Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.

Restaurants you may also like

River House Restaurant & Raw BarRiver House Restaurant & Raw Bar
(511)
$$$$
Seafood | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 42 times today
Stoney River Steakhouse and Grill - LouisvilleStoney River Steakhouse and Grill - Louisville
(658)
$$$$
Steakhouse | East Louisville, Louisville
Booked 31 times today
Mitchell's Fish Market - LouisvilleMitchell's Fish Market - Louisville
(1079)
$$$$
Seafood | East Louisville, Louisville
Booked 17 times today
Village AnchorVillage Anchor
(1041)
$$$$
Comfort Food | Anchorage, Louisville
Booked 33 times today
Mesh - LouisvilleMesh - Louisville
(479)
$$$$
American | St Matthews, Louisville
Booked 24 times today
Le MooLe Moo
(542)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Highlands - Bardstown Rd / Taylorsville Rd, Louisville
Booked 29 times today
PorciniPorcini
(623)
$$$$
Italian | Frankfort Ave - Crescent Hill, Louisville
Booked 20 times today
Ruth's Chris Steak House - LouisvilleRuth's Chris Steak House - Louisville
(606)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Downtown Louisville, Louisville
Booked 11 times today
Wild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila BarWild Rita's Modern Mexican & Tequila Bar
(375)
$$$$
Contemporary Mexican | East Market St - NuLu, Louisville
Booked 14 times today
Brooklyn and The ButcherBrooklyn and The Butcher
(253)
$$$$
Steakhouse | New Albany, Louisville
Booked 17 times today
BRAVO Cucina Italiana - LouisvilleBRAVO Cucina Italiana - Louisville
(174)
$$$$
Italian | St Matthews, Louisville
Booked 24 times today
Gary's on SpringGary's on Spring
(724)
$$$$
American | Butchertown, Louisville
Booked 6 times today
The Silver Dollar - Priority SeatingThe Silver Dollar - Priority Seating
(410)
$$$$
Southern | Frankfort Ave - Crescent Hill, Louisville
Booked 19 times today
VaraneseVaranese
(1882)
$$$$
Contemporary American | Frankfort Ave - Crescent Hill, Louisville
Booked 16 times today
Anoosh BistroAnoosh Bistro
(325)
$$$$
Contemporary American | St Matthews, Louisville
Booked 14 times today

About Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road

6325 River Road
Prospect, KY 40059
View Larger Map

Cast Iron Steakhouse opened on April 27th, 2011. This locally owned restaurant offers top-quality food at an affordable price. Menu includes a variety of steaks, aged from 21-28 days and hand-cut in house, as well as fresh seafood! At Cast Iron Steakhouse, we pride ourselves on delivering you the best food alongside the best service in town; No antler chandeliers, no peanuts on the floor, no country music, Just a comfortable atmosphere for you and your family! Cast Iron Steakhouse is conveniently located on River Road in Prospect, KY, so drop on in or make a reservation to see what everyone's been talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
River Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 384-7466

Website:
http://www.castironsteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
We can accommodate virtually any size parties, and will tailor to your party's needs!!

Parking Details:
Free parking for all restaurant patrons!

Executive Chef:
Curtis Rader

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have hosted many wedding rehearsal dinners as well as private dinner parties.

Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.1

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Casual (14)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Romantic (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Outstanding Value (8)
Cozy (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Local Ingredients (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Authentic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Waterfront (3)
Fun (3)
Scenic View (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Family Style (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Great Beer (1)
Business Meals (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
745 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Never a disappointment. Such a gem in ou ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Never a disappointment. Such a gem in our part of the woods. Thanks again for a great meal. You peach cobbler is "to die for".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Taste of food and quality service

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Taste of food and quality service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love Cast Iron! Great steaks and dece ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 5, 2016

We love Cast Iron! Great steaks and decent prices. Nancy is our waitress quite often and she is always great!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

I absolutely love this place. The food, ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I absolutely love this place. The food, service, and atmosphere is awesome. It's also close to home which is very nice. This is my new favorite steak place. Did I mention how much I like this place??? :)

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the guests in our party found pla ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 30, 2016

One of the guests in our party found plastic wrap in his food – while he was eating it. The waitress was informed and she offered another side or dessert which by then the guest had lost his appetite. No manager ever came to the table to apologize and no offer was made for a free or discounted meal. After that incident and paying the bill, the group remained at the table talking and finishing drinks. The waitress came by once more and in a passive way, suggested we leave since there were reservations waiting for our table. Most definitely not a pleasant experience and highly doubt that the guest involved in the plastic wrap incident will return.

