About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more must contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320 ext. 102

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer musical entertainment.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

https://www.carpevinoauburn.com/contact-us/old-town-parking-map/

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (530) 823-0320 ext. 112

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (30)
Special Occasion (27)
Fit for Foodies (26)
See All
Creative Cuisine (22)
Good for a Date (22)
Good for Anniversaries (21)
Local Ingredients (19)
Romantic (17)
Historic (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Cozy (15)
Neighborhood Gem (13)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Private Room (8)
Seasonal (7)
Casual (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Authentic (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
901 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food, as always, was phenomenal. Im ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 5 days ago

The food, as always, was phenomenal. Impressed with uptick in professionalism of waitstaff. Great night!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, , Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent, food was OK, terr ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 5 days ago

Service was excellent, food was OK, terribly overprices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

Food excellent. Had to ask for bread and ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food excellent. Had to ask for bread and water. Our girl did not ask if we needed anything. Bill accounting a little confusing. Great food beautiful presentation. A little pricey. Enjoyed the experience. Will come again.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Over-all we had a great time, the food w ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Over-all we had a great time, the food was delicious, but priced the highest I have seen in all of Auburn.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

The soups are delicious. Very worth gett ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The soups are delicious. Very worth getting! Great ambiance and friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistency is the hallmark by which a c ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Consistency is the hallmark by which a company should be rated. Carpe Vino once again gets the highest marks possible. The food, staff and ambiance are all impeccable. This remains on the top of our "Must" list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxed dining experience. The ser ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very relaxed dining experience. The service is impeccable and the food was just wonderful. We have been here several times and are never disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The branzino (European sea bass) for two ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The branzino (European sea bass) for two was excellent, as was the mushroom soup. As always great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A delightful special dinner as always in ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A delightful special dinner as always in an historic setting. A perfect dining and fine wine/ale experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful creative food, the very best i ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful creative food, the very best in the area. We have never been disappointed in Carpe Vino and we eat at the restaurant as often as possible. The atmosphere is sophisticated and lively. The wine choice is always a surprise with many different wines to sample from.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Another wonderful evening at Carpe Vino. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Another wonderful evening at Carpe Vino...!!

Paul, our waiter was superb, as always.

This establishment never fails...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Carpe Vino is a wine bar/restaurant. We ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Carpe Vino is a wine bar/restaurant. We asked for a wine that was featured in their online wine list. Found out it's not available. We ordered another bottle of a medium priced Ca. wine; it was unavailable. Food portions were stingy and the restaurant dining room was freezing cold. And this is the best restaurant in town!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Overall we had a good time. Our appetize ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Overall we had a good time. Our appetizers were great. The puree of mushroom soup was delicious as were the lamb meatballs. Our dessert of the stout chocolate cake was really good too. Our entrees weren't great unfortunately. My wife's scallops seamed underdone and she couldn't really eat them. And my braised beef cheek, though super tender, was very mild in flavor. No wow factor like our appetizers. And being a pretty pricey restaurant, you kind of expect the wow factor. That all said, we still had a good time and the service was just great.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was excellent as always. The on ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food was excellent as always.

The only minor flaw was this: we shared an entree and we were served the entire entree

on one plate. The majority of restaurants we dine at will split our meal for us.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The total experience from being greeted ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 8, 2016

The total experience from being greeted to telling us the ingredients of each item and the presentation was fantastic. The wine selection and our waiter helping us pick the perfect bottle was very helpful. Desert was the best we've ever had, truly a culinary experience not to be missed. We are planning our next visit very soon.

Thank you

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although everything was excellent, the p ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Although everything was excellent, the portions are small.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal, Ribeye for 2 was absolut ...

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Fantastic meal, Ribeye for 2 was absolutely outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The BEST in the Sacramento area hands do ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

The BEST in the Sacramento area hands down. Our absolute favorite!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chef Eric Alexander and his crew continu ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Chef Eric Alexander and his crew continue never disappoint--great food, great service, great atmosphere--what more could you want for a fine dining experience. We are fortunate to have Carpe Vino and their staff to enjoy!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, , Tasting Menu, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Always amazing, always above and beyond. ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Always amazing, always above and beyond. Aida, Paul and the rest of the staff make us feel at home but we don't have to do the dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always enjoy our meals. The wine select ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Always enjoy our meals. The wine selection is great. Never rushed, always a special occasion when we dine there.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

