About Carnegie House Restaurant

100 Cricklewood Drive
State College, PA 16803
View Larger Map

Awarded 9 years in a row by State College Magazine as the Best Fine Dining Restaurant and Best Romantic!

As you enter the dining room through the glass-pained French doors from the library, a feeling of warmth and elegance beckons you to enjoy leisurely fine dining. A bow window allows dinner guests to view the beautiful flowers that surround Carnegie Inn & Spa and the woods surrounding the golf course. China, crystal, and silver grace the tables on crisp white table linen along with bouquets of fresh flowers. Servers are attentive in providing for the needs of the guests who dine on Contemporary French Cuisine.

From breakfast to elegantly prepared hors d'oeuvres and dinner selections, dining at Carnegie Inn & Spa is as spectacular as it is relaxing. The Library invites casual conversation while savoring a favorite cocktail or glass of wine from the Wine Spectator award winning selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American, Contemporary French, Steak

Hours of Operation:


Dinner
Mon-Thur 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Fri - Sat 5:00pm - 9:00 pm
Sun - Closed

Cross Street:
Toftrees Ave.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(814) 234-2424

Website:
http://www.carnegieinnandspa.com/fine-dining-,dining-en.html

Catering:
Our culinary and service professionals will work with you to create a legendary experience.

Parking Details:
Free Parking

Public Transit:
CATA HP Route

Executive Chef:
Paul Kendeffy

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Cigar Room, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Throughout the year we will feature special menus featuring wines and liquors paired with menus created by our culinary team.

Carnegie House Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.1

ambience

4.4

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Most Booked
Central Pennsylvania
Best Restaurants in State College ›

Special Occasion (30)
Romantic (21)
Fit for Foodies (18)
See All
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Scenic View (8)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Good for a Date (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Cozy (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Business Meals (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sort By:
Newest
179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Exceptional food and service. A place fo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 7 days ago

Exceptional food and service. A place for special occasions and a date. Pricey for casual dining but you need to pay for the flavors of the food and the environment. The only caveat is: if one is eating outside, which was great when it was early, the lighting is not the best later. Consequently, later in the evening, I couldn't see the food that I was eating. I should have asked for another candle; I am sure it would had been provided. I would certainly return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Prime Spot in State College. We have be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Prime Spot in State College.

We have been celebrating my daughter's 20th birthday in the restaurant. Currently she is studying at Penn State. Frankly we have been afraid not being able to find an appropriate nice place with good food. However, we have been and are still very impressed with the Carnegie House. Excellent service, superb ambience, and great food. Specifically the lounge, sitting down before dinner and winding down was a real treat.

When again in State College, we definitely will go back.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb service and fantastic meal. A mu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Superb service and fantastic meal. A must visit restaurant in State College.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Very relaxing. Started with win ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Amazing! Very relaxing. Started with wine and a complimentary appetizer in the library. Waiter was very knowledgable about their food and wine. Attentive service and great food. Nice and quiet ambiance too. Just what we needed. We I'll return for sure! Perfect evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal and a good choice at ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

Another great meal and a good choice at a great restaurant. A must see if in the area.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an excellent experience at Carneg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We had an excellent experience at Carnegie Inn and Spa. Everything was outstanding. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was atrocious. Reservation was f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Service was atrocious. Reservation was for 7:00 PM. Sat until 7:20 before our drink order was taken. Was told we would receive a complimentary hors d'oeuvre while we waited, but did not. Service after we were seated was very slow and disjointed. Had feeling the staff could have cared less whether we were there or not. It was our 47th wedding anniversary. My wife cried. The evening was a very expensive disappointment. The food was very good, but was overshadowed by the terrible service. We could have been served Spam and we would not have been any less disappointed. Will we return? Probably not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value1

My wife and I dined with our daughter. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

My wife and I dined with our daughter. The beets and goat cheese and warm brie salads and bean soup were excellent. The black truffle mac & cheese did not have much (any) truffle flavor. The main courses Halibut, Poulet Rouge and Scottish Salmon. The service and the ambiance were superb as well.

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We just celebrated our daughter's 20th b ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We just celebrated our daughter's 20th birthday.

