Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Carrollton Market

Located mere steps from the end of St. Charles Avenue and brought to you by Chef Jason Goodenough, Carrollton Market serves some of the finest food and drink available in the great city of New Orleans. Chef Jason scours the local farmers' markets and fish houses in a non-stop quest to find the best ingredients available from the Gulf of Mexico and beyond. Make your reservation today to experience some of the best of the city.

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Wednesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Thursday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Catering by Carrollton Market is quickly turning in to one of New Orleans' finest boutique catering companies. We can host events at the restaurant for approximately 60 guests and offer a "No Cookie Cutter Menu" approach. By this, we mean that we will create anything our guests desire -- your wish is our command! We can do offsite parties for upwards of 200 people as well.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking surrounding Carrollton Market. Outside the restaurant, on Hampson Street, and around the corner on Dublin Street the parking is metered before 7pm. It is free on Sundays. After 6pm and all day on Sunday, the lot next door to Carrollton Market -- Morelock's -- is available free of charge to our customers.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop (N213) is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (55)
Fit for Foodies (46)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Creative Cuisine (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Handcrafted Cocktails (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Great for Brunch (30)
Local Ingredients (28)
Good for Birthdays (28)
Romantic (27)
Bar Seating (27)
Authentic (21)
Cozy (21)
Casual (19)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Business Meals (17)
Worth the Drive (17)
Fun (15)
Hot Spot (15)
Good for Groups (13)
Notable Wine List (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Happy Hour (9)
Seasonal (9)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Organic (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
542 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

The biscuits and debris lived up to our great expectations. The french toast was insanely good. All this and great service too.Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and even better service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our second time to eat here & everything was great including choice of cocktails. The menu is somewhat limited but the appetizer oysters & crabcake were delicious. The scallops & whole fish were very good. We sat at the counter & enjoyed watching the chefs prepare each dish. They do a great job in limited kitchen space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Absolutely perfect experience, from start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

In a city filled with superlative dining options Carrollton Market is a standout for me. I could make a meal out of the bread alone...every single item on this tight menu is a star but you'd do ourself a disservice to not order the Oysters Goodenough. This place is a GEM, food that makes you want to take your time to enjoy, and service that is consistently delightful.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had a girls night out at Carrollton Market. They were doing the special restaurant week menu. They were willing to let us order things ala carte off of the restaurant week menu, to mix and match with other regular menu items. The food was delicious. The corn soup was to die for. It tasted like fresh corn on the cob. The oysters Goodenough are always more than good enough. They were delicious. The beef shank canneloni was very tasty. The pork chop and the striped bass also looked very good and, although I didn't taste them, the girls who ordered them were members of the clean plate club. We had a very nice night. I always love going to this restaurant. It is consistently good and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had to wait 20 minutes past our 8 pm reservation time. Food was good- well prepared and tasty. I had the steak and frites. Fries were very good. Steak was cooked correctly. Not prime cut, but good choice cut. Wife had crab cake app for her entree and she liked it. Atmosphere was nice, but very noisy. However, there were many large groups dining on the night of our visit. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Recommend sitting at the bar to witness the fabulous food that is coming out of the kitchen. Highly recommend the Oysters Goodenough, Crab Cake, Beef Short Rib and the Hamachi Crudol. And don't forget to save room for the Pot de Creme with the mini beignets! Each dish was perfectly seasoned and arrived at the table in a timely manner. Our server, Paul, guided us through the menu and was attentive without hovering.
A Must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Family in town from LA. Great all-around dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Chef Goodenough has a true gem in his Carrollton Market! Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The entrees are creative and delicious--perhaps the best scallop dish I've ever had. The presentation is eye appealing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We can't get over how good the cinnamon roll is at this neighborhood gem that keeps us coming back. Farm to table brunch was extremely delicious. It's all in the details here with the well put together menu and the beverages. Wait staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Great Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We live in the neighborhood and we love this place. the food and service is amazing. I recomend this restaurant to all of my out of town friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The porkbelly was too salty for my taste , but the crab cakes were awesome and our waiter Paul was superb!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Delicious meal and nice ambiance. Chef's menu is creative. Steak was cooked to perfection. Will be going back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We thought everything about the food was delicious. Really delicious! Our server was great. The only thing to spoil that was when the check came I noticed that in a Dewar's on the rocks ($9) they had charged extra for "rocks" ($2)! And for a martini "up" ($10) an extra charge of $4 because it was "up."
Very irritating. Just charge $11 for the Dewar's and $14 for the martini. That leaves a better taste in my mouth (pun intended) for something that is standard in all the restaurants I know of. I do plan on going back however, I will stick to wine just on principle.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Our first visit, but not our last. Oysters Goodenough were much better than that, as was everything else we ate.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Not only was the food fabulous-staff was superb ...ate at the bar and it was a ballet!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Seasonal, People Watching, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

