Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 2.16mi
  3. Distance: 2.57mi
  4. Distance: 2.72mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.64mi
  2. Distance: 2.16mi
  3. Distance: 2.57mi
  4. Distance: 2.72mi

About Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave

July 12th, 2011 - The First Coal Fired Pizza Restaurant in Canada opens its doors.

Inside Carbone Coal Fired Pizza, an 850-degree anthracite-coal-burning oven reigns unrivaled by a stove-top or fryer, birthing the restaurant’s signature Italian-style pizzas. The result is a perfectly charred, yet soft crust made from organic flour grown in the Canadian prairies. Goat cheese, calabrese salami, and fresh ricotta top the pies, just to name a few toppings. Appetizers, salads and sandwiches rely on fresh ingredients

1580 Taylor Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3N 2B5
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lindsay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 488-2554

Website:
http://www.carbonecoalfiredpizza.com/

Entertainment:
8 Flat Screen TVs play anything from sports (with the sound on for Jets Games) to the Food Network.

Fresh and Trendy Music play on the speakers throughout the dining room, and private back room.
Live entertainment takes place during special occasions.

Catering:
Carbone offers catering to local businesses, and for private functions. It is common for groups of up to 100+ to plan ahead, and place an order for appetizers, salads, signature pizzas and dessert.

Parking Details:
There are over 100 parking spots right in front of the restaurant, along with 2 spots designated for takeout orders.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Paletta

Private Party Facilities:
Carbone has a private room that can seat up to 24 guests. It is perfect for birthdays, anniversary parties, business meetings, or simply a night out with the entire family.

Private Party Contact:
Rachelle: (204) 488-2554

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Tasting Menu (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Casual (4)
See All
Creative Cuisine (4)
Wood Oven (4)
Great for Brunch (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Romantic (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Special Occasion (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Family Style (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Business Meals (1)
Fun (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Authentic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Cozy (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Waterfront (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Live Sports (1)
Organic (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sort By:
S
100 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on April 8, 2017

I enjoyed the meal but too noisy to carry on a conversation with friends

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Staff is A1! So perfect on timing from seating to drinks, to good (super fast) to clearing dishes. My chair was a bit wobbly but other than that, great experience. Personally I'd like more cheese on my pizza and the tables and chairs could be made bigger to accommodate the large pizza pans but that aside they have the most difficult parts of the equation nailed (service and quality food!)! A tad pricey but hey, you have to make a profit right?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Food was very fresh tasting....had the anti pasto, focchia bread, callabresse pizza and I forget the name of the other one. Everything we ate was amazing high quality and fresh. Service was great. I was never left slurping on my ice cubes. Always had someone coming by with a refill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Romantic, Waterfront, Local Ingredients, Live Sports, Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Organic, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Always a favourite - the pizzas are delicious with great toppings and a thin crust. Staff has been friendly and the atmosphere is nice without being pretentious.

Tags: Modern Decor, Disabled Access, Wood Oven, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Pizzas are very good, thin crust and high quality toppings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Not enough food selections on your menu. Missing 3 forks on our table. Chairs are uncomfortable. I spent money at your resturant and asked for a silent auction prize in return to go toward my wedding social and your company couldn't be bothered even though I provided a donation letter and proof of valid ticket. Won't be back again.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Consistently delicious and always enjoyable. Great people too.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 9, 2017

It's about time that we have an authentic Italian Pizza restaurant in Wpg. Carbone's is the real thing. It's the best pizza in Wpg & I only wish they would open one up in the north part of Wpg.

Tags: Good for a Date, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 8, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and it is a favourite for casual dining with friends.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Romantic, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Very enjoyable evening. We were there later in the evening and they were very accommodating. Our reservation was for 930 and they called and told us the kitchen oven closed at 10:00 but even still while we were there they offered us many chances to get more food after our original order was taken. Great waiter and kitchen staff. Very impressed.

Tags: Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Casual, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Booked a table for 4. I Called later to ask if they could add one more person to our table. They said absolutely not:they were completely booked for the whole night. Yet the entire time we were there, we were basically the only ones in the entire restaurant. Wasn't very happy that we had to tell our friend to stay home, and ended up having about 10 5-seater tables to choose from. Plenty of room for her.
For the amount of money they charged us, we could have had a delicious menu at the Keg instead. Kids menu has ONE option. Gluten free pizza was so bland. Not worth the $20+ . All of the toppings tasted the same (like nothing). I've had much better elsewhere. Greens salad was pretty good. But, you can't really screw up salad. Wings were boring. Sautéed onions on top of the wings were pointless. Was I expected to eat the onions with my hands? Weird choice of topping.
$8 per drink. Cosmo and spicy Caesar were good. But that's the only compliment I can really give.
We won't be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 16, 2016

I took my god daughter there for her 17th birthday - she loved it and we both got great choices to fit our hunger! I enjoyed the salad and got a great side pita - delish! My friend's pizza was awesome she said so all in all a great place to go.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Casual, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Quick Bite, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Delicious food, great service :) would definitely go again!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Wood Oven, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Very nice neighbourhood restaurant. The food was very good & the service excellent.

