About Carlo & Johnny

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
12 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steakhouse
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steakhouse
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

special occasion (205)
romantic (156)
notable wine list (112)
See All
fit for foodies (83)
good for groups (62)
vibrant bar scene (61)
neighborhood gem (57)
hot spot (47)
late-night find (17)
great for brunch (9)
great for outdoor dining (6)
kid-friendly (6)
great for lunch (6)
scenic view (5)
 (2)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2003 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service- polite and unobtrusive.

Dined 4 days ago

Great service- polite and unobtrusive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very charming atmosphere with an emphasi ...

Dined 4 days ago

Very charming atmosphere with an emphasis on making the diner comfortable and the experience enjoyable. Our experience was that of pleasure and comfort. Our server, Jeff Fraiser, displayed true professionalism and sincere pleasure of his duties, making it a must to return with our entire family. As for the entrees, second to none. I look forward to experiencing additional items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

Dined 6 days ago

Outstanding!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there to celebrate a birthday on a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went there to celebrate a birthday on a Sunday evening. The service was the usual attentive but not obtrusive first class experience. Our waiter Chase was outstanding. Jeff Ruby steak houses are known for the service and special steaks. My steak was perfect and the macaroni and cheese was rich and hot. The martini was excellent are served with those small ice crystals that make all the difference. We received a delicious complementary piece of cheese cake to celebrate. I've dined there several times in the past and always had great food and service. But the décor is dated and looking a little tired. Jeff might consider a redecoration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the best steak....ever

Dined on May 22, 2016

always a pleasure to go to a Ruby's restaurant. order the carrot cake and you will be rewarded.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service,

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience. Staff was fri ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Another great experience. Staff was friendly and welcoming. You just felt taken care of, but they were unobtrusive about it. Worth every penny!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service from all levels of sta ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service from all levels of staff. Manager Jordan and hostess were very helpful when I thought I lost my wallet. Great place for adult children to take their parents...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first choice for special occasions, ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our first choice for special occasions, we dined there tonight for our anniversary. What a great experience! Great food, service, and atmosphere, what more could you ask for!!! Special thanks to our server, Chris, outstanding! We are already looking forward for a return visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. We were taken str ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great. We were taken straight to our table, no wait. the atmosphere was perfect. We sat at a corner booth so we were not surrounded by others. We could hear the band playing from another room which was good, not too loud. The staff was excellent and very helpful and attentive and very knowledgeable about all the food and drinks. Everything went great and we look forward to dining at Carlo & Johnny again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service but pricey

Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I have been to Carlo & Johnny twice now for anniversaries. The food, service and atmosphere were excellent. We had a slight hiccup with our bill since we forgot a coupon we’d brought until just after our waiter had walked off with the our payment. After returning he fixed the bill without any fuss about the coupon showing up late in the process. We had to get the tab re-printed one more time to get it to properly reflect the discount but through all this our waiter was a good sport about it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby restaurants have the absolute ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Jeff Ruby restaurants have the absolute best steaks! We love that mac n cheese and the creamed spinach is awesome, great wine list and the best service. The wait staff is very attentive but not overly so, we are always excited to go. Thank you for a wonderful meal and nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic once it was cooke ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was fantastic once it was cooked appropriately. Our steak was overcooked. When the new steak came out there were mushrooms on it when we had asked for no mushroom. It was not a huge deal, although I would expect perfection when paying this much for a meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Restaurant

Dined on May 14, 2016

Incredible restaurant with a fantastic menu and wine list. Great atmosphere and exceptional service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most impressive steak dinner I have ever ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Most impressive steak dinner I have ever had! Meat was scrumptious, macaroni and cheese memorable and peanut butter dessert to die for! Perfect way to celebrate our daughter's graduation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorites in Cincinnat ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is one of my favorites in Cincinnati. You can't go wrong. Best steaks anywhere. The seafood is as good as anywhere on the coast but you pay a little bit more for the freshness. Charlie and his staff know how to do it right! I highly recommend the wagu beef... I hope to be back again soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, excellent and attentive serv ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food, excellent and attentive service, made our occasion special

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food Quality Decline

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Usually 5 stars but the food was a notch or two below prior visits. Service was outstanding as usual but filet was not tender as past visits. Like to visit when I am in town with a group of business associates but will rethink next time.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

