Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.02mi
  2. Distance: 0.16mi
  3. Distance: 0.39mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort

Seasonally inspired cuisine is at the heart of Sandpearl Resort’s signature dining experience, Caretta on the Gulf. Our world-class chefs’ desire to please and surprise means the menu is prepared with infusions of South American, Caribbean and other international inspirations offering a broad selection of memorable cuisine. The Ceviche, Sushi and Raw Bar offers a fresh daily selection of local seafood. A wood-burning oven opens up a myriad of rustic dining selections. A wine room provides an intimate space for special events and tastings, with an extensive collection of wines from around the world. Take your seat among Caretta’s inspiring surroundings perched two levels above the beach with indoor and outdoor seating to view brilliant sunsets that set the scene for the most whimsical of culinary cravings. 2 beautiful Private Dining Rooms available to accommodate parties of 8 to 40 guests.

500 Mandalay Avenue
Clearwater Beach, FL 33767
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Continental

Hours of Operation:
Daily Breakfast: 7:00am - 11:00am
Sunday Brunch 11:30-2:30pm
Lunch Monday-Saturday: 11:00am - 2:30pm
Daily Dinner: 5:30pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
Baymont Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(727) 674-4171

Website:
http://www.sandpearl.com/Resort/Dining_Fine_Clearwater_Hotel_SandPearl.asp

Entertainment:
Live Entertainment Friday and Saturday nights in our lounge. Call 727-674-4109 for schedule.

Parking Details:
Complimentary Valet Parking.

Executive Chef:
Sean Ragan

Private Party Facilities:
We have two private dining rooms. One wine room that seats up to ten. Also a private dining room that seats up to thirty-six.

Private Party Contact:
Karen Moroz: (727) 674-4164

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Chef's Table, Corkage Fee, Entertainment, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Sunset Hour at Caretta on the Gulf - every evening, the hour before sunset, we celebrate at Caretta's by offering Veuve Clicquot Champagne Half Off.

Caretta on the Gulf at the Sandpearl Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.6

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

85% would recommend it to a friend

Waterfront (31)
Scenic View (29)
Romantic (26)
See All
Good for a Date (21)
Good for Anniversaries (20)
Special Occasion (19)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Fit for Foodies (14)
Good for Birthdays (13)
Great for Brunch (12)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Business Meals (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Quiet Conversation (10)
Sunday Lunch (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Cozy (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Great for Lunch (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Authentic (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
People Watching (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Fireplace (2)
Live Music (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Fun (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Great Beer (1)
Casual (1)
 (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Sort By:
S
870 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 13 hours ago

Food was wonderful. Enjoyed the butter poached lobster; flavorful and tender. Sat outside to enjoy view of beach and ocean. Service was very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful view; sat outside. Took well over an hour to get our meal. Might go back for the ambience, but won't hurry back for the food.
When I made the reservation there was a vegan option on your menu. When we got there, the menu had changed. I talked to our waitress, Christine, and she spoke to the chef. One option was for the chef to create something using the side dishes ( fingerling potatoes, grilled vegetables) and I said that sounded good. My husband ordered the Chilean Sea Bass off the menu. We waited well over an hour and finally got our meal. Don't tell me it was because I ordered something special. All they did was plop potatoes in one bowl and vegetables in another ; yes, two separate bowls. No presentation, didn't even season the potatoes. No explanation why it took so long. Always had good meals and enjoyed ourselves there in the past. By the way, neither meal was warm.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was mostly delicious, although the red snapper was a bit dry. The Chilean Sea Bass was excellent, as was the poke appetizer. The setting is gorgeous. However, the service was absolutely horrible. Our serve was inattentive and quite rude.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Vibrant Bar Scene, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 6 days ago