OVERALL FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. WE ORDERED T ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 18, 2016

OVERALL FOOD WAS VERY GOOD. WE ORDERED THE ITALIAN PREFIX MEAL WITH THE SUGGESTED IMPORT WINE. THE WINE WAS THE BIGGEST DISAPPOINTMENT. I'M EXPECTING SOMETHING SPECIAL BUT THEIR ITALIAN SELECTIONS WERE AVERAGE. WINE IN A CARAFE? ? THE BEST COURSE WAS THE SOUP. WHEN YOU SET THE BAR HIGH PLEASE DON'T LET ME DOWN.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Nicely crafted small plates. Good local ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Nicely crafted small plates. Good local wines. Great service -- treated us well for special anniversary dinner. Always a pleasant experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We ate at Carpe Vino for a birthday dinn ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We ate at Carpe Vino for a birthday dinner. The evening was great with good service, a comfortable setting, and exellent food. The menu changes often according to season and includes fresh, local foods. I have heard many good things about Carpe Vino, and it met my expectations and more.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place for a romantic dinner. The f ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice place for a romantic dinner. The food was good and the waiter's wine recommendation very good and reasonably priced. Nevertheless, expect a big bill.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

This was our first dinner at the restaur ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This was our first dinner at the restaurant. The food was fantastic and service was impeccable. The staff went out of their way to make our anniversary feel special. It was probably our best dining experience in the greater Sacramento area.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is a wonderful wine bar and restaur ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is a wonderful wine bar and restaurant in Auburn. My favorite when I'm in town. The service is outstanding and the food is excellent!! You won't find a better place in Auburn.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was excellent and the food was t ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was excellent and the food was tasty.

But, I would not go back for another dinner as the portion sizes were incredibly small and the dinner was very expensive for small town Auburn. We ordered One glass of wine each (which wasn't even a regular size serving) and no appetizers but ordered 1 salad which was tiny and it was $100. And when I got home I had to eat because I was still hungry.

I ordered the vegan meal which was quinoa and vegetables. The quinoa was less than two cups and I had to hunt in the quinoa for the vegetables.

I don't mind spending $100 for a nice romantic meal, but only when they give you a regular serving size. I felt my dinner was more of a side dish.

Tags: Romantic, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Always sublime, never a disappointment. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Always sublime, never a disappointment. Why do we eat anywhere else?

Tags: Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Paul as our server who was very f ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We had Paul as our server who was very friendly and helpful as we determined which wines we

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Very good food...especially the duck con ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Very good food...especially the duck confit. Kind of a strange wine policy on single glasses. Overall a very nice evening close to home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

I always have a great dinner and great e ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I always have a great dinner and great evening at Carpe Vino. Their service is so gracious and warm. After a couple of visits they make you feel like friends of family. Love it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

First time diners at Carpe Vino. We lik ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

First time diners at Carpe Vino. We liked the new menu with a mix of new items and old favorites. The food is sensational. Delicious and great presentation. The service was friendly and very helpful. We enjoyed the evening and will se coming back

Tags: Fun, Healthy, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

All aspects of this restaurant are top s ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 23, 2016

All aspects of this restaurant are top shelf . Food was incredible, both delicious and creative. Extensive wine list as well. This is the place for special occasions.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the BEST restaurant in the entir ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This is the BEST restaurant in the entire Greater Sacramento Area. Best chef (Eric Alexander) and superb wine list.

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Historic, Special Occasion, , Romantic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great restaurant. We've eaten at Carp ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 19, 2016

A great restaurant. We've eaten at Carpe Vino many times, and every time is a delight.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

the best restaurant period. best waiter ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

the best restaurant period. best waiter paul period

Tags: Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Casual, Healthy, Seasonal, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was pouring rain. We were seated in ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 16, 2016

It was pouring rain. We were seated in a separate historical rock storage room, lit with candles, heated, quiet. Service was attentive, fabulous., courteous, friendly staff. Food was outrageously delicious, perfectly cooked to perfection. I would suggest having at least TWO chocolate desserts to pick from. ; ) But really no complaints. We were too stuffed to eat dessert anyway!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Historic, Cozy, Bar Seating, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in nirthern California

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 13, 2016

Best restaurant in nirthern California

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Paul was fantastic! Friendly, funny very ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Paul was fantastic! Friendly, funny very accommodating and knowledgeable

Tags: Private Room, Good for Groups, Quick Bite, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.