Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Carrollton Market

Located mere steps from the end of St. Charles Avenue and brought to you by Chef Jason Goodenough, Carrollton Market serves some of the finest food and drink available in the great city of New Orleans. Chef Jason scours the local farmers' markets and fish houses in a non-stop quest to find the best ingredients available from the Gulf of Mexico and beyond. Make your reservation today to experience some of the best of the city.

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Wednesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Thursday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Friday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Saturday: 10:00am-2:00pm
5:00pm-10:00pm
Sunday: 10:00am-2:00pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Catering by Carrollton Market is quickly turning in to one of New Orleans' finest boutique catering companies. We can host events at the restaurant for approximately 60 guests and offer a "No Cookie Cutter Menu" approach. By this, we mean that we will create anything our guests desire -- your wish is our command! We can do offsite parties for upwards of 200 people as well.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking surrounding Carrollton Market. Outside the restaurant, on Hampson Street, and around the corner on Dublin Street the parking is metered before 7pm. It is free on Sundays. After 6pm and all day on Sunday, the lot next door to Carrollton Market -- Morelock's -- is available free of charge to our customers.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop (N213) is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (45)
Good for a Date (43)
Fit for Foodies (41)
See All
Creative Cuisine (36)
Great for Brunch (36)
Special Occasion (33)
Good for Anniversaries (31)
Local Ingredients (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (28)
Romantic (25)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Casual (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Authentic (18)
Fun (16)
Open Kitchen (16)
Cozy (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Hot Spot (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Business Meals (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Good for Groups (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Seasonal (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Organic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (1)
Historic (1)
Private Room (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
485 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Good value, excellent food and some of best staff in town.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 4 days ago

Service great, oysters "good enough" were delicious, whole fish was excellent and ambiance very nice not to mention chocolate pot de creme -a lovely finish.
lisa&jon

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined 5 days ago

Incredible oysters!!!!! The cocktails are superb here as are the after dinner drinks - fennel infused vodka. Yummy! Service is attentive & not pretentious. Pasta dish is consistently superb. Scallops prepared perfectly. All tables & bar were filled the Friday evening we were there, so it was very noisy. We're here often so know it's not always like that. Sitting at the bar & enjoying the food prep theater is a treat! This has become one of our favorite restaurants. Parking is good & access easy .

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 6 days ago

Just fantastic. It's so nice knowing that EVERY time I visit Carrollton Market I'll leave feeling content and ready to sing your praises. Thanks for yet another job well done!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Family style dining was fun and delicious.
Thanks again for a wonderful meal! See y'all soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 19, 2017

We love this restaurant and have been there more than a couple of times with amazing experiences.

However, their promotion of "family-style dinner" during the summer on Wednesday nights, was a complete failure.

The idea is great, but on the night we went there the food was so underwhelming and not even a good value.


We will definitely come back on a regular night to experience the chefs skills and talents, but they should stick to that and not risk their well deserved reputation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 15, 2017

This is without a doubt one of the absolute best restaurants in New Orleans - always a pleasure to have a meal there.

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Spectacular food and service from start to finish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was great. I would never have combined fried oysters with leeks and eggs but the chef's signature dish was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

We were disappointed. The noise level was extremely loud and so we were able to communicate very little with the friends we met. Granted, we were there on a Wed family night so there were a few children but we expect it will normally be like this if the restaurant is at least half full because there were no soft surfaces.
The food was a disappointment because we were expecting catfish, which is what we were served, but it was all in the form of a fingerling, kind of like chicken nugget size.
The salad was delicious or we would have to rate our experience even lower on our favorite scale.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 12, 2017

CM is the best! Casual Wednesdays are alot of fun.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Great job
Their oyster appetizer is one of the best
Service great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on July 7, 2017