Had a nice waitress. Brought a dessert with the candles we gave them.

Upscale restaurant with a nice vibe.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful time. A great way to celebrat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Wonderful time. A great way to celebrate our anniversary. The candles on the dessert with the message topped the evening off.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were very pleased with our meal. Pau ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were very pleased with our meal. Paul is doing a great job. It's time to redecorate the library--very dated and not rich looking anymore.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

Good was fantastic. However miss the lib ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Good was fantastic. However miss the library and drinks before

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Carnegie House is a lovely Inn and a ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The Carnegie House is a lovely Inn and a quiet, small restaurant. From the moment we arrived things felt very disorganized and were lacking in the comfortable customer service we expected. We arrived on time but were told our table was not ready. The woman who met us seemed a bit frenzied. I told her that I had called that afternoon to inquire about attire but reached a voice mail. My message was never returned. We were escorted into the bar/library for drinks while waiting for our table. A woman took our order but then seemed to forget about us for 20 minutes, even though the place was not busy. The food was good but the service was lacking all around. Won't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We thoroughly enjoyed the Carnegie inn a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed the Carnegie inn and spa. We stayed overnight and enjoyed dinner and breakfast at the restaurant. The food was very good. We had the halibut and the squab and both were excellent. The wine list was very reasonable. The service and patio setting were lovely. I would definitely go back

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

The overall experience was fabulous and ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The overall experience was fabulous and the food was awesome!! We will be back!!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Overall very good. Service was attentive ...

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Overall very good. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Good cocktails, and complimentary appetizers. Our server did not tell us about the daily specials. Nice ambiance. Warm brie salad was underwhelming. Entrees (salmon, filet mignon) were well prepared, with nice presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the fan ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

My wife and I thoroughly enjoyed the fantastic food and excellent service at the Carnegie House.

However, there was a common consensus with all the tables in the dining room, IT WAS TOO HOT!

Prior to our visit I had read other reviews stating this same annoyance but still we wanted to try the Carnegie House as the food was highly recommended.

In this respect we were not disappointed. Indeed, the food was very good. Ditto for the service. Top notch.

The lack of ANY air movement and the high temperature in the dining room cut our visit short.

It was a blessing when the kitchen door swung open and closed as that was the only (albeit brief) reprieve from the stagnant muggy air..

I would be inclined to frequent this establishment more if they had air conditioning or fans or something to escape the heat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

We found this restaurant, through Open T ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

We found this restaurant, through Open Table, while visiting State College. We wanted something special and we weren't disappointed. We happened upon Carnegie's when they weren't very busy so wait staff were very attentive - but not overly so. The dining room is small and I can imagine, when it is full, it being quite noisy. There is also outside seating available when weather permits.

When we arrived we were offered an opportunity to have drinks in the library, out on the deck or proceed directly to our table. We chose the library which was very comfortable. They had a good bourbon list, including Blanton's, which I had.

Once seated at our table the adventure began. I had strawberry salad and salmon while my wife had brie salad and steak. Dare I say that I enjoyed probably the best salad and salmon I've ever eaten - anywhere!? The salad included mixed greens, strawberries, nuts, gorgonzola bits and strawberry vinaigrette. The salmon was potato encrusted and served in beurre blanc sauce. Normally when I see potato encrusting I think a type of flour made from dried potatoes. Rather this was made from small, very thin sliced potato medallions which when cooked were crisp but not crunchy. My wife was equally ecstatic about her meal.

We usually go to State College annually and this will be a regular stop! Highly recommended.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Because any critique is often heard as a ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Because any critique is often heard as a criticism, let me start by saying that the food at the Carnegie Inn and Spa is remarkable. As a San Francisco-based foodie and oenophile, I don't offer those words lightly. Chef Kendeffy's compositions were delicious, using items grown from his garden and locally procured, with a flair that Central Pennsylvania should truly enjoy as a gem. Our appetizers (foie gras and tuna tartar) rivaled something prepared by Michael Mina, the salads (particularly the beet and goat cheese) were delectable, and the entrees were mouth-watering -- one better than the next. The creme brulee was very good, but the homemade strawberry and cardamon gelato was out of this world! (As a coffee snob -- i.e., one who roasts his own beans -- the coffee was also quite good.)

