Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Irene Chapski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (46)
Good for Groups (41)
Good for a Date (37)
See All
Waterfront (33)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Fun (28)
Authentic (27)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Tasting Menu (18)
Worth the Drive (17)
Scenic View (17)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Casual (15)
Hot Spot (12)
Business Meals (12)
Cozy (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Romantic (12)
Open Kitchen (12)
Great for Lunch (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (7)
Paleo Friendly (7)
Gluten Free Options (7)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Family Style (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Spicy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Great Beer (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Historic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
1452 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined 6 days ago

We were a bit disappointed that the bacon-wrapped sirloin only reached our table once during our entire stay. The service was very fast and friendly. Although the food was exceptionally tasty, we found it a little too much for us.

Tags: Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food is absolutely delicious. The entire group did not leave hungry.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Always great to visit. The food is top-notch, the service is fantastic, and the smell of that grill will kerp you wanting more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Exceptional service, knowledgable and welcoming host and servers.

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Spicy, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

The Carnival is one of my favourites. However, because it was not busy and there were only 6 other tables with people, the food wasn't getting eaten as fast. As such, the food kept getting returned to the grill and was very over cooked and would be brought back around 30 minutes later. All of the meats were well done and some chicken was dry because of this. For a meal that is over $50 a person, I would have expected better and fresher meat selections.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Been many times here and is ussually good but we went during the week and there was only a couple tables so not very busy. All the meat was cooked well done and i am a medium rare kind of guy. Normally other times inside cuts are more rare but when we went this time everything was overdone and like leather. I would come back only when its busy better chance of the meat being less overcooked.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on July 10, 2017

The better cuts of meat like Prime Rib and lamb arrived at our table only once, right at the beginning. We asked our server to bring out more and each time he said that he would but he never did. After an hour and a half we got tired of waiting and left. They tease you with the good stuff and push the cheaper cuts. Over rated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 9, 2017

We have enjoyed Carnaval several times in the past. This time however we found the meat to be overdone on several offerings and the Chorizo sausage to be all most burnt and was very crispy! Not the norm so I still highly recommend Carnaval!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Loved it. Our serviced was awesome. I think his name was Aaron

Tags: Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Nothing like it used to be. Meats seemed different, service was terrible (they had 1 guy serving every table and it was painful) this place used to be amazing, now I wouldn't go back by choice. Even the pineapple isn't like it used to be. Sad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 3, 2017

the guys enjoyed the non stop meat serving, a friend visiting from abroad even mentioned this is the best brazilian restaurant he'd been to so far in terms of selections and service...the service crew were great and very accommodating...we had a good time! thank you Carnaval🍻 it was a nice last hurrah for the boys!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 2, 2017

The place is pretty unique for Winnipeg. I have tried locations like this in Toronto. For the price, I strongly believe the food quality could be a little bit better.

The customer service is very good. Host and serving staff where all very friendly and polite. They also do a great job at answering questions, and rolling with your requests.

The only thing that turns me off is the quality of food. It is not awful, the food is pretty good, but for a speciality location such like this, I wish the quality was a little better. If you are paying close to $50 to $60 a person, its something you would just expect.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 2, 2017

On your website you state you offer a kid menu but the reality was that you don't. That was disappointing.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Good food, worth every penny. If you like most meat then this place is a must. Only negative thing would be that certain meats don't come around as much as others. But they do ask you if you're waiting for something to try so that is great. I'd definitely go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We attended on June 30th to celebrate the start of Canada Day Weekend. The different cuts of beef were overcooked and appeared well done throught. There was lots of different varieties of meats to try and sampling them is interesting. The garlic mashed potatoes sides appeared to be left over and reheated. Overall this restaurant is very expensive and other restaurants offer better value for the price. Quality vs quantity. Unique experience with room to improve. Serveice was decent no complaints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 30, 2017

My son is ten and loved it. I did too. It was a cool place to go celebrate.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 28, 2017

