About Carefree Bistro

37555 N Hum Rd
Suite 109
Carefree, AZ 85377
View Larger Map

Carefree Bistro is modeled around fresh seasonal food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Friday 11a-2pm Lunch
Tuesday-Friday 4pm-9pm Dinner
Saturday-Sunday 10a-4pm Brunch
Saturday-Sunday 4pm-9pm Dinner

Cross Street:
East Cave Creek Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 795-1255

Website:
http://www.carefreebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We have Public and Private parking front and behind of Bistro. Cross street is East Cave Creek Road and Hum Road.

Executive Chef:
Coskun Bektas

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carefree Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Quiet

90% would recommend it to a friend

Worth the Drive (2)
Scenic View (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
See All
Open Kitchen (2)
Romantic (1)
Authentic (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Seasonal (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Sort By:
S
77 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

) A restaurant in transition. Recently e ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

) A restaurant in transition. Recently expanded,new chef,new management. A much needed addition to Catefree dining. Had the lobster ( Pacific variety) and scallops. Tasty but need a garnish. Parsley maybe. Looked bland. Portion good tasted better the next day. Really hope after the transition they succeed. Need this kind of .Upscale dining in Carefree. Better than Venue for sure

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

This surprisingly quiet location along C ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This surprisingly quiet location along Cave Creek Rd was a great find! Nice patio with a view of the mountains. Interior décor is very appealing also. Service was very friendly & prompt. Our reservation requested an outdoor seating and a "Reserved" sign was on the table for fast seating. It has a varied menu. The Greco pizza is awesome and we have enjoyed the pasta dishes in the past. Nice wine list by the glass and reasonably priced.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here on several occasions. ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We have been here on several occasions. This was by far our best experience yet. We sat outside on a lovely fall evening. The Greek salad and lamb brochettes were heavenly. We will be back sooner than later.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

This is my second time to this Bistro. ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This is my second time to this Bistro. I love it! The service is always prompt and courteous, and the food is very, very good. Will be back, time and again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous service--quickly seated with ou ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fabulous service--quickly seated with our Reservation, great Server, wonderful delicious food in a quiet setting with a wonderful view at sunset--highly recommend---we'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Our server Elizabeth was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great. Our server Elizabeth was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our waiter was attentive and personable. ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our waiter was attentive and personable. Food was not as good as a year ago tho.

my husband ordered scallops and lobster pasta and there was mostly pasta, very little lobster:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Good waiter, Fabio. Nice atmosphere. Goo ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Good waiter, Fabio. Nice atmosphere. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Will not go back again , did not enjoy ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Will not go back again , did not enjoy the food. Service was good atmosphere ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

A little to loud for us although it was ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2016

A little to loud for us although it was good jazz

place was very empty...but have been there before and it was busy

for lunch...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Carefree Bistro for Father's ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Carefree Bistro for Father's Day Brunch. The Parisian omelet was outstanding. Full of fresh veggies and grease free. The vegetable panini was also excellent. The service is always pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Our waiter was very friendly, knowledgea ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our waiter was very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food came out timely and was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

When will they close?

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our third time here hoping it would be better than the first two and it was even worse. Wife's entree, the daily special in fact, was fatty and undercooked. The cream sauce accompanying the fish was bland and tasteless. To their credit, we were not charged and our waitress was polite and very understanding.

The ice water was terrific.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

So So

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is a local place so I was hoping it was a gem, but I felt it was so so! That being said, the mozzarella used for the caprese salad was delicious, but the tomatoes were under ripe. The salmon was just ok nothing special, and the desert...the gelato salted caramel was delicious but not the profiteroles, a little dry. So for the individual cost of over $50.00 ea. not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Seemed to be a bit of attitude, did not ...

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Seemed to be a bit of attitude, did not get a welcoming feel when arriving, food was good, wine list and actual availability are not current. overall okay experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Another Enjoyable Meal at Carefree Bistro

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Carefree Bistro continues to be one of our favorite local restaurants. As usual, I had the risotto of the day----seafood---and it was excellent. DH had wanted the chicken and prawns, but it is no longer on the menu, so he had a chicken dish (can't remember name) that he proclaimed VERY Good! We started with the grilled polenta appetizer and Cream of Fennel soup. Both noteworthy. Another pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Desert dining

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2016

This was my second time at the Bistro in its current location and like the first it was exceptional. Service, food quality and presentation, with a good wine list to cover all tastes was outstanding. When you are on Moab this is a must.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We like the restaurant but thought the p ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2016

We like the restaurant but thought the price of the food for the quality was a mismatch. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Carefree bistro came highly recommended...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

....and we now know why. We shared the tuna tartare and it was one of the best we have ever had. The eggplant app was enough for my dinner to follow. The veal dish was not what was expected but did not disappoint in any way. Service was great. We really enjoyed this delicious meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Nice neighboorhood place

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Ate here for the first time and really enjoyed it. Our server, Elizabeth, was a delight. Can't wait to go back and try some of the other interesting items on the menu. My risotto was excellent and the wife's chicken was very good. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food & ambience, but specials are pricey

