About Carmine's Crab Shack

2000 PGA Blvd Ste 5502
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33408
View Larger Map

Carmine has a long history of quality food in South Florida. Having started as a butcher and opening 15 successful Deli and Butcher Shops, including Carmine"s Gourmet Market, it's no surprise Carmine's Restaurants have enjoyed success from Jupiter to Miami. Over the years, Carmine has traveled extensively seeking the best products for his customers. In his travels, one of his favorite spots has always been New England and the great seafood houses and crab shacks that the area is known for. He has always wanted to bring that experience here to Florida and that has lead him to his newest restaurant……CARMINE’S CRAB SHACK!

Carmine’s Crab Shack serves a wide variety of seafood with the freshest ingredients and a great taste that will make your mouth water. From Crab Legs and Lobster to Classic Lobster Rolls and Fish & Chips, Carmine's Crab Shack has something for everyone in a fun, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Ellison Wilson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(561) 275-2185

Website:
http://carminescrabshack.com/

Executive Chef:
Carlos Velasquez

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carmine's Crab Shack Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

4.1

ambience

3.8

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (7)
Casual (7)
Family Style (5)
See All
Authentic (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Healthy (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Fun (2)
Special Occasion (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Cozy (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Sort By:
S
247 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice ambiance- friendly service Dissapoi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

Nice ambiance- friendly service

Dissapointed in lobster roll.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Prices seem higher than in the past. Mo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Prices seem higher than in the past. Monday night special of 1lb Lobster with 2 sides was not available ...we were a party of four at 6:15pm!!!! Value not as good as in earlier days!???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Super fun place! I wanted to go here aft ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Super fun place! I wanted to go here after Thanksgiving for something "light"!! I had the 1-lb lobster. Note: they will clean it for you!! It was delish!! And the conch fritters are amazing!!! Michelle was not my server this time, but still made a point to come say hello, as did the manager. Good people!!! Bree and Shelly were bartenders and very attentive. Great place!!! (just need to work on wine list!!!) But drinks were 50% off, so I cannot complain too much!!!

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Disappointed that they ran out of 1lb Lo ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Disappointed that they ran out of 1lb Lobsters. It was a special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great food, attentive service, good time

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, attentive service, good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very disappointed in entrees that were ( ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very disappointed in entrees that were

(Portion wise) very, very small. Had to have a bite when we got home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Great food, very fresh and served hot. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, very fresh and served hot. Wonderful service also

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great lobster at the Crab Shack. Suggest ...

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great lobster at the Crab Shack. Suggest you reserve your two or three pounder when you make your reservation. Not cheap, but worth every bite b

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, nice ambiance, will go back ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, nice ambiance, will go back with friends and family

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The staff is lacking experience. My ston ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The staff is lacking experience. My stone crab dinner was serve without the proper utensils. It was not worth the price. I did complain to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

What happened to this place? This place ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 18, 2016

What happened to this place? This place was great when it first opened. Now it's a disaster. The portions are a joke and the prices charged for them are even funnier. The bowl of gazpacho I ordered was the size of a golf ball for $8. Their special was Alaskan King Crab legs for only $74.95!!! I have never heard of pricing like that for seafood. The service was super slow. The waitress never came around to change plates or the trash bowls from our seafood. And finally, it only took 25 minutes to get our check and the place was only 25% occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Great lobster, great ambiance, very frie ...

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great lobster, great ambiance, very friendly staff. Make a reservation during the season and reserve your lobsters

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The price to portion size is the absolut ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The price to portion size is the absolute worst I have ever seen. I question the waitress on the portion size of the prime rib, she said " you should go to Ruth Chris if you want something bigger". Anyone who gives this place a five star rating must enjoy spam!!! If I could give this a zero star rating I would !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

We had three BAD MEALS!!!!! The smoked f ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had three BAD MEALS!!!!!

