About Carnaval Brazilian Grill - Sioux Falls

2401 S Carolyn Ave
Sioux Falls, SD 57106
View Larger Map

Carnaval is South Dakota's only Brazilian style steakhouse. From the churrasco/rodizio of meats, the sumptuous hot and cold dishes, to an incredible a-la-carte menu, or a signature pizza, there is something for everyone. We are located in the Central Standard Time Zone (CST).

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Brazilian Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 4:00pm-10:00pm, Sunday: 4:00pm-8:00pm

Private luncheons and parties may be arranged with a manager outside of the above hours.
Our beautiful Patio is currently closed for the Winter and will reopen in the Spring. Central Standard Time (CST)

Cross Street:
W Jeanne Dr

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(605) 361-6328

Website:
http://www.carnavalbraziliangrill.com/

Entertainment:
Most Fridays & Saturdays we offer live music (no cover charge); please call ahead for details. Special Monthly Jazz music events coming in 2011.

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Monthly wine dinners (limited seating). 4- or 5-course meals specifically paired with select wines; must RSVP.

Carnaval Brazilian Grill - Sioux Falls Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
South Dakota
Best Food
South Dakota
Best Service
South Dakota
5 More
Best Ambiance
South Dakota
Best Value
South Dakota
Special Occasion
South Dakota
Most Booked
South Dakota
Most Booked
Sioux Falls
Best Restaurants in Sioux Falls ›

special occasion (45)
good for groups (32)
fit for foodies (26)
See All
romantic (24)
hot spot (15)
notable wine list (12)
kid-friendly (10)
neighborhood gem (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (6)
late-night find (6)
great for lunch (4)
vibrant bar scene (4)
scenic view (2)
Sort By:
Newest
294 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

Waaaaaaay too expensive considering the ...

Dined 3 days ago

Waaaaaaay too expensive considering the food served was mediocre, at best. The flavor of the various types of meat and chicken were great once getting all of the fat out of the way. The brownie we shared for dessert was dry and lacked flavor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, a wonderful evening. Always p ...

Dined 4 days ago

As always, a wonderful evening. Always pleased with the service we receive from the gauchos, and very happy with the attentive service from Jared, our server. From the hostess station to exit, this is always a great place to eat. Some of the best food (if not the best food) in Sioux Falls currently. Keep up the great job!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Food was salty, as I had seen in the rev ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was salty, as I had seen in the reviews. Lamb and salad bar were great...the other meats were OK. Pineapple was wonderful! Unless you are super super hungry, you won't get your money's worth!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

The food is very good, service is great ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The food is very good, service is great and the atmosphere is neat. The price is very expensive, so not an every day eating out place.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and excellent service. Eaten ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Great food and excellent service. Eaten here several times and have yet to be disappointed. Everyone one there goes out of their way to serve you.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I am diabetic, so I usually can't take a ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

I am diabetic, so I usually can't take advantage of the meat service. However, our guests always love it! I am glad to be able to order from the menu, but the price for the amount of food seems incongruous with what those who have any of the meat services get. This time, it seemed like all the meat choices for meat service did not make it to our table. But the shrimp server was FANTASTIC! I enjoyed the live classical guitar on Saturday evening.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our grandson from near the Cities reques ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Our grandson from near the Cities requested this restaurant to celebrate his 10th birthday, after introducing Carnival to him one year ago. The service is always outstanding and the grilled pineapple remains a family favorite. The flavorful food and atmosphere make the occasional splurge worth the cost.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good food and sevice

Dined on June 6, 2016

We went here for a special outing. My son loved the food. I enjoyed all of it too especially the salad area. There is certainly something for everyone with the menu. We were hoping to come back and experience the menu instead of the main Brazilian cooked meats. The staff appeared to love what they were doing and they were all pleasant. Plenty of food- a little costly but worth the trip.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellant restaurant

Dined on May 29, 2016

My son and I arrived early but no waiting for our reservation. The food and the service were great. We both left extremely satisfied.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on May 22, 2016

Everyone is very friendly, the atmosphere great and the music makes everything great. its our favorite place.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Staff are friendly and welcoming. Staff ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Staff are friendly and welcoming. Staff are very helpful and cater to your every need. Food is amazing. The amount of food that you receive and the quality of the food is exceptional. The salad bar offers a wide variety of salads. The restaurant is very clean and offers a fun feel that adds to the dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best place to eat in sioux f ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

