About Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn

22878 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Enjoy a beachside, refined dining experience overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and famous Malibu Pier. Located on exclusive Billionaires' Carbon Beach in Malibu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Asian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am -11:00am (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Lunch menu: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Brunch menu: Saturday & Sunday from 11am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Bar & Lounge menu: daily from 3:30pm - 6:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)

Cross Street:
Cross Creek Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 460-7509

Website:
http://www.malibubeachinn.com/

Entertainment:
None, but can be arranged.

Catering:
Please contact us for more details at 310-651-7777 ext 592 or send us an email at Dina@malibubeachinn.com and we will be happy to assist you further.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking required - validation offered. $10 for the first three hours with restaurant validation.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Victor Morales

Private Party Facilities:
Plan an executive meeting in our Boardroom by the Sea, accommodating up to 20, or host an executive dinner in The Carbon Beach Club’s Semi-Private Dining room, accommodating up to 30. For larger groups, we welcome you to join us on our Ocean Front Terrace, accommodating up to 60 seated guests or 75 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Dina Nili: 310-651-7777x592

Additional:
Banquet, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Malibu Beach Inn offers intimate corporate and social Events. Inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn
chocolate chip cookie
Red Margarita
Proscuitto And Melon
Fish & Chips
Kale Salad
Salmon
Traditional Club Sandwich
Mango Mojito
Protein & Fruit Breakfast

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 8:00AM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:00AM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 8:00AM - 4:00PM

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Malibu ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Scenic View (53)
Romantic (38)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
Great for Brunch (17)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Kid-friendly (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
Newest
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful setting right on the water

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 6 days ago

Beautiful setting right on the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ate inside because it was very windy out on the patio. First we thought our server was just busy outside but we looked and there wasn't very many ppl out there and he was nowhere to be found. Had to go to the bar to order another bottle of wine and our server very rarely checked on us.It was hard to find a server period that night. Terrible service for the price and the food is better other places. I guess you pay for the view and forget how long you wait for everything. Will not return!

I will say that the breakfast on the patio was a bit better in the morning but still only one server.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was poor at best. We were ignor ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was poor at best. We were ignored and had to ask for a waiter to take our order. Beverages not refilled. Took 20 minutes to get the check despite telling staff that we needed to leave for an appointment. If you have nothing but time, the view can't be beat. Took an hour and a half to get three salads and pay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

We have watched this hotel thru a couple ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have watched this hotel thru a couple of incarnations and as it is now it is really the top.

Loved ambience and food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always meets high expectations for locat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always meets high expectations for location, food, staff, and service. Very convenient valet parking

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

A+ on atmosphere but they fall short on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A+ on atmosphere but they fall short on everything else. We arrived for a 7:00pm reservation & the waiter was friendly & seemingly attentive. But, as the other tables filled he disappeared. We had to make a huge effort to flag him down to order. We had to make a great effort to wave someone donw to fill water glasses and were never offered a 2nd glass of wine. We asked multiple times for the candle to be lit on our table. It seemed to us that as soon as the tables filled everyone was running around like chickens without their heads and as if it was a big surprise they had to manage the customers at all of the tables. even after we made each request no one really apologized it just seemed to stress them out. The food was good but we never got the truffle fries we ordered. Last point, they put the parking on the bill which would be fine but we didn't realize it until later that the parking was included so using the tax as a measure for the tip included an extra $20.00 that we shouldn't be including as a measure to tip. We were very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Spectacular view! Service was wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Spectacular view! Service was wonderful and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't beat the patio seating right o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

