About Carrollton Market

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Just steps from the end of historic St. Charles Avenue in uptown's Riverbend neighborhood is Carrollton Market, a modern Southern restaurant from Chef Jason Goodenough. Focusing on the bounty of ingredients that Louisiana, Mississippi and the Gulf of Mexico have to offer, Carrollton Market serves exceptional progressive New Orleans' cuisine and cocktails in a relaxed and charming setting. Located half a block from the St. Charles trolley line, Carrollton Market is easily accessible from the hotels of the French Quarter, CBD and Warehouse District and makes for a memorable end to a beautiful evening voyage on the street car.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking on Hampson St, surrounding Dublin Park, and in the surrounding neighborhood.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

fit for foodies (55)
neighborhood gem (50)
special occasion (46)
See All
great for brunch (30)
romantic (29)
notable wine list (15)
good for groups (10)
great for lunch (8)
hot spot (8)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
291 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was decent - there are better p ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined 7 days ago

The food was decent - there are better places. I like loud energetic places, but this place was too loud. It was a Friday night, and it was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

We took some out-of-town friends to Carr ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We took some out-of-town friends to Carrollton Market for Sunday brunch. The food was outstanding! The most rave reviews were for the Oysters Goodenough omelette. But, everything was delicious. The waiter was great; he was just attentive enough. He was there when we needed him, and he was not overbearing. Our friends loved it. We really like this restaurant; and it is walking distance from our house. One of our favorites!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fish dishes were fabulous.

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Fish dishes were fabulous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We arrived earlier than our scheduled re ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We arrived earlier than our scheduled reservations and to our surprise were seated immediately which was wonderful. The hostess was very friendly and our waiter was outstanding. His understanding of the food he was serving was impressive. We found him to be exceptionally professional and in this age of declining work ethic, very refreshing. Our food was exceptional and the everyone in the restaurant seemed to be very comfortable and enjoying themselves. Loved the décor, it was upscale yet comfortable; a very difficult combination to achieve. Stephen greeted us, prior to our receiving our check to make sure everything met with our expectation, which was a very nice touch. Thank you, we will come back due to our overall experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The good first - the oyster and tomato/c ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The good first - the oyster and tomato/crab salad were both good. The entrees (I had the Redfish with garlic bread pudding) were just OK, and each several of us in the party of 6 had a little too much salt in our preparation. The waiter was new and tried to serve us but said to one of our guests who has a nut allergy that the salad did not contain nuts, although it did. Luckily he did not consume much of the salad with the pesto and just took a precautionary Benadryl but this could have been worse. The waiter took off half a bottle of wine to make up, but I would call the food average by NOLA standards.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

The crabmeat casserole was decadent! ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The crabmeat casserole was decadent!

I'm a regular here and have never submitted a review.

The food is consistently mouthwatering and elegant. The service is always impeccable- warm, accommodating, and smooth. The ambiance is high energy but elegant. The drinks are also a gem- the bartenders are very clever with flavors. Carrolton market is a hidden neighborhood gem. Don't leave New Orleans without trying their Oysters Goodenough.

Will be back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved sitting at the bar watching the fo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Loved sitting at the bar watching the food prep. Quite an operation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been several times now. Excell ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We have been several times now. Excellent crab and oyster starters. Pasta was also very good. It was crowded and there was a delay for the main courses, so the restaurant gave us a salad to share, a nice gesture. I enjoyed the Cobia with Asian flavors. My wife enjoyed the Seabass. Very nice evening even with the very loud diner at the next table.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

I had been wanting to try this restauran ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I had been wanting to try this restaurant for a while. We were not disappointed. Due to the small size, the room is quite noisy but after we got adjusted it wasn't too bad. The oysters were excellent, as were the two fish entrees ordered at our table. I had the pork, which was very good but nothing notable. I thought the portion sizes were fine - not sure what some other diners were complaining about. It's not huge piles of food, but I wouldn't expect that at a fine restaurant. We did not leave hungry.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding meal from appetizer to desse ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Outstanding meal from appetizer to dessert. Recommend that visitors to the French Quarter expand their horizons and take a short cab/uber ride to this incredible uptown restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of the best restaurants in New Orlea ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

One of the best restaurants in New Orleans. Always a pleasure to eat there. Service and food are always top notch.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the service and the food was exc ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Overall the service and the food was excellent! Highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion. I will definitely go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Expensive, non-notable food. Nothing spe ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Expensive, non-notable food. Nothing special, sadly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

Returning customer. Always wonderful, ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Returning customer. Always wonderful, with menu choices that are well prepared, presented and served. Seating overlooking open kitchen with cooks preparing your meal. Service is professional, and staff know the menu & wine list to offer recommendations. Slow night, summer doldrums in New Orleans restaurant scene. Most other times, restaurant has been packed. Reservations highly recommended.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The entrée portions are miniscule. $32 ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The entrée portions are miniscule. $32 for 4 ounces of fish with one-quarter ear of corn and six carrot shavings? $11 for a one ounce cocktail? I was hungry within 15 minutes of leaving. I would only order appetizers at this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

The cocktail program is very strong and ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The cocktail program is very strong and the mussels are insanely good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Carrollton Market never disappoints. I h ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Carrollton Market never disappoints. I have never had a bite I didn't love. Although I miss the Sea & Swine entrée, I love all the newer additions. Our table especially loved the gazpacho; it was hands down the best gazpacho ever with diced watermelon, extra virgin olive oil and blue crab on top. So creamy and smooth! The staff is so kind too. We called to say we were running late, and they still sat us- happily!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything excellent

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Everything excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

May be the best meal I've had in New Orl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

