About Captain James Landing

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 4103278600x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Specials

Weekly Specials and Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Specials

Weekly Specials and Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Mango Habanero Wings $9.95 Loaded Onion Rings $12.95 Maryland Blue Crab Pesto $24.99 Captains Crab Melt $19.95 Chesapeake Cheese Steak $14.95 Happy Hour is Monday through Friday from 4pm-7pm 1/2 Price Appetizers, Seafood Nachos, Wings, Stuffed Ski. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.0

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Fells Point ›

Neighborhood Gem (35)
Special Occasion (32)
Great for Lunch (29)
See All
Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Great for Brunch (15)
Kid-friendly (14)
Late-night Find (14)
Scenic View (8)
Casual (8)
Romantic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Good for a Date (5)
Local Ingredients (3)
Sunday Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Authentic (3)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Waterfront (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Worth the Drive (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
People Watching (2)
Family Style (2)
Cozy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Fun (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
388 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Well this was our second time here and w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 2 days ago

Well this was our second time here and we came because the Groupon. We brought my boyfriends mother and sister for his mothers birthday. I ordered the sea scallops and at first they came out under done, there was no pan sear on them at all. So the waitress took them back and had them redo them and they were gone for at least 10 or so minutes. They came back looking good on the top but I flipped them all over and they were all burnt underneath and the cook purposefully put each one burnt side down. I gave my food back because by that point everyone else at the table was done eating. So I basically ate bread and a bite of my boyfriends pasta. The waitress was very sweet about everything and fixed the check but it's unacceptable to have a chef at a seafood restaurant that can't cook scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Excellent service and generally good foo ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined 5 days ago

Excellent service and generally good food.Stay away from the Cream of crab soup (too thick and not enough depth) and steer towards the seafood stew.

They didn't offer shrimp and grits but the scallops and grits were fabulous (the grits were one of th ebest versions I've had--bacon and cheese flavored--great flavor but not overpowering.

The crab cake was solid with lots of lump crabmeat and next to no filler. Veggies were steamed and not overdone.

The dirty martini was perfect, though I wish the olives didn't have pimentos (personal pet peeve). All in all the meal was enjoyable and I'd def. go back.

One suggestion, if it is stated that a patron has a birthday I'd suggest the restaurant do something special (dessert, a song, something!)

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My brother and I had dinner on a Tuesday ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 6 days ago

My brother and I had dinner on a Tuesday night. He lives in Ohio and wanted some seafood. Service was great and we took advantage of the Happy Hour. Inexpensive beer and grilled oysters at half price. The Oysters were wonderful only problem they would not provide the recipe. Notice it was lobster night - 1 1/4 lb with two sides for about $15 . Our total bill for 4 beers, 2 dz grilled oyster and 2 lobster dinners was $75, unbelievable. Also wanted to mention the warm fresh rolls which were great for sopping up the oyster juice. Definitely will go the Captain James whenever in Baltimore.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The sever added 26% to my bill and told ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

The sever added 26% to my bill and told me that's how they do business.Not wanting to make a fuss on our anniversary I at the tab and will never set foot in that place again

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

The food there is so great, specially th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food there is so great, specially the crab cake and the seafood combination platter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly owner and staff, pleasant atmos ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Friendly owner and staff, pleasant atmosphere, and spectacular value!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I must say this was a excellent choice f ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

I must say this was a excellent choice for last Sunday's dinner for 6 friends. We were in the area for a play and I made reservations for 9pm but the play ran over so I called and asked could I change it to 10 pm and the young lady was like sure no problem. When we arrived they greeted us at the door with very friendly smiles. The food was AWESOME!! I will be back soon because I love crabs and didn't taste them this time. I really enjoy our server more than anything because I am big on customer service!! Greg you are indeed the man. You made our dinner better! So shout to you and thank you. I would recommend Captain James Landing to all that's reading this.

Tags: Good for a Date, Late-night Find, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dropping daughter off at college. Went f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Dropping daughter off at college. Went for seafood. Biggest disappointment was red pepper in crab cakes and crab imperial. Just ruins the dish. Everybody from Maryland knows you don't put peppers in crab.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

Haven't been to Captain James landing fo ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Haven't been to Captain James landing for over 5 years following a disappointing experience. Will be returning much sooner after an all together enjoyable one.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This place was awesome! Best crab ball a ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

This place was awesome! Best crab ball appetizers I've ever had. Rolls were moist and piping hot, and the Mango Sangria added a festive touch to the meal. I ordered the stuffed shrimp and they were delicious! Our waiter was attentive and service was quick. All in all, it was a perfect meal.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Historic, People Watching, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always have good food and Greg is best s ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always have good food and Greg is best server around. So friendly and attentive. Love going here and even my 90&94 yeR old parents love it here They always say when are we going to the "boat" for dinner again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Just a great menu service and quality - ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Just a great menu service and quality - portions were huge - get a crab imperial add on to the seafood platter rather than the lobster tail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The bread they brought out was moldy. Th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The bread they brought out was moldy. The food took forever to arrive. The Maryland crab soup seemed like it was just Campbell's vegetable soup with some stringy crab meat in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4

