Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Carrollton Market

Located mere steps from the end of St. Charles Avenue and brought to you by Chef Jason Goodenough, Carrollton Market serves some of the finest food and drink available in the great city of New Orleans. Chef Jason scours the local farmers' markets and fish houses in a non-stop quest to find the best ingredients available from the Gulf of Mexico and beyond. Make your reservation today to experience some of the best of the city.

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Wednesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Thursday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Catering by Carrollton Market is quickly turning in to one of New Orleans' finest boutique catering companies. We can host events at the restaurant for approximately 60 guests and offer a "No Cookie Cutter Menu" approach. By this, we mean that we will create anything our guests desire -- your wish is our command! We can do offsite parties for upwards of 200 people as well.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking surrounding Carrollton Market. Outside the restaurant, on Hampson Street, and around the corner on Dublin Street the parking is metered before 7pm. It is free on Sundays. After 6pm and all day on Sunday, the lot next door to Carrollton Market -- Morelock's -- is available free of charge to our customers.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop (N213) is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Sunday, December 31, 2017

Details

Carrollton Market offers one of New Orleans' premiere New Year's Eve Dining Experiences. Join us early and head downtown for the festivities, or ring in the New Year with us.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Good for a Date (40)
Special Occasion (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (39)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (29)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Local Ingredients (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Bar Seating (23)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Cozy (21)
Romantic (20)
Authentic (18)
Business Meals (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (17)
Notable Wine List (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Fun (12)
Quiet Conversation (12)
Good for Groups (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Seasonal (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort by
S
570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Warning....addiction is likely! Once you visit you will want to keep going back again and again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Quick Bite, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and food. We look forward to visiting again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Foie gras on cinnamon roll is epic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Not a lot of brunch options but very good quality and taste

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 11, 2017

Food was amazing and the environment was very lively. We will definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 11, 2017

It was delicious! We will go there again & look forward to try it for lunch too
Great cocktails & wine list

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 10, 2017

Lovely dinner, maybe the best seafood entree in NOLA, it is pricey for sure. The oysters were fabulous. The hamachi was quite good, just meager in size. I will certainly return again and not have as many appetizers, and dessert. By the way the rolls are out of this world but you are only served one and have to ask if you want another. We were hungry and had to wait for our food so we did ask for another. Our waiter was maybe new and was inattentive and seemed unable to do two things at once, like take an order from an adjoining table and picking up the signed check from ours. I absolutely want to return and soon !

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
·Dined on November 9, 2017

Carrollton Station is very comfortable and has great service. The food is always well prepared.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Happy Hour, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Service was wonderful and food was delicious! They have a great wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (München)·Dined on November 1, 2017

Great place to escape Halloween. Amazing food, especially the oysters are delicious, friendly service, great cocktail- and wine-menue.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 29, 2017

The food was amazing as always. This was our second time going. The crab cake was delightful as was the whole fish. An excellent date night choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Good food and ambiance. We went for brunch on a whim, and it was a little odd because the place was totally empty. We were literally the only people in the restaurant. The oddest part about it was it still somehow took 40 mins to get our breakfast orders. I didn't mind much because they gave us a free cinnamon roll and kept up with the coffee refills, but it was very odd seeming. Once we got our food, it was quite good. Waitress was very nice, atmosphere was quiet but nice.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Creative cuisine. Amazing flavor profiles with so many layers of complexity.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 28, 2017

Family visiting from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 22, 2017

Delicious brunch! Would go back again. Beautiful and clean restaurant.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Really like this restaurant. Creative cuisine with interesting ingredients. Well balanced menu, with staff that knows the dishes and prepares them well. Great cocktails, and we really like the wines by the glass for almost every selection. Paul, our waiter, was friendly, knowledgeable and gave good recommendations. Service attentive, not obtrusive. Like so much that we booked for brunch the upcoming weekend. Plus, coming from the Northshore, the location on Hampson is really convenient.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 19, 2017

