About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday through Saturday: 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.9

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Boston / New England
Best Overall
Rhode Island
Best Food
Rhode Island
5 More
Best Service
Rhode Island
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Notable Wine List
Rhode Island
Romantic
Rhode Island
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Newport ›

Special Occasion (81)
Romantic (75)
Scenic View (71)
See All
Fit for Foodies (48)
Notable Wine List (44)
Great for Outdoor Dining (41)
Waterfront (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Good for a Date (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Great for Lunch (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Fireplace (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Casual (1)
Authentic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Private Room (1)
Organic (1)
People Watching (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Service was wonderful and food was outst ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was wonderful and food was outstanding! Definitely will be back! Is a must try if you are in town looking to celebrate a special occasion or to have a beautiful sunset view.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

After having a very unexceptional (and u ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

After having a very unexceptional (and unacceptable)

dining experienced at Castle Hill Inn several years ago ( there was a wedding going on ), with problems with both food and service, we decided to give it another try. The new experience was strictly top shelf from the moment we arrived. I had previously sent a note that we would be celebrating our anniversary. We were led into a more secluded side dining area and our waiter Brian introduced himself and proceeded to provide the finest service we have experienced short of Europe throughout the evening.

Totally first class. I was a little skeptical of the idea of a prix fixe menu in a fine dining situation, again, the meal and particularly with the wine pairings was exceptional throughout. All in all this was the antithesis of our previous experience at Castle Hill, we could not have been more pleased and will make a special point to dine there again the next time we are in Newport.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Certainly the Castle Hill Inn Dining Roo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

Certainly the Castle Hill Inn Dining Room is pricey. But the food was delicious and excellently prepared and presented. The service and ambiance were outstanding. The views are spectacular. A great place to enjoy a relaxing and satisfying dinner with friends or familt!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was very attentive. Nice wine se ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service was very attentive. Nice wine selection Food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing experience for our 25th wedding ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Amazing experience for our 25th wedding anniversary. Food and service was beyond 5 stars

Simply a best in class

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Castle Hill continues to deliver a super ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Castle Hill continues to deliver a superior dining experience. The location, fantastic arts and crafts style building, ambiance, professional wait staff, innovative menu, superb food - everything about it is top shelf. I am lucky to live in Newport and have such an amazing restaurant in my backyard. People travel from all over the world to visit Newport. Add Castle Hill to the "must do" list.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have dined on the lawn at Castle Hill ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I have dined on the lawn at Castle Hill several times in the past and enjoyed myself. This time my party and I were in the main dining room. The service and attention to detail were impeccable. I was, however, disappointed in my duck entree. It arrived over cooked and although they cooked another serving to perfection, my entire party was finished with dinner by the time my entree reappeared. They did comp my dinner, but I would rather have had it correct in the first place.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Exceptional food and service !

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Exceptional food and service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a very special place. Food is cr ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

This is a very special place. Food is creative and locally sourced. A beautiful facility

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Lovely place, great food and great view. ...

 
 (Surrey)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Lovely place, great food and great view. Expensive but you do get what you pay for. Staff lovely as well

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Historic, Fireplace, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Exceptional menu selections and gracious ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Exceptional menu selections and gracious, approachable service. Thoroughly enjoyable meal and evening out. Our server, Dan, was outstanding, and tailored wine pairings that were exactly to our liking. Exactly the type of experience we have come to expect whenever we visit Castle Hill. Already looking forward to the next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had excellent food and service theser ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had excellent food and service theservers werevery nice, friendly

Tags: Historic, Healthy, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We may have lucked out with a 7:45 reser ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We may have lucked out with a 7:45 reservation - the sunset from 7:15 to 7:45 was tremendous - and sitting outside having a drink. They sat us inside where we had a very pleasant and delicious meal

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great view. Great to see the sunset by ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great view. Great to see the sunset by the window. Great service.

The main was not amazing, however, the appetizer was great.

I would suggest to vegeterian or seafood menu over meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Presentation and attentiveness of server ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Presentation and attentiveness of servers was excellent. Had traveled all day. Food not quite as expected but in all fairness might have just been our fatigue. Certainly would rate in the best two or three of Newport in any event.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Good service and nice view. We wanted t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Good service and nice view. We wanted to love it but the food on all levels was so disappointing. Each course was just " not good".

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

This was our best dining experience in N ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

This was our best dining experience in Newport. Everyone who worked there was so friendly. We were seated by a window ideal for viewing the sunset. The host apologized about the shades being down but assured us they would be raised in time to view the sunset and they were. The food was superb (appetizers of melon and lobster bisque/dinners of filet mignon and lamb tenderloin). The chocolate souffle for dessert, should have ordered 2 instead of sharing. The service was extremely professional, attentive without being overbearing. Combine the view with the food and the staff, I don't know how you could top the Castle Hill dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined here for the last night of out ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

We dined here for the last night of out New England vacation. The food was excellent and the service top notch. I would happily come back here if I lived near by, and will definitely remember if we are fortunate enough to return here.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent menu. Did the 3 course with wi ...