You can't beat the patio seating right on ocean. It's gorgeous. The food not good the night we dined. Apps, roasted cauliflower was a large piece of raw veggie, corn chowder was so sweet I could not eat it. Entree, short rib was probably pressure cooked and meat tasted ok, but was cloaked in what tasted exactly like bottled bbq sauce, pasta with mushroom ragu was flavorless and not eaten at all. Dessert, baked cookie with ice cream was ok, stone fruit cobbler had no fruit and seemed to be a large piece of cornbread. A shame because it's a lovely setting. The staff are all wonderful, helpful from the hostess to the servers and all wait staff. Not their fault the food was not good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Location and view are great - right in t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Location and view are great - right in the water. We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation but our table wasn't ready for 55 minutes. We did enjoy a drink at the bar but a bit too long to wait for a table. The service was ok except when we asked for a blanket or a heater - we were told there were no more blankets and then we had to ask a second time for a heater - at that point almost all the heaters had been allocated- not sure I would return here - there is better service and better food at other restaurants in Malibu and Santa Monica

The chowder was good and the short ribs - the dessert cobbler was terrible !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Been there, done that. We'd been eager t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Been there, done that. We'd been eager to celebrate our Anniversary at this restaurant and found the setting a spectacular choice! The beauty of the Malibu coastline is wondrous and romantic. We were very pleased with the setting and ambiance. The service staff were attentive and helpful, but they are ultimately limited by the quality standards of the kitchen and head chef.

The quality of the food and the pace of service, especially from the kitchen were below average and a disappointment. We don't complain in the moment, as doing so increases the risk of receiving an even more inferior product, but we won't return. It's a big world with many other options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice place on Malibu beach. Good food, f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice place on Malibu beach. Good food, friendly hosts and exclusive view on the ocean, beach and Pier. Just be there for a super experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's the best outdoor restaurant we've e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It's the best outdoor restaurant we've ever visited. Both the kids and my husband and I loved it. Great job!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As you can see I hated the experience😊 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As you can see I hated the experience😊 NOT

I am obsessed with it now. I am vegan and loved the veggie bean burger. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, we went for Dine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was excellent, we went for DineLA week and the value was incredible, a great place to eat outside right above the breaking waves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a date night at Carbon ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My wife and I had a date night at Carbon Beach Club. The visual ambience is very nice. Menu is very good, just note Malibu priced, so not inexpensive. I look forward to another date night here.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Location, location, location. Fancy sit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Location, location, location. Fancy sitting next to some Malibu celebs eating fine food and drinking well paired wine or a summer's cocktail? Then this is the place for you. Portions are a little on the small side for the price, but your paying for the view, the ambiance and the great service. The outdoor patio is superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eating right on the water is sublime, an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Eating right on the water is sublime, and the food is worthy of the great setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice to sit with ocean view ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was very nice to sit with ocean view but it is VERY EXPENSIVE, Sorry will not come back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The bar tender was amazing! Fabulous dri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The bar tender was amazing! Fabulous drinks... And fantastic entertainment

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sat in lounge before dinner, need to imp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Sat in lounge before dinner, need to improve cocktail efficiency, very very slow. Asked for slightly spiced margarita and came out blazing hot. Pregnant African American server was lovely and replaced it. Food was great. Server cared and she did best she could do. Overall service is not super polished, tempo and crispness needs to be picked up and food comes out too slow. Could be amazing if sommelier and floor general kicked it up a notch. Vibe is a little stiff, should be a tad more lively, hostess, music, uniforms, staff training. I am in biz, please take this constructively, love the spot. Good luck!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Reservation went smoothly, they gave us ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Reservation went smoothly, they gave us a great table with a view when we requested it, and the service was friendly and warm without being too "hovering". The food is fine, even good, but not high end or particularly adventurous or exciting. But it's a beautiful spot and a great place to grab drinks and/ or a meal while looking out at the ocean vistas. Lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Small and elegant. Good food and delght ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Small and elegant. Good food and delghtful staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you're visiting Malibu, this is a gre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

If you're visiting Malibu, this is a great place to eat lunch, enjoy the view and not break the bank. Highly recommend! I will eat there again the next time I visit Malibu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

pretty slow service. great restaurant vi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

pretty slow service. great restaurant view. food and wine are overprice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great experience. I love the ocean sound ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great experience. I love the ocean sound and the view. Great service. Thank you

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great but service too slow for drinks. G ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great but service too slow for drinks.

