Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Carmine's - Washington DC

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (149)
Good for Groups (114)
Casual (83)
See All
Special Occasion (80)
Good for Birthdays (69)
Comfort Food (63)
Kid-friendly (62)
Authentic (51)
Good for a Date (51)
Fun (44)
Business Meals (38)
Pre/post Theatre (31)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Worth the Drive (29)
Outstanding Value (27)
Bar Seating (24)
Fit for Foodies (23)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Private Room (21)
Great for Lunch (21)
Romantic (20)
Cozy (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Sunday Lunch (18)
Hot Spot (17)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (14)
Notable Wine List (14)
People Watching (13)
Happy Hour (12)
Historic (10)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Modern Decor (7)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Great Beer (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Vegan (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Healthy (3)
Quick Bite (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Spicy (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Music (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
3476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 14 hours ago

Our waiter, Doc, was great. The hostess team was the worst we have experienced in the D.C. area. They lacked common courtesy on the phone and once we arrived.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined a day ago

We were in D.C. celebrating 5 blessed years of marriage. Everything was great! We will be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tahoe)·Dined 2 days ago

Family style dining was okay, but left our table of 4 having to decide on one dish that we all wanted to share. (Should have read the description of the restaurant better) Carmines salad was good, as was the side of meatballs. Bolognese had interesting/odd flavor. Overall pricey for what we had. Nice location before a Capitals game though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Poconos)·Dined 3 days ago

So much delicious food. Servings huge!! Everything was wonderful. Not able to have dessert but it looked phenomenal

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed a great family meal at Carmine's while visiting Washington DC. Our waiter provided superb service and was enjoyable to talk with! The meatballs were the best we've ever had and the kids enjoyed trying their hand at the famous Titanic for dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Loved the food and the staff was great! Perfect spot for our group of 8.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

The most mediocre Italian food you will ever have.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We made a reservation for a party of eight and were seated immediately when we arrived, even though half our party was not there yet. Servers were attentive but not hovering and we enjoyed our delicious meals.

Also, for those of you who have or know someone who has food allergies--Carmine's gets it! We have two daughters with food allergies and they were as much a part of the deliciousness as everyone else.

Thank you CARMINE'S!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Organic, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food and great service! We enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined 7 days ago

It was Easter. Not terribly crowded. Waitress appeared infrequently. Not very interested in making our dinner a pleasant experience. Food was decent. Overpriced. Had to ask for bread and butter.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Food served family style, which is somewhat difficult to get everyone to decide on and there was nothing special about taste. Artichokes were under cooked and impossible to chew. It is large facility and service was good but no enthusiasm. Wine glass broke when my wife tried to move it as there was a large crack in it. Then noticed large crack in her water glass as well. There are much better restaurants in DC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

I was very disappointed this time. This is the 2nd time were put in the middle of walkway The noise was so unbearable we couldn't even talk at our table or hear the waitress.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Wonderful as usual. Been to the carmines in manhattan on numerous occasions. In DC on vacation and thought it would be a good idea to go to carmines for dinner. Did not dissapoint. Just as good as the one in NYC.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

We have been to the New York City location and the wait staff does not compare for carmines.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We have a daughter that has wheat, dairy, egg, and nut allergies and the kitchen at Carmine's accommodated us very well. She ate a corn meal pasta with marinara sauce. It was so good, the rest of our table ate the pasta. We would definitely come back to Carmine's again! Thank you very much for a great meal!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 11, 2017

The food is very large portions more than 2 people can eat. What we ordered had allot of pasta and very little meat. If they had taken out 3/4 of the pasta probably would have been a meal for one. $26 for a Cesar salad is ridiculous. Not a do over for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Have been a Carmine's customer for years, both in NYC and DC. Food still outstanding! Service and value not so much anymore!
The last two times at the D.C. location the service and add-on to our bill were strange!!
A $10 charge for shredded parmigiana for the table (weird!! It's Italian Food! You need some parm!) It's what was on the table when we were seated. Extra wasn't requested, nor was the whole container that was on the table when we arrived used up!!!!!!
Then at this last visit $9 surcharge for pasta for the chicken parm.
I've never had chicken parm., that didn't include pasta.
Little things like that don't really give you "the welcome back, so glad that you come here whenever you are in town" feeling.
We will rethink our go to favorite place after this last visit!
Sad to say😕

