Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. Find a similar spot.
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi
  1. Distance: 0.57mi
  2. Distance: 0.59mi
  3. Distance: 0.62mi
  4. Distance: 0.80mi

About Carmine's On Penn

Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.

92 S. Pennsylvania Street
Denver, CO 80209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:0pm

Cross Street:
Bayaud

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-6443

Website:
http://www.carminescolorado.com/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.

Parking Details:
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.

Public Transit:
Closest is Alameda Station

Executive Chef:
Joseph Hubbard

Private Party Facilities:
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Kozicki: (303) 957-6503

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carmine's On Penn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (58)
Neighborhood Gem (52)
Special Occasion (36)
See All
Authentic (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Good for a Date (32)
Good for Birthdays (27)
Comfort Food (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Casual (23)
Worth the Drive (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Fit for Foodies (19)
Notable Wine List (19)
Fun (18)
Romantic (18)
Cozy (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Outstanding Value (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Bar Seating (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Historic (5)
Spicy (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Private Room (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Seasonal (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Great Beer (1)
Healthy (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
1646 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Amazing food and service. Brandi was fenominal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 11, 2017

I love Carmines but they put us in a back room that had no ambiance and was cold and impersonal

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Family meal before vacation great staff great food ...Ran out of shrimp at 730pm
It would have been 5 stars had they had all available meals

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 6, 2017

It was our first time at the restaurant and we thoroughly enjoyed our experience. Parking can be a problem, but the food and ambiance was definitely worth the trip. We have leftovers for another meal! Thanks for an enjoyable time.

Tags: Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing. Service was exceptional. Parking was/could be an issue

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great place for a group get together. Smart staff. Good, hearty food.

Tags: Family Style, Fun, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Lots of food, great variety, family-style, so good for groups.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 5, 2017

This was our first time going and the food was great. We had great service. The portions were more than enough. Would definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Servers should make more realistic recommendations for diners who are coming for the first time. Our server recommended way too much food for 5 of us.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

We had never been to Carmine's on Penn. We loved the ambiance, service and the food. The rolls were fantastic and the flavors in their Sausage and sauce were outstanding! The waiter gave great advice when ordering.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Spicy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The risotto was really salty and had more mushrooms than risotto. It was exactly this same way the time before, but unfortunately they didn't modify it. The good part, however, was they took it off our bill. We have been coming to Carmines for more than 20 years, through numerous ownership changes. In the past, we have always come here because it felt very family friendly, and like the owners and staff would do anything to accommodate their guests. I'm sad to say, we don't get this feeling anymore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Delicious. We went in winter, but with the outdoor seating this would be a great place in summer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We decided to try Carmines for Restaurant Week. Everything was excellent. They serve family-style, so the portions were large, and we took home leftovers of our chicken parmigiana (which was delicious even after reheating).
Our server was Arthur and he was very knowledgeable about the menu and he was attetentive the entire time.
Overall, it was an extremely enjoyable night. It was very relaxing and we were able to take our time with every dish, plus the wine.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This was great. Went for Restaurant week but going back over Easter weekend when my parents are in town!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Went for Denver Restaurant Week which was a mistake. The website for that event showed the menu and it appeared that it was lots of courses. Instead, arriving and finding out you choose any 3 from the 5 courses, not one from all 5 as indicated. Putting things together saved only $1 or $2 and actually, probably cost more as the entrees were their large version. While delicious as always, normally order the smaller size good for 2 people and no leftovers. That smaller size along with the other 2 courses, both smaller/regular size, would have actually cost LESS than we paid. I do blame the restaurant to a degree and tossing in a dessert, even one to share, would, at least make it balance. That aside, the food is wonderful, the service always very good. Just never a reason to come back during restaurant week as it currently stands.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

The food and service were awesome. The only problem was we went for restraint week and it was $70 for two people. We made our choices from the limited menu. Then realized it would have be $22 cheaper just to order of the regular menu. So that was kind of disappointing

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great Italian! Best I ever had and will be back soon!

Tags: Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 2, 2017

I think it's best for people that are into family dinning style, as in sharing food, from first course to the last. Food tasted great but there will be a lot of it even between two people. If you do restaurant week be prepared to be told there are rules to how you dine there. Our waiter told us either we are all in on restaurant week or all out, half the table couldn't order off reg menu and half order restaurant week menu. They ended up making changes anyway so not sure why the rules speech...

