About Captain James Landing

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 4103278600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.3

ambience

4.0

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Baltimore
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Fells Point ›

neighborhood gem (42)
great for lunch (41)
good for groups (39)
See All
special occasion (31)
fit for foodies (27)
great for brunch (25)
kid-friendly (23)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (10)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (9)
romantic (8)
notable wine list (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
Sort By:
Newest
359 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The service and food was just awesome... ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The service and food was just awesome... This spot was recommended by a dear friend,

I was happy to have given this location a try.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Wonderful crab cakes and fried calamari. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Wonderful crab cakes and fried calamari. They even gave us a free appetizer when I made the reservation!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Best escargot ever!!!! The crab cakes ar ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Best escargot ever!!!! The crab cakes are the best in Baltimore!!! My family travels 2 hours just to eat good seafood at Captain James Landing!!! This place is a MUST when you're in the city!!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We're in Baltimore for the weekend and f ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

We're in Baltimore for the weekend and found this place. Was skeptical, after eating at Phillips the night before. Glad we went, the food was better than there. Will definitely be back again

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great place to grab a late night bite. ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Great place to grab a late night bite. The only issue it was very warm in thethe air condition very low..

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This was our first trip to Captain James ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

This was our first trip to Captain James Landing, but certainly won't be our last.

The food was nothing short of amazing and the portions were sizable.

Our server Greg was not only knowledgeable about the menu and bar selections, he was funny, attentive and made the meal memorable.

I highly recommend trying them out! You will not be disappointed!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was hot in the room my party of 5 was ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

It was hot in the room my party of 5 was sweating!😰😰

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service, we always enjoy ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

Great food and service, we always enjoy dining here.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

The best crab cakes in Maryland!!

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The best crab cakes in Maryland!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Business luncheon and the staff was very ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Business luncheon and the staff was very accommodating.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The people were nice and the service was ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

The people were nice and the service was good, but the food was terrible. Some of our dishes ( stuffed shrimp ) were inedible. We ate in the restaurant part. Would never go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3

Great service! The crab cakes and hush p ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great service! The crab cakes and hush puppies were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Situated in a nice area with a cool atmo ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Situated in a nice area with a cool atmosphere. Service and food were great. Prices are reasonable, and the portions were large. We had the shrimp scampi and the prime rib. Both were delicious. The only thing I would change is the country music playing.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Second time at Captain James'. The firs ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 20, 2016

Second time at Captain James'. The first was during restaurant week, which was spectacular and the second was with a Groupon, also spectacular. Especially with the Groupon, you can't beat the value. Check out their daily specials.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Food was excellent. Server was great, bu ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Food was excellent. Server was great, but it took way too long to get our food. It took us nearly 2 hours and they weren't busy at all.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

We had a very nice experience the food w ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We had a very nice experience the food was good and the drinks was also good. I look forward to dining there again.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant is in a great location an ...

vip
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The restaurant is in a great location and has a great visual appearance. The exterior boat design is pulled inside with nautical themes. The menu has a wide variety of options. The food was decent and the service was ok. It was Father's Day so I don't know if this is standard or if they were just busy and overwhelmed. I'd be willing to go again & try because there were other items on the menu that looked really good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Probably experienced the nicest hostess ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Probably experienced the nicest hostess of any restaurant. The waiter was great too. Excellent seafood and crabs.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was average, not great. I don' ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was average, not great. I don't understand putting a sauce over and under sautéed soft crabs. The crab cake had a lot of filler. The crab fritters were good, French fries good (and hot). Cole slaw was soupy. Our server was very good. She kept pace with us and was pleasant.

We were in and out in just over an hour!

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to chill and have a laugh wi ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great place to chill and have a laugh with friends. My wife and I come here roughly every 2 months, she loves the lamb chops. Its a must make reservations, just pop up or you will over an hour or more for a table.

Tags: great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We have been to Captain James Landing se ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We have been to Captain James Landing several. However, this is the first time when I asked for a 2nd basket of bread the waiter said 4 more rolls would cost us $3.00. My son ordered a spaghetti with meat balls they they also charged ($2) for extra sauce . My seafood platter portion also shrunk down compared to the last time I was here. The tip (18%) is automatically added to the bill so I guess they don't care about providing good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

All wood still seating and some booths. ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

All wood still seating and some booths. The restaurant looked very small inside but we were seated right away with reservations. The waitress was very nice and knowledgeable. The seafood nachos were really good. The soft shelled crab and salmon were really good as well. Will dine there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Just OK with some issues

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

We went there with out of towners to show them a Baltimore type sea food place- and it was that. However there were a few things that bothered us.

