About Carolina Grill & Tap Room

7629 W Stonegate Drive
Zionsville, IN 46077
View Larger Map

Casual Dining Areas & Tap Room for Business or Pleasure...the Carolina Grill & Tap Room is a great find with a scratch kitchen. Voted "Best Of" for our Rustic, favored fare. Whether your're a cozy couple, large group or Rehearsal Dinner we have just the room for you! Our unique location makes us a local favorite and a destination worth the drive, just come as you are...

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:


Tuesday - Thursday: 11:00am - till it's over, Friday & Saturday: 11:00am - till it's over, Sunday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(317) 769-3743

Website:
http://www.mycarolinagrill.com/

Executive Chef:
Debra Terry

Carolina Grill & Tap Room Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (3)
See All
Good for Groups (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Sort By:
Newest
41 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

First time dinning and really enjoyed it ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

First time dinning and really enjoyed it. The staff really made you feel at home and was very knowledgeable about the menu and food items. I will be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Probably the best pork tenderloin sandwi ...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Probably the best pork tenderloin sandwich we've ever had-and we are well versed in making them ourselves!!

Great menu and a very nice upstairs or lower level Tap Room

We'll be back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

1st time to diners and very pleased. We ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

1st time to diners and very pleased. We be back and bring friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We are regulars in the Tap Room. Good f ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We are regulars in the Tap Room. Good food served by a great staff. Nice variety on the menu and we haven't had a bad meal. Rotating beer selection including local micro brewers. Reasonable wine list. We'll see you there soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Great Neighborhood Restaurant!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Great neighborhood based restaurant with broad reaching menu (burgers to quality entrees) and a really warm atmosphere. Service was great. The tenderloin was awesome!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Hiram Lynch V

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We enjoyed most of our experience for Easter Brunch. The ONLY downside, was this: by the time we went through the Buffet Line, sat down and began to eat - although the food was good - it was most certainly, cold. I believe this had something to do with our early reservation, and the warming trays had not yet warmed the food thoroughly. My eggs - cold. My Prime Rib - cold. My Wifes Talapia - cold. My Fathers Soup - Warm to Hot, which he stated was fine. My B&G - Wonderful. The Egg/Crab Benedict - was fine.

Although we did consume everything in front of us, we did feel it could have been warmer. Other than that, we give the Carolina Grill a Thumbs Up. Your Service was/is impeccable. The noise level was minimal and the Setting was/is tremendous. We would return again...although next time, with a later reservation, soas to allow the Food Warmers to do their job as was meant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Nice Southern charm

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

We arrived to find our reservation was actually for downstairs in the tap room, but I wanted a quieter setting for Valentine's Day dinner so they happily moved us upstairs into the restaurant. The décor was very nice, reminded me of a restaurant I went to in Galveston, TX. The menu had a nice selection. My husband and I each got dishes off the specials menu for the night. I had braised short ribs and root vegetables and they were delish. Owner came by and talked with us. Got a free dessert for checking in on Yelp app. Oh, and the music overhead was great...80's love songs.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Appetizer, salad and entree all came in short time

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 12, 2016

The ambiance was nice in the cellar, but you do feel slightly like your in someone's basement. The wait staff was friendly and attentive. However, the issue we had was that we waited a while for the appetizer and then the appetizer, salad and main entrees were served within just a couple of minutes. Our entrees were luke warm by the time we got to them and we felt rushed through the meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

don't be in a hurry

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

service was a bit slow- waitress kept disappearing

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Wanted to try it out

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Service was fine......however, I ordered their specialty, but mine was rather bland. I enjoyed my kids spaghetti much better than my dish.

Wife had salmon salad.....was very large and good.

We tried it once.......won't be going back.

I'm getting pickey when I spend $100 for dinner........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent find in Indy

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We were only in Indy for one night and found this little gem by accident. After initial difficulty finding the restuarunt due to a GPS issue, we finally arrived at a quaint place nestled in a neighborhood that reminded me of a colonial village. The service was excellent from our initial greeting all the way to our exit an hour later. We enjoyed our mushroom appetizer and gorged ourselves on our fillet medallions with their blue cheese sauce. We tried and enjoyed the local beer recommended by our server and washed our wonderful meal down with it. The cost of our meal was definitely a value and did not break the bank. After our meal, my wife and I enjoyed driving through the development and looking at all the beautiful homes. It was a very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice surprise!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 24, 2015

We dined on Christmas Eve and had a wonderful time! The wine list is good and he food was excellent. I went with the filet medallions while my husband had the brisket. While the tap room was closed on the holiday we enjoyed the decor and atmosphere. We will most definitely go back when we have more time to spend!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My Carolina Grill :(

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

We had to wait 10 minutes for a waitress to acknowledge us, which is pretty hard to understand in this small establishment. I ordered the ribs, that are supposed to be #1 in Zionsville...if they are then I guess I should NEVER order ribs in Zionsville! They were fair at best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1

food far above the norm

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 8, 2015

it's just a salmon salad right? Nope it's a generous mix of interesting greens, other surprises like beans, veggies, small potatoes topped with a perfectly prepared large salmon filet. Chicken fingers? No perfectly cooked very lightly breaded chicken breast meat tender enough to cut with a fork.mmmmm

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

"Special" margaritas are super tasty!! G ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 22, 2015

"Special" margaritas are super tasty!! Great service and fun atmosphere! Great ribs also!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good meal,great salmon

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Mothers Day Brunch was great but over the last 4 years the price is about doubled therefore may not do Mothers Day again otherwise very good restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Stick to your menu not so goodbuffet