The smoked fish appetizer was good. Entrees were terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

This was absolutely the worst restaurant ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was absolutely the worst restaurant ever.

This is the second time we have been there. The first time was bad. We thought we would give it another try. Ordered 2 pound lobsters. Maybe they were one and a quarter pounds. Sent one meal back. The one he kept for my son was terrible. Lobster meat was like rubber. Complained to the manager, but he did not care. They intentionally try to sell you a larger Lobster and serve you a smaller one. Bait and switch. , I hope the owner reads this message

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

The service was horrible. Put in our ord ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was horrible. Put in our order for appetizers and drinks, got our appetizer first and not our drinks. Took them 20 minutes to bring our drinks (2 waters and 2 alcoholics)

Portion sizes are small for the food, but it did taste good

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Advertise specials but have stipulations ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Advertise specials but have stipulations. They false advertise for high dollar fish and substitute with lower quality fish not even in same species. When brought to attn of manager he never returned to table and took $17 dollars off of a $26 dollar meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

If you're a lobster lover, this is the p ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

If you're a lobster lover, this is the place to be. I always go for the 3-pounder! The best value around and very delish!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

At the spur of the moment we went for lo ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

At the spur of the moment we went for lobster dinner. We got the 2 lb special. It was great. The meat was sweet and tender. We all decided that Carmine's Crab Shack was a do again destination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The lobster was wonderful. Little pricey ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The lobster was wonderful. Little pricey, but worth it. The restaurant is comfortable, the staff friendly and eager to serve. Highly recommend you make a reservation, definitely during "the season". Call and reserve the lobsters beforehand, they can run out when it's busy. The two pounders are just wonderful, sweet and fresh.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Delicious seafood served very nicely. Co ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious seafood served very nicely. Cornbread is excellent. Our server, Nick, was a delight.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was great. Good value for the ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 5, 2016

The food was great. Good value for the money expecially on the lobster. The manager tried to charge us for extra bread but then decided it was not a good idea. The interior is on the noisy side.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Service good ,food prepared well ever v ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 26, 2016

Service good ,food prepared well ever veryplite and checked in with me from time to time. Would recommend this resturant to my friends and family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was pleasantly surprised!!!! Michelle ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2016

I was pleasantly surprised!!!! Michelle was very attentive, service was good, food was good, and it was a nice lunch.... thank you!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our third visit to that place. ...

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This was our third visit to that place.

Each visit we were disappointed for different reasons. The last time it was because I had the Lobster "à la Newburg". It was stuffed with scallops and shrimps. But it was too much in garlic so that this was almost the most prominent flavour killing all the others.

Also when I arrived back home I realized that I was charge $5.00 more than the advertised price for that day...

It's that kind of small glitches that will prevent me from going back...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We were very disappointed. The service ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 14, 2016

We were very disappointed. The service was terrible, we had to continually prompt and look for our waiter to meet our needs. The vegetables which should be a no brainer looked like old and out of a bag. I ordered the lobster roll hot and the meat had no flavor and was chewy, also topped with fried onions out of a can which I found odd. I switched to the crab legs which were small and the taste was fair. My other two guests had a crab cake sandwich and fish sandwich, both of which were fair at best. My husbands sandwich went right through him. I have ate here twice before. Out of the three times only once was the food and service good. Won't go back

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

Paella was floating in oil and rice was ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 12, 2016

Paella was floating in oil and rice was hard. Crab cakes was mostly bread crum filler. Soup and calamari appetizer were excellan

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

Disappointed, Waitress had an attitude a ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 9, 2016

Disappointed,

Waitress had an attitude as soon as we sat down,

Food ok

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

Excellent, we had a delicious dinner. Wi ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Excellent, we had a delicious dinner. Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Restaurant has gone totally downhill. A ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 2, 2016

Restaurant has gone totally downhill. A couple of years ago when it opened it was very good, crowded, good management. I have given it 2 tries recently. Every experience worse than the other. Food was NOT hot, poor quality, very small uneven portions (of same dishes). There were only 2 other tables with guests yet, we waited to be seated (no one at the Hostess Stand).

