About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Restaurant Photos

Pesto Gnocchi
carpaccio
Lobster Bisgue
Chocolate Cake
Veal Marsala
Chicken Ricotta
Anatra All' Arachia
Stagione Estiva
Ceaser Salad
Banana's Foster
Medaglione Di Manzo
Fettuccine Mare Louisa

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Austin
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Romantic
Austin
1 More
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Austin
Best Restaurants in Downtown ›

romantic (65)
special occasion (64)
fit for foodies (40)
See All
good for groups (40)
notable wine list (35)
neighborhood gem (26)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (8)
great for outdoor dining (7)
late-night find (7)
great for brunch (6)
kid-friendly (4)
scenic view (1)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
802 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and the food at Carmelo's. The wait staff was excellent and we enjoyed the presentation of the dishes that were prepared tableside. The free dessert serving for our birthday guest was a pleasant surprise. The $8.00 parking fee was an unpleasant surprise.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Truly an experience for a real Italian f ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 5 days ago

Truly an experience for a real Italian feast. We all had different entrees and all of them were really good. I don't think you can go wrong no matter what you order.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Really loved the food! The only complai ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined 6 days ago

Really loved the food! The only complaint I would have is it was an uncomfortable dining experience because the AC was barely working.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Been coming here for decades. Accordion ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Been coming here for decades. Accordion player adds wonderful touch of ambience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carmelo's did not disappoint. First time ...

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Carmelo's did not disappoint. First time for the veal and it was as perfectly cooked as you'd expect. I had mentioned in my reservation it was our anniversary so at desert time they brought out a very nice Neapolitan cake that was really nice.

Always our first night out when visiting Austin.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was bland and overpriced. I would n ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Food was bland and overpriced. I would not return again.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

As always, Carmelo's was a treat. Just ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

As always, Carmelo's was a treat. Just wish it wasn't quite so noisy.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

we had a very nice time and the waiter l ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

we had a very nice time and the waiter let us take all the time we asked for. Thanks!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Reminded me of Italy! We were working i ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

Reminded me of Italy! We were working in Austin and it was also our anniversary, so we went on Open Table and found what we were

Poking for in Carmelo's. We loved the food, the service, the sweet feel of an old restaurant in Florence and it was all plussed with accordion music from Hershal. It made for a memorable evening and we'd do it again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always Carmelo's is a little known ge ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

As always Carmelo's is a little known gem...Always reliable...

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, impeccable service and a won ...

 
 (Southwest FL)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great food, impeccable service and a wonderful whole food, plant based vegan / vegetarian entrees.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had 5pm reservations on Sunday but th ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We had 5pm reservations on Sunday but that wasn't necessary as we were the only couple in the restaurant at that time. The food was amazing. Had a very nice dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food quality was mediocre for a high end ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food quality was mediocre for a high end price. The service was old fashioned and tired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

We love this place. Always a special ti ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We love this place. Always a special time. Great service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great venue. Great service. Old school I ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Great venue. Great service. Old school Italian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my sons 21st birthday here. G ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Celebrated my sons 21st birthday here. Great food and wine and the table side prep of a steak dish and banana foster dessert was very festive

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Carmelo's staff was very helpful. We we ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Carmelo's staff was very helpful. We were concerned about being able to park easily, but fortunately they had plenty of parking, and we were able to pay our parking on our lunch ticket.

Good food. Good service. Good Italian atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The cuisine was top notch. Server was q ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The cuisine was top notch. Server was quite solicitous. The night we were there the kitchen was VERY slow, while the restaurant was not the crowded. Waiter was apologetic and mgr. comped us a fancy dessert. Even with the slow service from the kitchen it was a lovely evening and the food was exquisite.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Went for Father's day. Have been several ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Went for Father's day. Have been several times in the past for special occasions. The service has always been excellent. However, the food quality is not good. I the pollo Carmelo and it really tasted like a frozen breaded chicken patty that was soggy on the bottom and way too salty. Not worth 24 dollar's. This is too bad. I really liked the food before.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

The Bisteca Dianne prepared tableside wa ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

The Bisteca Dianne prepared tableside was excellent. The service was very good The ambiance was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Supposed to be a special night for my hu ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 15, 2016

Supposed to be a special night for my husbands birthday. We were pretty much ignored all the time we were there. Rodolfo just took the order and never saw him again. He was very attentive and courteous to the table next to us so I don't know what his problem was. Never again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We chose this a little blindly, though w ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose this a little blindly, though we were motivated by some positive reviews - though no one we knew personally. WOW. The food was flat-out superb, crab-stuffed shrimp were humungous and the salmon was cooked to perfection. Portions were huge and it was all we could do to eat the bread pudding we hadn't planned to get but did anyway. We could've spent less elsewhere, but between the impeccable service, the ambiance and the food, this was worth it. We've been in Austin five days and it's hands-down the best dining experience we had.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Excellent meal and great wine at Carmelo's! We enjoyed our meal so much the first night that we returned for a second night during our stay in Austin. Both nights I really appreciate how attentive the waiters were. One even returned with a sauce sample for me to try so that I would know whether I wanted it for the dish I planned to order or another. That was very kind and helpful. As it was, I chose another sauce and am thankful he allowed me to have tried the menu sauce in order to make a decision. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner with my daughters