This is the best place to eat in sioux falls(my opinion) they have everything, but the roddizo is the reason everyone eats there. They are very busy Friday and Saturday nights so make reservations and the fried bananas and pineapple are the best.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Food and Amazing Ambiance

vip
Dined on April 23, 2016

We have been to a few Brazilian places in the Twin Cities. Since we were coming to Sioux Falls for a show, we decided to check this place out. This one was by far one of the best! There were multiple options depending upon what types of meats you wanted (or not) so not everyone had to pay full price or opt for nothing more than just salad. The waitress we had was SUPER friendly and was always on top of filling drinks, getting fresh plates, etc. There was even live music which we were did not expect. The atmosphere was great. The gouchos were on top of bringing out a variety of good quality food. We were very impressed.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time celebrating!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Enjoyed great food and had a fabulous dining experience celebrating my husband's birthday. Friendly service!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More of Brazil

Dined on April 1, 2016

Being a Brazilian, I missed having traditional Brazilian desserts like pudim de leite, at least. Believe, American people will love it. It was wonderful to find our guarana, but, why not our mate tea too? The farofa can taste better, and could the rice. I did not find our cafezinho, the Brazilian style. We should have more Brazilian songs, different styles other than bossa nova.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great time at the Brazilian Gri ...

Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a great time at the Brazilian Grill!! We have been there 2 other times, but it has been a couple of years. It was just as good as we remembered!! Food was fantastic and the staff was great! Can't wait to go back. We won't be waiting so long this time :)

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great time at Carnaval .

Dined on March 6, 2016

Wonderful food and was a hit with out 3 boys ages 18,14 &7.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on March 5, 2016

I have been to Carnaval several times and it never is disappointing. Excellent food, service, and atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Wonderful

Dined on February 23, 2016

Absolutely fantastic birthday experience for us! We were treated like royalty, and had the best time possible for a night out. Wonderful food, extraordinary service, well beyond expectations. Can't wait to come back, a consistently wonderful dining experience, the best in town!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our server was amazing. Never missed a ...

Dined on February 21, 2016

Our server was amazing. Never missed a beat and never wrote a thing down. The waiter with the desserts was fun. Loved his explanation of each item. It was a fun and never disappointing time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Dinner Atmosphere and Special Evening Out

Dined on February 21, 2016

We introduced two couples to Carnavale as a special evening out. The food was delicious, the waiters and servers were attentive, and our main waiter had a great bedside manner! Spent about 1 1/2 hours eating and talking and had no trouble hearing the conversation. Although a little pricey, the food is superb all the way from the salads to the meats. It's someplace you wouldn't want to go all the time but is great for that little something special.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Expectations not met

Dined on February 20, 2016

Meat, especially chicken and shrimp were so overcooked it was almost painful to eat. The beef products were either overcooked or over seasoned. Don't plan on returning. Waitress was great, but the wait for food was kind of ridiculous considering the place was not packed. I have honestly had better food at a Golden Corral.

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

A great experience

Dined on February 19, 2016

I took the family of 4 for a birthday celebration. The bill was around $100 for 3 adults and 1 child. We all loved it. It is a very different experience having a variety of meats brought to your table. The food was wonderful. Our server was friendly and helpful. She took a group photo for us. We made good memories at Carnival Brazilian Grill.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Valentines Celebration with friends

Dined on February 14, 2016

I have gone with two girlfriends and our husbands to Carnaval for Valentines Day for a few years. It's a great place to go anytime but Valentines Day made it seem even more special. As usual we got in within a few minutes of our reservation so there was no waiting. The food was fantastic. There is such a wide variety and everything has it's own unique and wonderful taste. The servers are always there and you don't have to wait when you want something. I almost never order dessert when I go out to eat, but I can't resist when I'm here. All of the food offered is wonderful. The atmosphere is phenomenal. We very much enjoyed the entertainment and found ourselves quietly singing along without even knowing it. Not being as young as we once were we are really impressed that tables are not so crowded that you can have a conversation in a normal tone with your group and don't have to filter out surrounding tables chatter. We don't see each other much so it's an amazing place to eat and catch up. Before we knew it 90 minutes had gone by. Definitely going back and I recommend it to everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience2
service1
value4