The meal was delicious but expensive. Will have a second thought about going again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Our dinner was so good. We sat at the counter. Started with a cocktail. Then we split the foie gras, which was so good. One of the best I've had. I had the beef shank and mushroom cannelloni. It was delicious. My daughter had the pork belly which she liked also. We split dessert-a chocolate mouse. Service was good. Everything was so good.and we enjoyed sitting at the counter. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 17, 2017

Try the Oysters Goodenough. An outstanding dish. The service was exceptional, and a very pleasant room to be in.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Best restaurant NOLA! Intimate and fit for a foodie! Chef Goodenough is turning out innovative dishes that keep you coming back for more. Sit at the chef’s bar for dinner AND a show!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Super great food
Very friendly and attentive staff
Wonderful ambience
Highly recommended

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 4, 2017

My wife and I had a great time at CARROLLTON MARKET. The food was really excellent. The fried oysters , the foie gras on French toast are both delicious. The service is excellent. The place is nice, good atmosphere. We will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 29, 2017

Food excellent, Paul our server was GREAT, we look forward to returning.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Whole fish - Pampono served with raw Center. Took back and finished cooking. Otherwise good sides. Striped Bass was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 24, 2017

Have never had a bad meal here ! Friends I took raved about it and definitely plan to return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Brunch at Carrollton Market exceeded all expectations! It was an absolutely amazing meal. The tables are small (but more than adequate), so our large group was able to talk comfortably without having to shout down the table. Cocktails were also fantastic. I can't wait to go back and try dinner!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on September 17, 2017

The biscuits and debris lived up to our great expectations. The french toast was insanely good. All this and great service too.Can't wait to come back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Great food and even better service. Will definitely be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This was our second time to eat here & everything was great including choice of cocktails. The menu is somewhat limited but the appetizer oysters & crabcake were delicious. The scallops & whole fish were very good. We sat at the counter & enjoyed watching the chefs prepare each dish. They do a great job in limited kitchen space.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Absolutely perfect experience, from start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

In a city filled with superlative dining options Carrollton Market is a standout for me. I could make a meal out of the bread alone...every single item on this tight menu is a star but you'd do ourself a disservice to not order the Oysters Goodenough. This place is a GEM, food that makes you want to take your time to enjoy, and service that is consistently delightful.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 13, 2017

We had a girls night out at Carrollton Market. They were doing the special restaurant week menu. They were willing to let us order things ala carte off of the restaurant week menu, to mix and match with other regular menu items. The food was delicious. The corn soup was to die for. It tasted like fresh corn on the cob. The oysters Goodenough are always more than good enough. They were delicious. The beef shank canneloni was very tasty. The pork chop and the striped bass also looked very good and, although I didn't taste them, the girls who ordered them were members of the clean plate club. We had a very nice night. I always love going to this restaurant. It is consistently good and the service is outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Had to wait 20 minutes past our 8 pm reservation time. Food was good- well prepared and tasty. I had the steak and frites. Fries were very good. Steak was cooked correctly. Not prime cut, but good choice cut. Wife had crab cake app for her entree and she liked it. Atmosphere was nice, but very noisy. However, there were many large groups dining on the night of our visit. Will visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Wonderful neighborhood restaurant. Recommend sitting at the bar to witness the fabulous food that is coming out of the kitchen. Highly recommend the Oysters Goodenough, Crab Cake, Beef Short Rib and the Hamachi Crudol. And don't forget to save room for the Pot de Creme with the mini beignets! Each dish was perfectly seasoned and arrived at the table in a timely manner. Our server, Paul, guided us through the menu and was attentive without hovering.
A Must!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Family in town from LA. Great all-around dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Chef Goodenough has a true gem in his Carrollton Market! Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The entrees are creative and delicious--perhaps the best scallop dish I've ever had. The presentation is eye appealing.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We can't get over how good the cinnamon roll is at this neighborhood gem that keeps us coming back. Farm to table brunch was extremely delicious. It's all in the details here with the well put together menu and the beverages. Wait staff is knowledgeable and friendly. Great Brunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We live in the neighborhood and we love this place. the food and service is amazing. I recomend this restaurant to all of my out of town friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The porkbelly was too salty for my taste , but the crab cakes were awesome and our waiter Paul was superb!!!

Tags: Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.