About Carmine's On Penn

92 S. Pennsylvania Street
Denver, CO 80209
View Larger Map

Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:0pm

Cross Street:
Bayaud

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-6443

Website:
http://www.carminescolorado.com/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.

Parking Details:
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.

Public Transit:
Closest is Alameda Station

Executive Chef:
Dan Grunewald

Private Party Facilities:
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Kozicki: 3039576503x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carmine's On Penn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
Denver
Neighborhood Gem
Denver
Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

neighborhood gem (80)
good for groups (66)
special occasion (54)
See All
fit for foodies (39)
romantic (26)
notable wine list (23)
great for outdoor dining (21)
kid-friendly (16)
hot spot (11)
great for lunch (6)
late-night find (5)
vibrant bar scene (2)
scenic view (1)
great for brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1384 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great dining experience and our ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great dining experience and our waitress was very energetic! She answered all our questions and gave us great advise. If you have never been there you have to go.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here during a chil ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I came here during a child-free trip to Denver. The food is served family-style or in servings for two. Hubby thought it wasn't going to work for us because he eats meat and I don't. Our compromise was to order pasta alla Carmine's, a vegetarian marinara, and hubby ordered a side of sausage and peppers. It is difficult to make vegetarian sauce taste flavorful, but Carmine's did it. The sauce was amazing, and even received a thumbs up from the meat eater who also loved the sausage and peppers. We knew we wanted dessert so we skipped the appetizers and salad. The cheesecake is probably one of the best I've ever had. It was made with ricotta and was rich and decadent. I rarely order cheesecake because I'm so disappointed by how "meh" it is, but thankfully, we followed the server's recommendation and tried it. Do it! You won't regret it (unless you're dieting). The wine list was extensive, and we met some Carmine's regulars at the bar for a drink after dinner. Over all, it was a delicious, delightful experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service & food!

vip
Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service & food!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was really good. Waiter was awesome too

Dined on June 10, 2016

It was a wonderful night. Loved every dish, veal picatta was delicious. We ordered side of pesto pasta and put it on top. We were with some traditional eaters so didn't get to try more extravagant dishes but will go back on our own. Loved it and staff was awesome as well

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

love it

Dined on June 8, 2016

I've been going for years. I only take special people to share the experience.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent service

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

Our waiter was so wonderful to us and our kids. He brought kids noodles out almost as soon as we ordered them. Overall meal and drinks were delicious!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

I love this place, I have for years! Th ...

vip
Dined on May 26, 2016

I love this place, I have for years! The food was wonderful the ambiance was perfect and the services was outstanding! We'll be back to continue to try dishes until we have had them all!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

great as always

vip
Dined on May 25, 2016

From the friendly greeting on arrival to the attentive service, Carmine's remains one of our favorite go to restaurants. We may not done here for a few months but know that there Dodd and service Will be consistently great. The owner never fails to recognize us by name, even if it has been several months. The only negative is that since they have lost the ability to have valet parking, parking can be a challenge.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Finally!

Dined on May 23, 2016

I finally made it to Carmine's for dinner. I've wanted to try this place for years. The atmosphere is casual, the food very good and the service was excellent. The wine is varied with something for everyone. The Barbera/Syrah blend went perfectly with the Meatballs w/ Vodka sauce and the Ragu de Funghi. The homemade cheese cake with salted caramel on top was the perfect desert to end our dinner. We'll be back!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Very fun evening!

Dined on May 21, 2016

We celebrated our 10th wedding anniversary with a few friends, which was fun. The food was good, as was the wine. The left overs were even better! My only concern is their lack of cell coverage or Wifi. We had used Uber since we were drinking, and couldn't get a signal to notify them to pick us up. The staff told us to "start walking and in a few blocks you'll get a cell signal". Unfortunately I have fairly limited mobility due to my MS so that simply wasn't an option. We figured it out, but were kinda bummed at the nonchant attitude.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on May 19, 2016

This is by far my favorite italian restaurant. The garlic bread is so good you can't have just one. The entrees are to die for. Everything about this restaurant is phenomenal.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

A nite out with my special someone

Dined on May 1, 2016

I was able to get a table at a reasonable time despite a rather short notice on my part. The food was excellent, the wine was superb, and the service was good. It was a little loud, but that was due to one table in particular. Not a deal breaker tho.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We had excellent service that evening. ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

We had excellent service that evening. It was a busy night but the waiter was excellent and attentive. Food was excellent. We had several first timers in this group and all said they would return. Our waiter guided us through the family style and we had just the right amount of food.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome Italian Food

Dined on April 25, 2016

They offer family style dining which allowed us to sample multiple menu items. Our favorites were the Chicken Montana and the ravioli. We had wesome service. I find their service process to be very efficient.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Italian restaurant in Colorado. The ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Best Italian restaurant in Colorado. The food is prepared perfectly and there always seems to be a new entree or two to enjoy. Can't go wrong with Carmine's.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a Good Choice, Whatever the Occassion

Dined on April 17, 2016

At Carmine's, the food is always good and the service is impeccable. They hosted our rehearsal dinner and it was exceptional.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service

Dined on April 17, 2016

Generous portions, friendly staff...and the best cheesecake!

