About Caprice Bistro

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Cassolette - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
  • Escargot - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
  • Duck Confit - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
  • Chocolate Mou - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Lamb Cassolette - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Escargot - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Duck Confit - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Chocolate Mou - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
14 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (59)
Fit for Foodies (51)
Romantic (51)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Good for a Date (42)
Authentic (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Cozy (30)
Notable Wine List (27)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Worth the Drive (18)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Good for Birthdays (17)
Quiet Conversation (16)
Casual (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Fun (6)
People Watching (6)
Healthy (6)
Historic (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Seasonal (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Comfort Food (4)
Scenic View (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Organic (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Tapas (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Business Meals (2)
Waterfront (2)
Family Style (1)
Great Beer (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
986 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Easily the best meal I have had in Wilmi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Easily the best meal I have had in Wilmington. (I am a local) Not nearly the reputation of some others, but, I think, purposely low key. You don't need to brag when you are sold out every night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the service and the food were outst ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Both the service and the food were outstanding. Some of the best I have had in Wilmington. Will definitely go there again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional. Excellent valu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was exceptional. Excellent value. Lovely ambiance. A real find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro is a gem. The food is al ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Caprice Bistro is a gem. The food is always wonderful. I had the fixed price menu for $25 which included a salad, pork tenderloin with root veggies, and floating island for dessert. The Entree always comes out steaming hot. I eat here every chance I get. Don't miss it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro is our favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Caprice Bistro is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington, NC. Although there are a number of excellent restaurants in this quaint city, none can compare with the constantly superb and delicious food prepared by this outstanding chef and impeccably served by waiters that are attentive and dedicated to the restaurant.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic french menu - great wine selec ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Authentic french menu - great wine selection - great atmosphere - right downtown in historic Wilmington

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, reasonable prices and attent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food, reasonable prices and attentive staff. A must go to in Wilmington, NC

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Caprice-especially for special e ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love Caprice-especially for special events. This Saturday we had a fantastic dinner ,our wait person Katie was perfect .We were very happy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have had a great meal at Caprice. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always have had a great meal at Caprice.

  1. Food was fantastic and a good value for the quality of food served.

  2. Our server was wonderful and attentive without being intrusive.

  3. Never felt rushed even though they were busy which made for a very relaxing and enjoyable evening.

We always request to eat upstairs. Upstairs is more intimate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful cozy French bistro with excell ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful cozy French bistro with excellent food and wait staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great meal start to finish

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A great meal start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

As always, a wonderful time at Caprice. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 7, 2016

As always, a wonderful time at Caprice. The food is fabulous and the service is excellent. The expresso martini after dinner upstairs in the sofa bar is a nice finish. Caprice is one of my favorite dining spots in Wilmington. I highly recomend you giving Caprice a try and it will be one of your favorite spots too.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great service--always dependable good au ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 6, 2016

great service--always dependable good authentic Belgian/French bistro food--warm friendly ambiance--great value

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Cozy, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

wonderful restaurant. Always a great din ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 6, 2016

wonderful restaurant. Always a great dinning experience

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food & service!

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Excellent food & service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French food in a wonderful dow ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wonderful French food in a wonderful dowtown location with a wonderful staff.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Experience!! The mussels were ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Wonderful Experience!! The mussels were amazing & I highly recommend the lamb shank

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a special belated anniversary din ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 31, 2016

We had a special belated anniversary dinner last year on Halloween so thought we would do it again this year. It was a very pleasant evening, compliments of our children. Hopefully they will continue this gift or... ......We may just have to visit Caprice Bistro on our own dime!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I truly love this bistro. Each and every ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 30, 2016

I truly love this bistro. Each and every time I visit Caprice, I have a five star experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great, portions generous, nice ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was great, portions generous, nice wine at reasonable price (for French), service attentive. Tables close together, which increased the noise level.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food, service and price were great. Wis ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food, service and price were great. Wish they were open in the afternoon for lunch.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We enjoy Thalian Hall and go as often as ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We enjoy Thalian Hall and go as often as possible. Each time we try a different restaurant just as we did in NYC. CAPRICE BISTRO was our choice this time. The staff were friendly and knowledgeable. The food was very good. The wine list was also very good. We enjoyed a good wine from Paso Robles, CA, a town we had just stayed in last July. We have dined all over the US and Europe. This was as enjoyable an experience as any we have had both here and abroad. A definite that we will return to and recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, People Watching, Authentic, Casual, Business Meals, Great Beer, Organic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Tapas, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual, everything was delicious, well ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 25, 2016

As usual, everything was delicious, well presented, and professionally served. We had out of town guests with us celebrating my birthday and they have been to Caprice Bistro before. This is the only restaurant they wish to visit in Wilmington. These folks are world travelers.they have a passion for French cuisine.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

We were there for our Anniversary & was ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 25, 2016

