About Caprice Bistro

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Cassolette
  • Escargot
  • Duck Confit
  • Chocolate Mou
Lamb Cassolette
Escargot
Duck Confit
Chocolate Mou

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
14 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Special Occasion
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

Special Occasion (97)
Fit for Foodies (86)
Romantic (77)
See All
Neighborhood Gem (70)
Notable Wine List (42)
Late-night Find (15)
Good for Groups (11)
Scenic View (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Hot Spot (7)
Great for Lunch (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
915 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Once again dinner at Caprice Bistro "roc ...

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Once again dinner at Caprice Bistro "rocks". The proprietor (wife) always greets warmly at the door. Wait staff is always attentive and accommodating, and generally has a good sense of humor. One of us did not like what she ordered and spoke up, the waiter offered someting else and there was no charge.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

My husband and I were in Wilmington for ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined 5 days ago

My husband and I were in Wilmington for just one night and opted to dine

at Caprice Bistro. We had been before and loved it! The upstairs is a

beautiful room to dine in. Love the vibrant colors of the art work displayed.

And again this time we were not disappointed either in the food. Our meal

was delicious ! We can not wait to return!

Tags: Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value3

Went with my 2 adult daughters on a week ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined 6 days ago

Went with my 2 adult daughters on a weekend get away. Food was wonderful, service was outstanding and I loved the atmosphere of the whole place. We will definitely be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent authentic French!! We loved th ...

 
 (Mississippi)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

Excellent authentic French!! We loved this place!! Great wine too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We found the restaurant to be very Europ ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We found the restaurant to be very European in nature. The service was superb as well as the quality (including) selection of the food. We were seated at a table for two and had pleasant chats with others on either side of us. All indicated they were enjoying their experience at the restaurant. We will go there again when in Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our second time at Caprice Bist ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

This was our second time at Caprice Bistro. We are not native to Wilmington, but if we were, we would eat there often! Great food and service. The owners are friendly and welcoming. The food is fresh and interesting. Love the Mussels Curry and the escargot with the Roquefort cream sauce, but everything that we had was excellent. The craft cocktails are creative and very well done. Looking forward to going back next time we are in town.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing meal! Stopped in Wilmington for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Amazing meal! Stopped in Wilmington for one night and used online reviews to find a restaurant walking distance from the Hilton.

For appetizers we had the pork cheek, mussels marseillaise and tomato tarte and all were excellent.

Entrees were waterzooi and duck confit. I highly recommend both dishes!

The dining area was very comfortable and quiet (although we had an early 5:30 reservation)

Server was extremely knowledgable and attentive.

Will definitely be back to try more of the great choices on the menu when we return to Wilmington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was excellent. The decor was v ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

The food was excellent. The decor was very interesting. Filled with original art and cozy couches.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband thoroughly enjoyed his strip ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

My husband thoroughly enjoyed his strip steak, cooked to perfection and raved about the fries days later. Handcut, I believe. A vegetarian for nearly 40 years, I am delighted when I find something other than pasta on the menu. The Crepes au Fromage didn't disappoint, but with all that cheese, balance could have been achieved with the addition of a small green side such as the green beans such as that which came with hubby's steak, some asparagus, brussels sprouts, broccoli, etc.

The house red was delicious and the ale the waiter recommended for hubby hit the mark.

We would come again when visiting Wilmington and would recommend Caprice Bistro for a romantic dinner or dinner with friends. Not Child friendly.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Quality of food. Excellent service.

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Quality of food. Excellent service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

First class with a classic laid back Wil ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

First class with a classic laid back Wilmington atmosphere

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy eating and drinking at C ...

 
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

We always enjoy eating and drinking at Caprice. Food is reliably excellent, reasonable wine prices, and an upscale version of the French-style bistros we've enjoyed in Belgium and France. Highly recommended for romantic occasions.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Always great food. The Trout Almondine w ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Always great food. The Trout Almondine was outstanding.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Food and service were very good. Asked f ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

Food and service were very good. Asked for a nice table for our anniversary and we got the best in the house. It is in a great area for visitors to come as it is located adjacent to the river front and many things to do.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

The pork cheek is wonderful, cheese plat ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

The pork cheek is wonderful, cheese platter great too. Dinner really great and Jack is a great server!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Caprice Bistro is like a trip to Paris. ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 9, 2016

Caprice Bistro is like a trip to Paris. While it is usually busy and requires a reservation, it is so quiet while dining. It is a pleasure to be able to hear one's dining companions without trying to talk over a lot of noise. The wait staff is lovely and knowledgeable. The owner is a true French gem.

