About Carlo & Johnny

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Creme Brulee
Baked Macaroni & Cheese
12oz Barrel-Cut Filet Mignon w/ Collinsworth Topping
Alaskan King Crab Chowder
Jeff Ruby's Carlo & Johnny
Truffle Butter/ Regular Butter
Crown Reserve On The Rocks
Grey Goose And Tonic
Shrimp Cocktail
Bread Basket
14oz 64-day Old Aged Kansas City Strip
12oz BULLET CUT FILLET W/ COLLINSWORTH TOPPING
Lamb Over Sweet Potato Puree
Monkfish And Cauliflower Puree
Grilled Cheese Salad
Queen's Cut Filet Mignon
Crab Calaway

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.8

ambience

4.7

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Food
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Service
Cincinnati / Dayton
13 More
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati / Dayton
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati / Dayton
Romantic
Cincinnati / Dayton
Special Occasion
Cincinnati / Dayton
Steakhouse
Cincinnati / Dayton
Best Overall
Cincinnati
Best Food
Cincinnati
Best Service
Cincinnati
Best Ambiance
Cincinnati
Notable Wine List
Cincinnati
Romantic
Cincinnati
Special Occasion
Cincinnati
Steakhouse
Cincinnati
Best Restaurants in Montgomery ›

special occasion (204)
romantic (155)
notable wine list (103)
See All
fit for foodies (66)
good for groups (60)
neighborhood gem (55)
vibrant bar scene (52)
hot spot (32)
late-night find (12)
great for outdoor dining (8)
scenic view (7)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (6)
great for brunch (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2056 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Jeff Ruby never fails to make a dining e ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Jeff Ruby never fails to make a dining experience incredible, but the staff at Carlo and Johnnys was above and beyond the usual exceptional service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Everything is outstanding at Carlo and J ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 3 days ago

Everything is outstanding at Carlo and Johnny. Awesome.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The only place the food is better is my ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 5 days ago

The only place the food is better is my kitchen - except for the martinis!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

THIS WAS MY SECOND TIME AT CARLO & JOHNN ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 7 days ago

THIS WAS MY SECOND TIME AT CARLO & JOHNNY THE ONLY FAULT I FOUND WAS MY STAKE WAS NOT AS GOOD A CUT AS THE FIRST TIME --- OVERALL GREAT THANKS

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Didn't like the tuna appetizer, way too ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Didn't like the tuna appetizer, way too much vinegar. Any my entre, seafood primavera was very greasy. It did not set well on my or my date's stomach, as we ordered the same.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Service was outstanding as usual, very p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Service was outstanding as usual, very personable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was excellent, food quality ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The service was excellent, food quality was good, but not near what would be expected with the prices they charge.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Took my boyfriend for special occasion a ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Took my boyfriend for special occasion and he was very impressed. We love the Jeff Ruby restaurant in Louisville and was definitely pleased with this location. will definitely go again.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I went here for a date night ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

My wife and I went here for a date night on the recommendation of co-workers. We found the atmosphere conducive for conversation and the enjoyment of our food and wine. Thank you to the staff for a wonderful time.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service. Pierre our waiter w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding service. Pierre our waiter was fantastic along with all the other waiter assistants. Steak was the best I ever had. Bread, butter, sides were all top flight. Great night

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Outstanding food service and always a 1s ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Outstanding food service and always a 1st class experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ate here for our anniversary. Servic ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We ate here for our anniversary. Service and food were great. They gave us a piece of cheesecake with a candle to celebrate!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved everything EXCEPT the steaks. We h ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Loved everything EXCEPT the steaks. We had hear that Jeff Riby steaks were excellent. My wife's petite filet was above average. My bone in filet was one of the worst steaks I've ever had in a restaurant. Grissle, fat and almost no flavor. Very disappointed in food.

On the other hand, the service was absolutely impeccable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

The steak and sea bass were very good, b ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

The steak and sea bass were very good, but they were also very, very expensive. The tomato salad was tasteless with 3 thinly cut pinkish green tomato slices and a blob of mozzarella cheese for $16. I could have bought better quality at Kroger. I would recommend the steak, but be prepared to pay a lot. Ruth Chris a much better value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the country. I travel for work and eat out at great restaurants everywhere, and still Carlo and Johnny is at the top of my list. This restaurant is the perfect combination of exquisite food, excellent service, comfortable ambiance and a good bar scene. Everywhere I go to C+J, I'm pleasantly surprised by the consistency with which they put out excellent meals. It's like nobody ever has an off night. The place is pricey but to me, it's worth every penny. Keep doing what you're doing because it's working really well.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was attentive and asked if it ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Our server was attentive and asked if it was our first dining experience there, followed by explaining the menu and suggestions. As each course was served our server kept drinks coming, bread filled and comments to a minimum. They were willing to split an entree in the kitchen, as well as the salad.

