About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (129)
Family Style (120)
Special Occasion (92)
See All
Good for Birthdays (82)
Casual (64)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Kid-friendly (57)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Comfort Food (52)
Fun (52)
Authentic (49)
Good for a Date (42)
Great for Lunch (38)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Pre/post Theatre (32)
Worth the Drive (30)
Sunday Lunch (26)
Hot Spot (23)
Outstanding Value (22)
Business Meals (20)
Romantic (17)
People Watching (15)
Late-night Find (14)
Cozy (13)
Great for Brunch (13)
Historic (13)
Bar Seating (12)
Good Vegetarian Options (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Private Room (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Happy Hour (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Local Ingredients (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Modern Decor (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Disabled Access (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Great Beer (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Spicy (1)
Dancing (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Sports (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful time with family, except it wa ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 3 days ago

Wonderful time with family, except it was hard to hear each other. Waiter was fabulous. Appreciate that you had vegan options available for one of the six of us. Plenty of food and not outrageously expensive. Chicken scallopine was extremely tender as was the spinach with it. The broccoli was perfectly cooked too.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great food , quick service .. friendly s ...

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food , quick service .. friendly staff .. reasonably priced !

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a wonderful experience. I usuall ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Always a wonderful experience. I usually have dinner after a show or event.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Late-night Find, Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a wonderful time! Food was as usual ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Had a wonderful time! Food was as usual excellent! Such a great place to go with friends and family! You will never be disappointed.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food was not as good as I remember.

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was not as good as I remember.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great food great prices very nice servic ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food great prices very nice service! First time in NYC and we loved this restaurant !

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awesome, as always. Only disapp ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was awesome, as always. Only disappointment, they ran out of artichokes. That is my kids favorite dish. They really need to figure out a better ordering system for late night dinners.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

overall experience very good/food was gr ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

overall experience very good/food was great/large servings/service was very good polite friendly helpful ambiance atmosphere very good energetic

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place to share a meal with relativ ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

Great place to share a meal with relatives. Yum!

Good place to meet other people and discuss what your eating.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

EXCELLENT as always!! had 4 reservation ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 5 days ago

EXCELLENT as always!! had 4 reservations totally 40 and it was awesome!! thank you Carmines!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never a disappointment. Pasta dishes are ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Never a disappointment. Pasta dishes are always outstanding, as is the eggplant and chicken parm.

A fun place to be. If your looking for cozy dining this is not the one for you. But if you are looking for a fun, lively, party atmosphere then this is the place for you. Come and enjoy....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Birthday celebration! Note - the titani ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 5 days ago

Birthday celebration! Note - the titanic dessert had too much whipped cream and not enough ice cream or brownie

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous fun,festive feast. Terrific for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 6 days ago

Fabulous fun,festive feast. Terrific for kids of all ages and big,hungry groups that like to share everything!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, carmines delivered with excell ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 30, 2016

As usual, carmines delivered with excellent food and service. We had the wings, Caesar salad, rigatoni bolognese, clams, Marsala and the titanic for dessert. Excellent meal for my son's 11th birthday with group of 12.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Veal scallope whit lemon butter are real ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Veal scallope whit lemon butter are really good.

The shrimp coquetel we didn't like. The shrimp was overcooked.

Tags: Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is a great place for a large group. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 28, 2016

This is a great place for a large group. We had 8 in our party, and they sat us with 5 minutes of our reservation. The waitstaff was attentive, and the food came promptly. It is a little loud for talking, but that added to the energy of the place. We had a salad, and three main dishes for 8 adults, and there was enough left over for a doggie bag. This place had very good food, and it was FUN.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

My daughter fill very very bad after the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

My daughter fill very very bad after the dinner

She has a very hard stomachache and she through out all night

Something wasnt fresh

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Reliable Italian at a good value in a fe ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Reliable Italian at a good value in a festive atmosphere

Tags: Outstanding Value, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love the food and ambiance at Carmines. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love the food and ambiance at Carmines. It is always has a festive atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We got seated soon after we checked in. ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We got seated soon after we checked in. The food and service was outstanding. Everything was delicious from the bread to the appetizers and the entrees to dessert. Portions are big and great of sharing with a group. Price was reasonable for the quality of food served. I love Carmine's and am never disappointed when I visit!

