About Carmine's On Penn

92 S. Pennsylvania Street
Denver, CO 80209
View Larger Map

Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:0pm

Cross Street:
Bayaud

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-6443

Website:
http://www.carminescolorado.com/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.

Parking Details:
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.

Public Transit:
Closest is Alameda Station

Executive Chef:
Dan Grunewald

Private Party Facilities:
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Kozicki: 3039576503x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carmine's On Penn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Denver / Colorado
Italian
Denver / Colorado
Best Value
Denver
2 More
Neighborhood Gem
Denver
Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

neighborhood gem (62)
good for groups (52)
special occasion (44)
See All
fit for foodies (35)
romantic (21)
great for outdoor dining (21)
notable wine list (17)
kid-friendly (17)
hot spot (12)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1400 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

What an excellent Italian restaurant! M ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

What an excellent Italian restaurant! My wife and I visited and were treated to outstanding service by Bobby, who mitigated an otherwise inconvenient issue with their computer system in printing out our check by generously shaving a little off the bill. Totally unexpected and very much appreciated. The portions are VERY generous and you will leave very satisfied, even if you have to take home the excellent cannoli.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good as first time we went there 21yrs a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Good as first time we went there 21yrs ago. Kuddos to staff..

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A nice quiet back room that filled up qu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A nice quiet back room that filled up quickly on a Saturday night. Cannon was a great server with many good suggestions and plenty of experience. A super-special occasion to celebrate quite a number of accomplishments in our group, birthday, anniversary and several other milestones. Perfect spot for celebration and fine Italian dining. Nice to see this neighborhood tradition still around and thriving.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food - highly recommend the ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food - highly recommend the chicken parm! Excellent pink sauce, too.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We go for the nonprofit fundraisers; kee ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We go for the nonprofit fundraisers; keep doing them please.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good family style Italian dining modeled ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good family style Italian dining modeled after the Carmine's on Broadway in NYC.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We first heard about this place from Big ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We first heard about this place from Big Al (Alfred Williams)who loves this place so my husband and I decided to go for our anniversary. The service great and food was so delicious! Our server, Nate, was very knowledgeable about all of the menu including drinks. We will definitely return. We love it now too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wedding anniversary dinner. My second v ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wedding anniversary dinner. My second visit and it was every bit as wonderful as the first visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was ok. Family style and large qua ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was ok. Family style and large quantities ok for large groups. Would not recommend for 2 people, unless they eat same thing.

Tags: good for groups, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We love Carmine's on Penn, and Saturday ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love Carmine's on Penn, and Saturday night was no exception! They were able to accommodate a Gluten Free meal with ease and a special birthday cake would have been prepared if we gave them enough notice. Everyone loved it and we will most certainly be back again!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and the restaurant was ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was great and the restaurant was quite busy. We had 2 kids in our group and the staff was excellent with them. The wines & cocktails were average but the food was very good and the portion sizes are large. This is our 3rd time at Carmine's and we would definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Wait staff was ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent experience. Wait staff was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. The meals are served family style, so this restaurant was a great option for dining with our teenage boys. The Chicken Montana was light yet flavorful, loaded with vegetables and chicken. And the garlic knots - to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service as usual! Lots of great ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome service as usual! Lots of great recommendations. The servers really know the menu in detail'

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. The m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The menu had something for everyone and everything was delizioso! Was a tad pricey but that won't stop us from coming back.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Never disappoints. Good se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food. Never disappoints. Good service and fun food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming to Carmine's for more ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We've been coming to Carmine's for more than ten years. We had our first date here. We got engaged here. The gnocchi was always our go-to, but this past visit, both it and the ravioli were not vegetarian. While previous waitstaff has worked with us (hey, we can put the gnocchi with a different sauce for you, no problem), our waiter for this anniversary dinner was lethargic and seemed barely present. What we did order was delicious, no doubt, but the experience was lacking. Not even sure we'll go back.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

We had a great dining experience and our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great dining experience and our waitress was very energetic! She answered all our questions and gave us great advise. If you have never been there you have to go.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here during a chil ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I came here during a child-free trip to Denver. The food is served family-style or in servings for two. Hubby thought it wasn't going to work for us because he eats meat and I don't. Our compromise was to order pasta alla Carmine's, a vegetarian marinara, and hubby ordered a side of sausage and peppers.

It is difficult to make vegetarian sauce taste flavorful, but Carmine's did it. The sauce was amazing, and even received a thumbs up from the meat eater who also loved the sausage and peppers.

We knew we wanted dessert so we skipped the appetizers and salad. The cheesecake is probably one of the best I've ever had. It was made with ricotta and was rich and decadent. I rarely order cheesecake because I'm so disappointed by how "meh" it is, but thankfully, we followed the server's recommendation and tried it. Do it! You won't regret it (unless you're dieting).