We were also told they would no longer be using Open Table for reservations so I am not sure that anyone will see this review.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Glad that we ventured out of downtown to ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Glad that we ventured out of downtown to find this place. The value for the food was outstanding. Only suggestion to improve is to add some better wine to your list.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We came out this time for my birthday. T ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

We came out this time for my birthday. This is the 3rd birthday in a row, that I have celebrated at Cast Iron. The food and service were GREAT as always. Tried the pecan encrusted chicken this time...amazing! Thank you for the birthday peach cobbler!

Tags: Disabled Access, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time at the restauran ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

This was our first time at the restaurant. We enjoyed our meal, the steak was so tender you could almost cut it with a knife. We will be back very soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Service was excellent. My Rib-eye was v ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Service was excellent. My Rib-eye was very tough. Wife's fish was great. Did not like the garlic butter for the bread. Value was great. I booked the spot and specifically told them it was for our anniversary. No mention was ever made to us. Would have been nice.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

My family met here to have Manhattan's t ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My family met here to have Manhattan's to celebrate our Mom's birthday. The service was excellent, not too noisy and very comfortable. Food and the Manhattan's were excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The meal was very good and we had an out ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 17, 2016

The meal was very good and we had an outstanding waitress. The only thing I was disappointed about was the way we were crowded in. I made reservations and brought 12 people and I had to add another person. We were crowded to begin with and they said we would have to make do they had no more room. I felt we deserved more consideration than that.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I adore everything about Cast Iron Skill ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 13, 2016

I adore everything about Cast Iron Skillet! From a night with friends to the date I had with this experience. From the stuffed mushrooms to the excellent wine, the service and atmosphere! This is the best place for steak and wine. The sides are unbeatable!! Thank you so very much!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Cast Iron delivers with A+ qua ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 10, 2016

As usual, Cast Iron delivers with A+ quality on all levels. Food, service, everything. Thanks again for another great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We come to the area for dog showing. La ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We come to the area for dog showing. Last spring my wife and I found Cast Iron Steakhouse on Open Table and enjoyed our evening. This time we brought two friends and they too enjoyed the meal, the service and the setting. We tend to have favorites as we travel the SE for dog shows and now this is now on our "Favorites" list.

Tags: Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food not to order, all four meals. servi ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food not to order, all four meals. service good , server confused when we said food was not to order, They made it wright , Just wanted a good meal, Will not return and will not tell my friends wish for all it could have been better,,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

My favorite restaurant yet in all of my ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

My favorite restaurant yet in all of my 46 years. Drive over 100 miles to come there and have done so 6 or 7 times since discovering less than a year ago. Great food, service & nice quiet atmosphere. Love it. The best service ever anywhere. If you leave there disappointed, you probably can't be pleased.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View, Romantic, Comfort Food, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Disabled Access, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cast Iron Steakhouse is always a pleasur ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Cast Iron Steakhouse is always a pleasure. Service is great and food is delicious. Try the peach cobbler. You will never choose another desert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good but service was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

The food was very good but service was very slow. We waited a long time for our order to be taken and a long time for our food. Server was very busy and not attentive. The restaurant is noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

I have been here numerous times and intr ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 27, 2016

I have been here numerous times and introduced it to at least 35 people I can think of at the moment. We recently had a very special bittersweet birthday to celebrate and this was the perfect spot for it.

Tags: Casual, Quick Bite, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cast Iron restaurant. They are ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

We love Cast Iron restaurant. They are always so friendly and greet you with a smile. When we got there our table was set up inside but it had turned into a nice evening and we asked if we could be seated on the porch. The hostess readily agreed and got our table together. Our server was attentive even though she had table inside too.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was not what we expected. spinach w ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was not what we expected. spinach was like it sat in water so long it actually had an odor and was not edible. steak was nothing notable. service extremely disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1

Yum! Everything we had was excellent! ...

