About Carmine's - Atlantic City

Brighton and the Boardwalk
2801 Pacific Ave.
Atlantic City, NJ 08401
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. If you are in the market for better than average family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Sunday - Thursday: 11:30AM to 11:00PM
Friday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM
Saturday: 11:30AM to 12:00AM

Cross Street:
S. Iowa Ave

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(609) 572-9300

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Enjoy Carmine's classics catered to the venue of your choice. Our off-premises catering services range from a small drop off and set up for 20 to a full scale, off-premises event for 2000. Our signature dishes, including Carmine’s famous Meatballs, Chicken Parmigiana, Veal Marsala, and Shrimp Scampi, will be delivered right to your door.
Carmine's Catering offers one-stop shopping. Call us for your next birthday celebration, office luncheon, Bar Mitzvah, family gathering, rehearsal dinner, anniversary, or Super Bowl party. We offer many menus and can customize.

Parking Details:
Valet parking available on Pacific Ave. Self park on Brighton Avenue Atlantic and Pacific Avenues.

Executive Chef:
Jeff Gotta

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Delivery, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Located in the exciting Quarter at The Tropicana, New York’s legendary Carmine’s tradition continues. Carmine’s prides itself on being a family style establishment with large portions meant to be shared by family and friends. Old world values and exceptional service combined with fun and flair create the perfect atmosphere for your party. Carmine’s Atlantic City also offers a private dining room, valet parking, and a huge 25-foot bar. Parties of 15 or more will choose from abundant, specially designed four course menus created by our Executive Chef.

Come celebrate your corporate event, rehearsal dinner, bachelor or bachelorette party, wedding or a just night out with old friends with the Carmine’s family. We invite you to share Carmine’s style! Abbondanza!
Contact our Special Events Department at 609-572-9300, ext 827.

Restaurant Photos

Shrimp Parmigiana
Shrimp Fra Diavolo
Sunday Four Pasta Platter
Carmine's Salad
Veal Scallopine
Meatballs
angel hair pasta with seafood
Penne Alla Vodka
Fried Calamari
Baked Clams
Rigatoni Al Ragu
Stuffed Artichokes
Bread Basket
Roasted Peppers And Mozzerella
Chicken Scallopine
Penne Pasta
Porterhouse Contadina
porterhouse steak
Bread
Garlic Bread with Cheese
Shrimp With Angel Hair
Chicken Parmesan
Sauteed broccoli
Cheese Ravioli
Eggplant Parmigiana
Garlic Bread w/Cheese
garden salad
Rigatoni And Brocolli
Carmines Salad
Zuppa De Pesce Del Golfo
Meatball
Chicken Parmagiana
Titanic
Cold Italian Hero
Steak Contadina

Private Dining

Located at the Tropicana Casino’s Quarter, Carmine’s is a true NY tradition at the Jersey shore. Our award winning cuisine is served family style in the tradition of an Italian wedding feast. Private & Semi Private dining rooms seat 15-200 guests. Celebrate your next special occasion with Carmine's.

Carmine's - Atlantic City Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Most Booked
Atlantic City / South Jersey Shore
Best Food
Atlantic City
3 More
Best Value
Atlantic City
Italian
Atlantic City
Most Booked
Atlantic City
Best Restaurants in Atlantic City ›

Good for Groups (520)
Special Occasion (343)
Fit for Foodies (229)
See All
Kid-friendly (164)
Hot Spot (125)
Great for Lunch (111)
Romantic (94)
Notable Wine List (60)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Late-night Find (48)
Great for Brunch (39)
Vibrant Bar Scene (33)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Scenic View (14)
Family Style (3)
Authentic (2)
Fireplace (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Healthy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
5166 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We arrived early for our reservation and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 2 days ago

We arrived early for our reservation and we were accommodated without question . Our server Gregory gave us a lovely and delicious cake decorated for our anniversary and we dined on very tasty food. I love Carmines !

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place to dine....love the atmosphe ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

Great place to dine....love the atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time and the service was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 3 days ago

We had a great time and the service was just excellent. The family style and portions were so much but we were able to take home what we did not finish and had yet another enjoyable meal.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Phenomenal experience with family style ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 3 days ago

Phenomenal experience with family style Italian cuisine. 10 out of 10

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Family Style, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was ridiculously rushed. probab ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

The food was ridiculously rushed. probably won't come back because if it. Our coures were served to us within 31 minutes in total. That's crazy. We had a 9:00 reservation not 7:00. There were no other people waiting fir tables and there were plenty of tables open. I've been there a lot and always notice how fast they serve the meals but this was ridiculous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We celebrated a 63rd wedding anniversary ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We celebrated a 63rd wedding anniversary for my in laws. Carmine's accommodated our request for a round table and they were very attentive to all of us, but especially to the honorees. Food was delicious and plentiful. You can never go wrong dining there.

