About Carmine's - Washington DC

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Restaurant Photos

Italian Cheese Steak
strawberry shortcake
Seafood Pasta
Spaghetti With Meatballs
Coffee
White Sangria
Bread
Cannoli
parmesan cheese
Punch
Rigatoni And Brocolli
Special Salad
Ventanni Margarita
Tiramisu
Shrimp Parmigiana
Chicken Scarpariello
Fried Calamari
Carmines Salad
Fried Zucchini
Chicken Ceaser Salad
house-made meatballs
Rigatoni With Meatballs
Eggplant Hero
Rigatoni With Sausage
Penne Alla Vodka
Ravioli W/Cheese
Chicken Marsala
Carmine's Aperol Fizz
Sinatra's Ice Tea
Shrimp Scampi
Frozen Berry Cosmo
Ceaser Salad
Giardiniera
Meatball Grinder
Veal Parmigiana
Chocolate Cannoli
Hot Antipasto
Italian Cheesecake
Meatballs
Porterhouse Contadina
Sangria
Chicken Parmesean
Chicken Wings
Wings N Salad

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (233)
special occasion (135)
kid-friendly (114)
See All
fit for foodies (75)
neighborhood gem (61)
great for lunch (58)
romantic (35)
notable wine list (34)
hot spot (32)
vibrant bar scene (23)
great for brunch (22)
late-night find (19)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (7)
Sort By:
Newest
2932 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

It's a step up from a chain. Great for g ...

vip
 (New England)
·Dined 4 days ago

It's a step up from a chain. Great for groups. Each dish can serve 4-6 people. They say 2-4 but the portions are ridiculously large.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value3

We had a great dinner. the staff was wo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We had a great dinner. the staff was wonderful, everyone had smile their face.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful experience, servings large Ta ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Wonderful experience, servings large

Take a group not just 1 person.

Well worth the$

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have eaten in Carmine's NYC many time ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We have eaten in Carmine's NYC many times. Food in DC was not as good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

This was our first visit to Carmine's an ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This was our first visit to Carmine's and I thought it was very good. We only had 3 people in our party which was probably a detriment to our experience. Since it is family style eating, which means you get a large order of whatever you order and pass it around to everyone in your party to share, it's more difficult to try different dishes with only 3 people. Basically, we all had to agree on what we wanted to eat together which wasn't an easy task! However, I would love to go back there again with a large group so we can order many different dishes and share them all! The food was fabulous (Chicken parmesan with pasta and a cold antipasto salad for an appetizer). We couldn't leave room for the desserts unfortunately based on stuffing ourselves with the oversized platter of chicken for the 3 of us. I will say that our waiter accommodated my son's request for 1 meatball which was very nice! We didn't want to order a whole platter of meatballs for the 3 of us on top of everything else, and the waiter said it was not a problem at all to bring him one. That was very nice, and we let him know how grateful we were for him going above and beyond to help us out. I would recommend this restaurant but mainly for large groups or special events - it was a great experience overall even with just the 3 of us!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Large portions. Very large!!

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Large portions. Very large!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

Well prepared comfort food just like Non ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Well prepared comfort food just like Nonna's. Waiter was prompt and attentive.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Love Carmines. Have been there in the p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Love Carmines. Have been there in the past before events at Fords Theatre. Carmines was perfect for my daughters 17th bday dinner with friends after a day walking the Mall. The staff really treated the group well. Two notes: its DC in the summer and the town was built on a swamp. It gets hot and humid. More than one pitcher of water should be available per table in the summer! Second, we told our server about a nut allergy before ordering the Titanic. Once it came with the hazelnuts on top, and the birthday candle already blown out, our server quickly handled the situation by bringing us a half portion of cheesecake with no charge. Very well done. Love this place and would recommend it and visit it again.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

What stood out the most was the ambiance ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

