About Caprice Bistro

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Cassolette
  • Escargot
  • Duck Confit
  • Chocolate Mou
Lamb Cassolette
Escargot
Duck Confit
Chocolate Mou

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
16 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Notable Wine List
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (104)
Fit for Foodies (88)
Romantic (78)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (69)
Notable Wine List (43)
Authentic (17)
Late-night Find (15)
Good for a Date (14)
Good for Anniversaries (14)
Scenic View (12)
Good for Groups (10)
Cozy (9)
Vibrant Bar Scene (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Casual (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Historic (3)
People Watching (3)
Outstanding Value (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
Fun (2)
Seasonal (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Organic (1)
Tapas (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Waterfront (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
Newest
940 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We enjoyed a wonderful meal! The service ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

We enjoyed a wonderful meal! The service was extra special! We will go back!

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Have never been disappointed with food, ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Have never been disappointed with food, service, and ambience, whether dining at a table or the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro continues to be our favor ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 14, 2016

Caprice Bistro continues to be our favorite restaurant in Wilmington. It is always an enjoyable experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is the place to go for authentic Fr ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

This is the place to go for authentic French cooking, it never disappoints

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Authentic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and service. When in Wilmingt ...

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great food and service. When in Wilmington will certainly eat here again. Highly recommend the Waterzooi.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Small restaurant with a friendly atmosph ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Small restaurant with a friendly atmosphere and wonderful food. I've only been twice and I wasn't disappointed either time. Highly recommend the Waterzooi!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was fantastic and we enjoyed every ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Food was fantastic and we enjoyed every dish. Highly recommended

Tags: Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food and Service during our family ...

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Great Food and Service during our family Labor Day Vacation Weekend.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our table was upstairs, away from the bu ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Our table was upstairs, away from the busier part of the restaurant; our server was prompt and had a very good knowledge of the menu, answering our questions without suggesting our orders. The owner came by the table to check on our satisfaction. It was our wedding anniversary and they treated us to champagne. mWe will definitely return.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quaint little place right in the heart o ...

 
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Quaint little place right in the heart of all the tourist stuff, but a gem! The staff were so friendly, the atmosphere very small but cute; the food very nicely prepared; great wine list with some acceptable priced wines (and Sunday night specials on bottles!). We will definitely be back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy Caprice but would love t ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We always enjoy Caprice but would love to see their menu change as it is pretty much as it has been for years and years - but we still love to go there.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

So happy we found this restaurant on Ope ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

So happy we found this restaurant on Open Table. As soon as we saw the menu we knew we wanted to go. It lived up to expectations! The food was delicious and the service, very attentive. Busy, bustling restaurant. Will remember it for a long time, turned an ordinary Saturday night into a special one.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The whole dining experience at Caprice w ...

 
 (Bath)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

The whole dining experience at Caprice was easy and the standard of food was excellent. Service was also very good, the only fly in the ointment being that they take the wine away rather than leave it at the table. This only really works when there is a dedicated wine waiter. However, they did leave it at the table when asked to do so. Otherwise, nice ambience and friendly efficient service. Highly recommended.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent cuisine, good service. A small ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Excellent cuisine, good service. A small family run restaurant. Has the feel of a small French restaurant. Noisy when full.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This restaurant is by far the best in th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

This restaurant is by far the best in the historic Wilmington area. The chef is from France and his cooking is authentic French cuisine at its finest.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent experience all around. Capric ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Excellent experience all around. Caprice Bistro had a window table for 2 waiting for us, nice touch, (opentable reservation inspired?). From the bottle of Beaujolais, uniquely prepared escargot, crusty French bread, lamb shank, and duck confit, all was delicious. Service attentive and unpretentious. Great choice for our first visit and meal in historic Wilmington.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Waterfront, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, People Watching, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Never had a bad meal! Our favorite place ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Never had a bad meal! Our favorite place to dine!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

An exceptional restaurant to celebrate a ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

An exceptional restaurant to celebrate an anniversary!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Attentive service and very French food.

