About Carmine's On Penn

92 S. Pennsylvania Street
Denver, CO 80209
View Larger Map

Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:0pm

Cross Street:
Bayaud

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-6443

Website:
http://www.carminescolorado.com/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.

Parking Details:
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.

Public Transit:
Closest is Alameda Station

Executive Chef:
Joseph Hubbard

Private Party Facilities:
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Kozicki: (303) 957-6503

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Specials

Valentine's Day Special Menus & More

Tuesday, February 14, 2017

Details

Thanks for coming to dine with us on Valentine's Day. We are requiring a credit card for reservations to ensure you are as excited about joining us as we are with having you in for dinner. We are requiring this small ask so we don't prohibit anyone who wants to dine with us from doing so.

Carmine's On Penn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (37)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Comfort Food (26)
See All
Good for Groups (24)
Special Occasion (21)
Authentic (20)
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Birthdays (18)
Fun (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Casual (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Cozy (9)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Romantic (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Outstanding Value (5)
Seasonal (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Healthy (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Business Meals (3)
Private Room (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Spicy (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Historic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Disabled Access (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
1595 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Always a great experience...quality food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 2 days ago

Always a great experience...quality food. A Denver staple.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

fun place with family meal menu. crayon ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

fun place with family meal menu. crayons for doodling on paper table cloth.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great but the service was OUTST ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was great but the service was OUTSTANDING, Nate is a gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Usually Carmine's food is 5 stars. On t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Usually Carmine's food is 5 stars. On the last visit, portions were definitely smaller.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great server- delicious food. Bread in t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great server- delicious food. Bread in the beginning was so yummy we had to restrain from eating it all and ruining the rest of the meal :) Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun for a large party!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun for a large party!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was absolutely outstanding. As ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was absolutely outstanding. As usual, the food excellent...and the rolls, wonderful.

A great wine selection. Tell your friends. We have dined at Carmines for over 15 years. A great value.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner was excellent. Staf ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was excellent. Staff on it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service as always even on a bu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent service as always even on a busy holiday night. Our server helped to guide a wonderful dining get experience. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Think our server forgot our order so aft ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Think our server forgot our order so after appetizers food was a long time coming. We didn't see our server very often at the table.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome awesome

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have gone to Carmine's two years in a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We have gone to Carmine's two years in a row for our anniversary. We are turning it into a tradition! We love everything about that place. My boyfriend has been going there since he was a child. There have been a few changes but nonetheless still great food, great wine list. Good service. We were just a little disappointed when the server came over with our check after boxing our food instead of offering us dessert, or at least asking if we wanted anything. It was our anniversary! Of course we're getting dessert! He did end up taking one off as a "Happy anniversary" thing, which redeemed a bit for us. Overall, we will be back!

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my families first visit to Carm ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my families first visit to Carmines and we truly enjoyed it. Some of us braved the snow from Greeley and Ft. Collins and it was worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been wanting to visit Carmine's fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I had been wanting to visit Carmine's for quite a while and they did not disappoint. Our waiter was fantastic. I asked him for a wine recommendation and he suggested a very reasonably priced Barbera that was delicious. We mentioned that we wished to take our time and chat and he obliged to leave us chatting for the perfect amount of time. The bread was ridiculously good as were the suggestions of the veal dish and the pasta with meatballs and vodka sauce. Finished the meal with limoncello, cappuccino, and sea salt caramel gelato. A wonderful experience for $60/person. Thanks Carmine's

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service, average food, but qui ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Very good service, average food, but quite pricey - Lemon Shrimp Calabrese for $53 ? My opinion - should be about $40. Visited on a Wednesday evening, parking very difficult to find. Overall, average experience, what made it worthwhile was a great waiter - Chaz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

My husband and I used to go here a lot, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I used to go here a lot, and hadn't been in a while, so we decided to take my mother-in-law while she was in town. The food was of low quality. We got the Veal Parmesan which was the worst I think I've ever had; the Bolognese pasta had no flavor; and my mother-in-law said the chicken was bland as well. The only good food we had were the mussels. My husband and I ordered Old Fashioned's and the bar tender had put them in a shaker (Old Fashioned's don't need to be shaken). They were so watered down we decided to switch to something the bar tender didn't have to make....wine.

