About Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road

6325 River Road
Prospect, KY 40059
View Larger Map

Cast Iron Steakhouse opened on April 27th, 2011. This locally owned restaurant offers top-quality food at an affordable price. Menu includes a variety of steaks, aged from 21-28 days and hand-cut in house, as well as fresh seafood! At Cast Iron Steakhouse, we pride ourselves on delivering you the best food alongside the best service in town; No antler chandeliers, no peanuts on the floor, no country music, Just a comfortable atmosphere for you and your family! Cast Iron Steakhouse is conveniently located on River Road in Prospect, KY, so drop on in or make a reservation to see what everyone's been talking about!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:

Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday, Tuesday - Thursday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
River Rd

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(502) 384-7466

Website:
http://www.castironsteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
We can accommodate virtually any size parties, and will tailor to your party's needs!!

Parking Details:
Free parking for all restaurant patrons!

Executive Chef:
Curtis Rader

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We have hosted many wedding rehearsal dinners as well as private dinner parties.

Cast Iron Steakhouse - River Road Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Central Kentucky
Neighborhood Gem
Louisville
Steakhouse
Louisville
Best Restaurants in East Louisville ›

neighborhood gem (62)
special occasion (38)
good for groups (35)
See All
fit for foodies (34)
romantic (14)
kid-friendly (11)
great for outdoor dining (10)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (2)
late-night find (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
702 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

On par with Stony River but half the pri ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 3 days ago

On par with Stony River but half the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent experience. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent experience. Great food and service. Have been here many many times and will keep coming back. My family and friends love the Cast Iron Steakhouse!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love coming here! Good is always cook ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We love coming here! Good is always cooked to perfection- love this location better than the Indiana location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this restaurant, we go at least ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We love this restaurant, we go at least once a week!!!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time at Cast Iron and will definit ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First time at Cast Iron and will definitely be going back. The food was delicious and the staff courteous, gracious, and efficient. I am allergic to pepper and when I ordered the 6 oz sirloin I failed to ask if the steaks are seasoned. When my dinner was served I noticed the presence of seasoning. As soon as I said I was allergic to pepper but had not thought to ask if the steak was seasoned, my plate was whisked away and another steak was prepared free of any seasoning. The friend dining with me commented that the seasoning was delicious and it was a shame I could not have any. We both had the sirloin and agreed the steaks were among the best we have ever had. We shared the Dutch oven peach cobbler for dessert. It was divine and enough to feed at least 3 or 4 people.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our server, Meagan, was awesome! She too ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our server, Meagan, was awesome! She took her time explaining the menu and helping us with our selections. Everything we ate was wonderful. From the appetizer to the peach cobbler. (Save room for the cobbler!) We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My steak was not cooked properly. My com ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My steak was not cooked properly. My companions food was wrong. My sisters steak was below quality having a lot of gristle and fat. We arrived at our reservation time at 7:00. We were seated immediately. We left at 9:00. Entirely too long. We were offered dessert for our inconvenience by the manager. I had to pay for a steak I could not eat. Poor poor experience/customer service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

Best steak ever!! Service and food were ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Best steak ever!! Service and food were great. The drive from downtown Louisville took 15 minutes and the route was scenic.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great place to go for a glass of wine ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A great place to go for a glass of wine and a steak. Been here numerous times. Usually very crowded in the evening and weekend.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Salmon was excellent but steak was a lit ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Salmon was excellent but steak was a little chewy and the steak salad didn't have much meat at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Very good food. Great ambiance near Harr ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very good food. Great ambiance near Harrods Creek. Inside a hit dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

We all had great meals but the service w ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We all had great meals but the service was lacking a bit. We had a party of 8 for a birthday, just not much room, dishes piled up on the table, we collected them so they could be picked up on her next "re-fill" trip. But all in all a good time had by all and the Delmonico was fabulous as always!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Server was attentive and personable! Foo ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Server was attentive and personable! Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was a bit unpredictable. Appetiz ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Service was a bit unpredictable. Appetizers arrived and immediately after our dinner salads also arrived. Then we waited quite some time for entrees and one entree was totally messed up. They corrected the messed up entree but it didn't arrive until everyone else was practically finished eating.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Had a group dinner. Service was spectac ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Had a group dinner. Service was spectacular. Our waitress was top notch. Food was delicious and prices were reasonable. I for one will definitely be back and will recommend it to friends.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was good to excellent. Service effi ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was good to excellent. Service efficient, but all staff seemed stressed and not particularly happy to be serving us. Venue small, crowded and noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Great time & good food! We go often beca ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Great time & good food! We go often because the restaurant is always good.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual the food was outstanding: tast ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

As usual the food was outstanding: tasty, done to perfection, and brought to the table in a timely way. This is consistent with my past experiences over the last 2-3 years that I've been coming here. But our server, Reeny, deserves very special mention and commendation. She was very welcoming and gracious and at the same time prompt and highly professional. While it was obvious that the restaurant was busy she never let the number of tables and diners she was serving get in the way of providing us with deft service in a pleasant way and often showing a great sense of humor. I generally don't order chopped steak but Cast Iron prepares it in a winning way and I'd highly recommend it, as I would the outstanding potato cake which I've had several times.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall a very good experience. I wasn' ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Overall a very good experience. I wasn't happy with the table we were seated at, it was in a busy area and pushed too close to another group. I did make a reservation..maybe next time I will request a specif table .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was very good, but food was blah ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Service was very good, but food was blah. My fish (mahi mahi) was over cooked and the Mac and Cheese was very ordinary. Dessert (caramel chocolate brownie with ice cream) was tasty and the only dish that impressed me at all. Would not recommend or return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value2

First time here and was pleasantly surpr ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

First time here and was pleasantly surprised. Good ambiance. friendly staff, down home, comfortable feel. Liked booth vs table. Steaks were fine. Entrance stairs a challenge, use the handicapped ramp to the parking lot.

