Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.22mi
  2. Distance: 0.27mi
  3. Distance: 0.27mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Family Style (210)
Good for Groups (128)
Special Occasion (121)
See All
Comfort Food (110)
Good for Birthdays (103)
Casual (93)
Authentic (76)
Fun (73)
Good for Anniversaries (68)
Good for a Date (61)
Kid-friendly (58)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Pre/post Theatre (45)
Great for Lunch (42)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Worth the Drive (40)
Outstanding Value (37)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Romantic (34)
Business Meals (34)
Historic (33)
Cozy (30)
Hot Spot (21)
Creative Cuisine (21)
People Watching (18)
Notable Wine List (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Tasting Menu (13)
Late-night Find (13)
Vibrant Bar Scene (13)
Great for Brunch (11)
Good Vegetarian Options (11)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Seasonal (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Private Room (5)
Healthy (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Quick Bite (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Dancing (2)
Organic (2)
Vegan (1)
Spicy (1)
Live Music (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
3411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined a day ago

The food was amazing!! We were sat immediately! The service was great as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined a day ago

The food just really isn't that good. The server seemed to be annoyed at us when we asked him to explain the menu. We still didn't get what we expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Dublin)·Dined 3 days ago

Tasty food in a great setting . Great for families and bigger groups . Portions are huge

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined 3 days ago

bore of a hostess, great waiter, best Caesar salad on the planet!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

We went to Carmines' in the afternoon on a week day. The food was out of this world (as always) and the place was pretty quiet at 2:30 pm - perfect for a toddler. The staff was very accommodating to our kid situation and really nice overall. We've been to Carmine's a few times - including on Christmas Eve - and I can't say enough good things about this place. The food is delicious, the staff is warm and welcoming, and the ambiance is lovely. It's a wonderful place.

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Great service and staff! The food was beyond delicious!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Visited Carmine's 91st St for the first time. Food was fabulous and abundant. We ordered 3 dishes for 4 people and took at least half home with us! Would highly recommend and would go back in a heartbeat!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined 7 days ago

Wonderful for larger groups- we were 7- food is delicious- large, loud room where you can sit and talk and laugh and no one rushes you

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food as always are great the service is wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Very good, as always. Portion size great, better come on an empty stomach

Tags: Notable Wine List, Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Celebrating my son getting in medical school.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Perfect Italian restaurant to celebrate a birthday. Great food!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food was amazing and the waiters was very kind and efficient.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food is always great and so is the the service. I've never had a bad experience here.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and service was good. Portions are large, so great for sharing. Very loud so conversation was difficult, but would definitely go back with a large group.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 21, 2017

The food was great, I love that there are not 1,000,000 items on the menu, but what they have is delicious. Drinks were well poured, and the wait staff was very pleasant. Only negative, and it's not the restaurant, is the parking...only 1hr meters in front of restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style, Casual, Business Meals, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Great family style restaurant. We were seated right away, and the service was wonderful. They accommodated a vegetarian request and served the salad meats on the side. We enjoyed the eggplant Parmesan and the chicken scalliopini dishes. Plenty for everyone in our party of five- plus leftovers to take home. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 20, 2017

I was so impressed and then-some with the staff and the ambiance of the restaurant and waiter Raheim. We went to celebrate my husband's birthday and it was a first time visit. I loved and enjoyed every minute we were there from the bar to the table. Thank you so much for a tremendously wonderful experience. Looking forward to returning.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Wonderful evening with old friend with wonderful food, amazing service and a lovely atmosphere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

We've eaten there before but took someone new this time. She loved the food and the drinks. A good time was had by all.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Paleo Friendly, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Me and my wife go to Carmines occasionally and as always the service, food, and hospitality is an A+.

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Pésimo trato quise reservar una mesa para 9 y la única opción que nos dieron era para las 22:30. Al llegar el mozo de mal modo nos dice que nos teníamos que apurar porque la cocina cierra a las 23.
Y a las 23:25 prácticamente nos echaron.
La página web dice que está abierto hasta la 1:00am.
No deberían tomar reserva si no pueden atender con educación y respeto al cliente.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Good food. Was seated on time and the waiter was good. Just a bit loud from everyone's conversation. The background music you couldn't hear, the place was that crowded on Easter Sunday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My family and I went to Carmines on 91st Street, and as always we had a great time, the food was well prepared and tasty, and the staff was attentive and polite.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Perfect ,everytime we go,The sauce is always delicious ...

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Carmines has the most fantastic Ilalian food in the city. My family has gone to carmines at least twice a year since I've been very small. the atmosphere is loud and fun. great food, great quality for the money. Can't say enough great things about both Carmines restaurants!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We ordered one of the Specials, 2 racks of lamb which were very thin, also a bottle of red wine which turned out to be from Oregon; not worth the $68 price tag. The eggplant Parma was good but nothing to write home about. Overall, a nice experience but would not make this a must-do again...

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Our family of 7 had Easter lunch here and truly enjoyed it. We had fun picking the appetizers and entrees to share. The service was perfect. All good!

Tags: Business Meals, Kid-friendly, Authentic, Fun, Family Style, Historic, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Une institution à New-York. Ce resto deviendra votre arrêt obligatoire ! Au moins 4 personnes pour commander plusieurs plats...

Tags: Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Cozy, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Schweiz)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Thank you!Thank you!Thank you!Thank you!Thank you!Thank you!

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Beautiful and welcoming restaurant, the food is amazing and very flavorful.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The service was excellent and food good but it too loud! It was difficult to hear each other talking. We were looking for a quieter atmosphere.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was possibly the worst dining experience at any price I have had in New York City.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Incredibly attentive staff especially to my handicapped uncle, food was delicious. We ordered way too much!

Tags: Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Great place for food, would go back again and again. Just one issue, cook is heavy handed on the salt. Please, light on the salt. Then the food would be perfect.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

I've been to Carmine's in midtown and Vegas several times before and always had great food and service. Not this time......we were seated right away, as we got there right in time for our reservation. We ordered an entree and veggie. Not even an appetizer. It took 45 minutes and the waiter brought us our food and it was not what we ordered. We told him this and he argued with us that we did order that. We did not. He finally said he would take care of it and then we had to wait another 30 minutes for our correct order. I get it, people make mistakes, that's not the issue. The issue is he argued with us about it and told us we were wrong. You don't treat customers like that. Waiter was rude, ruined our anniversary dinner. Will never go back there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 13, 2017

We had a group of 8 and everything was wonderful! First, they accommodated an extra person in our reservation. Secondly, our waiter was fantastic! I wish I could remember his name. Lastly, the food was awesome. Love Carmine's!

Tags: Family Style, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

As always the good and service was great when we come to the city Carmine's is always on our list of places to dine thanks again

Tags: Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 12, 2017

Excellent food,service and value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Miami)·Dined on April 12, 2017

The lasagne was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.