About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (309)
Special Occasion (218)
Fit for Foodies (135)
See All
Kid-friendly (129)
Neighborhood Gem (128)
Great for Lunch (82)
Hot Spot (59)
Romantic (47)
Late-night Find (41)
Great for Outdoor Dining (38)
Notable Wine List (28)
Great for Brunch (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (26)
Scenic View (5)
Family Style (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Cozy (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2725 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Salty Food, Noisy Crowd, but can't beat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Salty Food, Noisy Crowd, but can't beat the Value.

Despite all the negatives, we keep going back because the huge portions and the fun environment allows you to overlook the mediocre quality food and the need to scream to your table mates to be heard.

We'll always go back whenever we have a large dining party to celebrate something.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

I think this place is not quite what it ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 4 days ago

I think this place is not quite what it used to be. I took my brother to lunch for his birthday on a Sunday, forgetting that the menu is targeted to group purchases, so $28 for an order of eggplant parm (appetizer sized) and $35 or so for chicken Marsala (which as a vegetarian I wasn't sharing). The eggplant was good, but not fabulous. He liked the chicken. It was nice to send him home with leftovers, but I would only go there again with a much larger group, and there is not that much for vegetarians. Service was a bit slow although it was not crowded, and we had to ask for bread and then ask again for oil/butter. Traditional decor and the room seemed child-friendly.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

My wife is on a low carb diet!! It would ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife is on a low carb diet!! It would be nice to have some of the new low carb pastas or salad alternatives! You can not get any smaller plates for special dietary restrictions. We love your food!! My son wants to come each time we are in town!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

The food was amazing! Is always packed a ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was amazing! Is always packed and there are always big groups. So is a good place for a birthday, however is usually very loud and the staff is always moving around and you don't get as much attention as you might want. But is still a great place for a big group and the food is delicious.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Amazing place! Manicotti was to die for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing place! Manicotti was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Brought out of town guests. Had a great ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined 5 days ago

Brought out of town guests. Had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The restaurant was very loud, food took ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The restaurant was very loud, food took too long to arrive and the day after all of us suffered from stomach aces.

We will never come back to this place.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

Very noisy, food was average. Wouldn't g ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Very noisy, food was average. Wouldn't go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

Food was good for a child friendly meal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Food was good for a child friendly meal in NYC. Salad and food servings were plentiful and tasty.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Everything was well. Except Pasta was ab ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was well. Except Pasta was abit undercooked and food was Salty.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great for families. No so much for dates ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Great for families. No so much for dates because of the noise

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun, family-style restaurant. A little n ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Fun, family-style restaurant. A little noisy. Excellent pasta and bread

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Carmine's never disappoints! The authent ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Carmine's never disappoints! The authentic Italian dishes served in generous, family size portions are great for a small group, especially when you want to sample more than one dish. Charming, old-world décor is comfortable and relaxed. Servers are always helpful and accommodating.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great dining experience! The food and ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Great dining experience! The food and service was exceptionally fantastic. I highly recommend this restaurant for group style dining. Thank you, Carmine's.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

great time at this restaurant and food w ...

 
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

great time at this restaurant and food was delicious!

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious. Our waiter was p ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was delicious. Our waiter was perfect. We had the pasta and fish specials. All the service was excellent. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is always good but the service ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The food is always good but the service is very below average. (We had the same (bad) experience the last time we were there.)

There were only 2 of us dining and we had to keep asking the waiter to take our order and after ordering 1 very simple dish, we had to keep asking what was taking so long. We sat at our table for over 90 minutes from the time we sat down to when our food (1 order of penne vodka) FINALLY arrived. It is only because I enjoy the penne so much that I overlook the bad service. Otherwise, I definitely would never come back.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

My siblings and I made reservations for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My siblings and I made reservations for dinner for my father's birthday on Sunday, August 14th. We were seated in an area we were not happy with and that's when the Manager Steve came to the rescue. His professionalism and kindness to make sure we were comfortable with our seats was amazing! He went above and beyond for my family and we greatly appreciated his hospitality. Our server, Rahim was the BEST!! We had such a great time and he knows how to do his job VERY well. He was attentive, courteous and hysterical. This is one of my family's favorite restaurants and I was beyond happy that my father enjoyed every minute of his day. I can't thank Steve and Rahim enough!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Couldn't enjoy my food. The restaurant w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Couldn't enjoy my food. The restaurant was extremely hot!

I ended up packing my food to go and eating it on my boat. I did inform the manager of the temputure but unfortunately that wasn't a help.

So disappointed because Carmine's has fantastic food.

