About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Restaurant Photos

Pesto Gnocchi - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
carpaccio - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Lobster Bisgue - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Chocolate Cake - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Veal Marsala - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Chicken Ricotta - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Medaglione Di Manzo - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Banana's Foster - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Ceaser Salad - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Stagione Estiva - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Anatra All' Arachia - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Fettuccine Mare Louisa - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Italian
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (31)
Romantic (22)
Good for Groups (20)
See All
Good for a Date (19)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Notable Wine List (16)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Business Meals (12)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Authentic (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Cozy (9)
Historic (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Pre/post Theatre (6)
Outstanding Value (5)
Live Music (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Vegan (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Private Room (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Family Style (3)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Fun (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Casual (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
870 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Outstanding food. I highly recommend the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Outstanding food. I highly recommend the cannoli dessert. It was most definitely made fresh upon order. Food was fresh and well seasoned. Great ambience. Will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance...the music, the room was s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambiance...the music, the room was softly lit and the beautiful artwork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty bad! Buffet uninspiring & not wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Pretty bad! Buffet uninspiring & not worth the $$ or time . Someone in charge needs to take an objective look at the food offered. Staff were pleasant & accommodating. Sad their "product" didn'tmatch. How do I get 50 words on this review?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving lunch buffet ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving lunch buffet very much

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going to Carmelo's for year ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been going to Carmelo's for years and are never disappointed. The food is outstanding

as well as the service and ambiance. Always a special treat to come to Carmelo's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Casual, Cozy, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of our favorite restaurants. We also ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. We also love the Carmelo's in Houston. Attentive staff and great food.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 9 on an otherwise quie ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had a party of 9 on an otherwise quiet night and the restaurant was fantastic. We were able to talk comfortably, everyone was able to order a wide variety of meals, including vegetarian options, and the staff were extraordinary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Carmello's on Valentine's Day ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went to Carmello's on Valentine's Day previously. Everything went well then. This, however, was just a regular Friday night. If you count the time the waiter brought the menus, the time he took our orders, the time he brought the right food after an incorrect order, the time he dropped off the check and the time he brought it back, we saw him a total of 5 times. I had to keep asking someone else to take care of us. He got my salad wrong and ordered my friend's meat raw instead of well-done. I am not a picky person - I just want the waitperson to stop at another time besides those mentioned above. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was perfect. We never wante ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was perfect. We never wanted for anything the entire night! That being said, I was disappointed at the menu and the food itself. I thought the menu was way overpriced for the dishes offered, and I simply expected more Italian dishes. There was more steak and fish, prepared in fairly ordinary ways to be honest. I had a chicken dish that while tasty, the chicken was dry and over cooked. It said it came with "olive mashed potatoes" which sounded interesting but there were no potatoes at all, just a few olive slices. We all had bananas foster for dessert which was a taste treat but the tableside presentation was very low key and without any fun flare you usually get when someone does this. This was a special birthday celebration for my family and I guess I'd say I'm glad we went but for a $300 dinner for four, it wasn't worth it. And...the live music was so loud that we joked we should tip him to take a break so we could talk to each other. Sorry, Carmelo's, but I'd say this was a one time event for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

There is no trip to Austin without dinin ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

There is no trip to Austin without dining at Carmelo's. Never a time have we been disappointed. Food, service and atmosphere is wonderful in addition to an extensive wine list. Always end our evening with banana's foster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable dinner. The food was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner. The food was great. The only negative comment we had pertained to the cloth seats in our booth. The material was very stained and gave us the impression/feeling they were dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Fantastic food and friendly staff. Quite ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Fantastic food and friendly staff. Quite enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Vegan
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The only criticism we had was the medioc ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The only criticism we had was the mediocre waiter we were assigned. His knowledge of the menu was limited and he didn't check on us nearly enough. Other wait staff took our drink order on two occasions. The fifteen percent tip my wife insisted on was ten percent to much. Other wise, the food and ambience was excellent, we had a wonderful evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Excellent food and outstanding service. ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Excellent food and outstanding service. Great for dinner before theater.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Family Style, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We revisited for our anniversary as we h ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 4, 2016

We revisited for our anniversary as we had gone there on our first date. It was much better the first time 11 years ago. My chicken was undercooked and the wait staff took the "wait" literally. The manager and water server were excellent. I would still go back, but the old world service needs to come back...

