About Carmine's - Atlantic City

Brighton and the Boardwalk
2801 Pacific Ave.
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. If you are in the market for better than average family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30AM to 11:00PM
Friday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM
Saturday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM

Cross Street:
S. Iowa Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 572-9300

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine's classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door.
Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Call us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, Bar Mitzvah, family gathering, rehearsal dinner, anniversary, or Super Bowl party. We offer many menus and can customize.

Parking Details:
Valet parking available on Pacific Ave. Self park on Brighton Avenue Atlantic and Pacific Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Gotta

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the exciting Quarter at The Tropicana, New York’s legendary Carmine’s tradition continues. Carmine’s prides itself on being a family style establishment with large portions meant to be shared by family and friends. Old world values and exceptional service combined with fun and flair create the perfect atmosphere for your party. Carmine’s Atlantic City also offers a private dining room, valet parking, and a huge 25-foot bar. Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.

Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine’s family. We invite you to share Carmine’s style! Abbondanza!
Contact our Special Events Department at 609-572-9300, ext 827.

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Parmigiana
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Sunday Four Pasta Platter
Carmine's Salad
Veal Scallopine
Meatballs
angel hair pasta with seafood
Penne Alla Vodka
Fried Calamari
Baked Clams
Rigatoni Al Ragu
Stuffed Artichokes
Bread Basket
Chicken Scallopine
Roasted Peppers And Mozzerella
Penne Pasta
Porterhouse Contadina
porterhouse steak
Bread
Garlic Bread with Cheese
Chicken Parmesan
Shrimp With Angel Hair
Eggplant Parmigiana
Sauteed broccoli
Cheese Ravioli
Garlic Bread w/Cheese
garden salad
Rigatoni And Brocolli
Carmines Salad
Zuppa De Pesce Del Golfo
Meatball
Chicken Parmagiana
Cold Italian Hero
Titanic
Steak Contadina

Private Dining

Located at the Tropicana Casino’s Quarter, Carmine’s is a true NY tradition at the Jersey shore. Our award winning cuisine is served family style in the tradition of an Italian wedding feast. Private & Semi Private dining rooms seat 15-200 guests. Celebrate your next special occasion with Carmine's.

Carmine's - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City
2 More
Italian
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

good for groups (428)
special occasion (284)
fit for foodies (178)
See All
kid-friendly (108)
hot spot (106)
great for lunch (98)
romantic (91)
notable wine list (51)
neighborhood gem (50)
late-night find (43)
vibrant bar scene (28)
great for brunch (23)
scenic view (15)
great for outdoor dining (6)
Sort By:
Newest
4900 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Great for large groups.

Dined 6 days ago

Great for large groups.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Well worth the price. The se ...

Dined 6 days ago

Great food! Well worth the price. The service is excellent.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had such a lovely experience. Everyth ...

Dined 6 days ago

We had such a lovely experience. Everything from the bread basket to the chicken parm was so perfect and tasty. Honestly, it was the best chicken parm I have ever tasted! I have nothing bad to say about this place. Even the waitress and bus boy who packaged our leftovers were so nice and friendly to us. We had reservations and were promptly seated even though we arrived early. It was such a pleasant Father's Day and am hoping to return very soon for our next family outing :) thank you Carmine's!

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The food is always outstandingly consist ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food is always outstandingly consistent! We have never had a bad meal there.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is great and the atmosphere is ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food is great and the atmosphere is very friendly.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

The only negative issue I have was that ...

Dined 6 days ago

The only negative issue I have was that "Family Style" was supposed to be if you should run out of food on the plate, I thought they should have replenished what was empty. I was told there was an up charge for more of the same that I paid quite a bit for anyway.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We visit Carmine's every time that we ar ...

Dined 6 days ago

We visit Carmine's every time that we are in Atlantic City. We always have a large group. This visit we had 12 people. It was our least favorable / enjoyable. Although it was not to the point that we would not recommend to others. It was still a good experience. Our wait staff changed three times during our meal. Service was a little below our normal experience. We were also seated in a spot where the menus on the wall were hard to read for some. Food was very good as usual. Still well worth the visit.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The entire experience was phenomenal. Fr ...

