About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: (727) 674-4164

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.5

ambience

4.6

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (25)
Romantic (23)
Scenic View (23)
See All
Special Occasion (17)
Good for Anniversaries (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Fit for Foodies (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Business Meals (9)
Notable Wine List (8)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Bar Seating (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Cozy (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Great for Lunch (4)
Fireplace (3)
Healthy (3)
Authentic (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Fun (2)
Organic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Family Style (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
People Watching (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Live Music (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Private Room (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Great Beer (1)
Tapas (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
850 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Everything is very well done at Caretta. If you are into the local, fresh, organic movement this restaurant should be on your agenda. Holds it's own next to restaurants anywhere, food, service, wine list all first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Attended for Sunday Brunch Buffet

Food and service were excellent!

Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time there. After massages, we wanted to have lunch at this restaurant

and then take a walk on the beach. We were seated at a table with a beach view which we liked but the table and place mats were not very clean. The waiter was not very good, pretty much no

personality at all. We started with appetizers first, of the three the edamame was the only thing we enjoyed. I had made a special request it was my guests birthday and when we ordered coffee they did not offer or show us a dessert menu. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a great meal at Caretta the other night. My wife started with the house salad which had a unique presentation and she really enjoyed it. I had tomato soup which I liked a lot. She had a fillet which was properly prepared and was huge. I had the grouper and thought it was the best I've had on the island so far. Service was good and the atmosphere was nice. I recently posted a positive review on Shor and I would say the food and service at Caretta is comparable, however, Caretta has a much better atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We ate here for the first time on February 13. The hotel is beautiful. Our experience at the restaurant was not very good. We requested a window table when we booked. They didn't accomodate us. I'm all for creating atmosphere but it's so dark in there we couldn't read the menu without the light on our cell phones. We couldn't see each other during the meal. Simply idiotic. I ordered buffalo and specified medium rare. The meat was overcooked more towards well done. You could tell it had been sitting in the oven for some time. Unacceptable. The server was completely oblivous and disconnected from us, almost like she didn't want to engage with the patrons. When the bussboy removed my plate he dropped the utensils on my lap. Overall a very bad experience. There are much better restaurants in Clearwater. Don't waste your money at Caretta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very pleased. The host was very accommodating and friendly. The server described the menu and was able to make suggestions based on our taste. We are local so will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was disappointed in food. Have eaten at Correttas many times and this was not as good as previous visits . Will dine somewhere else in future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chris and Dan were perfect hosts as well as servers. Sunset was fabulous. Food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I ordered the Buffalo when I came to the table it was so salty could not eat it had to send it back let my wife take a bite of it she could not believe how salty it was left a taste in my mouth I was not able to eat anything else took it off my charge appreciated that So can't give a definite referral to someone will have to give it another chance again

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Carrettas is a fabulous place for views of Clearwater Beach and the food is normally highly recommended with a good mixture of fish, meat, sushi and salads. Yesterday, at a mid week lunch it was somewhat underwhelming. Lacking in flavou rin the lobster naan and a flatbread which should have had pork on it was very short of the main ingredients. Desserts were good! Coffee from an individual press was excellent and the service was just right though the server's shirt and trousers should have seen a washing machine before being worn. We have had dinner and lunch a few times at this dining room and it has been well worth the spend but a bit doubtful yesterday. Will go again and see how we feel then.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sara the server was fabulous! We spent SuperBowl Sunday there and had the best time! Love that place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful Sunday brunch. Best waffles ever! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We had reservations and was

seated right away. My wife had waffles and I had egg omelet plus all the fresh goodies available.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch with family. The food was excellent. It was expensive but it was great for a special occasion. Would go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fabulous sunset location. Menu is all top level quality/organic/locally sourced. Great wine/cocktail selection. Staff were marvelous. Would not hesitate to highly recommend.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food and service were excellent! It made our anniversary a special night to remember. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Love this place. It is a great place with great people working there and awesome food. They always make you feel welcome and go the extra mile for special occasions also love the live music on weekends

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2017

very poor service, worse food wast of money which was very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Simply delicious . Would not be able to find anything better A+.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

beautiful setting, outstanding service, very good food! Will continue to frequent this find dining establishment!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 23, 2017

our server, endri, was outstanding. we were celebrating a birthday and i mentioned this in the notes for the reservation and they presented the "birthday girl" with a cake and candle. i'll definitely be back!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Very pricey for brunch. Food was great. Service was so, so. The restaurant was evacuated for a false fire alarm. We all had to exit the hotel. When we went back inside, nobody apologized or even acknowledged the inconvenience. People could have just left without paying, yet everyone I observed, just went back and to continue brunch, yet nobody from the staff even offered an apology.

