Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi
  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.12mi
  3. Distance: 0.26mi
  4. Distance: 0.29mi

About Carefree Bistro

Carefree Bistro is modeled around fresh seasonal food.

37555 N Hum Rd
Suite 109
Carefree, AZ 85377
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Bar / Lounge / Bottle Service

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday-Friday 11a-4pm Lunch
Tuesday-Friday 4pm-9pm Dinner
Saturday-Sunday 10a-4pm Brunch
Saturday-Sunday 4pm-9pm Dinner

Cross Street:
East Cave Creek Road

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(602) 795-1255

Website:
http://www.carefreebistro.com/

Parking Details:
We have Public and Private parking front and behind of Bistro. Cross street is East Cave Creek Road and Hum Road.

Executive Chef:
Coskun Bektas

Additional:
Beer, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Come join us for Easter Sunday.

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Please come and join us for Mother's Day.

Carefree Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

3.9

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (10)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
See All
Casual (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (5)
Comfort Food (4)
Authentic (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Fun (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Cozy (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Romantic (1)
Seasonal (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Sort By:
S
101 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 7 days ago

Fabulous waiter! Delicious food. Would definitely go back. Great customer service!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

This is our third time here. Really enjoyed it more this time than before. Seems as though they are a little more organized and attentive. We now have a renewed interest and will return.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Brian, our waiter, was very friendly and professional. The menu is seasonally varied and has many options. Everything was delicious.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Food was good, service friendly and efficient. Nice patio dining, varied menu. Will return.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Great food. Great service. The crispy potatoes were a hit. And, love that the chef was willing to make us his great risotto for breakfast!!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Great food. Service not good and server told us the owner and his wife are mean. Not enough help and no appreciation for delays to customers. Unfortunate server negative and we were there almost three hours. Terrible wait time!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Something got screwed up in the kitchen and we had to wait almost 90 minutes for dinner. It was definitely not the fault of the waitstaff and we never were told what happened. At least they comped us for the wine. When it did arrive, the food was great - creative, off-beat, and delicious. Others seemed to waiting a long time also.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Service was average. Never got bread until we ask for it. Food was OK but the price didn't relate to the Quality. Overall experience was fair.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Had hoped that the Bistro would have had a "Valentine's day flair" two days ahead of the day itself but not so. Not even a flower on the table or a VD menu? Heloo?

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Started by sharing octopus appetizer, pricey but absolutely delicious. Followed with generous and excellent Caesar salads. Wife had tuna tartare appetizer as her entree, said it was fabulous. I had the veal tortelacci, delicate but very flavorful. Will definitely go back and order the same things.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Carefree Bistro was a mixed bag. Some of the food was excellent (the veal ravioli) while the 'special' crab cakes were overcooked (almost burned) and pretty small.

The wait staff is friendly but maybe a little too casual. We were told that our dinners might take a while because the kitchen was overwhelmed. There seems to be only one chef handling all the orders. The whole place seemed overwhelmed by the fact that they had a full house.

The place isn't bad but it isn't great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Had reservations. Waited 45 min for apps that never came. Left 12 bucks on the table for the glass of wine and left. Waitress actually said she wouldn't take our dinner order since the kitchen was so backed up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on February 4, 2017

One of our worst dinners. Had two kids (not kid friendly place) and finally after 1-1/2 hours and numerous requests we got spaghetti for them. Our appetizers took 1 hr! Not sure if our order was lost or what. Owner was even in the kitchen we were told by the waiter and he had no idea what took so long and we had a direct view of the kitchen too! Watched one plate sit for over 30 mins before it was served to someone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 3, 2017

Great new menu . Attentive staff, food delicious , I would go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 28, 2017

I read about Carefree Bostro online and trusted the reviews. I was very glad we did. The menu has something for most everyone. I had the Ahi salad and my son had the lobster risotto. They were both cooked to perfection. I will be eating here in the future for sure.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Excellent boullabaise! The menu was extensive and diverse - from pizza to delicious entrees. Wonderful wine list as well. The service was attentive and discrete. We had a delightful evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Excellent. With George back and a New Menu it was very good. Friendly attentive service, good wine choices and delicious food. I strongly recommend the Short Ribs Bourguignone, which were a new and delicious take on this slow cooked delicacy ..especially with the roasted fingerlings and vegetables that accompanied it. So many things to try .. and so little time!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We really enjoy eating eastern European style food, staff are very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Fun, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Interesting evolving menu, well-prepared food served in a lovely quiet setting. The service was attentive but not overdone. Good wine selection. We will definitely return and will recommend to friends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Carefree bistro is one of our favorite restaurants. We go whenever this? The food is always superb

