About Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road

6325 River Road
Prospect, KY 40059
View Larger Map

Cast Iron Steakhouse opened on April 27th, 2011. This locally owned restaurant offers top-quality food at an affordable price. Menu includes a variety of steaks, aged from 21-28 days and hand-cut in house, as well as fresh seafood! At Cast Iron Steakhouse, we pride ourselves on delivering you the best food alongside the best service in town; No antler chandeliers, no peanuts on the floor, no country music, Just a comfortable atmosphere for you and your family! Cast Iron Steakhouse is conveniently located on River Road in Prospect, KY, so drop on in or make a reservation to see what everyone's been talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
River Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 384-7466

Website:
http://www.castironsteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
We can accommodate virtually any size parties, and will tailor to your party's needs!!

Parking Details:
Free parking for all restaurant patrons!

Executive Chef:
Curtis Rader

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have hosted many wedding rehearsal dinners as well as private dinner parties.

Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (51)
Special Occasion (39)
Good for Groups (30)
See All
Fit for Foodies (24)
Romantic (18)
Casual (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Comfort Food (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Authentic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Scenic View (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Waterfront (3)
Fun (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Great Beer (2)
Family Style (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Business Meals (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
Newest
737 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We came out this time for my birthday. T ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 4 days ago

We came out this time for my birthday. This is the 3rd birthday in a row, that I have celebrated at Cast Iron. The food and service were GREAT as always. Tried the pecan encrusted chicken this time...amazing! Thank you for the birthday peach cobbler!

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent. My Rib-eye was v ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Service was excellent. My Rib-eye was very tough. Wife's fish was great. Did not like the garlic butter for the bread. Value was great. I booked the spot and specifically told them it was for our anniversary. No mention was ever made to us. Would have been nice.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

My family met here to have Manhattan's t ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on September 20, 2016

My family met here to have Manhattan's to celebrate our Mom's birthday. The service was excellent, not too noisy and very comfortable. Food and the Manhattan's were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was very good and we had an out ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The meal was very good and we had an outstanding waitress. The only thing I was disappointed about was the way we were crowded in. I made reservations and brought 12 people and I had to add another person. We were crowded to begin with and they said we would have to make do they had no more room. I felt we deserved more consideration than that.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I adore everything about Cast Iron Skill ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

I adore everything about Cast Iron Skillet! From a night with friends to the date I had with this experience. From the stuffed mushrooms to the excellent wine, the service and atmosphere! This is the best place for steak and wine. The sides are unbeatable!! Thank you so very much!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Cast Iron delivers with A+ qua ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

As usual, Cast Iron delivers with A+ quality on all levels. Food, service, everything. Thanks again for another great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to the area for dog showing. La ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We come to the area for dog showing. Last spring my wife and I found Cast Iron Steakhouse on Open Table and enjoyed our evening. This time we brought two friends and they too enjoyed the meal, the service and the setting. We tend to have favorites as we travel the SE for dog shows and now this is now on our "Favorites" list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food not to order, all four meals. servi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food not to order, all four meals. service good , server confused when we said food was not to order, They made it wright , Just wanted a good meal, Will not return and will not tell my friends wish for all it could have been better,,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

