About Carmine's Crab Shack

2000 PGA Blvd Ste 5502
Palm Beach Gardens, FL 33408
View Larger Map

Carmine has a long history of quality food in South Florida. Having started as a butcher and opening 15 successful Deli and Butcher Shops, including Carmine's Gourmet Market, it's no surprise Carmine's Restaurants have enjoyed success from Jupiter to Miami. Over the years, Carmine has traveled extensively seeking the best products for his customers. In his travels, one of his favorite spots has always been New England and the great seafood houses and crab shacks that the area is known for. He has always wanted to bring that experience here to Florida and that has lead him to his newest restaurant……CARMINE’S SEAFOOD SHACK!

Carmine’s Seafood Shack serves a wide variety of seafood with the freshest ingredients and a great taste that will make your mouth water. Carmine's Seafood Shack has something for everyone in a fun, casual atmosphere.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Ellison Wilson

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(561) 275-2185

Website:
http://carminesseafoodshack.com/

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Happy Hour Daily from 3:00PM - 7:00PM: 50% off all drinks, and 50% off Shack Starters Menu

Carmine's Crab Shack Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.9

ambience

3.7

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

63% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (9)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Family Style (4)
See All
Bar Seating (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Fun (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Authentic (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Historic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Healthy (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Scenic View (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Romantic (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Business Meals (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
277 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

We have visited your place on several occasions.

Friday we discovered that you have changed your menu and you are now just like all of the other seas food places around. While what we ordered was good, the new menu took away so many of the "normal" options, that to be honest with you, we were very disappointed.

Which you the best but your new menu has lost you an old client.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined 4 days ago

We were "welcomed" by a manager who chewed out her young employees right in front of us. That was the first part. Then ignored by wait staff as were other tables around us. When it finally came, the food was really not good. The 'bread basket' was toasted/ stale pita with a cherry hummus. Cherry?! Then my expensive choice of snapper encrusted in sweet potato was overcooked, mushy, and paired with potatoes and roasted squash. Starch with my starch. Awful and disappointing. And for a crab place they hardly have crab! Their online menu is different from their actual menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We were very disappointed at the new menu. Food took forever to be served. When we got it, it was cold and had to be sent back. Service was very poor. One meal was not even entered into the system and therefore not served. They made the pasta dish quickly and the pasta was actually hard, not even al dente.

Bread was served with 4 rolls and pita chips with hummus. We asked for more bread and told there was a $5.00 charge since they considered that an appetizer. We were not told that. Requested butter and olive oil twice and it never came .

We used to go there all the time for their delicious lobster specials and choice of plain grilled fish etc. This is not a fancy restaurant but the chef is trying to equate it to the other Carmines Restaurant. This is was a total disappointment and would like you to share these comments with the restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined 5 days ago

New menu. Great Maine lobsters and Alaskan crab. Fun atmosphere. Nice bar. Has outside seating also

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 20, 2017

New menu (liked the original one), new manager (wouldn't know), new chef (decent)

Service was as bad as it gets......waiter took drink order after waiting for 15 mins, then we had to flag him down to give dinner order. Never came back , had to flag down bus boy to get condiments...........wanted another drink, never happened........

Don't plan on going back....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 19, 2017

the waitress was the saving grace. Despite how VERY busy she was she did her best to accommodate us. If not i would have returned my dinner which was lobster tail with crab two tomato scampi starter. ...more bread crumbs than crab. I had to request a steak knife to cut the lobster from the shell ...and it was tough!

The noise level was so intense we could not hear when speaking at a normal level. We understand that they just reopened after a major renovation. Perhaps they should have considered acoustical abatement when redesigning the space.

BTW they were also out of Stella Artois ....and had been for the past 3 days!!! (after just reopening?!!!)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Food is decent to excellent. Service is average because the place is packed, as everyone has a coupon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 18, 2017

They had a new menu that just started i was very disappointed that they no longer had lobster rolls probably would not have gone had i known that they need to keep their on line menu up to date probably won't return

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 18, 2017

This was our second time dining at Carmine's Crab Shack and unfortunately we had an almost identical experience to the first time 2 years ago which involved waits in excess of an hour an 15 minutes both times to receive our food after placing the order. As we were getting ready to leave and find dinner elsewhere they delivered our meals, two involving fried foods which were dripping with grease, one entree (an assortment) was missing the fried clams and the 3rd entree, a sweet potato crusted snapper was "crusted" with soggy white potato and the meal looked absolutely nauseating. You could not pay me enough to go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Courteous service, nice food, and quaint location.

