have already suggested Castle Hill to friends. Truly a memorable afternoon. Many thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

The Inn at Castle Hill

Dined on May 16, 2016

The restaurant at Castle Hill has always been a very special place for us; we celebrate birthdays and anniversaries and have done so for many years. Well worth the expense for the quality of the food and wine and especially for the view.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Castle Inn a few times. E ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to Castle Inn a few times. Every time is relaxing, elegant and the food is superb. Our sever, Alex was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and very willing to help. I am a vegetarian and find the vegetarian menu diverse and different. Not your average vegetarian meals.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a great time, service was not as ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great time, service was not as great as it has been in past visits.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dining experience!

Dined on May 13, 2016

I wouldn't change a thing. We had an excellent experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Each component of three course meal was ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Each component of three course meal was creative and tasty. Multiple good choices. Service was personable and attentive without being interfering. Fluke entree was excellent. Don't miss the sunset. Great bonus!

food4
ambience5
service3

Delightful location. Beautiful view. Fri ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Delightful location. Beautiful view. Friendly staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Great time!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the third time my wife and I have dined at Castle Hill. We love the place and everything about it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to go with the 3 course meal ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We decided to go with the 3 course meal with wine pairings. For the first course I had the duck confit and my husband had the marinated tuna, both of which were unique and delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable about the wine pairings without being over the top. Everything we were served was perfect. But one of the things that I like best about this place is the lack of noise. You can actually carry on a conversation while you savor your wonderful food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 1, 2016

You can't go wrong, the food & service is outstanding. This was our first time there & we will be back. It is expensive but worth every penny. If you like high quality food & service it is a great splurge! We went for dinner & did the four course option. Every course was delightful & there were even a few extras thrown in. Overall a fantabulous dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and had the tasting menu. We have one dietary need that was taken into consideration but still maintained the integrity of the menu. We also had our children with us, ages 10 and 12. They were able to order pasta with butter off the menu ala carte. All in all, the food, the service and the atmosphere were superb! We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Every time I visit Newport I have to sto ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Every time I visit Newport I have to stop here to eat. It's dinning with a view! My favorite place! The clam chowder was excellent. The lobster can feed 2 people.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Weekend Getaway

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We went to Newport for the weekend and had a 6pm reservation at the Inn at Castle Hill. Got there early for a drink and the magnificent view! Didn't realize that the menu had just changed from the winter to spring. As always the food was prepared exquisitely. I had the Spring Chicken, which was OK, but I wouldn't recommend. My wife had the tenderloin which was outstanding. Apps and desert were wonderful. My only suggestion would be in addition to the pre-fix menu, there should also be a limited a la carte menu. By far, the best dining views in the state of RI!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Tasting menu - good and kid friendly

Dined on April 22, 2016

We had the modest 3 course tasting menu - more extravagant options available - with wine pairings. Service was attentive without being overbearing. Food, especially the lamb, and wines were very good. location is remarkable and views over the sound are exceptional.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for lunch with friends on a sunny, ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Went for lunch with friends on a sunny, Spring day. The food was delicious and the view was spectacular. Would definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Gem

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

I have dined at Castle Hill several times for lunch over many years while on trips and it never disappoints. Absolutely a view that can't be beat, impeccable service, fantastic food and an all around joy to dine at. It is warm and inviting, the atmosphere is fancy yet comfortable, they really make you feel welcome. The chowder and lobster rolls are excellent and there is something on the menu for everyone. It is a wonderful place and I can't wait to go back.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Overpriced

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Upscale dining in a hotel. Friendly service but not enough waiters for the size of the room. Ambitious prix fixe menu over the -top expensive. Food good but a little heavy handed. Coffee very mediocre for a place of this caliber and the desserts are hit and miss. For nearly $200, this should have been perfect.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Delightful and Romantic

Dined on April 16, 2016

What a beautiful place. The raviloni was quite memorable, sausage and broccoli rabe and a sauce to delight. Everything else was delicious, served hot and with excellent service to accompany the meal. We will bring guests back this summer to enjoy drinks on the lawn. Can't wait to return.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The main dish was disappointing

Dined on April 14, 2016

Wonderful service and wine!!!! We had the scallops as a starter and they were perfect! We both ordered the clams and fresh pasta dish and it was very disappointing. The flavors were bland and it was almost too salty to eat. The desserts were also very good. We still had a lovely evening. Next time we will save our money and go for brunch or lunch.