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on April 11, 2017

This was the worst DC dining experience we've had. I regret going. Our service was terrible, we had to wait 20 min evendors with a reservation. Bathrooms sinks didn't work. Noodles were undercooked and wa over prices for mediocre pasta. I've had much better food at the mall sabaros.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We came in for a business dinner reservation at 8:15pm and they changed severs on us half-way through the meal to cut staffing costs. It was already patchy service, but then it became rude and we felt pushed to get out so we did.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 9, 2017

We usually eat at Carmine's in NYC so we decided to try it in Washington, DC in hopes that it would be the same. Far from it! Sadly the food was NOTHING like NYC. First off, we always, always order Chicken Scarpiello (they were out of chicken... hmmm - so we couldn't get that). Second, we ordered Fried Calamari (came in a pile of grease) as an appetizer, we ordered Rigatoni with garlic and oil which came drowning in a brown tasteless water and Chicken Saltimbocca in which the sauce was darn sweet, I barely ate one little piece. What a disappointment. We told the waitress how different the food was from NYC and she said, "well, that's how we always do it here"... good luck with that. I would never recommend this and would never go back. Sticking with NYC because they do it right... ALWAYS!!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 9, 2017

The food was excellent but our server needs to improve his skills. The appetizer was delivered and we had to get our dishes. The same thing happened with the main course. The final straw was when the server completely forgot my husband's birthday. I mentioned to the front upon our departure and they were very gracious.

Tags: Hot Spot, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Service was fast and friendly. Food was delicious with great family style dining proportions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Loved the food! Felt a little rushed by staff. But food amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food was good. Portion size was good. Plenty or food. Service wasn't stellar but they were extremely busy. I'm being hyper critical about the service. Our waitress wasn't bad the only thing she forgot my drink so I took a star for that but overall was an enjoyable evening.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food great!! Waitress not friendly at all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Carmine's is a family favorite. Doc was an amazing server. We will definitely be back and requesting him as our server.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

It was disappointing that everything was large family dining and that we could not order a regular size entree. The pasta dish with shrimp was just okay and the side order of broccoli, too, was just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 8, 2017

The food excellent. We had lasagna, wings, calamari & antipasto salad. All perfect for party of six.

Tags: Live Music, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Fantastic food that never disappoints! Meatballs are the BEST!! I wish I could get there more often. The server needed some improvement but the food makes up for the lack of service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

This is strictly a red-gravy place, OK for families and groups whose primary interest is convenience and company. The wait staff was competent and very nice.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The food is fabulous, especially the eggplant parmigiana. The staff is friendly and accommodating. We went to the NYC location for years and took family and friends. It's our favorite restaurant.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

We had a delicious meal thatt was terrific in quality and abundant in quantity. Our server, Michael, was outstanding. Looking forward to going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 6, 2017

This was our second trip to this restaurant and unfortunately it wasn't as good the second time. Our server was pleasant though working too many tables and was not able to keep up. The garlic bread and lemon chicken were tasty however the broccoli and pasta was misleading. I thought it was vegetarian and no where was it indicated it came with sausage. On a positive note, the drinks were excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Expensive for a date night but delicious nonetheless

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 6, 2017

We've been to Carmine's in Las Vegas and New York City. This was our first time at Carmine's DC. The food was excellent as was the service. I would recommend this for families and groups as the portions are huge.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Very good food and service was great! In town for vacation and told we had to try it. Only negative for us was we're a family of 2 adults and 1 child. Everything is served family style and no way to order half a portion so lots of very expensive food wasted : (

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

1st time we sat in the Front section by the Windows. It was wonderful. Awesome for Large parties. I have hosted a few there. Service always exceptional. Leave room for Strawberry Shortcake and Titanic Deserts.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

We love carmines! Our first visit to Carmines was in LV!
Our waiter was nice and explained everything patiently! Great food and great experience

Tags: Modern Decor, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 2, 2017

This was my boyfriends first time & he loved it. We will be returning soon. The wait staff was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 1, 2017

huge platters of fantastic Italian cuisine choices served family style. great for parties of four or more. Dining room is noisy, but fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual, Bar Seating, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.