Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more must contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320 ext. 102

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer musical entertainment.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

https://www.carpevinoauburn.com/contact-us/old-town-parking-map/

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (530) 823-0320 ext. 112

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (49)
Good for a Date (37)
Fit for Foodies (35)
See All
Creative Cuisine (32)
Good for Anniversaries (32)
Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Historic (22)
Worth the Drive (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Local Ingredients (18)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Cozy (15)
Quiet Conversation (14)
Authentic (12)
Happy Hour (9)
Healthy (9)
Fun (8)
Seasonal (8)
Private Room (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Organic (4)
Casual (4)
Modern Decor (3)
People Watching (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Vegan (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Tapas (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quick Bite (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
953 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

This is our favorite restaurant in the greater Sacramento region. We come here every year to celebrate our anniversary and Carpe Vino never disappoints!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 20, 2017

As always, everything at Carpe Vino is measured in levels of perfection. The setting is upscale bistro; sparkling, charming, inviting. The service is unmatched anywhere; precise, gracious, fluid, the epitome of professional. And every bite of the food surpasses the last. We were here for our first Burger Night, a new mid week folly for this Michelin worthy gem. Toasted brioche buns, house fondue cheese, pasture raised local beef, cooked to perfection. Gourmet and gorgeous. And Ahhh, the garnish; curry pickled cauliflower and a slice of a crispy, pucker producing dill. Chef Eric Alexander's magic is evident in every menu, every meal. The wine suggestion, yes, the wine suggestion, was full, light, with perfect tannins making it very well suited to the delicious burger. Dessert was an olive oil, semolina cake and has remained deliciously memorable. Carpe Vino is dream come true.
.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

This is by far the best restaurant I've found in the Sierra Foothills. The food and service were excellent and the wine list offered a wide variety of excellent imported and domestic wines. Our waiter was very helpful in suggesting appropriate wines to go with our food selections. I will definitely return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have dined at Carpe Vino many times and Chef Eric Anderson never fails to surprise and delight with his creative and flavorful dishes. Paul provided excellent service. It is the best!

Tags: Organic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Can't be beat! Kendall was our server for the first time. Lucky us. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Bar Seating, Romantic, Live Sports, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Seasonal, Historic, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 13, 2017

The best restaurant and wine bar in Auburn. Love this place!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Wait Staff too interested in unselling

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My boyfriend is a chef so it is very hard to take him out to dinner for his birthday. The experience here is top notch the food is amazing I would recommend this eating experience to anyone who appreciates food. AAAAA+

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Went to celebrate my husbands birthday. Everything was outstanding. We love Carpe Vino and are also wine club members, this place is a hidden gem in Auburn that is our go to place for date night or special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 9, 2017

It's great for the all around experience. Great food, service, ambiance, and vibe. We'll be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Beautiful setting delicious food excellent wine choices

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 6, 2017

CV is consistently excellent-never disappointed. Love to celebrate anniversary & birthday at table 10 with Paul as server

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Outstanding food and service. My very favorite
place to eat and meet friends or for a date.
The wine choices are always wonderful.
I would give it a ten star.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Carpe Vino is a first class dining experience, from the quality and flavor of the food to the service and ambiance. This was our third time dining at Carpe Vino, and each time it has been consistently great. Ask to see the full wine list on a Kindle.

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Bar Seating, Historic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We've been there quite a few times, and never been disappointed. The food is creative, but not gimmicky. Service is great, too. And about a zillion wines, very fairly priced.

Tags: Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Everything was great! Service was excellent, food was top notch. In the reservation I mentioned it was my birthday and there was a birthday card on the table from the restaurant staff which was a nice and unexpected gesture. 5/5 and will definitely return.

Tags: Seasonal, Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

we are regulars. every visit is a treat. eric & his kitchen continue to innovate and surprise.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 31, 2017

There's no doubting why Carpe Vino is a Top 100 restaurant. The food is exceptional and the service matches the cuisine. My beef was cooked to perfection, the Rabbit was amazing and the seafood was delightful. Then there's the wine.....so many choices...so much quality. There is probably not a more top notch meal in all Placer County.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Best restaurant meal ever. I consider myself a very good cook and can usually duplicate most meals....Not here. Fresh ingredients, awesome plating, innovative creations. I had mussels. Had alot of mussels in the past, but none this good. Husband had beef cheeks. Melt in your perfection.
Wine prices are extremely reasonable and service exemplary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in the Sacramento region!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 23, 2017

I made this reservation for my boyfriends 50th birthday. We were seated right away and on the table was a birthday card waiting for him, a wonderful gesture! The service was terrific and the food outstanding! I highly recommend Carpe Vino.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 18, 2017

