About Captain James Landing

2127 Boston Street
Baltimore, MD 21231
View Larger Map

A Baltimore landmark since 1978, Captain James Landing Restaurant has earned the name "most unique eatery" in Baltimore City. For starters we are the only restaurant shaped like a merchant vessel. Five brothers created a restaurant in the 70"s with the goal of providing quality service to the citizens of Baltimore, Maryland as well as the thousands of tourist that visit our Monumental City. Our Waterfront Crab House (located adjacent of our restaurant) was awarded in 2012 "#1 Best Crabs in Baltimore" by Baltimore Magazine. Our Crab House is the one spot in the city where you can eat steamed crabs with a true waterfront seating. Water Taxi Stop #14 brings you right to our waterfront location.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Seafood, Steak, American

Hours of Operation:
Restaurant Location:

Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 12:00pm; Brunch: Daily: 11:00am - 2:00pm; Lunch: Daily: 12:00pm - 3:00pm; Dinner: Nightly: 5:00pm - 1:00am

Cross Street:
Aliceanna Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(410) 327-8600

Website:
http://www.captainjameslanding.com/

Catering:
We offer complete catering services for special events and corporate functions. This allows you (the host) to enjoy your party while we do the work. Our wide range of delicious appetizers, amazing dinners, decadent desserts and impeccable service offers a perfect event for everyone.

Parking Details:
Free Parking for Guests

Public Transit:
Water Taxi stop #14 brings you right to our deck!

Private Party Facilities:
Captain James Landing- Seafood Palace, is a unique concept to Baltimore for Private dining and entertaining. Captain James Seafood Palace is not just a restaurant that looks like a ship. It"s a totally private venue known for its extraordinary cuisine, warm casual elegance and friendly, professional service. Captain James Seafood Palace is the perfect setting for dinners, business meetings, wedding receptions, rehearsal dinners, off-premise catering, crab feasts or just a great celebration!

Please email our Events Coordinator and include your name,phone number, date, time, number of guests, and occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Marina: 4103278600x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Captain James Landing Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Seafood
Baltimore / Maryland
Best Value
Baltimore
Seafood
Baltimore
Best Restaurants in Fells Point ›

Casual (26)
Special Occasion (20)
Good for a Date (20)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (16)
Family Style (16)
Great for Lunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Worth the Drive (13)
Good for Groups (12)
Kid-friendly (11)
Fun (11)
Outstanding Value (11)
Great for Brunch (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Cozy (8)
Sunday Lunch (8)
Happy Hour (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Waterfront (8)
Late-night Find (7)
Authentic (7)
Romantic (7)
Scenic View (7)
People Watching (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Business Meals (5)
Historic (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Seasonal (4)
Great Beer (4)
Modern Decor (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Healthy (3)
Live Sports (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
424 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Overall food was good, our server could ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Overall food was good, our server could have been better. Had to wait a decent amount of time to get service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyed the food and drinks! It was almo ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Enjoyed the food and drinks! It was almost an hour ride but it was well worth it. I would recommend the stuffed flounder, it was a must eat.

Tags: Romantic, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Great Beer, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Love this restaurant! This was our seco ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Love this restaurant! This was our second visit and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Local seafood place that has a main dini ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Local seafood place that has a main dining room (building that looks like a ship) and a waterfront dining area that is open during the warm season. Even though we went in late November, they still had some extra large crabs for us to enjoy. Oysters (raw and grilled) were Chesapeake Bay and decent (I thought the grilled were a bit too buttery, though.) French Onion soup was authentic and very good. Service was outstanding. Will definitely go back when the crabs are in season, especially to enjoy the waterfront seating.

Tags: Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Love this place! Food was delightful. Se ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Love this place! Food was delightful. Service was excellent from the door to the table. Can't wait to return to order something new and delicious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, People Watching, Late-night Find, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Seafood is amazing and they have some ve ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Seafood is amazing and they have some very creative recipes. One of their specials was loaded Onion Rings, with crap dip, bacon, etc. on the onion rings. Calamari was delish and the other special I got was the Maryland Crab Pesto Cavatappi and it was AMAZING!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Modern Decor, Fun, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had Thanksgiving dinner and let me st ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 24, 2016

We had Thanksgiving dinner and let me start by saying this place rocks. If you love seafood this is the place for you. Everything we had from the crab dip to the half shell oysters and crab cakes and snow crab legs were outstanding. We loved the attention the server gave our table with never a empty glass or dirty dish left on the table. Overall it was wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great deal with our Groupon. Service and ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Great deal with our Groupon. Service and food was good. Kelsey, our server, could not have been better!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

This was my first, but definitely not my ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 19, 2016

This was my first, but definitely not my last visit. Food and service were great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Good food, good service, nice atmosphere ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Good food, good service, nice atmosphere, and free parking. Easy to get to. Convenient to 95.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Captain James is always my fiancé and I ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Captain James is always my fiancé and I go to. We love the food and excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Friends loved the French Onion soup and ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Friends loved the French Onion soup and the hush puppies were very tasty. Large portions and good value.

Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and our server Joyce is the b ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Great food and our server Joyce is the best!! Always happy when my girlfriend and I are seated in her section

Tags: Waterfront, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food WAS great only problem need to give ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food WAS great only problem need to give out seperate checks. To keep confusion down

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Seasonal, Fun, Modern Decor, Casual, Healthy, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Food is A+++. Service was excellent. Mak ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Food is A+++. Service was excellent. Make reservations in order to avoid a wait. Parking for a city restaurant was fantastic. The only slight negative was that the seating was a little close to the next table. Other than that, highly recommended.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

The food was out of this world!!! The w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 6, 2016

The food was out of this world!!! The whole family loved the dinner that they ordered. Definitely will return for more great food!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Family Style, Good for a Date, Scenic View, Cozy, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Live Sports, Seasonal, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Prompt pleasant service. I hesitate to ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Prompt pleasant service. I hesitate to order seafood platters because its hard to get all of it right. But this did not disappoint. The salmon, shrimp, crab cakes, stuffed oyster, scallop, crab legs and even the brocolli and steamed tomato were excellent!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

The waiter was great. Continuously check ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The waiter was great. Continuously checked and made sure we were good. The food was delicious.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We went to dinner on a Monday evening as ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We went to dinner on a Monday evening as we thought it would be quiet. By the time our tasty lump crab imperial was served, the restaurant was mainly filled. The mussels in wine & garlic were great - I order them frequently. The wedge salad was generous but it could have been colder - still good. I suggest getting the home made rice pudding if you are a fan of that dessert. Yummy

Tags: Kid-friendly, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

food and service is always awesome. I tr ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 31, 2016

food and service is always awesome. I tried the cream of crab soup for the first time and didn't like it. It was very bland and there wasn't enough crab meat to say that they are a seafood restaurant known for their crabs. Tasted like canned soup. otherwise, the seafood fries and potato skins, mussels, oysters, and chili wings were awesome. I've also had the broiled seafood platter and that was excellent, fresh and very fulfilling. I always end up taking some home.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Hot Spot, Bar Seating, Quick Bite, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Casual, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

I wish I could have given the service hi ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 28, 2016

I wish I could have given the service higher than 5 stars. Had the best waiter.

Tags: Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Family Style, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The waiter was great. Everytime io servi ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

The waiter was great. Everytime io service is great. The good is just OK, very bland. I wouldn't go if I didn't have a groupon

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Fantastic Oldschool Baltimore. Lobster t ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Fantastic Oldschool Baltimore. Lobster tails topnotch

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Impressed with food can't believe I ha ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Impressed with food can't believe I have never been here before

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Getting waited on was a challenge. I had ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Getting waited on was a challenge. I had to go to the bar to ask for a drink before the server came.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

Everything was great.. tasted as well as ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Everything was great.. tasted as well as expected and the waiter was awesome, would definitely recommend

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was even better.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Happy Hour, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, Captain James Landing did not ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 9, 2016

As always, Captain James Landing did not disappoint. The food was fresh and tasty, we tried the Chesapeake Muscles for the first time and they were wonderful, very flavorful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome food, awesome service - will def ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Awesome food, awesome service - will definitely be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Waitress Was Horrible.And She Did Not De ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Waitress Was Horrible.And She Did Not Deserve The Automatic Tip That Was Given.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value4

The food was wonderful

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on October 1, 2016

The food was wonderful

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We loved it! Great food and great servic ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 29, 2016

We loved it! Great food and great service! Can't wait to visit again!

Tags: Historic, Scenic View, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well this was our second time here and w ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Well this was our second time here and we came because the Groupon. We brought my boyfriends mother and sister for his mothers birthday. I ordered the sea scallops and at first they came out under done, there was no pan sear on them at all. So the waitress took them back and had them redo them and they were gone for at least 10 or so minutes. They came back looking good on the top but I flipped them all over and they were all burnt underneath and the cook purposefully put each one burnt side down. I gave my food back because by that point everyone else at the table was done eating. So I basically ate bread and a bite of my boyfriends pasta. The waitress was very sweet about everything and fixed the check but it's unacceptable to have a chef at a seafood restaurant that can't cook scallops.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3

Always great food with a wide variety of ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Always great food with a wide variety of menu options for everybody's tastes. I highly recommend the restaurant but make sure to make dinner reservations as we always see people being turned away or told they could return at 8pm. Our experience is always a great one!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value5

I liked the restaurant well enough. We g ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 24, 2016

I liked the restaurant well enough. We got one of those tiny, center of the aisle tables, so I sort of wished we had a booth or a bigger table, but it was ok. Our server was friendly. The food took a while to come out but it was delicious when it did.

Tags: Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

Excellent service and generally good foo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Excellent service and generally good food.Stay away from the Cream of crab soup (too thick and not enough depth) and steer towards the seafood stew.

They didn't offer shrimp and grits but the scallops and grits were fabulous (the grits were one of th ebest versions I've had--bacon and cheese flavored--great flavor but not overpowering.

The crab cake was solid with lots of lump crabmeat and next to no filler. Veggies were steamed and not overdone.

The dirty martini was perfect, though I wish the olives didn't have pimentos (personal pet peeve). All in all the meal was enjoyable and I'd def. go back.

One suggestion, if it is stated that a patron has a birthday I'd suggest the restaurant do something special (dessert, a song, something!)

Tags: Historic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

My brother and I had dinner on a Tuesday ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 20, 2016

My brother and I had dinner on a Tuesday night. He lives in Ohio and wanted some seafood. Service was great and we took advantage of the Happy Hour. Inexpensive beer and grilled oysters at half price. The Oysters were wonderful only problem they would not provide the recipe. Notice it was lobster night - 1 1/4 lb with two sides for about $15 . Our total bill for 4 beers, 2 dz grilled oyster and 2 lobster dinners was $75, unbelievable. Also wanted to mention the warm fresh rolls which were great for sopping up the oyster juice. Definitely will go the Captain James whenever in Baltimore.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Outstanding Value, Happy Hour, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The sever added 26% to my bill and told ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The sever added 26% to my bill and told me that's how they do business.Not wanting to make a fuss on our anniversary I at the tab and will never set foot in that place again

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value3

The food there is so great, specially th ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 16, 2016

The food there is so great, specially the crab cake and the seafood combination platter.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friendly owner and staff, pleasant atmos ...

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on September 10, 2016

Friendly owner and staff, pleasant atmosphere, and spectacular value!

Tags: Family Style, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Great for Brunch, Outstanding Value, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.