 
 (Western KY)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Yum! Everything we had was excellent! Great bartender who actually knew how to make a good martinis. Wonderful service. Only negative I can think of to mention is that the bathrooms need some updating (but they were clean). We will definitely be back again soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

The meal was delicious as always, my fav ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 20, 2016

The meal was delicious as always, my favorite steakhouse!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I have dined here several times , the s ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 19, 2016

I have dined here several times , the steak is always consistently and very very good even the top sirloin is excellent! If it's busy it can get a little loud due to the open concept of the seating especially on the bench in the front the restaurant. Otherwise five stars

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

As usual, the food and service was fanta ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 17, 2016

As usual, the food and service was fantastic. The folks at Cast Iron Steakhouse take care of you in every aspect of the way. The staff are friendly and the food is amazing. Just what you would expect from a 5 star restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated a family birthday at Cast ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on August 16, 2016

We celebrated a family birthday at Cast Iron this week and everyone had a great time. The service was fast, friendly and helpful, and the food was very tasty. A great spot for a great steak at a great price. (And don't leave without trying the peach cobbler!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best filet in town. Probably my favorit ...

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Best filet in town. Probably my favorite restaurant.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Kid-friendly, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fabulous as was the service ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was fabulous as was the service. Highly recommended Cast Iron!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Love the food, had the Hot Brown and it ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love the food, had the Hot Brown and it was real GOOD!!!

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This time steak was a bit tough and the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

This time steak was a bit tough and the Mahi Mahi was over cooked. Usually, I love this place. I will go back because there was a bad wreck and staff couldn't get there, so they did the best they could. I have always loved the food and service! Keep salads the size they are, don't go any smaller!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

The Delmonico rib eye steak was excellen ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

The Delmonico rib eye steak was excellent! The waitress was attentive and reservations were easy to make.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was AMAZING, she gave us the ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 10, 2016

Our server was AMAZING, she gave us the most amazing service and with a good attitude. The music was a little loud, but management adjusted it upon request. We ordered rare steaks and the first time they were medium-rare, but they were remade and they did a perfect job.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value3

We had not been to this restaurant recen ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on August 7, 2016

We had not been to this restaurant recently but decided to give it a shot. We were pleased and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Steaks are great. Small quaint restaura ...

 
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Steaks are great. Small quaint restaurant. Balsamic dressing with honey very good as well.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Only reason the bill was 46 dollars was ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 31, 2016

Only reason the bill was 46 dollars was bc the shrimp that was ordered was taken off the bill bc it wasnt good. We got a free dessert bc our waitress forgot to put our food in. Our first time there just 1 couple out for a date night was there almost 2 hours. Even had reservations. Spent majority of our time waiting on our dinner to come. Sadly we wont make this a frequent stop not sure we'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Had been there once before, a little pri ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Had been there once before, a little pricey for me but I have a wonderful son that can treat me every now and then and we like to try new and good food by far your steaks and service has been the best. He has recommended your place to the boss of his company, that is saying a lot for how much he likes your food! He's dying to try the pecan crusted chicken? I think that's what it was called. Will take about 6/8 weeks before we can make a return visit. Love your food and the people who work there! Great job!a+

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I live fairly close and this is a good p ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 28, 2016

I live fairly close and this is a good place to go on those nights when no one feels like cooking. Neither wife or I are steak fans but their fish is surprisingly good and that is what I usually get. This night I thought I'd try the meatloaf which was described as spicy and veggie filled. Portion size was huge but I was underwhelmed by the taste which I found rather bland. It was also barely warm on the inside. My wife's mahi was tasty as usual. Sides of spinach and mashed potatoes were very good. House salads are adequate but uninspired.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

On par with Stony River but half the pri ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 27, 2016

On par with Stony River but half the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful food and great service for a r ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Wonderful food and great service for a reasonable price. We love this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food and service was excellent. Table wa ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Food and service was excellent. Table was ready when we arrived for our reservation.

Steaks and fried chicken were as good as anywhere in town. Our Server was also very friendly &

very deserving of the piece of Birthday cake we left her.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.