About Carnegie House Restaurant

Awarded 9 years in a row by State College Magazine as the Best Fine Dining Restaurant and Best Romantic!

As you enter the dining room through the glass-pained French doors from the library, a feeling of warmth and elegance beckons you to enjoy leisurely fine dining. A bow window allows dinner guests to view the beautiful flowers that surround Carnegie Inn & Spa and the woods surrounding the golf course. China, crystal, and silver grace the tables on crisp white table linen. Servers are attentive in providing for the needs of the guests who dine on Contemporary French Cuisine.

From breakfast to elegantly prepared hors d'oeuvres and dinner selections, dining at Carnegie Inn & Spa is as spectacular as it is relaxing. The Library invites casual conversation while savoring a favorite cocktail or glass of wine from the Wine Spectator award winning selection.

100 Cricklewood Drive
State College, PA 16803
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary French / American, Contemporary French, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Mon-Thur 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri - Sat 5:00pm - 9:00 pm
Sun - Closed

Cross Street:
Toftrees Ave.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 234-2424

Website:
http://www.carnegieinnandspa.com/fine-dining-,dining-en.html

Catering:
Our culinary and service professionals will work with you to create a legendary experience.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Public Transit:
CATA HP Route

Executive Chef:
Paul Kendeffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we will feature special menus featuring wines and liquors paired with menus created by our culinary team.

Carnegie House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.4

noise

Quiet

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (27)
Special Occasion (26)
Romantic (25)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Quiet Conversation (18)
Notable Wine List (17)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Creative Cuisine (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Scenic View (11)
Cozy (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Business Meals (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Authentic (5)
Seasonal (3)
Comfort Food (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
273 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Our group first enjoyed cocktails in the "library". A very well appointed room, very comfortable and more conducive to quiet conversation as opposed to a bar or even at the table. We were not rushed and had all the time to finish our cocktails and eventually consult the menu.
When we were ready we were escorted to our table where we placed our dinner orders. Our meals arrived in a timely fashion and were prepared exactly as ordered ( two diners ordered rib eye steaks which were done to perfection). All in all a very fine dining experience, which I am sure we will repeat in the not too distant future.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on September 1, 2017

It was my spouse's birthday and we couldn't have gone out to a nicer restaurant with excellent food, superb wait staff, and a great value for our money. Thanks for a special night out!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were not disappointed in choosing Carnegie House Restaurant to celebrate our 54th wedding anniversary. The service is so welcoming and the food was all done to perfection. It is a truly special place for any occasion.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

I was visiting my girlfriend at PSU and wanted to take her out for a nice meal. We had an 8:30 reservation at Carnegie and showed up on time. The hostess was really nice and welcoming and took us to our table. We waited there for about twenty minutes. A server approached the table and asked if we'd like to place our order. I said we had drink and appetizer orders ready but needed a couple minutes to decide on entrees. She slammed her notepad shut and curtly informed us that "they'll" want the whole order at once (assuming she meant the kitchen?). I thought it was really odd, in general, and especially that we couldn't at least get drinks as we decided what to order. I tried to ask about it and see if we could at least get those drinks but after mentioning we had to place the order altogether she immediately turned and walked away. Immediately. It was very rude and I was caught way off guard. Frankly, at this point, we wanted to leave but it was approaching 9PM and we didn't think we could find another place open. Ten minutes later a gentleman approached the table and asked if we knew what we wanted. There was no small talk, no pleasantries, and the tone very much seemed to convey an attitude of "alright, people who came late and are making me stay later than I want to, whattaya want". It was really uncomfortable. He did warm up a bit when my girlfriend asked him about the cocktail menu and was helpful in recommending a drink for her which we really appreciated. Throughout the rest of the night we were made to feel very rushed in a number of ways. There was another couple at a table and, at one point, a server walked away from their table, into the kitchen, and could be heard shouting to his colleagues "Alright, they aren't ordering dessert" in a celebratory way which made us feel uncomfortable because we were ordering dessert and they clearly didn't want us to. The food was good, though, and we enjoyed that aspect of the meal. Very rude waitstaff.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 26, 2017

The portion of appetizers seems to get smaller and smaller. Quality of main dishes has large variation.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Excellent ribeye steak, excellent seafood bar, the wine was very good. And the service was very good as well.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Leaving daughter for her first year of college

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 19, 2017

Besides the great food and fine service, I appreciate that guests gather in the Library for a drink before being seated. It adds up to a great experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Excellent service & nice ambiance

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 17, 2017

43rd anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 9, 2017

The evening was wonderful, as always. Would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Wonderful meal and experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

My husband and I ate here to celebrate his 35th birthday. We loved being able to sit in the library and enjoy a drink before our meal. The chef's complimentary appetizer was a pleasant surprise. The food was fantastic and we enjoyed everything. We ordered the seafood platter to start. We will definitely be coming back soon.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was absolutely exquisite . Service was gold star worthy. It was an amazing night for my wife and I.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 19, 2017

Everything was first class minus the air conditioning - too warm in the dining room on a hot summer night. Great food, service and ambience. The best in State College for all three categories.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We dined at Carnagie House during Arts Festival weekend. When other places would be crowded and loud, it was an oasis of calm. I love that you can sit in the "living room" with cocktails before moving to your table! That was something I remembered from my last visit many years ago, and was very happy the tradition has survived. Our meal was amazing and Ben, our server, was awesome. Friendly and professional in perfect combination. I look forward to my next visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food, great service, nice place. Big city taste and quality in a small town.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on July 14, 2017

