About Carrollton Market

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Just steps from the end of historic St. Charles Avenue in uptown's Riverbend neighborhood is Carrollton Market, a modern Southern restaurant from Chef Jason Goodenough. Focusing on the bounty of ingredients that Louisiana, Mississippi and the Gulf of Mexico have to offer, Carrollton Market serves exceptional progressive New Orleans' cuisine and cocktails in a relaxed and charming setting. Located half a block from the St. Charles trolley line, Carrollton Market is easily accessible from the hotels of the French Quarter, CBD and Warehouse District and makes for a memorable end to a beautiful evening voyage on the street car.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking on Hampson St, surrounding Dublin Park, and in the surrounding neighborhood.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (33)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Special Occasion (23)
See All
Good for a Date (20)
Open Kitchen (18)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Brunch (14)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
Cozy (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Romantic (9)
Fun (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Casual (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Business Meals (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Authentic (3)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Family Style (3)
People Watching (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
355 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was outstanding. We had great s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was outstanding. We had great service. I would definitely recommend a friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tuna and crab carpaccio was superb. Oyst ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Tuna and crab carpaccio was superb. Oysters as well. At a table of 6, three ordered pasta dishes. The agnolotti were inconsistent in texture (some all or partly hard) as though allowed to partially dry and therefore cooked unevenly, nice flavor, but all the pastas were not served hot enough. Table split two desserts: chocolate pots de crime; were rich and smooth; the little warm, filled beignet were a delicious lagniappe.

I had been twice before, brought a tribe this time. Wanted them to like it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I've eaten at Carrollton Market several ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

I've eaten at Carrollton Market several times and it's always an exceptional experience. The menu is seasonal and locally sourced, so there are always new dishes to try. Fortunately they keep their staple items on the menu like Oysters Goodenough, which is mouth-wateringly good. Last time I went, I sat at the open-kitchen food bar and got to interact with the chef and watch the food be prepared. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the service is terrific. If you're looking for an incredible local New Orleans experience, this is your place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

certainly above average food and a nice ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

certainly above average food and a nice setting. We liked the appetizers moreso than the dinners. Waitstaff was a touch slow and inattentive. Overall, we like the food and would have gone again, but didn't feel that it was appropriately priced. A little too expensive for what it was.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Yummmmm great food.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Yummmmm great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous neighborhood restaurant. Exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A fabulous neighborhood restaurant. Excellent service; small, but varied menu with something for everyone. Wonderful wine list and unique cocktails and beer menu. Although a bit noisy as it filled up for the evening, still a cozy, and intimate place. I would highly recommend it. Next time we will eat at the bar and enjoy the action in the open kitchen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carrollton Market never disappoints! The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Carrollton Market never disappoints! There is something for everyone and the Oysters Goodenough could make an oyster lover out of anyone. Everyone I have brought here can't stop raving about how wonderful the food is.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Food & Service! Go before 7 pm ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent Food & Service! Go before 7 pm and enjoy Happy Hour Cocktails and hors d'oeuvre!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rolls were very good, Service was good ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Rolls were very good,

Service was good

Took Too long to get food Restaurant was not that crowded, Duck was Luke warm as was the Steak which had no flavor.

Not going back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

This is one of favorite places in New Or ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is one of favorite places in New Orleans. Excellent cocktails and very good Parker House rolls. Menu and specials always very good. Fish, pastas, lamb, all very good. Lots of close parking as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first visit to the restaura ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This was our first visit to the restaurant. We really liked the layout of the restaurant, especially the seating available facing the open kitchen. We sat at a very nice table facing a window. Service was excellent - professional, attentive, and very knowledgeable of the food and wine. For starters we had Oysters Goodenough and Tuna Carpaccio. Both were excellent. We had the duck breast main course. The duck was prepared perfectly and the presentation was very attractive. The wine selection and service were very good. The wine selection is not extensive but diverse and excellent choices that match the menu.

We will definitely go back to this great neighborhood restaurant many more times.

Tags: Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Interesting menu with well prepared and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Interesting menu with well prepared and seasoned dishes. The mixture of high quality ingredients and unconventional combinations had us trying several dishes.

Service was personal and top notch. Our waiter gave us several excellent recommendations.

