About Carbon County Steakhouse

121 S Broadway Ave
Red Lodge, MT 59068
View Larger Map

Carbon County Steakhouse offers a casual fine dining atmosphere in beautiful, down-town Red Lodge. Join us in our newly remodeled dining room or enjoy summer-time in Red Lodge on our popular patio. We are dedicated to providing our guests with the highest quality service and cuisine, making efforts to utilize conscientiously raised products. We hand-cut our signature steaks to ensure freshness nightly. Every evening our chef offer features of enticing appetizers, wild game and decadent desserts to enhance our menu. A great selection of seafood, including signature mussels are flown in twice weekly.
Our professional staff is knowledgeable in assisting you with finding a wine perfect for any occasion from our Wine Spectator awarded wine list. Carbon County Steakhouse serves dinner seven nights a week from 4:30pm to 9:00pm. Reservations are highly recommended.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary American, Seafood

Hours of Operation:

Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 4:30pm - 9:00pm.

Cross Street:
13th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(406) 446-4025

Website:
http://www.carboncountysteakhouse.com/

Entertainment:
Live music scheduled throughout the summer. Please find us on Facebook for information on upcoming events.

Catering:
Carbon County Catering offers friendly, professional staff providing exceptional service; full service catering for weddings, family reunions, fundraisers, company picnics, and private parties. A wide variety of menu selections are available as well as full bar services; perfect for any occasion. Carbon County Catering offers services in many of the surrounding areas.

Parking Details:
Public lot at rear entrance. Street parking also available throughout downtown.

Executive Chef:
Tyler Matthys

Private Party Facilities:
Carbon County Steakhouse features an upstairs dining area for up to 28 guests.. For larger parties, other options are available. Reservations required.

Private Party Contact:
Bonnie Ples: 406-446-4000x1

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Carbon County Steakhouse
Carbon County Steakhouse

Carbon County Steakhouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Montana
Best Service
Montana
Best Ambiance
Montana
4 More
Notable Wine List
Montana
Romantic
Montana
Special Occasion
Montana
Most Booked
Red Lodge
Best Restaurants in Red Lodge ›

special occasion (26)
romantic (19)
notable wine list (17)
See All
good for groups (15)
great for outdoor dining (13)
neighborhood gem (12)
fit for foodies (11)
hot spot (8)
kid-friendly (6)
late-night find (5)
great for lunch (4)
great for brunch (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
107 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Second time there in a month and it was ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Second time there in a month and it was awesome both times. The steaks are fantastic cuts with great flavor. I'll be back next time I'm in town.

Tags: notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A terrific evening made more so by very ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

A terrific evening made more so by very accommodating waitstaff and kitchen. Food allergies met with no consternation or difficulty on restaurants part. Excellent food served well!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We sat in the bar indoors, a lot of peo ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

We sat in the bar indoors, a lot of people walking through to find a hostess that was seldom at her podium.

Food was not as good as our last visit a year ago and the service is not as warm. Strange combinations of fruit and grains and sauces and the presentation is not as skilled. We were really looking forward to a wonderful meal. It fell short

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Fantastic dinner! Cobia with orzo and ch ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Fantastic dinner! Cobia with orzo and cherries could not have been better! Awesome ceviche and mussels! Service by Jess was amazing. 5 stars all the way.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a good steakhouse with a good wi ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

This is a good steakhouse with a good wine list. A combination not often found in a community this size. Food and wines by the glass were good quality. We felt a little rushed by servers, but we didn't alter our pace. Ambiance and noise levels were fine. Would have preferred outdoors, but it was a beautiful and busy summer night.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

Had a very good steak. Salad and potato ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Had a very good steak. Salad and potato was very good. Lobster was tough and without flavor. Basil butter was funky and not great. They did compensate us $20 for the inferior lobster. If Carbon County Steakhouse wants to be 'BIG TIME' then they need to get the lobster thing squared away. They seem like a place that learns as they go, so give them a shot. Go to Red Lodge Ales before and have a real nice appetizer as their beers are top notch.

Tags: late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server was Kristie and we will reque ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Our server was Kristie and we will request her on our next visit. She was extremely knowledgeable and attentive.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

For the price the steaks should be cooke ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

For the price the steaks should be cooked to order....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Beautifully decorated with a western the ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Beautifully decorated with a western theme! Waitress made a mistake in our order but it was quickly compensated on out bill. Lovely food and attentive

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We were dinning at Carbon County Steak H ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were dinning at Carbon County Steak House for our 24th wedding anniversary. We ordered the special for each of us, which was a T-Bone and my wife ordered it Med with pink and it was served well done, they recooked one , but our experience was overall changed from that point on.

