About Carlo & Johnny

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Baked Macaroni & Cheese
12oz Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon w/ Collinsworth Topping
Alaskan King Crab Chowder
Jeff Ruby's Carlo & Johnny
Truffle Butter/ Regular Butter
Crown Reserve On The Rocks
Grey Goose And Tonic
Shrimp Cocktail
Bread Basket
14oz 64-day Old Aged Kansas City Strip
12oz BULLET CUT FILLET W/ COLLINSWORTH TOPPING
Lamb Over Sweet Potato Puree
Monkfish And Cauliflower Puree
Grilled Cheese Salad
Queen's Cut Filet Mignon
Crab Calaway

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
13 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steakhouse
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steakhouse
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

special occasion (191)
romantic (141)
notable wine list (97)
See All
fit for foodies (67)
good for groups (55)
neighborhood gem (52)
vibrant bar scene (50)
hot spot (38)
late-night find (14)
great for brunch (9)
great for outdoor dining (7)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (6)
kid-friendly (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2020 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food is good but is incredibly overp ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is good but is incredibly overpriced. It is crazy to have to pay for the various sauces for the steaks separately as the steaks are quite expensive as is and come with no sides other than the bread at the table. There were 2 of us and we had no drinks, appetizers, dessert and ordered only 1 side dish and paid $130 by the time we were done.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and service were both outstandi ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and service were both outstanding!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our 2nd time here..... truly a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our 2nd time here..... truly a delight each time. From start to finish- 5 Star. It would be difficult to be disappointed here.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Disappointed that a $70 steak was delive ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Disappointed that a $70 steak was delivered to our table obviously cremated and barely chewable. Ordered medium well, and the server confirmed that it should have some pink in the middle - that is what we wanted and expected the result to be. My husband will not complain nor does he send food back, so he ate it. I tried it as well and it was burned through and through. Yes, had he complained I am certain that it would have been resolved. However, I know that Jeff Ruby restaurants have quality inspection standards that need to pass through the chef and the server (captain) before the food is delivered; so they should have caught this and my husband should not have needed to complain. Unfortunately I was trying to win him over on this restaurant, but he doesn't want to go back. Good news: my steak was great and so were the appetizers we ate at the bar!

food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Carlo & Johnny is a typically a place wh ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Carlo & Johnny is a typically a place where I take business clients, but in this instance it was a special family occasion. As always the food and service were top notch and did not disappoint. With an extensive wine list and a staff that is extremely knowledgeable and focused on customer satisfaction, you will not find another premium dining service in the Cincinnati area that does it any better.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

My husband and I dined here for our 30th ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

My husband and I dined here for our 30th anniversary. The staff were extremely attentive, accommodating, and made us feel very welcome. We were seated in the Hollywood Room which took you back to a bygone era of chandeliers, and rich leather seating. I had the sea bass and we shared the Brussels sprouts. All was exceptional. My husband tried the rack of lamb and was pleasantly surprised. He usually leans toward steak, but thought he would change it up by trying the lamb. It was very moist and flavorful. We ordered a bottle of wine and Jason never let us go empty. Our water glasses also were well attended by Justice . Both were very pleasant. For dessert we split a peanut butter pie which was adorned with a lit candle for our occasion. It was absolutely delicious. They then took our picture to commemorate the experience and gave it to us in a protective folder with the restaurant name on it. The restaurant is in an old establishment that has an interesting history. They had this type written on a piece of paper for us to read and keep. After our wonderful dining experience, Jason was kind enough to give us tour of the entire restaurant. We stumbled upon a beautiful outdoor patio which looked very inviting, some more secluded dining areas, and an upstairs which could handle a private party. The lighting was more of the beautiful chandeliers. We valet parked the car and the attendant whose name I did not catch was very friendly as well. This was quite the dining experience....One that I won't forget. Looking forward to a repeat visit.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food as usual. Pr ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Excellent service and food as usual. Pricey, but worth it.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

For us, Carlo and Johnny is a once a yea ...

