Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Carlo & Johnny

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (160)
Good for Anniversaries (136)
Romantic (124)
See All
Good for a Date (113)
Good for Birthdays (86)
Notable Wine List (80)
Business Meals (69)
Worth the Drive (64)
Quiet Conversation (52)
Live Music (47)
Cozy (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Handcrafted Cocktails (35)
Good for Groups (35)
Bar Seating (28)
Authentic (28)
Fun (27)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Vibrant Bar Scene (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Historic (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Private Room (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Comfort Food (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Casual (11)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Seasonal (7)
People Watching (7)
Great for Lunch (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Dancing (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Sunday Lunch (4)
Great Beer (3)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Fireplace (1)
Family Style (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2712 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 hours ago

Great atmosphere. Modern casual feel. The service is exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 2 days ago

Service was outstanding and the entire staff made my wife feel celebrated for her birthday. Food was exceptional and the filets were cooked to perfection. Highly recommended.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Another great meal at a Jeff Ruby restaurant. Best Steakhouse in town!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The meal was excellent and the dinning experience was above reproach

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Great. Food was delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

I have tried Jeff Ruby's restaurants several times, including 3 times at Carlos & Johnny's, and have always been so underwhelmed with the steaks. The meat is okay though they never cooked it "perfectly" for me (runs more done than not). I even tried the Wagyu filet though while good still not worth it. The sides this time, asparagus and Brussels sprouts, were tough and stringy. I have never come out of these places impressed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Very Nice but a bit too much food and a bit overpriced!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Memphis)·Dined 6 days ago

Service and food are excellent. Pricey but the food is what you expect for the price.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Our family celebrates our July birthdays every year at Carlo and Johnny. It just makes sense, with 4 birthdays in our family, to go out for one really nice dinner versus going out 4 different times, because we would end up spending the same amount of money for mediocre food. When I make the reservation, I always let them know that we are celebrating our birthdays and everyone in the restaurant makes it a point to recognize it while we're there. This year, my daughter's friend joined us and she had never been there, so she was especially impressed. As always, the food, drinks and service were impeccable.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

My wife and I have eating here several times over the years. The service and quality of food is unparalleled. If you truly want a great cut of meat prepared to perfection, there is no other place like it.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 15, 2017

First time at Carlo & Johnny - VERY pleased with our experience! Service was excellent - attentive but not overbearing. Great food - VERY tasty! Setting is also really nice. Great historical feel and significance, but doesn't feel "old" or dated. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 15, 2017

The food was wonderful . Our waiter Greg did an exceptional job . Can't wait to go back again.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Great steak selection, service was good, just a bit noisy in dining room. Bar area was good and had live music.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Late-night Find, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Excellent food and service. Ambiance and decor warm and interesting.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Fantastic food and service. The atmosphere is impeccable

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Very attentive and excellent service and the food was prepared perfectly and was excellent as always. The shrimp cocktail is the best around and the steaks are magnificent!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Live Music, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Everything was impeccable, as you would expect...and for which you pay a premium price. We come here to celebrate the very special occasions in our families lives, and the food and the service is outstanding every time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Always delicious..service is impeccable with the staff always smiling, friendly and fun.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fun, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Casual, Live Music, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 10, 2017

great food as always. Had my son's rehearsal dinner here in June. however this time it was for my friend who lives in Italy came to town for her daughter's wedding as well as my son's and it was a farewell dinner for her

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Fathers day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Food and service were top notch. We dined with friends from out of town and were not disappointed! Carlo and Johnny is the quintessential American steak house. Special thanks to Chris and Zach for always treating us like valued guests!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great food and friendly service. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Teamwork and collaboration between all the staff members and mangers made for a delightful dining experience. The staff was engaging and went above and beyond to make us feel like welcome valued guests. We never had to ask for anything because someone was always providing us with what we needed before we ever had to ask or someone was stopping by to ask us if there was anything else they could do. To top off the amazing atmosphere the food was perfect in every way.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 9, 2017

Great place to eat. Service was excellent. Had a great time.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

I've been to this restaurant several times now and I always have a good time and good service. The only reason I gave 4 stars for "overall" was because we waited about 30 mins before our steak arrived, and that was after we finished our salads. I'm guessing they were a little busy or short handed in the kitchen, but this was the only time we waited for our main course meal. Our waiter, Jeff, was very nice and professional. He really did a good job taking care of us.

