About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ is located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. The two floor restaurant has been the outcome of the hard work from our team that has worked tirelessly to bring you such great restaurants as Hermanos Restaurant & Wine Bar, Corrientes Argentine Pizzeria and the Billabong Gastro Pub.

Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Featuring a wood coal burning BBQ that came from Rio Grande do Sul,South Brazil, home of the famous Brazilian BBQ. This rotisserie style BBQ, makes for the most tender, juicy, perfectly cooked cuts of meats. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Brazilian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

We welcome and invite you to enjoy Winnipegʼs only original steakhouse experience of this tropical South American country. We welcome you to CARNAVAL Brazilian BBQ.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS - Menu available.
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Emma Molaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (133)
good for groups (109)
fit for foodies (78)
See All
scenic view (67)
neighborhood gem (33)
great for lunch (26)
hot spot (25)
romantic (22)
kid-friendly (18)
great for outdoor dining (12)
notable wine list (10)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
Sort By:
Newest
1179 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A little loud at time but enjoyed the ex ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 4 days ago

A little loud at time but enjoyed the experience and will be back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was so delicious ! Our server (Regg ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was so delicious ! Our server (Reggie) was awesome. Could not have been better night. Definitely wear comfortable clothes because you really eating ALOT! :)

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We expected to pay more for great food o ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 4 days ago

We expected to pay more for great food on a special occasion but the cost was far greater than the amount of food we consumed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Usually good, but not this time. All me ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined 7 days ago

Usually good, but not this time. All meats overdone, dry and tough. Sides were still tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was fantastic even for a picky eate ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fantastic even for a picky eater who only eats well done meat The only complaint was the temperature of the restaurant It was extremely hot and humid in there even though they had the AC at the lowest it would go I you plan to go do it when it's not hot outside otherwise you will roast

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our second time here, very tasty food. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Our second time here, very tasty food. The bbq was delicious and the sides were great. For 2 people the sides could have been smaller. Overall a very good experience! I would go back and recommend to others!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a great experience. Service was v ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had a great experience. Service was very good, meat was delicious. Sides were ok.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Thank you for a good food and service. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Thank you for a good food and service. Prices for drinks are too high. Would love to see some pickled food for sides. Overall was a great experience.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My son and I have been to Carnaval a few ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My son and I have been to Carnaval a few times before. The food, service and ambiance are consistently excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went her for my wife's birthday, an I ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

I went her for my wife's birthday, an I know we were a younger group of people but we got treated like wernt adults. about 8 of us all worked in the restaurant industries an have never seen worse service from the server.. you guys are lucky you charge that 18% gratuity because if it wasn't for that are server did not deserve a tip. we only had one or two rounds of drinks served to us an that was by us asking some other server an even then he was like oh I'll get your server mean while he's beside are table talking to his buddy, we could see him but he never acknowledged the fact that some of us had empty glasses... I jus have to say maybe you should get some better training in place for your servers cause you guys says your a higher end restaurant,I have to say his service was not high end. don't get me wrong the food an the guys serving the food took care of us.. but not having any drinks was pretty disapointing, won't be coming back that's for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

i have been there 5 times, the first 4 ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

i have been there 5 times, the first 4 times was with a large group of people and the food was great and service was great and over all we had a very good time. The last time we came was just my girl friend and i and it was not the same. I wanted to treat my girl friend to some thing special for her birthday and it was anything but. The service was good but the food wasn't as good as all the times before. I would come back and try it again because it might have just been a 1 time thing. But my girl friend says for $150 dollars we could have done a lot better.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Our waiter took our salad order, he drop ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Our waiter took our salad order, he dropped it off and we didn't see him again until it was time to leave. We weren't offered any bread and we didn't see any on the menu.. We would have liked to have some bread and maybe a check by with our waiter?

Otherwise, the food was fantastic. Just as good as the Brazilian restaurants my husband and I have eaten at in Paraguay.

Would it be possible to have sample bowls of some of the sides...It seems a shame to get a big bowl of something and not eat it...(just a thought) Servers were friendly and professional..awesome service...will recommend Carnaval to everyone!

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

the rodizio was very good the garlic pot ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

the rodizio was very good the garlic potates were a bit watery .

the service was spot on.

my regret is that i didn't ger around to the bbq ribs.

my friend jim is in love with his 65th birthday present.

(the Rodizio of course!)

I would consider offering dipping sauces for the meats offered.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Service was excellent and overall experi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Service was excellent and overall experience was great. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food was excellent. Especially the frie ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Food was excellent. Especially the fried cassava!

Our waiter was friendly and professional.

