Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: (727) 674-4164

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (52)
Waterfront (44)
Special Occasion (37)
See All
Good for a Date (34)
Romantic (34)
Creative Cuisine (28)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Business Meals (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Modern Decor (12)
Great for Brunch (12)
Notable Wine List (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Bar Seating (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Good for Groups (9)
Healthy (8)
Cozy (7)
Casual (7)
Authentic (7)
Live Music (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Seasonal (5)
People Watching (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Fun (4)
Happy Hour (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Fireplace (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Dancing (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Tapas (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Sort By:
S
920 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic meal!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined 5 days ago

Terrific atmosphere and great beach/sunset view. However, if you are a Foodie, you will be disappointed. The food just didn't have any particular zeal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

There is not enough choices of food for brunch. The choices are minimal. Also the price is not comparable to the value. Overpriced.

Tags: Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 7 days ago

The entire experience was absolutely amazing! The food was excellent, atmosphere extraordinary and service impeccable!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 15, 2017

My favorite restaurant with a view! Great food and ambience, a lovely place to watch the sunset.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Jacksonville)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We were celebrating Mother's Day and a birthday. Service was not great. Food was ok, very pricey. We won't be back for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Don't order the shrimp and grits! Meal was not edible, and Waiter eagerly removed the charges from our bill, stating he didn't know why it was still on the menu. Apparently it is often returned to the kitchen. We were there for "Mother's Day" dinner, and I went home without actually having dinner, was not offered any other concession except taking the charge off our bill. Good thing we had snacks in our room!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Unfortunately, I was very let down by my dining experience. I chose Caretta based on the diverse menu and Sandpearl's reputation. My husband and I treated my in-laws and Caretta did not live up to my expectations. I ordered the lobster which was a tad overdone. There was not a lot of flavor to the meat, and it had a chewiness to it. The melted butter was not pure butter. Watered down possibly? The best item on the plate was the potato souffle. I ordered the blondie sundae for dessert. Again, very disappointed. I expected a soft, chewy, brownie-like bar but the blondie was too hard and very underwhelming.

My husband had the filet and said again, just not special. I learned after the fact that my father in-laws crab and corn bisque was cold. I wish he would have sent it back.

Caretta just didn't live up to or near our expectations. For the price-point, we should have walked out raving. I'm so disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Went there to eat on balconey. They wouldn't seat us there; very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Food quality has really gone downhill. Food was cold and not very flavorful. For the pricepoint of this restaurant, they should be more attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 13, 2017

The food, service, atmosphere was wonderful...great oceanfront view, and very accomodating with altering food preparation to suit my guest's needs who was visiting from Europe. Thank you for going above & beyond for us! (I think our server's name was Christine or Christina)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Seasonal, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Modern Decor, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Tea, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Scenic View, Disabled Access, Live Music, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

The best 5 Star Restaurant on Clearwater Beach with an incredible view of the ocean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 7, 2017

I made a reservation at this restaurant because of the 4 star rating and it is located at the hotel we were staying at during our family vacation. To say that I was underwhelmed, would be a bit of an understatement. The food was pricey so I expected well seasoned, great tasting food. I ordered the red snapper and it was bland. There was any salt or pepper on the table to add some flavor. The service was terrible. We didn't have any silverware when we were seated. Our waitress recognized the problem, but failed to bring us all a set. I had to remind her and even then it too way to long for her to bring them to us. She wasn't very quick with any of our requests. My son got the kids petite filet steak and it was very tough and tasteless. He asked for steak sauce and again we had to ask twice before it was delivered to our table. My advice...find another place to eat when you are in town. Totally not worth it.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

One of the best brunches we'vebeen to. Food was good quality and cooked perfectly. Everything was fresh. Will be back for brunch every time we visit here!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Usually very good, but not this time...........steak was very tough, filled with tough white veins which should have been removed or not in a prime piece of steak.........service was not up to par with previous visits...waiter may have been new, he seemed inexperienced, and was not attentive at all...salads came out about 5 minutes apart with no explaination..........corkage fee is the highest of any restaurant in the area.........

