About Carnegie House Restaurant

100 Cricklewood Drive
State College, PA 16803
View Larger Map

Awarded 9 years in a row by State College Magazine as the Best Fine Dining Restaurant and Best Romantic!

As you enter the dining room through the glass-pained French doors from the library, a feeling of warmth and elegance beckons you to enjoy leisurely fine dining. A bow window allows dinner guests to view the beautiful flowers that surround Carnegie Inn & Spa and the woods surrounding the golf course. China, crystal, and silver grace the tables on crisp white table linen along with bouquets of fresh flowers. Servers are attentive in providing for the needs of the guests who dine on Contemporary French Cuisine.

From breakfast to elegantly prepared hors d'oeuvres and dinner selections, dining at Carnegie Inn & Spa is as spectacular as it is relaxing. The Library invites casual conversation while savoring a favorite cocktail or glass of wine from the Wine Spectator award winning selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Mon-Thur 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri - Sat 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Sun - Closed

Cross Street:
Toftrees Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 234-2424

Website:
http://www.carnegieinnandspa.com/fine-dining-,dining-en.html

Catering:
Our culinary and service professionals will work with you to create a legendary experience.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Public Transit:
CATA HP Route

Executive Chef:
Paul Kendeffy

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we will feature special menus featuring wines and liquors paired with menus created by our culinary team.

Carnegie House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Notable Wine List
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Central Pennsylvania
Best Restaurants in State College ›

special occasion (26)
fit for foodies (20)
romantic (18)
See All
notable wine list (12)
scenic view (7)
good for groups (3)
great for lunch (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
150 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place! Finest dining in State ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

Love this place! Finest dining in State College!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Carnegie House Restaurant has a smal ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The Carnegie House Restaurant has a small yet comfortable dining room overlooking part of the golf course. We had a 5:00 reservation as we attended a local college graduation and wanted to celebrate with a good meal. We were offered drinks in the library, but opted to sit right away as we were hungry after a long day. We were then presented with an excellent dining experience. Beginning with the back-lit menus, the excellent bread basket and tasty amuse bouche of tenderloin on toast, the Carnegie Restaurant started strong and kept meeting/exceeded our expectations. Service was wonderful throughout the early evening. Salads included the Organic Strawberry Salad w. sherry vinaigrette and the Beet and Goat cheese salad and were both visually appealing and tasty. Our five main dishes were all plated beautifully and cooked to perfection. The Yellowfin Tuna was presented a perfect medium rare. The Rabbit was stuffed with mascarpone and spinach as was excellent. Two pasta dishes, the Angolotti and the Bolognaise, were delicious and the Mahi-Mahi was very good. Portion sizes were perfect - not too big and not too small. To finish, we all had different desserts, with the graduate (and birthday girl) getting a candle with hers. A fine end to a wonderful meal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carnegie House

Dined on April 23, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Ambiance=lovely setting

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fine Dining with a Casual Flair

Dined on April 17, 2016

Took my college son out for something more upscale to eat. After he got over looking at something other than fast food he enjoyed the dining experience from the appetizer, entree to desert.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Romantic Dining Option

Dined on April 12, 2016

The Carnegie House Restaurant was a special experience. They first sit you in the parlor/library for pre-dinner cocktails. Then, they sit you in the intimate dining room. The food was excellent and the service was superior. You're going to pay a lot of money for this meal, but the experience was top-notch. This is a great place for a special occasion or a romantic night out. My girlfriend and I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5

Quiet reserved elegant atmosphere. Brunc ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Quiet reserved elegant atmosphere. Brunch food was good but portions very small.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service as always. The artis ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Outstanding service as always. The artistry of the chef's presentation was more apparent than I've ever seen at Carnegie House, much appreciated. There's no comparable venue for a wonderful meal in a tranquil setting in the State College area.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Anniversary Delight

Dined on February 18, 2016

Went there for our 26th anniversary. Great room. Great dinner. Wine steward suggested a great wine that went well with the excellent meal. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet beautiful romantic spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

You'll love it the moment you step inside.. beautiful comfy spots next to the fire place / library while you grab drinks. You can then move to your table for a wonderful dinner. Its an awesome place for special occasions (Went there for Valentines day). You could say its pricy but totally worth it and its fine dining. No complains about the food whatsoever. The menu was lit up. Overall a wonderful experience

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

A MUST to Go to While in State College!

