About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Restaurant Photos

Pesto Gnocchi
carpaccio
Lobster Bisgue
Chocolate Cake
Veal Marsala
Chicken Ricotta
Medaglione Di Manzo
Banana's Foster
Ceaser Salad
Stagione Estiva
Anatra All' Arachia
Fettuccine Mare Louisa

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Austin
Romantic
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

Special Occasion (54)
Romantic (49)
Fit for Foodies (28)
See All
Notable Wine List (28)
Good for Groups (22)
Neighborhood Gem (17)
Good for a Date (8)
Great for Lunch (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Authentic (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Historic (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Live Music (2)
Business Meals (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Private Room (1)
Cozy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
Newest
835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

There was a minor mista

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 22, 2016

There was a minor mista

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The osso bucco is amazing. One of our pa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The osso bucco is amazing. One of our party had the table side preparation of the filet beef stroganoff and it was incredible. The dessert tray is way too tempting, but always so good. Even your simple chicken parmigiana was scrumptious. The fish was also perfectly prepared with a wonderful sauce. Love this restaurant. The strolling musician and the food make you feel like you've really left the US for the night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The seafood dishes were fantastic and th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The seafood dishes were fantastic and the service was very attentive to our needs. Definitely coming back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Good food, great service but very noisy. ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Good food, great service but very noisy. Easy access with ample parking. Centrally located in downtown.

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat when w ...

 
 (Puerto Vallarta)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat when we visit from Galveston!

We wlll try to come back when we come for the Baylor game.

Carroll

Tags: Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, great food and friendly servic ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

As usual, great food and friendly service. Highly recommended!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We really like Carmelo's but this time w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We really like Carmelo's but this time we felt like we didn't get the attention we normally get. After seated at the table, no one asked if we wanted anything. We had to flag the waiter down several times just to get something. We probably would have spent more money if we wouldn't have felt rushed. We do expect to go back again and that the next time it will be a better experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

a very good meal... old established res ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

a very good meal... old established restaurant that probably gets overlooked

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Professional service, excellent food in ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Professional service, excellent food in an elegant atmosphere. Staff made us feel welcome and appreciated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always good food and excellent service. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Always good food and excellent service. My daughter and I split an entree and a salad and it was delicious and plenty. There were probably 8 birthdays going on that night and the accordion player would come around and play at each table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My last review of Carmelo's was approxim ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

My last review of Carmelo's was approximately 15 years or so ago. I gave it the best ratings then, and I would give them higher ratings now if the scale went that high! The ambience is fantastic, but the FOOD....Ahhhh, the FOOD...simply, incredibly delicious! It all begins with the best tasting olive oil and bread combo that has ever melted in my mouth. Then I discovered they finally included on the menu my favorite Italian dish of all time, VEAL marsala (NOT chicken -- that's blasphemy). It was cooked perfectly -- tender, a bit of sweetness from the marsala wine tempered by perfectly earthend mushrooms. I substituted cappalini with a light marinara sauce instead of roasted potatoes. I was then firmly entrenched in heaven. I'm sorry I don't even remember my wife's meal because I was so over-the-top involved with mine, but I do know she raved about how delicious it was. Carmelo's is arguably the best restaurant in town.

Tags: Private Room, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. Pricy. Disappoin ...

 
·Dined on August 24, 2016

Great food and service. Pricy. Disappointed in parking policy change.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We decided to go for lunch and we were t ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

We decided to go for lunch and we were the only ones there. Never a good sign. The service however was good. The food was too, but we hurried our lunch alone as it was eerily quiet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3

Carmelo's is always a win-win. They NEVE ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Carmelo's is always a win-win. They NEVER fail to satisfy. We dine there every time we go to Austin; a family fav.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Was a wonderful dining experience--great ...

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Was a wonderful dining experience--great time--we will go back there for sure as well as bring out family there when they are in town

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Alvero was our server and he was fantast ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Alvero was our server and he was fantastic. He took great care of our party of 18 and helped make my parents 25th Anniversary very memorable. The food was great and as was the service!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Nice location, good service and very nic ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Nice location, good service and very nice to see a Vegan/Vegetarian menu! I was a little disappointed at the portion size of my vegan pasta dish. It was tiny and I could not believe it cost $20.00! Would not go again for that reason. My husband had eggplant parm which he liked and it was a large portion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Restaurant is a real treat. I took my d ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Restaurant is a real treat. I took my daughter and friends for her 17th birthday. Service was great, but the cost was a bit more than teenagers can afford. Would still recommend, so I picked up the tab. In the heart of downtown and is easy to find with secure valet parking ($8) available.

