About Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL

1719 Alternate US 19
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
View Larger Map

Papa Ludovico's Tradition In Italy, Papa Ludovico’s door was always open and everyone was welcome. The tantalizing aroma of fine Italian foods cooking on the stove would draw in friends, friends of friends, and sometimes even strangers... but after sharing a bottle of wine together, strangers became friends. Now, Casa Ludovico is proud to share Papa’s traditions in Palm Harbor, Florida. Everyone is welcome to enjoy fine Italian food and wine with both old and new friends. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5;00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-7779

Website:
http://www.eatatcasa.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (24)
Good for Anniversaries (22)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Cozy (11)
Comfort Food (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Family Style (7)
Fun (7)
Casual (7)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (3)
Historic (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Hot Spot (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
266 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

ate by myself at the bar. Bartender was ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

ate by myself at the bar. Bartender was great. Service was very good, although did take awhile for food to come out.

grilled octupus special was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, great food, great service and ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

As usual, great food, great service and great time! we will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Third time here and service and food sti ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Third time here and service and food still as good as we remember it the first time!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A return to this restaurant was well ove ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

A return to this restaurant was well overdue. It was one of my favorite gotos and now that my favorite bar person is back it will probably become once again. The squid ink pasta dish was the best I have ever gotten there. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were great as alway ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were great as always. Only complaint is that their heat was not working. I know it's rare to get cold weather here, but Sunday night was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a reservation and still waited fo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a reservation and still waited for almost an hour for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a reservation for 7:00 and got se ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:00 and got seated at 7:23. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant seemed to be overbooked. One couple was there for a 6:30 reservation but did not get seated until 7:15. Some people were leaving because of the wait time. The proprietor did not explain that there had been a mistake in bookings earlier in the evening, which caused a backup. We would have understood that explanation. Instead he said we would get a table at some point, but that the reservation for a specific time was never guaranteed, and seemed totally indifferent to our expectations of a restaurant honoring a booking time. Open Table users should be made aware of their policy.

The food was good, in some instances very good, and so we will definitely go back for a second time. Service was attentive, and you could see that the waiters in the restaurant were all trying very hard to be quick, attentive, caring.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Had a very good experience again . Food ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a very good experience again . Food was very good maybe took a little longer than usual but there was a party of 30 upstairs so may have slowed the kitchen down a bit. As ever we enjoyed ourselves .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is excellent,service as well.A nice ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food is excellent,service as well.A nice place to take a date.Only complaint was the seating.Large groups next to me made for difficult conversation

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, wonderfully prepared food. We ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, wonderfully prepared food. We had a great time.

Tags: Hot Spot, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant but a bit too loud, foo ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great restaurant but a bit too loud, food was excellent, valet guys were very sweet. I did not have to wait at all as soon as I walked in I was shown to my table. Wine, delicious!!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Year's Eve

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding , authentic food. Was a bit ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding , authentic food. Was a bit noisy which is unusual, but it was the holiday season and the restaurant was very crowded.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second visit to Casa Ludovico did no ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our second visit to Casa Ludovico did not disappoint. The food was out of this world and our server, Kim, was the best. She was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. We made reservations for our anniversary in January and can't wait to come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We made reservations for casa ludivico a ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We made reservations for casa ludivico and we were sat right away. But then, we sat at our table for 15 mins without anyone acknowledging us. Numerous servers walked past and no one came.. we left. Extremely disappointed with the service. Only nice person there was the valet guy who apologized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Food was VERY good. All 5 of us had som ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was VERY good. All 5 of us had something different and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Staff and our waiter Maurice were great. ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Staff and our waiter Maurice were great. Food is always good, hot and plentiful. Great wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

My wife and I loved it the food was fan ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My wife and I loved it the food was fantastic and the staff was very helpful

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casa Ludovico is my favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Casa Ludovico is my favorite restaurant. I have been there numerous times and

Have never had a bad experience. The food, drinks and service are excellent.

Everyone that has come with us absolutely love it!👍👍👍

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food! Great home feeling in a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food! Great home feeling in a private roo

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I would've given 5 stars but the service ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I would've given 5 stars but the service was a bit slow and the wait staff were forgetful when asked for something; having said that, we were a party of 9 which I'm sure is a little harder to accommodate/serve.