Overall, food was great and service was phenomenal... whenever I'm New Orleans i would definitely come back to this restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Delicious food and ambience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We really loved the dinner we had at Carrollton Market. It would have had 5 stars if it wasn't for the service. Service was extremely slow. The server was very inattentive. We both ate off the coolinary menu. Everything we had was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

I had a wonderful overall experience. The fried oysters were "to die for". Even in New Orleans, with so many fine restaurants, I'll be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 23, 2017

My daughter and I went and sat up at the counter. It was a lot of fun watching the chefs preparing amazing dishes right in front of us. Everything looked so delicious it was hard to decide what to eat. My daughter got Steak Frites which was perfect for a steak lover and cooked to the temperature she requested. I had a pork shank that was out of this world. Their food is prepared creatively and served beautifully yet still comfort food not too fancy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 23, 2017

The food was quite good, with perhaps the exception being the ok but not great scallops. The prices were reasonable, especially since it was Coolinary time. The service was even better than the food.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Excellent overall! Comfortable, great service, delicious food, lovely wines, special place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Cozy, Seasonal, Fun, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 22, 2017

It was another splendid Coolinary experience. A true gem to find. We will be back. Service was above and beyond.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Thw food was amazing. We went with a group of friends for the Coolinary specials (fix price 3 course meal). The entire meal was excellent!! Great environment and space.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Delicious! Great menu! This place never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 17, 2017

This is our second visit to Carrollton Market. On the first occassion we were blown away (in a good way). This second visit was quite the opposite. We worked off the Coolinary (summer) menu, $39 for 3 (pre-selected) courses. The sweet chili calamari were good, but with too much loose fried breading and too little calamari. The tuna tartar was very good. The pork shank was completely uninteresting, and the cannelloni only so-so. We finished off with two so-so desserts. Disappointing for $120.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Loved This place and can't wait to go back for dinner. We ate brunch and ordered the cinnamon roll (ahhhmazing), the debris Benedict and the oysters good enough omlet. Everything was outstanding. The prices are also really reasonable- especially considering the complexity and quality of the food prepared!

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Fantastic brunch. The dishes were complex flavors of savory.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a great time. Service and food was awesome! We will be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

What a great find! We went for the Culinary menu and ended up eating from both the regular menu and the culinary menu as they both looked good! The spaghetti with clams and mussels was the best "spaghetti" ever! The service was excellent and ambience great. We will be back but next time we will sit at the counter and watch the kitchen.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

It was extraordinary! The crab cake is ALL crab, no binder, and the richness of flavor did not disappoint. I followed with the spaghetti w abundant clams and mussels which blew me away. I have had pasta all over the world and none better than this. It has a buttery,oily texture whose flavors linger in your mouth. The chocolate mouse (Pot de Creme) was again perfect. My guest had the delicious crab and tarragon salad and the Beef Short Rib w mashed potatoes. She also had a glass of 2010 Brunello di Montalcino from their special cellars selections which was very fine. All in all, a triumph

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Went to try the Coolinary menu and had great choices. Started with tuna tartare and sweet chili calamari both excellent. Entrees were beef and mushroom cannelloni and spaghetti with clams and mussels recommended by waiter Brandon. Dessert was chocolate pot a creme with sugar bite size beignets. Wine choices were excellent at $6/glass. Service was attentive and Brandon was an excellent waiter. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fun, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We had been meaning to try the Carrollton Market and finally went on a Friday night. It was pretty busy and very loud so not the best for conversations. The food and service more than made up for any noise issues. I ate off of the coolinary menue, so had 3 courses for $39. I started with the tuna tartare, it was so good. I had clam and mussels pasta for a main and the red sauce was wonderful! My husband had duck confit to start and steak with Frites. Cooked to perfection! We will go back.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Mobile)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Sat at food counter watched as food was prepared. Fantastic food. Fresh and delicious. Excellent cocktails from bar. Service was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 11, 2017

Extremely fine food. Great Old Fashions. Good service. Only issue is very noisy. Hard to hear companions.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

My friend and I both thought our dishes were delicious. The table for 2 was a little small, but otherwise the place was attractive and comfortable. Our server was very good, and she made great suggestions. All in all, I felt is was excellent.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Enjoyed our brunch. Omelette was perfection. And the cinnamon roll was so good...soft and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.