About Carmine's - Washington DC

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Fillet of Chicken Breast Alla Romana - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Garlic Bread - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Italian Cheese Steak - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
strawberry shortcake - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Seafood Pasta - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Spaghetti With Meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Coffee - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Bread - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
White Sangria - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Cannoli - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
parmesan cheese - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Punch - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Rigatoni And Brocolli - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Special Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Ventanni Margarita - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Tiramisu - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Shrimp Parmigiana - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Scarpariello - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Fried Calamari - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Carmines Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Fried Zucchini - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Ceaser Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
house-made meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Eggplant Hero - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Rigatoni With Meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Rigatoni With Sausage - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Ravioli W/Cheese - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Penne Alla Vodka - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Marsala - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Carmine's Aperol Fizz - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Sinatra's Ice Tea - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Shrimp Scampi - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Frozen Berry Cosmo - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Ceaser Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Giardiniera - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Meatball Grinder - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Veal Parmigiana - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Hot Antipasto - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Chocolate Cannoli - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Italian Cheesecake - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Meatballs - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Porterhouse Contadina - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Sangria - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Parmesean - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Chicken Wings - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC
Wings N Salad - Carmine's - Washington DC, Washington, DC

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (102)
Good for Groups (76)
Comfort Food (60)
See All
Special Occasion (59)
Casual (45)
Authentic (43)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Good for a Date (38)
Fun (36)
Kid-friendly (35)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Outstanding Value (27)
Worth the Drive (26)
Business Meals (26)
Neighborhood Gem (26)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Bar Seating (19)
Cozy (18)
Romantic (17)
Great for Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Creative Cuisine (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Private Room (14)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Hot Spot (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Seasonal (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Historic (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Healthy (4)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Fireplace (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great Beer (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The waitress was talking about our table ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 2 days ago

The waitress was talking about our table to another table- after she wAs removed from being our waitess, Instead of the manager rectifying the problem he laughed with her. With the amount of money we spent there it was unacceptable. I will never go back there or recommend this place to anyone.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value3

Even though we showed up with an extra p ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Even though we showed up with an extra person to our party than our reservations, we were seated promptly. Nice touch--brought ice cream with a candle in it for our daughter's birthday.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

My family and I had a dinner for my fath ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

My family and I had a dinner for my father's 70th birthday! It was a wonderful experience! The food was great and service was even better!!!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, friendly service, and health ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 2 days ago

Great food, friendly service, and healthy portions. Will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a waste of time for, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant is a waste of time for, well, for really anyone, but definitely for groups of less than 4. The "family style" plates ensure that you will (1) be playing $30+ for a basic pasta entree and (2) eating the same thing as everyone else at your table since you'll be sharing. even a green salad is $25.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Excellent food, excellent service! I was ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent food, excellent service! I wasn't sure what to expect with the idea of "family style" but I was beyond pleased! The kids loved the pasta and my husband and I were delighted by the chicken alla Romano. I look forward to our next visit to DC &tour next visit to Carmine's!

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always pleasure entertaining a business ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Always pleasure entertaining a business associates at Carmines in DC prior to enjoying a Washington Capitals hockey. Perfect wine selection for our shared meals of Chicken Carbonara and the Double Cut Veal Chop.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't go alone as they won't allow you a ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Don't go alone as they won't allow you a table in the dining room unless you order one of their huge family style portions! Not recommended for the solo business traveler (they forced me to sit in the bar), which I think is a shame and unfair. Especially since the dining room was almost empty on the Monday I was there.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were close to a noisy table- happy fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were close to a noisy table- happy for them that they celebrated, but the noise level was high- the staff was very understanding when we asked to move.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Celebrated my son's 40th birthday. We h ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Celebrated my son's 40th birthday. We had fantastic food and drinks, topped off with the Titantic!! Our server was very friendly and knowledgeable. My family had a very, very nice outing!

J. Moore

Tags: Cozy, Disabled Access, People Watching, Modern Decor, Bar Seating, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The serving sizes are huge. It's family ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The serving sizes are huge. It's family style. Red sauce is excellent.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I had been to an excellent private party ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 6, 2017

I had been to an excellent private party at Carmine's so I was anxious to go back and see what it was like for dinner. It was even more amazing! Our waiter was there for our every need and went above and beyond! Making sure even our cocktails were special. Dinner was amazing. More than the two of us could eat and he immediately whisked it away and set it up for take home without us needing to say a word! We just loved the entire experience! I have to go back and eat less so I can have dessert! I highly recommended Carmine's!

Tags: Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, , Authentic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good authentic Italian food. A li ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Really good authentic Italian food. A little pricey for only two people. Service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food was overrated- lasagna was ok; penn ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Food was overrated- lasagna was ok; penne pomodoro was bland. Only good thing was the bread, dip and the drinks. The service was good too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value5

Good food, family style. Loved the carmi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Good food, family style. Loved the carmines salad. Meatballs to die for.

