Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Irene Chapski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (60)
Good for Groups (49)
Good for a Date (48)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (44)
Good for Birthdays (43)
Fun (43)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Authentic (32)
Waterfront (26)
Open Kitchen (24)
Casual (23)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Tasting Menu (22)
Business Meals (22)
Romantic (20)
Family Style (19)
Modern Decor (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Scenic View (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Comfort Food (12)
Paleo Friendly (12)
Great for Lunch (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Outstanding Value (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Healthy (6)
Cozy (6)
Spicy (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Local Ingredients (4)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Private Room (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1373 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 19, 2017

It was awesome and would sure go again I have told a lot. Of people about it

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 18, 2017

An amazing experience, food was excellent , service was excellent overall would recommend that u go there on a empty stomach everything is so delicious ..the staff was friendly ... the meat just kept coming our plates were full and we left there full and talking about it with friends and family !

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Went for my son"s birthday and had a great time. Service was prompt and efficient and friendly. The experience is well worth it! And the meat - WOW! - nothing we didn't like! Some great sides as well.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Authentic, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was great except it was soooo hot in the restaurant it was very uncomfortable for our entire party. Looking around the restaurant, we weren't the only ones with flushed cheeks! The food and service were great, but for a $400 meal (for 6) I'd like to be a tad more comfortable so I could enjoy it.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Everything was amazing!!! Love the well seasoned meats and the attentive servers and carvers!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Open Kitchen, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Paleo Friendly, Wood Oven, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We waited over 20 minutes before our server even came to our table to ask if we wanted a drink. If we didn't have a certificate we needed to use, we would have walked out and went elsewhere. The food was good though.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Service wasn't great, very slow. Food was good but the hot sides were cool.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 9, 2017

For a night out it was very pleasant. The feature is meat. Period. Sides where quite good. So many different ways of serving meat. The servers just keep bringing more beef, pork, chicken, sausages, bacon wrapped chicken and pork until you surrender. Unfortunately some where overdone. Some was superb.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food as always. The only down side was being charged an automatic gratuity of 18% and then being asked if we would like to leave a tip by the debit unit. I feel i should be able to leave the tip that i find fair.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Spicy, Hot Spot, Romantic, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This is a good place for meat lovers. Also had an excellent brazilian salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 3, 2017

I always enjoy this dining experience. And I always leave promising myself to come much more often. Bravo!

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fun, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I was very disappointed in the food. We were celebrating two birthdays. We were very disappointed with the sides. It was very expensive for the quality. We were very excited about going and will not return. The potatoes were lukewarm and my sons favorite food was Caesar saalad which he did not eat. I expected to be awed which I wasn't. It was too bad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 25, 2017

It was amazing food as always and lots of it. Also staff are very attentive and helpful friendly and make the whole expexperience amazing.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for a Date, Romantic, Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We were there for lunch for a special occasion, and half of our party had never been there before. Overall the food was good. Some of the meat was overcooked, but most were done very well and tasty. Good variety of sides, with a favourite being the cassava. The carvers were around with the meat very often, but the server was not checking in on us as often as we would have liked. We ran out of water for quite some time at the table, and we also wanted to order more sides, but couldn't catch her eye. I would recommend others to try this restaurant as it is a unique experience, but we won't be going back in a hurry.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 24, 2017

It was perfect for our 10th anniversary. We love how fast they came when we flipped the sign over

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Family Style, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 22, 2017

We really enjoyed Carnaval but found it very expensive for what you got. We had a lot of beef and no chicken breasts. Food was tasty but very salty. The salt made everything taste the same. The service is excellent. Not too sure I would rush back.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Fun, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 21, 2017

This was my second time visiting Carnaval and just like the first time, I left entertained and overly satisfied. Our waiter was amazing, handling a large group of 10 and getting us all that we needed. As with any restaurant, some of the food was great, and some not so great Best pieces of meat: the ribs, bacon wrapped chicken and bacon wrapped sirloin. What was disappointing to me was the Pineapple. I remember it being so tasty the last time I was there (2014) and something has changed with it. There was WAY to much cinnamon and the slice of pineapple was so little that all you could taste was the overpowering cinnamon (which was not a good taste). Not at all impressed and it was really unfortunate as I bragged about how good it was. Not one of us enjoyed it.

But all in all, a wonderful experience for my father's 60th birthday celebrations :)

Tags: Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 20, 2017

the food was really good, but the sides not so much. some of the meat was so salty it was such a shock to the mouth.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Always an awesome experience, great food and awesome staff

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Disabled Access, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Awesome food!! I like the option to rest when turning your card red and the fact that they will bring you your meat however you request! Delicious n we will be back. Raved about it to our friends!!!! #meatsweatsareawesome

Tags: Outstanding Value, Family Style, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The bathroom didn't smell good and was out of toilet paper and paper towels to dry your hands. For me, the bathroom is a reflection of the organization of the business and a messy bathroom takes away from the classiness of a restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 18, 2017

BBQ meats tasted very good, sides were mediocre, ambiance barely existed. I had expected a vibrant and colorful Brazilian atmosphere with lively music but it didn't come close.

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

This was such an amazingly delicious dining experience. My husband and I enjoyed our date and the food was phenomenal. We have already booked our next reservation.

