About Carlo & Johnny

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Baked Macaroni & Cheese
12oz Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon w/ Collinsworth Topping
Alaskan King Crab Chowder
Jeff Ruby's Carlo & Johnny
Truffle Butter/ Regular Butter
Crown Reserve On The Rocks
Grey Goose And Tonic
Shrimp Cocktail
Bread Basket
14oz 64-day Old Aged Kansas City Strip
12oz BULLET CUT FILLET W/ COLLINSWORTH TOPPING
Monkfish And Cauliflower Puree
Lamb Over Sweet Potato Puree
Grilled Cheese Salad
Crab Calaway
Queen's Cut Filet Mignon

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
11 More
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steakhouse
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steakhouse
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

Special Occasion (221)
Romantic (167)
Notable Wine List (98)
See All
Fit for Foodies (64)
Good for Groups (63)
Neighborhood Gem (57)
Vibrant Bar Scene (52)
Hot Spot (32)
Late-night Find (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (7)
Great for Brunch (7)
Scenic View (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2102 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The entire night was perfect from the ti ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

The entire night was perfect from the time we entered the door until we left. Food, service, our waiter and his suggestions helped make everything we could have hoped for! Great job by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening . Food and wine the be ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Wonderful evening . Food and wine the best. A plus is they have a band playing and it nice to head to the bar for after dinner drinks and dancing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not so great, but the servi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined 6 days ago

The food was not so great, but the service was great. A couple of the steaks were not done enough and one steak had stringy muscle/tendon in the filet. I normally see it at Outback, but was surprised to see it at Carlo & Johnny. We had a party of 6 and spent over $900.00.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service was outstanding, bar is ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and service was outstanding, bar is also very nice for a drink after dinner with live music

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary, and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary, and Carlos and Johnny's is one of our favorite places to go for a special occasion. When one of our entrees was over cooked, it was taken back and replaced within 10 minutes with a steak cooked to perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a quality dinner although too exp ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a quality dinner although too expensive for me to dine frequently

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to Ruby's Restaurant, went w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time to Ruby's Restaurant, went well my wife's Birthday! FoodwasGreat as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined here on several occasions and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I've dined here on several occasions and have noticed that it can be a little hit or miss. This past visit was for a work team event. In general the food was very good but a few of the steaks were not prepared as ordered... too well done. For the price you should not have to worry about stuff like this.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our dinner was a wonderful experience. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner was a wonderful experience. The service was impeccable and the meals were delicious. We had the strip steak and sea bass and both were great. Because it was our anniversary, we had our picture taken and presented to us before we left. Also, our waiter brought us a complimentary dessert to celebrate our special occasion. We felt quite pampered!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Carlo and Johnny's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I went to Carlo and Johnny's for our 24th anniversary.. I have to say that the service was outstanding. Our waiter was Zach and he did a fantastic job. He was there for our every need and was great in answering our questions to help us determine what we wanted to order.

Our ribeye steak was delicious and our sides were plentiful. They did not cheat you there.

The ambiance was alive. There was a live band in the bar area that was not a distraction. At the end of the evening we had a great time. I highly recommend Carlo and Johnny's! Good times

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great dining experience. Celebra ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Another great dining experience. Celebrating husband's 86th birthday and they took a picture placed it in a frame for remembrance of the occasion. Food was outstanding, as usual. Our server Greg was very attentive to our every need. Husband had a bit of a problem with digestion, so his complimentary dessert of cheesecake was sent home and he enjoyed it thoroughly the next evening. Carlo and Johnny is certainly one of our very favorite restaurants.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service I received was the best I ha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

The service I received was the best I have ever received. I was greeted by every employee walking in aND leaving. I Felt like they appreciated my service, important and like I was a celebrity at a resort! Very genuine at the same time. Food was amazing!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Romantic, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Typically great Rubys food! Service pro ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Typically great Rubys food! Service provided by Pierre was spot on!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I've been to several Jeff Ruby places, t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

I've been to several Jeff Ruby places, this one was just "ok". The staff were all extremely kind and the service was excellent. The steak was quite good... I had the herbed lobster tail and honestly, it was a little bit awful. It was undercooked, which grosses me out, so my boyfriend kindly switched plates with me. (It was my birthday!) the Mac and cheese was fine. Just... Fine. The wedge salad, also fine. Just not worth the price tag considering. Oh, the crab cake... Also fine.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

Service was good, my Cowboy ribeye was i ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Service was good, my Cowboy ribeye was impossible to eat. Very tough. They brought me another but I settled and didn't want to complain anymore. It was the same.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4

JT (JAMES TAYLOR) was the best waiter I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

JT (JAMES TAYLOR) was the best waiter I have ever had.His recommendations were spot on-from the wine, appetizer,truffle butter,to the cheesecake for dessert for my kids. He will be my waiter at Carlos and Johnny from now on. He could read my mind once he knew what my tastes were. He was very professional as was the staff.The veal chop was amazing. Ask for it to have a little char cooked medium--dip in truffle butter-welcome to heaven.Great wine selection, great bar selections-bourbons,vodkas,scotches,cognacs-just the best! I will be back...Dr G.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed the meals, everyone had great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We enjoyed the meals, everyone had great steaks. The sides were also very good. Loved our server...very engaging.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding service and food! The wait ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Outstanding service and food! The wait staff is patience and takes care of any request.

