About Caprice Bistro

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Cassolette - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
  • Escargot - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
  • Duck Confit - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
  • Chocolate Mou - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC

Report a photo problem

Lamb Cassolette - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Escargot - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Duck Confit - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC
Chocolate Mou - Caprice Bistro, Wilmington, NC

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (50)
Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (44)
See All
Romantic (40)
Authentic (37)
Fit for Foodies (37)
Cozy (32)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Good for Birthdays (25)
Neighborhood Gem (23)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Notable Wine List (20)
Quiet Conversation (20)
Worth the Drive (18)
Casual (12)
Outstanding Value (12)
Local Ingredients (10)
Bar Seating (7)
Healthy (7)
Fun (7)
Historic (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Comfort Food (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Waterfront (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Tapas (4)
Business Meals (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Seasonal (3)
People Watching (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Lunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Family Style (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1055 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Went for dinner on a Monday night and it ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined 5 days ago

Went for dinner on a Monday night and it was wonderful as always. Our server Jack did a great job, even heated our cream for our coffee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 6 days ago

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Wilmington area. Whenever we are in town for a visit it's always on our list to stop in for dinner. This trip was no different. We both had the porkchop Normandie and it was delicious. The tomato tarte tatin was pretty tasty too. We'll be back again the next time we're in Wilmington.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu on the web site is different fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 7 days ago

The menu on the web site is different from the restaurant menu. Web has a flat iron steak for $17. Restaurant only had a NY strip steak for $26. Which I ordered. The meat was very tough and chewy. Not a good value. My husband had the lamb shank and said it was OK. The mussel appetizer was good. I would not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We go to Caprice Bistro regularly. Great ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 7 days ago

We go to Caprice Bistro regularly. Great food and great service. Great place

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Caprice Bist ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was our first visit to Caprice Bistro although we're local. What a wonderful place for a cozy, romantic, delicious experience! The service and food was absolutely the best! We had pate, the pork and a flounder/shrimp special and " floating island" for dessert. Very different and so yummy! We will return and cannot wait to try other dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food.

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food, great atmosphere. I woul ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Delicious food, great atmosphere. I would recommend this place to everyone.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Live Music, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There is little question that Caprice Bi ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 8, 2017

There is little question that Caprice Bistro continues to rank as the top restaurant in Wilmington NC because the absolute quality of the food, the presentation of the dishes, and the extremely dedicated service. I have been a frequent dinner at this place;I have never been dissapointed .

Tags: Healthy, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Every time we eat at Caprice is special. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 5, 2017

Every time we eat at Caprice is special. We love the food, and the staff is wonderful. I'm a little disappointed that they took their Flat Iron steak off the menu. It was the best steak in Wilmington, but the salmon was to die for.

Tags: Waterfront, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Great place to celebrate. Cozy and fun. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 3, 2017

Great place to celebrate. Cozy and fun. Bar menu is a real deal. Champagne, escargot and mussels-all prepared deliciously . Highly recommend. Will definitely go back many times. Really, what's the question. Telling all my friends about it though I think most of them already are aware of this jewel.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Authentic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is a wonderful restaurant in the hi ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 31, 2016

This is a wonderful restaurant in the historic waterfront area of Wilmington. I've enjoyed many meals here through the years, and the food is consistently good. The service is excellent, and the food is reasonably priced for a high-quality restaurant. Highly recommended!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always consistent and worth the trip to ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Always consistent and worth the trip to Wilmington for authentic French cuisine. Wonderful meal that was beautifully presented. Our server, Jack, was fantastic and we enjoyed talking with him. Would recommend this restaurant again and again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As always, service was fantastic, food o ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 30, 2016

As always, service was fantastic, food outstanding and atmosphere very French!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb! This is always a culinary highli ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Superb! This is always a culinary highlight of our trip to Wilmington. Our favorite appetizer is the Mussels Marseillaise, served in a white wine sauce, tomatoes, garlic and herbs. Our favorite entree is the Waterzooi, a light and slightly creamy broth with a beautiful assortment of seafood. Both of these are wonderful for dipping the crusty French bread. Friends who have had dinner with us rave about the food. Caprice Bistro always exceeds expectations!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just really good quality French food in ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Just really good quality French food in a real bistro style restaurant. Food portions are big so keep that in mind!

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently one of the best restaurants ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Consistently one of the best restaurants in the area. Beef bourguignon, Lamb Shank, trout, mussels, salmon all perfect. Profiteroles and macaroons for dessert and not a crumb left. Chef Thierry will not disappoint. I have family who have dined at both of his previous venues in NYC and Charlotte and insist on a trip here every time they visit. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is one of the best restaurants in W ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on December 22, 2016

This is one of the best restaurants in Wilmington. The food is always delicious and well presented and the service is professional and not over-bearing. The sofa bar is inviting and good for drinks or a meal. Located in downtown Wilmington, it's great to walk about before or after dinner. We love this restaurant!

