Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (34)
Waterfront (31)
Romantic (27)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Special Occasion (26)
Good for a Date (26)
Good for Birthdays (16)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Worth the Drive (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Business Meals (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (8)
Casual (7)
Cozy (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
People Watching (6)
Sunday Lunch (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Live Music (3)
Organic (3)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Authentic (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Tapas (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Sort By:
S
983 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My partner proposed to me with the most amazing setting and view. Dane, our survey was excellent. I couldn't of asked for a more perfect night.
Thank you Dane and the staff at Caretta

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Anniversary

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Shrimp and grits were not special. Service was superb!!

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We were very happy with the food quality. We would have liked more choices for appetizers. Overall very good experience, we'll be back!

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 26, 2017

We are locals who have heard good reviews from friends, so we thought we'd treat ourselves for our anniversary & looked forward to getting dressed up for a rare night out without the kids. Unfortunately, other than our few very expensive cocktails, we were very disappointed. My husband got the filet and I got the snapper, but to be honest they were not good. We make much better steak & fish at home. Next time, we'll send kids to the grandparents, make our own dinner & save $200! 😒👎

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 25, 2017

Always enjoy my dinner here. Excellent filet dish. Always perfect. We had a beautiful table outside with amazing views. Michelle was our waitress and she was absolutely amazing. It was here birthday and we were honored to have her serve us. Always 5 star experience here.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Waterfront, Sunday Lunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Pinehurst)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Exceptional food, great service, excellent view, delightful experience. Very courteous staff, sensitive to the mood desired when enjoying fine dining. Highly recommended.

Tags: Late-night Find, Waterfront, Great Beer, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on August 19, 2017

This is now my most favorite restaurant in the world! I cannot believe how fresh the ingredients were and how creative the dishes were. DO NOT skip dessert it is 100% worth the full belly at the end. The wine and cocktails are also excellent!

Tags: Healthy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Seasonal, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 19, 2017

the shrimp and grits did not have much flavor and were over cooked making them tough.

Tags: Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Modern, clean lines decor, the restaurant offered a spectacular sunset on the Gulf of Mexico. That ambiance sky rocketed at the first sip of a Paso Robles cabernet sauvignon. I ordered a plate of a delightful carpaccio well suited with other condiments. Then came the main course which was two pieces of pork with an exquisite sauce that was just the best combination for it! That was absolutely revealing. I had the courage to order something I usually don't order: a strawberry cake, with other layer of fruit jelly. With a zesty sauce that accompanied that, I could feel the flavor jumping in my mouth.
I absolutely recommend that place for myself to go back to Clearwater and to SandPearl, but also for whoever has the chance to go there.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Excellent food, friendly and prompt service, beautiful view

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Romantic, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Organic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We were celebrating our 18th anniversary, and we wanted to celebrate in style. Caretta did not disappoint.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Get the lobster- smallish portions so get an appetizer and dessert. Super delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

The service was spot-on, well timed and very friendly, atmosphere was upscale and romantic. We were seated next to a window for sunset view. The food was excellent. Would definitely do it again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Not what it use to be, I have great memories of this place. Amuse bouche and bread arrived after the starters. Waiter seemed half hearted. My fillet steak was tasteless, lacked seasoning. The only people happy with their food were the children.

The decor was dated and the restaurant was too dark.

Most expensive meal in Clearwater and the worse one. I will remember it this time for the wrong reasons. Come on Sandpearl management, your restaurant is letting the hotel down.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Had a wonderful dinner. Everything was super yummy

Tags: Notable Wine List, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 7, 2017

Einfach ein gelungener Abend, bei dem alles stimmte. Wir werden sehr gerne wiederkommen. Das Restaurant wird seinem hohen Anspruch mehr als gerecht.
Gekrönt wurde es noch durch den beeindruckenden Sonnenuntergang, welchen wir bei hervorragenden Essen von der Terrasse beobachten konnten.
Sehr aufmerksames und geschultes Personal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

I've been spending my summers in Clearwater, Florida since I was a baby with my family. Now in my late twenties, I've seen the main strip grow and have always wanted to try a higher end restaurant with someone special. This year I got to bring my fiance along and we wanted to have a really special date night. Caretta on the Gulf was the perfect getaway. The location was stunning (we had reservations at sunset), the food was amazing and our server Dane was so genuine when discussing what our menu options were. This is will definitely be one of our go-to date nights the next time we are back in town.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We celebrated our 40th wedding anniversary with dinner here. It was wonderful and we were treated exceptionally. Thank you for putting a wonderful cap on a special day.

Tags: Romantic, Casual, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Excellent service, food and ambiance... highly recommend for Sunday Brunch

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 5, 2017

We were in Clearwater for our 35th Wedding Anniversary Weekend and Caretta's made our dinner celebration fantastic. Mike, our waiter suggested the Chilean Sea Bass and it was melt in your mouth good. Everything from appetizers to dessert was simply outstanding. Thanks for an awesome evening Caretta's. We will return for sure next time we are on the West Coast again. Regards......Erik H.

Tags: Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on August 4, 2017

Wonderful. Very nice restaurant. Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Dinner was great, steak was perfect, I recommend the ribeye, flavor was incredible and cooked perfectly. Our service was excellent as well. Ambiance was one of my favorite parts of the evening , can't beat the sunset view enjoying a fabulous dinner !

Tags: Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Amazing food and great service. Will come back for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 29, 2017

Caretta's was the perfect dining experience to celebrate our 46th wedding anniversary. The service and food was outstanding along with the setting sun as the perfect back drop.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Little Rock)·Dined on July 28, 2017

The host was very polite. We really enjoyed the ambiance and the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 23, 2017

The food was very good but they need a wider variety

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Mostly good experience. Waiter needs to smile more

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Outstanding and attentive service coupled with delicious food, well prepared and artfully presented. Ocean front views of the sunset and dolphins in the surf did not hurt the dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on July 10, 2017

Amazing property Sandpearl. Sushi bar quality is first class. Price point is moderately expensive but worth it. Sushi chef John was great and manager Michael was as professional as it gets. Valet validation is a nice touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 8, 2017

First time here... we thought all was great: service,food, and view

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Fantastic restaurant. Beautiful setting, excellent ambiance and service, great food.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Best 5 star restaurant in Clearwater Beach !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Beautiful restaurant and hotel. The service was excellent.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We loved our night here. First my wife and i were greeted by our waiter, chris, and he was very curtious and prompt throughout the whole night. Food was cooked just as we asked, and had great flavor. Atmosphere was comfortable, and elegant. Very good overall.

Tags: Waterfront, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Fine dining gone south... portions were too big, the dishes came with too many sauces (you could barely taste the actual fish), and people were dressed in flip flops and shorts.

For $40 an entree, I expected something better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Awesome experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 25, 2017

I have been to Caretta on the Gulf several times and I have never been disappointed. The food changes seasonally emphasizing local availability. The food is delicious, the service is outstanding, the ambiance is perfect for a romantic or family dinner. Tables are arranged so that every diner has a great view of the Gulf of Mexico and sunset is quite spectacular.

My wife and I have some complicated food restrictions and our server and the chef handled our needs beautifully.

If you are visiting Tampa Bay and you only have time to dine at one fine-dining restaurant, I recommend that you choose Caretta's.

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Scenic View, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on June 24, 2017

The scenery was beautiful. The food was good, seafood and steak mainly. We loved the desserts we ordered. The meat was not cooked as we ordered but still ok. Maybe the seafood dishes would have been better. The server, hostess, valet assistant were all very friendly.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We asked for onetable a little cake with a candle to my son. They forgot or didn't read the reserve.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.