About Casa Mia

261 Washington Street
Marblehead, MA 01945
View Larger Map

Casa Mia offers a full bar in a cozy and comfortable 50 seat restaurant. Our southern Italian menu consists of dishes using the finest seasonal produce. We have many specials through out the week and would love for you to come in and try them!
We specialize in southern Italian cuisine specifically from the Calabria region of Italy. The bar at Casa Mia features original craft cocktails using only the freshest ingredients and also local beers.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Monday- Closed
Tuesday-Saturday 5-10pm
Sunday 5-9pm

Cross Street:
Atlantic Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(781) 631-1200

Website:
http://casamiamarblehead.com/

Catering:
Call us to have any event catered 781-631-1200 or email casamiamarblehead@gmail.com

Parking Details:
We have parking on the side and rear of restaurant on Washington Street.

Executive Chef:
Luigi Scalzi

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Casa Mia, Marblehead, MA
  • Casa Mia, Marblehead, MA
  • Casa Mia, Marblehead, MA
Casa Mia, Marblehead, MA
Casa Mia, Marblehead, MA
Casa Mia, Marblehead, MA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Fri - Sat 5:00PM - 5:30PM

Casa Mia Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Boston / New England
Neighborhood Gem
Boston Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Marblehead ›

Neighborhood Gem (19)
Special Occasion (11)
Good for a Date (10)
See All
Romantic (9)
Casual (9)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Cozy (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Seasonal (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fun (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
148 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had the calamari and salmon on my last v ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

Had the calamari and salmon on my last visit. Absolutely delicious. I cannot wait to go back; love the overall atmosphere of the restaurant and the staff is very attentive.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The owners are warm and friendly. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

The owners are warm and friendly. The staff is more than accommodating. The food is impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was average. Service was good. ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was average. Service was good. Nice dining room.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

I had the veal and it did not taste righ ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I had the veal and it did not taste right- as if the meat was spoiled. I could be wrong but it did not have any flavor and had a funny taste. I never write bad reviews but I was so disappointed as others I had talked to said they really enjoyed the food. I did not get sick after dining there so perhaps it was just a poor choice to order but I will not go back there. I did not want to complain as we were taking friends out to dinner and I did not want to spoil the evening. Sorry but think the restaurant should know. On the positive side the martini and salad were very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Highly recommended. A great Italian in M ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Highly recommended. A great Italian in Marblehead with terrific ambience. The homemade fusilli with shrimp and Italian sausage was outstanding. The fried shrimp and calamari appetizer with marinara sauce was another winner. The owner and his son were very gracious hosts

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious!!

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Soprafinno! Food was delicious, ambiance ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Soprafinno!

Food was delicious, ambiance was perfect. It was a great 'date night'!

Tags: Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love our great local Authentic Italia ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 14, 2016

We love our great local Authentic Italian restaurant!!

It's become a favorite of ours!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service. ............ ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Excellent food and service. ...................................................................................... .. . .....

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Visited on a Saturday night while on vac ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Visited on a Saturday night while on vacation with my sister. Loved the vibe and enjoyed a relaxed evening with excellent service and great food. The lamb skewers and risotto porcini were just fabulous!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our second visit! Loved it, gr ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 7, 2016

This was our second visit! Loved it, great Family owned and operated gem!!!!

Excellent Food, service and we absolutely love the place!!

We will be back!!!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first visit and found ambiance and g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Our first visit and found ambiance and good Italian food. Our visiter needed glutenfree and is a very good cook and she gave high ratings for our choice.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Healthy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I wanted to love it. I will give it a se ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

I wanted to love it. I will give it a second chance but I was underwhelmed. We had a reservation on a Saturday night, it was busy and the staff could not keep up. We barely saw our server. Service, honestly, was really bad because in general, the staff was so indifferent (at least pretend to care!) The food was good, but not great. They screwed up the order (and did to charge us for the mistakes, which was nice.) I was hoping to be blown away but it wasn't anything special. The wine was excellent and they did refill our water constantly. Thank goodness because we had to wait quite a long time for the food. I watched the people at the tables around us and they seemed to be experiencing the same wait for food & inattentive staff.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

My mother is from the same area of Italy ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 1, 2016

My mother is from the same area of Italy and I know and enjoyed the high quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice house wines, pasta made on premise ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 29, 2016

Nice house wines, pasta made on premise, fantastic charcuterie board

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Top quality and authentic Italian food W ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Top quality and authentic Italian food

We were incredibly surprised and satisfied with the meal. The fresh pasta is super and the tomato sauce is perfect. Excellent meat and risotto too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good food, but way too noisy. Serv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Very good food, but way too noisy. Service was excellent and prices are reasonable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

This was a lovely find. A friend sugges ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 23, 2016

