About Carrollton Market

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Just steps from the end of historic St. Charles Avenue in uptown's Riverbend neighborhood is Carrollton Market, a modern Southern restaurant from Chef Jason Goodenough. Focusing on the bounty of ingredients that Louisiana, Mississippi and the Gulf of Mexico have to offer, Carrollton Market serves exceptional progressive New Orleans' cuisine and cocktails in a relaxed and charming setting. Located half a block from the St. Charles trolley line, Carrollton Market is easily accessible from the hotels of the French Quarter, CBD and Warehouse District and makes for a memorable end to a beautiful evening voyage on the street car.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking on Hampson St, surrounding Dublin Park, and in the surrounding neighborhood.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Great for Brunch (24)
Romantic (22)
Notable Wine List (14)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for Groups (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Late-night Find (2)
Scenic View (1)
Sort By:
Newest
318 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Salad dressing too salty and tangy, over ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

Salad dressing too salty and tangy, overly dressed and soggy. The oyster omelet covered in sauce! Ugg. Nothing light on the menu. Bloody Mary's were Devine!!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

We went for the prix fixe COOLinary menu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 4 days ago

We went for the prix fixe COOLinary menu this month and it was delicious. Great service, too.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed the Coolinary menu. Options wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 6 days ago

Enjoyed the Coolinary menu. Options were varied and we may not have tried the restaurant without the August value. We will definitely return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The noise level can get high when the di ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

The noise level can get high when the dining room is full.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, cocktails, and atmosp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food, service, cocktails, and atmosphere are impeccable. Carrollton Market has moved into our top 10 favorite restaurants in the city. We're locals who dine out frequently, so that statement carries the weight of years of dining experiences in NOLA.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our main course was a bit late so they b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our main course was a bit late so they brought out some oysters as a comp, outstanding service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! The food is amazin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this restaurant! The food is amazing every time I go here and service is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited Carrollton Market to take advant ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Visited Carrollton Market to take advantage of the Coolinary menu. Was surprised to find one of the best bartenders in the city. Amazing cocktails! Total experience was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a double date to Carrollton Mark ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went on a double date to Carrollton Market & enjoyed the coolinary menu that was offered. Food & drinks were great. Service was wonderful. Love the atmosphere. Highly recommend for small group or date. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was nice... The fried short r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was nice... The fried short rib was awesome! I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Walked in...noticed not a lot of decorat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Walked in...noticed not a lot of decoration or anything to look at. Drink was absolutely excellent. Service was excellent. The burger's beef was good but the rest of it was excessively casual for the price: cheap bun pressed in butter w diner style toppings.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Good service, good food, okay atmosphere ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good service, good food, okay atmosphere. No problem finding parking spot on a Sunday morning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The building is really lovely. Service w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The building is really lovely. Service was great. Steak frites (steak with French fries) was fine but not exceptional. I should have gone with the coolinary menu even though I was just in the mood for steak. Did find the noise level to be very high but would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. This is the first time my friend & I tried the Carrollton Market. We chose it because of its wonderful Coolinary Menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and we feel lik ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was really good and we feel like we paid an acceptable amount for the well prepared meals, wine and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been several times now. Better ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We have been several times now. Better each time. A real uptown gem with easy parking, great specials, and good service. Dinner rolls (Parker house) remind me of my grandmother's rolls. Excellent cocktail choices. The Coolinary special menu was excellent. Small and can get noisy, but you should go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Seafood entrees were very good, appetize ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Seafood entrees were very good, appetizer and dessert ok. Good deal on drinks before 7. Ambience is ok, we liked our table for two, other diners seemed a bit uncomfortable, exposed and near the bar. Nice addition to the neighborhood, but prices seem high for the portion size.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing! The Oysters Goodenough are ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing! The Oysters Goodenough are everything and the drum was cooked perfectly! Go now, go often. This place is legit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed. When a restaurant cha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very disappointed. When a restaurant charges over $30 for an entree, I assume they consider themselves a serious restaurant. I expect, therefore, serious and professional service. First, we waited way too long for our appetizers. Then our waiter got our order wrong. I asked for a glass of wine when the apps came out. He forgot it. No offer to take it off the bill. Barely an apology. The food looked good but in a city of outstanding options it was merely ok. Special oyster dish had way too Michele bacon, a nice but overwhelming bernaise sauce and tiny fried oysters. Totally out of balance. The crabmeat salad app had nice fresh crabmeat but was just bland. The potato encrusted drum was greasy and under seasoned, over salted. My husbands beef short rib app was also very one dimensional. His pork shank was hot served over cold potato salad. Weird. Panna cotta dessert would have been better with fresh berries and no chewey pecan bits. The texture was all wrong. Bill for 2 with 2 drinks and the Coolinary specials almost $200. Glad we tried it. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

What a sweet place! Staff top notch from ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

What a sweet place! Staff top notch from hostess to waiters. Food innovative and except for the lamb bolognese being a bit on the salty side I was wowed by the menu. Want to go back and try more dishes.

