About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more most contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer regularly scheduled entertainment, but musicians have performed here for special events.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Drew Moffat: 5308230320x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
2 More
Contemporary American
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Notable Wine List (37)
Special Occasion (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
See All
Creative Cuisine (23)
Good for a Date (21)
Romantic (20)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Worth the Drive (18)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Historic (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Cozy (11)
Casual (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Private Room (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Comfort Food (6)
Authentic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Fun (5)
Hot Spot (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Healthy (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Vegan (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Tapas (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
849 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic meal, Ribeye for 2 was absolut ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

Fantastic meal, Ribeye for 2 was absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST in the Sacramento area hands do ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The BEST in the Sacramento area hands down. Our absolute favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Eric Alexander and his crew continu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chef Eric Alexander and his crew continue never disappoint--great food, great service, great atmosphere--what more could you want for a fine dining experience. We are fortunate to have Carpe Vino and their staff to enjoy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always amazing, always above and beyond. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always amazing, always above and beyond. Aida, Paul and the rest of the staff make us feel at home but we don't have to do the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy our meals. The wine select ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always enjoy our meals. The wine selection is great. Never rushed, always a special occasion when we dine there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

OVERALL FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. WE ORDERED T ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 18, 2016

OVERALL FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. WE ORDERED THE ITALIAN PREFIX MEAL WITH THE SUGGESTED IMPORT WINE. THE WINE WAS THE BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT. I'M EXPECTING SOMETHING SPECIAL BUT THEIR ITALIAN SELECTIONS WERE AVERAGE. WINE IN A CARAFE? ? THE BEST COURSE WAS THE SOUP. WHEN YOU SET THE BAR HIGH PLEASE DON'T LET ME DOWN.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nicely crafted small plates. Good local ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Nicely crafted small plates. Good local wines. Great service -- treated us well for special anniversary dinner. Always a pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate at Carpe Vino for a birthday dinn ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We ate at Carpe Vino for a birthday dinner. The evening was great with good service, a comfortable setting, and exellent food. The menu changes often according to season and includes fresh, local foods. I have heard many good things about Carpe Vino, and it met my expectations and more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was our first dinner at the restaur ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first dinner at the restaurant. The food was fantastic and service was impeccable. The staff went out of their way to make our anniversary feel special. It was probably our best dining experience in the greater Sacramento area.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice place for a romantic dinner. The f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice place for a romantic dinner. The food was good and the waiter's wine recommendation very good and reasonably priced. Nevertheless, expect a big bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was excellent and the food was t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was tasty.

But, I would not go back for another dinner as the portion sizes were incredibly small and the dinner was very expensive for small town Auburn. We ordered One glass of wine each (which wasn't even a regular size serving) and no appetizers but ordered 1 salad which was tiny and it was $100. And when I got home I had to eat because I was still hungry.

I ordered the vegan meal which was quinoa and vegetables. The quinoa was less than two cups and I had to hunt in the quinoa for the vegetables.

I don't mind spending $100 for a nice romantic meal, but only when they give you a regular serving size. I felt my dinner was more of a side dish.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

This is a wonderful wine bar and restaur ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a wonderful wine bar and restaurant in Auburn. My favorite when I'm in town. The service is outstanding and the food is excellent!! You won't find a better place in Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always sublime, never a disappointment. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always sublime, never a disappointment. Why do we eat anywhere else?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Paul as our server who was very f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had Paul as our server who was very friendly and helpful as we determined which wines we

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food...especially the duck con ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very good food...especially the duck confit. Kind of a strange wine policy on single glasses. Overall a very nice evening close to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

I always have a great dinner and great e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I always have a great dinner and great evening at Carpe Vino. Their service is so gracious and warm. After a couple of visits they make you feel like friends of family. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diners at Carpe Vino. We lik ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time diners at Carpe Vino. We liked the new menu with a mix of new items and old favorites. The food is sensational. Delicious and great presentation. The service was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the evening and will se coming back

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All aspects of this restaurant are top s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

All aspects of this restaurant are top shelf . Food was incredible, both delicious and creative. Extensive wine list as well. This is the place for special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the BEST restaurant in the entir ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is the BEST restaurant in the entire Greater Sacramento Area. Best chef (Eric Alexander) and superb wine list.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant. We've eaten at Carp ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A great restaurant. We've eaten at Carpe Vino many times, and every time is a delight.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the best restaurant period. best waiter ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

the best restaurant period. best waiter paul period

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was pouring rain. We were seated in ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was pouring rain. We were seated in a separate historical rock storage room, lit with candles, heated, quiet. Service was attentive, fabulous., courteous, friendly staff. Food was outrageously delicious, perfectly cooked to perfection. I would suggest having at least TWO chocolate desserts to pick from. ; ) But really no complaints. We were too stuffed to eat dessert anyway!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in nirthern California

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Best restaurant in nirthern California

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul was fantastic! Friendly, funny very ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Paul was fantastic! Friendly, funny very accommodating and knowledgeable

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the best dinner-everything was de ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had the best dinner-everything was delicious. Tom, our waiter, was superb! Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I have eaten at Carpe Vino f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 8, 2016

My wife and I have eaten at Carpe Vino four or five times. Each time is a special experience with interesting dining and wine choices. Service has always been good. I strongly recommend.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Authentic, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Cozy, Bar Seating, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 6th time visiting Carpe Vin ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 29, 2016

This was our 6th time visiting Carpe Vino. Out of the 6 times, 4 were outstanding and the other 2 were just good. If you enjoy good to great food give them a try. The service was very good and prompt. We will return to try another menu which changes often.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent dinner. Fixed price 4 course m ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Excellent dinner. Fixed price 4 course menu was well thought out. Wines By the glass provided ample choices of red and white. Every course was exceptionally delicious. Main dining room was two thirds full but a little bit noisy.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Have had the pleasure of dining at Carpe ...