What stood out the most was the ambiance and the food. We were off a little ways from the bar but the lighting and the food coming and going made it feel family oriented. We had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Have eaten at Carmine's in NYC many tim ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Have eaten at Carmine's in NYC many times and love it. Was visiting the DC area and decided we had to make the stop. Was not disappointed, great food and great service as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've eaten at Carmine's NYC before and ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We've eaten at Carmine's NYC before and have always had good food and a great experience. This was no different. We just came here to try the Titanic dessert (actually half of a Titanic which they call a Tugboat) since we skipped dessert last time we ate at Carmine's because we were so full already. There were only two of us and we maybe got through about 1/3 of the ice cream sundae. It was good but more of an experience that you just try once since it is so big or you get with a group more like 4-6 people.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Not welcoming at the desk...asked my nam ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Not welcoming at the desk...asked my name 3 times and I kept spelling it with a K for Kanter and kept saying there was no reservation ...again I spelled the name and he said he was looking under C. Our Waiter was annoyed that we weren't ready to order right away and kept coming back every couple minutes. He obviously wanted to move us on quickly...they never cleared away messy plates or empty glasses.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Extremely knowledgeable,helpful and frie ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Extremely knowledgeable,helpful and friendly server made for a great experience.

I tried the chicken parmigiano and sauce and cheese terrific.. not impressed with quality of chicken.Was a bit chewy.

Try a Fly me to the moon cocktail !!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We had lots of fun here at Carmines Wash ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

We had lots of fun here at Carmines Washington DC. Especially when the 'tug boat' arrived. YUM!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Service terrible have been at Carmines i ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service terrible have been at Carmines in DC and NYC many times.

Service bad DC 7TH

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

They took my fish allergy seriously. The ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

They took my fish allergy seriously. They called to confirm our reservation. Staff was friendly at check in and we were seated immediately. The only reason I gave 4 star on service is we had to look for our waiter several times to ask for additional napkins, water and one of our salads never made it to the table. We were a party of 10 and we visit DC every year to visit our Mom's grave in Arlington. This is the third year in a row that we have gone to Carmine's for dinner in DC.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Wonderful place with HUGE portions! Don' ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Wonderful place with HUGE portions! Don't let the prices scare you away...most entrees feed at least four people. Staff was kind and friendly, my only critique would be the lighting...the restaurant was VERY dark, at least where we were sitting.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing food and atmosphere. Large porti ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Amazing food and atmosphere. Large portions that are perfect to share family style. I would recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

This was my first visit to Carmine's. W ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This was my first visit to Carmine's. We made reservations for a small group for lunch (4 women). We were seating when we arrived. Our waiter was very helpful and patient with us as first time visitors. he made it relaxing and comfortable. The food was EXCELLENT and PLENTY!! We ordered the mixed green salad which was full of fruit, chicken parmesan and lasagna. We had enough food left over that each of us were able to take home a full meal. We will be back!!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

David who checked us in and Ray our wait ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

David who checked us in and Ray our waiter absolutely made our dinner. The food was fabulous along with the atmosphere. Ray is a great waiter and put up with us as we were having fun. We would go back to Carmines again and again!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had the most enjoyable experience at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We had the most enjoyable experience at Carmine's, it was everything we had hoped it would be! We were seated quickly, and had great service from James, our waiter. Our food came out quickly and was delicious. James took great care of us. We definitely want to go back and try a few more dishes!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious! Better bring a healthy appeti ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Delicious! Better bring a healthy appetite and lots of people. Amount of food is more than ample.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Carmines is a great family style spot fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Carmines is a great family style spot for big groups. The portions are huge and are priced fairly, and the food is very good! We will definitely go back!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was really bad. Out server s ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The service was really bad. Out server seemed to not know the menu. He was regularly tripping over his own words, and he described some of the dishes to us incorrectly. We ended up ordering a chicken dish which we were told was served on a bed of sautéed spinach. It came without any spinach so we asked about it. He offered to bring us some spinach since he apparently mixed up which dish came with the spinach. He ended up charging us for this which is not at all what we thought was happening. Plus the spinach was so drenched in garlic and oil that we couldn't even eat any. It was just an oily pile of garlic.

