About Captain James Landing

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 4103278600x

Additional:
Banquet, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Promotions

Weekly Specials and Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Promotions

Weekly Specials and Happy Hour

Special valid Jul 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details

Mango Habanero Wings $9.95 Loaded Onion Rings $12.95 Maryland Blue Crab Pesto $24.99 Captains Crab Melt $19.95 Chesapeake Cheese Steak $14.95 Happy Hour is Monday through Friday from 4pm-7pm 1/2 Price Appetizers, Seafood Nachos, Wings, Stuffed Ski. Excludes Tax and Tip. Special valid Jul 27, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 7:00 AM - 11:00 PM.

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

89% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Fells Point ›

Great for Lunch (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
See All
Good for Groups (37)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Great for Brunch (21)
Kid-friendly (18)
Late-night Find (16)
Scenic View (13)
Romantic (9)
Hot Spot (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Notable Wine List (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
375 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Just a great menu service and quality - ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 2 days ago

Just a great menu service and quality - portions were huge - get a crab imperial add on to the seafood platter rather than the lobster tail!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best food in Baltimore city combined wit ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Best food in Baltimore city combined with the best prices. Customer service is excellent and management is superb. I would recommend this hot spot to anyone and everyone!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Cozy, Modern Decor, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my two sons and had a great ti ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined 4 days ago

Went with my two sons and had a great time. Happy hour menu is great. Ordered a bunch of seafood and chowed down. Service was very good. Food particularly the grilled oysters was super. Bill was moderate for all the wonderful food we had. Rolls delicious.

Tags: Casual, Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fantastic meal. Always good food.

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined 4 days ago

Fantastic meal. Always good food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Captain James never disappoints. Good fo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 5 days ago

Captain James never disappoints. Good food and good atmosphere. Always recommend reservations. Knowledgeable friendly staff. Great for special occasions.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We went for a Saturday evening, party of ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We went for a Saturday evening, party of five. The room was uncomfortably warm for all of us. The table was not large enough to fit our food. The crabs we ordered were both overlooked and not fresh as they had the slight taste of ammonia. Cream of crab soup was extremely bland. Fish sandwich and nachos were fine. Overall, a real disappointment in food and ambiance. I would not return here as there are so many duperior places in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

Great food! Great service! The cream of ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great food! Great service! The cream of crab soup was excellent.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Late-night Find, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service and food

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Great service and food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It was one of the hottest days of the ye ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

It was one of the hottest days of the year outside in addition to inside the restaurant. It was so hot that my entire party sweated and fanned themselves during our whole dining experience. Please do not visit this establishment on a hot day...you will regret it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service4
value3

I love go to the restaurant. Love the f ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

I love go to the restaurant. Love the food and also the atmosphere and great. Along with the prices.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to Captain James Landing two yea ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

We went to Captain James Landing two years ago and got great service and great food in a great atmosphere. It was the same this time when we took my parents and we even had the same server, Hollie, who is awesome! We plan to visit Baltimore more often.

Tags: Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All seafood was excellent, especially th ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

All seafood was excellent, especially the octopus.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Was very disappointed in size of crabs, ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Was very disappointed in size of crabs, x large crabs were small, light and varied in size( not all the same or close to) feel we were given for mediums. We were there in May and had a much better crab expierence

Tags: Scenic View, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The waitress was disinterested and seeme ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

The waitress was disinterested and seemed as though she was unfamiliar with the drink menu as well as the appropriate cooking of the Alaskan crab legs. Traveled from Philadelphia to start a birthday weekend celebration on 8/5:16. It was not worth the drive nor the bill total. I will never recommend this establishment to anyone especially for a city known for their seafood. Very disappointed 👎🏽

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Frequent diner. Love their daily dinner ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

Frequent diner. Love their daily dinner specials especially Crab Cake Monday. Three friends dining this evening. We were promptly seated and then greeted by friendly server. Crab Cakes were large, nicely cooked, tasty and fairly priced. Consistent high level of food and service at fair price. Server was attentive and professional. Look forward to our return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

I have seen this restaurant with the shi ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

I have seen this restaurant with the ship attached to it for years in Baltimore. From the blogs I read folks make fun of it, BUT, you need to make a reservation and walk in! We were running late (traffic, etc.) for our reservation and the greeter held our reservation for 30 minutes. Very nice! We made it and from the greeter to the server (Joyce) to the ambiance (portholes) to the food we were not disappointed. One of the cool, interesting things I read about Captain James Landing was that most of the staff were longtimers. Joyce knew her stuff and made our drinks too! Food was fresh like seafood restaurants should be, cooked to perfection. YUM! Parking right across the street. Perfect! No searching! We could not have asked for a better dining experience! Thank you Captain James' Landing! We will be back! Oh yeah, our theme for that evening was "cruise ship" so how cool is that? Dining in a cruise ship without the motion!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Late-night Find, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service and food was just awesome... ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service and food was just awesome... This spot was recommended by a dear friend,

I was happy to have given this location a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful crab cakes and fried calamari. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful crab cakes and fried calamari. They even gave us a free appetizer when I made the reservation!

