About Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL

1719 Alternate US 19
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
View Larger Map

Papa Ludovico's Tradition In Italy, Papa Ludovico’s door was always open and everyone was welcome. The tantalizing aroma of fine Italian foods cooking on the stove would draw in friends, friends of friends, and sometimes even strangers... but after sharing a bottle of wine together, strangers became friends. Now, Casa Ludovico is proud to share Papa’s traditions in Palm Harbor, Florida. Everyone is welcome to enjoy fine Italian food and wine with both old and new friends. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5;00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-7779

Website:
http://www.eatatcasa.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Clearwater
Best Service
Clearwater
Special Occasion
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Palm Harbor ›

Special Occasion (21)
Good for a Date (17)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
See All
Romantic (13)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Authentic (12)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Comfort Food (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Cozy (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Casual (6)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Family Style (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
239 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fabulous all around! Our sever Kim was g ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Fabulous all around! Our sever Kim was great. The food was amazing. The best meatballs and sauce ever. The entrees were delicious and the dessert was amazing! We can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, but VERY rushed. As ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was excellent, but VERY rushed. Asked us to order everything at once since it was a busy night. Plates were taken away immediately after last bite. Saturday night dinner included appetizer, main course, dessert/coffee and we were out in 50 minutes. Not worth the $150 we spent for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food was excellent and delicious, t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and delicious, the server was very nice and respectful, in overall everything was nice. I'm very sure we'll come back to this place more often. The prices are reasonable. Thanks for a great service

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian cuisine, great w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great authentic Italian cuisine, great wine list and very friendly people. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great authentic cuisine - best grilled o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great authentic cuisine - best grilled octopus, love the olive oil/olives, genuine squid ink pasta, great veal, and tiramisu to die for - and plenty for 2.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian food that will leave y ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Authentic Italian food that will leave you very happy! I come from Boston, so Italian food is my favorite, and comparing makes it very difficult for a restaurant to measure up to the North End. This one does!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is average. Great service and nice ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food is average. Great service and nice people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Our server, Kim, was fantastic! She rea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server, Kim, was fantastic! She really takes care of you with such a great comfortable presence. Really enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food at Casa is always delicious, fr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food at Casa is always delicious, fresh and artfully presented. The staff attend to your needs in a friendly, unintrusive fashion, never pushing you to eat and go like some other eateries. I recommend going during the early evening hours, so's to take advantage of their "happy hour" offerings, it tempers the overall cost of the entire evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food with a great wine list ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding food with a great wine list and knowledgeable wait staff. Can be loud when crowded.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my parents out to Casa Ludovico l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I took my parents out to Casa Ludovico last week, expecting a fine meal. We were seated at a table where the setting sun was shining into their eyes; no shades on the window, no one paying attention. One of us got up and stuck a menu there to block the sun. No one even noticed. The noise level was close to deafening as large groups came in. Also unexpected, since this restaurant is rather intimate feeling, in an old home. Half of our entrees were mediocre, to dry and tasteless, including my $36 entree, with shriveled, tasteless clams and mushy mahi mahi. When we told our waiter of our dissatisfaction, he comped us two desserts. No manager ever came over to talk to us or apologize. I left $200 poorer, disappointed and vowing never to come back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The Best Italian Restaurant in Tampa Bay ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The Best Italian Restaurant in Tampa Bay! We take every out of town guest of ours to Casa Ludovico as it is consistent as well as the best tasting food you can ask for. The waiters & waitresses are the best, keeping an eye on your table and your needs without being annoying. A Palm Harbor Gem!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Casa has become one of our favorite rest ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Casa has become one of our favorite restaurants. The staff and all the waiters are wonderful.

Our waiter Rick is amazing, great memory, when we were seated he went to check if there

were Veal Chops available for us to hold, he remembers how we always order that, he also remembers our wine. That day they had an appetizer special, breaded mozzarella with prociutto and spinach, it was incredible. Large portions too. Our special Veal Chop Parmigiana was as always tender and delicious. Always enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our meals at Casa Ludivi ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at Casa Ludivico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A real treat! Carmine is a wonderful ho ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

A real treat! Carmine is a wonderful host and Carrie the best mixologist in the business!

Worth the drive to Palm Harbor!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our second visit to Casa Ludovi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

This was our second visit to Casa Ludovico and once again we were impressed with the food, the service and the atmosphere! This restaurant has so much going for it that it's one of those places you just have to fit into your dining plans when you are in Palm Harbour!

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, excellent service, this ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service, this is undoubtedly the best restaurant in the immediate Palm Harbor area.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a nice time. Dinner was good but ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 8, 2016

We had a nice time. Dinner was good but not great. Our waiter was good but, seemed overwhelmed at times. We were celebrating a birthday. I don't particularly care for a menu that doesn't show meal prices. The downside to the evening was it was hard to have a conversation because the noise level was too much .

