Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave

3.9
124 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Great for Lunch
  • Casual
  • Comfort Food
July 12th, 2011 - The First Coal Fired Pizza Restaurant in Canada opens its doors.

Inside Carbone Coal Fired Pizza, an 850-degree anthracite-coal-burning oven reigns unrivaled by a stove-top or fryer, birthing the restaurant’s signature Italian-style pizzas. The result is a perfectly charred, yet soft crust made from organic flour grown in the Canadian prairies. Goat cheese, calabrese salami, and fresh ricotta top the pies, just to name a few toppings. Appetizers, salads and sandwiches rely on fresh ingredients
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(204) 488-2554
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Joseph Paletta
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
Carbone has a private room that can seat up to 24 guests. It is perfect for birthdays, anniversary parties, business meetings, or simply a night out with the entire family.
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Rachelle: (204) 488-2554
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
Carbone offers catering to local businesses, and for private functions. It is common for groups of up to 100+ to plan ahead, and place an order for appetizers, salads, signature pizzas and dessert.
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Lindsay Street
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
There are over 100 parking spots right in front of the restaurant, along with 2 spots designated for takeout orders.
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
8 Flat Screen TVs play anything from sports (with the sound on for Jets Games) to the Food Network.

Fresh and Trendy Music play on the speakers throughout the dining room, and private back room.
Live entertainment takes place during special occasions.
Additional
Bar Dining, Beer, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 124 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.9based on recent ratings
4.3
food
3.9
service
3.6
ambience
3.8
value
Noise · Quiet
60% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined on June 2, 2018

The middle of the pizza was not done the edge was and that was tasty. The salad was good but she blueberry crisp dessert was mediocre at best. Dry shriveld blue berries sitting in watery juice. The crust on top had really no flavour. Very disappointed
The waiter was very nice and friendly

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 17, 2018

Fantastic pizza. Quality toppings and great crust. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 16, 2018

The pizza was very good. When our pizzas were brought to us, the manager ( at least I think that's who it was) suggested fresh Parmesan cheese, which we agreed would be great, but he did not come back to bring it to us. The waitress eventually came and when we asked for the cheese, she did bring it. Defiantly over priced. Tables were small. Noisy, difficult to carry on a conversation. I watched tables being set up for a larger group, a from where I sat, they were dusty. The employee did not wipe them off.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on March 14, 2018

The food was delicious but the rest of the experience was ridiculous. First, we walked in a few minutes before our reservation and the hostess informed us that they had given away our table so we would have to wait until someone was finished eating which would be around half an hour. When I expressed that this was unacceptable, the service team put together a table in the middle of the room for us. We waited 50 minutes for our pizzas and all of the surrounding tables were waiting similar amounts of time, as it seemed as though the kitchen was pumping out all of the takeout pizzas before fulfilling our orders. In the meantime we were not offered drinks for half an hour, and then when offered refills they never came. We were charged for multiple drinks that we did not receive. The restaurant should be better prepared for promotional days like March 14th if they are going to offer specials, because this experience leaves a horrible impression of the restaurant for everyone involved.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Great place! Food is always good. Family friendly.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 19, 2018

Have previously visited the downtown location and enjoyed the stay. My wife and my anniversary was on the 19th and we decided to book a table, the only method being booking online. All other locations did not have the time slot we required except for the Taylor location, which happened to be the furthest away. The hours of operation showed the store was open and the table reservation had the slot we required so we booked and received a confirmation number. Drove across the city and to our surprise, restaurant was closed. In the parking lot, another couple were waiting at the door for the exact same reason and were very upset.
Unfortunate turn of events, do not see myself visiting this location again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 27, 2018

we have ordered takeout from carbone before and have enjoyed our meal, but the pizza was awesome fresh. we were also offered a chili oil that was amazing. very enjoyable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 22, 2018

Had the Caesar salad, done with just the right amount of dressing, pizza, and wings. All done with a touch of class. Attentive service was nice.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on January 6, 2018

The service was good. That’s the only positive thing I can think of. I had to wear my jacket because their was a strong draft, I’m guessing from the front door. The chairs were absolute crap, small, rickety and uncomfortable. Did not make you want to spend any extra time in the restaurant. They have Chardonnay but you can’t order it by the glass. Open the bottle and pour a glass, simple. No intentions to visit this location again. The downtown locations was a lot better

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

Staff was good, food was very good. Not overly impressed 8n the ambiance.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 4, 2018

We joined two other couples for lunch on Thursday. Shared a large Caesar salad and it was great and plenty as an appetizer for six. Pizzas were fresh and tasty. Service was excellent. We loved the fact that you can bring our own wine and pay corkage. Corkage is normally $10.00, but only $5.00 on Thursday (all day long). Good food and reasonable prices. Great for lunch.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 26, 2017

Service was very good, friendly and quick, we appreciated that. We ordered pizza and salad. The salad was not very flavorful (caesar) but fresh. The pizza was ok, just a little shy on the basil topping. Overall, it was fine, could have had a bit more flavor in the food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 12, 2017

