Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.06mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.11mi

About Carmine's - Washington DC

Carmine’s is a family style, value-driven restaurant concept with locations in NYC, NJ, Nassau Bahamas, and Washington DC. Restaurateur Artie Cutler created Carmine’s with one goal in mind: to open a restaurant that would serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast, featuring extra large portions of home-style antipasto, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on extra large platters designed for sharing. Carmine’s is the perfect place to casually enjoy friends and family over great food and wine, with excellent service, the way it used to be at grandma’s house.

425 7th Street NW
Washington, DC 20004
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday 11:30am to 10:00pm

Friday - Saturday 11:30am to 11:00pm

Cross Street:
between E and D street on 7th street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(202) 737-7770

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine"s classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door. Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Our full-service Catering Division offers a professional staff, complete set-up and service, rentals, linens, décor, and venue selection. Catering packages or customized menus available.

Parking Details:
Entrance to parking garage is on E street. Address to parking garage is 616 E Street NW Washington 20004. The parking garage has an elevator entrance into Carmine's above. Valet parking is available nightly after 5pm.

Public Transit:
Metro Trains information.14 miles from Carmine"s on Metro Stop Archives- Navy Memorial Penn Quarter 701 Pennsylvania Avenue Washington D.C. 20004- Come off the train and head north on 7th street NW toward D street NW. Carmine's is on the right.21 miles from Carmine's on metro stop Gallery PI- Chinatown 630 H Street NW Washington D.C 20001. Co

Executive Chef:
Ford Barsi

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.


Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine's family. We invite you to share Carmine's style! Abbondanza!

Private Dining

9 private dining rooms with 700 seats including a fireside dining room and state of the art technology in our boardrooms, Carmine’s specializes in catering, banquet, and special events. With an elevator from the garage, and other VIP amenities, Carmine's is the place for your next event in NW DC.

Carmine's - Washington DC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (136)
Casual (83)
Comfort Food (82)
See All
Family Style (81)
Special Occasion (77)
Good for Birthdays (64)
Kid-friendly (55)
Authentic (49)
Fun (47)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Good for a Date (39)
Worth the Drive (31)
Business Meals (29)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Great for Lunch (27)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Bar Seating (22)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Hot Spot (20)
Sunday Lunch (19)
Romantic (19)
Cozy (17)
People Watching (15)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Notable Wine List (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Private Room (7)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Healthy (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Great Beer (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Sports (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Spicy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
3620 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

Loved the Carmine's in NYC and had to try this one , too. Our meal was just as delicious as we remembered it to be, with the atmosphere being fun and family friendly. Quality of food was fresh and flavorful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

not thrilled with the service, prices, or the fact that you can't get reasonable portion sizes

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Slow service at the table and HORRIBLE service at the bar. Rude, inattentive, and inexperienced bar tender does not make for a pleasant visit. As an NYC regular to both uptown and midtown, this was a tremendously disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined 3 days ago

Excellent as usual. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were great. Will make this place a usual stop of mine whenever I visit DC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was terribly over-priced and poorly done; Chicken Parmesan was over cooked, the $38.95 Shtimp Diavalo had 8 prawns, and entire dinner experience felt tired and microwaved. There were many other restaurants in this same street, and Carmine's was strangely half empty during "prime time" - we should have known better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food and service. Perfect for a large family during vacation to D.C.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food, pasta , salads, vela parmegiana & steak
Awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Food was unbelievable. Portions are enormous. Designed for sharing

Tags: Disabled Access, Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Food was good. Wasn't expecting family style so it was difficult to have the kids agree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Was so excited to see Carmines in DC. Have always enjoyed the NY location. Did not disappoint. The family style service makes the cost of dining in an expensive city more palatable.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Took my husband there for his birthday. Food was amazing! Everything is family style so they give huge portions. One entree was enough for us to share and have plenty of left overs. We ordered mussels which were really good and shrimp scampi. Would definitely go back and recommend to others as well.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Perfect restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Staff was great and super friendly. Come hungry and with lots of friends/family as portions are huge!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Carmine's is just a fun place to go... Especially for large groups. Huge family style servings for sharing. Good food, lots of choices. Classic place. My first time at the DC location... Not as busy as Manhattan location and not quite the same buzz, but still worth going.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Excellent meal and service. Our server,Corona took excellent care of us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Carmine's has the biggest portions ever, but the quality is top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Food was awesome. White sangria is a must. The portions are mainly for 5-6 people. It was just my daughter and I so we needed to share and still had enough for 4 more people but couldn't take it with us since we were only visiting the city.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 5, 2017

