About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: 727-674-4164x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Restaurant Photos

Sushi And Shrimp
Egg White Omelet With Tomato, Basil, and Balsamic Glaze
Shrimp Tempura
Prosecco
Hamachi
Wild Boar
smoked duck
Pan Seared Diver Scallops With Pork Belly
Farm Raised Venison With Spaetzle, Red Cabbage, And Chestnuts
Lobster And Artichoke Flatbread
Spicy Tuna Roll & Edamame
Colorado Lamb Rack
Fire Roasted Oysters
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Blanc et Noir
Surf-N-Turf Sushi Rolls
Diver Scallops
Buffalo Ribeye grilled on bone

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tampa / Central Florida West
American
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
2 More
Romantic
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Clearwater ›

scenic view (59)
special occasion (42)
romantic (39)
See All
fit for foodies (30)
great for outdoor dining (23)
notable wine list (17)
great for brunch (16)
good for groups (14)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
hot spot (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
717 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

Unfortunately the food was not what we e ...

Dined 7 days ago

Unfortunately the food was not what we expected. The Veal Porterhouse was not tender and the lionfish was not flavorful. We went last year for dinner and we loved the food. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed this time.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

the staff at the entire property was gre ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

the staff at the entire property was great. numerous employees smiled at us and were very polite. the staff helped me with my special night as I got engaged. very high quality resort--very impressed. we will be back--Jay Ozbun

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

After requesting an ocean view the host ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

After requesting an ocean view the host put us at a table which did not have a view and was uncomfortable and would not change even with empty tables. I requested a change from another host who happily moved us next to a wind overlooking the Gulf. Everything else that evening was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service, food, and ambiance! Perfe ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service, food, and ambiance! Perfect for a romantic dinner date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5

We did not feel overwhelmed by having mu ...

Dined on June 4, 2016

We did not feel overwhelmed by having multiple people take care of us. The attentiveness was balanced and we had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and talk without unnecessary interruptions. The food was delicious. Although the steak was good, we have had better. Also, I don't like ordering a Fillet and having it come out already cut (ruins the presentation for me).

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Gulf Sunset

Dined on May 26, 2016

Drinks at the bar, strolled outside on the terrace to view beautiful white sand beaches and the vibrant poolside scene, quiet dining back inside to watch sunset, and enjoyed a hearty menu with solid wine choices--dinner here with friends felt like a leisurely evening on a cruise ship complete with very welcoming, attentive staff.

Tags: scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Enjoyed the food and service for breakfa ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Enjoyed the food and service for breakfast and a family birthday dinner. Food was exceptional. Had same server for dinner twice, he was wonderful to us all. Your hostesses could use more training in greeting guests with a smile, not just "last name..room number..

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

We were just there a few days ago and lo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We were just there a few days ago and loved Caretta on the gulf for the most part. We had a large group of girls and were able to sit in a beautiful wine room. Our food was delicious and the atmosphere was great. Our server appeared bothered by our group and was incredibly Condescending the entire dinner. We were a group of successful 30 + women and he treated us as though we were teenagers. One of the girls received the wrong drink and simply asked for a New one. He immediately huffed about it and never came back with her drink. This was just one example of his ongoing behavior.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food; professional but friendl ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food; professional but friendly service. Fine dining atmosphere but not stuffy. View is amazing directly on the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and food.

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service and food.

food2
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous vie ...

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous view of The Gulf. Outstanding service, extensive wine list, and a quiet, intimate environment round out the positives. However, the food is only average, at best. And that is being generous.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining this diamond limelight's sunset with edifying dishes under the guidance of your waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service1

Took two hours to get our food

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

Took two hours to get our food

food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Mother's Day Weekend

Dined on May 6, 2016

The view and the opportunity to watch the sunset was worth the over 60-mins we waited for the main course. Appetizers were slow to come out as well. Overall we made the best of it. They had a good selection of wine to choose from. The bottle of Silver Oak definitely help with the wait.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3

The food quality has definitely slipped ...

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

The food quality has definitely slipped for this A1 location. Service and ambiance are good, but overall the food is poorly prepared and extremely disappointing for such a fine establishment.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I and 2 guest had dinner on a Friday night. The scene is phenomenal, the food is exquisite. A must experience for a special occasion. Our waiter Russell, did an outstanding job reviewing the menu, making suggestions, and taking really good care of our table. Our guest were blown away. Highly recommend this experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

SLOW

Dined on May 4, 2016

I had a hard time understanding how ordering dessert and a cup of decaf took so long after dinner - 2.5 hours for a business dinner on a Wednesday night is too long

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Food, Great View

vip
Dined on May 3, 2016

Went to Caretta's while on vacation in Clearwater Beach. It was the best meal we had the whole trip. We sat outside overlooking the ocean and got to watch the sunset. It was so relaxing and calm. The service was fabulous as was the food. I would definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Over priced with average dood

Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Caretta's for our anniversary. We asked for a table by a beach window, and while there were plenty of window tables available, got a table near the window in a room with a large noisy party. My wife had the fillet and I the squash filled ravioli with kale. My pasta was over cooked and the dried kale was chewy rather than crisp. For dessert we shared the profiteroles which were dry and tasteless. $160 later (including tip) we agreed that we had eaten a good, but hardly memorable meal.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

One of the best dining experiences. The ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

One of the best dining experiences. The food, view and service are the best Clearwater Beach has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A step below upper crust

vip
Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent cuisine and dining experience. Serving staff is well trained. Food is very good but over priced. It's a shame that they let people in their restaurant with cut-off jeans and t-shirts. Obviously, they fall a bit short of an elite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service2

One of our favorites really slipped bad ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

One of our favorites really slipped bad this time. We hope it was simply a mis step with the addition of the sister property down the block. We sure hope so

food5
ambience5
service5

Was very surprised at the service and qu ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Was very surprised at the service and quality of food. Candidly the best steak I've ever had.

food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Scallops with pork belly were ...

Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious! Scallops with pork belly were phenomenal, as were the steaks. Highly recommend.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great spot on the beach

Dined on April 6, 2016

Very nice restaurant in the Sandpearl Hotel. We ate outside and enjoyed the view although it was partially obscured. The bison sliders and the deconstructed sushi roll salad were both excellent. Service was good and overall a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Worth the drive

Dined on April 4, 2016

Lobster roll was good, but I'd leave off the grapefruit next time...mango or avocado would be better if you are going to put a twist on the traditional recipe.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

We had a horrible experience at this restaurant

Dined on March 26, 2016

our waiter was rude and unfriendly. food was okay but way overpriced . never again

food5
ambience5
service5

Great view, good food and good wine. Enj ...

vip
Dined on March 22, 2016

Great view, good food and good wine. Enjoyable

food5
ambience4
service2
value3

slow to get a table

Dined on March 20, 2016

I have never waited 45 min for a table when i had a reservation... and on top of this I was not offered anything to offset inconvenience except "sorry" Perhaps I should have complained louder but that is not my style. although the food was exceptional the dining service and staff were lackluster at best.. very disappointed with 2+ hour dinner with my 15 and 10 year old kids.. unacceptable ... and not cheap...

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Creative selection, superb service

Dined on March 20, 2016

Sunday brunch is one of the things I look forward to with every visit to Clearwater. Food was creative, well presented, and good quality. There are a number of selections available that on their own would make for a memorable brunch on their own, but with all they have it is hard to know what to have. TJ our server was a joy - he was a professional server, and any restaurant would be lucky to have him, but more than that he is just such a pleasure to interact with - clearly the management know how to attract the best chefs and servers. Rob - from Canada.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5

Beautiful view. Great service. Expected ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

Beautiful view. Great service. Expected the food to be significantly better. It seemed there was entirely too much going on with each dish. In this case less is most definitely more.

food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Decent restaurant with a great views

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

Generally the meal was good with the exception of the Grouper. The grouper did not appear fresh and some have suggested it may not have been grouper given that it's a banned commododiy. The other food choices were excellent. The waitstaff amazing.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food was exceptional. The service w ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food was exceptional. The service was very attentive but not intrusive. This is a fabulous restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best brunch

Dined on March 13, 2016

We have been coming here for brunch for years. Well worth the price.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner!

Dined on March 11, 2016

Everything was great and the service was perfect! I would definitely recommend it!

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
food5
ambience3
service1
value3

amcc

Dined on March 6, 2016

To start, we had a reservation at 8:00 pm. We arrived on time and were told that our table wasn't available and we'd have to wait 20-25 minutes. There was another group sitting beside us that were told the same thing. Once we were seated, the waiter took our order. One gentleman in our group was having sushi to start and a salad and then a main course. The waiter asked if he would take both when we had our salads to keep the timing aligned. He said no that he didn't want that and the server did it anyway. Our salads / first course and main courses came out in due time and were delicious. Our group had a variety of seafood and steak dishes and all were happy with them. We also all had dessert courses which we thought weren't as good as the other courses. When one of us told the waiter that he didn't really care for the dessert, rather than saying I'm sorry you didn't like it or offering something else, he made it sound like it was the diner's fault. After that, our waiter disappeared and we had to ask twice for the check and still had to wait.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

Ugh-Service was horrible -food a disappointment

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

Usually love Caretta on the Gulf. One of our favorite restaurants in Florida. However, I never experienced a more miserable service along with below average meals!!!! What a huge disappointment to treat yourself to a nice (expensive) evening out only to have it ruined due to slow, inconsistent service and mediocre food (pumpkin ravioli was way over cooked and steak was under cooked). When servers did show up, they placed dessert menus at our table. When we said we were all set, no dessert, they left and didn't come back with the check for at least 15 minutes!! Will really rethink ever coming back.

Tags: scenic view
food1
ambience4
service3
value1

Disappointed

Dined on March 4, 2016

I rarely rip a restaurant. I know the server tried to sell how great the chef was. The sushi appetizer was the size of a main course and when the entree arrived it was burned. It should have never left the kitchen. With fish coming in right off the dock, it should be easy to make this work, but I ended up with the most expensive and poorest dinner of our trip. I'd go here for drinks because they were really well done. Service was good although I found the checkout awkward. Because of their new technology you had to put the tip in prior to the server swiping it. I tipped well but I don't like the process.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Dining at Caretta provided my wife and I ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

Dining at Caretta provided my wife and I with an elegant evening full of good food and spirits.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wonderful experience

Dined on February 27, 2016

Had a great dinner on our last day at Clearwater. Great restaurant in every way. The sushi was wonderful, and my wife's filet was equally good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.