About Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin

Carmelo’s Ristorante Italiano, Austin, is located in the historical "Old Depot Hotel" downtown across from the Hilton. Open since 1985, Carmelo's, was recently awarded the Seal of "Ospitalita Italiana" from the Italian Government for our use of authentic Italian products and the preparation of genuine Italian cuisine. We have created a menu that is not only carefully thought out and authentically Italian, but also one that uses the finest quality beef, veal and poultry and the freshest of seafood, and when available local produce. With an extensive wine list and options ranging from an award winning Risotto with Truffles, a tableside cooked Steak Diane and gluten free, vegetarian and vegan fare it is our aim that everyone will be satisfied. Our delectable desserts include homemade specialties such as Tiramisu and Millefoglie. Come on by and experience a little bit of Italy tucked away in downtown Austin! We are also in Houston.

504 E 5th Street
Austin, TX 78701
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Italian, Sicilian

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:30pm, Friday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Red River

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(512) 477-7497

Website:
http://www.carmelosrestaurant.com/

Entertainment:
Accordionist playing Italian and other tunes. Will take requests.

Catering:
Catering to your home for 10-500 guests. We will set up, provide service if required and leave your house or facility as we found it. One of our managers, Luis or Eddie will be happy to assist in the planning your event.

Parking Details:
Valet parking through Hospitality Parking Services.

Public Transit:
Armadillo Trolley.

Executive Chef:
Margarito Machado

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We specialize in rehearsal dinners, weddings and receptions. Our private dining rooms are perfect for all celebrations, luncheons and meetings

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Pesto Gnocchi - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
carpaccio - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Lobster Bisgue - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Chocolate Cake - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Veal Marsala - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Chicken Ricotta - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Medaglione Di Manzo - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Banana's Foster - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Ceaser Salad - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Stagione Estiva - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Anatra All' Arachia - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX
Fettuccine Mare Louisa - Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin, Austin, TX

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Mon - Tue 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM 5:00PM - 6:00PM 8:15PM - 10:00PM

Fri 11:00AM - 11:30AM 1:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 2:00PM

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Private Dining

Exquisite Private Dining Rooms showcasing original Austin limestone, original artwork; seating up to 80 guests, and accommodating up to 120 for mingling events.

Great semi-private patio, which seats up to 50 guests or up to 60 for mingling pre-party. Wonderful for weddings!

Carmelo's Ristorante Italiano - Austin Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (33)
Special Occasion (32)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
See All
Romantic (26)
Authentic (20)
Business Meals (19)
Good for Birthdays (19)
Good for Groups (17)
Cozy (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Notable Wine List (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Historic (12)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Live Music (7)
Fun (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Family Style (6)
Private Room (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (5)
Vegan (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Seasonal (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Scenic View (2)
Late-night Find (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
929 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Nice atmosphere, food was okay, service ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined 3 days ago

Nice atmosphere, food was okay, service was really good, it was a relaxed fun evening and we all enjoyed ourselves. We will definitely return

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Not what it use to be, even half of the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined 4 days ago

Not what it use to be, even half of the sign light was out. Osso Buco wasn't tender and the seafood pasta Lucia had too much clam juice, making it very fishy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Service and Food was outstanding, never ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 9, 2017

Service and Food was outstanding, never felt rushed even though we had a late business lunch. Highly recommend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were here to celebrate a special occa ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We were here to celebrate a special occasion. The atmosphere is cozy and welcoming. The servie was exceptional. Three of us had the Beef Stroganoff prepared table side. The fillet was tender and the sauce delicious.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good and presented nicely b ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

The food was good and presented nicely but it lacked flavor and was nothing special nor memorable. There are better Italian returants in Austin.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Everyone really enjoyed their food. Serv ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Everyone really enjoyed their food. Service was great! I will be back

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Make it to Carmelos every time we go to ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Make it to Carmelos every time we go to Esthers Follies. Both were delightful. There were ten of us that met up for dinner and all enjoyed their choices. Beautiful old building and excellent Italian with excellent service. Parking is 8 dollars, no matter what.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My wife and I love this restaurant. The ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 6, 2017

My wife and I love this restaurant. The food and service have consistently been excellent. It's also so nice to go to an uncrowded, downtown Austin restaurant with easy parking. Carmelo's has the best Italian food in Austin that we have found.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years dinner with my family was good ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

New Years dinner with my family was good. Not a young crowd as my 20 something's noticed quickly but the staff was very accommodating. We were confused about the menu options as there seemed to be several non Italian choices. That fact made us a little disappointed in the whole experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

My wife and I have been coming here for ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I have been coming here for the last 15 years. We try to make it every year for our wedding anniversary and they never disappoint. The manager and the wait staff recognize us upon arrival, so for my wife and I, it feels like home. The service is always outstanding, everyone treats us like royalty (complementary glass of champagne) and as always, the food is very good. The wine selection is excellent and the desserts are always an great finishing touch to our meal. I highly recommend this restaurant and wish the Carmelo's team our best wishes for 2017.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food and a wonderful way to sp ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent food and a wonderful way to spend Christmas with the family!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Xmas Buffet- made last minute rese ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Great Xmas Buffet- made last minute reservations-- great friendly staff, and great food! love the courtyard, and room with fireplace....

