Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Carmine's - Washington DC

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (105)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Comfort Food (64)
See All
Special Occasion (63)
Casual (56)
Authentic (47)
Fun (42)
Good for Anniversaries (37)
Good for a Date (34)
Business Meals (28)
Neighborhood Gem (25)
Worth the Drive (23)
Pre/post Theatre (23)
Fit for Foodies (20)
Cozy (17)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Great for Lunch (16)
Romantic (15)
Bar Seating (14)
People Watching (13)
Tasting Menu (12)
Happy Hour (11)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Late-night Find (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great Beer (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Disabled Access (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Seasonal (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Scenic View (2)
Spicy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3692 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Food portions are BIG. Whatever you think big is, its likely bigger than that. :) Food is good as it is big.

Tags: Fun, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

This was one of the best meals I have had in the Washington area - Food was great as was the service

Tags: Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, People Watching, Cozy, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 13, 2017

The experience leading up was expecting a great meal. However, that was not the case... The foodcame out too fast and it was nasty. We just stayed there because there was guest from out of town. Please raise your standards and staff level like the one in N.Y. I don't need a phone call or coupon, we won t be coming back. We'll stick to Bucca.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Food and service were adequate. Nothing special here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Nice atmosphere but no single dishes. ALL family size servings. Waitress took our order, some guys brought it out and we never saw them again. Had to get up to get a refill on my iced tea. It was not crowded at all and there was plenty of help around just not being attentive at all. The hostess did eventually come to our rescue but it was too late. We were finished eating.
Servings were huge, the Rigatoni was on point and the garlic bread was very good also.
Seriously need to work on their service though. It's a shame that a good meal is spoiled by non-existent service.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on September 9, 2017

A great meal (as usual), however out service was slow and w had 2 different orders brought to our table by mistake.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
·Dined on September 7, 2017

Fabulous food. Dishes need to be shared! Waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu and how large the dishes were.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Hit and Miss...Inconsistency in food and quality of service. This is our 3rd time at this Carmine's location and we decided it will be our LAST. To start our waitress was snide, rude and forgetful. We came well before any lunch rush, so it wasn't busy. The restaurant was practically empty. When we asked if we could have two more menus to look at for the table. She said we could just turn around and look at the wall. My coworker explained that some of us wear glasses so having another menu would be helpful. Bad sign number one. When the drinks arrived another co-worker asked if she could bring some sugar or Splenda to the table. It never arrived and we had to grab her again 10mins later. She reached over from another table that just came in and handed her the cup. Now to the meal. The garlic bread we normally love was burnt and over cooked. The penne Bolognese that we ordered was so salty it was inedible. It was like licking a salt mine. Only one person attempted to eat it and quickly regretted it. He said his blood pressure was now so high he had a headache. We decided then as a group this will be the last time we go to Carmine's. I'm the past we had great service but the food was bad. The time after that everything went well. Then this last time a bad experience all around. So customer beware.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on September 5, 2017

Waiter was working too many tables so we were not taken care of. Had to ask someone to get us plates when the entree was served. Dressing had too much vinegar and when we requested another we were told there would be an upcharge. Noise level was very disruptive plus child in next table was screeching and mother was nursing at the table. Very disappointing evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2017

There was 4 of us- so we over ordered, of course. EVERYTHING was awesome! I have several favorite Italian places thought the US that we always eat at- this one just got added to the list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Our server was very hard to understand. And she was not very attentive. For the price of the dinner, we expected better service. The food was good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Very good food, but if I had it to do over again, I wouldn't have chosen a Family-Style restaurant because I had Gluten-Free, Vegan, Vegetarian, and Lactose-Free people in my group, so sharing proved to be a little complicated. That said, the existence of an Allergy Menu made things a little easier. This is a good restaurant for a large group, but beware the long tables that are up against the railing... if you are on the railing side of the table, you are completely wedged in, and the only way to make a trip to the bathroom is to crawl under the table to get out. I have no idea why they arranged the table to be up against the railing like this... it was impossible to exit without making everyone else stand up, and even then it was too tight a squeeze. Be picky about the table they assign you! Wine prices are very high here, too. The restaurant was very gracious about providing containers and bags for all the leftovers, and the service was good. I also appreciated the kitchen providing lighted candles for my Birthday dessert (though it was not complimentary).