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great. Our waiter seemed ve ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The food was great. Our waiter seemed very disinterested in helping us. We saw the bus boy more than we saw our server.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

This is a must if you visit Austin.. It' ...

 
 (Charleston)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

This is a must if you visit Austin.. It's such a great experience and the staff takes such good care of you.. Food is excellent...

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best meal and service we had in Austin!! ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Best meal and service we had in Austin!! It's close to the convention center and the service was outstanding!! Food was super fast and delicious too!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is fabulous & the service impec ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The food is fabulous & the service impeccable. Unfortunately the room gets noisy but it's still worth it.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Second time for our group of 24 conventi ...

 
 (Little Rock)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Second time for our group of 24 convention attendees to dine at Carmelo's and I will continue to choose it every year from now on. Food is consistently fabulous, service is perfect, ambience is stellar.

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was terrific, nothing left i ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

The service was terrific, nothing left in need and staff very polite and eager to please.

The food was kinda blah. My fish was over cooked, too dry to enjoy. My wife's eggplant was soggy, like it had been prepped and kept warm in the oven till it was ordered.

Appetizers were rather bland also.

Thank goodness we chose a booth, as it shielded us from some of the noise, allowing us to have some conversation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5

Very easy to book. No problems at all.

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Very easy to book. No problems at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Very pleasant experience! We had confer ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Very pleasant experience! We had conference attendees who had never been to Austin nor your restaurant. It was a great time. All of us (15) could hear each other from one end of the table to the other in conversation. The wine was wonderful and the service excellent. The wait staff was attentive, but, never invasive and always friendly. A great selection of entree's for any palate. Each of us look forward to returning !

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We this place. Always a good time and gr ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We this place. Always a good time and great food. Service was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Late-night Find, Good for Groups, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding escargot appetizers. Delici ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Outstanding escargot appetizers. Delicious entrees. Fabulous Bananas Foster among other deserts.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was an very intersting place. The m ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

It was an very intersting place. The music was great.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmelo's is a small restaurant that was ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Carmelo's is a small restaurant that was a hotel many years ago. Nice atmosphere, fast service and excellent Italian food. Valet parking but limited space. We had to park across the street. They had an accordionist that wandered thru the dining area. He would have added to the atmosphere however all the songs he played were played much too fast. We would go back and recommend Carmelo's.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

We were very impressed with Carmelo's. T ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

We were very impressed with Carmelo's. The service was top notch, and the food was amazing. They went the extra mile for my daughters birthday and made it a truly special night! We were very happy that we chose Carmelo's for our special night.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food at Carmelo's is always outstand ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food at Carmelo's is always outstanding. The service is excellent and the dining atmosphere very pleasant. Carmelo's is the best restaurant in Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and the food at Carmelo's. The wait staff was excellent and we enjoyed the presentation of the dishes that were prepared tableside. The free dessert serving for our birthday guest was a pleasant surprise. The $8.00 parking fee was an unpleasant surprise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly an experience for a real Italian f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Truly an experience for a real Italian feast. We all had different entrees and all of them were really good. I don't think you can go wrong no matter what you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really loved the food! The only complai ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Really loved the food! The only complaint I would have is it was an uncomfortable dining experience because the AC was barely working.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Been coming here for decades. Accordion ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Been coming here for decades. Accordion player adds wonderful touch of ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmelo's did not disappoint. First time ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Carmelo's did not disappoint. First time for the veal and it was as perfectly cooked as you'd expect. I had mentioned in my reservation it was our anniversary so at desert time they brought out a very nice Neapolitan cake that was really nice.

Always our first night out when visiting Austin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was bland and overpriced. I would n ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was bland and overpriced. I would not return again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, Carmelo's was a treat. Just ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, Carmelo's was a treat. Just wish it wasn't quite so noisy.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

we had a very nice time and the waiter l ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

we had a very nice time and the waiter let us take all the time we asked for. Thanks!

Tags: Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.