About Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn

22878 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Enjoy a beachside, refined dining experience overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and famous Malibu Pier. Located on exclusive Billionaires' Carbon Beach in Malibu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Asian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am -11:00am (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Lunch menu: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Brunch menu: Saturday & Sunday from 11am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Bar & Lounge menu: daily from 3:30pm - 6:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)

Cross Street:
Cross Creek Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 460-7509

Website:
http://www.malibubeachinn.com/

Entertainment:
None, but can be arranged.

Catering:
Please contact us for more details at 310-651-7777 ext 592 or send us an email at Dina@malibubeachinn.com and we will be happy to assist you further.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking required - validation offered. $10 for the first three hours with restaurant validation.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Victor Morales

Private Party Facilities:
Plan an executive meeting in our Boardroom by the Sea, accommodating up to 20, or host an executive dinner in The Carbon Beach Club’s Semi-Private Dining room, accommodating up to 30. For larger groups, we welcome you to join us on our Ocean Front Terrace, accommodating up to 60 seated guests or 75 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Dina Nili: 310-651-7777x592

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Malibu Beach Inn offers intimate corporate and social Events. Inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn
chocolate chip cookie
Red Margarita
Proscuitto And Melon
Fish & Chips
Kale Salad
Salmon
Traditional Club Sandwich
Mango Mojito
Protein & Fruit Breakfast

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

Specials

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 8:00AM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:00AM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 8:00AM - 4:00PM

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.0

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Los Angeles
Best Ambiance
Beach Cities
Outdoor Dining
Beach Cities
1 More
Romantic
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Malibu ›

Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Scenic View (45)
Romantic (33)
See All
Special Occasion (28)
Great for Lunch (22)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Great for Brunch (13)
Fit for Foodies (12)
Notable Wine List (9)
Hot Spot (8)
Good for Groups (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Waterfront (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Good for a Date (3)
Business Meals (3)
Cozy (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Spicy (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Casual (1)
Family Style (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Sort By:
Newest
544 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Beautiful ocean view !!!!!

vip
 (El Paso)
·Dined 4 days ago

Beautiful ocean view !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! Only suggestion w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 6 days ago

Love this restaurant! Only suggestion would be to have more vegetarian options, especially during the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we first got there we talked to the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

When we first got there we talked to the hostess and she made a mistake with our reservation. It was supposed to be for 6 people and she said that our reservation was only for 4. So far it wasn't off to a very good start. When we sat down everything was alright. The cheese plate appetizer, although it took long, it was pretty satisfying. The main courses were not good at all. My friend, my brother and I got the steak & frites and we could almost swear the "frites" we're fries from McDonald's. The steak was horribly cooked and very under seasoned. The chimichurri wasn't even a chimichurri. The drinks were alright. My dad ordered the bolognese and was not happy at all. He took 2 bites and was put off by the lack of flavor. The waiter was wonderful however. I don't remember his name but he was funny and social and he made the experience better than it would have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Two of our friends ordered fish and each ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Two of our friends ordered fish and each got a postage size piece. When brought to the attention of the manager she just said she was sorry but didn't offer to bring him another serving. The restaurant did take it off the bill but that was not what our friends wanted. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and the server brought her a piece of cake and we were then charged $12!

We have been to this restaurant several times in the past and always came away feeling satisfied, but not this time and as a result none of us will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

nothing special- food okay, too casual-l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

nothing special- food okay, too casual-lousy gin selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding ambience epic oceanview clas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding ambience epic oceanview class personified

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, pleasant service and rel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

Beautiful view, pleasant service and relaxed atmosphere were all appreciated but the food was entirely sub-par.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

As always, an excellent peaceful view of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

As always, an excellent peaceful view of the sea. Food and service still good with new manager

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a joke. First, we cam ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant is a joke. First, we came at 4pm but dinner was not served until 5.30pm. We tried to order pizza as snacks to pass the time, but were informed they ran out of dough. For dinner, we were informed that the fish of the day was swordfish. Great Then after quite some time (almost when you'd think the food would come), we were informed it was not swordfish but rather barramundi. It was highly recommended so two of us at the table ordered it instead.