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

As visiting Austin from Massachusetts we ...

vip
 (New England)·Dined on November 3, 2016

As visiting Austin from Massachusetts we chose this place because it received great reviews. We were not disappointed! We all decided to do parmigiana....eggplant, veal and chicken. All were fabulous.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food, wonderful service in an ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Excellent food, wonderful service in an historic building on 5th. The sauces on the dishes were amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

My boyfriend and I ate here for the firs ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 26, 2016

My boyfriend and I ate here for the first time and it was absolutely amazing. We went in for the anniversary special which includes an appetizer, entree, and dessert for $35 and let me tell you it was so worth every penny. We had crab cakes, veal rage, pork chops, rib eye, and tiramisu! Definitely going back again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

This was the worst experience we've had ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 24, 2016

This was the worst experience we've had with an OpenTable reservation. When we arrived, the host wasn't there to greet us and take us to our table. We waited around 5min for his to show up and get our table ready. Service was slow (long time for our order to be taken, for our food to be ready) while at the same time it felt rushed. Waiters rushing through the restaurant all the time, atmosphere felt hectic and not relaxing at all.

Food was decent but given everything else, not something I'd recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food!

vip
 (México)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Great food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Carmelos was always one of my favorites, ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Carmelos was always one of my favorites, but became my top favorite in Austin after this past dinner. Food is top notch, as is service. Made us feel special for our anniversary. We'll be back many times.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first but definitely not my last meal ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 20, 2016

My first but definitely not my last meal here! The restaurant is beautiful and our meal was delicious. The bananas foster was an experience highly recommended. Great date night or special occasion destination.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always on the quest for good Tex-Mex whi ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Always on the quest for good Tex-Mex while in Austin we decided to try some Italian instead. Food was excellent, attentive staff and Italian accordion player adding to the ambiance. Veal Marsala had a delicious, rich brown gravy. My wife asked to change the pasta on the dish she ordered and the kitchen accommodated without any issue.

The restaurant is in a historic building and easy walking distance from the Hilton or Westin. Will return when in ATX.

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We were somewhat disappointed in our din ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 18, 2016

We were somewhat disappointed in our dining experience. The place was not busy except for a large group (12-15 people seated in the center of the place) and a couple of tables of two. The large group was loud and with little to buffer the noise, it was very distracting. Service was very good and the food was disappointing. I expected really good Italian food and found it was not. Pasta was overcooked for example. Nice interior and exterior but the place seemed to lack the passion that makes a fine restaurant fine. Lots of wine to chose from and that did not disappoint.

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Eddie was very helpful with seating for ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Eddie was very helpful with seating for lg group of 14 to celebrate

wedding

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Private Room, Good for Groups, Authentic, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Fun Italian restaurant. Great menu choic ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Fun Italian restaurant. Great menu choices and great service. Valet parking makes it even more convenient to dine in this downtown Austin restaurant

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We always love going to this restaurant. ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on October 12, 2016

We always love going to this restaurant. Food , service atmosphere amazing.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Casual, Hot Spot, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The appetizers were tasty and a nice pre ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 8, 2016

The appetizers were tasty and a nice prelude to dinner. Wine offerings were extensive and reasonably priced. Had Italians from New Jersey who were surprised the food was so good in Austin!

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Family Style, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

Incredible ambiance that is quite attrac ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 4, 2016

Incredible ambiance that is quite attractive. Good food. Good service. Good time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Everything was great, except the accordi ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on October 1, 2016

Everything was great, except the accordion music. I hate accordions!

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

The service was great, the food was good ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 23, 2016

The service was great, the food was good, the restaurant was very nice; however, there was this smell of raw sewage in the restaurant that was not very pleasant. There were some definite plumbing issues somewhere in the building. I really like the outside court yard. It was very sweet. I thought it was very funny to be an "authentic" Italian restaurant and atmosphere, but ALL of the staff were Hispanic males. Not that the gentlemen did not do a FIND job with the services. I was just not expecting it.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value4

There was a minor mista

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 22, 2016

There was a minor mista

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The osso bucco is amazing. One of our pa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The osso bucco is amazing. One of our party had the table side preparation of the filet beef stroganoff and it was incredible. The dessert tray is way too tempting, but always so good. Even your simple chicken parmigiana was scrumptious. The fish was also perfectly prepared with a wonderful sauce. Love this restaurant. The strolling musician and the food make you feel like you've really left the US for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The seafood dishes were fantastic and th ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 10, 2016

The seafood dishes were fantastic and the service was very attentive to our needs. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, great service but very noisy. ...

 
 (Amarillo)·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good food, great service but very noisy. Easy access with ample parking. Centrally located in downtown.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat when w ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat when we visit from Galveston!

We wlll try to come back when we come for the Baylor game.

Carroll

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, great food and friendly servic ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2016

As usual, great food and friendly service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like Carmelo's but this time w ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2016

We really like Carmelo's but this time we felt like we didn't get the attention we normally get. After seated at the table, no one asked if we wanted anything. We had to flag the waiter down several times just to get something. We probably would have spent more money if we wouldn't have felt rushed. We do expect to go back again and that the next time it will be a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

a very good meal... old established res ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on September 3, 2016

a very good meal... old established restaurant that probably gets overlooked

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Professional service, excellent food in ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 29, 2016

Professional service, excellent food in an elegant atmosphere. Staff made us feel welcome and appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.