Tags: romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

new decor and service even better than ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

new decor and service even better than before.only place in red lodge Montana for an upscale meal, not barfood and a good steak. Ribeye was excellent. Could be slightly thicker for a steaklover and the expense. comparing price and amount to Edgar bar in Edgar mt

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sophisticated but unpretentious. Excelle ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Sophisticated but unpretentious. Excellent food and service.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Very good food. A bit on the high end pr ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Very good food. A bit on the high end price wise. We would definitely dine there again.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We took visiting friends for dinner. Th ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 9, 2016

We took visiting friends for dinner. The weather was beautiful and we sat outdoors. A musician was playing and singing, so it was a bit harder to visit, but we thoroughly enjoyed the music and the talented singer. The food was great, but one of our party ordered a shrimp caesar salad. It came on grilled romaine lettuce, which did not appeal to her. She asked the waitress if she could have the salad on a fresh romaine salad and she was provided with a large fresh green salad immediately. The service was excellent. It was a bit pricey, but I would recommend this restaurant for special occasions.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Dinner Review

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Our dinner and night out with the kids ended on a high note. Dinner was exceptional and the service was excellent. It was great to have both great service and a great dinner!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Amazing, will definitely be back.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

We kicked off a bachelorette party at the steak house. It was a first time for many of us and we weren't disappointed. The service was great - the staff was happy to see us. The ambiance was terrific. The food was beyond amazing! The salmon was cooked to perfection. I can't wait to go back again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Steaks overcooked

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Service was excellent but food was not good. Party of 10 and everyone's steaks were overcooked. I've been there quite a few times and food of late has definitely degraded

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

Great Experience

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

I ate at the Carbon County Steak house the other day and the food was wonderful! World class! Great atmosphere, excellent service and quality dining. I can't wait to come back. They prices are a bit high in my opinion, but well worth every penny. You have to pay for quality dining so that wasn't even an issue. Look forward to dining there again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistent Experience

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 29, 2016

When we want a special experience, we always go to the Carbon County Steakhouse because the food is always excelent (our favorite the Cowboy steak) and the service is the greatest. Our waitress was very friendly and answered all our questions. Both her and the man filling our water glasses were very attentive. The prices seem to have risen but for a special occasion, it was worth it.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

CCS has turned out to be our go to spot for special occasions & we drive up from Powell to enjoy an always delicious meal - we love the stroganoff and the mocha hazelnut pie special was out of this world!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellence...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Very good all around. Bring back the Salmon Straw appetizer. Those were good.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Still the best restaurant in Red Lodge

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Expectations are high with reputation and previous experiences. Service and overdone steak was disappointing. Last year valentine menu and aps was fabulous !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Valentine's Day Dinner

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

We had an excellent romantic dinner here. Great steaks, good wine list, and excellent atmosphere. They were out of the wine we ordered so the manager upgraded it to a more expensive wine for the same price.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful experience in every way!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

After the negative reviews I had read, I admit, I was a bit nervous about keeping my reservation. While our table was not ready at the time of our scheduled reservation, the rest of the evening was amazing! Our waitress was attentive and extremely personable and the meal was outstanding. A bit pricey, but nonetheless, very worthwhile and a terrific experience overall. Kudos to Carbon County Steakhouse!

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Awesome!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Great restaurant with good drinks, great food and staff.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

What a gem in the heart of Red Lodge.

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 10, 2016

Without a doubt the best dinner around! The newly remodeled building is inviting and cozy, unique and real. The staff is highly professional and made wonderful recommendations. There is something on the menu for everyone and the nightly specials tantalizing. Convenient parking in the back lot as well as Main Street. The Front Bar, next door, is the perfect place to meet your friends before or after dinner. A must on everyone's Red Lodge to-do list.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One My Favorites, but Missed the Mark Tonight

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

In the past, the Carbon County Steakhouse is my go to dinner place in Red Lodge. I can always count on them to have an excellent wine list, great ambiance and outstanding service. That is why my last visit was disappointing. My boyfriend and I, my parents, and friends of my parents went to dinner there, and all but the food was just what I expected. For the most part we enjoyed our meal, but the feature was the Red Snapper. My mother and her friend both ordered it. It was over-cooked, tough, and not flavorful, which is characteristically rare for The Carbon County Steakhouse. They chose not to say anything to avoid confrontation. However, when you are unsatisfied with your meal it puts a damper on the whole evening. It was also the feature of the evening, and features are expected to be the stars of your dining experience. It was almost like they were precooked and placed under a food lamp. Usually 5 stars, but this visit they fell short.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value3

Tuesday night Mussel night is always a hit..

