About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: 727-674-4164x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Restaurant Photos

Sushi And Shrimp
bubbly bubbly!!
Sushi
Arugula Salad
Omelet And Potato Casserole
Tazo Tea, Wild Sweet Orange
Grouper with Mango Chutney
Mini Desserts
Shrimp, Sushi, And Salmon, Oh My!
Spinach Salad With Goat Cheese, Blackberries, And Pistachios
Flatbread Pizza And Buffalo Chicken Roll
Prime Rib With Horseradish Cream
Shrimp Tempura
Prosecco
Egg White Omelet With Tomato, Basil, and Balsamic Glaze
Hamachi
Wild Boar
smoked duck
Farm Raised Venison With Spaetzle, Red Cabbage, And Chestnuts
Pan Seared Diver Scallops With Pork Belly
Lobster And Artichoke Flatbread
Spicy Tuna Roll & Edamame
Colorado Lamb Rack
Fire Roasted Oysters
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Blanc et Noir
Surf-N-Turf Sushi Rolls
Diver Scallops
Buffalo Ribeye grilled on bone

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.5

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Clearwater ›

Scenic View (53)
Special Occasion (43)
Romantic (40)
See All
Fit for Foodies (21)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Notable Wine List (14)
Great for Brunch (14)
Good for Groups (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Kid-friendly (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
742 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Sushi was fantastic service was excelle ...

vip
 (South Carolina)
·Dined 6 days ago

Sushi was fantastic service was excellent. Views outstanding great experience

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Everything was good except our waiter co ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Everything was good except our waiter continuously interrupted our dining by cutting our communication instead of politely standing by to wait for us to finish our sentences. He needs a lesson in manners: One makes oneself noticeable and waits for a diner to look up and acknowledge presence before speaking. It was an annoying experience as this happened at least 5 times that I counted.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

While the food was very good they need t ...

vip
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

While the food was very good they need to have a varity of selection at the carving station

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

The ambiance was beautiful and created t ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambiance was beautiful and created the perfect back drop for a romantic evening as we celebrated our wedding anniversary. We started off by having a drink outside at the beach bar watching the sunset. As we neared our reservation, we proceeded to Caretta's restaurant bar where we had a quiet drink. We were escorted to our table and greeted by two of your server personnel, who were professional but , most importantly, were friendly. We each had the lobster which was exquisite. After and an after dinner cordial we proceeded to the lounge where we enjoyed live music and some more delicious wine. The experience we had at Caretta's was one we will not forget. Thanks for a wonderful experience.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

4th dining experience here. have dined ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

4th dining experience here. have dined in wine room, table by window in main dining room, and at bar prior to today. had booth table today. party of 4

price vs value -- better off dining at cafe ponte

total dining time was 3 hours -- not because we were slow but because service was poor (not just my table but others as well). server visited table twice between taking dinner order and delivering check -- guests at other tables were flagging other servers/food runners for service

view of beach and sunset is very nice but only if you like dining with glare of sun in your face

menu on this night was not great. grouper was over cooked. cowboy ribeye had a sweet glaze (too sweet for steak). creme brûlée not worth $10 (better at mystic fish for $3)

bar scene dead for saturday night. sunset sensation -- horrible, tasted like cherry cough syrup

not too bad in past, but all four diners agree to crossing this restaurant off list. maybe you'll have better experience

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Good service and food. Dessert banana ic ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Good service and food. Dessert banana ice cream with chocolate and peanut brittle was amazing. We had a by the window and could see the water.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The place was awesome ,great service!!th ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

The place was awesome ,great service!!the settings and scenery was amazing!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

During our stay at the Sandpearl we enjo ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

During our stay at the Sandpearl we enjoyed our fifth and sixth meals at Caretta's, five dinners and one breakfast during our annual industry meeting over the past four years. Every experience there has been exceptional. This time, both dinners were for business, one as part of a large group. the food is always the among the best I have ever enjoyed and the service has always been excellent.

