Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Caprice Bistro

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (59)
Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for a Date (53)
See All
Romantic (48)
Creative Cuisine (47)
Cozy (46)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Good for Birthdays (42)
Authentic (42)
Neighborhood Gem (39)
Notable Wine List (36)
Worth the Drive (28)
Pre/post Theatre (28)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Local Ingredients (19)
Casual (15)
Fun (12)
Business Meals (11)
Comfort Food (11)
Historic (11)
Bar Seating (11)
Late-night Find (9)
Waterfront (8)
Healthy (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tapas (5)
Tasting Menu (5)
Hot Spot (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Seasonal (4)
People Watching (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Organic (2)
Scenic View (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Family Style (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Private Room (1)
Great Beer (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort By:
S
1225 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined 3 days ago

Absolutely perfect! Service, wine, specials were all amazing!! We will be back again and again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Tapas, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

We look forward to visiting Caprice whenever we're in Wilmington (from Australia). We've been there twice now. The food was delicious and the desserts very tasty. ;-)

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined 4 days ago

We've dined at Caprice twice in recent weeks - once with out of town friends who had heard about it and then for a birthday. Just delightful - manages to be a classic dining experience while still being very easy and comfortable. Service is superb and unobtrusive. And food is just delightful. Classic French that feels new and interesting at the same time.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

We dine here often, mostly on weekends. This is the first time we were somewhat disappointed with the restaurant. My husband ordered Wazooki (?) but asked salmon be substituted with whitefish, as he had in the past a few times, but was refused. So then he ordered the beef burgunion(?), which the waitress came back a few minutes later and said they were out of.
We were out with clients and it was a bit embarrassing the restaurant was not accommodating.
The food was delicious as always, and everyone had a very good time.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Excellent food and even better service. Made reservation one day before event and they still listened to my spellcual request. This is an excellent restaurant and we always take our special guests here for either business or family get together. Would highly recommend!!! The best in Wilmington!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 14, 2017

WOW. Bastille Day at Caprice Bistro. We brought two friends from NYC and they loved it. Great food. Allowed to linger and not rushed to finish and be out. Our waitress is the best. Then a very short walk to the Cape fear Waterfront where we could relax more and watch the sun set. Great place .

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 14, 2017

The whole experience was excellent!!! Come like to go back soon!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Caprice Bistro,
One of a kind in NC. We have been coming to Caprice for 12 years, get a Mini tarp to Brussels with an order of mussels and fries, pair it with a Belgian beer and feel the vibe of life.

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 8, 2017

You can always count on the food being of excellent quality and the service the best in town, period! The importance that is put on service in this restaurant in absolutely appreciated and all other restaurants should use yours as a guide to how to serve in a restaurant. I've visited Europe on many occasions and it's very much like the dining experience you would have there. Very much appreciated all around!!!!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Hot Spot, Waterfront, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Server was competent and pleasant. Halibut and Waterlooi dishes were very tasty.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Waterfront, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Caprice is our absolutely favorite restaurant in the area. It is an incredibly charming venue with the kindest, most efficient staff around. We are always greeted with smiling faces before sitting down to a lovely dinner. The menu has something for everyone and the food is always superb. Never once in our 10+ years dining here have we ever left disappointed. We love having such a consistent, reliable, tasty restaurant right here in our little city.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Vibrant Bar Scene, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on July 7, 2017

Great food great service we really enjoyed the meal from beginning to end, escargot was exquisite

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Feels like you're back in France. It wouldn't be that special if it were in the middle of Paris, but it's rare to get authentic French cuisine in North Carolina. We got mussels that were perfectly cooked, duck with some crispy potatoes in an orange sauce, and mahi mahi with shrimp in a slightly spicy sauce that was the special for the day. We remarked that the shrimp in that sauce should be a regular menu item it was so good! The mahi was cooked just a little too far, but most people wouldn't notice. For dessert, we got both the trio of chocolate mousse and the creme brulee. The white and dark chocolate mousses were great, but the milk chocolate wasn't quite the right texture and lacked in flavor as well. The creme brulee was the most correctly-prepared I've ever had. It could have used a bit more vanilla, but the texture was absolutely perfect and cracking into the top was incredibly satisfying. We finished off both desserts, if that's a testament to how good they were despite our nitpicking.

In terms of atmosphere, it was just like a little Parisian restaurant downstairs. We didn't go upstairs to their lounge area, which seemed like it was a bit trendier. We appreciated that it was in the middle of a lot of the "action" downtown so it was easy to get to. The tables are quite close in this small space, so we were worried about noise but it actually wasn't bad. Something about the acoustics of the room, perhaps, made it easy to hear each other but not eavesdrop too much on neighboring tables.

The service was good - very friendly & knowledgeable waiter - but it seemed they might be down a person because everyone was rushing around and even the hosts were running food back and forth, bussing tables, and filling drinks instead of waiting to greet guests at the door. We didn't mind because we don't like hovering staff while we eat, but it's worth mentioning.