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

haven't been to Carmines in several year ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

haven't been to Carmines in several years....felt like I was home again. Food better than I remember, atmosphere is, let's just say like being in my grandmother's kitchen having dinner. although crowded, not cramped; although many people talking, not annoying... all in all a very enjoyable time-will hopefully visit again soon......

Tags: Tasting Menu, Casual, Historic, Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The family style portions never disappoi ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The family style portions never disappoint..even my 8 year old that's the pickiest eater enjoyed his meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

First time at this location and everythi ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 25, 2016

First time at this location and everything was delightful! Stuffed Mushrooms, Veal Saltimbocca, Escarole, Penne Alla Vodka, all full of flavor and the atmosphere is perfect to enjoy your family style feast!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had the Thanksgiving meal and the foo ...

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had the Thanksgiving meal and the food was wonderful and plentiful. We will be eating turkey for days. We arrived early for our reservation and were seated quickly. Our waiter went out of his way to accommodate requests not part of the usual menu. I can't wait to go back and eat from the regular menu.

Tags: Family Style, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, even greater service. Incre ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, even greater service. Incredible value. We went on Thanksgiving and had an Italian feast. A night we will not forget! Thanks Carmines!!

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very little attention given to undercook ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very little attention given to undercooked side dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value3

My family and I went to Carmines for Tha ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

My family and I went to Carmines for Thanksgiving. We were pleased with the food and the ambiance. Although the waitress wasn't very attentive, I'd still go back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fun, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

It's the original for a reason! The atmo ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on November 24, 2016

It's the original for a reason! The atmosphere is fun and frenetic. The food is like Mama made (just not this mama!). I am glad we made our reservations far ahead of time. A Thanksgiving to remember.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food & service.

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Excellent food & service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were seated on time. Wait staff was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

We were seated on time. Wait staff was very good, but the food was another story. We ordered Chicken Parm. & Veal Chop Special. Both came out COLD!!! The waiter took it back. He brought out a new one about 10-12 minutes later & it was COLD AGAIN. Needless to say, our family dinner was ruined. The manager came over & said she would take it off the bill - big deal. Then she proceeded to say that she would give us free dessert since that is supposed to be cold. We didn't find that funny. She then said she wanted to make us happy since we are regulars there. This was only my second time at that location, the last being 5 yrs ago. DEFINITELY WONT BE BACK!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value3

Zak our server , was excellent with our ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 23, 2016

Zak our server , was excellent with our large party and great with kids! he kept the wine flowing and helpful with menu suggestions, yes it a crazy / loud restaurant and they squish you in like sardines but amazing for large groups with quality food. Will be back!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Sharing great Italian food with friends ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Sharing great Italian food with friends after seeing the Christmas show ! Always a pleasure to go to Çarmines

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't come if you have under 4 people in ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Don't come if you have under 4 people in your party. Food is okay, not blow-your-mind good. Dessert is soso. Bread was cold when served. But it's good value give that one entree can feed 4 people.

Tags: Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value4

The food and service were excellent. Ou ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

The food and service were excellent. Our first visit to this restaurant and everyone thoroughly enjoyed the evening. We were there for a birthday celebration. Sitting at the bar prior to being seated was just as good.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was amazing. Drinks weren't too stiff ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

It was amazing. Drinks weren't too stiff, food was delicious and the staff was friendly and efficient. I'm definitely coming back here before the year is out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place for a get-together. Food is ...

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great place for a get-together. Food is outstanding! Enjoyed the dinner very much and we would go back in a heartbeat.

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable, ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our waiter was attentive, knowledgeable, and friendly. The request for a quiet table was honored. The magnum of Carmine's wine was still a bargain.

Tags: Fun, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Family Style, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was fabulous as always!!! Dined the ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Food was fabulous as always!!! Dined there before going to see the Xmas show at Radio City Hall.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our experience at Carmine's was wonderfu ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Our experience at Carmine's was wonderful. We were not rushed and our waitress, Amanda, was the best. She helped us with ordering and was very attentive. We had a situation where one of our party had a fainting spell and Amanda was right there with a glass of juice.

The food was excellent from the wine, through our meal of salad, entrees and desserts. Could not have asked for a better place for six friends to meet in NYC. We will definitely do it again. And, thank you so much for taking our reservation.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Only go with a group and be prepared for ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Only go with a group and be prepared for the noise. The food was surprisingly good and the waiter was great. I can't say the same for the maitre d, who was rude. The restaurant is a scene. Not what we are used to on the UWS.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.