Dined on June 8, 2016

For us, Carlo and Johnny is a once a year special treat. The service and food is outstanding, as it should be at the prices they charge.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Classy but fun atmosphere

Dined on June 5, 2016

Loved the personable bar tender and waiter! That along with the live entertainment made this steak-lover's restaurant more lively and entertaining than most.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Outstanding Food...Seated in Overflow Section?

vip
Dined on June 3, 2016

As usual, the steak and seafood was outstanding. Potatoes were a bit undercooked. Unfortunately, we were seated in a room that felt detached from the high-end feel and character of the balance of the restaurant. Service was a bit on the slow side...service was not as attentive as normal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Family Celebration

Dined on June 2, 2016

Our visit to Carlo and Johnny was a wonderful experience with great food. The service was very friendly and attentive to our needs. We will be returning.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great restaurant

Dined on May 31, 2016

If you're the ultimate restaurant experience, go to Carlo & Johnny's. Has a very unique decor. The staff is excellent. And the food "out of this world" good. It is pricey, but you have to experience it at least once. You won't regret it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

They waygu filet was incredible!

Dined on May 29, 2016

They waygu filet was incredible!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dining experiences ever. ...

vip
Dined on May 29, 2016

One of the best dining experiences ever. Food and service was as good as it gets.

Tags: fit for foodies, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

My wife and I had a fantastic evening to ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

My wife and I had a fantastic evening to celebrate our 6th wedding anniversary. I highly recommend this restaurant

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Celebration

Dined on May 28, 2016

Thoroughly enjoyed my sister's birthday celebration dinner. From the moment we entered the doors until the time we left we were treated like family. Our waiter Jason was exceptional and very attentive. The steaks were melt in your mouth delicious, the sides were seasoned to perfection, and the desserts were heavenly. We did not want for anything.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Great service- polite and unobtrusive.

Dined on May 25, 2016

Great service- polite and unobtrusive.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very charming atmosphere with an emphasi ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Very charming atmosphere with an emphasis on making the diner comfortable and the experience enjoyable. Our experience was that of pleasure and comfort. Our server, Jeff Fraiser, displayed true professionalism and sincere pleasure of his duties, making it a must to return with our entire family. As for the entrees, second to none. I look forward to experiencing additional items on the menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding!

Dined on May 23, 2016

Outstanding!

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Went there to celebrate a birthday on a ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Went there to celebrate a birthday on a Sunday evening. The service was the usual attentive but not obtrusive first class experience. Our waiter Chase was outstanding. Jeff Ruby steak houses are known for the service and special steaks. My steak was perfect and the macaroni and cheese was rich and hot. The martini was excellent are served with those small ice crystals that make all the difference. We received a delicious complementary piece of cheese cake to celebrate. I've dined there several times in the past and always had great food and service. But the décor is dated and looking a little tired. Jeff might consider a redecoration.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

the best steak....ever

Dined on May 22, 2016

always a pleasure to go to a Ruby's restaurant. order the carrot cake and you will be rewarded.

Tags: special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and excellent service,

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent food and excellent service,

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great experience. Staff was fri ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Another great experience. Staff was friendly and welcoming. You just felt taken care of, but they were unobtrusive about it. Worth every penny!

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service from all levels of sta ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Excellent service from all levels of staff. Manager Jordan and hostess were very helpful when I thought I lost my wallet. Great place for adult children to take their parents...