The prices on the beer were a bit high $8.00 for a local beer.

We asked for a 2nd basket of bread , we were really hungry and the waiter said 4 more rolls would cost us $3.00.

Lastly, we were only 4 people and they automatically put on an 18% tip. I don't mind that it was 18% because I generally give 20- but it did not give the customer any choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value2

My husband had the ciopincco (seafood st ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

My husband had the ciopincco (seafood stew) which was very good as were the grilled oysters. The seafood nachos had too much white cheese stuff for me (too gooey). The choice of wine was very good. Our server had a very friendly and engaging personality, also very attentive.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Crab, Crab, and MORE CRAB!

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Crabcakes are some of the best I've ever had - the crab dip is supreme - the cream of crab soup is a meal in itself - I've never brought anyone here who didn't rave about the food!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Always awesome seafood! Love it!! Excel ...

vip
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Always awesome seafood! Love it!!

Excellent waitstaff. Gina great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Captain James

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 16, 2016

Great dining experience! Excellent crab cakes! Can't beat the weekly specials.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My overall experience was AMAZING. Defin ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

My overall experience was AMAZING. Definitely one of the best places in Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We thoroughly enjoyed our early dinner h ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our early dinner here. We were seated quickly and served fresh rolls and water. They accommodated our special request for our son and he thoroughly enjoyed his fish. The food is very well priced and holds great value. We loved the mahi mahi, the sea scallops (although the grits were a bit dry), and my older son loved his "ultimate burger". Overall, we were very happy and planning on coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Possibly the worst service I've ever had ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 14, 2016

Possibly the worst service I've ever had. People that were seated after us were served before our waitress even came over to take our drink order. Waited 45 minutes for an appetizer. The tip is automatically added to the bill so I guess they don't care about providing good service. The food was good but not goods enough to make me want to go back after the complete lack of service we received.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

You have to pay for things that should be free!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

So the food is pretty okay. They specialize in seafood which is my favorite. I thought it was odd that you have to pay for rolls. Unlimited rolls come complimentary with most moderately respectable dining establishments (Red Lobster, ect.). However the server put TWO rolls on my table (one for me and another for my Grandmother) when we were waiting for our drinks. We both ate one each. My Grandmother ordered a steak so when the steak came out he said if she wanted rolls she would have to pay around $4 for dinner rolls. I though it was the oddest thing ever. You sell $35 steaks and can't even give rolls out with it? How odd.

Our server seemed a bit annoyed. Perhaps he had a long day. I have been there before and received great service before. Maybe next time I will try the crabhouse. I heard across the street is much better than inside the building.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

No complaints, just smaller then I thoug ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 9, 2016

No complaints, just smaller then I thought it would be.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Dissapointed

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers day was my first visit to Captain James and I must say that I was a bit shocked with the experience. First, the waiter did not acknowledge that I had a child with me, so I did not receive a children's menu until after we ordered, and after seeing another waiter with one. Also, the crab-cakes were very heavily breaded, with stuffing mix. I would much rather visit Jimmy's Seafood, or Moe's.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Great value for seafood lovers.

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

Went on a Monday while in town for a conference. Ample off-street parking. Very good crab soup; a bowl was enough to share. Very good seafood platter, with salmon and not the usual cod or flounder. My wife had the crab cakes, which were on special (on Mondays.) There must have been 10-12 oz of crab meat; a very generous portion. We also had a Riesling by the glass, which was very enjoyable. We will definitely eat here next time we are in Baltimore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great Crab Cakes

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on May 2, 2016

The Crab Cakes here are amazing. Perfectly crusty on the outside, flavorful on the inside. Great meal to accompany with a cold beer on a sunny day. Relaxed atmosphere, casual dining area.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Favorite place

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

This is our fave place to eat anytime. The seafood Caesar saladisdelish.service isgreat

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food is delicious!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was excellent. I normally eat s ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was excellent. I normally eat seafood but decided to try the steak. It exceeded my expectation. The two seater table was really small. I could hear the conversation of the couple sitting next to me. Service was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Loved it start to end!!!

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 30, 2016

Loved it start to end!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed lunch at Captain James

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We celebrated my husband birthday with lunch at Captain James enjoying their delicious crab cakes.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.