Dined 7 days ago

The entire experience was phenomenal. From the food to our waiter, everything was great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carmine's NEVER Disappoints!!!!!! The p ...

Dined 7 days ago

Carmine's NEVER Disappoints!!!!!! The place is awesome from Bread to Bill

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food and very large portions. My ...

Dined 7 days ago

Great food and very large portions. My wife and I could not finish the meal. Drinks are good too. Two Italian martini's and you're set. Would recommend to a family or anyone looking for a good family style Italian restaurant while in Atlantic City but make reservations in advance.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 9. It was affordable a ...

Dined 7 days ago

We had a party of 9. It was affordable and nice because everyone shared food. Fast and friendly service.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went for my Son's graduation dinner. ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

I went for my Son's graduation dinner. I asked where he wanted to go and his answer was"Carmine's!!!!" He graduated 8th grade. I have two big, growing boys and I just LOVE the family style portions and we have always taken home leftovers. And actually they EAT them! I liked using the online reservations too. I was running around; forgetting to call and just time a look at Carmine's we sit and saw I could make a reservation, perfect! Definitely will use the Open Table in the future. Great meal always.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great customer service. Food well prepar ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Great customer service. Food well prepared and plentiful! Great for "family style" service!

food3
ambience4
service3
value2

This has not been our first visit to Car ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

This has not been our first visit to Carmine's but we feel recently the quality overall has decreased!! The prices reflect fine dining but the experience was not!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. Service was great. I ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Food was excellent. Service was great. I love this place! Want to eat here every day!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It's a family-style restaurant, and the ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

It's a family-style restaurant, and the portions were HUGE! it was just my husband and I. it would have been better if we had more people with us, or at least another couple. we had the chicken parm which was delish! my husband isn't a fan of salad, and they don't have "side salads" so if I wanted one, I would have to buy the family style salad which was like $20. same thing with the breadsticks, everything is such large portions, it's hard with just two people. the food was delish, and def worth it!

food3
ambience3
service4

Despite reservations 10-15 minute wait T ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Despite reservations 10-15 minute wait Though menus were available they had to be asked for especially since they wanted us to just read the wall which was a mural and we were seated directly beneath it. This would have required us to stand amongst tables on stand over seated customers eating their meals.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is delicious but the portions a ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

The food is delicious but the portions are really not suited for a small group. This would be better for a bigger group since it's all family style. Really tasty though and the wine list was extensive!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is always great and plentiful. Wai ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Food is always great and plentiful. Wait staff friendly and attentive. Yum!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We are from Connecticut and come down to ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

We are from Connecticut and come down to the Jersey Shore every June and Carmine's is always on our list. There were eight of us and the amount and quality of food was outstanding. Our waiter was was competent and fun !!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

So disappointed in our meal - I expected ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

So disappointed in our meal - I expected so much better tasting food! Chicken parm was nice and thin but the breadcrumbs overpowered the chicken so it was very dry and tasted of breadcrumbs not chicken. Requested more sauce and water so we could eat it. How do you mess up chicken parm?? It was so bad my college student didn't even want to take it back to school with her!! Never ever going there again! Service was fair prices average for area but so disappointed in quality (even saw neighboring tables leave a pitcher of sangria and a platter of food behind)

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Went to celebrate bday w friends for the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Went to celebrate bday w friends for the first time and was extremely happy w the food and since its family style the portions are huge The meatballs tasted home made!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

I have been to dinner several times at C ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

I have been to dinner several times at Carmine's and have always had an enjoyable time and tasty food. Dining area is comfortable and nicely decorated. I think it would be helpful to have a printed menu at the table, as the ones on the wall are often difficult to see. The family style servings are more than enough for 4 people, but if you are dining with just 2, you have no choice but to purchase too much food. It would be great if half-servings were available, as even the desserts are intended to share. This makes dining there rather expensive for a couple only.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the fried calamari!!! The huge port ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Love the fried calamari!!! The huge porter house steak with potatoes and sausage is amazing! It was my second time here and I have to say I'm definitely coming back again and again!! Yum!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My experience was pleasant. The food was ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

