Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

Noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (152)
Good for Birthdays (112)
Special Occasion (109)
See All
Comfort Food (96)
Casual (84)
Authentic (79)
Fun (76)
Good for Anniversaries (59)
Kid-friendly (58)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Worth the Drive (48)
Good for a Date (45)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Cozy (26)
Hot Spot (26)
Romantic (26)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Business Meals (21)
Bar Seating (18)
Tasting Menu (16)
People Watching (14)
Notable Wine List (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Late-night Find (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Good Vegetarian Options (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Happy Hour (6)
Spicy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Healthy (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Great Beer (2)
Live Sports (2)
Tapas (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3722 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined a day ago

Birthday good for large groups

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Very trendy restaurant and the food selection was very good

Tags: Quick Bite, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Great love Carmine’s

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

If you've never been to Carmine's you have to go, it is the best home style food you will ever get !!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I was in last night as a birthday treat, never experienced food like it. Amazing!!!!! A must for anyone! We traveled from Scotland UK as it was on a recommendation I was given via Facebook, so happy I made the booking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Even though I've been there before I was still surprised at how incredibly large the porch and saw her. Be prepared to share and to have lots of leftovers. Lucky us! We were actually staying in a hotel that had a refrigerator and a microwave. This all made for a wonderful midnight snack. The Caesar salad was one of the best I've ever had, the shrimp scampi was crazy good... garlicand buttery heaven... and while not necessarily my thing, the meatballs got rave reviews for their tendernesss! I will say I was a little disappointed in the bread basket. While it had a great selection, some of the bread choices were cold. Had the bread been warm, the meal would've been perfection!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I was expecting a phenomenal meal. It was so disappointing. I had a dish with the penne pasta and the pasta was under cooked. Our other order was the veal. It was tasty. But the worst part is that both dishes were so salty we couldn't enjoy but a couple of bites. We wanted that true Italian flavor. It was almost as if the base of your sauces was chicken broth. Very salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value2

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic waiter and amazing food. We cannot wait to return. What a gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Carmine's was great. Made a reservation and we were seated as soon as we arrived. Food was great and the portions also great!! Would definitely go again. Very busy place and quit loud.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 11, 2017

Out of all my times going to Carmine’s, this time was the worst. We were seated (party of 7) at a table that was sort of forced into a spot. My mother’s (the person we were celebrating) back kept getting bumped by servers and bus boys, so we had to manually move the table. Our server was late coming to our table and when he did come over to us, he spoke short. Manning plenty of tables, before we could finish order drinks he was already gone. Gone for so long I had to get up and find him to remind him that we’re waiting for him. As we’re ordering our server net asked if this was our first time at Carmine’s, as he reminded us of every price of what we were ordering. We finally ordered drinks. All the drinks didn’t come. The pain person who we were celebrating ordered a shrimp Parm with linguini. The linguini was hard because of not being stirred. Also we had to change waiters bc the service was that bad. Overall, this is by far the worst experience I’ve had at Carmine’s.

Tags: Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2017

They were extremely understanding with our reservations. This place can get be pretty busy even on a week night. So thanks so much to reservations for their help. Our waiter was so great: we almost adopted him. The food was very good as well. Here are my favorites: Shrimp Scampi( do U like baked clams? Then Fuhgeaboutit! Get this dish!), White Clams with Pasta, Chicken Scarpiello or the wings Scarpiello( lemon buttery deliciousness), the Fried Calamari ( was so soft and tender). I am drooling a little right now thinking of it. Love this place but you need atleast 3 people to make it worth while. Finally salad: every time I go to Carmine's this location and the one in times sq: The salad has too much acid for me. I like vinegar but, please!!, I can't taste the salad. Still love this place and my favorite Carmine's!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Live Sports, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on October 9, 2017

Visiting NYC and looking for last minute dinner. We were able to get in and completely worth the long walk after visiting Natural History museum all day.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 9, 2017

The food is always Delicious!!! Large groups should always make a reservation.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on October 9, 2017

One redeeming quality was the manager came to apologize for running out of romaine lettuce for Caesar salad and then we actually got the right salad. Even though went late and restaurant was only half full, the room was very loud and servers seemed confused at times. The portions were ridiculously large but they warn you. Food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Some say "Energetic," others say "Noisy!" There is a high-energy feel to this popular, crowded venue. Family-style dishes that never fail to satisfy, even if a bit mundane in the realm of Italian food. You go for the family feel, sharing from huge platters of well prepared middle-road Italian. The staff are excellent: friendly, efficient, smiling. Definitely make a reservation and don't be late. Have a drink or two at the bar while you wait for them to call your party.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Been going there off and on for years, excellent place, to hang out, talk, laugh, and eat, highly recommended

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Tasting Menu, Authentic, Casual, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

Our waiter David was great. We had my in-laws from Texas with us and he made them feel right at home.

