About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ is located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Featuring a wood coal burning BBQ that came from Rio Grande do Sul, South Brazil, home of the famous Brazilian BBQ. This rotisserie style BBQ, makes for the most tender, juicy, perfectly cooked cuts of meats. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Brazilian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

We welcome and invite you to enjoy Winnipegʼs only original steakhouse experience of this tropical South American country. We welcome you to CARNAVAL Brazilian BBQ.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS - Menu available.
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Torrezan

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
1 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (93)
Good for Groups (77)
Fit for Foodies (54)
See All
Scenic View (47)
Neighborhood Gem (24)
Hot Spot (19)
Romantic (13)
Great for Lunch (13)
Kid-friendly (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Notable Wine List (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Casual (9)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Authentic (7)
Family Style (6)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Fun (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Open Kitchen (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Waterfront (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Business Meals (2)
Cozy (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
People Watching (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1214 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Good meal at Carnival, Service was promp ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Good meal at Carnival, Service was prompt and courteous. Fun place to go with friends

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value5

We made a reservation for 7pm and we wer ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We made a reservation for 7pm and we weren't seated until 730. Once we got to the table the service was good and the food was delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Lovely first time visit, however servers ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Lovely first time visit, however servers would not comment on the spice level of each meat. My wife doesn't like very spicy food so I was the tester (no complaints).

Great first experience.

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Romantic, Fun, Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Thanks! :) Enjoyed our experience here!! ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Thanks! :) Enjoyed our experience here!! Would definitely go back with friends :)

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

It was a great experience. Lots of food ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

It was a great experience. Lots of food to pick from. The only thing i did not appreciate was being charged 18% gratuity for having a party of 8 or more. Our waiter took a drink order and brought us our sides. That is all. He did not check on us or refill drinks.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Don't go here if you are low on cash, lo ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Don't go here if you are low on cash, lol. But the food is great, you have a great view of the lovely streets nearby, and it is certainly different than your average restaurant. I came for mine and my husband's second wedding anniversary and it was a great experience. Huge variety in the meats and their drinks and sides were good as well.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The meat were either too cooked or too r ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

The meat were either too cooked or too rare. The quality of meat was not good at all. Id recommend Joeys or The Keg instead. $50 dinner was not worthwhile.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

Sept 8th 2016 Wow! Last Sunday my husba ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Sept 8th 2016

Wow! Last Sunday my husband, daughter and myself went to celebrate her birthday. The food was amazing and kept coming. The service was impeccable. The ambiance was great - light and clean feeling the huge windows overlooking the roundabout made for a very airy feel. Dress was neat casual. Sundays are a great savings for seniors be sure to tell them that in advance.

Of the 12 meats and 12 sides offered SOBRE-COXA DE FRANGO, MAMINHA and CORDEIRO were our table favorites. We sampled most of the sides and the CHORIZO & CHICKPEA STEW was our favorite. We also sampled the seafood skewer which in hindsight was overkill.

We were so stuffed we bypassed coffee afterwards and rolled our way home.

Two things of note - bring $ 6.00 in coins for parking and you can take home meat scraps for your pups.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Loved the variety of meats & the side di ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Loved the variety of meats & the side dishes are the right size for sharing. We tried a few but didn't want to fill up on them. The staff was exceptional...very attentive to your needs & friendly. Live that they have a special price for Seniors on Sunday as well.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Overpriced, ambiance was lacking . Disa ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Overpriced, ambiance was lacking . Disappointing overall

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value1

We were denied a window table despite se ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We were denied a window table despite several being open throughout our 2 hour stay. What kind of restaurant serves pop by the bottle? You make enough money to throw unlimited fountain drinks into the mix. Aside from that, great experience

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We had a great 1st experience. Loved ev ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a great 1st experience. Loved everything about it. Great food and great service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Romantic, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and very good food oth ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Excellent service and very good food other then being a bit salty. Would definitely recommend trying.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I love the place,Lots of meat selection, ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

I love the place,Lots of meat selection, love the Brazilian food. It is a little costly, but good food.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was absolutely fabulous. Appreciate ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Food was absolutely fabulous. Appreciated the great table since we were visiting the city from Cleveland, Ohio.

We have a similar restaurant where we live and I would have to say thus surpassed what we expected.

