About Carnegie House Restaurant

Awarded 9 years in a row by State College Magazine as the Best Fine Dining Restaurant and Best Romantic!

As you enter the dining room through the glass-pained French doors from the library, a feeling of warmth and elegance beckons you to enjoy leisurely fine dining. A bow window allows dinner guests to view the beautiful flowers that surround Carnegie Inn & Spa and the woods surrounding the golf course. China, crystal, and silver grace the tables on crisp white table linen along with bouquets of fresh flowers. Servers are attentive in providing for the needs of the guests who dine on Contemporary French Cuisine.

From breakfast to elegantly prepared hors d'oeuvres and dinner selections, dining at Carnegie Inn & Spa is as spectacular as it is relaxing. The Library invites casual conversation while savoring a favorite cocktail or glass of wine from the Wine Spectator award winning selection.

100 Cricklewood Drive
State College, PA 16803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary French, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Mon-Thur 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri - Sat 5:00pm - 9:00 pm
Sun - Closed

Cross Street:
Toftrees Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 234-2424

Website:
http://www.carnegieinnandspa.com/fine-dining-,dining-en.html

Catering:
Our culinary and service professionals will work with you to create a legendary experience.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Public Transit:
CATA HP Route

Executive Chef:
Paul Kendeffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we will feature special menus featuring wines and liquors paired with menus created by our culinary team.

Carnegie House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.4

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (27)
Good for Anniversaries (18)
Romantic (18)
See All
Fireplace (15)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Good for a Date (15)
Cozy (14)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Worth the Drive (8)
Business Meals (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Seasonal (4)
Historic (4)
Scenic View (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Organic (2)
Private Room (2)
Healthy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Casual (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
220 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 18, 2017

A beautiful and intimate setting led way to a fabulous meal. We both had the ribeye, which was out of this world. We really enjoyed the house-made steak sauce. The service was superb, and we can't wait to visit again. We enjoyed a wonderful evening of delicious food and wine.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our lamb was a tad over cooked and barely warm, but otherwise delicious.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 3, 2017

No complimnetary cocktail as others had reported. Food was good but not particularly special. Price was high. Ambiance was nice and service was very good. Overpriced but probably best food in the area (no really good restaurants in State College area that we have found)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 26, 2017

My partner and I decided to celebrate our anniversary together at the Carnegie House Restaurant, however we left feeling disappointed. I will first say that the food was faultless and was the only real highlight of the evening. It was a shame that despite the excellent food, other factors completely overshadowed our experience at the Carnegie House Restaurant. We were not offered the wine list nor did our server show any signs of wanting to help us throughout the duration of our meal. We had to ask for side plates, which were then not laid out on the table, but handed to my partner who then had to hand it to me. This did not leave us pleased and it was the beginning of our meal! Our server place in front of my partner a starter that we had ordered together... to share. The close proximity of the tables made it hard to have a conversation without the next three tables hearing. I would be cautious to return, despite the good food, because the overall experience was less than impressive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Simply put, everything (food/service/etc.,) was top notch from beginning to end. I highly recommend it for a very fine dining experience.

Tags: Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very romantic atmosphere,, outstanding food and drinks,, highly recomend

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Go here several times a year and it is always great. It is our go to place for dates and special occasions. Exceptional food and service!

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Poconos)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Great restaurant, but plastic flowers? Doesn't seem as tho this is the image they are promoting.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's dinner here. It was a very nice evening. The food was very good and the atmosphere was great. Not a noisy/modern restaurant. The only slight issue was with the delivery of food. You would think at a restaurant of this level, they would know who ordered which entrée. Instead it was a "food auction" at the table- "Who ordered the ....?" Need to fix that. Wine prices were a little high but the mixed drink prices were very high.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Attentive service, excellent food - and special request honored to "T".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 13, 2017

The food was delicious and the service was prompt and courteous. We enjoyed having a drink in the library before taking a seat at our table.

One thing that really disappointed us was the seating arrangements. The dining room is not very large, but we were seated at an excellent table in the bay window area. Very nice and peaceful, despite a very vivacious and talkative customer at another table. Just as our meal was ending, the hostess seated another couple at the 2-topper right next to ours--I could have touched them with an outstretched hand. Given the fact that there was another 2-topper twice the distance away, it felt extremely awkward to have another couple sit so close to us. We ordered dessert and felt like we were way to close to the other couple for any of us to be comfortable. Had we been the couple being seated, we would have asked to be seated further away but we had no choice and felt bad for everyone involved.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Food was uniformally excellent. Creative and fresh tasting beer salad especially memorable. All entrees excellent.