Waited once was seated for waitress. The Steamed clams were barely warm & very tiny (not worth $13.95 each order). Cornbread tasted & felt like it was from the night before. Small cup of Clam Chowder tasted old & was very thick (not worth $5.00). Lobster Roll measured about 4 inches long & I asked for NO SAUCE & a side of mayo. You could tell the sauce was rinsed off because you could still taste it. It was served on a small slice of white bread watery with the mayo on it all watered down. The side of coleslaw was old, nasty tasting. It was served with fries which were actually good. The plate was not worth $19.99. Lobster roll was very skimpy. Had to wait for refills on the drinks. The glasses were spotty. Also the New England clam bake was alright. Not piping hot. Corn on the cob wasn't tasty. There were a lot of Employees walking back & forth around the seating areas doing nothing. Couldn't identify any Manager present. The bill came to around $100.00 plus tip. SO NOT WORTH IT.

Restaurant needs to serve quality food, needs management present to run the Restaurant.

Probably need a decent chef to prepare the dishes. Also, hire friendlier staff. No one seemed like they cared or wanted to be there. Bathrooms were very dark, poor lighting, old looking.

Also, the wet towel packages to wipe your hands, outside packaging was filthy.

NEVER EVER GOING BACK TO THIS RESTAURANT! HORRIBLY DISAPPOINTING! Would NOT recommend to anyone. Poor Quality, & Service, & Preparations. Not a good or pleasant vibe either.

Seriously needs strong Management.

If they don't correct the problems, they should just close up!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

We have been here before but our friends ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have been here before but our friends were new to Carmine's. They enjoyed the meal very much and our lobsters were great. Overall a very nice dining exoerience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely awesome, we had a great time. ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on June 20, 2016

Absolutely awesome, we had a great time. My husband and I had no plans for dinner and decided to try this restaurant and was glad we did. From the time Nick Our server introduced himself till the time we walked out we laughed at times he was entertaining and funny and had a great time with us. The food he recommended was absolutely wonderful and the desert they brought us was over the top. We will definitely be going back again and again!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmine's is one of our favorite places ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on June 17, 2016

Carmine's is one of our favorite places to go except this visit was not a good one

Server was great but the meal my wife ordered was full of butter sauce all over the meal, she ordered the clam bake. Last time she had it was not like this, not sure if they changed how it is served but will not order again or ask for it to be dry

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Only Ok

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 30, 2016

Food was ok service was slow and the restaurant was empty.... Could have been a lot worse but also could have been a lot better too. The Jambalya was really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

The 2 lb lobster was perfectly cooked an ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 28, 2016

The 2 lb lobster was perfectly cooked and the cornbread to die for!!!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I had the seafood combo special-it was f ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2016

I had the seafood combo special-it was fresh and well prepared.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

If your going for a 3lbs. lobster its go ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 21, 2016

If your going for a 3lbs. lobster its good....don't order the raw clams they are microscopic

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

Crab cakes were just ok. Love the corn ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Crab cakes were just ok. Love the corn bread. The pina colada had to be sent back. While the food is good, it is somewhat overpriced. The server was good, although the service was a tad slow.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

It was not a great experience. I had th ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on May 15, 2016

It was not a great experience. I had the fried basket. Everything had the same taste.

They were tough and tasted over-cooked. I only ate very little as the food was not

What I expected. We live near by and thought it would be a nice addition to our collection of places that we frequent. I might give it another chance but am not sure because of this experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5

The noise inside the restaurant was extr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 28, 2016

The noise inside the restaurant was extremely loud so we asked to sit outside as long as there was no smoking. We didn't realize that outdoor sear was basically in the parking lot so anyone who wanted to smoke just left the sitting area and went into the parking lot. Of course the smoke blew into the seating area.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.