About Carmine's - Washington DC

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Restaurant Photos

Fillet of Chicken Breast Alla Romana - Carmine's - Washington DC
Garlic Bread - Carmine's - Washington DC
Italian Cheese Steak - Carmine's - Washington DC
strawberry shortcake - Carmine's - Washington DC
Seafood Pasta - Carmine's - Washington DC
Spaghetti With Meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC
Coffee - Carmine's - Washington DC
Bread - Carmine's - Washington DC
White Sangria - Carmine's - Washington DC
Cannoli - Carmine's - Washington DC
parmesan cheese - Carmine's - Washington DC
Punch - Carmine's - Washington DC
Rigatoni And Brocolli - Carmine's - Washington DC
Special Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC
Ventanni Margarita - Carmine's - Washington DC
Tiramisu - Carmine's - Washington DC
Shrimp Parmigiana - Carmine's - Washington DC
Chicken Scarpariello - Carmine's - Washington DC
Fried Calamari - Carmine's - Washington DC
Carmines Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC
Fried Zucchini - Carmine's - Washington DC
Chicken Ceaser Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC
house-made meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC
Eggplant Hero - Carmine's - Washington DC
Rigatoni With Meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC
Rigatoni With Sausage - Carmine's - Washington DC
Ravioli W/Cheese - Carmine's - Washington DC
Penne Alla Vodka - Carmine's - Washington DC
Chicken Marsala - Carmine's - Washington DC
Carmine's Aperol Fizz - Carmine's - Washington DC
Sinatra's Ice Tea - Carmine's - Washington DC
Shrimp Scampi - Carmine's - Washington DC
Frozen Berry Cosmo - Carmine's - Washington DC
Ceaser Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC
Giardiniera - Carmine's - Washington DC
Meatball Grinder - Carmine's - Washington DC
Veal Parmigiana - Carmine's - Washington DC
Hot Antipasto - Carmine's - Washington DC
Chocolate Cannoli - Carmine's - Washington DC
Italian Cheesecake - Carmine's - Washington DC
Meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC
Porterhouse Contadina - Carmine's - Washington DC
Sangria - Carmine's - Washington DC
Chicken Parmesean - Carmine's - Washington DC
Chicken Wings - Carmine's - Washington DC
Wings N Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (161)
Special Occasion (96)
Kid-friendly (71)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Great for Lunch (39)
Family Style (31)
Romantic (22)
Comfort Food (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (15)
Fun (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Casual (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Good for a Date (11)
Business Meals (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Bar Seating (5)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Cozy (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
People Watching (3)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Private Room (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Scenic View (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Healthy (1)
Historic (1)
Great Beer (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
3001 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

LOVE Carmines! We have eaten at two of t ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined 4 days ago

LOVE Carmines! We have eaten at two of their locations to date and look forward to eating there again on our next trip to one of the cities in which they are located. One small issue: when we ate at the Carmines in Vegas, they gave us the option of having anchovies in the Caesar salad. We ordered it without anchovies in DC and the anchovy taste was overwhelming. When we spoke to the manager, he assured us that their caesar salad always has anchovies. I don't know why it is different in the different locations but would recommend to them that they give the option to leave anchovies out.

Tags: Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had family come from overseas who wan ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had family come from overseas who wanted to try Italian cuisine. It was an easy choice, since family style dining was encouraged. We felt it was good value for money.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmines is a good spot when you want so ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 6 days ago

Carmines is a good spot when you want some old fashioned Italian food. Since it is served family style, on huge platters, we usually sit in the bar where you can get 1/2 portions. You need a minimum of 4 people to eat the family style portions. I love seeing the look on people's faces who haven't been there before. When their order comes they are usually in shock at the amount of food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Service was perfect, food was great. I' ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined 7 days ago

Service was perfect, food was great. I'm all about the service!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everyone was extremely cheerful and help ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

Everyone was extremely cheerful and helpful when it came to the service. The food was really delicious and is great for large groups (so you can try lots of different meals to share).

