Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more must contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320 ext. 102

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer musical entertainment.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

https://www.carpevinoauburn.com/contact-us/old-town-parking-map/

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (530) 823-0320 ext. 112

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (28)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Special Occasion (27)
Worth the Drive (23)
Romantic (22)
Local Ingredients (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Cozy (19)
Bar Seating (18)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Authentic (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Seasonal (10)
Historic (9)
Happy Hour (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (6)
Healthy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Organic (3)
People Watching (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Casual (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Sports (1)
Business Meals (1)
Family Style (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
978 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent service and exceptional food! Always delicious!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 18, 2017

CV is hands down the best restaurant in our region. If you like huge gobs of cheap, crappy food, don't eat there. If you like incredibly savory foods and magically paired wines along with a cozy ambiance, this is the perfect place for you.. I'm also very impressed with the consistency, never a bad meal and the same dish eaten at a much later date is still excellent.

My only nit-picks are that the parking can be hard to find since it's a busy part of Old Town Auburn and I wish they were open on Sundays...Parking lots are available, but you'll need to walk 1/2 to 1.5 blocks, which isn't too bad.

Enjoy this incredible restaurant located in the heart of the Gold Country of the Sierras.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Carpe Vino is a very special restaurant great for special occasions. We celebrated our anniversary. The wine list is very good and not overpriced, food was excellent and creative, and the staff very friendly and attentive. We would definitely recommend it and look forward to returning someday, hopefully soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very disappointed. My wife's halibut was no bigger then a silver dollar and cost $30. Not sure how our waitress served this with a straight face. My pasta came cold and after getting it reheated was basically tasteless. Possibly just a bad night but we don't plan to return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Amazing experience! The food was outstanding and the so was the wine list. Service was great as well, we will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We waited over 15 minutes after the hostess seated us and said Paul will be with you in a minute. Just as we were beginning to think we had fallen through a crack, a red faced Paul came to our table apologizing for the delay. There had been a miscommunication Shortly thereafter the hostess came back to apologize as well. After that we we treated with the usual Carpe Vino care and had over the top appetizers excellent Halibut and desserts to write home about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Incredible food, attentive staff, and wonderful ambience. One of my favorite spots!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 25, 2017

We've been coming here for years, and it never fails to please. A GREAT little place.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 22, 2017

We didn't know that every once in awhile the restaurant which is generally closed on Sunday's does a special themed menu. Lucky for us, we happened to be there for "may in Memphis". Great food as always.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 22, 2017

Always great service, amazing food and great wine or beer. This place is terrific for any occasion but especially great when they have special events. Join their wine club and get extra deals.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Heard a lot about this restaurant and the service was very good. The quality and creativity in their food was nice as well. I do not know if they were busy, but our soup steak, and asparagus was lukewarm at best. They took our meat back and said they cooked it more, but it was about the same when we got it back. For what we we paid, the food should have been hot...wine prices are very reasonable with good choices....🍷

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food was phenomenal, the service was great. Our kind and helpful waiter made food and wine pairing suggestions that were spot on.

We started with the shaved snow pea salad paired with a Hayfork Grenache that had a light fruity nose and a nice dry finish...just the right lightness on both food & drink to start with.

For the entrees, my wife had the braised veal breast and I went big with the 24 oz. angus cote de boeuf paired with the full-bodied Daou Cab. The veal breast was the thickest and most exquisite veal my wife has ever had...of course I tried a bite and let out a foodie moan of joy. My cote de boeuf (rib-in rib-eye) angus rib-eye was thick and perfectly cooked all the way to the bone (medium rare of course)...it was tender, tasty, and had a beautiful slightly gamy taste with the bone marrow butter...I was sure I had died and gone to foodie heaven. Both entrees were exquisite in presentation, taste, and food quality.

We finished with a a small piece of warm chocolate-Buckwheat torte paired with a tokaji aszú 6 puttonyos 2013 “gold label” wine which had the most beautiful fruity nose and a great rich passion-fruit taste to it...perfect compliment to the chocolate and with a great aftertaste.

We will be coming back for sure.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

The food, wine selection, service and general ambience have made Carpe Vino one of our favorite restaurants. It is always consistent and enjoyable...the best in this area.