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

For my 60th birthday, we chose Carmelo's. We wanted a special place, but we also needed a patio that allowed dogs because we wanted to bring our new pup. Being in the restaurant business myself, and having a patio which can be a royal pain, I felt bad that we were forcing a waiter to come all the way out there to serve us. But if there was any resentment on their part about that, they certainly didn't show it. Not one hint of it. The waiters took excellent care of us from start to finish. And I really appreciated that. We go out a lot, and being in the business I can be rather particular about service (and sometimes I feel like I have the "curse of the bad waiter"). But not at Carmelo's!!! Thanks again for a great night. And I'm sorry my chihuahua barked at you.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food decent, service meh

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

This is a great place for remembering awkward dates that you had in the 1990's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

I have never left hungry great service

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We have eaten here at least a dozen times and it is worth the 80-minute drive down 1-35 to get there. The service has always been excellent the food great we have never left hungry. The quality and quantity of food you get for your money is worth it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Quiet and delicions

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Attentive servers and quaint and quiet atmosphere. Nice variety on menu and wine list. Chilean sea bass and minestrone were delicious. Food at many restaurants are too salty for my tastes, but not here. An accordion player stood near the door and played classic Italian tunes. Nice quite evening with delicious food.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Really good food, easy access and parkin ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Really good food, easy access and parking, fair pricing. One of our favorites for Italian in Austin

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Really impressed with how we put in the ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 23, 2016

Really impressed with how we put in the request through open table with 15 mins before arrival. They were ready and waiting for us when we arrived. Wine list great, service good, and food really tasty, not too fancy- well done, quality and an impressive menu. Thank you Carmelo's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Carmelo's on the hunt for a r ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We went to Carmelo's on the hunt for a romantic restaurant that was handicapped-accessible, okay for kids, private dining area, and romantic/classy/quiet enough for our rehearsal dinner. Carmelo's is it. The service could have been more attentive, the portions could have been bigger. Overall, it checked all the boxes of what we needed and we'll be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

24 year anniversary. Had rehearsal dinne ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

24 year anniversary. Had rehearsal dinner here 24 years ago. Still great food and service. The only complaint would be you have to pay 8 bucks to park in their lot EVEN if you are eating there? Not cool!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Thank you so much for an excellent visit ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Thank you so much for an excellent visit, I will be back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We all (4) shared each others plates, an ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

We all (4) shared each others plates, and each dish was awesome. Flavorful and delicious.

We were celebrating my twin daughters graduation, and they sent over a large piece of Butterscotch cheesecake, again we all enjoyed......it was too large for 2. LOL.

Wonderful place.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was celebrating a birthday with my hus ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

I was celebrating a birthday with my husband at lunchtime. We have dined at Carmelo's several times and each time we have enjoyed the attentive service and the well-executed and presented cuisine of this elegant Italian restaurant. This occasion was no exception to our experiences with them. We were greeted warmly and each staff member who had reason to serve our table wished me a happy birthday. It really made my day! The food was outstanding...a large seafood salad with remoulade for me and a crispy sea bass filet with rigatoni in a light tomato sauce for my husband. We both had the marvelous lobster bisque to begin and the restaurant sent a gift of Oreo cookie cheesecake on a decorated plate with birthday wishes for me. It was a lovely experience and consistent with the other visits we have made there. We will definitely be returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, service and food. Very happy

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

We were pleasantly surprised when we walked in, it was very inviting and cozy. The food was great. I got the stack of something involving avocado and olives (among other things) for an appetizer and was completely knocked out. Server was attentive, the food was very good. We were there early so not a lot of people.....would definitely be happy to recommend.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Old World Charm

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Carmelo's is housed in a very charming old building and has it's own parking lot, a big plus in downtown Austin dining. It was prom night, so I will make allowances for the slower than normal, somewhat inconsistent service. We asked for a few things that never came (butter, more water, etc.) The wine list offers something for everyone and they offer a full bar as well. The food was good, but average. The men shared the Lumache Mauro (escargot) and seemed to enjoy it. I had the Liana salad, which was crisp and fresh. More enjoyable than the Gamberi Ripieni and risotto, not outstanding with the crab being a bit fishy. My husband ordered the veal marsala, and wished he had just ordered the spaghetti (they are known for the pasta). My friend absolutely loved her Carmelo's Signature Salad and would order it again. We shared a very delicious chocolate cake that was not too sweet and a nice finish. I would go back again on a much less busy evening or even for lunch. Prices were reasonable for the quality of the food. The wait staff did a good job for being spread a bit thin with all the large parties of prom teens.

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We got into town late & only arrived at ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

We got into town late & only arrived at 8:45 for dinner when the place was rather quiet. We were served without rush & allowed to take our time even though we were the last time until 10:30. Really enjoyed the great friendly service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Have dined at Carmelo's numerous times a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

Have dined at Carmelo's numerous times and have enjoyed the food, wine and atmosphere! This time was no exception. When I want a romantic place to take my man, this is where I go.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Extensive wine list, great desserts, lar ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Extensive wine list, great desserts, large portion entrees

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Still a wonderful experience

vip
 (Dallas)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

One of the highlights in visiting and living in Austin is Carmello's. The place has grown a bit since its original days-- but the food and the menu have changed ever so slightly. The menu is diverse and rich with tradition. Some entrees are prepared table-side with flair and great flavor. This is a hidden gem in the heart of old 5th and 6th streets-- This restaurant is in a landmark building but the food and service are still landmark quality.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.