About Carmine's - Atlantic City

Brighton and the Boardwalk
2801 Pacific Ave.
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. If you are in the market for better than average family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30AM to 11:00PM
Friday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM
Saturday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM

Cross Street:
S. Iowa Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 572-9300

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine's classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door.
Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Call us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, Bar Mitzvah, family gathering, rehearsal dinner, anniversary, or Super Bowl party. We offer many menus and can customize.

Parking Details:
Valet parking available on Pacific Ave. Self park on Brighton Avenue Atlantic and Pacific Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Gotta

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the exciting Quarter at The Tropicana, New York’s legendary Carmine’s tradition continues. Carmine’s prides itself on being a family style establishment with large portions meant to be shared by family and friends. Old world values and exceptional service combined with fun and flair create the perfect atmosphere for your party. Carmine’s Atlantic City also offers a private dining room, valet parking, and a huge 25-foot bar. Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.

Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine’s family. We invite you to share Carmine’s style! Abbondanza!
Contact our Special Events Department at 609-572-9300, ext 827.

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Parmigiana
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Sunday Four Pasta Platter
Carmine's Salad
Veal Scallopine
Meatballs
angel hair pasta with seafood
Penne Alla Vodka
Fried Calamari
Baked Clams
Rigatoni Al Ragu
Stuffed Artichokes
Bread Basket
Chicken Scallopine
Roasted Peppers And Mozzerella
Penne Pasta
Porterhouse Contadina
porterhouse steak
Bread
Garlic Bread with Cheese
Chicken Parmesan
Shrimp With Angel Hair
Eggplant Parmigiana
Sauteed broccoli
Cheese Ravioli
Garlic Bread w/Cheese
garden salad
Rigatoni And Brocolli
Carmines Salad
Zuppa De Pesce Del Golfo
Meatball
Chicken Parmagiana
Cold Italian Hero
Titanic
Steak Contadina

Private Dining

Located at the Tropicana Casino’s Quarter, Carmine’s is a true NY tradition at the Jersey shore. Our award winning cuisine is served family style in the tradition of an Italian wedding feast. Private & Semi Private dining rooms seat 15-200 guests. Celebrate your next special occasion with Carmine's.

Carmine's - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City
2 More
Italian
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

good for groups (415)
special occasion (268)
fit for foodies (172)
See All
kid-friendly (103)
hot spot (98)
great for lunch (96)
romantic (85)
notable wine list (50)
neighborhood gem (48)
late-night find (40)
vibrant bar scene (27)
great for brunch (23)
scenic view (15)
great for outdoor dining (8)
Sort By:
Newest
4913 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time at Carmine's , celebrating my ...

Dined 3 days ago

First time at Carmine's , celebrating my birthday. Party of 4. We were seated almost immediately , our waiter Greg was awesome ! I didn't have candles on my bday cake and they supplied them and gave me a great rendition of happy Birthday! I was flattered! The food is delicious, the table breads are of different varieties--soft & warm. For dinner, we had shrimp scampi and chicken parm, both cooked to perfection. I just finished my leftovers today lol (dinner was Saturday night lol) . Thank you to everyone at Carmine's AC, great ambiance and delicious food!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The only complaint I have is that it was ...

Dined 3 days ago

The only complaint I have is that it was way too noisy!!! It hurt your ears to sit at the table !We all took turns going outside to let our ears recover from the noise!!! We were seated on the lower level

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

Good experience, we got there close to c ...

Dined 5 days ago

Good experience, we got there close to closing. We will dine in again

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

STEAK CONTADINA AND BREAD PUDDING WERE T ...

Dined 5 days ago

STEAK CONTADINA AND BREAD PUDDING WERE THE BEST. LOVED IT AND CAN'T WAIT TO GO BACK

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing service, great value, amazing fo ...

Dined 5 days ago

Amazing service, great value, amazing food. Can't recommend Carmine's enough, definitely one of my favorite places to eat.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it! BIG plates of food ! GREAT for ...