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

I love carolina grill on their main menu, their easter brunch didn't make sense, the menu was all over the place and tasted bland. Service was good for some tables not for others, waitresses seemed to be standing around alot. My experience was not great, very disappointed in the service and quality of the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

What a great find!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

We enjoyed a lovely Easter brunch with my mom and our daughter. The food was exceptional and the staff was warm and friendly. We will definitely be returning. Thanks!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Don't waste your time or money

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 10, 2014

Service was good & friendly, unfortunately the food was mediocre at best. Fried foods were inedible they were so greasy. Salads boring, entrees mediocre. Nothing special. There are plenty of much better places to spend your time & money. I will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Very family friendly!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on December 7, 2014

We have eaten here many times, this time we were celebrating my grand daughter's birthday! The staff was very accommodating and patient with 2 toddlers and 2 older kids running around. The service was good and the food was very good. I would recommend this fun, family friendly restaurant. When just the adults, the pub downstairs is wonderful!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Good food, nice hidden gem

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 15, 2014

Good food, nice neighborhood gem and quality food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Hidden Gem

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 11, 2014

This cute little place is tucked back in the Stonegate neighborhood. We love visiting here when traveling to the Zionsville area. Good food and great location

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

A real Gem

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 3, 2014

Carolina Grill is a really Gem!! We will be going back there soon. The service and food was the amazing, and we couldn't have ask for

a better place to celebrate our Anniversary. I will recommend this place to anyone because it has it all!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very Welcoming

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on September 25, 2014

My husband and I tried the Carolina Grill and Tap Room and we really enjoyed ourselves. It's a nice casual restaurant with good food and really nice service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Yummy

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on July 22, 2014

The tenderloin sandwiches taste fabulous. They are the best around. We went for a birthday party and the food did not disappoint.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great Place

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2014

It was confusing getting there because it's in the middle of a housing addition - but the food was fabulous.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We'll be back...

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 13, 2014

This was a first visit but certainly not our last. We started with apps and had to follow through to dessert because everything was amazing along the way. The service aligned with the food. The music was good and at the perfect volume. Already looking forward to our next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Frustrating

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

I was very disappointed because the restaurant would not honor my Open Table reservation because they said that Open Table was continuing to take reservations after the restaurant was full. This was for Mother's Day and I had made it ahead of time and luckily called 2 days prior and they said they could not honor it. (which made for a disappointing Mother's Day). Not sure where the snafu happened, but it was a frustrating experience.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Great Mother's Day

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on May 11, 2014

Went for Mother's Day Brunch. First time visiting, and was duly impressed with the attentive staff and food selection. Was made to feel very welcome and even allowed to check out the downstairs bar area though it was closed that day. Will definetly be back to see it in action.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

great food!

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on April 29, 2014

food and service are always great grat atmosphere and the tap room is fun for evenings

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on April 20, 2014

Went for Easter Brunch. Great choices including Eggs Benedict and wonderful muffins

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Food and service were adequate.

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on March 29, 2014

Food and service were adequate. Did not have the character we were expecting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Carolina Grill-a gem in the exurbs!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 15, 2014

This past Valentine's day, I wanted to treat my wife to a nice quiet evening out at a place with good food and a cozy, romantic atmosphere. I chose Carolina Grill and Tap Room because it is a short drive from our home in NW Indy and offered a lovely Valentine's special menu. We were very pleased with our waitress, who was personable and attentive without hovering, and with the Filet Oscar (mine) and the Lobster Pasta Bowl (my wife's). The first course was Tomato Bisque Florentine and it was delicious! For dessert each of us was served a plate of three huge strawberries dipped in chocolate and drizzled with raspberry sauce. It was all wonderful! The draft Smithwick's was nice and fresh, as well. We'll be back!

Tags: Romantic, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious Dining

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on February 7, 2014

Our party of four thoroughly enjoyed our Carolina Grill dining experience. I am previously from a town that has THE BEST breaded tenderloins. The breaded tenderloin prepared at Carolina Grill rivals my hometown tenderloins - (gulp) if not surpasses them. We will dine at Carolina Grill again - soon, I hope.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great Soup!

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on January 29, 2014

Tomatoe-basil soup was excellent! Salmon entree, ok, but not great. Ribs, Terrible, and the stuffed fish with crabmeat was salty. I would not recommend this place for dinner. Perhaps for a sandwich and soup only. My server was great, attentive and graciious.The ambience at sunset was pretty, the place was warm and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

neighborhood gem

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 24, 2013

Beautiful setting in the Stonegate subdivision Always excellent food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the place and the ease

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on November 16, 2013

Love the place and the ease of going there, we had excellent service, the waitress was wonderful. I had the filet medallions and my wife had the chicken franchese. Unfortunately both meals were extremely bland and tasteless. I will go back and try other foods but not these two again. Usually the food is fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

food was good, mostly bar/grill

vip
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 18, 2013

food was good, mostly bar/grill type stuff - location a bit tricky, like West Clay - could be noisy if busy

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Hidden Gem in Zionsville

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on October 11, 2013

My wife and I are now empty nester's so we are always looking for new places to try for something different. While the Carolina Grill & Tap Room is in a different location, don't let that keep you away.

While the menu was a bit limited, the food that was delivered did not disappoint. From the homemade Queso to the great sandwiches (with great beers and wine).

The service is warm and receptive. Not gib-gabby at the tables. But responsive whenever we asked for anything. And how great it is to actually see a manager on the floor checking in with the guests.

We will most definitely be back for another "date night @ Carolina Grill & Tap Room".

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.