Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Carmel Kitchen Wine Bar – Warrington

3.9
320 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Mediterranean
Perfect For:
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Notable Wine List
  • Neighborhood Gem

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed. Carmel Kitchen creates a new dining experience that is defined by innovative localized cuisine, inspired infused cocktails, an adventurous global wine list and a revolutionary menu ordering system called Menupad that offers guests a simple and easy way to customize their dining experience. Carmel Cafe & Wine Bar is the place to enjoy the everyday pleasures of exploring innovative Modern Mediterranean cuisine and a glass of wine in an inviting neighborhood setting.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Mediterranean
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm


Sunday: 11:30am- 9:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(215) 279-9607
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Off-site catering is available.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Valley Square Blvd
Additional
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 320 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
3.9based on all time ratings
3.9
food
3.9
service
4.0
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Moderate
84% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
1.0Dined on April 28, 2017

We were so disappointed when we arrived for our reservation to find that that the restaurant was permanently closed!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

Food was excellent as always but the waitress forgot half of our drink order and we had to remind her to bring the 2 soda orders. Dinner took a very long time to be served and the chef came over and gave us 2 free desserts which were very large and we actually didn't finish 1 of them. All four of us thought that the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 22, 2017

We were here for a family get together and the service was wonderful. We were a group of six women and we were not rushed. The waitress also offered to create separate checks, which was very thoughtful. Food was good and they had some fun seasonal selections. This is an excellent choice for a group gathering.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

We enjoyed our dinner. Our waiter was very attentive. We intend to go back and try some other dishes. The only problem was we had a 7:00 pm reservation but did not get seated until 7:30.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 22, 2017

My husband and I frequent Carmel. We love the food and the friendly and attentive service.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 20, 2017

Our dining experience was very good I would say mainly because Hope our server. She was very knowledgeable about all the dishes we had questions about and the wines. She gave great recommendations also. She checked to see if we needed anything and how food was but was not overbearing like at some reasturants. She made sure we had everything we needed and di not rush us eventhough we were her last table. She helped make my wife and myself have a great date night!!.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on April 16, 2017

Our reservation was for an early afternoon on a Sunday - the only available option was a limited buffet brunch. The cost was very high for what was offered - 29.95 for adults and 12.95 for children.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 16, 2017

The food and service were phenomenal. Will definite come back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 11, 2017

I was up visiting family that lived near by. We met there as it was very easy to get there.
Parking was easy and the food was very good.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2017

This is my boyfriend and I's FAVORITE spot in the area! They have a delicious, versatile menu and the staff was wonderful. I regret to say I forget the servers name...but she was so helpful and was always on point with filling my boyfriends water considering he drinks like a fish! My mother came with us on this occasion and loved the place and can not wait to come back. I would 100% recommend the steak frites, so tasty but the best part is their homemade sauces! Absolutely to die for. Location wise it is not the best, but despite that their outdoor seating looks adorable with a fire and cozy seating. We can't wait to come back in the summer and sit outside.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2017

What happened? This used to be one of our favorite places, but we haven't been there for a few months, and were so disappointed! Martinis took forever to arrive, no breadsticks, etc. with drinks, wine we ordered for main course actually arrived as our empty plates were removed. We used to say we had to slow them down a little so we could have a leisurely dinner, but this was too slow even for us. Food was acceptable. Our server was attentive, checking on us often, but just didn't have anything to deliver to us. It felt like there has been some desperation cost cutting going on.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Don't go if you need to be somewhere after dinner. Once made us wait over an hour to be seated. Ended up sitting at the bar even though we had made a reservation. Second time, didn't prepare all our entrees at the same time and one person waited to be served. This person had to eat alone since rest of table was finished when food arrived. While they seem to try their best, it appears they are a little unorganized. Not sure if we will give them a third try since each time seemed to present a new challenge that kept us there longer than we wanted.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Food was very good as was the service. For a "wine" restaurant, there should be more wine options, however, we still had a very enjoyable dining experience.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and service were excellent! We all enjoyed it! It is very loud and hard to hear each other talk but that wouldn't prevent us from coming back again; food was delicious and the service was friendly and efficient. No complaints here!!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 21, 2017

This was our second visit. The first was on a Saturday night with a Valentine's special. Service was horrible. Kitchen was understaffed. The manager was apologetic and encouraged us to return.
We played it safe and returned on a Tuesday. Service was excellent. We shared the muhamara appetizer. It was quite tasty. I had asked to substitute a gluten free cracker for the pita bread. They brought out veggie chips. I did not care for them.
My husband thoroughly enjoyed his Angus steak and mashed potato entree.
I enjoyed the grilled salmon with olive tapenade. It was moist and delicious. The accompanying green beans were surely prepared from frozen beans.
There are no gluten free options for dessert on the menu. We got the chocolate pan cake with the ice cream in a separate dish. Hubby devoured the cake. I was satisfied with the ice cream.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 18, 2017

