Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi
  1. Distance: 0.16mi
  2. Distance: 0.28mi
  3. Distance: 0.31mi
  4. Distance: 0.35mi

About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

Located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Canadian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 10:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS
Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm
Friday: 11:30am - 11:00pm
Saturday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Sunday: 4pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$51 and over

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking lot along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Irene Chapski

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (52)
Good for Groups (48)
Good for Birthdays (38)
See All
Fun (35)
Good for a Date (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Creative Cuisine (33)
Waterfront (32)
Authentic (25)
Casual (21)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Worth the Drive (21)
Scenic View (18)
Tasting Menu (18)
Great for Lunch (13)
Comfort Food (12)
Business Meals (11)
Cozy (11)
Hot Spot (10)
Neighborhood Gem (10)
People Watching (10)
Romantic (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Spicy (7)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Happy Hour (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great Beer (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Tapas (2)
Vegan (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1501 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Me and my boyfriend came to this place several times before and it was always enjoyable. We were craving for this barbecued meat and had to came back to this place. However, our experience that day was very disappointing. The meat was very dry and cooked way too much, it was even hard to chew. It did not have any flavor in it, we felt like we were just chewing some kind of boiled cheap meat. When you pay close to $200(with tip), you expect the food to be worth the money. I don't know what really happened that day, but everything was so different with what we had experienced before. The server and the gentleman who serves the meat was very nice and friendly, but the taste of food just ruined our whole experience. We don't know if we want to ever comeback to this place in the future, if they want to raise the price up, the food should worth that money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined 5 days ago

It was indeed a very nice evening at Carnaval. The service and staff were terrifically hospitable and made the evening fun. The food was also terrific, so overall a great experience

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Dry meat... Fresh meat... Dry meat. Looked like they were cooking food for 300+ people when there was only maybe 50 people in the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Very good food. Include a dessert
and a drink.
Servers did not visit enough times, as in we waited long to get the turn to have what we liked most.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

B BBQ experience was new for us. Service was excellent however would have been nice to take the elevator up instead of the stairs - elevator was not even mentioned upon our arrival. Quite pricey for small eaters however if you are a big eater you can capitalize on it as the food never ends. Was disappointed on side potatoes, way too much garlic and could not eat after the first bite, same with the butter for the bread. Bread could have been fresher. Ribs were not to our taste unfortunately however the rest of the meats were fine but could be quite salty.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

We had a great meal, courteous staff. Will go again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Our server disappeared after the first half hour or so and we had to track down management to get our bill and they said our server went home. We were shocked, as no one came to say they were taking over. The sides were good but the meat was hit and miss. Sometimes too dry and sometimes too salty. We didn't eat very much - we had 3 people over 70 and a 13 and 14 year old, all of whom barely took any meat. We definitely felt like we over-paid. Non-alcoholic drinks should have been included in the hefty $52 price tag, and dessert, too. The vegetarian option was a joke. My mother didn't know what her vegetarian options were and they put a bowl of pasta in front of her and she took two bites and didn't like it. No one asked if they could get her something else so she paid $40 for a meal she didn't eat. We wanted to bring in our own cake for a birthday celebration but they said they would charge a $25 handling fee - which was more than the cost of the cake itself, so we had to go elsewhere to have it! They forget they are in Winnipeg and if you want to stay in business here, you need to give more than the customer expects, not less! They won't last much longer in our market if they continue this way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 15, 2017

The entire experience was great except that the website prices do not match with the restaurant prices.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

the staff were very friendly. the ambiance was a dissapointment. there was no background music and the seating seemed more cafeteria like than fine dining . Behind us was a table of 4 men, who were loud, drunk and with obnoxiously colorful language and swearing. Barring the close quarters with a bad table neighbors, the food was good and service was good but again the ambiance is counter intuituive to the price. Three of us, with dinner and desert and 2 adult drinks was over $250.00. Im fine with that except for the fact that i got charged for a third alcoholic drink that we did not order or consume.(only noticed it after we left but my fault for not looking closely enough) grrr. So all and all...an ok dinner experience, but hard to recommend based on the ambiance and not equal to the price thus value is not quite met on this visit

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

Too expensive!Food isn't fresh!Pineapple tasted like dry pineapple!Never come back again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Great place, great service, great food.
I would recommend to my friends

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Food was good but service was really slow. We were paying for the all-you can eat meet and our sides took forever to arrive!

