About Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC

2450 Broadway
New York, NY 10024
View Larger Map

Carmine's simple and very popular concept is to serve every meal in the style of an Italian American wedding feast - which means large portions of home-style antipasti, pastas, seafood and meat entrees served on large platters designed for sharing. An entree here could easily feed three to four average eaters. Located in a sprawling, former grand ballroom on the Upper West Side of Manhattan, this is the original Carmines. Designed by Peter Niemitz, the interiors evoke the images of the quintessential New York restaurant. With elements and details from the 1920s to the 1940s, the restaurant has the look and feel of a place that has been around for much longer than it's 1990 opening. If you are in the market for freshly prepared family style Italian food that is served in huge portions at reasonable prices, this is the place for you.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Thursday: 11:30am - 11:00pm; Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - Midnight

Cross Street:
Between 90th & 91st Streets

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(212) 362-2200

Website:
http://www.carminesnyc.com/

Catering:
Let Carmine's Cater your next party. We offer full service catering for all types of events. Let us drop off and setup or let us stay and serve your guests with the Carmine's experience at your door. Contact our Catering Department at 212-362-6444.

Parking Details:
Central Parking - 601 Amsterdam Avenue(Between Columbus & Amsterdam Avenue) $15 for up to four hours with Carmine's validation.

Public Transit:
1, 2, 3 trains to 96th Street

Executive Chef:
Joe Delgado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Delivery, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table. The Little Room seats up to 40 guests.

Our main dining room boasts a massive mahogany bar, vaulted ceilings, and cathedral chandeliers. This former ballroom is quintessential New York and is ideal for private parties and special events. This pioneer of the Upper West Side can host a seated dinner, served family style, for up to 300 guests. Celebrate Bar and Bat Mitzvahs, weddings, corporate dinners, or fundraisers. We've designed special menus for cocktail and buffet receptions for up to 350.

Celebrate special occasions in the fun, festive atmosphere that is Carmine’s.
Contact our Special Events Department at 212-721-5587.

Menus start at $42 pp.

Private Dining

Host your party where the Carmine's tradition began. The Little Room is the perfect setting for intimate gatherings, business meetings, rehearsal dinners or other social get-togethers. Our Executive Chef has created four course menus that are served at one long table.

Carmine's - 91st Street - NYC Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.2

ambience

4.1

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (259)
Special Occasion (190)
Kid-friendly (124)
See All
Fit for Foodies (114)
Neighborhood Gem (112)
Great for Lunch (69)
Hot Spot (51)
Late-night Find (39)
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Romantic (32)
Family Style (31)
Notable Wine List (25)
Great for Brunch (23)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Authentic (16)
Fun (16)
Casual (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Outstanding Value (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Comfort Food (10)
Pre/post Theatre (9)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Business Meals (7)
Scenic View (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Cozy (4)
Private Room (3)
Healthy (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Historic (2)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2766 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We have been to Carmine's several times. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

We have been to Carmine's several times. This time the noise level was almost unbearable. We had a great waiter. The food was good. Great gluten free pasta.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Service was very poor. Our server was v ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 4 days ago

Service was very poor. Our server was ver inattentive and really made our visit not as enjoyable as it could have been

The food is very good but because of the service it effected our visti

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value5

The chicken parm was excellent

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 6 days ago

The chicken parm was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love the food at Carmine's. It's always ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love the food at Carmine's. It's always delicious, I've been to Carmine's in NYC and Washington, DC and the food, service, and atmosphere is always great.

On our last trip, the waiter was friendly and helpful. He recommended a great bottle of wine with dinner, and the strawberry shortcake for dessert. Yum!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My table resversation was not ready for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

My table resversation was not ready for the time it was booked..

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Thank you for the service the staff was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Thank you for the service the staff was very professional and kindly i will go again

Tags: Family Style, Late-night Find, Healthy, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Tasting Menu, Historic, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service were phenomenal! Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

The food and service were phenomenal! The only drawback was the noise level, which can't be helped with the high ceilings.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great good

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Great good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food! Great value! Awesome servi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great food! Great value! Awesome service! All around great dining experience for NYC. They even had "mouthwash" in the restroom to cover up all the authentic Italian flavor if you desire after your dinner!

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

From the moment we entered we were made ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

From the moment we entered we were made to feel like this was going to be another great experience... and it was! This was our third time dining at Carmine's...the first, before seeing a play in mid-town and twice here at the 91st Street location. The staff are all so friendly and knowledgeable about the daily specials and the regular menus, and will politely offer suggestions if they're requested to or if its deemed appropriate. Their respectful attitude towards all their patrons seems to set the tone for the many people sharing this venue. My only disappointment was the salad I've fell in love with and yearned for was not offered on Fridays...alas the one we selected was once again outstanding! I'd like to also mention that on our previous uptown outting a good friend joined us who required handicap assistance, and this proved to be no problem at all. This family oriented establishment has found repeat diners in us and our respective families.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place to have lunch for two or mor ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Great place to have lunch for two or more and while the food was outstanding (try the Caesar Salad especially) the music volume level is just too loud.

The waiter was very attentive and the portions huge.