Tags: Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service2
value3

We were stuck in a corner, air condition ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We were stuck in a corner, air conditioning was barely working and no fans were provided. The food was nice and the atmosphere good but it was exceedingly hot and uncomfortable and difficult to enjoy the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

I like the food at Carmine's .The specia ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

I like the food at Carmine's .The specials are good. The pasta either needs to cost less or plain pasta needs to accompany the meat dish. You leave the place spending a pretty penny but realize she spent a lot for a little bit of food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went there with a party of 16 from Ca ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went there with a party of 16 from California for a special occasion. We loved everything about it. From the wonderful accommodating staff, to the delicious food, to the old school Italian ambiance. My husband was in the restaurant business for 10 years in San Francisco and we are foodies. We were not disappointed! Carmine's is awesome!

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great, the portions were huge n ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Food was great, the portions were huge never seen before, highly recommend

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Fantastic find. Typically we eat @ the o ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Fantastic find. Typically we eat @ the one in Times Square/Broadway, but my wife and I decided to venture outside our comfort zone. This location (compared to the one in Times Square) offers the same fantastic food and service, but we got our food in about 50% less time (a plus!) We will likely go back to this location on our next trip to NYC.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going to Carmine's for many ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We have been going to Carmine's for many, many years whenever we go to NYC. We have never, ever been disappointed. Having recently been diagnosed with celiac disease, I was overjoyed with their gluten-free pasta!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Worst service andrude waiter to add. Ou ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Worst service andrude waiter to add. Our was because of that guy. Find place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

The best Italian food out there! Love lo ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

The best Italian food out there! Love love love Carmine's and it's perfect portions for sharing. I had tomato bread to start off and then followed with the house special salad - nice mix of tangy and sweet. After that I had the mixed seafood pasta in red sauce with angel hair pasta...Amazing!!!

I've been coming to Carmine's for over 15 years and the only thing I can say is come hungry and make a reservation or be prepared to wait! Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmine's is a very special kind of rest ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Carmine's is a very special kind of restaurant. It's old school interior makes you feel as if you're apart of history. The food is classic and scrumptious. The food is served family style so make sure you come with empty stomachs!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food; tremendous portions; gre ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Delicious food; tremendous portions; great ambiance; and a generous doggy bag to boot!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are from San Diego and travel often t ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

We are from San Diego and travel often to NYC. have enjoyed pre-Broadway dinners at the Times Square Carmine's in the past but since we weren't seeing a show this particular evening and the Times Square Carmine's was booked, we decided to head up to 91st. While this location appears smaller and has a less open floor plan than the TS location, the food and service did not disappoint. One might expect that serving as many people as they do and with dishes so big, the quality would suffer but rest assured, this is a solid and hearty (and heavy) Italian meal that should be part of everyone's time in NYC.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great Asian food funky atmosphere very a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Great Asian food funky atmosphere very attentive service expensive but worth it

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

I was visiting my son who lives in NYC. ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

I was visiting my son who lives in NYC. Wanted to eat at Carmines but couldnt get reservation at W 44th location . Food was wonderful but the server treated us horrible. He dedicated his time to his other tables and totally ignored us. We had a birthday and he didn't do anything for the person with the birthday while everyone around us was being recognized for their birthday. It was offensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We had nine people coming for lunch, wit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

We had nine people coming for lunch, with most are first time tourists in NYC. I picked Carmine's in UW Broadway to avoid the crowd. We ordered salad, Beef tenderloin and Penna. the dish sizes are huge. Everyone liked the dishes so much. We will definitely come back again!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My favorite spot for any occasion . Grea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

My favorite spot for any occasion . Great food and service. All the basic Italian dishes such as calamari ,chicken parm Caesur salad and yummy desserts. Family style with big portions of delicious food

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go to Tony DiNapoli's Instead! Initially ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

Go to Tony DiNapoli's Instead! Initially the experience was ideal, great gentleman waiter with great service. At some point he informed us we would have a different person attending our table, a waitresss. Unfortunately she was not properly attentive at all. When she asked for drinks she left mid-sentence of my order and it didn't come back as I'd like. Obvously because she left while I was still speaking. The bread basket lingered forever and the water pitcher always remained on my table and in my way in fact. However, our actual meals they were eager to remove. It was around 4 pm on a Tuesday, it's not as if you're closing up. Ridiculous and a total waste of money in comparison to the service we received. I will not go here or recommend it to anyone. I prefer Tony DiNapoli's instead same concept better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Carmines is a New York gem. We go often ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Carmines is a New York gem. We go often to celebrate birthdays, graduations, or just enjoy a large group of friends.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

The food was delicious, the portions are ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was delicious, the portions are generous, the staff was polite. The only draw back was the volume, it was very loud inside, and hard to have conversations.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

They certainly give you a lot of food fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

They certainly give you a lot of food for the money. We ordered one entree, one salad and one dessert and took home enough food for dinner the next night. There were four of us. The only negative was they sat us next to the kitchen door. There should be no table next to the kitchen door at any restaurant.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

Food was a disappoint. Poor service. I w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was a disappoint. Poor service. I would not recommend this location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

Food was great as always but service ver ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Food was great as always but service very slow. Tables are very crowded together. Noise level very high.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.