Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi
  1. Distance: 0.05mi
  2. Distance: 0.14mi
  3. Distance: 0.30mi
  4. Distance: 0.37mi

About Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn

Enjoy a beachside, refined dining experience overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and famous Malibu Pier. Located on exclusive Billionaires' Carbon Beach in Malibu.

22878 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Asian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am -10:30am (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Lunch menu: Monday - Friday: 10:30am - 4:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Brunch menu: Saturday & Sunday from 10:30am - 4:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Bar & Lounge menu: daily from 4:00pm - 5:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:30pm - 10:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)

Cross Street:
Cross Creek Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 460-7509

Website:
http://www.malibubeachinn.com/

Entertainment:
None, but can be arranged.

Catering:
Please contact us for more details at 310-651-7777 ext 592 or send us an email at Dina@malibubeachinn.com and we will be happy to assist you further.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking required - validation offered. $10 for the first three hours with restaurant validation.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Victor Morales

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Malibu Beach Inn offers intimate corporate and social Events. Inquire within.

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 8:00AM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:00AM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 8:00AM - 4:00PM

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

5.0

service

5.0

ambience

5.0

value

5.0

noise

Quiet

100% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Waterfront (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
See All
Romantic (2)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Authentic (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Scenic View (1)
Casual (1)
Sort By:
S
635 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great service, amazing food and view

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 23, 2017

The entire staff from Valet/Baggage , hostess, Bartender, Management the bAr menu I loved fantastic drinks and food -the patio ocean view incredible & my waiter Danny gets 5 stars. He's amazing at everything & I will request him again for brunch :) thank you!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Happy Hour, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 8, 2017

very few options like this in LA: On the ocean, nice menu, friendly service, good food and not overly expensive or over the top

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Romantic, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I wouldn't recommend this place. I thought it would be great to bring my wife here for her birthday for the great views. We were there for 1.5 hours and never received our food. The waitress did not come over to apologize nor ask if we wanted another drink. Not sure if they don't care or are just overwhelmed. I eat out a lot for work and like to bring the family out to eat. Never had this level of bad service before. I even spoke to the manager and he just shrugged his shoulder. Wow!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Wonderful food & ambience right on the water!! So relaxing. Great for out of town guests, special occasions or a casual lunch.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Organic, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fun, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 8, 2017

was a wonderful evening. Service was great
food was tasty and portions were prefect.
setting was outstanding. gorgeous views and very comfortable.
highly recommend it.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Waterfront, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 6, 2017

I thought it was stunning and beautiful, but the service, though very kind, was slow and the portions were tiny!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 3, 2017

The view and the ocean breeze overpower the slow service and some errors in orders. It's still worth the drive to be with good friends in such a beautiful setting.

Tags: Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 2, 2017

Great burger, add avocado

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

I could not have been happier with my evening. The salmon tarter was excellent with just the right amount of spice. It was fresh, sweet, spicy and just amazing. I was surprised when the waiter served my martini In an old fashioned champagne glass (?) but at the moment figureres that was a canyon carbon special (after all I did get the blue cheese olives!). The wine list was impressive and the meursault was incredible. And of course the crowning glory is the location and the view. I love is Westlake Village and I can say in all honesty I am looking forward to going back as soon as possible.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Notable Wine List, People Watching, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Great service and beautiful setting for a casual lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Service is just awful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 13, 2017

Great dinner and fantastic waitress!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Amazing ambiance and location. Right on top of the ocean and can listen to the waves the entire time you dine. Had an 8:30pm reservation, sat outside and wasn't the least bit cold. Wonderful heaters and they even offer blankets if needed. Menu options we're exquisite. I highly recommend starting with the eggplant! Extensive wine list for every budget. Will definitely be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Unfortunately the food was not good. Overall. Flavor and execution was poor. Our server did everything he could to keep us comfortable although our water glasses were empty regularly, always had to ask to be replenished, our table was not bussed in a timely manner, the food took too long to come out. I could keep going.
Based on the description of the place and their requirement to submit a credit card upon reserving and on top of it have a cancellation policy, the expectations are way too high for what they can do.
Not worth the money. Even less for a special occasion.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I felt the food quality and caliber was not worth the price they were charging. If you are charging Mastro and Nobu prices the quality better be there. Killer views, let's make the food match or lower the prices. Mastros seafood tower is half the price and 10 times the quality and presentation!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 21, 2017

I hadn't been to this restaurant in a few years since they had remodeled. I saw an article about a special they were having so I decided to come for dinner. The small dining area overlooked the ocean and malibu pier. The decor was nothing special but the view is wonderful. The flavors in all the dishes we tried were nothing memorable. I ordered the cacio e Pepe with shaved truffle and the truffle was flavorless. Very disappointing, especially since we paid extra for the shaved truffle. Yet the Truffle fries were very flavorful. The burrata tried too hard with too many flavors added. Which ruined it. My husband was actually upset that we wasted money coming here. Overall the meal was very forgettable and not worth the trip.