Tags: Comfort Food, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Go only when you are hungry, this a mostly meat restaurant. Also make sure you have time, to really enjoy it you need time oh and also a reservation.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on September 4, 2017

We went for our 29th anniversary dinner. First time there. Food was very tasty, service was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Service was bad. Took forever to get drinks and sides we thought they forgot about us.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Tried 5 different side dishes and they were all cold and tasted like they were made the day before. Not to mention it took near half hour to get them to us. It was a Friday night and it wasn't busy. All the meat tasted like liquid smoke. I've heard so many good things about this place but for $140 I expected better. Defiantly would never go back but I guess what can you really expect from a buffet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Definitely, the meat and chicken options were the highlight. Nothing special about the side dishes and service was slow. We needed to ask for water refills and our side dishes came late.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our third time at Carnaval, so had a very good idea of what to expect. We came for our 18 year anniversary dinner. The service was very friendly, but disorganized. We did not receive any of our side dishes until two thirds of the way through our meal and had to ask twice about them. The bread served with the meal was rock hard like it had been sitting out all afternoon. The meats served were generally good, but overall overlooked and dry. The pork ribs were amazing and saved the evening. We were very much looking forward to the daconbwrapped serloin and chicken, but both of these were so dry they felt like eating sawdust. The Caesar salad was flavourless and similar to what you would get in a mall food court. For a bill near $130 for two people, this was a very disappointing waste of a special occasion dinner. Because we have been to carnaval in the past, we know how good it can be, but would be hesitant to try again, as it is a lot of money to lose if we were to have another poor experience as we did on this visit.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Device somewhat off. Didn't offer a solution to my wife who doesn't eat red meat.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 27, 2017

It was over all great. We had a great time. The food was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Daughter graduated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 24, 2017

We always enjoy a night out at Carnival especially when the seniors specials are on..

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 24, 2017

The food was amazing, one of the greatest dining experiences I've ever Had.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Casual, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Healthy, Cozy, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 20, 2017

We were celebrating family birthdays, and there were seven in our group. Service was very good, friendly, and answered all our questions regarding the menu. The Gauchos were always generous and they certainly were attentive to serve us all the options available. All the food was excellent and everyone left the restaurant very content. The whole family enjoyed the food and experience very much.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Excellent service and even more the food was beyond amazing. Moved here 2 Yrs ago from Sudbury. First time visit. Took allyou family from Sudbury there on Friday. Awesome experience 10/10

Tags: Worth the Drive, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu, Waterfront, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 18, 2017

Unique experience and great tasting menu. Will definitely repeat.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Meat was ok at best. Service was poor. The servers bring around the meat were great. But I was not impressed at all. Meat was dry and over cook and chewy. Really disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

I've been here many times before, but the food was a bit lacking this time. Most of the beef cuts were dry and over cooked - not at all what I'm used to from this restaurant. Some people like their meat well done, but for someone who eats steak rare to medium the red meats were very overdone. Hard to enjoy if it's not cooked properly.

Tags: Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 12, 2017

I can't stop going to this place. The food is always amazing and I always eat more than I should.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

The meat was delicious, everything was really good. The lunch dosent have as many sides as dinner. If you order the fries be aware they go heavy on the salt.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The idea of having BBQ coming to table every 10nins is amazing! but the food is too spicy and salty.

Tags: Authentic, Spicy, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Our second visit to Carnaval. First time was more fun though. The servers seemed to be coming non-stop with meat. This visit not so much. We were waiting for someone to come around much of the time. The servers were all personable, friendly and helpful with suggestions for number of sides, etc. The setting didn't seem to have quite the ambiance this visit either. Maybe it is because we sat at an inside table rather than by a window. I would definitely request a window table next visit. All in all, it was fine. I do wish the water had been colder or had ice though.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

The food is great and it certainly feels like being in a Brazilian restaurant. The Gaucho service is good but inconsistent. This was my 3rd visit - 1st was excellent, 2nd poor this one OK.
We get the special Sun-thurs senior rate other wise it would be out of the price range we find acceptable. Having a Groupon helps too.
Parking changes have made it easier to get to and one appreciates saving the extra $$ one used to spend on parking.
Stairs up are steep - not for those with weak knees!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 6, 2017

The service was very good - from the hostess to the waitress and the gentlemen bringing the skewers of meat around

But that is where the positive experience ends ... the meat offerings were very poor and mostly burnt.

The sides were not very good - the carrots tasted old and stale ...

The value is simply not there ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

Overall service was great. Is a bit pricey but worth it. The only thing i have to say that i didnt like was the las time i went all the meat cuts i tried was raw. Meat was pure red and cold. I was greatly disspointed because i paid a lot for me anf my family. Maybe they need someone who know how to cook meat properly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

1/2 of our tables steaks were over cooked, Picanha was described by the server as being a tender steak, but it was extremely chewy, server forgot a drink for one of the guests at our table, but brought for everyone else and we were the only table in the lounge all evening. The website did not advertise well that the dining room was only for the buffet and so after waiting for the server to greet us we had to be moved back down to the lounge and then waited around 10 minutes to be served by the server/bartender even though the lounge was empty. Overall the staff was friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Casual, Paleo Friendly, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

the experience was AMAZING. from the minute our server went to get our drinks the meat was non-stop. I had to keep the card on red at times so I could enjoy what I had on my plate. quite often at all you can eat they fill you up with sides and bread. Not at Carnaval the focus is on the meat dishes. Great flavour. Top notch dining experience. Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great food as always , but noticed a different pit master, an meat was a little on the raw side, other then that it was fantastic

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 29, 2017

As always, Carnaval provided us with a great night out for our wedding anniversary.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

The food was amazing service as always was great friendly wait staff and the cook made a effort to ask us what we wanted to eat!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.