Tags: special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been here 3 times in 2 months. ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

We have been here 3 times in 2 months. Food is excellent. Service was superb the first time. The second time the waitress was stressed and we could tell. This last time, the waitress was not observant enough and would disappear. I can understand if the place was busy, but we didn't come in till 8:15. It was almost empty.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Fried pickles were awesome! Husband had ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fried pickles were awesome! Husband had steak - delicious. I had the pork tenderloin - to die for! Homemade dressing were wonderful! Kids had tenders and cheeseburger - all good.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is way too pricey for the quali ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is way too pricey for the quality. One of our guests ordered steak cooked medium well and it came out medium rare. It was sent back and came out (after a very long time) still rare. They did not charge her and she left hungry. The space is very cramped with little room to walk through the dining area or move between tables. Our experience wasn't good enough for a return visit and I cannot recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

It was our anniversary. You're always af ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

It was our anniversary. You're always afraid on those special occasions that something isn't going to go as planned. All I can say is it was the perfect evening. The service and professionalism was impeccable. And the food? We both ordered the fillets. I don't know what they're paying the chef, but it's not enough. I've eaten at the #1 and #5 steakhouses in the country and this steak was as good or better, hands down. Perfectly cooked medium rare, Pittsburgh style! At Cast Iron Steakhouse you get what you pay for and then some. We've been here several times and always came away with the same great experience. 😀

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent value great service meal was v ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent value great service meal was very good!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is excellent. Love everything abou ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Food is excellent. Love everything about going there. Being able to make reservations is awesome

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Another delicious meal at Cast Iron Stea ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Another delicious meal at Cast Iron Steakhouse! My husband and I took his dad for an early Father's Day dinner because he was craving a hot brown. It was his first time there. He said the hot brown was delicious and he loved the ambiance. We will definitely be back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cast Iron Steakhouse has established a s ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Cast Iron Steakhouse has established a solid reputation for very good food. The menu has an abundance of great choices. I LOVE the steak queso and never miss the opportunity to indulge with the peach cobbler. Their steaks are excellent as are the other selections. The service is friendly, efficient and consistent. Best of all, the value for the dollar is terrific! I highly recommend this place!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We have been to the Cast Iron Steakhouse ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to the Cast Iron Steakhouse several times and I have never been disappointed. It is the only restaurant that I will order a steak. It always comes done perfectly and is tender, juicy and delicious. The baked potato is awesome and their salads are always fresh and tasty.

Unfortunately, a strong thunderstorm knocked out the power right after our meal was served. Since it was our 45th Anniversary, we were given a card by the owner for a free dessert to share the next time we come in. A transformer was blown so they had to close for the evening but we were able to enjoy our dinner and look forward to dessert next time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The stuffed, bacon-wrapped pork loin was ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The stuffed, bacon-wrapped pork loin was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Friends' outing

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

Great food and great service...felt welcome from the time we entered until the time we left. We will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

girls night

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

Our play night girls go to dinner before we go to the play and so this time we chose Cast Iron. We told our server that we had to be downtown by 7:00 and she gave us such great service we were out of there by 6:30 but did not feel rushed. Food was great! It is one of my favorite places to dine right in our neighborhood.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Service was lacking

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

I had mentioned on reservation that it was our 28 th anniversary. We got there early and we were seated right away. The problem was we were seated on the bar side where they were waiting for a 20 person party to arrive. They moved the tables beside us together and were waiting for us to finish so our table could be added. We had two different servers. It was very chaotic and we felt we were in the way. Very disappointing experience for our anniversary dinner. The food was delicious though.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

We were a party of 10 and our server was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We were a party of 10 and our server was excellent and very attentive. The food was a great value for the price and absolutely delicious. Best Delmonico steak I've had in a long time! The outside porch seating is very quant and romantic if you are looking for a good date night spot. Definitely worth trying out if you are in the area.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner!

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great service, great food, reasonable price - we will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went when friends and family in town. T ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Went when friends and family in town. Three got steak and all loved it. I got Mahi Mahi which was excellent. Last person got pasta which he also liked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating a very special anniv ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

We were celebrating a very special anniversary! The whole experience was wonderful! The food was amazing!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good atmosphere.

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Cheese fries were good, fried pickles were good too.

NewYork Strip was tasty, had some fat on it but not much.

Sirloin was tasty, my son ate it all.

Meatloaf was a bit underdone, not very hot, but we didn't send it back, probably should have.

Hot Brown was tasty, no complaints.

Mac n cheese was really good but small.

Overall, I will be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.