This place is way over priced for what it is. It used to be some place the locals could go to and enjoy, but now there's too many Colorado implants that come here. Probably won't be returning any time soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been coming to Carmines for over ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We have been coming to Carmines for over 15 years but our visit on December 9 will be our last. We were treated so badly that it was insulting. Having us stand outside in the cold (we were five minutes early) while the staff stood around inside looking out at us was ridiculous. Being seated on the patio alone with a party for 20 when the inside dining rooms were practically empty is just plain bad management. The group of 20 had every right to celebrate and be loud but we also should have been able to hear our group have a conversation. When we politely talked to the manager about this he was aggressive and defensive. Such a shame that a once great restaurant has fallen so far. Thankfully Denver has many amazing restaurants that treat their customers with respect.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

I thoroughly enjoyed Carmine's! The ser ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed Carmine's! The server was very helpful when explaining the menu. The chicken parmigiana was the best I have ever had! The cheesecake was also wonderful. Loved the ambiance, and they treated my daughter very well for her 17th birthday!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lively, busy atmosphere, and our table w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Lively, busy atmosphere, and our table was waiting for us when we arrived. Nice wine selection and their appetizers were amazing! Loved the family style ordering and portions were large!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We couldn't of had a better experience. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We couldn't of had a better experience. It unfortunately has been many years since I've eaten here. Our wait staff was great and the food was delicious. I recommend the Fruitti di Mare. Wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was really helpful with hel ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our waitress was really helpful with helping us order food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We took my son there for his birthday an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We took my son there for his birthday and he was given the royal treatment. Additionally, the food was great! We shared the seasonal gnocchi and were blown away.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been visiting since 2005. Positi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have been visiting since 2005. Positive, attentive service, good food, great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate here for the first time this weekend ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Ate here for the first time this weekend. The food was fantastic. The service was knowledgeable, friendly, and prompt. The atmosphere was also great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the best place in town for big g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is the best place in town for big groups. Food and service is always great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had never been before and could not have ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had never been before and could not have enjoyed it more - the food was amazing (every dish), the service was excellent and the ambience was lovely. Will be back soon!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was delicious we were in ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

the food was delicious we were in the back room and it was very quiet good spot

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I saw this restaurant almost 2 years ago ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I saw this restaurant almost 2 years ago and decided to take my girlfriend here for our anniversary. I like that they have for 2 options. The food is amazing and the wait staff is like no other. I went here again with my girlfriend for no special reason on Friday night all the way from Fort collins. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was generally fine, nothing s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place was generally fine, nothing special, except for one annoying thing...

There are no menus! They post a list of the food on the wall, so you have to crane your neck and hope you remembered your glasses to see. The wall list also has no food descriptions, and you are encouraged to ask a waiter to describe the items--over the sound of waiters describing different items all over the restaurant.

I guess they think it's a cute gimmick? Most of the dishes are in Italian, and we didn't feel up to someone standing over us reciting a whole menu like we couldn't read. So we found their menu with descriptions online, and huddled over our phones to order. So weird. Try almost any other pasta place for similar food with less of a hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great dinner with family. We enjoyed th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great dinner with family. We enjoyed the pear salad, carbonara, squash ravioli, eggplant parmesan, and bolognese for 6 people.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience but the food wasn't ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent experience but the food wasn't as good as I remembered. Maybe we just ordered the wrong thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always with amazing staff. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fantastic as always with amazing staff. Great place for a family get together. Love the food and selections.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmine's is our neighborhood treasure. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Carmine's is our neighborhood treasure. They have a warm and welcoming staff. I love that they deliver their warm, fresh made garlic rolls as soon as you sit down. They have such creative and tasty salads. The gnocchi is so savory. Great atmosphere for families and groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmine's on Penn is the perfect restaur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Carmine's on Penn is the perfect restaurant if you want to go on a date and enjoy the company you keep. It's not the overblown, overpriced place you take a date when you're young and trying to impress, it's the kind of place you take someone who appreciates simple and refined dining experiences. The service is great, but the food is incredible. It's one of those place that makes you feel better for having eaten there. To call it a 'no frills' place seems to take away from how calculated but relaxed the experience was. I can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as my family always orders th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delicious as my family always orders their roasted chicken-devine!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food and great service! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always great food and great service! We got to visit and enjoy an awesome meal with friends we haven't sat enjoyed a conversation with in over two years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very friendly and courteo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our server was very friendly and courteous, made great recommendations, and took fantastic care of us on our anniversary. We loved the Pasta al Capo with sausage, and for once didn't overeat!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been coming here for years but our ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We've been coming here for years but our last experience was awful. The food was just ok but the service was the worst I've had there. The server never asked our table if folks had been there or gave suggestions on our order to make sure we had enough. Then once the food was delivered it's like the entire staff was in the kitchen for a long time. We truly looked around and there wasn't a staff person to be seen for over 10min. The server never checked on us during the meal and at the end when we asked for a bday dessert for our friend she brought us this old dried out version of tiramisu that was awful. Then announced to the whole table that they would comp it and we wouldn't have to pay for it. Ok thanks we appreciate it but really not necessary to announce. This place has always been a favorite but we walked away saying this may be our last time eating there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a great time with delicious food, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great time with delicious food, wonderful wine and excellent service!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having never been there before, we did n ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Having never been there before, we did not like having a menu to check out ingredients. We had to keep asking the waitress and probably missed out on what we might really have liked because we didn't want to keep asking what all an entry had for ingredients. Plus, there were four of us at the table, and two of us had to turn completely around or kink our necks to see the listed "name-only" items that were on chalk board on wall.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.