About Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave

1580 Taylor Avenue
Winnipeg, MB R3N 2B5
View Larger Map

July 12th, 2011 - The First Coal Fired Pizza Restaurant in Canada opens its doors.

Inside Carbone Coal Fired Pizza, an 850-degree anthracite-coal-burning oven reigns unrivaled by a stove-top or fryer, birthing the restaurant’s signature Italian-style pizzas. The result is a perfectly charred, yet soft crust made from organic flour grown in the Canadian prairies. Goat cheese, calabrese salami, and fresh ricotta top the pies, just to name a few toppings. Appetizers, salads and sandwiches rely on fresh ingredients

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:

Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 5:00pm, Saturday - Sunday: 1:00pm - 5:00pm
Dinner: Sunday - Wednesday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm, Thursday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Lindsay Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(204) 488-2554

Website:
http://www.carbonecoalfiredpizza.com/

Entertainment:
8 Flat Screen TVs play anything from sports (with the sound on for Jets Games) to the Food Network.

Fresh and Trendy Music play on the speakers throughout the dining room, and private back room.
Live entertainment takes place during special occasions.

Catering:
Carbone offers catering to local businesses, and for private functions. It is common for groups of up to 100+ to plan ahead, and place an order for appetizers, salads, signature pizzas and dessert.

Parking Details:
There are over 100 parking spots right in front of the restaurant, along with 2 spots designated for takeout orders.

Executive Chef:
Joseph Paletta

Private Party Facilities:
Carbone has a private room that can seat up to 24 guests. It is perfect for birthdays, anniversary parties, business meetings, or simply a night out with the entire family.

Private Party Contact:
Rachelle: 2044882554

Additional:
Bar Dining, Beer, Counter Seating, Delivery, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Late Night, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Carbone Coal Fired Pizza - Taylor Ave Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.4

ambience

3.9

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg / Manitoba
Neighborhood Gem
Winnipeg
Best Restaurants in Winnipeg ›

neighborhood gem (21)
fit for foodies (14)
good for groups (8)
See All
great for lunch (8)
special occasion (8)
romantic (6)
late-night find (4)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
notable wine list (3)
great for brunch (1)
scenic view (1)
great for outdoor dining (1)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
68 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing atmosphere, service was quick an ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

Amazing atmosphere, service was quick and friendly. There was a wide variety of authentic Italian food to choose from. The wood fired pizza was out of this world.

food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Amazing Service

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server was incredible. When I ordered, I had an idea of what it was in my head, and what I brought was not exactly what I had expected. The server realized right away that something was wrong and handled it incredibly well and made it exactly what I wanted, in no time and with an incredibly relaxed and positive attitude! The food was amazing, though the venue was loud, it was enjoyable and will definitely go back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Bravo Carbone!!

Dined on May 8, 2016

There were four of us and we ordered there different pizzas. All four of us commented that our pizzas were among the best we have ever eaten. Bravo Carbone!! We will definitely come back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

A great place for thin crust Italian piz ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

A great place for thin crust Italian pizza. We had the Tyrol (ham, sausage and mushrooms) great crust, the right amount of toppings, delicious. We also liked the turkey meatballs for the appetizer. Usually this place is very popular, make reservations.

food2
ambience3
service3
value2

To my disappointment they did not have m ...

Dined on March 5, 2016

To my disappointment they did not have my reservation, it was a good thing the couple that was with us had already gotten a table as they got there early. When we received our pizzas they were lukewarm, thought with the ovens right by us they would be hot, the flavor was there but we should have sent them back to heat up. I would go back but would make sure our pizzas were hot

Tags: neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Pizza was ok. Liked the new white. Servi ...

Dined on February 29, 2016

Pizza was ok. Liked the new white. Service was not very attentive, even though there weren't many diners. I said we were there for a birthday, but nothing was done...not even a happy birthday wish. Will probably not return...better pizza for the same price at other places in the area.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Carbone's, Thursdays is BYOW(ine)!

