About Carlo & Johnny

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Baked Macaroni & Cheese
12oz Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon w/ Collinsworth Topping
Alaskan King Crab Chowder
Jeff Ruby's Carlo & Johnny
Truffle Butter/ Regular Butter
Crown Reserve On The Rocks
Grey Goose And Tonic
Shrimp Cocktail
Bread Basket
14oz 64-day Old Aged Kansas City Strip
12oz BULLET CUT FILLET W/ COLLINSWORTH TOPPING
Monkfish And Cauliflower Puree
Lamb Over Sweet Potato Puree
Grilled Cheese Salad
Crab Calaway
Queen's Cut Filet Mignon

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
10 More
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steakhouse
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steakhouse
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

Special Occasion (195)
Romantic (149)
Notable Wine List (84)
See All
Fit for Foodies (55)
Good for Groups (50)
Vibrant Bar Scene (49)
Neighborhood Gem (49)
Hot Spot (29)
Good for Anniversaries (19)
Good for a Date (15)
Worth the Drive (15)
Private Room (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (11)
Quiet Conversation (9)
Live Music (9)
Late-night Find (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Historic (7)
Fun (6)
Cozy (6)
Scenic View (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
People Watching (4)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Tasting Menu (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (2)
Authentic (2)
Casual (2)
Fireplace (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Dancing (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2133 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Pierie was an amazing server and made ou ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined a day ago

Pierie was an amazing server and made our experience even more memorable. The food was outstanding . Love coming here every year to celebrate

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was perfect! James is the b ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything was perfect! James is the best server and Shane is a very attentive manager!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Absolutely delicious food and amazing se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Absolutely delicious food and amazing service. Our waiter attended to every need, but was never in the way. Our steaks and seafood were cooked perfectly. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire staff at Carlo and Johnny wer ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

The entire staff at Carlo and Johnny were superb, especially our waiter Mike and the GM, Jordan.

The food was excellent, as always. We will definitely return. Our favorite place to dine.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Zach was top notch as our waiter. Very p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 6 days ago

Zach was top notch as our waiter. Very professional, great service,the best veal chop ever. We will ask for him again.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Vibrant Bar Scene, Live Music, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had a great new experience. We will b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

We had a great new experience. We will be coming back soon

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Casual, Good for Groups, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Looking for that special neighborhood ge ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Looking for that special neighborhood gem that goes above and beyond with their service and food then look no further than Carlo & Johnny's! This is a wonderful place to celebrate life events, go on a relaxing dinner date or even pop in for the bar and band area! Everything in one place and you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I only wish there was more for the price ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

I only wish there was more for the price. We each had a steak, an appetizer, and shared a side and spent over $150 excluding tip.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Authentic, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Great time, service at the end was slow. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Great time, service at the end was slow. Was there for more than 3 hours which was way too long

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Amazing service and food

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Amazing service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Treated our 13yo birthday boy like he wa ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Treated our 13yo birthday boy like he was a prince! He had such a good time there for his birthday; said it was the best steak he's ever had. He also enjoyed his 1st oyster on the half-shell. Service was outstanding as was the steak dinner. Couldn't have asked for a better night! Thank you so much!

Tags: Family Style, Romantic, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Live Music, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was just what we expect from ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 15, 2016

Everything was just what we expect from a Ruby's restaurant. Great evening.

Tags: Romantic, Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is our new "go to" spot for really ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 13, 2016

This is our new "go to" spot for really special occasions. The food is outstanding and the service can't be beat!

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always an outstanding experience at Carl ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always an outstanding experience at Carlo and Johnny's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great experience!

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Always a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We eat here often, it is in our neighbor ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

We eat here often, it is in our neighborhood. The food is always excellent. Sometimes, when it is busy service falls a little behind. The bar is usually busy and they have entertainment often.

Tags: Private Room, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

Well taken care of by Chris and team. Fo ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

Well taken care of by Chris and team. Food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

One of my favorite restaurants. Great f ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Great food, great service. The atmosphere is wonderful. If you decide to go to this restaurant do not miss out on the mac and cheese. Order extra and take it home. Really tasty.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent service and amazing food, you ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Excellent service and amazing food, you can't go wrong with this restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Just a terrific evening. Great food, ser ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Just a terrific evening. Great food, service and ambiance

Tags: Tasting Menu, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had an amazing evening out in their c ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We had an amazing evening out in their courtyard. If you are looking for a dinner with fantastic food and wonderful outdoor ambiance, definitely give this a go!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Last Friday got a call from a manager on ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Last Friday got a call from a manager on our way for our reservation, informing me that there was a power outage and they were unable to stay open. After I stopped crying, he said that we could be diverted to Tony's and they would honor our reservation. What a class act. They also sent us a gift certificate -nice! This is why I will always come back to a Ruby restaurant.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Private Room, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Hot Spot, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Had a great time. Food was awesome and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had a great time. Food was awesome and staff was the best!

