About Carmine's On Penn

92 S. Pennsylvania Street
Denver, CO 80209
View Larger Map

Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:0pm

Cross Street:
Bayaud

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-6443

Website:
http://www.carminescolorado.com/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.

Parking Details:
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.

Public Transit:
Closest is Alameda Station

Executive Chef:
Joseph Hubbard

Private Party Facilities:
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Kozicki: 3039576503x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Thanks for coming to dine with us on Christmas Eve. We are requiring a credit card for reservations to ensure you are as excited about joining us as we are with having you in for dinner. We are requiring this small ask so we don't prohibit anyone who wants to dine with us from doing so.

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Thanks for coming to dine with us to embrace the new year. We are requiring a credit card for reservations to ensure you are as excited about joining us as we are with having you in for dinner. We are requiring this small ask so we don't prohibit anyone who wants to dine with us from doing so.

Carmine's On Penn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

Neighborhood Gem (32)
Family Style (28)
Good for Groups (26)
See All
Special Occasion (25)
Comfort Food (20)
Good for a Date (16)
Fit for Foodies (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Fun (14)
Authentic (14)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Casual (11)
Kid-friendly (8)
Romantic (8)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Hot Spot (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Spicy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Private Room (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Seasonal (1)
People Watching (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1477 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Lively, busy atmosphere, and our table w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 3 days ago

Lively, busy atmosphere, and our table was waiting for us when we arrived. Nice wine selection and their appetizers were amazing! Loved the family style ordering and portions were large!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We couldn't of had a better experience. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

We couldn't of had a better experience. It unfortunately has been many years since I've eaten here. Our wait staff was great and the food was delicious. I recommend the Fruitti di Mare. Wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Coffee, Family Style, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was really helpful with hel ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined 5 days ago

Our waitress was really helpful with helping us order food and wine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Local Ingredients, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We took my son there for his birthday an ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

We took my son there for his birthday and he was given the royal treatment. Additionally, the food was great! We shared the seasonal gnocchi and were blown away.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have been visiting since 2005. Positi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I have been visiting since 2005. Positive, attentive service, good food, great atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ate here for the first time this weekend ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Ate here for the first time this weekend. The food was fantastic. The service was knowledgeable, friendly, and prompt. The atmosphere was also great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This is the best place in town for big g ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This is the best place in town for big groups. Food and service is always great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had never been before and could not have ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Had never been before and could not have enjoyed it more - the food was amazing (every dish), the service was excellent and the ambience was lovely. Will be back soon!

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the food was delicious we were in ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 13, 2016

the food was delicious we were in the back room and it was very quiet good spot

Tags: Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I saw this restaurant almost 2 years ago ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

I saw this restaurant almost 2 years ago and decided to take my girlfriend here for our anniversary. I like that they have for 2 options. The food is amazing and the wait staff is like no other. I went here again with my girlfriend for no special reason on Friday night all the way from Fort collins. I would do it again in a heartbeat.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Healthy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor, Fun, Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This place was generally fine, nothing s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This place was generally fine, nothing special, except for one annoying thing...

There are no menus! They post a list of the food on the wall, so you have to crane your neck and hope you remembered your glasses to see. The wall list also has no food descriptions, and you are encouraged to ask a waiter to describe the items--over the sound of waiters describing different items all over the restaurant.

I guess they think it's a cute gimmick? Most of the dishes are in Italian, and we didn't feel up to someone standing over us reciting a whole menu like we couldn't read. So we found their menu with descriptions online, and huddled over our phones to order. So weird. Try almost any other pasta place for similar food with less of a hassle.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Great dinner with family. We enjoyed th ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great dinner with family. We enjoyed the pear salad, carbonara, squash ravioli, eggplant parmesan, and bolognese for 6 people.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent experience but the food wasn't ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Excellent experience but the food wasn't as good as I remembered. Maybe we just ordered the wrong thing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic as always with amazing staff. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Fantastic as always with amazing staff. Great place for a family get together. Love the food and selections.

Tags: Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmine's is our neighborhood treasure. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Carmine's is our neighborhood treasure. They have a warm and welcoming staff. I love that they deliver their warm, fresh made garlic rolls as soon as you sit down. They have such creative and tasty salads. The gnocchi is so savory. Great atmosphere for families and groups.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmine's on Penn is the perfect restaur ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Carmine's on Penn is the perfect restaurant if you want to go on a date and enjoy the company you keep. It's not the overblown, overpriced place you take a date when you're young and trying to impress, it's the kind of place you take someone who appreciates simple and refined dining experiences. The service is great, but the food is incredible. It's one of those place that makes you feel better for having eaten there. To call it a 'no frills' place seems to take away from how calculated but relaxed the experience was. I can't recommend it enough.

