About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 2:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 2:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:00PM - 2:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Romantic
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

romantic (90)
special occasion (87)
good for groups (47)
See All
notable wine list (46)
fit for foodies (41)
neighborhood gem (34)
great for lunch (16)
late-night find (7)
hot spot (7)
kid-friendly (7)
great for outdoor dining (6)
great for brunch (6)
scenic view (4)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
773 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Really impressed with how we put in the ...

Dined 6 days ago

Really impressed with how we put in the request through open table with 15 mins before arrival. They were ready and waiting for us when we arrived. Wine list great, service good, and food really tasty, not too fancy- well done, quality and an impressive menu. Thank you Carmelo's.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We went to Carmelo's on the hunt for a r ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Carmelo's on the hunt for a romantic restaurant that was handicapped-accessible, okay for kids, private dining area, and romantic/classy/quiet enough for our rehearsal dinner. Carmelo's is it. The service could have been more attentive, the portions could have been bigger. Overall, it checked all the boxes of what we needed and we'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

24 year anniversary. Had rehearsal dinne ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

24 year anniversary. Had rehearsal dinner here 24 years ago. Still great food and service. The only complaint would be you have to pay 8 bucks to park in their lot EVEN if you are eating there? Not cool!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you so much for an excellent visit ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Thank you so much for an excellent visit, I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all (4) shared each others plates, an ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We all (4) shared each others plates, and each dish was awesome. Flavorful and delicious. We were celebrating my twin daughters graduation, and they sent over a large piece of Butterscotch cheesecake, again we all enjoyed......it was too large for 2. LOL. Wonderful place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating a birthday with my hus ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

I was celebrating a birthday with my husband at lunchtime. We have dined at Carmelo's several times and each time we have enjoyed the attentive service and the well-executed and presented cuisine of this elegant Italian restaurant. This occasion was no exception to our experiences with them. We were greeted warmly and each staff member who had reason to serve our table wished me a happy birthday. It really made my day! The food was outstanding...a large seafood salad with remoulade for me and a crispy sea bass filet with rigatoni in a light tomato sauce for my husband. We both had the marvelous lobster bisque to begin and the restaurant sent a gift of Oreo cookie cheesecake on a decorated plate with birthday wishes for me. It was a lovely experience and consistent with the other visits we have made there. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, service and food. Very happy

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in, it was very inviting and cozy. The food was great. I got the stack of something involving avocado and olives (among other things) for an appetizer and was completely knocked out. Server was attentive, the food was very good. We were there early so not a lot of people.....would definitely be happy to recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Old World Charm

Dined on May 14, 2016

Carmelo's is housed in a very charming old building and has it's own parking lot, a big plus in downtown Austin dining. It was prom night, so I will make allowances for the slower than normal, somewhat inconsistent service. We asked for a few things that never came (butter, more water, etc.) The wine list offers something for everyone and they offer a full bar as well. The food was good, but average. The men shared the Lumache Mauro (escargot) and seemed to enjoy it. I had the Liana salad, which was crisp and fresh. More enjoyable than the Gamberi Ripieni and risotto, not outstanding with the crab being a bit fishy. My husband ordered the veal marsala, and wished he had just ordered the spaghetti (they are known for the pasta). My friend absolutely loved her Carmelo's Signature Salad and would order it again. We shared a very delicious chocolate cake that was not too sweet and a nice finish. I would go back again on a much less busy evening or even for lunch. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the food. The wait staff did a good job for being spread a bit thin with all the large parties of prom teens.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We got into town late & only arrived at ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We got into town late & only arrived at 8:45 for dinner when the place was rather quiet. We were served without rush & allowed to take our time even though we were the last time until 10:30. Really enjoyed the great friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at Carmelo's numerous times a ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Have dined at Carmelo's numerous times and have enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere! This time was no exception. When I want a romantic place to take my man, this is where I go.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service4

Extensive wine list, great desserts, lar ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Extensive wine list, great desserts, large portion entrees

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Still a wonderful experience

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

One of the highlights in visiting and living in Austin is Carmello's. The place has grown a bit since its original days-- but the food and the menu have changed ever so slightly. The menu is diverse and rich with tradition. Some entrees are prepared table-side with flair and great flavor. This is a hidden gem in the heart of old 5th and 6th streets-- This restaurant is in a landmark building but the food and service are still landmark quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prom Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Carmelo's did a wonderful job with my son's group. The staff, food and atmosphere were exceptional! Thank you for helping make this night a wonderful time for this group of high school seniors!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

First trip to Austin and celebrated 5th anniversary at Carmelos. Food was outstanding! Service was solicitous and classy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, great atmosphere! Made our prom dinner super special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great location. Has parking and the food ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great location. Has parking and the food and service is outstanding.

