About Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn

22878 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Enjoy a beachside, refined dining experience overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and famous Malibu Pier. Located on exclusive Billionaires' Carbon Beach in Malibu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Asian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am -11:00am (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Lunch menu: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Brunch menu: Saturday & Sunday from 11am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Bar & Lounge menu: daily from 3:30pm - 6:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)

Cross Street:
Cross Creek Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 460-7509

Website:
http://www.malibubeachinn.com/

Entertainment:
None, but can be arranged.

Catering:
Please contact us for more details at 310-651-7777 ext 592 or send us an email at Dina@malibubeachinn.com and we will be happy to assist you further.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking required - validation offered. $10 for the first three hours with restaurant validation.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Victor Morales

Private Party Facilities:
Plan an executive meeting in our Boardroom by the Sea, accommodating up to 20, or host an executive dinner in The Carbon Beach Club’s Semi-Private Dining room, accommodating up to 30. For larger groups, we welcome you to join us on our Ocean Front Terrace, accommodating up to 60 seated guests or 75 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Dina Nili: (310) 651-7777 ext. 592

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Malibu Beach Inn offers intimate corporate and social Events. Inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

chocolate chip cookie - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Red Margarita - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Proscuitto And Melon - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Fish & Chips - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Kale Salad - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Salmon - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Traditional Club Sandwich - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Mango Mojito - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Protein & Fruit Breakfast - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 8:00AM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:00AM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 8:00AM - 4:00PM

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.2

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (15)
Waterfront (15)
Good for a Date (13)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
Great for Lunch (9)
Romantic (8)
Worth the Drive (7)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Casual (6)
Sunday Lunch (5)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Cozy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Special Occasion (4)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Fun (3)
Authentic (3)
Great for Brunch (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Good for Groups (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (1)
Organic (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Spicy (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Fireplace (1)
Healthy (1)
Business Meals (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
S
593 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Fantastic spot!

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Fantastic spot!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent beachfront dinning, good servi ...

 
 (Yosemite)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Excellent beachfront dinning, good service but food should be better. Adequate wine list.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Not a pleasant experience. Arrived a ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Not a pleasant experience. Arrived at 230 for a 230 reservation. Was told by the hostess it would be an additional 30 minutes for an inside table or an hour for an outside table. We waited in the lounge at kdirty table for about 15 minutes with no service. Q

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1

You literally eat outdoors above the Pac ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 29, 2016

You literally eat outdoors above the Pacific at famous Carbon Beach.

Moreover, the cuisine is inventive and delicious. On this visit, our 87 year old Greek American guest proclaimed the fabulous calamari appetizer the best calamari he had ever had. High praise indeed from a venerable connoisseur of squid.

The Carbon Beach Club is a must when you need a PCH fix. Never disappointing. Actually, always exhilarating.

And everyone is welcoming and courteous. And it does feel like a club, intimate and special.

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Where else can you enjoy a lovely meal, ...

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Where else can you enjoy a lovely meal, while sitting on a deck at the edge of the Pacific Ocean and listen to the waves roll softly below. Perfection, day or night!

Tags: Afternoon Tea, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Waiter broke a glass at the table, which ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Waiter broke a glass at the table, which happens from time to time but didn't offer us any sparkling water to replace the glass he broke. The steak I ordered was tough and did not taste like a steak from a restaurant with a professional chef. My girlfriend got a salad that was all beet root and was not good. My girlfriend also didn't get silverware until our main course arrived. On a positive note, the view was nice and they had great calamari.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value2

We were disappointed that they were unde ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were disappointed that they were understaffed and surprised that they didn't shut down their open table reservations; we would have preferred to try them another day when the service could have been better. However we will give it a second try because the outdoor patio view is spectacular and the servers were very gracious; if they'd only had enough of them to cover the entire restaurant. The food was average (linguine with clam sauce and a lobster roll). The dirty martini was not chilled enough and had too much olive juice and small (not cocktail) olives. We were also unlucky to be seated near two women who loudly discussed all of their health issues in detail - but this isn't the fault of the restaurant. We look forward to trying it another time. I know better than trying a restaurant for the first time during the holiday season but it was our wedding anniversary and we'd hoped for a romantic lunch.

