About Carrollton Market

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Just steps from the end of historic St. Charles Avenue in uptown's Riverbend neighborhood is Carrollton Market, a modern Southern restaurant from Chef Jason Goodenough. Focusing on the bounty of ingredients that Louisiana, Mississippi and the Gulf of Mexico have to offer, Carrollton Market serves exceptional progressive New Orleans' cuisine and cocktails in a relaxed and charming setting. Located half a block from the St. Charles trolley line, Carrollton Market is easily accessible from the hotels of the French Quarter, CBD and Warehouse District and makes for a memorable end to a beautiful evening voyage on the street car.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking on Hampson St, surrounding Dublin Park, and in the surrounding neighborhood.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Great for Brunch (21)
Romantic (19)
Notable Wine List (11)
Hot Spot (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Open Kitchen (8)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Good for Groups (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Cozy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Casual (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Business Meals (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fun (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Seasonal (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Family Style (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
People Watching (1)
Tapas (1)
Great Beer (1)
Historic (1)
Organic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sort By:
Newest
330 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent food (way better than I expect ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Excellent food (way better than I expected), served simply and elegantly, and very good service, but way too loud when I went. Calling the noise level "energetic" is a kind misnomer. Patrons ranged from "carelessly boisterous" to "rudely stentorian," making it difficult to hold a conversation with my date across the table. I am hoping for a more well-behaved crowd the next time I go.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value4

Wonderful meal with helpful service. We ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Wonderful meal with helpful service. We really enjoyed each course and the server helped with great choices

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Nice small restaurant with some good ori ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Nice small restaurant with some good original items. The omelet with fried oysters was outstanding. The drinks were also good, including a non-alcoholic blackberry limeade that was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall good. We are tree huggers trying ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Overall good. We are tree huggers trying to save the planet, so we always prefer to see more vegetarian and fish (that doesn't have bacon or tasso) in it on the menu.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The space was really cute, but the servi ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The space was really cute, but the service wasn't spectacular, and neither was the food-and it was quite expensive as well! The cocktail menu was the best thing they have going for them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was good but the quantity was s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was good but the quantity was small for the price. Even with an appetiser and the main course, I was still hungry. There was a very noisy table next to ours but the restaurant did acknowledge it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5

We enjoy coming to Carrolton Market, for ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We enjoy coming to Carrolton Market, for the drinks, food, staff and the casual atmosphere. Menu features creative dishes using local ingredients, service is friendly and efficient.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was really good and liked he at ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

The food was really good and liked he atmosphere. Staff seemed lethargic and not just friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Salad dressing too salty and tangy, over ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Salad dressing too salty and tangy, overly dressed and soggy. The oyster omelet covered in sauce! Ugg. Nothing light on the menu. Bloody Mary's were Devine!!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

Second time in 2 weeks that we've been. ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Second time in 2 weeks that we've been. If repeat patronage in a 2 week time frame isn't a sign this place is doing some great things, I don't know what is. Everything was expertly prepared and exquisite.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We have been to CM 3 times this month. N ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have been to CM 3 times this month. Now a mainstay for us. You can dress up or dress down. The food is always interesting and delicious. Service varies at times. Drinks are excellent. Good wine selection. We would recommend without hesitation.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We went for the prix fixe COOLinary menu ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We went for the prix fixe COOLinary menu this month and it was delicious. Great service, too.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was awful!!! The fish was very ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The food was awful!!! The fish was very strong. They said it was black drum but it didn't taste like it. The pork shank was very gamy. The worst was the dessert! I never thought dessert could be inedible until I had the desserts at Carrollton Market. The lemon tart was way too tart. So tart in fact, no one could eat it. The Panna Cotta was disgusting. All I tasted was the gelatin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Fish was undercooked but they quickly fi ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Fish was undercooked but they quickly fixed it and comped a few drink. Overall a very good meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Enjoyed the Coolinary menu. Options wer ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Enjoyed the Coolinary menu. Options were varied and we may not have tried the restaurant without the August value. We will definitely return.

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Modern Decor, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The noise level can get high when the di ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The noise level can get high when the dining room is full.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food, service, cocktails, and atmosp ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

The food, service, cocktails, and atmosphere are impeccable. Carrollton Market has moved into our top 10 favorite restaurants in the city. We're locals who dine out frequently, so that statement carries the weight of years of dining experiences in NOLA.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Family Style, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our main course was a bit late so they b ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our main course was a bit late so they brought out some oysters as a comp, outstanding service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! The food is amazin ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this restaurant! The food is amazing every time I go here and service is fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Visited Carrollton Market to take advant ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Visited Carrollton Market to take advantage of the Coolinary menu. Was surprised to find one of the best bartenders in the city. Amazing cocktails! Total experience was great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went on a double date to Carrollton Mark ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went on a double date to Carrollton Market & enjoyed the coolinary menu that was offered. Food & drinks were great. Service was wonderful. Love the atmosphere. Highly recommend for small group or date. I'd definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Everything was nice... The fried short r ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was nice... The fried short rib was awesome! I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Walked in...noticed not a lot of decorat ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Walked in...noticed not a lot of decoration or anything to look at. Drink was absolutely excellent. Service was excellent. The burger's beef was good but the rest of it was excessively casual for the price: cheap bun pressed in butter w diner style toppings.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Good service, good food, okay atmosphere ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Good service, good food, okay atmosphere. No problem finding parking spot on a Sunday morning.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!!