I made a reservation for my daughters 25th birthday. I had never been there before, so I had no idea parking would be such an issue. There happened to be a baseball game that same night. I only had a choice of 5:00 or 7:30 pm, so getting all of us there for 5:00and parking for 3 vehicles was a huge problem. Once every one was there we were seated promptly. Service started immediately. The men in the group found everything okay, but everything is just too salty. Therefore not enjoyable. Also it all seems to taste the same. I was very disappointed, espescially because it was her champagne birthday. We all really enjoyed the pineapple though. I was glad I tried this restaurant for myself, as I have heard many mixed reviews. Many people love it, others not so much. We unfortunately fall into the latter. It was supposed to be buy one get one half price, but after I paid and saw the receipt, I questioned if she had done that, in which she said yes. Then she came back and said she forgot to do that. So my question is, if it's a promotion of sorts until a certain, why did this happen? If they are not questioned so they just charge the full amount?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Hi there, we have had great success in the past with Carnaval, this time not so much. Very slow with the meat selection, no beef then entire time we were there. I don't want to pay 50 dollars per person, if I only get sausage and bacon wrapped chicken. Very upsetting as we have had great dining experiences in the past.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

I would have liked to have a little more of a choice between medium rare and well done BBQ.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Excellent Brazilian barbecue spot with some of the best steak and chorizo I've had. The free endless refill of sides is great too so you can have a few token veggies with your mountain of meat! Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Meat too dry and too much salt. Not what I expected for the price I paid, cannot compare to the Brazilian steak houses I have been to in the USA

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Food wa great at first, the Len after a while they made it more and more salty. Almost inedible.
Disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Small variety of BBQ meat for lunch menu. Also seemed to be poor cuts of meet, very fatty and lots of gristle. The french fries were good though. Dinner is probably better at this restaurant.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Decided to try for a birthday treat. Service was wonderdul and the food was really great. Make sure you get the pineapple and don't eat the bread when it comes out! Haha

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 21, 2017

Food a little bit salty , chicken was dry. Customer service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Excellent food and great service, but the lack of menu options for dinner (two options: $52 buffet or $28 vegetarian pasta) makes for poor value for the money, as my wife and kids wouldn't have eaten nearly $52 worth. The $22 lunch service is a much better value.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Simply a great place to go. I recommend the white wine sangria!

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Spicy, Hot Spot, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

This was a great place to spend my birthday. The service was great and the food was delicious.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Was not impressed. The service for drinks was slow. Much to costly for teenagers who dont eat much for meteocre food. Not much ambiance. This was the most we ever paid at a restaurant with our kids and were dissapoi ted to say the least.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 17, 2017

The food at Carnaval is amazing you will eat until you burst.

Tags: Disabled Access, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We end up going downstairs because they don't have regular menu upstairs it's all you can eat meat but we have our 2 kids with us. But we will come back next time for lunch for sure. Disappointed the food downstairs, the wing are dry and the burger bun is a bit burned and hard for my son. Overall not impressed with the food downstairs. I really would like to try to eat upstairs.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Was good but we went for lunch and I was disappointed they only had half the menu options available.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Food was over cooked and dry and there was only 1 person serving i wouldnt go back during the week only on weekends

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 10, 2017

I was a bit disappointed about the bacon that was wrap with meat. It had that funny taste, like oily and old meat taste.. other wise the rest was good.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 9, 2017

I have mentioned before to the chef, and servers that the food is UNREAL salty...they really do need to lay off the salt while cooking the meat as it is absolutely horribly salty. It was the last 2 times we've gone and it hasn't changed. I wouldn't go back again now simply because the salt content doesn't seem to change and it ruins some of the meats that otherwise would be mouthwateringly great! I've been to all the steak houses in Winnipeg and non have even half the salt carnival does. I dont know why they can't cut the sodium out by 25-40%.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Great food. The restaurant was very noisy. Consider softer walls. I am a noise engineer. My guests were very impressed with the quality of the food.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on June 8, 2017

We went on a Thursday evening and took advantage of the seniors pricing. Our waiter was prompt and courteous. We never had to wait for the meat to come around. All we tasted was good with the exception of the lamb which was slightly overdone. The restaurant was not packed so low noise level made conversation easy and there was no loud annoying music playing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Food was absolutely excellent. It is obvious they use the best cuts of meat. Great selection of sides. The serving staff are very friendly and great at their jobs. Good selection of drinks for a reasonable price. We definitely got our monies worth.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Great service and fantastic variety of meats and side dishes. The grilled pineapple was a delicious end to our meal.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.