About Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road

6325 River Road
Prospect, KY 40059
View Larger Map

Cast Iron Steakhouse opened on April 27th, 2011. This locally owned restaurant offers top-quality food at an affordable price. Menu includes a variety of steaks, aged from 21-28 days and hand-cut in house, as well as fresh seafood! At Cast Iron Steakhouse, we pride ourselves on delivering you the best food alongside the best service in town; No antler chandeliers, no peanuts on the floor, no country music, Just a comfortable atmosphere for you and your family! Cast Iron Steakhouse is conveniently located on River Road in Prospect, KY, so drop on in or make a reservation to see what everyone's been talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
River Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 384-7466

Website:
http://www.castironsteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
We can accommodate virtually any size parties, and will tailor to your party's needs!!

Parking Details:
Free parking for all restaurant patrons!

Executive Chef:
Curtis Rader

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have hosted many wedding rehearsal dinners as well as private dinner parties.

Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Central Kentucky
Steakhouse
Central Kentucky
Best Value
Louisville
1 More
Neighborhood Gem
Louisville
Best Restaurants in East Louisville ›

neighborhood gem (68)
special occasion (53)
fit for foodies (36)
See All
good for groups (35)
romantic (23)
kid-friendly (19)
great for lunch (12)
great for outdoor dining (11)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (2)
Sort By:
Newest
662 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food, good atmosphere.

Dined 6 days ago

Cheese fries were good, fried pickles were good too. NewYork Strip was tasty, had some fat on it but not much. Sirloin was tasty, my son ate it all. Meatloaf was a bit underdone, not very hot, but we didn't send it back, probably should have. Hot Brown was tasty, no complaints. Mac n cheese was really good but small. Overall, I will be going back.

food4
ambience4
service4

Always good. Excellent 14oz strip. Great ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Always good. Excellent 14oz strip. Great peach cobbler

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not good

Dined on May 20, 2016

My sauteed green beans were mushy, my martini was lukewarm and it really stuffy in there. No ventilation made it uncomfortable. The table next to us had food issues as well. My hopes were destroyed after it came highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The steaks were perfectly cooked, the si ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The steaks were perfectly cooked, the sides and salad flavorful. Wait staff were on the spot with refills etc. all in all a great experience.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Always a pleasure.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Fair

Dined on May 11, 2016

We both ordered the small filet. I ordered medium rare + and it came medium +. My friend ordered medium rare and it came medium. Pretty common problem for the "steak" house.

food4
ambience5
service5

A little small inside, tables close to e ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

A little small inside, tables close to each other. Portion sizes smaller than expected. However, food was very good, dessert was great, it wasn't too loud (normal speaking voices from us/other diners), servers were excellent.

food5
ambience4
service5

Fantastic food at a great price! We went ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Fantastic food at a great price! We went for Mother's Day and definitely plan to go back. Our server could not have been nicer!

food5
ambience5
service5

Cast iron is a place i would recommend f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Cast iron is a place i would recommend for a great dining experience

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great for a date with that special person.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wonderful dining experience with a unique atmosphere and the food is absolutely tasty! Add in the attentive and courteous staff it's sure to please the most selective diner. Thanks so much for making an evening with my special someone so memorable. We will most assuredly return.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we ordered was wonderful.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Loaded fried, steak salad, NY strip all prepared to our liking. Will go back! Service was great!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Around

Dined on April 24, 2016

Top notch and best around in every way. Travel over a hundred miles just to come to eat there almost monthly. Leave amazed every time.

Tags: kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Steak flavor was good but the steak had ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Steak flavor was good but the steak had too much fat on it. Spinach side was covered in too many onions.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent - every time!

Dined on April 10, 2016

Excellent - every time!

food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Good salmon, tough streak.

Dined on April 9, 2016

First of all the stuffed mushrooms for an appetizer was excellent and the salmon was delightful. However; the $26.00 dollar steak was tough and lack flavor. The server was kind and attentive to our needs.

