Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Mon, 6/18
Time
10:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 26 times today

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

4.1
1759 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$51 and over
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Brazilian
Top Tags:
  • Special Occasion
  • Good for Birthdays
  • Good for Groups
Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 505-0945
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Business Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Matheus Amaral
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bannatyne Avenue
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1759 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.1based on recent ratings
4.2
food
4.2
service
4.0
ambience
3.7
value
Noise · Moderate
83% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined a day ago

Excellent food and customer service

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 2 days ago

We brought friends who had never been and u did not disappoint. Food was delicious the server was quick to clear the table and supply refills of drinks. We were celebrating 2 bdays. Would always come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Overall the experience was good. This was my fourth time coming. My first three times were 5 stars across the board.

I feel like the noise level tonight was significantly higher than normal. The floor under our table was extremely sticky, and my plate wasn't clean when we were seated.

The food was also quite rare (came cooked medium about 2 hours after arriving, everything before that was rare rare) and quite a few cuts of meat were tough. Not melt in your mouth tender as my last experiences.

The service however was great. The friendliness of everyone mostly made up for the other downfalls. Camila was a great and helpful host.

At the end of the day, yes $53 is expensive, but I ate enough to get my money's worth.

I'm now at 3 great experiences out of 4 though, so I would still have to recommend it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 3 days ago

This was my first time as well the first time for some of my friends. The food was fantastic. Different types of meat to try and enjoy. The chorizo we had, the first ones were really good, the second time around it was more hot than taste. We were given all the sodes to try out. The best one was, for me, the mashed potatoes. A lot of varieties as well. The only downside I have is the no refills on pop. Service was very good and quick. I would definitely recommend.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

Overall a good experience. Staff were friendly and took good care of us. I don’t feel that I eat enough meat to justify the “per person” price. Some other menu choices would be nice. But food was good. Farmer’s sausage and pork ribs were DELISH!!! Restaurant was very noisy and it was hard to have a conversation with my friend that was sitting across the table from me. Not really a restaurant for a romantic dinner. But if you are looking for high energy this is for you! We weren’t ready to end our night so we went downstairs and had a drink on the outdoor patio. It was very pleasant and a good way to enjoy the beautiful evening.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 3 days ago

It was good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Excellent service. Great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 10, 2018

always enjoyable, always delicious, a little pricey. i wish soft drinks were included and or there were free refills.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

I had an amazing time at carnaval for my husbands birthday! Our server Camila was so accommodating and kind! Definitely would recommend to go here to enjoy all of what this restaurant has to offer!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 9, 2018

The server was excellent and the food was really good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

We had an amazing evening at Carnaval. Delicious food and drinks, great music and very friendly and efficient service. This was our 4th time at Carnaval and we will definitely go back soon.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

Meat was hot, fresh and plentiful. The polenta was very good, but otherwise we found the side dishes rather boring. Service was very attentive to our needs and wants. Overall a good evening, just not sure it is worth $52 plus drinks, desert and tip per person. We will probably not add Carnival to our list of regular places to visit, but good for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 8, 2018

If one person in your party wants the all you can eat... all of you had to have it to eat together on the second floor area. Having a separate menu for those who did not want the all you can eat but wanted to be with the rest of your party would have been nice. Myself and my daughter-in-law did not eat much at all but had to pay the full $52. Not fair.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 7, 2018

The food and service was excellent. It was a bit loud upstairs. The price was on the high side and saying that it’s a restaurant I could only afford a couple times a year. I have recommended this restaurant to a couple of people. It was a cool experience for my first time eating there.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 5, 2018

This was my 4th visit to Carnaval and this is the only time I have not had a pleasant experience.
Although the service from our server was good & timely, the food left a lot to be desired. The meat was EXTREMELY salty (was lack of freshness being covered up with salt?), causing us to overload on water. At the end, we were not offered fresh pineapple sliced at our table. It arrived sliced and it too looked like it was old and the cinnamon on top overdone to cover that up.

