Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Carmine's - Washington DC

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (130)
Good for Groups (101)
Special Occasion (76)
See All
Comfort Food (70)
Casual (67)
Good for Birthdays (60)
Kid-friendly (50)
Good for a Date (49)
Authentic (48)
Fun (41)
Business Meals (36)
Outstanding Value (34)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Private Room (24)
Romantic (24)
Creative Cuisine (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Bar Seating (20)
Cozy (19)
Great for Lunch (19)
Sunday Lunch (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Hot Spot (12)
Seasonal (10)
Historic (10)
Gluten Free Options (10)
People Watching (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Great Beer (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Vegan (4)
Fireplace (3)
Open Kitchen (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Spicy (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Healthy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3414 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined 5 days ago

This place was wonderful. Food, service, atmosphere was all really nice. Definitely would come back and will definitely refer friends.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Awesome friendly service. Outstanding experience all around.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great Beer, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was too salty, a little over priced for basic meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

The Head Maitre D; David Trezevant was impressive. He was very professional, very warm and pleasant, customer friendly and knowledgeable. Originally, I thought that he was the restaurant manager!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Family Style, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent and the pricing was very reasonable. I had to wait 15 minutes to be seated after my reservation time and it took another 10 minutes for my waitress to come and greet us at out table.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 6 days ago

Loved our experience at Carmine's! Food was outstanding and portions are huge! I dish easily feeds 4-5 people. Tiramisu was fabulous and was a whole dish, feeding 8! Service was just ok but I think our server was weeded. Not very friendly. I would still recommend and would definitely go back.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good. Service was stretched thin. Seating was too tight, our table was in an aisle and I was constantly being bumped and having to move to allow people to get through. They never offered a kids menu for our younger child, until he wouldn't eat what they brought out. We weren't aware it was family style until we arrived. The noise level was far too loud. There was a ceiling fan on high above our heads and my son are with his coat on. We were so cold. Just not a great fit for us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated my grandmother's 80th bday. Everything was good. One complaint is with the seating. I made a reservation for 10 and they didn't have our table together. We were escorted around the whole returant until they finally got us a table. My 80 yr old grandmother didn't like that at all. Our waiter was great. Overall very nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Excellent food. Served family-style, so bring your appetite or a bunch of friends. Highly recommend.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

Food was fantastic and wait staff was incredible. Highly recommend if in D.C. or their NYC location.

Tags: Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Des Moines)·Dined on March 16, 2017

The staff rushed us to leave even though there were other empty tables in the restaurant. Not only did they clear the plates, they took everything else including the credit card slip right after it was signed! We were only at the table for 1 hour and 15 minutes! It was 8:30 pm on a Thursday evening when we left and certainly not closing time.

The chicken in our mixed meat dish was dry; although everything else was good. Normally, all the food at Carmines is delicious.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Our reservation was for 7pm, we weren't seated until 7:15pm which was understandable because there were several events in the area that were ending. The portion sizes are MASSIVE!!! We had the caesar salad and calamari which was enough for 4 - 5 people. The food itself was delicious. The service was great, the waitstaff was very knowledgeable about the dishes and prompt with the food. I will definitely come again.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Vibrant atmosphere, good food. Very busy when we were there. I would definitely recommend a reservation. More food in a family style setting than our group could eat. We took home the leftovers!

Tags: Fun, Business Meals, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Carmine's is a great place to go with a group who can agree to share plates. The set up is family style with absolutely terrific food. Our service was great and we enjoyed the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 14, 2017

The food was delicious! Huge portions....family style! Great choices, excellent service! Will visit again!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food and service at Carmine's were excellent. Our waiter was helpful and appropriately attentive. We were a party of 14 and had a fabulous time. It was snowing outside, but inside it was warm and convivial. Looking forward to a return visit.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food was delicious and authentic, and the service was good. Our large group was accommodated and the server made good suggestions for us.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on March 12, 2017

My family and I were on vacation in DC. We were in the mood for Italian. Our first time eating at Carmines. The waiter was not helpful in explaining the menu or how dinner worked. He did a very poor job of explaining the dishes as well. I would never go back or recommend to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Gender reveal dinner. Revealing the genders was thebest part.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Food was as good as what I have had in NYC. Service was spotty and took a while for ordering. Kind of frustrating but the food made it worthwhile

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Doc was an amazing waiter ! The food came enormous servings that could have fed a family of four. It was a great experience.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Our family enjoyed Carmine's while on vacation. The food was excellent. One entree, one appetizer, and one salad was more food than 4 adults could eat. The portions are very generous. The Ceasar Salad was delicious! The waitress was very helpful and informative.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Good food but a bit overpriced for the chicken we had. It did have a good taste bit it was paper thin and a bit tough.
But the location was perfect since it was across the street from where we were staying. If you go, bring lots of people to share the meal.
Very noisy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I love Carmine's. Great Italian food, wonderful service and relaxed atmospher . Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great atmosphere, great food family style so you won't be left hungry, very attentive service and prices that won't break your wallet

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The food was plentiful and prepared well. Make sure you bring your appetite because their entrees serve at least two. Our waiter was wonderful. There is a nice bar area where people were having a great time meeting on a Friday evening. They are located in a hopping downtown setting.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 10, 2017

This was our second visit to Carmine's. We visited 2 yrs ago during Rock n Roll DC. Had a great experience so we decided to come again. Unfortunately,this time unbeknownst to us, our server left on an emergency. We sat waiting for her to come around only to find out from another server that she left.
I think that could have been handled better.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Our waiter, Doc, was great and warned us of the large portions. They serve family-size dishes so we had a ton leftover. It was pretty tasty. Dealt well with good allergies.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 9, 2017

FAMILY style. Great. Get to $ample everything. Good portions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good food, large portions, and a very good value. Great nefore a Verizon Center event.

Tags: Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Great food and service. Very loud and energetic. The Chicken Alla Romano and the Eggplant dishes were amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Not impressed with quality of the food, very expensive- won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Family style! Go with at least four people. Hard an old time feel, good food and fabulous service.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We went prior to a Capitals game and it was a perfect dinner. The food came out in a timely manner and the food was fabulous. Everyone ate their fill, including the kids. The only complaint we had was the glass they provided for water was too small, probably only 4 oz.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Normally I love this place but this time the waitress was horrible and didn't deserve the tip we left. The stuffed mushrooms were cool. Everything else was good. I'm writing this experience off and will return. Huge portions!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food was excellent and you get large portions from the appetizers to the entrees.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Our server was fabulous very enjoyable time for such a large party. Food was excellent! Would definitely book here again for large groups etc.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 2, 2017

True family style dining, servers were energetic and engaging! The atmosphere is lively, warm and welcoming at the same time. A great dining experience that should not be missed!

Tags: Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 1, 2017

First time visiting D.C. with my wife and kids and came across Carmine's on the OpenTable App. I'm so glad we did because our experience was nothing short of amazing! Great food and ambiance suitable for kids! We will be back for sure!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Outstanding Value, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

Service hot and cold. Either in your face or disappear

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.