Tags: Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmines is an institution. The food is ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Carmines is an institution. The food is for the most part mundane, portions are family-style huge. Kids, especially teen grandkids like it for the huge portions rather bland menu no fuss, some outrageously large desserts (titanic, tugboat) and proximity to Verizon Center. Except for grandkids evening event at hockey game & similar events, would avoid this venue

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Absolutely amazing meal! Huge portions!! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Absolutely amazing meal! Huge portions!!! Order with caution because you will have to deff take majority home you get way more than you're paying for and it fills you up! :) I love the ambience of the place and the service is extremely friendly

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brought my out-of-town family to Carmine ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Brought my out-of-town family to Carmine's for a pre-New Year's Eve celebration and they loved it! We didn't know about the serving size of the dishes and therefore ordered way too much food for a party of 5, but fortunately for us, Carmine's pasta and chicken plates make for wonderful leftovers come New Year's Day!

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great! The service was inconsis ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was great! The service was inconsistent. He was very pleasant and made good suggestions, but The server had a small section, but it was hard to find him.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We went to Carmine's on the night of our ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on December 30, 2016

We went to Carmine's on the night of our last day in DC, on a five-day trip there. We expected a fun, classy meal, and got it. Our server was incredibly nice and helpful, giving us plenty of vegetarian options. The bill was a bit higher than I'd expected, but well worth it. Carmine's is not somewhere you'd go regularly, but for a special occasion, it seems quite a treat.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was just average and priced too hig ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Food was just average and priced too high for average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

Best Italian food I've ever had!!! Love ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Best Italian food I've ever had!!! Love the eggplant Parmesan & Carmine's Salad, but be prepared because the portions are enormous and will easily serve 6-10 people!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Our money to. Terrible table

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our money to. Terrible table

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Wonderful meal and service

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Wonderful meal and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food portions are suited for groups of f ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Food portions are suited for groups of four. This was our first experience so we didn't realize when they said "large portions" exactly what they meant. The Ragu included at least 3-4 large meatballs, two full size sausages plus large chunks of chicken or other meat. The sauce was basic red sauce. Nothing great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4

Lots of good reasons to eat at Carmine. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Lots of good reasons to eat at Carmine. Southern Italian home cooking, accompanied with authentic juice glass 'wine" glasses, fest on family style dishes for all to share. You won't be disappointed by the food. A must stop if you are down near Chinatown area of DC.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Bar service at happy hour was terrible. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Bar service at happy hour was terrible. Huge bar but only one barman slowly taking orders. Food large and expensive but tasty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

We celebrated our son's birthday with a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We celebrated our son's birthday with a great meal at Carmines. The chicken scallopini was awesome, we highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got there early before it was crowded ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We got there early before it was crowded and it took quite a while for our server to greet us and ask for drink orders. After the meal and after the plates were removed it took a long time again for the server to ask for dessert and coffee orders. We were at the restaurant for approximately 1 hr 45 min just to have salad, 1 family style main dish and coffee.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

The whole experience was ruined at the r ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

The whole experience was ruined at the reception desk. We were greeted by very un smiling folks. It appeared they were not happy to see us. I had requested a table by the window in my reservation. And even though there was one available, we were seated at the very back. This hadn't been our experience before and we had made it tradition to come to carmines every year. The wait staff was very friendly though. Also food prices have crept up and portion size seems to have reduced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

We went for our dinner on Christmas. The ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went for our dinner on Christmas. The food was amazing as usual!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We go every Christmas eve, it's our fami ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We go every Christmas eve, it's our family tradition. We are never disappointed. Great food and a fun atmosphere.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time I dine here it is always an a ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Every time I dine here it is always an awesome experience!!!

Tags: Private Room, Family Style, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, fantastic food.

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Great place, fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Ordered 6 cocktails before dinner. Waite ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Ordered 6 cocktails before dinner. Waiter asked if I wanted 2 or 3 ozs of vodka in my drink. My drink had zero ozs. I mentioned it, he offer my another drink but I was into wine by then. I was charged for it anyway. Boo!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

For Christmas Eve we were a family of si ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

For Christmas Eve we were a family of six that were dining at Carmine's for the first time. The food (huge family style appetizers and entrees) service and overall experience were very good. The cost was a bit high, but for a special occasion it was more than acceptable and worth it. Great night!!

Tags: Authentic, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Delicious food. Great service, lots lef ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Delicious food. Great service, lots leftover to take home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent and good.

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Always consistent and good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We had reservations for 12. We were seat ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We had reservations for 12. We were seated at the time of our reservation. We got a private room and had an amazing family get together. The staff was amazing and took excellent care of us. They were fun and made the experience over the top. Bianca was our waitress and she took the best care of us. The food choices were great and the quality superb. We were not rushed and took the time we needed to enjoy our family that came together from 4 different states. Thank you to the entire Carmine's Family from our family. We made memories we will remember for a lifetime.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Historic, Good for Groups, Private Room, Comfort Food, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Post theatre dinner was very enjoyable! ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Post theatre dinner was very enjoyable! Wait staff very helpful in understanding the family style menu. Great Sangiovese blend wine! Would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.