About Carnegie House Restaurant

Awarded 9 years in a row by State College Magazine as the Best Fine Dining Restaurant and Best Romantic!

As you enter the dining room through the glass-pained French doors from the library, a feeling of warmth and elegance beckons you to enjoy leisurely fine dining. A bow window allows dinner guests to view the beautiful flowers that surround Carnegie Inn & Spa and the woods surrounding the golf course. China, crystal, and silver grace the tables on crisp white table linen along with bouquets of fresh flowers. Servers are attentive in providing for the needs of the guests who dine on Contemporary French Cuisine.

From breakfast to elegantly prepared hors d'oeuvres and dinner selections, dining at Carnegie Inn & Spa is as spectacular as it is relaxing. The Library invites casual conversation while savoring a favorite cocktail or glass of wine from the Wine Spectator award winning selection.

100 Cricklewood Drive
State College, PA 16803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary French, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Mon-Thur 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri - Sat 5:00pm - 9:00 pm
Sun - Closed

Cross Street:
Toftrees Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 234-2424

Website:
http://www.carnegieinnandspa.com/fine-dining-,dining-en.html

Catering:
Our culinary and service professionals will work with you to create a legendary experience.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Public Transit:
CATA HP Route

Executive Chef:
Paul Kendeffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we will feature special menus featuring wines and liquors paired with menus created by our culinary team.

Carnegie House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (31)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Romantic (17)
See All
Cozy (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Fireplace (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Business Meals (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Seasonal (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Scenic View (4)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Authentic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Private Room (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
232 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service, ambiance and the best dinners in State College.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Great food, very attentive staff, this is a great place to celebrate a special occasion, The filet was amazing.

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The prices are high, for that area, given the quality of the food, which was poor to fair (brown lettuce in the salads, overcooked asparagus, etc.). I took my parents there for a mother's day brunch, and it was nothing special at all. We had to ask if there was a wine/drink menu. Drinks were otherwise not offered. And a refill on the coffee would have been nice too, but wasn't offered. Generally, the service was inattentive. The quality of the food used to be a lot better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Excellent dining experience. The server Zack was fantastic and suggested recommendations from the menu. The steaks were delicious and the dining experience was very much enjoyed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Very nice evening from start to finish. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 19, 2017

ALWAYS enjoy the atmosphere and leisurely dining experience. Seasonal menu a real treat.

Tags: Disabled Access, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Fireplace, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 17, 2017

As a guest, get bottled still or sparkling water. Pre-dinner drinks in the bar area is a nice touch as the restaurant likes to seat guests as appetizers are being served. As close as you can get to fine dining in a college town.

One of our guests entre - a boneless rib-eye, was served sliced with goat cheese. Not expected, and a bit salty.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Authentic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good meal in a relaxed atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Ambiance and service was very nice. Food was good and not excellent so it seemed somewhat overpriced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Celebrated our 25th anniversary here. Chef Paul is amazing. We've now eaten here 3 times and it's consistently great. When you walk in, you'll be offered a drink or wine in the library with a nice fireplace and many comfortable couches and chairs. When you are ready, you are escorted to your table. The dining room is fairly small, allowing the chef to really focus on the orders. Attention to detail on every plate, with beautiful presentations. An excellent wine list too. Menus are backlit for easy reading!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fireplace, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 1, 2017

A great, fine-dining alternative to the plethora of "college food" restaurants in State College. Went with my wife and two daughters (19 and 14) while visiting Penn State for the weekend. From pre-drinks in the library to the excellent service and outstanding cuisine, we had a special time and everyone loved everything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Attentive wait staff and a great meal, the Carnegie always provides a fine dining experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A beautiful and intimate setting led way to a fabulous meal. We both had the ribeye, which was out of this world. We really enjoyed the house-made steak sauce. The service was superb, and we can't wait to visit again. We enjoyed a wonderful evening of delicious food and wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our lamb was a tad over cooked and barely warm, but otherwise delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

No complimnetary cocktail as others had reported. Food was good but not particularly special. Price was high. Ambiance was nice and service was very good. Overpriced but probably best food in the area (no really good restaurants in State College area that we have found)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My partner and I decided to celebrate our anniversary together at the Carnegie House Restaurant, however we left feeling disappointed. I will first say that the food was faultless and was the only real highlight of the evening. It was a shame that despite the excellent food, other factors completely overshadowed our experience at the Carnegie House Restaurant. We were not offered the wine list nor did our server show any signs of wanting to help us throughout the duration of our meal. We had to ask for side plates, which were then not laid out on the table, but handed to my partner who then had to hand it to me. This did not leave us pleased and it was the beginning of our meal! Our server place in front of my partner a starter that we had ordered together... to share. The close proximity of the tables made it hard to have a conversation without the next three tables hearing. I would be cautious to return, despite the good food, because the overall experience was less than impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Simply put, everything (food/service/etc.,) was top notch from beginning to end. I highly recommend it for a very fine dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very romantic atmosphere,, outstanding food and drinks,, highly recomend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Go here several times a year and it is always great. It is our go to place for dates and special occasions. Exceptional food and service!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great restaurant, but plastic flowers? Doesn't seem as tho this is the image they are promoting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's dinner here. It was a very nice evening. The food was very good and the atmosphere was great. Not a noisy/modern restaurant. The only slight issue was with the delivery of food. You would think at a restaurant of this level, they would know who ordered which entrée. Instead it was a "food auction" at the table- "Who ordered the ....?" Need to fix that. Wine prices were a little high but the mixed drink prices were very high.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Attentive service, excellent food - and special request honored to "T".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was prompt and courteous. We enjoyed having a drink in the library before taking a seat at our table.

