About Carmine's - Washington DC

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (109)
Good for Groups (82)
Special Occasion (65)
See All
Comfort Food (62)
Casual (54)
Good for Birthdays (51)
Good for a Date (46)
Kid-friendly (45)
Authentic (44)
Fun (35)
Outstanding Value (31)
Business Meals (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Worth the Drive (23)
Private Room (22)
Neighborhood Gem (20)
Bar Seating (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Sunday Lunch (17)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Romantic (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Cozy (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Gluten Free Options (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (10)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Historic (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vegan (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great Beer (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
S
3348 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Team dinner after a tournament and ha a ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 hours ago

Team dinner after a tournament and ha a great meal! Luis was amazing with such a large group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

40th birthday!

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

40th birthday!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

HUGE family size portions. We had wayyyy ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined a day ago

HUGE family size portions. We had wayyyy too much left over. Good food otherwise and cute atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Shared the chicken parm..... Great meal. ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined a day ago

Shared the chicken parm..... Great meal....and great value for the portion size.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were in D.C. to meet my college age d ...

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

We were in D.C. to meet my college age daughter for the week end. Carmine's was recommended to us by a business associate. We made a reservation on open table which was very convenient because we had planned a full day of sightseeing and didn't have to worry about not having a good place for dinner. The staff were very friendly and made recommendations about the amount of food we ordered because the portions are family style. Our food was great and we had plenty for the three of us with a salad, garlic bread and pasta with 6 meatballs. It was a great experience with the ambiance, back round music and attention to servuce. We would definitely go back and recommend to friends.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

There was hair in the water pitcher that ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 3 days ago

There was hair in the water pitcher that was brought to the table. The waiter took it away and never offered an apology. Mixed drinks were delivered with no alcohol, another was delivered using soda water instead of the requested tonic water. Again, no apologies or concession offered.

Good was very average.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

I did not feel the service was very good ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 4 days ago

I did not feel the service was very good. While he took drink orders, he never checked back for refills and we really didn't see him after the food was served.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious food and excellent service!

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food and excellent service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Ideal of the atmosphere of this restaura ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Ideal of the atmosphere of this restaurant. It fits just write for a one-on-one date or a family gathering. I was introduced to the restaurant last year for Valentine's Day and had the stuff salmon however I'm sadly disappointed that I was not able to get it this year because it was sold out. Other than that I come about once every couple of months for the frozen drinks and the great company!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Fun, Kid-friendly, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great Meal for valentines with my better ...

 
 (Mississippi)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Meal for valentines with my better half!! Huge portions!! Service was fantastic.. will definitely come back!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We loved Carmine's. The portions are eno ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We loved Carmine's. The portions are enormous so go hungry !!! Loved the décor and the service was great

Tags: Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great! Everything

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great! Everything

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food. The service was outstanding, ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great Food. The service was outstanding, and the people were very welcoming.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Place is absolutely delightful. Very la ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Place is absolutely delightful. Very large family size portions. Lunch was fabulous. Love their calamari and past with calamari. White sangria is spectacular.

Tags: Happy Hour, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Nice waiter but crummy service. Long wai ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Nice waiter but crummy service. Long wait after we sat down, long wait for water. Missing salad. Rest of food was tasty, but took 50 min. Then we paid the wrong check and waiter caught us to correct it, but it took awhile. We were trying to get to a show, and 90 minutes should have been plenty of time for salad and main course. Then we spoke to manager. He sent us to tell whole story to another manager (had to start over with her.) After long delay, she came back and gave us 20% off, which seems weak. But, we were so late we dropped it. Love Carmines in NYC but, don't think we'll be back in DC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Large Family style portions. One order ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Large Family style portions. One order will feed 4 people easily. Wish they would have had selections/menu for 2 people. Example: salad was huge for $30 which is fine for 4 people, but way too much for 2 people. Veal Parm was served on huge platter....way too much for 2 people. We were staying in a hotel and the leftovers did not fit in frig!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

my wife and I wanted to try something ne ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

my wife and I wanted to try something new and Carmine's was the perfect place for our valentine's dinner. Great experience. We will definitely visit Carmine's again.

Tags: Family Style, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Visited Carmine's with friends after a S ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Visited Carmine's with friends after a Saturday afternoon movie. Delicious food, substantial menu, attentive and knowledgeable waitstaff, and a host who knows how to charm a 92 year-old lady! The place to go for a relaxing dinner that doesn't sacrifice the niceties. -- The Southern Maryland Quartet

Tags: Private Room, , Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We had a great time! It was my friends 2 ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a great time! It was my friends 21st birthday and our server James made sure that everything was great. The food was so good but we still had lots to take home. Overall, it was a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been here several times for lunch ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We've been here several times for lunch and dinner over the years. The food is good and the service is always very good too.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Quick Bite, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Great for Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellente

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Excellente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The manager on shift David and our waitr ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The manager on shift David and our waitress Amber were so welcoming and accommodating from start to finish and my son had a wonderful time celebrating his 14th Birthday with family and friends!

