About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (328)
special occasion (220)
fit for foodies (147)
See All
kid-friendly (136)
neighborhood gem (131)
great for lunch (87)
hot spot (68)
romantic (49)
great for outdoor dining (36)
late-night find (36)
notable wine list (30)
great for brunch (28)
vibrant bar scene (23)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2669 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I celebrated my 32nd birthday at Carmine ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

I celebrated my 32nd birthday at Carmines. The hostess was very kind especially when several members of my party were late. They were extremely understanding. I had one person in my group who is vegetarian and without mentioning it to him my waiter gave us multiple options for my guest with food restrictions. The food was fresh and well seasoned. I had an amazing time. Thank you so much

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We make a trip into the city each summer ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 5 days ago

We make a trip into the city each summer. Usually we see a matinee and then head up to Carmine's on the upper west side. Our kids love it. It is become a special family tradition.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The family style is what was most appeal ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The family style is what was most appealing to me. The portions were generous, food was delicious and our waiter did a terrific job.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

My favorite restaurant of all time! We c ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite restaurant of all time! We come here for all the birthdays in my family! This time it was mine, and truthfully, Paulo ( sp??) at the front desk was great! Gave us a round table and a bit far back, not as noisy as it could've been. BUT, the food this time came out barely warm, nothing was hot. Now, we come here all the time and I know that is rarely the case, but this time it was. We sent back part of the chick parm and truthfully, it came back barely hot! Maybe ovens not up to par??? My hubby complained to the Manager and he comped us a dessert- which was very nice. I have always thought the food is tasty and delicious, but this past Sat. night I think they were just not on their game! That said- I still love Carmine's!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

As always, the food at Carmine's was exc ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

As always, the food at Carmine's was excellent! Usually service is too, but this time, it took forever to flag our server and he forgot my wine glass and water. We had to flag a bus boy for help. I like that fact that no one was rushing us out of there, like in most places. Always great food in abundance!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Family style dining, Super large portion ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Family style dining, Super large portions. Good food!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We had a great time! Everything was deli ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We had a great time! Everything was delicious. Appreciated the smaller room... as I am severely

hearing impaired, and the larger room is too noisy. Thank you for that...will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Loved it. A lot of bday parties a little ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Loved it. A lot of bday parties a little loud but not overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

We loved the food and most aspects of th ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

We loved the food and most aspects of the atmosphere. However, it was VERY loud and that made it hard to have a conversation. This is not a huge negative as this is clearly what the ownership wants and it is fun. Just be aware that this is not the place for a business dinner. Rather, it is a place for celebration.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Loved the family style dining. If you ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Loved the family style dining.

If you have room dessert try the Titanic, it is larger life.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

So much food- great food though. Get rea ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

So much food- great food though. Get ready for leftovers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great time celebrating my son's ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

We had a great time celebrating my son's birthday, great food and service and excellent value.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Seven of us went to Carmine's on a Sunda ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Seven of us went to Carmine's on a Sunday night for a special family outing. We had a reservation, and only waited about ten minutes for a table - but that was the first of a long evening of 'waits'. First, we waited another ten minutes for even water to be brought out. Then, another ten or fifteen minutes for our order to be taken. Then another fifteen minutes for our two appetizers. Then AN HOUR for our main courses to arrive. In the meantime, the four-year old in our group grew tired, restless, and eventually had a quiet tantrum that necessitated his parents missing the main course entirely.

The food was tasty when it FINALLY arrived, but there really is no excuse for a restaurant which is this popular not to have a better organizational plan.

Be warned: Come with plenty of reading material, smart phones, or loquacious companions to tide you over.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value2

The food never disappoints, Always taste ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The food never disappoints, Always taste the same as it did in 1993. Just this day it did take a bit longer to get water after we sat down and a waiter to get to us. But this was the first time it has happened. The food and the celebration of my daughters birthday was wonderful!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Always love going to Carmine's. You are ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Always love going to Carmine's. You are guaranteed to have a wonderful meal.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmine's is one of my favorite places t ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Carmine's is one of my favorite places to eat. Normally we always go to the one on 44th street but we were unable to get a reservation there so we decided to try the one on 91st street(upper west side). The upper west side location doe

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Outstanding service and delicious food f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Outstanding service and delicious food for a family reunion dinner. Special dining needs easily accomodated

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great family style restaurant and food w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

great family style restaurant and food was delicious. only recommendation would be concerning smaller parties. menu and serving sizes, while very reasonably priced, are portioned for 3-4 persons. we dined as a couple and serving sizes for some of the dining choices would exceed our capacity to eat. we would recommend an adjusted menu for parties of 2.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Food at Carmine's is very delicious. Th ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Food at Carmine's is very delicious. The restaurant is a little bit noisy. Service needs improvement. Overall, I had a good experience and I would recommend restaurant to anyone who loves delicious food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Cramped 5 at a table for 4 despite makin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cramped 5 at a table for 4 despite making reservations more than a month in advance.