Dined on February 13, 2016

This restaurant was unlike anywhere else I have been before, especially in State College. My boyfriend and I were first sat in the library by the fireplace and were offered drinks, then we were taken to our table which was by the window, and then shared dessert out again in the library by the fireplace. The quality of the food is amazing; I had organic chicken and he had wild caught salmon! We even had organic hot tea! Also, the presentation of the food is fantastic. We almost didn't want to eat our meals because they looked so nice! I definitely recommend this restaurant, but you have to be willing to pay for the atmosphere and quality of food. It is expensive but totally worth it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It is an experience, not just a dinner

Dined on February 13, 2016

Love sitting and relaxing by the fireplace while waiting for your table. Drinks and appetizers are served at this time. Service is great! Very attentive to your every need. All around food, from appetizers to dessert....delicious! Whole experience very relaxing...taking your time and dining is a rarity now a days.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 6, 2016

Our dining experience at the Carnegie Inn was excellent. The sommelier (Brett) was fantastic and really making an effort to ensure choices are suited to the meal. I had the roasted butternut squash with a toasted hazel nut crust - a hidden gem on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Birthday celebration best ever. Beautifu ...

Dined on February 6, 2016

Birthday celebration best ever. Beautiful setting, fabulous food !

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Carnegie House - FANTASTIC!

Dined on February 3, 2016

The occasion was my friend's birthday as well as a slightly early Valentine's Day celebration. There were four in my party. As is our custom at the Carnegie House, we first met in the library for drinks and quiet conversation. The ambiance is just perfect for this sort get-together. The waiter was very attentive and polite. He asked just how we wanted our drinks and that is how we got them. Perfect! After about a half hour, we were escorted into the Dining Room to our table. We first selected our dinners (three of us had the braised beef) and then selected a wine that would go nicely with the beef. The service was perfect and very efficient. The wait staff was very friendly and helpful. The meal was perfectly prepared and was out of this world! The presentation was very efficient and polite. It could not have been better! The ambiance in the dining room was just exactly what the doctor ordered, but with one exception not under the control of the management - a table close to us was extremely loud! While this did not ruin the evening, it was detrimental to us having a perfect evening. Yes! We will go back - The Carnegie House is THE place to go for a fine meal presented by a professional and well trained staff backed up by a really first class kitchen.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always the best

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

Returned again to enjoy some of the finest dining and service in the State College area. I can't say enough about this restaurant. If you're in the area, don't miss it!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience but the music wa ...

Dined on December 30, 2015

Great dining experience but the music was terrible, elevator music covers of pop songs. Would have loved to listen to something a little classier to match the dining experience. Otherwise, everything was wonderful!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

5 Star Restaurant

Dined on December 29, 2015

My wife and I have eaten here twice and each time was excellent. The menu is unique but has something for every taste. This is a keeper for our visits to the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Pricey, but worth it!

Dined on December 29, 2015

We chose Carnegie Inn for our 50th anniversary celebration. We have dined and stayed there previously. Never disappoints. From the greeting at the door, wine in the library, excellent meal, (3 of us had the filet perfectly done), to dessert and coffee, a great choice for special occasions.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing Restaurant!

Dined on December 20, 2015

This is a great restaurant as it relates to the food, ambiance, service etc. The restaurant is small and I believe they can accommodate around 35 people at any given time. We were initially greeted at the entrance and then taken to the library by the fireplace...they made us feel at home. Then, we were offered drinks and appetizers while waiting for our table to be ready. One of those times, when you feel comfortable tipping 30%...totally well deserved! I would recommend it to anyone and everyone!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated graduation with a party of ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

We celebrated graduation with a party of 11, had our own private room with excellent service. Very nice setting for a celebration. Light up menus are awesome.

