About Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn

22878 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Enjoy a beachside, refined dining experience overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and famous Malibu Pier. Located on exclusive Billionaires' Carbon Beach in Malibu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Asian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am -11:00am (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Lunch menu: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Brunch menu: Saturday & Sunday from 11am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Bar & Lounge menu: daily from 3:30pm - 6:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)

Cross Street:
Cross Creek Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 460-7509

Website:
http://www.malibubeachinn.com/

Entertainment:
None, but can be arranged.

Catering:
Please contact us for more details at 310-651-7777 ext 592 or send us an email at Dina@malibubeachinn.com and we will be happy to assist you further.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking required - validation offered. $10 for the first three hours with restaurant validation.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Victor Morales

Private Party Facilities:
Plan an executive meeting in our Boardroom by the Sea, accommodating up to 20, or host an executive dinner in The Carbon Beach Club’s Semi-Private Dining room, accommodating up to 30. For larger groups, we welcome you to join us on our Ocean Front Terrace, accommodating up to 60 seated guests or 75 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Dina Nili: 310-651-7777x592

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Malibu Beach Inn offers intimate corporate and social Events. Inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

80% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Malibu ›

scenic view (36)
great for outdoor dining (30)
romantic (30)
See All
special occasion (21)
great for brunch (17)
great for lunch (14)
fit for foodies (11)
neighborhood gem (10)
notable wine list (6)
late-night find (4)
good for groups (3)
hot spot (2)
kid-friendly (2)
 (2)
 (2)
 (2)
vibrant bar scene (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

This is a perfect spot for a leisurely l ...

Dined 6 days ago

This is a perfect spot for a leisurely lunch with friends or family. The setting is exquisite, perched above the Pacific, with the lull of the waves and sounds of nature. On a beautiful day, there's no better spot. The food is fresh, creative and delicious. Service is cheerful, attentive and totally without attitude. The only caveat is that it is expensive and valet parking adds another $10 per car to the bill...and you end up tipping on it and giving the valet guys another dollar or two. So, it's probably not a place for every day, but just lovely and wonderful for a treat.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service4
value2

It was a overcook potatoes and bacon. Th ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

It was a overcook potatoes and bacon. The rest was ok

food5
ambience5
service5

The best brunch in Malibu.

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

The best brunch in Malibu.

food4
ambience4
service4

Great view, good service, definitely we' ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Great view, good service, definitely we'll be back

food1
ambience5
service2

This was one of our favorite restaurants ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

This was one of our favorite restaurants, the service was lacking, the salad was pretty good, the main course was terrible, I sent it back. Asked for bread 3 x they finally brought some, burnt. Forgot about the birthday candle on the dessert( not so good). Really disappointing😆

food5
ambience5
service5

Sweet, efficient staff. Very helpful, b ...

Dined on May 3, 2016

Sweet, efficient staff. Very helpful, but let us enjoy our time on the patio to enjoy the ocean.

food4
ambience5
service3
value4

Outdoor patio dining

Dined on May 3, 2016

The Carbon Beach Club restaurant has removed heat lamps so outdoors can be chilly. Wonderful car blankets are provided which made dinner a fun experience. Our initially attentive waiter disappeared from sight about ⅔ of the way through the meal - we finally had to go find him to get a check. Love the food! Branzino was great, so was the sea bass. A new offering, 3 Hawaiian rolls stuffed with crab, lobster tail, and shrimp was fun. Clam pasta was good too. The grilled asparagus was so fine. Nice wine list. Great view of sunset, waves close up, and the pier. Memorable.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service5
value2

A Food Critic

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had a table of six and we all received our food together and it was hot. It was a leisurely meal celebrating our sons graduation from Pepoerdine. We were expecting an early dinner and only brunch was being offered. We felt the prices were high for the quality of some of the food. The eggs Benedict was nothing special. My steak was well done even though I ordered it medium. For forty dollars I expected more. Our total was $440 and I tipped $90. I thought that was expensive for a brunch with 2 burgers, 2 salads, and steak & eggs. The desserts were excellent!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

On the water

Dined on April 24, 2016

The restaurant is one of the very few in the LA area that is truly over the beach. Stunning views up & down the coast from the outside deck, including to the Iconic Malibu Pier. Service is very good and the tables are nicely spaced. The lapping of the water creates a unique ambiance. Food and wine list are above average. I return whenever I am in So Cal.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Wine, and food was amazing.

Dined on April 23, 2016

Loved the view, sunset over the pier. Server was great and the Ribeye was fantastic .

