About Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment)

1568 Lincoln Way
Auburn, CA 95603
View Larger Map

CARPE VINO SERVES PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER (YES...EVEN THOUGH WE SERVE DINNER). Located in what was originally a Civil War-era saloon in the heart of Old Town Auburn, Carpe Vino offers a unique setting for relishing great wine and stellar cuisine. Enjoy wine and dinner at the "Mary Pickford" wine bar with selections from all over California, or relax in our elegant dining room, surrounded by racks of wine.

Carpe Vino's innovative menu is California themed yet French-inspired. We offer fine dining tempered by our Old West heritage, with many core ingredients sourced from local farmers whom we know by name.

The menu changes virtually weekly, with new selections added based on farmer's market availability. Upwards of 40 wines are available by the glass; since Carpe Vino has a substantial wine shop business, bottles opened in the building are priced at retail plus $5.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Tuesday - Sunday 5pm - 9pm
Reservations of 5 or more most contact Carpe Vino directly.

Cross Street:
Sacramento Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(530) 823-0320

Website:
http://www.carpevinoauburn.com/

Entertainment:
Carpe Vino does not offer regularly scheduled entertainment, but musicians have performed here for special events.

Parking Details:
Nearby on-street parking is available, along with several public lots. Old Town Auburn is a popular entertainment destination, so best to arrive a bit early.

Executive Chef:
Eric Alexander

Private Party Facilities:
Carpe Vino's "Wine Mine," circa 1850, is an unparalleled venue for private events. Constructed of stone and built into a hill behind our main building, the room is candle lit for private parties and winemaker dinners. Capacity is 24.

Private Party Contact:
Drew Moffat: 5308230320x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Farm to Table, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carpe Vino (21+ Establishment) Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Food
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Best Service
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
5 More
Best Value
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Fit for Foodies
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Notable Wine List
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Special Occasion
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Most Booked
Auburn
Best Restaurants in Auburn ›

Notable Wine List (57)
Special Occasion (55)
Fit for Foodies (50)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Romantic (33)
Good for a Date (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Historic (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Scenic View (5)
Authentic (3)
Cozy (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Casual (3)
Organic (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Business Meals (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Private Room (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Healthy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
821 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent dinner. Fixed price 4 course m ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent dinner. Fixed price 4 course menu was well thought out. Wines By the glass provided ample choices of red and white. Every course was exceptionally delicious. Main dining room was two thirds full but a little bit noisy.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Have had the pleasure of dining at Carpe ...

 
 (Tahoe)
·Dined 5 days ago

Have had the pleasure of dining at Carpe Vino on many occasions. My wife and I have made it a tradition on our anniversary for many years. We always bring out of town guests and dine at Carpe Vino when my wife and I want to dine at the best restuarant in the area!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for a Date, Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Groups, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and flavors, knowledgeabl ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and flavors, knowledgeable staff in regards to suggesting wine pairings

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful anniversary celebration. The t ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Wonderful anniversary celebration. The tomato price fixe was so delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Truly a delightful dining experience! Pa ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 23, 2016

Truly a delightful dining experience! Paul was very wine savvy and professional.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Historic, Seasonal, Cozy, Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very friendly place where servers rememb ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Very friendly place where servers remember frequent customers, but also give the best service to all. Restaurant also rewards good customers with generous gift cards and more. Excellent, varied wine list. Food these days is not my favorite as I'm a purist, liking simplified, high quality food. Every dish seems to have way too many ingredients that cover up the quality of the food. Also, menu seems all over the place. Feel like chef is trying too hard to incorporate everything and losing focus. However, I still love this place for the service, wine and sense of community. Hoping they will find their way again or maybe it's just me wanting a simpler, lighter, less confusing menu. Will still come for the great wine and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value3

