Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 26 times today

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Waterfront
  • Romantic
  • Special Occasion
Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.
Dining Style
Casual Elegant
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Continental
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(727) 674-4171
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Smart Casual
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Sean Ragan
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Baymont Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Complimentary Valet Parking.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 1163 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.4
food
4.6
service
4.7
ambience
4.2
value
Noise · Quiet
85% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

Everything was wonderful! The view, the service and the food. We go every time we’re in town🧜‍♀️

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined 4 days ago

Mala recepció.(Debimos buscsr recepcionista)luego nos llevan mesa sucia, no pusieron ni pan , ni sal . La atención muy mala. La comida no tenía nada especial. No lo recomiendo

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

The food service and ambiance were, as always, the very best.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

We went for Father's Day. I was a little concerned we would be rushed, but we were able to take our time and enjoy the drinks and apps.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

Great view at sunset. Sea bass and ahi tuni wonderful! Caprese salad delicious as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 5 days ago

Our waiter Chris and trainee Sam were superb! Thank you for the great advice. We loved everything!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Frankly, I tend to avoid resort restaurants in favor of the locally owned venues just because I like to support the little guys. This was close to us (we chose not to have a car since CB is walkable), and recommended on multiple sites. I will admit it was the best dinner we had in our 5 nights of vacation on Clearwater Beach.
We shared the burrata/heirloom tomato caprese and the ahi tuna dinner entree. Both were excellent. We also shared the double choc gelato w nuts dessert (can't remember the name). It was good. Our drinks were very good. Service was excellent.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2018

It was a fabulous brunch experience!!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Very disappointed. The meal was terrible. It was my birthday and we requested a window table with a view. They did not give us A window table yet to window tables were open right in front of us! They opened up within moments of being seated. Last year I was treated to a complimentary dessert with a very nice happy birthday message and we got a table by the window that we requested and service and food was very good. This year they did not even offer me a complementary breath mint or anything let alone a birthday dessert. One of the servers was extremely rude and snotty! Our meal was very bland. Last year I got the same thing and it was very good. They changed chefs or the recipe or something. My husband’s meal was equally bland and the food is extremely overpriced! There are many other restaurants on the beach with an equally beautiful view, much better service, much better food and much less expensive! Needless to say, this will be our last time at the Sand Pearl. And we were previously regular customers there. Hopefully they will go back to their previous ways.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 9, 2018

Great service, amazing view, delicious food, we can’t wait to go back!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 8, 2018

I took my daughter and granddaughter to Caretta’s to celebrate her birthday for a special treat. We had a wonderful waiter that was great with my young granddaughter, very attentive and professional. We both ordered the special 4 course meal that was truly a treat for the eyes and deliciously prepared, not to mention a good value. My daughter was married at the Sandpearl about 5 yrs ago and it was exceptional and has never let us down. Kudos and thank you. Best dinner anywhere around Clearwater Beach!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 5, 2018

Service was very attentive and wine list by the glass was particularly impressive. Food quality was quite good; lighting however, was a bit dim for my liking

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 4, 2018

The Lobster was absolutely delicious.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 3, 2018

Overall average food.... had to ask the waiter twice for the bread, which comes with different dips - probably the best thing we ate. Also had the cream brûlée for dessert as it was a 60 birthday celebration. Told the waiter I saw it online.... wasn’t prepared fancy at all. They really shouldn’t have pictures online that don’t look like what you get.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

Entire staff was great. Excellent service. Super friendly waiter. We ate outside at sunset and the view of the the ocean was beautiful. Ordered off the prix fixe menu and had 4 courses for 60.00. Food was fresh and delicious. An absolute must when we go back to CB.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

We enjoyed every single thing we ordered from the bread to the wine! Worth every penny!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The entire service staff was excellent. Our waiter was quite knowledgeable and helpful, yet not intrusive. The Blue Point oysters were nice and cold, large, and tasty. My black grouper had a nice flavor, and had a nice pan-seared crust. There seemed to be too much sauce (or butter). The risotto was swimming in the butter....for me it was way too much! My husband enjoyed his crab soup made with corn and bacon. He said it was different, but good. He was disappointed in his rack of lamb. The chops were cut very thick (twice the thickness of other rack of lamb dishes)- which was fine, but he ordered it medium-Med well, and they were pretty rare in the middle. Our dessert was a complimentary anniversary dessert which was delicious, and a nice surprise! We both ordered decaffeinated cappuccinos, and I literally was wide awake until 5:00am. Of course I can’t be sure I was served regular coffee, but the chances are pretty good to excellent (based on my sleep habits).

