About Carlo & Johnny

Jeff Ruby's 1930 Chicago style steakhouse and supperclub. Same great Ruby steaks with an Italian accent. Three unique dining rooms, three wine cellars and live music.

9769 Montgomery Road
Cincinnati, OH 45242
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Monday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(513) 936-8600

Website:
http://www.jeffruby.com/

Executive Chef:
Donny Hatton

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Private Dining

We offer a complete, turn-key private event planning experience. This includes an array of audio/video and floral options. Our sales manager will work with you and our vendors to ensure every detail exceeds your expectations.

Carlo & Johnny Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.9

ambience

4.8

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (121)
Good for Anniversaries (104)
Good for a Date (99)
See All
Romantic (90)
Good for Birthdays (68)
Notable Wine List (58)
Business Meals (55)
Worth the Drive (50)
Cozy (49)
Good for Groups (44)
Private Room (44)
Quiet Conversation (43)
Fireplace (38)
Historic (38)
Neighborhood Gem (33)
Live Music (30)
Bar Seating (27)
Authentic (25)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Fun (23)
Hot Spot (19)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Handcrafted Cocktails (18)
Creative Cuisine (17)
Vibrant Bar Scene (17)
Tasting Menu (14)
People Watching (13)
Comfort Food (11)
Casual (10)
Dancing (9)
Family Style (9)
Late-night Find (9)
Seasonal (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Modern Decor (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Healthy (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Scenic View (1)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
 (0)
Sort By:
S
2475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Impeccable Service . Menu is simple, fo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 3 days ago

Impeccable Service . Menu is simple, food is just superb.

Tags: Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was fabulous and service impecc ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fabulous and service impeccable. We love the atmosphere as well!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food and exceptional service! We ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Amazing food and exceptional service! We will definitely be back for a special occasion.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome! Wait staff was very Accomid ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 4 days ago

Awesome! Wait staff was very Accomidating Food was the best we've had at a local restruant !

Tags: Good for Groups, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Historic, Tasting Menu, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, , Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic service as always, same great ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic service as always, same great steaks you come to expect from a Jeff Ruby restaurant. Unique setting in old restored house. Not cheap but worth the money if you want a top notch experience

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Where do I begin?! I took my grandmother ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Where do I begin?! I took my grandmother here tonight for our first Ruby's experience. Let me first say that the staff was wonderful, from the hostess to the bartenders, to the server's assistant, to our server Chris. Everyone went over the top with assisting us (our drinks were never empty). The restaurant is extremely clean and very classy, and they made us feel right at home. Chris (our server) made some wonderful suggestions as to what we should order, and he hit the ball out of the park with everything!! We will definitely be back!! Now, on to the food!!

We had: The New York strip (med. rare and cooked to perfection), the Anthony Munoz (bacon wrapped filet with shrimp), the AMAZING Mac n Cheese, and finished it off with the Butter Pie which was hands down the BEST dessert I've ever had.

Tags: Private Room, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Carlo & Johnny's for a late Vale ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Went to Carlo & Johnny's for a late Valentine's Day dinner. I had heard that they were known for phenomenal dry aged steaks and impeccable service. I was blown away. Not only was every single item that we ordered perfect and wonderful, it was presented in a luxurious, aesthetically pleasing, almost artistic way. It's all about the experience. The entire staff was extremely well mannered and friendly. Our server, James was nothing short of amazing. He made us feel like we were the only people dining in the restaurant. Even the manager introduced himself and asked us about our dining experience. These guys are very attentive and perfect gentlemen.

The best part was seeing my girlfriend's reaction throughout the entire experience... All I can tell you is that if you want to spoil someone special with a romantic dinner, look no further.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Hot Spot, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Usually 5 Stars across the board but thi ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Usually 5 Stars across the board but this time I didn't get steak. Short ribs were not my thing. No self park spaces available. Carrots and brussell sprouts under done. Carb cake au gratins potatoes and carrot cake were very good. Service and ambiance were top shelf.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service, food, and atmosphere were excep ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 6 days ago

Service, food, and atmosphere were exceptional at Carlo & Johnny's - as usual! It's our favorite spot in Cincinnati and we will return again and again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here at least once a year. Again ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

We come here at least once a year. Again it did not disappoint. We arrived a little early but hung out in the lounge area and listened to some nice live music. Our reservation was for 8 and we were seated a little before that. Immediately greeted by the waiters assistant and got our water. Our waiter arrived just moments later to discuss apps and the meal. Having been in before we went with the freddie salads, they are amazing. Also ordered our steaks and sides. Two types of bread and butter before and during our salads. The truffle butter is great. Perfect timing on our steaks coming out. Both cooked exactly as we asked. My wife had some ice cream for dessert while i went with the peanut butter torte. It is fantastic, very rich and creamy. Service and food on point as always. Everyone greets you as you come and sends you off feeling like friends. Awesome experience as always. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Live Music, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Private Room, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was a great place to celebrate our 25 ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 7 days ago

It was a great place to celebrate our 25th anniversary. Food was awesome, cooked perfectly and service was great.

