About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Restaurant Photos

Pesto Gnocchi
carpaccio
Lobster Bisgue
Chocolate Cake
Veal Marsala
Chicken Ricotta
Anatra All' Arachia
Stagione Estiva
Ceaser Salad
Banana's Foster
Medaglione Di Manzo
Fettuccine Mare Louisa

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Romantic
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

special occasion (66)
romantic (62)
good for groups (42)
See All
fit for foodies (36)
notable wine list (35)
neighborhood gem (26)
great for lunch (16)
great for brunch (7)
hot spot (7)
great for outdoor dining (7)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
791 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As always Carmelo's is a little known ge ...

vip
Dined 5 days ago

As always Carmelo's is a little known gem...Always reliable...

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, impeccable service and a won ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great food, impeccable service and a wonderful whole food, plant based vegan / vegetarian entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We had 5pm reservations on Sunday but th ...

Dined 5 days ago

We had 5pm reservations on Sunday but that wasn't necessary as we were the only couple in the restaurant at that time. The food was amazing. Had a very nice dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We love this place. Always a special ti ...

vip
Dined 7 days ago

We love this place. Always a special time. Great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Great venue. Great service. Old school I ...

Dined on June 24, 2016

Great venue. Great service. Old school Italian.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Celebrated my sons 21st birthday here. G ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

Celebrated my sons 21st birthday here. Great food and wine and the table side prep of a steak dish and banana foster dessert was very festive

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmelo's staff was very helpful. We we ...

Dined on June 22, 2016

Carmelo's staff was very helpful. We were concerned about being able to park easily, but fortunately they had plenty of parking, and we were able to pay our parking on our lunch ticket. Good food. Good service. Good Italian atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The cuisine was top notch. Server was q ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The cuisine was top notch. Server was quite solicitous. The night we were there the kitchen was VERY slow, while the restaurant was not the crowded. Waiter was apologetic and mgr. comped us a fancy dessert. Even with the slow service from the kitchen it was a lovely evening and the food was exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

Went for Father's day. Have been several ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for Father's day. Have been several times in the past for special occasions. The service has always been excellent. However, the food quality is not good. I the pollo Carmelo and it really tasted like a frozen breaded chicken patty that was soggy on the bottom and way too salty. Not worth 24 dollar's. This is too bad. I really liked the food before.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

The Bisteca Dianne prepared tableside wa ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

The Bisteca Dianne prepared tableside was excellent. The service was very good The ambiance was exceptional.

food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Supposed to be a special night for my hu ...

Dined on June 15, 2016

Supposed to be a special night for my husbands birthday. We were pretty much ignored all the time we were there. Rodolfo just took the order and never saw him again. He was very attentive and courteous to the table next to us so I don't know what his problem was. Never again.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We chose this a little blindly, though w ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose this a little blindly, though we were motivated by some positive reviews - though no one we knew personally. WOW. The food was flat-out superb, crab-stuffed shrimp were humungous and the salmon was cooked to perfection. Portions were huge and it was all we could do to eat the bread pudding we hadn't planned to get but did anyway. We could've spent less elsewhere, but between the impeccable service, the ambiance and the food, this was worth it. We've been in Austin five days and it's hands-down the best dining experience we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano

Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent meal and great wine at Carmelo's! We enjoyed our meal so much the first night that we returned for a second night during our stay in Austin. Both nights I really appreciate how attentive the waiters were. One even returned with a sauce sample for me to try so that I would know whether I wanted it for the dish I planned to order or another. That was very kind and helpful. As it was, I chose another sauce and am thankful he allowed me to have tried the menu sauce in order to make a decision. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with my daughters

Dined on June 7, 2016

For my 60th birthday, we chose Carmelo's. We wanted a special place, but we also needed a patio that allowed dogs because we wanted to bring our new pup. Being in the restaurant business myself, and having a patio which can be a royal pain, I felt bad that we were forcing a waiter to come all the way out there to serve us. But if there was any resentment on their part about that, they certainly didn't show it. Not one hint of it. The waiters took excellent care of us from start to finish. And I really appreciated that. We go out a lot, and being in the business I can be rather particular about service (and sometimes I feel like I have the "curse of the bad waiter"). But not at Carmelo's!!! Thanks again for a great night. And I'm sorry my chihuahua barked at you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Food decent, service meh

Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a great place for remembering awkward dates that you had in the 1990's.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

I have never left hungry great service

Dined on June 4, 2016

We have eaten here at least a dozen times and it is worth the 80-minute drive down 1-35 to get there. The service has always been excellent the food great we have never left hungry. The quality and quantity of food you get for your money is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet and delicions

Dined on May 31, 2016

Attentive servers and quaint and quiet atmosphere. Nice variety on menu and wine list. Chilean sea bass and minestrone were delicious. Food at many restaurants are too salty for my tastes, but not here. An accordion player stood near the door and played classic Italian tunes. Nice quite evening with delicious food.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really good food, easy access and parkin ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

Really good food, easy access and parking, fair pricing. One of our favorites for Italian in Austin

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Really impressed with how we put in the ...

Dined on May 23, 2016

Really impressed with how we put in the request through open table with 15 mins before arrival. They were ready and waiting for us when we arrived. Wine list great, service good, and food really tasty, not too fancy- well done, quality and an impressive menu. Thank you Carmelo's.

food3
ambience5
service3
value3

We went to Carmelo's on the hunt for a r ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Carmelo's on the hunt for a romantic restaurant that was handicapped-accessible, okay for kids, private dining area, and romantic/classy/quiet enough for our rehearsal dinner. Carmelo's is it. The service could have been more attentive, the portions could have been bigger. Overall, it checked all the boxes of what we needed and we'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

24 year anniversary. Had rehearsal dinne ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

24 year anniversary. Had rehearsal dinner here 24 years ago. Still great food and service. The only complaint would be you have to pay 8 bucks to park in their lot EVEN if you are eating there? Not cool!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you so much for an excellent visit ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Thank you so much for an excellent visit, I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all (4) shared each others plates, an ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

We all (4) shared each others plates, and each dish was awesome. Flavorful and delicious. We were celebrating my twin daughters graduation, and they sent over a large piece of Butterscotch cheesecake, again we all enjoyed......it was too large for 2. LOL. Wonderful place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating a birthday with my hus ...

vip
Dined on May 20, 2016

I was celebrating a birthday with my husband at lunchtime. We have dined at Carmelo's several times and each time we have enjoyed the attentive service and the well-executed and presented cuisine of this elegant Italian restaurant. This occasion was no exception to our experiences with them. We were greeted warmly and each staff member who had reason to serve our table wished me a happy birthday. It really made my day! The food was outstanding...a large seafood salad with remoulade for me and a crispy sea bass filet with rigatoni in a light tomato sauce for my husband. We both had the marvelous lobster bisque to begin and the restaurant sent a gift of Oreo cookie cheesecake on a decorated plate with birthday wishes for me. It was a lovely experience and consistent with the other visits we have made there. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, service and food. Very happy

Dined on May 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in, it was very inviting and cozy. The food was great. I got the stack of something involving avocado and olives (among other things) for an appetizer and was completely knocked out. Server was attentive, the food was very good. We were there early so not a lot of people.....would definitely be happy to recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Old World Charm

Dined on May 14, 2016

Carmelo's is housed in a very charming old building and has it's own parking lot, a big plus in downtown Austin dining. It was prom night, so I will make allowances for the slower than normal, somewhat inconsistent service. We asked for a few things that never came (butter, more water, etc.) The wine list offers something for everyone and they offer a full bar as well. The food was good, but average. The men shared the Lumache Mauro (escargot) and seemed to enjoy it. I had the Liana salad, which was crisp and fresh. More enjoyable than the Gamberi Ripieni and risotto, not outstanding with the crab being a bit fishy. My husband ordered the veal marsala, and wished he had just ordered the spaghetti (they are known for the pasta). My friend absolutely loved her Carmelo's Signature Salad and would order it again. We shared a very delicious chocolate cake that was not too sweet and a nice finish. I would go back again on a much less busy evening or even for lunch. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the food. The wait staff did a good job for being spread a bit thin with all the large parties of prom teens.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