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Attentive service and very French food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent downtown option. Eat here oft ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 29, 2016

Excellent downtown option. Eat here often and every time is a treat. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food and fantastic service! Ca ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Excellent food and fantastic service! Can't wait to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Jake was our server and made sure everyt ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Jake was our server and made sure everything was perfect and it was. We come here often and the food and service are ALWAYS exceptional. Our favorite restaurant in Wilmington!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Healthy, Romantic, Tasting Menu, Tapas, Outstanding Value, Fun, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been coming here on vacations for at lea ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Been coming here on vacations for at least 10 years. It is wonderful. The food is very good. The hosts/proprietors are welcoming and charming. The service is superb. A visit to Caprice Bistro is a highlight of every trip to Wilmington!

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Seasonal, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Once again dinner at Caprice Bistro "roc ...

 
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Once again dinner at Caprice Bistro "rocks". The proprietor (wife) always greets warmly at the door. Wait staff is always attentive and accommodating, and generally has a good sense of humor. One of us did not like what she ordered and spoke up, the waiter offered someting else and there was no charge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were in Wilmington for ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

My husband and I were in Wilmington for just one night and opted to dine

at Caprice Bistro. We had been before and loved it! The upstairs is a

beautiful room to dine in. Love the vibrant colors of the art work displayed.

And again this time we were not disappointed either in the food. Our meal

was delicious ! We can not wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

This is our second visit to Caprice Bist ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

This is our second visit to Caprice Bistro...for my last two birthdays. Was so good I wanted to go back! It was just as good this time--memorable! We live in Raleigh, so we can't frequent it more often. Highly recommend it--and love their Waterzooie seafood dish!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went with my 2 adult daughters on a week ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

Went with my 2 adult daughters on a weekend get away. Food was wonderful, service was outstanding and I loved the atmosphere of the whole place. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent authentic French!! We loved th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent authentic French!! We loved this place!! Great wine too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the restaurant to be very Europ ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We found the restaurant to be very European in nature. The service was superb as well as the quality (including) selection of the food. We were seated at a table for two and had pleasant chats with others on either side of us. All indicated they were enjoying their experience at the restaurant. We will go there again when in Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Caprice Bist ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our second time at Caprice Bistro. We are not native to Wilmington, but if we were, we would eat there often! Great food and service. The owners are friendly and welcoming. The food is fresh and interesting. Love the Mussels Curry and the escargot with the Roquefort cream sauce, but everything that we had was excellent. The craft cocktails are creative and very well done. Looking forward to going back next time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal! Stopped in Wilmington for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing meal! Stopped in Wilmington for one night and used online reviews to find a restaurant walking distance from the Hilton.

For appetizers we had the pork cheek, mussels marseillaise and tomato tarte and all were excellent.

Entrees were waterzooi and duck confit. I highly recommend both dishes!

The dining area was very comfortable and quiet (although we had an early 5:30 reservation)

Server was extremely knowledgable and attentive.

Will definitely be back to try more of the great choices on the menu when we return to Wilmington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The decor was v ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was excellent. The decor was very interesting. Filled with original art and cozy couches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband thoroughly enjoyed his strip ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My husband thoroughly enjoyed his strip steak, cooked to perfection and raved about the fries days later. Handcut, I believe. A vegetarian for nearly 40 years, I am delighted when I find something other than pasta on the menu. The Crepes au Fromage didn't disappoint, but with all that cheese, balance could have been achieved with the addition of a small green side such as the green beans such as that which came with hubby's steak, some asparagus, brussels sprouts, broccoli, etc.

The house red was delicious and the ale the waiter recommended for hubby hit the mark.

We would come again when visiting Wilmington and would recommend Caprice Bistro for a romantic dinner or dinner with friends. Not Child friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food. Excellent service.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Quality of food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First class with a classic laid back Wil ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First class with a classic laid back Wilmington atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy eating and drinking at C ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We always enjoy eating and drinking at Caprice. Food is reliably excellent, reasonable wine prices, and an upscale version of the French-style bistros we've enjoyed in Belgium and France. Highly recommended for romantic occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food. The Trout Almondine w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great food. The Trout Almondine was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food and service were very good. Asked f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food and service were very good. Asked for a nice table for our anniversary and we got the best in the house. It is in a great area for visitors to come as it is located adjacent to the river front and many things to do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The pork cheek is wonderful, cheese plat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The pork cheek is wonderful, cheese platter great too. Dinner really great and Jack is a great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent lamb shank. Everything was de ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Excellent lamb shank. Everything was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.