Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road

4.3
796 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Steakhouse
Perfect For:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

The Cast Iron Steakhouse has been open since 2011 and features locations in both Kentucky and Indianapolis. The cozy restaurant is casual and comfortable making it great for a family dinner or a date night. Enjoy your meal on The Cast Iron Steakhouse's large outdoor patio during warm, sunny weather.

The Cast Iron Steakhouse has a motto of "a steak that won't break the bank" and the affordable menu keeps that phrase true. The staff is friendly and attentive ensuring a positive visit every time. Enjoy a salad topped with one of the house-made dressings when you order any of the many entree options, such as bacon wrapped filet or Susie's Cast Iron meatloaf.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Steakhouse, Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(502) 384-7466
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Curtis Rader
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
River Rd
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Free parking for all restaurant patrons!
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We can accommodate virtually any size parties, and will tailor to your party's needs!!
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We have hosted many wedding rehearsal dinners as well as private dinner parties.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 796 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.3based on all time ratings
4.3
food
4.3
service
3.9
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on April 21, 2017

We got there at 6:00 for dinner i have eaten there before the food was good and hot. Tonight there were 7 of us we placed drink order then a dinner order. About 20 min after we ordered another table came in of 6 then a table of 5 then a 2 tables of 4. They got there food and we sat waiting for over a hour. Everyone was served there food and desert and left. I complained that it was taking too long . We never saw the waiter till the food came it was only warm he said it not his fault i did not give the order to the cook but the waiter. The manager offered us a free desert by this time iwas upset with the whole experience I i will not go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 14, 2017

Previous times we had been here were good. This time...not so much. The steak was good, but we used to love their fries-this time they were not the same and not good at all. Also disappointed with the caramel brownie dessert we had loved before. This time it was just a pile of mush drenched in fudge. Very disappointed this time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 8, 2016

Never a disappointment. Such a gem in our part of the woods. Thanks again for a great meal. You peach cobbler is "to die for".

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 7, 2016

Taste of food and quality service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 5, 2016

We love Cast Iron! Great steaks and decent prices. Nancy is our waitress quite often and she is always great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 30, 2016

I absolutely love this place. The food, service, and atmosphere is awesome. It's also close to home which is very nice. This is my new favorite steak place. Did I mention how much I like this place??? :)

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on September 30, 2016

One of the guests in our party found plastic wrap in his food – while he was eating it. The waitress was informed and she offered another side or dessert which by then the guest had lost his appetite. No manager ever came to the table to apologize and no offer was made for a free or discounted meal. After that incident and paying the bill, the group remained at the table talking and finishing drinks. The waitress came by once more and in a passive way, suggested we leave since there were reservations waiting for our table. Most definitely not a pleasant experience and highly doubt that the guest involved in the plastic wrap incident will return.

We were also told they would no longer be using Open Table for reservations so I am not sure that anyone will see this review.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 29, 2016

Glad that we ventured out of downtown to find this place. The value for the food was outstanding. Only suggestion to improve is to add some better wine to your list.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 25, 2016

We came out this time for my birthday. This is the 3rd birthday in a row, that I have celebrated at Cast Iron. The food and service were GREAT as always. Tried the pecan encrusted chicken this time...amazing! Thank you for the birthday peach cobbler!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant. We enjoyed our meal, the steak was so tender you could almost cut it with a knife. We will be back very soon.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 21, 2016

Service was excellent. My Rib-eye was very tough. Wife's fish was great. Did not like the garlic butter for the bread. Value was great. I booked the spot and specifically told them it was for our anniversary. No mention was ever made to us. Would have been nice.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 20, 2016

My family met here to have Manhattan's to celebrate our Mom's birthday. The service was excellent, not too noisy and very comfortable. Food and the Manhattan's were excellent.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 17, 2016

The meal was very good and we had an outstanding waitress. The only thing I was disappointed about was the way we were crowded in. I made reservations and brought 12 people and I had to add another person. We were crowded to begin with and they said we would have to make do they had no more room. I felt we deserved more consideration than that.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 13, 2016

I adore everything about Cast Iron Skillet! From a night with friends to the date I had with this experience. From the stuffed mushrooms to the excellent wine, the service and atmosphere! This is the best place for steak and wine. The sides are unbeatable!! Thank you so very much!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 10, 2016

As usual, Cast Iron delivers with A+ quality on all levels. Food, service, everything. Thanks again for another great evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2016