Had a good experience, waitress was mia most of the time and also a little upset that we were charged 6 dollars extra for a drink poured over ice. Was not informed that there would be a charge pour to get something over ice and regular drinks very expensive for the little glass that is givin.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 14, 2017

All good except waiting 45 minutes for a reservation

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Great food, great atmosphere. Service was a little on the slow side but they were aware since it was Valentine's Day. Portions were just the right size, not too much or too little. The only issue they have is parking but if you don't mind a short walk you can't go wrong here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

We had the best Valentine's dinner ever on Tuesday. Absolutely fantastic.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was great. We had there special Valentines menu which was delicious. Chooses offered were lobster tails, surf and turf and filet mignon. Three courses were included. The lobster bisque was very creamy. Also offered French onion soup and two salads. Three choices for dessert.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 12, 2017

Interesting items on appetizer and entree list. Mediterranean type entrees and appetizers. Very friendly service.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 8, 2017

There was hair in our silverware and the bartender said "oh that's probably mine. I leave my purse and stuff over there all the time." The sangria was mostly juice, very little wine and they brought us pound cake instead of corn spoonbread. Heard really great things prior, but we will not be returning.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 30, 2017

Food was absolutely amazing! Everything from appetizers to main course was spectacular. Love the size options offered from wine to main courses. Waiteess was prompt and knowledgeable, the one question we asked her, she asked the chef & returned promptly with reply. This restaurant is a hidden gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 29, 2017

I really enjoy the restaurant very much and the dessert that pound cake omg such a sinful pleasure to enjoy.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 27, 2017

Nice Wine list and menu options. Something for everyone, but not your everyday same old options.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 14, 2017

We stumbled upon this restaurant and we pleasantly surprised. The décor and ambience were very pleasing, the service was exceptional and the food was both fresh and delicious. We will definitely be returning to this restaurant to eat again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 14, 2017

Very nice selection of Mediterranean foods: Greek, Spanish, Moroccan, etc. Most entrees are under $20. I would definitely visit again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2017

Server Patti was attentive, and answered all of our questions. Food was amazing, incl. black bean hummus and naan bread given before our meal. Iced tea was fresh.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 4, 2017

Appetizers were outstanding. The mains were very good. Staff was at tentative. Very noisy

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 31, 2016

This was our first time at Carmel and it was very average. The food didn't taste good and was overpriced. Didn't feel fresh or interesting. Maybe they should focus on quality and taste more and less on their fancy looking menu.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service, good food, nice selection. Excellent wine choices and varied food choices. We shared the Souvlaki platter which was very good except chimchuuri was wrong consistency. We also enjoyed the Moroccan chicken flatbread, very tasty. We all had small plates for entrees. I had polenta and white bean ragout which was very good except spinach was too garlicky to eat. My husband had steak frite which was good with a cesar salad that was awful (too briny). The other couple had chicken marsala which was pretty good and short ribs that were very good. All in all in was a positive experience. The food is good but not great.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 27, 2016

Excellent server and food was fresh and very tasty.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 4, 2016

Service was wonderful and food was delicious!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 3, 2016

Patty, our server was very pleasant, and gave exceptional service. She made good suggestions from the menu and was fast.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on November 27, 2016

Although I have been to the restaurant many times for dinner or lunch, this was our first visit for Sunday brunch. The restaurant was very empty, only a few tables. The service was extremely slow. The server came out after 30 minutes and said there was a computer issue. A cinnamon bun came out after 40 minutes and food in 50 minutes. Very extreme for omelets and French toast. Although the food was good, I would not expect to wait this long in an empty restaurant. We will give it another try and hope for better results.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 26, 2016

Your mezza plate lacked freshness. I had the steak frites, which was in salted and yasysd like it was pre marked an hour before that and it was definitely reheated on a sizzle plate in an oven because of the blood and grease left on my plate under the steak. Fries have been changed since the last I've been there but still probably the best part of the 3 meat entrees we had. My friends lamb was over cooked and the short rib was tough and was totally just re heated. The wine was not horrible I like the ability to pick my size but prices for sauvignon blanc a bit pricey not horrible. Overall, it's gone way way down for quality. Server was very nice and seemed just to be bored out of her mind on a Saturday night being ridiculously dead. Ive had better food at Applebees sadly. And that place sucks. I wish it was better.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 19, 2016

Surprised very nice Mediterranean food

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 13, 2016

The food was delicious and everthing was so fresh. We especially liked the grilled pound cake with ice cream and strawberries

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on November 5, 2016

Unfortunately, the kitchen was out of several items on the menu. Even items we ordered had to be substituted. The staff tried to be accommodating but it appears this restaurant needs a bit more experience in running a food service operation. Food just Ok overall. Not likely to visit again.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 5, 2016

Haven't been to the restaurant for a while since last time we felt rushed but decided to give it another try and it was very enjoyable this time and we plan to return again soon. Much more relaxed atmosphere.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
8