About The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

590 Ocean Ave
Newport, RI 02840
View Larger Map

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn has been the backdrop of memorable occasions for over a century, residing inside a historic mansion built in 1875. The Forbes Four Star restaurant presents a prix fixe menu showcasing the talents of Chef Lou Rossi and his culinary team. We are blessed with a location that is second to none in New England - not only for the view, but for the bounty provided by our surrounding lands being brough to your table. These range from local seafood surrounding Aquidneck Island, seasonal produce, and artisanal cheeses crafted throughout the region. We hope to serve you a meal that will speak both to the nostalgia and tradition of New England cooking, while inviting you to experience something new along the way. The wine list features over 800 selections, and has been awarded the “Best of Award of Excellence” from Wine Spectator for ten years running. We look forward to making great memories and traditions with you soon.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday through Thursday: 5:45pm – 9:00pm
Friday through Saturday: 5:45pm – 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Castle Hill Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$50 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(401) 849-3885

Website:
http://www.castlehillinn.com/food-wine-newport-rhode-island/castle-hill-dining-room/

Executive Chef:
Louis Rossi

Private Party Facilities:
Private Dining services are available for our indoor spaces and our Chalet, featuring a range of capacities and menu styles based on applicable hours and seasonality. Please contact our sales department to coordinate private events at (401) 619-3830.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn
The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn

The Dining Room at Castle Hill Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.8

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Rhode Island
Best Ambiance
Rhode Island
Scenic View
Rhode Island
2 More
Contemporary American
Rhode Island
Most Booked
Rhode Island
Best Restaurants in Newport ›

scenic view (120)
special occasion (118)
romantic (107)
See All
fit for foodies (75)
notable wine list (54)
great for lunch (53)
great for outdoor dining (50)
great for brunch (46)
good for groups (24)
neighborhood gem (12)
kid-friendly (10)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (7)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

when they called me to confirm reservati ...

Dined 4 days ago

when they called me to confirm reservation they said no jeans for dress code., I asked about nice jeans with blazer and they said no .. So my friend went and bought new pants.. There were three guys with Jeans on in dining room! My friend was very nice and told the manger .. He acknowledged it but didn't offer any explanation or offer a free drink or something for buying new pants. So I still don't understand dress code!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there to celebrate out 47th wed ...

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

We went there to celebrate out 47th wedding anniversary (we had also done so two years ago for our 45th). It would be an understatement to say it was outstanding! We were each treated at the outset to a complimentary glass of sparkling wine and the meal and service that followed were incredibly good. We certainly look forward to returning. It is one of the finest establishments that we have ever had the pleasure of visiting.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Every aspect of our dining experience wa ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Every aspect of our dining experience was outstanding! The dining room was stunning. The service was professional as well as personable (I was reminded of the staff at Danny Meyer's restaurants). The food was truly memorable: Delicious, creative, attractively presented, and served in just the right portions and at the proper temperature. We chose the chef's tasting menu (and would choose it again) which contained a wonderful selection of dishes and was well paced for all courses. My dining companion chose the wine pairing. The server gave a brief description of each offering and the reason why that particular wine was chosen to complement each course, which added a bit of fun to it. Such a lovely evening and one that we won't soon forget.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We dined at Castle Hill for the second t ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

We dined at Castle Hill for the second time recently and it continues to impress us. The service is phenomenal - the food delicious. Can't recommend this enough!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Service and food was excellent.

vip
Dined on June 18, 2016

Service and food was excellent.

food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The LAMB was it was very tough, no flav ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The LAMB was it was very tough, no flavor, the combination of sausge and red cabbage - did not compliment the lamb. Very salty. The price for this and quality was substandard. The halibut was the best I have had. Dessert was extremely good - the "chocolate hazelnut bar" was grand also was the sorbet.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The setting and view are spectacular. Yo ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The setting and view are spectacular. You are surrounded on three sides of the dining room by Narragansett Bay. The service was stellar, each of the wait staff are professional, attentive without being intrusive and very pleasant and engaging. The food was delectable from appetizer through dessert. The presentation of the food was wonderful. It was a perfect setting to celebrate our wedding anniversary. It was exactly what I had hoped the evening would be!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal at the Castle Hi ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at the Castle Hill Inn, starting with two glasses of Preseco(?) to toast our wedding anniversary. Each course was delicious and explained so well by our waiter Karl. The extra little treats between courses were great. (White asparagus tasting, beet sorbet) Overall, a great meal and evening with a nice view even though the weather was overcast. The sun did breakthrough while eating. Would recommend to others visiting the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal!