food2
ambience2
service4
value2

new management changed the format-less special now

Dined on December 16, 2015

they used to offer a unique experience; now they're just another expensive restaurant. the reason i would go here is for that unique experience: you'd enjoy drinks and order your meal while sitting on couches in a cozy room with a fireplace. at the moment your meal was ready to serve, they would tell you and escort you to the table. now, you're allowed to sit in that room and order a drink, but then you order at the table. in fact, you can skip the fireplace and go straight to your table and order there. ..like every other restaurant. they took what makes them special and replaced it with something that makes them no longer special. a staff member said they hired someone from Zola's to run this place, and that Zolas person got rid of my favorite aspects. now it's more cookie-cutter of a process. i would've never become a fan of this restaurant years if they had this new, unoriginal format. now that they got rid of this unique experience, i doubts i'll find it worth the trip or the money again. the format change was my biggest disappointment, but i found the entire menu lackluster, and struggled to be excited about anything on the menu. that's also a marked change from the past, where every description was breathtaking. they've gone downhill, and are now "just another expensive restaurant". they lost their unique aspects that kept me coming back year after year.

Tags: notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Special Occasion

Dined on November 29, 2015

My wife and I wanted a special place to celebrate our anniversary. We had a lovely evening at Carnegie House for dinner. The ambiance, the food and especially the staff could not have been better. The staff was most friendly and professional. They made the evening special for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service2

lots of waiting

vip
Dined on November 22, 2015

we did not realize that the restaurant seats you in a parlor outside of the dining room prior to seating you. There is an opportunity to have a drink and they bring you a small bite. we were planning to have wine with dinner , but did not really want a drink before. we were very hungry and had to wait about 30 minutes to be seated. We finally angrily asked to be seated at which point we were taken into the dining room but after ten more minutes had to ask for a server to come to our table. After this was finally resolved the food came out promptly and was excellent. Had I known this was there standard procedure, I would scheduled an earlier reservation and order our dinner wine as our cocktail.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always

Dined on November 20, 2015

My husband and I love coming here to celebrate special occasions. When the manager came around to chat with us, he asked if we were celebrating anything. We said yes, it's our anniversary. He congratulated us and we chatted more. Later the server brought us 2 complimentary glasses of champagne! When we ordered one dessert to share, it arrived with a candle on it! In addition to the incredible food, they really go above and beyond with the service at Carnegie. We can't recommend it highly enough.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Five Star Quality Food & Service

Dined on October 27, 2015

We can't stop thinking about the meal we had at Carneige. It was terrific!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Lovely anniversary celebration.

Dined on October 24, 2015

We have a great time. Lovely ambience and the food (we both had fish) was wonderful...the only thing that would be a bit of a downer was how close the tables are...in such a intimate setting...it would be nice to have some more privacy. Having said that, we would definitely be back though. It was delightful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service3

Good Food, Nice Setting

Dined on October 16, 2015

I was looking for a place to get away for dinner with a colleague/friend from a conference being held at Penn State. Menu on Open Table looked good, so we went. We had to go late because of the opening keynote. Location was close but demonstrably off campus. The Inn was kind of deserted, and maybe that accounts for what felt like slightly desultory service. (although we did appreciate that our server split the dumplings into two dishes without being asked.) Maybe all the guests were at the Paul McCartney concert on campus! Nevertheless, the wine list was quite decent, and we got a very nice Bordeaux. The sweet potato dumplings were luscious, and my cauliflower puree soup was tasty and autumnal. My mostly vegetarian companion had the salmon and continued to rave over the next few days. I had an exquisitely prepared pork chop. The presentation rocked. The food I would definitely return for, and it made me think that I might like to return to stay at the Carnegie House Inn if the quality of the Inn matches the restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Great dishes. Compliments to the chef

