About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Irene Chapski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (56)
Good for Groups (46)
Good for a Date (39)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (35)
Fun (35)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Authentic (29)
Waterfront (20)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Casual (19)
Open Kitchen (19)
Business Meals (17)
Hot Spot (16)
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Romantic (14)
Modern Decor (14)
Tasting Menu (14)
Scenic View (14)
Family Style (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Paleo Friendly (10)
Great for Lunch (8)
Cozy (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Notable Wine List (6)
Spicy (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
People Watching (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Seasonal (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Tapas (3)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Private Room (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Organic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
1344 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great food! Unique approach to an all y ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Unique approach to an all you can eat. They offer the main dishes (mostly meat) to you at your table and carve you a slice. Then they are off to the next table. You pick what you want to eat as they bring it around. Don't worry, they will be back many times. Sides are ordered and delivered as you want them. Great for dates, catching up with friends and families with older children or teens. It is an experience which takes some time, which may not be preferred by younger children.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

They've really jacked up their prices de ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

They've really jacked up their prices despite making no effort to improve the food or the experience itself.

It really is sad, since I love Brazilian BBQs, and have been to at least 15 different ones across North America. Carnaval has real potential, but are content to remain mediocre. Maybe they feel since they are the only game in town for this style of dining experience, they don't need to push themselves, but that will be quick path to failure - maybe another 2 years at the most.

At $52.75/person before drinks, desserts, taxes, or tips, I really don't feel that this place is a good value for that kind of money. There are way better dining experiences for that kind of cash in this city - from traditional steakhouses to entertaining nights out to wonderful worldly cuisine, and many combinations thereof.

There are a number of other Churrascarias in Canada in the $40-$45 range who offer larger selections and better cuts of meat, house specialties (cheese-stuffed prime rib!), and/or a fun atmosphere with entertainment and dancing. Carnaval offers none of this.

Anyhow, I don't mean this to slag them, but as an opportunity for improvement. I know I've sent them emails in the past with recommendations, but they never respond, so now I'm offering my opinions up in public view.

Hopefully they can right this ship before it sinks, as I still like having a Churrascaria in Winnipeg.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

The food was excellent as always at Carn ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was excellent as always at Carnival. Very good service and the restaurant has great atmosphere.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

My husband and I attended a similar rest ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I attended a similar restaurant in Calgary and were a bit apprehensive about going to a facsimile here in Winnipeg. We found the open and bright atmosphere here impressed us and the service was great! The price was high for the amount of food we consumed. There were two of us, so if the final bill included the food we consumed and the tip, the dining experience would have seemed more reasonably priced. Nice location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

2 Groups of 2 people per table went. All ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

2 Groups of 2 people per table went. All 4 of us were excited & delighted with the

food, the ambience, & the prompt service.

Booked reservations on line & 1 couple had the best seat in the house

by the monster window, overlooking the riverfront at dusk.

Husband has a handicap and they gave us enough room for him to get around easily.

Thanks for accommodating that !

Really like the coaster, red lite, green lite, idea.

By turning it to red, avoided more food until we were done eating what we had.

Did not waste a crumb.

Beef was especially outstanding ! Tasty, juicy & delicious. Yumm !

Had 1 helping of fish which only came around once and had to request lamb as we

hadn't seen any.

Sides, Caesar salad was super, mash potatoes were ok and the mixed veg were

not so mixed, carrots & beets only. But, plenty of different sides to choose from.

We just didn't want to waste food.

Would go again.

Used a Groupon and they gladly accepted it.

Would buy a Groupon again except Groupon keeps emailing you no matter what.

CARNAVAL WAS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE ! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the bar downstairs was extremely slow. w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

the bar downstairs was extremely slow. we had to go up to the bar to get drinks and by the time our drinks came. The hostess said our table was ready and had to pay the bar and chug our drinks. After that when we got upstairs everything was amazing and great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were there for my daughter's birthday ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were there for my daughter's birthday. We all had a great time and the food was delicious. I had noticed the prices had increased a bit since the last time we were here....but all in all it was an awesome evening, and although I was stuffed I wish I could have eaten more!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rubs on meat way to salty. I did not enj ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Rubs on meat way to salty. I did not enjoy the experience. I was anticipating some nice tender slow cooked meat but intsrwS received tough dry slices of meat that was extremely salty. Was disappointing for the price of meal.