Dined on June 10, 2016

The food was fantastic at Castle Hill! Our waiter Carl was just lovely, so attentive and new everything on the menu. I highly recommend this restaurant. A true Newport find!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

This is the best restaurant in Newport

Dined on June 8, 2016

This is the best restaurant in Newport

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food in a Spectacular Setting

Dined on June 2, 2016

Castle Hill Inn sits on a bluff overlooking the water and Jamestown; the dining room enjoys the best of the view. The fixed menus offered something for everyone's palate, the food was innovative and delicious. We especially enjoyed the offered wine pairings, which ranged from predictably appropriate to surprising and working well. We especially enjoyed the cookie dough soufflé for desert, the chef somehow included the cookie dough into a perfectly light and smooth soufflé. The pairing of a bitter stout with the soufflé was amazing. Not a restaurant for every day, but a great place to celebrate an occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Terrific Place

Dined on May 31, 2016

Everything about our meal here was terrific, including the view. The food & service is Michelin star quality. Really outstanding! Highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing as always!

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

Every single times here is such an experience!I love this place!The service is fully devoted, the location awesome and the food really tasty.Their lobster roll and the peach pie are a guarantee of success.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

As always the food was excellent. Our se ...

Dined on May 30, 2016

As always the food was excellent. Our server was attentive and really funny. Castle Hill is on our favorites list. 😀

food5
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding. The food was as ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Service was outstanding. The food was as amazing as the location!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful Time

Dined on May 29, 2016

Our group of five had a wonderful time. The food (individuals ordered very different dishes) was outstanding as was the service by Mae. The view from the dining room was spectacular. We dined in leisure in a quiet dining room on a Sunday afternoon and thoroughly enjoyed the experience. It is not inexpensive though for a special occasion, it was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our very special places

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

This place is a classic, with a beautiful view of the water, and excellent food. We return every few years for brunch and are always amazed by the scenery and ambiance. Can't say enough good things.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful sunset dinner at Castl ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

Another wonderful sunset dinner at Castle Hill. Our favorite table overlooking Narraganset Bay and Alex one of our two favorite servers. Carl is the other. A splendid anniversary experience! Many happy returns!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Best dinner in Newport area

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

I have been going to NEWPORT Rhode Island for the past 25 years and for some unknown reason have never dined at Castle Hill before this past Memorial Day weekend. I was able to make a last minute reservation for two at 6:45 Saturday evening on Open Table. The food was excellent, the service excellent, the view stupendous and the drinks were very high quality. I had a Manhattan, and my wife a Sauvignon blanc. Although priced about twice as much as the Cooke Houseon Bannister Wharf for a similar meal it was worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing restaurant in unbeatable locatio ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazing restaurant in unbeatable location. Make sure to book a table just before sunset. You won't want to miss it!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful place to eat lunch outside if ...

vip
Dined on May 28, 2016

Beautiful place to eat lunch outside if you are visiting the Newport area. The view is gorgeous and the food was fantastic.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Fell just a bit short...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

We booked an 815 reservation for our 20th anniversary dinner and arrived right about 8pm. Although the restaurant was not very busy (and after being told upon arrival that tables were running to reservation times - which was fine), we weren't seated until after 830pm. One of the hostesses told us several times that a "fabulous" table was being re-set for us. I almost thought it was custom built given the time it took to set that table.... No explanation was given for the extended wait for us to be seated. The view from the dining room was amazing - as the location is known for. The service was generally good if a bit slow overall. One of the servers was simply delightful and attentive - she made a point of following through to ensure we had a card with the name of the wine my wife had had a glass of. Another was so quick at placing food on the table with the accompanying description, it seemed as though he was either very nervous or had been told to speak as quickly as possible when putting the food on the table. The variation in their approach is what made things notable... The food was good, not great. We had to request water and bread (which was delicious) after a very long wait for our drink order to arrive. Overall, an ok meal with amazing views.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Just one of the best experiences of any ...

