About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more most contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer regularly scheduled entertainment, but musicians have performed here for special events.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Drew Moffat: 5308230320x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
4 More
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

notable wine list (74)
fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (69)
See All
neighborhood gem (46)
romantic (44)
vibrant bar scene (13)
hot spot (9)
good for groups (5)
scenic view (5)
great for lunch (2)
late-night find (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
794 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Consistently the best food in Auburn. Ev ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently the best food in Auburn. Everything is expertly prepared, very similar to the quality you'd find in Napa.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special accommodation for my food allerg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Special accommodation for my food allergy was exceptional and truly appreciated. The tasting of a Sauternes substitute was very gracious and also wonderful. Ended up buying it. Love you!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another consistent and wonderful meal th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Another consistent and wonderful meal that did not disappoint. Service was excellent and made the experience that much better.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best nights ever. Celebrated ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best nights ever. Celebrated a friend's 65 birthday. We had the cave to ourselves (and a driver, thankfully). Great food, service and ambiance. I was also really impressed that they had my wine club bottles ready to go before I even asked.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is reflective of the season; creati ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is reflective of the season; creative dishes prepared with "love!" Service is outstanding. Wines choices are plentiful & server very helpful with suggestions. Great prices on wine. Love the ambiance of the restaurant & being surrounded by wine bottles. Highly recommend. Small space, intimate dining, make a reservation.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food outstanding, a real foo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service and food outstanding, a real foothill gem. I would come back without hesitation.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dining in Auburn!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful dining in Auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 50th wedding ann ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary at our favorite restaurant. We have been there five or six times and always been delighted with the food, service and ambience. This was the first time we have dined off the price fixe menu. For an appetizer we ordered the pupusas, which were recommended by our waiter, Paul. They were extremely dry and had no accompanying sauce to assuage that. Mine were so dry that I couldn't finish them because they were difficult to swallow. We followed with the sea bass, which was delicious, and desserts, which were outstanding. My husband and I were extremely surprised by our pupusa experience and we did mention it to Paul, who apologized. We had no other feedback so we have to assume our comment reached the chef, although we have no way of knowing. I expect we will come again, although I'm not sure I will come when the price fix is served. I'm wondering if the handling of the dishes might have something to do with the dryness. A disappointment on our big anniversary...

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent in every way. Each dish was de ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent in every way. Each dish was delicious and all four of us loved them. The chocolate dessert was worth every cent!

This was the last Prix Fixe week. We'll miss them.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Great menu!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful experience! Great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chef Alexander never disappoints. This ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Chef Alexander never disappoints. This was an amazing 4 course meal that will be remembered a long time. My husband and I chose different menu items and shared. Everything was superbly prepared and presented. If you are a 'foodie' and enjoy wine, this is a place you need to try.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good meal overall. For some re ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was a good meal overall. For some reason we were given a different waiter, and while he was good, frankly it was not the same. And I was disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The desserts, the cakes in particular, d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The desserts, the cakes in particular, do not match the excellent standard of the rest of the menu. We dine here regularly and I often leave wishing the (four course, prix fixe) meal had started with dessert so that I wouldn't leave the restaurant fresh off the disappointment of the last course. Maybe I should develop a taste for port and cigars.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Loved the amazing food and wine! The ser ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Loved the amazing food and wine! The service is also phenomenal! Will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and wine are outstanding at Car ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and wine are outstanding at Carpe Vino. The staff is very knowledgeable, too (if you want the best - ask for Paul!). Be forewarned - the prices are steep, particularly for Auburn. But I go back again and again, especially when I'm entertaining guests from out of town.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This is my favorite restaurant and wine ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

This is my favorite restaurant and wine bar in Auburn. The service is fantastic. I love how friendly the staff is and so warm and welcoming. The food is amazing, so decadent every bite. The wine variety is decent and the staff is highly knowledgable. Highly recommended!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is imaginative and present ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The food here is imaginative and presented with artistry. Sitting amongst racks of wine with windows to Auburn's Old Town makes for an unusual and romantic feeling. Definitely a place I'll go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My husband and I love this place. It's ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

My husband and I love this place. It's our new favorite date spot. Food is amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Chef Alexander is creative and talented. We go here often and are never disappointed. The staff are outstanding and all I all it is a very friendly place.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Yes, improving "perfect"!

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

Chef Eric is a wizard. His imagination in combination with his skill and his devotion to culinary art is pure alchemy. Ingredients into ecstasy. We were once again delighted with the excellence of the prix fixe dinner titled to honor the French Fleur-de-Lis .

Requesting a dry rose we were offered a lovely example of our summer favorite at an equally lovely and affordable price point.

First: The scallop tartar was silken, expertly combining diverse flavors into a single marvelous taste experience. The exotic yet subtle combination was listed as shaved fois gras, pineapple, and Vadouvan(curry). All was floated atop a perfect celery bouillon. It was heavenly.

Second: The asparagus mimosa (salad) was tender crisp and ever-so-lightly dressed with a tangy balsamic vinaigrette. My husband chose the leek and potato potage which was elevated to the sublime when topped with a frothy "lobster emulsion".

Entrée: The exterior of the generous, center cut, salmon filet was lightly crisped, while the interior was the creamy perfection of culinary expertise. The rosy and brown piece was atop an amazing substrate of crisp, fresh English peas, finely diced, mild Parisian ham and miniature lightly herbed spaetzle dressed in a light béchamel. My gentleman chose to explore the ever challenging roasted duck breast, which was triumphantly and superbly accomplished, accompanied with tart, fresh Bing cherries. I quote, "THE best duck I have ever eaten"

Grand Finale: Unable to choose, our final indulgence of the evening was the selection of both offered desserts: A dense and superbly decadent chocolate Chambord torte with piquant Olallieberry, and creme fraiche, AND a delicately light, white cheese Bavarian cream finished with fresh strawberries.

