About Carmine's - Washington DC

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Restaurant Photos

Italian Cheese Steak
strawberry shortcake
Seafood Pasta
Spaghetti With Meatballs
Coffee
Bread
White Sangria
Cannoli
parmesan cheese
Punch
Rigatoni And Brocolli
Special Salad
Ventanni Margarita
Tiramisu
Shrimp Parmigiana
Chicken Scarpariello
Fried Calamari
Carmines Salad
Fried Zucchini
Chicken Ceaser Salad
house-made meatballs
Eggplant Hero
Rigatoni With Meatballs
Rigatoni With Sausage
Ravioli W/Cheese
Penne Alla Vodka
Chicken Marsala
Carmine's Aperol Fizz
Sinatra's Ice Tea
Shrimp Scampi
Frozen Berry Cosmo
Ceaser Salad
Giardiniera
Meatball Grinder
Veal Parmigiana
Hot Antipasto
Chocolate Cannoli
Italian Cheesecake
Meatballs
Porterhouse Contadina
Sangria
Chicken Parmesean
Chicken Wings
Wings N Salad

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (208)
Special Occasion (131)
Kid-friendly (97)
See All
Fit for Foodies (71)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Great for Lunch (52)
Romantic (32)
Notable Wine List (26)
Hot Spot (25)
Great for Brunch (18)
Late-night Find (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Scenic View (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2963 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The calimari is truly world class. Chef ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

The calimari is truly world class. Chef Barsi keeps a wonderful kitchen.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We enjoyed the stuffed mushrooms. The s ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We enjoyed the stuffed mushrooms. The shrimp fra diavolo was very spicy. The tomato based sauce upset my husband's stomach for a couple of days although I had no problems. We drank a delicious Ferrari Carrano Pinot Grigio although I had to ask our waiter for something to keep the wine cold. The food was delicious but the noise made it difficult to hear one another. I was glad they placed us by the window. They have valet parking for $11 plus tips. If we attend another event at the Verizon Center, we'll probably eat there again as well as use their parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Excellent food, service and it was the b ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent food, service and it was the biggest portions I've ever seen! Clams and veal were delicious and our food arrived quick

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Fun, Worth the Drive, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time using open table. Great. We w ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time using open table. Great. We were there early and they took us right away. I love the NYC site. This was just as great. Thank you.

Tags: Romantic, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food and service. Large family ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Fantastic food and service. Large family portions, we had two meals for family of 5 any food left can be boxed and taken away with you. Lovely atmosphere and central location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great value and super fast delivery of o ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Great value and super fast delivery of our food. So fast that we could not get our water before the food and they we slow on the refill as well.

Mass quantities of food. We took a huge to go container all the way back to NOLA.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Family trip to DC. This was our best me ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Family trip to DC. This was our best meal by far. I would certainly recommend Carmine's for the greagreat food

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent!

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmine's is one of our favorite restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Carmine's is one of our favorite restaurants in Washington DC. We are originally from New York so we are well aware of how good the food is and we enjoy going and bringing friends and family whenever they are in town. Great meal, good service and all around a good night.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food and the value is phenomenal! LO ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food and the value is phenomenal! LOVE LOVE LOVE the lasagne!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great meal and a very good wait ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great meal and a very good waitress. A little expensive for a small party of 3 adults and 1 child. I'm sure having a larger group sharing your family style meals would have been more reasonable . Also, $21 is a bit much for garlic bread with cheese

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food, great atmosphere for families ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Good food, great atmosphere for families and groups. The service was excellent and wellcoming. A different restorant with a special aproach, which made the experience very speciall. And above all, we realy enjoyeed the food. We dont live there, but next time in Washington or New York, we'll probably return

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If you are looking for great service, de ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

If you are looking for great service, delicious food and large portions you should definitely dine at Carmine's.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Delicious food, fabulous service... Woul ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Delicious food, fabulous service... Would not suggest going super hungry... Your eyes are bigger than your stomach. 😀😀

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding Downtown DC Italian restaura ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding Downtown DC Italian restaurant. The host, bartenders, waiters and staff are extremely accommodating. We sat at the front window and enjoyed our view of the busy surroundings and the genetic atmosphere.

Im Italian and my parents came from Italy and the food here is spot on. You can-not go wrong on any of your choices. As a heads up, we had 3 in our party and the servings are EACH for 3-4 people but we wanted a variety of tastes and ordered 3 different plates, plus an appetizer.

We had the shrimp scampi, veal scaloppine and the ravioli with Bolognese sauce and calamari appetizer. Simply superb on levels.

Go with a large group or split a plate with a couple.

We will always come here when in DC.

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Second time visiting Washington DC. Sec ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Second time visiting Washington DC. Second time going to Carmine's. It's becoming a habit. Great to go with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The whole family enjoyed the family-styl ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The whole family enjoyed the family-style menu and terrific food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The servings were very large so it makes ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The servings were very large so it makes sense to share entrees. This suits if you all like the same thing. We ordered the Ragu which was a massive plate as we were advised that two entrees would be too much. It was good but not super tasty or anything special. It was mostly meatballs and noodles and a small amount of other meat. It is a middle of road food for sure so I guess that impacts the value for money when you spend $32 for a very large portion of average food. It is good for a big hunger but not a place for dates or special occasions (except perhaps a child's birthday). The service was very good and the atmosphere was very relaxed - it was a Friday night.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

What a great experience! We were on vac ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a great experience! We were on vacation for the week with our 2 grandchildren. The food was excellent. The portions over the top and the service was the best!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good resurant, good food, but the dishe ...

