About Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road

6325 River Road
Prospect, KY 40059
View Larger Map

Cast Iron Steakhouse opened on April 27th, 2011. This locally owned restaurant offers top-quality food at an affordable price. Menu includes a variety of steaks, aged from 21-28 days and hand-cut in house, as well as fresh seafood! At Cast Iron Steakhouse, we pride ourselves on delivering you the best food alongside the best service in town; No antler chandeliers, no peanuts on the floor, no country music, Just a comfortable atmosphere for you and your family! Cast Iron Steakhouse is conveniently located on River Road in Prospect, KY, so drop on in or make a reservation to see what everyone's been talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
River Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 384-7466

Website:
http://www.castironsteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
We can accommodate virtually any size parties, and will tailor to your party's needs!!

Parking Details:
Free parking for all restaurant patrons!

Executive Chef:
Curtis Rader

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have hosted many wedding rehearsal dinners as well as private dinner parties.

Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Central Kentucky
Steakhouse
Central Kentucky
Best Value
Louisville
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Louisville
Best Restaurants in East Louisville ›

neighborhood gem (66)
special occasion (43)
good for groups (39)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
romantic (18)
kid-friendly (15)
great for outdoor dining (12)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (3)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
684 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was outstanding: tast ...

Dined 5 days ago

As usual the food was outstanding: tasty, done to perfection, and brought to the table in a timely way. This is consistent with my past experiences over the last 2-3 years that I've been coming here. But our server, Reeny, deserves very special mention and commendation. She was very welcoming and gracious and at the same time prompt and highly professional. While it was obvious that the restaurant was busy she never let the number of tables and diners she was serving get in the way of providing us with deft service in a pleasant way and often showing a great sense of humor. I generally don't order chopped steak but Cast Iron prepares it in a winning way and I'd highly recommend it, as I would the outstanding potato cake which I've had several times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Overall a very good experience. I wasn' ...

Dined 6 days ago

Overall a very good experience. I wasn't happy with the table we were seated at, it was in a busy area and pushed too close to another group. I did make a reservation..maybe next time I will request a specif table .

food1
ambience1
service4
value2

Service was very good, but food was blah ...

Dined 7 days ago

Service was very good, but food was blah. My fish (mahi mahi) was over cooked and the Mac and Cheese was very ordinary. Dessert (caramel chocolate brownie with ice cream) was tasty and the only dish that impressed me at all. Would not recommend or return.

food4
ambience3
service4
value4

First time here and was pleasantly surpr ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

First time here and was pleasantly surprised. Good ambiance. friendly staff, down home, comfortable feel. Liked booth vs table. Steaks were fine. Entrance stairs a challenge, use the handicapped ramp to the parking lot.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been here 3 times in 2 months. ...

Dined on June 20, 2016

We have been here 3 times in 2 months. Food is excellent. Service was superb the first time. The second time the waitress was stressed and we could tell. This last time, the waitress was not observant enough and would disappear. I can understand if the place was busy, but we didn't come in till 8:15. It was almost empty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fried pickles were awesome! Husband had ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Fried pickles were awesome! Husband had steak - delicious. I had the pork tenderloin - to die for! Homemade dressing were wonderful! Kids had tenders and cheeseburger - all good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

The food is way too pricey for the quali ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is way too pricey for the quality. One of our guests ordered steak cooked medium well and it came out medium rare. It was sent back and came out (after a very long time) still rare. They did not charge her and she left hungry. The space is very cramped with little room to walk through the dining area or move between tables. Our experience wasn't good enough for a return visit and I cannot recommend this place.

food5
ambience5
service5

It was our anniversary. You're always af ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

It was our anniversary. You're always afraid on those special occasions that something isn't going to go as planned. All I can say is it was the perfect evening. The service and professionalism was impeccable. And the food? We both ordered the fillets. I don't know what they're paying the chef, but it's not enough. I've eaten at the #1 and #5 steakhouses in the country and this steak was as good or better, hands down. Perfectly cooked medium rare, Pittsburgh style! At Cast Iron Steakhouse you get what you pay for and then some. We've been here several times and always came away with the same great experience. 😀

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent value great service meal was v ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent value great service meal was very good!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food is excellent. Love everything abou ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is excellent. Love everything about going there. Being able to make reservations is awesome

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another delicious meal at Cast Iron Stea ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Another delicious meal at Cast Iron Steakhouse! My husband and I took his dad for an early Father's Day dinner because he was craving a hot brown. It was his first time there. He said the hot brown was delicious and he loved the ambiance. We will definitely be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Cast Iron Steakhouse has established a s ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Cast Iron Steakhouse has established a solid reputation for very good food. The menu has an abundance of great choices. I LOVE the steak queso and never miss the opportunity to indulge with the peach cobbler. Their steaks are excellent as are the other selections. The service is friendly, efficient and consistent. Best of all, the value for the dollar is terrific! I highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to the Cast Iron Steakhouse ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to the Cast Iron Steakhouse several times and I have never been disappointed. It is the only restaurant that I will order a steak. It always comes done perfectly and is tender, juicy and delicious. The baked potato is awesome and their salads are always fresh and tasty. Unfortunately, a strong thunderstorm knocked out the power right after our meal was served. Since it was our 45th Anniversary, we were given a card by the owner for a free dessert to share the next time we come in. A transformer was blown so they had to close for the evening but we were able to enjoy our dinner and look forward to dessert next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

