About Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road

6325 River Road
Prospect, KY 40059
View Larger Map

Cast Iron Steakhouse opened on April 27th, 2011. This locally owned restaurant offers top-quality food at an affordable price. Menu includes a variety of steaks, aged from 21-28 days and hand-cut in house, as well as fresh seafood! At Cast Iron Steakhouse, we pride ourselves on delivering you the best food alongside the best service in town; No antler chandeliers, no peanuts on the floor, no country music, Just a comfortable atmosphere for you and your family! Cast Iron Steakhouse is conveniently located on River Road in Prospect, KY, so drop on in or make a reservation to see what everyone's been talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
River Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 384-7466

Website:
http://www.castironsteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
We can accommodate virtually any size parties, and will tailor to your party's needs!!

Parking Details:
Free parking for all restaurant patrons!

Executive Chef:
Curtis Rader

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have hosted many wedding rehearsal dinners as well as private dinner parties.

Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Central Kentucky
Neighborhood Gem
Louisville
Steakhouse
Louisville
Best Restaurants in East Louisville ›

Neighborhood Gem (57)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for Groups (38)
See All
Fit for Foodies (34)
Romantic (14)
Hot Spot (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Great for Brunch (3)
Scenic View (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Sort By:
Newest
721 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We love Cast Iron restaurant. They are ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

We love Cast Iron restaurant. They are always so friendly and greet you with a smile. When we got there our table was set up inside but it had turned into a nice evening and we asked if we could be seated on the porch. The hostess readily agreed and got our table together. Our server was attentive even though she had table inside too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not what we expected. spinach w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was not what we expected. spinach was like it sat in water so long it actually had an odor and was not edible. steak was nothing notable. service extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Yum! Everything we had was excellent! ...

 
 (Western KY)
·Dined 6 days ago

Yum! Everything we had was excellent! Great bartender who actually knew how to make a good martinis. Wonderful service. Only negative I can think of to mention is that the bathrooms need some updating (but they were clean). We will definitely be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The meal was delicious as always, my fav ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The meal was delicious as always, my favorite steakhouse!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have dined here several times , the s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here several times , the steak is always consistently and very very good even the top sirloin is excellent! If it's busy it can get a little loud due to the open concept of the seating especially on the bench in the front the restaurant. Otherwise five stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, the food and service was fanta ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual, the food and service was fantastic. The folks at Cast Iron Steakhouse take care of you in every aspect of the way. The staff are friendly and the food is amazing. Just what you would expect from a 5 star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a family birthday at Cast ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at Cast Iron this week and everyone had a great time. The service was fast, friendly and helpful, and the food was very tasty. A great spot for a great steak at a great price. (And don't leave without trying the peach cobbler!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was fabulous as was the service ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was fabulous as was the service. Highly recommended Cast Iron!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love the food, had the Hot Brown and it ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love the food, had the Hot Brown and it was real GOOD!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time steak was a bit tough and the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

This time steak was a bit tough and the Mahi Mahi was over cooked. Usually, I love this place. I will go back because there was a bad wreck and staff couldn't get there, so they did the best they could. I have always loved the food and service! Keep salads the size they are, don't go any smaller!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Delmonico rib eye steak was excellen ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Delmonico rib eye steak was excellent! The waitress was attentive and reservations were easy to make.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was AMAZING, she gave us the ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our server was AMAZING, she gave us the most amazing service and with a good attitude. The music was a little loud, but management adjusted it upon request. We ordered rare steaks and the first time they were medium-rare, but they were remade and they did a perfect job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We had not been to this restaurant recen ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had not been to this restaurant recently but decided to give it a shot. We were pleased and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Steaks are great. Small quaint restaura ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Steaks are great. Small quaint restaurant. Balsamic dressing with honey very good as well.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only reason the bill was 46 dollars was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Only reason the bill was 46 dollars was bc the shrimp that was ordered was taken off the bill bc it wasnt good. We got a free dessert bc our waitress forgot to put our food in. Our first time there just 1 couple out for a date night was there almost 2 hours. Even had reservations. Spent majority of our time waiting on our dinner to come. Sadly we wont make this a frequent stop not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had been there once before, a little pri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had been there once before, a little pricey for me but I have a wonderful son that can treat me every now and then and we like to try new and good food by far your steaks and service has been the best. He has recommended your place to the boss of his company, that is saying a lot for how much he likes your food! He's dying to try the pecan crusted chicken? I think that's what it was called. Will take about 6/8 weeks before we can make a return visit. Love your food and the people who work there! Great job!a+

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live fairly close and this is a good p ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I live fairly close and this is a good place to go on those nights when no one feels like cooking. Neither wife or I are steak fans but their fish is surprisingly good and that is what I usually get. This night I thought I'd try the meatloaf which was described as spicy and veggie filled. Portion size was huge but I was underwhelmed by the taste which I found rather bland. It was also barely warm on the inside. My wife's mahi was tasty as usual. Sides of spinach and mashed potatoes were very good. House salads are adequate but uninspired.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

On par with Stony River but half the pri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

On par with Stony River but half the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and great service for a r ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful food and great service for a reasonable price. We love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Table wa ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Table was ready when we arrived for our reservation.