Neil W

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Food is always interesting and top-notch, particularly the pork chop, burger, salads, housemade pasta. Took friends who live in Sonoma wine country and they loved it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Chef Eric Alexander is a gastronomic genius. My pulse rises every time I read the menu. I have never left Carpe Vino disappointed. My latest obsession.....the smoked pork cheeks with grits, or is it the salmon mi cuit?!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Historic, Gluten Free Options, Organic, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We Love this restaurant, its our favorite in Auburn! We have delicious wine, and always buy more to bring home!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Second the menhere with my wife. She loves this place for dad night because of the gr at work be selection. I love it for the always great food. Menu is always changing. Great for foodies too

Tags: Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Had an outstanding meal. All four of us enjoyed our starters and entrees. Very creative food.

Tags: Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Another excellent dinner at our favorite fine restaurant in Auburn. Sometimes the noise level can be intrusive from the combination of 100+ year old architecture and inconsiderate guests. But our Tuesday evening meal was pleasantly peaceful. Service was very attentive. The food was perfectly prepared and in interesting and delicious combinations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Always very pleased with the meal, service and ambiance. Great wines at fair prices and knowledgeable wait staff to offer suggestions. A real gem.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Everything was Excellent! My husband cannot have a lot of salt and they were able to make our meal with very little! They do an outstanding job of accommodating their guests. We will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Never fails to disappoint. Seasonal menu that is constantly changing. It ranks among the best restaurants I've experienced.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Once Again, Carpe Vino was AWESOME!!
I would not hesitate to return again and again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 23, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in the greater Sacramento region. We come here every year to celebrate our anniversary and Carpe Vino never disappoints!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

As always, everything at Carpe Vino is measured in levels of perfection. The setting is upscale bistro; sparkling, charming, inviting. The service is unmatched anywhere; precise, gracious, fluid, the epitome of professional. And every bite of the food surpasses the last. We were here for our first Burger Night, a new mid week folly for this Michelin worthy gem. Toasted brioche buns, house fondue cheese, pasture raised local beef, cooked to perfection. Gourmet and gorgeous. And Ahhh, the garnish; curry pickled cauliflower and a slice of a crispy, pucker producing dill. Chef Eric Alexander's magic is evident in every menu, every meal. The wine suggestion, yes, the wine suggestion, was full, light, with perfect tannins making it very well suited to the delicious burger. Dessert was an olive oil, semolina cake and has remained deliciously memorable. Carpe Vino is dream come true.
.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant I've found in the Sierra Foothills. The food and service were excellent and the wine list offered a wide variety of excellent imported and domestic wines. Our waiter was very helpful in suggesting appropriate wines to go with our food selections. I will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have dined at Carpe Vino many times and Chef Eric Anderson never fails to surprise and delight with his creative and flavorful dishes. Paul provided excellent service. It is the best!

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Can't be beat! Kendall was our server for the first time. Lucky us. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The best restaurant and wine bar in Auburn. Love this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wait Staff too interested in unselling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My boyfriend is a chef so it is very hard to take him out to dinner for his birthday. The experience here is top notch the food is amazing I would recommend this eating experience to anyone who appreciates food. AAAAA+

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went to celebrate my husbands birthday. Everything was outstanding. We love Carpe Vino and are also wine club members, this place is a hidden gem in Auburn that is our go to place for date night or special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It's great for the all around experience. Great food, service, ambiance, and vibe. We'll be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Beautiful setting delicious food excellent wine choices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

CV is consistently excellent-never disappointed. Love to celebrate anniversary & birthday at table 10 with Paul as server

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service. My very favorite
place to eat and meet friends or for a date.
The wine choices are always wonderful.
I would give it a ten star.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Carpe Vino is a first class dining experience, from the quality and flavor of the food to the service and ambiance. This was our third time dining at Carpe Vino, and each time it has been consistently great. Ask to see the full wine list on a Kindle.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We've been there quite a few times, and never been disappointed. The food is creative, but not gimmicky. Service is great, too. And about a zillion wines, very fairly priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was great! Service was excellent, food was top notch. In the reservation I mentioned it was my birthday and there was a birthday card on the table from the restaurant staff which was a nice and unexpected gesture. 5/5 and will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.