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Neighborhood Gem

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

We love this place! Brought the kids for my husband's birthday dinner. They have a kids menu! We started with the Uni + Avocado toast and Grilled Spanish Octopus. Uni was fresh and yummy. Octopus was cooked perfectly, not overcooked and rubbery. For dinner we had the King Crab legs and Grilled Asparagus. They did not skimp on the King Crab Legs - but they were a little dry. The grilled asparagus was excellent; it was prepared with proscuitto and a fried egg. Yummy! All in all, great evening!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Oceanside Dining

vip
Dined on April 19, 2016

Very much enjoyed patio dining with surf below and full moon above. Variety of very good food and drink. Pork chops and salmon choices very good. Service by Ramon excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service1

View and food were great but the service ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

View and food were great but the service was horrible. We had to constantly look for our waitress. Then she went on break and it took them an hour to bring our dessert!!! We would have just left but they were supposed to bring it with a candle for my daughters birthday!! Will not go back.

food1
ambience1
service2

We used to LOVE this restaurant. We came ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We used to LOVE this restaurant. We came for brunch, lunch, dinner... We live in malibu. Used to love taking our friends and out of town guests. Then they changed owners. Which was fine in the beginning We went last night First thing that blew me away was the drabby, classless decor. The absolutely ruined their lobby. Dinner used to be elegant, romantic, fire pits candles. They should fire their decorator Then we looked at the menu, some of the prices were just offensive. I work in Beverly Hills and I was still offended. Lastly the food was mediocre at best. We had the fish special and salmon. The fish special was sweet and boring. We had appetizers that were just ok. Dessert was awful and not worth eating. Im sad as this was a regular place for us and we will not return.

food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice start to the morning...

Dined on March 25, 2016

View ,ahhhmazing!!! Food very good and the service was great!!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Amazing View

vip
Dined on March 24, 2016

Gorgeous outdoor patio over the surf, great food, great service. Really nice and beautiful place. Make sure you request the patio--plenty of umbrellas for shade.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The Ocean view is impeccable

Dined on March 24, 2016

Excellent food; service and ambiance. The food was great and the portions were wonderful. Our server Whitley was professional and she was very knowledgeable about the menu. The ocean view is to die for. Also, it would also be nice just to sit in the lounge and watch the ocean waves. The food and wines are on the expensive side, but you are in Malibu. All of the staff were friendly and welcoming.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a beautiful and romantic experien ...

Dined on March 21, 2016

Always a beautiful and romantic experience. Love it here. One of Malibu's gems.

food5
ambience5
service4

Beautiful. ocean view.

Dined on March 16, 2016

Beautiful. ocean view.

food5
ambience5
service5

The absolute best lunch spot in Malibu

vip
Dined on March 3, 2016

The absolute best lunch spot in Malibu

food3
ambience3
service3

This has been my go to spot since last y ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

This has been my go to spot since last year when I joined someone for breakfast who was staying there. I have since then taken everyone there to enjoy the view. I was disappointed that they appear to have modernized the restaurant and it's lost all of its Malibu charm. Still great view but no longer barefoot chic.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding experience!! Definitely one ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Outstanding experience!! Definitely one of the finest dining experiences I have ever had. First, the view is unlike any other. It is as close the ocean as you can get without getting wet! A staircase is also at the restaurant to allow a nice stroll on the beach after your dinner. Next, the food was exquisite! We had the Filet as well as the butternut squash raviolis. The flavor combinations are unmatched and the plating is very refined. I feel the pricing was very reasonable given the ambiance, location and caliber of food.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect!!!

Dined on February 20, 2016

Between the Excellent food and service from Romina and the outstanding cocktails mixed by Miguel...could not of had a more wonderful dinner!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Can't Beat the Setting

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

We love the Carbon Beach Club for it's setting right on the water in Malibu. The hotel has recently changed hands and the new owners have made some needed modifications to the restaurant. A bar has replaced the front desk, the indoor seating areas have been opened up so they are much more welcoming and the outdoor tables and chairs have been updated. The new brunch menu is a little limited, but we enjoyed both the salmon and the burger. It took a while before the server paid attention to us, but one of the managers stepped in and everything was fantastic after that. We will definitely be coming back.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food2
ambience3
service1

The service at Carbon Beach was horrible ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

The service at Carbon Beach was horrible. It wasn't even half full and it took the server fifteen minutes to come to our table. When we ordered it seemed as if the waiter had never seen the menu. Half of our order was wrong. The server only checked in once throughout the meal. There was so many staff members running around like chickens with their heads cut off, and they were all in different uniforms so it was hard to tell who was working....and the restaurant wasn't even full!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Disappointed