The stuffed, bacon-wrapped pork loin was ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

The stuffed, bacon-wrapped pork loin was incredible.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friends' outing

Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food and great service...felt welcome from the time we entered until the time we left. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

girls night

Dined on June 1, 2016

Our play night girls go to dinner before we go to the play and so this time we chose Cast Iron. We told our server that we had to be downtown by 7:00 and she gave us such great service we were out of there by 6:30 but did not feel rushed. Food was great! It is one of my favorite places to dine right in our neighborhood.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was lacking

Dined on May 28, 2016

I had mentioned on reservation that it was our 28 th anniversary. We got there early and we were seated right away. The problem was we were seated on the bar side where they were waiting for a 20 person party to arrive. They moved the tables beside us together and were waiting for us to finish so our table could be added. We had two different servers. It was very chaotic and we felt we were in the way. Very disappointing experience for our anniversary dinner. The food was delicious though.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were a party of 10 and our server was ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

We were a party of 10 and our server was excellent and very attentive. The food was a great value for the price and absolutely delicious. Best Delmonico steak I've had in a long time! The outside porch seating is very quant and romantic if you are looking for a good date night spot. Definitely worth trying out if you are in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner!

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great service, great food, reasonable price - we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Went when friends and family in town. T ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Went when friends and family in town. Three got steak and all loved it. I got Mahi Mahi which was excellent. Last person got pasta which he also liked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating a very special anniv ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

We were celebrating a very special anniversary! The whole experience was wonderful! The food was amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, good atmosphere.

Dined on May 22, 2016

Cheese fries were good, fried pickles were good too. NewYork Strip was tasty, had some fat on it but not much. Sirloin was tasty, my son ate it all. Meatloaf was a bit underdone, not very hot, but we didn't send it back, probably should have. Hot Brown was tasty, no complaints. Mac n cheese was really good but small. Overall, I will be going back.

food4
ambience3
service5

Food was excellent. Service was even bet ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was even better. My wife had ordered chicken and the chicken came out undercooked, the waitress asked no questions and immediately grabbed the plate and returned it to the kitchen. A whole new plate with new sides and new properly cooked chicken was brought out, and the restaurant took care of us. The waitress turned a potentially disastrous experience in to one that will definitely cause us to return!

food4
ambience4
service4

Always good. Excellent 14oz strip. Great ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good. Excellent 14oz strip. Great peach cobbler

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not good

Dined on May 20, 2016

My sauteed green beans were mushy, my martini was lukewarm and it really stuffy in there. No ventilation made it uncomfortable. The table next to us had food issues as well. My hopes were destroyed after it came highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were perfectly cooked, the si ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The steaks were perfectly cooked, the sides and salad flavorful. Wait staff were on the spot with refills etc. all in all a great experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a pleasure.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fair

Dined on May 11, 2016

We both ordered the small filet. I ordered medium rare + and it came medium +. My friend ordered medium rare and it came medium. Pretty common problem for the "steak" house.

food4
ambience5
service5

A little small inside, tables close to e ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A little small inside, tables close to each other. Portion sizes smaller than expected. However, food was very good, dessert was great, it wasn't too loud (normal speaking voices from us/other diners), servers were excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food at a great price! We went ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic food at a great price! We went for Mother's Day and definitely plan to go back. Our server could not have been nicer!

food5
ambience5
service5

Cast iron is a place i would recommend f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Cast iron is a place i would recommend for a great dining experience

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great for a date with that special person.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful dining experience with a unique atmosphere and the food is absolutely tasty! Add in the attentive and courteous staff it's sure to please the most selective diner. Thanks so much for making an evening with my special someone so memorable. We will most assuredly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was wonderful.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loaded fried, steak salad, NY strip all prepared to our liking. Will go back! Service was great!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Around

Dined on April 24, 2016

Top notch and best around in every way. Travel over a hundred miles just to come to eat there almost monthly. Leave amazed every time.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Steak flavor was good but the steak had ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Steak flavor was good but the steak had too much fat on it. Spinach side was covered in too many onions.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent - every time!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent - every time!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good salmon, tough streak.

Dined on April 9, 2016

First of all the stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer was excellent and the salmon was delightful. However; the $26.00 dollar steak was tough and lack flavor. The server was kind and attentive to our needs.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Slowww, no draft beers, mediocre ribeye

Dined on April 7, 2016

We just moved to Prospect so I wanted to try a local place while my parents were visiting on a Thursday night. Our party of 5 was seated around 6:45 and ordered pretty quickly and the food did not arrive until 7:50 despite a restaurant that was only 75% full. Our queso dip appetizer was pretty generic and the yellow corn tortilla chips were straight out of a bag and cold. The entrees ranged from Pecan Chicken (excellent) to a Delmonico Ribeye (overcooked, heavily marveled and tough, even for a ribeye). We all eat out quite a bit and are well informed on the Louisville restaurant scene and none of us will be going back. Better steaks and better values can be had elsewhere, even at the chain steakhouses.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Food and service is good, prices are good, location is good. Never disappointing!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

nothing special

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went there for our anniversary. Entrees were very good,but sides and appetizer were very average. Service was good, but not great. Nothing you couldn't have gotten at any chain steakhouse. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.