Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 112 times today

Carmine's - Washington DC

4.4
4127 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Comfort Food
  • Good for Birthdays
Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private dining
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(202) 737-7770
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Ford Barsi
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
between E and D street on 7th street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

View Private Dining Details
What 4127 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.4based on recent ratings
4.5
food
4.3
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
91% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined a day ago

Great experience here! You won’t leave here hungry!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined a day ago

We've been to the one in Atlantic City and that is what hooked me. The food here was MAGNIFICENT. The service? Confused. We were seated then asked to move (um no). Forks and bread clearly visible under the table. Our water glass was dirty (had to ask for another one)
Our server seemed to be the only one handling many tables. We ordered an appetizer: never received it. We were surprised to receive our lasagna and no sign of the appetizer. We received bread but no oil (Cardinal sin in my opinion). We will be back because this is some GOOD food however We will do so with lowered expectations. Hopefully this was just one bad night.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined 3 days ago

Take a group and share. Huge portions. Wish they had half size apps. Food was excellent!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Food was fantastic, and there is no way we could eat it all!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

It took a few minutes to get a server to our table, but once that happened they took good care of us.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Family style entrees, so come hungry. Everything made from scratch, the steak was amazing. We Had 12 in our party and our server was incredible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

It was too loud to hold a conversation. I did like that this restaurant offer gluten free pasta. The portions were able but unfortunately it failed to hit the mark on taste.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

This was our first time here. You can tell that it is a family oriented place from beginning to end. Our picky eaters loved the food. It is large portions, so order sparingly. They mean when they say it is meant to be shared. Food tasted fresh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Bad service. We ordered some appetizers for the table. The waiter also asked if we wanted garlic bread. We said no, just the basket of bread that is included. It never came out until the entrees. However, as we were in the middle of enjoying our appetizers , they brought out our entrees and found room on the table to plop them down and left. So we were wolfing down our appetizers because our food was also delivered and we didn’t want it to get cold. We spent over $300 there and were very rushed with the food and service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Good restaurant over all

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

It was a crazy busy evening at Carmine's but our server pull it off very well...he was always around if we needed him. Food was very good traditional Italian. Family style and big portions make this place a good value.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food is always great at Carmines. Red sangria is awesome and the glass is big enough to justify spending $11.50 on it. The few problems though: 1) We were seated a half hour after our reservation time. 2) The idea of just yelling out the name on a reservation is a little outdated considering how loud the restaurant is. 3) The crowd on Saturday night was so huge and all were congregated right inside the entrance with nowhere else to go. It was so ridiculous that a manager should've really had people waiting outside or something. It really was a fire hazard....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was great! The serivce was phenomenal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Step up from Buca. Best value for those interested in finer dining with families; especially those with kids and/or picky eaters.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 9, 2018

My boyfriend and I are from out of town and decided to make a trip to DC, we weren't exactly sure where to eat but we walked around for a little and saw how cute the outside was , so I looked up the restaurant and saw that you had to have reservations (liked that) so I made them for 2 we got seated right away , the waiter was great and was from Pittsburgh just like us ! We ordered within 10 minutes and the food was brought out less than 15 . It was SOOOOO good and satisfying . We even thought about coming back for dinner before we headed home haha ! It was such a great experience and I'll always recommend to my friends and family & I'm sure we'll go there again the next time we visit !

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 8, 2018

Great food, enjoyable meal!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Visiting D.C. with family. Loved Carmine’s. Portions are huge though! Would definitely go back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Good food but the Portimonense was toooooo big.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

Great food, we had a great time. Service was a little slow, but otherwise good.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Enjoyable - large family style portions. Two of us shared 1 entree and a side and still had leftovers. Our waiter, Wilfredo, gave us excellent service.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 2, 2018

Great food and service

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 30, 2018

Ginormous portions and very tasty ! A single lasagna, bread and single salad would easily feed 4!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

I took my boyfriend out for a romantic dinner, he is a big eater and struggled to finish our shared spaghetti and meatballs (we had plenty of leftovers). The service and the ambiance was amazing, and they were very accommodating, considering that my boyfriend does not eat pork. Overall excellent restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Food was excellent and very plentiful. Orders are definately for sharing with 2-3 more people. Staff is very friendly and service is fast. Will definately go back