Tags: Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

The setting was beautiful and we were lu ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 27, 2016

The setting was beautiful and we were lucky to have a perfect day. We sat inside as it was a tad cold. However, the service was unusually slow, as if they only had one waiter and 1 busser for the entire restaurant. He waiter seemed overwhelmed and it took over an hour to get our meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2

Great food, service and location. It's a ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Great food, service and location. It's a wonderful place to stay with some of the best sunsets in Malibu. Always a good time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Ambiance is as good as it gets. My favo ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Ambiance is as good as it gets. My favorite dining spot at the beach. Even in the winter. They have heaters and blankets to keep guests warm. The food is delicious and they have an extensive wine list. Great for foodies and ocean lovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a secret gem in Malibu. Love the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 5, 2016

This is a secret gem in Malibu. Love the atmosphere and always enjoy lunch even more than dinner here.

Romantic getaway.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Malibu is out of my way, but in this cas ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Malibu is out of my way, but in this case it was worth the drive. I was treating a friend for her birthday and thought I'd take her here. We were both absolutely delighted with the service, our meal, and the magnificent ocean view -- more than a just a view, really, as it was practically right at our feet. One MUST have the Calamari Strips, and the Sweet Potato Fries! I've had both of those many, many times in many other places... no comparison!! The Smoked Beets Salad was fantastic as well. It was a chilly night, but heaters and cozy blankets provided by the staff took care of that situation nicely. All in all.... awesome.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great thanksgiving day dinner with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a great thanksgiving day dinner with my family and the meal was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing 3 course Thanksgiving lu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had an amazing 3 course Thanksgiving lunch here. The service and ambiance was impeccable and food was delicious. I would have rated a 5 star for food, except the desserts were a bit weak. Everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet night before thanksgiving. Pr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very quiet night before thanksgiving. Prob best for summer day time visit. Bbq shrimp with corn bread was tasty. Wine list could have more reasonable options per bottle. Salad with shrimp was exactly what I wanted, healthy and hearty. Right off hotel lobby, prob many other dedicated restaurants to frequent if short on time. Probably would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food 😋Friendly staff from valet t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good Food 😋Friendly staff from valet to server beautiful view 👍🏽👍🏽

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic place - great view - perfe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very romantic place - great view - perfect food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrated our 35th wedding Anniversay. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Celebrated our 35th wedding Anniversay. Our favorite beach restaurant, food is great, ambiance, and view make it a special place to celebrate. We returned from our 32nd Anniversay dinner there.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a birthday, and we had a g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We celebrated a birthday, and we had a great time! Food was great, view was great, and the staff was phenomenal!

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and we've eaten b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was fantastic and we've eaten both inside and outside and love both atmospheres.

A beautiful, brief getaway.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had quite a few special occasions at res ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Had quite a few special occasions at restaurant over the years and always been great qualities on drinks and food, wondered what happened this last lunch - cocktails were weak with mostly ice, salmon burger and steak salad were bland, without real salmon or steak favors, as quality fish and meat should, ordinary presentation and ingredients mix; gave up on dessert to prevent further disappointment.

View is still excellent in a relaxed setting, and service was friendly.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent views of Carbon Beach with the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent views of Carbon Beach with the waves crashing just below! The food was delicious but not outstanding. It was prepared to perfection, everyone was super friendly, and overall the experience was worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

My favorite place

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My favorite place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant been many time ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I loved this restaurant been many times I do not know what happened to the food it has really slipped lately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

We love this place - it's always great. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We love this place - it's always great. Food, service, and you cannot beat the location!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful ocean view !!!!!