Tags: Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

My husband and I went to Carlos and John ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My husband and I went to Carlos and Johnny for the first time for our wedding anniversary and Valentine's dinner. We have been to few of the other Jeff Ruby restaurants (Precinct, Bellterra, andTropicana). Ruby's restaurants never disappoint. We started with Shrimp cocktails and oysters. Delicious! I got the steak collinsworth. Best bernaise sauce ever! My husband got bone in ribeye with chili seasoning. Both cooked perfectly and melted in our mouths. We had salads and loaded baked potato also. Service was superb. Our waiter Mike Stiens was excellent. He was so prompt and on top of things. But he was also so personable and a joy to chat with. We will definitely be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Charlie is always great when we come in. ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Charlie is always great when we come in. I would see him at Waterfront before it closed. This was our first time having Zach. He did a great job. Friendly and knowledgeable of the menu.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Family Style, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining experience. My fiancé and I ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great dining experience. My fiancé and I ate here for valentine day weekend. I ordered the Cowboy ribeye and she ordered the Sea Bass. Both dishes were exceptional. The service was topped notch. Definitely recommend to anyone looking for fine dining in Cincinnati.

Tags: Business Meals, Historic, Cozy, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was great and our waiter was ex ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The food was great and our waiter was excellent!! he was really on top of the game, by far the best experience yet because of him.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Came to celebrate my mothers 60th birthd ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Came to celebrate my mothers 60th birthday. They did an amazing job making her feel special! The food was prepared perfectly!

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love all Ruby restaurants but this visit ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Love all Ruby restaurants but this visit was not like the previous. Steak wasn't good and crab legs were very much overpriced. Not why this was the case. Has always been great before.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Never disappointed

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Never disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service and food were both outstanding!! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Service and food were both outstanding!! Worth every penny!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The staff at Carlo & Johnny went above a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

The staff at Carlo & Johnny went above and beyond to make our night special. We went for my husband's birthday, but the staff helped us surprise our parents with our announcement that they were going to be grandparents this fall. The whole staff was in on the surprise and kept the secret until dessert arrived. The pastry chef had written "Congrats Grandma/Grandpa" on everyone's dessert plate. It was very cute and our parents were very surprised! I cannot thank the staff enough for going out of their way to making our evening so special!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Private Room, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jeff Ruby's restaurants never fail to ma ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Jeff Ruby's restaurants never fail to make a great night magical! The service is impeccable and the staff treat you like they've known you for years! I always have the Anthony Munoz filet...it just melts in your mouth! The rock shrimp and mushrooms are the perfect compliment along with the bernaise sauce...there is no equal! I could go on and on...there just isn't enough room!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Fireplace, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Live Music, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come here often but it seems it was a ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We come here often but it seems it was a off night. The service was not up to its usual standards and the food was not that good either. The filet was tough and the gnocchi and lamb sausage was extremely greasy.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

We live out of town, but have dined at C ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 9, 2017

We live out of town, but have dined at Carlo and johnnys on a few occasions. The food and service are stellar!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Romantic, Private Room, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

My wife and I do not live in the Cincinn ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 9, 2017

My wife and I do not live in the Cincinnati area, but we always try to eat at a Jeff Ruby's restaurant while in town. Our meal at Carlo and Johnny's on a Thursday night was fantastic. We had the beet and goat cheese salad and tiger prawn shrimp for appetizers, Perfectly seasoned and prepared filet mignon steaks, asparagus and au gratin potatoes for our main course. For desert we had chocolate cake and cheesecake. Every aspect of the meal, from the service, atmosphere and wonderful food made this night very memorable. We highly recommend Carlo and Johnny's!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I really don't come for the food, I orde ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 8, 2017

I really don't come for the food, I ordered from the bar menu's and was disappointed in the goat cheese & beet salad was not good , the meatball & the mac & cheese also not good, I maybe ate 1/4 of my food, my husband ordered the Hambuger it was very dry(Redfeather in Oakley has the best) We are foodies and this is not a foodie place. Now if you are interested in eating a large steak this is place ! The Service was 5 Star!

