Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: (727) 674-4164

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.2

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

82% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (39)
Scenic View (39)
Good for a Date (28)
See All
Special Occasion (27)
Romantic (26)
Good for Anniversaries (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (22)
Creative Cuisine (19)
Fit for Foodies (16)
Quiet Conversation (13)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Good for Birthdays (12)
Business Meals (12)
Worth the Drive (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Notable Wine List (9)
Bar Seating (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Casual (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
Authentic (5)
People Watching (5)
Cozy (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Healthy (4)
Seasonal (4)
Live Music (4)
Fireplace (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Fun (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Private Room (2)
 (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Organic (1)
Dancing (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
S
891 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 21 hours ago

Great dinner on the patio!

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Dancing, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined a day ago

Fantastic food with an tasty eclectic sushi selection. Our waiter Russell was attentive and well-versed on the menu and wine list. The samples courtesy of the chef were the proverbial icing on the cake, as were the gorgeous sunset views!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 2 days ago

This place is without question the nicest restaurant in Clearwater by far. This is our fourth year to the area from Maine and the experience only gets better with a menu that suits everyone.
The sunset view is a bonus, they raise the sun shades just in time for the sun to go down.
The meats are exceptional as is the sushi. We ate at the sushi bar one night. Highly recommend. Everyone is very professional and friendly. We had two of the same waiters from years ago. Can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New England)·Dined 3 days ago

We love Caretta. Every time we dine here we have a great experience. This time we were with family from New Jersey. Everyone loved their meals. Our server Caitlin was terrific. It was a perfect evening.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Seasonal, Local Ingredients, Modern Decor, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 3 days ago

Definitely worth the trip. Beautiful view of the beach. Service was impeccable. The Cesear salad was great and definitely get the snapper.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Indiana)·Dined 7 days ago

My girlfriend and I ate there while on vacation in Clearwater Beach. Had a wonderful dinner. The views were amazing, and we were lucky enough to get there about 20 minutes before the sunset. The Sunset was gorgeous. Food was delicious, can't complain about anything.

Tags: Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined 7 days ago

Great food and ambiance. Everything was delicious. The sushi was amazing, great appetizers and wonderful fresh fish dinners. The service was very professional. The view was beautiful and the setting relaxing. We had a wonderful dinner.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Seasonal, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch was disappointing - not as good as last year!😂

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Groups, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Went there for steaks at the last minute and were heavily surprised at how good the food was. It came recommended as a seafood place but steaks were delicious and ambiance was magnificent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Best restaurant in Clearwater. Went twice during Easter week Real good place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 11, 2017

We were on vacation with our two girls. Beautiful sunset views and great ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Music on Patio was way too loud.
Before we could finish our salad, dinner was attempted to be served.
Asked for a few more minutes (shouldn't have been necessary) and
when it came back it was cold. Also the $48.00 lamb chops suggested by the server
were few in number (2) and very fatty.
Not the experience I was looking forward to as a guest of the hotel and celebrating my birthday.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Apps were great, but the shrimp & grits were almost uneatable (all fried with a heavy brown gravy on it).

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Ask for a seat by the window for pretty views of the gulf. We went at evening and the lights were low and the service was friendly and fast.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Caretta's on the Gulf has a eclectic and healthy cuisine. We watched the sun set and the waves crash on the Shore while enjoying what is arguably the best fine dining on the Clearwater beach. A must visit if you are within 20 miles. We will return!!

Tags: Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Waterfront, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 27, 2017

Had a fantastic meal while watching a breathtaking sunset!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Their Sunday brunch offers a lot of nice looking options but unfortunately it looks better than it tastes; plus it is far too expensive for the quality of food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It is such a beutiful place. They have the fire pit that you can sit in front of while you are waiting and it's all candle light and beautiful. It also advertises in the website that it is on the ocean but really you don't even hear the ocean because all you hear are the kids beneath you in the hotel pool next door and the loud music. It was not what I was looking for in a romantic evening for my anniversary. I drove over an hour to get there and i was very disappointed. Also the food is awful. The appetizers are very good but the dinners have no flavor at all to them. The servers are amazing and very helpful. It just was not what I was expecting for my 14 year anniversary. I guess I should have looked at some more reviews first.