Tags: Disabled Access, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on October 19, 2016

The spicy chicken wings and caesar salad were less impressive than homecooked meals, we also asked to remove the onions from the wings but still got them. The new white pizza was superbe though - filling and delicious, i would recommend it! The ladies were patient with my kids who kept asking for iced tea refills - thanks!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined on September 27, 2016

Enjoyed the Hummas, Greek Salad and Coal Fired Pizza with pesto and garlic. Would definitely go back next time back in Winnipeg.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 24, 2016

It really paid off to reserve a table, the place was quite busy and was almost full during our entire meal. Service was friendly and wait time for pizza was about average and well worth it. The coal fired pizza was very good! A very tasty orange gelato was a great way to finish off our excellent dining experience. Carbone is in our neighbourhood and we would look forward to coming back another time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Nice servers, attentive & friendly without phony. Could use a few more pizza options & topping choices. Pizzas are very tasty & crusts are crisp but not dry. It's noisy up front, back room is quieter

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 7, 2016

We have been to Carbone's several times and have always enjoyed it very much.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 5, 2016

the pizza was pretty good but a topping was left off one of them & by the time we got it added , the pizza was kind of cold(they added the missing red peppers to the pizza at the table)..we ordered a couple of bottles of wine which were $35 each..I guess that is the going rate but it feels like more of a casual place & perhaps the wine menu should reflect that..all in all, pretty expensive for a get together with friends in a casual atmosphere..but I guess nothing is cheap these days.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on September 2, 2016

Pizza is pricy but extremely good. Will certainly go again.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Modern Decor, Wood Oven, Gluten Free Options, Disabled Access, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Live Sports, Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Tyrol pizza withe a shared Greco salad made for a wonderful date night. The service as always was superb. First time dining in the fireplace room and it just ups the ambiance of the night as well. Thank you for the wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on August 9, 2016

We went to Carbone's for a family gathering. Pizza was delicious as usual. Staff allowed us to linger long after we had paid our bill because we were so focused on watching the Olympics.

Tags: Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven, Family Style, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Always dependable service and food quality. Nice casual environment suitable for most occasions.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 24, 2016

Were very accommodating of our children (6 and 12) but no specific kid's menu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Very enjoyable. Nice to try different toppings on pizza. The caesar salad is amazing. We really enjoyed it. Service was excellent and friendly.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 2, 2016

The salad with chick peas and hard boiled egg was yummy... the dressing was perfectly tangy and seasoned. Our pizza was totally yummy...with caramelized onions, sauteed mushrooms, pepperoni and roasted red peppers.... The caramelized onions would make your shoes taste wonderful... tee, hee... Our waitress Renee was absolutely lovely.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on July 1, 2016

I did not think the value of the pizza was worth the price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on June 18, 2016

service was great and food was delicious, overall great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 5, 2016

Having come from Connecticut and having enjoyed Frank Pepe and Sally's [and now living in Los Angeles which is a pizza desert] I was looking forward to Carbone's coal fired oven. . . . . perhaps my expectation was too high. The pizza was very good but the crust on the extra large we has soft and mushy on the inside 2/3rds without a little bit of crisp - perhaps the oven was not hot enough.

The beer was cheap, the service was great, everyone was friendly - good place to come for pizza if you're in Winnipeg - but its not New Haven quality . . .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 29, 2016

The waitress didn't order my meal and someone else delivered our food to the table. It took us a couple of tries to get her attention and when I asked about the other meal she said it would be ready in a minute. Of course because they had to cook it then it was rushed and not overly tasty. A sloppy presentation.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing atmosphere, service was quick and friendly. There was a wide variety of authentic Italian food to choose from. The wood fired pizza was out of this world.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was incredible. When I ordered, I had an idea of what it was in my head, and what I brought was not exactly what I had expected. The server realized right away that something was wrong and handled it incredibly well and made it exactly what I wanted, in no time and with an incredibly relaxed and positive attitude! The food was amazing, though the venue was loud, it was enjoyable and will definitely go back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on May 8, 2016

There were four of us and we ordered there different pizzas. All four of us commented that our pizzas were among the best we have ever eaten. Bravo Carbone!! We will definitely come back.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Edmonton)·Dined on March 19, 2016

A great place for thin crust Italian pizza. We had the Tyrol (ham, sausage and mushrooms) great crust, the right amount of toppings, delicious. We also liked the turkey meatballs for the appetizer. Usually this place is very popular, make reservations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on March 5, 2016

To my disappointment they did not have my reservation, it was a good thing the couple that was with us had already gotten a table as they got there early. When we received our pizzas they were lukewarm, thought with the ovens right by us they would be hot, the flavor was there but we should have sent them back to heat up. I would go back but would make sure our pizzas were hot

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 29, 2016

Pizza was ok. Liked the new white.
Service was not very attentive, even though there weren't many diners.
I said we were there for a birthday, but nothing was done...not even a happy birthday wish.
Will probably not return...better pizza for the same price at other places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food, great service. We took advantage of Thursday's BYOW(ine) night, and it really allowed us to maximize our value. We had an excellent night.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 15, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Price, service and friendly atmosphere. On line reservations...awesome touch.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Manitoba)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Pizza was barely warm, raw in the middle yet burned in edges. Very disappointing as try to support area restaurants

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.