We were there for our Anniversary & was quite pleased! Our waiter Jay was awesome we would ask for him again. Thank you for a truly memorable evening. We loved it! Jeanne & Jim

Tags: Special Occasion, Historic, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful dinner! It made me wonder why ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Wonderful dinner! It made me wonder why I ever go anywhere else to eat. We had pork cheeks with mushroom sauce, fois gras, swordfish with rice & veggies, Waterzooi, creme brule, and profiteroles. All the food was absolutely delicious beyond words. Each of us had a perfect meal. We've eaten here 5 or 6 times; it's always been great, but this was the BEST ever. Great service, too.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came here for Restaurant Week in a gr ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 23, 2016

We came here for Restaurant Week in a group of three, so we tried almost everything on the menu. The food and atmosphere were so good, we'll definitely make the drive come back again for a regular priced night.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Great food... the French Onion Soup was ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food... the French Onion Soup was the best I've ever had. Creme brûlée was outstanding...reasonably priced, knowledgeable wait staff...great experience all the way around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

excellent food, good service, will go ba ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on October 19, 2016

excellent food, good service, will go back some time soon

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

One of the best restaurants in Wilmingto ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 18, 2016

One of the best restaurants in Wilmington or anywhere!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Being a Monday night it was not crowded ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 17, 2016

Being a Monday night it was not crowded and we felt very comfortable there. The food was flavorful and excellently prepared. One of us had venison and it fell off the bone it was so tender. The mashed sweet potatoes were served on the side and delicious. One of us had the seafood stew, Waterzooi, which was loaded with shrimp, mussels, salmon, white fish and scallops. The cream sauce was delicious and could be eaten alone. We both had the butternut squash soup to begin which was also delicious. The portions were a little larger then most French restaurants we have dined at. The problem with that is no room to try any of the desserts, and it appeared if you were a chocolate lover then there were plenty of that on the menu. The female wait staff member was very attentive. She chose a delicious wine that paired well with both our dishes. They had a decent sized wine list and something for any price range. The tables are close which may make the place more conversationally challenged had there been more people dining but not this particular night. There is a parking garage close by and after 6"30 parking is free in the downtown Wilmington area. We would dfinitley come back to try other menu options.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Very good food. Awesome service. Friendl ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Very good food. Awesome service. Friendly atmosphere. Great date spot or special occasion. The kind of place you want to dress up for but there are a few that think t-shirts and shorts are okay anywhere that will show up.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly atmosphere, fantastic service, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Friendly atmosphere, fantastic service, delicious food and drinks, cozy but comfortable surroundings. We visited for our wedding anniversary and sampled the appetizers, soup and salad, wine, entrees and desserts. Everything was excellent and I will definitely be back again.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Romantic, Late-night Find, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food is fabulous and the service is grea ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food is fabulous and the service is great, too. The sauces

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Delicious food, drinks and dessert. Grea ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Delicious food, drinks and dessert. Great service, charming atmosphere.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing, service was top notch! ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Food was amazing, service was top notch! They offer an affiradable 3 course meal with perfect sized portions.

The owner called the morning of our reservation to tell us the restaurant would be open despite the major hurricane the city had experienced the night before. She hoped we would still join them for dinner. After we got our drinks, the owner personally stopped by our table to meet me & wish me a happy birthday. It was a wonderful date night for us!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Historic, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Caprice for our anniversary dinn ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 5, 2016

Went to Caprice for our anniversary dinner. We have been to Caprice several times since moving to Wilmington a couple years ago. We love sitting in a quiet corner upstairs. We have never been disappointed with the food or the service. We would recommend Caprice for any occasion.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food and service at Caprice Bistro n ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on October 3, 2016

The food and service at Caprice Bistro never fails to be of outstanding quality. The staff is welcoming and the food is consistently high-quality. The prices are very reasonable.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent all around French dining exper ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent all around French dining experience.

Hats off to Katie our server for the night. A well experienced and very personable attendee to our night out.

Katie nicely described the nights specials and gave us plenty of time to think through the varied listed of specialty cocktails.

Dinner was excellent, exactly as described and cooked to order.

The drinks were great, we had a few, the manhattans were the smoothest I've ever had. Same comment from the next table over.

We will come back again and again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Molecular Gastronomy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We loved this unique French restaurant. ...

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 30, 2016

We loved this unique French restaurant. Sit downstairs and enjoy how the French dine. We enjoyed the wine, mushroom soup, and the tuna. (Suggest rare). This is a sweet, romantic place to dine. Service was excellent. Wine pour was generous. I might go back tonight for dessert. I just wish they had not moved away from Charlotte.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrated my wife's birthday and it was ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 28, 2016

Celebrated my wife's birthday and it was a cool spot downtown near the river. I had a well prepared swordfish and my wife had to try the rabbit presentation. All good

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.