Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi
  1. Distance: 0.18mi
  2. Distance: 1.02mi
  3. Distance: 1.50mi
  4. Distance: 1.54mi

About Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL

Papa Ludovico's Tradition In Italy, Papa Ludovico’s door was always open and everyone was welcome. The tantalizing aroma of fine Italian foods cooking on the stove would draw in friends, friends of friends, and sometimes even strangers... but after sharing a bottle of wine together, strangers became friends. Now, Casa Ludovico is proud to share Papa’s traditions in Palm Harbor, Florida. Everyone is welcome to enjoy fine Italian food and wine with both old and new friends. Buon Appetito!

1719 Alternate US 19
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5;00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-7779

Website:
http://www.eatatcasa.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (40)
Authentic (40)
Special Occasion (39)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Notable Wine List (22)
Good for Birthdays (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Romantic (18)
Cozy (18)
Comfort Food (13)
Casual (11)
Good for Groups (10)
Fun (9)
Business Meals (9)
Bar Seating (6)
Outstanding Value (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Family Style (4)
Healthy (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Private Room (3)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
People Watching (2)
Tapas (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Live Music (1)
Seasonal (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 5 days ago

Always delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Have been here several times. Always have had a great experience. Will return for sure!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

What a disaster. Arrived Saturday night for a small family gathering (party of 4), had a 7:15 PM reservation. Checked in at 7:18 PM and was told by the hostess they were running 15 minutes behind on reservations, checked every 15 minutes and she was telling everyone that.
At 8:30 PM I was offered a outside patio table where there were no other guests seated and was told that most restaurants run behind on reservations on busy Saturday nights and I should expect that. We followed three other parties that were waiting 45 minutes or longer out the door, and honestly the hostess could care less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

This restaurant is consistently very good the noise level was a little bit louder than I would have liked the food was great and so is the service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food every time we go. Service is wonderful. Owner is very accommodating. We will be back again

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Very special find
Travel a lot and often find let downs
Not here great food
Special service
Thanks will be back!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great Place! awesome food! Everytime we go here the food is excellent owner is on top of things.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding wine food was perfect place was really busy the waiter did a really good job of maintaining service for everyone. Highly recommend it

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Service was really good. Restaurant wasn't busy due to holy day so we're surprised when we got seated upstairs when downstairs was empty. Second time this has happened and starting to think that's where they place folks who make reservations on OpenTable. Also as a business owner if I'm at my place of business I always stop to chat with my clients. Didn't seem to register with owner or GM who was there last night.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The tomato sauce was too raw. The service was so-so. Too many guests at the same time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We made a reservation a few days prior with Open Table very easily for my sister-in-law's 40th and my in-laws anniversary. We had all been here several times with varying experiences and our usual Italian option was booked for the evening so we decided to give it another go. We arrived for our 7:30 reservation at 7:15 on a Saturday and the joint was bumping to put it mildly. Part of our party had arrived a few moments prior so we met them at the bar after checking in. We proceeded to wait over an hour for a table to get up so we could be seated. We all enjoyed a few glasses of wine while waiting but all of us having worked in hospitality could not understand the lack of organization that any reserved party waited over 60 minutes but again the other place was booked and still had no cancellations to accommodate us so we continued waiting. After checking in with the hostess a few times she finally came over and pointed to a table in the back and said "that one is yours once they clean it off." Needless to say we found our own way back and the server brought over menus. Our server was fantastic!! We ordered a Grilled Octopus special and the Bruschetta to start and both were spot on. Everybody ordered different things for entree's a grouper special, a fettuccine, veal parm. which were perfect. Unfortunately my other half ordered a Chicken Parm and received a very burned chicken filet on a plate. As soon as the server was notified he corrected it offering another drink on the house. He also brought out two different desserts for my sister-in-laws birthday both were very good. I'd say this experience could have been better but the service and the food made up for the slow start. Next time we know to have a small meal before coming on a busy night even with a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 8, 2017

had a reservation, made at Open Table, for 7 p.m. Got to the restaurant on time only to be told we would have to wait at least 10-15 minutes for them to clear a table. There was a line of people waiting, and her "to be seated" list had at least 10 parties. After 25 minutes, went back to the hostess but she still did not have our table and could not really say how much longer. This restaurant does this ALL the time - makes a reservation and you still have to wait 45 min. to an hour for your table. They need a better management system.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Great service and wonderful food. I had the veal chop with mushrooms which was perfectly cooked and the flavor of the sauce was perfect. Second time in a row we had the mussels marina. Perfectly flavored sauce and the mussels were cooked just right.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Haven't been here in a long time and was very pleasantly surprised. The restaurant was very crowded and noisy but we secured a seat in the bar. We would of had to wait, even with a reservation. The service was prompt and excellent. While priced higher than most local restaurants, the food was very good, calamari, spaghetti with clams and veal Parmesan. With the high prices, it is not really a local place to go to frequently but certainly worth a visit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 1, 2017

LOVE THE FOOD. FRIENDLY STAFF. I WILL DEFINITELY RETURN.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Fantastic Marsala sauce, and great fresh fish entrees