Tags: Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Carlo & Johnny is becoming a special destination for my wife and me. Once again, the food was delicious and the service was exceptional. Although I am frugal, the quality of the experience makes the cost a great value. If you want a romantic place to take that special person in your life, or if you just like a steak that melts in your mouth, spend an evening with Carlo & Johnny.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 7, 2017

We went for our anniversary and loved the service, atmosphere, and food! The wait staff all knew it was our anniversary and gave us well wishes, very personalized. They even took our picture and gave us it in a Carlo and Johnny frame. I got the Steak Collinsworth which was amazing! They gave us a complimentary cheesecake for our anniversary too. It was a perfect night!

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The good was great. Our waiter seemed a little condescending. He was not very friendly. A little boy behind us kept throwing himself on the floor and having Tantrums. Our first time there. Usually go to the Precinct. Probably go back to the Precinct.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 1, 2017

the service is impeccable and the food was awesome

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Carlo & Johnny never fails to disappoint. Our server, Chris, was incredibly knowledgeable and friendly. The food was incredible, steaks cooked to perfection, accompanied by a fantastic bottle of wine. My only complaint was that we had a rather loud & obnoxious party seated next to us, but we didn't let that affect our evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 30, 2017

We dine out once a week or so at top quality restaurants. We agreed this was the best meal we can remember. Our steaks were exceptional and we both tend to be critical of restaurant steaks. Sides were notable as well. The lighting and overall ambiance are romantic and very relaxing. The details like Ruby logos on butter and hand towels are first class. Very good breads. Nothing is neglected. There was a server and an assistant. We received good, timely but unobtrusive attention consistently. We had a very memorable evening!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terrific!
My first time but it's one of the best steakhouse in Cincy area!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We came here for my husbands birthday and everything from the valet to the server to the food was wonderful. We always have a great time here!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Excellent food and service, a bit pricey, great for special ocassions.
Hostess was not at station, so not very welcoming entrance.
Our waiter, Adrien, was fantastic!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 26, 2017

My customer from New Jersey absolutely loved the place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 26, 2017

The food is always delicious and the service impeccable, however, Greg made our evening even more perfect. His wine recommendation was just right and he was always there to fill our glasses. We have been to many steakhouses and this is the only one I return to!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Just about the best place to eat in town. Been here a few times and it's always top notch. Great food and perfect service. One of the best meals ever eaten was prepared by this place. Prices are high, but the earned it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 25, 2017

CARLO & JOHNNY'S IS A VERY SPECIAL PLACE FOR MEMORABLE OCCASIONS. IF BEEF IS YOUR CRAVING, THIS IS THE PLACE. WE ALWAYS BOOK A RESERVATION FOR OUR BIRTHDAY'S, ANNIVERSARIES, HOLIDAY CELEBRATIONS BECAUSE WE KNOW THE FOOD, SERVICE, AND ATMOSPHERE WILL BE EXACTLY WHAT WE WANT. EACH DINING ROOM IS COMFORTABLE, AND SERVERS ARE WELL TRAINED TO MAKE SURE EVERYTHING IS CORRECT AND DELICIOUS. THE MANAGER EVEN STOPPED BY TO SAY HELLO AND TO CHECK THAT ALL WAS GREAT, WITHOUT BEING INTRUSIVE. I WOULD SOFTLY SUGGEST THAT A SMALL SIDE BE INCLUDED (please) ESPECIALLY WHEN ONLY ONE PERSON WANTS A SIDE. (WISH THEY COULD FIND THE RECIPE FOR THE OREGANO FLAVORED ROLLS THAT CHARLIE'S CRAB USED TO BAKE, "YUM". )

Tags: Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Authentic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Business Meals, People Watching, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

My husband and I have eaten at Carlo and Johnny's many times and always love it! We love the live music, great steaks and seafood, great sides and fresh salads! Our oldest son turned 13 and wanted steak for his birthday dinner so we took her three boys and it was fabulous as always!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.