Dined 5 days ago

Love it! BIG plates of food ! GREAT for more than 4 people...Our food and service was OUTSTANDING!!!! A+++++

Tags: good for groups, romantic
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Carmine's is really for groups. Not for ...

Dined 6 days ago

Carmine's is really for groups. Not for single or two people. Your paying for to much food plus alacarte

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience1
service4
value1

No Bathroom. Had to go out to casino flo ...

Dined 6 days ago

No Bathroom. Had to go out to casino floor to use bathroom. Only Bathroom in Restaurant is 4 floors down from main ding room. It was closed to us because of a private party. Do not care About customers convenience only how many tables they can squeeze in . Pathetic. Visit your local Italian restaurant for better food and a nicer dining experience

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Even though and invitation was scheduled ...

Dined 6 days ago

Even though and invitation was scheduled, a lot of confussion when I arrived, still had to wait for 20 minutes

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

If could have one meal on my deathbed, t ...

Dined 6 days ago

If could have one meal on my deathbed, the Double Cut Veal Chop (the Wednesday special) would be it. I plan my trips to A/C around that dish. Everything else that we had (Calamari, Penne Pomdoro and Chicken Parm) were also great. Carmine's is always the one restaurant that we come to when we are in Atlantic City. I recommend Camine's highly.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great all around! We made sure we made r ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great all around! We made sure we made reservations

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were very pleased with everything!! ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were very pleased with everything!! The food was superb and our service was the best!! This is definitely the place to come for a group of people. The menu is geared toward at least a party of 3 to 4. All we can say is fabulous!!!!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love, love, love Carmines. We had the se ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Love, love, love Carmines. We had the seafood over linguine with red sauce--yummy! Waiter recommended that we not get the salad since it would be too much food for two of us--good call. We had leftovers which were just as delicious 2 days later. The Montepulciano was a good red wine choice. It is best to go here with 4 or more people so you can get a variety of food. I missed my Carmine salad. I have never had a bad experience either here or in NYC.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for large groups.

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great for large groups.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Well worth the price. The se ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Great food! Well worth the price. The service is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a lovely experience. Everyth ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We had such a lovely experience. Everything from the bread basket to the chicken parm was so perfect and tasty. Honestly, it was the best chicken parm I have ever tasted! I have nothing bad to say about this place. Even the waitress and bus boy who packaged our leftovers were so nice and friendly to us. We had reservations and were promptly seated even though we arrived early. It was such a pleasant Father's Day and am hoping to return very soon for our next family outing :) thank you Carmine's!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is always outstandingly consist ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is always outstandingly consistent! We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great and the atmosphere is ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is great and the atmosphere is very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The only negative issue I have was that ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The only negative issue I have was that "Family Style" was supposed to be if you should run out of food on the plate, I thought they should have replenished what was empty. I was told there was an up charge for more of the same that I paid quite a bit for anyway.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We visit Carmine's every time that we ar ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We visit Carmine's every time that we are in Atlantic City. We always have a large group. This visit we had 12 people. It was our least favorable / enjoyable. Although it was not to the point that we would not recommend to others. It was still a good experience. Our wait staff changed three times during our meal. Service was a little below our normal experience. We were also seated in a spot where the menus on the wall were hard to read for some. Food was very good as usual. Still well worth the visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was phenomenal. Fr ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The entire experience was phenomenal. From the food to our waiter, everything was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carmine's NEVER Disappoints!!!!!! The p ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Carmine's NEVER Disappoints!!!!!! The place is awesome from Bread to Bill

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and very large portions. My ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food and very large portions. My wife and I could not finish the meal. Drinks are good too. Two Italian martini's and you're set. Would recommend to a family or anyone looking for a good family style Italian restaurant while in Atlantic City but make reservations in advance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 9. It was affordable a ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