Definitely a great place for seafood. The clam bake was very good - great portion & value. Don't load up too much on appetizers or salad though.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We bought a Groupon and were very happy with everything. Happy hour and $5 appetizers were fabulous. Followed by a delicious meal of whole yellow tail snapper. Cooked to perfection and the seasoning was oh so good. Will come back again. Loved our waitress, Peggy.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went for the seafood. The soup was delicious and the clams and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on February 7, 2017

This was terrible on all levels. Everything that came out of the kitchen was awful. I eat out and do lots of reviews. The Calamari was tasteless. The Conch Fritters were like eating golf balls....not much conch and lots of fillers and overcooked. The Crab/grouper was mediocre. The Corn on the cob was ratty and burned! the Sweet potato fries were ok. The best part was the Key Lime pie and it was most likely from Costco or Restaurant Depot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Advertised 2 for 1 Happy Hour only to find it was the bar only. Bar is small. Place was empty except for one table of 4. Took 20 minutes to get drink order. Glass of wine and 1 cocktail. Food good, nothing special. Waitress new I think. But she tried. Probably would not go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 2, 2017

The food was acceptable. Portions were small. Prices we're average. The dacor and atmosphere were very good. Would most likely not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Wanted to treat my boyfriend to amazing seafood and Carmines was the place to go! The fried basket with the haddock and chicken tenders were Amazing!!! The soup was amazing, the service was spectacular! No complaints! Definitely coming back again for more goodness!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I've dined at Carmines Italian also sushi but Carmines crab shack was great for fried seafood! Service excellent. Enjoy!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Casual, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Great food ! Fresh, perfect temperature, flavorful and nice presentation. The crab cake was delish!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Food tasted very good.

Tags: Casual, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Ordered lobster. It was served with either garlic butter or margarine. Smelled foul. We sent it back and got the same thing again. Complained. By the time they had melted real butter we had virtually finished the lobster. Would not recommend. Laissez-faire attitude from cooks shows this is not a place where chefs are in charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Our order was all messed up. There were five people in our party. When the food finally did come out, we didn't even eat all together and no compensation for the inconvenience what so ever. The food was greasy and three out of five woke up the next day not feeling well. Writing this restaurant off our list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Service was friendly and efficient, food timing was perfect. Food was poor. Mahi BLT was not good- toasted bun was best part. Bacon was slimy and cold and fish seemed like it had been reheated - dry - warm at best. Tartar sauce was mostly mayo. French fries cold. Fried grouper sandwich was cool in middle and breading was soggy under crust- like it was flash fried- not cooked through. Not the servers fault- but not at all what we were hoping for - we would not go back- child had headache so we finished up quickly- did not contact manager to explain our disappointment-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Okay seafood dishes. Too much sauce. Grill is much better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Service was terrible. Lobsters were good. Appetizers came with entree. Water was not refilled. Not returning

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 26, 2016

I must commend our server...We had a very difficult person in our group and his handling of the whole evening was way beyond the call of duty.....Thank you for the good service and your patience.

Tags: Scenic View, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 20, 2016

I went with my wife and daughter. Our food was average nothing to talk about.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Carmine needs to stick to Italian food! Lobster on lobster roll did not appear to be fresh. Crab cakes had too much filler. Waitress, though friendly, seemed to lack training.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 15, 2016

I had the Lobster roll for 21.95 and it came with two side. The Lobster roll was the worst I have ever had in ,y life. It came on a small hot dog bun and ther was hardley any meat in the roll. The side was with, I choose, baked potato that was microwaved and dry. The side of coleslaw was served in the smallest butter cup you can image. My swife had the soft shell crab sandwich was the size of, the soft shell, of a MaCdonalds hamburger along with a small side of fries. The coleslaw was also in the butter cup. The worst overpriced seafood I have ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 7, 2016

