Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi
  1. Distance: 0.31mi
  2. Distance: 0.46mi
  3. Distance: 0.77mi
  4. Distance: 0.94mi

About Carlo & Johnny

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (136)
Good for Anniversaries (121)
Good for a Date (109)
See All
Romantic (105)
Good for Birthdays (79)
Notable Wine List (62)
Business Meals (57)
Worth the Drive (50)
Historic (43)
Live Music (41)
Cozy (40)
Fit for Foodies (36)
Quiet Conversation (36)
Good for Groups (34)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Private Room (32)
Fun (29)
Vibrant Bar Scene (28)
Bar Seating (28)
Authentic (22)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Hot Spot (18)
Creative Cuisine (18)
Fireplace (16)
Dancing (12)
Comfort Food (12)
Happy Hour (12)
People Watching (12)
Tasting Menu (9)
Seasonal (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Local Ingredients (6)
Healthy (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Modern Decor (6)
Family Style (5)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Casual (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Great Beer (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
2612 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 hours ago

Celebrating sale of our house.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined a day ago

Carlo & Johnny is always perfect. The steak, service and mac and cheese are unsurpassed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 2 days ago

Always enjoyable...food ,service and quality are always outstanding...highly recommend this resturant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Service was stellar, the food was the best. We go there 3-4 times a year. Definitely our favorite restaurant. Would highly recommend this to anyone who enjoys great food and unsurpassed service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

My husband hand I had a great dinner experience . our server Kyle was great. We also loved our dessert surprise, delicious cheesecake. We will be back again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

As always food was cooked to order and delicious. It wasn't the usual Ruby service I've come to know. Clearing the table was extremely slow. Refilling drinks except water was slow. After ordering deserts it was over a half hour before it was served. It was carrot cake and chocolate peanut butter ice cream.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Best steak house in Cincy and as good as I've found anywhere else in the country. Great food, service, etc. highly recommend!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

You can't go wrong with any of Jeff Ruby's locations. My family and I love Carlo & Johnny because of the ambiance. The service is outstanding and but the food is even better. The steaks could convert a vegetarian.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Very attentive service, great food. Bar was too crowded to wait in while waiting for table.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was prepared perfectly. Excellent flavors

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Went with a friend, sides are sharable. Crab cake was large so we split it. IT WAS AMAZING. I NEVER KNEW CRAB TASTED SO GOOD. After ordering salad, dinner was served. So oo oo much food trust me. We will absolutely be back. This is now my favorite Jeff Ruby restaurant. The service was impeccable. Our server Chris was amazing and on point with the history of the restaurant. It was an enjoyable time. Make a reservation to ensure you get a seat or just have drinks at the bar. Live music was on the menu and just added to the ambiance. Come early to beat the crowd. We arrived around 5pm on a Friday and there was plenty of bar seating. We had a glass of wine each and enjoyed the music right before being seated for dinner. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Steaks were fantastic and service was superb. Would highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 18, 2017

This was my first time at a Ruby joint, and it was awesome. The building alone is worth going to see.....and the food was incredible. Great friendly service. Greg and Shannon were outstanding.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Pierre was a very good solicitous waiter, so we're other staff. Pierre even advised that I could order a half salad. I would not recommend the bone in filet, as it is difficult to cook evenly, some parts great, but some over or under done.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This is a great restaurant. The food is terrific. The service was absolutely outstanding. It's pricey, so I would typically go there on special occasions.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

It's always an amazing meal! You will never have a bad meal or bad service. They pride themselves on both.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We have always loved Jeff Ruby steaks and have eaten there since the late 90s. The steaks this time were fantastic as usual. The hostess was very helpful in getting us chairs to sit on while our table got ready. All the servers were friendly and informative. It is a very pricey but worthwhile experience for a steak lover!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous dinner, the food was tremendous and Ryan our server was great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We were seated in the back room by the patio. Mike was our waiter.. very polite and knowledgeable. the atmosphere changes with each room.. each with its own distinct mood and color combos.. live music was not bad at all nor too loud and to my surprise, we couldn't even hear a peep out of the bands in the back room (which was a good thing). I ordered the raw specialty oysters which were absolutely on point I could taste the sea water.. right back to being a kid again.. then we both ordered steaks with baked potato and sautéed mushrooms. the chefs really take pride in their artwork. every plate is so colorful... the steaks were 2 inches thick and cooked to perfection. its worth the money.. there isn't many other restaurants that can provide an eating experience like this one.. credit to the manager and staff.

Tags: Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 12, 2017

For a very expensive restaurant, we weren't pleased with the fact that the filet ordered medium rare came out well done. Not to mention, my husband had to wait while I ate my entire meal until the new steak came out. For a place like this, I would have expected them to comp a portion of the meal for the inconvenience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 12, 2017

our dinner was great and Chris was an excellent server.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 10, 2017

EVERTHING WAS SO WONDERFUL AS USUAL. IT IS MY FAVERATE PLACE FOR A WONDERFUL EXERPERIENCE . KEEP IT COMING.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Impeccable service. Professional wait staff. Expensive, but worth it. Everything is carefully prepared from the steaks to the sides and the truffle butter that accompanies the fresh bread. Low noise level, easy to carry on a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Outstanding service, none better. Steaks are excellent. Even the ice cream for dessert was exceptional.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great food and atmosphere. Would strongly recommend. Expensive.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We had Excellent service and the entire staff was very attentive. In addition to wonderful food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 5, 2017

We always have a great experience everytime we are here. The service and food are always amazing.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Very nice dinner celebrating my wife's birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Miami)·Dined on May 3, 2017

All Ruby's restaurants are exceptional but hands down the waiter I had here was the BEST and when I come back I will request him. Mr. Frazier! :) Gave us the history of the restaurant, awesome food suggestions, and was just the most genuine guy. Of course food was 100% top notch but it always is at a Ruby's restaurant

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Live Music, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Top notch dining experience. Our waiter was very punctual. I was never left to wonder once where my service was at!!
Food, phenomenal!! Definitely will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Have never been disappointed at a Jeff Ruby restaurant. We go expecting an exquisite dining experience and are always quite satisfied.

Tags: Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The filet mignon melted in my mouth. My husband enjoyed the pan-seared salmon. The peanut butter pie, was to die for! Pierre was our waiter and he was very knowledgeable about our wines choices.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We always have a great time at Carlo and Johnny, our favorite of the Cincinnati market Jeff Ruby restaurants. A great atmosphere, great food (the macaroni & cheese is a must, habanero tomato soup has been a nice addition to the appetizer list), and typically good service. Our waiter seemed to have a larger group this time, so service was a little slower than usual. Valet station guys are the best...always remember us and are very fast/friendly.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent time. Staff was amazing and very attentive. Food was incredible. Perfect evening

Tags: Live Music, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Food was fantastic but, the service was even better. It was my wives birthday and they did a great job of making it special. Everyone wished my wife happy birthday from the hostess, servers, manager and they even took a picture of our party and made a couple of copies of the photo for us to take with us.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My wife and I had a great time, it was our Anniversary, I had requested flowers (specific setup) and chilled wine waiting for us. They had it all done precisely as asked. Our Server Jim was available at all times and did a great job answering any questions we had. We for sure will make it back for our next Anniversary.
Thank you

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Always a first class experience at Carlo and Johnny.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 23, 2017

An amazing experience. Service, food, and atmosphere is top notch. Will definitely go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.