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2016

We've passed by Cafe Bistro many times, but finally made an open table reservation. We were kindly greeted. Food was great. Just beware, I ordered their special of the night, 'Rissotto w/Scallops', figuring the pricing would be comparable to their menu pricing, but got charged $38 for this meal. Most expensive entre' on menu was $28. While it was very tasty, I feel It was overpriced (& for only 4-5 scallops). With that being said, I would definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

Surprised

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great little restaurant...loved the creative menu! Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent and Consistent

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Love Carefree Bistro!!! Been three times in past 6 weeks. Consistently produces creative menu items with that totally agree our palettes. Have had enough variety to appreciate the chef's skills. Wait people seem to know the menu and ingredients beyond what is common. Will be back often and will continue to introduce more of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A disappointment

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have gone here several times before and were impressed by the food and service. We had not gone there for some time and thought it would be a good place to bring friends from out of town to get a great feeling for the area. This time there was a dramatic change. The service was poor by any standards and the food was fair. It was an embarrassment to us for bring our friends there. The server was unable to answer any questions about the menu, didn't know a main item was no longer available until the order was placed, and provided no recommendation for a substitute. The food fell short of what we had come to expect here. Not sure what happened, but I hope they fix it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Nice small restaurant

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our meal was very good, service was above average and our server was extremely helpful as we haven't been there before. A bit too noisy for my taste. The bar looked quieter and they were serving dinner there, as we left. It appears to be a 'neighborhood gem'. Will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Love this place!!

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Absolutely in love with the Mediterranean trio app, fresh flatbread and meatballs. Great food!! Great owner!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Cafe Binks is one of my favorite places to eat. The food is consistently amazing! The staff is so friendly and always remembers us when we come back. The trout is the best. And don't get me started on the fries with the truffle ketchup...yummmmm! Just love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The menu on Open Table was not the same ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2016

The menu on Open Table was not the same as the restaurant's. Our waiter checked with the Chef and they prepared the food I saw on Open Table. Portions were just the right amount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Superb lunch

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2016

The Bistro was very quiet, which gave us some concern, however the food was excellent. I highly recommend the homemade flatbread and dip as a shared appe. We were a party of four and all enjoyed our entree. Our service was good, food excellent, as was the wine. We could not get a blended margarita, but that would not influence a return visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always good

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Been here many times and have tried lots of the dishes. Always super friendly and attentive service. Food has always been delicious whatever I've tried. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyable food experience

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Excellant local restaurant with a variety of entree choices. My wife and I have been several times and never left disappointed. Service is outstanding, Brian even recalled the wine my wife had during our last meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our out of state guests arrived late. W ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Our out of state guests arrived late. We called. The kitchen staff waited. Then we all asked for variations on their amazing risotto. No problem. Our waiter was perfect. Made the whole experience fun. And the risotto? 4 empty plates! Great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Great and Unique Food

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2015

We had an outdated gift card for the Bistro and although it was past the valid date, the manager honored it. The food was terrific and well presented. We will go back and recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Good, but

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 3, 2015

Had a very good meal overall. There were 4 of us. Veal meatballs were delicious. I am a good cook so food preparation and taste are important to me. The special seafood risotto was reported rlto be very nice as well as the short ribs. My only real complaint was the salad... It was "gritty". Wish it would have been properly cleaned because the rest of the meal was terrific.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

First time, Last time

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 25, 2015

Our first time here and it was very average. Will not go back again

Outside seating has a view of the parking lot. Our inside table for 2 had a view of the highway

Noise level way too loud. Adequate wine list but no craft beers and a limited beer selection

The bar was busy so maybe they had a descent Happy Hour. Too many other good restaurants in Cave Creek and Carefree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Great expansion

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 12, 2015

We have looked forward to the re-opening of Carefree Bistro. We have eaten both lunch and dinner. They have added a larger bar section which will appeal to the crowd that likes that. Hopefully, it will become an area hotspot. Try the specials. It is a nice addition to an already good

restaurant. The food is great and adventuresome. Service is attentive. A needed addition to Carefree.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Carefree Bistro-on the edge of being a great place

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 4, 2015

I so want this place to succeed, they have the makings of being a great place, especially now since their renovations. I guess my biggest complaint would be the service, everyone is very nice, but the service is lacking big time. I'm looking forward to trying the new bar area once their TVs are installed, hoping it's a good place to watch a game, grab dinner, and chat with my favorite bartenders.....which I've hear now work there. A few minor adjustments and this place can be a neighborhood regular for a lot of folks.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

Carefree Bistro is back after a short su ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 22, 2015

Carefree Bistro is back after a short summer break for remodeling. We dined there just after they reopened and the interior updates were not quite completed. The changes are beautiful, with a separate bar area and more outdoor coverage. The food, which needed no improvement, is as delicious as ever! So glad they're back!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Jeans

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 12, 2015

Quiet night on a summer Thursday, I hope they can remain open as I find Carefree Bistro the best in the area. We have a shortage of good places to eat here,.

My friend did have an issue finding a good wine to her taste. I was sorry about that as she had a special something to celebrate. We both enjoyed our meals, salmon and ravioli.

I have been there several times and have always had good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent, friendly, typically quiet loc ...

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2015

Excellent, friendly, typically quiet local restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.