The hostess invited us to peruse the building and offered history about its past. It was a nice place to celebrate a birthday with good food and friends.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Outstanding food and the exceptional ser ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Outstanding food and the exceptional service was even better.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

For our anniversary. Really great food. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

For our anniversary. Really great food. we had an excellent time!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always a great place to celebrate a spec ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Always a great place to celebrate a special occasion! And the staff are well trained, professional, friendly without being too friendly.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Carlo & Johnny was superb... ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

As always, Carlo & Johnny was superb... they do not disappoint. Our steaks were prepared perfectly. I do wish they would bring back some of their side dishes from the past - like au gratin potatoes...

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Its just very hard to beat a Jeff Ruby s ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Its just very hard to beat a Jeff Ruby steak dinner!

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were celebrating our 29th ...

 
 (NW Florida)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 29th anniversary. This is the second year we have been here for this special time in our lives and again, everything was outstanding.

Also, we love the cheesecake!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff was great , food was better, ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Wait staff was great , food was better, atmosphere was very comfortable!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Carlo and Johnny's is one of our all tim ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Carlo and Johnny's is one of our all time favorites. This time was a slight miss. Service was a little slow and off, food wasn't as top notch as before. Every one has an off night. We will still go back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

They brought me the wrong glass of wine ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

They brought me the wrong glass of wine in the bar. The Steak was over done. The baked potato was reheated not fresh. Over priced for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

This restaurant is my favorite in all of ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This restaurant is my favorite in all of Greater Cincinnati. The steaks are masterpieces which is why I go primarily. The do it yourself raw bar option is nice as a bit of an appetizer and there are plenty of unique side dishes to accompany your steak. I like the COWBOY steak a monster bone-in ribeye. I like mine prepared medium rare because for my taste it renders out just enough of the fat to remain very flavorful yet still very tender. On the occasions that I order any of there filet selections I opt for rare.

The bar is a great place to have a pre-dinner cocktail and they have appropriate live music throughout the week.

Thanks for making our 26th wedding anniversary memorable!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The service was absolutely amazing. Tha ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

The service was absolutely amazing. Thanks, Chris. I would highly recommend the dry aged selection of steaks. I had the "hatchet," and it was perfect. I wish the other Ruby locations offered these cuts. I will definitely be coming back to C & J's again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing steaks cooked perfectly! If the ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Amazing steaks cooked perfectly! If the cream corn is still on the menu when you visit it is a must-have. Service was spot on, no rush made you feel very comfortable

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was exquisite and the presentat ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was exquisite and the presentation of the salads was out of this world.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our weddi ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our wedding anniversary and we could not have had a better dining experience. The service was outstanding and The food was prepared perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the finest restaurants in Cincinn ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

One of the finest restaurants in Cincinnati. Great food, outstanding service with a smile from nice, wonderful individuals who care to provide the greatest experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We love going to Carlo & Johnny's. From ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

We love going to Carlo & Johnny's. From the valet to the excellent food and service, the experience is always first-class. We look forward to our next visit.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is always excellent. The wait s ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food is always excellent. The wait staff is very attentive. Have never had a better steak anywhere. It is a great place go for any occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can't afford with regularity,but a giftc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Can't afford with regularity,but a giftcard and discount gave us a good steak . Thanks

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We chose Carlo and Johnny's for a birthd ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We chose Carlo and Johnny's for a birthday celebration, because the birthday girl said she would like a steak. They never disappoint on that! Everything was flawless, from the reception, to the surroundings, the service and the food. Not to mention that they graciously handled my (many) food allergies very well. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed a very nice, pricey dinner. M ...

 
 (Indiana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We enjoyed a very nice, pricey dinner. My wife enjoyed her steak, though she mentioned that she has had a better steak elsewhere. Very good service and a fun, lovely atmosphere. I enjoyed the sea bass and the Pinot Noir was also very nice. It was our anniversary and we were provided with a marvelous cheese cake. Overall, very enjoyable!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is good but is incredibly overp ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food is good but is incredibly overpriced. It is crazy to have to pay for the various sauces for the steaks separately as the steaks are quite expensive as is and come with no sides other than the bread at the table. There were 2 of us and we had no drinks, appetizers, dessert and ordered only 1 side dish and paid $130 by the time we were done.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

The food and service were both outstandi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food and service were both outstanding!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our 2nd time here..... truly a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

This was our 2nd time here..... truly a delight each time. From start to finish- 5 Star. It would be difficult to be disappointed here.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Disappointed that a $70 steak was delive ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Disappointed that a $70 steak was delivered to our table obviously cremated and barely chewable. Ordered medium well, and the server confirmed that it should have some pink in the middle - that is what we wanted and expected the result to be. My husband will not complain nor does he send food back, so he ate it. I tried it as well and it was burned through and through.

Yes, had he complained I am certain that it would have been resolved. However, I know that Jeff Ruby restaurants have quality inspection standards that need to pass through the chef and the server (captain) before the food is delivered; so they should have caught this and my husband should not have needed to complain. Unfortunately I was trying to win him over on this restaurant, but he doesn't want to go back.

Good news: my steak was great and so were the appetizers we ate at the bar!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.