Our group had the Tomato Prix-Fixe as we ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Our group had the Tomato Prix-Fixe as well as several a la carte side items i.e. macaroni gratin w/ carmelized onions, charred okra, blistered shishito peppers, and st. louis spareribs. We thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience. Tyler was our server. He was knowledgeable and professional, and recommended outstanding wines to accompany our dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had an heirloom tomato salad which was ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I had an heirloom tomato salad which was incredible. My husband thoroughly enjoyed his pate, but found the steak in his entree on the tough side. All in all the flavors were delicious, the menu creative, however we felt the menu overpriced for what you got, and the service slow. We would try it a second time as former restaurant owners we always give a place a second shot.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Nice historic area. Restaurant a lot sm ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice historic area. Restaurant a lot smaller that I expected. Reviews said was typically a lot of noise but was very quiet when we were there 5pm Saturday night. Restaurant decor was better than average but could be improved. Wine boxes all around look cheap. The brick areas look good but other areas just okay. Bathroom tiny and plain but clean...if that really matters ...but most upscale restaurants have nicer bathrooms. The food was better than average and very gourmet. I've had better but it was better than average. I had the smoked pastrami and my wife had the salmon. We also had the hummus, eggplant, cucumber dip appetizer, squash with some indispices, and peach pastry ice cream desert...whatever it was called. The pastrami was good...nothing amazing but good...but just pretty plain smoked pastrami...probably as expected. The salmon had buttery flavor and melted in mouth...neither my wife or I loved it but it was well prepared. With that said I don't care much for salmon...but wife wanted it. The dip and squash were pretty tasty. Desert was very good also. Oh...we had gazpacho soup too...which was amazing. It was our anniversary date...and was very fun. My wife really liked the place. I liked that it was quiet, upscale, and romantic. Worth the price? Maybe a little over priced...but good for anniversary...and to keep a high maintenance woman happy...lol. We would probably go back again.

Tags: Historic, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Our First visit, Truly impressive on man ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Our First visit, Truly impressive on many levels.. The food was wonderful .. to say the least.. The Wine List is Amazing.. Our Server..Knowledgeable and Professional ... All assets to the Incredible dinning experience.. Our Complements to the Chef.. We look forward to Our next Visit..

Tags: Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Organic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb flavors. Our server was new, and ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Superb flavors. Our server was new, and he tried to be very accommodating; we appreciated his pulling in of staff to clarify/get help. The pork belly and gluten-free adjustments were amazing. Thanks for making our visit memorable :)

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Organic, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had a wonderful dinner. We had Waygu ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful dinner. We had Waygu beef and duck breast for our main course with two bottles Cabernet Sauvignon (Gandona and Morlet). The food was delicious and the wine was really good. And the service was awesome!!!! Carpe Vino has cozy/unique/nice arrangement and has historical structure. We enjoyed having dinner here. We would definitely come back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Best restaurant in Auburn, Grass Valley ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Best restaurant in Auburn, Grass Valley or Nevada City

Carpe Vino is everything one would expect of the best restaurant in the area. We were there on a Wednesday night so it was quiet. I believe on weekends it is not so. We had the heirloom tomato and burrata appetizer, then split a Caesar salad while one of us had the rabbit pappardelle and the other had the fried chicken. Everything was delicious as usual.On previous occasions we have had the hummus appetizer along with other entrees. We've never been disappointed. The service is friendly, not overbearing. The wine list is lovely. If you find yourself in Old Town Auburn you really cannot do better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always wonderful, as is the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

The food is always wonderful, as is the choice of wines.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The new menu is fabulous! They have brou ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The new menu is fabulous! They have brought on a Master Smoker and the smoked pastrami was delicious as were all of the other items our party of four ordered (we all take bites of each others mains). Carpe Vino is always a total gastronomic delight.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time for the Carpe Vi ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This was our first time for the Carpe Vino experience. First when we were seated and to find a birthday card for my hubby. So much better then being sung to. Thank you!!!!

The service was exceptional, friendly & knowledgeable. The wine was perfect...the food...AMAZING". Now for the dessert...PURE DELICIOUSNESS" & the Happy Birthday greeting nicely written on the plate was a much appreciated & loved addition.

We will definitely be back....with friends & family.