One thing that really disappointed us was the seating arrangements. The dining room is not very large, but we were seated at an excellent table in the bay window area. Very nice and peaceful, despite a very vivacious and talkative customer at another table. Just as our meal was ending, the hostess seated another couple at the 2-topper right next to ours--I could have touched them with an outstretched hand. Given the fact that there was another 2-topper twice the distance away, it felt extremely awkward to have another couple sit so close to us. We ordered dessert and felt like we were way to close to the other couple for any of us to be comfortable. Had we been the couple being seated, we would have asked to be seated further away but we had no choice and felt bad for everyone involved.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was uniformally excellent. Creative and fresh tasting beer salad especially memorable. All entrees excellent.

Wine service very disappointing. Selection of wines by the glass limited and generally mediocre and uninspired; wines served in mundane general purpose wine glasses, not proper red or white wine vessels. This seemed so inconsistent when food options were $30-40 each. I don't understand why the wine was served this way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service and food. I especially like the opportunity to sit and relax party dinner and have a drink. In addition the restaurant is very well appointed and gives you that old world European atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had drinks in the library before dinner while our table was being prepared. The library and dining room were nice for quiet conversation and our meals were fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is an outstanding restaurant. It is located in a hotel, but draws people who are not guests of the hotel for good reason. The service, ambiance and food were top notch. And the prices are not through the roof. All in all it was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Great atmosphere, highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The waitress/doorman are professional but not friendly. They give a sense that the guests have to follow their old European style of service. If not, it's the guests that are not following the upper class rule and should be taught a lesson. While they might have good training on the service technicalities, they should get more education on showing more respect to each individual as a free person. After all, this is where America exceeds Europe.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a lovely "significant birthday" celebration. The service was beyond excellent as well as the ambiance and food. This is a venue for a special dinner with that special someone. We look forward to returning again for another memorable occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Upperclass and classy. We like to dress up so this was the place for us!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I dined at the Carnegie House and also stayed at the Inn for my anniversary. The setting is warm and inviting and cozy, with the view of the wine cellar and the library. The food was phenomenal. We were given a complimentary appetizer of smoked salmon from the chef and it was the best salmon I've ever had. The chicken I ordered for dinner was amazing and cooked to perfection, and dessert was the most delicious and rich dessert I've had. The service is wonderful and kind, too. The atmosphere is so calm and relaxing, with candles and flowers on the table and a wonderful view out the window. I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've been here twice and haven't been disappointed. The short ribs were amazing and the bay scallop appetizer was fantastic. We also enjoyed a bottle of wine from their large wine list. Our waitress, Dawn, was attentive, friendly and made suggestions to help us choose our meals from the menu. Thank you to the staff at Carnegie Inn for an all-around wonderful stay in addition to the amazing dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Romantic & Upscale Dining! Relaxing ambiance that is a great choice for a date night or special occasion. I'll be hosting my daughter's graduation dinner here because he atmosphere and food are phenomenal and can't be surpassed by another venue that I know of. Great management with Ken (Restauarant Manger) and Don (Inn Manager). Great service from Dawn and Anita. Excellent check into Inn by Sam. Excellent, cozy rooms in the Inn. Highly recommend with no reservations.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I always have a wonderful experience at Carnegie house and so does my mom. We introduced my husband to the experience and he enjoyed it as well. By keeping the dining room on the small side, they can better control your experience and they try to make your visit a warm, classy and consistent culinary experience. Being able to sit in the study/lounge area with a fireplace and have a drink before you go to your table at your own pace is a fantastic part of the overall experience. I've had dinner made by the previous chef before this current chef and their knowledge of food and preparation are equal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a lovely anniversary dinner experience here. This was our first visit and we enjoyed the experience of complementary hors d'oeuvres and drinks by the fireplace before transitioning to our table in the dining room. The restaurant was smaller than imagined but cozy. The service was excellent and the food was well prepared and beautifully presented. This is a great spot for special occasions and most menu items were quite reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service and food was mediocre for what we paid. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My fiancé and I ate here for his birthday. We were brought into the library where we had a glass of champagne and a light complementary appetizer. It was okay; nothing to write home about. The atmosphere was very enjoyable though.

We were then escorted into the dining room where we had the beet and goat cheese appetizer. I loved that. They split it for us on two plates before it was brought out. He got the filet of cod wrapped in bacon. The bacon was slightly undercooked and chewy, but the veggies around it were delicious. I had the mushroom soup and the Kobe sashimi appetizer. The soup was lukewarm and the rice in the sashimi was kind of gummy and needed more sauce.

We had a few cocktails that were expertly made. Then we ordered the apple cobbler for dessert. The waitress brought it out with a candle in it, which was so nice.

Overall it was a nice dinner, but the food wasn't as amazing as I remember it being.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

A very nice restaurant inn ffor special occasions
Very confortable and nicely decorated quiet ambiance serving delicious food from a very wide assortment of menu items. Excellent attentive service where staff goes out of their way to make your experience a most enjoysable one. A bit pricey but great for special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I like the environment but the food was not impressive. The lamb I ordered was not cooked as I requested, and one piece actually missed some portion which seemed odd. I asked and showed to the waitress but her answer was not very polite. The portion were not big too for the price we paid.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.