Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Carlo & Johnny

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (124)
Good for Anniversaries (109)
Good for a Date (100)
See All
Romantic (95)
Good for Birthdays (77)
Notable Wine List (61)
Business Meals (53)
Worth the Drive (50)
Cozy (49)
Historic (45)
Fireplace (40)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Live Music (38)
Good for Groups (38)
Neighborhood Gem (34)
Private Room (32)
Bar Seating (30)
Fun (29)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Authentic (25)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Comfort Food (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
People Watching (15)
Tasting Menu (13)
Dancing (12)
Family Style (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Casual (9)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Healthy (5)
Great Beer (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Kid-friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
2517 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

A terrific experience at this restaurant, the service and attention given by Colin and his team were special. Without a doubt the best NY Strip I have had in the city. I highly recomend this restaurant for any occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Healthy, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Ruby's is always great food. This was the first time I had service that was slow. We waited about 30 minutes for our dinner. I had also mentioned that it was a birthday, but that was forgotten. Either way, we still enjoyed our meal.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Went to celebrate my boyfriends birthday. The food was absolutely amazing, and the service was top notch. They all wished my boyfriend a happy birthday too which was an added bonus. Highly recommend this place to celebrate a special occasion or for a nice night out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Western NC)·Dined 5 days ago

It was our 24th Anniversary! The place was lively wonderful food friendly staff! They treated us very special!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

We came for my moms birthday and she loved every bit of it! Food was incredible and service was phenomenal!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The best steaks you can have. A higher price but well worth the money. Chris was a great server. He had knowledge of everything on the menu and was just as entertaining. Not our 1st time going and will not be our last time going.

Treated so well, the manager gave me his card. I had asked about getting chocolate mossy but they no longer have just the mousse on their menu. He told me to call ahead next time and they will have mousse for me.

Bought some of the Ruby rub so I can attempt to make these great tasting steaks on my own. Again, these are by far the best tasting steaks at least in Cincinnati and we'll worth the money.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

The food and service were excellent. We had a great time sitting near the musician.
Also, there was a mix-up in which the reservation was made for the wrong day. The manager found a way to get us a table for our special occasion, which was truly appreciated.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Great food, superior service. Will never go back to Ruth's Chris!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 15, 2017

horrible experience, never offered me a menu until I asked - the wait staff couldn't get the steak hot had to send it back for re-do , served me green beans when I ordered asparagus. a disaster of a meal and this is after making a reservation and driving all day over 800 kilometers from Toronto to Cincinnati
Out of 10 - a minus 2
I told the waitress when she asked how was the steak ?- I told her I had better
8/10 jobs in America are service-oriented, C&J's has a LONG WAY to go!!!
Won't be including this steak house when a large group of guys accompany me back to Cincinnati during baseball season.
will eat elsewhere

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 13, 2017

We have been coming to Carlo&Johnny's for years to celebrate life!! The best steak ever!! The Ganster Vibe and Decor make this a special night. You won't ever be disappointed!!! All Jeff Ruby's Rock!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Good for a Date, Private Room, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The food we were served was excellent and cooked to perfection. Our main server, Alex, was very kind and gave us very good recommendations as to what we might like to order. He was very attentive and his team took very good care of our every need. We loved the food but find it to be quite expensive to go out to dinner here. Fortunately we had gift cards to cover the cost. M

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Outstanding service as I have always received at any Jeff Ruby restaurant. Kyle and his team made sure we had a fantastic experience. The food was amazing to say the least, and the wine recommendation was spot-on. You will not regret dining here.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

first time at carlo and johnnie and terrific for birthday dinner out. food excellent having the fish and the chop. great service, friendly and professional. super ambience in the celebrity room. Would go back for sure.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Dancing, Healthy, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Fantastic evening to celebrate an anniversary! Food was unbelievable and service was impeccable!! Highly recommend and will be going back!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Atmosphere, food and service were all top notch. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 11, 2017

The staff was excellent especially Chris - thank you!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Always our first choice for any special occasion. The food and service are first rate!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Cozy, Organic, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 9, 2017

First time here. Celebrating birthday. The staff was great and very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Amazing bone in filet!!! Wow. Makes the mouth water.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Carlo and Johnny is expensive but you get high quality food with very high quality service. This is a very special occasion restaurant. I really liked it.!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Our server Pierre was attentive and engaging without being intrusive. A great dining experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Everything was wonderful! This was a surprise date for my birthday, and it was perfect. The food was amazing, the service was outstanding, and the live music was wonderful. It was such a fun, and intimate environment. I would highly recommend this restaurant this restaurant for any special occasions you have!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fun, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Dancing
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Excellent meal, service & experience. The sea bass was outstanding!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Wonderful food. Excellent service. No kids in sight.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The restaurant had excellent food and the ambiance and wait staff were worth the extra money. This is by no means an inexpensive alternative but when you are looking for that something extra special this is the place to go!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 4, 2017

