Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Irene Chapski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

Noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (80)
Good for Groups (53)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
See All
Fun (47)
Good for a Date (46)
Good for Birthdays (46)
Creative Cuisine (38)
Worth the Drive (38)
Authentic (34)
Fit for Foodies (33)
Waterfront (31)
Casual (28)
Romantic (26)
Tasting Menu (25)
Scenic View (24)
Comfort Food (21)
Hot Spot (21)
Cozy (17)
Business Meals (15)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Healthy (11)
Pre/post Theatre (11)
Great for Lunch (10)
Kid-friendly (9)
People Watching (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Spicy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tapas (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Great Beer (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Organic (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
1601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

I had the all you can eat dinner (around $55 per person). For the most part it was really good. Nice char on the meats and seasoned well. Unlimited amount of sides with great choices and large enough to be shared. Friendly and attentive service. It was my boyfriends birthday as well and he received a free dessert which was nice. The only problem for me was that for someone who likes their meat medium rare, majority of the meats were served well done. Also, it was a bit hard to try every meat selection within the two hour limit. Often they would come around with the same meats and I would have to ask specifically for a type because it never came around (ie. chorizo came around four times but prime rib never did; had to ask for it). Overall, nice experience but probably won’t come back. Novelty of the place is great but it’s the kind of place you go for experience and I think once is enough.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

My parents and I went to Carnaval and has an amazing time. The food was delicious with plenty of variety. My only tiny complaint is certain meats took awhile to come to us, like the prime rib (we didn’t get that until the end when we were basically full). Otherwise, great food and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 14, 2018

Had an amazing experience as always. Food was outstanding and so was service. Great job to the entire team at carnaval.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 14, 2018

Great restaurant, awesome food and helpful staff. Albeit a little pricey but worth the amount of food you get. We come here once in awhile and are always impressed. Bbq'd pineapple is the best!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 13, 2018

The meats all had good flavour, however, the pork was dry, the sirloin was like rubber. Some were inedible because they were undercooked. The lamb was good and the prime rib was very good. We spent $300 for 4 of us which includes one drink each plus a moderately generous tip for the servers. Overall, the meat was very disappointing. Stick to the Keg if you want quality and value....Carnaval needs to improve before this carnivor returns!

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value1

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Surprise! Best vegan/vegetarian food in town. I’ll be back 😊😊

Tags: Great for Lunch, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 12, 2018

Love the ambiance and the food.. but it is pricy for what you get.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 12, 2018

Service was excellent it was a magical evening. Our waiter was outstanding and the pineapple and food took your breath away

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 9, 2018

Dry and salty. $60 for a $20 meal. A neat idea for a resturaunt, bad delivery. Service was great tho. I will never go back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Must love meat and have a hearty appetite to make your visit worth the price of your bill.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2018

My wife and I went for dinner to Carnival recently and overall we enjoyed the experience. Our waitress wasn't great at checking in with us throughout the evening but there was a good variety of meats to try and the we sampled a few side dishes as well. Also, the pineapple with cinnamon and sugar on it was delicious.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

This was our second visit. Much better than the first time. Go early and go when it's busy for properly cooked, juicy meat. Avoid the roasted vegetables, they're over-seasoned to the point of being inedible. Overall, a good experience, even if a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Didn't have a window seat on this visit, so ambiance not as great. Service was great-servers came around often and were friendly and helpful. We ordered 2 salads as side dishes. They were pretty much identical, and both drenched in a very vinegary dressing. Other salad we ordered was very vinegary as well. Went for lunch, pricey at $25/person for what we could eat. Can't imagine paying $52/person for supper when I can not eat any more than I did for lunch.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Poorly cooked meats,way over priced ,bad service,bad overall made me feel like they were just trying to get my money

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
·Dined on January 3, 2018

Service was great as well as the dishes. Overall, would definitely come back!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 1, 2018

Went for New Years, service was excellent and food was good. Could have been cheaper for food offered but good overall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

It was wonderful. A great place to take my boyfriend for his birthday and a good way to kick off our New Years Eve.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

Would have given it a better rating but the food is too much salty. And the servings are too big which is not what i am expecting. Has a comparison with fugo de chao that i spend dinner in the states

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 29, 2017

Overall is very good except the parking. Difficult to find parking in downtown and expensive.

