About Carmine's On Penn

92 S. Pennsylvania Street
Denver, CO 80209
View Larger Map

Carmine's on Penn was established in 1994 as a neighborhood, family-style Italian restaurant. Our atmosphere is casual, festive, and friendly. Our servers bring the chalkboard menu to life, describing dishes and offering advice on selecting just the right combination of food and beverage.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Tuesday - Sunday 11:00am - 3:00pm
Dinner: Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm
Dinner Friday and Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm
Dinner Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:0pm

Cross Street:
Bayaud

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(303) 777-6443

Website:
http://www.carminescolorado.com/

Entertainment:
None

Catering:
Catering is an added feature of the restaurant with the goal of bringing our respected, and consistently delicious food to you. By providing off-site service for corporate, business and private events, Carmine's offers a personal approach for clients and customers to enjoy and appreciate simple, yet satisfying, menu options at their place of work or in the privacy of their own backyard.

Parking Details:
Street parking in our neighborhood. The parking lot we used to lease has been sold for development so we are no longer able to offer valet parking. There is a school between Cedar to the south, Bayaud to the west, Washington to the east, and Pearl to the west. It is a short block from us and since no one lives there, it is a reliable place to find a parking spot.

Public Transit:
Closest is Alameda Station

Executive Chef:
Joseph Hubbard

Private Party Facilities:
Our Blue Room accommodates parties ranging in size from 15 to 32. We offer inclusive pricing with food and wine selected for your party.

Private Party Contact:
Stephen Kozicki: 3039576503x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Promotions

Delores Project Benefit Dinner

Tuesday Sep 6, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Promotions

Delores Project Benefit Dinner

Tuesday Sep 6, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM

Details

We are proud to once again host a fundraising dinner for The Delores Project. They are Denver's largest provider of services for homeless women. Guests will choose 3 courses from our full menu and pay a flat rate of $45 per person. Excludes Tax and Tip. $30 of the cost and 50% of beverage sales will be donated to The Delores Project. Special valid on Tuesday Sep 6, 2016 from 5:00 PM - 8:30 PM.

Carmine's On Penn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Denver / Colorado
Best Value
Denver
Italian
Denver
Best Restaurants in Wash Park ›

Neighborhood Gem (65)
Good for Groups (61)
Special Occasion (46)
See All
Fit for Foodies (45)
Great for Outdoor Dining (29)
Notable Wine List (22)
Kid-friendly (21)
Romantic (18)
Hot Spot (10)
Late-night Find (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Scenic View (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1419 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best meal ever at carmine's and we're re ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Best meal ever at carmine's and we're regulars. Sausage and peppers were epic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Another wonderful meal! Minor issue tha ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Another wonderful meal! Minor issue that was taken care of promptly by mod. Always a great meal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been wanting the Shrimp Diavlo fo ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

I have been wanting the Shrimp Diavlo for a year because last time I went I couldn't order that because we were doing all family style and no one else wanted it. I had read reviews that it was really good, but it wasn't that great. The sauce and mussels, clams & shrimp were good, but the pasta tasted like it was from Safeway- nothing special. Oh- and the mussels were TINY in size. My date had some pasta dish with sausage and fresh red peppers and yellow peppers; his was really good. We got the tiramisu dessert and it was delicious. However, although Maggiano's is a chain, I think all their food is better. I should point out that Italian isn't my favorite food either.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Our dinner was mediocre. The restaurant ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner was mediocre. The restaurant was very noisy. Our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service5
value1

great place and Nate our server was amaz ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

great place and Nate our server was amazing with his recommendations and personality!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Italian food, great waitstaff and ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great Italian food, great waitstaff and just plain fun.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The food and service are always consiste ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The food and service are always consistently good. Love eating out on the patio. Happy that they now offer 1/2 order portions of most all of the menu items. Makes it easier for a small groups to still order several different entrees to try and share.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My family's favorite Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

My family's favorite Italian restaurant in Denver. Always delicious with fantastic service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a group of 6 for a birthday dinne ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

We had a group of 6 for a birthday dinner. The food is served family style and we chose 3 entrees recommended by our waiter and they were all excellent. We ate outside and it was very enjoyable. We probably could have ordered 2 entrees with the salad and been fine. We all took food home.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great business dinner! Nate our server ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Great business dinner! Nate our server guided us through the menu and our wine pairings! Ask for Nate!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had not dined here for several years; ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We had not dined here for several years; however, we found the food to be even better than we had remembered!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Disappointing experience. Went for my bd ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Disappointing experience. Went for my bday because it came highly recommended. Noted on reservation thru Open Table and others in our party let them know it was a birthday celebration. That was not recognized in any way. Waiter did not ask one person in our party for her drink order, forgot to bring mine and her second. Food was ok, not as great as anticipated and servings were small, also not what we expected. Checked the box, will go elsewhere next time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Carmine's on Penn has had consistently g ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Carmine's on Penn has had consistently great food for decades!! The pear salad and the montana chicken are unique and the cheesecake and the tiramasu are probably the best desserts I have had in a long time!! Service is friendly and awesome. Enjoy!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great, as always. Noise level is always ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Great, as always. Noise level is always a bit excessive, but that never stops me.

