About Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn

22878 Pacific Coast Hwy
Malibu, CA 90265
View Larger Map

Enjoy a beachside, refined dining experience overlooking the beautiful Pacific Ocean and famous Malibu Pier. Located on exclusive Billionaires' Carbon Beach in Malibu.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Californian, Asian, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Sunday: 7:00am -11:00am (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Lunch menu: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Brunch menu: Saturday & Sunday from 11am - 3:30pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)
Bar & Lounge menu: daily from 3:30pm - 6:30pm
Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm (for menu detail go to www.malibubeachinn.com)

Cross Street:
Cross Creek Rd.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(310) 460-7509

Website:
http://www.malibubeachinn.com/

Entertainment:
None, but can be arranged.

Catering:
Please contact us for more details at 310-651-7777 ext 592 or send us an email at Dina@malibubeachinn.com and we will be happy to assist you further.

Parking Details:
Valet Parking required - validation offered. $10 for the first three hours with restaurant validation.

Public Transit:
Yes

Executive Chef:
Victor Morales

Private Party Facilities:
Plan an executive meeting in our Boardroom by the Sea, accommodating up to 20, or host an executive dinner in The Carbon Beach Club’s Semi-Private Dining room, accommodating up to 30. For larger groups, we welcome you to join us on our Ocean Front Terrace, accommodating up to 60 seated guests or 75 for a cocktail reception.

Private Party Contact:
Dina Nili: 310-651-7777x592

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Corkage Fee, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Malibu Beach Inn offers intimate corporate and social Events. Inquire within.

Restaurant Photos

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
chocolate chip cookie - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Red Margarita - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Proscuitto And Melon - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Fish & Chips - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Kale Salad - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Salmon - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Traditional Club Sandwich - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Mango Mojito - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA
Protein & Fruit Breakfast - Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn, Malibu, CA

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Tue 8:00AM - 4:00PM 5:00PM - 10:00PM

Wed - Thu 8:00AM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri 8:00AM - 4:00PM

Carbon Beach Club Restaurant (The Dining Room) @ Malibu Beach Inn Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

4.7

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

81% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Ambiance
Beach Cities
Best Restaurants in Malibu ›

Scenic View (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (15)
Waterfront (14)
See All
Good for a Date (12)
Special Occasion (10)
Romantic (10)
Great for Lunch (10)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Good for Anniversaries (8)
Quiet Conversation (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Casual (5)
Cozy (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Great for Brunch (5)
Fun (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Business Meals (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Spicy (2)
Creative Cuisine (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Healthy (1)
Organic (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Seasonal (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
560 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Malibu is out of my way, but in this cas ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Malibu is out of my way, but in this case it was worth the drive. I was treating a friend for her birthday and thought I'd take her here. We were both absolutely delighted with the service, our meal, and the magnificent ocean view -- more than a just a view, really, as it was practically right at our feet. One MUST have the Calamari Strips, and the Sweet Potato Fries! I've had both of those many, many times in many other places... no comparison!! The Smoked Beets Salad was fantastic as well. It was a chilly night, but heaters and cozy blankets provided by the staff took care of that situation nicely. All in all.... awesome.

Tags: Scenic View, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great thanksgiving day dinner with ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had a great thanksgiving day dinner with my family and the meal was amazing!

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Sunday Lunch, Waterfront, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had an amazing 3 course Thanksgiving lu ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Had an amazing 3 course Thanksgiving lunch here. The service and ambiance was impeccable and food was delicious. I would have rated a 5 star for food, except the desserts were a bit weak. Everything else was great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Very quiet night before thanksgiving. Pr ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Very quiet night before thanksgiving. Prob best for summer day time visit. Bbq shrimp with corn bread was tasty. Wine list could have more reasonable options per bottle. Salad with shrimp was exactly what I wanted, healthy and hearty. Right off hotel lobby, prob many other dedicated restaurants to frequent if short on time. Probably would not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good Food 😋Friendly staff from valet t ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Good Food 😋Friendly staff from valet to server beautiful view 👍🏽👍🏽

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very romantic place - great view - perfe ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Very romantic place - great view - perfect food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Celebrated our 35th wedding Anniversay. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Celebrated our 35th wedding Anniversay. Our favorite beach restaurant, food is great, ambiance, and view make it a special place to celebrate. We returned from our 32nd Anniversay dinner there.

Tags: Scenic View, Casual, Good for a Date, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated a birthday, and we had a g ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 16, 2016

We celebrated a birthday, and we had a great time! Food was great, view was great, and the staff was phenomenal!

Tags: Spicy, Authentic, Good for Groups, Tapas, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Organic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was fantastic and we've eaten b ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The food was fantastic and we've eaten both inside and outside and love both atmospheres.