Tags: Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious as my family always orders th ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Delicious as my family always orders their roasted chicken-devine!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always great food and great service! ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on November 6, 2016

As always great food and great service! We got to visit and enjoy an awesome meal with friends we haven't sat enjoyed a conversation with in over two years.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our server was very friendly and courteo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 31, 2016

Our server was very friendly and courteous, made great recommendations, and took fantastic care of us on our anniversary. We loved the Pasta al Capo with sausage, and for once didn't overeat!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We've been coming here for years but our ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We've been coming here for years but our last experience was awful. The food was just ok but the service was the worst I've had there. The server never asked our table if folks had been there or gave suggestions on our order to make sure we had enough. Then once the food was delivered it's like the entire staff was in the kitchen for a long time. We truly looked around and there wasn't a staff person to be seen for over 10min. The server never checked on us during the meal and at the end when we asked for a bday dessert for our friend she brought us this old dried out version of tiramisu that was awful. Then announced to the whole table that they would comp it and we wouldn't have to pay for it. Ok thanks we appreciate it but really not necessary to announce. This place has always been a favorite but we walked away saying this may be our last time eating there.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

We had a great time with delicious food, ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We had a great time with delicious food, wonderful wine and excellent service!

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Having never been there before, we did n ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Having never been there before, we did not like having a menu to check out ingredients. We had to keep asking the waitress and probably missed out on what we might really have liked because we didn't want to keep asking what all an entry had for ingredients. Plus, there were four of us at the table, and two of us had to turn completely around or kink our necks to see the listed "name-only" items that were on chalk board on wall.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Really great neighborhood spot. The foo ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really great neighborhood spot. The food is excellent. Great place for groups/large family. Casual.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great, but the service was ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The food was great, but the service was horrible. We had an overwhelmed waiter who couldn't make it to our table without a gesture from us to come back. Very expensive for such pathetic service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value2

Fabulous food. Everything was phenomena ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fabulous food. Everything was phenomenal. Best Italian in Denver.

Tags: Fun, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 8 the food was delicio ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 22, 2016

We had a party of 8 the food was delicious and it was not that expensive. One of my favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Friendly staff, great wine recommendatio ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Friendly staff, great wine recommendation, delicious food, great atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and very accommodating on ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great service and very accommodating on dietary restrictions.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful time. Great ambience and servi ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Wonderful time. Great ambience and service. Food was amazing.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, comfortable setting, and ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Delicious food, comfortable setting, and great service! Thanks to our server, Dana, for taking great care of us and making our evening even more enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The garlic knots are amazing! The pear s ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The garlic knots are amazing! The pear salad was very refreshing and tasty. It's a great place to go with a group of friends.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used to be a favorite. Sadly, new manag ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Used to be a favorite. Sadly, new management has made this feel like a canned franchise and stripped it of all personality. Our server, who must be a recent transplant from the Jersey shore, couldn't be bothered to explain the none-too-clear menu to us or make a recommendation. A disappointment over the formerly cool neighborhood bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We came here for a birthday dinner and w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 7, 2016

We came here for a birthday dinner and were seated on the enclosed patio next to a blasting radiator. It became so uncomfortably hot that we had to turn off the radiator and then were freezing. The wine list for wines by the glass was tiny and with little variety...for an Italian restaurant this was very disappointing. The ravioli special was floating in oil. I would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Food was excellent; wine complemented t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Food was excellent; wine complemented the dishes; Bobby, our server, could not have been better!!!! Took family from Minnesota here, who could not stop complementing whether it was the rolls, the appetizer, the main course or the cheese cake 🎂 or the Spinoni, not to mention the ambience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Family Style, Cozy, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We recently eliminated gluten from our d ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 2, 2016

We recently eliminated gluten from our diet and were thrilled that you offer gluten free pasta. I wouldn't have known the difference. So delicious. Also the mussels were the best I have ever had.

Tags: Authentic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carmines was a wonderful find. A neighb ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Carmines was a wonderful find. A neighborhood Italian joint with great food, huge portions (family style), extremely friendly servers and a nice relaxed atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was good, but turned out not to be ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Food was good, but turned out not to be gluten free -Caesar Salad, Sausage and Peppers and Chicken Montana with gluten free noodles??? Wine choices fine, but waiter didn't know much about them or else just wanted to sell the expensive ones. Didn't have a recommendation for one under $85. Had a good one for $48/bottle. Dessert plate looked like it had been in the freezer for a couple of days, and was too cold.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Dined here Friday, Sept 30, 6pm. Had ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Dined here Friday, Sept 30, 6pm.

Had a reservation for 4, arrived on time, were seated in the (noisier) bar area instead of the restaurant. Ordered from the blackboard on the wall rather than a menu, but the server had a complete grasp of the items (eg pasta alla Carmine) and explained everything.

The Negroni ($14) was excellent, but drink service was a bit slow since the bar was having trouble keeping up with volume of orders.

For entrees, the eggplant parm ($14) was delightful with a crisp parm crust. The kids ate pasta bolognese, which was fine. The veal piccata ($23) was without question the toughest piece of veal I have ever seen. It required a steak knife to cut through, instead of just a fork or a butterknife. The (cut of the meat + the preparation) = I can't recommend this dish at Carmine's.

If you stick to the basic dishes, you should be fine here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

An excellent meal and fabulous service. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 29, 2016

An excellent meal and fabulous service. The cozy ambiance was perfect for a mid week meal.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was our first time at Carmine's and w ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on September 25, 2016

It was our first time at Carmine's and we really enjoyed it. The Chicken Montana was outstanding as was the service. Our only negative is the noise level but then that just means a lot of people were having a great time. BTW, their Cheesecake is the best we've ever had.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.