Tags: Waterfront, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 15, 2017

Disappointed with poor food. Went for a birthday. Service was very so so. Also was expensive with being worthy of the prices.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Nice, but regular food)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Service very slow. Staff friendly but forgetful. Had to ask several times for water. Everyone around us complained about long wait for orders. Seems there was a problem in kitchen. We were there on 3/11 for dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 10, 2017

The wine list has been curated by Laurie and it offers outstanding
choices. The always offer tastes of wines and when they know their
customers they know our tastes and bring out wines we always love.

Food is consistently good.

The service is a bit slow at times but it is a plus since the view is
spectacular.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Reservation taken on open table for 4 in the afternoon for dinner-arrived at the restaurant and dinner menu was not until 530--after a lot of complaining they agreed to let us see the lunch menu-only gave us one menu should anyone else see us with the menu-very tacky-while sitting at our table in came another couple with the same problem-not handled well

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 8, 2017

Beautiful deck setting right on the beach in Malibu. Doesn't get any better. Service was great, server friendly and attentive. Food was very good. Easy valet parking.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Waterfront, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

The food here was simply excellent. Every bite. Can't recommend the meal highly enough. Wine, too, was very good. Wish they had remembered/noted it was my husband's 60th birthday, as I put in the reservation, but they did end up bringing the dessert we ordered with a candle on it. Service was very friendly but a little laissez faire at this price point. That was outweighed by the quality of the food, though, which was wonderful.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Chef Cody Dickey presents a lovely, healthy and light Mediterranean influenced meal. Fresh and seasonal ingredients are the basis of his cuisine. The sommelier really knows her wine and can make wonderful and knowledgeable recommendations. We enjoyed a delicious bottle of Rose which paired perfectly with The Seafood bowl (brimming with clams, mussels, white fish, baby octopi and the most gorgeous, plump prawns) as well as the salmon tartar, with a hint of spice and which featured salmon roe and baby purple potato chips. Our server was wonderfully attentive yet subtle.
A GREAT experience. We will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Romantic, Waterfront, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Healthy, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Incredible setting, literally right on the water! Ordered oatmeal which was not at all good. Don't know how you can screw up oatmeal but wouldn't recommend.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Caribbean)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I am from out of town, so I selected this place because it had an ocean view and it was suggested on Open Table. The ocean view is beautiful. However, the food was so-so. The table settings outside are comparable to fast food restaurants, not what I would expect from a high end restaurant. Many of the food options that we viewed on Yelp and Open Table were no longer options because they "have a new chef." The menu is a limited selection (we went during lunch time) and none were exciting.

There was truly nothing impressive about this place.

The service was about a three and that's only because I witnessed the (better) service that another table received.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Portland)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Had my mom's birthday there. Perfect like always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Friendly service, valet parking, great ocean views, all of our meals were excellent, user friendly wine list. Not inexpensive but a reasonable value for the money. Highly recommend.

Tags: Waterfront, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on February 18, 2017

A hidden jewel that is overshadowed by local hot spots. A far better choice for romantic or private dinner than Nobu or Geoffrey's.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Valentine's day dinner was beautifully done! Everyone from the moment we were attended at the front drive to the moment we were inthe restaurant was genuinely courteous and highly professional. Big thanks to Laurie (sommelier) who was so accommodating with the wine selection that made the night extra special for my wife and I! Really top class!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Waterfront, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2017

My favorite tuna tartare is gone. Replaced with different one, I didn't like it, it was to sweet. Sea bass was again sweet. I'm guessing they have new chef. Place was overcrowded. More tables then needed. Service was good. My only problem was the food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The view is amazing. The food was really good i got the salmon my husband the stake. We sat outside on the deck. Once it got chilly they turn on the heaters an put candles on the tables. The service was amazing very attentive waiters.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Updated wine list. Laurie has created a wine list that is superb.
Food good and setting is perfect.

Tags: Hot Spot, Waterfront, Organic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 11, 2017

The night overall was good for the most of it. Our waiter mistaken our order but management was very accommodating and assisted us.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 9, 2017

The view made this place and it was stunning! The food was not bad. The server was so nice but completely forgot to put in my order.

Tags: Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

We ordered the following dishes:
1) Grilled Octopus (Amazing)
2) Cacio e Pepe (Amazing)
3) Salmon (just ok)
4) Ricotta Fritters (Most Amazing)

Pricing is probably similar to Dukes, but the food is FAR better and the outdoor patio might be Malibu's best kept secret. We'll be back soon!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 4, 2017

First time to this restaurant, located at the Malibu Beach Inn. The atmosphere is very nice. They have indoor and outdoor seating. The outdoor seating is on a deck overlooking the ocean (they have heaters and blankets, if it gets chilly.) The indoor seating is limited enough that you can see the ocean from the large windows. This is the place for a romantic, special dinner. We went with friends and we all really enjoyed our meals. The food was excellent and well prepared. The food is good, but except to pay $35 and up for an entree. It's a very pricey dinner. Definitely special occasion worthy, but would have to rethink eating there very often, unless one has a hefty expense account.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 1, 2017

I had to wait awhile for my colleagues to join me, but the female server was outstanding. Brought me a taste of champagne along with bread and nice conversation and the time went fast.

Tags: Quick Bite, Vegan, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Sunset was beautiful. A bit windy and cold but service and atmosphere made up for it. We had a great time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.