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Despite the fire alarm going off for most of our visit, the food was delicious! This was a first date and he loves Tiramisu. Carmine's "deconstructed" version was a hit! I also enjoyed the shrimp linguini. The restaurant was really cold so bring a jacket!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Not impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

Our meal was delish. We tried the Friday special and it was a hit. Our server was great, even removed an item that we did not like from the bill. A definite do-over!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Always a consistent menu lots of flavor and absolutely wonderful cuisine a definite staple whenever in D.C. or NYC

Tags: Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Great experience. Margarita was very patience with our large party! We were celebrating my Dad's 70th Birthday and she made the experience great! She was accommodating and attentive to our big demanding group! Thank you to the team work that made my Dad's birthday a success!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

Great service and outstanding servers.
The food was great. We will return in The future

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Vegan, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We were in DC for a quick 24 hour vacation as we traveled from Tampa to NYC. Decided on Carmine's and we were glad we did. Doc was our server and he was fantastic. They customized the daily special pasta for my vegetarian wife and it was perfect. I would absolutely go back.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 28, 2017

Met out-of-town cousins here for dinner. Family style was perfect and service couldn't have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

A "Must See" with food to crave for. Will definitely go again when we are back in town.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Very generous portions. Great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This was our second visit to Carmin's and it was better than ever! We brought a large group of friends and they also loved it! We will definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 25, 2017

This place continues to amaze each time we visit! Our mission on the visit was to tackle the "Titanic"!!! I wish we would have brought a few more people! We could only sink a 1/4.

Tags: Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Very large portions of food served family style. We had rigatoni pasta ragu and it was excellent! Love the ambience of this place. Great place for large families and friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Great food. Great value. Excellent service, our server was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Service, and food where both outstanding. The meal is served family style. I would return to Carmines when I am back in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Perfect place to go with kids in DC. Ordering was made simple with the family-style portions. We ordered garlic bread, Caesar salad, and spaghetti and meatballs. Everybody ate, with no complaints, and we couldn't even finish it all. And all for about 100$ not including cocktails for mom and dad, which were appropriately stiff for dining out with small children. Messes were cleaned up quickly by waitstaff and without any remarks or sidelong glances, which was appreciated. Service in general was excellent- quick, friendly, accommodating. I would recommend to anyone for family dining and we will definitely go back the next time we visit D.C. I wouldn't go there on a date, but for family dining, it can't be beat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Tables aren't large enough for family style eating to enjoy with the concern of knocking things over

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manchester)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Start of our 40th wedding anniversary celebrations, Carmines didn't disappoint! We have visited both Times Square and DC and both Carmines are a 'must do!'

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 19, 2017

Our server, "Doc" was first rate. Attentive with a good pick up on our groups' mood. Hopefully we have him next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Food is excellent . Prices are higher than the NYC location. Don't get sticker shock on the menu prices. One meal serves 2 people. Everything is a la carte

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

A small group of us went to Carmine's for lunch to celebrate my pending retirement. Sticker shock was moderated by finding that most meals are designed to feed 4. That's a meal for 4 and not a serving. Fortunately, lunch allows half portions. The fried calamari is excellent. I've had better seasoned calamari, but never better red sauce with it... cooked to perfection, too. Yum! The pasta dishes are very good, but I wouldn't call them special. There were only a few occupied tables, so there was no noise intrusion on our party, nor was it likely we disturbed others as they widely spaced the occupied tables. I'm looking forward to taking my son in the near future. He's a serious pasta fan and looking forward to checking Carmine's out.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on August 12, 2017

My favorite Italian in D.C.!!
Food is consistently delicious!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Portions were amazing.
Food tasted great but a little bit salty.
Went back for a second night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 8, 2017

The fried zucchini was incredible. Tiramisu was a disappointment. Pasta dishes were ok. The waiter tried to upscale everything, which was off putting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

We went there for dinner for a specific dish we had there once before. We were disappointed to learn that they were sold out of one of their signature dishes (white clam sauce). They managed to scrape up enough for a "lunch" portion and gave us the lunch price. So all was not lost. We like the family-style dining.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

You can pull up to the restaurant and someone immediately comes to see if you want valet parking and they handle it. You are greeted as soon as you come in the door, everyone is friendly and responsive. The waiter did a good job explaining the specials and how many each platter will serve. If anything was amiss, they handled it quietly and quickly. I left my card with the hostess to give to the waiter so that I could pay the bill and it was done, he rang everything up and discreetly handed me the bill. I think it's a great experience and a fun place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

The manager was GREAT! Our server was a little distracted but that was minor. We had an amazing experience. We were also able take the elevator from the parking garage straight into the garage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I really wasn't impressed with this place. I like they offer the family portions but it would have been nice to order a single plate as well. We ordered the spaghetti and meatballs which was OK, and was enough to feed 4-5 people which was good for the price. We ordered the tiramisu desert which is good but different. Our waitress was not very attentive and often had to be asked for things...a great example was our food was brought out to us and we did not have plates to put it on. Several times we had to ask for refills and had to flag her down to pay for our meal. Really don't think we will visit this place the next time we come back at this point.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.