About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ is located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Featuring a wood coal burning BBQ that came from Rio Grande do Sul, South Brazil, home of the famous Brazilian BBQ. This rotisserie style BBQ, makes for the most tender, juicy, perfectly cooked cuts of meats. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Brazilian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

We welcome and invite you to enjoy Winnipegʼs only original steakhouse experience of this tropical South American country. We welcome you to CARNAVAL Brazilian BBQ.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS - Menu available.
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Sunday: 11:30am - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Amanda Torrezan

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ
Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
1 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Special Occasion (117)
Good for Groups (96)
Fit for Foodies (65)
See All
Scenic View (54)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Hot Spot (20)
Great for Lunch (17)
Kid-friendly (16)
Romantic (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Great for Brunch (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Sort By:
Newest
1198 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was absolutely fabulous. Appreciate ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was absolutely fabulous. Appreciated the great table since we were visiting the city from Cleveland, Ohio.

We have a similar restaurant where we live and I would have to say thus surpassed what we expected.

Thanks for the great service and great evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great server was good, Portions ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Food was great server was good, Portions were perfect to try could always ask for more if you liked an item. I would go back another time with my whole family

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

The food was fantastic and the service w ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The food was fantastic and the service was pretty good. Got in right away with our reservation and enjoyed the evening

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was great and ambiance even better! ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was great and ambiance even better! A trip to Brazil right here in Winnipeg. Try the Caipirinhas at the bar and be sure to go there hungry!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Service was wonderful, all workers were ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Service was wonderful, all workers were nice and welcoming, the food is one of the best you can really ask for, you get your hunger away for a while and not really have to roll out of the restaurant, the quality is rare a this of the globe. I have visited lots of European restaurants in my life, witch is not an easy job to find a good one in our city, and ithe visit at Carnaval Brazil Bqq really reminded what is good quality. 5 stars!!

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great experience and we boo ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food, great experience and we booked at 430 when they opened the 2nd floor and had a wonderful window view. Price was high but not too high.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Was very disappointed in the ambiance. W ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Was very disappointed in the ambiance. We came for our first anniversary and were expecting a much different setting. The room was filled with babies crying and the dining room felt very cramped and crowded. Would not recommend for a romantic meal for two.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value3

Lovely fun-filled evening...lots of vari ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Lovely fun-filled evening...lots of variety and very tasty. Overall very positive interactive experience !

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was lovely, from the service ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Everything was lovely, from the service to the atmosphere to the food. There is only one thing that we noticed that would deter us from recommending the restaurant to our parents and perhaps others and that is that some of the meat was too salty (or perhaps over seasoned?). The meats were cooked perfectly and were very juicy however, we are not used to eating with a lot of salt and that was on thing we noticed. With that said, overall we really loved our experience at Carnaval. Our favorite meats were the sausages and the bacon wrapped chicken as well as the grilled pineapple with cinnamon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice place. Stupid parking situation ( ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Nice place. Stupid parking situation (or lack there of). Pleasant staff. Good food.

I will return to Carnival Brazilian BBQ.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I had a very awesome first time experien ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

I had a very awesome first time experience! Although the meat was salty it was still delicious! And water never hurts anyone so yummy!! My waitress was lovely and funny, she answered every question I had and every taste bud so I was happy :) it is a very amusing interesting most fascinating restaurant I have ever been too, I recommend this to anyone wanting to have a very special or new stunning experience.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

More options for sides at brunch would b ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

More options for sides at brunch would be nice...salads were ok but other options for dinner selections would be nice

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service was great. Big family b ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Food and service was great. Big family birthday dinner. Pricey but worth it until I found out the waiter dug through one of our guests leftover box which was a vegetarian alternative and not the all you can eat Brazillian BBQ choice to inspect and remove anything that was not in her pasta dish. A bit of an offensive end to our expensive evening. Won't be back. Left a nice tip too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food was a 10!!!!! So happy we made ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was a 10!!!!! So happy we made the choice of trying you guys! We went for our 35th wedding anniversary ! The table behind us group of 7 got seriously loud, not sure if the women @ the table just had a bit to much to drink or what the case was..talking and laughing @ the top of their lungs. We actually left sooner than we we wanted...somewhat annoying ...but defiantly not your establishments fault. Was unfortunate for us though..☹️..but we will be back!!!😁

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really enjoyed ourselves. Great exper ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We really enjoyed ourselves. Great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

You never leave hungry. Lots of choices ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

You never leave hungry. Lots of choices for all appetites. Service was very prompt

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bbq is exactly as advertised down to bbq ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Bbq is exactly as advertised down to bbq pineapple (delicious) if you get first cuts you are getting rare. After each cut the meat appeared to be going back on the spit. So later cuts were more well done.

Less often the better cuts come. One lamb in 90 minutes vs chicken thighs almost every 10 minutes.

The free sides some good some not. Black bean stew was watery and tasteless. Good cesar salad. Fries are fries. Chef basket deep fried meat in crispy batter.