231 Vineland Crescent

Winnipeg Manitoba

R3y1t7

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

Everything was excellent. I would defini ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was excellent. I would definitely go back here. Great service and food ☺ I loved it

Tags: Historic, Authentic, , Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and location were very good, ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service and location were very good, as was the atmosphere. For myself the quality was not proportional to the price. Plenty of mediocre food , from salad to meet.

it wasn't bad just fair.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Great lunch, great food, great service. ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great lunch, great food, great service. A real treat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Staff were extremely friendly, everythin ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Staff were extremely friendly, everything was explained and food was delicious! Will definitely be back again one day soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We really enjoyed our time. Because we a ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our time. Because we are seniors it was good value. I felt that the regular price was excessive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent meat served with really good s ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 6, 2017

Excellent meat served with really good salads, stew, etc. Definitely for carnivorous people. And try the ananas!

Tags: Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Perfect night. Great food awesome atmosp ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Perfect night. Great food awesome atmosphere

Love the place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was good, lots of it as well as hug ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was good, lots of it as well as huge sides portions. Service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We got there at 6:30 on a Friday and the ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We got there at 6:30 on a Friday and there were two larger tables set up. The one larger table came in about 8:00 and we were close to overstuffed, but had not seen any chicken, fish or pineapple. We asked twice for the pineapple. The larger table was being served like crazy, they got chicken, fish, pineapple and lots of the other meats. We paid the same amount of money as their table, and there were other 2-3 people tables that had already left that didn't get, pineapple, fish or chicken. Not sure if it is because they came in later or they were a bigger group. It is irrelevant, we all paid the same of $52.50 each. The meat servers were really good, the food we got was good, but, for the price you feel obligated to eat a lot and then are stuffed. Our waiter was not that attentive. I won't go back, there are way more restaurants that give a better bang and atmosphere for my buck.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Awesome atmosphere, friendly and courteo ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Awesome atmosphere, friendly and courteous staff, great food

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Service was impeccable. Food, good but n ...

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Service was impeccable. Food, good but not great.

I love Brazilian BBQ style restaurants. I go out of my way to try them, and have done so all over North America. (Best is in Chicago).

The service and attentiveness here is fab, but- too many items were overdone. I'm thinking after the first and second trip through, the server returns to skewer to the charcoal oven to stay hot. This results in overdone meat. And several times we were served medium to well done meats. Not a fan. Loses it's tenderness and flavour.

That being said, it was a Monday, not especially busy so I guess that is the result.

Some items were outstanding, like the chicken thighs and chorizo. Several meats were excellent. Just not all.

The server made sure to offer the accoutrements, and offer them regularly. They arrived fast and were tasty, particularly the grilled veggies. Appreciated, but not why we chose Carnival.

Price was fair, but I would return on a busy night to ensure the rotation of meats keeps them fresh.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Bday party

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Bday party

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Outstanding meal and great variety of me ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Outstanding meal and great variety of meat. The best of Brazilian barbecue style. Excellent customer service. I strongly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We have made frequent visits to Carnaval ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We have made frequent visits to Carnaval, and we are never disappointed. While we are a family who are meat lovers, we also have a vegetarian in our crew and she always finds a nice array of non-meat choices. something for everyone!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It was not the 1st time we had been ther ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It was not the 1st time we had been there but, it was the last. I took my husband for his birthday. We arrived about 820 had reservations for 830. They told us they were a bit behind and to have a seat in tbe lounge. At 9pm otber couples had come in after and then went to tbeir tables.. When i inquired they said the table your at has been there 2.5hrs and isn't leaving. So the 2hr limit didn't apply. But i never asked for a specific table didn't care where we sat so the next available table for 2 should have been oyrs not the 4 couples after us! Service was horrible we were halfway full before our sides arrived and almost done for the night when our server asked "how was the 1st few bites" really. Then the quality was just not there this time. Really upsetting for the price.. Definetly DO NOT reccomend.