We will be going to Carmine's again

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Authentic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Fun, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came here to spend a lovely evening with ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

Came here to spend a lovely evening with my bf. We were celebrating our one year anni! Food is great. Wine is delicious. Ambiance is pleasant. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

very nice restaurant with AMAZING food a ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

very nice restaurant with AMAZING food and big quantities, more of a family night type of restaurant. Feels very home style

Tags: People Watching, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

I didn't appreciate the service it was n ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 12, 2016

I didn't appreciate the service it was not good at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Fun experience but noise level was a bit ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Fun experience but noise level was a bit much. Wait staff was positive and helpful. Food was very good.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

We had a wonderful time ,our server wa ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We had a wonderful time ,our server was excellent. The food was delicious.

Tags: Cozy, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to the restaurant after walking ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

We went to the restaurant after walking in the RACE FOR THE CURE in Central Park - 7 in group Staff were friendly, informative and attentive. The food was delicious and plentiful. Great restaurant and atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service as well the food were great. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The service as well the food were great. Loved every minute. I am visiting in town and heard about Carmine from friends. It was not disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall it was okay. It was not what we ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Overall it was okay. It was not what we we're use to when going to this place. Pasta was not cooked properly and the Chicken Marsala was very chewy, but there eggplant parm was to die for.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a group of 8 ladies to eat at you ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had a group of 8 ladies to eat at your restaurant. We had a wonderful time. Our server Raheim was very attentive. The food was wonderful. So glad to be able to share this experience with those in our group that have never been to Carmine'e

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The location, service and food was good. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The location, service and food was good. The shrimp parmigiana was too salty. It's family style do take more than two people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service was really good. A ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food and service was really good. A nice way to celebrate and spend time with family.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Had an amazing eating experience with my ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Had an amazing eating experience with my family even though it was a bit crowded that night we were never neglected by staff.

Tags: Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a reservation and got seated down ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We had a reservation and got seated down quickly. However after 15 minutes at our table with bread and drinks, the hostess told us she had to move us to another table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

We always have a blast at CARMINES! Lo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We always have a blast at CARMINES! Love the shrimp scampi!🦂🦂

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

very noisy but a lot of fun. Big portion ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

very noisy but a lot of fun.

Big portions!

Food and service are very good.

Would recommand it for friends

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you're in the mood to get together wi ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

If you're in the mood to get together with friends and eat hardy, this is the place to be! The portions are family style so they are meant to share or at least take home leftovers! Garlic lovers will be delighted as well since they do cook with garlic and some selections have more than others. Overall, this is a true NYC find!

Tags: Late-night Find, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Family Style, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Rigatoni with sausage and broccoli was t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Rigatoni with sausage and broccoli was to die for!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Always great Italian food at Carmines. ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 31, 2016

Always great Italian food at Carmines. Friendly and attentive service. Reasonable prices. Recommend the Caesar salad, veal saltimbocca, and the titanic for dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmines uptown is the greatest place to ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

Carmines uptown is the greatest place to eat tasty food in humongous portions the service was fast and friendly a really awesome experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I love Carmine's. However, the shrimp an ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

I love Carmine's. However, the shrimp and chicken parmigiana is always too salty.

Tags: Late-night Find, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food !! We all Loved it.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food !! We all

Loved it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

overall it was very nice, the food was e ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

overall it was very nice, the food was excellent and the service mostly good

it was a birthday and I did mention it but no one acknowledged it

we always try and go to Carmine's on special occasions

they did honor our reservation to the minute which was excellent

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Awesome place for family and friends, fo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Awesome place for family and friends, for every occasion. Family-style. Hearty and generous food portions, even for sharing portions, and great drinks. Also a great spot for a good lunch deal!

Tags: Late-night Find, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

I used to go to Carmine's regularly with ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

I used to go to Carmine's regularly with friends in high school and always loved it, but hadn't been in a number of years. The food definitely lived up to my memories as being extremely tasty and well prepared. If you order wisely it can be a reasonably priced meal... but it's very easy to over order and end up with a higher tab because there are so many appealing options. The large portions of tasty food make for an ideal venue for large groups, but that draw brings with it a loud dining room. Overall, great place for a tasty meal with a large, energetic group.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

We had the best time even though one wai ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We had the best time even though one waiter was supposed to serve us we had 3 due to me enlisting everyone into my foolishness. They even sung happy birthday to her and enlisted the people around us to join in on the song. One of the best nites of my summer. Thanks guys.

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Pre/post Theatre, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmine's RESTAURANT never fails. Have ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Carmine's RESTAURANT never fails. Have been patron for over 15 years. Food is delicious. Must be prepared for family style large portions. Excellent Service.

Tags: Authentic, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Casual, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Fun, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Family Style, Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

If you love Italian food and enjoy famil ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

If you love Italian food and enjoy family style dining as well as BIG drinks, this is the place for you. This is not a romantic spot, but it could be and would be great for a large gathering like a birthday or anniversary celebration. The food is terrific and the service is great.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Casual, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

we have been going to Carmines for more ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

we have been going to Carmines for more than 20 years. Love the food and the family style serving. From casual getting together with our local family, to our extended international family that got to know the place.. We always find a reason to go.

The food is excellent. Service is always great even the waiters, who knows us still suggest different dishes to us ( we have food allergies needs at times). Yes, it is loud, but if you come early it's better. You can't miss the Titanic desert for a birthday occasion, my daughter wants it even if it's not her birthday:))

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Casual, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Salty Food, Noisy Crowd, but can't beat ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Salty Food, Noisy Crowd, but can't beat the Value.

Despite all the negatives, we keep going back because the huge portions and the fun environment allows you to overlook the mediocre quality food and the need to scream to your table mates to be heard.

We'll always go back whenever we have a large dining party to celebrate something.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.