Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi
  1. Distance: 0.98mi
  2. Distance: 1.62mi
  3. Distance: 1.63mi
  4. Distance: 1.71mi

About Carrollton Market

Located mere steps from the end of St. Charles Avenue and brought to you by Chef Jason Goodenough, Carrollton Market serves some of the finest food and drink available in the great city of New Orleans. Chef Jason scours the local farmers' markets and fish houses in a non-stop quest to find the best ingredients available from the Gulf of Mexico and beyond. Make your reservation today to experience some of the best of the city.

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Wednesday: 5:00pm-10pm
Thursday: 5:00pm-10pm
Friday: 5:00pm-10pm
Saturday: 10:00am-2pm
5pm-10pm
Sunday: 10am-2pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Catering by Carrollton Market is quickly turning in to one of New Orleans' finest boutique catering companies. We can host events at the restaurant for approximately 60 guests and offer a "No Cookie Cutter Menu" approach. By this, we mean that we will create anything our guests desire -- your wish is our command! We can do offsite parties for upwards of 200 people as well.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking surrounding Carrollton Market. Outside the restaurant, on Hampson Street, and around the corner on Dublin Street the parking is metered before 7pm. It is free on Sundays. After 6pm and all day on Sunday, the lot next door to Carrollton Market -- Morelock's -- is available free of charge to our customers.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop (N213) is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cocktails, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (35)
Neighborhood Gem (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
See All
Open Kitchen (27)
Local Ingredients (25)
Handcrafted Cocktails (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Special Occasion (20)
Great for Brunch (20)
Casual (17)
Romantic (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Cozy (13)
Sunday Lunch (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Fun (13)
Authentic (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Seasonal (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Historic (3)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Spicy (1)
Family Style (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great Beer (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
441 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Great restaurant! Was a little noisy but that was because it was Tulane Graduation evening and there were lots of people celebrating. Food is outstanding and service is top notch. Great to have Matt as our waiter.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food at brunch! We sat at the bar and had fun watching them prepare. Servers were attentive but not overly so. The only thing I was disappointed by was that the pancakes had been taken off them menu. I ended up ordering somewhat overpriced two sides - next time I would just order a main dish because it's a much better value and great presentation.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent meal and great service. Oyster appetizer outstanding. I could have eaten an entire pan of the crawfish bread pudding that was served with the redfish. Companion's duck was fine, but nothing special.

The place is small and we were next to a large table with a screaming toddler for the first 15 minutes . That was the only blemish on a very good experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Exceptional food and excellent service. Bread and butter was delish!! Cauliflower soup was amazing. Crab cake, excellent. Pork belly, very good. Burger (it was the special) is just okay. Cute restaurant. Kinda funny smell in there, but food was so good that I didn't care.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent Mother's Day brunch--the house made corned beef hash and the roast beef debris and corn bread biscuits were tasty, expertly plated and delicious. Paul, our waiter, was pleasant and engaging. Chef Goodenough has a home run!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Excellent, as always! Thanks for helping to make my mom's Mother's Day extra special

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Every dish we had was excellent! Loved watching the chef and his crew in the open kitchen. Dusty, the bartender/our server was outstanding. If we lived locally this would be one of our go-to places for sure!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere! Great service! Went for brunch with friends and will definitely go again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Good service; tasty food; reasonably priced; nice for brunch with friends

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent meal and service, can't wait for my next visit. Our table was ready when we arrived. Our service was outstanding alone with everything we ordered. Great cocktails too!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 7, 2017

In general, the food was not worth the price. The cauliflower soup was exceptional. The pork belly appetizer was so small it was hard to cut in two, much less four. It tasted good I think as it just passed over my tongue. The crab cakes were much larger but, being a New Orleanian, I have had better. The scallops were average at best. The duck dish was tasty. The server was young and I think inexperienced. We didn't have any problems but he was a bit awkward. The ambiance is wonderful.

Tags: Romantic, Open Kitchen, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value1

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Everything was great. Food outrageous, service excellent. Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great appetizer and the duck breast was prepared to perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Brought my parents here during their visit. I had never been. After our experience, I consider Carrollton Market a must for Uptown dining. The hostess was warm and welcoming. The waitstaff must be well trained as timing was impeccable. I can personally recommend the Drum and Smokey Cauliflower soup. Bravo!

