About Caprice Bistro

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Lamb Cassolette
  • Escargot
  • Duck Confit
  • Chocolate Mou
Lamb Cassolette
Escargot
Duck Confit
Chocolate Mou

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.4

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Coastal North Carolina
Best Food
Coastal North Carolina
Best Service
Coastal North Carolina
15 More
Best Value
Coastal North Carolina
Fit for Foodies
Coastal North Carolina
Neighborhood Gem
Coastal North Carolina
Romantic
Coastal North Carolina
Most Booked
Coastal North Carolina
Best Overall
Wilmington
Best Food
Wilmington
Best Service
Wilmington
Best Ambiance
Wilmington
Best Value
Wilmington
Fit for Foodies
Wilmington
Neighborhood Gem
Wilmington
Romantic
Wilmington
Special Occasion
Wilmington
Most Booked
Wilmington
Best Restaurants in Wilmington ›

fit for foodies (81)
special occasion (78)
romantic (64)
See All
neighborhood gem (58)
notable wine list (32)
good for groups (10)
late-night find (9)
great for lunch (7)
scenic view (7)
hot spot (7)
vibrant bar scene (6)
great for brunch (2)
Sort By:
Newest
872 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Caprice Bistro has excellent ambiance, d ...

Dined 4 days ago

Caprice Bistro has excellent ambiance, delicious French cuisine without the stuffiness or exorbitant pricing. It is one of our favorite "special" restaraunts in Wilmington. The mussels are fabulous as well as great service and attention to detail.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The menu is deliciously creative. The f ...

Dined 4 days ago

The menu is deliciously creative. The food is cooked, served, and plated to perfection. The service is outstanding. What's not to like??? Our server was Jay - who made the dining experience that much more enjoyable.....attentive without hovering, kind AND professional. Thanks Jay!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

Food was outstanding!! Only wish it was ...

Dined 5 days ago

Food was outstanding!! Only wish it was not so loud.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful and the food wa ...

Dined 5 days ago

Our server was wonderful and the food was amazing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

On 3 day vacation in Wilmington and want ...

Dined 6 days ago

On 3 day vacation in Wilmington and wanted a special dinner in Wrightsville Beach. Reviews were mixed, but we decided to try it. Big mistake. Very hard to find (How about a note on the web site telling where you are). We did "call ahead", and in all fairness we were seated very quickly, but it was downhill from there. Service was mediocre. The flatbread was served warm, not hot. It was sent back, we were told they would remake it, but then it was re-served after apparently being heated in the microwave. It had been moved on the plate, and looked like a mess. If you like a nice Ceasar salad with chicken, DON'T order it here! This is one of my favorite meals when I want to eat "lite", and I have enjoyed it all across the country. This was by far the worst one I have ever tasted. Maybe the chef wants to be creative with the Caesar dressing but it wasn't even close to standard. They did comp us half of the price of the flatbread. Fortunately, we don't have to go back, and won't. Do plan on more vacation time in the area, hopefully we can find a good restaurant in the area without having to go to old-town.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Based on the reviews, I was expecting mo ...

Dined 7 days ago

Based on the reviews, I was expecting more. The food was good, but I wouldn't call it great.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was wonderful. We took friends ...

Dined 7 days ago

The food was wonderful. We took friends who hadn't been to Caprice before and they were very impressed with the food.... the escargot, the roasted vegetable crepes, the salmon the arugula salad, all very well prepared...exceptional flavor so. Love the ambience!

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Such a cute little restaurant in the hea ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Such a cute little restaurant in the heart of Wilmington near the water. We had a great server and enjoyed a delicious meal. My husband had the tuna and I had the chicken special. Both were just wonderful. We plan to go back the next time we are on the NC coast.

Tags: fit for foodies
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Authentic, flavorful, wonderfully quaint ...

