About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Irene Chapski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian Bbq - Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ, Winnipeg, MB

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (48)
Good for Groups (39)
Good for a Date (30)
See All
Fun (28)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Authentic (23)
Good for Anniversaries (23)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Waterfront (19)
Scenic View (16)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Hot Spot (13)
Casual (13)
Worth the Drive (13)
Open Kitchen (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Business Meals (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Romantic (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Family Style (8)
Wood Oven (8)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Cozy (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Tapas (4)
Seasonal (4)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
People Watching (4)
Healthy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Spicy (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Private Room (2)
Fireplace (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Organic (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1309 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was tasty when it finally came ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

The food was tasty when it finally came by our table but I felt we waited a very long time for servers to come around each time. They also kept coming by with the same types of meat and not the ones we were looking forward to trying. I also found the meat to be far too overcooked for my tastebuds. The lighting was also very bright and the atmosphere was not very conducive to the date I was on.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Definitely worth the money. We left so ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 2 days ago

Definitely worth the money. We left so full. Service was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Most of the meat was excellent - however ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Most of the meat was excellent - however the fish was overcooked and the ribs were dry and tough -- we sampled all meat supplied

Excellent side dishes and plenty of variety

Service was superior and waiter responded to all questions and needs

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, great staff as usual. Will b ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food, great staff as usual. Will be returning.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was very good except the pric ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was very good except the price. I think it's too expensive for the evening dinner. The lunch price is much more reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Carnavale was my favourite restaurant. I ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Carnavale was my favourite restaurant. I have been there 5 times in 5 months. I used to brag about it to my friends and conworkers encouraging them to experience carnavle. Since Sunday's experience, I won't be coming back. The meat was so hard it was almost impossible to chew. I tried a variety of meat which just gathered up on my plate because it was tasteless and dry. The chicken was especially dry and the rib eye was hard like a hockey puck. Even the medium rare ribeye was not tastey.This occasion was for my mothers birthday. My. Children liked the atmosphere. However, the meat was not succulent and very disappointing. I paid too much for what my family received.

Thank you.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Just disappointed that we never got to t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just disappointed that we never got to try everything..asked a few times but with our group being the small group the larger tables were being served first. Never got any of the fish asked a few times in the 2 hours we were there. Drove 1.5 hours to come to this restaurant and had higher expectations

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Great experience! Food and service were ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great experience! Food and service were fantastic! Highly recommend

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A unique experience. The meat is the mai ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

A unique experience. The meat is the main feature but most were overcooked and tougher than I expected. The side dishes were delicious. This would be great at $30 per plate but expected better for the price.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Good food....good service.... enjoyable ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Good food....good service.... enjoyable dlning experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Tapas, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Used a groupon so a little cheaper than ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Used a groupon so a little cheaper than normal. I don't know if I would spend 55$ again for it. The service upstairs was great, friendly, never had an empty plate. Some items were to salty for me, but getting a portion than has less exterior seasoning would solve that. The sides were tasty and they are right two people sharing two or three of them is enough. The bacon they wrap things in is amazing. Really good pork ribs, and rib eye. The chicken, meh. Didn't try the fish...we were here for meat. I was disappointed with the lounge, they make you wait there for a table, so we waited for the bartender, she made some drinks, then served the people that arrived after us. The capririhnia was 10$, I was disappointed with it, didn't find it was mixed well, as I have had them before and make them at home. Overall fun place to go for a group of 4-6 for an evening out

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We went for our anniversary New Year's E ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We went for our anniversary New Year's Eve, arrived early and we sat in the bar for a cocktail each, seated promptly and given a crash course on what to expect. We were told it was a buffet which implies we help ourselves to a table laden with various foods but it was explained to us that he called it a "buffet" because it was an all you could eat menu. Don't use the word buffet then.

I am NOT being picky about our experience we were clearly in attention competition with the next table to us which had about 10 people. We got our sides and then my husband literally had to lift his arm and wave at servers to come to our table so we could have some meat. With the exception of the chicken and lamb everything was so over the top salty we were continually drinking water from the carafe filled with tepid tap water.

2 cocktails, over salted fries and meats, a Caesar salad that was good and a palm salad my husband didn't finish all came to with taxes and tip $157 plus change.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

Cold atmosphere,greeting staff member sn ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Cold atmosphere,greeting staff member snapped at my wife because we asked about being seated.Food was decent if you are a carnivor.Over all, somewhat dissapointed.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Alway happy to attend only problems is t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Alway happy to attend only problems is the wait for certain foods when asked we never ended up getting the salmon so that was disappointing our bill was for 5 people and I feel we really didn't consume anywhere near the amount of the cost but all in all I do like the experience but this is not an everyday choice more like a once or twice a year venture.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value2

It has been 3 years since our last visit ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 30, 2016

It has been 3 years since our last visit. Things sure have changed, and not for the better!

The service was courteous but very slow. It took over 1/2 hour to get a salad and bread, even when we asked about it every 5 minutes.

The meats are so salty as to be almost inedible. In 2 hours the cheap cuts came by our table often, but we actually never had some of the choice pieces that I saw come off the grill make it to our table.

I would never recommend this place to anyone!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

The starters take awhile to be served as ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 29, 2016

The starters take awhile to be served as well as the drinks.

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value4

The meat was amazing! Service excellent! ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The meat was amazing! Service excellent! The sides left a little to be desired but we went for the BBQ so we were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

It is an experience to try at least once ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

It is an experience to try at least once! If you are not a huge meat lover, you may get full very fast!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The cuts of meat that had just came off ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 24, 2016

The cuts of meat that had just came off the rotisery were very salty this time around.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

They need to find s a way to keep the me ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 23, 2016

They need to find s a way to keep the meat hot... it's a problem !!! Wine is overpriced! Interesting Place but go hungry!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Shook my head every time I took a bite o ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Shook my head every time I took a bite of the meat items because they were THAT good.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Disabled Access, Seasonal, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Special Occasion, Spicy, Great for Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Private Room, Fireplace, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Meat was delicious, but there were no ro ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Meat was delicious, but there were no roasted veggies!!