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Spent Christmas here and it was hands do ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Spent Christmas here and it was hands down the best meal I have ever had on Christmas Day (sorry Grandma)

Everything on the buffet was fresh and bursting with flavor, it was so nice and I will deffinetly make this a yearly tradition!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived 15 minutes prior to our 8pm r ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We arrived 15 minutes prior to our 8pm reservation time and were seated almost immediately. We ordered dinner and were served our salads in a reasonable amount of time, so things we going great. After that, it pretty much went down hill. After we finished our salads, it took over an hour to get our entrees. The waiter was courteous and at around 9:15 he stopped by the table and said he would check on our order. After a while, I flagged down another waiter a and asked him to check on our order since we had been seated over 1.5 hours ago. I'm certain of the timing, as our children were watching the clock and very hungry. Once the food arrived, it was wonderful. However, not one person stopped by our table to apologize for the time delay, etc... I've lived here over 30 years and am glad to see an Austin "landmark" restaurant still around - I doubt we'll return though anytime soon. It was my husbands 60th birthday - I noted that when making the reservation. No mention of that or even a really friendly greeting... very disappointing.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

We've come to Carmelo's every year for t ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We've come to Carmelo's every year for the last nine years for Christmas Eve dinner. The food is delicious and the waitstaff is friendly and attentive.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Carmelo's was wonderful for Christmas Ev ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Carmelo's was wonderful for Christmas Eve dinner with my parents in town for the holidays . Amazing food and great service!

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Private Room, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Very expensive for what it offers. Ambie ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Very expensive for what it offers. Ambience is outdated, service is slow android ok. My pasta with truffles and prawns was good but definitely not $45 good.

Don't plan on ever going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Was looking for a great Italian restaura ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Was looking for a great Italian restaurant. Carmelo's wasn't that.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Carmelo's is always solid as a rock. Lo ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Carmelo's is always solid as a rock. Love the food, love the festive atmosphere. Love the Italian accordion music (it's not overpowering, just makes for great ambience). Our waiter was divine. We were three women just gabbing and sharing some Xmas cheer, and we slowly savored our initial cocktails and took forever to decide what to order. There was no pressure. We were treated as if they were just glad we were there. I'll always go back to Carmelo's!

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Traditional good food, historic building ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Traditional good food, historic building, great service

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Seasonal, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Always a great dining experience; great ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Always a great dining experience; great food, cozy, warm feeling, moderate pricing, good menu selections. This was probably our 10th+ time for dining over the last several years, our first about 25 years ago, but more often recently. We now take the train from Lakeline station on the weekend, then about a 2 block walk to the restaurant from the downtown stop. You'll have time to enjoy the 6th street area if you so desire. I highly recommend Carmelo's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love this place, the food is always f ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We love this place, the food is always fabulous with great service. I would definitely recommend this to anyone wanting real Italian food and ambiance. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had our 9th anniversary date here and ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had our 9th anniversary date here and it was wonderful. We were seated very promptly when arriving for our reservation. The restaurant is very cozy and delightfully decorated for Christmas. We each really enjoyed our meals and wine selection and we had just enough room to share a dessert from the cart. We loved that it gave off a “fine” dining vibe without all the pomp and pretentiousness that we have sometimes encountered.

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality ingredients and very attentive s ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Quality ingredients and very attentive service.

Only downisde was that the manager was unwilling to answer a question about the water filtration system used by the reataurant. If a 'secret', then just say so. I don't think it was that though - more likely that it would have required 1 min of effort. Remember, it is no longer 1995. There are many superb dining options downtown.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Ate here before attending an Esther's Fo ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Ate here before attending an Esther's Follies evening. Had been to the Carmelo's in Houston a long time ago but first time for the one in Austin.

Food was very good and well presented. Had the nightly special of a veal chop. Nice and crispy outside with great seasoning and not overdone in the middle. The accompanying mashed potatoes were a little overwhelmed so another side may have been a better pairing. Spouse had a stuffed chicken breast that was interesting and tasted good. It was served with risotto that was good as well.

We found a nice, interesting Super Tuscan on their wine list. While wines I was familiar with were priced a little high (think 3 1/2 times retail), you will find a broad selection with many options, white and red.

