About Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL

1719 Alternate US 19
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
View Larger Map

Papa Ludovico's Tradition In Italy, Papa Ludovico’s door was always open and everyone was welcome. The tantalizing aroma of fine Italian foods cooking on the stove would draw in friends, friends of friends, and sometimes even strangers... but after sharing a bottle of wine together, strangers became friends. Now, Casa Ludovico is proud to share Papa’s traditions in Palm Harbor, Florida. Everyone is welcome to enjoy fine Italian food and wine with both old and new friends. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5;00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-7779

Website:
http://www.eatatcasa.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
See All
Good for a Date (24)
Authentic (24)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Romantic (18)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Worth the Drive (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Cozy (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Casual (10)
Fun (6)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Private Room (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Family Style (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Historic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
S
290 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

As always, delicious authentic Italian food (excellent homemade red sauce) and spot-on solicitous service. Eat on the patio, tho, the inside is usually deafening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 2 days ago

We have eaten here several times & we have never been disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

The menu offers many options of delicious food well prepared. We enjoyed the carpaccio di manzo, linguine pescatora, veal piccata and tiramisu for desert. Although the noise level can be distracting it is well to overlook in this charming location that once was a residence.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

The cafe is quaint in a refurbished home off Alternate 19 in downtown Palm Harbor. The food was delicious and made with fresh ingredients, always a plus. The menu offered extensive Italian options and the specials were delicious. For foodies, this is a southern Italian treat with pastas, fish, veal, and chicken dishes to delight.

Due to its structure, the noise level during dinner hour is extremely loud. If you are looking for a romantic evening for two, the food fits the bill but the lack of acoustics will damper the most loving of hearts. It was difficult to hear across a table for 4 adults. Because of it's location, parking is a premium. Valet parking is a requirement with little or no other options.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Fabulous food as always! We always feel like we are in NYC's Little Italy with the ambiance and menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Exceptional Italian cuisine. Valentines Day crowd but staff efficiently served.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time at this Italian restaurant and we thought the food was very authentic. We will definitely put this restaurant on our list for future reservations. We love good food and we really love good Italian. Our #1 Italian restaurant is Nabruzzi in Lutz, but this is our #2 for sure. Thank you for a great evening of good food, good wine and exemplary service.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Loved the coziness of this place, unfortunately we were too cozy to the loud table next to us. Our waitress apologized and said they were finished and should be leaving soon but they decided to have more drinks☹️️ The wine list was good and the food was exceptional. Nice bar area though we didn't utilize it. We went for Valentine's Day and had one of the veal dishes and one of the specials. Osso bucco. I'd like to go back to try their flatbreads.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Excellent authentic Italian food. Everyone there from the valet To the busboy made us feel welcome

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food and service were excellent. The ambience is always enjoyable, My wife and I have been to Casa Ludovico several times and is now our one of our favorite special occasion restaurants.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

service was slow. restaurant was over crowded. availability of wines on their wine list was poor. dined on 11 February at 745

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 12, 2017

I wish I could tell you my servers name... but he never told us. He wasn't very personable. I think he was having a bad night. He was slow at everything, except for grabbing the check after it was signed. That he did very quickly!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

charming cozy place . however the noise level escalates quickly and servers dragging and banging chairs around. the 10.00 small ceaser salad was bland as was the dipping sauce. the marinara sauce was delicious however the raviolis tasted like they were bought from publix and the meatballs from subway ! way overpriced especially for food that wasn't special.alot of potential but very disappointing i'm sorry to say. servers were great though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Friendly staff; good food. Best Italian restaurant in Palm Harbor area.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Always excellent food and service. A little pricy. Nice atmosphere. Valet parking.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was fantastic as well as wonderful service. We always enjoy going there for a terrific meal.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

it's on our list of must go-to restaurants while in Florida. Excellent Italian....and my grandmother (born in Italy), mother and wife were/are talented Italian cooks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Casa Ludavico never disappoints! The food and the service are outstanding! Love this place!

Tags: Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Private Room, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Wine pricing is very high.

Entire venue nice, services good,overall pricy for what you get.

