About Carefree Bistro

37555 N Hum Rd
Suite 109
Carefree, AZ 85377
View Larger Map

Carefree Bistro is modeled around fresh seasonal food.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Friday 11a-4pm Lunch
Tuesday-Friday 4pm-9pm Dinner
Saturday-Sunday 10a-4pm Brunch
Saturday-Sunday 4pm-9pm Dinner

Cross Street:
East Cave Creek Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 795-1255

Website:
http://www.carefreebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We have Public and Private parking front and behind of Bistro. Cross street is East Cave Creek Road and Hum Road.

Executive Chef:
Coskun Bektas

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carefree Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.0

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Quiet Conversation (4)
See All
Open Kitchen (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Casual (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Authentic (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Business Meals (3)
Comfort Food (3)
Fun (3)
Healthy (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Scenic View (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Seasonal (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
94 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was average. Never got bread until we ask for it. Food was OK but the price didn't relate to the Quality. Overall experience was fair.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had hoped that the Bistro would have had a "Valentine's day flair" two days ahead of the day itself but not so. Not even a flower on the table or a VD menu? Heloo?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Started by sharing octopus appetizer, pricey but absolutely delicious. Followed with generous and excellent Caesar salads. Wife had tuna tartare appetizer as her entree, said it was fabulous. I had the veal tortelacci, delicate but very flavorful. Will definitely go back and order the same things.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Carefree Bistro was a mixed bag. Some of the food was excellent (the veal ravioli) while the 'special' crab cakes were overcooked (almost burned) and pretty small.

The wait staff is friendly but maybe a little too casual. We were told that our dinners might take a while because the kitchen was overwhelmed. There seems to be only one chef handling all the orders. The whole place seemed overwhelmed by the fact that they had a full house.

The place isn't bad but it isn't great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had reservations. Waited 45 min for apps that never came. Left 12 bucks on the table for the glass of wine and left. Waitress actually said she wouldn't take our dinner order since the kitchen was so backed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of our worst dinners. Had two kids (not kid friendly place) and finally after 1-1/2 hours and numerous requests we got spaghetti for them. Our appetizers took 1 hr! Not sure if our order was lost or what. Owner was even in the kitchen we were told by the waiter and he had no idea what took so long and we had a direct view of the kitchen too! Watched one plate sit for over 30 mins before it was served to someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great new menu . Attentive staff, food delicious , I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I read about Carefree Bostro online and trusted the reviews. I was very glad we did. The menu has something for most everyone. I had the Ahi salad and my son had the lobster risotto. They were both cooked to perfection. I will be eating here in the future for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent boullabaise! The menu was extensive and diverse - from pizza to delicious entrees. Wonderful wine list as well. The service was attentive and discrete. We had a delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent. With George back and a New Menu it was very good. Friendly attentive service, good wine choices and delicious food. I strongly recommend the Short Ribs Bourguignone, which were a new and delicious take on this slow cooked delicacy ..especially with the roasted fingerlings and vegetables that accompanied it. So many things to try .. and so little time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoy eating eastern European style food, staff are very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Interesting evolving menu, well-prepared food served in a lovely quiet setting. The service was attentive but not overdone. Good wine selection. We will definitely return and will recommend to friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Carefree bistro is one of our favorite restaurants. We go whenever this? The food is always superb

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I am so glad I discovered this restaurant. I came With my best friend and we had the beet salad and ahi tuna salad. Prepared to perfection. We also ordered the fish of the day and margherita pizza. The pizza was nice and crispy (per my request). We also met the owner very sweet lovely lady. She showed us their new dinner menu and I can't wait to try the new items next month. I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been enjoying this restaurant since shortly after they opened, and have never once been disappointed in the food quality and service. Fresh! Fresh! Fresh!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server--Brian...was excellent....and, the food was outstanding...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was my Bday and our waiter made it special. The food was delicious, especially the chocolate cake with ganache! But the seared ahi was also wonderful. I have had it many times.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

) A restaurant in transition. Recently expanded,new chef,new management. A much needed addition to Catefree dining. Had the lobster ( Pacific variety) and scallops. Tasty but need a garnish. Parsley maybe. Looked bland. Portion good tasted better the next day. Really hope after the transition they succeed. Need this kind of .Upscale dining in Carefree. Better than Venue for sure

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This surprisingly quiet location along Cave Creek Rd was a great find! Nice patio with a view of the mountains. Interior décor is very appealing also. Service was very friendly & prompt. Our reservation requested an outdoor seating and a "Reserved" sign was on the table for fast seating. It has a varied menu. The Greco pizza is awesome and we have enjoyed the pasta dishes in the past. Nice wine list by the glass and reasonably priced.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We have been here on several occasions. This was by far our best experience yet. We sat outside on a lovely fall evening. The Greek salad and lamb brochettes were heavenly. We will be back sooner than later.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This is my second time to this Bistro. I love it! The service is always prompt and courteous, and the food is very, very good. Will be back, time and again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great. Our server Elizabeth was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fabulous service--quickly seated with our Reservation, great Server, wonderful delicious food in a quiet setting with a wonderful view at sunset--highly recommend---we'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our waiter was attentive and personable. Food was not as good as a year ago tho.

my husband ordered scallops and lobster pasta and there was mostly pasta, very little lobster:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Good waiter, Fabio. Nice atmosphere. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Will not go back again , did not enjoy the food. Service was good atmosphere ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2016

A little to loud for us although it was good jazz

place was very empty...but have been there before and it was busy

for lunch...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Carefree Bistro for Father's Day Brunch. The Parisian omelet was outstanding. Full of fresh veggies and grease free. The vegetable panini was also excellent. The service is always pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our waiter was very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food came out timely and was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our third time here hoping it would be better than the first two and it was even worse. Wife's entree, the daily special in fact, was fatty and undercooked. The cream sauce accompanying the fish was bland and tasteless. To their credit, we were not charged and our waitress was polite and very understanding.

