About Caprice Bistro

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
16 More
Best Ambiance
Coastal North Carolina
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (72)
romantic (62)
special occasion (62)
See All
neighborhood gem (47)
notable wine list (27)
good for groups (12)
late-night find (10)
hot spot (9)
great for lunch (5)
 (4)
 (4)
great for brunch (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
 (3)
 (3)
scenic view (2)
 (2)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
844 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb cuisine. Highly attentive staff ...

Dined 5 days ago

Superb cuisine. Highly attentive staff Very reasonably priced. Best restaurant in Wilmington.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary wi ...

Dined 6 days ago

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with delicious food, romantic ambiance and excellent service. I don't think we will wait a whole year to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One if not the Best in Wilmington

Dined 6 days ago

We've eaten in this French restaurant before and always have found it to be very good. The food is typical French and well prepared. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good but could have been gr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good but could have been great if dishes had a little more flavor, especially the sauces that accompanied the appetizer and entree. Entrees were good sized portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went specifically for the mussels and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went specifically for the mussels and they didn't disappoint. They were delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here a number of times befo ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been here a number of times before, and it never disappoints. The pork Normandy, duck confit, salmon - all wonderful. With so many good restaurants in Wilmington, we always come back to Caprice Bistro when we want a "sure thing." I love the ambience, and all the wait staff we've had have been very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 13, 2016

This may have been the best French meal that my wife and I have ever eaten. The food was simple, but prepared perfectly and tasted great. The wait staff was very attentive as well and very personable. This was a great experience and I would recommend Caprice Bistro to anyone in the Wilmington area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Find

Dined on May 11, 2016

First time here. Found thru online search. Nothing disappointed. Beautiful and intimate environment. Great bar area upstairs. Great service. Mussels -yumm!! Seem to be a house speciality. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Don't waste your time and money

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went there based on good reviews, but the reviews were way off base, the place has nothing special, the food were not even up par with a neighborhood diner! move on!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We always enjoy Caprice Bistro. This particular dinner was very good and our waiter Jake just made it better. He brought each course in a timely manner, did not rush us at all and had a great attitude. Our only complaint was "no onion soup" due to the new summer menu. A wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wilmington Go-To That Doesn't Disappoint

Dined on May 1, 2016

I dine in Durham a lot. Maybe I know a thing or two about restaurants and bistros, maybe I don't. A bottle of champagne, warm & attentive care from Katrina, a fish dish prepared to perfection, couples all around, upstairs downstairs, great vibe...am I missing anything?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

First time visit; will be back!

Dined on April 30, 2016

We had heard great things about Caprice Bistro, and it lived up to the recommendation. It really is a neighborhood gem. The tables around us were all repeat customers who actually shared their suggestions for dishes, so the vibe was as if we were eating at a friend/family member's home for a Friday night supper. Our waiter - I think his name was Jay - was very helpful and our service was perfect. We'll be back!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

This place is great! Food and service we ...

Dined on April 29, 2016

This place is great! Food and service were phenomenal. We will definitely go back. I would highly recommend this if you are in the downtown Wilmington area.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining

Dined on April 28, 2016

We took my mom for her 80th birthday. The meal was superb. We sampled the escargot and the pate. I had the duck, my mom the salmon and my wife the braised beef. All three entrees were well presented and delicious. Our server was knowledgable and attentive , overall the best dining experience in Wilmington.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Food and service were quite good. We at ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Food and service were quite good. We ate upstairs and I did find the room too dark, even if they were trying to make it romantic.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb dining experience - we had dinner ...

Dined on April 26, 2016

Superb dining experience - we had dinner there on the occasion of our 30th ammiversary. The service, food, drink and all else was outstanding. One the best places we have dined on the east coast of NC.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There's a genius to the location

Dined on April 25, 2016

The location so close to the river gives a movement to the experience. Horse-drawn carriages move by and tourist meander the streets. This is boutique restaurant has an authentic Brussels flair. We've celebrated many anniversaries here due to the excellent wait staff, reasonable wine list, and incredible food varieties. Don't miss the dessert menu.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Go with confidence

Dined on April 22, 2016

First visit. Delightful experience. Professional service, delicious food, pleasant atmosphere. Will definitely be back.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Just like a Paris bistro! Delicious food ...

vip
Dined on April 12, 2016

Just like a Paris bistro! Delicious food and knowledgable wait staff.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food was great . We had salmon,Mahi Mahi and steak

Dined on April 10, 2016

Jay was our waiter and he was very helpful with the food choices and pointed out a wine special we enjoyed. This was our first time and we look forward to returning soon. We came based on a recommendation from our local wine store owner in Southport.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Almost a great dinner!

