About Carlo & Johnny

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Baked Macaroni & Cheese - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
12oz Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon w/ Collinsworth Topping - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Alaskan King Crab Chowder - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Jeff Ruby's Carlo & Johnny - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Truffle Butter/ Regular Butter - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Crown Reserve On The Rocks  - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Grey Goose And Tonic - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Shrimp Cocktail - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Bread Basket - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
14oz 64-day Old Aged Kansas City Strip  - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
12oz BULLET CUT FILLET W/ COLLINSWORTH TOPPING - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Monkfish And Cauliflower Puree - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Lamb Over Sweet Potato Puree - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Grilled Cheese Salad - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Crab Calaway - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH
Queen's Cut Filet Mignon  - Carlo & Johnny, Cincinnati, OH

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
9 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steakhouse
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Steakhouse
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

Special Occasion (98)
Romantic (92)
Good for Anniversaries (81)
See All
Good for a Date (73)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Worth the Drive (51)
Notable Wine List (46)
Business Meals (42)
Quiet Conversation (38)
Private Room (37)
Cozy (33)
Good for Groups (31)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Vibrant Bar Scene (27)
Historic (24)
Live Music (24)
Hot Spot (23)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Creative Cuisine (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Fireplace (16)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Fun (14)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Casual (9)
Authentic (9)
Happy Hour (7)
Family Style (6)
Great Beer (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Outstanding Value (3)
Dancing (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
2234 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Best steaks in town. Unbeatable as a spe ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Best steaks in town. Unbeatable as a special treat. Service is impeccable.

Tags: Fireplace, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The food was delicious and the service w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

The food was delicious and the service was outstanding. I would've given it 5 stars overall but the men's restroom needed some attention. Other than that, everything else was excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service! Steak was aw ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Great food, great service! Steak was awesome.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This was my first time dining in a Jeff ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 4, 2016

This was my first time dining in a Jeff Ruby steakhouse and I was excited to try it. We were there specifically to see our favorite band "The Company" and we mentioned that during the reservation process a week before we got there and we specifically asked to be sat where we could see the band. The overall feel of the place though is very crowded. There were so many people standing around the bar area and it was difficult to get through. You just felt smooshed walking through. Our server was Jim and he was very polite and knowledgeable about the menu. He gave me good advice regarding picking between 2 steaks. I only eat mine well so he directed my to the strip vs the filet. I've had perfectly cooked well-done filet mignon at Jag's before but I took his advice and got the strip. It did come out perfectly cooked but otherwise pretty bland tasting. I'd had a steak at Longhorn the night before and I'm sorry but this steak didn't taste any different than that one did. I expected way more from a Jeff Ruby steak. I had to use A-1 to add flavor. My daughter had the chicken parm and while it looked fabulous, it too was pretty bland. All of the sides are ala carte but in a shareable portion which is great if others want that particular dish. Unfortunately, I was the only one eating steak so I had plenty of mashed potatoes for myself. Now there, the taste was perfect. I would totally recommend them. But that's all I can recommend. The prices are NOT worth the taste we ended up with. However, I cannot fault them on service. Top of the line.

Bottom line-if I were to ever return, I'd stick with something cheaper than steak because it's terribly under-seasoned and seriously overpriced. Honestly, I think I'll stick to Jag's where the food/prices/space/overall atmosphere are all better.

Steak-C+

Chicken Parm-C

Mashed Potatoes-B+

Salad-A

Service-A+

Atmosphere-B-

Comfort Level-D

Overall grade-C-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

We chose Carlo and Johnny because it was ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

We chose Carlo and Johnny because it was a Jeff Ruby restaurant and because we wanted a nice place to celebrate our 35th anniversary. The service was excellent from the moment we walked in the door. The food was fantastic. Loved the ambiance. And when they found out at the end of our meal that we were celebrating our anniversary, the waiter brought a heavenly slice of cheese cake. Wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Although their prices seem exorbitant..e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Although their prices seem exorbitant..even for a quality steakhouse. The service is fantastic, and they certainly make you feel very welcome and looked after.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a fantastic experience for my three ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Had a fantastic experience for my three year anniversary with my girlfriend. We ordered two medium rare New York strips along with their famous macaroni and cheese. The food was cooked PERFECTLY and was honestly to die for. Our server Adam was incredibly nice, helpful and attentive. A hostess asked us for a picture at the end of our meal and they offered us a complimentary 4x6 along with a delicious slice of cheesecake! Absolutely recommend for anyone interested in trying this place. We will definitely be coming back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our favorite Jeff Ruby's restaurant. Foo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Our favorite Jeff Ruby's restaurant. Food and service were incredible as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

really love all the establishments in th ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 1, 2016

really love all the establishments in this group, great salad, amazing tasting steaks, wonderful raw bar selections, good service.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