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 22, 2016

I am so glad I discovered this restaurant. I came With my best friend and we had the beet salad and ahi tuna salad. Prepared to perfection. We also ordered the fish of the day and margherita pizza. The pizza was nice and crispy (per my request). We also met the owner very sweet lovely lady. She showed us their new dinner menu and I can't wait to try the new items next month. I highly recommend this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 21, 2016

We have been enjoying this restaurant since shortly after they opened, and have never once been disappointed in the food quality and service. Fresh! Fresh! Fresh!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Our server--Brian...was excellent....and, the food was outstanding...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 9, 2016

This was my Bday and our waiter made it special. The food was delicious, especially the chocolate cake with ganache! But the seared ahi was also wonderful. I have had it many times.

Tags: Fun, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Healthy, Modern Decor, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 2, 2016

) A restaurant in transition. Recently expanded,new chef,new management. A much needed addition to Catefree dining. Had the lobster ( Pacific variety) and scallops. Tasty but need a garnish. Parsley maybe. Looked bland. Portion good tasted better the next day. Really hope after the transition they succeed. Need this kind of .Upscale dining in Carefree. Better than Venue for sure

Tags: Seasonal, Bar Seating, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 12, 2016

This surprisingly quiet location along Cave Creek Rd was a great find! Nice patio with a view of the mountains. Interior décor is very appealing also. Service was very friendly & prompt. Our reservation requested an outdoor seating and a "Reserved" sign was on the table for fast seating. It has a varied menu. The Greco pizza is awesome and we have enjoyed the pasta dishes in the past. Nice wine list by the glass and reasonably priced.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 26, 2016

We have been here on several occasions. This was by far our best experience yet. We sat outside on a lovely fall evening. The Greek salad and lamb brochettes were heavenly. We will be back sooner than later.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 25, 2016

This is my second time to this Bistro. I love it! The service is always prompt and courteous, and the food is very, very good. Will be back, time and again!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Food was great. Our server Elizabeth was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Fabulous service--quickly seated with our Reservation, great Server, wonderful delicious food in a quiet setting with a wonderful view at sunset--highly recommend---we'll be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our waiter was attentive and personable. Food was not as good as a year ago tho.
my husband ordered scallops and lobster pasta and there was mostly pasta, very little lobster:(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Good waiter, Fabio. Nice atmosphere. Good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 17, 2016

Will not go back again , did not enjoy the food. Service was good atmosphere ok.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 6, 2016

A little to loud for us although it was good jazz
place was very empty...but have been there before and it was busy
for lunch...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 19, 2016

We went to Carefree Bistro for Father's Day Brunch. The Parisian omelet was outstanding. Full of fresh veggies and grease free. The vegetable panini was also excellent. The service is always pleasant and attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2016

Our waiter was very friendly, knowledgeable and attentive. The food came out timely and was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 9, 2016

Our third time here hoping it would be better than the first two and it was even worse. Wife's entree, the daily special in fact, was fatty and undercooked. The cream sauce accompanying the fish was bland and tasteless. To their credit, we were not charged and our waitress was polite and very understanding.
The ice water was terrific.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 30, 2016

This is a local place so I was hoping it was a gem, but I felt it was so so! That being said, the mozzarella used for the caprese salad was delicious, but the tomatoes were under ripe. The salmon was just ok nothing special, and the desert...the gelato salted caramel was delicious but not the profiteroles, a little dry. So for the individual cost of over $50.00 ea. not the best.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 28, 2016

Seemed to be a bit of attitude, did not get a welcoming feel when arriving, food was good, wine list and actual availability are not current. overall okay experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 24, 2016

Carefree Bistro continues to be one of our favorite local restaurants. As usual, I had the risotto of the day----seafood---and it was excellent. DH had wanted the chicken and prawns, but it is no longer on the menu, so he had a chicken dish (can't remember name) that he proclaimed VERY Good! We started with the grilled polenta appetizer and Cream of Fennel soup. Both noteworthy. Another pleasant experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.