Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Carmine's Seafood Shack

3.7
328 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Seafood
Top Tags:
  • Good for Groups
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Permanently Closed - Carmine has a long history of quality food in South Florida. Having started as a butcher and opening 15 successful Deli and Butcher Shops, including Carmine's Gourmet Market, it's no surprise Carmine's Restaurants have enjoyed success from Jupiter to Miami. Over the years, Carmine has traveled extensively seeking the best products for his customers. In his travels, one of his favorite spots has always been New England and the great seafood houses and crab shacks that the area is known for. He has always wanted to bring that experience here to Florida and that has lead him to his newest restaurant……CARMINE’S SEAFOOD SHACK!

Carmine’s Seafood Shack serves a wide variety of seafood with the freshest ingredients and a great taste that will make your mouth water. Carmine's Seafood Shack has something for everyone in a fun, casual atmosphere.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Seafood, American
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch Daily: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner Nightly: 4:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(561) 275-2185
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Ellison Wilson
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Happy Hour Daily from 3:00PM - 7:00PM: 50% off all drinks, and 50% off Shack Starters Menu
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 328 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.7based on all time ratings
3.7
food
3.9
service
3.6
ambience
3.4
value
Noise · Moderate
74% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on August 1, 2017

Well, I guess nobody told open table that this restaurant "closes" for the summer. I made reservations and my husband and I drive from lake worth at 6:30pm only to find that it was closed a man came out to tell us they close for the summer.. um don't you think you should put that on your website ! Is this a sign that they have closed up for good? So aggravated

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

Have always enjoyed the run of the menu and especially 2lb. steamed lobster. Great appetizer for shrimp lovers is 1lb. garlic scampi shrimp in shell. Peel & eat, delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 29, 2017

All four of use had excellent 3-lb lobsters... 2 had males, 2 had females. The males had larger claws and were very good, though the females were even sweeter-tasting. Considering how expensive Maine lobsters can be, these were not only great-eating but also a terrific value (other restaurants charge more than twice as much). We will be back!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on July 26, 2017

Lobster was like rubber, potatoes were under cooked, everything was tasteless and over priced. Management seemed to care, but this place needs a chef.....desperately!! You can put lipstick on a pig......but it's still a pig. Wake up guys, it's time to hire someone that knows the restaurant business from inside the kitchen!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on July 6, 2017

Adequate food. Nice service. Seemed to lack ingenuity and freshness

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on July 5, 2017

Previous reviews of this restaurant were often quite negative so my wife and I dined here with some apprehension. We however had a very good experience. The manager seated us at a booth and came back 2 or 3 times throughout our dining experience to make sure we were satisfied. Our waiter provided prompt, efficient and accurate service. I had fried jumbo shrimp and my wife had fried jumbo clam strips and we both thought they were well prepared and very tasty. Portions were generous. The accompanying onion rings and French fries were also very good. My wife had cole slaw and liked it. The interior of the restaurant has a pleasant nautical decor. Overall, we had a very good experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 29, 2017

Had a great birthday meal with lots of crab and lobster. Happy family!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 25, 2017

We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and he loves crab. The prices were high. The food was adequate. The service was just okay even though the restaurant was almost empty. We had to remind the server for everything. I don't mind spending a bit more for a special occasion if food is great, this was not worth it. We will not be going back there.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 23, 2017

The Mussels and Clam chowder were excellent appetizers. The Clam bake was a nice portion and incredible tasting (Great use of garlic). The staff was very good about making sure there was nothing else needed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 18, 2017

My wife and I had the whole lobster, corn on the cob and potato. Cocktails are reasonably priced and made perfectly to order. I suggest you enjoy the ambiance as well as the great food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 17, 2017

Service staff is very friendly and accommodating. Chef made food that was not on menu by request. Always a pleasant experience

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 17, 2017

My fiancé and I wanted to share a special meal for Father's Day. We only brought one child with us out of the two we have and we are expecting another one next year. That said the staff was wonderful the food was so delicious! We got the snow crab legs and each ordered a soup. Hands down the best in town. Very fresh and tasty. We will be back many times in the near future.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 17, 2017

they sent e-mails and had advertisements for lobsters 1 1/2 , 2 and 3 pounders.
So I took my wife who loves lobster. When we were ready to order the waitress said they have no more larger size ( this was a saturday night at 6:30PM) only 1 1/2 .
This is not the first time we have been disappointed at Carmine will not see us ever again

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 30, 2017

The food was ok but the waitress ruined our the meal for everyone in our party of 8. She was rude and made under her breath comments as she walked by or away. In front of us she made blatant out-loud comments that were not only inappropriate but disrespectful as well. At one point she threw two of our phones onto the table after complaining about them.
We will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2017

For a restaurant that includes Crab Shack in its name, the crabs were terrible. they were soggy, pasty, and 1 must have been dead for days prior, since it smelled awful. The replacement was served raw. Although the server was great, we won't be back.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 25, 2017

Okay, nothing special. If you just want some chowder and a drink, this place is fine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 24, 2017

Blue crabs were a great price for the size! Clam bake also good!!
Well priced but with Groupon was an absolutes bargain!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 19, 2017

Best lobster deal in town-how can you beat
3 (yes THREE!) lb. lobsters for $39????