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 27, 2016

Mussels were better than normal! Which is hard to beat!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We come to Red Lodge a couple of times a ...

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 17, 2016

We come to Red Lodge a couple of times a year. We don't come to the steakhouse often though because of the price. Our go to restaurant went out of business so we chose this one. Food was great! Yum!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Good Service

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Our waitress was very attentive. The appetizer we had or artichokes with tomatoes and a balsamic reduction with raspberry sauce was very good. Timing for our appetizer, salads and main courses was perfect in regards to having time to enjoy each one. The meals themselves were good, but not quite to the level I would have expected for the price. 3 of us had the beef stroganoff and one had the shrimp dinner.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

More quality food needed

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on January 1, 2016

The food taste and quality did not fit the price. We have dined here numerous times and had three times better food off their regular menu.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Just Misses

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on December 28, 2015

Beautiful interior. Reasonable menu. One steak tough. All undercooked. Creme brule rubbery. Salads delicious. Frog legs interesting. We found that while the items on the menu sounded enticing, each entree just missed its mark, either in terms of flavor or preparation. And it was all expensive. The ambience was very nice and with the closing of the place across the street, there aren't a lot of options in Red Lodge for excellent dining. With a little work in the kitchen, the food could be brought up to speed, but the prices are still to be reckoned with.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value2

Restaurant of Choice!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

Restaurant of choice for the past 15 years within the region which includes Yellowstone & Carbon counties of Montana and Park County, Wyoming. All is good! Specific note is that the service staff is just outstanding! Prepared to serve the needs of the diner always! Recommend visit to enjoy the remodeled dining area.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Waitress and food not up to our expectations

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on December 27, 2015

For a pricey restaurant, the food and service were just mediocre. The pasta with sausage and beef stroganoff were not good (flavorless and definitely not "foodie" quality). The lobster mac and cheese was good, but the lobster was overcooked and tough/chewy. The halibut was good, but the tomato chutney on top was not a great pairing in our opinion.

The waitress was a bit snobbish. She had this air about her suggesting that we were not all that welcomed and as if we were inconveniencing her.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Likely your best choice in Red Lodge

vip
 (Montana)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

As Red Lodge residents, my wife and I dine frequently at the Steakhouse and other of the city's eateries. And we've personally experienced the Steakhouse's rise to the top rung in this small mountain town. Steaks that were only passable 10-15 years ago seem now to be uniformly tender and grilled to the diner's temperature. The seafood selection has expanded from typically two choices to four or five, and prepared creatively. Also greatly improved over the years are children's selection. In sum, there are a number of cheaper eateries in Red Lodge, but in terms of value received for what you pay, it's Steakhouse hands down.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Overpriced. Steak was tough and no flavor

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Very nice place but three of us ordered ribeye at $38 and it was very tough and no flavor. Also - Caesar salad was bizarre, who chars lettuce? Dressing was so scant not sure but not very flavorful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 30, 2015

We have been here many times and always impressed. The only negative with this trip would be the mussels. They were overcooked and lacked the seasoning we are used to. On an positive note the berry/cherry creme brûlée was to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Group Dinner Party

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

Excellent quality beef and very good seafood for Montana. Side dishes were nothing to write home about, but were pretty good. Appetizers were all great! WIne list was good, too.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

SALT

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 27, 2015

All four of our meals were saturated in salt, almost inedible ! Its like the chef just poured salt over each plate that was served. Recommendation to restaurant is please stop salting your food it would be way better without, couldnt enjoy the stakes for too much salt.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Good food but A little overpriced!

 
 (Montana)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

The food tasted excellent! Just not sure the steak was worth the high price tag! All 3 of our steaks were cut extremely thin and at least a 1/3 of it was fat! It was cooked to perfection and tasted really good just not the cut of meat we would expect for $38. We used to drive and try to get to the Carbon County Steak House a few times a year at least. But made the comment last night this would probably only be a once a year thing for a special occasion for this price!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.