Dined on April 3, 2016

The entree's and dessert were delicious. The first course was not a banner course. Salad course looked like it was left over from the night before and the pate was unusual. The pate should have been served with toast points. Dessert was yummy. Server a bit snooty. Atmosphere was a 10. Can wait to go back and sit in the bay window.

Tags: romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent restaurant, great food, excell ...

Dined on March 31, 2016

Excellent restaurant, great food, excellent service!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Cuisine, service and ambienc ...

Dined on March 30, 2016

Outstanding Cuisine, service and ambience. An eclectic wine list and full bar. A must stop in Wilmington,NC!

food5
ambience5
service5

Caprice Bistro is a MUST when visiting W ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Caprice Bistro is a MUST when visiting Wilmington! We love it! Everything is so fresh and flavor-filled! There's a reason that it's #1 on Trip Advisor!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Go on Monday! The Beef Bourguignon is o ...

Dined on March 28, 2016

Go on Monday! The Beef Bourguignon is out of this world!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Dependable Favorite

Dined on March 28, 2016

We've been to Caprice many times over the years and have always appreciated it's consistency and quality. While it's not a gourmet hotspot, the dishes they serve are always unique and tasty. We frequently get the mussels with frits or the plat de jour. Their wine list is reasonable, unlike a recently relaunched upscale restaurant just up the street. Can almost always get in on short notice.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Wonderful dinner

Dined on March 28, 2016

We had dinner at Caprice 2 nights in a row due to availability during our stay in Wilmington. We had flounder and pork on the first night with double chocolate cake for dessert. Both were really good. I like the creative use of fresh local vegetables and fresh herbs in all their dishes. The cake looked small, but was very rich and filling. On the second night we each had the boeuf bourguignon, and it was truly wonderful. I've never had it prepared better (even in my own kitchen :)) It was over mashed potatoes and had a combination of brussel sprouts, baby carrot and cubed sweet potato on the side. The gravy was rich and wonderfully flavored. The coffee I had afterwards was rich enough to almost seem like a dessert. I highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Great French restaurant!

Dined on March 25, 2016

We went to caprice to celebrate a special occasion. The food and drinks were very good. We ordered the creme brûlée for dessert. It had a strong flavor of lemon, which I didn't quite care for. Otherwise a great restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A "10" for sure..Walter was right

Dined on March 22, 2016

It couldn't have been better. What a surprise to find escargot on the menu=excellent . The waterzooi was outstanding, all just melting in your mouth, the broth superb. Loved the presentation of oil/vinegar. Swordfish was a tad dry but flavors spot on, perhaps a bit larger slice? Katie our server is a definite keeper! All in all, a great anniversary dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Dinner

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We took a chance & we're very happy we did. This is a charming place with excellent food & friendly, efficient service. A very nice find -- highly recommended. After dinner, speaking to the owner, we found out that she's been there for 14 years but had a place in NYC several years prior to relocating to NC. It was funny to find out that her NYC place had been one we'd really liked as well & that we were sorry when it closed. Now we know where she went! Wilmington's gain.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This clearly the BEST restaurant in Wilmington!

Dined on March 18, 2016

The food is always perfectly prepared and served. The mussels Marseillaise are my favorite starter.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Caprice Bistro - Wilmington

Dined on March 17, 2016

My wife and I each had excellent meals at Caprice Bistro. She ate vegetarian and thought the mushroom crepe was delicious. That and a small appetizer gave her a very filling dinner. I had the beef short rib special. The beef was very tender, and the red wine sauce was truly excellent. We will be back.

Tags: special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great fine dining-good value

Dined on March 17, 2016

The duck confit is my meal of choice here. The escargot appetizer is good. Always a good meal with experienced staff.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great place for any special dinner.

Dined on March 16, 2016

The ambiance is charming. The food is always good and menu items you cannot get anywhere else in Wilmington.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Authentic French bistro

Dined on March 14, 2016

Quaint French bistro with a quiet atmosphere. The owners are French and the food was authentic. My Belgian style seafood soup was absolutely incredible. Definitely recommended.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Birthday Dinner

Dined on March 12, 2016

Deserving of the Trip Advisor #1 rating. Great atmosphere and food.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great!

Dined on March 10, 2016

Delicious food and great service. The tables are a bit too close together so it's not a great place for a romantic evening. You can't help hearing the conversations around you and you know every one else can hear you whether they want to or not. But for a delicious dinner with friends it's great.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around terrific place for a delightful dinner!

Dined on March 5, 2016

We had a family group of 5, ages 20-53. Everyone was able to find some delectable dish for dinner. The best part was getting a taste of the others' choice so we knew what to try next time!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

katie is an adorable and very efficient ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

katie is an adorable and very efficient waitress !!!!!!!!!

Tags: neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.