Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Carefree Bistro

Carefree Bistro is modeled around fresh seasonal food.

37555 N Hum Rd
Suite 109
Carefree, AZ 85377
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Friday 11a-2pm Lunch
Tuesday-Friday 4pm-7pm Happy Hour at Bar ONLY
Tuesday-Friday 4pm-9pm Dinner
Saturday-Sunday 10a-4pm Brunch
Saturday-Sunday 4pm-7pm Happy Hour at Bar ONLY
Saturday-Sunday 4pm-9pm Dinner

Cross Street:
East Cave Creek Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 795-1255

Website:
http://www.carefreebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We have Public and Private parking front and behind of Bistro. Cross street is East Cave Creek Road and Hum Road.

Executive Chef:
Coskun Bektas

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carefree Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.1

value

4.1

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (6)
Casual (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
See All
Fit for Foodies (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Healthy (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tapas (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
120 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 2, 2017

Excellent sole beurre blanc. My daughter loved the pizza Margherita - so fresh. And we both really enjoyed the focaccia bread! Will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 20, 2017

This was our first visit here and we were very surprised when we arrived to see only one car in the parking lot. Once inside, there was only one table of 4 in the whole restaurant. This was a Saturday, and even during the summer months most places are still busy. Obviously, we got great service since the place was empty, but how was the food? I happy to say that the food was very good. Everything was fresh and tasted great. So why the poor turnout? I suspect that the prices might be a tad high for the area. I had the Moussaka which was $26, which is way overpriced. I'm Greek and have had Moussaka a thousand times in my lifetime and never paid this much for it. Our bill with tip came to $150 with a moderately priced bottle of wine. At this price, I expect to be in a fine dining establishment. Not that this wasn't a nice place, but not at the prices they are charging. I really don't know how they can keep the doors open with no customers. Even when we were leaving around 7:30, there were zero people in the dining room and just 2 people sitting at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 14, 2017

The food here and the service by Sabastian was excellent! He made some recommendations on our meal and a wine to go with which were both very good.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Service and food was wonderful. Highly recommended

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Food was excellent; and our server, Sebastian, was outstanding. It was our first time there and we will be back. Sole and short ribs were great. Pate was the best.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on July 22, 2017

We stopped for a late lunch. Nice place. They were finishing up their lunch service so there was only a couple of us in the restaurant. Great place for lunch. Food was good, fresh and flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Time after time we have visited this wonderful restaurant and not once have we been disappointed. The staff is always been attentive and friendly, and this must be a reflection of the owners. The menu is often updated and the offerings are always diverse and well thought out. The quality and freshness of the ingredients turn simple dishes into something very special.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tapas, Healthy, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 5, 2017

We discovered this restaurant in a few years ago. Their location is in the Carefree shopping area however a little off the beaten path. They have both inside and outside dining. We have found their food is always creative and very consistent. Their staff is always friendly, knowledgeable and very accommodating.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 2, 2017

We were really happy with the quality of the meal and service. Sebastian was an excellent waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Carefree Bistro is one of our local go-to restaurants. Good food, sometimes outstanding. Informal. Great owners and wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 24, 2017

We went on a Saturday evening. Not busy at all. Service was pleasant but extremely slow. Food was good but not exceptional. We are willing to give it another chance since we like the location and ambiance.

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 17, 2017

We had been to this restaurant with a previous owner. Now the atmosphere, food and drink have all been upgraded. The service was excellent. We were not rushed. The drinks were very good. We were very impressed with flavor and preparation of both the appetizers and entree. This was our second visit with the new owner and will certainly return. Would recommend to everyone.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Vancouver)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Our favourite neighbourhood casual restaurant. Food is always good, reasonably priced good wine list and service is friendly and efficient.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 21, 2017

Food was good but nothing outstanding. Both my wife and I left hungry. Given the prices I expected more , in the bouillabaisse I ordered, it contained a few shell fish and tiny scallops and only two small pieces of fish....all for $34. Way too much for what you get. My wife had the sole and while tasty it was not filling either. Neither of us are big eaters but we expected more for the price you pay. Did not get value for the money.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Very quiet mid-afternoon on a Saturday, but great for sitting on the patio and enjoying a GREAT meal. Wait person was new and totally undersold how good the food was. Veal Tortellacci was exquisite! Truly melt in your mouth good. The Short Rib Bourguignon was also excellent. But the best part, bar none, was the Homemade Flat Bread with the Trio of Mediterranean Dips. We ordered a second AFTER we finished our entrees - it was that good!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 14, 2017

For lunch I had a fantastic caeser salad with white anchovies and an added salmon filet that was cooked to perfection! The authentic Sicilian menu has many gluten-free items noted, something I appreciate. Excellent wine list and service as well.