THANK YOU David & Amber!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Disabled Access, Special Occasion, Authentic, Family Style, Private Room, Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Authentic Italian family style meal, goo ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Authentic Italian family style meal, good food and reasonable price for large groups to share. Do not go alone unless you can carry home and make several meals.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Really enjoyed the dining experience at ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Really enjoyed the dining experience at Carmine's. The menu has a vast selection of items to choose from and the food was delicious. We were taken back at the prices, thinking they were very high, but found out after talking to the waiter, that the portions are meant to serve 2 to 3 people. There were two of us and we ordered one order of Veal Parmesan. We took leftovers home. Also be aware that appetizers work the same and they charge $9 for one order of pasta to go with the meat entree. One order of Garlic Bread was $16 but alot of bread was served, enough to take half of it home. I probably wouldn't return unless I was going with a larger group, where we could order several things for each of us to taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for a Birthday Celebratio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We were there for a Birthday Celebration and it was awesome. Will recommend to other friends and family.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

the food was delicious and the service was phenomenal! I can't wait to go back again! My husband enjoyed his Birthday dinner very much.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I have heard about Carmine's for years a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I have heard about Carmine's for years and finally got the opportunity to try it. I was very disappointed. Other than the bread and olive oil, which was very good, the food had no flavor at all and the presentation was very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Great family style. Great red sauce. Gr ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Great family style. Great red sauce. Great portions. Service was outstanding. Bring your healthy appetites.

Tags: Bar Seating, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We always bring groups to D.C. For our a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 2, 2017

We always bring groups to D.C. For our association. Carmine's is a must stop for dinner each time we are in town.

Tags: Comfort Food, Private Room, Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Huge portions. One dish is good for 4 pe ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Huge portions. One dish is good for 4 people. Good Italian food.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The portions are large but food is nothi ...

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on January 31, 2017

The portions are large but food is nothing special. There was way too much garlic on everything. Definitely not a date night place !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Sorry, but the food was terrible. I also ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Sorry, but the food was terrible. I also hated the fact that there is no other option but "family style" dining (must have missed this in the fine print). Service was sub-par. Server never returned to our table to see if we would like another drink. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

The waiter was very hospitable. Food and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The waiter was very hospitable. Food and service were great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I am sorry to say that I would not highl ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I am sorry to say that I would not highly recommend this restaurant. We selected this for a birthday, especially because the birthday girl has a gluten issue and gets ill after eating gluten. Carmines has a gluten free menu, including pasta. I have to say it that as far as the pasta went, very good.

Where the restaurant fell down was not so much on the food, which was too salty overall, but certainly edible, but service. Our server did not explain that Grilled Portobello mushrooms on gluten free appetizer menu was a salad, and we specifically avoided salads because we did not want to fill up on salad. In other restaurants, grilled mushrooms are not chopped and mixed in with a huge salad.

It went down hill from there and in the end we decided to forgo dessert, even though they promised us a birthday candle/dessert on the phone. There was no indication that they even recognized that we were a birthday party. it was so promising on the phone, what is her name, how old is she, we will be sure to let you select a dessert and that staff will come out and sing, etc.

We did have a great dessert down the block at Oyamel, however.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Our waiter was not in the mood to wait o ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Our waiter was not in the mood to wait on tables. He didn't offer us anything, not even a beverage. We had to ask for everything from a drink to silverware to menus. Didn't seem to care. Food was so-so, nothing special. Also had a hard time understanding him, talked like he had marbles in his mouth.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

We got there during a shift change and t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We got there during a shift change and the transition was not smooth. very long waits to get basics like water and a basket of bread. staff disappeared and we had to flag them down to order. and then we decided it will be quite some time before we return. While the wings and salad are fantastic, the food is tremendously overpriced and there is way too much even for a family of four.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

Friends recommended Carmines and have al ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Friends recommended Carmines and have also been at their location in NYC - but DC location was just ok - food; service; etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

There were eight of us plus an eight mon ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 28, 2017

There were eight of us plus an eight month old baby we were all meeting for the first time. Carmines was the perfect place.

I highly recommend the Titanic desert for eight or more.

Tags: Authentic, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

I loved having my date night at Carmine' ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I loved having my date night at Carmine's. You get a lot of food for $32-$50. The staff was kind and very helpful. They were willing to go through the menu and explain things that we didn't understand. Waiter was very courteous. I will be going back soon.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, , Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere and food

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Great atmosphere and food

Tags: Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.