This was a lovely find. A friend suggested we try it, and it was amazing! Service was tops. Family owned and operated...just a wonderful gem . I had a sweet and spicy salmon which was to die for and my husband had a special with homemade pasta and shrimp with an awesome creme type sauce!!! Happy Foodies!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are regulars at Casa Mia and we are g ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We are regulars at Casa Mia and we are guaranteed a delicious meal. There are always delicious specials and new items added to the regular slate of amazing and authentic Calabrian Italian cuisine. The staff is knowledgeable and the owners are always present to make sure that every patron's meal meets expectations. I highly recommend Casa Mia for dinner or their delicious brunch items on the weekend. I also highly recommend reservations since it's not a huge place and there are only about 8-10 seats at the bar if you prefer to dine there.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casa Mia never disappoints! Alberto and ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Casa Mia never disappoints! Alberto and his family run resturant serves outstanding Italian dishes with excellent and friendly wait staff. Unique specials and fresh menu items make this the BEST Italian restuarant on Massachusett's North Shore by far!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely little place in Marblehead. We h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Lovely little place in Marblehead. We had a cozy table for two - busy on a Friday night, but not noisy . The owner is from the Calabria region of Italy, and all the photos on the walls are of he and his wife's families from back where they grew up. Casual, but very classy. The small bar is the perfect size, attracting locals who'd like a drink or a bite, but without the noise of a large bar. The owner also walks around to check on your table and make sure you are enjoying yourself. The food is excellent, and there is always something "Home made" on the menu.

I had the pappardelle in white wine sauce. The pasta cooked perfectly al dente, and the sauce was light and paired perfectly with white wine. We look forward to coming again...

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and reasonable prices. Ov ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent food and reasonable prices. Overall a very good meal and nice atmosphere. Most seafood options were specials. Will dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great time! We enjoy the authentic pasta ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 30, 2016

Great time! We enjoy the authentic pasta dishes and burrata salata! Nice ambiance and wait staff!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Our Waitress was great . The food was e ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Our Waitress was great . The food was excellent. I did not feel rushed there at all

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Fun, Paleo Friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved the family owned atmosphere. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 19, 2016

Loved the family owned atmosphere.

The waitress was terrific. Good food and wine

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

We were a little disappointed .My wife h ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

We were a little disappointed .My wife had pasta and she said it tasted like it came from the can.I had Salmon and it ok.Our salads tasted like they had been sitting on a counter somewhere before served.It was a very warm evening but inside the restaurant it was hot.Too hot in fact.We chose this restaurant because friends had taken us there and it was delicious .We won't be back anytime soon .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value2

The food were good and options attractiv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food were good and options attractive. The service was not. The person in charge admitted to having given away our table, though we were on time. He offered nothing to compensate for this error. The waitress was in a foul mood. She offered bread but did not bring it till we asked again. She also seemed put out that she had not ordered the two appetizers we requested and that we still wanted the second.

I don't believe she asked how our meal was or thanked us when we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Absolutely incredible spot! Everything ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 5, 2016

Absolutely incredible spot! Everything from the food to service was A++++

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was bland and basic. I was exp ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 4, 2016

The food was bland and basic. I was expecting so much more from a restaurant that boasts authentic italian. I will say my carbonara was delicious But the other 4 people in my party were so disappointed in their meals. We will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Recommended but nothing special.

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 1, 2016

Recommended but nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

love this place. food is excellent and t ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on July 30, 2016

love this place. food is excellent and the service (and the owner) are great.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great staff great food great place

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great staff great food great place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We've been here before and we are fans! ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 23, 2016

We've been here before and we are fans! But this time was special. I had booked a table through Open Table (we live in the neighborhood) and I had asked for window seats. But when we arrived, there were no window tables available, so we were seated at another table. Just before the entrees arrived, a window opened up and the whole wait staff worked magic, moved all four of us to the new table, and did it with grace and ease. You won't get THAT in any other restaurant! The staff is amazing and friendly and smart (from the kitchen tot he front of hte house), and the food is terrific. Well presented, not heavy, classic. We LOVE Casa Mia, and plan on going back often ... Can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This is my second time visiting Casa Mia ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 10, 2016

This is my second time visiting Casa Mia and I love the relaxed atmosphere inside. The food is excellent, as is the service. The energy inside the restaurant is vibrant and energetic, but not so loud you can't have a conversation. I highly recommend Casa Mia.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rocky start due to large wedding party s ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 8, 2016

Rocky start due to large wedding party slow to leave but staff cleared up rapidly and we enjoyed our meal very much.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We enjoyed our meals but we should have ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 6, 2016

We enjoyed our meals but we should have asked the price of the veal chop special before ordering because it was $40- significantly more than other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

Wine was good. The food was mediocre but ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Wine was good. The food was mediocre but I am Italian so I have high expectations.

Ordered the pappardelle with porcini mushrooms, it was good but have had better.

My friend ordered the lemon chicken, it was quite ordinary.

Check was $82 with tip too much for this kind of a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our second experience at Casa Mia was no ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 1, 2016

Our second experience at Casa Mia was not quite as exceptional as the first. Our server was quite pleasant and helpful but took a long time to come to take our order. They had sold out of the special that two of us ordered, but they hadn't bothered to tell the staff. The house-made fusilli pasta is very good. In general we like this place a lot, but the noise level when it's full makes it tough to have a conversation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food at Casa Mia is absolutely delec ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food at Casa Mia is absolutely delectable and the service extremely friendly

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was excellent but on a Saturday nig ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was excellent but on a Saturday night at least, it was incredibly noisy. Will try during the week.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.