About Captain James Landing

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: (410) 327-8600

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.4

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (32)
Casual (31)
Special Occasion (28)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (22)
Good for Birthdays (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Neighborhood Gem (18)
Family Style (18)
Cozy (15)
Fun (15)
Great for Lunch (14)
Comfort Food (13)
Good for Groups (13)
Waterfront (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Local Ingredients (10)
Authentic (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Kid-friendly (9)
Romantic (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Business Meals (8)
Great for Brunch (8)
Fit for Foodies (8)
Happy Hour (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Scenic View (6)
Quick Bite (5)
People Watching (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Historic (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Healthy (4)
Great Beer (4)
Seasonal (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Bar Seating (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Live Sports (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Private Room (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Vegan (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
455 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Had a good time.. Sea food was good. S ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 3 days ago

Had a good time.. Sea food was good. Service was good. Drinks not so good. Two rolls for two people. No other to be had.

Tags: Fun, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food and service was very good. The ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

The food and service was very good. The restaurant is noisy. So, I'm not sure how it would be for a romantic date. For families and couples looking for a casual atmosphere and great food, I would highly recommend it!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Good choices for Restaurant Week. But, ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined 6 days ago

Good choices for Restaurant Week. But, the soft crab was not fresh. My dining companion ended up ordering the Crab Cake Special on a Monday which was outstanding!! My seafood chowder which was the first course on RW was something I would order again. My companion ordered the seafood stew, which never made it to the table as the waiter forgot to order it from the kitchen. Very busy on a Monday night and most around us were ordering off the regular menu which looked awesome. We will give this one another try

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

My 3rd time going for dinner, but this t ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

My 3rd time going for dinner, but this time I decided to try something new. HOWEVER, I wasnt please, the crab fries were fried too hard. The shrimp scampi was $25 for only 6 medium sized shrimp with too much spaghetti. (The meat to pasta ratio didnt work) The service was ok but had better previously. Overall, it was okay but I'd prefer to stick to what I've ordered before. Won't try anything new anymore. Better luck, next time.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value3

Food was excellent, huge crabcake, juicy ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Food was excellent, huge crabcake, juicy steak, everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Found Captain James in the list of parti ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Found Captain James in the list of participating restaurants in the "Restaurant Week" (Baltimore). Really, really great food and good service!

-Jesper

Tags: Cozy, Comfort Food, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved my crab legs and chocolate molten ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on January 14, 2017

Loved my crab legs and chocolate molten cake. Very fresh food and unique atmosphere.

Tags: Local Ingredients,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seating way too close together, tables t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Seating way too close together, tables too small...might as well have been seated at the same table, way too loud, our server had to lean over a partial wall to take our order...good food, if there is a next time would request a window booth for sure...even made reservations

Tags: Casual, Waterfront, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

We've been to this restaurant on several ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

We've been to this restaurant on several occasions. It did not disappoint us. The menu has a few more items. The mussels are now offered a few different ways. All are good. The crab imperial remains a favorite.

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Great food!!! Better service

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Great food!!! Better service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food at reasonable prices. Outstan ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices. Outstanding seafood options.

Tags: Casual, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Food was good. But the server AJ was Awe ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Food was good. But the server AJ was Awesome! He provide excellent service from start to finish. I would request him specifically. Thanks for making my birthday great!!!

Toni

Tags: Historic, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

I had a groupon credit for $80 worth of ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 30, 2016

I had a groupon credit for $80 worth of food and drink which I thought was a great value. We were able to get a great bottle of wine, calamari appetizer(super yummy!), and two great entrees. Almost all of that was covered under our groupon. My boyfriend got the stuffed flounder which was very tasty and I got seafood alfredo which had a great amount of seafood on it! Our server was great. She was friendly and attentive and gave great recommendations. We will definitely be going back!

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We love going to CJ for dinner. Groupon ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We love going to CJ for dinner. Groupon or not its top notch food and friendly service. We always make reservations to ensure a table. Lots of parking too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was very tasteful. I had the broil ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Food was very tasteful. I had the broiled scallops that were tastey

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Shrimp and softshell crab were delicious

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Shrimp and softshell crab were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

What a fantastic dining experience. Oys ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 22, 2016