Thanks for the great service and great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I attended for a special get together. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

I attended for a special get together. Everything went well, a very unique restaurant. There was no shortage of food. A unique way of making a pineapple desert was a nice surprise. I would go back in a heartbeat. Me and my guests had a wonderful time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great server was good, Portions ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was great server was good, Portions were perfect to try could always ask for more if you liked an item. I would go back another time with my whole family

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was pretty good. Got in right away with our reservation and enjoyed the evening

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great and ambiance even better! ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great and ambiance even better! A trip to Brazil right here in Winnipeg. Try the Caipirinhas at the bar and be sure to go there hungry!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was wonderful, all workers were ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was wonderful, all workers were nice and welcoming, the food is one of the best you can really ask for, you get your hunger away for a while and not really have to roll out of the restaurant, the quality is rare a this of the globe. I have visited lots of European restaurants in my life, witch is not an easy job to find a good one in our city, and ithe visit at Carnaval Brazil Bqq really reminded what is good quality. 5 stars!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great experience and we boo ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, great experience and we booked at 430 when they opened the 2nd floor and had a wonderful window view. Price was high but not too high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very disappointed in the ambiance. W ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Was very disappointed in the ambiance. We came for our first anniversary and were expecting a much different setting. The room was filled with babies crying and the dining room felt very cramped and crowded. Would not recommend for a romantic meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Lovely fun-filled evening...lots of vari ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely fun-filled evening...lots of variety and very tasty. Overall very positive interactive experience !

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was lovely, from the service ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was lovely, from the service to the atmosphere to the food. There is only one thing that we noticed that would deter us from recommending the restaurant to our parents and perhaps others and that is that some of the meat was too salty (or perhaps over seasoned?). The meats were cooked perfectly and were very juicy however, we are not used to eating with a lot of salt and that was on thing we noticed. With that said, overall we really loved our experience at Carnaval. Our favorite meats were the sausages and the bacon wrapped chicken as well as the grilled pineapple with cinnamon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place. Stupid parking situation ( ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice place. Stupid parking situation (or lack there of). Pleasant staff. Good food.

I will return to Carnival Brazilian BBQ.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had a very awesome first time experien ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I had a very awesome first time experience! Although the meat was salty it was still delicious! And water never hurts anyone so yummy!! My waitress was lovely and funny, she answered every question I had and every taste bud so I was happy :) it is a very amusing interesting most fascinating restaurant I have ever been too, I recommend this to anyone wanting to have a very special or new stunning experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More options for sides at brunch would b ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

More options for sides at brunch would be nice...salads were ok but other options for dinner selections would be nice

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service was great. Big family b ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service was great. Big family birthday dinner. Pricey but worth it until I found out the waiter dug through one of our guests leftover box which was a vegetarian alternative and not the all you can eat Brazillian BBQ choice to inspect and remove anything that was not in her pasta dish. A bit of an offensive end to our expensive evening. Won't be back. Left a nice tip too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was a 10!!!!! So happy we made ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was a 10!!!!! So happy we made the choice of trying you guys! We went for our 35th wedding anniversary ! The table behind us group of 7 got seriously loud, not sure if the women @ the table just had a bit to much to drink or what the case was..talking and laughing @ the top of their lungs. We actually left sooner than we we wanted...somewhat annoying ...but defiantly not your establishments fault. Was unfortunate for us though..☹️..but we will be back!!!😁

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed ourselves. Great exper ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

You never leave hungry. Lots of choices ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

You never leave hungry. Lots of choices for all appetites. Service was very prompt

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bbq is exactly as advertised down to bbq ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Bbq is exactly as advertised down to bbq pineapple (delicious) if you get first cuts you are getting rare. After each cut the meat appeared to be going back on the spit. So later cuts were more well done.

Less often the better cuts come. One lamb in 90 minutes vs chicken thighs almost every 10 minutes.

The free sides some good some not. Black bean stew was watery and tasteless. Good cesar salad. Fries are fries. Chef basket deep fried meat in crispy batter.

Arrive hungry. 2 hour time limit should be plenty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Menu has broad appeal in the lounge/pati ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Menu has broad appeal in the lounge/patio. Server was attentive, food delivered in a timely fashion. The plates were a bit awkward - long narrow rectangles - caused some "spillage." The outdoor patio is lovely - but our table needed to be cleaner. The food was tasty and reasonable - but the wine is a killer - our $77 cheque consisted of $33 in food - we shared 2 items and $44 in wine - the least expensive by the glass. MY advice - buy a bottle. Very pleasantly set.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was delicious. There wasn't ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was delicious. There wasn't one thing the 4 of us tried that we didn't enjoy. Definitely going back. Service, food, atmosphere all great. Just a little pricey as most can't eat $50 worth of food but it was great experience anyways.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A little loud at time but enjoyed the ex ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A little loud at time but enjoyed the experience and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was so delicious ! Our server (Regg ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was so delicious ! Our server (Reggie) was awesome. Could not have been better night. Definitely wear comfortable clothes because you really eating ALOT! :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We expected to pay more for great food o ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We expected to pay more for great food on a special occasion but the cost was far greater than the amount of food we consumed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Usually good, but not this time. All me ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Usually good, but not this time. All meats overdone, dry and tough. Sides were still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was fantastic even for a picky eate ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was fantastic even for a picky eater who only eats well done meat The only complaint was the temperature of the restaurant It was extremely hot and humid in there even though they had the AC at the lowest it would go I you plan to go do it when it's not hot outside otherwise you will roast

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time here, very tasty food. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our second time here, very tasty food. The bbq was delicious and the sides were great. For 2 people the sides could have been smaller. Overall a very good experience! I would go back and recommend to others!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.