 
 (London)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Good resurant, good food, but the dishes are huge, much too big. And over priced.

Tags: Group Bookings, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Very nice place for good food. Portions ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Very nice place for good food. Portions super size, great for groups of people for family

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service is always excellent and the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

The service is always excellent and the watress was very helpful. Always a great place to go when in DC The food is very delicious and plentiful. .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wasn't Carmine's best effort. I have d ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Wasn't Carmine's best effort. I have dinner there often and tonight was just OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent restaurant with excellent food ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Excellent restaurant with excellent food. The servers are so nice and welcoming and it really has that homey feel

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

THis restaurant is very touristy and fin ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

THis restaurant is very touristy and fine for large groups. The service is fair and so is the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great restaurant however we were placed ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great restaurant however we were placed in the back and it was very warm. I noticed it when I was walking out that upfront the temperature was cooler.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great meal in a convenient location. Ver ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great meal in a convenient location. Very accommodating even during the busy DC touritst season!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful place to go.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Wonderful place to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Here's a copy of my email to the restaur ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Here's a copy of my email to the restaurant,rehired response and my followup:

I made a reservation for 2 at your DC location. Apparently, you don't prepare/serve less than 4 servings. Why do you take reservations for two? I'm not in the habit of intentionally wasting food, yet our waiter didn't see why that is a problem.

Very disappointing dining experience. I wasted money and food.

Ridiculous.

You couldn't/wouldn't reduce your portions. I wouldn't recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Response:Thank you for your feedback. We always appreciate hearing from our guests and are sorry to hear that your experience was not up to expectation. We are a Southern Italian, Family Style Restaurant and do pride ourselves on our “wow-sized” portions meant for sharing with family and friends. When you come to Carmine’s, we want it to feel like a Sunday afternoon at your Grandma’s with abundant good food, good wine and a great atmosphere.

We always want to make room for the smaller groups that come in, not wanting to deny them the Carmine’s experience. We do offer smaller portions at both our bar and during lunch time. Please accept our apologies if that was not communicated to you.

We sincerely hope that you will keep us in mind for the future

My reply:

We asked SEVERAL times if there was a way to order less food and weren't given an option to sit anywhere else.

And I don't believe Italians are prone to waste food as you forced us to do.

The couple next to us (they were speaking Italian) complained as well. I'll bet their grandmother didn't want to waste food either.

The waiter made fun of my comment about wasting food and hungry people on the street.

I'm not convinced you care enough.

This was the only poor dining experience we had during our week long stay in DC.

I'll continue to tell my friends about this.

Nice try, but the money and food were wasted and I'm still disappointed.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

Great place for large groups. Loved the ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Great place for large groups. Loved the family style dining. It was perfect for our family of six. We ordered the penne and meatballs for the kids and seafood pasta for the adults. The seafood pasta was overflowing with lobster, clams, calamari, and mussels. Our kids loved the meatballs and penne. Due to the generous portions we were able to have a second meal the next night!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's a step up from a chain. Great for g ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

It's a step up from a chain. Great for groups. Each dish can serve 4-6 people. They say 2-4 but the portions are ridiculously large.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a great dinner. the staff was wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great dinner. the staff was wonderful, everyone had smile their face.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, servings large Ta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful experience, servings large

Take a group not just 1 person.

Well worth the$

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten in Carmine's NYC many time ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have eaten in Carmine's NYC many times. Food in DC was not as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This was our first visit to Carmine's an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Carmine's and I thought it was very good. We only had 3 people in our party which was probably a detriment to our experience. Since it is family style eating, which means you get a large order of whatever you order and pass it around to everyone in your party to share, it's more difficult to try different dishes with only 3 people. Basically, we all had to agree on what we wanted to eat together which wasn't an easy task! However, I would love to go back there again with a large group so we can order many different dishes and share them all! The food was fabulous (Chicken parmesan with pasta and a cold antipasto salad for an appetizer). We couldn't leave room for the desserts unfortunately based on stuffing ourselves with the oversized platter of chicken for the 3 of us. I will say that our waiter accommodated my son's request for 1 meatball which was very nice! We didn't want to order a whole platter of meatballs for the 3 of us on top of everything else, and the waiter said it was not a problem at all to bring him one. That was very nice, and we let him know how grateful we were for him going above and beyond to help us out. I would recommend this restaurant but mainly for large groups or special events - it was a great experience overall even with just the 3 of us!

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions. Very large!!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Large portions. Very large!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Well prepared comfort food just like Non ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Well prepared comfort food just like Nonna's. Waiter was prompt and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Carmines. Have been there in the p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love Carmines. Have been there in the past before events at Fords Theatre. Carmines was perfect for my daughters 17th bday dinner with friends after a day walking the Mall. The staff really treated the group well. Two notes: its DC in the summer and the town was built on a swamp. It gets hot and humid. More than one pitcher of water should be available per table in the summer! Second, we told our server about a nut allergy before ordering the Titanic. Once it came with the hazelnuts on top, and the birthday candle already blown out, our server quickly handled the situation by bringing us a half portion of cheesecake with no charge. Very well done. Love this place and would recommend it and visit it again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What stood out the most was the ambiance ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What stood out the most was the ambiance and the food. We were off a little ways from the bar but the lighting and the food coming and going made it feel family oriented. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Have eaten at Carmine's in NYC many tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Have eaten at Carmine's in NYC many times and love it. Was visiting the DC area and decided we had to make the stop. Was not disappointed, great food and great service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.