About Carlo & Johnny

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (108)
Good for Anniversaries (100)
Good for a Date (91)
See All
Romantic (88)
Good for Birthdays (67)
Worth the Drive (53)
Notable Wine List (53)
Business Meals (51)
Cozy (49)
Quiet Conversation (41)
Private Room (39)
Good for Groups (35)
Fireplace (35)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Historic (30)
Live Music (29)
Bar Seating (26)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Fun (20)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Pre/post Theatre (19)
Authentic (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Hot Spot (16)
People Watching (13)
Casual (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Family Style (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (7)
Happy Hour (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Dancing (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Great Beer (4)
Wood Oven (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
2431 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great meal and service. Highly recommend ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

Great meal and service. Highly recommended for a special night out

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Me and my husband had a great date night ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Me and my husband had a great date night!

The food was great and our server was very good. We never had to ask for a refill on our drinks and he made sure we were happy with our meal! Something I would love to see on the menu is a trio dessert of smaller portions of your most popular desserts. I have had it at another restaurant and love it ! I think it would be a big hit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice dinner with friends. Husbands ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Very nice dinner with friends. Husbands steak was a bit under cooked but he choose not to return it to the kitchen. Other than that the food was wonderful, service fantastic and atmosphere very, very nice!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for a Date, Dancing, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

If you want an amazing meal, especially ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

If you want an amazing meal, especially where steak is your preference, you cannot beat it! Gary and Kevin were fantastic and the cheesecake is the best I have ever had.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Family Style, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service. Steak was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Great food and great service. Steak was cooked perfectly and baked Mac and cheese was delicious!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was phenomenal, as expected fro ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was phenomenal, as expected from a Jeff Ruby restaurant, and the service was impeccable. Our server was Adrian and I shall try to ask for his table in future. Everything was served on a timely basis and we were not rushed nor was anything too long in coming - the perfect situation.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Since we were celebrating our 44th weddi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Since we were celebrating our 44th wedding anniversary, I wanted to share this day with my family. We had a party of five. From the parking lot to the dining room, we were treated like royalty. The wine, the food, the parking attendants, and the server (Pierre) were excellent.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I dined at Carlo and Johnny' ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

My wife and I dined at Carlo and Johnny's for the first time. It was a date night, and our experience at the restaurant felt decadent. The service and food were amazing. We felt like we were spoiling ourselved.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Ordered veal piccata, which was heavily ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Ordered veal piccata, which was heavily breaded and ivnisible under a huge pile of raddichio. Bkand sauce, no lemons, Mentioned to Asst. Mgr who comped my meal and gave me free brussels sprouts.

So ended ok, but wont order that again. yuk

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value4

We went for our 1 year wedding anniversa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 17, 2017

We went for our 1 year wedding anniversary, and it was an overall wonderful experience. Don, our server, and Mark, manager on duty, went ABOVE and beyond to make sure we had a top notice meal. We left and said that we'll celebrate our anniversary there every year! Thank you for everything!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Quiet Conversation, Historic, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great as always and our wai ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 16, 2017

The food was great as always and our wait staff was outstanding. They have the best porkchop anywhere.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner and service were outstanding! Do ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Dinner and service were outstanding! Don, our server was excellent!

My wife and I each had the cowboy ribeyes and they were cooked to perfection. We also had the delicious macaroni and cheese as well as the asparagus.

This was our second visit in a month. Love the service, food and decor!

Just an all over excellent experience.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Incredible food and service!! Been goin ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 16, 2017

Incredible food and service!! Been going here for years and years and am never disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience as always! I belie ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent experience as always! I believe this is my tenth time dining at a Ruby restaurant. Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service always A+, however we ordered tw ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Service always A+, however we ordered two desserts to go, and got home and they were both burned slices, was very disappointed. too late to go back and replace.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Hands down the best steakhouse in Cincin ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Hands down the best steakhouse in Cincinnati. I have been there 30 times and never once had a bad steak. The service is incredible everyone is treated like a king or queen. Don't waste your money anywhere else. They are worth every penny plus some.

