Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more must contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320 ext. 102

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer musical entertainment.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

https://www.carpevinoauburn.com/contact-us/old-town-parking-map/

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (530) 823-0320 ext. 112

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (36)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Romantic (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Local Ingredients (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Cozy (13)
Seasonal (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (8)
Bar Seating (7)
Casual (5)
Healthy (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Organic (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (3)
Fun (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Vegan (1)
Hot Spot (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Sort By:
S
1014 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Carpe Vino is a wonderful experience. The food and staff are top notch. The atmosphere is warm and inviting. We have dined here numerous times and every time has been a great memory and wonderful meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on October 8, 2017

We stop at Carpe Vino (you need a reservation!) when en route home from San Francisco to the foothills and it is always a treat. The cuisine is really exceptional - one of the best in the area, including Sacramento. Dishes are beautiful preparations, interesting mixes of ingredients and elegant touches; wine list is extensive; service friendly and helpful; yummy desserts and usually a cheese plate. We highly recommend Carpe Vino for a special evening out.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Birthday. Disappointed that there was no Rombauer Chardonnay

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2017

The food is amazing here. Caesar salad is always delicious. The corn soup was wonderful too. Swordfish was so flavorful and so unusually prepared (in a good way). All four of us loved our meals and the wine was perfect. Carpe Vino is a delight restaurant with the most interesting and delicious menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 24, 2017

By far the best restaurant in the Auburn area. Great food, inventive and top quality. Service is wonderful too!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2017

What an absolutely lovely birthday dinner. I brought a friend here for her birthday, we were amazed by the simple yet creative menu and the chef's magical execution. Every bite was savored, from the heirloom tomato Greek salad with watermelon to the wonderfully sweet and savory corn. We chose roasted chicken for our main course. Cutting into the crisp skin my knife melted through the succulent, perfectly prepared flesh. One bite and I was hooked. Paired perfectly with the sparkling wine we ordered. In addition, I find it refreshing to enjoy excellent wine and food in a child-free environment. Absolutely satisfying! I'm definitely going back. If you decide to check it out, I hope you enjoy it as much as we did. Note, I save the five stars for places that simply blow my mind (and palate), so four stars is simply the highest praise I can give while still leaving room for that one in a million place.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 24, 2017

We just love Carpe Vino! It's our favorite restaurant in Auburn! We love the servers, especially Paul! All of them are fantastic!!

Tags: Healthy, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Carpe Vino always exceeds our expectations. Delicious, creative food preparation. Our server, Paul made the whole experience delightful---he doesn't miss a beat! Lovely evening!!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Casual, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Portland)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Lots of interesting and very good dishes, great wine list (both by the bottle and glass), attentive service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Seasonal, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Chef Eric and our long-time server and friend Paul, as always, made it very special. The food was absolutely delicious, beginning with the corn soup and continuing with the pork medallions. Everything was served on time and we were in and out in an hour. Cudos again to Carpe Vino! We would recommend this restaurant to anyone who is a genuine "Foodie."

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

The food is simply amazing. Wine is pricey however.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

We don't get the chance to come here often, but as usual the food was exceptional! As close to perfect as you get in this life. You must go.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We had a great 4 year anniversary dinner just last Friday at Carpe Vino. We have been there before and have always enjoyed our meal and the service...this time was no exception. What was especially nice this time was that Carpe Vino had a nice "Happy Anniversary" card laying on the table for us...a nice touch.

Our waiter (forgot his name) was really nice...not too pushy and recommended a couple of entrees and his personal take on a wine I was considering. We started the meal with the mixed dip sampler (really good), then had one order of pork loin and one order of their lamb meatballs...and we ended the meal with the prune plum-semolina cake...a really nice and light dessert.

All in all a very nice place to eat in Auburn...we were pretty well dressed up for the occasion and did not feel out of place...most others were dressed well too. The noise level where we were seated was a bit high...the dining rooms are long and we were at the window end where the noise might have concentrated...it did quiet down as the night went on.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Incredible food creations that taste amazing. Service is unsurpassed with remarkable knowledge of the seemingly endless wines that were available. The best place for a special occasion.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 21, 2017

We normally love this restaurant, however this was a special evening on a Sunday night for a BBQ set menu. Unfortunately we were very underwhelmed with the food. The chicken, brisket and pulled pork were all very very dry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Sirloin was amazing! Top 5 meals we have had there for sure!

Tags: Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

We have dined at Carpe Vino many times and had excellent experience. The waiter on this trip was terrible. Took 10 minutes to get a wine menu, which we had to ask for. 20 more minutes to get a glass of wine. Tried to take our meal order before we were offered anything to drink. We were rushed, the waiter was unhelpful and impersonal. I would not go back again if this would be our waiter. I believe he was french.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 18, 2017

Absolutely terrific. Great menu, our food was superb and the service excellent. We have been to Carpe Vino many times and never have been disappointed. Chef Eric and his crew are awesome! Napa style!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

To have such a fine eating establishment in Auburn, CA is a real treat. Everything is tops.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The best meal we've had in a long time. Absolutely brilliant!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We went for our 20th anniversary ~ the card at the table was a nice touch & the writing on the dessert plate was very cute. Meal was delicious & service on point. Thank you!