Tags: Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Wish the waitress attended our table more. Wish we were told about sauces. Way too expensive. I Came for the experience and probably won't come again. We weren't asked if we wanted more water, or more sides. Didn't tell us about bottomless pop. Had no choice but to give a 12% tip which I wouldn't have because our waitress wasn't attentive to our needs. I hope it goes to the servers and cooks as well!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The parking was a challenge before 6:00 pm
The water glasses were not clean( lip stick stain ) on the rim, all steak were rare or medium rare no well done variety, when we asked for well done they said they couldn't,sides were less than average, overall over priced

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 17, 2017

The service was attentive. The food was decent. I would have loved dipping sauce. Ie Chimchurri, hot mustards or something. I'm glad I tried it but I would not rush back. For the price I felt like I had to eat lots to get my money's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great food! Unique approach to an all you can eat. They offer the main dishes (mostly meat) to you at your table and carve you a slice. Then they are off to the next table. You pick what you want to eat as they bring it around. Don't worry, they will be back many times. Sides are ordered and delivered as you want them. Great for dates, catching up with friends and families with older children or teens. It is an experience which takes some time, which may not be preferred by younger children.

Tags: Authentic, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 13, 2017

They've really jacked up their prices despite making no effort to improve the food or the experience itself.

It really is sad, since I love Brazilian BBQs, and have been to at least 15 different ones across North America. Carnaval has real potential, but are content to remain mediocre. Maybe they feel since they are the only game in town for this style of dining experience, they don't need to push themselves, but that will be quick path to failure - maybe another 2 years at the most.

At $52.75/person before drinks, desserts, taxes, or tips, I really don't feel that this place is a good value for that kind of money. There are way better dining experiences for that kind of cash in this city - from traditional steakhouses to entertaining nights out to wonderful worldly cuisine, and many combinations thereof.

There are a number of other Churrascarias in Canada in the $40-$45 range who offer larger selections and better cuts of meat, house specialties (cheese-stuffed prime rib!), and/or a fun atmosphere with entertainment and dancing. Carnaval offers none of this.

Anyhow, I don't mean this to slag them, but as an opportunity for improvement. I know I've sent them emails in the past with recommendations, but they never respond, so now I'm offering my opinions up in public view.

Hopefully they can right this ship before it sinks, as I still like having a Churrascaria in Winnipeg.

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was excellent as always at Carnival. Very good service and the restaurant has great atmosphere.

Tags: Wood Oven, Open Kitchen, Hot Spot, Fun, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I attended a similar restaurant in Calgary and were a bit apprehensive about going to a facsimile here in Winnipeg. We found the open and bright atmosphere here impressed us and the service was great! The price was high for the amount of food we consumed. There were two of us, so if the final bill included the food we consumed and the tip, the dining experience would have seemed more reasonably priced. Nice location.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

2 Groups of 2 people per table went. All 4 of us were excited & delighted with the
food, the ambience, & the prompt service.
Booked reservations on line & 1 couple had the best seat in the house
by the monster window, overlooking the riverfront at dusk.
Husband has a handicap and they gave us enough room for him to get around easily.
Thanks for accommodating that !
Really like the coaster, red lite, green lite, idea.
By turning it to red, avoided more food until we were done eating what we had.
Did not waste a crumb.
Beef was especially outstanding ! Tasty, juicy & delicious. Yumm !
Had 1 helping of fish which only came around once and had to request lamb as we
hadn't seen any.
Sides, Caesar salad was super, mash potatoes were ok and the mixed veg were
not so mixed, carrots & beets only. But, plenty of different sides to choose from.
We just didn't want to waste food.
Would go again.
Used a Groupon and they gladly accepted it.
Would buy a Groupon again except Groupon keeps emailing you no matter what.
CARNAVAL WAS A WONDERFUL EXPERIENCE ! KEEP UP THE GREAT WORK!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Waterfront, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

the bar downstairs was extremely slow. we had to go up to the bar to get drinks and by the time our drinks came. The hostess said our table was ready and had to pay the bar and chug our drinks. After that when we got upstairs everything was amazing and great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We were there for my daughter's birthday. We all had a great time and the food was delicious. I had noticed the prices had increased a bit since the last time we were here....but all in all it was an awesome evening, and although I was stuffed I wish I could have eaten more!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Spicy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Rubs on meat way to salty. I did not enjoy the experience. I was anticipating some nice tender slow cooked meat but intsrwS received tough dry slices of meat that was extremely salty. Was disappointing for the price of meal.
231 Vineland Crescent
Winnipeg Manitoba
R3y1t7

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Very enjoyable experience! food was great and service exceptional! Definitely will be going back

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Everything was excellent. I would definitely go back here. Great service and food ☺ I loved it

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The service and location were very good, as was the atmosphere. For myself the quality was not proportional to the price. Plenty of mediocre food , from salad to meet.
it wasn't bad just fair.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Great lunch, great food, great service. A real treat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Staff were extremely friendly, everything was explained and food was delicious! Will definitely be back again one day soon!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 6, 2017

We really enjoyed our time. Because we are seniors it was good value. I felt that the regular price was excessive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.