About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: 727-674-4164x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Restaurant Photos

Sushi And Shrimp
Egg White Omelet With Tomato, Basil, and Balsamic Glaze
Shrimp Tempura
Prosecco
Hamachi
Wild Boar
smoked duck
Pan Seared Diver Scallops With Pork Belly
Farm Raised Venison With Spaetzle, Red Cabbage, And Chestnuts
Lobster And Artichoke Flatbread
Spicy Tuna Roll & Edamame
Colorado Lamb Rack
Fire Roasted Oysters
Wild Alaskan Salmon
Blanc et Noir
Surf-N-Turf Sushi Rolls
Diver Scallops
Buffalo Ribeye grilled on bone

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Tampa / Central Florida West
Best Ambiance
Clearwater
Most Booked
Clearwater
Best Restaurants in Clearwater ›

scenic view (45)
special occasion (36)
romantic (32)
See All
fit for foodies (18)
great for outdoor dining (16)
great for brunch (14)
notable wine list (12)
good for groups (9)
great for lunch (7)
vibrant bar scene (4)
neighborhood gem (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (3)
Sort By:
Newest
731 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This was our first time to eat in this p ...

 
 (Grand Rapids)
·Dined 3 days ago

This was our first time to eat in this place. We found it thru Opentable. It was a great experience. Great view, exquisite food and excellent service. Sandra, our server made it a night to remember. She was very energetic, knowledgeable and very helpful. She is an asset to this place. You should request for her when you eat here.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent restaurant - food, service and ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent restaurant - food, service and the view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

another great visit to Carettas on the G ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

another great visit to Carettas on the Gulf. wonderful view, great food and drinks, what more is there to say. Try the Coconut Lobster, or the Veal steak, Both outstanding

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Location/view, service and ambiance were ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Location/view, service and ambiance were outstanding; food was good. My wife and daughter enjoyed seafood that was as good as expected given the Clearwater location. Nothing amazing but more than acceptable.

My son and I ordered the filet and its quality and prep were not ideal. I have eaten at everything from Bones in ATL to Chicago Chop House to Nick & Sam's & Bob's on Lemmon in Dallas. I mention this not as a benchmark, but confirm to those reading this review I know my steakhouses. The filet was served cut in half into 'medallions'? This was clearly done shortly after being taken off the grill but well before it was served to us. The juices had drained from the meat and the flavor with it.

Overall a good experience that could have been great. I highly recommend going but skip the filet.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Had a great meal with special friends. ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Had a great meal with special friends. The menu was inclusive for all food preferences and the beef was top notch as well as the seafood (which you would expect).. Service a was just right, there when needed at a distance when not. We had a great seat by the window with a beautiful sunset to watch.. all around fantastic meal

Tags: fit for foodies, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice date spot, we had an enjoyable ...

 
 (Memphis)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Very nice date spot, we had an enjoyable anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were celebrating our 9th a ...

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

My wife and I were celebrating our 9th anniversary. The ambience was very elegant. Great view of Clearwater Beach. The food was VERY fresh and prepared perfectly. And the service was top-notch . Allissa ( please forgive the misspelling ) was absolutely wonderful and pampered us start to finish. Oh, by the way, this was Sunday brunch. Definitely need a reservation ! Thanks Open Table ! And Thanks Caretta's for helping us celebrate our special day !

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This is not our first visit to Caretta, ...

vip
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

This is not our first visit to Caretta, but definitely our last one. From the beginning it did not go well. Although the place was barely occupied, my wife's request to be placed at a table closer to the water was denied. This did not bother as much as the food. The appetizer and the main course were completely off the mark. While we tolerated the appetizer, the entree was quite bad. It was raw and not well done. We brought it up to the attention of our server who brought the manager (the same person who seated us). His attitude and demeanor was a "put off". He offered to have the fish cooked or reheated, but we obviously were in no mood for it. My wife and I believe that the fish was not fresh, but thawed, heated and served. BTW, they charge you a whole lot for it. All we expected was for the manager to acknowledge the problem and be genuinely apologetic. Bad customer service!! Caretta has been removed from our list of restaurants in Clearwater.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Everything was outstanding especially wa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Everything was outstanding especially watching a magnificent sunset, eating a fabulous meal, coupled with amazing service!!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fantastic meal complimented by Larry's g ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Fantastic meal complimented by Larry's great service. Well worth checking it out!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service, ambiance , and tasty

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Service, ambiance , and tasty

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Probably the best experience in Tampa Ba ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Probably the best experience in Tampa Bay!

We thoroughly enjoyed everything, we never order dessert, but the signature chocolate cake is out of this world.

Generous portions make this a good value, even if you are paying more. Notable experience overall

WELL DONE!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was a very disappointing dining exp ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

This was a very disappointing dining experience! I had made a reservation for our 22nd wedding anniversary and requested to be seated outside or in a secluded area, which we were not, and they did not mention our anniversary at all. I ordered a drink that was extremely strong that I could not drink but the server did not offer to get me something else & did not take it off of our bill. My steak was not cooked to the temperature I requested and my entire meal was cold. It is so unfortunate that this restaurant is attached to the Sandpearl Resort because the resort is incredible but the Caretta on the Gulf is far from the same caliber that you would expect with that prime location.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Unfortunately the food was not what we e ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Unfortunately the food was not what we expected. The Veal Porterhouse was not tender and the lionfish was not flavorful. We went last year for dinner and we loved the food. Unfortunately, we were very disappointed this time.