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Gluten Free Options, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 1, 2017

The portions are HUGE and are a very good value; along with being tasty! They have a very extensive wine list but not many by the glass so expect to spend more on the bottle than you did on your meal. Our waiter recommended a bottle and we went with his suggestion - so glad we did! It WAS outstanding, but pretty pricey. The waitstaff could NOT have been more friendly or attentive. Overall everything was excellent and we'll definitely be back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Authentic, Family Style, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Service was great. Even with restaurant week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Our party of 8 enjoyed the food, service and atmosphere. Dana was terrific and helped us make choices that would please the group and was flexible when we made changes.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Checking in was hectic with no place to wait while they cleaned our table. Bus girl took a plate away from the table as I still had food on my fork....she just took the plate out from under me. I have never had this happen in my life before. It was not the server, he was actually great, but the person clearing tables. I expect more from this nice of a place.

Food was still great and will give it another chance probably.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Truly awesome all around experience!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We had a wonderful meal at Carmine's on Penn for Denver Restaurant Week! This neighborhood gem should not be forgotten -- authentic, DELICIOUS Italian food!! So much fun to go with a group and get the chance to try even more wonderful dishes!!! We are planning our next night at Carmine's with family.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 26, 2017

The food was great and the staff was very friendly. I just wish my friends were more adventurous and we could have tried something fun. There were so many options and since it's family style I had to settle for what the group wanted instead of what i really wanted. I plan to go back with a different dinner companion next time!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 25, 2017

First time at Carmine's for the four of us, during Restaurant Week. Fortunately, we chose Carmine's because we now have a new favorite family-style restaurant for special occasions. The Restaurant Week menu was fantastic (delicious garlic rolls and cheesecake!), and we will return as soon as possible.

Tags: Authentic, Fun, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Good food, family style, parking can be challenging.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Should have been on the restaurant week website how this restaurant works....heard many disappointed that everyone had to agree on what to eat!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Always a good time! The food is just wonderful! I love this place!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 23, 2017

I am a frequent diner at Carmine's on Penn and the last visit on Feb 22, 2017 left me so disappointed that I might not go back. The Chicken Parm was processed chicken formed in rectangle blocks, not the usual wonderful chicken breasts. The marinara sauce was very thin and flavorless. The only decent part of the dinner was the garlic roles. It was such a departure from the normally delicious meal that I am left questioning if there was an ownership change. Very disappointing dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

The food was great and the service was wonderful, but it was ridiculously loud. Large groups should be separated from tables for 2.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Enjoyed dining there. Wait staff and bartender are incredible. Limited exposure to Italian cuisine would lead me 4.5 stars for quality and quantity. Would definitely return for more exposure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We felt like we were "bumped" on ordering more food than we needed and we left with three boxes of take home food. That was our fault for not staying with our original order when the server suggested we would probably need another entree.
There was also an added charge for a side dish of $11.95 which we did not order. The server's response when questioned made us a little suspicious that the extra charge was a matter of course for the restaurant. It could have been a "mistake" but I would caution diners to check your bill carefully especially when dining with a group. Just sayin'...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Had the Carbonara with Ziti and it was outstanding. Everything else on the menu sounded delicious too so I'll have to go back to try some more.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

When you are in the mood for great Italian food, look no further. This place is will not disappoint you. The food is consistently amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We have gone here twice now and it hasn't disappointed. Great food. Huge portions.
Service is very good. Nice relaxed atmosphere, but upscale at the same time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had reservations for 6pm, we got there about 5:45 and sat immediately. Nathan our waiter was awesome, knew the menu, the right wine and was very attentive.....as was his helpers. As usual, the food was good, lots of it, leaving plenty for leftovers. Will definitely keep coming back!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and service. Amazing ambience. Liked the overall food option. Dish position sizes are huge. We went to celebrate Valentine's Day and they made the overall experience very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Been to hundreds of restaurants in the Denver area. But I still have this as my favorite place in the Denver. The lcoation, the service, the food is top notch. And the rolls are insanely delicious. I will bec oming back here for years to come.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.