About Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL

1719 Alternate US 19
Palm Harbor, FL 34683
View Larger Map

Papa Ludovico's Tradition In Italy, Papa Ludovico’s door was always open and everyone was welcome. The tantalizing aroma of fine Italian foods cooking on the stove would draw in friends, friends of friends, and sometimes even strangers... but after sharing a bottle of wine together, strangers became friends. Now, Casa Ludovico is proud to share Papa’s traditions in Palm Harbor, Florida. Everyone is welcome to enjoy fine Italian food and wine with both old and new friends. Buon Appetito!

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5;00pm - 10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm - 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 784-7779

Website:
http://www.eatatcasa.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Full Bar

Casa Ludovico - Palm Harbor, FL Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Clearwater
Fit for Foodies
Clearwater
Neighborhood Gem
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Palm Harbor ›

neighborhood gem (39)
special occasion (35)
fit for foodies (34)
See All
romantic (22)
notable wine list (14)
good for groups (13)
hot spot (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (3)
great for outdoor dining (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
189 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

CL was wonderful as always. We actually ...

Dined 5 days ago

CL was wonderful as always. We actually sat in the bar because we were watching the US Open. Not the best TV or TV placement but better than nothing. This is one of our favorite restaurants

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Casa Ludovico is consistently good, in i ...

Dined 5 days ago

Casa Ludovico is consistently good, in its menu and service. We love taking friends and family who have never been , and hearing them rave about our favorite spot! Highly recommend.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

I really liked the atmosphere. I love I ...

Dined 6 days ago

I really liked the atmosphere. I love Italian. Unfortunately, my husband and I felt both our meals were bland in taste. It's not that the quality was bad. It was just bland and didn't have a lot of flavorful taste that Italian food should have. For the price, I'm sorry to say I was disappointed.

food5
ambience5
service5

For me, the best is unique. Black pasta ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

For me, the best is unique. Black pasta with clams and crab meat in a light white wine sauce. Always a winner. Casa Ludovico it the best in Palm Harbor.

food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome time! The service, wine list and ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Awesome time! The service, wine list and food was amazing!

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

We have been to the bar several times an ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to the bar several times and enjoyed. This is the first time we have taken a seat in the dining room. The service was fine. The room is beautiful. The food was .. just OK. I ordered the spaghetti and meatballs. It was a "special" offered. You would think a special would be special, but I found it to be ordinary. The meatballs were just ok. I think meatballs (for $20) should be succulent. The pasta was ok, but needed more sauce. My wife had a veal dish. She thought it was good, but called it "average". Our companion had pasta with vodka sauce. It was good, but I think I could have duplicated it at home. To be fair, we really liked the calamari. We will come by again to have appetizers at the bar. But I doubt we will ever go to the dining room again.

food4
ambience5
service3
value3

It was out anniversary and we almost alw ...

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

It was out anniversary and we almost always like Casa Ludovico's . The food we had we had was outstanding. The only issue we had was we asked for a wine suggestion by the glass which we took and once we got the bill we were very surprised by the price of $18.00/glass . It would have been polite of the server to let us know the price upfront , since other wines on the menu were not nearly as expensive. Other than that we did have a nice evening and we still will go back but will just be a little more carefull.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4

Our meal was excellent from the appetize ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

Our meal was excellent from the appetizers and the entree, to the coffee and tiramisu. Will definitely return again and again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food - too loud

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was terrific but my husband and I could not carry on a conversation due to thd noise here. Its too bad because the noise level is awful. We will probably go back but it has to be a day we dont wat to speak.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Food, Service and Value

Dined on May 28, 2016

We heard about this Restaurant from a number of folks and finally took the plunge one Saturday afternoon - and so very glad that we did, as we're always in search of "authentic" Italian cuisine. Well we struck gold here! Everything about this Restaurant was simply outstanding, from the quality (and portions) of the Food to the Service and the overall value. A real "gem" and one that we'll keep as our special "Italian" feast.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We totally enjoyed our dining experience ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

We totally enjoyed our dining experience at Casa Ludovico. We will go back and recommend it to other people.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderfully prepared dinner with no rush ...

vip
Dined on May 24, 2016

Wonderfully prepared dinner with no rush by waitstaff. Lovely. We will be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A pleasant surprise. Excellent food and ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

A pleasant surprise. Excellent food and the service was outstanding. Highly recommended.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and Great service! We will be ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great food and Great service! We will be back!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mothers Day Luncheon

Dined on May 8, 2016

My sister and I took our Mother here for a Mothers Day meal and it was great. The service was excellent and the food was outstanding. We will definitely be going back again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous

Dined on April 28, 2016

All I can say is that this is by far my most favored Italian restaurant in Florida....and being Italian, you can take my word for it!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service4

A cute restaurant with a lot of specials ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

A cute restaurant with a lot of specials. Food was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite restaurants. ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

This is one of our favorite restaurants. We dine here often. Usually Sunday evenings are quiet, but this one was really busy. Service was still excellent

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very enjoyable as always

Dined on April 24, 2016

We have been patrons of Casa for 9 or 10 years and are never disappointed in the food or the outstanding service. This visit we enjoyed the veal chop and black grouper specials. Excellent. Don't miss out on this gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Good Italian restaurant

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was authentic Italian cuisine the service was professional and courteous. The people dining there were LOUD and obnoxious with no regard for felllow diners. Not a place for a romantic dinner for two at all or any kind of conversation.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Very friendly staff doing their best to ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Very friendly staff doing their best to accommodate on a busy Saturday night. From the complimentary speedy valet to the attentive waiter, we enjoyed the evening immensely. The food was top notch, creative, flavorful and more than enough to satiate the famished. Certainly adding this restaurant to the list of amazing places to dine this side of the bay.