Tags: Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

GREAT as always. Food and service is co ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 4 days ago

GREAT as always. Food and service is consistently exceptional in both AC and New York

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Carmines Atlantic City, hav ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 4 days ago

Always enjoy Carmines Atlantic City, have been going since they opened and will continue to enjoy in the future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

If you love food you'll love Carmine's ! ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

If you love food you'll love Carmine's !! There isn't a thing on th menu that isn't spot on delicious... Once you eat here you will never stop going back again and again and again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The best meatballs in the world!!!! The ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 5 days ago

The best meatballs in the world!!!! They taste just like the ones my grandmom used to make....

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We were downstairs which was very noisy. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

We were downstairs which was very noisy. I do not remember the jpstairs being so noisy.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great as always. The eggpla ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was great as always. The eggplant parm was delicious! Our server Nancy was very friendly and outgoing and was very accommodating to our group.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun was great! Had eaten at the Carmine' ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Fun was great! Had eaten at the Carmine's in NYC and wanted to compare. My only complaint was it was really noisy!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Hot Spot, Casual, Family Style, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

We love going to Carmines... food is usu ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined 6 days ago

We love going to Carmines... food is usually great... and it was this time too... except for the Shrimp and linguini dish in the red sauce that I usually get... sauce had no taste... like they poured water over the linguini and threw a couple of plum tomatoes in for color.... we also got the Chicken with Lemon and butter sauce (excellent!)... I mixed the 2 dishes together and it was much better that way... it was disappointing and I wish now that I had said something about it... I still think Carmine's is a great place... I'm hoping for a better experience next time...

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing, however our servic ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

The food was amazing, however our service was poor. We asked for more bread 3 times from 2 different employees and never got it. We also asked for a drink refill twice and again never got it. Our server came to the table only when it was required to such as to hand us the food. I understand the restaurant was busy but it seemed our server couldn't handle her tables. I made reservations for this restaurant before I even knew what hotel I was staying at, so the service was definatly a disappointment. I spoke to our server regarding our concerns and we were not given any accomendations to which I was surprised.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Great restaurant for Italian Food. One ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great restaurant for Italian Food. One of our favorites. Have been there many times and often recommend it to friends. Bar has great atmosphere and I think next time we come we'll try the High Tops in the Bar for a change of pace. One small complaint: NO SIGNS DIRECTING YOU TO VALET PARKING FOR THE RESTAURANT.

Tags: Fun, Sunday Lunch, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

I would have preferred a menu to be plac ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

I would have preferred a menu to be placed on my table and not depend on the giant version on the wall the lighting is too dark to read I was stretching and squinting my eyes just trying to find something to order this should be a spot light that shines directly on the wall. I wasn't happy with the cuts of chicken on the chicken parmesan they were sliced very thin and pretty dry.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

We visit the Atlantic City area every Su ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 24, 2016

We visit the Atlantic City area every Summer, and always eat at Carmine's. The food is well prepared and the service is excellent. It is also well located in the Tropicana Hotel. The ambience is warm, inviting and fun!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never disappointed with the quality of t ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Never disappointed with the quality of the food and value.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good Italian food served family s ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Really good Italian food served family style. We are never disappointed with the food at Carmine's.

Tags: Seasonal, Family Style, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We all shared our likes about our meals ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

We all shared our likes about our meals with other tables near-by. We have eaten at carmine's many times, we love the food& refreshments.

Thanks

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Carmines' is a great place to go with a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Carmines' is a great place to go with a large group to talk and have fun.

Tags: Family Style, Outstanding Value, Authentic, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We travel to Atlantic City several times ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We travel to Atlantic City several times a year and on every visit have at least 1 dinner meal at Carmines. We love the food and have had excellent service. One suggestion would be to go with more than 2 people since the entrees are large family style portions, so the more people you have the more of a variety you can order.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food was good but don't get the daily sp ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Food was good but don't get the daily special, it was way overpriced.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

On this particular visit to Camine's the ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

On this particular visit to Camine's there was some kind of special event going on, so at the onset the service was mediocre and the waitress was inattentive. After she 'went on break' and another waiter took over our table, all was well again and the Carmine's we all love was back on track. Delicious food, efficient and friendly waiters, and a lovely tug boat to finish our meal!! As always we came home with a scrumptious container of leftovers! All I can say is YUM!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

The service and atmosphere were great. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

The service and atmosphere were great. I always eat at this restaurant when I go to Atlantic City. We ordered the lasagna it was one of the best I ever had can't wait to go back and have it again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal! Assorted bread basket with d ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great meal! Assorted bread basket with dipping oil. Sangria, Fried calamari, chicken marsalla over linquini, bread pudding for desert. All served family style. Three of us could have fed 3 more. Service was prompt and accommodating. Calamari and entree came out piping hot and delish. We asked for the marsalla over pasta which was not on menu but charged $12 more. Well worth it! Warm bread pudding with chocolate filling. We made a reservation which was a good idea. Very busy. $180 for meal and tip.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a 4pm reservation. Not many guests a ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Had a 4pm reservation. Not many guests at the restaurant. Waiter service was very slow. Waiter explained that they were under staffed. Garlic bread was over cooked. Pasta was cold. Asked hostess to change channel at bar tv and put on olympics. She stated that bar tender was too busy. Have not had a good experience the last two times that we visited.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