Took the nephews out for dinner before a play at STC. The homemade cheese ravioli was a huge hit! Ending the meal with the HUGE hurricane sundae blew their minds!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Always a great family place to eat. Outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Friends visiting from out of town

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Carmine's is the best place to go for authentic, family - style Italian cuisine. The portions are large and meant for sharing. The Carmine's salad and garlic bread topped with Parmesan is a must!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food was great and the service was good. The prices though were high. I understand the food is served family style (for 2-3 people) but still Chicken Parmigianafor $31.95 and pasta is extra$.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Huge portions. Great service and family friendly by D.C. Standards.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Good food. Great for dining with kids. Service was very good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Excellent Italian cuisine! The family-style menu provides an abundance of great food
We loved the chicken marsala. This is a great place for families and/ friends.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 30, 2017

The food isn't anything unique but it always tastes good. Carmine's is great for big groups as it's family style serving.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Great! We loved it! This was our best meal in D.C.!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Not much taste. Just basic pasta with no special touch. Very limited for kids and wouldn't recommend as such.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

vip
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on June 26, 2017

We had a party of 9 with kids. The service, atmosphere and food were perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 25, 2017

You better like to eat. If you dine alone it will definitely be man vs food because they have absolutely no idea what a single serving size is. Instead of tablespoons I think they use shovels. This is a healthy-portion family style serving restaurant where everyone at the table shares a meal.
There were three of us dining. We wanted an appetizer, but the look of consternation on the server's face made us rethink that decision. I'm so glad we did. The meal itself could have easily served six to eight. Needless to say, we took over half of it home, along with a half portion of cannoli.
This is the real deal if you're looking for Italian style cooking because their pasta was second to none. One could easily get out of there for less than $10 a head and be stuffed.
I'm going back. I don't know when, but I'll find an excuse to get back to Carmine's. And I'm bringing more friends.

Tags: Bar Seating, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Have dined at both NYC and DC Carmines at least 2x each. Always consistent, always delicious. Staff and waitstaff always attentive. Sat down right away with reservations. Made reservations 3 months in advance when I put in for White House Tour as I knew hard to get reservations. Got a confirmation call from Carmines day before.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Good service for large group. Family style was exactly what we wanted. But it's a noisy and high traffic location.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Graduation celebration; we had a reservation, but for some reason our table took 30 minutes to be ready. It was busy yet groups of seven or less were being seated and it wasn't quite as organized as I had hoped.

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 24, 2017

This is not a restaurant for a small party. It is loud, the family portions obscenely big and expensive. Waiter attentive at first but then not. So loud you cannot hear person next to you. Not a good experience.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Great location within walking distance of Newseum, Verizon Center, Metro Center, etc, etc. Menu prices appear high, but you get A LOT of food. One salad and one entree' fed 4 of us with plenty to take home. The bottle of house Montepulciano was good and a GREAT value for a group. Our waiter, Joshua, was friendly, informative, and efficient. Carmine's was a perfect choice for our post-museum dinner, and we especially appreciated the ability to make reservations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

We selected Carmine's as a pre-theatre spot on a Friday night. We know that it caters to groups so it is not a quiet place, but there are quieter areas in the restaurants and we were just fine. We went with the family size platters and they were generous on the portions. The salad was quite fresh with a good house dressing. The white shrimp over pasta was a bit runny and it could have used another handful of shrimp, but none of us left the restaurant hungry!

Tags: Great Beer, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 23, 2017

My guest has celiac issues. You would think that a family style Italian restaurant would be the last place we could go. Carmine's has an amazing special menu for those with food allergies and sensitivities. We ordered a Carmine's salad and gluten-free pasta with shrimp marinara sauce. The chef came to our table to discuss our choices - we learned from our server that either the chef or the manager always does that when there is a food allergy - and he even recommended the flourless torte for dessert. Good call! It was delicious. Highly recommend Carmine's for any occasion but especially for those with dietary sensitivities.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fun, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Be prepared for a very loud environment if you eat here. The food was ok. Not remarkable but by no means mediocre. The waiter was very attentive until the last part of the meal. He must have been overrun with tables because we waited a while to be able to get the check at the end. Overall an ok experience, but I don't think we'll be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 22, 2017

Great for groups because the food is good and the family-style portions makes ordering simple. There's something for everyone. Ceiling is high, tables not too close together, so you can actually talk. Servers, all who came by, were friendly, just like the ambiance. The Big Salads are awesome.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.