Definitely on my radar for the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoyable. They easily and cheerf ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always enjoyable. They easily and cheerfully made accommodations for my vegetarian preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stumbled across this neighborhood gem ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We stumbled across this neighborhood gem one night when we stayed down in New Orleans before an early morning flight. We sat on stools overlooking the kitchen and got to watch all the action. I had the stripped bass which was outstanding and my wife had the incredible pasta. The chef/owner was right in the middle of the action ensuring everything was prepared to his high standards. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The space is light and open, the service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The space is light and open, the service friendly and the food was good. We didn't really explore the menu as we both had their version of eggs benedict which was excellent. I'd definitely return to try some of the other brunch items.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Once again a superlative experience. Ex ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Once again a superlative experience.

Excellent service,

Sublime food.

The brunch is to die for.

From the sinfully delicious cinnamon roll to the heathy veggie omelet all the dishes are great.

My favorite is the debris Benedict. Cornbread topped with roast beef "debris" poached egg and hollandaise sauce.

Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I felt we was treated very good by the h ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I felt we was treated very good by the hostess and the server. Our for came out timely and the quality was excellent. An enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! Food is outstanding and serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful! Food is outstanding and services is perfect. We had eaten here when the restaurant first opened and were anxious to return during this trip to NOLA. We were not disappointed and will make reservations for our next trip as well. The fish was beautifully prepared and the combination of flavored was creative without being overdone. A very talented chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was decent - there are better p ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was decent - there are better places. I like loud energetic places, but this place was too loud. It was a Friday night, and it was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We took some out-of-town friends to Carr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took some out-of-town friends to Carrollton Market for Sunday brunch. The food was outstanding! The most rave reviews were for the Oysters Goodenough omelette. But, everything was delicious. The waiter was great; he was just attentive enough. He was there when we needed him, and he was not overbearing. Our friends loved it. We really like this restaurant; and it is walking distance from our house. One of our favorites!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish dishes were fabulous.

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fish dishes were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We arrived earlier than our scheduled re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We arrived earlier than our scheduled reservations and to our surprise were seated immediately which was wonderful. The hostess was very friendly and our waiter was outstanding. His understanding of the food he was serving was impressive. We found him to be exceptionally professional and in this age of declining work ethic, very refreshing. Our food was exceptional and the everyone in the restaurant seemed to be very comfortable and enjoying themselves. Loved the décor, it was upscale yet comfortable; a very difficult combination to achieve. Stephen greeted us, prior to our receiving our check to make sure everything met with our expectation, which was a very nice touch. Thank you, we will come back due to our overall experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good first - the oyster and tomato/c ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The good first - the oyster and tomato/crab salad were both good. The entrees (I had the Redfish with garlic bread pudding) were just OK, and each several of us in the party of 6 had a little too much salt in our preparation. The waiter was new and tried to serve us but said to one of our guests who has a nut allergy that the salad did not contain nuts, although it did. Luckily he did not consume much of the salad with the pesto and just took a precautionary Benadryl but this could have been worse. The waiter took off half a bottle of wine to make up, but I would call the food average by NOLA standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The crabmeat casserole was decadent! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The crabmeat casserole was decadent!

I'm a regular here and have never submitted a review.

The food is consistently mouthwatering and elegant. The service is always impeccable- warm, accommodating, and smooth. The ambiance is high energy but elegant. The drinks are also a gem- the bartenders are very clever with flavors. Carrolton market is a hidden neighborhood gem. Don't leave New Orleans without trying their Oysters Goodenough.

Will be back soon!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved sitting at the bar watching the fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Loved sitting at the bar watching the food prep. Quite an operation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been several times now. Excell ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have been several times now. Excellent crab and oyster starters. Pasta was also very good. It was crowded and there was a delay for the main courses, so the restaurant gave us a salad to share, a nice gesture. I enjoyed the Cobia with Asian flavors. My wife enjoyed the Seabass. Very nice evening even with the very loud diner at the next table.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I had been wanting to try this restauran ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. We were not disappointed. Due to the small size, the room is quite noisy but after we got adjusted it wasn't too bad. The oysters were excellent, as were the two fish entrees ordered at our table. I had the pork, which was very good but nothing notable. I thought the portion sizes were fine - not sure what some other diners were complaining about. It's not huge piles of food, but I wouldn't expect that at a fine restaurant. We did not leave hungry.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal from appetizer to desse ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding meal from appetizer to dessert. Recommend that visitors to the French Quarter expand their horizons and take a short cab/uber ride to this incredible uptown restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in New Orlea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the best restaurants in New Orleans. Always a pleasure to eat there. Service and food are always top notch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the service and the food was exc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall the service and the food was excellent! Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion. I will definitely go back again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, non-notable food. Nothing spe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Expensive, non-notable food. Nothing special, sadly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.