About Caprice Bistro

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Cassolette
  • Escargot
  • Duck Confit
  • Chocolate Mou
Lamb Cassolette
Escargot
Duck Confit
Chocolate Mou

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
14 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (73)
special occasion (70)
romantic (59)
See All
neighborhood gem (54)
notable wine list (29)
late-night find (10)
scenic view (8)
good for groups (7)
great for lunch (6)
hot spot (5)
vibrant bar scene (4)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
885 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The food was excellent and a quiet atmos ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

The food was excellent and a quiet atmosphere. Everything was fine.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything about the meal, atmosphere an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined 5 days ago

Everything about the meal, atmosphere and service were Excellent! Will definitely go back and recommend to friends and family. Thank you Caprice Bistro!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife ordered steak and I had the rabb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined 7 days ago

My wife ordered steak and I had the rabbit. Both were excellent! One of the top three meals of my adult life. Simply superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is always great. Caprice ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food here is always great. Caprice Bistro is my favorite place to eat in Wilmington, NC.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely dining experience....and the es ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A lovely dining experience....and the escargot - it is to die for!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Bastille Day special dinner ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went for the Bastille Day special dinner and it was wonderful. All the offerings were great and the portions were very generous and at a very good price. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, Caprice Bistro shows why it i ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, Caprice Bistro shows why it is our favorite dining experience in Wilmington.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice restaurant with good food an ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A very nice restaurant with good food and service. The tables are to close to each other which makes you feel like your dining with the next table guests.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went to celebrate our anniversary. Ourfo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Went to celebrate our anniversary. Ourfoodwasexcellent andourwaitress Katieoutstanding. Very personable and helpful. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the wait staf ...

 
 (Richmond)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the wait staff were attentive. I especially liked the escargot. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A wonderful dining experience in Wilming ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A wonderful dining experience in Wilmington, NC. The prix fixe menu provides an excellent option. We hope to return often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Probably the best little restaurant in W ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Probably the best little restaurant in Wilmington but be sure to make reservations. The staff is excellent and the food is wonderful.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've eaten at Caprice many times and ar ...

vip
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

We've eaten at Caprice many times and are never disappointed by the quality and authenticity.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service. A treasure in do ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Great food and service. A treasure in downtown Wilmington!

Tags: good for groups, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro has excellent ambiance, d ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Caprice Bistro has excellent ambiance, delicious French cuisine without the stuffiness or exorbitant pricing. It is one of our favorite "special" restaraunts in Wilmington. The mussels are fabulous as well as great service and attention to detail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is deliciously creative. The f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The menu is deliciously creative. The food is cooked, served, and plated to perfection. The service is outstanding. What's not to like??? Our server was Jay - who made the dining experience that much more enjoyable.....attentive without hovering, kind AND professional. Thanks Jay!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was outstanding!! Only wish it was ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Food was outstanding!! Only wish it was not so loud.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Our server was wonderful and the food wa ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Our server was wonderful and the food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Based on the reviews, I was expecting mo ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

Based on the reviews, I was expecting more. The food was good, but I wouldn't call it great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was wonderful. We took friends ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

The food was wonderful. We took friends who hadn't been to Caprice before and they were very impressed with the food.... the escargot, the roasted vegetable crepes, the salmon the arugula salad, all very well prepared...exceptional flavor so. Love the ambience!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Such a cute little restaurant in the hea ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Such a cute little restaurant in the heart of Wilmington near the water. We had a great server and enjoyed a delicious meal. My husband had the tuna and I had the chicken special. Both were just wonderful. We plan to go back the next time we are on the NC coast.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Authentic, flavorful, wonderfully quaint ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Authentic, flavorful, wonderfully quaint, value for dollar economical. This was an excellent experience that fulfilled all our expectations. A quiet, enjoyably quaint ambiance perfectly suited to a romantic conversation, complemented by a superb wait-staff that was 'available and attentive' while not being intrusive, bothersome, or snooty (a common complaint in what are perceived to be high-end restaurants) - Caprice Bistro is 'High-End' because of its menu, quality, and wait-staff not because of high prices) - the Caprise Bistro is surprisingly affordable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food /great service a special ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful food /great service a special occasion made more special by Caprice Cafe

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We are Wilmington residents and discover ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We are Wilmington residents and discovered Caprice Bistro early in our four years we've been living here. We continue to return as often as we can. My wife particularly enjoyed the trout on this visit. My Steak Frites was wonderful, as usual, I've had this many times, both as a Filet Mignon cut and now as a N.Y. Strip Steak cut.