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Overpriced with horrible service

Dined on May 1, 2016

My hubby took me to Carmelo's 4 yrs ago the night he proposed so , he thought going back on our anniversary would be sweet. This restaurant was nice back then but now.....the food is more overpriced than it already was back then, the waiter never asked how our food was, and we had to pay for our parking because apparently spending $100 on our two small entrees doesn't cover a paid parking lot (didn't even use valet) for what we paid we should have stuck with Estancia restaurant.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice resteraunt, but A/C needs improvement

Dined on April 30, 2016

All in all, Carmelo's was a nice experience. Only thing that needed improvement was the air conditioning. It was extremely hot and humid in there the night we went. Temp outside was moderate, however it had been raining all day. Someone didn't think about the need to drop the A/C settings to get the moisture out of the air INSIDE the building.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Austin

Dined on April 28, 2016

We've been to Carmello's so many times for dinner that this feels like my 300th review! The food and service is awesome, the wine list is extensive, the atmosphere is warm and inviting, and you will just love any meal that you eat here. Carmello's is where we take friends and family from out of town. Save room for desserts!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dining

Dined on April 24, 2016

We're from out of town celebrating our son's special event at UT and booked Carmelo's to enjoy some quality dining time. We were a group of 12 people and we enjoyed our evening in a private room. It was the perfect ambiance for our family time. We started with the Tuna Tartare, the Carpaccio di filetto, bruscetta, and some calamari. All were delicious, but the tuna tartare was what we fought over- it melted in the mouth so exquisitely. 4 in our party ordered the Ossobuco. They all agreed it was among the best they ever had- the presentation was beautiful, the meat tender and the marrow divine. My son ordered the Costolette d'Agnello and raved about the chops, so much so he gnawed on the bones (family dining at its finest). I ordered the Parmigiana di Melanzane which was 4-5 pieces of eggplant that were perfectly prepared. Again, the presentation was elegant and the sauce delicious. We have one family member with specific dietary needs. The chef was able to prepare a fantastic vegan-gluten free meal for her. She was very pleased since it's hard for her to dine out. The wine list is quite nice, offering a wide variety in all price ranges. Our server was very attentive and made sure our evening was a delight. We will definitely eat here again on our next trip to Austin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We'll be back!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good food and great service, and near 6th Street spots .

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great location; average food

Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant itself is quaint and in a great location. It is right next to Esther's Follies. The chef needs to improve the fare. It could be a real gem.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

OUTSTANDING!!

Dined on April 23, 2016

WOW!!! I booked a last minute dinner for a work celebration for (19). Not only did they accommodate with a 48hr notice but they delivered above and beyond on every expectation. The food, service and ambiance was perfect! The attention to detail from filling water glasses through desert was spot on! I can't wait to go back on my own for a night out with the wife. Outstanding Italian food and service that cant be beat! Thank you to Jose our head server and the rest of the staff for making this such a great dinning experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We brought friends to Carmello's and it ...

vip
Dined on April 8, 2016

We brought friends to Carmello's and it was the first time they had ever eaten there. They loved it. We wanted a quiet atmosphere so we could visit. The food was not rushed and we had plenty of time to visit. Waiter did a great job.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome Italian Food

Dined on April 7, 2016

Carmelo's was awesome - everything, from the food, to the service. The parking in the area is also convenient - there's the parking for the tourist center across the street, where it's about $6 to park (don't remember the exact amount), and then there's the lot where the restaurant is for $10; but, if you tell the restaurant you'll be parking there it's $6 for parking during lunch time. Anyways, back to the food - the pasta with lamb meatballs seemed really good, and I personally had a Ceasar salad with King Salmon - the fish was perfectly cooked. Normally, we don't order desserts - all the cake options looked delicious though - we ordered the Oreo cake and tiramisu, and I would guess they probably don't make the desserts; but, whoever provides it makes really good pastries. The service was outstanding; our waiter was super nice. Sadly, I won't be going back soon since I'm not from TX. Although many might not think "Italian food" when visiting Austin (mainly TX), there is some history to the restaurant since it used to be the old railroad station, and there's also some history to Italians in the city, so don't leave without visiting Carmelo's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Old standby is now a hidden gem. This is ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Old standby is now a hidden gem. This is a classic old building with great service and food. Can't get any better. But with Austin's tendency for trendy chefs with shaved heads with beards and tattooed limbs can distract attention deficit tastebuds.

