Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi
  1. Distance: 0.15mi
  2. Distance: 0.20mi
  3. Distance: 0.34mi
  4. Distance: 0.48mi

About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Saturday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more must contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320 ext. 102

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer musical entertainment.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

https://www.carpevinoauburn.com/contact-us/old-town-parking-map/

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Restaurant Manager: (530) 823-0320 ext. 112

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (31)
Good for a Date (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Historic (20)
Romantic (19)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Cozy (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Healthy (8)
Authentic (7)
Molecular Gastronomy (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Fun (6)
Private Room (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Organic (3)
Casual (3)
Business Meals (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Tapas (1)
People Watching (1)
Sort By:
S
932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined 6 days ago

We had a wonderful meal. Everything was cooked to perfection and nicely presented. We had a reservation for 8pm and when we arrived we were shown to our table immediately. Wine can be purchased by the bottle or glass. It was nice to try different pours and sample something new. Normally when we order coffee after a meal it is usually very watery. Not so at Carpe Vino - delicious and full bodied - just like a cup I would make at home. The ambiance was perfect. No loud band playing and disrupting our conversation. Perfectly enjoyable. It was a little expensive, but overall we thought it was well worth it as we were not rushed and there was plenty of space between tables.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We dined at Carpe Vino to celebrate a close friend's birthday. My wife and I arrived early and enjoyed some wonderful olives and Frog's Leap Cabernet Sauvignon in the tasting room while waiting for our friends. We were seated in what might be described as a charming old wine cave which added intimacy and ambiance to the occasion. We'd each brought a favorite bottle of wine which our supurb waiter, Paul, attended to regularly. The menu, though small, is an array of delicacies sure to please most (the soups were incredible, btw!). Good food, excellent service and wonderful company made for a delightful evening. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Simply Amazing. Our new favorite restaurant. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food is generally very good, with a few misses so order carefully. Bacon-wrapped quail starter was flavorful and perfectly cooked. Porchetta main was also excellent. Wife's miso cod was merely OK, and looked lonely on the plate for $28. Have been coming here for about 3.5 years and think value is declining with portion sizes.

One super-loud table unfortunately reverberated off hardwood floors and brick walls. Without that, ambiance typically very good. Service attentive. Huge wine list a plus.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Outstanding service, outstanding wine, and outstanding cuisine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Delicious dinner and great service. Wine list and helpful suggestions were wonderful! Noise is pretty bad, though. Very loud diners and little sound proofing. Still worth it though!

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Excellent food and wine. Not rushed. Meal sizes more European. Right size not too large and very tsty

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We've eaten here several times, and taken friends a few times. It is just great, every single time. Outstanding food, servers are true professionals. Wine selection is amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 17, 2017

One of the best restaurants anywhere. Great food and service in 3 small quiet rooms with walls lined with bottles of wine they serve with dinner...at retail price!! Dinner only, need reservations usually.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

We went for the "day after Valentine's day". Excellent Wine list. We had four appetizers. All were was really good. its a restaurant that has a bigger "feel" than Auburn (not that there's anything wrong with Auburn).

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This is the best restaurant in the Sacramento area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

The meal was outstanding, as always! Started with a chicken liver/ foie gras appetizer- light and flavorful. Then Caesar - romaine was crisp. Main course was the beef cheeks- melt in your mouth tender and fantastic flavor - beautiful presentation! Great restaurant!!!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Best foodie find in Auburn! Save your pennies up, it's totally worth it

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This restaurant is a real gem. Appetizers are great - try the quail or duck confit if you have a chance. Fish entrees are excellent and I would definitely try the pasta. Desserts are a must. We had a chocolate cake that was spectacular. Our server, Britney, was both charming and knowledgeable - she really knows the menu and also her wines. Of course, one cannot go wrong with any wine on the menu since the restaurant is also a wine store! Carpe Vino is a great restaurant.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Lived up to it's great reputation. Outstanding meal and service! Great wine list!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We have been hearing about Carpe Vino from friends, and it did not disappoint!! I loved every bite of the meal (I had the Prixe fixe, wow!) and the wine was superb! My husband enjoyed it as well! Great place to celebrate his birthday! We will be back again!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We thought it was ridiculous that we were charged $2 to split a ceasar salad times two orders at our table! A birthday celebration wasn't acknowledged by the restaurant either!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Once again Carpe Vino and the entire staff prepared a wonderful meal in a beautiful, old-Town dining place. The foie gras was smooth and rich with a perfectly crispy piece of toast to spread the generous supply on. Each appetizer was delicious and the presentation compelling. Even the bread and butter was incredible..salty, rich and the bread was a mild sourdough. The entrees were large and just as tasty. We did the steak and been cheeks. NY isn't my favorite cut, but the steak was cooked evenly through and an accurate medium rare. Oh, the duck confit presse was a hearty appetizer with the delicious onions the star of that dish. All topped off with a warm, sweet "sticky toffee pudding"....(I would never ordered this type of dessert ordinarily, but SO grateful for the chance to try it) and an incredible cup of hot coffee (rich and dark with no bitter bite afterward). I don't know of a local (Sac or otherwise) restaurant that brings it all together as well as Carpe Vino.

