About Carnaval Brazilian BBQ

270 Waterfront Drive
Winnipeg, MB R3B0R6
View Larger Map

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ is located at Bannatyne and Waterfront in the historic East Exchange. The two floor restaurant has been the outcome of the hard work from our team that has worked tirelessly to bring you such great restaurants as Hermanos Restaurant & Wine Bar, Corrientes Argentine Pizzeria and the Billabong Gastro Pub.

Our team is proud to bring all the elements of an authentic Brazilian BBQ dining experience to Winnipeg. Featuring a wood coal burning BBQ that came from Rio Grande do Sul,South Brazil, home of the famous Brazilian BBQ. This rotisserie style BBQ, makes for the most tender, juicy, perfectly cooked cuts of meats. Our passionate team comprised of Brazilian nationals and Brazilian trained staff will ensure that the authentic culinary experience is one your senses will crave.

We welcome and invite you to enjoy Winnipegʼs only original steakhouse experience of this tropical South American country. We welcome you to CARNAVAL Brazilian BBQ.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Brazilian, Brazilian Steakhouse, Barbecue

Hours of Operation:
ALL YOU CAN EAT - CHURRASCO HOURS

LUNCH
Thursday & Friday 11:30 - 1:30pm

DINNER
Monday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Friday - Saturday: 4:30 - 10:00pm
Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm

LOUNGE HOURS - Menu available.
Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 9:00pm
Saturday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm
Sunday: 4:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Bannatyne Avenue

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 505-0945

Website:
http://www.carnavalrestaurant.ca/

Parking Details:
There is paid parking along Waterfront Drive and adjacent paid parking lots to the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Emma Molaro

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carnaval Brazilian BBQ Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Special Occasion
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Most Booked
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Special Occasion
Winnipeg
Most Booked
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

special occasion (129)
good for groups (103)
fit for foodies (75)
See All
scenic view (65)
neighborhood gem (36)
great for lunch (27)
romantic (27)
hot spot (26)
kid-friendly (16)
notable wine list (11)
great for outdoor dining (11)
late-night find (9)
great for brunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
Sort By:
Newest
1156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

The meat was fantastic -- a nice variety ...

Dined 4 days ago

The meat was fantastic -- a nice variety well seasoned and succulent. The side dishes we tried were bland, the service from our waiter was OK, from the folks carrying around the meat was awesome. I was expecting something like Pampas in Edmonton with more ambiance and a self-serve opportunity for the side dishes. We were seated in the middle of what felt like the freeway -- just inside the door and in the middle of the room. I requested a move to a window table. We did move but not where we requested -- the excuse was a big group was coming but that never happened. Disappointing.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food & service! Servers were all i ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great food & service! Servers were all interactive and very friendly. Listened and accommodated our requests! Really very good dining experience.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service4

Hard to find a medium rare piece of meat ...

Dined 5 days ago

Hard to find a medium rare piece of meat. And found the spicing to be very salty. Service was great.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

I found it a little underwhelming actual ...

Dined 5 days ago

I found it a little underwhelming actually. Of course there was plenty of food, but the meat was a little tough over all, and on several occasions over cooked. I didn't dislike it... it just wasn't the 'wow' experience I had when the restaurant first opened.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was wonderful staff was very friend ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was wonderful staff was very friendly and service was good. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

If you are a meat lover....this is defin ...

Dined 6 days ago

If you are a meat lover....this is definitely the best place to go . It was a little salty but that is meat....the food was very good . I would go back in a heartbeat .

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

very friendly and knowledgeable staff. G ...

Dined 6 days ago

very friendly and knowledgeable staff. Great service!

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our waiter was fantastic ! Really friend ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our waiter was fantastic ! Really friendly and checked in on us often!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One needs to go with a terrific appetite ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

One needs to go with a terrific appetite! The meat selection is fabulous and done to perfection. Some of the seasoning is too salty (garlic salt). The sides are more basic but a good accompaniment to the meat - and of course the barbecued pineapple is mouth-wateringly good! The staff are really friendly, courteous and helpful. The upstairs decor could use more designer input to match the 'carnaval' theme - but the overall food experience is worth it. Cost-wise, not something I could afford often. P.S. The waitresses' trademark is black dresses and red shoes - nice touch!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

While some meat was prepared well (only ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

While some meat was prepared well (only a few), most items were over cooked, dry and not edible. ..such as chicken drums, thighs, lamb and chorizo sausage. The cheese pastels were rock had and we could eat them. Overall it not a pleasant meal and definitely not worth what we paid. However, servers were pleasant and efficient...that's it.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and experience as always. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Excellent food and experience as always. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We enjoyed the evening overall. For some ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

We enjoyed the evening overall. For someone who has dietary concerns or cannot eat large portions, there is a bit of a challenge. Bang for the buck when you can't eat a lot - or have salt concerns...this is not the place for you. But, if you have a big appetite and are open to trying different options, you will love it!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was awesome, we had the privile ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The food was awesome, we had the privilege of having a year end school celebration with the family. Our 4 boys left the restaurant in awe of the awesome variety of meat. They actually got filled. (a miracle in itself) Thanks so much for the excellent service. It was fun.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food....... Great service. Did not ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food....... Great service. Did not have to wait and in fact we were seated a little early. Only downside ( which has nothing to do with the restaurant) is parking...very expensive .. $6.00 for less than an hour. Will definitely go back.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Prompt & friendly service & great food!