May be the best meal I've had in New Orleans in a long time. Every course was phenomenal. I highly recommend Carrollton market.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were seated immediately, and the serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We were seated immediately, and the service was very prompt. The staff was personable and the restaurant was clean. Our meal was delivered in a timely manner. The only complaint was that the fish was a bit dry. I will definitely try this spot again.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

The overall dining experience was great. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The overall dining experience was great. The food was very good with the exception of the amberjack which was a bit dry and over cooked.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding!!! Everything was delicious ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Outstanding!!! Everything was delicious and fresh. Looking forward to my next visit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great coffee

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We dined at CM for brunch, the menu was very diverse, not just egg dishes. We had the steak frites, but substituted the fries for salad, they are very accommodating. We truly enjoyed the coffee, to the point of asking the brand. Very nice dining experience, our second visit, we'll definitely return.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Energetic Place, great food

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Nice place with a great ambiance and great food. I had the amberjack which was exceptional!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Again

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This was my third visit to CM, but the first time my 4 family members tried it. We all pretty much loved everything. One disappointment was that the cavatelli entree was very aggressively salted (and I often add salt to my food after tasting it). My sister ordered the same thing and I hadn't said anything out loud; she turned to me after a few bites and said, "This is really salty, huh?" so it wasn't just me. I squeezed on a lemon from the dish the server had brought for my dad's water, which helped a lot and also went well with the crab & asparagus in the dish. Another small issue was that the whipped cream on the chocolate pot de creme was too sweet. Even my dad, who has the most insane sweet tooth of anyone I've ever met, agreed. Still, these two seasoning issues were nothing compared to the overall wonderful food and excellent service we experienced. Our server was particularly patient and generous with my dad, who gets more annoying to wait on as he ages. I was very thankful for that.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The oysters goodenough were outstanding! ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The oysters goodenough were outstanding! Amazing flavors! Mussels were delicious too...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good but Overpriced

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Had a meal with my family last weekend there and overall the experience was nice. The service was superb. The quality of the food and portions compared to the price list were lacking though. Overall good but not great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

My favorite restaurant hands down! Dinne ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My favorite restaurant hands down! Dinner and brunch here never disappoint. Perfect spot for a date or a meal with family and friends. It is where my to spot for taking out of town and guests, and they can't stop talking about how wonderful it is!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Unbelievable Experience

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

This was one of the best meals I have ever had in New Orleans! I have lived here 10 years. The service and the food both were outstanding. We had a wonderful server who was very attentive and the food was UNREAL. The Oysters Good Enough, Homemade Pasta Dinner, Amberjack, and Beef Cheaks were wonderful! Our friends loved their meal as well. The wines were delicious - we cannot wait to go back! A true gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, once again

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

We hadn't been to the Carrollton Market in a while and decided to go for dinner last week. Surprisingly, we had no problem getting a reservation at the last minute. It must be the summer doldrums...at least I HOPE that's all it was. We had a very nice time. My dining companion had the crab salad to start. It was delicious. I had the gazpacho. It was very good, but I wish I had told them not to put the watermelon in. I just don't like watermelon. That was my fault, but otherwise, it was very good. It's a creamy, everything pureed kind of gazpacho and the flavors were spot on. We both had red snapper, although different preparations. Both were excellent. Pair that off with a good bottle of rose and those homemade Parker House rolls that are to die for, and we had a really great dinner. A real week-night treat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Just another Wednesday evening meal in NOLA

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

As locals, we loved and frequently patronized the former restaurant in this location. However, even after nearly 2 years since the current owners took over, this was our first visit and certainly not our last. We highly encourage diners to consider the daily happy hour with specialty cocktails being offered at a quite attractive price (the old fashion was awesome). The house hamburger also offered during this time for $8.00 certainly looked like an incredible bargain.

There are many interesting appetizers on the menu and we thought of ordering one of each to sample the range of the kitchen staff. But, the amberjack entree and the steak frites were calling out to us for a splendid, tasty, and most satisfying consumption. The view along with the entire experience from the seats adjacent to the food bar are where the action really takes place. Efficiency and precision in culinary execution were clearly demonstrated. Thanks to all who ensured our recent outstanding dining experience and for again reminding us why we are so fortunate to call NOLA home.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Awesome NOLA meal. Excellent service. Relaxed atmosphere. Would definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Brunch!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Went here for brunch on Mother's Day and had a great experience! The brunch menu is extremely reasonable and the service was great. They even brought my mom a complimentary dessert (which she shared) and little sample drinks for the table. The food was also great -- we did the creole cream cheese-stuffed french toast (basically a dessert for brunch) and the biscuits and debris (a more savory brunch-like dish) and I would recommend both!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pleasant evening at Carrollton Market

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 5, 2016

Our daughter and a friend went with us to Carrollton Market for a nice dinner break between packing and moving out of Tulane dorm for the summer. We had a congenial waiter, nice atmosphere, great food, really good service and delicious cocktails.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Loved this place! The food was scrumptious!!!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The weather was awful with street flooding and no electricity! They did not miss a beat! The service was excellent and attentive, the drinks came right away and the food was absolutely scrumptious! If they can do this during a major storm I can't wait to go back for a typical day and meal! It was outstanding!!!!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent, even during jazz fest, when t ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Excellent, even during jazz fest, when the restaurants are packed. The grilled oysters the best we had in NOLA. We will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good not great

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Best part were the Parker rolls! Food was fine. Not great.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a wonderful experience!

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Always a wonderful experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently good

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We have been here several times now. Always very good. Oysters, crab, and mussels are excellent appetizers. All the fish dishes are great. I enjoyed the Amberjack with good spice. Good cocktails. Wine list could use more California selections.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Everybody should try it. Food was great. ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

Everybody should try it. Food was great. Even the bread was delicious.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.