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

I took my wife here on Jan/28 for her bi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I took my wife here on Jan/28 for her birthday. I had reservations made well in advance for 7:00pm so that was a non issue. We got in and the first thing we were asked if we had reservations, the girl told us to wait a few minutes while they prepped the table upstairs. While we were waiting, a group of about 5 came in, they were asked the same thing about having reservations. About 5 minutes later another girl walked downstairs with what looked like the menus and gave it to the girl at the front desk, who then told the group of 5 she will be right with them "as soon as I deal with these two." (Kind of unprofessional especially with the image and prices they are trying to convey.) Made us feel like we were in a fast food Burger joint. Perhaps we weren't dressed up formal enough in a suit and Mrs. in an evening gown? Regardless of that hiccup, the rest of the night was great upstairs. Good service, great food, no complaints. Everyone should try it! Just don't take the girl at the front desk too seriously, she clearly needs a bit of customer service training, which I'm sure is coming considering the upscale nature of this establishment.

Tags: Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Amazing! The food tasted fantastic! I di ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Amazing! The food tasted fantastic! I didn't even want any sides. The meat was too good! Can't wait to go back! I just have to save up some money first

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Scenic View, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very cool experience for a special occas ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Very cool experience for a special occasion! We went for our anniversary. We probably won't go back simply because we aren't big meat eaters and the experience is largely meat driven so you have to want to eat a lot of meat to get a good value for price, but I do still feel it was worth it for the experience, and I would highly recommend it.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was tasty and the service was g ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food was tasty and the service was good. However, at $52.75, I feel it was way too expensive. There is no way I can eat $53 worth of food. My husband can't either. It was good for a one-time experience, but I won't recommend the place to my friends because of the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

Been to Carnival twice, and both times w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Been to Carnival twice, and both times were memorable, and very yummy!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Special Occasion, Spicy, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were celebrating our 17 year old's bi ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We were celebrating our 17 year old's birthday - he is a big eater and this is a perfect place for him.

Tags: Family Style, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

While the concept is interesting and pro ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 20, 2017

While the concept is interesting and promising, the dinner was disappointing. You can order your specific sides, and the different meats are brought around for you to choose from. The different cuts of meat were generally quite tough, and not very well seasoned. The chicken was also quite tasteless, and almost mushy texture. The sausages were great at least! The sides were also disappointing - the hot dishes were barely lukewarm, and the fried cassava was inconsistent - some of the chips were great, and some were nearly raw. A neat idea, but we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Not first timers but early diners. Meat ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Not first timers but early diners. Meat was better than ever. Restaurant full but not crowded. Lovely view. We could barely indulge in the two small sides we ordered as we both enjoyed the meat so much. Rich, moist and flavorful and very well seasoned. Did not have room for the chicken legs but will try those another day.

Grilled cinnamon pineapple is a must to end your meal and cleanse your palate.

Enjoyed the Kroenenberg beer.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Cozy, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food! We love coming here for ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Very good food! We love coming here for food! It's my husbands favourite due to the amount of meat! 😊

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was tasty when it finally came ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The food was tasty when it finally came by our table but I felt we waited a very long time for servers to come around each time. They also kept coming by with the same types of meat and not the ones we were looking forward to trying. I also found the meat to be far too overcooked for my tastebuds. The lighting was also very bright and the atmosphere was not very conducive to the date I was on.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Definitely worth the money. We left so ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Definitely worth the money. We left so full. Service was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Most of the meat was excellent - however ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Most of the meat was excellent - however the fish was overcooked and the ribs were dry and tough -- we sampled all meat supplied

Excellent side dishes and plenty of variety

Service was superior and waiter responded to all questions and needs

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great staff as usual. Will b ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Great food, great staff as usual. Will be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good except the pric ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Everything was very good except the price. I think it's too expensive for the evening dinner. The lunch price is much more reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Carnavale was my favourite restaurant. I ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Carnavale was my favourite restaurant. I have been there 5 times in 5 months. I used to brag about it to my friends and conworkers encouraging them to experience carnavle. Since Sunday's experience, I won't be coming back. The meat was so hard it was almost impossible to chew. I tried a variety of meat which just gathered up on my plate because it was tasteless and dry. The chicken was especially dry and the rib eye was hard like a hockey puck. Even the medium rare ribeye was not tastey.This occasion was for my mothers birthday. My. Children liked the atmosphere. However, the meat was not succulent and very disappointing. I paid too much for what my family received.

Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Just disappointed that we never got to t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just disappointed that we never got to try everything..asked a few times but with our group being the small group the larger tables were being served first. Never got any of the fish asked a few times in the 2 hours we were there. Drove 1.5 hours to come to this restaurant and had higher expectations

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great experience! Food and service were ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great experience! Food and service were fantastic! Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.