As always we truly enjoyed our dinner at ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

As always we truly enjoyed our dinner at Carmine's. The food and service are always wonderful. The food is always hot and fresh. I never worry about bringing friends and family for the first time, or returning visits. I always know that we will all be extremely satisfied and everyone will enjoy themselves. Please keep up the great job! Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience was good and food was enj ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Our experience was good and food was enjoyable until everyone that ate became violently sick (2 guests only had drinks). Based on this, I will no longer recommend Carmines to friends.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value4

Not too thrilled with Saturday night's s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Not too thrilled with Saturday night's service. One woman in our party has medical issues and can only eat certain foods; basically plain food. She had called during the week (which I didn't know about) asking if they could prepare a piece of plain grilled chicken for her. The gentleman on the phone told her no, they don't make special meals for people with food allergies, medical issues. As we sat down, we asked the waitress what could be done. My head is still spinning because she spoke in circles stating we could add grilled chicken to any dish? Or just order a kid's entree of grilled chicken and plain pasta but wasn't sure if my guest could really do that because of the kitchen. It literally was a 20 minute discussion to agree that my guest could get a piece of grilled chicken for dinner. It was honestly the most ridiculous conversation I've ever had with a server. I've been in the service industry for 20 years so it's not like I'm just some person out for dinner on a busy Saturday night that never dines out. It was a simple answer: she could get plain chicken or she couldn't. I even offered to buy a 'family style' plate of grilled chicken. I've never in all of my years encountered a restaurant that doesn't deal with food allergies. According the ADA, if the ingredients is there and the request is reasonable, it should be done. Anyway, it took 25 minutes to get a basket of bread. Our appetizers came out before our first drink and the basket of bread. Service was slow; I get it. It's a busy Saturday night but still. Kind of turned off by the whole place. In the end, my guest ended up with a kid's portion of grilled chicken and plain gluten free pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

I had been to Carmines previously and ha ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

I had been to Carmines previously and had no issues with the portions, maybe I was just lucky or this Saturday night was an off night. I suggested Carmines because we could get reservations for the 6 of us on a busy summer night in AC. We were 3 couples who came in hungry from a long day at the beach. We placed orders for the special salad of the evening, Shrimp Fra Diavlo, Chicken Saltimbocca, and Penne Vodka. Let me be clear it was not the taste of the food, it was the portions. How can so many people have great reviews and talk about the portion sizes???? The waiter kept saying that 3 entrees would be fine…..SO we got 1 salad maybe should have gotten 2 orders but it is 35 dollars so you would think plenty big. You could have filled a saucer instead of a salad plate. Let me continue and again maybe our fault and bad choices, 12 shrimp in a fra diavlo sauce no pasta , does anyone suggest that 2 shrimp each is family style….by the way we’re all Italians. Next the chicken, I was told it is 12oz…so each small piece was 2 oz are you kidding me a pound of chicken is $4 …on top we all think they forgot the prosciutto. Thankfully the pasta dish helped fill our plates a little…if not we were in big trouble. I am not upset with anything but how we were misled about family style dinners….this is not the way Maggiano’s does family style. We left hungry and feeling disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Food was surprisingly good. Good qualit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Food was surprisingly good. Good quality. Prepared well. Reasonable prices for a large crowd.

It was a fun evening. Servers were knowledgable, helpful, and incredibly pleasant given the pace they work. We did not have to wait for our server to return for someone to help us. The entire staff in our seating area responded to our requests. The experience was pleasant from the time our reservation was made, through ordering a birthday cake and finalizing the evening. Go and have fun. It is not goumet food and it is noisey, but everyone let smiling and full.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Deb was amazing! Food was outstanding! W ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Deb was amazing! Food was outstanding! Went for a bachlorette party dinner and it was perfect for our group.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great carmine salad- fresh bountiful and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

great carmine salad- fresh bountiful and lots of meats and cheeses. Shrimp marinara was ok nothing special. Lasagna MEH! noodles overcooked. shapeless. no crispy edges. wouldn't order it again

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always love Carmines!!! However I usuall ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Always love Carmines!!! However I usually call for reservations, this time I used open table for 5:15 the hostesses looked fradazzled and had to wait until 5:50, whats the sense in making reservations???????????

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Staff is excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Staff is excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Food was delicious and plentiful.....ser ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Food was delicious and plentiful.....service was very good.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Very noisy restaurant, very dark with no ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Very noisy restaurant, very dark with not much décor, Huge plates much to big for two, dessert very limited. Very mediocre Italian food for the price. Service was good but it is serve yourself from the huge plate of paste that they leave in front of you! Even the Meatballs were mediocre. Won't be back at that price for that type of food.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

We came here to celebrate my husband's b ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We came here to celebrate my husband's birthday. Our waiter Eddie was great!!! Food was very good!! I will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.