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent Italian Cuisine

Dined on April 13, 2016

Valet parking to accommodate a full lot (and it will be). This restaurant has a great local reputation for fine dining. This was my first time there and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal. The menu specials were very interesting and our party of 6 order one special or another 5 to 1. Service was professional, although a moderate wait for a party that size should be expected. All together a great dining experience. I highly recommend it for the experienced Italian dining customers.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Everything good but the noise level...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Have been a customer for several years and we like the place. However, when it is crowded the noise level becomes impossible. Best on a weekday evening as its noise level is barely passable. On weekend and holidays, only go if you do not want to speak or hear your dining partner. Ask for the price of specials because they are priced quite a bit higher than their menu fare.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on March 31, 2016

Loved it, nice authentic Italian food, good atmosphere , good service.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Expensive for Average Food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Bread was stale, and I found the seafood linguini very average. It was not L cents and the sauce was tasteless. I felt like I wS served leftovers.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have recommended to everyone we talk food with!

Dined on March 26, 2016

We found this place less than a month ago and have been there three times since. We took our family and another time another couple and everyone loved it. The Pollo Ludovico is my favorite!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place

Dined on March 25, 2016

We always make sure we get to this place at least once a month. The fish is fresh and delicious and the wine list is excellent. The pasta and sauce are mouth watering. LOVE it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on March 23, 2016

Very loud. Food very expensive and just average. Pasta over cooked and the tomato sauce is very sharp. Waitress got several things wrong although she was very pleasant.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food

vip
Dined on March 19, 2016

Great food

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The Best, Love the waiters & waitresses ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The Best, Love the waiters & waitresses Food & service excellent Great Peppoli Chianti wine $

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Noise the only issue. Otherwise it was perfect.

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was excellent, as was the service. And, the price was very reasonable. The only complaint - the last time we went a large party (middle-aged men) was in the same section of the restaurant and the noise level was way too high. The group was appropriate and all seemed like true gentlemen but that many guys in a group often makes for a loud conversation. Once they left we loved the atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a party of 5 and were seated upst ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

We had a party of 5 and were seated upstairs. It was a perfect evening with excellent service! The food was outstanding as we all ordered something different and shared amongst each other. Chicken with brandied cream sauce and a side of pasta was delicious! Desserts were scrumptious, we ordered 3 different selections on the menu, all were very good! We will be back for a repeat experience!

food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Extremely slow

Dined on March 12, 2016

I was very disappointed in my experience. I have eaten here before, and it was always a descent experience, but after choosing a 7:15 reservation from a choice of 6:45, 7:00, 7:15, and 7:30. I arrived at 7:05. I don't like to be late, so we were ten minutes early. I waited until 8:00 to be seated. Other guests that were waiting were given complimentary glasses of wine, but we were offered nothing extra. In the defense of the wait, there were large crowds from the Valspar golf tournament that were around, but I believe that if they make reservations, they should attempt to seat people close to their time.

food5
ambience5
service5

This place is amazing.....great atmosphe ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

This place is amazing.....great atmosphere and outstanding food!

food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Poor service, owner rude, not nice peopl ...

Dined on March 8, 2016

Poor service, owner rude, not nice people, rush you, take care of regulars and not new commers

food4
ambience3
service5

Great food, wonderful service, beautiful ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

Great food, wonderful service, beautiful pallette.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great neighborhood italian restaurant

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We had another great dining experience this night. They were very busy however , very organized , served the meals in a very efficient manner. Perhaps the only negitive was the noise level but the place was full and customers were enjoying themselves.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Wanted to love it but couldn't

vip
Dined on March 4, 2016

We dine out quite often but had never been here. Our visit started well with an excellent experience with the valet who clearly understands the service industry. We went inside and the owner bumped right into my husband on his way past, no apology, no hand on the shoulder, nothing. Just a glare as if we were in his way. Our wait person was new and untrained. We had to request fresh pepper and grated parmesan. She was barely knowledgeable about food allergies and Celiacs Disease. In this day and age that is fai rly uncommon. Asked for a list of their Ports for after dinner and got a blank stare. "What is Port?" said our waitress. "Go ask your bartender" was our response. She came back with one bottle of 10 year Tawny. For a restaurant of this pricing, one might expect more than one Port. Food was ok, nothing fancy to match their pricing. For my money, I'd rather eat at Massimo's or Mystic Fish any day of the week.

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Historic Old House

Dined on February 27, 2016

Somewhat of a romantic setting but with the noise level & wait staff rushing us through our meal we most likely won't be back. Food was very good but when the experience is not good there are too many other great places to choose from to eat.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great find

Dined on February 14, 2016

Been by there many,many times.Always said we should go there, but always went some where else. Glad we decided to go there.. Great find!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.