About Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave

1580 Taylor Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3N 2B5
View Larger Map

July 12th, 2011 - The First Coal Fired Pizza Restaurant in Canada opens its doors.

Inside Carbone Coal Fired Pizza, an 850-degree anthracite-coal-burning oven reigns unrivaled by a stove-top or fryer, birthing the restaurant’s signature Italian-style pizzas. The result is a perfectly charred, yet soft crust made from organic flour grown in the Canadian prairies. Goat cheese, calabrese salami, and fresh ricotta top the pies, just to name a few toppings. Appetizers, salads and sandwiches rely on fresh ingredients

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lindsay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 488-2554

Website:
http://www.carbonecoalfiredpizza.com/

Entertainment:
8 Flat Screen TVs play anything from sports (with the sound on for Jets Games) to the Food Network.

Fresh and Trendy Music play on the speakers throughout the dining room, and private back room.
Live entertainment takes place during special occasions.

Catering:
Carbone offers catering to local businesses, and for private functions. It is common for groups of up to 100+ to plan ahead, and place an order for appetizers, salads, signature pizzas and dessert.

Parking Details:
There are over 100 parking spots right in front of the restaurant, along with 2 spots designated for takeout orders.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Paletta

Private Party Facilities:
Carbone has a private room that can seat up to 24 guests. It is perfect for birthdays, anniversary parties, business meetings, or simply a night out with the entire family.

Private Party Contact:
Rachelle: 2044882554

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Food
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Service
Winnipeg / Manitoba
5 More
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Best Overall
Winnipeg
Best Food
Winnipeg
Best Service
Winnipeg
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Casual (5)
See All
Good for Groups (5)
Great for Lunch (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Family Style (3)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Cozy (2)
Fireplace (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Live Sports (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Romantic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
Newest
84 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Enjoyed the Hummas, Greek Salad and Coa ...

 
 (Vancouver)
·Dined 4 days ago

Enjoyed the Hummas, Greek Salad and Coal Fired Pizza with pesto and garlic. Would definitely go back next time back in Winnipeg.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

It really paid off to reserve a table, t ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined 7 days ago

It really paid off to reserve a table, the place was quite busy and was almost full during our entire meal. Service was friendly and wait time for pizza was about average and well worth it. The coal fired pizza was very good! A very tasty orange gelato was a great way to finish off our excellent dining experience. Carbone is in our neighbourhood and we would look forward to coming back another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nice servers, attentive & friendly witho ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice servers, attentive & friendly without phony. Could use a few more pizza options & topping choices. Pizzas are very tasty & crusts are crisp but not dry. It's noisy up front, back room is quieter

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We have been to Carbone's several times ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

We have been to Carbone's several times and have always enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

the pizza was pretty good but a topping ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

the pizza was pretty good but a topping was left off one of them & by the time we got it added , the pizza was kind of cold(they added the missing red peppers to the pizza at the table)..we ordered a couple of bottles of wine which were $35 each..I guess that is the going rate but it feels like more of a casual place & perhaps the wine menu should reflect that..all in all, pretty expensive for a get together with friends in a casual atmosphere..but I guess nothing is cheap these days.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

Pizza is pricy but extremely good. Will ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Pizza is pricy but extremely good. Will certainly go again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Live Sports, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Tyrol pizza withe a shared Greco salad m ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Tyrol pizza withe a shared Greco salad made for a wonderful date night. The service as always was superb. First time dining in the fireplace room and it just ups the ambiance of the night as well. Thank you for the wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went to Carbone's for a family gather ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went to Carbone's for a family gathering. Pizza was delicious as usual. Staff allowed us to linger long after we had paid our bill because we were so focused on watching the Olympics.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always dependable service and food quali ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Always dependable service and food quality. Nice casual environment suitable for most occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Were very accommodating of our children ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Were very accommodating of our children (6 and 12) but no specific kid's menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Very enjoyable. Nice to try different t ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very enjoyable. Nice to try different toppings on pizza. The caesar salad is amazing. We really enjoyed it. Service was excellent and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The salad with chick peas and hard boile ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The salad with chick peas and hard boiled egg was yummy... the dressing was perfectly tangy and seasoned. Our pizza was totally yummy...with caramelized onions, sauteed mushrooms, pepperoni and roasted red peppers.... The caramelized onions would make your shoes taste wonderful... tee, hee... Our waitress Renee was absolutely lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I did not think the value of the pizza w ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

I did not think the value of the pizza was worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

service was great and food was delicious ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

service was great and food was delicious, overall great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Having come from Connecticut and having ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Having come from Connecticut and having enjoyed Frank Pepe and Sally's [and now living in Los Angeles which is a pizza desert] I was looking forward to Carbone's coal fired oven. . . . . perhaps my expectation was too high. The pizza was very good but the crust on the extra large we has soft and mushy on the inside 2/3rds without a little bit of crisp - perhaps the oven was not hot enough.

The beer was cheap, the service was great, everyone was friendly - good place to come for pizza if you're in Winnipeg - but its not New Haven quality . . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Missed meal

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

The waitress didn't order my meal and someone else delivered our food to the table. It took us a couple of tries to get her attention and when I asked about the other meal she said it would be ready in a minute. Of course because they had to cook it then it was rushed and not overly tasty. A sloppy presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Amazing atmosphere, service was quick an ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing atmosphere, service was quick and friendly. There was a wide variety of authentic Italian food to choose from. The wood fired pizza was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing Service

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was incredible. When I ordered, I had an idea of what it was in my head, and what I brought was not exactly what I had expected. The server realized right away that something was wrong and handled it incredibly well and made it exactly what I wanted, in no time and with an incredibly relaxed and positive attitude! The food was amazing, though the venue was loud, it was enjoyable and will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Bravo Carbone!!

