Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Carrollton Market

Just steps from the end of historic St. Charles Avenue in uptown's Riverbend neighborhood is Carrollton Market, a modern Southern restaurant from Chef Jason Goodenough. Focusing on the bounty of ingredients that Louisiana, Mississippi and the Gulf of Mexico have to offer, Carrollton Market serves exceptional progressive New Orleans' cuisine and cocktails in a relaxed and charming setting. Located half a block from the St. Charles trolley line, Carrollton Market is easily accessible from the hotels of the French Quarter, CBD and Warehouse District and makes for a memorable end to a beautiful evening voyage on the street car.

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Catering by Carrollton Market is quickly turning in to one of New Orleans' finest boutique catering companies. We can host events at the restaurant for approximately 60 guests and offer a "No Cookie Cutter Menu" approach. By this, we mean that we will create anything our guests desire -- your wish is our command! We can do offsite parties for upwards of 200 people as well.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking surrounding Carrollton Market. Outside the restaurant, on Hampson Street, and around the corner on Dublin Street the parking is metered before 7pm. It is free on Sundays. After 6pm and all day on Sunday, the lot next door to Carrollton Market -- Morelock's -- is available free of charge to our customers.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop (N213) is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (29)
Good for a Date (21)
Open Kitchen (18)
See All
Creative Cuisine (18)
Local Ingredients (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Romantic (15)
Bar Seating (14)
Good for Birthdays (11)
Special Occasion (11)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Casual (8)
Business Meals (8)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Good for Groups (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Seasonal (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Healthy (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
People Watching (3)
Family Style (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
402 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always a gem

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great experience and great food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Great happy hour. Excellent service and menu. Enjoyed the happy hour. Everything had great flavor.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Oh, the bacon, just try it. We've been several times and enjoy it more each time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Excellent food and service. Great atmosphere and great staff

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Another great experience at Carrollton Market which is now established as a great New Orleans neighborhood restaurant. The menu is always interesting, delicious and varied.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This is one of the best restaurants in New Orleans. Always great food and service. It is really a New Orleans gem!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went to this place for brunch, the food was plentiful so it justified the high price point. I had the Oyster omelet and it's flavor was absolutely perfect everybody in my group liked their food. Our waiter was very kind and the service in general was great. The downside was the check, it is a bit too expensive for brunch, I'd prefer smaller portions and a lower price point.

Tags: Great for Brunch, People Watching, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We enjoyed every bite of food we ordered and the atmosphere was very welcoming. The oyster appetizer beats any we have ever tried!! Also my entree came with a crawfish bread pudding, which was delicious. Very impressed by this place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Carollton Market is a cozy and inviting neighborhood gem!

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The weekend brunch is great for the whole family, maybe on a special occasion. Wonderful food and friendly service. This was a very memorable stop on a day of sightseeing.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We went there for Valentine's Day and the food was great. My wife and I both enjoyed our food. The building may look small from the outside but it can hold a good number of people.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Delicious fresh food creatively prepared and served by cheerful young staffers.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

For the last year this has been one of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Fantastic service and the food was always creative and excellent. The last two visits we have had to send food back that was undercooked, fish and lamb meatballs. I am not sure what is happening. The returned food was excellent. This was not a busy time. We will still go back. Great cocktails as well. Easy parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chef is outstanding. Menu is excellent. Locally grown fresh food. Great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome food and friendly service... The ambiance of the restaurant was amazing. The wait staff was knowledgable about the menu and the wine list. The appetizers , main course, and the dessert was extremely tasty. The restaurant's dining room setting was quaint . It felt as though you were in someone's home.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'd heard nothing but good things. My dinner was over-seasoned and my wife couldn't even eat her tuna. In her words it was "disgusting", which sucks because it was the first date out my wife and I have had in quite some time. The ambiance and service was good, the food wasn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The meal was crazy good! We sat at the open food bar and interacted with the chefs. I've literally told everyone I've seen about that meal. It's the best I've had recently!