Tags: Fun, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlos and Johnny's did not disappoint! ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Carlos and Johnny's did not disappoint! The service and food is always outstanding ! From the minute you enter to the moment you leave you are treated like royalty! I cannot wait to go back again!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Happy Hour, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loud, food was decent but not what I'd e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Loud, food was decent but not what I'd expect from ruby...steak too well done...not anywhere near the quality it should be...ate there 3-4 years ago and now recall why I hadn't been back, learned my lesson and won't be returning...have experienced less than wonderful meals from 3 of the last 4 meals at rubys places...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

The food was excellent and so was the se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food was excellent and so was the service. This is our favorite place to dine. Love the atmosphere. Peolpe that work there are very nice.

Tags: Live Music, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service and a nice experience! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Fantastic service and a nice experience! Really enjoyed everything.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Most enjoyable evening. We had top notch ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Most enjoyable evening. We had top notch service with wonderful servers who were very attentive and personable. I would highly recommend the private room which made for a relaxing quiet evening. Food was amazing and never once felt rushed to finish for the next group of people. We were already planning our next visit even before we left. Cant wait to come back!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding in almost all respects. Grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 13, 2017

Outstanding in almost all respects. Great raw bar, steaks, wine and especially the service we received. It was my wife's last day of work heading into retirement and the staff made it very nice. They took our picture and provided us a print, free dessert and absolutely great meals, Cowboy steak and a Porterhouse. Excellent Pinot Noir from the by-the-glass list, didn't have to get a bottle to get great wine.

Many stars for this restaurant!

KC and Deb

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Another great night out as always a grea ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Another great night out as always a great time. Chris took great care of us, thank you

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and service!

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Excellent food and service!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was delicious--especially the Sea Bas ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was delicious--especially the Sea Bass.

Then we danced our meal off with a great band and not too crowded.

We'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was great overall. My boyfriend order ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

It was great overall. My boyfriend ordered a filet medium/rare, it came out more medium but he said it was still fine. One of the gentlemen taking care of our table made it worthwhile. Thank you!

Tags: Bar Seating, Fireplace, Afternoon Coffee, Comfort Food, People Watching, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Family Style, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Live Music, Dancing, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and the service w ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful and the service was top-notch!

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Live Music, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was spectacular and so was the f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Service was spectacular and so was the food. Never disappointed!

Tags: Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Disabled Access, Cozy, Fireplace, Private Room, Good for a Date, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been Carlo and Johnny's on sever ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been Carlo and Johnny's on several occasions. This time was different. The service from the main waiter was ok food was a little less than expected for this venue.

It was a birthday celebration the restaurant did not do nothing special or acknowledge the event in any way. Felt a little neglected by the staff. Overall the event did not rate to the normal Ruby steakhouse standards.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Excellent food.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Excellent food.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food in unexplainable it is so good ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

The food in unexplainable it is so good ! This service is over and beyond excellent!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, Romantic, Private Room, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Live Music, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect!! Service, food, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Everything was perfect!! Service, food, ambiance, all relaxing and tasty!

Tags: Special Occasion, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Atmosphere, service and cuisine were ama ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Atmosphere, service and cuisine were amazing would highly recommend !!

Tags: Historic, Cozy, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place, we were celebrating our ann ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great place, we were celebrating our anniversary, absolutely perfect service, food and the entire experience. Highly recommend for a quality classy place to dine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our steaks were grilled to perfection. A ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Our steaks were grilled to perfection. A perfect birthday celebration!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A favorite! Consistently excellent fine ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 30, 2016

A favorite! Consistently excellent fine dining and service.

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Private Room, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the best date night restaurant. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

This is the best date night restaurant. The service is amazing and the food is equally as amazing!!!!! Order the pork belly from the appetizer menu. It's delicious. Half size Freddie salad for each person at the table and save room for dessert. The butter cake and the peanut butter pie!!!! You won't be sorry!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service.

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic food and service for our famil ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Fantastic food and service for our family of five!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excellent and our meat e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The service was excellent and our meat entres were quite good. However, we were somewhat disappointed with a couple of the side dishes which lacked flavor.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.