Then came the food. It was a horror. First, the barramundi was dried out to the point it was rubbery, awful favor, even stringy. It came with clams, which i was not informed of and do not like. Dreadful, so both were returned. Another dish ordered at the table was clams linguini. The linguini was tasteless, almost as it were steamed and thrown on the plate without any seasoning. How can a restaurant (on the ocean, no less) butcher a classic dish like this?

Substituted it for a burger, which was edible but lacked any finesse. I should say the waiter keep positive attitude but it was really amateur hour. The $550 bill (for six) was an outrage.

The punchline is that a couple days later we all ate at my 101 yr old uncle's assisted living facility and on the menu they had... barramundi. With a smile I ordered that. And indeed it was far superior to Carbon Beach Club (i.e. it was edible).

It appears that there is a zero sum equation often found in the restaurant industry- the better the location and view, the more nonchalance the restaurant has for the food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great service! Knowledgable, helpful st ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service! Knowledgable, helpful staff! Great menu selections!

Gorgeous ocean view with restaurant on the beach.

Relaxing, intimate scenic environment with nice food choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a bit disappointed with our serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with our server who was extremely forgetful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

On PCH so spectacular and so hard to get ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

On PCH so spectacular and so hard to get that wrong but the service was very soso. The staff was very nice but we waited very long for small requests which as we all know will compromise a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting right on the water

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Beautiful setting right on the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Love this restaurant sitting on the glas ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this restaurant sitting on the glass outdoors with the crashing waves. The food was fantastic. The service was prompt and good although the server's appearance was unkempt and a little distracting.

We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ate inside because it was very windy out on the patio. First we thought our server was just busy outside but we looked and there wasn't very many ppl out there and he was nowhere to be found. Had to go to the bar to order another bottle of wine and our server very rarely checked on us.It was hard to find a server period that night. Terrible service for the price and the food is better other places. I guess you pay for the view and forget how long you wait for everything. Will not return!

I will say that the breakfast on the patio was a bit better in the morning but still only one server.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Situated above a beautiful stretch of be ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Situated above a beautiful stretch of beach, it's the perfect place for a relaxing lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was poor at best. We were ignor ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was poor at best. We were ignored and had to ask for a waiter to take our order. Beverages not refilled. Took 20 minutes to get the check despite telling staff that we needed to leave for an appointment. If you have nothing but time, the view can't be beat. Took an hour and a half to get three salads and pay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

We have watched this hotel thru a couple ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have watched this hotel thru a couple of incarnations and as it is now it is really the top.

Loved ambience and food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always meets high expectations for locat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always meets high expectations for location, food, staff, and service. Very convenient valet parking

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

A+ on atmosphere but they fall short on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

A+ on atmosphere but they fall short on everything else. We arrived for a 7:00pm reservation & the waiter was friendly & seemingly attentive. But, as the other tables filled he disappeared. We had to make a huge effort to flag him down to order. We had to make a great effort to wave someone donw to fill water glasses and were never offered a 2nd glass of wine. We asked multiple times for the candle to be lit on our table. It seemed to us that as soon as the tables filled everyone was running around like chickens without their heads and as if it was a big surprise they had to manage the customers at all of the tables. even after we made each request no one really apologized it just seemed to stress them out. The food was good but we never got the truffle fries we ordered. Last point, they put the parking on the bill which would be fine but we didn't realize it until later that the parking was included so using the tax as a measure for the tip included an extra $20.00 that we shouldn't be including as a measure to tip. We were very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Spectacular view! Service was wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Spectacular view! Service was wonderful and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't beat the patio seating right o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

You can't beat the patio seating right on ocean. It's gorgeous. The food not good the night we dined. Apps, roasted cauliflower was a large piece of raw veggie, corn chowder was so sweet I could not eat it. Entree, short rib was probably pressure cooked and meat tasted ok, but was cloaked in what tasted exactly like bottled bbq sauce, pasta with mushroom ragu was flavorless and not eaten at all. Dessert, baked cookie with ice cream was ok, stone fruit cobbler had no fruit and seemed to be a large piece of cornbread. A shame because it's a lovely setting. The staff are all wonderful, helpful from the hostess to the servers and all wait staff. Not their fault the food was not good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Location and view are great - right in t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 27, 2016

