About Carmine's - Atlantic City

Brighton and the Boardwalk
2801 Pacific Ave.
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. If you are in the market for better than average family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30AM to 11:00PM
Friday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM
Saturday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM

Cross Street:
S. Iowa Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 572-9300

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine's classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door.
Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Call us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, Bar Mitzvah, family gathering, rehearsal dinner, anniversary, or Super Bowl party. We offer many menus and can customize.

Parking Details:
Valet parking available on Pacific Ave. Self park on Brighton Avenue Atlantic and Pacific Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Gotta

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the exciting Quarter at The Tropicana, New York’s legendary Carmine’s tradition continues. Carmine’s prides itself on being a family style establishment with large portions meant to be shared by family and friends. Old world values and exceptional service combined with fun and flair create the perfect atmosphere for your party. Carmine’s Atlantic City also offers a private dining room, valet parking, and a huge 25-foot bar. Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.

Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine’s family. We invite you to share Carmine’s style! Abbondanza!
Contact our Special Events Department at 609-572-9300, ext 827.

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Parmigiana
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Sunday Four Pasta Platter
Carmine's Salad
Veal Scallopine
Meatballs
angel hair pasta with seafood
Penne Alla Vodka
Fried Calamari
Baked Clams
Rigatoni Al Ragu
Stuffed Artichokes
Bread Basket
Roasted Peppers And Mozzerella
Chicken Scallopine
Penne Pasta
Porterhouse Contadina
porterhouse steak
Bread
Garlic Bread with Cheese
Shrimp With Angel Hair
Chicken Parmesan
Sauteed broccoli
Cheese Ravioli
Eggplant Parmigiana
Garlic Bread w/Cheese
garden salad
Rigatoni And Brocolli
Carmines Salad
Zuppa De Pesce Del Golfo
Meatball
Chicken Parmagiana
Titanic
Cold Italian Hero
Steak Contadina

Private Dining

Located at the Tropicana Casino’s Quarter, Carmine’s is a true NY tradition at the Jersey shore. Our award winning cuisine is served family style in the tradition of an Italian wedding feast. Private & Semi Private dining rooms seat 15-200 guests. Celebrate your next special occasion with Carmine's.

Carmine's - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City
3 More
Best Value
Atlantic City
Italian
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

Good for Groups (529)
Special Occasion (353)
Fit for Foodies (232)
See All
Kid-friendly (167)
Hot Spot (129)
Great for Lunch (112)
Romantic (95)
Notable Wine List (62)
Neighborhood Gem (58)
Late-night Find (48)
Great for Brunch (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Scenic View (14)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Business Meals (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5149 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was amazing, however our servic ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was amazing, however our service was poor. We asked for more bread 3 times from 2 different employees and never got it. We also asked for a drink refill twice and again never got it. Our server came to the table only when it was required to such as to hand us the food. I understand the restaurant was busy but it seemed our server couldn't handle her tables. I made reservations for this restaurant before I even knew what hotel I was staying at, so the service was definatly a disappointment. I spoke to our server regarding our concerns and we were not given any accomendations to which I was surprised.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great restaurant for Italian Food. One ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

Great restaurant for Italian Food. One of our favorites. Have been there many times and often recommend it to friends. Bar has great atmosphere and I think next time we come we'll try the High Tops in the Bar for a change of pace. One small complaint: NO SIGNS DIRECTING YOU TO VALET PARKING FOR THE RESTAURANT.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Never disappointed with the quality of t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Never disappointed with the quality of the food and value.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good Italian food served family s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Really good Italian food served family style. We are never disappointed with the food at Carmine's.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We all shared our likes about our meals ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

We all shared our likes about our meals with other tables near-by. We have eaten at carmine's many times, we love the food& refreshments.

Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Carmines' is a great place to go with a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Carmines' is a great place to go with a large group to talk and have fun.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel to Atlantic City several times ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We travel to Atlantic City several times a year and on every visit have at least 1 dinner meal at Carmines. We love the food and have had excellent service. One suggestion would be to go with more than 2 people since the entrees are large family style portions, so the more people you have the more of a variety you can order.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was good but don't get the daily sp ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good but don't get the daily special, it was way overpriced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

On this particular visit to Camine's the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

On this particular visit to Camine's there was some kind of special event going on, so at the onset the service was mediocre and the waitress was inattentive. After she 'went on break' and another waiter took over our table, all was well again and the Carmine's we all love was back on track. Delicious food, efficient and friendly waiters, and a lovely tug boat to finish our meal!! As always we came home with a scrumptious container of leftovers! All I can say is YUM!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service and atmosphere were great. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 7 days ago