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Slowww, no draft beers, mediocre ribeye

Dined on April 7, 2016

We just moved to Prospect so I wanted to try a local place while my parents were visiting on a Thursday night. Our party of 5 was seated around 6:45 and ordered pretty quickly and the food did not arrive until 7:50 despite a restaurant that was only 75% full. Our queso dip appetizer was pretty generic and the yellow corn tortilla chips were straight out of a bag and cold. The entrees ranged from Pecan Chicken (excellent) to a Delmonico Ribeye (overcooked, heavily marveled and tough, even for a ribeye). We all eat out quite a bit and are well informed on the Louisville restaurant scene and none of us will be going back. Better steaks and better values can be had elsewhere, even at the chain steakhouses.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Find

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Food and service is good, prices are good, location is good. Never disappointing!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

nothing special

Dined on April 3, 2016

Went there for our anniversary. Entrees were very good,but sides and appetizer were very average. Service was good, but not great. Nothing you couldn't have gotten at any chain steakhouse. Prices are reasonable.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food!

Dined on April 2, 2016

Delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bunco dinner

Dined on March 29, 2016

Jonathan was our waiter and he provided great service and excellent suggestions! He was very polite and helpful!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been there several times, never been dis ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Been there several times, never been disappointed. Service and server were excellent. Always cleanse and food prepared exactly as ordered. Will return and pass on all the good things we enjoyed.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great service!

Dined on March 27, 2016

My family of 13 enjoyed Easter lunch at The Cast Iron Steakhouse, our waitress was fantastic, ready and able to provide us with quick service and ease at preparing everyones bills. I had the bacon wrapped fillet. It was awesome. Will be going back!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service5
value4

First Disappointment

Dined on March 26, 2016

This is our third time to eat here and the first time that we were disappointed. Our server was great and did her best to make up for the kitchen. The kitchen was slow and the steaks were good but overcooked. Every place has a bad night and this was theirs.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

It was great the service equaled the foo ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

It was great the service equaled the food excellent!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding place and food

Dined on March 20, 2016

The food there was outstanding comma the steaks were seasoned just right and the appetizers were very good the stuffed mushrooms were awesome noodles with steak was very good the pork wrapped bacon was very delicious and the desserts were very good. B peach cobbler was the best dessert I've had anywhere. Their bourbon list was one of the best around. I would recommend this place 2 anyone for a great dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service5

Second time visiting first time the food ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Second time visiting first time the food was better. My wife had the fish special which she didn't like due to highly seasoned sauce. My steak seemed undersized for the 9oz stated and was only average. Probably won't go back but the prices are very competitive.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Place for an excellent steak dinner

Dined on March 13, 2016

We decided to eat at the Cast Iron Steakhouse on a Sunday night. This was our first time trying out this restaurant so we approached this event wondering if this restaurant would meet our high expectations. The atmosphere was great with hardwoods everywhere. Some diners were seated on the outdoor terrace which, had we realized was available, would have asked to be seated outside on this beautiful night. The service was excellent! We were seated on time and the food and attention from the staff was spot on. My medium rare filet was done perfectly and wrapped with bacon making the flavor even better. The salad presentation and taste was great. We are looking forward to returning soon to this great restaurant

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food3
ambience2
service1
value4

Not worth the wait...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We arrived on time for an 8:00 pm reservation and had to stand in the entryway (with two teens) for 30 mins. We understand that popular places can get behind on Saturday nights, but it was the attitude of the staff that bothered us. No apologies; no offer to buy us a drink. Our waiter had a flippant attitude, and was phoning it in. We also had to wait 30 mins for the entrees to arrive. Again, no apology or acknowledgment. The salads were great, but the steaks were meh. The waiter assured me that I could get the steak/shrimp special without the BBQ, but the steak was marinated with BBQ sauce and was terrible. I didn't send it back because I didn't want to wait yet again... We have been to this restaurant multiple times with mixed results. No one seems to recognize us, and we've never had a manager stop by to check on us or say welcome back. Although we love its location, bar and salads, I think we are done giving them "another shot". We waited a total of 60 mins for an average experience. The management and wait staff don't seem to care about our experience, so we don't care to go back.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Awesome food and service!