Tags: Good for a Date, Historic, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, as always!

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 21, 2016

Excellent, as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First time, won't be our last. The food ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 19, 2016

First time, won't be our last. The food was excellent with generous portions.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My friend and I went to Wilmington for a ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 14, 2016

My friend and I went to Wilmington for a few days and came upon Caprice Bistro the first night of our stay. We so enjoyed the dinner, wine and service that we went back the second for an equally delicious meal...Lovely cafe with great service and the food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I ordered the escargot fo ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 12, 2016

My husband and I ordered the escargot for appetizer. We've had it here before and love their version. It's like the richest cream soup with tons of escargot.YUM. We also had mussels. We were recently in Brussels and had their famous mussels. The mussels here are better!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great Beer, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!! This was our sec ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 11, 2016

ABSOLUTELY FABULOUS!!! This was our second trip and we enjoyed it as much as the first. It will definitely be on the top of the list for future dinners out.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love everything about this restaurant. ...

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on December 11, 2016

I love everything about this restaurant. Has a very continental appeal to it, food is fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have a drink upstairs at the bar before ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Have a drink upstairs at the bar before dinner to enjoy the whole ambiance.

Tags: Waterfront, Notable Wine List, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything was first-rate...the food, th ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Everything was first-rate...the food, the ambiance (a real French feel), and service. Excellent wine list. Server was very knowledgeable about the wines and gave a great recommendation.

A great spot for a romantic date or the celebration of a special occasion.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Simple elegance with a real focus on our ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 8, 2016

Simple elegance with a real focus on our comfort and satisfaction. It's nice to see excellent traditional preparations done in simple uncluttered presentation. Wonderful.

Tags: Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

One of our favorite places to eat in Wil ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on December 4, 2016

One of our favorite places to eat in Wilmington. Food is excellent and the service wonderful. My husband had the pork which was very flavorful and cooked perfectly. I had the stuffed chicken which was delicious. We eat there five or six times a year and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Waterfront, Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

As usual, everything was great! The esca ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on December 3, 2016

As usual, everything was great! The escargot are in a very rich sauce that compliments the meat. The trout was delicious. The pork chop perfectly done. Still one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington....13 years and counting.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one our favorite restaurants in ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is one our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. An intimate bistro near the Cape Fear River featuring Belgian/French cuisine, the service is always prompt and friendly. The food never disappoints, but I rarely stray from my favorite, waterzooi, a traditional Flemish fish stew similar to its French cousin, bouillabaisse. My wife usually goes for the steak frites. The desserts are great too.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Easily the best meal I have had in Wilmi ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Easily the best meal I have had in Wilmington. (I am a local) Not nearly the reputation of some others, but, I think, purposely low key. You don't need to brag when you are sold out every night.

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Both the service and the food were outst ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 25, 2016

Both the service and the food were outstanding. Some of the best I have had in Wilmington. Will definitely go there again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value, Healthy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was exceptional. Excellent valu ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 21, 2016

The food was exceptional. Excellent value. Lovely ambiance. A real find.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Authentic, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro is a gem. The food is al ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Caprice Bistro is a gem. The food is always wonderful. I had the fixed price menu for $25 which included a salad, pork tenderloin with root veggies, and floating island for dessert. The Entree always comes out steaming hot. I eat here every chance I get. Don't miss it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro is our favorite restauran ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Caprice Bistro is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington, NC. Although there are a number of excellent restaurants in this quaint city, none can compare with the constantly superb and delicious food prepared by this outstanding chef and impeccably served by waiters that are attentive and dedicated to the restaurant.

Tags: Organic, Good Vegetarian Options, Outstanding Value, Gluten Free Options, Vegan, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Good for a Date, Romantic, Authentic, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic french menu - great wine selec ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Authentic french menu - great wine selection - great atmosphere - right downtown in historic Wilmington

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food, reasonable prices and attent ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Good food, reasonable prices and attentive staff. A must go to in Wilmington, NC

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We love Caprice-especially for special e ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on November 13, 2016

We love Caprice-especially for special events. This Saturday we had a fantastic dinner ,our wait person Katie was perfect .We were very happy

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Always have had a great meal at Caprice. ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Always have had a great meal at Caprice.

  1. Food was fantastic and a good value for the quality of food served.

  2. Our server was wonderful and attentive without being intrusive.

  3. Never felt rushed even though they were busy which made for a very relaxing and enjoyable evening.

We always request to eat upstairs. Upstairs is more intimate.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful cozy French bistro with excell ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Wonderful cozy French bistro with excellent food and wait staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A great meal start to finish

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on November 8, 2016

A great meal start to finish

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.