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent menu. Did the 3 course with wine pairing. Excellent presentation & service was impeccable. They insist on a jacket for men over the phone when confirming but we found that they were seating men without jackets and to our surprise one with shorts. Either the dress code is formal or it is not. In a high quality restaurant like this the dress code should be strictly enforced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We visit Castle Hill every summer and we ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We visit Castle Hill every summer and we always look forward to our special dinner there. We were not disappoint beet salad, melon salad, salmon and duck were very good as was my Johnny cake dessert. We were surprised after several reminders regarding the dress code that standards have been lowered in the dinning room. We will be back.

Tags: Scenic View, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our favorite restaurant for our annivers ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Our favorite restaurant for our anniversary! The food was sublime, the service impeccable and the sunsets are priceless!

Tags: Waterfront, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I Had dinner at The Castle Hill Inn this ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I Had dinner at The Castle Hill Inn this past week with my husband and 12 year old daughter while vacationing in Newport. Our server, Madeline, was exceptional. She had an extensive knowledge of the menu and was polite. Each of our meals were delicious and wonderfully prepared and presented. It is definitely pricy, but in my opinion, worth it. Our server made the experience perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were visiting Newport and I wanted to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We were visiting Newport and I wanted to do something special for my wife's birthday. Castle Hill made it special. The food, service, room and view were all outstanding. My wife's birthday was acknowledged subtlety and tastefully. A most memorable evening.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Superb service, incredible, fresh, hea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Superb service, incredible, fresh, health food, unbelievable views

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was superb, especially the porc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

the food was superb, especially the porcelet du lait

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Delicious food, great views. Will defini ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Delicious food, great views. Will definitely dine there again next time I'm in Newport.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have been going to the Castle Hill fo ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

We have been going to the Castle Hill for years and unfortunately the food is not as delicious as it was in the past. Some of the signature memorable dishes are no longer on the menu and we were all disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first time here, for our 6t ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This was our first time here, for our 6th wedding anniversary dinner. We were a little shocked by the prices, but it was the best meal we have had in years and the service was outstanding. Our waitress Caitlin was superb, wish we could have her follow us around to every restaurant we go to.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything at Castle Hill was amazing. T ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Everything at Castle Hill was amazing. The food, the mood, the service - all top notch. Our waiter, Dan, was the result treat however. He was the best!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thanks, very enjoyable. Hope to come bac ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Thanks, very enjoyable. Hope to come back. Yada, yada yada.

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is great. In the past we ate ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This place is great. In the past we ate on the patio, but this time we ate in the dining area. My only suggestion is that eating in the dining area is not a last minute decision (no reservations on the patio, bar or lawn -- but for the dining area, plan ahead!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was wonderful! The food was p ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Everything was wonderful! The food was plated so beautifully and tasted just as good as it looked. We enjoyed a cocktail and the amazing sunset view from the lawn before dinner which I would recommend to anyone visiting Castle Hill Inn. The service was also spectacular. A must for anyone visiting the Newport area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The place is nice and quiet. Waiters are ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The place is nice and quiet. Waiters are very attentive. Unfortunately, the food wasn't as great as expected. We had two dishes extremely salty - tuna tartar (presented on a salt) and swordfish. I expected more from the Chef who used to work in Per Se.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

So glad we got to experience Castle Hill ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

So glad we got to experience Castle Hill while we were visiting Newport!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the beautiful setting but we' ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

We enjoyed the beautiful setting but we're most impressed by the food choices and the prix fixe options. The wine list was also outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The waiter "DAN", and wait staff were E ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The waiter "DAN", and wait staff were EXCELLENT.

The surroundings were BEAUTIFUL.

The food was TERRIBLE

The portions were small, which is to be expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Castle Hill exceeded my expectations. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Castle Hill exceeded my expectations. The staff makes you feel like you are the only party in the restaurant and the food was excellent. It is a "must" when traveling to Newport. Expensive but worth it.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impeccable service and food without the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Impeccable service and food without the stodginess you would expect to find in a white tablecloth restaurant. . . Our first interaction with the valet and hostess made us feel comfortable and welcome. The bartender who served us our drinks while we waited for our table was relaxed and courteous. And, our server found the right balance between being informative and responsive. The food was excellent. We would definitely return for a family gathering or another special event, and look forward to trying the lawn sometime soon during the space in between. Thank you to the entire staff there and congratulations to the management on a running a gem.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Better then expected! I took my GF here ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Better then expected! I took my GF here to propose out on the front lawn and it was a perfect experience. The service was very professional and the atmosphere on the lawn could not have been better. We had dinner in the dining room and it was an amazing dining experience. The service and food was the best in Newport hand s down. This is not an inexpensive restaurant but for special occasion it is well worth it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We experienced the 3 course pairing dinn ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We experienced the 3 course pairing dinner.

Most romantic & fun dinner! Looking forward to a chance to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.