Thank you.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Very good service, thanks Bobby. Very ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Very good service, thanks Bobby. Very solid place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

It had been a few years since we ate at ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It had been a few years since we ate at Carmines. The menu is different and while the portions were very large, the quality is not what I remember it once was. Service was very friendly and prompt.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and service. Loud table of d- ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Great food and service. Loud table of d-bags next to us the only problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a family favorite because of the ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Always a family favorite because of the great food & service for our group of five. Ordered Mussels, Pear Salad, Strozzapreti, Chicken Piccata, and Meatballs with Vodka Sauce. Missed the Seafood Fra Diavalo since we tried the Meatballs instead; not bad but will go back to the Seafood Fra Diavalo on our next visit. Food is outstanding & we love bringing home leftovers.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What an excellent Italian restaurant! M ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

What an excellent Italian restaurant! My wife and I visited and were treated to outstanding service by Bobby, who mitigated an otherwise inconvenient issue with their computer system in printing out our check by generously shaving a little off the bill. Totally unexpected and very much appreciated. The portions are VERY generous and you will leave very satisfied, even if you have to take home the excellent cannoli.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good as first time we went there 21yrs a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good as first time we went there 21yrs ago. Kuddos to staff..

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

A nice quiet back room that filled up qu ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

A nice quiet back room that filled up quickly on a Saturday night. Cannon was a great server with many good suggestions and plenty of experience. A super-special occasion to celebrate quite a number of accomplishments in our group, birthday, anniversary and several other milestones. Perfect spot for celebration and fine Italian dining. Nice to see this neighborhood tradition still around and thriving.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food - highly recommend the ch ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Excellent food - highly recommend the chicken parm! Excellent pink sauce, too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

We go for the nonprofit fundraisers; kee ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We go for the nonprofit fundraisers; keep doing them please.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Good family style Italian dining modeled ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Good family style Italian dining modeled after the Carmine's on Broadway in NYC.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We first heard about this place from Big ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

We first heard about this place from Big Al (Alfred Williams)who loves this place so my husband and I decided to go for our anniversary. The service great and food was so delicious! Our server, Nate, was very knowledgeable about all of the menu including drinks. We will definitely return. We love it now too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Wedding anniversary dinner. My second v ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Wedding anniversary dinner. My second visit and it was every bit as wonderful as the first visit.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was ok. Family style and large qua ...

 
 (Toledo)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food was ok. Family style and large quantities ok for large groups. Would not recommend for 2 people, unless they eat same thing.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We love Carmine's on Penn, and Saturday ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We love Carmine's on Penn, and Saturday night was no exception! They were able to accommodate a Gluten Free meal with ease and a special birthday cake would have been prepared if we gave them enough notice. Everyone loved it and we will most certainly be back again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great and the restaurant was ...

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service was great and the restaurant was quite busy. We had 2 kids in our group and the staff was excellent with them. The wines & cocktails were average but the food was very good and the portion sizes are large. This is our 3rd time at Carmine's and we would definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent experience. Wait staff was ex ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Excellent experience. Wait staff was extremely knowledgeable about the menu. The meals are served family style, so this restaurant was a great option for dining with our teenage boys. The Chicken Montana was light yet flavorful, loaded with vegetables and chicken. And the garlic knots - to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome service as usual! Lots of great ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Awesome service as usual! Lots of great recommendations. The servers really know the menu in detail'

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and excellent service. The m ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food and excellent service. The menu had something for everyone and everything was delizioso! Was a tad pricey but that won't stop us from coming back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food. Never disappoints. Good se ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Great food. Never disappoints. Good service and fun food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been coming to Carmine's for more ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

We've been coming to Carmine's for more than ten years. We had our first date here. We got engaged here. The gnocchi was always our go-to, but this past visit, both it and the ravioli were not vegetarian. While previous waitstaff has worked with us (hey, we can put the gnocchi with a different sauce for you, no problem), our waiter for this anniversary dinner was lethargic and seemed barely present. What we did order was delicious, no doubt, but the experience was lacking. Not even sure we'll go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value1

We had a great dining experience and our ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We had a great dining experience and our waitress was very energetic! She answered all our questions and gave us great advise. If you have never been there you have to go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I came here during a chil ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I came here during a child-free trip to Denver. The food is served family-style or in servings for two. Hubby thought it wasn't going to work for us because he eats meat and I don't. Our compromise was to order pasta alla Carmine's, a vegetarian marinara, and hubby ordered a side of sausage and peppers.

It is difficult to make vegetarian sauce taste flavorful, but Carmine's did it. The sauce was amazing, and even received a thumbs up from the meat eater who also loved the sausage and peppers.

We knew we wanted dessert so we skipped the appetizers and salad. The cheesecake is probably one of the best I've ever had. It was made with ricotta and was rich and decadent. I rarely order cheesecake because I'm so disappointed by how "meh" it is, but thankfully, we followed the server's recommendation and tried it. Do it! You won't regret it (unless you're dieting).

The wine list was extensive, and we met some Carmine's regulars at the bar for a drink after dinner. Over all, it was a delicious, delightful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service & food!

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service & food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was really good. Waiter was awesome too

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

It was a wonderful night. Loved every dish, veal picatta was delicious. We ordered side of pesto pasta and put it on top. We were with some traditional eaters so didn't get to try more extravagant dishes but will go back on our own.

Loved it and staff was awesome as well

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

love it

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

I've been going for years. I only take special people to share the experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service

vip
 (Denver)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Our waiter was so wonderful to us and our kids. He brought kids noodles out almost as soon as we ordered them.

Overall meal and drinks were delicious!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.