About Casa Mia

261 Washington Street
Marblehead, MA 01945
View Larger Map

Casa Mia offers a full bar in a cozy and comfortable 50 seat restaurant. Our southern Italian menu consists of dishes using the finest seasonal produce. We have many specials through out the week and would love for you to come in and try them!
We specialize in southern Italian cuisine specifically from the Calabria region of Italy. The bar at Casa Mia features original craft cocktails using only the freshest ingredients and also local beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Closed
Tuesday-Saturday 5-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 631-1200

Website:
http://casamiamarblehead.com/

Catering:
Call us to have any event catered 781-631-1200 or email casamiamarblehead@gmail.com

Parking Details:
We have parking on the side and rear of restaurant on Washington Street.

Executive Chef:
Luigi Scalzi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Casa Mia
  • Casa Mia
  • Casa Mia
Casa Mia
Casa Mia
Casa Mia

Casa Mia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Marblehead ›

neighborhood gem (34)
fit for foodies (24)
special occasion (23)
See All
romantic (15)
good for groups (10)
kid-friendly (9)
hot spot (7)
great for brunch (7)
notable wine list (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
114 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is my second time visiting Casa Mia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is my second time visiting Casa Mia and I love the relaxed atmosphere inside. The food is excellent, as is the service. The energy inside the restaurant is vibrant and energetic, but not so loud you can't have a conversation. I highly recommend Casa Mia.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rocky start due to large wedding party s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Rocky start due to large wedding party slow to leave but staff cleared up rapidly and we enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meals but we should have ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We enjoyed our meals but we should have asked the price of the veal chop special before ordering because it was $40- significantly more than other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Wine was good. The food was mediocre but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wine was good. The food was mediocre but I am Italian so I have high expectations.

Ordered the pappardelle with porcini mushrooms, it was good but have had better.

My friend ordered the lemon chicken, it was quite ordinary.

Check was $82 with tip too much for this kind of a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our second experience at Casa Mia was no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our second experience at Casa Mia was not quite as exceptional as the first. Our server was quite pleasant and helpful but took a long time to come to take our order. They had sold out of the special that two of us ordered, but they hadn't bothered to tell the staff. The house-made fusilli pasta is very good. In general we like this place a lot, but the noise level when it's full makes it tough to have a conversation.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food at Casa Mia is absolutely delec ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food at Casa Mia is absolutely delectable and the service extremely friendly

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent but on a Saturday nig ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent but on a Saturday night at least, it was incredibly noisy. Will try during the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We LOVE Casa Mia!! It's a family run res ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We LOVE Casa Mia!! It's a family run restaurant where they make all their customers feel like they are invited into their private home for dinner. The food is delicious and all made to order. I highly recommend Casa Mia for any occasion!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the food here. Well...I love all ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love the food here. Well...I love all the pasta dishes and appetizers. The steak and other items are just average. We went on Fathers Day this year and they seemed overwhelmed. They ran out of a lot of the items on the menu and the service was VERY slow. Several times we would order something only to be told a few minutes later they were all out. Even though it was slow our waitress was very nice. I really do like it here and I do plan on going back...just maybe on a much slower night like a Tuesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent Italian food. Friendly staff. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent Italian food. Friendly staff. Great neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is impeccable and the food i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service is impeccable and the food is Italian authentic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First experience having brunch at Casa M ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First experience having brunch at Casa Mia and it was delicious. The prosciutto and melon was the perfect ripeness. The Italian style Benedict was outstanding. Perfectly poached egg. As always, the staff was accommodating and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, excellent food and service. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place, excellent food and service. The only problem is noise...it's a small room, and when crowded, it's difficult to talk.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

For all the rave reviews this restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

For all the rave reviews this restaurant gets it must be a rather unsophisticated clientele. Dishes have only superficial resemblance to real Italian cuisine and the wine list is barely acceptable. It is probably fine if you live in Marblehead but traveling any further would be a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

While it was promising and the service w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

While it was promising and the service was exceptional, the food was just average. Not what you would expect from the price and the expectations set. They bill themselves as fine dining and just was not fine

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

A taste of Calabria in Marblehead... My ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A taste of Calabria in Marblehead... My palate was in heaven!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing after reading all the great reviews

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Was really looking forward to dining here after reading all the absolutely positive reviews on Open Table. Others were right about the Noise Level it is almost too much to enjoy your conversation. Our server was fair, did not really check back with us. The food was not what I had anticipated was looking for classic ragout of rabbit, beef or other over home made pasta. I had the Calibrese pasta with slow cooked pork which was tough and dry but the sauce and the pasta were tasty. My boyfriend had the Haddock and fresh vegetables which would have fared better in Parchment rather than the foil they served it in. It was mediocre.