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Reservation was canceled by Carlo & John ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Reservation was canceled by Carlo & Johnny due to a power outage.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

All, I was excited to be celebrating my ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

All,

I was excited to be celebrating my 17th wedding anniversary. I advised the host ahead of time that it was my anniversary because I wanted to order a special dessert for my husband. We were greeted by everyone in the staff. I ordered the salmon served with a pesto sauce. It was awful but I didn't complain. The fumes were so strong I could hardly eat it. Most of it went in the garbage. I've eaten at Jeff Ruby's downtown several times and it was excellent. Needless to say, I was extremely disappointed. My husband wasn't thrilled with his food either. We still tried to make the best of our celebration and didn't complain. The host took our picture as a gift and was served a complimentary slice of cheesecake. We advised the waiter that we were ready for our check. We had a $50 gift card my husband was given for his outstanding customer service and we paid the remaining in cash. The total of our bill was approx. $92 and change. We gave the waiter the $42 + $29 tip in cash. We asked the waiter to confirm the gift card was ok before left. He went to the register and came back to the table and said "The gift card is fine and have a great evening. It had been a long day for us and were extrememely tired. We didn't realize that the waiter didn't give us a receipt. We said thank you to everyone and walked out the door. The most unthinkable thing happened at this point. A young waiter came running out the door behind us yelling across the parking lot in front of the other guest shouting "where is your slip that you signed? We said "what slip? We paid in cash!!! I can't describe to you the embarrassment we endured!!! We went back into the restaurant and the waiter who took care of us had a surprised look on his face. I'm sure that it was a surprise that we were not gone. The guy that ran out after us wasn't our waiter??? Our waiter attempted to apologize say it was a misunderstanding. However, I was not leaving without seeing the manager.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

High end food and service. Also great ba ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

High end food and service. Also great bar area with music.

Tags: Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was excellent. Scallops and steak w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Food was excellent. Scallops and steak were cooked perfectly. Jeff's service was outstanding.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was wonderful only issue was that the ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

It was wonderful only issue was that they did not put my crab cake in the take home bag.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An amazing eatery that we felt like fami ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

An amazing eatery that we felt like family from arrival to leaving. Will definitely be back when we are in Cincinnati the next time. Thanks for the experience.

Tags: Casual, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Historic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The entire night was perfect from the ti ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

The entire night was perfect from the time we entered the door until we left. Food, service, our waiter and his suggestions helped make everything we could have hoped for! Great job by all.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful evening . Food and wine the be ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Wonderful evening . Food and wine the best. A plus is they have a band playing and it nice to head to the bar for after dinner drinks and dancing.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was not so great, but the servi ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The food was not so great, but the service was great. A couple of the steaks were not done enough and one steak had stringy muscle/tendon in the filet. I normally see it at Outback, but was surprised to see it at Carlo & Johnny. We had a party of 6 and spent over $900.00.

Tags: Private Room, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Food and service was outstanding, bar is ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Food and service was outstanding, bar is also very nice for a drink after dinner with live music

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We were celebrating our anniversary, and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

We were celebrating our anniversary, and Carlos and Johnny's is one of our favorite places to go for a special occasion. When one of our entrees was over cooked, it was taken back and replaced within 10 minutes with a steak cooked to perfection!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a quality dinner although too exp ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Always a quality dinner although too expensive for me to dine frequently

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

First time to Ruby's Restaurant, went w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

First time to Ruby's Restaurant, went well my wife's Birthday! FoodwasGreat as was the service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I've dined here on several occasions and ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

I've dined here on several occasions and have noticed that it can be a little hit or miss. This past visit was for a work team event. In general the food was very good but a few of the steaks were not prepared as ordered... too well done. For the price you should not have to worry about stuff like this.

Tags: Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Romantic, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Our dinner was a wonderful experience. T ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Our dinner was a wonderful experience. The service was impeccable and the meals were delicious. We had the strip steak and sea bass and both were great. Because it was our anniversary, we had our picture taken and presented to us before we left. Also, our waiter brought us a complimentary dessert to celebrate our special occasion. We felt quite pampered!

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went to Carlo and Johnny's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

My wife and I went to Carlo and Johnny's for our 24th anniversary.. I have to say that the service was outstanding. Our waiter was Zach and he did a fantastic job. He was there for our every need and was great in answering our questions to help us determine what we wanted to order.

Our ribeye steak was delicious and our sides were plentiful. They did not cheat you there.

The ambiance was alive. There was a live band in the bar area that was not a distraction. At the end of the evening we had a great time. I highly recommend Carlo and Johnny's! Good times

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Joey H made our night incredible. We we ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Joey H made our night incredible. We were there for a special occasion and he went above and beyond for us. Food was equally amazing too!Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.