We always book a table at the Raw Bar be ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 30, 2016

We always book a table at the Raw Bar because we enjoy the fresh seafood. Kate and Amber are great! It was nice that Charlie stopped to chat and thank us for our continued business

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

First time at C&J's fantastic food great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 29, 2016

First time at C&J's fantastic food great decor!!! Nothing less than what is expected of Jeff Ruby establishments

Tags: People Watching, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We allowed our son to pick where he want ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We allowed our son to pick where he wanted to go as a family to celebrate his 22nd birthday. He picked Carlo and Johnny's. Pierre was our waiter and did an outstanding job! We even had a group picture taken and they printed them before we left! And they brought him out a cheesecake to celebrate! And that wasn't all! He was thrilled to get to talk to Mr. Ruby and get a picture taken with him as well!!! Thanks so much for making his celebration so memorable.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Normally the filet mignon would "melt in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Normally the filet mignon would "melt in your mouth." This time it was chewy.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

We always love Carlos and Johnnys, food ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

We always love Carlos and Johnnys, food is always great, perfectly prepared and tastes amazing. It's a great spot for date night, business meal or special occasion. Jeff is an awesome server and takes great care of us, can't wait to go back again

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service and food. The wine lis ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Excellent service and food. The wine list is outstanding. I would definitely recommend this restaurant to my friends.

Tags: Healthy, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Live Music, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The servers were well informed and atten ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The servers were well informed and attentive. We also had our three children with us and they treated them as individuals and with respect. The food is second to none....we all ordered a medium rare filet. The atmosphere was comfortable (recommend a table by the fireplace). Absolutely would recommend this restaurant for any occasion!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Fireplace, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took a group of 6 people to celebrate ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We took a group of 6 people to celebrate my son's birthday. Was everything we expected.

Good time and good food!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had 1 dish almost raw when served but it ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Had 1 dish almost raw when served but it was taken care of immediately and to my satisfaction.

They made some great deserts for us on the house, perfect!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for a Date, Private Room, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Our go to for special occasion dining. T ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Our go to for special occasion dining. The food, service, and ambiance is always wonderful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Carlo and Johnny continues to be my favo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Carlo and Johnny continues to be my favorite restaurant in the area. The food is delectable, the service impeccable -- friendly and attentive without smothering-- the staff attentive from the moment we enter the door to our exit. I wish I lived closer to experience this restaurant more frequently.

Tags: Late-night Find, Cozy, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been there many times, but felt ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 16, 2016

We have been there many times, but felt it was very rushed. Our reservation was at 6:00 and we had our bill before 7:00. Waiter came to take our entree order while we were eating our appetizers. I think in a nicer restaurant like Carlo and johnnys, We want to be able to take our time and enjoy the food and company. Otherwise, steaks were excellent as usual.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Always a treat to eat at Carlo and Johnn ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Always a treat to eat at Carlo and Johnny's. The service is excellent as well as the food.

Tags: Private Room, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our experience at Carlo and Johnny was u ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our experience at Carlo and Johnny was underwhelming to say the least. Nothing was necessarily bad, but nothing was good either. We paid $24.00 for two terribly made Manhattans at a super crowded bar. We ordered Oysters, a steak to split, sides and a bottle of wine. We had to request that one of our sides be brought to the table. I refilled my own wine glass on several occasions. Again, the food was fine, but nothing to write home about. Given the price of this place I was expecting amazing food and wonderful service. They were nice enough to bring out a complimentary cheesecake for my fiance's birthday. However, once we tasted it, we wished they wouldn't have. I would NOT go back and would not recommend it to others. With so many wonderful restaurants now in Cincinnati, it is clear that Ruby will have to set up his game in order to compete.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

Another exceptional dining experience i ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Another exceptional dining experience in one of best dining restaurants in Greater Cincinnati . Thank you for being the best of the best! Frederic & Julie Holzberger

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Staff was very attentive. Food was delic ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Staff was very attentive. Food was delicious. Jewel Ribeye tasted like sweet and spicy bitter steak. It was amazing.