The wine list was extensive, and we met some Carmine's regulars at the bar for a drink after dinner. Over all, it was a delicious, delightful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & food!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service & food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Waiter was awesome too

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was a wonderful night. Loved every dish, veal picatta was delicious. We ordered side of pesto pasta and put it on top. We were with some traditional eaters so didn't get to try more extravagant dishes but will go back on our own.

Loved it and staff was awesome as well

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

love it

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I've been going for years. I only take special people to share the experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our waiter was so wonderful to us and our kids. He brought kids noodles out almost as soon as we ordered them.

Overall meal and drinks were delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I love this place, I have for years! Th ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

I love this place, I have for years! The food was wonderful the ambiance was perfect and the services was outstanding! We'll be back to continue to try dishes until we have had them all!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great as always

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

From the friendly greeting on arrival to the attentive service, Carmine's remains one of our favorite go to restaurants. We may not done here for a few months but know that there Dodd and service Will be consistently great. The owner never fails to recognize us by name, even if it has been several months. The only negative is that since they have lost the ability to have valet parking, parking can be a challenge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Finally!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

I finally made it to Carmine's for dinner. I've wanted to try this place for years. The atmosphere is casual, the food very good and the service was excellent. The wine is varied with something for everyone. The Barbera/Syrah blend went perfectly with the Meatballs w/ Vodka sauce and the Ragu de Funghi. The homemade cheese cake with salted caramel on top was the perfect desert to end our dinner. We'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very fun evening!

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with a few friends, which was fun. The food was good, as was the wine. The left overs were even better! My only concern is their lack of cell coverage or Wifi. We had used Uber since we were drinking, and couldn't get a signal to notify them to pick us up. The staff told us to "start walking and in a few blocks you'll get a cell signal". Unfortunately I have fairly limited mobility due to my MS so that simply wasn't an option. We figured it out, but were kinda bummed at the nonchant attitude.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Delicious

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

This is by far my favorite italian restaurant. The garlic bread is so good you can't have just one. The entrees are to die for. Everything about this restaurant is phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A nite out with my special someone

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

I was able to get a table at a reasonable time despite a rather short notice on my part. The food was excellent, the wine was superb, and the service was good. It was a little loud, but that was due to one table in particular. Not a deal breaker tho.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had excellent service that evening. ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 29, 2016

We had excellent service that evening. It was a busy night but the waiter was excellent and attentive. Food was excellent. We had several first timers in this group and all said they would return. Our waiter guided us through the family style and we had just the right amount of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome Italian Food

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

They offer family style dining which allowed us to sample multiple menu items. Our favorites were the Chicken Montana and the ravioli. We had wesome service. I find their service process to be very efficient.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Italian restaurant in Colorado. The ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 23, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Colorado. The food is prepared perfectly and there always seems to be a new entree or two to enjoy. Can't go wrong with Carmine's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a Good Choice, Whatever the Occassion

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

At Carmine's, the food is always good and the service is impeccable. They hosted our rehearsal dinner and it was exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Generous portions, friendly staff...and the best cheesecake!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Best Italian in Denver

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 7, 2016

We love Carmine's on Penn! We tried it after several recommendations and are so happy we did. Hands down best italian food food you will ever find in Denver. It's a small restaurant and very popular so it is best to make a reservation, even during the week. Everything is served family style but there is not a bad dish on the menu. Their sauce and pasta and bread is homemade...even the desserts are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great family dinner

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a family get-together with 8 people and this restaurant was good for everyone, including the kids. We ordered a salad and 3 entrées to share and it was the perfect amount. All of the food was good. Really liked the pear salad.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Gastro Heaven!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 30, 2016

From the salad to dessert, the food was divine. I'm not huge fan of family style dining, but this worked out just fine for our party of three because of the advice of our server, Luann, who was exceptional. She was personable, knowledgeable, attentive and fun! The only small downside for us was because of all the hard surfaces used in the decor, it was just a big noisy. We will be returning to this neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Wonderful Experience

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Took whole family for dinner last Friday night. Service and wine was excellent! Everyone enjoyed the experience.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a great dinner. The food was excellent. The portions were generous. Service was fast and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Italian food!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

This was an excellent find! My husband is Italian and loves to try new Italian restaurants. This one was the best we've tried since moving to Colorado 3 years ago. We came with another couple and ordered 2 dishes family style--the Sausage & Peppers and the Cheese Ziti. Excellent! Our waitress was quite helpful, friendly, and prompt. We will be sure to be back and to bring more friends!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

much improved

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

this is our second visit after a disappointing group dinner last year. for whatever reason, we found the restaurant back closer to its better self. our bread was fresh and loaded with garlic and butter like the old days, the caesar salad served on a chilled plate (although we missed the anchovies and thought the croutons boring), and the food above average. our only disappointment was that the family serving size of the raviolis seemed a bit small: 3 ravioli's per person isn't much, despite their richness. carmine's has never been an inexpensive dinner, but we're happy to recommend it again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.