I can't believe this restaurant wasn't packed. Their menu, specials and happy hour deals are incredible. We each had the bouillabaisse and it was the best I have eaten in the U.S. Don't wait. Head there tonight. Our waiter, Nick, was superb.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Nice ambiance- friendly service

Dissapointed in lobster roll.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Prices seem higher than in the past. Monday night special of 1lb Lobster with 2 sides was not available ...we were a party of four at 6:15pm!!!! Value not as good as in earlier days!???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Super fun place! I wanted to go here after Thanksgiving for something "light"!! I had the 1-lb lobster. Note: they will clean it for you!! It was delish!! And the conch fritters are amazing!!! Michelle was not my server this time, but still made a point to come say hello, as did the manager. Good people!!! Bree and Shelly were bartenders and very attentive. Great place!!! (just need to work on wine list!!!) But drinks were 50% off, so I cannot complain too much!!!

Tags: Fun, Quick Bite, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Disappointed that they ran out of 1lb Lobsters. It was a special.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Great food, attentive service, good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Very disappointed in entrees that were

(Portion wise) very, very small. Had to have a bite when we got home.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Great food, very fresh and served hot. Wonderful service also

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on November 3, 2016

Great lobster at the Crab Shack. Suggest you reserve your two or three pounder when you make your reservation. Not cheap, but worth every bite b

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Great food, nice ambiance, will go back with friends and family

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 20, 2016

The staff is lacking experience. My stone crab dinner was serve without the proper utensils. It was not worth the price. I did complain to the server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 18, 2016

What happened to this place? This place was great when it first opened. Now it's a disaster. The portions are a joke and the prices charged for them are even funnier. The bowl of gazpacho I ordered was the size of a golf ball for $8. Their special was Alaskan King Crab legs for only $74.95!!! I have never heard of pricing like that for seafood. The service was super slow. The waitress never came around to change plates or the trash bowls from our seafood. And finally, it only took 25 minutes to get our check and the place was only 25% occupied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

 
·Dined on October 15, 2016

Great lobster, great ambiance, very friendly staff. Make a reservation during the season and reserve your lobsters

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The price to portion size is the absolute worst I have ever seen. I question the waitress on the portion size of the prime rib, she said " you should go to Ruth Chris if you want something bigger". Anyone who gives this place a five star rating must enjoy spam!!! If I could give this a zero star rating I would !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 3, 2016

We had three BAD MEALS!!!!!

The smoked fish appetizer was good. Entrees were terrible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on October 1, 2016

This was absolutely the worst restaurant ever.

This is the second time we have been there. The first time was bad. We thought we would give it another try. Ordered 2 pound lobsters. Maybe they were one and a quarter pounds. Sent one meal back. The one he kept for my son was terrible. Lobster meat was like rubber. Complained to the manager, but he did not care. They intentionally try to sell you a larger Lobster and serve you a smaller one. Bait and switch. , I hope the owner reads this message

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was horrible. Put in our order for appetizers and drinks, got our appetizer first and not our drinks. Took them 20 minutes to bring our drinks (2 waters and 2 alcoholics)

Portion sizes are small for the food, but it did taste good

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 21, 2016

Advertise specials but have stipulations. They false advertise for high dollar fish and substitute with lower quality fish not even in same species. When brought to attn of manager he never returned to table and took $17 dollars off of a $26 dollar meal.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 3, 2016

If you're a lobster lover, this is the place to be. I always go for the 3-pounder! The best value around and very delish!

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on August 29, 2016

At the spur of the moment we went for lobster dinner. We got the 2 lb special. It was great. The meat was sweet and tender. We all decided that Carmine's Crab Shack was a do again destination.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

The lobster was wonderful. Little pricey, but worth it. The restaurant is comfortable, the staff friendly and eager to serve. Highly recommend you make a reservation, definitely during "the season". Call and reserve the lobsters beforehand, they can run out when it's busy. The two pounders are just wonderful, sweet and fresh.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Delicious seafood served very nicely. Cornbread is excellent. Our server, Nick, was a delight.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.