We got into town late & only arrived at ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

We got into town late & only arrived at 8:45 for dinner when the place was rather quiet. We were served without rush & allowed to take our time even though we were the last time until 10:30. Really enjoyed the great friendly service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have dined at Carmelo's numerous times a ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Have dined at Carmelo's numerous times and have enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere! This time was no exception. When I want a romantic place to take my man, this is where I go.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience3
service4

Extensive wine list, great desserts, lar ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Extensive wine list, great desserts, large portion entrees

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Still a wonderful experience

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

One of the highlights in visiting and living in Austin is Carmello's. The place has grown a bit since its original days-- but the food and the menu have changed ever so slightly. The menu is diverse and rich with tradition. Some entrees are prepared table-side with flair and great flavor. This is a hidden gem in the heart of old 5th and 6th streets-- This restaurant is in a landmark building but the food and service are still landmark quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prom Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

Carmelo's did a wonderful job with my son's group. The staff, food and atmosphere were exceptional! Thank you for helping make this night a wonderful time for this group of high school seniors!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Anniversary dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

First trip to Austin and celebrated 5th anniversary at Carmelos. Food was outstanding! Service was solicitous and classy.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic Restaurant

Dined on May 7, 2016

Beautiful restaurant, great atmosphere! Made our prom dinner super special.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Great location. Has parking and the food ...

Dined on May 5, 2016

Great location. Has parking and the food and service is outstanding.

food3
ambience4
service1
value1

Overpriced with horrible service

Dined on May 1, 2016

My hubby took me to Carmelo's 4 yrs ago the night he proposed so , he thought going back on our anniversary would be sweet. This restaurant was nice back then but now.....the food is more overpriced than it already was back then, the waiter never asked how our food was, and we had to pay for our parking because apparently spending $100 on our two small entrees doesn't cover a paid parking lot (didn't even use valet) for what we paid we should have stuck with Estancia restaurant.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Nice resteraunt, but A/C needs improvement

Dined on April 30, 2016

All in all, Carmelo's was a nice experience. Only thing that needed improvement was the air conditioning. It was extremely hot and humid in there the night we went. Temp outside was moderate, however it had been raining all day. Someone didn't think about the need to drop the A/C settings to get the moisture out of the air INSIDE the building.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best Italian in Austin

Dined on April 28, 2016

We've been to Carmello's so many times for dinner that this feels like my 300th review! The food and service is awesome, the wine list is extensive, the atmosphere is warm and inviting, and you will just love any meal that you eat here. Carmello's is where we take friends and family from out of town. Save room for desserts!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding dining

Dined on April 24, 2016

We're from out of town celebrating our son's special event at UT and booked Carmelo's to enjoy some quality dining time. We were a group of 12 people and we enjoyed our evening in a private room. It was the perfect ambiance for our family time. We started with the Tuna Tartare, the Carpaccio di filetto, bruscetta, and some calamari. All were delicious, but the tuna tartare was what we fought over- it melted in the mouth so exquisitely. 4 in our party ordered the Ossobuco. They all agreed it was among the best they ever had- the presentation was beautiful, the meat tender and the marrow divine. My son ordered the Costolette d'Agnello and raved about the chops, so much so he gnawed on the bones (family dining at its finest). I ordered the Parmigiana di Melanzane which was 4-5 pieces of eggplant that were perfectly prepared. Again, the presentation was elegant and the sauce delicious. We have one family member with specific dietary needs. The chef was able to prepare a fantastic vegan-gluten free meal for her. She was very pleased since it's hard for her to dine out. The wine list is quite nice, offering a wide variety in all price ranges. Our server was very attentive and made sure our evening was a delight. We will definitely eat here again on our next trip to Austin.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We'll be back!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Good food and great service, and near 6th Street spots .

Tags: special occasion
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Great location; average food

Dined on April 23, 2016

The restaurant itself is quaint and in a great location. It is right next to Esther's Follies. The chef needs to improve the fare. It could be a real gem.

Tags: hot spot

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.