The rest of the food was ok at best. What I would expect to eat at a cafeteria or cheap Italian place. Not anything special. I regularly make a much better chicken Parmesan myself at home for a fraction of the cost.

We will absolutely never return, and we would strongly discourage others from going. But at least the manager took the spinach off our bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

more food than you can eat. service exc ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

more food than you can eat. service excellent. Vernon great guy. we'll be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Everything we or ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was delicious. Everything we ordered was great and there was PLENTY of it! Bring a hungry stomach (and a few friends!). Ambiance is great. I've been to the one in NY as well. I must say the staff here were like "eh". Nothing great. No out of the box awesome treatment like the NY staff but we didn't even care because the meal was so good. Definitely would recommend. Maybe our waiter was just having an "off" day. Either way....we'd still go back again.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Carmine's is Carmine's. Excellent Itali ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Carmine's is Carmine's. Excellent Italian food in mass quantities, great service even when uber busy. Front was very polite even after being bombarded with questions and accusations from some diners arriving without reservations on holiday weekend.

Always try to stop here when we are in DC....

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent calamari and shrimp parmigiana ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent calamari and shrimp parmigiana.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

I had a blast, money well spent for the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

I had a blast, money well spent for the and it says family sized portions and they lived up to it. I will make it a once a month event because I so impressed with the food choices and the waiter which was very knowledgeable in describing and recommendations for me since I don't eat red meat at this time.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

As always it was excellent. Love this pl ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As always it was excellent. Love this place Will recommend it to anyone and everyone

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent!!! Food was outstanding. Perfe ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Excellent!!! Food was outstanding. Perfect ambiance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was just "OK." This restaurant ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

The food was just "OK." This restaurant is family style dinning and the portions are too big for 2 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value1

Was not expecting that you ordered one e ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Was not expecting that you ordered one entree and was expected to share. Everyone in our group have different taste.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Everything was excellent, my sister was ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Everything was excellent, my sister was so pleased for her birthday

Thank you Carmine's 💋

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. Amazing food, a ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great dining experience. Amazing food, amazing service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was great, they have very big p ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The food was great, they have very big portions (Family Style). The service was a little slow but the waiter was very nice and polite. Their Sangria was awful, I wouldn't recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value5

Carmine's is an awesome place to enjoy I ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Carmine's is an awesome place to enjoy Italian food (in Huge portions) in an atmosphere that makes you feel like you're at your own Sunday dinner with family. The food is delicious, comes family style so you only need 2-3 entrees for a table of adults. When we go there with 4 or 5 people we pick an appetizer and two entrees. They make all of the classic Italian dishes as well as some that are less popular. The calamari is our favorite!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Disappointing service, mixed up drink or ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Disappointing service, mixed up drink order and main entrée was prepared incorrectly. Management was overly passive on understanding why we were disappointed. Many choices to dine in DC. Sent this feedback on the Carmine's website and have not heard back. I still think Carmines in AC is great, the one in DC needs work. Last point; dined there on a Saturday night and place was half full....guess that should have told me something. The one in AC is always busy and consistent with food and service. Time to learn from the AC place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

It's twice a year to Carmine's for our w ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

It's twice a year to Carmine's for our weekend workshop Sat dinner. The food is always great, service friendly, courteous and efficient. Will continue to make it our biannual event. Keep up the good work!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Nice restaurant with huge portions to sh ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Nice restaurant with huge portions to share! The only thing is the meat does not come with sides or pasta -- the price is for just the meat. We ordered a prime rib daily special (which was a little pricey) but so worth it! The food was great. We did have to send some meat back that was not well done (what we asked for) and the service was a little slow.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.