Tags: Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Wonderful and plentiful food. Fantastic service. Multiple servers went out of their way to make us feel welcome. Very accommodating of members of our party with food allergies. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 8, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant ! I literally go for any ocasión and I celebrate every year my birthday here and anniversary too. Food is just amazing !!!!❤️

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Great food and service, but you have to be willing to put up with a huge volume of crowd noise and incredibly large numbers of customers. Very festive.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Waiter service was great. Had a reservation for 9 pm and was made to wait until 9:35 and the hostess was extremely rude. Would not return just because of that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Family style Italian. Lasagna is to die for.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Carmine's was the perfect restaurant to celebrate my family's double birthdays! The food was delicious and portions were HUGE! We ordered a mixed green salad, calamari, veal parm, and prime rib. There was plenty of food for everyone (8 people) and we even had leftovers. Loved the atmosphere. Service was a little slow but the restaurant was very busy. We would definitely come back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Carnine's has always been a go to place when dining with friends. Indeed it only makes to eat here with six or more people as it is family style to the max. You cannot go wrong with a Carmine's salad, a hot antipasto and two main dishes (this will easily feed six people). If that isn't enough you can do desert: tiramisu and bread pudding, but don't go swimming....for a week!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Casual, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Really tasty food, giant portions so it is recommended to go eat with a big party, 2+. The service was good. Too loud, but not too annoying.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Casual, Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 7, 2017

The maitre d' was somewhat difficult because we had a party of six, but two were stuck in traffic and she would not seat us until the whole party was there. We decided to sit down at a 4 seating table and start, but when the other 2 guests arrived she stated they now have to be put on a waiting list. We asked if they could just accommodate them at our table & she wasn't receptive to our request.

I spoke with the waiter upon realizing our table had extensions which transformed it from a square to a circle. He adjusted the table and brought two additional chairs for our guests. I'm not sure why she wouldn't assist us with such a trivial matter.

Regarding the food, the waiter informed us about the specials. One of them was the ziti w/chicken sausage, ricotta cheese, mushroom and mozzarella. We ordered that along with two other dishes and angel hair pasta. All of the food came except the ziti. The ziti took an additional 20-30 mins and the waiter kept on saying it will be out shortly. The ziti was primarily for me and other guest had practically finished their meals before I started eating.

Once the ziti came, I was disappointed in it since it didn't have much sauce or ricotta and didn't see any mushrooms within it. It was also a bit too salty, but at that point, I didn't want to send it back since we had an engagement to get to and didn't have time.

Overall, I do enjoy Carmine's, but this experience won't be one of the pleasurable moments.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Muy buen lugar para comida italiana. Porciones para 2. Ambiente informal, ruidoso. Servicio rápido y amable. Hay que reservar con anticipación. Esta siempre lleno.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on October 5, 2017

Have been here many times. This time the pasta was Not quite as hot as I like it. Must have been sitting around for a short time. Other than that it was
Fine

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 2, 2017

Staff was very attentive and helpful, and the food choices were great. Would definitely recommend to anyone looking for a nice dinner. We were having dinner with some visitors from out of town, and everyone enjoyed the food. Large portions!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Fun, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Another awesome meal at Carmine’s!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

My son really enjoyed his birthday celebration. Thank you Mr.Fersko!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Vegan, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Service was not good. The food was. We sensed as a party of 2 we were not as important as the larger parties. I felt like we were a bother to them.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Our first visit and it was great. Lots of food, lots of people - just like our big italian meals every weekend with family!

Tags: People Watching, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Went on a weekend so I knew it would very LOUD. But they put us in the party room behind the bar, which was great, less noisy!

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was fantastic and food was phenomenal , especially the special of the night , the stuffed salmon with the crabmeat stuffing and spinach. Should become regular item on the menu. Outstanding!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Great Beer, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

Very good food! Service is pretty slow (probably due to large crowds). Attention to guests not so good at all. Actually gave my wife’s birthday cake to the wrong table initially. Overall it’s good food decent pricing but very crowded and as mentioned the service needs either more employees or better training especially when you have a large party and a bill $600-$800 should get a little more attention it the parties needs. Overall 3.5 stars mainly due to service inefficiency.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Always good food and portions that are meant to share.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 29, 2017

Always a great experience. Best Veal Marsala every! Also delicious cannoli. We prefer the 91st location over Times Square.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 29, 2017

We really love italian food and had heard that Carmine's midtown was great, so we decided to give the upper west side location a try. It was ok, but the food was not very good - not authentic Italian. The portions were gigantic, but not very tasty. Quantity yes, quantity no. We started with a glass of pinot noir which tasted as though it had over heated. The appetizer of fried zucchini was gigantic, and very tasty - excellent. As an entree, we ordered veal cutlet and it was thick and tasteless, really rather awful. We also ordered rigatoni bolognese which was nicely cooked al dente, and had a tremendous amount of meat - yummy, but the meat sauce was very dry - not so yummy. We had to ask for extra plain sauce to add moisture. The place was also SO LOUD that I could not hear my husband speak, he had to shout. We might try the midtown location, maybe - hopefully, it would be better. Good service, the staff were very pleasant and we were seated promptly at our time of reservation, but the food just wasn't very tasty. Maybe other items on the menu would be better.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.