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I decided to give Carlo & Jo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 8, 2017

My wife and I decided to give Carlo & Johnny a try after really enjoying our experiences at other Jeff Ruby restaurants. The atmosphere and decor is second to none. Very impressive place with excellent service. The appetizers were great but the steak fell way short of my expectations. I went with a barrel cut filet that looked impressive upon display. The taste was bland and lacked any real seasoning. I have had the exact same cut at other JR restaurants with much better quality and flavor. I know that it is hard to meet everyone's taste preference but when you are paying $175 for a dinner, I would expect a much better meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Birthday with Family

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Birthday with Family

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server Adam was amazing he went over ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our server Adam was amazing he went over the menu and was super polite and engaging. We drove over 3 hours to get dinner and it was completely worth it and Adam was awesome.

Tags: Bar Seating, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waiter, Jeff, was wonderful! Attent ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Our waiter, Jeff, was wonderful! Attentive without being intrusive. An enjoyable evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The level of service is undeniably the b ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 4, 2017

The level of service is undeniably the best in the industry. The steaks are incredible, prepared perfectly to your preferred temperature. There are several toppings choices to accommodate just about anyone's taste. The side dishes are fantastic as well. We look forward to treating ourselves to a fabulous evening again.

Tags: Romantic, Live Music, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Easily the best steak in town. Great se ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Easily the best steak in town. Great service and an excellent wine list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Have enjoyed going to Carlo and Johnny's ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Have enjoyed going to Carlo and Johnny's several times. Have never had bad service or food there. Our waiter, Jeff, was awesome. Intimate atmosphere.

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another great meal. This place really k ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Another great meal. This place really knows how to do it right.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Carlos and Johnny's is always perfect. ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Carlos and Johnny's is always perfect. From the Valet to the hostess, servers, management you could not ask for a better restaurant. We Love Charlie and is Staff!!!! Cannot wait to go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fireplace, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fun, Private Room, Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Dancing, Historic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I brought my daughter on her birthday fo ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I brought my daughter on her birthday for an outstanding meal, and she was thrilled by all of the attention! We were given a commemorative photo for her birthday, and she enjoyed a slice of birthday cheesecake for dessert. Such a nice way to celebrate a special occasion, or a nice way to enjoy a fabulous meal.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Authentic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

It seems like the place to go to.We had ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

It seems like the place to go to.We had a great evening with our friends and the food and service was great. We have already talked about going back

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy, Late-night Find, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant was beautiful. We were se ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The restaurant was beautiful. We were seated in the movie room near the fireplace. The steak was excellent and the service is definitely top notch. The Mac & Cheese is an absolute must.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went here just to celebrate time with ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We went here just to celebrate time with each other!! I love to cook and over the years have learned how to make some delicious dishes. So with that knowledge it is hard for us to go just anywhere to eat. It must be amazing, out of this world food to feel like we can go out to eat and not be disappointed! When going out to eat I am probably more picky then the average. I expect to have food I have no interest in learning how to make or they just make it so much better then me so we have to go there. With all of that out of the way, below describes our experience. The atmosphere is nice and staff was attentive. Areas of the restaurant looked a little dated. Noticed chipped paint and some slight wear and tear which is not expected when dining at a restaurant of this high class. The bread with truffle butter was a perfect! I am drooling right now just thinking about truffle butter, yum! A manager noticed it was taking way too long for our appetizers to arrive so he took care of the appetizers and made sure we got them. We very much appreciated this!!! The pork belly appetizer, Waygu steak, macaroni and cheese, and truffle fries were amazing and worth it!!! The pork belly was seasoned just right and perfect temperature. The waygu steak was tender, juicy and flavorful!! The macaroni and cheese was creamy and decadent!! The truffle fries was seasoned to perfection paired with perfect crispness. However do not recommend the burger at all!! The oyester Rockefeller was just ok. I have always enjoyed trying burgers at steak places due to usually made out of steak trimmings and often are properly seasoned. Unfortunately the burger was flat it was not terrible but could have and should have been so much better! My advice just take it off the menu or consider charging more and use better ingredients like steak trimmings. With all of this in mind I would still return for another meal. They are well known for steak and that they are definitely getting right!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

This is the 3rd time we have been to Car ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 25, 2017

This is the 3rd time we have been to Carlo & Johnny's. It has always been incredible but this time the new york strip steak was not as good. It was a bit tough where the other 2 times it was like cutting through butter. Normally I wouldn't complain but when your paying $71 just for a steak (and we had two of them for my son & I) it MUST be great EVERYTIME. My wife had the braised short ribs, which my wife absolutly loved. The mac n cheese was incredible, the best I've ever had. To finish it we had twp creme brule's and a piece of cheescake. The desserts were also fantastic.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Try the warm butter pie with sugared pec ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2017

Try the warm butter pie with sugared pecans. Yum! All other items were stellar and Jeff Ruby and his staff keep us coming back !

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.