About Casa Mia

261 Washington Street
Marblehead, MA 01945
View Larger Map

Casa Mia offers a full bar in a cozy and comfortable 50 seat restaurant. Our southern Italian menu consists of dishes using the finest seasonal produce. We have many specials through out the week and would love for you to come in and try them!
We specialize in southern Italian cuisine specifically from the Calabria region of Italy. The bar at Casa Mia features original craft cocktails using only the freshest ingredients and also local beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Closed
Tuesday-Saturday 5-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 631-1200

Website:
http://casamiamarblehead.com/

Catering:
Call us to have any event catered 781-631-1200 or email casamiamarblehead@gmail.com

Parking Details:
We have parking on the side and rear of restaurant on Washington Street.

Executive Chef:
Luigi Scalzi

Additional:
Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Casa Mia
  • Casa Mia
  • Casa Mia
Casa Mia
Casa Mia
Casa Mia

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Casa Mia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Service
Boston Suburbs
Italian
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Marblehead ›

Neighborhood Gem (28)
Special Occasion (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
See All
Romantic (13)
Good for Groups (9)
Kid-friendly (6)
Great for Brunch (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
Newest
124 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our Waitress was great . The food was e ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined 6 days ago

Our Waitress was great . The food was excellent. I did not feel rushed there at all

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the family owned atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Loved the family owned atmosphere.

The waitress was terrific. Good food and wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We were a little disappointed .My wife h ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a little disappointed .My wife had pasta and she said it tasted like it came from the can.I had Salmon and it ok.Our salads tasted like they had been sitting on a counter somewhere before served.It was a very warm evening but inside the restaurant it was hot.Too hot in fact.We chose this restaurant because friends had taken us there and it was delicious .We won't be back anytime soon .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The food were good and options attractiv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food were good and options attractive. The service was not. The person in charge admitted to having given away our table, though we were on time. He offered nothing to compensate for this error. The waitress was in a foul mood. She offered bread but did not bring it till we asked again. She also seemed put out that she had not ordered the two appetizers we requested and that we still wanted the second.

I don't believe she asked how our meal was or thanked us when we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Absolutely incredible spot! Everything ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Absolutely incredible spot! Everything from the food to service was A++++

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was bland and basic. I was exp ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was bland and basic. I was expecting so much more from a restaurant that boasts authentic italian. I will say my carbonara was delicious But the other 4 people in my party were so disappointed in their meals. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Recommended but nothing special.

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Recommended but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

love this place. food is excellent and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

love this place. food is excellent and the service (and the owner) are great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff great food great place

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great staff great food great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been here before and we are fans! ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've been here before and we are fans! But this time was special. I had booked a table through Open Table (we live in the neighborhood) and I had asked for window seats. But when we arrived, there were no window tables available, so we were seated at another table. Just before the entrees arrived, a window opened up and the whole wait staff worked magic, moved all four of us to the new table, and did it with grace and ease. You won't get THAT in any other restaurant! The staff is amazing and friendly and smart (from the kitchen tot he front of hte house), and the food is terrific. Well presented, not heavy, classic. We LOVE Casa Mia, and plan on going back often ... Can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This is my second time visiting Casa Mia ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is my second time visiting Casa Mia and I love the relaxed atmosphere inside. The food is excellent, as is the service. The energy inside the restaurant is vibrant and energetic, but not so loud you can't have a conversation. I highly recommend Casa Mia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rocky start due to large wedding party s ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Rocky start due to large wedding party slow to leave but staff cleared up rapidly and we enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meals but we should have ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

We enjoyed our meals but we should have asked the price of the veal chop special before ordering because it was $40- significantly more than other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Wine was good. The food was mediocre but ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wine was good. The food was mediocre but I am Italian so I have high expectations.

Ordered the pappardelle with porcini mushrooms, it was good but have had better.

My friend ordered the lemon chicken, it was quite ordinary.

Check was $82 with tip too much for this kind of a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our second experience at Casa Mia was no ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our second experience at Casa Mia was not quite as exceptional as the first. Our server was quite pleasant and helpful but took a long time to come to take our order. They had sold out of the special that two of us ordered, but they hadn't bothered to tell the staff. The house-made fusilli pasta is very good. In general we like this place a lot, but the noise level when it's full makes it tough to have a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food at Casa Mia is absolutely delec ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food at Casa Mia is absolutely delectable and the service extremely friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent but on a Saturday nig ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent but on a Saturday night at least, it was incredibly noisy. Will try during the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We LOVE Casa Mia!! It's a family run res ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We LOVE Casa Mia!! It's a family run restaurant where they make all their customers feel like they are invited into their private home for dinner. The food is delicious and all made to order. I highly recommend Casa Mia for any occasion!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love the food here. Well...I love all ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love the food here. Well...I love all the pasta dishes and appetizers. The steak and other items are just average. We went on Fathers Day this year and they seemed overwhelmed. They ran out of a lot of the items on the menu and the service was VERY slow. Several times we would order something only to be told a few minutes later they were all out. Even though it was slow our waitress was very nice. I really do like it here and I do plan on going back...just maybe on a much slower night like a Tuesday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent Italian food. Friendly staff. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Excellent Italian food. Friendly staff. Great neighborhood restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is impeccable and the food i ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The service is impeccable and the food is Italian authentic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First experience having brunch at Casa M ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First experience having brunch at Casa Mia and it was delicious. The prosciutto and melon was the perfect ripeness. The Italian style Benedict was outstanding. Perfectly poached egg. As always, the staff was accommodating and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place, excellent food and service. ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Great place, excellent food and service. The only problem is noise...it's a small room, and when crowded, it's difficult to talk.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