Tags: Hot Spot, Seasonal, Happy Hour, Cozy, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Carpe Vino is definitely a romantic restaurant. The food is excellent as well as the service.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food was excellent and our server was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 9, 2017

Carpe Vino, a jewel set in Gold Country...a chef who cares about every detail, a manager that appreciates ones patronage, a waiter who's French Canadian influence and style make every course an experience! Big city elegance in the warm slow paced hamlet of Auburn. Not to be missed if you want the best cusine in Gold Country!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 9, 2017

We had fish and lamb we asked the waiter for recommendations for some wine and he made several great choices.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Carpe Vino is a consistently extraordinary, high-quality restaurant in Old Town Auburn. It is five-star in creative cuisine using fresh local meats and vegetables, and their wine selection cannot be topped. The chef, Eric, always surprises and delights diners with his creative use of local seasonal fruits and vegetablescombined with fabulous cuts of meat or fish ovelaid with his special sauces. Please do yourself a favor and dine there - you'll be glad that you did!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great food with casual, inviting ambience and good wine selection. Best for small parties since smaller, quaint venue with mostly tables for 2 or bar area.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 27, 2017

Friendly staff, excellent service. They always have a creative vegan dish. Mine was delicious, flavorful, and just enough spice. A bit pricey but memorable, local fine dining.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Healthy, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

So enjoyed the food and service. We had a wonderful anniversary night out.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We were at Carpe Vino a few years ago, and had a wonderful experience. We haven't gone back because we live in Rocklin and don't like to drive that far. But my sister was visiting from San Francisco this weekend and we wanted a special evening. We are reluctant to take my sister and her husband to restaurants here because they eat at so many fine ones in SF and ours don't compare. But we felt Carpe Vino was an exception; it isn't. The food was ordinary, not very good, and overpriced. We are not a fan of huge portions but at Carpe Vino, they are tiny in the extreme. It seemed that the chef is more impressed with plating and unusual ingredients than flavor. My sister said it reminded her of restaurants in SF she has gone to that are impressed with themselves but don't follow through. She said of Carpe Vino, "No good, and no value." We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My entire experience was awesome. I brought a friend who was impressed. Typically it would be phenomenal food and excellent service. That was true this dinner as well. However the pinnacle of the evening was when the chef went out of her way to specially prepare a dessert that met all my food allergy criteria unbeknownst to me. And brought it out to describe it in person. And no it was not a special occasion. They are just that good at Carpe Vino. I am already a regular, hoping this post creates more of us!!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 11, 2017

AWSOME evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Highly recommend Carpe Vino. We've dined there on a number of occasions, always delicious, creative food and top-notch service in a quaint old building in Old Town Auburn.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on July 6, 2017

eric is taking full advantage of summer corn!
inventive & delicious go get your corn fix!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Met my daughter here for dinner and first off, the staff was very welcoming and friendly. I read their menu online, noticed the creativity, and was not disappointed with our selection. There were a few things changed on the menu... really wanted to try the Mac and cheese...🙁. We had the cheese board to start and an order of the fried green tomatoes. Yum. We ordered a bottle of Rombauer zin to sip on. Reasonable prices on wines.😀 We also split an order of the ravioli. Delicious! We were not sure if we could split a desert too. But the hot fudge with raspberry sorbet and berries beckoned. It was sooo good, but, alas, we couldn't eat it all!! Now, I must tell you, the portions are not large by any means, but perfect if you focus on flavor and slow down, appreciate, and great conversation. And the wine....

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent service and exceptional food! Always delicious!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fun, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on June 17, 2017

CV is hands down the best restaurant in our region. If you like huge gobs of cheap, crappy food, don't eat there. If you like incredibly savory foods and magically paired wines along with a cozy ambiance, this is the perfect place for you.. I'm also very impressed with the consistency, never a bad meal and the same dish eaten at a much later date is still excellent.

My only nit-picks are that the parking can be hard to find since it's a busy part of Old Town Auburn and I wish they were open on Sundays...Parking lots are available, but you'll need to walk 1/2 to 1.5 blocks, which isn't too bad.

Enjoy this incredible restaurant located in the heart of the Gold Country of the Sierras.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Carpe Vino is a very special restaurant great for special occasions. We celebrated our anniversary. The wine list is very good and not overpriced, food was excellent and creative, and the staff very friendly and attentive. We would definitely recommend it and look forward to returning someday, hopefully soon.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Very disappointed. My wife's halibut was no bigger then a silver dollar and cost $30. Not sure how our waitress served this with a straight face. My pasta came cold and after getting it reheated was basically tasteless. Possibly just a bad night but we don't plan to return anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Amazing experience! The food was outstanding and the so was the wine list. Service was great as well, we will definitely return.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.