Tags: Good for a Date, Casual, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had a memorable experience at Carrollton Market. From ambiance to service and of course the food -- 9t's just outstanding in every sense. Our server was absolutely terrific. He made great suggestions and went out of his way to accommodate our wishes. Every dish was wonderful. I can't say enough good things! It's a gem of a place.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Sitting at the chef's bar and seeing where the magic happens is the way to do it ...the menu selections, over the moon; crab cake like you've never experienced, scared scallops as entree... hubby had the blacken drum w/ a fresh new pepper spin on this classic dish...stellar oysters, again done oh so right...chef Jason takes you on a fresh new journey of flavors...fellow chefs facilitate his mission and our waiters articulated the experience. Being a born and bred NOLA and a lover foodie, truly the best meal we've had to date!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Too loud,slow, and just average for food in NOLA. Not one of their best nights or efforts. Drinks were totally watered down. Mostly tourists dining in for Jazzfest who did not know any better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Our meal was delicious and the service was impeccable. Loved the charm of the restaurant as well. We arrived on time for our reservation and we were seated immediately. Great dining spot for special occasions and everyday!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is always fantastic and the service is outstanding. Having Matthew as our waiter was just wonderful. We'll be back many times more in the future.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Open Kitchen, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

This place is amazing. I love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Craving a new experience, flipping around the reviews and announcements. Found Carrollton Market in an area familiar to us (the Riverbend) Reserved. Warm service, excellent craft drinks. Chose to load heavy in the appetizers and go with one entree. Sweetbread Amondine, OystersGoodenough, and a crab cake all very good to excellent, with me leaning to the sweetbreads and wife to the oysters. The (Whole Roasted Branzino 29 Crispy Potatoes, Broccoli, Harissa, Tomato Confit) was brilliant, arguably the best fish dish I've had in many years. I would have it with joy again today, crispy, sweet, and satisfying (I'm a serious carnivore of the Ron Swanson "fish is practically a vegetable" persuasion, but this was GREAT).

Tags: Happy Hour, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The meal was amazing from the apps to the entrees and Chef Scott did his thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Sunday brunch. Innovative, flavorful and unique. We sat at chef counter and it was great watching everything get created. A fantastic operation.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great small restaurant. Friendly staff and good service. Atmosphere is warm and inviting. Nice wine list. Easter Sunday brunch was delicious. Our first time there but definitely will not be the last.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great spot! Brunch/lunch or dinner, it never disappoints! Also, it's pretty cool to see the chefs as work in the open kitchen.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great brunch spot. Upbeat and delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Outstanding?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner at CM. Our waiter (Matthew, I think-- I'm so bad with names!) could not have been better; he was the perfect mix of attentive, friendly, and knowledgeable without sticking around too long. The cauliflower soup was delicious, as was the whole branzino. The scallops were perfectly cooked, too, but they needed a bit more grapefruit/acid, I think. Regardless, we've already talked about when we can revisit CM... hopefully soon!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This restaurant exceeded our expectations. The food and service were excellent. We are local and had been here before but under the previous name/ownership. My wife has celiac and we were extremely pleased with the number of options that were gluten free, even the fried oyster appetizer which we shared and was delicious. We then had a salad, my wife the crabcake and I the steak. Everything was tasty, properly seasoned and cooked. The wine options were also plentiful. This was just a spur of the moment date night for us and we could not have been more pleased. Our server was fantastic, attentive but also allowed us to take our time dining. These guys do it right and we would strongly recommend this hidden gem. We will be back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Everything was exceptional the staff was painfully slow to recognize that we were seated. I actually commented at one point that I felt we were invisible. Fine except restaurant was at 20% capacity. Waiter eventually warmed up and, combined with awesome mimosas, saved the day.

Highlights were the breakfast burger and cinnamon roll. Both are among the best I've ever had!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Consistently great food and I highly recommend a seat at the foodbar to watch the orchestration of your meal. This Friday evening the place was packed and for good reason. Lent in NOLA meals "seafood" and the current menu certainly delivers many delicious options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 8, 2017

A couple of graduate students at a nearby university took a prospective student to dinner at this restaurant. The food and service were phenomenal, and definitely worth the expense.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Everything from start to finish was beyond amazing! I can't wait to go back. Thank you chef and crew!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Cozy, Fun, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Love the food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I love everything about this restaurant! I've been for brunch and the rum tasting happy hours but last night's dinner was AMAZING. It's so refreshing to see people enjoy the work they do, and to be given the space to be creative/innovative. I've been telling everyone about Carrollton Market...It's one of my new favorite places!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Open Kitchen, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 28, 2017

As always, the oysters goodenough were excellent. Potato gnocchi with rabbit was superior. My wife enjoyed the tuna, and my friend really liked the scallops, although they appeared small in number to me. Chocolate bread pudding for dessert was a nice change of pace. The food here is consistently good and I liked the changing menu.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Atlanta)·Dined on March 25, 2017

An absolute Uptown gem! Carrollton Market dishes out creative decadence with every plate! Sit at the chef's bar for a little entertainment with your meal! Voted #12 best brunch in America - love this place!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always a gem

Tags: Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great experience and great food. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.