About Carmine's On Penn

92 S. Pennsylvania Street
Denver, CO 80209
View Larger Map

Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:0pm

Cross Street:
Bayaud

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-6443

Website:
http://www.carminescolorado.com/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.

Parking Details:
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.

Public Transit:
Closest is Alameda Station

Executive Chef:
Joseph Hubbard

Private Party Facilities:
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Kozicki: (303) 957-6503

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carmine's On Penn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (45)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Special Occasion (29)
See All
Authentic (27)
Good for Groups (27)
Good for a Date (24)
Comfort Food (23)
Good for Birthdays (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (16)
Fun (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Romantic (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Kid-friendly (10)
Cozy (8)
Pre/post Theatre (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Business Meals (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Spicy (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Historic (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Private Room (3)
People Watching (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Waterfront (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Sort By:
S
1613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We felt like we were "bumped" on orderin ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

We felt like we were "bumped" on ordering more food than we needed and we left with three boxes of take home food. That was our fault for not staying with our original order when the server suggested we would probably need another entree.

There was also an added charge for a side dish of $11.95 which we did not order. The server's response when questioned made us a little suspicious that the extra charge was a matter of course for the restaurant. It could have been a "mistake" but I would caution diners to check your bill carefully especially when dining with a group. Just sayin'...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Had the Carbonara with Ziti and it was o ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Had the Carbonara with Ziti and it was outstanding. Everything else on the menu sounded delicious too so I'll have to go back to try some more.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

When you are in the mood for great Itali ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

When you are in the mood for great Italian food, look no further. This place is will not disappoint you. The food is consistently amazing.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have gone here twice now and it hasn' ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We have gone here twice now and it hasn't disappointed. Great food. Huge portions.

Service is very good. Nice relaxed atmosphere, but upscale at the same time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Valentine's Day

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

Valentine's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had reservations for 6pm, we got ther ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 6 days ago

We had reservations for 6pm, we got there about 5:45 and sat immediately. Nathan our waiter was awesome, knew the menu, the right wine and was very attentive.....as was his helpers. As usual, the food was good, lots of it, leaving plenty for leftovers. Will definitely keep coming back!

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and service. Amazing ambience ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Great food and service. Amazing ambience. Liked the overall food option. Dish position sizes are huge. We went to celebrate Valentine's Day and they made the overall experience very nice

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been to hundreds of restaurants in the D ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Been to hundreds of restaurants in the Denver area. But I still have this as my favorite place in the Denver. The lcoation, the service, the food is top notch. And the rolls are insanely delicious. I will bec oming back here for years to come.

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We call ourselves regulars at Carmines. ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We call ourselves regulars at Carmines. We know what we will be ordering before we sit down. My husband and I split a pear salad and eggplant parmigiana for 2. The server was friendly and efficient. The food, as usual, was delicious. The restaurant was full on a Saturday night. Our total bill including my husband's beer was a modest $38 which I am sure was a total disappointment to the server. He did a great job until the very end when he threw the bill with our credit card onto the table, looking away and leaving immediately. What a mistake. We planned on leaving a 25% tip because we felt so badly our table didn't produce much of a tip. But his attitude at the most critical point was so rude, that we left him a bare minimum. All he needed to do was smile and say "have a good night" or "thank you." Instead we left irritated and disappointed. How to ruin a lovely dining experience.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Carmines is always terrific. We have be ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Carmines is always terrific. We have been here for many different occaisions and it always delivers!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pretty decent restaurant, the waiter was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Pretty decent restaurant, the waiter was a bit pushy with us really trying to upset quit a bit - especially on the wine. Overall it was a pleasant experience and we'll return again when we are in the area and in need of a place to eat.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

As always amazing food and great service ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 2, 2017

As always amazing food and great service! This time around it was a little different for us since we had a 3 month old baby. The staff and service was still amazing and they even had a changing table area for our lit one, just ask your server.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmine's on Penn serves good, authentic ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Carmine's on Penn serves good, authentic Italian food. We met som friends there on a Sunday night and enjoyed dinner together.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Carmines is so outstanding because Brad ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Carmines is so outstanding because Brad and Stephen make a point of remembering their clients names, favorite drinks, and favorite meals. We have been coming for over 20 years, and it never fails to deliver deeply delicious Italian food and great atmosphere!

Tags: Authentic, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, People Watching, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always delicious! Very attentive staff a ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Always delicious! Very attentive staff and always enough to take home for another meal.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carmine's is a great Italian restaurant! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Carmine's is a great Italian restaurant! It's one of me and my wife's favorite places to go.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I hadn't been to Carmine's in many years ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

I hadn't been to Carmine's in many years, so I was really looking forward to taking my boyfriend there (it was his first time there). One of my favorite dishes wasn't on the menu but I mentioned it to our server and she said that they could still make it for me, so I was thrilled. But what came out was nothing like it used to be. It was too spicy and just thrown together, with no much flavor. Their food used to be DIVINE and I was really disappointed. It just didn't seem to have the same quality as 10 years ago. And it's expensive - I spent $96 on a meal that I didn't even really want to eat. In fact, I could have made a better version of it at home. :(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

The food was incredible and the service ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The food was incredible and the service was impeccable. The waiter was knowledgeable and had a great sense of humor. Would highly recommend Carmines on Penn for a special night out.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Always a great experience...quality food ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always a great experience...quality food. A Denver staple.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Family Style, Historic, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

fun place with family meal menu. crayon ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

fun place with family meal menu. crayons for doodling on paper table cloth.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was great but the service was OUTST ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Food was great but the service was OUTSTANDING, Nate is a gem!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Authentic, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Usually Carmine's food is 5 stars. On t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Usually Carmine's food is 5 stars. On the last visit, portions were definitely smaller.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great server- delicious food. Bread in t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great server- delicious food. Bread in the beginning was so yummy we had to restrain from eating it all and ruining the rest of the meal :) Great place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun for a large party!