Dined on June 9, 2016

I attended with my family for a post-graduation lunch. We decided to go with the buffet option. The service was quick and friendly and the food was incredible. My young daughter had spilled her lemonade, and the server was really nice about the situation. I would definitely recommend!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good experience for newbies and meat lov ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Good experience for newbies and meat lovers. Would prefer a help yourself bar of sides like other Brazilian BBQ restaurants. Price makes it a special occasion type of restaurant. Great service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We will come again

Dined on June 3, 2016

It was a very nice experience. Very friendly staff. Wonderful food. And enjoying it with friends.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Good as always

Dined on June 3, 2016

Took Mom for a belated Mothers Day gift. We just beat the dinner rush, and got excellent cuts of meat, tender and juicy with nice smokey flavor. The Chorizo is amazing! The sides were great as well, we especially enjoyed the kale broccoli salad. Mild and cool to go with the cuts of beef, pork, chicken, sausage, and lamb. House wine was good too. Overall slightly pricey but we had a great experience, friendly servers, and excellent service.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing food. Just a little bit on the s ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Amazing food. Just a little bit on the salty side this time..

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Too Loud

Dined on May 31, 2016

While the food and service were excellent, the"background " music was so loud we almost had to shout at each other to be heard.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food awesome service!

Dined on May 28, 2016

We liked the food and service and the atmosphere . Very relaxed yet upscale feel at the same time. wish you didn't have to pay extra for seafood skewers though. Considering the price you'd think you could have some kind of a seafood choice as well included. Other than than it was fabulous .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing! Our first time there, was VERY pleased.

Dined on May 28, 2016

Amazing food, very good service. Went for a bachelor party and it was such a fantastic experience!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

I've been here 3 times and it was a grea ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

I've been here 3 times and it was a great experience everytime, service is good but could be a little better, had a couple times where we had a bit of a wait for a server to come back, but overall it was still awesome

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food did not keep coming...

Dined on May 21, 2016

I visited Carnaval roughly six month ago before going again this past weekend. The service was friendly and the table was ready for us. Not sure if it was the location (first table by the window, close to the barbecue pit) or the fact that was a long weekend but the meat came very sporadically and the number of beef cuts were less than before. On the plus side the ever elusive pineapple came twice! The sides have not changed much, the fried yucca is now thicker but that was about it. Still a great experience, but I was dreaming on all those cuts coming constantly and it was more like a trickle. Left with a full tummy and would recommend, just a little less enthusiastically.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

Slow

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were seated and it took a while before we were even acknowledged. In fact a table that was seated after us had their drink order taken before anyone even said Hi to us. Once the server did come over. She was very friendly and attentive. The servers with the meat were very spiractic in the tables they visited. Some would walk right by us and go to the next table.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately I cannot remember our wait ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Unfortunately I cannot remember our waiters name but, I would like to say he was very knowledgable and helped us with everything we asked. Very good recommendations of wine and such. Food was very good. Will defenitly return again. Made our 10th Anniversary night even better.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

loved our experience. The food was amazi ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

loved our experience. The food was amazing. But 3 hours would be better, we felt very rushed . i had no idea it was a 2 hour limit or we would have made reservations somewhere else.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 20, 2016

This was our first visit to Carnaval and it did not disappoint. Service was great, food was awesome. Can't wait to go again!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

very much enjoy the food, location is ni ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

very much enjoy the food, location is nice for short walk after big dinner. parking can be a bit of a challenge on weekends. its a lot of meat, so go hungry!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Food was awesome! The people at the restaurant did a great job!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time. Our group was s ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We had a wonderful time. Our group was seated immediately. Sangrias were really good, food was fabulous, sides were great, staff were friendly and helpful. Some one in our party remembered having the filet wrapped in bacon and some sort of a grilled cheese. Apparently both are now off the menu so she was a little disappointed, mostly because she wanted us to try them. We would definitely go back. thanks,

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Meat Lovers...This Place Is For You

Dined on May 8, 2016

Celebrated Mother's Day and being my 2nd time here, it was enjoyable. If you like meat, this place serves a lot of it. With a set price of $45 for dinner (including all the sides you can eat), relatively good price. It does get pricey though when you order a full bottle of wine. Their sirloin is definitely top notch. The pork serving were good too. They also serve lamb but I am not a fan of lamb. They come around to offer another meat sample in a timely manner so you have time to enjoy your selection. The staff were friendly and accommodating to our requests. Would definitely return again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Meat Eaters Dream

Dined on May 3, 2016

As a vegetarian I only ate the sides and they were very good. My date enjoyed the meat very much as well.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carnaval BBQ

Dined on May 3, 2016

The food was amazing. It was a completely new dining experience! The staff was friendly!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

very friendly and quick service

Dined on May 1, 2016

very friendly and quick service

food3
ambience1
service3
value1

Noisy

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was with a quiet group including seniors. Placed next to a large family gathering whose children continuously ran around unattended like banshees. Completely took away from the experience. Took a walk to another area of the restaurant, it was nice and quiet. Could have been seated much better.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the unique experience. The se ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

We enjoyed the unique experience. The service was friendly with fresh, juicy, tender, flavourful meat offered to us on a regular basis. This was a wonderful way to celebrate our wedding anniversary with friends.

Tags: special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best place for a first date!

Dined on April 30, 2016

decided to try something new and Carnaval made our first date magical...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gluten is known

Dined on April 29, 2016

Our waitress was very knowledgeable with regards to gluten free. This is great to see and will have us coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Upscale experience without the upscale attitude. Friendly environment with a great show

Tags: special occasion, scenic view, hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.