Tags: Business Meals, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Wonderful views and the food was fantastic. The steak was cooked to perfection. The potatoes and veggies were perfect. The waiter was attentive and explained the menu very well. The chef gave a complementary sushi which was great.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Great place highly recommended!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Fireplace, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Family Style, Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Private Room, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Steak was overcooked and for the price should have been perfect...wine was overpriced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Excellent seafood & steaks... incredible atmosphere, staff and the best wine list on the Gulf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 2, 2017

So loud. We went for a quiet dinner and there was a crowd at the bar screaming and singing while watching football.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service3
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The server was nice enough but a three hour meal is just insane. He didn't seem to have a pulse on our impatience towards the end. I was with my wife and her 93 y.o. grandparents. They were getting as frustrated as I was. The menu was limited, food was fresh but extraordinarily unmemorable. Room was beautiful but I would never come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We enjoyed every bite. Fabulous Buffet. Our party of 4 was their for New Years Morning/Sunday Brunch. Highly recommended...great entrees - veal - beef - turkey + great desserts - omelets made to order - waffles - more than enough to eat for every taste. We are looking forward to coming back next year.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Wonderful New Years Eve dinner - great food and service

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We love Caretta on the Gulf! The food is exceptional and the staff is amazing. Their 6 course New Years Eve dinner was phenomenal. They had great music and a fun ambience! It is definitely a place to check out when in Clearwater!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (South Dakota)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Made reservation for New Years Eve after looking at dining room menu online. After being seated the only menu option in the dining room was a five course meal for $169.00 plus tax & 18% gratuity We were redirected to lounge area with only lounge menu option. Food was good but service was very slow. Not the special experience we looked forward to

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service and great food. Nice for couples. The lobster and ribeye were perfectly cooked. Specialty cocktails offered and well-made. Excellent desserts and cappuccino.

Tags: Cozy, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Excellent service, food and atomosphere! We enjoyed our Christmas Eve dinner very much!

Tags: Waterfront, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Disabled Access, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 23, 2016

What a wonderful experience! From start to end- just perfection! Great food, wonderful service and there's no beating the view! Recommend getting there right around sunset, just stunning!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Great food and service. Their Sunday brunch is exceptional.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on December 18, 2016

Went there for my daughters birthday. She had the grouper and I had the snapper. Both were excellent. The presentation, service and atmosphere were outstanding! They brought out a cream brûlée for my daughter which was delicious!

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Paleo Friendly, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 17, 2016

We had a reservation for 7:30, and arrived about 10 minutes early. The restaurant was empty, except for one couple at one end of the restaurant and a couple taking their elderly mother out for her 96th birthday. Those three diners were one table from a wall. With the whole restaurant open, the maitre d sat us between the three diners and the wall. We were cramped. I asked for another table, and was told they were reserved for diners arriving at 8. However, we were shown two equally undesirable tables. We took one. We were in the restaurant until about 9, and the tables I requested were never occupied. I cal this bad service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Sunday brunch is a very good deal. Wonderful and a good variety of choices at the buffet.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Awesome went for the brunch great food great service

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Dinner with friends to catch up and enjoy a nice meal was excellent at Caret's on the Gulf. I ordered halibut and it was fabulous, my husband had the pork and he thoroughly enjoyed how tender it tasted. We sat outdoors after dinner for a drink on sofa's with a table top fireplace to take the chill away.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Live Music, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 26, 2016

This was a great discovery for us. We were in Clearwater for a short weekend. The restaurant was so good on a Friday night that we went back on Saturday morning for breakfast. Great food, atmosphere, views, and service. And amazing cocktail creations. Love this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 21, 2016

Such a great staff! We forgot our credit cards and they ran our numbers manually, and were so nice about it. I was embarrassed but they made it all ok.

Tags: Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great service by the entire staff, great view, loved it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Our waiter, Charles, was very knowledgeable about everything the menu had to offer. The crab cake was full of crab, not fillers as with some restaurants. The aged 24 oz cowboy ribeye steak was cooked to my desired temperature. Delicious!! Finished with a chocolate sundae. I would highly recommend Caretta's on the gulf for a wonderful elegant dining experience.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Waterfront, Organic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Best Sunday brunch in town ! Make sure to ask for mark as your server !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 12, 2016

From the moment we walked in it was apparent this would be a memorable dinner. Spectacular view of the sunset, our waiter Chris & his assistant CC were fantastic. The seafood appetizer was fresh and delicious as was the beet salad. The bone in strip steak & pork tenderloin were cooked perfectly & full of flavor. Writing this makes me want to be at Caretta on the Gulf again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 12, 2016

The food here is incredible and so is the service. I have dined here twice and have enjoyed the cuisine and atmosphere immensely. The sunset views from the restaurant are spectacular.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Family Style, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Just a amazing experience from the step un the door. The service knowledge just the best tasting food and wine my wife and i have ever had

Tags: Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on November 5, 2016

One word: Superb. The artful nature combined with the mixture of tastes shows that the chef puts heart into every dish. My palette was impressed with what they had to offer and I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a food adventure.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.