Went here for my birthday dinner, food was very good and my party loved it! Service was great until the end of the night when we were not offered tea/coffee when the dessert came out. Other than that, thank you for everything.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Were visiting The resort for a week. The last night decided to dine there, since everybody at the hotel was telling us to do so. Disappointed. My wife had the pasta with vegetables and it came with all the pasta stuck together. The kids Alfredo pasta was tasting sweet like onions and was tough!!My grouper(signature dish) was very tough and average. The manager offered to get my wife something else and surprisingly asked us to pay for it. In the end the waiter dropped the check on the table and then handed me the change.
Do yourselves a favor and do not go there. There are so many better options in the area!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Our server Michael was unfriendly, cold and a terrible server. He never asked if we wanted refills on our drinks, we had to ask for water. And he asked us to put the tip on the receipt before he ran our credit card. He deserved a 0 tip. Food was great. And the assistant server was awesome. The restaurant staff seems to be disgruntled for the most part.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Excellent wine list, very nice meal, and a million dollar view.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Great food and very nice service- everyone on the food serving staff are friendly & helpful.

Prices are a high; but everything here is 1st class!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Caretta's was excellent. Celebrated my birthday dinner with my wife and the place did not disappoint. The food was excellent - seafood tower appetizer - cowboy rib-eye prepared to perfection. Beautiful location, great ambiance. The only quibble was the service. Our waitress was nice, but a bit of a ditz and not too attentive. For the prices they charge, the staff should be up to par. Still would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (New England)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is a great restaurant, but not perfect this time. It was my wife's birthday and a Saturday night in March. Florida high season...college weeks...and Saturday ...made it quite busy so the service was slow and enough so that it was noticeable. We should have gone on an off night as we live fairly near by. This is a great hotel. The food was very good and the wine was excellent. I ate too much bread waiting for dinner but we will definately come back . 🍷🍷

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We had a wondeful experience. Great food and drinks! Fantastic service. Will definitely be back!

Tags: Scenic View, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Calgary)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great sunset views. Food is very good. Overall experience is on the expensive side but still come back every year we visit the area for spring baseball

Tags: Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Elegant without being excessive. Good service and food. Room a bit too dark.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We got there 30 minutes before sunset, got a cocktail on the veranda then had a window seat overlooking the gulf beach for diner; awesome. Meal and service was excellent. We recommend it.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Tasting Menu, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Delicious food, attentive service, and the view of the sunset is to die for.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 27, 2017

Less than 4 star service; had to ask for a water refill after waiting quite awhile; an ordered cocktail wasn't served when the wine was brought & then was forgotten. Waiters at other tables seemed much more attentive. Also waiter kept trying to up-sell us. The restaurant is in a lovely resort, so if you're staying here, you should go.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Miami)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Very nice. We have had dinner at Carretta a couple of times before. Very nice restaurant. It is better to dine a little early so you can watch the sun set. Food was not up to par this time, but still a great place for a romantic dinner with your spouse.

Tags: Waterfront, Live Music, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Both the service and food were outstanding!!!! This was our second meal there and we will go again next year when w come back to visit Clearwater Beach!

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 21, 2017

Everything is very well done at Caretta. If you are into the local, fresh, organic movement this restaurant should be on your agenda. Holds it's own next to restaurants anywhere, food, service, wine list all first rate.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 20, 2017

My husband and I went on a vacation "date night" and chose Caretta on the Gulf without really knowing anything about it. The food and service were outstanding. We both got filet and it was cooked perfectly. We had a seat with a beautiful ocean view. My only regret was that it was dark out when we arrived, so we couldn't fully enjoy the view!

