About Carmel Kitchen Wine Bar – Warrington

1613 Main Street
Warrington, PA 18976
View Larger Map

Carmel Kitchen creates a new dining experience that is defined by innovative localized cuisine, inspired infused cocktails, an adventurous global wine list and a revolutionary menu ordering system called Menupad that offers guests a simple and easy way to customize their dining experience. Carmel Cafe & Wine Bar is the place to enjoy the everyday pleasures of exploring innovative Modern Mediterranean cuisine and a glass of wine in an inviting neighborhood setting.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mediterranean

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm


Friday & Saturday: 11:30am - 11:00pm


Sunday: 11:30am- 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Valley Square Blvd

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(215) 279-9607

Website:
http://www.carmel-kitchen.com/

Catering:
Off-site catering is available.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Farm to Table, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, High Tea, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Carmel Kitchen Wine Bar – Warrington Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.5

service

3.5

ambience

3.7

noise

Moderate

72% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Mediterranean
Philadelphia / New Jersey Suburbs
Best Restaurants in Warrington ›

notable wine list (19)
good for groups (16)
fit for foodies (15)
See All
neighborhood gem (14)
great for lunch (11)
romantic (8)
kid-friendly (7)
special occasion (7)
late-night find (6)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for outdoor dining (6)
hot spot (5)
great for brunch (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
248 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

1 hr wait had reservation, food like plastic, bad

Dined on May 8, 2016

Had dinner there 3 times before, food and service fine. Mother's Day was 1 hr wait even with reservation. Not many people there to begin with. Food arrived, tiny portions, tasteless, rubbery. Would not recommend nor go there again. Perkins Restaurant has better selections and quality.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Disaster on Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Despite having reservations for Mother's Day brunch, there was at least a 20 minute wait for our table. The hostesses also warned us that there was at least a one hour wait for food once we ordered. They claimed that they were overwhelmed with the volume, however the manager told us when I complained, that they were taking walk-ins, only reservations. So why was the volume a surprise? After seeing several other parties just walk out after waiting for their table (someone had been waiting an hour and a half already), we decided to the same. This was a complete disaster of Mother's Day. Supposedly under new management, I would not recommend this restaurant after hearing about similar, if not as extreme, experiences on "normal" days from friends afterwards. I submitted this feedback on their website, however 3 days later, no response.

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

slow service, poor menu

Dined on May 8, 2016

We booked for Mother's Day brunch. After eating for 20 min we were told that it would take 90 min to get our food, and that it would have to be the (standard) Brunch menu, even though it was 2:00 o'clock. We asked to speak to the manager, who never showed up. Thanks for ruining a special occasion, we will not be returning.

food1
ambience1
service1

Went there for Mother's Day brunch and w ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Went there for Mother's Day brunch and waited an hour and our food still was not out. When we asked the waitress and manager they said they had no idea how long it would be. Awful service! We ended up leaving and celebrating Mother's Day at Wegmans...

food3
ambience1
service1

I've been here before when it's not to b ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

I've been here before when it's not to busy and the service is good. We made a reservation for Mother's Day and it was a total disaster. We were seated over 15 minutes before anyone greeted us at the table. They told us the kitchen was backed up and it may take a while to get our order, but we ordered anyways. 20 minutes later they tell us it will be at least another 40 minutes. Most tables didn't have food. The table next to us said they were waiting over an hour and a half already. We ended up leaving. What a poorly managed restaurant!

food1
ambience1
service1

Incredibly disappointing. Came here a ye ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Incredibly disappointing. Came here a year ago for dinner and had an exquisite time, thought it would be a great place to bring my family for mother's day. Apparently management has changed and they should change it back. It took 2 hours for our food to arrive, we were charged for toast we had to ask for while waiting and continuously being told that the kitchen was backed up even when no one was in the restaurant anymore. Then the food arrives and there is back pieces in the spinach of an eggs florentine when we specifically denoted that 3 out of 4 patrons were vegetarian. The waitress was sweet and lovely but the rest of the place was worthless. Two hour wait for food, charged for toast while waiting and wrong food order once it arrived... Yet it still cost us $40. Never again.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

CK had a bad day

Dined on May 8, 2016

We were seated and our orders were taken. Then we waited and waited and noticed no one around us was getting food either. A coffee was served in a paper cup. Finally a waitress tells us that it will be at least 35 MORE minutes before our food will arrive. So we left.

food5
ambience5
service2
value4

What happened?

Dined on May 8, 2016

This was my second trip here and the first was a 5 star experience. So we couldn't wait to take our mothers here for brunch on Mother's Day. We were seated right away and when the waitress came over she told us they were running 45-60 minutes behind getting the orders out. We didn't mind waiting since the food is all made to order and were told we could have a basket of muffins for snacking. They ran out of muffins and we were given one small bowl of fruit as a substitute. The wait ended up being over 90 minutes. Our waitress was very apologetic and the manager also came out to apologize. Once we got our food it was delicious and we were happy we didn't leave as the patrons around us did. I'm not sure what happened in the kitchen but I'm hopeful they will take care of this for the next time we go.

