Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Carlo & Johnny

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (136)
Good for Anniversaries (119)
Good for a Date (108)
See All
Romantic (99)
Good for Birthdays (82)
Notable Wine List (67)
Business Meals (54)
Cozy (50)
Worth the Drive (49)
Historic (47)
Live Music (44)
Quiet Conversation (40)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Good for Groups (37)
Private Room (34)
Bar Seating (33)
Fun (31)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Fireplace (27)
Authentic (27)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Hot Spot (20)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Comfort Food (14)
Tasting Menu (13)
Dancing (13)
People Watching (12)
Late-night Find (9)
Happy Hour (9)
Family Style (8)
Seasonal (7)
Healthy (6)
Casual (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Great Beer (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great for Brunch (4)
Great for Lunch (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Organic (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2570 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

An amazing experience. Service, food, and atmosphere is top notch. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

We had never been here but received a gift card for a wedding present. We were very excited to try it. Needless to say...we will be back. Much like our wedding day...it was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 3 days ago

Always excellent service and superb food! Would recommend for fine dining experience.

Tags: Private Room, Hot Spot, Live Music, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 3 days ago

Our service and food were outstanding! You just can't go wrong with a Steak from Jeff Ruby's-always cooked to perfection. The crab cakes are amazing, and so was the truffle creamed corn.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Live Music, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined 4 days ago

You can't go wrong with this place. The service and food are outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Great experience as always. Very attentive lounge and restaurant service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent Easter dinner. Never any complaints when dining at any of Jeff Ruby's restaurants. Pierre was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Very disappointing options for an Easter buffet at $40 per person. Drinks were watered down. Table was situated so that buffet line bumped into my husband tho reservations were made early enough. Food items had run out by 12:45 and were not replaced. Should have gone to Grand Finale.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch, and was extremely satisfied with the various amount of foods. Carving station was excellent as well as dessert. Will most likely return for another brunch here in the future.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Always enjoy the food and the service here. The ambience is excellent and the Easter Buffet is the best! Great anytime of the year.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Went for Easter Brunch. Food was outstanding and service terrific.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

My girlfriend and I went here for our one year anniversary and the entire experience was amazing. The professional staff was extremely courteous and helpful. The best thing about the entire night was the food. The steak was, bar none, the best steak I have ever eaten. It was melt in your mouth good. The macaroni and cheese was exquisitely decadent and the asparagus was cooked to perfection. I can't stress enough about how great it was. Thank you for making our night special!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Fantastic service!!! If you go there ask for Don!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We spend every anniversary dinner at a Jeff Ruby's restaurant
It was Fantastic as always!!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (London)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Such a wonderful experience. Great food and the staff is excellent. A fine night!

Tags: Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 12, 2017

First time to visit here. Very nice place, several small rooms so not crowded. Staff was great from valet, to having door opened when you approached, hostess & James the server. it was my birthday so they took a picture and gave it to us framed. Also received a complimentary slice of cheesecake with a candle on it. We ordered the Cowboy steak which when it came it was black and lots of charcoal crust. We could hardly taste the great meat we were expecting due to the blacken outside. (wish we would have taken a picture) Several people stopped by table to see if everything was okay, we said yes as we thought maybe this was the way it was to be, but really did not enjoy steak flavor we were hoping for.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 11, 2017

Outstanding meal with great service!! It was a special occasion and we were treated like royalty. Steak was amazing.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Fun, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Cozy, Vibrant Bar Scene, Molecular Gastronomy, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 10, 2017

Carlo & Johnny is my number one choice when looking for somewhere to celebrate birthdays, anniversaries, or work promotions. The food is consistently delicious and the service is always fantastic. I love the 1920's theme and overall ambiance at Carlo & Johnny. There is nowhere better in the area to dine.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 9, 2017

This is a great restaurant for celebrating a special anniversary!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Filet Mignon (medium rare) was so dry had to send it back. Second one was very good. The "Cowboy Ribeye" was also dry and tough. Very disappointed. Been there before and meat was much better. Definitely way overpriced for caliber of meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

We were celebrating all of our birthday's, mine, my mom, my brother and my husband, it was the first time we could all get together. We have a great time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Best steak in the tristate!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Truly a great experience!!!! Everyone was so nice and helpful. The food was delicious!!! For our first time there and our Prom event, they made it very special for us. They gave us a special dessert and even took a photo for us. The best of all was the staff! We felt like we got the royal treatment. So thank you Charlie and staff! AMAZING JOB!!!!

Tags: Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Excellent! This was our first time at this restaurant and it was very enjoyable.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Historic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We loved everything about this place! Food was delicious and the service was amazing!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Excellent food and comfortable and quiet ambience. Nice expensive meal was worth the money but just now and then

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Fantastic in every way.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 3, 2017

Wonderful!! The service was impeccable and the food was phenomenal!!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Authentic, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

relaxing atmosphere in the open area downstairs. food was excellent, staff was attentive, professional, yet down to earth. our server (jeff) was exceptional.

would return again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Unbelievable experience. Top Notch, food and service are everything you expect from a fine dining experience. Staff goes over the top to ensure your experience is unforgettable. The food is so good, I lack the words to give it justice. From the wine, appetizers, sides, salads and entree just incredible. I recommend for date night or special occasion. I took my wife on a surprise date night, being parents of 4 kids we don't get out much. This place made the night spectacular. Jeff Ruby's establishments are always top of the line. Go here and go often.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Adrian was our server and did a fantastic job. He was very friendly and attentive. He really went above and beyond to make our night special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner was absolutely delicious. Wait staff was very friendly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Loved Carlo & Johnny! We have visited all the Jeff Ruby's in Cincinnati, and this was our favorite! Food and service were exactly what you'd expect, just amazing!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

The staff were very polite and engaging. The food was well cooked and delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Great food & service while Charlie (Mgr) assures everyone has a wonderful evening

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 1, 2017

It was for my girl fiend birthday . It aa great that they bought a free desert and a picture to take home

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 30, 2017

Beautiful dining experience. Pierre, our, charming server, has our high praise. Food was exquisite. It was a great pampered experience... my friend and I had a great girls night out! 👍😊

Tags: Fun, People Watching, Romantic, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 30, 2017

My $68 porterhouse was over cooked, but they corrected this by preparing another steak that came out rare. I ordered medium rare.... no time left to send it back again on 2nd steak, but at least they tried to make it right.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Absolutely one of the best. The service was as amazing as the food.

Tags: Cozy, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 29, 2017

This was our 5 year anniversary date. We have always loved the experience and food at any of the Ruby establishments. Sadly this time though at Carlo and Johnnys the steak (what you go to Ruby's for) was very poorly prepared. It was over cooked, over crisped on the outside, and a complete lack of flavor. Ordering a bone in ribeye I would have expected some flavor and unfortunately it had none. Sadly I have had a better prepared steak at Longhorn Steakhouse than what I did on this occasion at Carlo and Johnnys. I will still continue to eat at The Precinct and Jeff Rubys but this was my last trip to Carlo and Johnnys.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.