Tags: Fireplace, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service5
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Our daughter is allergic to eggs which we had also advised the restaurant when we booked the reservation. We of course reminded them again when we ordered our food.
Half way into her meal she starts getting sick and we know right away there is eggs in some of the food. We asked the waitress again who checks with the kitchen and the Manager comes to our table to apologies . ITS NOT GOOD ENOUGH ..... I ruined our evening and night with our daughter being sick .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Food was wonderful. Enjoyed the butter poached lobster; flavorful and tender. Sat outside to enjoy view of beach and ocean. Service was very good.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 21, 2017

They confused my reservation with an individual to the name of "Nasir." This "Nasir" individual is a top executive with the Opal Hotel Chain and had a party of 22. This confusion put my reservation in a room, all alone, for 2 persons, as far away from all other guests in the restaurant. Unbeknownst to me, the "Nasir" reservation changed from 22 to 12, and was in the main dinning room. This "Nasir" reservation commanded all servers (6 servers) to wait on each member of this "executive" party. Our waiter only came to our table to take our drink order, bring us drinks, take our order, bring our dinner, and bring the bill. That's 5 times. 5 times for a $190 bill. First and Last time going to this restaurant. I'd rather spend my money at Bern's, Ocean Prime, or Eddie V's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value2

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Beautiful view; sat outside. Took well over an hour to get our meal. Might go back for the ambience, but won't hurry back for the food.
When I made the reservation there was a vegan option on your menu. When we got there, the menu had changed. I talked to our waitress, Christine, and she spoke to the chef. One option was for the chef to create something using the side dishes ( fingerling potatoes, grilled vegetables) and I said that sounded good. My husband ordered the Chilean Sea Bass off the menu. We waited well over an hour and finally got our meal. Don't tell me it was because I ordered something special. All they did was plop potatoes in one bowl and vegetables in another ; yes, two separate bowls. No presentation, didn't even season the potatoes. No explanation why it took so long. Always had good meals and enjoyed ourselves there in the past. By the way, neither meal was warm.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The food was mostly delicious, although the red snapper was a bit dry. The Chilean Sea Bass was excellent, as was the poke appetizer. The setting is gorgeous. However, the service was absolutely horrible. Our serve was inattentive and quite rude.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went here for my birthday dinner, food was very good and my party loved it! Service was great until the end of the night when we were not offered tea/coffee when the dessert came out. Other than that, thank you for everything.

Tags: Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Were visiting The resort for a week. The last night decided to dine there, since everybody at the hotel was telling us to do so. Disappointed. My wife had the pasta with vegetables and it came with all the pasta stuck together. The kids Alfredo pasta was tasting sweet like onions and was tough!!My grouper(signature dish) was very tough and average. The manager offered to get my wife something else and surprisingly asked us to pay for it. In the end the waiter dropped the check on the table and then handed me the change.
Do yourselves a favor and do not go there. There are so many better options in the area!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our server Michael was unfriendly, cold and a terrible server. He never asked if we wanted refills on our drinks, we had to ask for water. And he asked us to put the tip on the receipt before he ran our credit card. He deserved a 0 tip. Food was great. And the assistant server was awesome. The restaurant staff seems to be disgruntled for the most part.

Tags: Waterfront
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent wine list, very nice meal, and a million dollar view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and very nice service- everyone on the food serving staff are friendly & helpful.

Prices are a high; but everything here is 1st class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Caretta's was excellent. Celebrated my birthday dinner with my wife and the place did not disappoint. The food was excellent - seafood tower appetizer - cowboy rib-eye prepared to perfection. Beautiful location, great ambiance. The only quibble was the service. Our waitress was nice, but a bit of a ditz and not too attentive. For the prices they charge, the staff should be up to par. Still would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is a great restaurant, but not perfect this time. It was my wife's birthday and a Saturday night in March. Florida high season...college weeks...and Saturday ...made it quite busy so the service was slow and enough so that it was noticeable. We should have gone on an off night as we live fairly near by. This is a great hotel. The food was very good and the wine was excellent. I ate too much bread waiting for dinner but we will definately come back . 🍷🍷

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had a wondeful experience. Great food and drinks! Fantastic service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great sunset views. Food is very good. Overall experience is on the expensive side but still come back every year we visit the area for spring baseball

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Stayed at the Sand Pearl which included breakfast which was an unexpected delight. Separate charge for Sunday Brunch and well worth it! Amazing assortment of plentiful seafood and limitless mimosas. Options to sit inside or deck. Nice atmosphere looking over the ocean and uber friendly and professional staff. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, People Watching, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Elegant without being excessive. Good service and food. Room a bit too dark.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We got there 30 minutes before sunset, got a cocktail on the veranda then had a window seat overlooking the gulf beach for diner; awesome. Meal and service was excellent. We recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Delicious food, attentive service, and the view of the sunset is to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Less than 4 star service; had to ask for a water refill after waiting quite awhile; an ordered cocktail wasn't served when the wine was brought & then was forgotten. Waiters at other tables seemed much more attentive. Also waiter kept trying to up-sell us. The restaurant is in a lovely resort, so if you're staying here, you should go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very nice. We have had dinner at Carretta a couple of times before. Very nice restaurant. It is better to dine a little early so you can watch the sun set. Food was not up to par this time, but still a great place for a romantic dinner with your spouse.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Both the service and food were outstanding!!!! This was our second meal there and we will go again next year when w come back to visit Clearwater Beach!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everything is very well done at Caretta. If you are into the local, fresh, organic movement this restaurant should be on your agenda. Holds it's own next to restaurants anywhere, food, service, wine list all first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.