My experience was pleasant. The food was really delicious, but portion size was family style and was enormous for 2 people. This place would be great for a group of people. The wine was perfect too!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food and service was fantastic. We had s ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Food and service was fantastic. We had such a great time

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

This was far from our first visit to Car ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

This was far from our first visit to Carmines, and we were not disappointed! You do need a group of people to get the full experience, since the portions, served family style, are enormous. We had a group of five, and we still way over-ordered. The fried calamari were some of the best I've eaten...very fresh and crisply fried. The penne vodka was outstanding. Besides tasting wonderful, it had the perfectly right amount of sauce. The linguine bolonaise and the chicken scarpiello were delicious. The only minor disappointment was,the broccoli, which I thought was a tad overcooked. We had a ftidge in our hotel room, and we will be enjoying this food for several days!

food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Hit or miss; we missed

Dined on June 10, 2016

Slow service, food came out barely warm. It was unappetizing. Large party tables near us were extremely loud. Servers were absent after food came. The dining experience was disappointing. We cannot recommend the restaurant.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great Value for Group

Dined on June 9, 2016

Our group of seven ate here on a Thursday night. We were seated promptly, and I highly recommend reservations for larger groups. Every appetizer and entree is very large and meant to be shared. We had the caesar salad, calamari, and clams for appetizers with plenty left over. Our entrees were spaghetti and meatballs, linguini with white clam sauce, and, at the recommendation of our waitress, chicken contadina for our gluten-free/lactose sensitive diner. The last one was huge. There was something for everyone, and all left full and happy.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

It was a very busy Sunday. I brought my ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

It was a very busy Sunday. I brought my family to Carmine's for dinner. There were 7 of us . Aside from being seated across the kitchen door- the ambiance was noisy but very family - oriented. The food was excellent as usual . From the Calamari to our 4 pasta dish, shrimp scampi and Porterhouse steak. The strawberry shortcake was a big hit! Overall Carmine's never disappoint and I will always come back👍

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Top notch

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent choice in AC. Next to Cafe 2825, Carmine's is my favorite restaurant in AC. Huge portions and very good Italian food. Better suited for large groups or families as the portions are too much for one person. We will definitely be back!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fun Night Out

vip
Dined on June 4, 2016

I had forgotten how much food is served. Had dinner for a couple of extra nights! Was delicious as usual! The service was terrific - a very well trained staff!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Terrific. Particularly love this locati ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

Terrific. Particularly love this location. Food is better here than others.

food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Needed earplugs

Dined on June 4, 2016

I had been to Carmine's before, the food is very good and fresh, but the noise level in the dining room was unbearable. Along with my older in-laws everyone enjoyed the food but we couldn't hear ourselves talk. The room needs something to break up the openness and noise level. Except for that large negative, the food and service was above standard.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our group of 7 celebrated our friends engagement. The staff was awesome. Food was plenty, hot, and delicious. Couldn't believe the bill... Less then we thought would be. Had a great time.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4

Delicious food!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious food!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding

Dined on June 3, 2016

Outstanding food, service, ambiance, a great waitress Lisa. Ate there both Friday & Saturday !!!!!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We like the food - service and ambiance.

Dined on June 3, 2016

We always recommend Carmines to all our friends. We tell them if you want a nice place to eat and good food, Carmines is the place you want to eat. The waitress/waiters are extremely friendly and do a great job explaining the meals. Service is always more than expected. Our thanks to everyone for a good time.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

menu

Dined on June 2, 2016

menu should not be written on a large sign hanging on the wall, a menu should be placed in a persons hand... I had to stand up and go over to the wall where the menu was hanging, stand near a table of people and then go back and tell my friends what they had.. and the restaurant was way to dark! if they expect a person to read the menu off a wall, there should be more lighting in the restaurant... other than that, the food was great, the service was great.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Food is always terrific

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

Food is always terrific

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.