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 29, 2017

We went for lunch and even with the reduced menu options, we were satisfied with the picanha, alcatra and macaxeira frita. My family is Brazilian, so we are very familiar with "rodizio churrascarias" and what I suggest is that the servers slice (shave) off thinner pieces of meat when they serve, which has a great impact on the flavour of the meat. Next time we visit Winnipeg, I am sure we will stop by for lunch again.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 28, 2017

The food was awesome and the staff was very friendly!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Beautiful place. The whole concept is pretty nice. We loved the food. Definitely going back.

Tags: People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 28, 2017

Lovely restaurant and delicious food. Waiters are very attentive and friendly, food is great. Will definitely come again.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Yearly get-together for a group

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 27, 2017

Our 2 sons work in construction camps and are away for 4-6 weeks at a time. This year both of our sons were away for their birthdays. I usually give them $50.00 each for their birthdays but working at the jobs they do, they both said...Mom, we don't need the money. So my husband and I had first time attended your restaurant in October and thought...what a great idea to take the boys for their birthdays....they loved the experience and begged...please, lets do this again next year.

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Comfort Food, Fun, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 24, 2017

It is my 4th time to eat in this place.. I was gonna give a 5 but I was quite disappointed with the lamb shoulder it was tough and a lil bit on the salty side but everything is still great

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2017

Love going to carnival been 4-5 times this year alone and already planing on going for my birthday service is always great and the food is always better!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 21, 2017

Staff were friendly and helpful. Food was delicious. Great value for lunchtime menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 18, 2017

Some of the food choices were good, some were incredibly salty. Overall, for the $52 it was far too expensive for drum sticks / wings/ribs. It was good, but too pricey for what we ate.

Tags: Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

 
·Dined on December 17, 2017

Always great food and tons of options. Leave way over full everytime.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Carnaval had great service and were accommodating of all our requests. The food was amazing. Definitely would recommend it and go there again!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

First I would like to say that service, quality and ambiance were good for the evening. Lots of food and staff were quick to ensure we had everything we needed. You definitely don't go for the side dishes though, that needs a lot of upgrading and more flavor. Was already warned that so didn't have much faith in the side orders. Cramped for sure though but that would never stop us from coming. The evening was good until the end when waitress came by 3 times in 15 minutes to see if we needed anything. When we decided that we wanted the bill it came right away but we wanted to finish up our cocktails. Unfortunately the waitress kept coming to see if we needed anything which was fine, she is doing her job but then management came over and told us that you need the table and had to leave. That we could go down to the lounge if we like. Now I get that it's busy, however with that being said if you are going to ask us to to go to your lounge after spend $330 with a $40 tip then you could atleast have a table ready! Never in my 41 years have I ever felt so disregarded as a customer!!! Was quite embarrassing. For that reason alone, I can't say I would come back to your establishment and if for whatever reason if I did come back I would definitely not pay the bill until we were ready to go!!!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Very happy we came here for our annual Xmas supper Service was excellent. Did not have to wait long to start eating because servers were frequently coming around to offer meat choices

Neat experience

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 15, 2017

Food was excellent. Tried all if their cuts. Would have liked if they had more meats and different cuts and spices. But would recommend it for quality and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on December 14, 2017

Everything was really good! Till we saw the receipt the next day, and saw that they automatically charge a tip! Which is fine but we didn’t see that and therefore we gave double tip. Called them about this and both times they couldn’t help us got transferred and hung up on. They said they would call back but didn’t! Not impressed!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 13, 2017

Great food...service side was a bit confusing as we had different staff wait on use with regards to app orders and drinks. This cause us to wait 25 mins to order apps and drinks as the staff thought that another staff member was helping us.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
·Dined on December 12, 2017

Very poor service from the waitress who did not come back to check for side dishes or offer the vegetarian any other options. We had 3 side dishes for 5 people and one was the wrong order. The vegetarian paid $28 to share these dishes with everyone which was extremely pricey. The men who were offering the meat were courteous and attentive during the meal. It was a slow night so expected much better service for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 9, 2017

service was amazing our waiter esteban was awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
·Dined on December 8, 2017

I really enjoyed our meal! The service was awesome and the food there is very good! I would recommend this place to anyone who wants a nice friendly place with awesome food and atmosphere..

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Healthy, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 7, 2017

The food and atmosphere was very good. Service was great to ensure you were never waiting for a new type of meat. My biggest complaint is we were abruptly asked to leave after 2 hours and our group had no opportunity to really digest and enjoy each others company. We had already settled our bill so clearly were not spending time eating more food. When we left there was clearly no one waiting for a table in the lobby so I don't understand why clients are rushed out the door. Very poor policy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.