Tags: Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Afternoon Coffee, Quick Bite, Romantic, Authentic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Worst Italian food I have ever had... mediocre service, pasta was overdone, not al dente, sauce tasted like ragu... fish was tasteless, veggies were over cooked and needed salt and pepper... the prosecco was flat, asked to get a new one... they got me the same stuff...
We wont be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Best Italian food I have found in the Tampa Bay area. Good service, outstanding wine list in a comfortable setting. Have been here often and will return frequently.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Kim our waitress was wonderful and went out of her way to accommodate our requests. She was. Wet attentive but not intrusive.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This is a wonderful place. The four of us had happy hour wine then had a wonderful dinner. We shifted to their wine by the glass list after happy hour. They have a large wine list by the bottle and an ample wine list by the glass. The Italian dishes are delicious. Two of our four had the seafood combination, which they raved about. I had the rigatoni with sausage and mushrooms, absolutely delicious. The ambiance is quaint. They also have tables outdoors. This is definitely worth a visit.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Service was subpar. Noise from upstairs group was very distracting and annoying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Even though we had an 8 pm reservation we did wait 30 min for a table. It happened to be a very busy evening. Food and table service were exceptional.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Reservations are a must as it was very busy. The tables are close together and the waiting/bar area is close to the dining room (unless you are seated on the second floor) making it feel a bit cramped. The atmosphere was lively - the first floor is definitely not a place for quiet conversation. The food and service made up for it though. The waiter was very attentive and knew the menu well. We bruchetta was excellent as was the veal parmigiana. I would recommend both. Portions are large. We are looking forward to going back to try other menu items.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Casa Ludovico is always high on our list of restaurants to frequent when we are in FL. Wouldn't miss the dining experience. Great setting, service and of course the excellent food!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Excellent meal, but service took a dive when a party of 10 was sat next to us. Waited a long time for the waiter to come by once we were finished with dessert (waiting for the bill and him to take payment was 15-20 minutes). We've been before and never had a problem, so we'll be back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Authentic Italian food. Everything was delicious from the wine, appetizer to the main.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Romantic, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 24, 2017

The Red Snapper was great
Ossabucca was even better

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Another nice evening at Casa! We were celebrating my husbands birthday with our son. Service was very attentive. Their wine list excellent - our waiter recommended a nice Barolo. Our food was great with one exception, we decided to not get our usual Caprese salad app and ordered the portobello mushroom app. We were disappointed, there was one lone small mushroom cap on the plate surrounded by three of four dry eggplant slices and tomato slices. The mushroom was good but the eggplant tasteless and dry. I am not sure what happened! Won't order that again! Portobello's were out of season? Snapper special was good, lamb chop was excellent and the short ribs great.

Tags: Cozy, Authentic, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 20, 2017

We thoroughly enjoyed our dinner at Casa Ludovico. Really wish we'd discovered this restaurant sooner. Wonderful menu, fantastic wine selection and the service was perfect - not too intrusive but kept things moving along nicely. Our waiter, Marco, had excellent knowledge of the menu and steered us in the right direction. Already looking forward to our next meal there. The Black pasta with crab meat is a must have.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a party of four and everyone absolutely loved their dinners! Would definitely recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I had arrange a reservation for my birthday;From the moment we were show in, we felt rushed and it was not the feeling that we had expected. The prices for appetizers were overpriced at 20.00 per portion (not disclosed to us prior to ordering) and I felt like they were shoveled out to us as if it were McDonald's. I asked to speak to the manager who was less than cordial although he removed my order from the bill. I did not eat the main course as it was not well prepared. I could not wait to leave which we did; the only nice person was the man parking the cars who apologized for the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on March 18, 2017

What a FANTASTIC place! This won't be a secret too much longer. The food was excellent, service stellar. What really set the place apart was the ambiance. An old home fit into a restaurant.... you'd have no idea. We absolutely loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Always amazing, one of my favorite places to eat. Never experienced anything except awesome food and service.

Tags: Healthy, Special Occasion, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Casa Ludivico is a regular stop on our annual pilgrimage to play 11 rounds of golf in 6 days. This year we visited Ludivico twice... The food is delicious and the service is outstanding .. Plus they poor a great cocktail!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Noise level for me was just as you would expect in a busy restaurant. Food was very good although I can't say it was the best I've had and I was pleasantly surprised by the prices. Based on reviews (because the menu online has no prices) prices were more reasonable than other franchise "italian" restaurants. Our server was awesome! We didn't have any cash to tip the valet and although the server insisted we didn't have to, he knew we felt uncomfortable not tipping so he gave us a couple of dollars for the tip. My only complain would be more options for wine by the glass (but the glass I had was very good) would be nice to have a couple more options. Great service, good food and love bungalow homes converted into restaurants.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on March 14, 2017

I made the reservation for 6:30 PM because there is no other earlier time slot per OpenTable. We stopped at the bar which has six chairs and two pub tables. We had our appetizer flatbread veggie along with our drinks. The bartender Carrie is very nice and knowledgeable about drinks. At 6:10 PM I went to the host to see if we can get seated earlier and we did which was a plus. The restaurant quickly got busy which mean the noise level went higher annoying at times. My friend ordered the red snapper special and I ordered the veal chop which both were very good. It's a little on the pricer side but it was a great experience. After dinner we went back to the bar to have a espresso martini made by Carrie.. very nice overall experience!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Service is great, food is great!

We love this place but the noise level can be deafening and the tables pretty cramped. We were there on a Thursday evening and it was like a Friday or Saturday. We may try unusual hours to avoid the chaos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 8, 2017

From the minutes we drove into the parking lot we knew we picked the right place for dinner.
The staff was amazing and very knowledgeable, the food was beyond delicious.
We would not only recommend this place but we will go back again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Always good. Great service. A little loud, but still wonderful ambience.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Our server Marco was delightful very sweet!!
We had a lovely evening and he suggested some amazing Cabernet. Amarone.

We will definitely be back!!
What a gem.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.