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I love Carmines, New York, Atlantic City ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

I love Carmines, New York, Atlantic City, NJ, Bahamas and now, Washington, DC. Food is consistently good at all the sites. A bit too noisy, but we love the "family style" dining and there was enough left over for my son and his friend to eat on the plane on their way to San Francisco!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

I've eaten at Carmine's in NYC a few tim ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

I've eaten at Carmine's in NYC a few times and was always impressed. This visit to the DC location was very disappointing, however. The food was just not very good. Service was excellent, but it did not make up for the poor taste of our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Great for big groups.food always consist ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 21, 2016

Great for big groups.food always consistent. Fabulous Cheesecake.

Tags: Cozy, Seasonal, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

I live in New York and Carmines on 44th ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 19, 2016

I live in New York and Carmines on 44th street is one of my favorite places in the country. I've literally taken 100s of people there. Currently in DC for work and was delighted to see Carmines here too. Immediately took a small group. Love that it wasn't crazy crowded like the NY 44 street location. But the ceasar and the penne ala vodka did not taste the same and wasn't as special. One of my guests there, from NY, made the same unsolicited observation. Still good but not special and great.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

service should have been better. seems ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

service should have been better. seems to be not as good as previous visits

have eaten here many times

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

Carmine's food is fabulous!!! The wait ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Carmine's food is fabulous!!! The waiters were friendly and efficient.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was very delicious. It is alway ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food was very delicious. It is always a good choice for a large family with children. Great environment, something for everyone to eat and enjoy.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Great food and outstanding service. Defi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food and outstanding service. Definitively a must go to.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were in DC with our four grandchildre ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

We were in DC with our four grandchildren and picked Carmine's for dinner one evening. For us, this was a good choice as the large portions were great for the children ( pre-teens and a teen) who can chow down a lot of food. We were also pleased to be able to get a large yummy fruit salad to contrast with the pasta. Our server was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The staff and service were excellent. Po ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

The staff and service were excellent. Portions are described as generous; however, they were huge, but the quality was very good. Prices were reasonable. Worth another go.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

As we walked in and waited to be seated ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

As we walked in and waited to be seated we overheard the hosts saying "skip the African Americans and seat the white family". As the only "African American" family in the lobby at the time it was extremely disrespectful and my family was sour the entire night. The GM came to the table and when told about the experience, offers an apology saying that it wasn't meant to be racial. That did not take away what we heard or how it made us feel....

This ruined our birthday celebration!! Coming all the way from NYC, this really was a horrible experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

The bread basket was wonderful, pasta wa ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The bread basket was wonderful, pasta was not cooked well so that was disappointing. They should also provide individual portion sizes for those that do not have 4 lbs of pasta at one time. Overall, it was okay.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Serv ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Great Food, Great Atmosphere, Great Service. Will be Dining there again

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good but the service was in ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was good but the service was inconsistent we didn't have plates eventually grabbing some from an empty table also waited for check eventually flagged someone else to get it

Our table was too small for the platters and the server did not inform us certain items were additional cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Was pleasantly surprised at the value fo ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Was pleasantly surprised at the value for the money. One order fed three people! The wait staff was patient and attentive. Definitely a must-do when in DC with regard to value for money.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal and exceptional service, it w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great meal and exceptional service, it was an amazing time

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful menu items and taste. Portion ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Wonderful menu items and taste. Portion sizes are so large, so it worked out that we ordered the lasagna to share. It was divine. Great atmosphere, and great service, great music. We had such a good time. We were celebrating a birthday and having some pre-theater dining. Fantastic dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Cozy, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always great

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is fantastic but the service le ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food is fantastic but the service left much to be desired. So disappointed. We went to celebrate a special birthday and notified them that we were doing so, but the service was unacceptable even if we didn't have a special occasion. Our waiter was inattentive and almost entirely absent. The food was hot and delicious when brought to us by someone other than our waiter. Won't be returning anytime soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

This was my 4th time but 3rd at the DC l ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

This was my 4th time but 3rd at the DC location, The waiter wasn't the best. I would trade him for a other & my dining experience would have been awesome!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Our waiter Bosko was great.