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I'm a frequent dinner here and the Chef never disappoints. Outrageously good mushroom soup and beef cheeks melted in your mouth. Black cod was cooked perfectly and with such a great wine list the perfect match for your food is somewhere in the house. Just ask !

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Been a favorite of ours for four years, but the last few times, food is just so-so. Repetitive use of ingredients..i.e., app had cabbage, entree had cabbage. Know it's in season, but really? Also, entree describes side veggie as creamed cabbage...no cream in the dish that I could find. Dried up brined pork chop was so disappointing. We keep coming back for some good food, But it's not happening. Service is still over the top, but food needs to improve.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

What a lovely restaurant! Everyone on staff was warm and friendly, particularly our waiter, Paul. It was hard to choose from all the yummy options on the menu, so we chose an eclectic mix. Everything was just fabulous. Definitely coming back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Perfect little gem in Auburn! Check out their extensive wine list, friendly staff, romantic hideaway, and creative cuisine.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Service was top notch... paid attention to us ... made conversaion when wanted respected our provacy when wanted

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer, Notable Wine List, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Very creative. A little too much time in between courses so don't come if you are in a rush, but otherwise this is a really unique restaurant in an unusual and fun location in Auburn. We had previously looked inside (you are in a bit of a fishbowl for anyone on the sidewalk outside) and thought about coming here and are glad we did. Overall value is good; the prix fixe was four courses for $60 and the wine prices were very fair even though this is fundamentally a retail wine shop as much as it is a restaurant. Preparations and presentations were really outstanding and the table service itself was quite good in terms of bread and water. Salads were both complex and light, and the duck confit presse was very good. Black Cod was less flavorful than the other courses, but perfectly cooked which I wouldn't necessarily expect up in the foothills. Dessert was also very good and although the waiter doubted his espresso skills the cappuccino was just fine. Glad we stopped in and we would return. It is a little chilly here in winter so consider a sweater on top of your shirt to keep comfortable.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We visited Carpe Diem soon after its opening 10 years ago and thought it was very good, and returned a few nights ago to try the special Citrus menu. Absolutely one of the best, most inventive and beautifully flavored meals we have ever had.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Awesome! 4 course Citrus tasting menu was amazing. My compliments to the chef.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was good along with good service. They have a lot of wines, some reasonable some very expensive. Just did not like the wine selection

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great place...Best meal in years...Really impressed my date....

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food, as always, was phenomenal. Impressed with uptick in professionalism of waitstaff. Great night!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Worth the Drive, Historic, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Private Room, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service was excellent, food was OK, terribly overprices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Food excellent. Had to ask for bread and water. Our girl did not ask if we needed anything. Bill accounting a little confusing. Great food beautiful presentation. A little pricey. Enjoyed the experience. Will come again.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Over-all we had a great time, the food was delicious, but priced the highest I have seen in all of Auburn.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The soups are delicious. Very worth getting! Great ambiance and friendly service.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Consistency is the hallmark by which a company should be rated. Carpe Vino once again gets the highest marks possible. The food, staff and ambiance are all impeccable. This remains on the top of our "Must" list.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Very relaxed dining experience. The service is impeccable and the food was just wonderful. We have been here several times and are never disappointed.

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Seasonal, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 28, 2016

The branzino (European sea bass) for two was excellent, as was the mushroom soup. As always great food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 21, 2016

A delightful special dinner as always in an historic setting. A perfect dining and fine wine/ale experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Wonderful creative food, the very best in the area. We have never been disappointed in Carpe Vino and we eat at the restaurant as often as possible. The atmosphere is sophisticated and lively. The wine choice is always a surprise with many different wines to sample from.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Another wonderful evening at Carpe Vino...!!
Paul, our waiter was superb, as always.
This establishment never fails...

Tags: Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Carpe Vino is a wine bar/restaurant. We asked for a wine that was featured in their online wine list. Found out it's not available. We ordered another bottle of a medium priced Ca. wine; it was unavailable. Food portions were stingy and the restaurant dining room was freezing cold. And this is the best restaurant in town!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.