Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
10:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 5 times today

Carolina Grill & Tap Room

3.9
112 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Comfort Food
Casual Dining Areas & Tap Room for Business or Pleasure...the Carolina Grill & Tap Room is a great find with a scratch kitchen. Voted "Best Of" for our Rustic, favored fare. Whether your're a cozy couple, large group or Rehearsal Dinner we have just the room for you! Our unique location makes us a local favorite and a destination worth the drive, just come as you are...
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation


Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - till it's over, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - till it's over, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(317) 769-3743
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Debra Terry
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
What 112 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.0
food
3.6
service
3.8
ambience
3.6
value
Noise · Quiet
57% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

They were either too busy or under staffed. Made reservations and still waited 15 minutes to be seated, then waited another 10 minutes before a server spoke to us and took our drink order and explained that there was a buffet available for Mother’s Day. The food was fair. The chicken was extremely dry and tough. Ordered a Bloody Mary and it was warm, no big deal just ordered extra ice, but then it tasted watered down. Overall our experience was fair and not worth what we paid for. This could be an awesome place with just some reorganization!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great food. Really accommodating. My party was over 30 mins late and were still very kind and understanding. Very nice staff and loved our experience! I recommend!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

I visit the Carolina Grill 1-2 times every month and am never disappointed in the quality of the food or service. Fantastic place to eat with no wait time, great service, and great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Several dinner entrees provide hearty tasty treats, especially the fried chicken dinner and the brisket crepes. Also the bread pudding is a treat. The prices are quite reasonable for the food quality. Unfortunately, they remain understaffed and the time until being served and the likelihood of receiving something different from the order are too high for a true quality restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 21, 2018

We've been before and didn't really expect the experience we had this time. Our waitress was not friendly and seemed very inconvenienced by our request to wait to order as we were meeting friends we hadn't had dinner with for a while, so we were chatting a bit and hadn't really looked at the menu. When she came back, she was irritated when my husband, who, I admit, is a bit of a picky eater, asked that his pulled pork NOT have any veggies served with it and that no mustard come with it. She rudely let him know that it all comes on the side and he doesn't have to put it on so he just asked her to leave it all off the plate and she seemed like that was a terrible effort. Seems like it would make things easier really. She forgot our salads until dinner came out. She didn't listen when we asked about beers we hadn't had before and brought one sample and assumed that the other person ordering wanted that beer even though she was the one asking the questions so ultimately, to avoid being rude, she just settled on that beer even though she didn't like it.

When asked if we wanted dessert, we all, initially stated we would pass, then one of the husbands decided he did want dessert so as she was bringing our final bill to the table, he asked her if he could order the bread pudding and her only response was "we don't have any...". WHAT?! No, "gee, I'm sorry, we're all out. Can I get you something else? Are you sure ______ doesn't appeal to you instead?" Nope..."we don't have any".

I doubt highly we will be back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 20, 2018

This was the second time we have been here and the service was very poor each time. We had to wait a long time to receive food. The waitress did not come back to check - we were there 2+ hours and I had no water. We asked for the check, and during that time watched 2 other tables finish their food, pay and leave and we still hadn't had our checks brought to us.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 14, 2018

The food was good and a good variety, including vegetarian and gluten free choices. We had four adults and two kids and they added a 20% gratuity to the check, which was unexpected.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Very disappointing- service was slow (and they weren’t even busy), and very over priced.
The menu had a wide variety of options- almost too many. We got two different pasta meals, a sandwich, and the burger. The burger was the only decent thing. The mushroom appetizer was decent, and the onion rings would’ve been great if they weren’t over cooked (good batter though). The kids Mac and cheese looked no more than boxed Mac and cheese, and served cold. The beer selection is the only thing I would say was good. We didn’t get to go down to the tap room, so we can’t comment on that.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 25, 2018

Did not have our reservation in their system. No available table in dining room so sent to tap room. Tap room was fine but wonder how they did not have my confirmed reservation.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Enjoyed our meal very much. Would definitely go back, this place is a neighborhood gem. Service and ambiance were excellent. Tip: ask to be seated downstairs if you don’t have minors in your party.
Had the North Atlantic Salmon which was nicely prepared. Tender inside with a nice flaky outer layer. The accompanying veggies were fresh and complimented the fish very well.
The wedge salad was a little bit of a let down. For me, blue cheese dressing is what makes a wedge salad great. The dressing on this one was creamy but lacked the thickness and chunkiness of a killer blue cheese dressing.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Server was very scattered. Forgot my drink (waited 35 minutes to get it)and messed up the bill twice. My drink should have been free. Food was good, so we might try it again sometime.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 19, 2018

We had to wait a long time to place our order and then had another long wait before we got our food. We weren’t impressed with the portion size or quality of what we got.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on January 6, 2018

We came here for 1st time with another couple. We'd heard about it; seemed interesting. Two of us ordered the shrimp and grits entree. About 10 minutes after ordering, the waitress returned saying that they had none. That happens sometimes but this was 7:15p Sat. and just 3 tables were occupied when we came in. The separate tavern/bar section was closed due to a water pipe freeze and flood. Our food orders including substitutes for shrimp and grits were ok but not exceptional. Approaching 9pm, we were told that they close at 9. We'd ordered 2nd round of drinks, were just sitting, talking and may have ordered desert and more drinks but it became obvious at 9 sharp, they were anxious for us to leave. 9p closure on a Saturday night? There are many other better options in Zionsville and NW Indianapolis area.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 16, 2017

First visit here. TooK forever to get someone to come to our table. Appeared to have two teenage girls assisting that night that were neither polite or helpful. Food quality was poor. Order the ribeye and it was small amd tasteless. The wedge salad was not a wedge bit a precut, shredded salad. Would not recommend or go back. The first visit from our actual waitress was "do you guys know what you want?". How about, "hello, welcome, have you ever dined with us, etc". Just a laughable experience all the way around!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 15, 2017