Dined on March 12, 2016

This was our first time dining at Cast Iron and we will definitely be back! It took a while to be seated even though we had a reservation, but other than this, the experience was great! The food was delicious and the service and friendliness of the staff was top notch! See you soon Cast Iron!!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak!

Dined on March 11, 2016

We ate at Cast Iron Steakhouse for the first time last night. I ordered the 8 oz. Cast Iron Filet. It was the BEST steak I have ever had. It was wrapped on side with bacon and was so tender. I also enjoyed the Maple Balsamic Vinaigrette dressing for my house salad. For my side I picked asparagus, which was good, but my husband picked the sweet potato and he said it was delicious. For dessert we shared the Bread Pudding, it was heavenly. We had a wonderful dinner. We will definitely come here again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the ribeye and my friend had the p ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

I had the ribeye and my friend had the pork tenderloin wrapped in bacon and it was delicious. Fabulous taste.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food and Service were exceptional.

Dined on March 11, 2016

This was our first time at Cast Iron Skillet, we had tried to get reservations on three previous ocassion and now we know why it was so hard. The food and service was exceptional we had a shrimp cocktail 5 nice size shrimp with coctail sauce for $9.99, we also had Shrimp Oscar and it was very tasty. My wife had a filet and I had a ribeye both cooked to perfection and with amazing flavor. My wife usually puts A1 on all her steaks and she didin't on this one. The sear using the cast iron skillet was great locking the flavor in and creating thin crust on the outside.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Great get away from chain steak houses

Dined on March 7, 2016

We were going to go to one of the chain steak houses but due to probable long wait and negative prior experience with restaurant I looked at Open Table app on iphone and I was able to make a reservation for 6 with really short notice at the Cast Iron steak house. Food was very good and prices very reasonable but portions a little small which can be a good thing but if you are hungry when you go, consider getting appetizer as well. The bar area can be a little noisy but fun for the locals and people wanting to socialize. Really good experience overall---we will definitely be back!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

As always, great food with great service ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

As always, great food with great service. Love the cozy atmosphere of this restaurant too.

food4
ambience4
service5

Service was great and our server was ver ...

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

Service was great and our server was very nice.

food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great food, great service, thoroughly enjoyed my evening

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

5 friends & family went on a week night. ...

vip
Dined on February 23, 2016

5 friends & family went on a week night. We tried stuffed mushrooms with lots of cheese... Good but cheese was overwhelming. For dinner I had tilapia with crab which was very good. Others split the filet with sautéed & creamy spinach. Everything tasted delicious.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

I had the delmonico 9 oz ribeye and my w ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

I had the delmonico 9 oz ribeye and my wife has the 6 oz filet. Both were perfectly seasoned and cooked to perfection. Loaded baked potatoes and house salads were enjoyed by both of us. We had the shrimp cocktail as an appetizer which was excellent as well. No room for dessert this trip. We shared 2 desserts last time as we were dining with another couple. Overall, excellent experience!

food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Celebrating a birthday

Dined on February 19, 2016

Celebrated my son's birthday on a Friday during Lent which meant no meat. We allowed the birthday boy to indulge in a steak but the rest of us stuck to fish. I had the fried fish special and it was overcooked. Nothing special. My daughter had the salmon and said it was flavorful! Best compliment came from my son who got the ribeye and said it was awesome. My advice is stick to ordering a steak when you visit Cast Iron.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience2
service4

Was very yummy but too dark. Tables are ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Was very yummy but too dark. Tables are very close together but service and food made up for it.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.