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Beautiful ocean view !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! Only suggestion w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Love this restaurant! Only suggestion would be to have more vegetarian options, especially during the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we first got there we talked to the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

When we first got there we talked to the hostess and she made a mistake with our reservation. It was supposed to be for 6 people and she said that our reservation was only for 4. So far it wasn't off to a very good start. When we sat down everything was alright. The cheese plate appetizer, although it took long, it was pretty satisfying. The main courses were not good at all. My friend, my brother and I got the steak & frites and we could almost swear the "frites" we're fries from McDonald's. The steak was horribly cooked and very under seasoned. The chimichurri wasn't even a chimichurri. The drinks were alright. My dad ordered the bolognese and was not happy at all. He took 2 bites and was put off by the lack of flavor. The waiter was wonderful however. I don't remember his name but he was funny and social and he made the experience better than it would have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Two of our friends ordered fish and each ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Two of our friends ordered fish and each got a postage size piece. When brought to the attention of the manager she just said she was sorry but didn't offer to bring him another serving. The restaurant did take it off the bill but that was not what our friends wanted. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and the server brought her a piece of cake and we were then charged $12!

We have been to this restaurant several times in the past and always came away feeling satisfied, but not this time and as a result none of us will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

Outstanding ambience epic oceanview clas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding ambience epic oceanview class personified

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, , Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

nothing special- food okay, too casual-l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

nothing special- food okay, too casual-lousy gin selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Beautiful view, pleasant service and rel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Beautiful view, pleasant service and relaxed atmosphere were all appreciated but the food was entirely sub-par.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

As always, an excellent peaceful view of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2016

As always, an excellent peaceful view of the sea. Food and service still good with new manager

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a joke. First, we cam ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant is a joke. First, we came at 4pm but dinner was not served until 5.30pm. We tried to order pizza as snacks to pass the time, but were informed they ran out of dough. For dinner, we were informed that the fish of the day was swordfish. Great Then after quite some time (almost when you'd think the food would come), we were informed it was not swordfish but rather barramundi. It was highly recommended so two of us at the table ordered it instead.

Then came the food. It was a horror. First, the barramundi was dried out to the point it was rubbery, awful favor, even stringy. It came with clams, which i was not informed of and do not like. Dreadful, so both were returned. Another dish ordered at the table was clams linguini. The linguini was tasteless, almost as it were steamed and thrown on the plate without any seasoning. How can a restaurant (on the ocean, no less) butcher a classic dish like this?

Substituted it for a burger, which was edible but lacked any finesse. I should say the waiter keep positive attitude but it was really amateur hour. The $550 bill (for six) was an outrage.

The punchline is that a couple days later we all ate at my 101 yr old uncle's assisted living facility and on the menu they had... barramundi. With a smile I ordered that. And indeed it was far superior to Carbon Beach Club (i.e. it was edible).

It appears that there is a zero sum equation often found in the restaurant industry- the better the location and view, the more nonchalance the restaurant has for the food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great service! Knowledgable, helpful st ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service! Knowledgable, helpful staff! Great menu selections!

Gorgeous ocean view with restaurant on the beach.

Relaxing, intimate scenic environment with nice food choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a bit disappointed with our serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with our server who was extremely forgetful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

On PCH so spectacular and so hard to get ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

On PCH so spectacular and so hard to get that wrong but the service was very soso. The staff was very nice but we waited very long for small requests which as we all know will compromise a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting right on the water

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Beautiful setting right on the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Love this restaurant sitting on the glas ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this restaurant sitting on the glass outdoors with the crashing waves. The food was fantastic. The service was prompt and good although the server's appearance was unkempt and a little distracting.

We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ate inside because it was very windy out on the patio. First we thought our server was just busy outside but we looked and there wasn't very many ppl out there and he was nowhere to be found. Had to go to the bar to order another bottle of wine and our server very rarely checked on us.It was hard to find a server period that night. Terrible service for the price and the food is better other places. I guess you pay for the view and forget how long you wait for everything. Will not return!

I will say that the breakfast on the patio was a bit better in the morning but still only one server.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.