Great Pizza.... Coal fired.... friendly staff, very clean. Would recommend and go back definitely.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 9, 2017

The pizzas are absolutely fabulous. We will recommend the restaurant to our friends

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 27, 2017

Great food as always and service was prompt and friendly

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 15, 2017

Perfect location for dinner. Lovely staff and great dinner.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 28, 2017

Disappointed with the wings. Small and overcooked. Tasty pizza but the middle was soggy. Outer crust was great but inside part was mush from too much sauce. Get the pizza with meat and mushrooms, very good.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 18, 2017

Usually, we love Carbone's...it's a neighbourhood gem.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 14, 2017

Really good food, but the custom build pizza toppings are a bit too expensive given the base price.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 10, 2017

Try the chicken wings! Very good crust. Will go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on June 3, 2017

The best pizza in Winnipeg! You have to try!
I loved!❤️

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 26, 2017

The front area is way too noisy.
Baffles hanging from ceiling must be much larger and hung lower to absorb some of the excessive noise.
Also, a softer floor material would help.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2017

The food is unbelievably tasty with some great options for gluten free (for a price upgrade). The service was adequate. Not too busy, but not too observant with empty water glasses and items requested that we had to wait awhile to receive. Other than that, a great hot spot for any occasion. The food was actually so good, we headed back there the same week.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 8, 2017

I enjoyed the meal but too noisy to carry on a conversation with friends

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2017

Staff is A1! So perfect on timing from seating to drinks, to good (super fast) to clearing dishes. My chair was a bit wobbly but other than that, great experience. Personally I'd like more cheese on my pizza and the tables and chairs could be made bigger to accommodate the large pizza pans but that aside they have the most difficult parts of the equation nailed (service and quality food!)! A tad pricey but hey, you have to make a profit right?

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was very fresh tasting....had the anti pasto, focchia bread, callabresse pizza and I forget the name of the other one. Everything we ate was amazing high quality and fresh. Service was great. I was never left slurping on my ice cubes. Always had someone coming by with a refill.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Always a favourite - the pizzas are delicious with great toppings and a thin crust. Staff has been friendly and the atmosphere is nice without being pretentious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on February 10, 2017

Pizzas are very good, thin crust and high quality toppings.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Not enough food selections on your menu. Missing 3 forks on our table. Chairs are uncomfortable. I spent money at your resturant and asked for a silent auction prize in return to go toward my wedding social and your company couldn't be bothered even though I provided a donation letter and proof of valid ticket. Won't be back again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 3, 2017

Consistently delicious and always enjoyable. Great people too.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 9, 2017

It's about time that we have an authentic Italian Pizza restaurant in Wpg. Carbone's is the real thing. It's the best pizza in Wpg & I only wish they would open one up in the north part of Wpg.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 7, 2017

We have been to this restaurant many times and it is a favourite for casual dining with friends.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Very enjoyable evening. We were there later in the evening and they were very accommodating. Our reservation was for 930 and they called and told us the kitchen oven closed at 10:00 but even still while we were there they offered us many chances to get more food after our original order was taken. Great waiter and kitchen staff. Very impressed.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on December 31, 2016

Booked a table for 4. I Called later to ask if they could add one more person to our table. They said absolutely not:they were completely booked for the whole night. Yet the entire time we were there, we were basically the only ones in the entire restaurant. Wasn't very happy that we had to tell our friend to stay home, and ended up having about 10 5-seater tables to choose from. Plenty of room for her.
For the amount of money they charged us, we could have had a delicious menu at the Keg instead. Kids menu has ONE option. Gluten free pizza was so bland. Not worth the $20+ . All of the toppings tasted the same (like nothing). I've had much better elsewhere. Greens salad was pretty good. But, you can't really screw up salad. Wings were boring. Sautéed onions on top of the wings were pointless. Was I expected to eat the onions with my hands? Weird choice of topping.
$8 per drink. Cosmo and spicy Caesar were good. But that's the only compliment I can really give.
We won't be returning.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 15, 2016

I took my god daughter there for her 17th birthday - she loved it and we both got great choices to fit our hunger! I enjoyed the salad and got a great side pita - delish! My friend's pizza was awesome she said so all in all a great place to go.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 12, 2016

Delicious food, great service :) would definitely go again!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 19, 2016

Very nice neighbourhood restaurant. The food was very good & the service excellent.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on October 18, 2016

The spicy chicken wings and caesar salad were less impressive than homecooked meals, we also asked to remove the onions from the wings but still got them. The new white pizza was superbe though - filling and delicious, i would recommend it! The ladies were patient with my kids who kept asking for iced tea refills - thanks!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 27, 2016

Enjoyed the Hummas, Greek Salad and Coal Fired Pizza with pesto and garlic. Would definitely go back next time back in Winnipeg.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on September 24, 2016

It really paid off to reserve a table, the place was quite busy and was almost full during our entire meal. Service was friendly and wait time for pizza was about average and well worth it. The coal fired pizza was very good! A very tasty orange gelato was a great way to finish off our excellent dining experience. Carbone is in our neighbourhood and we would look forward to coming back another time.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4

Tweets by Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave