About Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL

1719 Alternate US 19
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
View Larger Map

Papa Ludovico's Tradition In Italy, Papa Ludovico’s door was always open and everyone was welcome. The tantalizing aroma of fine Italian foods cooking on the stove would draw in friends, friends of friends, and sometimes even strangers... but after sharing a bottle of wine together, strangers became friends. Now, Casa Ludovico is proud to share Papa’s traditions in Palm Harbor, Florida. Everyone is welcome to enjoy fine Italian food and wine with both old and new friends. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5;00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-7779

Website:
http://www.eatatcasa.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Clearwater
Best Food
Clearwater
Best Service
Clearwater
4 More
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Best Value
Clearwater
Fit for Foodies
Clearwater
Romantic
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Palm Harbor ›

Special Occasion (34)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
See All
Romantic (21)
Notable Wine List (18)
Good for Groups (12)
Good for a Date (6)
Authentic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Casual (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Business Meals (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Private Room (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Family Style (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
218 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I meet my mother-in-law, who I love dear ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined 6 days ago

I meet my mother-in-law, who I love dearly, here on a regular basis for dinner. She and I loved our dinner as we always do. The service is impeccable, the wine delightful, the food is awesome, and most of all, my guest is divine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great authentic Italian food. Great serv ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great authentic Italian food. Great service. Prices were reasonable. Specials were spot on! We went twice during the week long stay at Innisbrook.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Found this restaurant to be warm and inv ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Found this restaurant to be warm and inviting. Food was hot and plentiful. They could adapt meals for allergies or just to change it. We went twice in the week.

Great wine list.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Was impressed on our first vist. Can't w ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Was impressed on our first vist. Can't wait to go again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went with two other couples and we re ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We went with two other couples and we really enjoyed the round table and the chance to visit with each other. The waiter was excellent; very knowledgeable, friendly and personable. The food was just "ok". My husband enjoyed his piccata, but it was very pricey for what he got. I ordered the only GF option and it was literally a plate of penne with an ok sauce for $18! Not a good value. One of our friends loved the beef short rip which was the special that evening. The desserts were excellent. We thought the atmosphere was perfect.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Casa Ludovico has been one of our go-to ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Casa Ludovico has been one of our go-to restaurants for weekend dining with friends for years. They have updated their menu with flatbreads and other items that are currently popular. They have a great wine selection and the staff is always professional and attentive. We have a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The Italian food was very good, but a bi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The Italian food was very good, but a bit pricey. Our waiter was very friendly, but had too many tables to cover, although a busy Sat night. It was our first time at this restaurant, but the owner/manager only greeted those who looked like regulars. He did not come around to each table to ask about our meal, nor did he even say "thanks" or "goodbye" when we left- for this reason alone, our business did not seem appreciated, so Casa Ludovico will not be on the top of our list for fine Italian food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

A very pleasant dining experience with a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

A very pleasant dining experience with attentive servers.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Bit disappointed. Usually outstanding I ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Bit disappointed. Usually outstanding Italian dishes. This time the veal was over fried and dry and the house Chianti was way over priced $12 for a glass - really!

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

This restaurant is located in a detached ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This restaurant is located in a detached older house on Alt. Route 19 in Palm Harbor,

it has a parking lot to one side and offers valet parking too. There is a veranda at the front

of the house which is screened and there are a few tables there. Inside the restaurant is

not very large. It is divided in two sections one has the bar and the other just tables, the

dividing partition is at eye level when sitting at a table. The food is authentic Italian and

very well prepared with quality fresh ingredients. The menu has 10 appetizers, 1 soup of the day, 5 salads, 3 pizzas, 11 pastas, 3 fish 5 chicken and 4 veal entrees and 8 desserts. It is difficult

to choose favorites because they are all equally delicious. The wine list is very good. One serious problem the venue has is extremely rude and rowdy patrons who shout at the top of their lungs during dinner on the weekends especially. This is just awful to listen to and it makes any conversation nearly impossible including communication with the waiters so just be aware of this if you do decide to dine there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

This is One of The best restaurants in P ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

This is One of The best restaurants in Palm Harbor. Their Specials are always delicious. If you are lucky enough to be there on a night when they have Wild Boar parpadele Bolongnesse, order it. The Grouper livornese is also great. Say hi to the owner Carmine if you see him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Casa Ludovico and Carmen neve let us dow ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Casa Ludovico and Carmen neve let us down. Always great food, service, and a very friendly atmosphere. This is one of my favorites in the area.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best! Definitely expensive, e ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always the best! Definitely expensive, especially the specials and wine by the glass, still my favorite !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was just ok, good service though.

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was just ok, good service though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4

We got together with some friends for an ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We got together with some friends for an evening however the corner we were in was a bit noisy and it was hard to hear each other. The food was great! We all had a great time . Our waitress was very well versed about the wine and the menu and was very attentive to our needs. We will be back again .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great restaurant with great service! The ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great restaurant with great service! The pasta is just amazing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was superb, and the Staff was w ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

The food was superb, and the Staff was warm and caring, but they never hovered. The atmosphere was wonderful for quiet conversation. An outstanding restaurant. Carmine made sure we enjoyed our first experience, and we we will return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot, great food, great service. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Great spot, great food, great service. We will be back

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We dine at Casa Ludovico often. They hav ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We dine at Casa Ludovico often. They have a delicious and varied menu and the wait staff always welcomes us with open arms. There is a sausage and truffle oil pasta that is amongst the best dishes I have ever had. The grouper livornese is another favorite.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding in every possible respect. F ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding in every possible respect. Food, Service, Ambience, Value - Highly recommended!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent meal and service! A quaint, y ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Excellent meal and service! A quaint, yet impressive place to dine!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were provided with white napkins alth ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We were provided with white napkins although my wife was wearing black pants and I was wearing dark gray slacks. I expected more from a supposedly fine dining restaurant. The food came out way to fast to have been freshly prepared. My wife's chicken was not hot, the sauce was but the chicken was not. It appeared they put the sauce over chicken that was being kept warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Enjoyed it very much. Great food and ser ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Enjoyed it very much. Great food and service. Nice atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been going to Casa for several y ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We have been going to Casa for several years. The food has always been consistent and very well prepared. It tends to be a little noisy at times. The wait staff are always on point.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Our meals were delicious and the service ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Our meals were delicious and the service was excellent. Will definitely be returning!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

s soon as I left the restaurant I got si ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

s soon as I left the restaurant I got sick and had diarrhea. I think I got food poisoning, Would never eat there again or recommend the restaurant to anyone else.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

This restaurant was horrible. I left a r ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

This restaurant was horrible. I left a review on Google.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

We have been to Casa several times and a ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We have been to Casa several times and are never disappointed. Great food and excellant service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CL was wonderful as always. We actually ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

CL was wonderful as always. We actually sat in the bar because we were watching the US Open. Not the best TV or TV placement but better than nothing. This is one of our favorite restaurants

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Casa Ludovico is consistently good, in i ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Casa Ludovico is consistently good, in its menu and service. We love taking friends and family who have never been , and hearing them rave about our favorite spot! Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really liked the atmosphere. I love I ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I really liked the atmosphere. I love Italian. Unfortunately, my husband and I felt both our meals were bland in taste. It's not that the quality was bad. It was just bland and didn't have a lot of flavorful taste that Italian food should have. For the price, I'm sorry to say I was disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

For me, the best is unique. Black pasta ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

For me, the best is unique. Black pasta with clams and crab meat in a light white wine sauce. Always a winner. Casa Ludovico it the best in Palm Harbor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time! The service, wine list and ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome time! The service, wine list and food was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to the bar several times an ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to the bar several times and enjoyed. This is the first time we have taken a seat in the dining room. The service was fine. The room is beautiful. The food was .. just OK. I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs. It was a "special" offered. You would think a special would be special, but I found it to be ordinary. The meatballs were just ok. I think meatballs (for $20) should be succulent. The pasta was ok, but needed more sauce. My wife had a veal dish. She thought it was good, but called it "average". Our companion had pasta with vodka sauce. It was good, but I think I could have duplicated it at home. To be fair, we really liked the calamari. We will come by again to have appetizers at the bar. But I doubt we will ever go to the dining room again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

It was out anniversary and we almost alw ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

It was out anniversary and we almost always like Casa Ludovico's . The food we had we had was outstanding. The only issue we had was we asked for a wine suggestion by the glass which we took and once we got the bill we were very surprised by the price of $18.00/glass . It would have been polite of the server to let us know the price upfront , since other wines on the menu were not nearly as expensive. Other than that we did have a nice evening and we still will go back but will just be a little more carefull.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Our meal was excellent from the appetize ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our meal was excellent from the appetizers and the entree, to the coffee and tiramisu.

Will definitely return again and again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great food - too loud

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was terrific but my husband and I could not carry on a conversation due to thd noise here. Its too bad because the noise level is awful. We will probably go back but it has to be a day we dont wat to speak.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Food, Service and Value

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We heard about this Restaurant from a number of folks and finally took the plunge one Saturday afternoon - and so very glad that we did, as we're always in search of "authentic" Italian cuisine. Well we struck gold here! Everything about this Restaurant was simply outstanding, from the quality (and portions) of the Food to the Service and the overall value. A real "gem" and one that we'll keep as our special "Italian" feast.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We totally enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We totally enjoyed our dining experience at Casa Ludovico. We will go back and recommend it to other people.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.