Great food waiter though. Very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Way way over priced especially if you ar ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Way way over priced especially if you are not sitting on the deck. Not romantic at in inside the restaurant more like a cafe.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

This was by far the worst meal I have ha ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

This was by far the worst meal I have had in a long time - just terrible. The place is hideous! I can't believe david Geffin would eat here - he should be ashamed! Never again, never, never, never!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Really disappointed. In general bad serv ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Really disappointed. In general bad service and unpleasant staff.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

I go there very very often, nice spot Se ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I go there very very often, nice spot

Service is just the pits ghough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value3

We were sat in an odd shaped table (whic ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We were sat in an odd shaped table (which we did not like) by the window. When we asked to move we were told they were saving that table. 35 minutes later that table was still available and after pressuring the server we were allowed to move. Overall the service was extremely slow. Our server kept telling us "thank you for our patience" the restaurant was not full and we never understood why service was so slow. Every trip she made to us she had only one of the items we needed. She had to make multiple trips to get what should have been completed in one trip. It was as thought the server took our order, the bus boy served it and someone else cleared the dishes. It made everything super slow.

Additionally, the food had an odd sweet taste to it. Both of my daughters tasted it in their meals as well. Never figured out what it might have been, usually we take leftovers home...not this time. My older daughter said she wished the restaurant was nicer. It was a special dinner out for us (fathers day) and we spent a lot of money but we never got that "special" feeling.

Most likely we would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Exceptionally good food. Dining on terra ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Exceptionally good food. Dining on terrace with sight of ocean and sound of surf highest rating. Service friendly and attentive. An oasis in busy LA. I recommend all of LA to dine here even though I like to think Malibu Beach Inn terrace my special place.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Perfect in every way- great table overl ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Perfect in every way- great table overlooking ocean. Fabulous meal and wine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome place! The terrace has a beautif ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Awesome place! The terrace has a beautiful view! The food was so delicious! The have a cute little waiting area and some great drinks at the bar! Would definitely recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent service, the sommelier was so ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Excellent service, the sommelier was so knowledgable and recommended an excellent champagne. Great ahi sushi appetizer and steak salad.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5

DInner at Carbon Beach Club

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

Celebrating grandmother's birthday. Atmosphere was excellent. food very good. our server was great. we had an excellent time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Did the Chef Change?

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

I think the chef has changed. I had the veggie burger and the bread was toooooo hard. the pork chop was amazing! but it had a lot of fat on it. the sword fish was over cooked. the broccoli was burned. the salmon was decent. we enjoyed the sweet potato fries.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value1

Super nice waitress. Good food. Great am ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

Super nice waitress. Good food. Great ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Review of Carbon Beach Club Restaurant

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Caron Beach Club Restaurant at the Malibu Inn was an excellent way to celebrate my birthday! Although it was a chilly night we were more than comfortable on the patio and the view was spectacular. Our waitress was very attentive and pleasant and the food was excellent. We loved the salmon and rib eye. Order the fries which was cooked perfectly. Also ordered the tuna tartar and fried calamari appetizers which everyone loved too. Would definitely highly recommend this restaurant, especially for a special occasion!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a perfect spot for a leisurely l ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on May 24, 2016

This is a perfect spot for a leisurely lunch with friends or family. The setting is exquisite, perched above the Pacific, with the lull of the waves and sounds of nature. On a beautiful day, there's no better spot. The food is fresh, creative and delicious. Service is cheerful, attentive and totally without attitude. The only caveat is that it is expensive and valet parking adds another $10 per car to the bill...and you end up tipping on it and giving the valet guys another dollar or two. So, it's probably not a place for every day, but just lovely and wonderful for a treat.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.