A beautiful, brief getaway.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Afternoon Tea, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Had quite a few special occasions at res ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Had quite a few special occasions at restaurant over the years and always been great qualities on drinks and food, wondered what happened this last lunch - cocktails were weak with mostly ice, salmon burger and steak salad were bland, without real salmon or steak favors, as quality fish and meat should, ordinary presentation and ingredients mix; gave up on dessert to prevent further disappointment.

View is still excellent in a relaxed setting, and service was friendly.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Excellent views of Carbon Beach with the ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent views of Carbon Beach with the waves crashing just below! The food was delicious but not outstanding. It was prepared to perfection, everyone was super friendly, and overall the experience was worth the price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

My favorite place

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 2, 2016

My favorite place

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I loved this restaurant been many time ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 30, 2016

I loved this restaurant been many times I do not know what happened to the food it has really slipped lately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

We love this place - it's always great. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We love this place - it's always great. Food, service, and you cannot beat the location!

Tags: Good for a Date, Scenic View, Waterfront, Fun, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

Beautiful ocean view !!!!!

vip
 (El Paso)·Dined on September 23, 2016

Beautiful ocean view !!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love this restaurant! Only suggestion w ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Love this restaurant! Only suggestion would be to have more vegetarian options, especially during the evening.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

When we first got there we talked to the ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

When we first got there we talked to the hostess and she made a mistake with our reservation. It was supposed to be for 6 people and she said that our reservation was only for 4. So far it wasn't off to a very good start. When we sat down everything was alright. The cheese plate appetizer, although it took long, it was pretty satisfying. The main courses were not good at all. My friend, my brother and I got the steak & frites and we could almost swear the "frites" we're fries from McDonald's. The steak was horribly cooked and very under seasoned. The chimichurri wasn't even a chimichurri. The drinks were alright. My dad ordered the bolognese and was not happy at all. He took 2 bites and was put off by the lack of flavor. The waiter was wonderful however. I don't remember his name but he was funny and social and he made the experience better than it would have been.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value3

Two of our friends ordered fish and each ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Two of our friends ordered fish and each got a postage size piece. When brought to the attention of the manager she just said she was sorry but didn't offer to bring him another serving. The restaurant did take it off the bill but that was not what our friends wanted. We were celebrating a friend's birthday and the server brought her a piece of cake and we were then charged $12!

We have been to this restaurant several times in the past and always came away feeling satisfied, but not this time and as a result none of us will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value4

nothing special- food okay, too casual-l ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

nothing special- food okay, too casual-lousy gin selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Outstanding ambience epic oceanview clas ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Outstanding ambience epic oceanview class personified

Tags: Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful view, pleasant service and rel ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 7, 2016

Beautiful view, pleasant service and relaxed atmosphere were all appreciated but the food was entirely sub-par.

Tags: Scenic View, Waterfront, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service4
value1

As always, an excellent peaceful view of ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2016

As always, an excellent peaceful view of the sea. Food and service still good with new manager

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This restaurant is a joke. First, we cam ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 5, 2016

This restaurant is a joke. First, we came at 4pm but dinner was not served until 5.30pm. We tried to order pizza as snacks to pass the time, but were informed they ran out of dough. For dinner, we were informed that the fish of the day was swordfish. Great Then after quite some time (almost when you'd think the food would come), we were informed it was not swordfish but rather barramundi. It was highly recommended so two of us at the table ordered it instead.

Then came the food. It was a horror. First, the barramundi was dried out to the point it was rubbery, awful favor, even stringy. It came with clams, which i was not informed of and do not like. Dreadful, so both were returned. Another dish ordered at the table was clams linguini. The linguini was tasteless, almost as it were steamed and thrown on the plate without any seasoning. How can a restaurant (on the ocean, no less) butcher a classic dish like this?

Substituted it for a burger, which was edible but lacked any finesse. I should say the waiter keep positive attitude but it was really amateur hour. The $550 bill (for six) was an outrage.

The punchline is that a couple days later we all ate at my 101 yr old uncle's assisted living facility and on the menu they had... barramundi. With a smile I ordered that. And indeed it was far superior to Carbon Beach Club (i.e. it was edible).

It appears that there is a zero sum equation often found in the restaurant industry- the better the location and view, the more nonchalance the restaurant has for the food.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Great service! Knowledgable, helpful st ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Great service! Knowledgable, helpful staff! Great menu selections!

Gorgeous ocean view with restaurant on the beach.