Dined on June 21, 2016

Authentic, flavorful, wonderfully quaint, value for dollar economical. This was an excellent experience that fulfilled all our expectations. A quiet, enjoyably quaint ambiance perfectly suited to a romantic conversation, complemented by a superb wait-staff that was 'available and attentive' while not being intrusive, bothersome, or snooty (a common complaint in what are perceived to be high-end restaurants) - Caprice Bistro is 'High-End' because of its menu, quality, and wait-staff not because of high prices) - the Caprise Bistro is surprisingly affordable.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful food /great service a special ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Wonderful food /great service a special occasion made more special by Caprice Cafe

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We are Wilmington residents and discover ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We are Wilmington residents and discovered Caprice Bistro early in our four years we've been living here. We continue to return as often as we can. My wife particularly enjoyed the trout on this visit. My Steak Frites was wonderful, as usual, I've had this many times, both as a Filet Mignon cut and now as a N.Y. Strip Steak cut. My only regret this visit was that we couldn't take the time for desert, many of which I've enjoyed on past visits.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We came here for our first anniversary a ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

We came here for our first anniversary and were not disappointed. Great food, great service, great experience!

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Good food, not exceptional. Pleasant but ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Good food, not exceptional. Pleasant but too dark ambiance. I had the coq au vin which was more like a southern bbq flavor. Not expected but good anyway. My wife had the duck confit and liked it. Wine prices too high. Probably will return eventually.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We chose Caprice Bistro for our 45th wed ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

We chose Caprice Bistro for our 45th wedding anniversary dinner. I made a reservation online and asked for a romantic table. We were seated in a quiet corner by a window overlooking the horses and carriage--quite pleasant. My seat was a comfy sofa; my husband had an upholstered chair. Candlelight. Lovely. The tomato tort was delicious as an appetizer. We enjoyed a large order of mussels; they were good-sized and flavorful in a garlic lemon-wine sauce. My husband had the Waterzoo: mussels, scallops, shrimp, salmon and grouper in a light cream sauce. I devoured the lamb shank tagine. Tender and tasty. For dessert: the blueberry Napoleon was exquisite and surrounded by a generous amount of ripe, succulent blueberries; my husband's cream puffs were gone in minutes. Our server was pleasant and attentive and we were never rushed or neglected. We will return to Caprice Bistro and have already recommended it to friends.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Maybe I should have said I wanted my ste ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Maybe I should have said I wanted my steak medium instead of medium well because my steak was dry and tough.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We try to get there often, and we take o ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We try to get there often, and we take our family and special friends there when in town because it has so much to offer. The ambiance, the wait staff, the display, the food (taste and options)...only the highest quality. This is truly a neighborhood gem!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food and atmosphere. We're from ou ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. We're from out of town and the water tastes horrible here. The options for water are limited to one kind. I recommend adding more to your inventory.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything we wanted- great food,terrific service

Dined on June 10, 2016

Everything we wanted - great food,excellent service,Perfect table,quiet and value for money

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Just excellent in every way.

Dined on June 10, 2016

Just excellent in every way. My wife and I agreed that we haven't had a better meal anywhere in the US for any price.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

French with southern charm

Dined on June 8, 2016

Food selection and specials were very European. Loved the salads and entree, Classic French bistro dishes with location seafood is ideal blend for the classic European ambiance. Loved the food and wait staff was very knowledgeable and prompt with service.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Caprice Bistro may be one of my new favo ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

Caprice Bistro may be one of my new favorites! The food was delicious, drink/wine selection is wonderful, and the service was outstanding. We'll definitely be back.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

real french food

Dined on June 6, 2016

Caprice bistro is a delight and I always look forward to my meals there. It's a family run place and it's wait staff have been there for years reflecting the stability and quality of the establishment. Confit duck and rabbit is great. Boueff bourginon and coq au vin are favs but only available Monday's and Tuesday's respectively. Nice choice of seafoods. I know of people who drive many miles for this restaurant. I certainly do.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Don't miss it!

vip
Dined on June 6, 2016

This bistro is outstanding! The food was excellent and the service superb!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Great location in downtown Wilmington.