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Our waiter Bosko was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It was outstanding. It is a really Itali ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

It was outstanding.

It is a really Italian food.

Great the Calamari red Sauce pasta and the Titanic Ice Cream.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Great experience lots of great ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Always a Great experience lots of great food to choose from, excellent service recommended it to anyone looking for good Italian only recommendation come HUNGRY

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our host, David, was outstanding. We sa ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Our host, David, was outstanding. We sat in the bar area so the services was not all that good. The bar was busy and the coordination of providing services was not the best. However, I would go back in a heart-beat, the food was amazing and I loved the atmosphere.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

The dinner portion sizes of pasta are hu ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

The dinner portion sizes of pasta are huge, with one order being enough to share with 2-4 people. That is good if you want to share, or have food to take home. If travelling and dining alone, or with only one other person, you may feel guilty wasting so much food. The lasagna was excellent, but my wife and I could only finish half of it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Carmine's is always great and definitely ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Carmine's is always great and definitely worth going to!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you love Italian food, you will love ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

If you love Italian food, you will love this restaurant. It is conveniently located and only a short walk from attractions. It's beautiful on the inside and the service is wonderful. Excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

if you dont eat here you are stupid, thi ...

vip
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

if you dont eat here you are stupid, this place is amazing

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So let's see if I'm crystal clear on thi ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

So let's see if I'm crystal clear on this, you order chicken parm and it doesn't come with pasta? Seriously? So you ask for pasta and it's like we asked for won ton soup and get charged $9 to boot.

Carmine's in Broadway is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

This place was a perfect place to host 1 ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

This place was a perfect place to host 16 of us meeting up for dinner, 5 of them being kids. The menu options were perfect and the food was amazing! We did not have 1 bad dish! We would definitely recommend this for large families. The server was very accommodating and super nice.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a group of 16 celebrating a grad ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We were a group of 16 celebrating a graduation at 2 pm. The restaurant was nearly empty, so it was quiet and we had the full attention of the staff. We started with 2 orders each of the house salad and fried calamari. Both were excellent and sufficient for the group. We also had pitchers of red and white sangria. The white was cloyingly sweet and only palatable when mixed with the red.

As it is a family-style restaurant, we ordered platters of entrees to share. We ordered one each of shrimp scampi over angel hair, linguini with white clam sauce, sausage with penne, and chicken marsala. Hands down, the linguini with clam sauce was great, as in lick-the-platter-clean great. The shrimp scampi and chicken marsala were also well-received and all of the pastas were cooked to a perfect al dente. The sausage dish was mediocre - 3 or 4 full sized sausage links buried in a plain, boring marinara sauce - no spice, no herbs, no veggies. That was the only dish that was barely consumed by the 16 of us.

I have been to Carmine's in Atlantic City many times, this was our first time at the one in DC. My advice is the same: you gotta get the linguini with clam sauce!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Service was wonderful. One appetizer an ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Service was wonderful. One appetizer and entree easily fed four..... Food was excellent!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The calimari is truly world class. Chef ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The calimari is truly world class. Chef Barsi keeps a wonderful kitchen.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We enjoyed the stuffed mushrooms. The s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We enjoyed the stuffed mushrooms. The shrimp fra diavolo was very spicy. The tomato based sauce upset my husband's stomach for a couple of days although I had no problems. We drank a delicious Ferrari Carrano Pinot Grigio although I had to ask our waiter for something to keep the wine cold. The food was delicious but the noise made it difficult to hear one another. I was glad they placed us by the window. They have valet parking for $11 plus tips. If we attend another event at the Verizon Center, we'll probably eat there again as well as use their parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, service and it was the b ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food, service and it was the biggest portions I've ever seen! Clams and veal were delicious and our food arrived quick

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fun, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.