Well worth the trip out of the CBD to experience Chef Jason's artistry!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Carrolton Market is a neat place. It is ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Carrolton Market is a neat place. It is fine dining in a very relaxed, but upscale atmosphere. The food is both unique and delicious. The service is excellent and there is a great happy hour. You won't be disappointed!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative twist on classic American and F ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Creative twist on classic American and French fare. Excellent potato crusted black drum fish

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed it very much . Food and atmosphe ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Enjoyed it very much . Food and atmosphere was excellent. I will be returning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Absolutely superb and understated. We en ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Absolutely superb and understated. We enjoyed a delicious, imaginative dinner and were able to converse comfortably without raising our voices. Leave room for dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent. Starters wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The service was excellent. Starters were terrific. Wine very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

I was in New Orleans for three days and ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I was in New Orleans for three days and nights. Much to my surprise, the meal I had at this restaurant was by far the best, and I ate at some classics. Everything I had here was just perfect and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always delicious food w intense flavors. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Always delicious food w intense flavors. The cinnamon rolls at brunch are exceptional and not to be missed Fine service in a nice atmosphere also.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have now eaten here many times, over ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We have now eaten here many times, over a year. Easily one of our favorite restaurants uptown. Cocktails excellent. Fantastic food. Crab salad and pork belly appetizers very good. Stripped bass and a pasta dish were excellent. Lemon icebox pie worth saving room for. Very good service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was delicious from the rolls th ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 30, 2016

The food was delicious from the rolls through everything else. We particularly enjoyed the Oysters Goodenough, the crab salad, and the drumfish (amazing). Our server was just the right type of attentive. We've already recommended this restaurant to friends and definitely look forward to returning next time we are in NOLA.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire experience was outstanding. ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 28, 2016

The entire experience was outstanding. Our group really enjoyed the great food, great service, and nice relaxed ambience. We were all staying downtown and it was nice to get away to a more quite place. This was the first time for all of us and I'm sure everyone would write a similar review. h Thanks for doing such a nice job The hors douvres were quite generous and the portion sizes for the main dishes just right. All this plus the great bread. Well done Carrolton Market!

Tags: Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A delightful experience! Great food and ...

 
 (London)·Dined on September 24, 2016

A delightful experience! Great food and excellent service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food (way better than I expect ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food (way better than I expected), served simply and elegantly, and very good service, but way too loud when I went. Calling the noise level "energetic" is a kind misnomer. Patrons ranged from "carelessly boisterous" to "rudely stentorian," making it difficult to hold a conversation with my date across the table. I am hoping for a more well-behaved crowd the next time I go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Wonderful meal with helpful service. We ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wonderful meal with helpful service. We really enjoyed each course and the server helped with great choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice small restaurant with some good ori ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nice small restaurant with some good original items. The omelet with fried oysters was outstanding. The drinks were also good, including a non-alcoholic blackberry limeade that was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good. We are tree huggers trying ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall good. We are tree huggers trying to save the planet, so we always prefer to see more vegetarian and fish (that doesn't have bacon or tasso) in it on the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The space was really cute, but the servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The space was really cute, but the service wasn't spectacular, and neither was the food-and it was quite expensive as well! The cocktail menu was the best thing they have going for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was good but the quantity was s ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was good but the quantity was small for the price. Even with an appetiser and the main course, I was still hungry. There was a very noisy table next to ours but the restaurant did acknowledge it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

We enjoy coming to Carrolton Market, for ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoy coming to Carrolton Market, for the drinks, food, staff and the casual atmosphere. Menu features creative dishes using local ingredients, service is friendly and efficient.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good and liked he at ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was really good and liked he atmosphere. Staff seemed lethargic and not just friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Salad dressing too salty and tangy, over ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Salad dressing too salty and tangy, overly dressed and soggy. The oyster omelet covered in sauce! Ugg. Nothing light on the menu. Bloody Mary's were Devine!!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Second time in 2 weeks that we've been. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Second time in 2 weeks that we've been. If repeat patronage in a 2 week time frame isn't a sign this place is doing some great things, I don't know what is. Everything was expertly prepared and exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been to CM 3 times this month. N ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to CM 3 times this month. Now a mainstay for us. You can dress up or dress down. The food is always interesting and delicious. Service varies at times. Drinks are excellent. Good wine selection. We would recommend without hesitation.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great brunch. The staff was very friend ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great brunch. The staff was very friendly and food was very good.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We went for the prix fixe COOLinary menu ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for the prix fixe COOLinary menu this month and it was delicious. Great service, too.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was awful!!! The fish was very ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was awful!!! The fish was very strong. They said it was black drum but it didn't taste like it. The pork shank was very gamy. The worst was the dessert! I never thought dessert could be inedible until I had the desserts at Carrollton Market. The lemon tart was way too tart. So tart in fact, no one could eat it. The Panna Cotta was disgusting. All I tasted was the gelatin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Fish was undercooked but they quickly fi ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fish was undercooked but they quickly fixed it and comped a few drink. Overall a very good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the Coolinary menu. Options wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 25, 2016

Enjoyed the Coolinary menu. Options were varied and we may not have tried the restaurant without the August value. We will definitely return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The noise level can get high when the di ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on August 24, 2016

The noise level can get high when the dining room is full.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.