Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Caprice Bistro

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (62)
Special Occasion (58)
Good for Anniversaries (57)
See All
Authentic (55)
Romantic (54)
Creative Cuisine (51)
Fit for Foodies (44)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Cozy (40)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Notable Wine List (33)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Worth the Drive (24)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Casual (21)
Historic (18)
Outstanding Value (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Business Meals (13)
Waterfront (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Comfort Food (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
Healthy (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Molecular Gastronomy (6)
Tasting Menu (6)
People Watching (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Scenic View (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Private Room (2)
Family Style (2)
Great Beer (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Spicy (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Organic (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Sort By:
S
1183 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 2 days ago

Attentive service and good food nicely presented. The restaurant has a tin ceiling so can be noisy.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food and menu. Our waiter was excellent. We love Wilmington.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

I took my husband to the Caprice Bistro for his 75 birthday. It was the best restaurant meal we have had in years. The food was absolutely divine.

Tags: Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Our second visit to caprice bistro was as delightful as the first. We always go for dinner every year on our vacation at the beach. The service, food, and ambience make this restaurant our favorite in Wilmington.

Tags: Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Always consistently great food. I look forward to eating here regularly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Over the years we have been to Caprice Bistro at the end of Market Street in downtown Wilmington. Once again the food was wonderful on a weekend afternoon and we both loved our meals and the wine to compliment the wonderful French offering that only Caprice can do.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Caprice Bistro was really nice. Very nice menu and great location in Historic Wilmington. I had the Lamb and it was very nice. We eat upstair's which I found to have a really special vibe. Nice view of the action on the street below but most of all was great for conversation . Enjoy.

Tags: Business Meals, Romantic, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Fantastic food. Authentic French food that offers a great variety including seafood. My guests and I greatly enjoyed what we had. I highly recommend them.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We went on recommendation from a friend and now I am doing the same. The waiter was superb and the food delicious. We sat by the window and could see the nightlife in the city street. An overall lovely experience and not too expensive.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Caprice Bistro is our "go to" restaurant especially for special occasions and we have never been disappointed. The food is superb and the service is exemplary. On this visit, which was Mother's Day, at the last minute we needed to increase our number of guests from 4 to 6 which was done without any problem. In addition, the theater ended later than we expected and without any issue, our reservation was held for another 30 minutes. The menu has several delicious options: we enjoy the mussels for an appetizer and the lamb shank, coq au vin (Tuesdays), trout and pork chop entrees. You won't be disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The restaurant was great. Food, service. very friendly staff. We enjoyed the ambience , waiter was great explained specials, and drinks we ordered and what comprised of ghe drinks. we had a good time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Historic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Mother's Day

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Very good food lovely table by the window on the evening before Mother's Day, I had delicious cream of mushroom soup and the mussels both delicious. My husband had the salmon also delicious. Highly recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food. Great drinks. Consistently great service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 12, 2017

2nd visit. Excellent food. Attentive service. Small, cozy, but not quiet atmosphere. Will return.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Molecular Gastronomy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Always delivers on great cuisine and service. One of ours favorites in Wilmington for 10 years now.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 11, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants. It never disappoints. The sauces are unique and outstanding!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Anniversary - they didn't rush us in any way. Food was excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Molecular Gastronomy, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 10, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington. Dined recently and Katy was our server and she is superior. Food , Mahi , Trout and lamb shank were excellent.
Highly recommend Caprice.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on May 9, 2017

As a local, we have dining here for years. We have never had a bad experience with food or service. The mussels are excellent, along with the beef , and chicken dishes. Recently they offered a flounder special that was perfect. The country pate and the tomato tarte tartin are great starters.

Tags: Business Meals, Casual, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 9, 2017

Wonderful as always! Been going there for almost 15 years! Never disappoints!

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 7, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in the Wilmington area. Outstandingfood and great bartender. Owner operated and it shows!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Puerto Vallarta)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Another great meal at Caprice Bistro. This is one of our "go to" places in downtown Wilmington. Food and service are always good. Our most recent visit was no exception. I love the spinach/cheese crepe...with a salad it is enough for a meal for me. Husband had the lamb shank which was tender and delicious. We'll be back.

Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Amazing, just simply amazing food.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 4, 2017

This is a downtown Wilmington NC gem. Affordable and fresh food with the owner greeting the customers. Trout, duck, salmon, steak and a wide variety of bistro fare. Good prices and selection of wines. A slice of France in Wilmington. We just returned from a weekend in Montreal and the food here was just as good. Jay our server was friendly and professional. Right by the river walk and next to Kilwin's chocolate shop. Go and enjoy an excellent dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (New England)·Dined on April 29, 2017

While the service was pretty good, the food was fair. The mussels lacked salt, the trout was over cooked, the garden vegetables were barely cooked and lacked seasoning, the sauce on the trout was barely there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Still the best place to dine in Wilmington - very hard to not get 4 or 5 appetizers as they are spectacular ("Faux" Gras pate, escargot, rabbit sausage, mussels and the pork cheeks are what I'm referring to). Never disappoints! A+++++++

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Fantastic food and great selection of wine, both by the glass and by the bottle. Unfortunately our server on this occasion was subpar but in other occasions the service has equaled the cuisine

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Bar Seating, Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on April 28, 2017

My husband and I dine here frequently. All out of town guests are treated to a dinner here also. The food, drinks and service are amazingly consistent and so appealing. You will not be disappointed!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on April 28, 2017

This was the best French restaurant I've ever eaten at. Amazing! And the staff was so nice!

Tags: Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on April 25, 2017

Love it. Food so good we ate there twice in 3 days.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Afternoon Coffee, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Romantic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 23, 2017

We love this restaurant . We've eaten here many times and it's always a wonderful experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Fantastic cusine and wait staff but when full (which is always), it's very loud.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Fit for Foodies, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely a fabulous anniversary meal with friends. The Pate and Tomato Tart
were delish as was the Grilled Romaine Salad with Shrimp. Two in our group got Lamb Shank, one the Crepes, and one the Mussels. Cannot say enough about the delicious flavors, beautiful presentation and outstanding service.

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 22, 2017

The food and service were excellent...The mussels were amazing...The only negative is that it is noisy...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Local Ingredients, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on April 21, 2017

We have been going to this restaurant for over 10 years. It is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington. The food is fabulous and always perfectly prepared, the service is excellent every time and the ambience is fabulous. Not too loud, intimate and comfortable. This is a MUST if you are dining in Wilmington.

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Food was delicious and we enjoyed every minute. Our waitress was helpful and polite. It was a birthday and they went out of their way to make it special.

Tags: Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Fantastic. Went for 37th anniversary. Sat at bar for bar menu from 5-7pm. Outstanding food and $5 bar app menu. We'll be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on April 17, 2017

I believe Caprice to be the best restaurant in Wilmington at this time. Much of the food ingredients are locally sourced, and the food is really outstanding. On our latest visit, my husband had the venison osso buco and said that it was wonderful. I had a special for that day - flounder with a shrimp sauce - fabulous. Coffee is very rich and to me like a dessert. If you enjoy truly good food, you can't go wrong with Caprice.

Tags: Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Waterfront, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great food! Great atmosphere. It is a very quiet, quaint place for a special occasion.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Organic, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Authentic, Quiet Conversation, Healthy, Tasting Menu, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.