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

Just one of the best experiences of any trip to Newport

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous brunch!

Dined on May 22, 2016

From the moment we arrived and the valet took our car, everything was perfect! Our server, Emily, could not have been more knowledgeable, friendly, and efficient. She was a pleasure to speak with. Our food was phenomenal; we had the lobster roll, lobster hash, and the chowder. We will definitely return the next time we are in Newport.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing views and great ambience. Very ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Amazing views and great ambience. Very polite staff and great and inventive food.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

On a sunny day,there is no better ambien ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

On a sunny day,there is no better ambience in New England!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice place and day - bathrooms cou ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Very nice place and day - bathrooms could use an upgrade. The timing of the first course came out BEFORE our drinks ! The fellow at the front entrance could have had better wits about him and not asking me and my 75 year old companion to go back out side , down the stairs and around to the front and then up more stairs to get to the hostess station and then the dining room. Luckily I am familiar with the restaurant and told him to get real and walked through. The summer staff could all use a refresher course in fine - high end dining and an Inn that rooms are $1,300 a night.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful setting. Lovely outdoor seatin ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Beautiful setting. Lovely outdoor seating area as well as dining room overlooking the grounds and coast. The lobster roll was fabulous! Great way to celebrate my birthday!

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious. The food was amazing. The but ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

Delicious. The food was amazing. The butter asparagus melted in your mouth. We enjoyed each item we selected. The room is intimate and quiet. A beautiful view if you arrive early enough. Service was attentive.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Castle Hill Inn was recommended by a fri ...

Dined on May 18, 2016

Castle Hill Inn was recommended by a friend. We celebrated our 20th anniversary and it couldn't have been better. The ambiance, scenic view, food were just amazing. Truly a special place! Thank again for a great time!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable

Dined on May 17, 2016

We were given a Christmas gift and were so happy to have a delightful lunch. The preparation of both entrees was outstanding. We have already suggested Castle Hill to friends. Truly a memorable afternoon. Many thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Castle Inn a few times. E ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

I have been to Castle Inn a few times. Every time is relaxing, elegant and the food is superb. Our sever, Alex was extremely knowledgeable, helpful and very willing to help. I am a vegetarian and find the vegetarian menu diverse and different. Not your average vegetarian meals.

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always a great time, service was not as ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great time, service was not as great as it has been in past visits.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Perfect dining experience!

Dined on May 13, 2016

I wouldn't change a thing. We had an excellent experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Each component of three course meal was ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

Each component of three course meal was creative and tasty. Multiple good choices. Service was personable and attentive without being interfering. Fluke entree was excellent. Don't miss the sunset. Great bonus!

food4
ambience5
service3

Delightful location. Beautiful view. Fri ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Delightful location. Beautiful view. Friendly staff.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal! Great time!

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was the third time my wife and I have dined at Castle Hill. We love the place and everything about it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We decided to go with the 3 course meal ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We decided to go with the 3 course meal with wine pairings. For the first course I had the duck confit and my husband had the marinated tuna, both of which were unique and delicious. Our server was very knowledgeable about the wine pairings without being over the top. Everything we were served was perfect. But one of the things that I like best about this place is the lack of noise. You can actually carry on a conversation while you savor your wonderful food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent

Dined on May 1, 2016

You can't go wrong, the food & service is outstanding. This was our first time there & we will be back. It is expensive but worth every penny. If you like high quality food & service it is a great splurge! We went for dinner & did the four course option. Every course was delightful & there were even a few extras thrown in. Overall a fantabulous dinning experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

vip
Dined on April 30, 2016

We were celebrating my husband's 50th birthday and had the tasting menu. We have one dietary need that was taken into consideration but still maintained the integrity of the menu. We also had our children with us, ages 10 and 12. They were able to order pasta with butter off the menu ala carte. All in all, the food, the service and the atmosphere were superb! We will be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.