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on September 26, 2016

Have had the pleasure of dining at Carpe Vino on many occasions. My wife and I have made it a tradition on our anniversary for many years. We always bring out of town guests and dine at Carpe Vino when my wife and I want to dine at the best restuarant in the area!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and flavors, knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Delicious food and flavors, knowledgeable staff in regards to suggesting wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful anniversary celebration. The t ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful anniversary celebration. The tomato price fixe was so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a delightful dining experience! Pa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Truly a delightful dining experience! Paul was very wine savvy and professional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Seasonal, Cozy, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly place where servers rememb ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very friendly place where servers remember frequent customers, but also give the best service to all. Restaurant also rewards good customers with generous gift cards and more. Excellent, varied wine list. Food these days is not my favorite as I'm a purist, liking simplified, high quality food. Every dish seems to have way too many ingredients that cover up the quality of the food. Also, menu seems all over the place. Feel like chef is trying too hard to incorporate everything and losing focus. However, I still love this place for the service, wine and sense of community. Hoping they will find their way again or maybe it's just me wanting a simpler, lighter, less confusing menu. Will still come for the great wine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Our group had the Tomato Prix-Fixe as we ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our group had the Tomato Prix-Fixe as well as several a la carte side items i.e. macaroni gratin w/ carmelized onions, charred okra, blistered shishito peppers, and st. louis spareribs. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Tyler was our server. He was knowledgeable and professional, and recommended outstanding wines to accompany our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an heirloom tomato salad which was ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 19, 2016

I had an heirloom tomato salad which was incredible. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his pate, but found the steak in his entree on the tough side. All in all the flavors were delicious, the menu creative, however we felt the menu overpriced for what you got, and the service slow. We would try it a second time as former restaurant owners we always give a place a second shot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice historic area. Restaurant a lot sm ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice historic area. Restaurant a lot smaller that I expected. Reviews said was typically a lot of noise but was very quiet when we were there 5pm Saturday night. Restaurant decor was better than average but could be improved. Wine boxes all around look cheap. The brick areas look good but other areas just okay. Bathroom tiny and plain but clean...if that really matters ...but most upscale restaurants have nicer bathrooms. The food was better than average and very gourmet. I've had better but it was better than average. I had the smoked pastrami and my wife had the salmon. We also had the hummus, eggplant, cucumber dip appetizer, squash with some indispices, and peach pastry ice cream desert...whatever it was called. The pastrami was good...nothing amazing but good...but just pretty plain smoked pastrami...probably as expected. The salmon had buttery flavor and melted in mouth...neither my wife or I loved it but it was well prepared. With that said I don't care much for salmon...but wife wanted it. The dip and squash were pretty tasty. Desert was very good also. Oh...we had gazpacho soup too...which was amazing. It was our anniversary date...and was very fun. My wife really liked the place. I liked that it was quiet, upscale, and romantic. Worth the price? Maybe a little over priced...but good for anniversary...and to keep a high maintenance woman happy...lol. We would probably go back again.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our First visit, Truly impressive on man ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our First visit, Truly impressive on many levels.. The food was wonderful .. to say the least.. The Wine List is Amazing.. Our Server..Knowledgeable and Professional ... All assets to the Incredible dinning experience.. Our Complements to the Chef.. We look forward to Our next Visit..

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb flavors. Our server was new, and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Superb flavors. Our server was new, and he tried to be very accommodating; we appreciated his pulling in of staff to clarify/get help. The pork belly and gluten-free adjustments were amazing. Thanks for making our visit memorable :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. We had Waygu ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. We had Waygu beef and duck breast for our main course with two bottles Cabernet Sauvignon (Gandona and Morlet). The food was delicious and the wine was really good. And the service was awesome!!!! Carpe Vino has cozy/unique/nice arrangement and has historical structure. We enjoyed having dinner here. We would definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant in Auburn, Grass Valley ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Best restaurant in Auburn, Grass Valley or Nevada City

Carpe Vino is everything one would expect of the best restaurant in the area. We were there on a Wednesday night so it was quiet. I believe on weekends it is not so. We had the heirloom tomato and burrata appetizer, then split a Caesar salad while one of us had the rabbit pappardelle and the other had the fried chicken. Everything was delicious as usual.On previous occasions we have had the hummus appetizer along with other entrees. We've never been disappointed. The service is friendly, not overbearing. The wine list is lovely. If you find yourself in Old Town Auburn you really cannot do better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.