The ice water was terrific.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is a local place so I was hoping it was a gem, but I felt it was so so! That being said, the mozzarella used for the caprese salad was delicious, but the tomatoes were under ripe. The salmon was just ok nothing special, and the desert...the gelato salted caramel was delicious but not the profiteroles, a little dry. So for the individual cost of over $50.00 ea. not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Seemed to be a bit of attitude, did not get a welcoming feel when arriving, food was good, wine list and actual availability are not current. overall okay experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Carefree Bistro continues to be one of our favorite local restaurants. As usual, I had the risotto of the day----seafood---and it was excellent. DH had wanted the chicken and prawns, but it is no longer on the menu, so he had a chicken dish (can't remember name) that he proclaimed VERY Good! We started with the grilled polenta appetizer and Cream of Fennel soup. Both noteworthy. Another pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Denver)·Dined on April 20, 2016

This was my second time at the Bistro in its current location and like the first it was exceptional. Service, food quality and presentation, with a good wine list to cover all tastes was outstanding. When you are on Moab this is a must.

Tags: Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 8, 2016

We like the restaurant but thought the price of the food for the quality was a mismatch. Very noisy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 27, 2016

....and we now know why. We shared the tuna tartare and it was one of the best we have ever had. The eggplant app was enough for my dinner to follow. The veal dish was not what was expected but did not disappoint in any way. Service was great. We really enjoyed this delicious meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 25, 2016

Ate here for the first time and really enjoyed it. Our server, Elizabeth, was a delight. Can't wait to go back and try some of the other interesting items on the menu. My risotto was excellent and the wife's chicken was very good. We'll be back.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on March 11, 2016

We've passed by Cafe Bistro many times, but finally made an open table reservation. We were kindly greeted. Food was great. Just beware, I ordered their special of the night, 'Rissotto w/Scallops', figuring the pricing would be comparable to their menu pricing, but got charged $38 for this meal. Most expensive entre' on menu was $28. While it was very tasty, I feel It was overpriced (& for only 4-5 scallops). With that being said, I would definitely go again.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2016

Great little restaurant...loved the creative menu! Will go back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on February 27, 2016

Love Carefree Bistro!!! Been three times in past 6 weeks. Consistently produces creative menu items with that totally agree our palettes. Have had enough variety to appreciate the chef's skills. Wait people seem to know the menu and ingredients beyond what is common. Will be back often and will continue to introduce more of friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2016

We have gone here several times before and were impressed by the food and service. We had not gone there for some time and thought it would be a good place to bring friends from out of town to get a great feeling for the area. This time there was a dramatic change. The service was poor by any standards and the food was fair. It was an embarrassment to us for bring our friends there. The server was unable to answer any questions about the menu, didn't know a main item was no longer available until the order was placed, and provided no recommendation for a substitute. The food fell short of what we had come to expect here. Not sure what happened, but I hope they fix it.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 31, 2016

Our meal was very good, service was above average and our server was extremely helpful as we haven't been there before. A bit too noisy for my taste. The bar looked quieter and they were serving dinner there, as we left. It appears to be a 'neighborhood gem'. Will go again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Absolutely in love with the Mediterranean trio app, fresh flatbread and meatballs. Great food!! Great owner!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 24, 2016

Cafe Binks is one of my favorite places to eat. The food is consistently amazing! The staff is so friendly and always remembers us when we come back. The trout is the best. And don't get me started on the fries with the truffle ketchup...yummmmm! Just love this place!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 14, 2016

The menu on Open Table was not the same as the restaurant's. Our waiter checked with the Chef and they prepared the food I saw on Open Table. Portions were just the right amount.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 10, 2016

The Bistro was very quiet, which gave us some concern, however the food was excellent. I highly recommend the homemade flatbread and dip as a shared appe. We were a party of four and all enjoyed our entree. Our service was good, food excellent, as was the wine. We could not get a blended margarita, but that would not influence a return visit.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Calgary)·Dined on December 29, 2015

Been here many times and have tried lots of the dishes. Always super friendly and attentive service. Food has always been delicious whatever I've tried. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2015

Excellant local restaurant with a variety of entree choices. My wife and I have been several times and never left disappointed. Service is outstanding, Brian even recalled the wine my wife had during our last meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 23, 2015

Our out of state guests arrived late. We called. The kitchen staff waited. Then we all asked for variations on their amazing risotto. No problem. Our waiter was perfect. Made the whole experience fun. And the risotto? 4 empty plates! Great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 19, 2015

We had an outdated gift card for the Bistro and although it was past the valid date, the manager honored it. The food was terrific and well presented. We will go back and recommend to others!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.