Carrollton Market

4.7
797 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Contemporary Southern
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Special Occasion
  • Creative Cuisine
Located mere steps from the end of St. Charles Avenue and brought to you by Chef Jason Goodenough, Carrollton Market serves some of the finest food and drink available in the great city of New Orleans. Chef Jason scours the local farmers' markets and fish houses in a non-stop quest to find the best ingredients available from the Gulf of Mexico and beyond. Make your reservation today to experience some of the best of the city.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Contemporary Southern, Seafood, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Brunch
Sat, Sun 10:00 am–2:00 pm
Lunch
Thu, Fri 11:00 am–1:30 pm
Dinner
Tue–Sat 5:00 pm–10:00 pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(504) 252-9928
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Jason Goodenough
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering by Carrollton Market is quickly turning in to one of New Orleans' finest boutique catering companies. We can host events at the restaurant for approximately 60 guests and offer a "No Cookie Cutter Menu" approach. By this, we mean that we will create anything our guests desire -- your wish is our command! We can do offsite parties for upwards of 200 people as well.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
S. Carrollton Ave
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is ample street parking surrounding Carrollton Market. Outside the restaurant, on Hampson Street, and around the corner on Dublin Street the parking is metered before 7pm. It is free on Sundays. After 6pm and all day on Sunday, the lot next door to Carrollton Market -- Morelock's -- is available free of charge to our customers.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop (N213) is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine
What 797 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.8
service
4.6
ambience
4.4
value
Noise · Moderate
95% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined a day ago

We found this wonderful restaurant while using Open Table (great tool) and have never visited it. WOW! What a great find in a wonderful part of the City. Highly recommend for lunch, dinner and especially work related lunches. Quick professional service, tremendous meal, quiet environment.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Way too noisy for my taste. 😔

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Multiple times in New Orleans & finally had the opportunity to experience Carrollton Market. What a wonderful experience.

Fantastic cuisine, with fresh ingredients, innovative flavors & superb plate presentations. Service is friendly & professional.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

Wonderful meal, excellent service, terrific cocktail and wine list. Staff knows their customers. A welcoming place to dine.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 6, 2018

We ate a lot of great food in New Orleans that ran the gamut from cheap eats and dive bars to Top Chef contestant run restaurants and this was simply the best meal and service that we had the entire trip. If I lived there, I would be a regular. Try this place, you won’t be disappointed!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Our first time at the restaurant. We had heard about the outstanding young chef. Everything we had was outstanding. The gazpacho was fabulous. I had a whole grilled sea bass that was cooked to perfection with a nice sauce. The menu is not large, but covers all the bases. Adequate wine list. Service was very attentive. This restaurant is in our list the next time we are in New Orleans.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Under seasoned food, very rushed service

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The 3 out of 4 entrees were very disappointing...raw duck, bland lobster, greasy lamb cheek lasagna. We've enjoyed so many great meals here, so, it must have been an off night. Hoping for better luck next time. They did comp the duck breast and corkage fee, so they did the right thing.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 1, 2018

They did not post lunch menu on their website. we assumed that there would be more choices. However, they did honor our choices for lunch.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Our first visit to CM did not convince us of its status as "top ten in the city," but this one sure did. The crab-stuffed peppers, the whole roasted branzino, and the pan roasted scallops were all loaded with terrific accompaniments and would be hard to beat anywhere else. A great selection of wines by the glass added to the experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 30, 2018

Very good taste experience, very good staff and a lot of fun with good drinks and wine! Thanks CM

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 27, 2018

I only get to New Orleans a couple times per year, so I was hoping for a least a couple to New Orleans classics on the menu. The only seafood on the entire menu was fried oysters. Nonetheless, the food was delicious and I would go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

The food was more than we could have even guessed it would be by its previous reviews! The food was so tasty, perfect portions, and Jason Goodenough quality inspected every dish for perfection before it went out. We sat at the bar in front of the open kitchen and now I don't care to sit anywhere else. The coctails were perfectly mixed and the service was excellent! This was our first visit, but this will now be on our agenda every visit to NOLA.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

We love this place! The hostess and staff went above and beyond to make my proposal to my girlfriend perfect!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Yet another wonderful experience at Carrollton Market. Service was spot on, cocktails were exquisite and food was divine!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

Loved everything about Carrollton Market. Great food and exceptional service and staff. We can’t wait to dine here again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Baby Sprinkle with high school friends. Was a great brunch experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Incredible food and service for brunch. Highly recommended.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Had friends in town, went for brunch. Cinnamon roll rocks! Debris Benedict also good but can split all this.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

We have been here many times and the food is always excellent. The service is fantastic. Excellent bar. Foie gras and the peppers appetizers are excellent as well as their famous oysters. Whole fish was very good, and the pork belly excellent. The duck is also good. They also have an excellent brunch

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Air conditioning was either not working or set much too high. We decided to go somewhere else for coffee and dessert because it was so uncomfortably hot.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Outstanding staff with outstanding food!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 16, 2018

We went there on a good recommendation from a friend, to celebrate my husband's birthday. Very nice staff, very quaint setting, and the food (small portions) was delicious, especially the Oysters. The waiter gave us a lagniappe consisting of a class of wine which was much appreciated. Would recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great brunch spot that we went to for Mother's Day. Staff was fantastic and made it a very special day. Looking forward to checking it out for dinner sometime soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great restaurant in NO. The food is excellent and the service was outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great service and food. Would recommend in a minute.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I don't understand why this restaurant gets any good press. I had a fried soft shelled crab which was ruined by being contaminated with broth. I have been to this restaurant for the last time.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Have been here several times - enjoy the food, location & service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Everything was terrific. We especially loved the oysters appetizer and the lamb lasagna. Delightful sparkling rosé. Great service. We want to come again soon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Our meal was exceptional, especially Oysters Goodenough!
We were greeted warmly and seated right away.
Our server was informative and attentive.
Delicious dinner and can't wait to return

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Phenomenal experience from beginning to end. Counter seating was great theater to watch, loved the curated wine list - Dusty was a great host!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food and service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Lovely evening meal. Service was exceptional; not to involved but they made a point to explain a few details of the ingredients. Crispy duck was outstanding. Lasagna was original and outstanding. Blackened fish was very good however, I expected a little more flavor for that title. Obviously, very fresh and paired with a very interesting crawfish stuffing and sauce. I should have asked for more information. Dessert was "drunken cornbread with strawberries," my words not theirs, with a bourbon sauce. Wow, that was unusual and delicous! Great evening and so glad we went. Enjoy!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Great food and great service. One of the best restaurants in New Orleans. Menu is outstanding. A neighborhood gem!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Went for brunch and really liked the restaurant. Food was great as well as the service. Great drink selection and cozy atmosphere. A little noisy but worth it for the food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Delicious! Had the Market Caffe cocktails, with the Oysters Goodenough omelet and a generous cinnamon roll. Enough to spmit with my husband and myself. Sat at the cou ter to watch the chers running the hoghly efficient kitchen. More than dining - an experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Have been there several times and never disapponted!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Second time there - did not disappoint! Will be back and back and back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Where do I begin? Outstanding! We ate at the open kitchen bar. The chefs work as if they r in a well choreographed ballet. Brilliant. They put out the most delicious impeccable food. The platers treat each dish with such care. Lovely to watch.
We thoroughly enjoyed the freshness, the flavors, the inventiveness. Can’t wait to do it again!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Our server was excellent!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
20