But we all agreed the food was fantastic!!! My parents are very picky eaters and we rarely have a good experience when we dine out and even they LOVED it! I would highly recommend this restaurant. Great ambiance and very high quality fresh food...we will be back!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Italian restaurant in Palm Harbor. ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great Italian restaurant in Palm Harbor. Wonderful food, excellent dining experience. Plus, they have a really nice wine list. I was pleasantly surprised. Good find, I'd definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wait service was great, appetizer was ve ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wait service was great, appetizer was very good, entree had watered down sauce on the meat, the pasta was very good. Not sure why restaurants serve bread if they can't do it well. Great wine list with knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was outstanding and the service was ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was outstanding and the service was great. Sauce was close to Grandmas! Unfortunately there was a large party next to us with a couple of guys that decided to take obnoxious to a whole new level. It was so loud we could not hear each even when yelling. Not sure if it is always that loud or just when it's crowded.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I was extremely impressed from the momen ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I was extremely impressed from the moment the valet driver met me as I pulled in the easy access parking lot. The table was ready for my group when we arrived. The food was beyond delicious. The service from Juan and the rest of the team was spot on. The evening is still being discussed several days later. It left a wonderful impression. Thanks Casa Ludovico for making our company holiday dinner a huge success.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

amazing service and food. server was att ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

amazing service and food. server was attentive and engaging. food was out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous all around! Our sever Kim was g ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fabulous all around! Our sever Kim was great. The food was amazing. The best meatballs and sauce ever. The entrees were delicious and the dessert was amazing! We can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent, but VERY rushed. As ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Food was excellent, but VERY rushed. Asked us to order everything at once since it was a busy night. Plates were taken away immediately after last bite. Saturday night dinner included appetizer, main course, dessert/coffee and we were out in 50 minutes. Not worth the $150 we spent for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

The food was excellent and delicious, t ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food was excellent and delicious, the server was very nice and respectful, in overall everything was nice. I'm very sure we'll come back to this place more often. The prices are reasonable. Thanks for a great service

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great authentic Italian cuisine, great w ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Great authentic Italian cuisine, great wine list and very friendly people. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great authentic cuisine - best grilled o ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great authentic cuisine - best grilled octopus, love the olive oil/olives, genuine squid ink pasta, great veal, and tiramisu to die for - and plenty for 2.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic Italian food that will leave y ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Authentic Italian food that will leave you very happy! I come from Boston, so Italian food is my favorite, and comparing makes it very difficult for a restaurant to measure up to the North End. This one does!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is average. Great service and nice ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food is average. Great service and nice people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value1

Our server, Kim, was fantastic! She rea ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Our server, Kim, was fantastic! She really takes care of you with such a great comfortable presence. Really enjoyed the food, atmosphere and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The food at Casa is always delicious, fr ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food at Casa is always delicious, fresh and artfully presented. The staff attend to your needs in a friendly, unintrusive fashion, never pushing you to eat and go like some other eateries. I recommend going during the early evening hours, so's to take advantage of their "happy hour" offerings, it tempers the overall cost of the entire evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food with a great wine list ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Outstanding food with a great wine list and knowledgeable wait staff. Can be loud when crowded.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I took my parents out to Casa Ludovico l ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 3, 2016

I took my parents out to Casa Ludovico last week, expecting a fine meal. We were seated at a table where the setting sun was shining into their eyes; no shades on the window, no one paying attention. One of us got up and stuck a menu there to block the sun. No one even noticed. The noise level was close to deafening as large groups came in. Also unexpected, since this restaurant is rather intimate feeling, in an old home. Half of our entrees were mediocre, to dry and tasteless, including my $36 entree, with shriveled, tasteless clams and mushy mahi mahi. When we told our waiter of our dissatisfaction, he comped us two desserts. No manager ever came over to talk to us or apologize. I left $200 poorer, disappointed and vowing never to come back...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The Best Italian Restaurant in Tampa Bay ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 27, 2016

The Best Italian Restaurant in Tampa Bay! We take every out of town guest of ours to Casa Ludovico as it is consistent as well as the best tasting food you can ask for. The waiters & waitresses are the best, keeping an eye on your table and your needs without being annoying. A Palm Harbor Gem!!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Casa has become one of our favorite rest ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Casa has become one of our favorite restaurants. The staff and all the waiters are wonderful.

Our waiter Rick is amazing, great memory, when we were seated he went to check if there

were Veal Chops available for us to hold, he remembers how we always order that, he also remembers our wine. That day they had an appetizer special, breaded mozzarella with prociutto and spinach, it was incredible. Large portions too. Our special Veal Chop Parmigiana was as always tender and delicious. Always enjoy our dinner.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our meals at Casa Ludivi ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We always enjoy our meals at Casa Ludivico!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.