We come to the area for dog showing. Last spring my wife and I found Cast Iron Steakhouse on Open Table and enjoyed our evening. This time we brought two friends and they too enjoyed the meal, the service and the setting. We tend to have favorites as we travel the SE for dog shows and now this is now on our "Favorites" list.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 4, 2016

Food not to order, all four meals. service good , server confused when we said food was not to order, They made it wright , Just wanted a good meal, Will not return and will not tell my friends wish for all it could have been better,,

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 4, 2016

My favorite restaurant yet in all of my 46 years. Drive over 100 miles to come there and have done so 6 or 7 times since discovering less than a year ago. Great food, service & nice quiet atmosphere. Love it. The best service ever anywhere. If you leave there disappointed, you probably can't be pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 28, 2016

Cast Iron Steakhouse is always a pleasure. Service is great and food is delicious. Try the peach cobbler. You will never choose another desert.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was very good but service was very slow. We waited a long time for our order to be taken and a long time for our food. Server was very busy and not attentive. The restaurant is noisy.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been here numerous times and introduced it to at least 35 people I can think of at the moment. We recently had a very special bittersweet birthday to celebrate and this was the perfect spot for it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 23, 2016

We love Cast Iron restaurant. They are always so friendly and greet you with a smile. When we got there our table was set up inside but it had turned into a nice evening and we asked if we could be seated on the porch. The hostess readily agreed and got our table together. Our server was attentive even though she had table inside too.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was not what we expected. spinach was like it sat in water so long it actually had an odor and was not edible. steak was nothing notable. service extremely disappointing.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 20, 2016

Yum! Everything we had was excellent! Great bartender who actually knew how to make a good martinis. Wonderful service. Only negative I can think of to mention is that the bathrooms need some updating (but they were clean). We will definitely be back again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 20, 2016

The meal was delicious as always, my favorite steakhouse!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here several times , the steak is always consistently and very very good even the top sirloin is excellent! If it's busy it can get a little loud due to the open concept of the seating especially on the bench in the front the restaurant. Otherwise five stars

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual, the food and service was fantastic. The folks at Cast Iron Steakhouse take care of you in every aspect of the way. The staff are friendly and the food is amazing. Just what you would expect from a 5 star restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at Cast Iron this week and everyone had a great time. The service was fast, friendly and helpful, and the food was very tasty. A great spot for a great steak at a great price. (And don't leave without trying the peach cobbler!)

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 16, 2016

Best filet in town. Probably my favorite restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was fabulous as was the service. Highly recommended Cast Iron!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 12, 2016

Love the food, had the Hot Brown and it was real GOOD!!!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 10, 2016

This time steak was a bit tough and the Mahi Mahi was over cooked. Usually, I love this place. I will go back because there was a bad wreck and staff couldn't get there, so they did the best they could. I have always loved the food and service! Keep salads the size they are, don't go any smaller!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 10, 2016

The Delmonico rib eye steak was excellent! The waitress was attentive and reservations were easy to make.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 10, 2016

Our server was AMAZING, she gave us the most amazing service and with a good attitude. The music was a little loud, but management adjusted it upon request. We ordered rare steaks and the first time they were medium-rare, but they were remade and they did a perfect job.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on August 7, 2016

We had not been to this restaurant recently but decided to give it a shot. We were pleased and will be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 4, 2016

Steaks are great. Small quaint restaurant. Balsamic dressing with honey very good as well.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Only reason the bill was 46 dollars was bc the shrimp that was ordered was taken off the bill bc it wasnt good. We got a free dessert bc our waitress forgot to put our food in. Our first time there just 1 couple out for a date night was there almost 2 hours. Even had reservations. Spent majority of our time waiting on our dinner to come. Sadly we wont make this a frequent stop not sure we'll be back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 30, 2016

Had been there once before, a little pricey for me but I have a wonderful son that can treat me every now and then and we like to try new and good food by far your steaks and service has been the best. He has recommended your place to the boss of his company, that is saying a lot for how much he likes your food! He's dying to try the pecan crusted chicken? I think that's what it was called. Will take about 6/8 weeks before we can make a return visit. Love your food and the people who work there! Great job!a+

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 28, 2016

I live fairly close and this is a good place to go on those nights when no one feels like cooking. Neither wife or I are steak fans but their fish is surprisingly good and that is what I usually get. This night I thought I'd try the meatloaf which was described as spicy and veggie filled. Portion size was huge but I was underwhelmed by the taste which I found rather bland. It was also barely warm on the inside. My wife's mahi was tasty as usual. Sides of spinach and mashed potatoes were very good. House salads are adequate but uninspired.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 27, 2016

On par with Stony River but half the price

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20