The food was outstanding. We had oysters goodenough and duck confit for appetizers. Both were savory and delicious - the oysters were beautifully presented. We also had a few cocktails which were good but I wouldn't go there specifically for their cocktails (our cocktails before at restaurant August were better but these were comparable). For entree we had Indian spiced scallops and gnocchi with rabbit. Both dishes were exquisite and creative...who would have thought that scallops with Indian spices or gnocchi with rabbit would tatste so good. The Curry flavors I got from the scallops rivaled those that I had while visiting London and its the best I've found since being back in the states for almost 5 months. My husband I were only disappointed with 3 things: It was a bit loud (normally this would not bother me but it was difficult to have a conversation considering that neither of us speak loudly). The service was slow. Perhaps it was our waiter in particular, but he seemed a little overloaded and did not make an effort to "personalize" or make a memorable impression (other than being a bit slow in service). The last thing is small and perhaps I am being picky because the rest of the food was so phenomenal, but our dessert was not really good. We got the blueberry pound cake. The cake was somewhat dry and the blueberry glaze topping was heavy (almost as if they knew the cake was dry and tried to mask it by adding more glaze). That being said, my husband and I both admitted that our disappointment in the dessert could have been due to how perfect the rest of the meal had been. Overall this was an outstanding restaurant that leaves you craving to go again. Not to mention the trolley ride through the garden district (toward the restaurant) from downtown New Orleans offers beautiful sights that you won't want to miss.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Service is always wonderful as is the food. Always enjoy the oysters goodenough and rolls. Tried the duck this time and it was great! Scallops are always a treat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Absolutely great, the good was perfect , the service was great. We arrived at 1:45, they closed at 2 and made us feel like the most important guest of the day. I could say plenty but not enough. Eat here

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 1, 2017

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary. Appetizers, especially the oysters, were delicious. Fig salad was inventive, and we really love Louisiana figs. But the delicate taste of the figs was overcome by the cheese and honey-vinegar dressing. I had the steak which was delicious--cooked just as ordered. The accompanying fries were over salted. My wife had the whole fish which she loved. But the accompanying vegetables were mediocre-- the broccoli tasted like someone had over seasoned it with some kind of cajun seasoning--way over salted. Blueberry pound cake for dessert was okay. Service was excellent. Very, very attentive staff. A bit pricey--so while we enjoyed our visit, we will not be racing to return, especially given the prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Loved their first family style night. We hope they continue it

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We had such a great time for the Wednesday night Italian family style dinner. We walked in checked in, sat down, and the food started coming! It was such a great experience in a fast paced, beautiful restaurant. We really liked that the kitchen is right there in your face and you can even sit at the bar and watch them cook, it's setup like a demo kitchen. We can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 28, 2017

All around amazing experience - food, wine/cocktails, & service - with each visit. I'm always excited to be a patron at Carrollton Market and recommend it to everyone. Kudos!

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Bar Seating, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Brunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 28, 2017

We were a party of four and the tables are really small and the night we dined it was really noisy. I would defiantly return because the food and service were outstanding!!
Note: be careful of your surrounding when coming and going.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We went to the Carrollton market because we had read good reviews about the restaurant. Although the food was very good ( although I have had much better omelettes elsewhere at a less expensive cost) we do not like to eat in places where everything you order is an extra charge. At this restaurant you get absolutely no bread with your meal and you have to buy side items for seven dollars eaxh. I think seven dollars for grits, potatoes, or a sticky bun is pretty high-priced. The entrées themselves are already in the $14-$16 range so I feel that for that price it should come with bread. The cocktails are rather expensive to, I believe in the range of $10-$14 each. Our coffee was three dollars a cup.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The food on our return here was good. hot oil tuna and crab cakes were very good to start. my wife enjoyed the pork belly and the veal was very good. strange that during the summer they have no salads. Wine and cocktails are also very good. Always excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Had a lovely brunch, they've done a great job of transforming the space, which is elegant but not over-the-top like so many new places. The food was incredible, but dinner seemed pricey, so will wait for another special occasion to go back.