Paul our waiter, was, as always, the manifestation of the superb.

The fine dining experience at Carpe Vino cannot be surpassed. And right here in Auburn. Bravo

And again, as always, Thank You.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are always pleased with the food and service.

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Excellent restaurant -- one of the best in the California gold country.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The BEST!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Carpe Vino is our go-to venue for special occasions! The 4-course French pre-fixe dinner was fabulous, as was the service. Really amazing food!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful as usual. One comment: we wer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Wonderful as usual.

One comment: we were celebrating our anniversary and noone asked us if we were celebrating an occasion, in spite of the fact we had a $140 bottle of wine with us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Not as good...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

This was my sixth time eating at Carpe Vino and found my server David, to be full of himself with bluster of his past work experiences which did nothing for his lack of attention in refilling our water, checking back when our wineglasses were empty. Twice I literally had to locate him to ask for the wine list and for two more glasses of wine.

This type of service is not the usual and I have been served very well in the past

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Chef Eric, Aida at the front of the hous ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Chef Eric, Aida at the front of the house and Paul, the head waiter, all do a tremendous job. Carpe Vino is a hidden gem and treasure for all of us. The best restaurant around outside of Napa. We have eaten there hundreds of times and everyone has been wonderful! Cheers!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful Food

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Staff are very attentive and informed, willing to do anything to ensure you have a great experience. Food selection is somewhat limited but always contains something new and exotic. Appetizers are especially delicious, enough for two to split. Soup or salad is a must. Entrees are always interesting and presentation of all courses is sublime. You have to enjoy it with your eyes before you take a bite. We were celebrating a birthday and the celebrant's dessert arrived with a special chocolate inscription. Very cool. Definitely worth the price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rustic but sheik decor and ambiance. Qui ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Rustic but sheik decor and ambiance. Quiet which was nice. Ther food was excellent! We had the Beeler's pork dish, duck plate, with clams in almond milk and salami. Perfectly prepared and loved the sauces. We'll be back with the family!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fab food in the foothills

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We love to dine at Carpe Vino - often doing this on our way home from San Francisco to Nevada City. The food is creatively prepared and presented - local, fresh ingredients and unique touches; the wine list is extensive and excellent and servers are knowledgeable and helpful with selections; and the restaurant itself is on the smaller, more intimate side. We always enjoy the food and have a wonderful evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food experience great. Our Foursome en ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

Food experience great. Our Foursome enjoyed our dining in Auburn.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Amazing Prix Fixe

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

I always take advantage of the Prix Fixe menus - and this last one was probably the best ever. Every item was perfection. The Foie Gras and Pierogi appetizers were both delicious. The pea shoot salad amazing. And the pork cheek curry was beyond description. Plus it's always nice to have such a wide variety of wine at affordable prices. Add to that impeccable and attentive service!

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Refined dining

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Probably top of the list for refined dining in Auburn, generally one needs to go to Sacramento for finer restaurants so this was a pleasant find. Would recommend and return in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

fabulous meal, as always. Great wine lis ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

fabulous meal, as always. Great wine list. Their monthly special meals are always interesting and creative.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great meal. All in all a wonderful evening

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

This was a prix fixe menu night. $60 for four courses. Wine, tax and tip not included. There were at least two selections per course and each selection offered something unique. We chose to take different dishes and shared. There was a shaved snow pea salad with bacon that was outstanding. The pork cheeks was also very good. Service was professional, knowledgeable and generally attentive. Felt we were a little forgotten when the desert course came. Highly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Carpe Vino never disappoints!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food and service at Carpe Vino is always outstanding. The chef is very creative, while always delivering dishes that are memorable and special. Can't recommend more highly!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

And the tale continues...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

The reason behind this dinner was to celebrate the 10th Anniversary of Carpe Vino. The road to get to this point has been an epic journey. Chef Alexander and company once again did not disappoint. The theme was Past, Present and Future. Dishes we hadn't seen for a while, dishes that were current and some for future menus. For me, the stunning winners were the Bing Cherry Foie Gras and the Pork Cheeks. Pair that with the service and you have a little slice of "Culinary Heaven". Thanks again Carpe Vino for the past 10 years...and I'm looking forward to the next ten...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was one of the nicest surprises I'v ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

This was one of the nicest surprises I've had in years! I was in Grass Valley for a benefit recital and wanted a decent meal before driving back to the Bay Area. I picked Carpe Vino at random, and I was treated to some of the best porchetta I have ever enjoyed--not to mention some knockout Pinot Noir from Patz & Hall. This little spot in the historic center of Auburn is worth a journey!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantsstic

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 21, 2016

We love coming here for special occasions and for superb food .. The halibut was incredible and the chicken was amazing! Love the wait staff and the wine list is unique..truly a foothill gem!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carpe Diem is a must !

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 18, 2016

Took my husband and family here to celebrate his birthday and had a wonderful experience. The food was outstanding, on par with foodie restaurants in Sacramento and San Francisco. This place is not to be missed!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very consistent

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Food and service was great. Portion on one of the meals was much smaller than a similar meal for another friend. Other than that, everything was great.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently Perfect

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Just as they are every visit the service, food and wine were spot on perfect. Their halibut is hands down the best I have ever tasted, and that includes restaurants in San Diego, San Francisco, and Portland. The staff recommendations on wine are fantastic, and they usually go for a bottle that is a huge bargain.

It's a little bit of a drive from Sacramento but you won't be sorry.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.