For all the rave reviews this restaurant ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

For all the rave reviews this restaurant gets it must be a rather unsophisticated clientele. Dishes have only superficial resemblance to real Italian cuisine and the wine list is barely acceptable. It is probably fine if you live in Marblehead but traveling any further would be a disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

While it was promising and the service w ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

While it was promising and the service was exceptional, the food was just average. Not what you would expect from the price and the expectations set. They bill themselves as fine dining and just was not fine

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

A taste of Calabria in Marblehead... My ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

A taste of Calabria in Marblehead... My palate was in heaven!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointing after reading all the great reviews

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Was really looking forward to dining here after reading all the absolutely positive reviews on Open Table. Others were right about the Noise Level it is almost too much to enjoy your conversation. Our server was fair, did not really check back with us. The food was not what I had anticipated was looking for classic ragout of rabbit, beef or other over home made pasta. I had the Calibrese pasta with slow cooked pork which was tough and dry but the sauce and the pasta were tasty. My boyfriend had the Haddock and fresh vegetables which would have fared better in Parchment rather than the foil they served it in. It was mediocre.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Probably the worst meal I've had in long ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Probably the worst meal I've had in long time . My chicken was so dry and my wife's lamb , well, neither of us could eat it. On the plus side the pasta appetizer was fine, but not good enough to come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Superb real Italian food - house made limoncello!

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Second time here, this time with friends and we all loved everything we had. Appetizers, Entrees and desserts were all excellent. In addition to amazing Limoncello they also have lime and orange. Lime was also terrific - orange wasn't quite ready to drink so we will have to sample next time. Chocolate covered spumoni is made in house and has a nice thick coat of chocolate. Balsamic strawberries are nice and light and flavorful - you'd never know it was vinegar on them. Will definitely return and may stop by for just limoncello (or lime or orange) and strawberries.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

True European dining experience w/o leaving Mhd!

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Casa Mia is a gem of fine cuisine offered in a warm European style atmosphere. Owner Papa in front of the house greeting always very much in evidence with son/chef creating amazing food in back, not your typical run of the mill Italian restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casa Mia, Molto, molto bene!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This neighborhood ristorante just continues to be a gem! I've now lost count about the number of times I've dined there, but when the food and service is that good, who counts? We just keep returning, of course.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A gem in Marblehead

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 1, 2016

This new restaurant is worth a special trip! A varied menu and a surprisingly diverse wine list plus specialty drinks expertly made Service is attentive without being suffocating. And each entry is custom-made. All three of us wanted slight tweaks to our entrees which they were happy to make. Put Casa Mia on your "must visit" list. And they even have parking!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A friend and I found this place and it w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

A friend and I found this place and it was incredible! We were looking for a nice Sunday evening meal and found a restaurant worthy of a true foodie

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Food and servic ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Great dining experience. Food and service were both excellent. Noise level moderate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love the haddock with steamed veggies an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Love the haddock with steamed veggies and the homemade pasta!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Overall Excellent

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

First time a this restaurant, nice quaint location with North End feel. Family owned and present while we were there, very nice man. Food was excellent, price reasonable, service excellent. Only real issue was noise, plenty of it, even the waitress had o reiterate things multiple times. They could make some changes to reduce noise fairly easily it appears, if they do it will be markedly better!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Loved our food at Casa Mia! We had three ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Loved our food at Casa Mia! We had three different entrees cooked to perfection. Our waitress was knowledgeable and helpful, friendly and very sweet. It would have been a heavenly experience but the noise level was so high that we could barely manage to hear each other by the end of the meal. The restaurant is small with a low ceiling and wood floor so voices carried and bar was crowded so as one area became loud, the next area became louder until we were, literally, uncomfortable. We couldn't wait to leave which is a shame because ordinarily I'd be looking forward to another visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As always, Casa Mia was exceptional

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

My father took my daughter to Casa Mia for her 14th birthday. As usual, the food and service was fantastic. It's one of our favorite places to dine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is truly s little gem. Who knew th ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

This is truly s little gem. Who knew that in Marblehead there was an Italian restaurant that rivaled any great restaurant in the North End.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Six stars out of a possible 5!

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is a great find for anyone who believes that Italian food is the world's best. The food is marvelous, the ambience is relaxed, the service is first rate and friendly, and the mixture of families and couples is very well accommodated.

We eat at Casa Mia regularly, all year long. Fortunately, we live on Boston's North Shore, so we get to enjoy Casa Mia when most visitors have left until the next summer.

Favorite foods include Mparrettati (Calabrese style pasta with pork ragu), Costeletta (pork chop stuffed with prosciutto & mozzarella in Marsala mushroom reduction), and Cetrioolo (cucumber marinated in Modena balsamic vinegar). Deserts are great - especially the cannoli and strawberries in black pepper, balsamic & honey over ice cream.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.