From the moment we walked through the doors we knew that this was going to be a divine dining experience. We enjoyed a cocktail at the fire place, and took in the scenery before heading to our table. Not only was the food delectable, but the service was top notch. Each item we ordered was beautifully presented, and tasked delicious. Just writing this review and thinking about the food has my mouth watering. I couldn't stop talking about the restaurant to my friends. I can't wait to go back the next time we are in town. Thank you for an amazing night out and dining experience.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Amazing place. Love hanging out in the library with a cocktail while you peruse the cool LED lighted menus. Service was impeccable and the food was delicious. Had some of the best crab cakes I have ever eaten. Huge shout-out to our server Zach. He was attentive, but not overly so. Very reasonable winevlst as well. This is a very special place and highly recommend it.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

The only problem with the entire evening was our seating. We were an early reservation....and seated arms length from another two top. We counted....there were 11 free tables but we were sat next to another couple so close to each other we were squirming and uncomfortable......
.zero privacy....and totally unnecessary.......sometimes feel that just being a twosome table....totally under appreciated.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Fair dinner, not as good we expected per the reviews we read.
Foie Gras was a bit cold, food overall was not very tasty. Service was excellent though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 10, 2017

We started in the library with nice appetizers from the chef. We pretty much had the dining room and library to ourselves, which was great since this was our anniversary. The caesar salad was fine, my husband ordered the meat pasta dish and loved it! I had the haddock and it was fine. We shared the french toast dessert and it was to die for! The bread with dinner was also very tasty.

Tags: Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 7, 2017

You can always depend on the food at this restaurant. Some folks in the area think it is expensive, but compared to other nice restaurants in the area, it is not that much more, and it is well worth it. Compared to restaurants in metropolitan areas, it is quite reasonable.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Exceptional! Lead us in to the library to review the menu/wine list while offering us a cocktail. Menu pages lights up when opened Great beet appetizer. Halibut was great. Wife's steak was great as well. French toast desert was exceptional as well. Dinner overlooking the golf course was great. Waitress was great. Can't remember a better time going out to eat. Only a slight problem getting in the front door. Prices were very reasonable. A must see, if you are in the neighborhood.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Very nice setting and convenient location. The staff and service was outstanding.
We were greeted by an exceptionally pleasant and helpful young lady.
Ken, the restaurant manager was engaging and seemed genuinely interested in helping us to have an exceptional experience. Dining on the terrace was very pleasant and more private.
Will definitely return,
Gregg and Kris

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Terrific service and food. Would highly recommend for a terrific meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Pre-dinner drinks in the paneled, club-like lounge is always a pleasure. A lighted menu is provided while relaxing in the beautifully appointed room. Afterwards, when you are ready, the smart dining room awaits. The food and service are excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Lovely service made our guests feel most special and they and we loved the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We had a graduation for my daughter, and we wanted to go somewhere special. The Carnegie House was perfect! Wonderful ambiance, outstanding food -- and a great variety. We had such a great time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We celebrated our marriage with dinner that evening at Carnegie House. The staff was wonderful, accommodating, and even provided a complimentary bottle of champagne to celebrate our wedding.

The food was cooked perfectly and not as expensive as I would have expected it to be. Compliments to the chef and staff for making our wedding day even more special!

Tags: Romantic, Organic, Disabled Access, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on June 22, 2017

We had made dinner reservations at the chef's table to help make our 32nd wedding anniversary a little more special. Sadly, we were informed AFTER we had ordered drinks that the chef was on vacation. We were then seated right next to the only other 2 people in the whole place- a woman and her young son who chewed so loudly and obnoxiously that it totally ruined our meal no matter how good it tasted! Nothing was offered to make up for not notifying us prior that our initial request for seating at the chefs table would not be honored..... had we known we may have gone someplace else!

Despite the attentive wait staff, we will not be returning .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 20, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion and had a nice experience. We each had the pasta and a steak and were happy with both. The view of the garden was lovely and contributed to the atmosphere in the dining room. Overall, a positive experience.

Tags: Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Seasonal, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We have eaten at Carnegie House Restaurant many times before so we were expecting an excellent dinner, and we were not disappointed. Everyone was very friendly and helpful from the moment we arrived at the front door. The food was prepared perfectly and beautifully presented. The dining room was busy but not at all noisy which made the meal more enjoyable. Worth every penny!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Afternoon Tea, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Outstanding classy atmosphere, predictably first class traditional food, attentive service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The food was excellent. The place as a bit warm, not sure if air conditioning was working. Service was good. Facility has a good deal of ambience.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 12, 2017

One of the most positive dining out experience that we have ever had!

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Healthy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We stayed at the Inn and ate in the restaurant. The over all experience was excellent. We were there to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel was romantic and quiet. The staff was very attentive and went out of their way to help. The restaurant was quiet with great service and excellent food. We will definitely return.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 3, 2017

My girlfriend and I really enjoyed our date night to the Carnegie Inn! The dining area was quiet and intimate and clean. Our server was very attentive and knowledgeable of the special menu items and made some great recommendations. The food was prepared in a very timely manner and was delicious! Afterwards, our waitress knew that we wanted our picture taken and offered without us having to ask! I would definitely recommend dining here for a special occasion as it is a fine dining facility and I'm sure we will go back sometime in the future!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Take time to enjoy a drink and unwind in the library before heading into the dining room. Excellent food. Exceptional service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.