We had to rush a bit to make our show so did not get to try any of the desserts.

One knock is the "tableside" preparation of some dishes. Puts a lot of cooking odor right next to you with little ventilation, like when the smoking fajitas come out at Mexican restaurants. Definitely have to get your stuff cleaned after a visit there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Nice, very authentic, old time Austin It ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Nice, very authentic, old time Austin Italian restaurant in a historic building. Thursday evening it was full of happy Christmas party groups and was a delightful place to dine. Good on-site valet parking, nice outdoor spaces for more pleasant weather, and a nice bar with a good wine list. It used to be 'Me Casa Su Casa' a very long time ago -- I probably ate there first in 1966 and a number of other times over the years, but not too much recently. It's a good place, and is not beloved of the loud hipster crowd, so you could even talk to your dinner date without using hand signals. We liked it and will be back!

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Seasonal, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Took my girlfriend to Carmelo's for our ...

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on December 13, 2016

Took my girlfriend to Carmelo's for our one year anniversary as we were in Austin on business from Indiana. The atmosphere was excellent. The food was fantastic. The waiter was a bit slow as he seemed to be covering too many tables. The other servers (water, bread, drinks) were great. The food is priced high but accordingly as the quality is excellent. I would consider this a "special occasion" or date restaurant because it is expensive. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Our server was fantastic and the manager ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our server was fantastic and the manager was so nice and accommodating. The table side beef stroganoff was out of this world good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carmelo's has been our go to restaurant ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Carmelo's has been our go to restaurant for years. Our family and friends use them for most every special occasion. I have been there twice in the past two months with groups of 12 or more. They always accommodate our needs and service is amazing!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding food. I highly recommend the ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Outstanding food. I highly recommend the cannoli dessert. It was most definitely made fresh upon order. Food was fresh and well seasoned. Great ambience. Will return.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The ambiance...the music, the room was s ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 27, 2016

The ambiance...the music, the room was softly lit and the beautiful artwork.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Pretty bad! Buffet uninspiring & not wo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Pretty bad! Buffet uninspiring & not worth the $$ or time . Someone in charge needs to take an objective look at the food offered. Staff were pleasant & accommodating. Sad their "product" didn'tmatch. How do I get 50 words on this review?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving lunch buffet ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We enjoyed our Thanksgiving lunch buffet very much

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have been going to Carmelo's for year ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We have been going to Carmelo's for years and are never disappointed. The food is outstanding

as well as the service and ambiance. Always a special treat to come to Carmelo's!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Live Music, Casual, Cozy, Wood Oven, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

One of our favorite restaurants. We also ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 18, 2016

One of our favorite restaurants. We also love the Carmelo's in Houston. Attentive staff and great food.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a party of 9 on an otherwise quie ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 15, 2016

We had a party of 9 on an otherwise quiet night and the restaurant was fantastic. We were able to talk comfortably, everyone was able to order a wide variety of meals, including vegetarian options, and the staff were extraordinary.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went to Carmello's on Valentine's Day ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 13, 2016

I went to Carmello's on Valentine's Day previously. Everything went well then. This, however, was just a regular Friday night. If you count the time the waiter brought the menus, the time he took our orders, the time he brought the right food after an incorrect order, the time he dropped off the check and the time he brought it back, we saw him a total of 5 times. I had to keep asking someone else to take care of us. He got my salad wrong and ordered my friend's meat raw instead of well-done. I am not a picky person - I just want the waitperson to stop at another time besides those mentioned above. I won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value2

The service was perfect. We never wante ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

The service was perfect. We never wanted for anything the entire night! That being said, I was disappointed at the menu and the food itself. I thought the menu was way overpriced for the dishes offered, and I simply expected more Italian dishes. There was more steak and fish, prepared in fairly ordinary ways to be honest. I had a chicken dish that while tasty, the chicken was dry and over cooked. It said it came with "olive mashed potatoes" which sounded interesting but there were no potatoes at all, just a few olive slices. We all had bananas foster for dessert which was a taste treat but the tableside presentation was very low key and without any fun flare you usually get when someone does this. This was a special birthday celebration for my family and I guess I'd say I'm glad we went but for a $300 dinner for four, it wasn't worth it. And...the live music was so loud that we joked we should tip him to take a break so we could talk to each other. Sorry, Carmelo's, but I'd say this was a one time event for us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

There is no trip to Austin without dinin ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on November 12, 2016

There is no trip to Austin without dining at Carmelo's. Never a time have we been disappointed. Food, service and atmosphere is wonderful in addition to an extensive wine list. Always end our evening with banana's foster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an enjoyable dinner. The food was ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We had an enjoyable dinner. The food was great. The only negative comment we had pertained to the cloth seats in our booth. The material was very stained and gave us the impression/feeling they were dirty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.