Live band was terrific and elevated the amiable that much more.

Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a long, overdue dinner with our s ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We had a long, overdue dinner with our son on a Friday night. Wine selection, appetizers, entrée and dessert were all fantastic. Jeff was our waiter and attended to us above and

beyond! He even surprised us with green Kool-Aid which is a request from my husband

everywhere we go.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Private Room, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the atmosphere and service, however ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Love the atmosphere and service, however extremely expensive. A great place to celebrate a special occasion but I would not be able to afford going there a lot for dinner.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value1

This was our first experience here. Mayb ...

 
 (Portland)·Dined on November 11, 2016

This was our first experience here. Maybe our expectations were too high based on what some people had told us. It was an enjoyable evening but certainly not the exceptional dining experience I was expecting. We had two petite filets, shared baked potato and green beans, one salad and three classes of wine for $194.00. I may be old fashioned, however, for that price I do expect a positive memorable experience and that was not the case.

On the positive side, Moe, who was our server, did a very good job of serving us. He helped make my wife's birthday dinner an enjoyable evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Our Server Adam was just wonderful and a ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Our Server Adam was just wonderful and a Joy. Thanks so much Adam!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always guaranteed to have great service ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Always guaranteed to have great service and the best steak.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The steak was excellent. The ambiance wa ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 8, 2016

The steak was excellent. The ambiance was wonderful. Great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

one of the best places to just relax in ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 7, 2016

one of the best places to just relax in Cincinnati

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We arrived about 5 minutes late due to t ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We arrived about 5 minutes late due to traffic and construction. Our other guests were seated in the bar area waiting for us. It took about 10 minutes for someone to take our drink order and about another 10 minutes for our table to be ready so already we are 25 minutes behind our scheduled reservation time. We were seated and given menus and the wine list and left to decide on drinks or refills. The waiter seemed to be "seasoned" but wasn't really sure what they had or didn't have from the raw bar so he kept leaving the table! We then decided to order everything when he came back before he left again. We started to place our order and before the 4th person in our party got his appetizer out the guy turned to leave. We had to call him back to tell him he wasn't done yet. When apps came out my husband's order was not correct so he had to fix that. We then had to wait to place our dinner order which came out fine. We ordered dessert and coffee and I wanted an after dinner drink again which he wasn't sure they had. He came back with just a swig that was left in the bottle and said that was all that was left. We've been to the Precint on many occasions , Ruby's several times and Carlo and Johnny many times in the past. It was not the standard I was accustomed to after dining in his restaurants and will think twice before celebrating my next anniversary there or anyone else's special occasion for that matter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

We dine at Carlo and Johnny's a few time ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We dine at Carlo and Johnny's a few times a year and the food is always great. We were disappointed to have to wait 30 minutes for our table when we arrived on time for our reservation. A short wait is understandable on a busy evening, however it was a Sunday and when we were finally seated there was only one other group seated in the entire room that we were taken to.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

It was our 40th Anniversary and neither ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

It was our 40th Anniversary and neither my husband or I had ever dined here. Our waiter Pierre was outstanding in every way! Our meal was wonderful and we really enjoyed ourselves.

Tags: Fireplace, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of our favorites that never disappoi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 6, 2016

One of our favorites that never disappoints. You get what you pay for!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best restaurant in Cincinnati. Service, ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Best restaurant in Cincinnati. Service, wine and food is best in class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was good, but over priced. We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The food was good, but over priced. We had gift cards, otherwise would not normally spent that kind of money on a dinner ($250.00). If I'm going to spend that kind of money, I would go to JAG's

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Loved the ambiance. The service was exce ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Loved the ambiance. The service was excellent as well as the food.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is amazing and you'll not get bette ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food is amazing and you'll not get better service anywhere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.