Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Carlo & Johnny

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Sunday-Thursday 5:00pm- 9:00pm Friday- Saturday 5:00pm- 10:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.7

value

4.3

noise

Quiet

95% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (163)
Good for Anniversaries (145)
Romantic (134)
See All
Good for a Date (122)
Good for Birthdays (90)
Notable Wine List (86)
Worth the Drive (70)
Business Meals (68)
Quiet Conversation (56)
Live Music (51)
Cozy (50)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Good for Groups (37)
Authentic (30)
Bar Seating (30)
Handcrafted Cocktails (24)
Fun (22)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Hot Spot (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Tasting Menu (16)
Comfort Food (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Pre/post Theatre (15)
Casual (14)
People Watching (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Seasonal (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Local Ingredients (5)
Great for Brunch (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Tapas (1)
Waterfront (1)
Sort By:
S
2835 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 2 days ago

The staff went above and beyond to make the occasion extra special. The total experience and meals were first class. Everyone was super friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 2 days ago

The steak Collinsworth is so delicious I don't dare order anything else...except the side dishes. The mac and cheese is crazy good!

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined 3 days ago

The food was simply outstanding, which matched our service.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

good as expected will be back again......
Great Steaks!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

Adam and Aaron were awesome. Second visit in a month and we couldn't have asked for better service. Adam went above and beyond on dessert. Thank you.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

By far the best of the Ruby restaurants! And it is our favorite place. Request Ryan as your server!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Bar Seating, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Wonderful experience, our first visit. Highly recommend and we will return. All expectations met

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Great dining experience! I booked thru open table and noted my birthday as the special occasion and it was recognized from the hostess thru to our server. The complimentary cheesecake was a pleasant surprise to a wonderful dinner. Don our service took our photo however we did not receive it upon aiur leaving. That would have been a nice token of our evening together.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Live Music, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

I LOVE Carlo and Johnny. The night could not have been more perfect. Everyone is so professional and so wonderful. I love the whole experience. Thank you!!!!!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Live Music, Romantic, Happy Hour, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

James was a great waiter. Had us covered all the way through dinner.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Staff is amazing, super friendly and welcoming. Steaks are out of this world!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

Me and my wife had a great time. The server was perfect! Dan I believe his name. The place was nice and clean inside and out. Every employee spoke to us. Just want to say thanks for everything even the picture our server took. Being African American seem to not matter to anyone so once again thanks for the great service and food.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As always, everything was perfect. This is our go to place in Cincinnati.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 14, 2017

Outstanding food and service. Carlo & Johnny never disappoints. If you are looking for a fantastic dining experience, look no further.

Tags: Bar Seating, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Really enjoyed our dinner at Carlo & Johnny's! Food was delicious and our waiter, Chris was
outstanding!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 13, 2017

King crab is necessarily out of season this time of year. Would have been better fresh during crabbing season (Oct-Dec), not previously frozen, especially at the price of $25 for a 4-oz piece (including the shell). Tasted previously frozen, which it was.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on September 12, 2017

Best in Class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Great place wherein to celebrate a special occasion!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 11, 2017

We were celebrating a special occasion. Always enjoy our visits to Carlo and Johnny's...for is excellent and service impeccable.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

Wonderful service, food, and ambeinance. Courses served timely. Known for steak - all were prepared exact to perfection. Sides enough to share. Service on the spot. Complemtary photos were an added touch.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Outstanding service and the food was excellent as always. Thank you to Dan and Conrad for the superb service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Ruby never disappoints. Excellent meal and service

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

My New York Strip was great! Fillet mignon was over cooked dry and tasteless. Had to send back only to get the same thing again. Our shareable side was also just ok. So we were a little disappointed with our dinning experience at Carlo and Johnny.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Waiter was fantastic. Staff was gracious... food was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Jeff Ruby runs the absolute best steakhouses in America. The Jeff Ruby experience combines excellent food with top notch, personalized service

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 6, 2017

The service was very good, our waiter very attentive and helpful. The food was excellent and met our expectations. The furnishings were quite comfortable and it was pleasant that we could actually carry on a conversation and hear each other talk. A excellent dining experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Amazing food. Amazing service. Great atmosphere. Hands down the best steaks out there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Had a nice dinner with my wife for our anniversary here, first time dining here. Excellent food, great service and made for a nice place for conversation, not too loud, not creepy-quiet. Thanks! We'll be back again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

This was our first time to this Jeff Ruby's location. Everything was perfect. We came to celebrate our 11 year wedding anniversary. We arrived 90 minutes prior for a few cocktails at the bar. We were pleasantly surprised it was Happy Hour. The bartender was wonderful. When we went to our table from start to finish everything was delightful. The waiter took care of us and made our special event just perfect. We look forward each year returning to a Jeff Ruby's restaurant.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great evening and exceptional food. Dan was attentive and provided excellent service! Will come back!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Great service every time we come here! Outstanding steaks!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 3, 2017

I ended up getting the 12oz. Filet and it was so thick it was just a little under cooked on the inside, but I want upset because it was good!!! Then the manager was making his rounds and noticed I was only eating the exterior. He stopped and asked " could I put a little more heat on your steak for you ." I've worked in restaurants before and eaten at many nice establishments but this experience was very impressive!!! Highly recommend

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2017

This place was outstanding. Our service was impeccable the food was incredible. If I could I would eat her every week.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Disabled Access, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 2, 2017

The fillet was delicious as always. I has the cheesecake for the first time and am wondering why I've ever gotten anything else for dessert.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

The salmon was the best ever. The filet was just a bit over-seasoned for my taste but cut like butter just the same. The mood of all those providing service was outstanding and made the experience that much more fun.

Tags: Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Carlo & Johnny is part of the Jeff Ruby restaurant group, and they are some of the best steakhouses in the country. Everything, from food to wine list to service, is absolutely first class. Expensive, and well worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 31, 2017

We enjoyed a special dinner with fine wine, streaks and the shrimp cocktail. It's definitely a special occasion due to the prices, but totally worth it every once in a while.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 31, 2017

My brother was in from out of town. We wanted to take him for a steak dinner. Everything was absolutely wonderful! I even requested a room separate because my dad is 80% blind and has a hard time trying to eat in public and we were given the private room! That was very much appreciated! We were in the Regency room, there was a large table outside the room that had a couple loud obnoxious people that you could hear everything they were talking about. Staff was exceptional and attentive! Will definitely be back! Thank you so much!

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 30, 2017

I am totally impressed with everything at Carlo's and/ or any Ruby's restaurant.

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Casual, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.