Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (168)
Good for Birthdays (123)
Special Occasion (116)
See All
Comfort Food (93)
Casual (89)
Authentic (82)
Fun (71)
Good for Anniversaries (61)
Neighborhood Gem (56)
Worth the Drive (50)
Good for a Date (50)
Fit for Foodies (48)
Pre/post Theatre (38)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Great for Lunch (30)
Hot Spot (28)
Romantic (28)
Cozy (27)
Business Meals (25)
Creative Cuisine (21)
Family Style (20)
People Watching (19)
Bar Seating (16)
Tasting Menu (16)
Great for Brunch (13)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
Late-night Find (12)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Happy Hour (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Notable Wine List (5)
Seasonal (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Spicy (3)
Historic (3)
Quick Bite (3)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Scenic View (2)
Live Sports (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
3617 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined a day ago

Great food and service. Def be back for more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined a day ago

Greg service was great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We were there celebrating my wife's birthday with our sons and their girlfriends. Had a wonderful time with great food and service. A very lively happy crowd made the entire experience a fun wonderful night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

Carmine's always delivers. Best with a large group, try not to over-order! The food always hits home. Great caesar salad, linguine with clam sauce, egglplant parm, chicken scap, you just can't go wrong here. Fun, rockin', and relatively inexpensive if you order right!

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We were there to celebrate our daughters birthday. Waiter was friendly, but food was just ok . Nothing spectacular.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Was offered water from a bottle was not told we had to pay for it or that there is water in a jug for free. Also informed waiter its my mom birthday. The whole restaurant sang happy birthday to everyone else no one came to our table to sing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I'm a regular customer at carmine, but my experience on my last visit, was not great. I had a reservation at 8 30pm, we were seated on time, but no one came over for 20 minutes. A table near us seated 8 people arrive 5 minutes after us and was served already, (we were party of 3), I had to call the mana on duty that gave me the look, finely, 30 minutes after we set down, we got service.
Our meals arrived exectly 1 hour since we set down and they were no hot.
I don't believe I'll be coming back to carmine in the upper west side soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing place! Great family style meal! They noise level was loud, but loved the energy!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was disappointing compared to other 10 times I've been there , usually in past visits we had some help serving , this time food was just plopped on table with our waiter no where yo he found

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Family went to see a play, Wicked, than Carmines was highly recommended, and we were not disappointed. Had a great meal with a lot of left overs.

Josephine

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Do yourself a favor and order the fried zucchini appetizer! It's amazing. Prices are not bad considering dishes feed 4-6 people. Everything was outstanding!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

It's only worth going if you have a largish group of people. Note, the food is a tad to salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Overall, it was a good experience. The food was good but the bread was cold. It would have been better if it was warm. The waiter was nice. We had a great time and I would take my family there.

Tags: Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Had a great time celebrating my birthday at carmines with my family. Great food!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This is our grandson's favorite restaurant so we HAVE to go there every time he visits. Always good.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

Wonderful staff. Wonderful food. Wonderful service! Everyone we came across there was positive and was the epitome of customer service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

I had my 30th birthday dinner here and was late for my reservations. Not only did they still accomodate me and my large party they provided excellent service all night. The whole restaurant told me happy birthday. My party lasted about 3 hours and not once did I feel rushed or unwelcomed. I would highly recommend this restaurant it was my first time here and the food was on point!!! So good.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Enjoyed the delicious pasta dishes as usual! Great service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Just love this place!!always a great time and great service

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

As always, Carmine's food never disappoints! We asked to move pur table because we were right now a Busby station and There seemed to be some confusion as to who our waiter was but once that was sorted out it was amazing.

Tags: Comfort Food, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 11, 2017

The food is always so delicious, best going with a group so you can taste a few dishes, since it's family style. Fried calamary is my favorite.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Food was loved by all. We enjoyed the strawberry shortcake tower. I will definitely come back.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

The service and food was wonderful.
Never disappointed when I go.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 7, 2017

It was my friends first experience and they loved the food!! Only thing we didn't care for was the cheesecake!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 6, 2017

My review is in Photos. I couldn't upload it any other way. Please publish it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Tasty food at a comparatively reasonable price. Noisy but fun. Very good for larger parties.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

