About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: 727-674-4164x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Restaurant Photos

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tampa / Central Florida West
American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
2 More
Romantic
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Clearwater ›

scenic view (61)
special occasion (46)
romantic (43)
See All
fit for foodies (35)
great for outdoor dining (26)
good for groups (22)
notable wine list (22)
great for brunch (16)
kid-friendly (10)
great for lunch (9)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
late-night find (4)
Sort By:
Newest
710 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were just there a few days ago and lo ...

Dined 6 days ago

We were just there a few days ago and loved Caretta on the gulf for the most part. We had a large group of girls and were able to sit in a beautiful wine room. Our food was delicious and the atmosphere was great. Our server appeared bothered by our group and was incredibly Condescending the entire dinner. We were a group of successful 30 + women and he treated us as though we were teenagers. One of the girls received the wrong drink and simply asked for a New one. He immediately huffed about it and never came back with her drink. This was just one example of his ongoing behavior.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food; professional but friendl ...

Dined 6 days ago

Excellent food; professional but friendly service. Fine dining atmosphere but not stuffy. View is amazing directly on the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service and food.

food2
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous vie ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous view of The Gulf. Outstanding service, extensive wine list, and a quiet, intimate environment round out the positives. However, the food is only average, at best. And that is being generous.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining this diamond limelight's sunset with edifying dishes under the guidance of your waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1

Took two hours to get our food

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Took two hours to get our food

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Mother's Day Weekend

Dined on May 6, 2016

The view and the opportunity to watch the sunset was worth the over 60-mins we waited for the main course. Appetizers were slow to come out as well. Overall we made the best of it. They had a good selection of wine to choose from. The bottle of Silver Oak definitely help with the wait.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3

The food quality has definitely slipped ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food quality has definitely slipped for this A1 location. Service and ambiance are good, but overall the food is poorly prepared and extremely disappointing for such a fine establishment.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I and 2 guest had dinner on a Friday night. The scene is phenomenal, the food is exquisite. A must experience for a special occasion. Our waiter Russell, did an outstanding job reviewing the menu, making suggestions, and taking really good care of our table. Our guest were blown away. Highly recommend this experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

SLOW

Dined on May 4, 2016

I had a hard time understanding how ordering dessert and a cup of decaf took so long after dinner - 2.5 hours for a business dinner on a Wednesday night is too long

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great View

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Went to Caretta's while on vacation in Clearwater Beach. It was the best meal we had the whole trip. We sat outside overlooking the ocean and got to watch the sunset. It was so relaxing and calm. The service was fabulous as was the food. I would definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Over priced with average dood

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Caretta's for our anniversary. We asked for a table by a beach window, and while there were plenty of window tables available, got a table near the window in a room with a large noisy party. My wife had the fillet and I the squash filled ravioli with kale. My pasta was over cooked and the dried kale was chewy rather than crisp. For dessert we shared the profiteroles which were dry and tasteless. $160 later (including tip) we agreed that we had eaten a good, but hardly memorable meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dining experiences. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

One of the best dining experiences. The food, view and service are the best Clearwater Beach has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A step below upper crust

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent cuisine and dining experience. Serving staff is well trained. Food is very good but over priced. It's a shame that they let people in their restaurant with cut-off jeans and t-shirts. Obviously, they fall a bit short of an elite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service2

One of our favorites really slipped bad ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

One of our favorites really slipped bad this time. We hope it was simply a mis step with the addition of the sister property down the block. We sure hope so

food5
ambience5
service5

Was very surprised at the service and qu ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Was very surprised at the service and quality of food. Candidly the best steak I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Scallops with pork belly were ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious! Scallops with pork belly were phenomenal, as were the steaks. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot on the beach

Dined on April 6, 2016

Very nice restaurant in the Sandpearl Hotel. We ate outside and enjoyed the view although it was partially obscured. The bison sliders and the deconstructed sushi roll salad were both excellent. Service was good and overall a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth the drive

Dined on April 4, 2016

Lobster roll was good, but I'd leave off the grapefruit next time...mango or avocado would be better if you are going to put a twist on the traditional recipe.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a horrible experience at this restaurant

Dined on March 26, 2016

our waiter was rude and unfriendly. food was okay but way overpriced . never again

food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, good food and good wine. Enj ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great view, good food and good wine. Enjoyable

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

slow to get a table

Dined on March 20, 2016

I have never waited 45 min for a table when i had a reservation... and on top of this I was not offered anything to offset inconvenience except "sorry" Perhaps I should have complained louder but that is not my style. although the food was exceptional the dining service and staff were lackluster at best.. very disappointed with 2+ hour dinner with my 15 and 10 year old kids.. unacceptable ... and not cheap...