Steaks and fried chicken were as good as anywhere in town. Our Server was also very friendly &

very deserving of the piece of Birthday cake we left her.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent experience. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Excellent experience. Great food and service. Have been here many many times and will keep coming back. My family and friends love the Cast Iron Steakhouse!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here! Good is always cook ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We love coming here! Good is always cooked to perfection- love this location better than the Indiana location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant, we go at least ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We love this restaurant, we go at least once a week!!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Cast Iron and will definit ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First time at Cast Iron and will definitely be going back. The food was delicious and the staff courteous, gracious, and efficient. I am allergic to pepper and when I ordered the 6 oz sirloin I failed to ask if the steaks are seasoned. When my dinner was served I noticed the presence of seasoning. As soon as I said I was allergic to pepper but had not thought to ask if the steak was seasoned, my plate was whisked away and another steak was prepared free of any seasoning. The friend dining with me commented that the seasoning was delicious and it was a shame I could not have any. We both had the sirloin and agreed the steaks were among the best we have ever had. We shared the Dutch oven peach cobbler for dessert. It was divine and enough to feed at least 3 or 4 people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Meagan, was awesome! She too ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server, Meagan, was awesome! She took her time explaining the menu and helping us with our selections. Everything we ate was wonderful. From the appetizer to the peach cobbler. (Save room for the cobbler!) We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My steak was not cooked properly. My com ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My steak was not cooked properly. My companions food was wrong. My sisters steak was below quality having a lot of gristle and fat. We arrived at our reservation time at 7:00. We were seated immediately. We left at 9:00. Entirely too long. We were offered dessert for our inconvenience by the manager. I had to pay for a steak I could not eat. Poor poor experience/customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Best steak ever!! Service and food were ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best steak ever!! Service and food were great. The drive from downtown Louisville took 15 minutes and the route was scenic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to go for a glass of wine ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A great place to go for a glass of wine and a steak. Been here numerous times. Usually very crowded in the evening and weekend.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was excellent but steak was a lit ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Salmon was excellent but steak was a little chewy and the steak salad didn't have much meat at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good food. Great ambiance near Harr ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very good food. Great ambiance near Harrods Creek. Inside a hit dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We all had great meals but the service w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all had great meals but the service was lacking a bit. We had a party of 8 for a birthday, just not much room, dishes piled up on the table, we collected them so they could be picked up on her next "re-fill" trip. But all in all a good time had by all and the Delmonico was fabulous as always!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was attentive and personable! Foo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Server was attentive and personable! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was a bit unpredictable. Appetiz ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was a bit unpredictable. Appetizers arrived and immediately after our dinner salads also arrived. Then we waited quite some time for entrees and one entree was totally messed up. They corrected the messed up entree but it didn't arrive until everyone else was practically finished eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had a group dinner. Service was spectac ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had a group dinner. Service was spectacular. Our waitress was top notch. Food was delicious and prices were reasonable. I for one will definitely be back and will recommend it to friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good to excellent. Service effi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was good to excellent. Service efficient, but all staff seemed stressed and not particularly happy to be serving us. Venue small, crowded and noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great time & good food! We go often beca ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great time & good food! We go often because the restaurant is always good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was outstanding: tast ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding: tasty, done to perfection, and brought to the table in a timely way. This is consistent with my past experiences over the last 2-3 years that I've been coming here. But our server, Reeny, deserves very special mention and commendation. She was very welcoming and gracious and at the same time prompt and highly professional. While it was obvious that the restaurant was busy she never let the number of tables and diners she was serving get in the way of providing us with deft service in a pleasant way and often showing a great sense of humor. I generally don't order chopped steak but Cast Iron prepares it in a winning way and I'd highly recommend it, as I would the outstanding potato cake which I've had several times.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a very good experience. I wasn' ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Overall a very good experience. I wasn't happy with the table we were seated at, it was in a busy area and pushed too close to another group. I did make a reservation..maybe next time I will request a specif table .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was very good, but food was blah ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very good, but food was blah. My fish (mahi mahi) was over cooked and the Mac and Cheese was very ordinary. Dessert (caramel chocolate brownie with ice cream) was tasty and the only dish that impressed me at all. Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.