Great food...when we got it

Dined on February 14, 2016

We sat down and got drinks. It took a very long time to start getting food. We have been here lots of other times and knew about this certain chicken...I asked at least 7 times for it..from the waiter and servers...it took probably 30 minutes or more.. It wasn't the best experience this time but we'll go back again.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 6, 2016

This place has a very good ambiance, it has a great atmosphere for anyone looking to take that special someone out to dinner. Also great for a family place for a nice dinner. Also very good and professional servers.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

service is always great, good food and t ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

service is always great, good food and the employees are friendly.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service2
value5

Great place to dine in Sioux Falls

Dined on January 29, 2016

I paid 160.00 for 4 adults my spouse and other friend thought food under cooked. I like my meats more on the rare side so this worked for me. So perhaps next time better for them if they asked for meats more done. We did not get to sample all of the meats we had a total of 4-5 choices we told there was more we asked for a specific type buzy night there perhaps next time as well . Trying to convince my family to revists you establihment. Not sure why strugling to convince family I pay the check everywhere we go in town we do eat out several time a month. I did not want to say anything to managment at the time I dont like conflict in public so i feel more comfortable writing this at this time.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

10/10 will recommend to others

Dined on December 30, 2015

This is a great location for a special event. Our family chooses it for our Christmas dinner every year, as it gives us something to look forward too. The meat selection is superb, and all cuts are top quality. The gaucho are always courteous and at utmost professionalism as they offer up their dishes. Salad bar always has the freshest ingredients and is a great way to start the night. Overall a great place, and you get amazing value and service that matches the price tag.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The meats were exceptional and plentiful ...

Dined on December 11, 2015

The meats were exceptional and plentiful. The staff was incredible attentive to the table's needs considering my party was nine people.

food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful as always!

Dined on November 20, 2015

We are always impressed with the food, service and atmosphere at Carnaval. From the chefs to the gauchos to the waitstaff to the hostesses, everything is top notch. Great food, great service from Jared, our waiter, great experience overall. Best bargain in Sioux Falls for high end food, period!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Experience is great

Dined on November 15, 2015

Great experience. Fun for something different. Everyone is very friendly.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome as usual!

Dined on November 14, 2015

This is the best place to eat ever! Not only is the food wonderful, the people who serve there are the dearest, friendliest, most caring and accommodating group possible. What a treat to be in that atmosphere when we indulge in an evening out! Looking forward to our next visit!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Very good quality food

Dined on November 8, 2015

The food was great! So many varieties of meat to choose from, if you leave this place hungry or unsatisfied it is your own fault.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5

Family Event Worthy

Dined on November 7, 2015

We had a three generation dinner here and it worked out really well! Every age group had something they wanted to order. In our case, that was a Rodizio variety for each of us. The meat was extremely tasty and the ciapiranhas were awesome. The fried bananas came quickly and were a nice extra. The salad bar was nicely stocked and they kept it clean and full throughout our meal. We left saying we couldn't wait to come back.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Good meats

Dined on November 1, 2015

Took some out of town family here on a visit. Food and drink was great. It was pricey but you should expect this with a meat centered all you can eat restaurant. Go hungry cause you'll leave in a food coma.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Arrive Hungry for Great Food

Dined on October 31, 2015

We have been to Carnaval multiple times. We enjoy going to celebrate a special event, including date night. The atmosphere is solid and the food is amazing! In addition to the great meats, you don't want to miss the pineapple.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5

Always a hit

Dined on October 31, 2015

Carnival is always a hit with my wife and myself. She is in love with the grilled pinapple so we order the medium priced meal specifically for that. The salad bar is always amazing. Pastas, veggies, cheeses, and many lettuce blends makes sure that you can satisfy a broad range of customers.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent!

Dined on October 25, 2015

We visited Carnival to celebrate my husband's birthday. The food was outstanding and we were stuffed when we left! The server was very attentive and the gauchos frequented our table almost immediately after we turned our cards over indicating we wanted more servings. A must for anyone visiting Sioux Falls!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Will go back again and again! Reservati ...

Dined on October 24, 2015

Will go back again and again! Reservation was a breeze!

Tags: romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.