Tags: romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

the staff at the entire property was gre ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

the staff at the entire property was great. numerous employees smiled at us and were very polite. the staff helped me with my special night as I got engaged. very high quality resort--very impressed. we will be back--Jay Ozbun

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

After requesting an ocean view the host ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

After requesting an ocean view the host put us at a table which did not have a view and was uncomfortable and would not change even with empty tables. I requested a change from another host who happily moved us next to a wind overlooking the Gulf. Everything else that evening was perfect.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service, food, and ambiance! Perfe ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great service, food, and ambiance! Perfect for a romantic dinner date.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

We did not feel overwhelmed by having mu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

We did not feel overwhelmed by having multiple people take care of us. The attentiveness was balanced and we had plenty of time to enjoy our meal and talk without unnecessary interruptions. The food was delicious. Although the steak was good, we have had better. Also, I don't like ordering a Fillet and having it come out already cut (ruins the presentation for me).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Gulf Sunset

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Drinks at the bar, strolled outside on the terrace to view beautiful white sand beaches and the vibrant poolside scene, quiet dining back inside to watch sunset, and enjoyed a hearty menu with solid wine choices--dinner here with friends felt like a leisurely evening on a cruise ship complete with very welcoming, attentive staff.

Tags: scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed the food and service for breakfa ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Enjoyed the food and service for breakfast and a family birthday dinner. Food was exceptional. Had same server for dinner twice, he was wonderful to us all. Your hostesses could use more training in greeting guests with a smile, not just "last name..room number..

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were just there a few days ago and lo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were just there a few days ago and loved Caretta on the gulf for the most part. We had a large group of girls and were able to sit in a beautiful wine room. Our food was delicious and the atmosphere was great. Our server appeared bothered by our group and was incredibly Condescending the entire dinner. We were a group of successful 30 + women and he treated us as though we were teenagers. One of the girls received the wrong drink and simply asked for a

New one. He immediately huffed about it and never came back with her drink. This was just one example of his ongoing behavior.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Excellent food; professional but friendl ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

Excellent food; professional but friendly service. Fine dining atmosphere but not stuffy. View is amazing directly on the beach.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great service and food.

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Great service and food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous vie ...

vip
 (Orlando)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Beautiful restaurant with a gorgeous view of The Gulf. Outstanding service, extensive wine list, and a quiet, intimate environment round out the positives. However, the food is only average, at best. And that is being generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on May 10, 2016

For a wondrous eloquent reposeful dining this diamond limelight's sunset with edifying dishes under the guidance of your waiter.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Took two hours to get our food

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

Took two hours to get our food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1

Mother's Day Weekend

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The view and the opportunity to watch the sunset was worth the over 60-mins we waited for the main course. Appetizers were slow to come out as well. Overall we made the best of it. They had a good selection of wine to choose from. The bottle of Silver Oak definitely help with the wait.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

The food quality has definitely slipped ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

The food quality has definitely slipped for this A1 location. Service and ambiance are good, but overall the food is poorly prepared and extremely disappointing for such a fine establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Great Experience

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

My wife and I and 2 guest had dinner on a Friday night. The scene is phenomenal, the food is exquisite. A must experience for a special occasion. Our waiter Russell, did an outstanding job reviewing the menu, making suggestions, and taking really good care of our table. Our guest were blown away.

Highly recommend this experience.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

SLOW

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on May 4, 2016

I had a hard time understanding how ordering dessert and a cup of decaf took so long after dinner - 2.5 hours for a business dinner on a Wednesday night is too long

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Great Food, Great View

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 3, 2016

Went to Caretta's while on vacation in Clearwater Beach. It was the best meal we had the whole trip. We sat outside overlooking the ocean and got to watch the sunset. It was so relaxing and calm. The service was fabulous as was the food. I would definitely go back.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Over priced with average dood

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

We went to Caretta's for our anniversary. We asked for a table by a beach window, and while there were plenty of window tables available, got a table near the window in a room with a large noisy party. My wife had the fillet and I the squash filled ravioli with kale. My pasta was over cooked and the dried kale was chewy rather than crisp. For dessert we shared the profiteroles which were dry and tasteless. $160 later (including tip) we agreed that we had eaten a good, but hardly memorable meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

One of the best dining experiences. The ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

One of the best dining experiences. The food, view and service are the best Clearwater Beach has to offer.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A step below upper crust

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 22, 2016

Excellent cuisine and dining experience. Serving staff is well trained. Food is very good but over priced. It's a shame that they let people in their restaurant with cut-off jeans and t-shirts. Obviously, they fall a bit short of an elite restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

One of our favorites really slipped bad ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

One of our favorites really slipped bad this time. We hope it was simply a mis step with the addition of the sister property down the block. We sure hope so

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Was very surprised at the service and qu ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Was very surprised at the service and quality of food. Candidly the best steak I've ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious! Scallops with pork belly were ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

Delicious! Scallops with pork belly were phenomenal, as were the steaks. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great spot on the beach

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on April 6, 2016

Very nice restaurant in the Sandpearl Hotel. We ate outside and enjoyed the view although it was partially obscured. The bison sliders and the deconstructed sushi roll salad were both excellent. Service was good and overall a great night out.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Worth the drive

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 4, 2016

Lobster roll was good, but I'd leave off the grapefruit next time...mango or avocado would be better if you are going to put a twist on the traditional recipe.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We had a horrible experience at this restaurant

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

our waiter was rude and unfriendly. food was okay but way overpriced . never again

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.