Dined on February 13, 2016

Service was horrible. They forgot my order and I had to remind them over and over what else they're missing.

food5
ambience4
service4

The food and the patio ambiance are grea ...

vip
Dined on February 3, 2016

The food and the patio ambiance are great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great night out

Dined on January 9, 2016

My wife and I enjoyed the outdoor dining space immensely. From the deck, one can see and hear the crashing waves because the beach is actually lit by flood lights under the deck. The whole presentation was impressive from the time you get out of your car to the time you get seated. It's small and intimate. Food was fantastic as well. Loved it - will return.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great New Years Eve!

Dined on January 1, 2016

We went to Carbon Beach for New Years Eve. The set menu was fantastic, the service was superb, and we sat outside, which was beautiful! Great time!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

disappointing!

vip
Dined on December 29, 2015

the location and views are spectacular. the food is just so-so though - unfortunately. the service was alright - the place was understaffed. no water or iced tea refills - had to go to the front for that - and to ask for the bill. it took 30 minutes for the appetizers to come - then another 20 after appetizers were eaten. the difficult thing with a place like this is that it's got every reason to be wonderful - and when things don't taste good or come out right or on time, the least that would be acceptable is an apology - or an offer of a dessert or whatever. that kind of gesture makes up for a lot. yet that wasn't forthcoming here. i would love for there to be another great sit down beach front restaurant in malibu. this could be it - however it's not even close to being great yet.

food1
ambience3
service4

The view is very nice and our service wa ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

The view is very nice and our service was excellent . The food was terrible. We had an early Christmas Day dinner reservation and they were already out of the chestnut bisque starter. The vegetables were completely tasteless and so hard you could not cut them with a knife. The risotto was a very small serving with several limp and unfortunate lobster bits thrown on top. The ginger something dessert was inedible. The food, presentation and price for this mess was insulting.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing location great food

Dined on December 25, 2015

Ocean front setting magical with amazing ocean view and power waves the your is amazing the service is fantastic and the location is fabulous I live in malibu this is one of my favorite spot.

Tags: fit for foodies, outdoor eating, lunch, late night find, scenic view, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely loved this place. Amazing vie ...

Dined on December 19, 2015

Absolutely loved this place. Amazing view, amazing service, amazing food. Came for brunch and was pleased. Will definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service4

Our favorite brunch place in Malibu. A m ...

vip
Dined on December 12, 2015

Our favorite brunch place in Malibu. A must for a special occasion when visiting LA.

food4
ambience4
service4

Really amazing place with views that wil ...

vip
Dined on December 9, 2015

Really amazing place with views that will make your day. Great spot for seeing low key local celebs who are chilling at the beach patio. A must go place👍

food4
ambience5
service5

Perfect brunch spot

vip
Dined on December 6, 2015

Can't imagine a better spot for our special brunch. The view was amazing, the food was good and the prices were reasonable. The staff was super friendly and we will be going back soon!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

The food and view was amazing good for a ...

Dined on December 6, 2015

The food and view was amazing good for a romantic getaway or proposal

food5
ambience5
service5

Could Not Be More Perfect

Dined on November 27, 2015

We went here for the first time for our Thanksgiving dinner this year. It was perfect! It is both quaint and spectacular. We arrived a bit early and sat in the cozy bar area to have some drinks. The whole place was filled with the aroma of wonderful food and fresh baked cookies. We were escorted to our table outside overlooking the water. It was chilly, but the heat lamps were very formidable and I was given a blanket for my legs as well! The beach was lit below so that we could see the white water and the rocks. We sat with the sound of the waves crashing beneath a beautiful starlit sky with scattered clouds, and a full moon rising over the water. Then, the food! The squash soup, was so complex and perfectly balanced. Then we had the Crudo (fish) appetizer. Very fresh and full of flavor. I had the Branzino (European sea bass) and my husband had the prime rib. Everything was done to perfection. The service of our waiter, Jennifer, was fabulous and unpretentious. I highly recommend this wonderful gem.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic Thanksgiving, the staff, food the view!

Dined on November 26, 2015

Everything about this place is just great, would highly recommend this to anyone who like to enjoy good food, drinks and a view

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

What a hidden gem in Malibu. Amazing vie ...

vip
Dined on November 18, 2015

What a hidden gem in Malibu. Amazing view food and cocktails. Highly recommend

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.