About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.3

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (179)
Good for Groups (127)
Special Occasion (117)
See All
Good for Birthdays (107)
Casual (88)
Comfort Food (88)
Fun (68)
Good for Anniversaries (66)
Authentic (65)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
Good for a Date (54)
Worth the Drive (53)
Great for Lunch (49)
Outstanding Value (48)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Kid-friendly (42)
Fit for Foodies (40)
Sunday Lunch (39)
Romantic (32)
Cozy (31)
Business Meals (31)
Historic (22)
Hot Spot (20)
People Watching (19)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Seasonal (18)
Bar Seating (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Notable Wine List (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Happy Hour (11)
Tasting Menu (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Private Room (7)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Healthy (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Handcrafted Cocktails (5)
Open Kitchen (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Tapas (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Dancing (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
3262 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Wait time was extremely long had reservations checked in 2 hours early and wasnt accommodated for early seating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were excellent as always. However, even though we had made a reservation in advance we (and others) had to wait 45 minutes to an hour for our table. It appeared that the restaurant had overbooked for the evening.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Didn't get seated until nearly an hour after our reservation even though our entire party was on time. Hostess appogized but no consideration was given and manager did not intervene / engage. Won't go again, I have never waited that long with a reservation at any other NYC restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

I had a reservation for 630 and waited on the check in line at 625. By the time I got to the hostess station it was 645. The hostess told me that because I was "late" they did not know when a table would be available and sort of brushed me off to the side. My reservation then waited until 730 to be seated. We also tried to speak to a manager but he also brushed us off and told us We shouldn't have been "late." Not very pleasant and personable as I thought a manager should be. Myself and my boyfriend were very put off by that.

Other than that, food and waiter were excellent. Waiter was attentive and took care of us. Would recommend going to the 42nd street location over this location.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The waiter was very inattentive and did not care about keeping us as customers. He never checked to see if we needed anything during dinner and didn't offer coffee or dessert. He did however take the time to talk with the customers at the next table, which was not his, and told them to let him know if they needed anything. We waited over 15 minutes to pay when people were waiting to be seated. He was very unprofessional and that was the worst experience I have ever had at Carmine's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was great and food was delicious. Would recommend it do everyone. Drinks were great also.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was hot when it reached the table,I was seat on time,I love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Always great to come back to Carmine's on 91st. Great food, less tourists than the original Times Square location.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Food is excellent, there's good spacing between tables, our waiter was fun to talk to and spent time with us. It's best to go with at least 4 people because the portions are so large that it's difficult to share unless you have the numbers with whom to share. That said, you'll have plenty left over for meals the next few days. Overall, highly recommended.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Open Kitchen, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Modern Decor, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Manja,manna,manja.Good eats and in abundanza. Plenty of food and still digging the wings of appy menu are always on point.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Our server was amazing, the food came out very quick and was perfect. Everything was just great

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Have been here many times, food and staff are excellent.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on February 14, 2017

I have been going to Carmine's for many years and always had great meals there! This was certainly a bump in the road! The baked clams have gotten so small you're not sure there is actually a clam in it! The Veal Saltimbocca was like cardboard! Not up to Carmine's standards! Certainly a let down on Valentines Day!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Great family style restaurant! I've visited several times and I'm never disappointed!!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Had an amazing Valentine's Day thanks to Carmines wonderful staff and delicious food.

Tags: Historic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Everything was amazing from the service, the ambiance, the staff, especially the food!!! The server was great he was very attentive of our needs and he got all our drink and food out fast. We will definitely come back again. This is our favorite place to hang out! 👍🏼👍🏼👍🏼

Tags: Casual, Family Style, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 13, 2017

I haven't been to Carmines in years . But when I came back for a special occasion it was awesome . The place was packed but we were seated in minutes (make reservations). Our waiter David was patient with us being that it was so much to choose from and his service was GREAT! Will definitely be back sooner than later.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Modern Decor, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Great family style service with huge portions for more than 2 . This place can handle large parties.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

It has amazing food that would be perfect for a family, couples, family gatherings, etc.

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Fun experience with Excellent food and service !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Okay people, its Carmines so expect the food to be 8/10 at worst. I am EXTREMELY ANGRY at the service. In the 6 years I've gone to Carmines in Atlantic City, Times Square, and now for the first time on 91st. I've received prompt service. Manny however at the 91st location was a disaster. Not to mention they seated us in a hard to reach location. So I cut him some slack there. But not once did he check on us for beverages or ANYTHING. Not to mention the contempt the man had towards me when I called him over. I get it, it was just me and my Fiancée so you lost out on thoes bigggg table tips. I don't give a damn however you lowered the bar on a fantastic resturant and quite frankly. I WISH I DIDN'T TIP YOU! The resturant was slammed that day but not excuse. 91st location is very well staffed you just decided to ignore us and get us out the door asap. Also to the manager (I assume) that I asked to retrieve the waiter. Thanks for nothing, I had to shout to get his attention which was really uncomfortable. Do youself a favor, go to the Times Square location.