The service and atmosphere were great. I always eat at this restaurant when I go to Atlantic City. We ordered the lasagna it was one of the best I ever had can't wait to go back and have it again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal! Assorted bread basket with d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined 7 days ago

Great meal! Assorted bread basket with dipping oil. Sangria, Fried calamari, chicken marsalla over linquini, bread pudding for desert. All served family style. Three of us could have fed 3 more. Service was prompt and accommodating. Calamari and entree came out piping hot and delish. We asked for the marsalla over pasta which was not on menu but charged $12 more. Well worth it! Warm bread pudding with chocolate filling. We made a reservation which was a good idea. Very busy. $180 for meal and tip.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a 4pm reservation. Not many guests a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 7 days ago

Had a 4pm reservation. Not many guests at the restaurant. Waiter service was very slow. Waiter explained that they were under staffed. Garlic bread was over cooked. Pasta was cold. Asked hostess to change channel at bar tv and put on olympics. She stated that bar tender was too busy. Have not had a good experience the last two times that we visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

As always we truly enjoyed our dinner at ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 7 days ago

As always we truly enjoyed our dinner at Carmine's. The food and service are always wonderful. The food is always hot and fresh. I never worry about bringing friends and family for the first time, or returning visits. I always know that we will all be extremely satisfied and everyone will enjoy themselves. Please keep up the great job! Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was good and food was enj ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our experience was good and food was enjoyable until everyone that ate became violently sick (2 guests only had drinks). Based on this, I will no longer recommend Carmines to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

Not too thrilled with Saturday night's s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Not too thrilled with Saturday night's service. One woman in our party has medical issues and can only eat certain foods; basically plain food. She had called during the week (which I didn't know about) asking if they could prepare a piece of plain grilled chicken for her. The gentleman on the phone told her no, they don't make special meals for people with food allergies, medical issues. As we sat down, we asked the waitress what could be done. My head is still spinning because she spoke in circles stating we could add grilled chicken to any dish? Or just order a kid's entree of grilled chicken and plain pasta but wasn't sure if my guest could really do that because of the kitchen. It literally was a 20 minute discussion to agree that my guest could get a piece of grilled chicken for dinner. It was honestly the most ridiculous conversation I've ever had with a server. I've been in the service industry for 20 years so it's not like I'm just some person out for dinner on a busy Saturday night that never dines out. It was a simple answer: she could get plain chicken or she couldn't. I even offered to buy a 'family style' plate of grilled chicken. I've never in all of my years encountered a restaurant that doesn't deal with food allergies. According the ADA, if the ingredients is there and the request is reasonable, it should be done. Anyway, it took 25 minutes to get a basket of bread. Our appetizers came out before our first drink and the basket of bread. Service was slow; I get it. It's a busy Saturday night but still. Kind of turned off by the whole place. In the end, my guest ended up with a kid's portion of grilled chicken and plain gluten free pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I had been to Carmines previously and ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had been to Carmines previously and had no issues with the portions, maybe I was just lucky or this Saturday night was an off night. I suggested Carmines because we could get reservations for the 6 of us on a busy summer night in AC. We were 3 couples who came in hungry from a long day at the beach. We placed orders for the special salad of the evening, Shrimp Fra Diavlo, Chicken Saltimbocca, and Penne Vodka. Let me be clear it was not the taste of the food, it was the portions. How can so many people have great reviews and talk about the portion sizes???? The waiter kept saying that 3 entrees would be fine…..SO we got 1 salad maybe should have gotten 2 orders but it is 35 dollars so you would think plenty big. You could have filled a saucer instead of a salad plate. Let me continue and again maybe our fault and bad choices, 12 shrimp in a fra diavlo sauce no pasta , does anyone suggest that 2 shrimp each is family style….by the way we’re all Italians. Next the chicken, I was told it is 12oz…so each small piece was 2 oz are you kidding me a pound of chicken is $4 …on top we all think they forgot the prosciutto. Thankfully the pasta dish helped fill our plates a little…if not we were in big trouble. I am not upset with anything but how we were misled about family style dinners….this is not the way Maggiano’s does family style. We left hungry and feeling disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was surprisingly good. Good qualit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was surprisingly good. Good quality. Prepared well. Reasonable prices for a large crowd.