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 10, 2017

Went on a Wednesday night and the place was practically empty, although we did have our Open Table reservation. The food was only fair and the seafood was a little over cooked. The service was good and attentive. Do not think this would be on our list to come back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2017

This was our first visit to Carmine's. Our food was delicious times 100. I had the sweet potato crusted snapper and my boyfriend had 2 grilled lobster tails. The presentation was excellent. It was all very fresh. Our waiter Bud, was very energetic, super positive and provided great service. The manager, Rafael, came to speak to us, made us feel very welcomed. Great find.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 2, 2017

Newly reopened. We went on a very quiet Tuesday night during a storm. The restaurant was mostly empty so noise level and service were both very good and that evening would not be a fair yardstick. The service was friendly and the food was good. If I must point out a negative it would be the oysters which were opened but not shucked.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 23, 2017

Was not as good this time as before times..
I used to love the corn bread which has been discontinued.
Great selection of sea food but I thought the quantity has also kind of reduced a bit

But still recommend the place..

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 10, 2017

The lobster tails were excellent. I do feel the prices have gone sky high since the new chef and manager. It used to be a fun place with lobster specials that were excellent and reasonable. That it not the case anymore. If we didn't have a Groupon, it would have been very expensive and the atmosphere and surroundings do not warrant these prices. The Carmine's Ocean Grill would be the place to go for this type and price of dinner.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 4, 2017

The food was great hot & seasoned to perfection. Service was AWESOME (Kelley), & it was a topper that I was able to use GROUPON...

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 31, 2017

Very very expensive
We used to enjoy the casual atmosphere & the original menu
Inflating the prices, cloth napkins & wait staff dressed in black does not make your restaurant fine dining restaurant.
We were shocked at the change both prices & decor
Just not worth going back!!!
Bring back the original look, menu & decor
It was much nicer

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 28, 2017

One of our dishes/glass was dirty, the food was way overpriced, our one dish came out with odds and ends of tiny pieces of fish with skin and scales still attached. The pieces were so small we weren't able to even peel the skin off. Our waiter spilled water over the glasses at every single table--when he came to refill our waters, my boyfriends leg was soaked because of the water literally pouring over the glass. Would not recommend this place.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2017

Better than it used to be! Don't get the lobster roll. No meat in it too small

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2017

This was our first visit to Carmines Crab Shack. We have always enjoyed the other Carmine restaurants in PB Gardens. We were quite impressed with the Crab Shack. There is a very nice selection of very reasonably priced fish and seafood options on the dinner menu and our food was excellent. Indoor the restaurant it was a little noisy but we sat outside and it was much quieter. Only one screaming kid. The service was a little slow but also quite good. We will be back !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 25, 2017

This is the 3rd time I at here and wanted to give it another try as they were advertising under new management and new cook. The waiter we had was not the best at serving. We had ordered a black grouper, salmon with crabmeat topping, both fish entries were over cooked and the scoop of potatoes was cold. The beef medallions came cooked, med rare, good but the meat was tough. Very dissatisfied with the whole experience. Would expect a restaurant with Carmine's name attached would be a better quality.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 24, 2017

I am not a complainer but to be truthful - Fish was overdone - heavy on the Garlic (nobody would believe I would say this because I love garlic) - waiter really tried but was pretty clueless, never asked us if we wanted anything other than water to drink, answered yes to questions about how food was cooked and was incorrect in his answers. Other diners with me weren't very happy either. Not worth what I spent and I had a 25% off coupon.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 22, 2017

New menu was just as wonderful as the prior one! We had the Ahi and Mahi this time with the Baked Oysters as an appy. Delish!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 20, 2017

This was our second visit this year, and the food and service has improved 100% over our experience there last year. All 4 of us loved our dinners, both times, and the waiter, Bud, was very attentive and gave us excellent service. We would recommend it for excellent fish dishes - we didn't try other options.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Very disappointing. Food extremely salty. Almost inedible. Not up to standard of other Carmine's restaurants/market.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 12, 2017

Good seafood. On-line menu had items not on actual menu. Server good to young kids.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 11, 2017

A very bad night. Poor service. And salad had so much dressing it was sunk in it. That was Removed from bill. Slow service server took drink order fast and when he return dropped it and ran. Ice tea had two cube and no sugar on table. Took 15s for server to come back to take order. Many were complaining that night. Mgr did not help much. This was just a bad night by all. We have been here many times. We all have bad days right? We will be back for another shot at the service we know.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 11, 2017

The food and service were terrible. Such a disappointment for a restaurant owned by Carmines. The staff was rude and the manager was in over his head.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 11, 2017

Service was very slow.
Waitress vanished for long periods.
One couple split a dish, but the second plate came 5 minutes after the dish.
Asked 3 servers for milk for coffee before it arrived and the coffee was cold when it arrived

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2017

Very good restaurant. Had a great dinner. Seafood fess delicious and fresh Made for a very enjoyable evening

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2017

Great food and our server was absolutely terrific!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 7, 2017

Menu lists Heineken as an available beer, but it's not (only Heineken Light was available). Menu states all entrees accompanied by potato & vegetable of the day, but the lobster roll came with only a choice of either French fries or coleslaw. The pot of mussels broth was bland; menu said it had lemongrass in it, but I couldn't deduct any. A passing waitress (not ours) stated that the lobster roll on the menu was a "hot lobster roll"....it was a cold lobster-salad roll.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
9