Dined on June 4, 2016

Average experience at best. French restaurants typically fall into this category. Calamari App was overcooked, Escargot app was good. Nice flavor profile. Steak entree was pretty bland, but her mussels were good. Had new staff working which ran our table the wrong food item. Cute decor, liked the local art work and cozy feel to the upstairs.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Caprice Bistro Wilmington

Dined on June 4, 2016

Excellent food. Best pom frites! Service was good with no rushing.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time to the restaurant. It was wo ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

First time to the restaurant. It was wonderful. Whole experience made better by our server Jack.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Another Great Meal X 2

Dined on May 29, 2016

We had dinner twice at Caprice on our latest trip to Wilmington. I had mahi the first time, and grouper the second. Both were excellent. I always enjoy the creative use of fresh herbs and vegetables in the dishes served. My husband loves the pork so much, he had it both nights. I had coffee as my dessert, and it is always rich and flavorful. A+

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

Worth a visit

Dined on May 29, 2016

Very good and attentive servers, couldn't tell if the hostess was being a d1ck sometimes or genuine, food good overall but taste a little different to how you'd find the plates in France - similarly price higher than in France (seems typical of bistros in the US for some reason). Would prob go again, but only after trying out other attractive options in Wilmington first. $120+ for two starters and mains and a couple of drinks.

food5
ambience5
service5

Superb cuisine. Highly attentive staff ...

Dined on May 25, 2016

Superb cuisine. Highly attentive staff Very reasonably priced. Best restaurant in Wilmington.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our wedding anniversary wi ...

Dined on May 24, 2016

We celebrated our wedding anniversary with delicious food, romantic ambiance and excellent service. I don't think we will wait a whole year to come back!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

One if not the Best in Wilmington

Dined on May 24, 2016

We've eaten in this French restaurant before and always have found it to be very good. The food is typical French and well prepared. I highly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience3
service5
value4

The food was good but could have been gr ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

The food was good but could have been great if dishes had a little more flavor, especially the sauces that accompanied the appetizer and entree. Entrees were good sized portions.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

We went specifically for the mussels and ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

We went specifically for the mussels and they didn't disappoint. They were delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here a number of times befo ...

Dined on May 19, 2016

We have been here a number of times before, and it never disappoints. The pork Normandy, duck confit, salmon - all wonderful. With so many good restaurants in Wilmington, we always come back to Caprice Bistro when we want a "sure thing." I love the ambience, and all the wait staff we've had have been very good.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food and service

Dined on May 13, 2016

This may have been the best French meal that my wife and I have ever eaten. The food was simple, but prepared perfectly and tasted great. The wait staff was very attentive as well and very personable. This was a great experience and I would recommend Caprice Bistro to anyone in the Wilmington area.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Find

Dined on May 11, 2016

First time here. Found thru online search. Nothing disappointed. Beautiful and intimate environment. Great bar area upstairs. Great service. Mussels -yumm!! Seem to be a house speciality. Can't wait to return.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Don't waste your time and money

Dined on May 9, 2016

We went there based on good reviews, but the reviews were way off base, the place has nothing special, the food were not even up par with a neighborhood diner! move on!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service

Dined on May 7, 2016

Excellent food and service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great night!

Dined on May 5, 2016

We always enjoy Caprice Bistro. This particular dinner was very good and our waiter Jake just made it better. He brought each course in a timely manner, did not rush us at all and had a great attitude. Our only complaint was "no onion soup" due to the new summer menu. A wonderful evening!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A Wilmington Go-To That Doesn't Disappoint

Dined on May 1, 2016

I dine in Durham a lot. Maybe I know a thing or two about restaurants and bistros, maybe I don't. A bottle of champagne, warm & attentive care from Katrina, a fish dish prepared to perfection, couples all around, upstairs downstairs, great vibe...am I missing anything?

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.