We had a wonderful meal. Everything was cooked to perfection and nicely presented. We had a reservation for 8pm and when we arrived we were shown to our table immediately. Wine can be purchased by the bottle or glass. It was nice to try different pours and sample something new. Normally when we order coffee after a meal it is usually very watery. Not so at Carpe Vino - delicious and full bodied - just like a cup I would make at home. The ambiance was perfect. No loud band playing and disrupting our conversation. Perfectly enjoyable. It was a little expensive, but overall we thought it was well worth it as we were not rushed and there was plenty of space between tables.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We dined at Carpe Vino to celebrate a close friend's birthday. My wife and I arrived early and enjoyed some wonderful olives and Frog's Leap Cabernet Sauvignon in the tasting room while waiting for our friends. We were seated in what might be described as a charming old wine cave which added intimacy and ambiance to the occasion. We'd each brought a favorite bottle of wine which our supurb waiter, Paul, attended to regularly. The menu, though small, is an array of delicacies sure to please most (the soups were incredible, btw!). Good food, excellent service and wonderful company made for a delightful evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Simply Amazing. Our new favorite restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is generally very good, with a few misses so order carefully. Bacon-wrapped quail starter was flavorful and perfectly cooked. Porchetta main was also excellent. Wife's miso cod was merely OK, and looked lonely on the plate for $28. Have been coming here for about 3.5 years and think value is declining with portion sizes.

One super-loud table unfortunately reverberated off hardwood floors and brick walls. Without that, ambiance typically very good. Service attentive. Huge wine list a plus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Outstanding service, outstanding wine, and outstanding cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious dinner and great service. Wine list and helpful suggestions were wonderful! Noise is pretty bad, though. Very loud diners and little sound proofing. Still worth it though!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Not rushed. Meal sizes more European. Right size not too large and very tsty

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've eaten here several times, and taken friends a few times. It is just great, every single time. Outstanding food, servers are true professionals. Wine selection is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of the best restaurants anywhere. Great food and service in 3 small quiet rooms with walls lined with bottles of wine they serve with dinner...at retail price!! Dinner only, need reservations usually.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We went for the "day after Valentine's day". Excellent Wine list. We had four appetizers. All were was really good. its a restaurant that has a bigger "feel" than Auburn (not that there's anything wrong with Auburn).

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is the best restaurant in the Sacramento area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The meal was outstanding, as always! Started with a chicken liver/ foie gras appetizer- light and flavorful. Then Caesar - romaine was crisp. Main course was the beef cheeks- melt in your mouth tender and fantastic flavor - beautiful presentation! Great restaurant!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Best foodie find in Auburn! Save your pennies up, it's totally worth it

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant is a real gem. Appetizers are great - try the quail or duck confit if you have a chance. Fish entrees are excellent and I would definitely try the pasta. Desserts are a must. We had a chocolate cake that was spectacular. Our server, Britney, was both charming and knowledgeable - she really knows the menu and also her wines. Of course, one cannot go wrong with any wine on the menu since the restaurant is also a wine store! Carpe Vino is a great restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lived up to it's great reputation. Outstanding meal and service! Great wine list!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been hearing about Carpe Vino from friends, and it did not disappoint!! I loved every bite of the meal (I had the Prixe fixe, wow!) and the wine was superb! My husband enjoyed it as well! Great place to celebrate his birthday! We will be back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We thought it was ridiculous that we were charged $2 to split a ceasar salad times two orders at our table! A birthday celebration wasn't acknowledged by the restaurant either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Once again Carpe Vino and the entire staff prepared a wonderful meal in a beautiful, old-Town dining place. The foie gras was smooth and rich with a perfectly crispy piece of toast to spread the generous supply on. Each appetizer was delicious and the presentation compelling. Even the bread and butter was incredible..salty, rich and the bread was a mild sourdough. The entrees were large and just as tasty. We did the steak and been cheeks. NY isn't my favorite cut, but the steak was cooked evenly through and an accurate medium rare. Oh, the duck confit presse was a hearty appetizer with the delicious onions the star of that dish. All topped off with a warm, sweet "sticky toffee pudding"....(I would never ordered this type of dessert ordinarily, but SO grateful for the chance to try it) and an incredible cup of hot coffee (rich and dark with no bitter bite afterward). I don't know of a local (Sac or otherwise) restaurant that brings it all together as well as Carpe Vino.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'm a frequent dinner here and the Chef never disappoints. Outrageously good mushroom soup and beef cheeks melted in your mouth. Black cod was cooked perfectly and with such a great wine list the perfect match for your food is somewhere in the house. Just ask !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.