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best escargot ever!!!! The crab cakes ar ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best escargot ever!!!! The crab cakes are the best in Baltimore!!! My family travels 2 hours just to eat good seafood at Captain James Landing!!! This place is a MUST when you're in the city!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're in Baltimore for the weekend and f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We're in Baltimore for the weekend and found this place. Was skeptical, after eating at Phillips the night before. Glad we went, the food was better than there. Will definitely be back again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to grab a late night bite. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place to grab a late night bite. The only issue it was very warm in thethe air condition very low..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first trip to Captain James ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first trip to Captain James Landing, but certainly won't be our last.

The food was nothing short of amazing and the portions were sizable.

Our server Greg was not only knowledgeable about the menu and bar selections, he was funny, attentive and made the meal memorable.

I highly recommend trying them out! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was hot in the room my party of 5 was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was hot in the room my party of 5 was sweating!😰😰

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service, we always enjoy ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and service, we always enjoy dining here.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best crab cakes in Maryland!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best crab cakes in Maryland!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business luncheon and the staff was very ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Business luncheon and the staff was very accommodating.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The people were nice and the service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The people were nice and the service was good, but the food was terrible. Some of our dishes ( stuffed shrimp ) were inedible. We ate in the restaurant part. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great service! The crab cakes and hush p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service! The crab cakes and hush puppies were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Situated in a nice area with a cool atmo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Situated in a nice area with a cool atmosphere. Service and food were great. Prices are reasonable, and the portions were large. We had the shrimp scampi and the prime rib. Both were delicious. The only thing I would change is the country music playing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time at Captain James'. The firs ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Second time at Captain James'. The first was during restaurant week, which was spectacular and the second was with a Groupon, also spectacular. Especially with the Groupon, you can't beat the value. Check out their daily specials.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was excellent. Server was great, bu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was great, but it took way too long to get our food. It took us nearly 2 hours and they weren't busy at all.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a very nice experience the food w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very nice experience the food was good and the drinks was also good. I look forward to dining there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is in a great location an ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant is in a great location and has a great visual appearance. The exterior boat design is pulled inside with nautical themes. The menu has a wide variety of options. The food was decent and the service was ok. It was Father's Day so I don't know if this is standard or if they were just busy and overwhelmed. I'd be willing to go again & try because there were other items on the menu that looked really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Probably experienced the nicest hostess ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Probably experienced the nicest hostess of any restaurant. The waiter was great too. Excellent seafood and crabs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was average, not great. I don' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was average, not great. I don't understand putting a sauce over and under sautéed soft crabs. The crab cake had a lot of filler. The crab fritters were good, French fries good (and hot). Cole slaw was soupy. Our server was very good. She kept pace with us and was pleasant.

We were in and out in just over an hour!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to chill and have a laugh wi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place to chill and have a laugh with friends. My wife and I come here roughly every 2 months, she loves the lamb chops. Its a must make reservations, just pop up or you will over an hour or more for a table.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Captain James Landing se ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to Captain James Landing several. However, this is the first time when I asked for a 2nd basket of bread the waiter said 4 more rolls would cost us $3.00. My son ordered a spaghetti with meat balls they they also charged ($2) for extra sauce . My seafood platter portion also shrunk down compared to the last time I was here. The tip (18%) is automatically added to the bill so I guess they don't care about providing good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

All wood still seating and some booths. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

All wood still seating and some booths. The restaurant looked very small inside but we were seated right away with reservations. The waitress was very nice and knowledgeable. The seafood nachos were really good. The soft shelled crab and salmon were really good as well. Will dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just OK with some issues

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went there with out of towners to show them a Baltimore type sea food place- and it was that. However there were a few things that bothered us.

The prices on the beer were a bit high $8.00 for a local beer.

We asked for a 2nd basket of bread , we were really hungry and the waiter said 4 more rolls would cost us $3.00.

Lastly, we were only 4 people and they automatically put on an 18% tip. I don't mind that it was 18% because I generally give 20- but it did not give the customer any choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

My husband had the ciopincco (seafood st ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband had the ciopincco (seafood stew) which was very good as were the grilled oysters. The seafood nachos had too much white cheese stuff for me (too gooey). The choice of wine was very good. Our server had a very friendly and engaging personality, also very attentive.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.