Thank you!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Long time fave. Always have a wonderful ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Long time fave. Always have a wonderful meal. Do yourself a favor and go.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

we absolutely love carpe vino, it is the ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

we absolutely love carpe vino, it is the best place to dine in auburn, the service is fantastic, the food is elegant and beautiful and delicious! We go back twice a month. The wine is the best selection around, we belong to the wine club.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a creative, seasonal menu. Wonder ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Always a creative, seasonal menu. Wonderful service.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Chef Eric and server Paul always both do ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Chef Eric and server Paul always both do a tremendous job. Carpe Vino is a hidden gem and we are very fortunate to be able to go there frequently. Have probably eaten there over 100 times and never have been disappointed. Would strongly recommend it for anyone!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This is clearly the best restaurant in A ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

This is clearly the best restaurant in Auburn and in that region. We liked our meal, and the wine, so much that we came back the following night! We've never done that before. The service was superb, and the ambience is unpretentious but charming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food; nice presentation. Service w ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Good food; nice presentation. Service was superb.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite restaurant not only in Aubu ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Our favorite restaurant not only in Auburn but a lot of California... Outstanding menu from local farms around Auburn... Inventive Chefs with vision and expertise extraordinare!!! Wine list is A+++!!! Stay for desert... Fabulous!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. The 3 glasses of win ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was great. The 3 glasses of wine was a bit pricey. We could have bought a bottle for less than what we paid for the 3 glasses. Great server though.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the food and the service were extra ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Both the food and the service were extraordinaty. Absolutely off the chart.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a very enjoyable evening, well wo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

It was a very enjoyable evening, well worth the drive from Sacramento to Auburn. We look forward to introducing others to Carpe Vino.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second visit to Carpe Vino a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was my second visit to Carpe Vino and I'm hooked. Food is amazing and the ambience is great. I love how small it is. Fun place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Consistently the best food in Auburn. Ev ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Consistently the best food in Auburn. Everything is expertly prepared, very similar to the quality you'd find in Napa.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Special accommodation for my food allerg ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Special accommodation for my food allergy was exceptional and truly appreciated. The tasting of a Sauternes substitute was very gracious and also wonderful. Ended up buying it. Love you!!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another consistent and wonderful meal th ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Another consistent and wonderful meal that did not disappoint. Service was excellent and made the experience that much better.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

One of the best nights ever. Celebrated ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

One of the best nights ever. Celebrated a friend's 65 birthday. We had the cave to ourselves (and a driver, thankfully). Great food, service and ambiance. I was also really impressed that they had my wine club bottles ready to go before I even asked.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is reflective of the season; creati ...

vip
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food is reflective of the season; creative dishes prepared with "love!" Service is outstanding. Wines choices are plentiful & server very helpful with suggestions. Great prices on wine. Love the ambiance of the restaurant & being surrounded by wine bottles. Highly recommend. Small space, intimate dining, make a reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food outstanding, a real foo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Service and food outstanding, a real foothill gem. I would come back without hesitation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful dining in Auburn!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Wonderful dining in Auburn!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were celebrating our 50th wedding ann ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were celebrating our 50th wedding anniversary at our favorite restaurant. We have been there five or six times and always been delighted with the food, service and ambience. This was the first time we have dined off the price fixe menu. For an appetizer we ordered the pupusas, which were recommended by our waiter, Paul. They were extremely dry and had no accompanying sauce to assuage that. Mine were so dry that I couldn't finish them because they were difficult to swallow. We followed with the sea bass, which was delicious, and desserts, which were outstanding. My husband and I were extremely surprised by our pupusa experience and we did mention it to Paul, who apologized. We had no other feedback so we have to assume our comment reached the chef, although we have no way of knowing. I expect we will come again, although I'm not sure I will come when the price fix is served. I'm wondering if the handling of the dishes might have something to do with the dryness. A disappointment on our big anniversary...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent in every way. Each dish was de ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Excellent in every way. Each dish was delicious and all four of us loved them. The chocolate dessert was worth every cent!

This was the last Prix Fixe week. We'll miss them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience! Great menu!

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Wonderful experience! Great menu!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Chef Alexander never disappoints. This ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Chef Alexander never disappoints. This was an amazing 4 course meal that will be remembered a long time. My husband and I chose different menu items and shared. Everything was superbly prepared and presented. If you are a 'foodie' and enjoy wine, this is a place you need to try.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a good meal overall. For some re ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

It was a good meal overall. For some reason we were given a different waiter, and while he was good, frankly it was not the same. And I was disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The desserts, the cakes in particular, d ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

The desserts, the cakes in particular, do not match the excellent standard of the rest of the menu. We dine here regularly and I often leave wishing the (four course, prix fixe) meal had started with dessert so that I wouldn't leave the restaurant fresh off the disappointment of the last course. Maybe I should develop a taste for port and cigars.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.