What a fantastic dining experience. Oysters were plump and juicy. Mussels in a rose cream sauce were incredible. Unique and so good I was dipping the crusted bread in the plate to get every last drop. Our entree, the Chefs Catch was quite possibly the best dish Ive ever eaten. Penne pasta, jumbo shrimp and bay scallops and clams in an aldredo sauce that, unlike other restaurants, was so light it allowed the taste of the seafood to shine thru. Our server was attentive and a smiling delight. The chef here is creative and knows his food! A must for true foodies.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Healthy, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Good for Groups, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Late-night Find, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Disabled Access, Family Style, Romantic, Casual, Authentic, Waterfront, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, service and atmosphere. Be s ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great food, service and atmosphere. Be sure to make a reservation as seating is limited.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, , Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Very nice dinner. Every dish was very g ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Very nice dinner. Every dish was very good with a nice presentation. We never had to wait for our water to be refilled or our drinks to be brought. Damien was very attentive and made our evening enjoyable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Historic, Sunday Lunch, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great as always. Love this plac ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Food was great as always. Love this place. Highly recommend it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I didn't like that our party of 4, that ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I didn't like that our party of 4, that spent about $180, were charged $3 for an extra 4 small dinner rolls!!! Outrageous and ridiculous!!! And even more distasteful that we weren't told we would be charged. I didn't see a charge for rolls on the menu but $3 for 4???

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Best sweet ice tea in Baltimore plus rea ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Best sweet ice tea in Baltimore plus really good food

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I have the Groupon app on my phone & int ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

I have the Groupon app on my phone & intended to use it for our meal. I couldn't get on the Internet at the restaurant and the gentleman at the front desk was extremely kind and patient in using his phone to get the code. It took more than 15 minutes and I finally got the code. Additionally, the waiter was excellent as was the meal. We have eaten here 4 times this year and intend to go back often. It has become one of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Captain James Landing is a lovely restau ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Captain James Landing is a lovely restaurant. The ambiance is nautical, as you'd expect. It's not a bad stroll from the Inner Harbor on a nice day, but they also have parking if you drive. I love a place that doesn't stop service between typical mealtimes, so you can show up here and dine on your schedule. Alek was our cheerful and efficient server. We went for crab items, as it seemed appropriate. The crab-cakes are terrific here, but I still marvel at the steaming bowl of Maryland crab soup that I got, full of vegetables with a nice red broth, and plenty of crab. The service here is very friendly, and it's a casual spot so come as you are. We really enjoyed it, and I'd would walk over again from the Inner Harbor on a cold December for a great meal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Great for Lunch, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this place. Great food! Always a gr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Love this place. Great food! Always a great time. Fun for the whole family.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Good for Anniversaries, Afternoon Coffee, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food was OUTSTANDING as usua ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on December 7, 2016

Service and food was OUTSTANDING as usual. The new turkey soup was delicious!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Casual, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Family establishment that values their g ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Family establishment that values their guests. Food is delicious and portions are large. I never get sick of the broiled seafood platter, I could eat it every day!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Overall food was good, our server could ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Overall food was good, our server could have been better. Had to wait a decent amount of time to get service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyed the food and drinks! It was almo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Enjoyed the food and drinks! It was almost an hour ride but it was well worth it. I would recommend the stuffed flounder, it was a must eat.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this restaurant! This was our seco ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love this restaurant! This was our second visit and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local seafood place that has a main dini ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Local seafood place that has a main dining room (building that looks like a ship) and a waterfront dining area that is open during the warm season. Even though we went in late November, they still had some extra large crabs for us to enjoy. Oysters (raw and grilled) were Chesapeake Bay and decent (I thought the grilled were a bit too buttery, though.) French Onion soup was authentic and very good. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back when the crabs are in season, especially to enjoy the waterfront seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Food was delightful. Se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love this place! Food was delightful. Service was excellent from the door to the table. Can't wait to return to order something new and delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood is amazing and they have some ve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Seafood is amazing and they have some very creative recipes. One of their specials was loaded Onion Rings, with crap dip, bacon, etc. on the onion rings. Calamari was delish and the other special I got was the Maryland Crab Pesto Cavatappi and it was AMAZING!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

had full course thanksgiving dinner pric ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

had full course thanksgiving dinner price less than others, didn't know that until we got there, everything was good

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

We had Thanksgiving dinner and let me st ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner and let me start by saying this place rocks. If you love seafood this is the place for you. Everything we had from the crab dip to the half shell oysters and crab cakes and snow crab legs were outstanding. We loved the attention the server gave our table with never a empty glass or dirty dish left on the table. Overall it was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great deal with our Groupon. Service and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great deal with our Groupon. Service and food was good. Kelsey, our server, could not have been better!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my first, but definitely not my ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was my first, but definitely not my last visit. Food and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, good service, nice atmosphere ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Good food, good service, nice atmosphere, and free parking. Easy to get to. Convenient to 95.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Captain James is always my fiancé and I ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Captain James is always my fiancé and I go to. We love the food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friends loved the French Onion soup and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Friends loved the French Onion soup and the hush puppies were very tasty. Large portions and good value.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.