Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Fri, 5/25
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 23 times today
Special offers available. See details

Carmine's On Penn

4.5
1816 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Good for a Date
  • Authentic
Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(303) 777-6443
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Eric Seabolt
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Bayaud
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Closest is Alameda Station
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
None
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party. If you are interested in hosting a private event, please give us a call at 303-777-6443 and ask for Stephen.
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cocktails, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Sun - Thu 8:30PM - 8:30PM
Fri - Sat 8:30PM - 9:00PM

What 1816 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.5based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.4
service
4.3
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Carmine's is an 'old favorite' and an especially good place to take out-of-town friends for dinner, conversation, and a bottle of wine. Do realize that the portions are 'family style' and that, unless there are some 'big eaters' or you're starved, one large dish of pasta will satisfy 4 adults (despite how the servers may guide you). Unfortunately, and atypically, the dish we ordered, fettucini with shrimp and broccoli, was sub-par for Carmine's. Somehow, it just wasn't a very good combination of flavors, with an inexplicable spicy kick that was discordant with the rest of the dish. Also, the broccoli 'spears' were tough and not very tasty. I'll avoid this one next time and stay with their more 'basic' dishes. But we did have a good time, I would still recommend the restaurant, and I'm sure I'll return often.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined 6 days ago

Used to be my favorite Italian restaurant next to the ones in New York. After bragging to friends about carmine's, we finally had the opportunity to take them to celebrate the sale of a business. Well I guess we set the bar to high as the food good, not great as I had remembered and the service was subpar at best. We spent 2 1/2 hours which was primarily due to the service. The food took forever and we rarely had our waitress check in. The few times we did ask if we needed anything we asked for oil and vinegar for our bread which after 20 minutes, we had to ask another server for it. Then again, after we had finished our first bottle of wine, I had to flag her down again in order to request the wine menu. 30 minutes after bringing it she returns as we are finishing our dinner and asked if we decided on a bottle. Its like seriously?!?! I totally understand and get when you may be short on staff or overly busy, but the restaurant wasn't busy and the staff wasn't overly busy or overwhelmed. I don't know if carmines has gone downhill, it has been affected by the low unemployment rate in the choice of employees, or this is a one time experience but after this experience we won't be back and sadly neither will our friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 14, 2018

Another fabulous dinner on an extremely busy evening.
Great, great job !!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 13, 2018

I have been going to Carmine’s for many years and have always enjoyed the service and food. I always make a reservation on Open Table and the reservation for the time slot I selected for this visit happened to be for a 1,000 point spot versus the normal 100 points. When I got there, part of my party arrived 18 minutes early however, my full party arrived 8-10 minutes early. The restaurant offered to sit us early but neglected to inform us that if we sat early they would not give me the 1,000 points for my reservation. Instead, they cancelled my reservation without notifying me in person. I found out about the cancelled reservation via email from Open Table. When I went to the host stand to ask why they wouldn’t honor the reservation, the host rudely stated, “You arrived early and it cost us a lot of money to give you that 1,000 points. Since you didn’t arrive at your reserved time we have the right to cancel you reservation for not honoring the seating time”. To say I was shocked is an understatement; after all, the restaurant neglected to inform me of this policy and volunteered to seat my party early. This was a very deceptive move by the restaurant and I am speechless they would have such poor service like this.

As I mentioned earlier (and as you can see from my reservation history), I’ve been to Carmine’s many times. We will never go back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Great food and impeccable service.
Always love going to Carmine's!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We always have a great meal and service. Can even eat low carb if careful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

The food was great!, as usual. Our waiter was kind to give us complimentary deserts for mine and my friend's belated birthday celebration, and although it's hard to complain when you receive something for free, we do have to say the tiramisu was strange. It was smothered with some sort of sauce (have never seen that done before) and the cake itself was very dry. Other than that, we had a very nice time, great service, and terrific food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Love this place! It never disappoints! The chicken parmigiana is amazing. The pasta and salads are delicious. And the ambiance is cozy and warm.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Enjoyed the evening. Hadn't been to Carmines in years, hasn't changed much, food is
really decent, as expected, parking a bit tough on the street, overall, a nice evening at Carmines.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Nate was absolutely outstanding!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Carmine's is a special place. It has the feel of a neighborhood Italian restaurant in St. Louis or Chicago and the quality of the food is as good as it gets.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Went for our 4 year anniversary, and couldn't be happier. Fantastic food, incredibly helpful and kind staff, and a great atmosphere! Might need to make it a tradition.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Very disappointed. Hadn’t been there in 10yrs and won’t bother again. Pasta was ok, seafood was clearly from a frozen bag, mussels were worst I’ve had in Denver area in over 29yrs. But at least it was expensive too!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 4, 2018

We were looking for Italian food and came across this on Yelp. We made the reservation and got there on time. They seated us immediately and our waiter, Nate, was there to give us water and information on their menu. We started off with delicious garlic
knots, Then followed with B bruschetta that was excellent, and then we had a chicken dish with asparagus and sun dried tomatoes in an alfredo sauce. Servings were for 2 and we had enough for dinner the next night. We thoroughly enjoyed the entire evening. And our waiter, Nate, was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

As always, an amazing experience. Our server chose our food for us at our request and it was spot on. My girlfriend and I have been here before and will continue to come whenever we want a big delicious meal. Cocktails and wine were also on point!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

I love Carmine's! The food is amazing and I've never had a bad experience here. The servers are very attentive but not intrusive and I always leave stuffed with leftovers for days!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 29, 2018

Food quality has gone way down. Was passable but not excellent like it used to be. Server forgot 2 main items and didn’t even notice

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

As always, we had a fabulous time at Carmine's. We were there for dining out for life and there were six of us, which meant we just got to taste more options of all the yummy goodness that they have to offer. My husband and I consider this a shopping trip, since we always order enough to take home a big bag of leftovers. Thanks Carmine's, for not judging us on the amount of garlic knots we ate!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Carmine's is always fantastic. From the food to the service to the atmosphere. Try the seasonal gnocchi- Delish!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Great neighborhood restaurant! You will never leave hungry

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 23, 2018

Love love love this place! The garlic bread is to die for and the food is delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2018

Everything was perfect - absolutely delicious!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

The Pasta Alla Carmines and Chicken Alla Carmines was very good. We dont know much about wine (read, we know NOTHING about wine) and the waiter was very kind to help us pick a great wine that went with dinner. We were dressed up for a pre theater date and the atmosphere worked well for that, but I would feel comfortable eating there in nice jeans and a collared shirt too. Overall, would highly recommend.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Always enjoy the food at Carmine's on Penn. Nate the waiter is the best!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Good service and good food. Also a good value. Wines are too expensive.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 19, 2018

Soooooo good!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 18, 2018

Great family-style dining with friendly, attentive servers and copious quantities of food. Love sharing dishes and trying new things.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 15, 2018

As usual they delivered a fantastic dining experience from the drinks, to the apps, to the main course everything was delicious! We will be coming back odten

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 14, 2018

My family has been going to this restaurant for 8 years... The food is very good. We had reservations for 6 for my son's 14 birthday (his favorite restaurant ) however, we had a late addition and ended up showing up with 7. Apparently the +1 was a difficult thing for the manager to wrap his head around as he immediately told us they could not accommodate the extra 13 year old. I don't get it. Food is very good if you like Italian just make sure to get the party size correct.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 13, 2018

Pasta alla Carmine’s was very, very over seasoned with garlic. Chicken Montana was ok. The house salad was swimming in dressing but flavor was good. Food came out about 2 minutes after my cocktail.
We explained to our waitress what our feelings were about the food, but we ate a fair portion of it so expected nothing as a result, but our critique was not well received.
No reason to return.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 13, 2018

It’s been years since I ate at Carmine’s, but I was back in town and thought I’d try it again. The first red flag was that the restaurant was virtually empty at 7 on a Thursday night. The antipasti plate was bland and worse then basic with mozzarella and slices of provolone as the cheese selections. The rest of the food was fine, but pedestrian and expensive for what you get. The service was good, but Carmine’s has clearly lost it’s edge. Nothing special anymore. I recommend spending your money at a restaurant that’s still trying to be something special.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We sat on the patio, which was enclosed because of some recent cold weather. It was extremely loud inside, difficult to have a conversation. I wonder if it was because of the enclosure or what, but I was disappointed in the noise level. On the other hand, the food was delicious and the server was great.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 8, 2018

Excellent service and food. Waiter was helpful with suggestions for a couple of food issues.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Great midweek place for Italian comfort food! It was a group of 4 friends and thank goodness for our outstanding wait person who patiently explained the menu and figured out how we could all get what we wanted since the restaurant serves family style. The eye opener was the chance to see how this group had some very finicky eaters! Lesson learned.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I am pleased to see the two person serving size. We still had food to take home. Wine was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

I love dining at Carmine's on Penn, this time we were in a hurry and this did us right with very prompt service. Great food, great place!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is my husband's favorite restaurant. The food is good, the ambiance is cozy, and price is great. I only have two complaints. None of the dishes listed on the menu have descriptions; instead, they rely on the servers to explain it. I'd rather know what I want to order from the description than wait for the waitstaff. Secondly, it would be nice to have single portions instead of having to always order as a family style.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 19, 2018

Always a great meal. Pear salad is a must.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We have been extremely happy with this restaurant for over 20 years. It is in a residential neighborhood with lots of life on the streets. The atmosphere is varied with comfortable tables inside, additional tables in the closed in patio area, and a comfortable bar. The food is always top notch based on Italian cooking with servings for two or family style. My favorites are the pear salad and veal pazzo along with spaghetti Capo. The staff is always very knowledgeable and very helpful.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

We had great food and service. This is one of our go to restaurants.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
46

Tweets by Carmine's On Penn