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 2, 2018

An excellent dinner -- well prepared and great service, too. Despite some negative reviews online, we found this restaurant to be outstanding -- very glad we went. Yes, on the pricey side, but it's a lovely location and well appointed. Center cut filet was very tasty! Nice charred edges but pink center, medium well as it should be. Appetizer Spicy Tuna Tacos also excellent. Highly recommended! We did Sat evening at 6:30 pm, so probably missed crowd so I'd say that's a good target time, or later after 8 pm to miss the big rush on weekends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 31, 2018

Sitting outside gentle breeze blue skies and the ocean what a setting. The food was a great compliment to the day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

Absolutely amazing! This is the best restaurant I have been to in Clearwater. If you are looking for amazing service, fabulous food, and a beautiful view this is the place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 29, 2018

It was our first wedding anniversary and although it was acknowledged once it didn’t feel special....also the sushi and appetizers were wonderful however the main dish was less than stellar.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 28, 2018

Great food and great service! The view was amazing as well!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Great ocean front dining

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

We took our daughter here for her birthday. We had a seat by the window with a great view. Our three appetizers which were the scallops, braised short ribs and spicy tuna roll were excellent. We all ordered the lobster which was prepared perfectly and out of the shell which was a plus. The service was very good. We will definitely go back for special occasions.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2018

Amazing time! An elegant treat. Great live music and fun dance floor!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Dinner was great! Service was exceptional!
My veal arrived over cooked and the server gladly had the dish re-made and even provided complimentary wine and delicious sorbet for the mishap. Portion sizing was generous for the price point. Service was on point. Great view. Would definitely return next time we’re in town. Thank you for an experience to remember!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 26, 2018

Best seafood and wine list on the beach incredible New York strip with bone in great wine list five star restaurant on Clearwater Beach.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 24, 2018

Great energy, views of the Gulf, sunset, and menu selection. Ask to be seated at Michelle's table area. She is awesome.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 23, 2018

We had the oysters on the half shell. Also the filet and lobster. Everything was delicious.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Susan was our waitress and was amazing. Made our graduation celebration extra special!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 20, 2018

Best dinner spot within 100 miles

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 19, 2018

Very disappointed overall. We were celebrating a birthday that was not recognized after informing management upon initial reservation and upon arrival. Was going to complain to manager but, he wasn't available. For the money I spent, the food and service was just OK and, I will more than likely never return.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 17, 2018

This was an overall great dining experience. The food was perfectly prepared. We had oysters on the half shell, sushi, and the black grouper. Thankfully, we shared all three because that was a lot of food. I could have made a meal of their house made bread!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Great dinner. Had a cocktail as the sun set and then a fabulous dinner with a great bottle of wine. Our server, Russel, was just the right level of attentive... not too much but never forgotten. Another great Sand Pearl memory.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Awesome, great setting, fantastic food

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Amazing dinner and service was competent. Wine list was extensive.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 11, 2018

Waiter although very genuine was not around when you needed him. The food for the cost was very average, not alt all exciting. Just another higher end hotel restaurant.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Brunch at the Sand Pearl is one of our favorite weekend things to do! The food is excellent for a buffet, our servers are always exceptional, and we really relax here. Nothing bad about a beach view and drinking mimosas! Love to bring friends....pricey but worth it!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Mediocre food for the price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 3, 2018

Everyone is our party enjoyed their meal. The food was well cooked and creatively displayed. The view out to the Gulf with the sun going down was spectacular.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
30

Tweets by Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort