About Carrollton Market

8132 Hampson St
New Orleans, LA 70118
View Larger Map

Just steps from the end of historic St. Charles Avenue in uptown's Riverbend neighborhood is Carrollton Market, a modern Southern restaurant from Chef Jason Goodenough. Focusing on the bounty of ingredients that Louisiana, Mississippi and the Gulf of Mexico have to offer, Carrollton Market serves exceptional progressive New Orleans' cuisine and cocktails in a relaxed and charming setting. Located half a block from the St. Charles trolley line, Carrollton Market is easily accessible from the hotels of the French Quarter, CBD and Warehouse District and makes for a memorable end to a beautiful evening voyage on the street car.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Contemporary Southern, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Brunch: Sunday 11am-2:30pm

Cross Street:
S. Carrollton Ave

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(504) 252-9928

Website:
http://www.carrolltonmarket.com/

Catering:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Parking Details:
There is ample street parking on Hampson St, surrounding Dublin Park, and in the surrounding neighborhood.

Public Transit:
The St. Charles streetcar line Riverbend stop is mere steps from Carrollton Market. Disembark the streetcar and walk one half block up Hampson Street (away from St. Charles). The restaurant will be on your left.

Executive Chef:
Jason Goodenough

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Carrollton Market offers both on-site and off-site catering. On-site we can accomodate events as large as 50-seated guests or 75-standing guests. We can do offsite events of any size and price point.

Carrollton Market Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (26)
Good for a Date (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
See All
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Romantic (14)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Local Ingredients (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Special Occasion (12)
Bar Seating (11)
Worth the Drive (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Business Meals (8)
Fun (8)
Casual (7)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Cozy (7)
Great for Brunch (6)
Authentic (6)
Modern Decor (5)
Seasonal (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Healthy (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Spicy (1)
Great Beer (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
389 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We went there for Valentine's Day and th ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

We went there for Valentine's Day and the food was great. My wife and I both enjoyed our food. The building may look small from the outside but it can hold a good number of people.

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious fresh food creatively prepared ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious fresh food creatively prepared and served by cheerful young staffers.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

For the last year this has been one of o ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

For the last year this has been one of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Fantastic service and the food was always creative and excellent. The last two visits we have had to send food back that was undercooked, fish and lamb meatballs. I am not sure what is happening. The returned food was excellent. This was not a busy time. We will still go back. Great cocktails as well. Easy parking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Chef is outstanding. Menu is excellent. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chef is outstanding. Menu is excellent. Locally grown fresh food. Great value.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, , Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food and friendly service... The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Awesome food and friendly service... The ambiance of the restaurant was amazing. The wait staff was knowledgable about the menu and the wine list. The appetizers , main course, and the dessert was extremely tasty. The restaurant's dining room setting was quaint . It felt as though you were in someone's home.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fun, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I'd heard nothing but good things. My d ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'd heard nothing but good things. My dinner was over-seasoned and my wife couldn't even eat her tuna. In her words it was "disgusting", which sucks because it was the first date out my wife and I have had in quite some time. The ambiance and service was good, the food wasn't.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

The meal was crazy good! We sat at the o ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The meal was crazy good! We sat at the open food bar and interacted with the chefs. I've literally told everyone I've seen about that meal. It's the best I've had recently!

Tags: Good for a Date, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Happy Hour, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Cozy, Open Kitchen, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is for the meat eater. E ...

vip
 (Little Rock)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This restaurant is for the meat eater. Even the cauliflower soup and oysters contain bacon. We both ordered the one seafood entree, which was black drum atop beets and excellent carrots. The green salad, which never appears on the menu (why?), was excellent.

Great neighborhood spot with emphasis on meat. I missed Steve, former host, who kept an eye on everything

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Food was great. Service was attentive

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Food was great. Service was attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

One of the best brunches I've ever had! ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

One of the best brunches I've ever had! Fantastic food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My date and I had 7:45 reservations and ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 15, 2017

My date and I had 7:45 reservations and were seated immediately when we arrived. We were greeted relatively quickly by our waiter and apps/wine arrived timely. However, we waited approximately 45 minutes for our entrees after apps were cleared. It became apparent the staff and chef were more concerned with the three 4 and 5 tops in our section, as their respective courses, including "complimentary" desserts, arrived timely. Even after our entrees were finished, the table was not cleared for approximately 20 minutes thereafter. Finally, we were asked about dessert, apologized to for the long wait (partly because our waiter saw the look on my date's face), and received the check. Simply stated, when I spend $220 on 2 apps (one was a simple salad), 2 entrees and a bottle of wine, I at least expect decent service! Having worked in the service industry, I understand the importance of larger tables, but I quickly learned the necessary balance of working smaller tables and had hoped a restaurant that holds itself out as a gem in the city would have hired staff that understood this same concept.

My .02 ... visitors, i.e. tourists, will continue dining here while locals, who know where to enjoy delicious meals with impeccable service, will dine elsewhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service1
value1

First time eating at the restaurant and ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 14, 2017

First time eating at the restaurant and must say the brunch we had was very enjoyable. Creative and fresh offerings and large portion sizes. The Cinnamon roll is a winner light and airy and very delicious.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely fantastic! We've been several ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Absolutely fantastic! We've been several times and have never been disappointed. Wonderful service, food and ambiance! This evening was our first wedding anniversary and Carrollton Market made it even more perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant! The atmosphere wa ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Beautiful restaurant! The atmosphere was sophisticated while still having the quaint cottage charm. The food was superb. Must have the Oysters Goodenough. The best oyster dish in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very delicious. Can't wait for our next ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Very delicious. Can't wait for our next visit!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Menu was limited, portions were small, b ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Menu was limited, portions were small, but the chef's entire menu was deliciously and meticulously chosen. Service could have been better. Overall a quaint, New Orleans original gourmet restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Very good service and good, tasty food. ...

 
 (London)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very good service and good, tasty food. Would recommend

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

The food was a solid good but not great. ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was a solid good but not great. They use smoke flavor in some things and we do not like that flavor. The speciality cocktails were great. Very noisy inside. Pretty interior.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Loved this place. The food was exception ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Loved this place. The food was exceptional, the best we had in New Orleans (and at a better price), and the environment is intimate with views of the kitchen and the street. This place was a home run. One of the better meals I had this year. Deconstructed bahn mi was incredible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Oysters good enough were not hot and the ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Oysters good enough were not hot and the salt bed on which they them got into the oysters. I thought it was very pricey for what we got. I loved the atmosphere but food was mediocre.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

One of our favorite restaurants in New O ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 29, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants in New Orleans. Very creative and great service. I love their parker house rolls (reminds me of my grandmother's), great fish, meat dishes. Oyster appetizer is also excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Carrollton Market was fantastic. It's a ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Carrollton Market was fantastic. It's a quiet, intimate, and low-key place. Very nice, but not over the top. The waiting staff is friendly. We sat at the bar, and the bartender was trying out new recipes on us all night. It was a lot of fun. The oyster appetizer is outstanding, as is the duck main entree. If I lived in New Orleans, I would go regularly. Can't recommend more highly.

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

6 Stars ****** The variety of dishes was ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 28, 2016

6 Stars ** The variety of dishes was amazing for such a short menu. Different flavor profiles for many of the dishes but they all worked together. The appetizer menu looked so good we ordered one of each. Favorites: Louisiana Crabmeat and Yellowfin Tuna Carpaccio, Oysters Goodenough (more than Good Enough), Crispy Pork Belly “Banh Mi” (don't ask what is... just order it) - We will be going back soon to work out way through the rest of the menu. FYI - if you get there before 7pm on most days they have a great happy-hour drink special.

Tags: Historic, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Molecular Gastronomy, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved our meals, the duck breast was ama ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Loved our meals, the duck breast was amazing and the Oysters Goodenough is not to be missed! The pork belly was delicious, will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all enjoyed our dinners at Carrollton ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 18, 2016

We all enjoyed our dinners at Carrollton Market. Everything was great!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always fabulous food flavors and serv ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As always fabulous food flavors and service. And the ROLLS!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent brunch service, and the food w ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Excellent brunch service, and the food was amazing. Our server/bartender, Dusty, was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Consistently very good food. Innovative ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Consistently very good food. Innovative. Great buzz / atmosphere. Staff pleasant & professional. Has become a favorite spot.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Modern Decor, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

very nice service at this neighborhood g ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 17, 2016

very nice service at this neighborhood gem!! Delicious cocktails, especially if you arrive prior to 6 PM when they are only six dollars!! Parkerhouse rolls are so delicious! However the appetizers were small for the money. The scallop entrée included only four smallish sized scallops. Everything tasted very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a terrific experience at this res ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

We had a terrific experience at this restaurant. The staff was friendly and attentive, our dinners were creative and delicious, and the handmade cocktails sealed it for us -- a new favorite.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorites!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 9, 2016

One of our favorites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was outstanding. We had great s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was outstanding. We had great service. I would definitely recommend a friend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, , Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Tuna and crab carpaccio was superb. Oyst ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Tuna and crab carpaccio was superb. Oysters as well. At a table of 6, three ordered pasta dishes. The agnolotti were inconsistent in texture (some all or partly hard) as though allowed to partially dry and therefore cooked unevenly, nice flavor, but all the pastas were not served hot enough. Table split two desserts: chocolate pots de crime; were rich and smooth; the little warm, filled beignet were a delicious lagniappe.

I had been twice before, brought a tribe this time. Wanted them to like it...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

I've eaten at Carrollton Market several ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 2, 2016

I've eaten at Carrollton Market several times and it's always an exceptional experience. The menu is seasonal and locally sourced, so there are always new dishes to try. Fortunately they keep their staple items on the menu like Oysters Goodenough, which is mouth-wateringly good. Last time I went, I sat at the open-kitchen food bar and got to interact with the chef and watch the food be prepared. The atmosphere is warm and inviting and the service is terrific. If you're looking for an incredible local New Orleans experience, this is your place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Gluten Free Options, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

certainly above average food and a nice ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 26, 2016

certainly above average food and a nice setting. We liked the appetizers moreso than the dinners. Waitstaff was a touch slow and inattentive. Overall, we like the food and would have gone again, but didn't feel that it was appropriately priced. A little too expensive for what it was.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Yummmmm great food.

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Yummmmm great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A fabulous neighborhood restaurant. Exce ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 13, 2016

A fabulous neighborhood restaurant. Excellent service; small, but varied menu with something for everyone. Wonderful wine list and unique cocktails and beer menu. Although a bit noisy as it filled up for the evening, still a cozy, and intimate place. I would highly recommend it. Next time we will eat at the bar and enjoy the action in the open kitchen.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carrollton Market never disappoints! The ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Carrollton Market never disappoints! There is something for everyone and the Oysters Goodenough could make an oyster lover out of anyone. Everyone I have brought here can't stop raving about how wonderful the food is.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very good!

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Always very good!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Food & Service! Go before 7 pm ...

vip
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent Food & Service! Go before 7 pm and enjoy Happy Hour Cocktails and hors d'oeuvre!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.