Tags: Family Style
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

One word. EXCELLENT!!!!

The food was awesome! Had a great time with friends just getting together. Feels like home. You just don't want to leave. The best in NYC.

Tags: Special Occasion, Healthy, Authentic, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Simply amazing a great meal from start to finish, we will be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great family place, great food and great price! Worth the trip to NYC from Long Island.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Family Style, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This was HORRIBLE. I had a reservation and we were seated right away. However we waited 25 minutes before a server even approached us. We did not receive water until 45 minutes after being seated AND WE HAD TO STOP SOMEONE AND ASK FOR IT. I still do not know who our actual server was because we never spoke to him. I asked the manager for bar drinks and he had someone bring them over. I will not come back to this location. After being seated we finally ate after 1 hour and 15 minutes because the service was so HORRIBLE.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great food great drinks great service.

Awesome place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual, Family Style, Gluten Free Options, Romantic, Healthy, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Way too much food for two people. Felt like such a waste. Food was okay but not great. I would have liked to have ordered dessert but knew it would have been too big to eat between two. Doubt I would go again but if I did I would only return with a large group.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Food was great and the service was awesome. We went there to celebrate my birthday. Will definitely go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Great service, food was amaking & meal came out fast.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Disabled Access, Family Style, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

Carmine's never disappoints! I always recommend it to my friends!

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Fun, Authentic, Historic, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 8, 2017

As always, Carmine's is my 'Go To' restaurant for all things 'family'. My family loves Carmine's food, the dish sizes are accommodating for large gatherings, if not, leftovers are awesome.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was excellent, the restaurant was a little noisy for my liking but not too bad. We arrived during a shift change but both waiters fully met our needs. Be aware though, food portions are not for only one person for any course. We left with full stomachs and enough left overs for five more people... you will not be disssapointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We were seated over 10 minutes after our reservation time; but once seated the food and service was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Amazing loved it

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Not a great date spot- portions way to big for two people interested in trying many things

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

The place was packed to capacity, with a line out of the door, and now I know why. The food was awesome, the atmosphere was great, and the prices are reasonable. I will definitely visit again and soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

We always really enjoy the food at Carmines! I've been to Carmines often, and this was the first time I was unimpressed with the service. The service once we were seated was great! We had a reservation, and when we arrived we were told that our table was just paying. 20 min later, there was no update. When I asked the hostess told me a few more minutes. After another 10 min or so I asked again. Then the hostesses told me to bring my whole party up from downstairs. After we squeezed by everyone waiting, they told us they were still checking on the table. After a few more min, we were finally seated. I understood that the restuarant was very busy so waiting was not a big deal. The problem was basically being told our table was ready when it wasn't.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Showed up at 6:25 for our 6:30 reservation and wasn't seated until after 7. Sat at a table where the water didn't come until I had to go ask who was supposed to be helping. Took asking for silverware four times before I finally stole it off a nearby table. Watched the waiter have a fight with the table beside us over how he screwed up their check. He forgot to put our order in so we sat there almost 45 minutes waiting to get our food. The only saving grace was when I spoke to the manager he offered to comp our meal. If I hadn't been before I would never go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Over all we thought out experience at Carmine's was very good great service great food and the price was on par for NYC just a little on the noisy side

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Stopped for dinner on way to Broadway for play. Never disappointed! Great service. Large portions! Amazing taste! Looking forward to my return trip q

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Terrific evening with college friends. Great ambiance, terrific service, delicious food. Highly recommend. We were there for over 4 hours catching up, laughing etc. Nothing but great things to say about it!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food was delicious, service was incredibly attentive and the portion sizes are family style. The prices may seem high but they definitely aren't because the order feeds 4-6 people! I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Best place for a large group. We had 9 people - all old friends - and chose to do lunch instead of dinner. It was such a success, we plan to get together again every month at Carmine's. The service was attentive and the food never disappoints.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Always a great time at Carmines. Probably the best Ceasar Salad in NYC.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great service and food is good as usual.

I would recommend this for a family or even a date or a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place to eat with friend or family. Food and service was excellent, one of my favorite places too eat. Love my cocotail too, frozen berry Cosmo mmmm. Must go ,lots of food.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Had a great time celebrating my birthday will come back again

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Reservations were honored right on time. The food quality was good a bit crowded but not an issue once you are seated

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The service was awful

We would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I was very dissatisfied we booked this reservation a month ago the restaurant called to confirm the same day everyone in the the party was there and we checked in promptly at the reservation time 7 PM when we were not called after 20 minutes we went back to find out what was going on after standing in the very crowed bar we were told we would be seated soon after 45 minutes we went back to the desk and were told they had no record of us checking in The restaurant although an experience is certainly not worth the wait nor the cavalier attitude

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.