Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Carrollton Market

Located mere steps from the end of St. Charles Avenue and brought to you by Chef Jason Goodenough, Carrollton Market serves some of the finest food and drink available in the great city of New Orleans. Chef Jason scours the local farmers' markets and fish houses in a non-stop quest to find the best ingredients available from the Gulf of Mexico and beyond. Make your reservation today to experience some of the best of the city.

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Wednesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Thursday: 5:00pm-10pm
Friday: 5:00pm-10pm
Saturday: 10:00am-2pm
5pm-10pm
Sunday: 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Catering by Carrollton Market is quickly turning in to one of New Orleans' finest boutique catering companies. We can host events at the restaurant for approximately 60 guests and offer a "No Cookie Cutter Menu" approach. By this, we mean that we will create anything our guests desire -- your wish is our command! We can do offsite parties for upwards of 200 people as well.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking surrounding Carrollton Market. Outside the restaurant, on Hampson Street, and around the corner on Dublin Street the parking is metered before 7pm. It is free on Sundays. After 6pm and all day on Sunday, the lot next door to Carrollton Market -- Morelock's -- is available free of charge to our customers.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop (N213) is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Make a reservation and bring your mom to enjoy one of New Orleans' finest brunches during our extended Mother's Day Hours.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (29)
Neighborhood Gem (29)
Creative Cuisine (28)
See All
Local Ingredients (23)
Open Kitchen (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (20)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Special Occasion (15)
Bar Seating (15)
Romantic (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (11)
Good for Birthdays (9)
Cozy (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Authentic (9)
Business Meals (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Fun (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Healthy (4)
Historic (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Seasonal (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Family Style (2)
People Watching (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

This place is amazing. I love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 5 days ago

Craving a new experience, flipping around the reviews and announcements. Found Carrollton Market in an area familiar to us (the Riverbend) Reserved. Warm service, excellent craft drinks. Chose to load heavy in the appetizers and go with one entree. Sweetbread Amondine, OystersGoodenough, and a crab cake all very good to excellent, with me leaning to the sweetbreads and wife to the oysters. The (Whole Roasted Branzino 29 Crispy Potatoes, Broccoli, Harissa, Tomato Confit) was brilliant, arguably the best fish dish I've had in many years. I would have it with joy again today, crispy, sweet, and satisfying (I'm a serious carnivore of the Ron Swanson "fish is practically a vegetable" persuasion, but this was GREAT).

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal was amazing from the apps to the entrees and Chef Scott did his thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Innovative, flavorful and unique. We sat at chef counter and it was great watching everything get created. A fantastic operation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great small restaurant. Friendly staff and good service. Atmosphere is warm and inviting. Nice wine list. Easter Sunday brunch was delicious. Our first time there but definitely will not be the last.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great spot! Brunch/lunch or dinner, it never disappoints! Also, it's pretty cool to see the chefs as work in the open kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at CM. Our waiter (Matthew, I think-- I'm so bad with names!) could not have been better; he was the perfect mix of attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable without sticking around too long. The cauliflower soup was delicious, as was the whole branzino. The scallops were perfectly cooked, too, but they needed a bit more grapefruit/acid, I think. Regardless, we've already talked about when we can revisit CM... hopefully soon!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This restaurant exceeded our expectations. The food and service were excellent. We are local and had been here before but under the previous name/ownership. My wife has celiac and we were extremely pleased with the number of options that were gluten free, even the fried oyster appetizer which we shared and was delicious. We then had a salad, my wife the crabcake and I the steak. Everything was tasty, properly seasoned and cooked. The wine options were also plentiful. This was just a spur of the moment date night for us and we could not have been more pleased. Our server was fantastic, attentive but also allowed us to take our time dining. These guys do it right and we would strongly recommend this hidden gem. We will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was exceptional the staff was painfully slow to recognize that we were seated. I actually commented at one point that I felt we were invisible. Fine except restaurant was at 20% capacity. Waiter eventually warmed up and, combined with awesome mimosas, saved the day.