My only regret this visit was that we couldn't take the time for desert, many of which I've enjoyed on past visits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for our first anniversary a ...

 
 (Pinehurst)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here for our first anniversary and were not disappointed. Great food, great service, great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food, not exceptional. Pleasant but ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

Good food, not exceptional. Pleasant but too dark ambiance. I had the coq au vin which was more like a southern bbq flavor. Not expected but good anyway. My wife had the duck confit and liked it. Wine prices too high. Probably will return eventually.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We chose Caprice Bistro for our 45th wed ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose Caprice Bistro for our 45th wedding anniversary dinner. I made a reservation online and asked for a romantic table. We were seated in a quiet corner by a window overlooking the horses and carriage--quite pleasant. My seat was a comfy sofa; my husband had an upholstered chair. Candlelight. Lovely. The tomato tort was delicious as an appetizer. We enjoyed a large order of mussels; they were good-sized and flavorful in a garlic lemon-wine sauce. My husband had the Waterzoo: mussels, scallops, shrimp, salmon and grouper in a light cream sauce. I devoured the lamb shank tagine. Tender and tasty. For dessert: the blueberry Napoleon was exquisite and surrounded by a generous amount of ripe, succulent blueberries; my husband's cream puffs were gone in minutes. Our server was pleasant and attentive and we were never rushed or neglected. We will return to Caprice Bistro and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Maybe I should have said I wanted my ste ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Maybe I should have said I wanted my steak medium instead of medium well because my steak was dry and tough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

We try to get there often, and we take o ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We try to get there often, and we take our family and special friends there when in town because it has so much to offer. The ambiance, the wait staff, the display, the food (taste and options)...only the highest quality. This is truly a neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. We're from ou ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. We're from out of town and the water tastes horrible here. The options for water are limited to one kind. I recommend adding more to your inventory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Everything we wanted- great food,terrific service

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything we wanted - great food,excellent service,Perfect table,quiet and value for money

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just excellent in every way.

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Just excellent in every way. My wife and I agreed that we haven't had a better meal anywhere in the US for any price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

French with southern charm

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 8, 2016

Food selection and specials were very European. Loved the salads and entree, Classic French bistro dishes with location seafood is ideal blend for the classic European ambiance. Loved the food and wait staff was very knowledgeable and prompt with service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro may be one of my new favo ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Caprice Bistro may be one of my new favorites! The food was delicious, drink/wine selection is wonderful, and the service was outstanding. We'll definitely be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

real french food

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

Caprice bistro is a delight and I always look forward to my meals there. It's a family run place and it's wait staff have been there for years reflecting the stability and quality of the establishment. Confit duck and rabbit is great. Boueff bourginon and coq au vin are favs but only available Monday's and Tuesday's respectively. Nice choice of seafoods. I know of people who drive many miles for this restaurant. I certainly do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss it!

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

This bistro is outstanding! The food was excellent and the service superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location in downtown Wilmington.

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Average experience at best. French restaurants typically fall into this category. Calamari App was overcooked, Escargot app was good. Nice flavor profile. Steak entree was pretty bland, but her mussels were good. Had new staff working which ran our table the wrong food item. Cute decor, liked the local art work and cozy feel to the upstairs.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Caprice Bistro Wilmington

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food. Best pom frites! Service was good with no rushing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

First time to the restaurant. It was wo ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on June 3, 2016

First time to the restaurant. It was wonderful. Whole experience made better by our server Jack.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Another Great Meal X 2

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

We had dinner twice at Caprice on our latest trip to Wilmington. I had mahi the first time, and grouper the second. Both were excellent. I always enjoy the creative use of fresh herbs and vegetables in the dishes served. My husband loves the pork so much, he had it both nights. I had coffee as my dessert, and it is always rich and flavorful. A+

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.