About Captain James Landing

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 4103278600x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Fells Point ›

neighborhood gem (61)
good for groups (52)
great for lunch (48)
See All
special occasion (44)
fit for foodies (42)
great for brunch (36)
kid-friendly (28)
romantic (23)
scenic view (23)
hot spot (18)
late-night find (17)
great for outdoor dining (17)
vibrant bar scene (4)
notable wine list (4)
Sort By:
Newest
335 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Crab, Crab, and MORE CRAB!

vip
Dined 18 hours ago

Crabcakes are some of the best I've ever had - the crab dip is supreme - the cream of crab soup is a meal in itself - I've never brought anyone here who didn't rave about the food!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5

Always awesome seafood! Love it!! Excel ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Always awesome seafood! Love it!! Excellent waitstaff. Gina great!

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Captain James

Dined on May 16, 2016

Great dining experience! Excellent crab cakes! Can't beat the weekly specials.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My overall experience was AMAZING. Defin ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

My overall experience was AMAZING. Definitely one of the best places in Baltimore.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service5

We thoroughly enjoyed our early dinner h ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We thoroughly enjoyed our early dinner here. We were seated quickly and served fresh rolls and water. They accommodated our special request for our son and he thoroughly enjoyed his fish. The food is very well priced and holds great value. We loved the mahi mahi, the sea scallops (although the grits were a bit dry), and my older son loved his "ultimate burger". Overall, we were very happy and planning on coming back.

food4
ambience3
service1

Possibly the worst service I've ever had ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Possibly the worst service I've ever had. People that were seated after us were served before our waitress even came over to take our drink order. Waited 45 minutes for an appetizer. The tip is automatically added to the bill so I guess they don't care about providing good service. The food was good but not goods enough to make me want to go back after the complete lack of service we received.

food2
ambience4
service2
value2

You have to pay for things that should be free!

Dined on May 9, 2016

So the food is pretty okay. They specialize in seafood which is my favorite. I thought it was odd that you have to pay for rolls. Unlimited rolls come complimentary with most moderately respectable dining establishments (Red Lobster, ect.). However the server put TWO rolls on my table (one for me and another for my Grandmother) when we were waiting for our drinks. We both ate one each. My Grandmother ordered a steak so when the steak came out he said if she wanted rolls she would have to pay around $4 for dinner rolls. I though it was the oddest thing ever. You sell $35 steaks and can't even give rolls out with it? How odd. Our server seemed a bit annoyed. Perhaps he had a long day. I have been there before and received great service before. Maybe next time I will try the crabhouse. I heard across the street is much better than inside the building.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

No complaints, just smaller then I thoug ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

No complaints, just smaller then I thought it would be.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Dissapointed

Dined on May 8, 2016

Mothers day was my first visit to Captain James and I must say that I was a bit shocked with the experience. First, the waiter did not acknowledge that I had a child with me, so I did not receive a children's menu until after we ordered, and after seeing another waiter with one. Also, the crab-cakes were very heavily breaded, with stuffing mix. I would much rather visit Jimmy's Seafood, or Moe's.

Tags: scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

Great value for seafood lovers.

Dined on May 2, 2016

Went on a Monday while in town for a conference. Ample off-street parking. Very good crab soup; a bowl was enough to share. Very good seafood platter, with salmon and not the usual cod or flounder. My wife had the crab cakes, which were on special (on Mondays.) There must have been 10-12 oz of crab meat; a very generous portion. We also had a Riesling by the glass, which was very enjoyable. We will definitely eat here next time we are in Baltimore.

food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Great Crab Cakes

Dined on May 2, 2016

The Crab Cakes here are amazing. Perfectly crusty on the outside, flavorful on the inside. Great meal to accompany with a cold beer on a sunny day. Relaxed atmosphere, casual dining area.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Favorite place

Dined on May 1, 2016

This is our fave place to eat anytime. The seafood Caesar saladisdelish.service isgreat

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

The food is delicious!

Dined on May 1, 2016

The food is delicious!

food5
ambience3
service4

The food was excellent. I normally eat s ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

The food was excellent. I normally eat seafood but decided to try the steak. It exceeded my expectation. The two seater table was really small. I could hear the conversation of the couple sitting next to me. Service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it start to end!!!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Loved it start to end!!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Enjoyed lunch at Captain James

Dined on April 24, 2016

We celebrated my husband birthday with lunch at Captain James enjoying their delicious crab cakes.

Tags: great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Not bad

Dined on April 24, 2016

The food was decent. Some interesting appetizer items on the menu. Family-friendly environment. Great music at just the right level so it wasn't intrusive while you were talking.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Have been to Captain James Landing sever ...

Dined on April 22, 2016

Have been to Captain James Landing several times. Lunch, Dinner and Brunch all have been very good.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food is awesome!!

Dined on April 17, 2016

If u are a seafood lover like me u cannot go wrong with Captain James!! #nofillers #allcrab

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service2
value4

Date

Dined on April 11, 2016

The food was great we enjoyed our crab cakes, if you love crab cakes you will enjoy captain james.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My first time there but not my last!

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

I loved the brunch. Everything was good and plentiful.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great meal

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

We appreciated the locally sourced rockfish and that they use gulf fish. I did think that my entrée was supposed to come with red potatoes - both my husband and I were sure that's what the server said about the rockfish special - and it came with grits. I KNOW I wouldn't have ordered something with grits. When I mentioned it, they brought me mashed potatoes. Which weren't all that interesting. I would have rather had a baked potato or red potatoes or even french fries. Grits - ew. Yucky mouth feel.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Tons of Food

Dined on April 7, 2016

Worth every penny. I love seafood and everything was cooked perfectly. The menu is limited, but what you get always tastes good. The portion size is huge, but if you want to break your diet, this a good way to go out.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Seafood Platter

Dined on April 5, 2016

The broiled seafood platter is over priced $29.99 they give you tasteless crab legs that takes most of the room up on your plate they give you less shrimp and scallops

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Great waiter and seafood is awesome! The ...

Dined on April 4, 2016

Great waiter and seafood is awesome! The portions are very large so come hungry.

food1
ambience2
service1
value1

As always, the food is hot, tasty and a ...

Dined on April 2, 2016

As always, the food is hot, tasty and a good value. Even though they were busy we were not rushed. Have never has a bad meal here.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good

Dined on March 31, 2016

Every thing was good with it but didn't know that tip was already included in the bill

Tags: late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Good for breakfast.

Dined on March 31, 2016

We have breakfast weekly there and Gina takes good care of us ladies.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service and great food

Dined on March 27, 2016

Great service and great food

food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Just another seafood reastaraunt

Dined on March 27, 2016

The seafood stew, muscles, and Crabcakes were done traditionally and perfect. I thought the seafood platter was a bit pricey. The crab legs were ice cold and only came with 2 small crab legs. One piece of shrimp and one scallop. It was a tastey sample but too pricey for what you get. Service was boring and unenthusiastic. We were traveling and looking for a hometown gem and it was just another restaurant with pretty good food.

Tags: kid-friendly, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great evening at Captain James. ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

We had a great evening at Captain James. We started with Shrimp Cocktail and Steamers. Dinner was crab cakes and Mediterranean salmon. Everything was excellent. Our server Joe was the best. Very attentive and personable. This is a great restaurant!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food

Dined on March 25, 2016

This was my first time eating there and the food was excellent waitress was helpful with the specials we will be back soon we drove down from Jarrettsville md

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, scenic view
food4
ambience4
service4

Swordfish special was delicious! Maryla ...

Dined on March 23, 2016

Swordfish special was delicious! Maryland crab soup was mediocre- tasted like Campbell's. Portions were generous and restaurant parking lot across the street was a bonus.

food5
ambience5
service5

The food and drinks were awesome. The wa ...

Dined on March 22, 2016

The food and drinks were awesome. The waiter was great and we were seated on time!

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Quality Food

Dined on March 19, 2016

The service was outstanding. Each server was attentive and responded to requests quickly. Our waiter was very knowledgeable about the menu items. We loved the garlic mussels and thought that we got excellent food for the cost. The food portions were big enough to share. We will definitely go again and try dinner specials offered during the week.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great time

Dined on March 18, 2016

As always, Captain James did not let us down. The food is fantastic and service was friendly and quick.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was good had a big group and it was ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Food was good had a big group and it was later in evening. My wife and niece ordered prime rib med rare. It was over cooked for them but just about medium. All other foods good. We would probably still go back if we are in the area.

food5
ambience4
service5

My breakfast, the shellfish frittata, w ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

My breakfast, the shellfish frittata, was super delicious

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Captain James Landing

Dined on March 11, 2016

We loved this restaurant. Passed by it many times but this was our first times eating at it. The menu was not to overbearing but carried the spectrum of interesting dishes.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

Arrived on time had to wait 32 minutes for table

Dined on March 9, 2016

Ordered drinks, Wait staff explained Specials to eat. When we ordered the Lobster Special for the day we were told at that time "Honey" were out of Lobsters. We should've been told they were out of the Lobsters at the same time she was explaining everything else that was available. How difficult is it to say out of Lobsters upon our arrival or "86" Lobsters. I'm in the restaurant business , when were out of an item we tell our customers early on after they're seated not when they're ready to order and you still want 18% tip up front for bad service.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.