Tags: kid-friendly, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Mothers Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went for Brunch on Mother's Day. We were a party of seven and four of us ordered coffee. We were told fresh coffee was brewing, but we had to wait a considerable amount of time for the coffee to come. When we asked for refills, we had to wait a bit too. I ordered the french toast with blueberries and the blueberries were served on a separate plate which was odd. One person ordered a bloody mary and stated that it was very weak. The food was okay. I think it was a little pricey for what you received.

food2
ambience4
service3
value1

mothers day disaster

Dined on May 8, 2016

We waited for hours. Many tables walked out. When the food came 2 out of 3 orders were wrong but we were starving and didn't want to have to wait another hour if we sent it back. Worst of all they didn't offer to comp a thing.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Mother's Day Brunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

We came for Mother's Day Brunch. We had a reservation at 10am, which appears to be the time that they opened. When we sat down, it appeared that they were not ready for guests (staff running around, music wasn't working, etc.). The wait staff was very friendly, but it was obvious that they seemed to be a bit disorganized. With regard to the food, the taste was good, but it came out cold. Also, I found the portions to be small (one of the members of our party only got two slices of bacon as his side of bacon - most of the other plates had 3, which I still thought was small).

food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Excellent find, and food was VERY good.. ...

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent find, and food was VERY good....with good selection....but service was horrible.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
food2
ambience2
service1
value3

abubby

Dined on May 7, 2016

Service was very poor, Third person did not get food until other two finished eating. They were not able to accomodate dietary needs. Manager tried to make amends but we will not go back.

food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Reasonably priced, interesting menu, half plates

Dined on May 5, 2016

The Mediterranean/Moroccan specials are fun and, of course, there are lots of other options. Good prices. We has the fried pita/black bean hummus complimentary app: very tasty. The deep-fried pita is great. Not greasy, just fun. Also tried the chickpea fries. Kind of bland, but interesting sauces. The other entrees and options looked good. They offer small plate entrees, which all four of us took: the lunch sizes were perfect for us. Four half plates, appetizer, and drinks came to $28 per person, which is quite reasonable for dinner in this area (Philly suburbs). Can't wait to take hubby back to get his take.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

One and done

Dined on May 1, 2016

Food was flavorless, service was lacking. Such a disappointment the menu had such promise.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Place

Dined on April 20, 2016

We met friends here for dinner. Food and drinks were great! Servers were friendly and atmosphere was nice!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Brunch needs work

vip
Dined on April 3, 2016

Went for brunch for the first time. I feel it needs a lot of work. Not very many choices. Don't know if we will give brunch another try.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food1
ambience3
service2

We were a party of 4 at 7 pm on a Saturd ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

We were a party of 4 at 7 pm on a Saturday night. Only 5 other tables occupied. The pacing of our service was entirely too fast. The food was not very good. This restaurant has gone downhill since my first visit. I don't recommend it. We won't be back.

food3
ambience2
service3
value1

Food was good, but portions very small

Dined on March 12, 2016

Food was good, but portions very small and incredibly pricey. Special lobster and crab risotto yummy, but small. Crab cakes tiny. Calamari / shrimp appetizer tiny, with three full sized chewy, inedible squids. Wine list definitely out of the ordinary. Good choices. Server incredibly nice, but did not know menu. Every question we asked, she responded "it's good". Felt rushed / dinner was our anniversary celebration. Server should work at Friendlies, not what we perceived to be an upscale restaurant. We spent $100 on two entrees, two drinks, two appetizers, and left HUNGRY. Went into Doylestown to continue our celebration. Should have never ventured to Carmel. Great for warm pita, hummus and wine. That's it.

Tags: notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service5

Appetizers were delicious. Main courses ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Appetizers were delicious. Main courses were just so so. Moroccan Chicken wasn't the best. And the Steak Frite was just a steak with French fries. I'd go back for the hummus and the drinks. The pita chips were delicious

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nice cozy spot

Dined on February 21, 2016

We enjoyed out Saturday night meal. Could get small plates which was a bonus.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food!

Dined on February 20, 2016

I've gotten a house salad & burger my past 2 visits. House dressing is great & candied bacon on the burger is amazing! They have some unique food choices for the exploratory eaters and the regular food options for those not so adventurous.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

Underwhelmed

Dined on February 20, 2016

This was my first visit to Carmel Kitchen and it was most likely also my last. I had made a reservation because my friend had a commitment at 7:30 so I wanted to make sure we would be seated promptly when we arrived. We were indeed seated right away and brought to a spacious booth against the wall of the restaurant. We were provided menus and told our server would be with us shortly. She/He was not with us shortly. We sat there unattended for a good amount of time. It wasn't until another server passed by and noticed our drinkless table that we were acknowledged. She asked "Has anyone been over to you ladies?" - "Nope." She dropped her food off at her table and came back and quickly took our drink order and we also put in an appetizer. She wrote this down on a piece of paper and quickly walked away. She then returned with an iPad and asked if we had ever been there before and was visibly disappointed to hear that we had not. She quickly went through the deal with the iPads and apologized for the wait explaining our server hadn't arrived for their shift yet and she would be taking care of us. She really did try to do her best with the situation handed to her. The food was good, we started with the shrimp and calamari and I got the small salmon and my friend ordered a flat bread. We also each had a glass of wine which were both tasty. All in all the experience wasn't horrible but it wasn't totally enjoyable either. With the countless options in this area I think I will stick to where I know I will thoroughly enjoy myself the next time I dine out.