Location and view are great - right in the water. We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation but our table wasn't ready for 55 minutes. We did enjoy a drink at the bar but a bit too long to wait for a table. The service was ok except when we asked for a blanket or a heater - we were told there were no more blankets and then we had to ask a second time for a heater - at that point almost all the heaters had been allocated- not sure I would return here - there is better service and better food at other restaurants in Malibu and Santa Monica

The chowder was good and the short ribs - the dessert cobbler was terrible !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Been there, done that. We'd been eager t ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Been there, done that. We'd been eager to celebrate our Anniversary at this restaurant and found the setting a spectacular choice! The beauty of the Malibu coastline is wondrous and romantic. We were very pleased with the setting and ambiance. The service staff were attentive and helpful, but they are ultimately limited by the quality standards of the kitchen and head chef.

The quality of the food and the pace of service, especially from the kitchen were below average and a disappointment. We don't complain in the moment, as doing so increases the risk of receiving an even more inferior product, but we won't return. It's a big world with many other options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice place on Malibu beach. Good food, f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice place on Malibu beach. Good food, friendly hosts and exclusive view on the ocean, beach and Pier. Just be there for a super experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's the best outdoor restaurant we've e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

It's the best outdoor restaurant we've ever visited. Both the kids and my husband and I loved it. Great job!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As you can see I hated the experience😊 ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

As you can see I hated the experience😊 NOT

I am obsessed with it now. I am vegan and loved the veggie bean burger. Thanks

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent, we went for Dine ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

The food was excellent, we went for DineLA week and the value was incredible, a great place to eat outside right above the breaking waves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I had a date night at Carbon ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

My wife and I had a date night at Carbon Beach Club. The visual ambience is very nice. Menu is very good, just note Malibu priced, so not inexpensive. I look forward to another date night here.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Location, location, location. Fancy sit ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Location, location, location. Fancy sitting next to some Malibu celebs eating fine food and drinking well paired wine or a summer's cocktail? Then this is the place for you. Portions are a little on the small side for the price, but your paying for the view, the ambiance and the great service. The outdoor patio is superb.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Eating right on the water is sublime, an ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 12, 2016

Eating right on the water is sublime, and the food is worthy of the great setting.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was very nice to sit with ocean view ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was very nice to sit with ocean view but it is VERY EXPENSIVE, Sorry will not come back

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

The bar tender was amazing! Fabulous dri ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The bar tender was amazing! Fabulous drinks... And fantastic entertainment

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Sat in lounge before dinner, need to imp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Sat in lounge before dinner, need to improve cocktail efficiency, very very slow. Asked for slightly spiced margarita and came out blazing hot. Pregnant African American server was lovely and replaced it. Food was great. Server cared and she did best she could do. Overall service is not super polished, tempo and crispness needs to be picked up and food comes out too slow. Could be amazing if sommelier and floor general kicked it up a notch. Vibe is a little stiff, should be a tad more lively, hostess, music, uniforms, staff training. I am in biz, please take this constructively, love the spot. Good luck!!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Reservation went smoothly, they gave us ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Reservation went smoothly, they gave us a great table with a view when we requested it, and the service was friendly and warm without being too "hovering". The food is fine, even good, but not high end or particularly adventurous or exciting. But it's a beautiful spot and a great place to grab drinks and/ or a meal while looking out at the ocean vistas. Lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Small and elegant. Good food and delght ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

Small and elegant. Good food and delghtful staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

If you're visiting Malibu, this is a gre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 6, 2016

If you're visiting Malibu, this is a great place to eat lunch, enjoy the view and not break the bank. Highly recommend! I will eat there again the next time I visit Malibu.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

pretty slow service. great restaurant vi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

pretty slow service. great restaurant view. food and wine are overprice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value1

Great experience. I love the ocean sound ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great experience. I love the ocean sound and the view. Great service. Thank you

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great but service too slow for drinks. G ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great but service too slow for drinks.

Great food waiter though. Very friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.