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Denver

Dined on April 7, 2016

We love Carmine's on Penn! We tried it after several recommendations and are so happy we did. Hands down best italian food food you will ever find in Denver. It's a small restaurant and very popular so it is best to make a reservation, even during the week. Everything is served family style but there is not a bad dish on the menu. Their sauce and pasta and bread is homemade...even the desserts are amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great family dinner

Dined on April 2, 2016

We had a family get-together with 8 people and this restaurant was good for everyone, including the kids. We ordered a salad and 3 entrées to share and it was the perfect amount. All of the food was good. Really liked the pear salad.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Gastro Heaven!

Dined on March 30, 2016

From the salad to dessert, the food was divine. I'm not huge fan of family style dining, but this worked out just fine for our party of three because of the advice of our server, Luann, who was exceptional. She was personable, knowledgeable, attentive and fun! The only small downside for us was because of all the hard surfaces used in the decor, it was just a big noisy. We will be returning to this neighborhood gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience

Dined on March 26, 2016

Took whole family for dinner last Friday night. Service and wine was excellent! Everyone enjoyed the experience.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a great dinner. The food was excellent. The portions were generous. Service was fast and friendly.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian food!

Dined on March 19, 2016

This was an excellent find! My husband is Italian and loves to try new Italian restaurants. This one was the best we've tried since moving to Colorado 3 years ago. We came with another couple and ordered 2 dishes family style--the Sausage & Peppers and the Cheese Ziti. Excellent! Our waitress was quite helpful, friendly, and prompt. We will be sure to be back and to bring more friends!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

much improved

Dined on March 18, 2016

this is our second visit after a disappointing group dinner last year. for whatever reason, we found the restaurant back closer to its better self. our bread was fresh and loaded with garlic and butter like the old days, the caesar salad served on a chilled plate (although we missed the anchovies and thought the croutons boring), and the food above average. our only disappointment was that the family serving size of the raviolis seemed a bit small: 3 ravioli's per person isn't much, despite their richness. carmine's has never been an inexpensive dinner, but we're happy to recommend it again.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value1

Still very good food, however . . .

Dined on March 16, 2016

Been eating at Carmine's since the early 90s. The quality is still very good for Italian food. But in times past, your $50-75 per person actually got you LEFTOVERS. In fact, lots of them. So called "family portions" were a lot larger in the past. When a family portion for chicken parm runs just short of $60, and that's for 4 medium size breasts? The value is really lacking. Loved it for a long time but there are so many other options now I'm likely not to go back. All good things must come to an end.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Magnificent Meal

Dined on March 13, 2016

Although I would have preferred that they open before 5:00 on a Sunday, the food, preparation, and service is so wonderful it is well worth the wait. Those fresh made buttery garlic rolls are absolutely amazing and could cause to take the rest of the meal home.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place!

Dined on March 13, 2016

I've been coming here for years, always great food and the staff is awesome!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Family dining

Dined on March 12, 2016

great place for a group! family style plates and great wait staff! definitely a good place if you're craving some pasta

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Really enjoyed the ravioli with vodka sa ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Really enjoyed the ravioli with vodka sauce.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Francis

Dined on March 5, 2016

Fantastic food, great table side service, super cool bartenders, a Little Italy feel...it doesn't get any better! I can't wait to return!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

We love this place and they are truly he ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

We love this place and they are truly helpful with my eating restrictions.

food5
ambience5
service4

HUGE portion sizes so come hungry and re ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

HUGE portion sizes so come hungry and ready to share. Family style. Loved this place. Food was awesome, ambiance is amazing, service was good. Our waitress forgot to bring us some of our drinks, but it was super busy and she was swamped. Understandable. Definitely going back

food5
ambience5
service5

We brought a friend there that had never ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

We brought a friend there that had never been there. Great as always.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Wonderful Dining Experience

Dined on March 5, 2016

My wife and I were so impressed by our dining experience at Carmine's. The food was excellent and only enhanced by the friendly service which really made the family sized portions feel like you were eating with family! We are already planning a return trip with a larger group so we can sample more food! They were also very accommodating for a gluten allergy. I'd highly recommend them for anyone who is needing to avoid gluten.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious

Dined on March 5, 2016

It was our first time in. Our waitress made excellent recommendations. Service was amazing. Food was even better. Great experience! We were already talking about the next time that we want to stop in before we had even paid.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

as always, a great experience-above aver ...

Dined on March 4, 2016

as always, a great experience-above average food-above average service at a great price

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

The staff is very friendly and helpful.

Dined on March 3, 2016

Our waiter was able to walk us through the entire menu and make suggestions based on our preferences.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Carmine's was outstanding!

Dined on February 29, 2016

The Italian food was terrific. The staff was a bit slammed due to 5280 Restaurant week but they were clearly doing their best to keep up. Try the veal!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a wonderful time. The food was fa ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We had a wonderful time. The food was fantastic and the wait staff is very friendly and attentive.

food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent dinner, we went for restaurant ...

vip
Dined on February 28, 2016

Excellent dinner, we went for restaurant week but actually ended up ordering off the regular menu, the pear salad was delicious and it was the best eggplant Parmesan I've ever had.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.