3rd time here and by far the best! My gf turned #50 and the staff out did themselves. Server Aaron Nelson was superb and then after dinner Asst Mgr Colin Kirkwood reserved a table for us in the bar area to finish off the night with dancing & the band! Food as always was perfect! We will be back again, and again, and again!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fireplace, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Everyone was outstanding. Service manager the whole 9 yards

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Historic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Great staff and fantastic food. Little expensive but you get what you pay for. Always go when I'm back in town.

Tags: Live Music, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Make it a point dine with them when in town on business. Only reason not a 5-star rating this visit was because my steak, though still very good, was a bit more charred than I'd prefer. Didn't make a stink about because I like my steaks Med well; and I admit it's difficult to prepare at that temp w/o over-charring. Great, great restaurant. Highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Food was excellent. Service was unbeatable. We had a slight problem with our wine (ordered a Russian river valley wine but a Willamette Valley wine came out instead) and our server Pierre took great care in fixing the situation. Evening was otherwise perfect from start to finish. Thanks Pierre for an outstanding experience!

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We go to Carlos and jonnys once a year to celebrate a special occasion. Every year a great experience! This year food was way over cooked and just marginal. Maybe because we had an 8:45 reservation????? We must had had the end of the potatoes and vegetables . We also go for the band and dancing. There was no band? Told us a scheduling issue. It was a $300 night for just ok food and band disappointment. It is a generally a good place with great service. We will try it again someday.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Our new favorite steakhouse! Fantastic food and impeccable service! We will definitely be going back!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I thought the overall experience was what you would except for a fine restaurant. The bread crust was super hard and not eatable but other food was outstanding. I thought the steaks were a bit overpriced. Overall a place we would visit again on special occasions.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very nice location with well trained staff. Cost is pretty high but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Excellent Service
I had a party of 8 and they took care of all of us very well.
I have no complaints
Everyone please try the meat balls, I also had the New York Strip Steak (Well). I loved everything about Carlos and Johnny's

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Modern Decor, Good for Birthdays, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Followed the advice of other reviewers and ordered Freddie salad, Munoz filet, and homemade pistachio ice cream. My partner ordered the Caesar salad and lobster tail. We each had a cabernet and shared mac and cheese. My partner praised his salad, wine and macaroni dish as well as his lobster tail. The food was outstanding-best I have had at a restaurant. Freddie salad lived up to its reputation. The portion was large and the bacon had a delicious smoky flavor which permeated the entire salad. The filet was served with mushrooms and sauce, wrapped in bacon, and the entire dish was amazing. Please be warned, however, that the "rock shrimp" said to accompany the dish was cut into a small number of very small pieces and was not visible. I had imagined an entire shrimp. Again, however, the entire dish tasted amazing. The pistachio ice cream was incredibly creamy and I would have loved to have taken the rest home, as it was impossible to the two scoops included, even with some help from my date (did not do it as I was afraid it would melt)! The noise level was just right and the atmosphere was nice. The tab without tip was $180.

Now for the downside - the service was seriously lacking. We had three young male servers who were defined as a "team." However, they clearly did not communicate as we were asked the same questions by two different servers. One server attempted to serve my plate over the back of my date's head - luckily the server appeared to rethink the wisdom of this, backed off and no harm was done. It seems like the wait staff need more training!

On a separate note, I accidentally ordered full glasses of wine, not realizing the price was double what was printed in the menu, which apparently noted half-glasses. I inquired about this when I saw the check, thinking a mistake had been made. A more senior staff member came to apologize and reduced the fee which was very nice. Overall, a great date night and amazing food. Service just needs some work.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I ate in the celebrity room. Even though I was not a celebrity I felt like I was treated as such.
The service was outstanding and the food was awesome. What a ambiance for any occasion.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Coffee, Romantic, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our waiter was charming efficient informative
Food was outstanding
Wish you had hash browns like they have at The Paragon Supper Club in Centerville OH

Tags: Cozy, Healthy, Fun, Modern Decor, Authentic, Great Beer, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Impeccable Service . Menu is simple, food is just superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Veal Piccata nice but Sea Bass very disappointing. For price it should have been succulent but it was bland. Have previously enjoyed bar area and music but table area was uninspiring. My finished dinner plate sat in front of me for quite some time to a point I wondered if it would be cleared without my asking. Just was not the elegant evening I hoped for - pricey, al la carte and unimpressive overall.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.