Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Carmine's - Washington DC

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (155)
Good for Groups (140)
Casual (91)
See All
Special Occasion (86)
Comfort Food (76)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Kid-friendly (55)
Good for a Date (53)
Authentic (48)
Fun (45)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Business Meals (36)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (26)
Great for Lunch (26)
Bar Seating (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Hot Spot (22)
Neighborhood Gem (19)
Private Room (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Outstanding Value (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (16)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
People Watching (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Historic (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Tasting Menu (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Brunch (7)
Healthy (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great Beer (5)
Vegan (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Seasonal (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Fireplace (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Live Sports (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
3532 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 6 days ago

Very good meal and excellent service. Enjoyed the pasta with white clam sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined 6 days ago

Great waiter Sean

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was great. Service was excellent! Sean was very attentive.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 6 days ago

One word. Awesome! Every time I am in DC this is a must stop.

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Because it was a graduation weekend, I can understand the wait that we had for our food. However, our waiter was uninterested in us, and very unenthusiastic about his job. We were there relatively early, and we were surprised at the fact that we got our salads much later than people who arrived later than we did. It was all a little bit disappointing to say the least.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was amazing and well priced for such large portions. The family-style dining was wonderful in that it made it easier to try multiple things on the menu. 7 of us ate a pasta dish and a salad dish and there was still some left over (we had appetizers at a different locations prior). The only downside was that we had a reservation for 8:30 and when we arrived a few minutes early, we were told that our table would not be ready on time but it would only take a few minutes. We were not seated until about 8:50. Other than that, the service was phenomenal and our waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

We went to celebrate a graduation. Both service and food were amazing. Highly recommend this, especially if you are hungry

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 7 days ago

The food is very tasty. Do not go by the suggested servings per plate. Their serving sizes are small and over rated for the price. Our waitress was exceptionally hard to locate. I had to try and find her to order items, beverages extra servings, dessert. The bus boys are great. Overall not happy with the experience especially for the cost. There were 12 in our party.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 7 days ago

Consistently fantastic food and experience at all the Carmine's locations.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best lasagna I've ever had!! Great atmosphere and good prices.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great Manhattans, caesar salad and lasagne. Portions would feed four people though and we were only two. Had enough to take home for the next night!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Great food, service and ambiance! Will definitely dine here again!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2017

I visit every year and Carmines is a must. The food is amazing and the more people you have, the more food platters you can get.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a great time, we did have one hiccup when one of our table ordered the porter house and then changed her mind to the lobster they brought out both. Benson the manager took the porterhouse off no worries. We did have a hard time ordering everything as they seemed to be out of a few dishes - oysters being one. And we would have ordered desert but the kitchen closed before we could, a little notice would have been great. Everyone responded very quickly and well but it was super busy (cop week in DC and Mother's day) so it was nuts.
Good time had by all.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The parking garage was very convenient to the restaurant. There is even a elevator button with the restaurant's name on it. The host who seated us was very nice. The good service ended there. Our waitress ignored us. We asked for bread and were not given any. All the tables around us were given bread. Someone from the kitchen brought our food and the waitress did not even check on us until we were all finished eating. At that point we asked for bread again and we were finally given bread after our meal was over. She never asked if our drinks​ needed refills. We have been to the Carmines in New York City. That location is far better than the DC location. I will not be returning again to the DC location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My family and I went here for Mothers Day! Food was awesome and the waiter service was 👍🏾 great

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Worst service ever. It took us going to the hostess after 15 minutes to get water. No waiter showed up for 20 minutes. Then served cold bread and water. 15 minutes after ordering he showed up to tell us there was no lasagna.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went with a group for a graduation lunch. Restaurant was crowded. Graduation weekend. We had a group of 13.

We were running a few minutes late and called the restaurant to let them know. We were told it would not be an issue and they would hold the table. Upon arrival, 20 minutes past our reservation time, we were told that after 15 minutes they consider us a "No Show" and cancelled our reservation. We explained that we had called and what we were told. They did quickly find us another table.