Dined on February 19, 2016

Great food, great service. We took advantage of Thursday's BYOW(ine) night, and it really allowed us to maximize our value. We had an excellent night.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of my favorite restaurants. Price, ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

One of my favorite restaurants. Price, service and friendly atmosphere. On line reservations...awesome touch.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience5
service4
value3

Pizza was barely warm, raw in the middle ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Pizza was barely warm, raw in the middle yet burned in edges. Very disappointing as try to support area restaurants

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good Food, Service not so much

Dined on January 24, 2016

The pizza we ordered was amazing and we really appreciate that the Carbone chef's were able to do half and half toppings. That was really nice of them. We also ordered the original wings but those were underwhelming and lacked a lot of flavor. I had to keep dipping mine in the hot sauce to get some flavor. It would be nice to serve the wings with maybe a blue cheese or ranch dipping sauce as an option to spruce up the flavor. The service was just okay. Our waitress was very quick and to the point; which is good if you want fast service but sometimes we felt she didn't take the time to answer our questions. I think the night we went Carbone's they were understaffed or something. It was very dark in the back room and a bit too cool. Overall we will be back in the future for pizza; but because it's on the more expensive side....it won't be in the near future. It's a "once in a while treat yourself" kind of place. Thanks.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Definitely a restaurant to try.

Dined on January 17, 2016

A nice casual atmosphere. Great food. You can make reservations. Good to go with a group of people so u can share a few different pizzas.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Great food. Service was a bit slow and r ...

Dined on January 16, 2016

Great food. Service was a bit slow and refills the sever forgot to refill drinks after being asked.

food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Good pizza, good service, nice new restaurant.

Dined on January 4, 2016

Great spot for couples, small groups to have a nice drink and pizza/salad in a clean and friendly environment.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food, great atmosphere

Dined on January 1, 2016

We dined on New Years Eve, but felt as if it was any other night. Despite being busy we had excellent and speedy service, high quality food and drink and never felt neglected.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience3
service2

Good Food, Strange Service

Dined on November 29, 2015

Food was excellent, server seemed flustered and confused. Liquor menu didn't match what liquor they had available. Overall this did not ruin the experience, just made it a bit interesting.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good food reasonable prices

Dined on October 6, 2015

A few friends met for a visit recently at Carbone. Service was fast and friendly. The pizza and salad were very delicious as was the wine. Prices were very reasonable.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience3
service4

Excellent pizza

Dined on August 15, 2015

Mix up with our reservation. Reserved a table. Were seated at the bar which was not acceptable due to physical limitations for 1 diner. Staff were able to accommodate by providing a tiny table. Would have had to leave otherwise. Pizza was amazing!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Woodfield feast

Dined on August 7, 2015

My wife, my two nieces, my nephew and myself stopped by Carbone on a Thursday evening and we were absolutely wowed with a beautiful meal. We started with the white pizza (no pizza sauce) and the first bite left a flavor explosion in your mouth where you just needed more. We finished with with an arugula/goat cheese pizza where the toppings absolutely blended perfectly on the beautuful fired crust. The service was good as we did have a reservation, the restaurant itself was full but our meal came quite quickly and our waitress was very knowledgeable when we asked about the menu.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Pizza crusts delicious, wine selection good......

Dined on July 14, 2015

Server could have been a little more friendly, delivered all in good time, but seem to have trouble with eye contact.. Chairs are not that comfortable, they are hard on the legs in summer with short skirts or shorts. The food was fabulous and that is what matters, prizes reasonable. Would love a more local location, like the village on osborne or corydon, or what about osborne south, where the old bistro 714 was...

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Excellent Pizza

Dined on July 4, 2015

When there with a group of 6 and loved it!! Make sure you try the turkey meatballs!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food4
ambience2
service3

Great pizzas

Dined on July 3, 2015

Pizzas were great, service not bad. We had a table at the back of the restaurant behind the curtains, terrible or no atmosphere.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

Great pizza

Dined on May 23, 2015

We tried out Carbone because of its high rating on TripAdvisor. Although we were the only ones there for the first hour or so, it was apparent by the time we left that it is quickly becoming a popular spot and gaining a solid reputation for delicious appetizers and pizza. We tried two signature pizzas, both of which were delicious! Service was friendly and efficient. Family friendly and located in a strip mall with ample parking.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food. Good service.

Dined on May 16, 2015

Went for dinner with the wife and we were sat quickly. Service was prompt and attentive even though the place was filling up quick. Pizza is fresh and tasty.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Spot!

Dined on April 19, 2015

Great service, good food, reasonably priced wine and nice atmosphere. The sharing salad is enough for four people for about $12. Most resturants over charge for a salad. This is a great idea. Server was very pleasant.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service3

Excelllent pizza!