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

There were four of us and we ordered there different pizzas. All four of us commented that our pizzas were among the best we have ever eaten. Bravo Carbone!! We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

A great place for thin crust Italian piz ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

A great place for thin crust Italian pizza. We had the Tyrol (ham, sausage and mushrooms) great crust, the right amount of toppings, delicious. We also liked the turkey meatballs for the appetizer. Usually this place is very popular, make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

To my disappointment they did not have m ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on March 5, 2016

To my disappointment they did not have my reservation, it was a good thing the couple that was with us had already gotten a table as they got there early. When we received our pizzas they were lukewarm, thought with the ovens right by us they would be hot, the flavor was there but we should have sent them back to heat up. I would go back but would make sure our pizzas were hot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Pizza was ok. Liked the new white. Servi ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on February 29, 2016

Pizza was ok. Liked the new white.

Service was not very attentive, even though there weren't many diners.

I said we were there for a birthday, but nothing was done...not even a happy birthday wish.

Will probably not return...better pizza for the same price at other places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Carbone's, Thursdays is BYOW(ine)!

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food, great service. We took advantage of Thursday's BYOW(ine) night, and it really allowed us to maximize our value. We had an excellent night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants. Price, ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Price, service and friendly atmosphere. On line reservations...awesome touch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Pizza was barely warm, raw in the middle ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Pizza was barely warm, raw in the middle yet burned in edges. Very disappointing as try to support area restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Good Food, Service not so much

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on January 24, 2016

The pizza we ordered was amazing and we really appreciate that the Carbone chef's were able to do half and half toppings. That was really nice of them. We also ordered the original wings but those were underwhelming and lacked a lot of flavor. I had to keep dipping mine in the hot sauce to get some flavor. It would be nice to serve the wings with maybe a blue cheese or ranch dipping sauce as an option to spruce up the flavor.

The service was just okay. Our waitress was very quick and to the point; which is good if you want fast service but sometimes we felt she didn't take the time to answer our questions. I think the night we went Carbone's they were understaffed or something.

It was very dark in the back room and a bit too cool.

Overall we will be back in the future for pizza; but because it's on the more expensive side....it won't be in the near future. It's a "once in a while treat yourself" kind of place.

Thanks.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Definitely a restaurant to try.

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

A nice casual atmosphere. Great food. You can make reservations. Good to go with a group of people so u can share a few different pizzas.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food. Service was a bit slow and r ...

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on January 16, 2016

Great food. Service was a bit slow and refills the sever forgot to refill drinks after being asked.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Good pizza, good service, nice new restaurant.

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on January 4, 2016

Great spot for couples, small groups to have a nice drink and pizza/salad in a clean and friendly environment.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Great food, great atmosphere

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined on New Years Eve, but felt as if it was any other night. Despite being busy we had excellent and speedy service, high quality food and drink and never felt neglected.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Good Food, Strange Service

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was excellent, server seemed flustered and confused. Liquor menu didn't match what liquor they had available. Overall this did not ruin the experience, just made it a bit interesting.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Good food reasonable prices

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on October 6, 2015

A few friends met for a visit recently at Carbone. Service was fast and friendly. The pizza and salad were very delicious as was the wine. Prices were very reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent pizza

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 15, 2015

Mix up with our reservation. Reserved a table. Were seated at the bar which was not acceptable due to physical limitations for 1 diner. Staff were able to accommodate by providing a tiny table. Would have had to leave otherwise. Pizza was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Woodfield feast

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on August 7, 2015

My wife, my two nieces, my nephew and myself stopped by Carbone on a Thursday evening and we were absolutely wowed with a beautiful meal. We started with the white pizza (no pizza sauce) and the first bite left a flavor explosion in your mouth where you just needed more. We finished with with an arugula/goat cheese pizza where the toppings absolutely blended perfectly on the beautuful fired crust. The service was good as we did have a reservation, the restaurant itself was full but our meal came quite quickly and our waitress was very knowledgeable when we asked about the menu.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Pizza crusts delicious, wine selection good......

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 14, 2015

Server could have been a little more friendly, delivered all in good time, but seem to have trouble with eye contact.. Chairs are not that comfortable, they are hard on the legs in summer with short skirts or shorts.

The food was fabulous and that is what matters, prizes reasonable.

Would love a more local location, like the village on osborne or corydon, or what about osborne south, where the old bistro 714 was...

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Excellent Pizza

 
 (Montreal)
·Dined on July 4, 2015

When there with a group of 6 and loved it!! Make sure you try the turkey meatballs!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great pizzas

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on July 3, 2015

Pizzas were great, service not bad. We had a table at the back of the restaurant behind the curtains, terrible or no atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3

Great pizza

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 23, 2015

We tried out Carbone because of its high rating on TripAdvisor. Although we were the only ones there for the first hour or so, it was apparent by the time we left that it is quickly becoming a popular spot and gaining a solid reputation for delicious appetizers and pizza. We tried two signature pizzas, both of which were delicious! Service was friendly and efficient. Family friendly and located in a strip mall with ample parking.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Great food. Good service.

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on May 16, 2015

Went for dinner with the wife and we were sat quickly. Service was prompt and attentive even though the place was filling up quick. Pizza is fresh and tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot!

 
 (Manitoba)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Great service, good food, reasonably priced wine and nice atmosphere. The sharing salad is enough for four people for about $12. Most resturants over charge for a salad. This is a great idea. Server was very pleasant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.