I brought my own wines, but reviewed their wine list thoroughly. With a Bay Area eye, it seemed expensive, but probably not for Central Pennsylvania. Importantly, the selection was adequate.

My critique relates to service. Mostly, the service was adequate, but a little underwhelming, in contrast to the amazing fare. But there were some modest failures. For example, one server regularly walked through the dining room as if he were on a speed-walking hike. And as someone who appreciates their wine and the wine experience (including fine stemware), I was appalled at the wine glasses they brought for my Seasmoke. (Ultimately, the glasses provided for the dinner table were MUCH nicer.) Finally, the assistant server managed to knock something over, not once, not twice, but three times between pre-dinner drinks and our server taking our orders.

Again, the overall experience was quite good, and the food was remarkable (comparable, actually, to some of the Bay Area's best restaurants). With some attention to the service, this dining experience would receive my highest possible rating (from someone who rarely gives that top rating).

I strongly recommend it to my foodie friends!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Excellent but expensive restaurant. Best ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent but expensive restaurant. Best special occasion restaurant in our area

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friends recommended this restaurant sinc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Friends recommended this restaurant since we were unfamiliar with the area. As soon as we entered, we knew this was going to be a great experience. We had drinks by the fireplace. Then we had dinner on the patio. It overlooked the 17th green of the golf course. The chef's garden was only a few steps away. Our server was very professional and sociable. The food was outstanding. For appetizers we had quail pate and baked oysters. For main courses we had braised short ribs and roasted squab. Desserts were profiteroles and peaches and cream cake.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A/C wasn't working, leaving a sticky tem ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

A/C wasn't working, leaving a sticky temperature over 80°. Service was very inattentive and food was average, particularly relative to the Carnegie's lofty prices. Expected a first-class experience, but got something considerably less.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Enjoyed the food and wine. Love having ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Enjoyed the food and wine. Love having a drink in the library before dinner

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The high end restraurant at state colleg ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The high end restraurant at state college which is good for speculation date or memory moment.

Good music , lamb chop is cooked just right , soft and juicy, but the quantity is too much to cover the cost. Need to be dressed up, it is the place you would not to forget.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

The restaurant was a small room in an in ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The restaurant was a small room in an inn with about 10-12 tables. The dining room was plain with nothing special. The food was alright. The food was a bit upscale (not by much) version of a typical American restaurant. To me, it was similar to Clydes in the DC area.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Both the Inn and restaurant exceeded our ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Both the Inn and restaurant exceeded our expectations. Very pleasant staff. We took advantage of a restaurant week special and it was special. Great food and service. Would highly recommend the Carnegie.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Carnegie Inn offers the only quality ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The Carnegie Inn offers the only quality dining experience in State College. The menu is good, and the dishes are executed beautifully with fresh, high quality ingredients. Having said that, when the restaurant is busy the service is painfully slow.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Really enjoyed the entire experience. Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Really enjoyed the entire experience. The before dinner drink in the library is very relaxing. The food and service was exceptional. Nice spot for special occasion dining.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Amazing Food/Moderate Service

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

This was our first time to the Carnegie House in 17 years, since we had a poor experience on our first anniversary. We had heard that Chef Paul Kendeffy, our favorite local Chef had joined them and knew we had to give it another chance for our 18th. I'll start by saying the bar and the library are so adorable, excellent ambiance throughout. We waited in the library through two other couples to order our drinks, even though they arrived after us. We weren't offered the typical amuse-bouches in the library, despite others around us being served. Once seated in the dining room, our server never mentioned the specials, though we heard a server reading them to another table, after we had ordered. Different servers stopped at our table from time to time, they all seemed a little flustered or confused when we requested a drink or bread, aside from the bartender, who was the only server who seemed to have everything together. We were never really sure if we had a dedicated server or if everyone pooled the tables. Our appetizers, tuna tartare and scallops with caviar, were both excellent and the wine list was good. The beet salad had a great flavor profile, but a bit too much of just beets and goat cheese and not enough diversity for me to make it through the whole plate. Our main courses, the salmon and the halibut, were amazing. We thoroughly enjoyed the main courses. Delicious. Chef Paul is a wizard with flavors and knowing which work well together. I just wish the service were a little better, I was expecting the same level of service that we've come to know at a place like Zola. I really wanted to love it and we did enjoy the food, but wished the service was on par with the food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Love this place! Finest dining in State ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Love this place! Finest dining in State College!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The Carnegie House Restaurant has a smal ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