This time, as last year, our server was Sondra (excuse if spelling is not correct) and she made the experience memorable. I cannot say enough how much she added to the enjoyment of the dinner for my entire family.

Also, the sunset was incredible and a terrific highlight to the event.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

very nice dinner and view of the sunset. ...

 
 (Orlando)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

very nice dinner and view of the sunset. all the staff were very helpful and polite.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a beautiful view of gulf but food a ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Such a beautiful view of gulf but food and service were both disappointing. Especially at their price point. The dining room was so loud we could not have a conversation between the four in our party.

Was anxious to try the Lionfish, unfortunately it was too overcomes to get any taste of the fish.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Great food, great wine, great sunset vie ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Great food, great wine, great sunset view! thoroughly enjoyed my evening at Carretta. knowledgable and friendly staff, making sure our experience was great.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was our first time to eat in this p ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

This was our first time to eat in this place. We found it thru Opentable. It was a great experience. Great view, exquisite food and excellent service. Sandra, our server made it a night to remember. She was very energetic, knowledgeable and very helpful. She is an asset to this place. You should request for her when you eat here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant - food, service and ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

Excellent restaurant - food, service and the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

another great visit to Carettas on the G ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

another great visit to Carettas on the Gulf. wonderful view, great food and drinks, what more is there to say. Try the Coconut Lobster, or the Veal steak, Both outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Location/view, service and ambiance were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Location/view, service and ambiance were outstanding; food was good. My wife and daughter enjoyed seafood that was as good as expected given the Clearwater location. Nothing amazing but more than acceptable.

My son and I ordered the filet and its quality and prep were not ideal. I have eaten at everything from Bones in ATL to Chicago Chop House to Nick & Sam's & Bob's on Lemmon in Dallas. I mention this not as a benchmark, but confirm to those reading this review I know my steakhouses. The filet was served cut in half into 'medallions'? This was clearly done shortly after being taken off the grill but well before it was served to us. The juices had drained from the meat and the flavor with it.

Overall a good experience that could have been great. I highly recommend going but skip the filet.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a great meal with special friends. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Had a great meal with special friends. The menu was inclusive for all food preferences and the beef was top notch as well as the seafood (which you would expect).. Service a was just right, there when needed at a distance when not. We had a great seat by the window with a beautiful sunset to watch.. all around fantastic meal

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice date spot, we had an enjoyable ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very nice date spot, we had an enjoyable anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our 9th a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 9th anniversary. The ambience was very elegant. Great view of Clearwater Beach. The food was VERY fresh and prepared perfectly. And the service was top-notch . Allissa ( please forgive the misspelling ) was absolutely wonderful and pampered us start to finish. Oh, by the way, this was Sunday brunch. Definitely need a reservation ! Thanks Open Table ! And Thanks Caretta's for helping us celebrate our special day !

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is not our first visit to Caretta, ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is not our first visit to Caretta, but definitely our last one. From the beginning it did not go well. Although the place was barely occupied, my wife's request to be placed at a table closer to the water was denied. This did not bother as much as the food. The appetizer and the main course were completely off the mark. While we tolerated the appetizer, the entree was quite bad. It was raw and not well done. We brought it up to the attention of our server who brought the manager (the same person who seated us). His attitude and demeanor was a "put off". He offered to have the fish cooked or reheated, but we obviously were in no mood for it. My wife and I believe that the fish was not fresh, but thawed, heated and served. BTW, they charge you a whole lot for it. All we expected was for the manager to acknowledge the problem and be genuinely apologetic. Bad customer service!! Caretta has been removed from our list of restaurants in Clearwater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything was outstanding especially wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything was outstanding especially watching a magnificent sunset, eating a fabulous meal, coupled with amazing service!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal complimented by Larry's g ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic meal complimented by Larry's great service. Well worth checking it out!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, ambiance , and tasty

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service, ambiance , and tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Probably the best experience in Tampa Ba ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Probably the best experience in Tampa Bay!