It was a fun evening. Servers were knowledgable, helpful, and incredibly pleasant given the pace they work. We did not have to wait for our server to return for someone to help us. The entire staff in our seating area responded to our requests. The experience was pleasant from the time our reservation was made, through ordering a birthday cake and finalizing the evening. Go and have fun. It is not goumet food and it is noisey, but everyone let smiling and full.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Deb was amazing! Food was outstanding! W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Deb was amazing! Food was outstanding! Went for a bachlorette party dinner and it was perfect for our group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great carmine salad- fresh bountiful and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

great carmine salad- fresh bountiful and lots of meats and cheeses. Shrimp marinara was ok nothing special. Lasagna MEH! noodles overcooked. shapeless. no crispy edges. wouldn't order it again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love Carmines!!! However I usuall ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always love Carmines!!! However I usually call for reservations, this time I used open table for 5:15 the hostesses looked fradazzled and had to wait until 5:50, whats the sense in making reservations???????????

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Staff is excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Staff is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious and plentiful.....ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was delicious and plentiful.....service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very noisy restaurant, very dark with no ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very noisy restaurant, very dark with not much décor, Huge plates much to big for two, dessert very limited. Very mediocre Italian food for the price. Service was good but it is serve yourself from the huge plate of paste that they leave in front of you! Even the Meatballs were mediocre. Won't be back at that price for that type of food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We came here to celebrate my husband's b ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We came here to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our waiter Eddie was great!!! Food was very good!! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything was outstanding!!!!wwould def ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Everything was outstanding!!!!wwould definitely come back....top notch service and overall a friendly place!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to the AC location and it was great ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Went to the AC location and it was great. The hostess was accomadating to include 8 at the table instead of 7 on the orginal reservation. Don was our waiter and he was excellent. The food was excellent, for 8 people , we split a Cesar salad, eggplant, vodka penne pasta and a chicken and steak dish. Brought half the chicken and steak home we were so full.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Hot Spot, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very irritating experience. Our server t ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Very irritating experience. Our server told us when we ordered that our entrée was $56. When we got the bill, it said $96. We questioned it, and she said no it was $96. Which makes no sense because both my wife and I heard the same thing/prices. She definitely lied to get a larger bill

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1

We only get there once a year. This is ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We only get there once a year. This is a Christmas present for my husbands parents. Everytime it is above and beyond the time before. Food is always great. Service is great. Never feel rushed. We always recommend people to go there when we here they are going to AC! We live in North Carolina and have people go there whenever they go to New Jersey just because we tell them about your place.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious, the service was ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

The food was delicious, the service was impeccable. I will go there the next time I'm in AC

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It's my absolute favorite place to eat! ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

It's my absolute favorite place to eat! Everything is always outstanding!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was the worst experience of our ent ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

This was the worst experience of our entire vacation. The service was horrible, had a reservation for 7pm, weren't seated until 7:20, then it took forever to set a wait staff. Then we were assigned 2 servers because the parties around us were so large. We could never find either waiter or waitress. The food was mediocre at best and the prices were ridiculous for what we got!!! We dined there years ago and could not recall why we hadn't gone back. WON'T FORGET AGAIN!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

The best Italian anywhere...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

The best Italian anywhere...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

There was a slight problem as Carmines a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

There was a slight problem as Carmines accidentally changed my open table reservation for 645pm for nine people and made it 8pm. I was not happy but asked for the manager, tony, who was apologetic and did everything he could to accommodate us. We left full and happy. He said he would investigate the error in our reservation.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mangia! Fabulous dishes and great select ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Mangia! Fabulous dishes and great selection. I can't believe with the amount of food and customers they serve, each plate looks and tastes like it's Sunday dinner at Nona's. We love Carmine's in Atlantic City!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love food at Carmine's it's delicious. ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I love food at Carmine's it's delicious. I don't like that waitress refused to give us a menu at our table for vision impaired diner.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was fresh and delicious

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Food was fresh and delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Although the food was very good, the noi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Although the food was very good, the noise level was unbearable. I wouldn't recommend to anyone who would want an evening of conversation with the people at their table be issue we couldn't hear each other from across the table. And the use of wall menu has to go.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Like always we had a great dinner . Our ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Like always we had a great dinner . Our waiter was super friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food always good at this Carmines, simil ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food always good at this Carmines, similar to NYC. Service always questionable. Walked in at 5pm and no one was around but took awhile to be greeted. 1 hostess the phone and the other on computer. people waiting outside when restaurant was empty. This happened to us 4 years in a row so not something new as we come every year for the AC Air Show. Bartender ending being our waitress; she was quick and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food. We had the meatballs and vea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Great food. We had the meatballs and veal parm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.