The Carnegie House Restaurant has a small yet comfortable dining room overlooking part of the golf course. We had a 5:00 reservation as we attended a local college graduation and wanted to celebrate with a good meal. We were offered drinks in the library, but opted to sit right away as we were hungry after a long day.

We were then presented with an excellent dining experience. Beginning with the back-lit menus, the excellent bread basket and tasty amuse bouche of tenderloin on toast, the Carnegie Restaurant started strong and kept meeting/exceeded our expectations. Service was wonderful throughout the early evening.

Salads included the Organic Strawberry Salad w. sherry vinaigrette and the Beet and Goat cheese salad and were both visually appealing and tasty.

Our five main dishes were all plated beautifully and cooked to perfection. The Yellowfin Tuna was presented a perfect medium rare. The Rabbit was stuffed with mascarpone and spinach as was excellent. Two pasta dishes, the Angolotti and the Bolognaise, were delicious and the Mahi-Mahi was very good. Portion sizes were perfect - not too big and not too small.

To finish, we all had different desserts, with the graduate (and birthday girl) getting a candle with hers. A fine end to a wonderful meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Carnegie House

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Food and service were excellent. Ambiance=lovely setting

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fine Dining with a Casual Flair

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Took my college son out for something more upscale to eat. After he got over looking at something other than fast food he enjoyed the dining experience from the appetizer, entree to desert.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Romantic Dining Option

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 12, 2016

The Carnegie House Restaurant was a special experience. They first sit you in the parlor/library for pre-dinner cocktails. Then, they sit you in the intimate dining room. The food was excellent and the service was superior. You're going to pay a lot of money for this meal, but the experience was top-notch. This is a great place for a special occasion or a romantic night out. My girlfriend and I would definitely recommend this place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Quiet reserved elegant atmosphere. Brunc ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

Quiet reserved elegant atmosphere. Brunch food was good but portions very small.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Outstanding service as always. The artis ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Outstanding service as always. The artistry of the chef's presentation was more apparent than I've ever seen at Carnegie House, much appreciated. There's no comparable venue for a wonderful meal in a tranquil setting in the State College area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Anniversary Delight

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on February 18, 2016

Went there for our 26th anniversary. Great room. Great dinner. Wine steward suggested a great wine that went well with the excellent meal. Definitely a keeper!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Quiet beautiful romantic spot

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

You'll love it the moment you step inside.. beautiful comfy spots next to the fire place / library while you grab drinks. You can then move to your table for a wonderful dinner. Its an awesome place for special occasions (Went there for Valentines day). You could say its pricy but totally worth it and its fine dining. No complains about the food whatsoever. The menu was lit up. Overall a wonderful experience

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A MUST to Go to While in State College!

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

This restaurant was unlike anywhere else I have been before, especially in State College. My boyfriend and I were first sat in the library by the fireplace and were offered drinks, then we were taken to our table which was by the window, and then shared dessert out again in the library by the fireplace. The quality of the food is amazing; I had organic chicken and he had wild caught salmon! We even had organic hot tea! Also, the presentation of the food is fantastic. We almost didn't want to eat our meals because they looked so nice! I definitely recommend this restaurant, but you have to be willing to pay for the atmosphere and quality of food. It is expensive but totally worth it.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

It is an experience, not just a dinner

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Love sitting and relaxing by the fireplace while waiting for your table. Drinks and appetizers are served at this time. Service is great! Very attentive to your every need. All around food, from appetizers to dessert....delicious! Whole experience very relaxing...taking your time and dining is a rarity now a days.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.