Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Irene Chapski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for Groups (49)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (42)
Creative Cuisine (40)
Good for Birthdays (40)
Fun (38)
Authentic (38)
Waterfront (32)
Tasting Menu (29)
Open Kitchen (25)
Scenic View (21)
Family Style (20)
Romantic (20)
Casual (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Business Meals (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Hot Spot (14)
Comfort Food (12)
Cozy (11)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Kid-friendly (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Healthy (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
People Watching (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Outstanding Value (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Historic (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Spicy (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tapas (2)
Seasonal (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fireplace (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1403 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 20 hours ago

It was a joy. Food was amazing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Good food and fun place. Come hungry and leave full. A bit pricey as far as I'm concerned.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was good but not as good as it was two years ago when I last visited the place. The side dishes need some updating. There was a lot of chicken options added to the meat section, I kind of found that was too much chicken.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Had a amazing time with great seats by the bow windows drinks were great food was awesome waitress could of been a little more attentive

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Disabled Access, Good for Groups, People Watching, Waterfront, Bar Seating, Spicy, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 12, 2017

A little bit slow service and just a few options during lunch time for the restaurant. I was expecting more. The food is good, but the servers were not serving us like other restaurants we've gone before. Dinner is too much expensive. If the service is the same of the lunch, doesn't worth it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 9, 2017

The side dishes were quite tasty. The beef was generally overdone and not very well spiced. Given that the appeal of a Brazilian steakhouse is generally the meat, we were quite disappointed by this restaurant.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The service was excellent. Waiters were at our table every few minutes. The majority of the food was tasty. If you're not a senior (on applicable nights) it is pretty expensive. But if you want to try something different, this is definitely the place to do it.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was awesome. Wish that I could eat more.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 2, 2017

The good is very good but I think it's bit too pricey. Parking is not easy to find

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Cancún)·Dined on May 1, 2017

My husband and I went for our 18th wedding anniversary and it was fantastic. The food was great and the service was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Our table was right across from the BBQ pit (Kitchen) beside the Men's washroom on bar stools. Parking on Sunday evening was $5.00 in a parking lot, no street parking was available anywhere. Our host was nice but the red meat stopped coming around and we were given mostly chicken wraps, ribs or lamb as a choice as the evening went on.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Great place to visit, just make sure you are hungry. Variety of meats and salads.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Cozy, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Loved it! My wife and I have been there once before, but we took another couple with us this time. They said they are excited to come back, as are we. Well worth the 2 hour drive for us. See you next time.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

The service was exceptional and the meats very tasty. A unique experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 14, 2017

The gentlemen that bring the meat around are excellent. I sure hope there is a tipping pool there as ALL servers there contribute to each tables experience. We had a fabulous time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Thus was my wife and I first time here. The food was amazing and the series was exceptional. I would suggest this to anyone looking to have a little of everything for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was over cooked and dry. Meat was very salty, salt was the only thing you tasted. Very disappointed and we were expecting a lot more for the price paid. Sides were slow in coming and cold when they arrived. The best part was the bottle of wine which as it turned out my wife had to show the server how to use the corkscrew.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Carnival is a meat lovers dream, with everything from Lamb & beef to chicken & sausage there is usually something for everyone, the sides are not too bad, everytime I go though I always have the thought, I never get my money's worth, it is on the pricier side at $52 per person, of course your beverages are extra, there is unlimited meat that comes around via "carvers" and your sides are unlimited too, but I never leave feeling like I ate $52 worth of food, it's is a unique experience and I do suggest everyone try it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was overall good. Some cuts were a bit overcooked and dry. Like others have mentioned, a few cuts were quite salty (such as chicken sausage), but most were not too salty to enjoy.

As for sides, the fried polenta and cheese balls were both very good. Grilled pineapple for dessert is a must have.