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Attended for Sunday Brunch Buffet
Food and service were excellent!
Expensive, but worth it for a special occasion.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This was our first time there. After massages, we wanted to have lunch at this restaurant
and then take a walk on the beach. We were seated at a table with a beach view which we liked but the table and place mats were not very clean. The waiter was not very good, pretty much no
personality at all. We started with appetizers first, of the three the edamame was the only thing we enjoyed. I had made a special request it was my guests birthday and when we ordered coffee they did not offer or show us a dessert menu. Will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had a great meal at Caretta the other night. My wife started with the house salad which had a unique presentation and she really enjoyed it. I had tomato soup which I liked a lot. She had a fillet which was properly prepared and was huge. I had the grouper and thought it was the best I've had on the island so far. Service was good and the atmosphere was nice. I recently posted a positive review on Shor and I would say the food and service at Caretta is comparable, however, Caretta has a much better atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on February 13, 2017

We ate here for the first time on February 13. The hotel is beautiful. Our experience at the restaurant was not very good. We requested a window table when we booked. They didn't accomodate us. I'm all for creating atmosphere but it's so dark in there we couldn't read the menu without the light on our cell phones. We couldn't see each other during the meal. Simply idiotic. I ordered buffalo and specified medium rare. The meat was overcooked more towards well done. You could tell it had been sitting in the oven for some time. Unacceptable. The server was completely oblivous and disconnected from us, almost like she didn't want to engage with the patrons. When the bussboy removed my plate he dropped the utensils on my lap. Overall a very bad experience. There are much better restaurants in Clearwater. Don't waste your money at Caretta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service2
value1

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very pleased. The host was very accommodating and friendly. The server described the menu and was able to make suggestions based on our taste. We are local so will definitely be back soon.

Tags: Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Was disappointed in food. Have eaten at Correttas many times and this was not as good as previous visits . Will dine somewhere else in future

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Indiana)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Chris and Dan were perfect hosts as well as servers. Sunset was fabulous. Food was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 11, 2017

I ordered the Buffalo when I came to the table it was so salty could not eat it had to send it back let my wife take a bite of it she could not believe how salty it was left a taste in my mouth I was not able to eat anything else took it off my charge appreciated that So can't give a definite referral to someone will have to give it another chance again

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (London)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Carrettas is a fabulous place for views of Clearwater Beach and the food is normally highly recommended with a good mixture of fish, meat, sushi and salads. Yesterday, at a mid week lunch it was somewhat underwhelming. Lacking in flavou rin the lobster naan and a flatbread which should have had pork on it was very short of the main ingredients. Desserts were good! Coffee from an individual press was excellent and the service was just right though the server's shirt and trousers should have seen a washing machine before being worn. We have had dinner and lunch a few times at this dining room and it has been well worth the spend but a bit doubtful yesterday. Will go again and see how we feel then.

Tags: Waterfront, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Sara the server was fabulous! We spent SuperBowl Sunday there and had the best time! Love that place!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, People Watching, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Wonderful Sunday brunch. Best waffles ever! Can't wait to come back!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Modern Decor, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch and enjoyed the food and atmosphere. We had reservations and was
seated right away. My wife had waffles and I had egg omelet plus all the fresh goodies available.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Class as usual, great place for brunch or dinner. The staff are very good and nothing seems a bother to them. The quality of the food is outstanding, from the Sushi to the Roasts. But leave room for the sweets. The bar area is great for watching sports etc, with great bar food.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Groups, Great Beer, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Sunday Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Had a great Sunday brunch with family. The food was excellent. It was expensive but it was great for a special occasion. Would go back.

Tags: Scenic View, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Fabulous sunset location. Menu is all top level quality/organic/locally sourced. Great wine/cocktail selection. Staff were marvelous. Would not hesitate to highly recommend.

Tags: Organic, Romantic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 1, 2017

The food and service were excellent! It made our anniversary a special night to remember. Thank you!

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Love this place. It is a great place with great people working there and awesome food. They always make you feel welcome and go the extra mile for special occasions also love the live music on weekends

Tags: Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Live Music, Good for a Date, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on January 31, 2017

very poor service, worse food wast of money which was very expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Simply delicious . Would not be able to find anything better A+.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on January 27, 2017

beautiful setting, outstanding service, very good food! Will continue to frequent this find dining establishment!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.