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great food!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The building is really lovely. Service w ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The building is really lovely. Service was great. Steak frites (steak with French fries) was fine but not exceptional. I should have gone with the coolinary menu even though I was just in the mood for steak. Did find the noise level to be very high but would return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. This is the first time my friend & I tried the Carrollton Market. We chose it because of its wonderful Coolinary Menu!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was really good and we feel lik ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food was really good and we feel like we paid an acceptable amount for the well prepared meals, wine and service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We have been several times now. Better ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We have been several times now. Better each time. A real uptown gem with easy parking, great specials, and good service. Dinner rolls (Parker house) remind me of my grandmother's rolls. Excellent cocktail choices. The Coolinary special menu was excellent. Small and can get noisy, but you should go.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Seafood entrees were very good, appetize ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Seafood entrees were very good, appetizer and dessert ok. Good deal on drinks before 7. Ambience is ok, we liked our table for two, other diners seemed a bit uncomfortable, exposed and near the bar. Nice addition to the neighborhood, but prices seem high for the portion size.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Amazing! The Oysters Goodenough are ever ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Amazing! The Oysters Goodenough are everything and the drum was cooked perfectly! Go now, go often. This place is legit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very disappointed. When a restaurant cha ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Very disappointed. When a restaurant charges over $30 for an entree, I assume they consider themselves a serious restaurant. I expect, therefore, serious and professional service. First, we waited way too long for our appetizers. Then our waiter got our order wrong. I asked for a glass of wine when the apps came out. He forgot it. No offer to take it off the bill. Barely an apology. The food looked good but in a city of outstanding options it was merely ok. Special oyster dish had way too Michele bacon, a nice but overwhelming bernaise sauce and tiny fried oysters. Totally out of balance. The crabmeat salad app had nice fresh crabmeat but was just bland. The potato encrusted drum was greasy and under seasoned, over salted. My husbands beef short rib app was also very one dimensional. His pork shank was hot served over cold potato salad. Weird. Panna cotta dessert would have been better with fresh berries and no chewey pecan bits. The texture was all wrong. Bill for 2 with 2 drinks and the Coolinary specials almost $200. Glad we tried it. Won't go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

What a sweet place! Staff top notch from ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

What a sweet place! Staff top notch from hostess to waiters. Food innovative and except for the lamb bolognese being a bit on the salty side I was wowed by the menu. Want to go back and try more dishes.

Definitely on my radar for the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always enjoyable. They easily and cheerf ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always enjoyable. They easily and cheerfully made accommodations for my vegetarian preferences.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We stumbled across this neighborhood gem ...

vip
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We stumbled across this neighborhood gem one night when we stayed down in New Orleans before an early morning flight. We sat on stools overlooking the kitchen and got to watch all the action. I had the stripped bass which was outstanding and my wife had the incredible pasta. The chef/owner was right in the middle of the action ensuring everything was prepared to his high standards. Highly recommend!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The space is light and open, the service ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

The space is light and open, the service friendly and the food was good. We didn't really explore the menu as we both had their version of eggs benedict which was excellent. I'd definitely return to try some of the other brunch items.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Once again a superlative experience. Ex ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Once again a superlative experience.

Excellent service,

Sublime food.

The brunch is to die for.

From the sinfully delicious cinnamon roll to the heathy veggie omelet all the dishes are great.

My favorite is the debris Benedict. Cornbread topped with roast beef "debris" poached egg and hollandaise sauce.

Highly recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I felt we was treated very good by the h ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

I felt we was treated very good by the hostess and the server. Our for came out timely and the quality was excellent. An enjoyable experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful! Food is outstanding and serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Wonderful! Food is outstanding and services is perfect. We had eaten here when the restaurant first opened and were anxious to return during this trip to NOLA. We were not disappointed and will make reservations for our next trip as well. The fish was beautifully prepared and the combination of flavored was creative without being overdone. A very talented chef!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was decent - there are better p ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The food was decent - there are better places. I like loud energetic places, but this place was too loud. It was a Friday night, and it was packed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.