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Thank you for a lovely evening. Professional staff with attention to detail. Excellent quality. Food was fresh, beautifully presented and delicious. We will remember this restaurant for future dining experiences.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Food was good, service was excellent. Ambience was quiet and upscale.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Marvelous dinner in an elegant ambience. The chef prepared every dish with a sophisticated touch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 30, 2017

We throughly enjoyed our dining experience at Caretta's. We wer celebrating a birthday and were treated to outstanding service, food and atmosphere. The sunset views were spectacular. The grouper was outstanding and prepared perfectly to our liking. Caretta's continues to be the pinnacle of Clearwater Beach.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Saw this on Open Table and made a reservation for a business dinner. I was pleasantly surprised at the opulence Saw this on Open Table and made a reservation for a business dinner. I was pleasantly surprised at the opulence of the restaurant. We were seated by the window and had a great view of the beach at sunset. Our waitress was prompt, professional and personable. The appetizers and salads were very good. I chose the rib-eye, which was done to perfection! All said that their meals were fabulous. The presentation was great and a group from a close by table asked if they could have what we were having.
I felt that the prices are very reasonable for the quality of food that they offer. I would highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Food was over seasoned we had the veal . Caesar salad too much dressing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 26, 2017

Had a large party meal here with some friends from work - its reputation and ratings were well-supported in our experience! Attentive and knowledgeable service, delicious food, creative menu and great wine list. Also loved the ambiance & views. Can't wait for my next visit!

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Drinks were great, appetizers were great,steak sucked. At $54.00 for a Ribeye you would expect Prime Beef, not Argentina Beef.
We had great service, but the steaks were not cooked properly and poor quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We dined here for my mother's birthday, with my two young kids. They catered to the kids brilliantly with special appetizers just for them and pacing out their dinners perfectly so we could also enjoy our meals. The service was excellent and the food outstanding. We will definitely be coming back to this restaurant.

Tags: Modern Decor, Good for Groups, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Great dinner on the patio!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Dancing, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic food with an tasty eclectic sushi selection. Our waiter Russell was attentive and well-versed on the menu and wine list. The samples courtesy of the chef were the proverbial icing on the cake, as were the gorgeous sunset views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The restaurant is very pretty-art is magnificent. Surprised at the people/children in swim clothes or cut offs and tee shirts. Crab soup excellent. Wedge salads has pork belly-we felt it was more like hunks of fat undercooked. Fish very good. Shrimp and grits had great grits but over cooked shrimp. Filet was perfect. Great wines sand typical but good tasting desserts.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good lord we fell in love with this place. Amazing and perfect for any occasion. My wife and I were thinking this hotel can be our new weekend getaway. A+++++ you're on the beach, white sand, pool area is great, great location if you want to walk around Clearwater shops. You will definitely love this place!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Afternoon Tea, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Private Room, Healthy, Romantic, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Everything was fantastic food, service and that view! Can't wait to try out the brunch!

Tags: Casual, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

This place is without question the nicest restaurant in Clearwater by far. This is our fourth year to the area from Maine and the experience only gets better with a menu that suits everyone.
The sunset view is a bonus, they raise the sun shades just in time for the sun to go down.
The meats are exceptional as is the sushi. We ate at the sushi bar one night. Highly recommend. Everyone is very professional and friendly. We had two of the same waiters from years ago. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Our anniversary celebration at Caretta will be a wonderful lifetime memory. The entire dining experience from seating to our dessert and coffee was beyond 5 star. We have a lifetime of travel and dining from which to compare our evening at Caretta and my husband and I believe our meal and entire experience with staff, ambiance and presentation was the best in 42 years.

Tags: Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Private Room, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Healthy, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We love Caretta. Every time we dine here we have a great experience. This time we were with family from New Jersey. Everyone loved their meals. Our server Caitlin was terrific. It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Definitely worth the trip. Beautiful view of the beach. Service was impeccable. The Cesear salad was great and definitely get the snapper.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 17, 2017

Awesome Awesome

If you plan on going make sure you have Nathan for a server. Knowledgeable and attentive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on April 17, 2017

My girlfriend and I ate there while on vacation in Clearwater Beach. Had a wonderful dinner. The views were amazing, and we were lucky enough to get there about 20 minutes before the sunset. The Sunset was gorgeous. Food was delicious, can't complain about anything.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food and ambiance. Everything was delicious. The sushi was amazing, great appetizers and wonderful fresh fish dinners. The service was very professional. The view was beautiful and the setting relaxing. We had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was disappointing - not as good as last year!😂

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there for steaks at the last minute and were heavily surprised at how good the food was. It came recommended as a seafood place but steaks were delicious and ambiance was magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best restaurant in Clearwater. Went twice during Easter week Real good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We were on vacation with our two girls. Beautiful sunset views and great ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.