First I will say I feel I'm wasting my time writing this review as Carmine's seems to be the place that gets its business from hype and not quality so I don't expect anything to change. Had a reservation for 7:30 after much confusion from the two confused hostesses we were sat at 8pm. They had me walk to the dining room behind the bar. Told to wait a sec and she never came back. Had to walk up the stairs to get service and was met with attitude. Once seated our waitress was the slowest and non detail oriented person. We were a party of three; two adults and a teenager. We had silverware for two and one cup in the table.We asked for a third set, 15 min later she brings it. Says she will bring water. A guy brings out cold bread. Still no water or bread plates. She brings a pitcher of water 15 minutes later. We order calamari appetizer. They bring the food without small plates. 3 minutes later we get plates. We ordered chicken parmigiana as our main. The food arrives and after a couple minutes she comes by and asks if she can serve us. I only said yes to have her actually make herself useful. Our teen ordered lemonade. When finished she just took her glass and didn't ask if she wanted a refill. The final minor detail when the bill came she didn't give us mints like every other table received. It's not about the mint but about the standard. I will NEVER dine at Carmines again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Good as usual. Never disappointed. Love the shrimp scampi.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Food wasn't as good as last time I visited. Sauce was very salty, meatballs didn't have much flavor. The calamari was excellent, glad to say. Hoping it was just an "off" day because I really like this Carmine's location.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 4, 2017

The food was great but not the service. Not sure if it was the waiter or that they were understaffed. Had to call the waiter over 4 times.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 2, 2017

I liked the allergy menu but unless you have a large party most dishes are enough for four people with one side and no apps. I am a vegetarian so everyone had to eat what I could which limited others . I am also allergic to garlic. Our service was excellent, we were in the quiet room downstairs so that was fortunate.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 1, 2017

Everything was good except our young waiter. He was distant, unattentive and had 0 personality. However, we've been there before, and the service has always been good.

Tags: Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 31, 2017

We went together as a bunch of folks who had just met during a business gathering at Columbia University. We left as great friends. This food really brings people together!

The food was just fantastic. We are already talking about when we should go back.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Serveurs très agréables, souriants et compréhensifs !
Les plats sont de bonne qualité et l'ambiance est au rendez-vous.
J'y retournerais sans hésiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on July 31, 2017

Love this place .
My family enjoyed to the fullest .
Great staff and the food was super good

Tags: Special Occasion, Authentic, Casual, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Overall good but they were out of the Sunday pasta special which we wanted. I had made my reservation through Open Table and stated it was a birthday celebration but we never had dessert because they were also out of Tartuffo so never sang happy birthday. Not happy about that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Ended up being disappointed.
Been there at least 50 times in the
Seated at the last table right outside the kitchen and within 1 minute two workers brushed our backs and never even stopped to apologize.
Asked the teenage male that sat us to move us to another table and he said he would but didnt but for the next 5 minutes we watched him seat other people.
Finally a food server asked us why we were standing and he took care of us quickly. helpful food server We are accustomed to being served very large portions at Carmines and last Sunday we had the same expectations. That did not happen.
Ordered eggplant parmigiana which was barely enough for 2 people.
Ordered veal saltimbocca but before we ordered it we asked the waitress if it was the veal dish that had prosciutto and mozzarella and spinach. She said yes it was and it’s delicious but it’s not true about the prosciutto and mozzarella. It came in a dark brown sauce that was very salty and sautéed spinach and only 5 small pieces of veal.
Ordered the salmon with clams and mussel’s special with a side of angel hair pasta that we asked for on the side but it was delivered under the fish. We knew the fish was a special and not priced so we asked in advance how much the salmon special was and she told us $49.95. We were charged $63.95. We didn't think to ask about the side of pasta but we were surprised to see we were billed $14.95. If we had known that we could have ordered it with calamari sauce for another $4.00.
Asked if the salmon was wild and she said she knew it was wild. We avoid farm raised fish but we are certain our order of salmon was farm raise because of the light pink color and blander taste which is. We also ordered Carmines Montepulciano wine which was light and seemed watered down which I told the waitress about and she said she would bring another order of it but she never did. It is going to be awhile before I ever go back to either location, if I ever do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was very good but service was not. We were forgotten about and never had a server for our table. We had to keep getting up or ask waiters as they were going by to get something we needed. We always had to ask for our refills and not once did anyone ask how it was or if we needed anything. We were very disappointed.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

We enjoyed the food as always!
We were seated at our reservation time.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.