Highlights were the breakfast burger and cinnamon roll. Both are among the best I've ever had!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Consistently great food and I highly recommend a seat at the foodbar to watch the orchestration of your meal. This Friday evening the place was packed and for good reason. Lent in NOLA meals "seafood" and the current menu certainly delivers many delicious options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A couple of graduate students at a nearby university took a prospective student to dinner at this restaurant. The food and service were phenomenal, and definitely worth the expense.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything from start to finish was beyond amazing! I can't wait to go back. Thank you chef and crew!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Love the food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I love everything about this restaurant! I've been for brunch and the rum tasting happy hours but last night's dinner was AMAZING. It's so refreshing to see people enjoy the work they do, and to be given the space to be creative/innovative. I've been telling everyone about Carrollton Market...It's one of my new favorite places!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As always, the oysters goodenough were excellent. Potato gnocchi with rabbit was superior. My wife enjoyed the tuna, and my friend really liked the scallops, although they appeared small in number to me. Chocolate bread pudding for dessert was a nice change of pace. The food here is consistently good and I liked the changing menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

An absolute Uptown gem! Carrollton Market dishes out creative decadence with every plate! Sit at the chef's bar for a little entertainment with your meal! Voted #12 best brunch in America - love this place!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always a gem

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great experience and great food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great happy hour. Excellent service and menu. Enjoyed the happy hour. Everything had great flavor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Oh, the bacon, just try it. We've been several times and enjoy it more each time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great atmosphere and great staff

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Another great experience at Carrollton Market which is now established as a great New Orleans neighborhood restaurant. The menu is always interesting, delicious and varied.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in New Orleans. Always great food and service. It is really a New Orleans gem!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went to this place for brunch, the food was plentiful so it justified the high price point. I had the Oyster omelet and it's flavor was absolutely perfect everybody in my group liked their food. Our waiter was very kind and the service in general was great. The downside was the check, it is a bit too expensive for brunch, I'd prefer smaller portions and a lower price point.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We enjoyed every bite of food we ordered and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The oyster appetizer beats any we have ever tried!! Also my entree came with a crawfish bread pudding, which was delicious. Very impressed by this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Carollton Market is a cozy and inviting neighborhood gem!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The weekend brunch is great for the whole family, maybe on a special occasion. Wonderful food and friendly service. This was a very memorable stop on a day of sightseeing.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentine's Day and the food was great. My wife and I both enjoyed our food. The building may look small from the outside but it can hold a good number of people.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious fresh food creatively prepared and served by cheerful young staffers.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

For the last year this has been one of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Fantastic service and the food was always creative and excellent. The last two visits we have had to send food back that was undercooked, fish and lamb meatballs. I am not sure what is happening. The returned food was excellent. This was not a busy time. We will still go back. Great cocktails as well. Easy parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chef is outstanding. Menu is excellent. Locally grown fresh food. Great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome food and friendly service... The ambiance of the restaurant was amazing. The wait staff was knowledgable about the menu and the wine list. The appetizers , main course, and the dessert was extremely tasty. The restaurant's dining room setting was quaint . It felt as though you were in someone's home.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'd heard nothing but good things. My dinner was over-seasoned and my wife couldn't even eat her tuna. In her words it was "disgusting", which sucks because it was the first date out my wife and I have had in quite some time. The ambiance and service was good, the food wasn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Another great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The meal was crazy good! We sat at the open food bar and interacted with the chefs. I've literally told everyone I've seen about that meal. It's the best I've had recently!

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This restaurant is for the meat eater. Even the cauliflower soup and oysters contain bacon. We both ordered the one seafood entree, which was black drum atop beets and excellent carrots. The green salad, which never appears on the menu (why?), was excellent.
Great neighborhood spot with emphasis on meat. I missed Steve, former host, who kept an eye on everything

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was great. Service was attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of the best brunches I've ever had! Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My date and I had 7:45 reservations and were seated immediately when we arrived. We were greeted relatively quickly by our waiter and apps/wine arrived timely. However, we waited approximately 45 minutes for our entrees after apps were cleared. It became apparent the staff and chef were more concerned with the three 4 and 5 tops in our section, as their respective courses, including "complimentary" desserts, arrived timely. Even after our entrees were finished, the table was not cleared for approximately 20 minutes thereafter. Finally, we were asked about dessert, apologized to for the long wait (partly because our waiter saw the look on my date's face), and received the check. Simply stated, when I spend $220 on 2 apps (one was a simple salad), 2 entrees and a bottle of wine, I at least expect decent service! Having worked in the service industry, I understand the importance of larger tables, but I quickly learned the necessary balance of working smaller tables and had hoped a restaurant that holds itself out as a gem in the city would have hired staff that understood this same concept.

My .02 ... visitors, i.e. tourists, will continue dining here while locals, who know where to enjoy delicious meals with impeccable service, will dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time eating at the restaurant and must say the brunch we had was very enjoyable. Creative and fresh offerings and large portion sizes. The Cinnamon roll is a winner light and airy and very delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.