Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (205)
Good for Groups (132)
Special Occasion (124)
See All
Good for Birthdays (109)
Comfort Food (104)
Casual (93)
Fun (72)
Authentic (70)
Good for Anniversaries (70)
Good for a Date (58)
Outstanding Value (55)
Neighborhood Gem (54)
Great for Lunch (53)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Worth the Drive (48)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Kid-friendly (44)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Cozy (35)
Business Meals (33)
Romantic (33)
Historic (29)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Hot Spot (20)
People Watching (18)
Seasonal (18)
Happy Hour (15)
Bar Seating (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Late-night Find (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Tasting Menu (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Private Room (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Open Kitchen (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Healthy (5)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Dancing (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

Monday is chicken cacciatore night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Amazing! Wonderful food and great local .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Restaurant was very good ... Food was excellent. Would return again soon. Someone should check chairs. While I was pulling my chair in , the wood from underneath one of the chairs got into my hand. Had a splinter which wasn't fun. Staff offered to help, but there wasn't anything to get splinter out . Maybe get new chairs?

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

18th Birthday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

There were 6 of us so we ordered three dishes and their famous Caesar salad. The food was superb. Our friends, who were dining there for the first time, were blown away by the quality of the food. And the service? Well, later they said Charlie was the best waiter they'd ever had in any restaurant, ever. And I'd have to agree with that.

We had a wonderful time, at the best Italian food available anywhere, and left happy. Carmine's is a real New York Italian food experience. Don't miss it. Best time to go? Noon.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall everything was excellent! My family will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Overall we experienced a wonderful time. It was extremely busy, it was a Saturday, so we expected it. Service was a little slow, but at least I was able to get a reservation, I prefer W44 & Broadway location, but they could not accommodate us. But as always the food was superb, and to me that is what counts.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was disappointing.

We have eaten here several times, surprised our waiter barely paid attention to us.

Tags: Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was outstanding, the staff was very friendly, attentive and so downright GREAT!
75 mile trip to get there and can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Outstanding Value, Casual, Comfort Food, Authentic, Historic, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Food is, as always, in abundance. Giant portions. Best to order 2 dishes for 4 or even 5 people. Linguini and clam sauce is very good but much too much oil. All the other dishes were very good.

Tags: Fun, Historic, Casual, Good for Groups, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

The meal wasn't what I expected. The chicken parm didnt taste like chicken park. The cheese wasn't good. To each there own. Been there before and it was much better last time. Had an upset stomach for a day and half after eating there.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great place to gather, eat, and be merry. Food portions are huge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Always divine. Treated nicely. Come hungry and be prepared to share!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My daughter and I had a great time. The food was excellent . Our waitress was over the top great!!! The service from others was impressive. Every employee had a smile which was very welcoming . We shall return!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Attentive hosts, seaters and waitstaff. Authentic food served in family sized portions.... AWESOME!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 13, 2017

1st time at Carmine's the food was amazing, staff were all lovely, our server Andrew was so helpful & went out of his way to help my visually impaired Aunt find the restroom & make sure she got back to her table, would definitely recommend this restaurant & next time I come to New York Carmine's will be my first stop for dinner

Tags: Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

If you have a large family or you're celebrating a birthday, Carmine's has some unique advantages. All of its dishes are "family sized," which means they average $30 each and feed 4-5 normal appetites. No matter what the size of your party, ordering one dish per person will probably be too much food. For a party of 4, two dishes would be more than enough. I saw some slim young couples out on a date at Carmine's: how two people could pack away all that food without getting sick is beyond me. The restaurant is extremely busy, the dining room is very large albeit very pleasant in a retro way, and the noise level is deafening. Despite the fact that that our very sweet bus boy brought us the wrong entrée and told us it was what we ordered, our very efficient waitress caught the mistake early and brought out the right dish. Actually, given how incredibly busy the restaurant is, and how unwieldy the huge dishes are for the service staff to handle, service is one of Carmine's strongest points. The food itself is filling, very "home made" in style, and nothing too special. But there is a whole lot of it. Bottom line: I wouldn't go there with fewer than four people, six to eight would be a lot better.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We went for an anniversary. The food is amazing
May be a litle bit too noisy but it was on a Saturday night.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Overall the restaurant's ambiance and the price of the amount of food was fantastic! Great family restaurant! However, our waiter kept spilling our water on the table, and the busboy insisted on taking our plates and silverware when we weren't finished eating. Also, the bread didn't come with any butter.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Better make a reservation or you'll definitely have a long wait. Great food. Waiter wasn't the best -- got my drink order wrong twice. Also made a mistake with the food order, but nothing major. Seems like a nice guy.
My biggest issue was that a guest in my party left his gloves by mistake, so when we got home, I called to ask the hostess if anyone had turned them in. That call took more than half an hour ,and I was transferred to four different people. The second time I was transferred, I spoke to a very rude woman in the office who wouldn't let me finish my sentence before she interrupted me to tell me she wasn't the one I should talk to. I finally spoke with a very nice fellow at the host stand who didn't seem to understand how to write down my name, phone number and the description of the gloves. Our fault for leaving the gloves, but very poor customer service after the customer has left the building.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Awesome as usual!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Great food, great service and low wait time for your order. Expect to pay a premium $ for it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 11, 2017

When on the Upper West Side with a group, there is no better place than Carmine's. You can order a bunch and still have leftovers and the bill is never out of control. You must be a fan of tomato sauce and garlic, as there's not a lot of options without.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Outstanding food. Hearty family style portions. Always a good time. End dinner with the titanic dessert always a show stopper.

Tags: People Watching, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food! I felt like I was in Italy ! Excellent service and quality! I loved it.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great fun, fantastic food but hard to decide what dish to share as large portions and wanted to try several dishes. Great eating experience, friendly staff and energetic atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Casual, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 8, 2017

We brought our friends to Carmines for the first time. They couldn't stop talking about the food. Everyone loved it.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always consistent good food no matter what location you go to.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent meal. Love calamari n eggplant parmigiana.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was amazing. The only complaint I have is the table was very close to another table and we weren't to comfortable. It was a tide squeeze.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Tasting Menu, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The services and the food awesome

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

First time there recommended by a friend. And it was well worth it. Make sure your entire party is there to be seated. Such a nice environment, good food good service all around a great experience from the Hosts to the waiter to the cooks everyone was nice will be back

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent service. Family style dining with large portions made eating in the city easy with teenagers. The lasagna was amazing. Save room for dessert. Make a reservation and expect to wait.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Family Style, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Montreal)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Best Italian in the city!!! 12 of us, 4 adults 8 kids and everyone enjoyed it. Will go back again and again and again.

Tags: Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Always a good experience at carmines!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Decades later, the food is actually better...which I didn't think possible. Authentic Italian. Gregarious atmosphere. We'd stopped bring regulars because of the previous no reservations policy & 1-2 hour wait. What a pleasure to walk right in a have such an amazing dining experience.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Pasta is amazing! Potatoes were great. Veal was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We always do our girls get together here. Last time I was told I did not need a reservation and I did, so we had to go someplace else because they could not accommodate us due to party. This time, the waiter was the worst. He was unfriendly, unattentive, then he tried to rush us out. Was not happy with him., but the food was great as always.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The food is phenomenal and always leave with a doggy bag!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 27, 2017

The food is always good and the service is superb.

Tags: Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.