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Delicious Mediterranean fare. Loved the trio appetizer with flatbread, hummus, taziki, and baba ganoush. All four of us ordered different entrees and spent a delightful time tasting each other's.
Eunice was a great server giving us the kind of table we wanted, and making sure we were pleased with our selections. We sure were.
Casual, great food, and excellent service. Well done!
Thanks!

Tags: Fun, Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

We had a very enjoyable dinner with friends. The food was very good and the service excellent. We will definitely return in the future.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 22, 2017

Fabulous waiter! Delicious food. Would definitely go back. Great customer service!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

This is our third time here. Really enjoyed it more this time than before. Seems as though they are a little more organized and attentive. We now have a renewed interest and will return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Brian, our waiter, was very friendly and professional. The menu is seasonally varied and has many options. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 7, 2017

Food was good, service friendly and efficient. Nice patio dining, varied menu. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food. Great service. The crispy potatoes were a hit. And, love that the chef was willing to make us his great risotto for breakfast!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Great food. Service not good and server told us the owner and his wife are mean. Not enough help and no appreciation for delays to customers. Unfortunate server negative and we were there almost three hours. Terrible wait time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Something got screwed up in the kitchen and we had to wait almost 90 minutes for dinner. It was definitely not the fault of the waitstaff and we never were told what happened. At least they comped us for the wine. When it did arrive, the food was great - creative, off-beat, and delicious. Others seemed to waiting a long time also.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Service was average. Never got bread until we ask for it. Food was OK but the price didn't relate to the Quality. Overall experience was fair.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Had hoped that the Bistro would have had a "Valentine's day flair" two days ahead of the day itself but not so. Not even a flower on the table or a VD menu? Heloo?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Started by sharing octopus appetizer, pricey but absolutely delicious. Followed with generous and excellent Caesar salads. Wife had tuna tartare appetizer as her entree, said it was fabulous. I had the veal tortelacci, delicate but very flavorful. Will definitely go back and order the same things.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Carefree Bistro was a mixed bag. Some of the food was excellent (the veal ravioli) while the 'special' crab cakes were overcooked (almost burned) and pretty small.

The wait staff is friendly but maybe a little too casual. We were told that our dinners might take a while because the kitchen was overwhelmed. There seems to be only one chef handling all the orders. The whole place seemed overwhelmed by the fact that they had a full house.

The place isn't bad but it isn't great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Had reservations. Waited 45 min for apps that never came. Left 12 bucks on the table for the glass of wine and left. Waitress actually said she wouldn't take our dinner order since the kitchen was so backed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 3, 2017

One of our worst dinners. Had two kids (not kid friendly place) and finally after 1-1/2 hours and numerous requests we got spaghetti for them. Our appetizers took 1 hr! Not sure if our order was lost or what. Owner was even in the kitchen we were told by the waiter and he had no idea what took so long and we had a direct view of the kitchen too! Watched one plate sit for over 30 mins before it was served to someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 2, 2017

Great new menu . Attentive staff, food delicious , I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 27, 2017

I read about Carefree Bostro online and trusted the reviews. I was very glad we did. The menu has something for most everyone. I had the Ahi salad and my son had the lobster risotto. They were both cooked to perfection. I will be eating here in the future for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Excellent boullabaise! The menu was extensive and diverse - from pizza to delicious entrees. Wonderful wine list as well. The service was attentive and discrete. We had a delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Excellent. With George back and a New Menu it was very good. Friendly attentive service, good wine choices and delicious food. I strongly recommend the Short Ribs Bourguignone, which were a new and delicious take on this slow cooked delicacy ..especially with the roasted fingerlings and vegetables that accompanied it. So many things to try .. and so little time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We really enjoy eating eastern European style food, staff are very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 6, 2017

Interesting evolving menu, well-prepared food served in a lovely quiet setting. The service was attentive but not overdone. Good wine selection. We will definitely return and will recommend to friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Carefree bistro is one of our favorite restaurants. We go whenever this? The food is always superb

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

I am so glad I discovered this restaurant. I came With my best friend and we had the beet salad and ahi tuna salad. Prepared to perfection. We also ordered the fish of the day and margherita pizza. The pizza was nice and crispy (per my request). We also met the owner very sweet lovely lady. She showed us their new dinner menu and I can't wait to try the new items next month. I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.