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Quality of food always great. Staff al ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Quality of food always great. Staff always professional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely old house space, nice wine list, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Lovely old house space, nice wine list, great food and wonderful service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I meet my mother-in-law, who I love dear ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I meet my mother-in-law, who I love dearly, here on a regular basis for dinner. She and I loved our dinner as we always do. The service is impeccable, the wine delightful, the food is awesome, and most of all, my guest is divine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great authentic Italian food. Great serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great authentic Italian food. Great service. Prices were reasonable. Specials were spot on! We went twice during the week long stay at Innisbrook.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found this restaurant to be warm and inv ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 14, 2016

Found this restaurant to be warm and inviting. Food was hot and plentiful. They could adapt meals for allergies or just to change it. We went twice in the week.

Great wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was impressed on our first vist. Can't w ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 9, 2016

Was impressed on our first vist. Can't wait to go again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with two other couples and we re ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went with two other couples and we really enjoyed the round table and the chance to visit with each other. The waiter was excellent; very knowledgeable, friendly and personable. The food was just "ok". My husband enjoyed his piccata, but it was very pricey for what he got. I ordered the only GF option and it was literally a plate of penne with an ok sauce for $18! Not a good value. One of our friends loved the beef short rip which was the special that evening. The desserts were excellent. We thought the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Casa Ludovico has been one of our go-to ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Casa Ludovico has been one of our go-to restaurants for weekend dining with friends for years. They have updated their menu with flatbreads and other items that are currently popular. They have a great wine selection and the staff is always professional and attentive. We have a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Italian food was very good, but a bi ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Italian food was very good, but a bit pricey. Our waiter was very friendly, but had too many tables to cover, although a busy Sat night. It was our first time at this restaurant, but the owner/manager only greeted those who looked like regulars. He did not come around to each table to ask about our meal, nor did he even say "thanks" or "goodbye" when we left- for this reason alone, our business did not seem appreciated, so Casa Ludovico will not be on the top of our list for fine Italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A very pleasant dining experience with a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on September 3, 2016

A very pleasant dining experience with attentive servers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bit disappointed. Usually outstanding I ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Bit disappointed. Usually outstanding Italian dishes. This time the veal was over fried and dry and the house Chianti was way over priced $12 for a glass - really!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is located in a detached ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is located in a detached older house on Alt. Route 19 in Palm Harbor,

it has a parking lot to one side and offers valet parking too. There is a veranda at the front

of the house which is screened and there are a few tables there. Inside the restaurant is

not very large. It is divided in two sections one has the bar and the other just tables, the

dividing partition is at eye level when sitting at a table. The food is authentic Italian and

very well prepared with quality fresh ingredients. The menu has 10 appetizers, 1 soup of the day, 5 salads, 3 pizzas, 11 pastas, 3 fish 5 chicken and 4 veal entrees and 8 desserts. It is difficult

to choose favorites because they are all equally delicious. The wine list is very good. One serious problem the venue has is extremely rude and rowdy patrons who shout at the top of their lungs during dinner on the weekends especially. This is just awful to listen to and it makes any conversation nearly impossible including communication with the waiters so just be aware of this if you do decide to dine there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

This is One of The best restaurants in P ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is One of The best restaurants in Palm Harbor. Their Specials are always delicious. If you are lucky enough to be there on a night when they have Wild Boar parpadele Bolongnesse, order it. The Grouper livornese is also great. Say hi to the owner Carmine if you see him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Casa Ludovico and Carmen neve let us dow ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Casa Ludovico and Carmen neve let us down. Always great food, service, and a very friendly atmosphere. This is one of my favorites in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best! Definitely expensive, e ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always the best! Definitely expensive, especially the specials and wine by the glass, still my favorite !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just ok, good service though.

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was just ok, good service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We got together with some friends for an ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We got together with some friends for an evening however the corner we were in was a bit noisy and it was hard to hear each other. The food was great! We all had a great time . Our waitress was very well versed about the wine and the menu and was very attentive to our needs. We will be back again .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant with great service! The ...

 
 (London)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great restaurant with great service! The pasta is just amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb, and the Staff was w ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was superb, and the Staff was warm and caring, but they never hovered. The atmosphere was wonderful for quiet conversation. An outstanding restaurant. Carmine made sure we enjoyed our first experience, and we we will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, great food, great service. ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great spot, great food, great service. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dine at Casa Ludovico often. They hav ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We dine at Casa Ludovico often. They have a delicious and varied menu and the wait staff always welcomes us with open arms. There is a sausage and truffle oil pasta that is amongst the best dishes I have ever had. The grouper livornese is another favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.