Didn't have a highchair or other chair for the baby. Not kid friendly.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great food and plenty of it!!! Sides ar ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Great food and plenty of it!!! Sides are included in the price! Exellent wine and beer list. Price fits value for certain!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was really good however a bit price ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was really good however a bit pricey. Especially kids prices considering how little they eat.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was ok. Not the best barbecue w ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

The food was ok. Not the best barbecue we've had. Too salty and nothing to complement the flavors of the meat was offered. It was our first time and I had told this to our sever. A Brazilian friend said that most of the Brazilians he knows who tried it were disappointed. That it was far from what they had growing up. It's definitely an experience but it's not enough for us to want to come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value2

I was disappointed that the refills on p ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

I was disappointed that the refills on pop were extra. The meal is already costly enough.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great all around dining experience! Endl ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great all around dining experience! Endless food and all very tasty!!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent evening, had a nice chat with ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent evening, had a nice chat with the Brazilian staff in regards to football which capped off a perfect evening.

We will return.

The noise level was perfect!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was terrible on thi ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food and service was terrible on this visit. We have been to Carnaval numerous times . We asked for a manager to discuss our issues none were present. We emailed Fabio from their website a few days ago . No response . I would not recommend this restaurant anymore . Quality of food and service has gone way downhill. Give it a miss.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

The meat was fantastic -- a nice variety ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The meat was fantastic -- a nice variety well seasoned and succulent. The side dishes we tried were bland, the service from our waiter was OK, from the folks carrying around the meat was awesome. I was expecting something like Pampas in Edmonton with more ambiance and a self-serve opportunity for the side dishes. We were seated in the middle of what felt like the freeway -- just inside the door and in the middle of the room. I requested a move to a window table. We did move but not where we requested -- the excuse was a big group was coming but that never happened. Disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Great food & service! Servers were all i ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food & service! Servers were all interactive and very friendly. Listened and accommodated our requests! Really very good dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Hard to find a medium rare piece of meat ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Hard to find a medium rare piece of meat. And found the spicing to be very salty. Service was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

I found it a little underwhelming actual ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I found it a little underwhelming actually. Of course there was plenty of food, but the meat was a little tough over all, and on several occasions over cooked.

I didn't dislike it... it just wasn't the 'wow' experience I had when the restaurant first opened.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Food was wonderful staff was very friend ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Food was wonderful staff was very friendly and service was good. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are a meat lover....this is defin ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

If you are a meat lover....this is definitely the best place to go . It was a little salty but that is meat....the food was very good . I would go back in a heartbeat .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

very friendly and knowledgeable staff. G ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great service!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was fantastic ! Really friend ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic ! Really friendly and checked in on us often!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One needs to go with a terrific appetite ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

One needs to go with a terrific appetite! The meat selection is fabulous and done to perfection. Some of the seasoning is too salty (garlic salt). The sides are more basic but a good accompaniment to the meat - and of course the barbecued pineapple is mouth-wateringly good! The staff are really friendly, courteous and helpful. The upstairs decor could use more designer input to match the 'carnaval' theme - but the overall food experience is worth it. Cost-wise, not something I could afford often.

P.S. The waitresses' trademark is black dresses and red shoes - nice touch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

While some meat was prepared well (only ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

While some meat was prepared well (only a few), most items were over cooked, dry and not edible. ..such as chicken drums, thighs, lamb and chorizo sausage. The cheese pastels were rock had and we could eat them. Overall it not a pleasant meal and definitely not worth what we paid. However, servers were pleasant and efficient...that's it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Excellent food and experience as always. ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and experience as always. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the evening overall. For some ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

We enjoyed the evening overall. For someone who has dietary concerns or cannot eat large portions, there is a bit of a challenge. Bang for the buck when you can't eat a lot - or have salt concerns...this is not the place for you. But, if you have a big appetite and are open to trying different options, you will love it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food was awesome, we had the privile ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was awesome, we had the privilege of having a year end school celebration with the family. Our 4 boys left the restaurant in awe of the awesome variety of meat. They actually got filled. (a miracle in itself) Thanks so much for the excellent service. It was fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food....... Great service. Did not ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food....... Great service. Did not have to wait and in fact we were seated a little early. Only downside ( which has nothing to do with the restaurant) is parking...very expensive .. $6.00 for less than an hour. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Prompt & friendly service & great food!

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

I attended with my family for a post-graduation lunch. We decided to go with the buffet option. The service was quick and friendly and the food was incredible. My young daughter had spilled her lemonade, and the server was really nice about the situation. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good experience for newbies and meat lov ...

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Good experience for newbies and meat lovers. Would prefer a help yourself bar of sides like other Brazilian BBQ restaurants. Price makes it a special occasion type of restaurant. Great service.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Really lovely evening

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Second time we have been here; both times have been excellent. Food was very good, service excellent. This was early on a Sunday; was able to be seated earlier than our reservation, no one made us feel rushed to give up our table. Nice quiet time so just right for us. Would go again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We will come again

 
 (Winnipeg)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

It was a very nice experience. Very friendly staff. Wonderful food. And enjoying it with friends.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.