We left left dehydrated from too much salt and underwhelmed.

I'm not sure whether more effort is made during weekends compared to weekdays, but considering the prices keep increasing, it would be appreciated if the quality of the food and experience didn't decrease.

This time the experience was disappointing!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Food was good, although time to get side dishes seemed long considering how small side portions were.
Very pleasant server. However, drink refills were not prompt.
The meat options were great, and it was a nice way of trying different cuts of meat.
At our table of four, we had two who would absolutely go again, one maybe and one who would not return.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The food was great. The service was average. The server got my drink order wrong, we got the meat right away but we had to wait for a long time just to get the sauces we wanted. The server made a mistake and charged us for 2 more people than we had. When I pointed it out to her she simply said she would remove the extra 2 orders but didn’t apologize. I understand everybody can make a mistake but had I not caught it, it would have cost me over $100 more so I would have expected a more heartfelt apology.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on June 1, 2018

It was not a good experience, the service was not good at all, you depend on the table side service as to how the food arrives, we had lots of meat, but very little opportunity to order side dishes.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2018

For first time goers it’s abit off, we wanted to try everything but didn’t know what we really should try, after we were full all of the really good meats came out and we couldn’t even try! Now that we know to wait for the rib eye and other meats we actually want to eat, our next experience cuould be better! Our first expience seemed way to expensive as well, just because we never got to even try the more expensive meats!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The overall experience was very good, the noise level was higher than I would want trying to enjoy a quiet night out with my spouse. Food was tasteful and ample servings. Only issue was the lamb that was on the menu was not served until we were almost ready to go. Yes i would go back , with friends and family

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

The service and food were amazing! It was my mom’s birthday and they gave her a complimentary cake!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 25, 2018

It was our 27th anniversary. We had a wonderful time. Our waitress was very helpful and friendly and the servers were awesome!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Very happy to had the chance to experience. Servers were awesome and always smiling. I enjoyed all the meat varieties. Will save up to go again before summer is over.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Our server Camila was so friendly :) she was from Brazil and made us feel so welcome. The servers that came around with the meat were very friendly as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Took my son for his 18th birthday, his first time and my third. I always enjoy it. Definitely go with an appetite. Service was excellent. Would go again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 18, 2018

Great atmosphere! Delicious food! Great service! A memorable experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

Had a lovely lunch dinner with my mother and daughter. We loved the array of meats and the price was perfect. Location and table seating was awesome. Lovely scenery.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Food is good we hope the servers or the guy they always around.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

They had very good meat. I almost never want to eat steak again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

It was our first time at Carnaval and it was amazing. From the moment we walked in until we were finished, it was great. The food was amazing and it was so fun to have the meat served right to us at the table. All the food we received was hot and fresh and it was so good! It was a little on the expensive side and would come back for only for special occasions but definitely great food and great service! My recommendation....pace yourself, there is a lot to enjoy!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2018

Overall we enjoyed our meals. Our one complaint would be that we felt a lot of the meat was over cooked for our liking.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

The service was excellent and the food delicious. Desserts were decadent. Great wine selection.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Lots of meat! Skip the flank steak . Farmer's sausage was a great starter. Sirloin and Prine rib were the best. Remember that you can request the meat you liked the best. Fries and broccoli/kale salad were the best sides. Chick pea with Dijon also a good choice. Bbq'd pineapple was a favourite.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

It was overall good food and experience ...but not worth the price tag in my opinion. 180.00 for two people was crazy spendy for us.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent BBQ. but you really really have to love meat and greasy, salty foods

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Several cuts of meat tasted like rubber . For the amount of money they charge you can definitely get a better dinner somewhere else .
Our server was excellent , just not worth the price

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

I made a reservation for a family member's birthday, and it was a family hit.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

We enjoyed the relaxed atmosphere and evening very much.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 1, 2018

It was my first time there and I have to say it was quite enjoyable. The service was awesome and they were very courteous

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
44

Tweets by Carnaval Brazilian BBQ