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good Italian food

Dined on March 28, 2016

Old favorites for high school proms; wait staff is very good and exceptionally polite and serve food well. Menu is extensive and their salads as well as their top item on the menu: Dover Sole are equally pleasing to the eye as well your taste buds. Recommend for "occasions" if you are looking for Italian.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Yes & No

Dined on March 27, 2016

While I would recommend Carmelo's to someone wanting a delicious, Italian dinner in Austin, I wouldn't recommend (nor would I go back to) the Easter Brunch buffet. The food was "just ok," for the price we paid for our family of five. The hot food wasn't kept warm enough and the cold food wasn't chilled enough. We were disappointed because, whenever we've gone to Carmelo's and ordered off of the menu, it's always been delicious.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service4

Over priced for what you get.

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Over priced for what you get.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cost

Dined on March 23, 2016

Have been several times last 2 years for lunches and evening dinners. Atmosphere pleasing to eyes and ears. Excellent service. Menu variety has something for everyone --vegetarion--gluten free--view online. They will prepare special request with current food items. My daughters farorite place to dine with dad. We order water, appetizers, main dish, deserts, and I usually add 20-25 % gratuity, all for $100 lunch, $125 dinner mid range. Happy dining!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Solid food, great service and really gre ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Solid food, great service and really great/romantic booths and ambiance

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Good, not perfect

Dined on March 18, 2016

The staff was friendly and competent, and our food was good, with one notable exception. One of our party ordered a dish described as linguine with crab and vodka. The dish contained no crab, but rather some small bits of shrimp. In addition, the liquid in the dish was cooked down to a thick, gooey paste.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent staff and room. I'm so impress ...

vip
Dined on March 6, 2016

Excellent staff and room. I'm so impressed. Awesome food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian restaurant in Austin hands down

Dined on March 6, 2016

Carmelo's has become our favorite restaurant in Austin. The food is amazing. The service is second to none. Very convenient parking. Some of the best Italian food I've ever had. You will not be disappointed.

Tags: romantic
food3
ambience4
service4

The setting is very nice. I bit like 1 ...

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

The setting is very nice. I bit like 1978 which not all bad to be honest .. food was pretty good... not outstanding but OK. May or may not go back... to be honest.... would look elsewhere for better quality food. This place could be fixed though... if they step up the quality and freshen up the menu. Needs to be 100% authentic Italian .... itd more USA Italian ....

food5
ambience5
service5

A varied menu that anyone can find a won ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

A varied menu that anyone can find a wonderful dish on. The wine list is extensive with limited value wines but you can still get a good one for under $60

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Dining Excellence

Dined on February 27, 2016

This is our favorite place to take out of town guests before a show at Esters Follies. Everything about it is perfect -- Food, drinks, service, ambiance, convenient valet parking. The accordion player provides just the right amount of background music that doesn't drown out your conversation but creates a very nice atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food in a nice historic setting😀

Dined on February 27, 2016

Went here for the first time and was pleasantly surprised. The food was good and our server was excellent at helping us to choose wine with our meal. Loved the historical setting.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Carmelo's a Big Let Down

Dined on February 22, 2016

If you're going to enjoy a glass of wine, in a beautiful, historic building - okay. If you want delicious, authentic Italian food made from unmistakably fresh ingredients - pass! Or, be prepared to pay $8 for parking in their private lot (dinner) and paying about three-to-four times the price for Olive Garden quality food. Actually, OG might taste better. I had Eggplant Parmesan - and, for all I know, it could've been frozen and heated up in a microwave. The sauce tasted like jarred Ragu and the mozzarella was minimal and looked like plastic. Their Pisa salad (tomato, avocado, artichoke and onion - with lemon vinaigrette) was awful! The dressing tasted like SALT - with a little oil and vinegar thrown in for good measure. What a HUGE disappointment for overpriced food, in what is otherwise an enchanting venue.

food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Poor and Slow Service

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

We waited well over an hour to receive a caprese salad to start our meal. Unfortunately, the salad never came and our entree arrived. After speaking with the manager, comped an additional bottle of the wine we were drinking. It's a little loud and can be a good time if you're in a group, but not a good choice for a date.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.