We thoroughly enjoyed everything, we never order dessert, but the signature chocolate cake is out of this world.

Generous portions make this a good value, even if you are paying more. Notable experience overall

WELL DONE!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a very disappointing dining exp ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was a very disappointing dining experience! I had made a reservation for our 22nd wedding anniversary and requested to be seated outside or in a secluded area, which we were not, and they did not mention our anniversary at all. I ordered a drink that was extremely strong that I could not drink but the server did not offer to get me something else & did not take it off of our bill. My steak was not cooked to the temperature I requested and my entire meal was cold. It is so unfortunate that this restaurant is attached to the Sandpearl Resort because the resort is incredible but the Caretta on the Gulf is far from the same caliber that you would expect with that prime location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unfortunately the food was not what we e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Unfortunately the food was not what we expected. The Veal Porterhouse was not tender and the lionfish was not flavorful. We went last year for dinner and we loved the food. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed this time.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

the staff at the entire property was gre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the staff at the entire property was great. numerous employees smiled at us and were very polite. the staff helped me with my special night as I got engaged. very high quality resort--very impressed. we will be back--Jay Ozbun

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After requesting an ocean view the host ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

After requesting an ocean view the host put us at a table which did not have a view and was uncomfortable and would not change even with empty tables. I requested a change from another host who happily moved us next to a wind overlooking the Gulf. Everything else that evening was perfect.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food, and ambiance! Perfe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service, food, and ambiance! Perfect for a romantic dinner date.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We did not feel overwhelmed by having mu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We did not feel overwhelmed by having multiple people take care of us. The attentiveness was balanced and we had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and talk without unnecessary interruptions. The food was delicious. Although the steak was good, we have had better. Also, I don't like ordering a Fillet and having it come out already cut (ruins the presentation for me).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gulf Sunset

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Drinks at the bar, strolled outside on the terrace to view beautiful white sand beaches and the vibrant poolside scene, quiet dining back inside to watch sunset, and enjoyed a hearty menu with solid wine choices--dinner here with friends felt like a leisurely evening on a cruise ship complete with very welcoming, attentive staff.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed the food and service for breakfa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Enjoyed the food and service for breakfast and a family birthday dinner. Food was exceptional. Had same server for dinner twice, he was wonderful to us all. Your hostesses could use more training in greeting guests with a smile, not just "last name..room number..

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were just there a few days ago and lo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were just there a few days ago and loved Caretta on the gulf for the most part. We had a large group of girls and were able to sit in a beautiful wine room. Our food was delicious and the atmosphere was great. Our server appeared bothered by our group and was incredibly Condescending the entire dinner. We were a group of successful 30 + women and he treated us as though we were teenagers. One of the girls received the wrong drink and simply asked for a

New one. He immediately huffed about it and never came back with her drink. This was just one example of his ongoing behavior.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food; professional but friendl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food; professional but friendly service. Fine dining atmosphere but not stuffy. View is amazing directly on the beach.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous vie ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous view of The Gulf. Outstanding service, extensive wine list, and a quiet, intimate environment round out the positives. However, the food is only average, at best. And that is being generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining this diamond limelight's sunset with edifying dishes under the guidance of your waiter.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Took two hours to get our food

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Took two hours to get our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Mother's Day Weekend

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The view and the opportunity to watch the sunset was worth the over 60-mins we waited for the main course. Appetizers were slow to come out as well. Overall we made the best of it. They had a good selection of wine to choose from. The bottle of Silver Oak definitely help with the wait.

Tags: Good for Groups, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food quality has definitely slipped ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food quality has definitely slipped for this A1 location. Service and ambiance are good, but overall the food is poorly prepared and extremely disappointing for such a fine establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great Experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I and 2 guest had dinner on a Friday night. The scene is phenomenal, the food is exquisite. A must experience for a special occasion. Our waiter Russell, did an outstanding job reviewing the menu, making suggestions, and taking really good care of our table. Our guest were blown away.

Highly recommend this experience.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.