Wine service very disappointing. Selection of wines by the glass limited and generally mediocre and uninspired; wines served in mundane general purpose wine glasses, not proper red or white wine vessels. This seemed so inconsistent when food options were $30-40 each. I don't understand why the wine was served this way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service and food. I especially like the opportunity to sit and relax party dinner and have a drink. In addition the restaurant is very well appointed and gives you that old world European atmosphere.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on February 10, 2017

We had drinks in the library before dinner while our table was being prepared. The library and dining room were nice for quiet conversation and our meals were fantastic.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 29, 2017

This is an outstanding restaurant. It is located in a hotel, but draws people who are not guests of the hotel for good reason. The service, ambiance and food were top notch. And the prices are not through the roof. All in all it was a great experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wonderful food and service! Great atmosphere, highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The waitress/doorman are professional but not friendly. They give a sense that the guests have to follow their old European style of service. If not, it's the guests that are not following the upper class rule and should be taught a lesson. While they might have good training on the service technicalities, they should get more education on showing more respect to each individual as a free person. After all, this is where America exceeds Europe.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 25, 2017

We had a lovely "significant birthday" celebration. The service was beyond excellent as well as the ambiance and food. This is a venue for a special dinner with that special someone. We look forward to returning again for another memorable occasion.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Upperclass and classy. We like to dress up so this was the place for us!

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 20, 2017

I dined at the Carnegie House and also stayed at the Inn for my anniversary. The setting is warm and inviting and cozy, with the view of the wine cellar and the library. The food was phenomenal. We were given a complimentary appetizer of smoked salmon from the chef and it was the best salmon I've ever had. The chicken I ordered for dinner was amazing and cooked to perfection, and dessert was the most delicious and rich dessert I've had. The service is wonderful and kind, too. The atmosphere is so calm and relaxing, with candles and flowers on the table and a wonderful view out the window. I will definitely be returning and recommending to friends!

Tags: Romantic, Fireplace, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Organic, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Historic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We've been here twice and haven't been disappointed. The short ribs were amazing and the bay scallop appetizer was fantastic. We also enjoyed a bottle of wine from their large wine list. Our waitress, Dawn, was attentive, friendly and made suggestions to help us choose our meals from the menu. Thank you to the staff at Carnegie Inn for an all-around wonderful stay in addition to the amazing dinner!

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Seasonal, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Romantic & Upscale Dining! Relaxing ambiance that is a great choice for a date night or special occasion. I'll be hosting my daughter's graduation dinner here because he atmosphere and food are phenomenal and can't be surpassed by another venue that I know of. Great management with Ken (Restauarant Manger) and Don (Inn Manager). Great service from Dawn and Anita. Excellent check into Inn by Sam. Excellent, cozy rooms in the Inn. Highly recommend with no reservations.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Organic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

I always have a wonderful experience at Carnegie house and so does my mom. We introduced my husband to the experience and he enjoyed it as well. By keeping the dining room on the small side, they can better control your experience and they try to make your visit a warm, classy and consistent culinary experience. Being able to sit in the study/lounge area with a fireplace and have a drink before you go to your table at your own pace is a fantastic part of the overall experience. I've had dinner made by the previous chef before this current chef and their knowledge of food and preparation are equal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We had a lovely anniversary dinner experience here. This was our first visit and we enjoyed the experience of complementary hors d'oeuvres and drinks by the fireplace before transitioning to our table in the dining room. The restaurant was smaller than imagined but cozy. The service was excellent and the food was well prepared and beautifully presented. This is a great spot for special occasions and most menu items were quite reasonably priced.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 22, 2016

The service and food was mediocre for what we paid. Will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 22, 2016

My fiancé and I ate here for his birthday. We were brought into the library where we had a glass of champagne and a light complementary appetizer. It was okay; nothing to write home about. The atmosphere was very enjoyable though.

We were then escorted into the dining room where we had the beet and goat cheese appetizer. I loved that. They split it for us on two plates before it was brought out. He got the filet of cod wrapped in bacon. The bacon was slightly undercooked and chewy, but the veggies around it were delicious. I had the mushroom soup and the Kobe sashimi appetizer. The soup was lukewarm and the rice in the sashimi was kind of gummy and needed more sauce.