Tags: Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This is the perfect Sunday brunch spot. Lots of different things for you to try. I especially like the Biscuits and Debris.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Chef Jason and his have an awesome menu and the best cocktail program in town. Don't miss the oysters goodenough, hot oil tuna, or pork belly. And save room for desserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've been to Carrollton Market a number of times, have taken out of towners there and have never been disappointed. This time, I was, a little. We went for Father's Day Brunch. I thought the menu was a little sparse in that there were no starters, only entrees and sides. There were also only 3 desserts on the menu. Nevertheless, all 3 of us found something we wanted to eat. We had a child with us. She wanted pancakes and eggs, but wanted corned beef hash, which was a entree item, instead of bacon. The waitress and kitchen were accommodating, except they gave her plain corned beef, not corned beef hash. The Dad that we were taking out ordered the fillet, frites and eggs. He ordered the fillet medium rare. It was rare -- purple inside and not seared properly on the outside. The frites were so salty that you could barely eat them and the sauce on the meat was also too salty. I ordered the French Omelette Goodenough. It came with a green salad and I ordered a side of grits. The grits were so very salty that it made me cough. I couldn't eat them and had to send them back. They brought some more "on the house." These were less salty, but not much. My salad was overdressed and slightly soggy, but the acid in the dressing worked to cut the richness of the omelette. The omelette, by the way, was excellent! Dad wouldn't send back the salty frites or the underdone steak because he didn't want it to look like were were just malcontents. I would have sent them back anyway. It was that bad. It was disappointing that they didn't offer any table bread. No one else had any either, so we didn't ask for any. In sum, I like this restaurant a lot and will go back, but on THIS occasion, whoever was doing the salting needed a big lesson in seasoning. The person on the meat station needed a lesson in meat temperature. Medium rare is not raw. And, some table bread would be a nice touch.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 18, 2017

The restaurant is bright and cheerful - perfect for a brunch or lunch or cozy dinner. The service is outstanding. The meal at Carrollton Market was not one I will soon forget. Every bite was delicious. The omelets were the most perfectly cooked - like heaven! The steak frites was fantastic. The cinnamon roll is worth splitting for a brunch starter. We will be back again and again. Cannot more highly recommend this wonderful place!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We found this place on Instagram via an article that Shaya's owner/chef said it was one of his favorites. That was a huge recommendation, and I thought it's got to be a great place and it was!! Loved the look of the menu and we loved the atmosphere. My husband and I both had brunch items that were outstanding. We will definitely visit again!! Five stars in our book.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

A brunch to remember! Perfect balances of sweet and savory. Absolutely understand why Carrollton Market was rated one of the top 10 brunch venues in the US! The chef was walking around talking to everyone -- loved how he made sure everyone felt at home. And an excellent Bacon Bourbon Old Fashion. Loved every bite (as did our kids!)

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 18, 2017

dont pass up this great food experience! No detail is left unattended.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, People Watching, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Dusty was a great server and the food was excellent! My birthday was special!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

This a wonderful local, neighborhood restaurant and a true hidden gem of New Orleans. The food is outstanding, amazing cocktails and beautiful space. It can get loud, but that's not a complaint. Just an observation. Loved it!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Service was excellent, great wine list, very accommodating

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Awesome food! I loved the duck app! Also had gnocchi and flounder at our table, all were great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 14, 2017

An off-the-radar gem. Talent in the kitchen, bar, wait staff. I highly recommend it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Delicious food, gracious service, wonderful place all around.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Consistently fantastic! From cocktails to goodenough oysters, hot oil tuna, pork belly ...holy cow just that alone is the most delicious food you've tasted in a long time. The main course will be just as good if you have not filled up on starters. Go, enjoy it will absolutely be one of if not the best meal you have in New Orleans.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 31, 2017

We were looking for some place new uptown to celebrate a positive doctor's review of my recent surgery. This small restaurant with a rather generic name exceeded our expectations with it superb cuisine. Don't know how they do it in their tiny kitchen (visible from most tables), but the owners obviously want compete with the best restaurants in our city. Generous pricing for cocktails until 7 p.m. and one of the most impressive lists of wine-by-the-glass add to the reasons to make this a go-to venue.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Oysters were fabulous, as was the service and ambiance.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.