We took our daughter there for lunch on her request,she's been there several times. It was a very good choice,we were very pleased with the service and quality of food.You have a very friendly and help full staff. We will for sure be back for diner,and will recommend you to all of our friends and family.The lunch fish wrap was awesome and more than I could eat.My husband had the tenderloin and was very pleased.We will remember you have private dining as we need that on special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 12, 2017

The best! Love the staff and attention to service! The cocktail selection is the best in town. Also, kid menu is the best!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 24, 2017

We had a great experience for 8 family members gathering for the holidays. Our table was set and waiting for us to arrive. Outstanding, personable servers and fabulous food. We love this place.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2017

First time to the Carolina Grill and chose to sit in the basement Tap Room. Very nice evening with some fun servers and a relatively quiet but friendly crowd. We had the Cuban and the Club sandwich, both were plentiful and tasty. The sweet potato are extra, but not to be missed. Overall, a great evening...will go back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 18, 2017

Food and service were average- they can get away with it bc there is not much competition.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 7, 2017

The wait for the meal was rather long considering the simplicity of our order and the number of people in the restaurant, but they brought fried pickles and mushrooms so it did not matter. We had a quiet corner that was great for a business conversation. The sweet tea, or tea as a Carolinian would call it, was about right on the sugar, but it had been brewed at too high a temperature so it was a bit bitter. A Charleston matron would be scandalized if she served that. The pulled pork barbeque was OK, but it had absolutely nothing to do with the Carolinas. The chief browned it on the griddle and then covered with a red sauce, not a vinegar based sauce. I have been a North Carolinian for a lot of years and I have never seen that anywhere in the state, even in the west. (Check out Pigman's just south of Kitty Hawk if you want Carolina Barbeque). The onion rings were the best part of the meal, but I am not completely convinced they were made on site. Lots of food, to much really but they have to do that. Price - spot on for what we got. This place is OK particularly for the brew pub, but they really need to step up their game on the quality of the food. The doors would be padlocked after two weeks if they opened in Manhattan.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on October 25, 2017

Food is always very good, service often is friendly but less than adequate. This week though service quality was comparable to the food.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on October 13, 2017

I have eaten multiple times and have always had good experience with Carolina Grill but this time was not a good experience.

Our waitress took 30 minutes to bring drinks, an additional 20 to bring the one she forgot, and once she brought the appetizer, she forgot to put in the entree order. In total, our dinner lasted over 2.5 hours for a beer and a few bowls of chili.

The food was great but the service was in no way acceptable. In addition, there were many children running around unattended.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 23, 2017

Thought it was going to be more of a pub feeling.
Very family friendly.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 22, 2017

I've eaten at The Carolina Grill on many occasions. I've found the staff to be courteous, the food very good and the cost reasonable. I like that it is not in a "restaurant" district, as in a strip mall or crowded downtown.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on September 15, 2017

Not customer friendly. Too many rules for wait-staff to seat or serve. Menu misleading. Sides listed with entree not really served with every entree. Seems to be a neighborhood basement pub trying to be a restaurant sometimes. Staff needs better training. Food was so-so; not memorable. Crossed off my list of return worthy dining.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 7, 2017

Maybe the best service and meal i have had in years. Thank you!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on August 16, 2017

Disappointed

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

We have eaten here several times and have always had friendly service, good food, and reasonable prices. Love it!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on July 14, 2017

Three of us got sick that night.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 8, 2017

Went on a Saturday night, didn't have much of a wait. Our server was friendly and helpful, as it was our first time there. The food she recommended was fantastic. We will definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 24, 2017

We have eaten there several times and the service and food has always been outstanding. It's our favorite place to dine at.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 23, 2017

Our waitress was wonderful ~ pleasant, helpful, and smiling. The food was good, nothing extraordinary about the seasoning or presentation. I rated the noise level high because there were families with young children who were loud. The starkness of the interior also lends itself to noise carrying. Overall, I would go back again, but would not go out of my way to make this a "regular" hangout.

If you want a meal, this is a good place. If you want a dining experience, this is not the place for you.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 22, 2017

I bit noisy with loud children playing and screaming.
They were out of some foods.
Pasta was ok but could have been better flavored.
Not as good as our first time there. Just wasn't a good night fir the servers or the variety. They were even out of the vanilla ice cream for the bread pudding.
The half price wine is always a plus.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2017

Girls outing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2017

Very quaint place. Food was fantastic and service was tremendous. Very friendly. Would absolutely come back!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 29, 2017

Wanted to try the place out for a business dinner. Food was tasty and the drink menu extensive. There is a restaurant upstairs but a good bar atmosphere downstairs with the same food menu.
Will take my meeting to Carolina Grill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

First time and it was really good. We had no idea this hidden gem was even there. We found it via Open Table and are so glad that we did!!!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on April 19, 2017

We won't be going back. We felt rushed as soon as we sat down at the table. Horrible wine selection.
The salad appeared to be days old, wilted and Brown. We ordered the Ribeye steak. Moderately priced, what appeared was a piece of meat that looked like a dog toy. The manager said it looked like we were served the meat from the steak sandwhich. It was cold. Cold meat, with a pat of butter on top of the steak that wasn't melted. The side dish, cold
Thankfully we left without an issue.
We won't be back

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We enjoyed the buffet that was offered for Easter Sunday. The food was excellent. The chicken was moist and juicy, while Mom reported the brisket was "to die for". Nice, friendly service. Overall, an enjoyable experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter lunch, not knowing they had a special Easter buffet. It was top-notch! Chicken, fish, brisket, breakfast foods, salad and more. Delicious as usual. Friendly staff as usual.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3