About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ is located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. The two floor restaurant has been the outcome of the hard work from our team that has worked tirelessly to bring you such great restaurants as Hermanos Restaurant & Wine Bar, Corrientes Argentine Pizzeria and the Billabong Gastro Pub.

Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Featuring a wood coal burning BBQ that came from Rio Grande do Sul,South Brazil, home of the famous Brazilian BBQ. This rotisserie style BBQ, makes for the most tender, juicy, perfectly cooked cuts of meats. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Brazilian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

We welcome and invite you to enjoy Winnipegʼs only original steakhouse experience of this tropical South American country. We welcome you to CARNAVAL Brazilian BBQ.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS - Menu available.
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Emma Molaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (120)
good for groups (107)
fit for foodies (75)
See All
scenic view (62)
neighborhood gem (38)
hot spot (35)
romantic (32)
great for lunch (27)
notable wine list (13)
kid-friendly (12)
late-night find (11)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for brunch (5)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1132 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've been here 3 times and it was a grea ...

Dined 4 days ago

I've been here 3 times and it was a great experience everytime, service is good but could be a little better, had a couple times where we had a bit of a wait for a server to come back, but overall it was still awesome

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food did not keep coming...

Dined 5 days ago

I visited Carnaval roughly six month ago before going again this past weekend. The service was friendly and the table was ready for us. Not sure if it was the location (first table by the window, close to the barbecue pit) or the fact that was a long weekend but the meat came very sporadically and the number of beef cuts were less than before. On the plus side the ever elusive pineapple came twice! The sides have not changed much, the fried yucca is now thicker but that was about it. Still a great experience, but I was dreaming on all those cuts coming constantly and it was more like a trickle. Left with a full tummy and would recommend, just a little less enthusiastically.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

loved our experience. The food was amazi ...

Dined 5 days ago

loved our experience. The food was amazing. But 3 hours would be better, we felt very rushed . i had no idea it was a 2 hour limit or we would have made reservations somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined 6 days ago

This was our first visit to Carnaval and it did not disappoint. Service was great, food was awesome. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very much enjoy the food, location is ni ...

Dined 6 days ago

very much enjoy the food, location is nice for short walk after big dinner. parking can be a bit of a challenge on weekends. its a lot of meat, so go hungry!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was awesome! The people at the restaurant did a great job!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. Our group was s ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Our group was seated immediately. Sangrias were really good, food was fabulous, sides were great, staff were friendly and helpful. Some one in our party remembered having the filet wrapped in bacon and some sort of a grilled cheese. Apparently both are now off the menu so she was a little disappointed, mostly because she wanted us to try them. We would definitely go back. thanks,

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Meat Lovers...This Place Is For You

Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrated Mother's Day and being my 2nd time here, it was enjoyable. If you like meat, this place serves a lot of it. With a set price of $45 for dinner (including all the sides you can eat), relatively good price. It does get pricey though when you order a full bottle of wine. Their sirloin is definitely top notch. The pork serving were good too. They also serve lamb but I am not a fan of lamb. They come around to offer another meat sample in a timely manner so you have time to enjoy your selection. The staff were friendly and accommodating to our requests. Would definitely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Meat Eaters Dream

Dined on May 3, 2016

As a vegetarian I only ate the sides and they were very good. My date enjoyed the meat very much as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carnaval BBQ

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was amazing. It was a completely new dining experience! The staff was friendly!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

very friendly and quick service

Dined on May 1, 2016

very friendly and quick service

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Noisy

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was with a quiet group including seniors. Placed next to a large family gathering whose children continuously ran around unattended like banshees. Completely took away from the experience. Took a walk to another area of the restaurant, it was nice and quiet. Could have been seated much better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the unique experience. The se ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed the unique experience. The service was friendly with fresh, juicy, tender, flavourful meat offered to us on a regular basis. This was a wonderful way to celebrate our wedding anniversary with friends.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for a first date!

Dined on April 30, 2016

decided to try something new and Carnaval made our first date magical...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gluten is known

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waitress was very knowledgeable with regards to gluten free. This is great to see and will have us coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Upscale experience without the upscale attitude. Friendly environment with a great show

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Great food delivery service, poor waiter service

Dined on April 23, 2016

While the frequency of the servers that brought the meat selections to the table was outstanding, not to mention they seemed very happy, energetic and friendly, the same can't be said for the waiter. while he seemed friendly and helpful at first, it just went downhill from there. He took our drink and side dish order, brought our drinks then disappeared. he came by later to see if we wanted to order any sides, even though we had already ordered sides and they had not came out yet. Once we were finished eating, we placed our napkins on the table as well as my wallet, a pretty obvious sign that we were ready to go. It was at least 15 minutes until he acknowledged us, and I asked for the bill. It was at least another 10 minutes before he came back with the bill. I would consider it poor service when 25 minutes of our 70 minute stay is waiting to leave.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing experience.

Dined on April 23, 2016

I loved it as my first time experience. I was a little put off by the several babies at the one large group. But after about 10 minutes it was fine. If I had to say anything different. It would have been more variety. They had several different types of meat but it became repetitive after about half hour. Understand that it was a great experience and will definitely do it again next time I am in town.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing food and Staff

Dined on April 17, 2016

It's definitely a must place to go In Winnipeg, it's truly a one of a kind Argentinian experience with amazing mouthwatering foods

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Got Meat? They've got lots!!!