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fun for a large party!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was absolutely outstanding. As ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was absolutely outstanding. As usual, the food excellent...and the rolls, wonderful.

A great wine selection. Tell your friends. We have dined at Carmines for over 15 years. A great value.

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Eve dinner was excellent. Staf ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Eve dinner was excellent. Staff on it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent service as always even on a bu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent service as always even on a busy holiday night. Our server helped to guide a wonderful dining get experience. The staff is always friendly and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Think our server forgot our order so aft ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Think our server forgot our order so after appetizers food was a long time coming. We didn't see our server very often at the table.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value3

Awesome awesome

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Awesome awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have gone to Carmine's two years in a ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We have gone to Carmine's two years in a row for our anniversary. We are turning it into a tradition! We love everything about that place. My boyfriend has been going there since he was a child. There have been a few changes but nonetheless still great food, great wine list. Good service. We were just a little disappointed when the server came over with our check after boxing our food instead of offering us dessert, or at least asking if we wanted anything. It was our anniversary! Of course we're getting dessert! He did end up taking one off as a "Happy anniversary" thing, which redeemed a bit for us. Overall, we will be back!

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

This was my families first visit to Carm ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 18, 2016

This was my families first visit to Carmines and we truly enjoyed it. Some of us braved the snow from Greeley and Ft. Collins and it was worth it!

Tags: Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had been wanting to visit Carmine's fo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 17, 2016

I had been wanting to visit Carmine's for quite a while and they did not disappoint. Our waiter was fantastic. I asked him for a wine recommendation and he suggested a very reasonably priced Barbera that was delicious. We mentioned that we wished to take our time and chat and he obliged to leave us chatting for the perfect amount of time. The bread was ridiculously good as were the suggestions of the veal dish and the pasta with meatballs and vodka sauce. Finished the meal with limoncello, cappuccino, and sea salt caramel gelato. A wonderful experience for $60/person. Thanks Carmine's

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Cozy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good service, average food, but qui ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 15, 2016

Very good service, average food, but quite pricey - Lemon Shrimp Calabrese for $53 ? My opinion - should be about $40. Visited on a Wednesday evening, parking very difficult to find. Overall, average experience, what made it worthwhile was a great waiter - Chaz.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5

My husband and I used to go here a lot, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

My husband and I used to go here a lot, and hadn't been in a while, so we decided to take my mother-in-law while she was in town. The food was of low quality. We got the Veal Parmesan which was the worst I think I've ever had; the Bolognese pasta had no flavor; and my mother-in-law said the chicken was bland as well. The only good food we had were the mussels. My husband and I ordered Old Fashioned's and the bar tender had put them in a shaker (Old Fashioned's don't need to be shaken). They were so watered down we decided to switch to something the bar tender didn't have to make....wine.

This place is way over priced for what it is. It used to be some place the locals could go to and enjoy, but now there's too many Colorado implants that come here. Probably won't be returning any time soon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

We have been coming to Carmines for over ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on December 10, 2016

We have been coming to Carmines for over 15 years but our visit on December 9 will be our last. We were treated so badly that it was insulting. Having us stand outside in the cold (we were five minutes early) while the staff stood around inside looking out at us was ridiculous. Being seated on the patio alone with a party for 20 when the inside dining rooms were practically empty is just plain bad management. The group of 20 had every right to celebrate and be loud but we also should have been able to hear our group have a conversation. When we politely talked to the manager about this he was aggressive and defensive. Such a shame that a once great restaurant has fallen so far. Thankfully Denver has many amazing restaurants that treat their customers with respect.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

I thoroughly enjoyed Carmine's! The ser ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 5, 2016

I thoroughly enjoyed Carmine's! The server was very helpful when explaining the menu. The chicken parmigiana was the best I have ever had! The cheesecake was also wonderful. Loved the ambiance, and they treated my daughter very well for her 17th birthday!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lively, busy atmosphere, and our table w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Lively, busy atmosphere, and our table was waiting for us when we arrived. Nice wine selection and their appetizers were amazing! Loved the family style ordering and portions were large!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We couldn't of had a better experience. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

We couldn't of had a better experience. It unfortunately has been many years since I've eaten here. Our wait staff was great and the food was delicious. I recommend the Fruitti di Mare. Wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Special Occasion, , Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was really helpful with hel ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our waitress was really helpful with helping us order food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We took my son there for his birthday an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We took my son there for his birthday and he was given the royal treatment. Additionally, the food was great! We shared the seasonal gnocchi and were blown away.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, , Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.