We had a responsive waiter, and overall the service was quite good. It felt a bit overpriced, but hey, where else can you have your fill of 14 different cuts of meat all at once? Can't say for sure whether I'll go back, but it's definitely something you should try if you love grilled meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Fargo)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I found the meat very salty and bland especially the chicken. Very expensive for the type of quality you were getting. Some of the meats were tough also. On a good note the serving staff was excellent.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 4, 2017

The food was good. I agree with numerous other reviews that say meat was too salty , a bit dry and not that tender. The server was great..sides ok. I had a coupon. At full price it would have disappointed

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 4, 2017

Our waitress came once in the beginning to take our drink order. She never came back till we were ready to leave if we wanted anything else drink wise The meat selection was not very vast. Some was undercooked. My wife who does not eat beef waited almost 45 minutes before the one and only chicken dish came by. No more chicken ever showed after. Meat servers were the best part of the experience. Waitress was weak. Food was decent. Food servers great.

Pretty tough spending $400 plus for dinner and not being totally impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Horrible service, we waited for a server for at least half an hour. After finally showing up, forget giving us the card to start our meal. We spent another 10 minutes finding her again and reminded it. The side didn't come until we are almost done. Never checking our table. But she did keep checking the tables with more than 4 people. Sometimes there are 2 waiters serving one table. When there is actually no one caring about ours. And the price is not cheap.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I really enjoyed carnival, the service is always outstanding! and the food was really tasty!

I was disappointed in the price point. It cost my husband and I approximately $140.00 JUST for dinner. No drink (besides water) and no dessert. I understand it's all you can eat, however for this price, I would not recommend going.

Also, I asked if we could sit at a different table since it was the 2 of us. We were not allowed as we were told it was already booked and we were stuck in the middle of the restaurant surrounded by large parties. Maybe if we were more than a party of 2 this would be ok, but since it was only the 2 of us, it was very distracting and having conversation was very difficult.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Other than the fact that the menu implies refills on pop, the evening was scintillating.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Perfect birthday dinner! 😍

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Since I put a "2" down for service, I'll start with that. Once our waitress took our appetiser order, she hadn't returned to our table for just over 1/2 hour despite many attempts to flag her down and call out to her. (Felt we were ignored for no reason). The table beside us was starting to laugh as they watched us repeatedly try to get her to return. We realize it's lunch hour and busy but still too long so we eventually asked another table's waitress for a refill of coffee.
Otherwise, the gentleman serving the spitts, did a great job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 30, 2017

It was amazing!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Authentic, Open Kitchen, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Hot Spot, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 27, 2017

They rationed us food and gave us half of a half of a sausage drinks were mediocre

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Modern Decor, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We always enjoy eating at Carnaval, it's where we go for a "meat coma"

Tags: Outstanding Value, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was awesome and would sure go again I have told a lot. Of people about it

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

An amazing experience, food was excellent , service was excellent overall would recommend that u go there on a empty stomach everything is so delicious ..the staff was friendly ... the meat just kept coming our plates were full and we left there full and talking about it with friends and family !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Went for my son"s birthday and had a great time. Service was prompt and efficient and friendly. The experience is well worth it! And the meat - WOW! - nothing we didn't like! Some great sides as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was great except it was soooo hot in the restaurant it was very uncomfortable for our entire party. Looking around the restaurant, we weren't the only ones with flushed cheeks! The food and service were great, but for a $400 meal (for 6) I'd like to be a tad more comfortable so I could enjoy it.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was amazing!!! Love the well seasoned meats and the attentive servers and carvers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waited over 20 minutes before our server even came to our table to ask if we wanted a drink. If we didn't have a certificate we needed to use, we would have walked out and went elsewhere. The food was good though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service wasn't great, very slow. Food was good but the hot sides were cool.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 9, 2017

For a night out it was very pleasant. The feature is meat. Period. Sides where quite good. So many different ways of serving meat. The servers just keep bringing more beef, pork, chicken, sausages, bacon wrapped chicken and pork until you surrender. Unfortunately some where overdone. Some was superb.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food as always. The only down side was being charged an automatic gratuity of 18% and then being asked if we would like to leave a tip by the debit unit. I feel i should be able to leave the tip that i find fair.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Spicy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This is a good place for meat lovers. Also had an excellent brazilian salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.