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 27, 2018

when we arrived at restaurant we had a 6 o'clock reservation, the unfriendly hostess said our reservations were at 6:30 since we did online reservations? Once seated we had a very good waitress and delicious food. I would recommend this restaurant but suggest they find friendlier hostesses!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Our experience from the time we arrived until we paid was outstanding. Food was wonderful and would definitely go again when I visit DC.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Absolutely perfect place for a reunion of high school friends in town with their grandson. Shrimp scampi was delicious, meatballs are the best ever. We loved the bustling atmosphere and ambiance. Made for a most festive evening. If "Doc" is your waiter then you are in for a marvelous experience. He's 5-star

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 26, 2018

We lucked out and snagged an outdoor table - much needed because the noise level inside was high. The stuffed mushrooms and the veal piccata with spinach and spaghetti were terrific. We came from out of town so not sure that we’ll be back anytime soon but Carmine’s is a reliable middlebrow Italian restaurant.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 25, 2018

The food was good, the service left a lot to be desired. The waiter gave only one menu and said there were no more menus for my friend. He was very slow and took a long time to complete the order. It's a very large noisy restaurant, intended for tourists and large groups of people. I would not recommend it for a couple.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 25, 2018

I've been to Carmine's in New York but it was the first time in DC. Food was excellent as always. Our waiter, Doc, was outstanding. Always around to make sure we had what we needed. His attitude was one of the best I've ever experienced while dining.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 24, 2018

The food was tasty and the portions were large. I recommend it for a group, family style. Servers were friendly. Did not have to wait long for our food.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Son’s 15th Birthday celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Food was wonderful. Only disappointment was we noted a birthday when we made the reservation and they didn’t do anything at all to acknowledge it.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

A group of ten of us dined at Carmine's for a birthday celebration. I was happy they offered us a large round table that easily accommodated our group; long tables often make it difficult for group conversation. Carmine's has several of these larger tables, which is a big plus.

Our waiter started off quite attentive and then his enthusiasm dwindled by the end of the meal. We clearly did not overstay as there was no one waiting for tables and every large table near us was empty. In any case, the food was good with the exeption of the rigatoni, which was really unappetizing in taste and appearance. We ordered two hot antipasto platters which were great and more than enough to satisfy our group. Particularly good were fried ravioli, artichoke dip, mussels and clams. The cold antipasto platter was similarly good, with thin slices of proscuitto, seafood salad, and eggplant tapenade. The only downside to these platters is that they are incredibly heavy and large and that made sharing difficult. We had to serve each other since the platters were far too heavy to pass. For entrees we had chicken cutlet, shrimp and chicken parmagiana, spaghetti and meatballs and the aforementioned rigatoni. Everything was delivered hot and the food was good; nothing special, but it was good and plentiful.

Now back to the rigatoni. We were really sorry we chose that one. Unfortunately, none of the dishes on the menu has a description and we didn't know it would be packed with white beans and stringy hunks of sausage. Definitely not what we hoped for. Our fault for not asking more questions!

Carmine's is good for groups, but a bit on the pricey side for what you get. I Parking is available around the corner in a lot that takes you right to the restaurant, but at $25 for the evening, it might be worth driving around to find something less expensive. Valet would have been available for $11 after 5, but our reservation was for 4:30.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Doc was our waiter, he was great. Kept us informed. I had gone years ago to Carmine’s in New York on the upper west side and have been dying to eat there again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Carmine's is our go-to place when going out with a small or large group of friends or with family. Good food with portions served family style.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our first time to Carmine’s! It was a Saturday evening. The main entrees are not quite as big as you think. Plates are made for sharing but the quantity is not there for the price. Salad was very good. Ravioli’s are plump and tasty. Chicken Parm was tasty - evenly thin. Coating of cutlets were not as flavorable as expected. Garlic bread was very, very good. Bread basket of plain white bread..... saw many of baskets coming out in main dining room. Server did not bring us any if it was standard fair. Server was pleasant but looked overwhelmed. We were in a room with three other groups. He was bouncing from one table to the next. Wine and sangria good. Ordered 1/2 order of cannolis. Three small ones for $9. Full order of six $18. Overall it was Ok.... prefer Maggiano’s.....

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Our dining experience was top notch from beginning to end! We were seated promptly, had a fabulous waiter named Doc who was courteous, attentive and so friendly, food and drinks were terrific, service was great and a great time was had by all! We will be back again when we visit DC!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Good ambiance, big food entrees, nice for large group.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Delicious Italian food served family style. Great place to bring a group.
Large bar area with tv, if you want to catch the game.
Good specials during happy hour

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
104

Tweets by Carmine's - Washington DC