We had a party of 9. It was affordable and nice because everyone shared food. Fast and friendly service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for my Son's graduation dinner. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I went for my Son's graduation dinner. I asked where he wanted to go and his answer was"Carmine's!!!!" He graduated 8th grade. I have two big, growing boys and I just LOVE the family style portions and we have always taken home leftovers. And actually they EAT them! I liked using the online reservations too. I was running around; forgetting to call and just time a look at Carmine's we sit and saw I could make a reservation, perfect! Definitely will use the Open Table in the future. Great meal always.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service. Food well prepar ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great customer service. Food well prepared and plentiful! Great for "family style" service!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This has not been our first visit to Car ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This has not been our first visit to Carmine's but we feel recently the quality overall has decreased!! The prices reflect fine dining but the experience was not!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was great. I ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was great. I love this place! Want to eat here every day!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a family-style restaurant, and the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It's a family-style restaurant, and the portions were HUGE! it was just my husband and I. it would have been better if we had more people with us, or at least another couple. we had the chicken parm which was delish! my husband isn't a fan of salad, and they don't have "side salads" so if I wanted one, I would have to buy the family style salad which was like $20. same thing with the breadsticks, everything is such large portions, it's hard with just two people. the food was delish, and def worth it!

food3
ambience3
service4

Despite reservations 10-15 minute wait T ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Despite reservations 10-15 minute wait Though menus were available they had to be asked for especially since they wanted us to just read the wall which was a mural and we were seated directly beneath it. This would have required us to stand amongst tables on stand over seated customers eating their meals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is delicious but the portions a ...

vip
Dined on June 14, 2016

The food is delicious but the portions are really not suited for a small group. This would be better for a bigger group since it's all family style. Really tasty though and the wine list was extensive!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always great and plentiful. Wai ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food is always great and plentiful. Wait staff friendly and attentive. Yum!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are from Connecticut and come down to ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We are from Connecticut and come down to the Jersey Shore every June and Carmine's is always on our list. There were eight of us and the amount and quality of food was outstanding. Our waiter was was competent and fun !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

So disappointed in our meal - I expected ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

So disappointed in our meal - I expected so much better tasting food! Chicken parm was nice and thin but the breadcrumbs overpowered the chicken so it was very dry and tasted of breadcrumbs not chicken. Requested more sauce and water so we could eat it. How do you mess up chicken parm?? It was so bad my college student didn't even want to take it back to school with her!! Never ever going there again! Service was fair prices average for area but so disappointed in quality (even saw neighboring tables leave a pitcher of sangria and a platter of food behind)

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to celebrate bday w friends for the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Went to celebrate bday w friends for the first time and was extremely happy w the food and since its family style the portions are huge The meatballs tasted home made!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

I have been to dinner several times at C ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to dinner several times at Carmine's and have always had an enjoyable time and tasty food. Dining area is comfortable and nicely decorated. I think it would be helpful to have a printed menu at the table, as the ones on the wall are often difficult to see. The family style servings are more than enough for 4 people, but if you are dining with just 2, you have no choice but to purchase too much food. It would be great if half-servings were available, as even the desserts are intended to share. This makes dining there rather expensive for a couple only.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the fried calamari!!! The huge port ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Love the fried calamari!!! The huge porter house steak with potatoes and sausage is amazing! It was my second time here and I have to say I'm definitely coming back again and again!! Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience was pleasant. The food was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My experience was pleasant. The food was really delicious, but portion size was family style and was enormous for 2 people. This place would be great for a group of people. The wine was perfect too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was fantastic. We had s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was fantastic. We had such a great time

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was far from our first visit to Car ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was far from our first visit to Carmines, and we were not disappointed! You do need a group of people to get the full experience, since the portions, served family style, are enormous. We had a group of five, and we still way over-ordered. The fried calamari were some of the best I've eaten...very fresh and crisply fried. The penne vodka was outstanding. Besides tasting wonderful, it had the perfectly right amount of sauce. The linguine bolonaise and the chicken scarpiello were delicious. The only minor disappointment was,the broccoli, which I thought was a tad overcooked. We had a ftidge in our hotel room, and we will be enjoying this food for several days!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.