vip
Dined on October 3, 2015

Great dishes. Compliments to the chef

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding all the way around

Dined on October 2, 2015

Carnegie House is the best fine dining restaurant in the State College Area. The food is excellent and the staff goes out of their way to make your evening special. We used to love another restaurant in the area, but it has been closed for awhile. Imagine our surprise when we found out that the chef there has moved to Carnegie House. No wonder we loved the food. Before dining, you are asked if you'd like to sit in the library to enjoy a drink and complimentary hors-d'oeuvres. We enjoy this option even if it just the two of us so we can unwind from the day and enjoy an excellent glass of wine while sitting in the comfortable library. The menus are lit so as our eyes are getting a bit older, the menu is very easy to read. There are a lot of different foods to select from in a variety of categories. We enjoy pairing wine with our food, and the wine list did not disappoint. Thank you for a wonderful evening. We will return next football season for at least one dinner....unfortunately Carnegie House is a bit too pricey for us to have dinner there more than one or two times a year, but when we do, it is well worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experience and a new chef

vip
Dined on September 29, 2015

Carnegie has a new chef and it shows. Ingredient combinations are very creative. Nicely presented on plates and each and every course we had was superb. Only disappointment was finding they no longer let you linger in the living room and place your food order from there, only moving the dining room when the first course is ready. Apparently too many hurried diners who felt that slowed the process. Would be nice though to offer this on request as it truly sets this dining experience apart from anything else offered in town. But anyway, nice job chef!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

wonderful meal

Dined on September 27, 2015

Everything was top notch at this lovely, intimate restaurant. We were greeted promptly, and we were asked if we wanted to sit in the library by the fire to have a drink first. We would have loved to since the atmosphere was so inviting but we were very hungry and decided to be seated for dinner. Service was efficient and attentive, and we were delighted to be given a menu which was illuminated…so easy to read! The food was perfection, generous portions, and beautifully presented. We did not have dessert but everything sounded so tempting. We have eaten in many top New York restaurants and the Carnegie House can hold their own against any of them. Meal was expensive but worth it. 5 stars!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great new chef at Carnegie!

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

Very impressed that the Carnegie has a new chef and new vibrance....wonderful menu, great attention to detail. Thanks to the management and owners for doing the right thing and improving the property and staff. Strongly recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Once again, outstanding evening

vip
Dined on September 18, 2015

From the moment Carnegie House manager greeted us in the lobby, to the moment Dawn, wished us farewell, everything was perfect. Wine selection was excellent and the dinner amazing. Our favorite dining spot in State College and our 6 dining guests for the evening all agreed.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding food and the setting was bea ...

Dined on September 14, 2015

Outstanding food and the setting was beautiful. Ate outside and our server was excellent.

food4
ambience4
service4

Refined Dining

vip
Dined on September 12, 2015

Warm and welcoming dining experience begins fireside in the library and continues through dinner in the quiet dining room. Varied menu and wine list. Pricey by State College standards, but a welcome alternative to the standard fast food dining options in the area.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The new chef is great.... the service outstanding.

vip
Dined on September 10, 2015

We remember the chef from Zola's. So happy he is now at Carnegie House. Lovely experience where service has always been top notch. Dawn is exceptional and we have always appreciated her recommendations from the menu and wine selections. Our favorite place to dine and stay in State College.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Still great dining, but I missed the foi ...

Dined on September 10, 2015

Still great dining, but I missed the foil swan for take-homes and ordering in the library

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing! A must do when in State College!

Dined on August 28, 2015

I cannot say enough about the amazing food, excellent wine and great service we experienced at Carnegie Inn and Spa Restaurant last weekend. New chef, new menu, new best place to dine in State College! This guy is phenomenal. The selections are perfect, the presentation spot on, the food so yummy you want to try it all. You won't go wrong no matter what you eat. This chef deserves your attention! Eat there as soon as you can!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

A must when you're visiting State Colleg ...

vip
Dined on July 9, 2015

A must when you're visiting State College. The food, service and ambiance is not to be missed!

food3
ambience4
service2

Disappointing

Dined on July 6, 2015

This was our second visit to Carnegie House and did not live up to our first. This is intended to be an upscale restaurant that is not inexpensive. On this last night we were there, it appeared there was only one server for the entire restaurant, so service was slow. We had to ask for wine service which didn't arrive until we were into our meal. The food was good, but not what it should have been and was only warm when it arrived at the table. Given our expectations and previous experience we were disappointed and will likely not return any time soon.

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.