Everything was appropriately priced. Definitely didn't break the bank even with a glass of wine in the mix.

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Creative, unique menu - good mix of meats and seafood. Surprisingly large portion sizes for a fancier restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on July 1, 2017

An absolutely perfect experience! Ambiance, menu and service was spot on!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Second time there while taking a break at the beach. Nice gem in the area. We all loved it! Try the mussels or Waterzooi or the crepes -- you will love them!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Caprice Bistro never disappoints. I actually ordered something different this time and it was outstanding. We will go back and back. It is very much as if you are in Paris.

Tags: Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Adelaide)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Terrific meal with appetizers, salads, entrees, and dessert. Wonderful friendly service. Thoroughly delightful experience , again.

Tags: Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wonderful authentic French inspired good in a cozy bistro setting. Wide selection, deliciously prepared. Knowledgeable, attentive staff. Reasonably priced. Great for special occasions or just dining out!
Will definitely be back. Worth the drive.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Organic, Authentic, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on June 26, 2017

Wonderful meal. Reasonable prices. Excellent service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Louisville)·Dined on June 25, 2017

We visit Wilmington every year for summer vacation. We always make sure to eat at Caprice more than once while we're here. The food, service and wine selection is exceptional. Authentic French dishes are their speciality.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Great, pretty trad.itional French bistro.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on June 23, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington! Always delicious & so inviting! Patricia & her wonderful staff do an outstanding job!

Tags: Fun, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 21, 2017

We live in Southport and are willing to drive to Wilmington every week to eat here . We always plan on trying some of the other recommended restaurants on Open Table. This place is so great that it's the only place we go! Excellent French restaurant and good wine selection.

Tags: Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 18, 2017

My favorite place in Wilmington! Great restaurant, creative cooking, friendly staff, choice of seating at a regular table or on sofas, no rush. Minor disappointment this time: limp pommes frites.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 16, 2017

Had a most wonderful anniversary dinner Friday night. From charcuterie to waterzooi it was perfect. Amazing cocktails as well. Our fave Wilmington restaurant never disappoints

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Cozy, Late-night Find, Handcrafted Cocktails, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 15, 2017

This one of our favorite restaurants anywhere in the USA. Cozy and very much like the local cafes you will find in Paris. we will be back very soon.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 15, 2017

We absolutely love coming to Caprice Bistro when we're in town. First discovered it when we were dating and returned this year with our 4 year old who loved her "pancake" (crepe). Great service, fantastic food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Always a favorite spot in downtown area! One of our favorite restaurants and love sitting upstairs!

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food, Authentic, Casual, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 11, 2017

On our first visit to Caprice Bistro, we were dining following a theater performance; when we realized that the performance was not as long as we had expected, we called the restaurant to see if we could change our reservation to an earlier time; we were accommodated graciously. We had a wonderful meal -- the food was superb and the service was great. We will definitely be back.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 9, 2017

Lived up to billing as the #2 best restaurant in Wilmington.

Tags: Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 9, 2017

We enjoyed the Duck Confit and the Waterzuui dishes. It was a great place for a fine dining experience.

My only complaint was the freezing AC blowing down on our corner table upstairs by the windows.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 8, 2017

An amazing variety, delicious, friendly and a wonderful experience. Well priced and a value for the money. Love their food and love the atmosphere. We will definitely return soon!

Tags: Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Happy Hour, Cozy, Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 7, 2017

We always make it a point to go Caprice Bistro when we visit Wilmington, and once again we had an outstanding meal! The food and wine were perfect and our waitress was superb.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 5, 2017

This is our favorite restaurant in Wilmington. Friendly and professional staff. Wonderful food!!!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on June 3, 2017

This is the most wonderful French restaurant in Wilmington. Caprice Bistro played a large part in why we moved to Wilmington. The food is outstanding as well as the wait staff. We wouldn't dream of going anywhere else to celebrate special occasions or when we just want to be transported back to that French atmosphere we so loved in France. Always our favorite!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Fun, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

We lived in Switzerland for many years and have missed the French Cuisine since returning to Illinois. Just retired here in Wilmington and truly enjoyed your wonderful entrees and deserts. We will certainly be back and will highly recommend Caprice to others. Bill and Carol

Tags: Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food and ambiance were wonderful, especially loved sitting upstairs in the sofa lounge. The service was excellent! I had to change my reservation last minute, and I received a call from the owner of the restaurant letting me know that I would not be able to get a window table unless I came earlier, do to previous reservations. I said it was fine, as I didn't care about being seated by the window, however, I really appreciated the call. I wish more restaurants would be this concerned about their patrons dining experience. We can't wait to go to Caprice again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 30, 2017

And we had an outstanding waiter from Concord NC
Excellent experience all around!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 30, 2017

We went to celebrate a birthday at Caprice. The food was excellent from soup to our main meal. We both had the special mushroom soup that day. I enjoyed the soup just as it was - my partner added a little salt. My partner loved every bit of the sauce on her main dish. I enjoyed the steak frites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.