Tags: vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Probably the worst meal I've had in long ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Probably the worst meal I've had in long time . My chicken was so dry and my wife's lamb , well, neither of us could eat it. On the plus side the pasta appetizer was fine, but not good enough to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Superb real Italian food - house made limoncello!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Second time here, this time with friends and we all loved everything we had. Appetizers, Entrees and desserts were all excellent. In addition to amazing Limoncello they also have lime and orange. Lime was also terrific - orange wasn't quite ready to drink so we will have to sample next time. Chocolate covered spumoni is made in house and has a nice thick coat of chocolate. Balsamic strawberries are nice and light and flavorful - you'd never know it was vinegar on them. Will definitely return and may stop by for just limoncello (or lime or orange) and strawberries.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True European dining experience w/o leaving Mhd!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Casa Mia is a gem of fine cuisine offered in a warm European style atmosphere. Owner Papa in front of the house greeting always very much in evidence with son/chef creating amazing food in back, not your typical run of the mill Italian restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casa Mia, Molto, molto bene!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This neighborhood ristorante just continues to be a gem! I've now lost count about the number of times I've dined there, but when the food and service is that good, who counts? We just keep returning, of course.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in Marblehead

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This new restaurant is worth a special trip! A varied menu and a surprisingly diverse wine list plus specialty drinks expertly made Service is attentive without being suffocating. And each entry is custom-made. All three of us wanted slight tweaks to our entrees which they were happy to make. Put Casa Mia on your "must visit" list. And they even have parking!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I found this place and it w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A friend and I found this place and it was incredible! We were looking for a nice Sunday evening meal and found a restaurant worthy of a true foodie

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Food and servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great dining experience. Food and service were both excellent. Noise level moderate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the haddock with steamed veggies an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the haddock with steamed veggies and the homemade pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall Excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First time a this restaurant, nice quaint location with North End feel. Family owned and present while we were there, very nice man. Food was excellent, price reasonable, service excellent. Only real issue was noise, plenty of it, even the waitress had o reiterate things multiple times. They could make some changes to reduce noise fairly easily it appears, if they do it will be markedly better!

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved our food at Casa Mia! We had three ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved our food at Casa Mia! We had three different entrees cooked to perfection. Our waitress was knowledgeable and helpful, friendly and very sweet. It would have been a heavenly experience but the noise level was so high that we could barely manage to hear each other by the end of the meal. The restaurant is small with a low ceiling and wood floor so voices carried and bar was crowded so as one area became loud, the next area became louder until we were, literally, uncomfortable. We couldn't wait to leave which is a shame because ordinarily I'd be looking forward to another visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Casa Mia was exceptional

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My father took my daughter to Casa Mia for her 14th birthday. As usual, the food and service was fantastic. It's one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is truly s little gem. Who knew th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is truly s little gem. Who knew that in Marblehead there was an Italian restaurant that rivaled any great restaurant in the North End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Six stars out of a possible 5!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is a great find for anyone who believes that Italian food is the world's best. The food is marvelous, the ambience is relaxed, the service is first rate and friendly, and the mixture of families and couples is very well accommodated.

We eat at Casa Mia regularly, all year long. Fortunately, we live on Boston's North Shore, so we get to enjoy Casa Mia when most visitors have left until the next summer.

Favorite foods include Mparrettati (Calabrese style pasta with pork ragu), Costeletta (pork chop stuffed with prosciutto & mozzarella in Marsala mushroom reduction), and Cetrioolo (cucumber marinated in Modena balsamic vinegar). Deserts are great - especially the cannoli and strawberries in black pepper, balsamic & honey over ice cream.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had another great meal at Casa Mia.it ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had another great meal at Casa Mia.it continues to be our favorite restaurant. The menu items are creative and delicious. This is an excellent dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was fantastic, as it was the ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

Everything was fantastic, as it was the first time we went there. Food and service can't be beat. We'll be back again for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Regular Favorite

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

The food is consistently excellent. The staff is most welcoming and the service is very good.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 19, 2016

This is just like Casa Mia, friendly, accomodating food. The home made fusilli were delicious, a portion that was hard to leave behind. The steak with the arugula and cheese was to die for. Very glad to meet my friends for a wonderful dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Still great

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

So most restaurants when new on the scene sometimes fade in either their food quality, level or service or menu creativity. Fortunately, for me, my wife and our family Casa Mia has done the opposite. It continues to get better and better with outstanding service and just wonderful food. Can't wait to go back. I've lost count on how many times I've been there now.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing people and food! My favorite !

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

Amazing people and food! My favorite !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another great experience!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

This was our second visit, and we have been completely satisfied both times. The Wait Staff are very attentive and friendly, the atmosphere is cozy if just a tad tight, and the food is outstanding. I love the stuffed veal rolls, and their homemade pasta is terrific as well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and cuisine!

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Excellent service and cuisine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. I love having anothe ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Food was excellent. I love having another brunch spot on a Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolute Treat!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Hadn't dined her before, and was most pleasantly surprised. Food and service were excellent. Waiter and owner took personal interest in ensuring my vegan needs were met, and that my husband's and son's meals were to their liking. The suggested wine paired perfectly with our meal. Very happy to have this quality restaurant in the area. Will definitely return!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.