Tags: romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Every minute of our experience at Castle ...

Dined on April 13, 2016

Every minute of our experience at Castle Hill had been absolutely amazing. From the service, the food and the ambience is definitely worth checking out!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The scenic jewel in Newport's fine dining crown

Dined on April 12, 2016

As a local Newporter, we can often take for granted a place as special as Castle Hill is available to us on a daily basis. I recently brought a group of out of town businessmen who are contemplating some major investments in Newport. After experiencing the sunset view, amazing food and exceptional service, they were convinced Newport is the place they want to be! And a BIG thank you to the staff. Our reservation of 3 ballooned into a party of 6, and despite a busy evening, the staff cheerfully accommodated us without hesitation. Kudos to Newport Harbor Corp.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A Dining Experience to Match the View

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Fabulous waterfront setting with SPECTACULAR view. Service was impeccable. While pricey, it was worth every penny. Went with the three course tasting menu at $78 (there are price-ups for some selections). French Onion Consomme with Gruyere Gnocchi and Smoked Duck was fabulous. Beef Tenderloin was cooked perfectly. Cookies and Cream Souffle was beautifully light and fluffy. Small but solid beer selection, with North Coast Pranqster on tap. Also a good selection of wines by the glass, with Lucente Super Tuscan matching well with the tenderloin. Great special occasion destination.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never Fails to Disappoint

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Castle Hill is a special place that never disappoints. The food is outstanding as is the service. It is a bit pricey, but worth it for a special occasion or special treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Relaxing with great view

Dined on April 9, 2016

Food was great, loved the atmosphere - a great blend of laid-back, fine dining. Since I was at a loss personally as to dress code: I was underdressed wearing jeans with a nice top/scarf. Slacks or a casual dress would have been better. My boyfriend wore a nice sweater and khakis and fit right in. Great food and great atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Choice of Restaurant Week

Dined on April 9, 2016

Castle Hill is definitely the best option during the Restaurant week. 3 Courses for a set price was an amazing value. We both ordered the Portuguese Fish Stew and loved it! The Passion Fruit Sorbet was something I could eat every day. Great Service, Delicious Food, with an amazing view of the ocean can not be beat!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service4

Food and service was very good

Dined on April 8, 2016

Food and service was very good

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant week

Dined on April 7, 2016

Excellent value . Excellent food for restaurant week in Newport. Thank you

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simply amazing!

Dined on April 6, 2016

I was visiting the area for business & asked around if there was anywhere to eat that was recommended. I heard this was a MUST! It happened to be restaurant week so I was able to get a 3 course meal for a low price. The food was amazing & the service was top notch. Also, the view was gorgeous. I will most definitely be back the next time I'm in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never Disappointed

Dined on April 6, 2016

I have been to this restaurant many times and have never been disappointed. The food is delicious, the Bloody Mary is fabulous, the service is excellent and the view is breathtaking. Who could ask for anything more?

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome birthday experience

Dined on April 5, 2016

Celebrated a birthday at the Castle Hill Inn. The location was spectacular for sunset. All the staff was very welcoming. House specialty cocktails were creative. It was restaurant week, so we opted for the special food menu and a bottle of wine from the week's wine menu. What an awesome surprise and value! As expected, the entire experience was perfect for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great for a romantic dinner!

Dined on April 5, 2016

Castle Hill Inn provides a romantic and classy atmosphere for a wonderful evening with someone special. The variety of drinks and food is impressive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

We went to Castle Hill for lunch during ...

Dined on April 5, 2016

We went to Castle Hill for lunch during restaurant week. Gorgeous view of the bay, excellent service and great value. It was a bit chilly but will return in warmer weather. Lived it!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We were able to celebrate our 5th annive ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

We were able to celebrate our 5th anniversary during Newport Restaurant Week. Everything was absolutely wonderful and the complimentary champagne to celebrate our special day was incredibly thoughtful. Definitely will be back to enjoy cocktails on the lawn this summer. Our new favorite place in Newport. 😊

food5
ambience5
service3

A special lunch for Restaurant Week.

Dined on April 4, 2016

A special lunch for Restaurant Week.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.