Dined on April 11, 2015

First time here and will definitely be back! Casual atmosphere but comfortable. Menu selections were broad, we had the 'New White Pizza' which was amazing. Also tried the Tyrol, very good. Wine selection was good. Service was a bit slow but it's all hand made and we weren't in a hurry so we didn't mind the wait. We really enjoyed the meal and will be coming back (with the kids)!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5

Good food, great service

Dined on April 10, 2015

Went there for the hubby's birthday. The food was good. Portions were alright. Service was great. We were hoping for beers on tap at the table like the other location so were disappointed when we found out there were none. Seating is pretty limited and uncomfortable (no benches and no seat covers - I have a bad back so was pretty sore after an hour of sitting) But overall, I had a good time and would recommend the restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience1
service4

The pizza excellent and the service good/

Dined on January 10, 2015

The downfall was the cafeteria like atmosphere created by high ceilings, cool temperatures, and multiple televisions.

food3
ambience3
service1

Terrible service

Dined on December 28, 2014

Our waitress didn't take our orders until we waited forever then finally stopped her and asked her if we could order. She did not check up on us at all or refill our drinks unless we flagged her down and asked. She was friendly, just a poor server. I thought my pizza was ok, I had the gluten free Izabella, I didn't like how the arugula was cold and just tossed on and not warmly melted into the pizza. My boyfriend really liked his pizza. I got a gluten free brownie to go, it was awesome.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience3
service4

birthday dinner

Dined on December 6, 2014

Great food, although we always find the noise level too high in your restaurant. Not sure why, with such high ceilings, but too noisy. food and service were great, but tables don't have enough room for food and drink for 4 people. Our appitizers came and were great, but the plates they give for appies were way too big - glass of wine, water, plates, food, - very crowded. Love the online reservation booking. worked well, even when we changed the time.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5

Good pizza

Dined on December 4, 2014

Pizzas are fine. Not sure that the "coal" adds much to the the flavour, but the fire-baked process leads to an excellent crust and the toppings are fine. Everyone at the table enjoyed theirs. Server was definitely five-star.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

Good Pizza

Dined on November 16, 2014

We had reserved a table but were seated at the bar. Not a huge issue, but wasn't as comfortable. Great pizza, Caprese salad was so so.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service4

Good but pricy

Dined on November 15, 2014

The service was efficient and prompt but not particularly warm and friendly. The salad was good and the pizza was excellent. The wines were over priced. Overall the experience was a good one, but not great. Prior to going to the restaurant we had heard that the pizza was good but the place was very pricy. We agree and next time we will likely go to another restaurant where you can still get a good pizza meal at a more reasonable price.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience2
service3

Good wings! great Pizza! very busy!

Dined on November 9, 2014

make you have a reservation if you go on the weekend, otherwise you will have to wait in the "very small" foyer. The downtown location was completely booked! Next time i go will try the banana pizza.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

Nice Night Out

Dined on November 9, 2014

the pizza we had was good. It was nice to be able to modify our order. Staff were very nice. The service was very quick even during what seemed to be a very busy time in the restaurant. Would definitely go again and recommend to others!

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience3
service3

Enjoyed the food

Dined on November 2, 2014

Dining room & atmosphere was very nice, food was on the verge of being excelent. (Pizza crust and turkey meatballs were excelent) Would enjoy eating here again. Not thrilled that it took at least 10 minutes to have server to ask about drinks and server had no idea what the special soup of the day was, other than that service was pretty good. Pretty let down that the manager didn't once enter the dining room to see how our food was or how we were doing. Over all lunch was very good, best food I've been served on malmac plates. (Food & setting seemed to be deserving of glass plates)

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

First Visit!

Dined on October 26, 2014

Pizza is as good as any in Winnipeg, and better than most. Quality and choices of ingredients outstanding. Crust was thin and crunchy - fabulous! Just enough sauce and generous with the toppings. While prices are a bit high, the quality of pizza ensured we got value for our money. Party of 6 all enjoyed the pizza and all will come back for more - soon. Thanks for taking the pizza experience up a notch in Winnipeg!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience1
service3

Good food, poor experience

Dined on October 12, 2014

Pizza was great, but was diminished by the atmosphere. Chairs and tables were cheap, too small and uncomfortable. Focaccia bread and balsamic/olive oil dip was not on par with the rest of the meal. Childish pop music did not jive with the dining experience.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service4

We tried two of the vegetarian pizza opt ...

Dined on September 20, 2014

We tried two of the vegetarian pizza options on the menu and both were fantastic.

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Best pizza I've ever had

Dined on August 11, 2014

The pizza here is better than any other I've ever had. The atmosphere has a modern feel to it and was not very noisy.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious food!! Great location!!

Dined on August 8, 2014

Food was delicious and more than worth the reasonable and more than a less-than-timely wait. Recommend making a reso! You will get in on time and not be disappointed! An authentic Italian pizza experience! Ciao :)

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.