About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (172)
Good for Groups (132)
Good for Birthdays (110)
See All
Special Occasion (104)
Comfort Food (89)
Casual (86)
Fun (71)
Authentic (67)
Good for Anniversaries (65)
Neighborhood Gem (61)
Good for a Date (56)
Worth the Drive (51)
Kid-friendly (50)
Pre/post Theatre (46)
Great for Lunch (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Outstanding Value (40)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Cozy (30)
Romantic (25)
Business Meals (25)
Hot Spot (24)
People Watching (21)
Historic (19)
Seasonal (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Bar Seating (17)
Great for Brunch (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Private Room (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Late-night Find (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Gluten Free Options (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Healthy (5)
Quick Bite (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Great Beer (3)
Dancing (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Tapas (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Sports (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Spicy (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
3186 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service is excellent! Food portions ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 3 days ago

The service is excellent! Food portions are family style, well seasoned and well cooked. My only advice is to make the drinks stronger, lol.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The settings and the friendliness of the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

The settings and the friendliness of the waiters. The abundance of food for the price. The drinks are superb. The salmon over linguini was excellent! Let's not forget the calamari!!!

Tags: Fun, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Carmine's is a fun dining experience and ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Carmine's is a fun dining experience and food is very good. However of late it is so crowded that of late last couple of visits had very long waits for main course.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Always busy. MUST make reservation at le ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 4 days ago

Always busy. MUST make reservation at least a week in advance. It will always be noisy. cant get around it. Food to pricing, good value

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The food and service were excellent. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were excellent. The portions are huge. It is too crowded and difficult to get reservations because of the sheer number of people wanting to eat there. The noise levels make conversation difficult.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

The food and the service was great, howe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and the service was great, however we had reservations for 9am but were seated at 9:45pm. It was upsetting because when you call to make the reservations they stress the fact you need to get there early for your reservations, however they can not stick to the reservations. I understand this is a busy restaurant but when we are being told the party before us has paid 30 minutes before our arrival but does not leave is unacceptable. I would had appreciated if the staff could have given me a reasonable time frame when I asked about the wait time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Took the boyfriend here for his birthday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Took the boyfriend here for his birthday and it was both our first time there and both very impressed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Probably wasn't an off night the pasta w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Probably wasn't an off night the pasta was a little overcooked and they took an extraordinarily long time compared to usual to serve us we had to wait about 30 minutes which is much more than usual

Tags: Family Style, Casual, Authentic, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value4

Delicious food. Enormous portion. Friend ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Delicious food. Enormous portion. Friendly staff. Seating is a little tight . Overall a great dining experience!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Very long wait. No place to wait comfort ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Very long wait. No place to wait comfortably. Food was good.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Carmine's is one of the worst Italian re ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Carmine's is one of the worst Italian restaurants I've been to in the past five years. First time here with my family and we absolutely hated it. The food was extremely salty and mediocre and the service was one of the worst that I have ever experienced. We will not be returning in the future.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

My family has an annual outing at Carmin ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

My family has an annual outing at Carmine's and we usually enjoy the food. Our entrees were extremely salty this time.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Absolutely love this place. The portion ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Absolutely love this place. The portions are huge, and the food is very tasty and authentic. Service was excellent and the drinks are really good as well. The titanic dessert was to die for. I will definitely be going back.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Business Meals, Authentic, , Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was my first time at Carmines. It w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

This was my first time at Carmines. It was my birthday. My family and I really enjoy it. It's a great place with LOTS of great food!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole experience from parking to des ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 11, 2017

The whole experience from parking to dessert was fabulous !!! Parking was easy, Food was delishous and the service was fantastic and helpful. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Casual, Great for Lunch, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was good, as usual. Busboy was exce ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Food was good, as usual.

Busboy was excellent.

We asked what specials were. I wasn't sure the waiter was going to tell us or not.

Maybe we didn't give him a chance to tell us.

Basically, our waiter was fair at best.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

I recently went to Carmines on Saturday ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

I recently went to Carmines on Saturday for my husband birthday. Our waiter was the greatest waiter I ever had. He made us comfortable, he told us specials made jokes. He made our night. His name was Raheim. Our meal was beyond GREAT! Everything was perfect, being working parents it's hard to have a night out. Saturday we was hit with a snow storm. We wanted a nice dinner to relax & we got that at Carmines.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Fun, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a pleasure and treat at carmines ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Always a pleasure and treat at carmines we love it!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We scheduled our dinner for 6:30 and we ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We scheduled our dinner for 6:30 and we were seated right on time. Service was timely and efficient. We had 4 children under 14 who enjoyed the choices available to them and especially the desert we purchased. Overall a great place to eat and enjoy an evening with the family.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time and would love t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a wonderful time and would love to come back. Had so much food that we were able to take some home.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Overall, the food we ate was great! The ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Overall, the food we ate was great!