Service was under par for the restaurant which is usually better.

We had to remind the waiter to bring beverage items more than once

Tags: kid-friendly, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

THE BEST Italian food!!! Family friendly ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

THE BEST Italian food!!! Family friendly, fast service, great location

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and service. Best place for f ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great food and service. Best place for friends to get together. We have all our work function at Carmines.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The experience was amazing. We were cel ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The experience was amazing. We were celebrating my parents 54th wedding anniversary and Carmines was the ideal location. The food was great (my mom fell in love with the clams appetizer); the calamari was wonderful. The waiter was "so-so" but the gentlemen who cleared the tables, etc. was delightful and very helpful (more so than the waiter - we wanted to leave him a tip! ) I will definitely go to Carmines again!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Carmines always impresses me. The servic ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Carmines always impresses me. The service is as phenomenal as the food. 10/10 would reccomend!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New waitress, our order was behind, and ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

New waitress, our order was behind, and had to wait for food for long long time so she gave us extra bread!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Portions are huge. Our particular server ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Portions are huge. Our particular server was very friendly in explaining their extensive menu to us. The atmosphere is pretty loud so you need to practically scream to hear each other but other than that, everything was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great as always! Carmine's high standard ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great as always! Carmine's high standards sets them apart! We will be back soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very lively and enjoyable family restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very lively and enjoyable family restaurant with large portions and friendly service. Perfect for large families with children.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Absolutely wonderful and great alternati ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Absolutely wonderful and great alternative to theatre district location.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great as usual as i have been g ...

 
 (Poconos)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Food was great as usual as i have been going to Carmine's for years.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Family style portions work great for gro ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Family style portions work great for groups or for a couple that would like leftovers. Best calamari and fabulous pastas and other related items. Great service and atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I finally made it to Carmine's!! I have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

I finally made it to Carmine's!! I have been trying to get there for years. We were a group of 8 with an out of town guest. This was the best choice to show off NYC restaurants. The staff was friendly, the service on point. The food, oh the food was amazing. Best shrimp parm ever.... Went with the waiters choice of t-bone, he was so right. There was so much we had leftovers for the next day.

Can't wait to come back and try some different dishes.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is great. Large portions to share. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Food is great. Large portions to share. I would only go with a group. Did not love my Cosmo.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was another of many delicious and e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This was another of many delicious and enjoyable visits to Carmines.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

Disappointing the Tirammisu dessert. Not ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Disappointing the Tirammisu dessert. Not the perfect that was remembered in the past.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Recommended by a coworker! Absolutely yu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Recommended by a coworker! Absolutely yummy Italian food and amazing experience! Got the Carmine's salad, calamari and Sunday special for 4 people and that was more than enough!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Unexpectedly wonderful! We always thoug ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Unexpectedly wonderful! We always thought Carmines was a chain restaurant (which it is). But the food was really wonderful. Way abundant! Abundant is a euphemism. The food we ordered for four was enough for eight. Great left-overs. The pasta was cooked to perfection! (Did not see that coming!) veal was wonderful. Escarole was great. If you like sweet treats, the chocolate bread pudding was fabulous. Very decent Gavi by the bottle. Some great after dinner aperitivi. Service was great. Best part was all the big groups of people having a ball. A really great time. If you're looking for sedate sophisticated dining, not the place. But if you want to laugh, have fun, enjoy the food, this is a great place. They even have mouthwash in the ladies room! A diverse group of us in the ladies room at the same time were all laughing and saying what a great idea! Very friendly, very fun. This was the upper west side Carmines. Don't know what Times Square is like. But this one was a real hoot. And very reasonably priced!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Carmine's NEVER has let us down. My wif ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Carmine's NEVER has let us down. My wife and my favorite NYC Italian restaurant. Thank you Carmine's...

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Two issues: The inside dining room is im ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Two issues: The inside dining room is impossibly noisy and the only available serving sizes are such that a party of at least four is necessary if there is to be any hope of preventing the majority of the meal being several nights of leftovers. That being said, decent value and very good or better food.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great as always. We enjoy the UWS locati ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Great as always. We enjoy the UWS location of Carmine's best.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.