Best food in Baltimore city combined wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Best food in Baltimore city combined with the best prices. Customer service is excellent and management is superb. I would recommend this hot spot to anyone and everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my two sons and had a great ti ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Went with my two sons and had a great time. Happy hour menu is great. Ordered a bunch of seafood and chowed down. Service was very good. Food particularly the grilled oysters was super. Bill was moderate for all the wonderful food we had. Rolls delicious.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic meal. Always good food.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Fantastic meal. Always good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Captain James never disappoints. Good fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 22, 2016

Captain James never disappoints. Good food and good atmosphere. Always recommend reservations. Knowledgeable friendly staff. Great for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a Saturday evening, party of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for a Saturday evening, party of five. The room was uncomfortably warm for all of us. The table was not large enough to fit our food. The crabs we ordered were both overlooked and not fresh as they had the slight taste of ammonia. Cream of crab soup was extremely bland. Fish sandwich and nachos were fine. Overall, a real disappointment in food and ambiance. I would not return here as there are so many duperior places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food! Great service! The cream of ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food! Great service! The cream of crab soup was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was one of the hottest days of the ye ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was one of the hottest days of the year outside in addition to inside the restaurant. It was so hot that my entire party sweated and fanned themselves during our whole dining experience. Please do not visit this establishment on a hot day...you will regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I love go to the restaurant. Love the f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love go to the restaurant. Love the food and also the atmosphere and great. Along with the prices.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Captain James Landing two yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went to Captain James Landing two years ago and got great service and great food in a great atmosphere. It was the same this time when we took my parents and we even had the same server, Hollie, who is awesome! We plan to visit Baltimore more often.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All seafood was excellent, especially th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

All seafood was excellent, especially the octopus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very disappointed in size of crabs, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Was very disappointed in size of crabs, x large crabs were small, light and varied in size( not all the same or close to) feel we were given for mediums. We were there in May and had a much better crab expierence

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The waitress was disinterested and seeme ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The waitress was disinterested and seemed as though she was unfamiliar with the drink menu as well as the appropriate cooking of the Alaskan crab legs. Traveled from Philadelphia to start a birthday weekend celebration on 8/5:16. It was not worth the drive nor the bill total. I will never recommend this establishment to anyone especially for a city known for their seafood. Very disappointed 👎🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Frequent diner. Love their daily dinner ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Frequent diner. Love their daily dinner specials especially Crab Cake Monday. Three friends dining this evening. We were promptly seated and then greeted by friendly server. Crab Cakes were large, nicely cooked, tasty and fairly priced. Consistent high level of food and service at fair price. Server was attentive and professional. Look forward to our return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have seen this restaurant with the shi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have seen this restaurant with the ship attached to it for years in Baltimore. From the blogs I read folks make fun of it, BUT, you need to make a reservation and walk in! We were running late (traffic, etc.) for our reservation and the greeter held our reservation for 30 minutes. Very nice! We made it and from the greeter to the server (Joyce) to the ambiance (portholes) to the food we were not disappointed. One of the cool, interesting things I read about Captain James Landing was that most of the staff were longtimers. Joyce knew her stuff and made our drinks too! Food was fresh like seafood restaurants should be, cooked to perfection. YUM! Parking right across the street. Perfect! No searching! We could not have asked for a better dining experience! Thank you Captain James' Landing! We will be back! Oh yeah, our theme for that evening was "cruise ship" so how cool is that? Dining in a cruise ship without the motion!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was just awesome... ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service and food was just awesome... This spot was recommended by a dear friend,

I was happy to have given this location a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful crab cakes and fried calamari. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful crab cakes and fried calamari. They even gave us a free appetizer when I made the reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best escargot ever!!!! The crab cakes ar ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best escargot ever!!!! The crab cakes are the best in Baltimore!!! My family travels 2 hours just to eat good seafood at Captain James Landing!!! This place is a MUST when you're in the city!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're in Baltimore for the weekend and f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We're in Baltimore for the weekend and found this place. Was skeptical, after eating at Phillips the night before. Glad we went, the food was better than there. Will definitely be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to grab a late night bite. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place to grab a late night bite. The only issue it was very warm in thethe air condition very low..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first trip to Captain James ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first trip to Captain James Landing, but certainly won't be our last.

The food was nothing short of amazing and the portions were sizable.

Our server Greg was not only knowledgeable about the menu and bar selections, he was funny, attentive and made the meal memorable.

I highly recommend trying them out! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was hot in the room my party of 5 was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was hot in the room my party of 5 was sweating!😰😰

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service, we always enjoy ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and service, we always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best crab cakes in Maryland!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best crab cakes in Maryland!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business luncheon and the staff was very ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Business luncheon and the staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The people were nice and the service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The people were nice and the service was good, but the food was terrible. Some of our dishes ( stuffed shrimp ) were inedible. We ate in the restaurant part. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great service! The crab cakes and hush p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service! The crab cakes and hush puppies were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.