We had a few cocktails that were expertly made. Then we ordered the apple cobbler for dessert. The waitress brought it out with a candle in it, which was so nice.

Overall it was a nice dinner, but the food wasn't as amazing as I remember it being.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 1, 2016

A very nice restaurant inn ffor special occasions
Very confortable and nicely decorated quiet ambiance serving delicious food from a very wide assortment of menu items. Excellent attentive service where staff goes out of their way to make your experience a most enjoysable one. A bit pricey but great for special occasions

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on November 28, 2016

I like the environment but the food was not impressive. The lamb I ordered was not cooked as I requested, and one piece actually missed some portion which seemed odd. I asked and showed to the waitress but her answer was not very polite. The portion were not big too for the price we paid.

Tags: Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Beautiful place with excellent food! We were treated to a drink and hors d'oeuvre in their library when we arrived. We tried the mushroom soup, which was fantastic, as were our meals of bacon wrapped cod and crab cakes. We would defnitely return for another try!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a great Thanksgiving dinner. Best restaurant in the area. Comfortable and quiet excellent food.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Penn State had a football game that night, so the restaurant was almost empty. Food was impressive: imaginatively prepared and beautifully presented. Service was impeccable.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 24, 2016

The Carnegie experience is always a good one. Sometimes it can be a miss depending on the experience of your server. On this occasion it was quite good since we had a very attentive person managing our table. The food was excellent from appetizers, entrees to deserts.

One negative was the host who seemed bothered the night we were there except for anything he was doing. Upon arrival when I asked him if he could chill a bottle of wine we brought he commented, "I can't take that now, but you can give it to your server." Ouch! Not the reception I expected, but maybe an off night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Delicious and well presented food...as good as you find when
fine dining in Manhattan.

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

My wife and I were disappointed in our dinner for the first time in many years of celebrating our anniversary at Carnegie House. My wife started with a salad which she found to be very good. At her request the kitchen added some candied walnuts to her salad. I started with a cream of mushroom soup that was flavorful but rather thin in consistency. The main problem was our entrees. We both chose a veal chop special described as being stuffed with prosciutto and fontina cheese and served medium rare. What we got were two beautiful rib chops that were so undercooked that they were difficult to cut and nearly impossible to chew. The cheese stuffing was barely soft and there was no prosciutto visible.

Our server was attentive and pleasant but clearly inexperienced. We received no bread until we requested it after we had finished our first courses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on October 15, 2016

CH is the best fine dining restaurant in the region. One suggestion is lighten up on the phone confirmation of reservation fulfillment. Try a text message process.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The food was among the best I ever had! The service was expedient and the ambience was upscale.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Great food, atrocious service. Pretentious and lacking any sense of 'the dining guest should be respected'. 7:30 dinner reservation, not seated until 9(left to languish at a dirty cocktail table) service not completed until almost 11. no clue as to what was wrong, others around us who arrived after us were fed before we were. 3 out of 4 entrees were delivered as ordered, no water service, etc., etc., etc. Bill was incorrect. Excuses but no apologies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 7, 2016

The food was good but was overpriced for the portion size. For example, to pay almost $30 and get 3 scallops on an entree seems excessive. 3 oysters for an appetizer at $15 is another example. While very good not a good value. In addition the champagne and white wines were both served warm. At $12 to $15 per glass. In a small room with 5 tables of couples was nice and intimate. Unfortunately 5 older men sat in the middle of the room and spoke so loud you couldn't talk at your table. Finally, the service was poor. We had a 9pm reservation yet waited 15-20 mins between the courses and received our wine order after we finished our entrees. Sad for such a nice place with great foot. Staffing is a real issue. If you want to charge high prices, higher staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Exceptional food and service. A place for special occasions and a date. Pricey for casual dining but you need to pay for the flavors of the food and the environment. The only caveat is: if one is eating outside, which was great when it was early, the lighting is not the best later. Consequently, later in the evening, I couldn't see the food that I was eating. I should have asked for another candle; I am sure it would had been provided. I would certainly return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Prime Spot in State College.

We have been celebrating my daughter's 20th birthday in the restaurant. Currently she is studying at Penn State. Frankly we have been afraid not being able to find an appropriate nice place with good food. However, we have been and are still very impressed with the Carnegie House. Excellent service, superb ambience, and great food. Specifically the lounge, sitting down before dinner and winding down was a real treat.

When again in State College, we definitely will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.