My favorite restaurant yet in all of my ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My favorite restaurant yet in all of my 46 years. Drive over 100 miles to come there and have done so 6 or 7 times since discovering less than a year ago. Great food, service & nice quiet atmosphere. Love it. The best service ever anywhere. If you leave there disappointed, you probably can't be pleased.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cast Iron Steakhouse is always a pleasur ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Cast Iron Steakhouse is always a pleasure. Service is great and food is delicious. Try the peach cobbler. You will never choose another desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good but service was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was very good but service was very slow. We waited a long time for our order to be taken and a long time for our food. Server was very busy and not attentive. The restaurant is noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I have been here numerous times and intr ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been here numerous times and introduced it to at least 35 people I can think of at the moment. We recently had a very special bittersweet birthday to celebrate and this was the perfect spot for it.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cast Iron restaurant. They are ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We love Cast Iron restaurant. They are always so friendly and greet you with a smile. When we got there our table was set up inside but it had turned into a nice evening and we asked if we could be seated on the porch. The hostess readily agreed and got our table together. Our server was attentive even though she had table inside too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not what we expected. spinach w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was not what we expected. spinach was like it sat in water so long it actually had an odor and was not edible. steak was nothing notable. service extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Yum! Everything we had was excellent! ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Yum! Everything we had was excellent! Great bartender who actually knew how to make a good martinis. Wonderful service. Only negative I can think of to mention is that the bathrooms need some updating (but they were clean). We will definitely be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The meal was delicious as always, my fav ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The meal was delicious as always, my favorite steakhouse!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have dined here several times , the s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here several times , the steak is always consistently and very very good even the top sirloin is excellent! If it's busy it can get a little loud due to the open concept of the seating especially on the bench in the front the restaurant. Otherwise five stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, the food and service was fanta ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual, the food and service was fantastic. The folks at Cast Iron Steakhouse take care of you in every aspect of the way. The staff are friendly and the food is amazing. Just what you would expect from a 5 star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a family birthday at Cast ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at Cast Iron this week and everyone had a great time. The service was fast, friendly and helpful, and the food was very tasty. A great spot for a great steak at a great price. (And don't leave without trying the peach cobbler!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best filet in town. Probably my favorit ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best filet in town. Probably my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous as was the service ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was fabulous as was the service. Highly recommended Cast Iron!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love the food, had the Hot Brown and it ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love the food, had the Hot Brown and it was real GOOD!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time steak was a bit tough and the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This time steak was a bit tough and the Mahi Mahi was over cooked. Usually, I love this place. I will go back because there was a bad wreck and staff couldn't get there, so they did the best they could. I have always loved the food and service! Keep salads the size they are, don't go any smaller!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Delmonico rib eye steak was excellen ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Delmonico rib eye steak was excellent! The waitress was attentive and reservations were easy to make.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was AMAZING, she gave us the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our server was AMAZING, she gave us the most amazing service and with a good attitude. The music was a little loud, but management adjusted it upon request. We ordered rare steaks and the first time they were medium-rare, but they were remade and they did a perfect job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We had not been to this restaurant recen ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had not been to this restaurant recently but decided to give it a shot. We were pleased and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Steaks are great. Small quaint restaura ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Steaks are great. Small quaint restaurant. Balsamic dressing with honey very good as well.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only reason the bill was 46 dollars was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Only reason the bill was 46 dollars was bc the shrimp that was ordered was taken off the bill bc it wasnt good. We got a free dessert bc our waitress forgot to put our food in. Our first time there just 1 couple out for a date night was there almost 2 hours. Even had reservations. Spent majority of our time waiting on our dinner to come. Sadly we wont make this a frequent stop not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had been there once before, a little pri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had been there once before, a little pricey for me but I have a wonderful son that can treat me every now and then and we like to try new and good food by far your steaks and service has been the best. He has recommended your place to the boss of his company, that is saying a lot for how much he likes your food! He's dying to try the pecan crusted chicken? I think that's what it was called. Will take about 6/8 weeks before we can make a return visit. Love your food and the people who work there! Great job!a+

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live fairly close and this is a good p ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I live fairly close and this is a good place to go on those nights when no one feels like cooking. Neither wife or I are steak fans but their fish is surprisingly good and that is what I usually get. This night I thought I'd try the meatloaf which was described as spicy and veggie filled. Portion size was huge but I was underwhelmed by the taste which I found rather bland. It was also barely warm on the inside. My wife's mahi was tasty as usual. Sides of spinach and mashed potatoes were very good. House salads are adequate but uninspired.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

On par with Stony River but half the pri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

On par with Stony River but half the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and great service for a r ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful food and great service for a reasonable price. We love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Table wa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Table was ready when we arrived for our reservation.

Steaks and fried chicken were as good as anywhere in town. Our Server was also very friendly &

very deserving of the piece of Birthday cake we left her.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent experience. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent experience. Great food and service. Have been here many many times and will keep coming back. My family and friends love the Cast Iron Steakhouse!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here! Good is always cook ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We love coming here! Good is always cooked to perfection- love this location better than the Indiana location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant, we go at least ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We love this restaurant, we go at least once a week!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Cast Iron and will definit ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First time at Cast Iron and will definitely be going back. The food was delicious and the staff courteous, gracious, and efficient. I am allergic to pepper and when I ordered the 6 oz sirloin I failed to ask if the steaks are seasoned. When my dinner was served I noticed the presence of seasoning. As soon as I said I was allergic to pepper but had not thought to ask if the steak was seasoned, my plate was whisked away and another steak was prepared free of any seasoning. The friend dining with me commented that the seasoning was delicious and it was a shame I could not have any. We both had the sirloin and agreed the steaks were among the best we have ever had. We shared the Dutch oven peach cobbler for dessert. It was divine and enough to feed at least 3 or 4 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Meagan, was awesome! She too ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server, Meagan, was awesome! She took her time explaining the menu and helping us with our selections. Everything we ate was wonderful. From the appetizer to the peach cobbler. (Save room for the cobbler!) We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My steak was not cooked properly. My com ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My steak was not cooked properly. My companions food was wrong. My sisters steak was below quality having a lot of gristle and fat. We arrived at our reservation time at 7:00. We were seated immediately. We left at 9:00. Entirely too long. We were offered dessert for our inconvenience by the manager. I had to pay for a steak I could not eat. Poor poor experience/customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Best steak ever!! Service and food were ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best steak ever!! Service and food were great. The drive from downtown Louisville took 15 minutes and the route was scenic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.