The good: food was fantastic!!! Carmine salad was unbelievable. Calamari was tender. Everything was wonderful

The bad: (1) VERY SLOW service. We waited at least 30 minutes for a soda (2)Misrepresented the size of the platters. Waiter told us the dinners would serve 2 - 3....yeah no....more like 4 - 6. We ordered 4 dinner platters for 13 and took food home. Even the appetizers. We ordered 2 Carmine salad and 3 calamari and almost finished the carmine salad but took home 1 entire calamari order.

They should have called in the troops for this day. Avoid on graduation days etc, but def. bring a group.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I always enjoy my meals when I dine here. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Modern Decor, Private Room, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Tasting Menu, Great for Brunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Casual, Quick Bite, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great ambiance, great food and full of happy folks around you. Fantastic.

Tags: Good for Groups, Live Sports, Bar Seating, Fun, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Had a fabulous dinner with 3 family members and 2 friends. First time to Carmine's but won't be the last time. Excellent Porterhouse and salad. Love the fresh bread, especially the pizza bread. Will be back

Tags: Authentic, Private Room, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Really loud, but fun. I have a 2 year old who makes alot of noise, so the volume is perfect for him haha.

Tags: Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great service, excellent value and outstanding traditional Italian food. Yes, it is family style, but I go often with my husband and we love taking leftovers home. It would be worth it even if we left food behind. (Bar serves smaller portions.) My husband grew up in the restaurant business in an Italian family from the North End of Boston and Carmine's is his favorite restaurant.
Manager called me twice to tell me I left my credit card there - above and beyond good service.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Good was good and there is plenty. Service was great and helpful. Could work on the tiramisu, lacked tradtional flavor. Was not balanced between cream and cookie. But i did like the experience overall. Will come back with family and friends when we are back in town

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Great group lunch for our fabulous team.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Great food, prices and service! This place is quite, but a little dark.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Large portions, service was good and food was great. Direct access from parking garage a plus for D.C.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Restaurant was very loud, service was very slow, Food was ok. Does not live up to the Carmine's in NYC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The food was delicious just be careful how much you order!

Tags: People Watching, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Everyone was extraordinary! The food was amazing. 10 stars.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Business Meals, Healthy, Romantic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 6, 2017

The server Kevin was extremely slow and unfriendly. We had to repeat all our orders three time before he understood what we wanted. We paid cash, and he came back telling us that we had not put in enough cash to cover the bill, whereas we had put in more and were expecting some change back . Very crappy experience. Never going back.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Good family style food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 1, 2017

Great find and I have recommended the restaurant to family, friends and coworkers. Nix the other restaurants in the area and stop here. You'll be back!

Tags: Business Meals, Late-night Find, Bar Seating, Family Style, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Perfect for a student group traveling to DC! The menu allowed us to order several family-styles dishes, making sure there was something for everyone. Yet, the bill did not break our limited budget! The kids (13 and 14 year olds) loved it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We visited following my son's First Communion. The staff was great, the wait was short and the food was delicious.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 30, 2017

Large portions 👍
ICC Sub, bread ratio to meat too much bread.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 29, 2017

We had been to Carmine's in NYC, and everyone loved it. Unfortunately, our experience with the DC location was not as good. The food was just not quite as flavorful, although still pretty good. The Caesar salad was basically a huge pile of Romaine with a little dressing. Pretty boring. I requested some freshly ground black pepper, but the waiter explained that they do not offer it, which was pretty hard to believe. That salad sure could have used it. Our spaghetti alla vodka sauce with meatballs, was pretty good, although a little under-seasoned. Again, it was good, just not as good as New York.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 29, 2017

The biggest downside is the size of the portions!--for three and maybe four persons, no options. So we couldn't try a lot of dishes (what we ordered was ok, nothing to rave for), and given that we were on a trip, who wants to bring a doggie bag on the plane back home? This leads to less variety and inevitable, gross, deplorable waste of food. In a world with hungry people. Not cool.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Good food but LOUD.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 28, 2017

If you can, sit at/in the bar. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. Unlike the main restaurant you can order of the lunch menu at the bar, which for just 2 people was a much more realistic portion size (still a ridiculous amount of food). The atmosphere is very lively and perfect for a casual date or relaxing after touring the city all day. The food was great! Typical for you family style restaurants but the quality of the ingredients seemed to be a step above. Everything for the bread and dipping oil to the huge plate of lasagna was perfect! We'll definitely be back the next time we're in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.