The only thing we ordered, and wasn't what was expected, were the zucchini fries. I thought it was going to be a heartier piece of zucchini, but they were very, very, very, thin. It tasted good in the beginning but after a while the taste was to "fried" and it got cold very quickly.

Our waiter was amazing - I wish I remembered his name :-/

Tags: Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Family style is great for a large group, ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Family style is great for a large group, we had a party of seven. Great value especially considering location. Waiter was very attentive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

No, I would not recommend this place it' ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

No, I would not recommend this place it's too loud. Too narrow, all dishes and wait STUFF Passed through my chair. I though someone will dropped food on my head. bAd tables distributed. Too crowded. Too narrow.

It was my birthday and restaurant won't offer me a free birthday dessert. I'm not going back.☹️

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

My adult children suggested Carmine's fo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 4, 2017

My adult children suggested Carmine's for a family reunion. The food was great and the portions were generous. It was lively and loud. Just like our big Italian family!

Tags: Fun, Family Style, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere was excellent. Food portions ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Atmosphere was excellent. Food portions were tremendous. Food was very tasty. Service was second excellent had a great time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Authentic, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the service was great and efficiant and ...

 
·Dined on January 2, 2017

the service was great and efficiant and the food was delicious

we enjoyed ourselves very much

it is not the first time we visited this resturant and we sure do it again in future

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I have never written a bad review so thi ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I have never written a bad review so this is a first. It's mainly a bad review due to the abysmal service. Some might say blame it on it just being New York City but that is not an excuse especially when all the other restaurants we have been to have had amazing service. Not only did we wait 35 min past our reservation time our waiter was absent almost the whole time. We asked passing bussers and other waiters which always accommodated us but our waiter deserved to be sent home.

Now the worst part of the evening wasn't the waiter but the manager on duty. I'll b polite and call him a putz!! I have never had this happen to us but while we were waiting for our check from the waiter that was never around he literally came up to us and said " time to wrap it up, we want to go home". WTF. There were other tables besides us and it wasn't like we took forever to eat but that they sat us 30 min late and service was horrible. We were waiting for our check for close to 15 minutes and this moron comes up and tells us to literally leave. When we were all walking out my wife stopped him and said that he needed some constructive Criticism and that doing that was beyond rude and disrespectful. He retorted " he didn't need to learn anything from her and she had nothing to teach him". She proceeded to tell him about manners, respect and southern hospitality. He didn't say much after that.

Now for the food. Plentiful is not a big enough word for how much they give you but it was above average. Wouldn't say great but not bad either. We will not be going back anytime in the near future to that location if any.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value3

Although the food was good. The host was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Although the food was good. The host was rude and was not very informative. I made a reservation for 10 people at 9pm and had to wait 45 minutes because the entire party was not there at 9 sharp! The host never informed me initially that this would be the case. She just said let me know when all of your party arrives. Your table should be ready, and it was not!

Tags: Family Style, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Carmine's never fails! The food is plent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Carmine's never fails! The food is plentiful and tasteful; the service is impeccable; and overall this is an Italian gem in the UWS.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fuimos a festejar el Año Nuevo , excelen ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Fuimos a festejar el Año Nuevo , excelente todo !!!

Tags: Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food, great portions, very goo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent food, great portions, very good ambience, I liked it a lot and it's not so expensive!!! Thank you guys I spent a great new year's eve in Carmine's ...

Tags: , Tapas, Healthy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Ambiente familiar comida muy buena preci ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Ambiente familiar comida muy buena precios buenos y platos súper grandes cuatro raciones fácilmente

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excelente comida. Platos muy grandes par ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excelente comida. Platos muy grandes para compartir. La mejor relación precio calidad de NY

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We were at Carmine's for New Year's Eve ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We were at Carmine's for New Year's Eve celebrations from Australia and really enjoyed our dinner. Great service and abundience of food

Tags: Family Style, Hot Spot, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter was excellent, very attentive ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Our waiter was excellent, very attentive. Was very accommodating in helping us celebrate my wife's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Nice new year's eve family gathering... ...

 
 (El Paso)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Nice new year's eve family gathering... would be a 5 stars if they would include kids menu, they have family portions so we have to order something for all our party that will suit the kids.

Tags: Cozy, Family Style, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

The best experience i ever had. I left t ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The best experience i ever had. I left the waiter Rich a nice tip, well over the 22%. He treated my family and grand kids lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good wine ...Great Foood ...good service ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good wine ...Great Foood ...good service...awesome evening out with friends

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service were awesome as you wou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food and service were awesome as you would expect. Restaurant was a bit noisier than I expected but manageable. Carmines is recommended for business meals and special family occasions. No disappointments with respect to the food. It was all excellent and well prepared.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

As always, a great experience!!! Food w ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 31, 2016

As always, a great experience!!! Food was fantastic, service was great and prices so reasonable!!! Can't wait to return!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.