Tags: Business Meals, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We ate here while visiting friends in the Tampa area. We found the food to be authentic Italian and moderanetly priced. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. We would reccomend and return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Reliable for attentive service and dependable for Italian cuisine. Nice neighbor place for an enjoyable evening dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Cafe Ludovico never disappoints. The meatballs and chicken parm were as close to my Italian family's cooking as I have ever had.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Nice place with large wine selection and variety of seafood dishes. Perfect date spot.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 15, 2017

ate by myself at the bar. Bartender was great. Service was very good, although did take awhile for food to come out.

grilled octupus special was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

As usual, great food, great service and great time! we will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Third time here and service and food still as good as we remember it the first time!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Modern Decor, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 13, 2017

A return to this restaurant was well overdue. It was one of my favorite gotos and now that my favorite bar person is back it will probably become once again. The squid ink pasta dish was the best I have ever gotten there. Can't wait to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food and service were great as always. Only complaint is that their heat was not working. I know it's rare to get cold weather here, but Sunday night was cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We had a reservation and still waited for almost an hour for our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a reservation for 7:00 and got seated at 7:23. It was a Saturday night and the restaurant seemed to be overbooked. One couple was there for a 6:30 reservation but did not get seated until 7:15. Some people were leaving because of the wait time. The proprietor did not explain that there had been a mistake in bookings earlier in the evening, which caused a backup. We would have understood that explanation. Instead he said we would get a table at some point, but that the reservation for a specific time was never guaranteed, and seemed totally indifferent to our expectations of a restaurant honoring a booking time. Open Table users should be made aware of their policy.

The food was good, in some instances very good, and so we will definitely go back for a second time. Service was attentive, and you could see that the waiters in the restaurant were all trying very hard to be quick, attentive, caring.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

It was very crowded but we had reservations and were seated right away. Food was great, as usual, but service was a little slow because of the crowds. This is one of our very favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Had a very good experience again . Food was very good maybe took a little longer than usual but there was a party of 30 upstairs so may have slowed the kitchen down a bit. As ever we enjoyed ourselves .

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food is excellent,service as well.A nice place to take a date.Only complaint was the seating.Large groups next to me made for difficult conversation

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, wonderfully prepared food. We had a great time.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Great restaurant but a bit too loud, food was excellent, valet guys were very sweet. I did not have to wait at all as soon as I walked in I was shown to my table. Wine, delicious!!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 31, 2016

New Year's Eve

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Outstanding , authentic food. Was a bit noisy which is unusual, but it was the holiday season and the restaurant was very crowded.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our second visit to Casa Ludovico did not disappoint. The food was out of this world and our server, Kim, was the best. She was professional, friendly, and knowledgeable. We made reservations for our anniversary in January and can't wait to come back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We made reservations for casa ludivico and we were sat right away. But then, we sat at our table for 15 mins without anyone acknowledging us. Numerous servers walked past and no one came.. we left. Extremely disappointed with the service. Only nice person there was the valet guy who apologized.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food was VERY good. All 5 of us had something different and everyone enjoyed their meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Staff and our waiter Maurice were great. Food is always good, hot and plentiful. Great wine list.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 24, 2016

My wife and I loved it the food was fantastic and the staff was very helpful

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Casa Ludovico is my favorite restaurant. I have been there numerous times and

Have never had a bad experience. The food, drinks and service are excellent.

Everyone that has come with us absolutely love it!👍👍👍

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Excellent food! Great home feeling in a private roo

.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I would've given 5 stars but the service was a bit slow and the wait staff were forgetful when asked for something; having said that, we were a party of 9 which I'm sure is a little harder to accommodate/serve.

But we all agreed the food was fantastic!!! My parents are very picky eaters and we rarely have a good experience when we dine out and even they LOVED it! I would highly recommend this restaurant. Great ambiance and very high quality fresh food...we will be back!

Tags: Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great Italian restaurant in Palm Harbor. Wonderful food, excellent dining experience. Plus, they have a really nice wine list. I was pleasantly surprised. Good find, I'd definitely return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Wait service was great, appetizer was very good, entree had watered down sauce on the meat, the pasta was very good. Not sure why restaurants serve bread if they can't do it well. Great wine list with knowledgeable staff.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Food was outstanding and the service was great. Sauce was close to Grandmas! Unfortunately there was a large party next to us with a couple of guys that decided to take obnoxious to a whole new level. It was so loud we could not hear each even when yelling. Not sure if it is always that loud or just when it's crowded.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 13, 2016

I was extremely impressed from the moment the valet driver met me as I pulled in the easy access parking lot. The table was ready for my group when we arrived. The food was beyond delicious. The service from Juan and the rest of the team was spot on. The evening is still being discussed several days later. It left a wonderful impression. Thanks Casa Ludovico for making our company holiday dinner a huge success.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 4, 2016

amazing service and food. server was attentive and engaging. food was out of this world.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.