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Our first choice for special occasions, ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Our first choice for special occasions, we dined there tonight for our anniversary. What a great experience! Great food, service, and atmosphere, what more could you ask for!!! Special thanks to our server, Chris, outstanding! We are already looking forward for a return visit.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was great. We were taken str ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Everything was great. We were taken straight to our table, no wait. the atmosphere was perfect. We sat at a corner booth so we were not surrounded by others. We could hear the band playing from another room which was good, not too loud. The staff was excellent and very helpful and attentive and very knowledgeable about all the food and drinks. Everything went great and we look forward to dining at Carlo & Johnny again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Excellent food and service but pricey

Dined on May 20, 2016

My wife and I have been to Carlo & Johnny twice now for anniversaries. The food, service and atmosphere were excellent. We had a slight hiccup with our bill since we forgot a coupon we’d brought until just after our waiter had walked off with the our payment. After returning he fixed the bill without any fuss about the coupon showing up late in the process. We had to get the tab re-printed one more time to get it to properly reflect the discount but through all this our waiter was a good sport about it.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby restaurants have the absolute ...

vip
Dined on May 19, 2016

Jeff Ruby restaurants have the absolute best steaks! We love that mac n cheese and the creamed spinach is awesome, great wine list and the best service. The wait staff is very attentive but not overly so, we are always excited to go. Thank you for a wonderful meal and nice evening.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fantastic once it was cooke ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

The food was fantastic once it was cooked appropriately. Our steak was overcooked. When the new steak came out there were mushrooms on it when we had asked for no mushroom. It was not a huge deal, although I would expect perfection when paying this much for a meal.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional Restaurant

Dined on May 14, 2016

Incredible restaurant with a fantastic menu and wine list. Great atmosphere and exceptional service.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great dining experience!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Always a great dining experience!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Most impressive steak dinner I have ever ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Most impressive steak dinner I have ever had! Meat was scrumptious, macaroni and cheese memorable and peanut butter dessert to die for! Perfect way to celebrate our daughter's graduation!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of my favorites in Cincinnat ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

This is one of my favorites in Cincinnati. You can't go wrong. Best steaks anywhere. The seafood is as good as anywhere on the coast but you pay a little bit more for the freshness. Charlie and his staff know how to do it right! I highly recommend the wagu beef... I hope to be back again soon.

food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic!

Dined on May 13, 2016

Fantastic!

food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, excellent and attentive serv ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great food, excellent and attentive service, made our occasion special

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Food Quality Decline

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

Usually 5 stars but the food was a notch or two below prior visits. Service was outstanding as usual but filet was not tender as past visits. Like to visit when I am in town with a group of business associates but will rethink next time.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3

We went to Carlo & Johnny for Mother's D ...

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Carlo & Johnny for Mother's Day brunch and have admit, we were really disappointed. First, the menu was different from what was advertised. Second, many of the warm dishes were cold; if you are going to serve a buffet, then you need to keep the hot food warm and fresh. Third, the food wasn't great. The high point though was the omelette station. The chef could cook eggs!! The desserts were okay and the fresh fruit was plentiful and ripe. I expect more from a place such as this. We (see our past reviews) are fans of this restaurant for dinner and will definitely be back. But, there are far better brunch choices in Cincinnati.

food5
ambience3
service5
value3

good service, nice layout of food. Light ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

good service, nice layout of food. Lighting was a little low.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Mother's Day Dinner

Dined on May 7, 2016

I took my mom here for her Mother's Day celebration. She had never been to a Jeff Ruby's steakhouse, so she was pretty blown away by both the service and the food. Our waiter and his assistants were outstanding - they treated us like we were the only table they had (and we definitely weren't). The only drawback was that the hostesses were kind of snobby. I'd called ahead about the reservation, and they were snobby via phone, and barely made eye contact when we approached them to be seated. I'd say that for my mom, she didn't even notice that, so her experience was 100% in both food and service. For me, I would say it was 90%. I definitely plan on returning, though. The ambiance, food, and overall service are worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Wonderful evening!

Dined on May 7, 2016

Between the food and the service I would eat there every night. We were there to celebrate two birthdays and Mother's Day and I feel that we picked the perfect venue. The raw bar, steak, salad, sides, desert, wine, etc. everything was a feast for our taste buds. The table behind us was a little loud for my liking but we were able to talk and enjoy ourselves.

Tags: good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.