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative selection, superb service

Dined on March 20, 2016

Sunday brunch is one of the things I look forward to with every visit to Clearwater. Food was creative, well presented, and good quality. There are a number of selections available that on their own would make for a memorable brunch on their own, but with all they have it is hard to know what to have. TJ our server was a joy - he was a professional server, and any restaurant would be lucky to have him, but more than that he is just such a pleasure to interact with - clearly the management know how to attract the best chefs and servers. Rob - from Canada.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view. Great service. Expected ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Beautiful view. Great service. Expected the food to be significantly better. It seemed there was entirely too much going on with each dish. In this case less is most definitely more.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Decent restaurant with a great views

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Generally the meal was good with the exception of the Grouper. The grouper did not appear fresh and some have suggested it may not have been grouper given that it's a banned commododiy. The other food choices were excellent. The waitstaff amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional. The service w ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was exceptional. The service was very attentive but not intrusive. This is a fabulous restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

We have been coming here for brunch for years. Well worth the price.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Everything was great and the service was perfect! I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

amcc

Dined on March 6, 2016

To start, we had a reservation at 8:00 pm. We arrived on time and were told that our table wasn't available and we'd have to wait 20-25 minutes. There was another group sitting beside us that were told the same thing. Once we were seated, the waiter took our order. One gentleman in our group was having sushi to start and a salad and then a main course. The waiter asked if he would take both when we had our salads to keep the timing aligned. He said no that he didn't want that and the server did it anyway. Our salads / first course and main courses came out in due time and were delicious. Our group had a variety of seafood and steak dishes and all were happy with them. We also all had dessert courses which we thought weren't as good as the other courses. When one of us told the waiter that he didn't really care for the dessert, rather than saying I'm sorry you didn't like it or offering something else, he made it sound like it was the diner's fault. After that, our waiter disappeared and we had to ask twice for the check and still had to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Ugh-Service was horrible -food a disappointment

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Usually love Caretta on the Gulf. One of our favorite restaurants in Florida. However, I never experienced a more miserable service along with below average meals!!!! What a huge disappointment to treat yourself to a nice (expensive) evening out only to have it ruined due to slow, inconsistent service and mediocre food (pumpkin ravioli was way over cooked and steak was under cooked). When servers did show up, they placed dessert menus at our table. When we said we were all set, no dessert, they left and didn't come back with the check for at least 15 minutes!! Will really rethink ever coming back.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 4, 2016

I rarely rip a restaurant. I know the server tried to sell how great the chef was. The sushi appetizer was the size of a main course and when the entree arrived it was burned. It should have never left the kitchen. With fish coming in right off the dock, it should be easy to make this work, but I ended up with the most expensive and poorest dinner of our trip. I'd go here for drinks because they were really well done. Service was good although I found the checkout awkward. Because of their new technology you had to put the tip in prior to the server swiping it. I tipped well but I don't like the process.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at Caretta provided my wife and I ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Dining at Caretta provided my wife and I with an elegant evening full of good food and spirits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

Had a great dinner on our last day at Clearwater. Great restaurant in every way. The sushi was wonderful, and my wife's filet was equally good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Resort Restaurant

Dined on February 26, 2016

Our dining experience begins with Tyrone, he left a message to confirm reservations. He spoke so fast we didn't get the call back number. We arrived at the resort with little direction on where it was in the resort. We had to look for it. When we found it Tyrone greeted us. We were early, (restaurant was just opening). He sat us anyway, we had requested a booth but did not get one, he sat us next to the window with a beach view, I was okay with this; it was as a corner table. We and another couple at the bar were the only ones there besides staff. Our waitor came to greet us, very pleasant and explained the menu, it being our first time there. Shortly after ordering drinks Tyrone sat a family staying at the resort in beach attire with young children at the table next to us. (The whole restaurant including beach views was open. This was a special occasion, my 40th Birthday dinner. My husband and I were dressed formally. I was very uncomfortable with him sitting this family next to us with an open restaurant. I understand that the restaurant is in a resort but I felt he could of placed them further away from us. This changed the ambiance of my dinner. The food and presentation was beautiful, our waitor was attentive, but I will not recommend this restaurant to friends who are out for a romantic dinner with the ambiance of a 5 star restaurant. We typically dine at Ocean's Prime, Eddie V's, or Charley's, I wanted to try a new place hoping to add to our choices in the future for our date night or future birthday's.

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great upscale beach find

Dined on February 24, 2016

Has to be one of the best places in Clearwater. Food was amazing. Sushi rolls were among the best we've ever had (and we're sushi nuts). Oysters were fresh and delicious. Entrees were generously portioned and beautifully presented - tasty too! Will definitely go back next time we're in the area.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As Close To Perfect As It Gets!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Four childhood friends getting together for a girls' night out. We had a reservation and were seated promptly. Our server was delightful and very helpful with answering questions and making suggestions. All four of us chose a different dish and we were all thrilled with our choices. Wine list is extensive; cocktails were perfect. Little touches like a complimentary baked potato sample and the delicious truffle at the end of our meal were an added bonus. Love this place and will highly recommend to others.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Food was excellent

Dined on February 20, 2016

It was a little on the pricey side but the food and service was excellent.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Menu is 'Out of the Box'

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

The Chef offers new, trendy, and unique items...excellent presentation and quality......expensive, but offerings are not your standard fare Only complaint...at $25 corkage fee is a bit excessive

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best dining and view in the county!

Dined on February 8, 2016

Our favorite restaurant in the Bay Area! The menu, wine list and service never disappoint! Whether staying at the Sandpearl Resort or coming just for dinner, it's well worth the drive to Clearwater Beach!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent

Dined on February 7, 2016

It was wonderful, service great and food great too. Some of the veggies not so hot, but everything else was excellent. It was noisy with birthday parties but they were having fun. The bar/music was smokin' Thanks

Tags: good for groups, romantic, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.