Tags: good for groups, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4

Waiter hung around a bit too much. Felt ...

Dined on February 17, 2016

Waiter hung around a bit too much. Felt was hard to have a conversation without being interrupted.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love this place

Dined on February 14, 2016

This place is local to our area and is our go to restaurant. They have a great wine selection, and the food and service has always been great. The best part is that there is never a wait. I'm hesitant to give it too good of a review for fear it may get more crowded:)

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Solid Spot

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went there on Valentine's Day for the 1st time. We enjoyed the drinks, appetizers and soup. Our entrees were ok. I had the short ribs and my wife had the salmon. I was a bit surprised to see a 3rd entrée that was not ordered on my check at the end. They adjusted it off after I brought it to their attention.

food2
ambience4
service3
value2

Just so so!

Dined on February 14, 2016

Went here for brunch on Valentine's Day! Had never been so decided to try it. Tasty bloody Mary's , but filled mostly with ice . My husband and I both ordered eggs Benedict, mine over crab cakes his over Canadian bacon. Server brought us both with crab cakes. Rather than waiting another 20 minutes or so, my husband said he would just eat the eggs with crab. The server said he would take the monetary difference off the check. Eggs were overdone and definitely not poached. Hash browns included were bland ! We waited awhile for check and the server charged for two Benedicts with crab. We mentioned that he had not taken the extra charge off since it was their mistake to begin with that my husband did not get what he ordered. The server apologized and took off the extra charge. Funny thing is as we left the restaurant my husband stated that Perkins would have been better for breakfast. I had thought the same thing earlier.

Tags: notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dinner was good, wine pours were generou ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Dinner was good, wine pours were generous, waitress was good too. We apparently overstayed as kitchen staff came to the table to ask if they could clean it off even though there were patrons in another part of the establishment. I am surprised at the quality of wines offered by the restaurant - they are mediocre at best which is curious since you are billed as a "wine bar".

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on February 4, 2016

Really enjoyed Carmel, unique menu, cozy, service was excellent - server paid attention to not bring our entrée before we completed our appetizer and was very helpful. Great restaurant not same old thing.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Amazing Find!

Dined on February 1, 2016

We had a wonderful meal at Carmel on Monday evening. We loved the Prefix menu and the portion size. My husband and I both commented that it was by far the best meal we've had out in a long time. We are "foodies" and enjoy food that tastes good and is beautifully presented - Carmel had both. We enjoyed pairing our wines with the meal and appreciated the diverse but not overwhelming wine menu. Our server, Damian, was fantastic - helpful, available, but did not rush us through our delicious meal. We're already planning our next visit and will spread the word.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Price Fixe

Dined on January 11, 2016

We received an email concerning their price fixe menu for Sunday and Monday nights. We gave it a try and it was awesome and will definitely be going back again !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious!

Dined on January 10, 2016

I took my fiance here for his birthday dinner, and it was delicious! The food was absolutely amazing. We ordered a pitcher of sangria and it was huge and the price was right!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good first time.

Dined on January 9, 2016

Quite possibly the best European style restaurant in the area. Partially because the local area is very much a foodie wasteland, partially because they really do have good food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Overrated

vip
Dined on January 9, 2016

I think this place wants to be known as a farm-to-table place, but it fails. Food seems like it is pre-packaged and just heated up. And to call it a wine bar is a joke. Wine selection as just adequate, nothing special.

food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Good place with some quirks

Dined on January 1, 2016

I've been here on serveral occasions. I like the ambience/vibe here and the food is always good. The only problems I've experienced here is the service, in that the main course constantly comes out while we're still on the appetizer. I hate that. I beat them at their own game by ordering the main course when the appetizer is served.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Very nice on New Year's Eve.

Dined on December 31, 2015

The server was excellent and attentive to our needs. The food portions were rather on the smaller side, but tasty. The chick pea fries were excellent, and a rare find. We will go back soon.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

New Years Eve Dinner

Dined on December 31, 2015

I made a reservation for 6 and then had to change the reservation to 8 on New Years Eve. The man I spoke to was very accommodating and very pleasant. We were seated immediately. Our waitress was excellent. She was very personable and did a great job making sure we had everything we wanted or needed. The food was delicious as was the sangria. The bill was very reasonable. I look forward to going back to Carmel again very soon.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Everything and everyone was fine thanks.

Dined on December 30, 2015

Everything and everyone was fine thanks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious burger. Fresh and hot!

vip
Dined on December 23, 2015

Delicious burger. Fresh and hot!

food3
ambience5
service5

Drinks and wine are very expensive. Best ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Drinks and wine are very expensive. Best to go when there are specials

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.