We went to Carlo & Johnny for Mother's D ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Carlo & Johnny for Mother's Day brunch and have admit, we were really disappointed. First, the menu was different from what was advertised. Second, many of the warm dishes were cold; if you are going to serve a buffet, then you need to keep the hot food warm and fresh. Third, the food wasn't great. The high point though was the omelette station. The chef could cook eggs!! The desserts were okay and the fresh fruit was plentiful and ripe. I expect more from a place such as this. We (see our past reviews) are fans of this restaurant for dinner and will definitely be back. But, there are far better brunch choices in Cincinnati.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

good service, nice layout of food. Light ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

good service, nice layout of food. Lighting was a little low.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mom here for her Mother's Day celebration. She had never been to a Jeff Ruby's steakhouse, so she was pretty blown away by both the service and the food. Our waiter and his assistants were outstanding - they treated us like we were the only table they had (and we definitely weren't). The only drawback was that the hostesses were kind of snobby. I'd called ahead about the reservation, and they were snobby via phone, and barely made eye contact when we approached them to be seated. I'd say that for my mom, she didn't even notice that, so her experience was 100% in both food and service. For me, I would say it was 90%. I definitely plan on returning, though. The ambiance, food, and overall service are worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful evening!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Between the food and the service I would eat there every night. We were there to celebrate two birthdays and Mother's Day and I feel that we picked the perfect venue. The raw bar, steak, salad, sides, desert, wine, etc. everything was a feast for our taste buds. The table behind us was a little loud for my liking but we were able to talk and enjoy ourselves.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

We have been to Jeff Ruby's precinct on ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

We have been to Jeff Ruby's precinct on several occasions. This was our first visit to Carlo and Johnny's. Excellent food and service five stars all around.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Nothing New

Dined on May 2, 2016

Although pricey, the food, service and atmosphere are consistently great. Thus, nothing new ( always great )!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

We did receive a gift card, so choice was limited.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Since we received a gift card, there was no choice but to go here. The ambience is amazing, but we knew going in it would be an expensive evening since Carlos & Johnnys is known for its steaks. It was my husband's birthday, so we made the night special. The service was superb and staff was very friendly. However, to be honest, I was not impressed with my steak. It was not flavorful, and it was a bit tough. I expected an amazing steak, and it was disappointing. Even with the gift card, it still was an expensive evening with a sub-par steak. The Brussels sprouts side dish that the server suggested didn't impress. (Sorry, I'm just being honest). I wouldn't get the same thing again. With the cost of the this meal, it should have been AMAZING!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food.

Dined on May 1, 2016

Just like all Jeff Ruby restaurants everything was top notch.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner

Dined on May 1, 2016

Chris T was our waiter and he was outstanding. The food was fantastic

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2

Food was solid but not as good as other ...

vip
Dined on April 29, 2016

Food was solid but not as good as other Ruby restaurants. Service was very slow - took a long time for drinks to come back, for steak to come out, for the waiter to take our dessert order etc. We were there for 4 hours! We were celebrating a special occasion which we let them know of ahead of time and they did nothing special for us even though I saw several people getting a free dessert for their birthdays and whatnot. Was just not up to the Ruby standard in my opinion.

food5
ambience4
service5

I really enjoyed the filet, shared a sal ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

I really enjoyed the filet, shared a salad wedge, shared a backed potato, and experienced great service. A very nice experience. Can't wait to go again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Special night

Dined on April 25, 2016

This was our first time @ Carlo and Johnny and we loved everything about it. We were there on a Monday night so it was quite and very relaxing. Food was delicious, building beautiful and waiter (Pierre) was personable, attentive and helpful. Friends had told us it is their favorite and we can see why.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

35th Wedding Anniversary Celebration

Dined on April 24, 2016

I ordered the Filet Mignon - butterflied. I am one of those old school 'well-done' steak people. My husband likes his steak medium. They were able to make mine perfect with no red in the middle yet moist and delicious. Most places when I order my steak it is too well done! My husband and I would recommend Carlo and Johnny for the steak conniseur! Libby Brookbank

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter Chris was amazing! All the st ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Our waiter Chris was amazing! All the staff was so friendly and welcoming. We had a great experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Dinner for wife

Dined on April 23, 2016

I would say the perfect place for a special occasion. Wife got a pasta style dish, that she said was as good Wolfgang puck. And I did a bone-in ribeye that was to die for. Great service, from walking in the door, to the very last bite of dessert. Will be back. Thank You

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service ! Excellent food !

Dined on April 23, 2016

Carlos and Johnnys is our favorite restaurant that Jeff Ruby owns!!! The service is always excellent, the staff is exceptional and the food perfect. Love to celebrate special occasions there !

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A visit to a Jeff Ruby restaurant always ...

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

A visit to a Jeff Ruby restaurant always includes an anticipation of "great". Our recent experience at Carlo & Johnny reconfirmed that greatness. Suberb choices, suberb service by a very attentive staff in a comfortable surrounding.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was top notch and the food w ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

The service was top notch and the food was very good. We will be back.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Steaks

Dined on April 16, 2016

Best steaks money can buy! My I've and I I've going on Carlo and Johnny for any special occasion.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Food, ambiance and our fantastic waiter.

Dined on April 16, 2016

Food, ambiance and our fantastic waiter.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.