Will return again!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food always outstanding! Bone in ribEye ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Food always outstanding! Bone in ribEye and Seabass were our entrees with butter pie as dessert. My only concern is that the service this time was not up to par. Our waiter wasn't as friendly as the brand represents and seemed at times a little pushy with menu items and didn't act like he was enjoying his night. Wasn't a good experience with guest services.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Loved it! The servers were extremely at ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Loved it! The servers were extremely attentive and helpful. Food is excellent and atmosphere is great. Perfect for special occasions.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Shown to our seats quickly. Service was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Shown to our seats quickly. Service was at a good pace. Tables well spaced to allow a more intimate feel than the Precint. Great restaurant that I can't wait to return to.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food, friendly attentive staff and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Great food, friendly attentive staff and a lovely atmosphere- Carlo and Johnny's never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As usual, the food and ambiance at Carlo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

As usual, the food and ambiance at Carlo & Johnny was great. They really know how to cook a steak. My only complaint was around how they handled my daughter's bday. When we sat, they asked if we were there for a special occasion - we said as we there for my daughter's 13th bday. They told us that the hostess would come by to take our picture. She never came by. That wouldn't have been a big deal other than they asked if she came by, we said no and she still didn't come by. We did get a special dessert which was great. We didn't care that we didn't get a picture taken - more that they kept talking about it but it didn't happen.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Zach is a great server. Good steaks, gre ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Zach is a great server. Good steaks, great sides. Definitely will be back

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous experience, our server was exce ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Fabulous experience, our server was excellent and the food was what we have come to expect there.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Ambiance was great. Service was excellen ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Ambiance was great. Service was excellent. 3 of 4 in our party were very happy with the food for the evening but the person we were there to celebrate had an undercooked steak. The waiter took it back to make it right but where I think they went wrong was they continued cooking the same piece of meat rather than starting over. This made it over cooked and tough to eat. Goal for the evening was to treat parent to the best steak of their life and that didn't work out the way I would have liked. I will return however.

Tags: Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

Service not good Bus boys taking plates ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Service not good Bus boys taking plates away like you need Ed them in the kitchen.Felt very rushed and there was no waiting for a second seating.Thought it was extremely e pensive for what it was.my salmon was not great

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

It had been over 25 years since we had b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

It had been over 25 years since we had been to this restaurant. We came to celebrate our anniversary. Moe saw to it that we had a good time and that our food was prepared as we asked. A very enjoyable evening!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great wine list, attentive waiters, deli ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Great wine list, attentive waiters, delicious food, great ambiance/music

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Band is too loud. Had to talk loudly to ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Band is too loud. Had to talk loudly to a person seated across from me. I recommend a piano! My guest had a headache when he left.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value5

This was our first trip to a Jeff Ruby e ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

This was our first trip to a Jeff Ruby establishment although my wife and i had talked about going for years. Everything the restaurant did was first class from the atmosphere to the food. We even received a thank you note in the mail from our server. Very enjoyable dining experience!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience with this ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our first experience with this restaurant and itwas great! Lovely location, friendly and knowledgeable staff. The food was delicious. Very pricey in my book, we had a gift certificate, so I'd recommend for a special occasion type outing unless you don't have a budget.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service and food was excellent. Pie ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service and food was excellent. Pierre, our waiter, made you feel very comfortable. The food was excellent for the price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was outstanding. Service was grea ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Dinner was outstanding. Service was great. Noise level came in waves but nothing unbearable.

I Would return again.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This place is amazing. Best meal I have ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This place is amazing. Best meal I have ever had, staff is superior.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Amazing food, great atmosphete and excel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Amazing food, great atmosphete and excellent service. Perfect steaks and the best mac n cheese I've ever had! As Guy Fieri would say "I'd eat that off my shoe"

Food is pricey but overall it was worth the experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I will be back and have found the place ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

I will be back and have found the place to entertain friends family and business associates!

What a wonderful dining experience!

Deborah Rahal

Boccard Life Sciences

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner with delicious food & excel ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great dinner with delicious food & excellent service!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food excellent at Carlo Johnny's. c ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

The food excellent at Carlo Johnny's. choices from raw bar. Drink menu is extensive. Staff is very attentive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

excellent as expected. WE CELEBRATED OUR ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

excellent as expected. WE CELEBRATED OUR 46th WEDDING ANNIVERSARY AND IT WAS EXCELLENT.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.