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This restaurant is for the meat eater. Even the cauliflower soup and oysters contain bacon. We both ordered the one seafood entree, which was black drum atop beets and excellent carrots. The green salad, which never appears on the menu (why?), was excellent.
Great neighborhood spot with emphasis on meat. I missed Steve, former host, who kept an eye on everything

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was great. Service was attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of the best brunches I've ever had! Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My date and I had 7:45 reservations and were seated immediately when we arrived. We were greeted relatively quickly by our waiter and apps/wine arrived timely. However, we waited approximately 45 minutes for our entrees after apps were cleared. It became apparent the staff and chef were more concerned with the three 4 and 5 tops in our section, as their respective courses, including "complimentary" desserts, arrived timely. Even after our entrees were finished, the table was not cleared for approximately 20 minutes thereafter. Finally, we were asked about dessert, apologized to for the long wait (partly because our waiter saw the look on my date's face), and received the check. Simply stated, when I spend $220 on 2 apps (one was a simple salad), 2 entrees and a bottle of wine, I at least expect decent service! Having worked in the service industry, I understand the importance of larger tables, but I quickly learned the necessary balance of working smaller tables and had hoped a restaurant that holds itself out as a gem in the city would have hired staff that understood this same concept.

My .02 ... visitors, i.e. tourists, will continue dining here while locals, who know where to enjoy delicious meals with impeccable service, will dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time eating at the restaurant and must say the brunch we had was very enjoyable. Creative and fresh offerings and large portion sizes. The Cinnamon roll is a winner light and airy and very delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! We've been several times and have never been disappointed. Wonderful service, food and ambiance! This evening was our first wedding anniversary and Carrollton Market made it even more perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant! The atmosphere was sophisticated while still having the quaint cottage charm. The food was superb. Must have the Oysters Goodenough. The best oyster dish in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very delicious. Can't wait for our next visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Menu was limited, portions were small, but the chef's entire menu was deliciously and meticulously chosen. Service could have been better. Overall a quaint, New Orleans original gourmet restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good service and good, tasty food. Would recommend

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was a solid good but not great. They use smoke flavor in some things and we do not like that flavor. The speciality cocktails were great. Very noisy inside. Pretty interior.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved this place. The food was exceptional, the best we had in New Orleans (and at a better price), and the environment is intimate with views of the kitchen and the street. This place was a home run. One of the better meals I had this year. Deconstructed bahn mi was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Oysters good enough were not hot and the salt bed on which they them got into the oysters. I thought it was very pricey for what we got. I loved the atmosphere but food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Very creative and great service. I love their parker house rolls (reminds me of my grandmother's), great fish, meat dishes. Oyster appetizer is also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Carrollton Market was fantastic. It's a quiet, intimate, and low-key place. Very nice, but not over the top. The waiting staff is friendly. We sat at the bar, and the bartender was trying out new recipes on us all night. It was a lot of fun. The oyster appetizer is outstanding, as is the duck main entree. If I lived in New Orleans, I would go regularly. Can't recommend more highly.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

6 Stars ** The variety of dishes was amazing for such a short menu. Different flavor profiles for many of the dishes but they all worked together. The appetizer menu looked so good we ordered one of each. Favorites: Louisiana Crabmeat and Yellowfin Tuna Carpaccio, Oysters Goodenough (more than Good Enough), Crispy Pork Belly “Banh Mi” (don't ask what is... just order it) - We will be going back soon to work out way through the rest of the menu. FYI - if you get there before 7pm on most days they have a great happy-hour drink special.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Loved our meals, the duck breast was amazing and the Oysters Goodenough is not to be missed! The pork belly was delicious, will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We all enjoyed our dinners at Carrollton Market. Everything was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As always fabulous food flavors and service. And the ROLLS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent brunch service, and the food was amazing. Our server/bartender, Dusty, was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Consistently very good food. Innovative. Great buzz / atmosphere. Staff pleasant & professional. Has become a favorite spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

very nice service at this neighborhood gem!! Delicious cocktails, especially if you arrive prior to 6 PM when they are only six dollars!! Parkerhouse rolls are so delicious! However the appetizers were small for the money. The scallop entrée included only four smallish sized scallops. Everything tasted very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.