Relaxing, intimate scenic environment with nice food choices.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual, Romantic, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Modern Decor, Notable Wine List, Spicy, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Scenic View, Waterfront, Cozy, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were a bit disappointed with our serv ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We were a bit disappointed with our server who was extremely forgetful.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Waterfront, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

On PCH so spectacular and so hard to get ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 26, 2016

On PCH so spectacular and so hard to get that wrong but the service was very soso. The staff was very nice but we waited very long for small requests which as we all know will compromise a meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Beautiful setting right on the water

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 22, 2016

Beautiful setting right on the water

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

Love this restaurant sitting on the glas ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Love this restaurant sitting on the glass outdoors with the crashing waves. The food was fantastic. The service was prompt and good although the server's appearance was unkempt and a little distracting.

We will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Meal was just ok for the four of us. We ate inside because it was very windy out on the patio. First we thought our server was just busy outside but we looked and there wasn't very many ppl out there and he was nowhere to be found. Had to go to the bar to order another bottle of wine and our server very rarely checked on us.It was hard to find a server period that night. Terrible service for the price and the food is better other places. I guess you pay for the view and forget how long you wait for everything. Will not return!

I will say that the breakfast on the patio was a bit better in the morning but still only one server.

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Situated above a beautiful stretch of be ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 16, 2016

Situated above a beautiful stretch of beach, it's the perfect place for a relaxing lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Service was poor at best. We were ignor ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Service was poor at best. We were ignored and had to ask for a waiter to take our order. Beverages not refilled. Took 20 minutes to get the check despite telling staff that we needed to leave for an appointment. If you have nothing but time, the view can't be beat. Took an hour and a half to get three salads and pay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service1
value1

We have watched this hotel thru a couple ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 10, 2016

We have watched this hotel thru a couple of incarnations and as it is now it is really the top.

Loved ambience and food. Will definitely return!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Always meets high expectations for locat ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 9, 2016

Always meets high expectations for location, food, staff, and service. Very convenient valet parking

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

A+ on atmosphere but they fall short on ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2016

A+ on atmosphere but they fall short on everything else. We arrived for a 7:00pm reservation & the waiter was friendly & seemingly attentive. But, as the other tables filled he disappeared. We had to make a huge effort to flag him down to order. We had to make a great effort to wave someone donw to fill water glasses and were never offered a 2nd glass of wine. We asked multiple times for the candle to be lit on our table. It seemed to us that as soon as the tables filled everyone was running around like chickens without their heads and as if it was a big surprise they had to manage the customers at all of the tables. even after we made each request no one really apologized it just seemed to stress them out. The food was good but we never got the truffle fries we ordered. Last point, they put the parking on the bill which would be fine but we didn't realize it until later that the parking was included so using the tax as a measure for the tip included an extra $20.00 that we shouldn't be including as a measure to tip. We were very disappointed

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

Spectacular view! Service was wonderful ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Spectacular view! Service was wonderful and food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

You can't beat the patio seating right o ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 29, 2016

You can't beat the patio seating right on ocean. It's gorgeous. The food not good the night we dined. Apps, roasted cauliflower was a large piece of raw veggie, corn chowder was so sweet I could not eat it. Entree, short rib was probably pressure cooked and meat tasted ok, but was cloaked in what tasted exactly like bottled bbq sauce, pasta with mushroom ragu was flavorless and not eaten at all. Dessert, baked cookie with ice cream was ok, stone fruit cobbler had no fruit and seemed to be a large piece of cornbread. A shame because it's a lovely setting. The staff are all wonderful, helpful from the hostess to the servers and all wait staff. Not their fault the food was not good!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value2

Location and view are great - right in t ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 27, 2016

Location and view are great - right in the water. We arrived 15 minutes before our reservation but our table wasn't ready for 55 minutes. We did enjoy a drink at the bar but a bit too long to wait for a table. The service was ok except when we asked for a blanket or a heater - we were told there were no more blankets and then we had to ask a second time for a heater - at that point almost all the heaters had been allocated- not sure I would return here - there is better service and better food at other restaurants in Malibu and Santa Monica

The chowder was good and the short ribs - the dessert cobbler was terrible !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

Been there, done that. We'd been eager t ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Been there, done that. We'd been eager to celebrate our Anniversary at this restaurant and found the setting a spectacular choice! The beauty of the Malibu coastline is wondrous and romantic. We were very pleased with the setting and ambiance. The service staff were attentive and helpful, but they are ultimately limited by the quality standards of the kitchen and head chef.

The quality of the food and the pace of service, especially from the kitchen were below average and a disappointment. We don't complain in the moment, as doing so increases the risk of receiving an even more inferior product, but we won't return. It's a big world with many other options.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value3

Nice place on Malibu beach. Good food, f ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Nice place on Malibu beach. Good food, friendly hosts and exclusive view on the ocean, beach and Pier. Just be there for a super experience.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

It's the best outdoor restaurant we've e ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2016

It's the best outdoor restaurant we've ever visited. Both the kids and my husband and I loved it. Great job!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.