Did not care for deep fried options..

Could have a little more ambiance!!

Dancing? Was there dancing?

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value2

Definately an interesting place to exper ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Definately an interesting place to experience. Staff courteous and friendly... We were sat on time to our 5:15 pm reservation. Wonderful window seat with waterfront views and a view of the chef prep and BBQ! Ambience was nice & clean, however half way through our meal - party of 20+people were seated and extremely loud- all tables are a bit cramped and with a totally open concept- completely changed the ambiance . Lots of of meat offered... verry filling... however only 1 "rare" temperature offered (delicious) and 2 "medium". Sausage options very good. Remaining chicken, pork, wings and bacon wrapped meats were very over cooked & dried out. No condiments or S&P to choke it down. 3 of 6 side dishes were terrible- unsure if it was authentic brazilion or the recipie. Our waiter was very knowledgeable and helpful however too busy with other tables to even get us a bottle of water. After the large party was sat he returned only once to give the bill. Asking skewer people for assistance? " your waiter can help you with that" ... 4 people with a bill (incl food and 6 alcohol drinks) totalling > $320... Happy we tried it? Yea. Would we return? Probably not. This restaurant needs more attentive service and better food overall to match the pricetag.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Absolutely amazing, everything tasted so ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Absolutely amazing, everything tasted so good, and the service was amazing as well, defenetly something I would do again!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The selection of meats was excellent. V ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The selection of meats was excellent. Very flavourful and any cooked very nicely. Bring your appetite to make it worth the price. Meat lovers paradise. Thoroughly enjoyed it and will be going back for sure.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was good, but the meat was rath ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The food was good, but the meat was rather salty, especially the end pieces (which I prefer).

There was a really large party at the same time my group dined, and often we were forgotten and over shadowed by the larger group with the meat dishes. (Which was okay as we were okay to eat at a slower pace). However the waitress who was diligent when we were first seated, hardly came by after the larger group arrived. We had hoped to refill out sangria pitcher, but she never came by, and when she did, she just cleared it. We wanted to order more rounds of drinks, but again, she seldom came by, we had to ask the guys serving meat to send her our way, it took forever for the bill to arrive, it only came when one person of my party was getting ready to go for a smoke. The food was good, but not great (a bit salty), the service alright, but not great. A good restaurant, but defiantly not the best in Winnipeg.

Tags: Fun, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

I guess I expected a bit too much - the ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I guess I expected a bit too much - the decor was lacking. Staff was good - opportunity to try lots of sides (advertised as all you can eat) but the hostesses were watching to closely if you "liked" everything (to see food waste I guess). Good first experience but now that I've been, I don't think I'd go again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value1

The meat was a bit over cooked and way t ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 17, 2016

The meat was a bit over cooked and way too salty. Not sure if they accidentally put too much salt on the meat for that night. Couldn't eat half of it. The wine was nice and the service was good though.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Wow! My first visit, but will not be my ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wow! My first visit, but will not be my last. :)

Super service.

Fabulous food.

We arrived at the end of a busy lunch crowd...but were still offered fresh food, service that made us feel as though we might still be their first few customers of the day and a "no rush" attitude.

Highly recommended!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of our favourite places to dine. Inc ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 16, 2016

One of our favourite places to dine. Incredible food and service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, , Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Fun, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was great, exactly what I'd e ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Everything was great, exactly what I'd expect with a churrasco experience.... but they could use less salt; as the only thing put on most of the selections, it can be overwhelming, not inviting.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing! Everything was perfect.

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Amazing! Everything was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We made a reservation for lunch - food w ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 15, 2016

We made a reservation for lunch - food was ready to go and awesome. Service was great.

Don't show up for lunch without an empty stomach. Lunch price is definitely reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

While the hostess was very friendly and ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 15, 2016

While the hostess was very friendly and engaging, the rest was only so-so. The meat was ok, lots of fatty pieces, no medium rare. When we asked for medium rare pieces, the gaucho said no and walked away. At lunch the price is half of dinner, however there is less of an assortment.

For the price, I would have expected far better. The chicken was dried out.

Maybe an off day, but the meal did not leave me with the interest to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

We always enjoy eating there om a Sunday ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 12, 2016

We always enjoy eating there om a Sunday. We particularly appreciate the Malbec Rose

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Overall the food was way too salty, staf ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Overall the food was way too salty, staff was professional and kind. Drinks were good and fresh.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing place- brought 12 from work and ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Amazing place- brought 12 from work and everyone loved it and are going back! Tons of top notch highest quality food. Something for everyone!

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, , Romantic, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, it's nice to be able to ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 5, 2016

Excellent food, it's nice to be able to experience different kinds of meats and you don't leave hungry. An excellent dining experience. Will keep coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great experience! A bit pricey but we kn ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great experience! A bit pricey but we knew that before going so we were prepared. Great for birthdays! Awesome service. The restaurant is beautiful inside and out. Great views at an awesome location! Make sure to bring atleast 6$ in change for parking.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was amazing but our server scre ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on December 3, 2016

The food was amazing but our server screwed up 2 times on our appeatizers and brought us all wrong apps .. never got the salads and never got the vegatables and when we asked for more fried polenta it took 15 minutes and our table asked for a another plate for our bones and scraps he didn't bring , food was always great and me and my friends are regulars, just the service wasent that good ..

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.