Tags: Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our party of five enjoyed the meal immen ...

vip
 (Greensboro)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Our party of five enjoyed the meal immensely, the Trout Caroline was one of the best trout entrees I have eaten. Husband enjoyed the Steak Frites, the Waterzooi was reported to be awesome, the salmon delicious. This is a small space, but the service was calm and attentive, which made for a relaxing evening.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View, Romantic, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What a jewel! Don't miss it!

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

What a jewel! Don't miss it!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great overall place in every respect. To ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on August 4, 2016

Great overall place in every respect. Too bad there are not more window views

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Late-night Find, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This wS my birthday dinner. I found it o ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

This wS my birthday dinner. I found it online and it got rave reviews. Everything was outstanding ... Even the house white wine. The salads were wonderful and the service great. Highly recommend.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic French cuisine in the heart of ...

 
 (Wales)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Authentic French cuisine in the heart of Wilmington. A pleasant surprise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasions, Neighbourhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great. Unfortunately there is ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was great. Unfortunately there is nothing the restaurant can do regarding obnoxious people sitting 18 inches from us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

We enjoyed our dinner so much the first ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner so much the first night we came back again the second night. Great place, ambiance, service and food were all excellent. Upstairs sofa bar was very nice! Not too noisy.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

This is one of our favorite "go to" plac ...

 
 (Key West)
·Dined on July 26, 2016

This is one of our favorite "go to" places. One of us almost always gets the mussels with frites. The best in town. Their salads are uniquely good. We usually share one. This night I had a special that was a waterzooie (sp?) variation with chicken with mushrooms and shredded carrots in a cream sauce that was delicious. Never disappoints.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

We have friends that visit Wilmington ab ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

We have friends that visit Wilmington about once every couple of months and we always meet for dinner. Caprice Bistro has become our 'go to' place where we know we will get great food and service in an atmosphere where we can comfortably reminisce. Had the Tomato Tarte for an ap and it was scrumptious, the duck confit was just right. We always feel comfortable trying 'new' things here, because we know it will be prepared just right.

Thanks again, Caprice , for a wonderful dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I went there with my two kids and my nie ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

I went there with my two kids and my niece to celebrate our first night on vacation. We loved it and we felt it was the right place for a nice first vacation night.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice had been recommended by friends, ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Caprice had been recommended by friends, so we wanted to try it. We were not disappointed! We were greeted at the door by the owner who took us to a special table upstairs overlooking the street. The ambiance was very authentic - small and intimate. Everything from the Caprice trio that we had as an appetizer to the Macon Villages wine to the fish and seafood entrees had a lovely presentation and timing that beckoned us to "savor and enjoy." The food was truly excellent. I will be taking guests and family to this place in the future, but my husband and I are looking forward to a evening dinner during the work week for ourselves.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

It was a special place to celebrate my g ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

It was a special place to celebrate my granddaughter's 21st birthday.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been dining here for years. The ...

vip
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We have been dining here for years. The food and service continue to be well above average. My wife had the salmon and I choose the large portion of mussels for my entree. Both were perfectly cooked and presented. We started with a roasted vegetable Tian. It was the first time we have tried it. It was outstanding with roasted tomatoes, sliced portabello's, and zucchini roasted in a garlc, herb, olive oil. It was served with warm flatbread. If you enjoy seafood, be sure to consider the waterzooi.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was excellent and a quiet atmos ...

vip
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

The food was excellent and a quiet atmosphere. Everything was fine.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Everything about the meal, atmosphere an ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Everything about the meal, atmosphere and service were Excellent! Will definitely go back and recommend to friends and family. Thank you Caprice Bistro!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife ordered steak and I had the rabb ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

My wife ordered steak and I had the rabbit. Both were excellent! One of the top three meals of my adult life. Simply superb!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food here is always great. Caprice ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food here is always great. Caprice Bistro is my favorite place to eat in Wilmington, NC.

Tags: Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A lovely dining experience....and the es ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

A lovely dining experience....and the escargot - it is to die for!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went for the Bastille Day special dinner ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Went for the Bastille Day special dinner and it was wonderful. All the offerings were great and the portions were very generous and at a very good price. Service was excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As always, Caprice Bistro shows why it i ...

 
 (Wilmington)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

As always, Caprice Bistro shows why it is our favorite dining experience in Wilmington.

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A very nice restaurant with good food an ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

A very nice restaurant with good food and service. The tables are to close to each other which makes you feel like your dining with the next table guests.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Went to celebrate our anniversary. Ourfo ...

 
 (South Carolina)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Went to celebrate our anniversary. Ourfoodwasexcellent andourwaitress Katieoutstanding. Very personable and helpful. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was delicious and the wait staf ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The food was delicious and the wait staff were attentive. I especially liked the escargot. I will definitely be returning.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

A wonderful dining experience in Wilming ...

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

A wonderful dining experience in Wilmington, NC. The prix fixe menu provides an excellent option. We hope to return often.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.