Dined on April 16, 2016

The selection of meats were delicious, cooked to perfection, and served continuously! Side dishes were all very tasty, especially the Chef's Bread Basket and Caesar salad. Their specialized cocktails were refreshing, but the drink service was disappointingly slow. We had a hard time getting our server back to the table throughout the meal service.b other than that, it was great!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience1
service4
value3

Sad that they could not get the fans working

Dined on April 16, 2016

Way way too noisy, we sat at a table that had the air system in the wall, they had a mechanical issue and no other tables. No option other than stay and tough it out or leave. We stayed and not even a discount offered, the waitress was sorry and embarrassed. Little consolation.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Be really hungry!

Dined on April 16, 2016

Really enjoyed Carnaval, food and service were excellent. Unfortunately we would only return if there was a special occasion because the adult price is far too expensive to visit very often.

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

i wouldnt recomend this restaurant if yo ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

i wouldnt recomend this restaurant if youre looking to try Brazilian food. The menu looks fun and apealing but the food you receive is basically candian food that you could get at Moxies.

food4
ambience3
service3
value4

It was worth it

Dined on April 7, 2016

I read a lot of negative reviews but I'm not sure what those people were expecting, you pay about as much to go to The Keg but you'll never leave as full. I won't say every piece of meat was a slam dunk but the beef was AWESOME!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

lost it's appeal

Dined on April 3, 2016

Perhaps it was just the day we went, but it's something we will not be doing again. The service was outstanding, the surroundings were great but the meat was very tough and chewy. Lucky we are seniors and it was 1/2 price on Sunday, I would have been most upset to pay full price. Not worth it anymore.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and service as always

Dined on April 3, 2016

Great food and service as always

food4
ambience2
service1
value1

Not pleased with the service!

Dined on March 31, 2016

At $120 I was not expecting to remind staff to bring me my coffee. My friend and his wife paid $178 for their meal and had to remind staff 4 times that they had ordered drinks. I expected more for the price. The food was good, but not worth the price paid! Sorry to say this, but I left the restaurant feeling like I had been taken advantage of.

food5
ambience5
service5

It all stood out here, the experience wa ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

It all stood out here, the experience was great in all aspects.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

As much as you want to eat...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

The tendency seems to be toward well-done, which is likely based on patron feedback. If you are willing to wait, the servers and kitchen are happy to accommodate requests for rarer cuts. When cooked to (my) preference, the protein is generally quite good, but Carnaval does not live up to the established US chains who do it much better. Sides are particularly dreadful - stick to the fries. A big dining cheque that ultimately does not deliver for me. There are much better choices in Winnipeg, particularly if you are willing to spend this kind of money.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was always hit and fresh and th ...

Dined on March 24, 2016

The food was always hit and fresh and the taste was fantastic! The service was great as well!

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Fabulous!

Dined on March 23, 2016

Took my son, sister, and nephew for dinner. Food was wonderful, server was very attentive. It was a fabulous experience for all of us. Some of us got a chance to try items we never would have tried otherwise. The cuts of meat were mouth watering and cooked to perfection. The very tasty fresh salads help to balance out the meataganza.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I loved this place so much! So amazing !

Dined on March 20, 2016

The meat was all cooked so well and juicy! The wine was delish! The waiters were extremely pleasant and we didn't wait long for anything which was perfect! The mashed potatoes and fries OH MY GOD so good too

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Server was great and food was fantastic!

Dined on March 14, 2016

Server was great and food was fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantatsic night out!

Dined on March 6, 2016

We had only heard of your restaurant as a great place to go with excellent food. So we were pleasantly surprised on our arrival to learn how dinner was served and it certainly is unique. We were two couples that enjoy eating out and trying different places and we were very impressed. Service, food and wine were all excellent. We'll be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious and filling

Dined on March 5, 2016

All you can eat meat ... how could it be anything but delightful? We really enjoyed our experience here. Definitely salty but we were good with that.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Great experience!

Dined on February 29, 2016

Love the experience! Very good food and very attentive staff. The only drawback is that it is somewhat over-priced. Our dinner for 6 came out to over $500.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was nice but missed our reorder o ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Server was nice but missed our reorder of drinks but was able to get us an extra piece is a selection from grill which was great. Gouchos were super nice. Pinapple was a great surprise and a hit at our table.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

This is a place for an experience! We h ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

This is a place for an experience! We have been here twice now and have enjoyed it each time. Keep up the yummy work!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience4
service5

Service was great Food was very good Ve ...

Dined on February 26, 2016

Service was great Food was very good Very filling

food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A must try

Dined on February 21, 2016

We had heard from friends that we had to try this hidden gem when trying out new restaurants in Winnipeg. We try at least one new restaurant a month and February was Carnaval month, we were not disappointed. The food was great, service outstanding and the wine list more than adequate. Not a place we would go often due to the prices, but for a special treat or occasion most definitely!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.