Arrive hungry. 2 hour time limit should be plenty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Menu has broad appeal in the lounge/pati ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Menu has broad appeal in the lounge/patio. Server was attentive, food delivered in a timely fashion. The plates were a bit awkward - long narrow rectangles - caused some "spillage." The outdoor patio is lovely - but our table needed to be cleaner. The food was tasty and reasonable - but the wine is a killer - our $77 cheque consisted of $33 in food - we shared 2 items and $44 in wine - the least expensive by the glass. MY advice - buy a bottle. Very pleasantly set.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Everything was delicious. There wasn't ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Everything was delicious. There wasn't one thing the 4 of us tried that we didn't enjoy. Definitely going back. Service, food, atmosphere all great. Just a little pricey as most can't eat $50 worth of food but it was great experience anyways.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

A little loud at time but enjoyed the ex ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

A little loud at time but enjoyed the experience and will be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was so delicious ! Our server (Regg ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Food was so delicious ! Our server (Reggie) was awesome. Could not have been better night. Definitely wear comfortable clothes because you really eating ALOT! :)

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We expected to pay more for great food o ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We expected to pay more for great food on a special occasion but the cost was far greater than the amount of food we consumed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Usually good, but not this time. All me ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Usually good, but not this time. All meats overdone, dry and tough. Sides were still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was fantastic even for a picky eate ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Food was fantastic even for a picky eater who only eats well done meat The only complaint was the temperature of the restaurant It was extremely hot and humid in there even though they had the AC at the lowest it would go I you plan to go do it when it's not hot outside otherwise you will roast

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time here, very tasty food. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our second time here, very tasty food. The bbq was delicious and the sides were great. For 2 people the sides could have been smaller. Overall a very good experience! I would go back and recommend to others!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great experience. Service was v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a great experience. Service was very good, meat was delicious. Sides were ok.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you for a good food and service. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Thank you for a good food and service. Prices for drinks are too high. Would love to see some pickled food for sides. Overall was a great experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son and I have been to Carnaval a few ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My son and I have been to Carnaval a few times before. The food, service and ambiance are consistently excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went her for my wife's birthday, an I ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I went her for my wife's birthday, an I know we were a younger group of people but we got treated like wernt adults. about 8 of us all worked in the restaurant industries an have never seen worse service from the server.. you guys are lucky you charge that 18% gratuity because if it wasn't for that are server did not deserve a tip. we only had one or two rounds of drinks served to us an that was by us asking some other server an even then he was like oh I'll get your server mean while he's beside are table talking to his buddy, we could see him but he never acknowledged the fact that some of us had empty glasses... I jus have to say maybe you should get some better training in place for your servers cause you guys says your a higher end restaurant,I have to say his service was not high end. don't get me wrong the food an the guys serving the food took care of us.. but not having any drinks was pretty disapointing, won't be coming back that's for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

i have been there 5 times, the first 4 ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

i have been there 5 times, the first 4 times was with a large group of people and the food was great and service was great and over all we had a very good time. The last time we came was just my girl friend and i and it was not the same. I wanted to treat my girl friend to some thing special for her birthday and it was anything but. The service was good but the food wasn't as good as all the times before. I would come back and try it again because it might have just been a 1 time thing. But my girl friend says for $150 dollars we could have done a lot better.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our waiter took our salad order, he drop ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter took our salad order, he dropped it off and we didn't see him again until it was time to leave. We weren't offered any bread and we didn't see any on the menu.. We would have liked to have some bread and maybe a check by with our waiter?

Otherwise, the food was fantastic. Just as good as the Brazilian restaurants my husband and I have eaten at in Paraguay.

Would it be possible to have sample bowls of some of the sides...It seems a shame to get a big bowl of something and not eat it...(just a thought) Servers were friendly and professional..awesome service...will recommend Carnaval to everyone!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

the rodizio was very good the garlic pot ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

the rodizio was very good the garlic potates were a bit watery .

the service was spot on.

my regret is that i didn't ger around to the bbq ribs.

my friend jim is in love with his 65th birthday present.

(the Rodizio of course!)

I would consider offering dipping sauces for the meats offered.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was excellent and overall experi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was excellent and overall experience was great. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Especially the frie ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Especially the fried cassava!

Our waiter was friendly and professional.

Didn't have a highchair or other chair for the baby. Not kid friendly.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and plenty of it!!! Sides ar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and plenty of it!!! Sides are included in the price! Exellent wine and beer list. Price fits value for certain!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good however a bit price ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was really good however a bit pricey. Especially kids prices considering how little they eat.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was ok. Not the best barbecue w ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was ok. Not the best barbecue we've had. Too salty and nothing to complement the flavors of the meat was offered. It was our first time and I had told this to our sever. A Brazilian friend said that most of the Brazilians he knows who tried it were disappointed. That it was far from what they had growing up. It's definitely an experience but it's not enough for us to want to come back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I was disappointed that the refills on p ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was disappointed that the refills on pop were extra. The meal is already costly enough.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great all around dining experience! Endl ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great all around dining experience! Endless food and all very tasty!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent evening, had a nice chat with ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent evening, had a nice chat with the Brazilian staff in regards to football which capped off a perfect evening.

We will return.

The noise level was perfect!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.