Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Caprice Bistro

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (55)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Romantic (53)
See All
Good for a Date (52)
Cozy (44)
Fit for Foodies (43)
Authentic (42)
Creative Cuisine (41)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Worth the Drive (31)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Quiet Conversation (25)
Notable Wine List (25)
Local Ingredients (19)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Business Meals (13)
Fun (13)
Casual (12)
Comfort Food (9)
Bar Seating (8)
Good for Groups (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Seasonal (4)
Waterfront (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
People Watching (3)
Scenic View (3)
Tapas (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Great Beer (1)
Organic (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1278 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was awesome. Service was attentive and friendly. It's a new favorite spot.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 5 days ago

I have always loved French food. My husband took me there for my birthday dinner and I had already selected my appetizer and entree before we got there on line. The escargot was awesome. One of the best I ever tasted. My Duck Confit, however, was disappointing. I felt it was a little dry and I did not care for the balsamic glaze on it. Hope they will make it in the traditional form in the orange sauce as I would like to comeback and try it that way some time.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 17, 2017

My husband and I had noticed Caprice Bistro and thought the menu sounded wonderful. So for a date night anniversary celebration we decided to give it a try. We were very happy with that decision. From the moment we arrived we felt special and were even given a choice of tables near the window. It was a Sunday so they were not busy. Jack was our waiter and he was helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was wonderful, we had Escargot as an appetizer, fabulous! Then Mussels and Duck for dinner, both were also wonderful! And they even have some 1/2 price bottles of wine on Sunday. What could be better? We highly recommend the Caprice Bistro.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We love this wonderful french bistro.
Have been dining here for 15 years.
Every meal has been memorable.
Best Manhattan cocktail in Wilmington

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 16, 2017

This is my husband's favorite restaurant when we are in Wilmington. It's always a hit and never a miss!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 16, 2017

Caprice is a consistently great restaurant in a town full of restaurants. The ambiance is excellent and if you like French cuisine you will not be disappointed. The Chef and his lovely wife Patricia own this fabulous restaurant. The Fish special was outstanding and the grilled Romaine with Shrimp is excellent. It's a must in Wilmington.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Have never been disappointed. Welcoming, excellent service, EXCELLENT food...a favorite

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Tapas, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 15, 2017

My boyfriend and I were celebrating his birthday and this was his top pick of places in Wilmington for this special occasion. The high quality of the menu selections is very consistent, the price point is reasonable, the wine list is robust. The small place makes for a lively but intimate atmosphere. After a wonderful meal you can stroll around downtown Wilmington. A perfect evening!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 15, 2017

This restaurant never disappoints. It is always crowded and reservations are a must if you have a particular night you want to go. It's small so when it is crowded it can be conversationally challenging. The tables are close enough to hear the conversations next to you if you listen. 4 of us dined there and all 4 of us had a fish dish. Trigger fish and flounder were the local specialties that evening. The two of us who asked for the trigger fish asked for them to go easy on the sauce but it still was a little much. The vegetables that came with it were delicious. It also came with orzo and when I asked if rice could be substituted the answer was no but extra vegetables could be and that was fine. The portions were reasonable not huge like so many restaurants in town. They have an extensive wine list, full bar and several dessert choices. We were all too full to try any but they looked delicious.

Tags: Romantic, Notable Wine List, Casual, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Celebrated our 50th wedding anniversary at Caprice. Food was excellent (I had the Waterzooi, a kind of bouillabaisse in a cream sauce, and my wife had the trigger fish and shrimp special); both were hearty and excellent. We drank a nice rose' with it (that's a little weakness in the wine list -- only one rose' and it took some looking even for the wait to find). We finished with a digestif in the upstairs bar and enjoyed a different kind of ambiance there.

The place is not overly large, so it felt fairly cosy. Noise level was moderate. It is a routine peeve that many restaurants are so blessed loud that you can't hear conversation in normal tones.

We thought Caprice was a real find and would be happy to return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on September 8, 2017

One of our favorite restaurants in the Wilmington area.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was excellent. Seating upstairs better for romantic meal. Server was attentive but not rushing me through the meal.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Second time there....unfortunately not as good as the first. Waitress seemed more interested in table turnover...insisting we had to place our appetizer and main order at the same time or lose our place in line?? Then forgot our second appetizer and we could barely finish the one appetizer delivered before the mains arrived. The flounder special was freshly cooked & hot and was delicious....the lamb shank was tasty, but only luke warm. The Manhattens are killer and the dessert macarons were light and delicious. We will probably give them another chance, just not on a holiday weekend.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 3, 2017

We love all French food. If pate is on the menu, we go.
The food was exquisite and the service delightful.
It felt like we were eating in France.
We liked it so much, we went back twice on a three nite getaway!

Tags: Romantic, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charlotte)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Always delicious! We drove 2 hours each way just for dinner and it was worth it!

Tags: Cozy, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on September 3, 2017

French classics are expertly prepared and served by an attentive staff. Nice wine selection available and excellent house bread. I"ll keep coming back for the luscious chocolate mousse.

Tags: Authentic, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on September 2, 2017

been here each time we come to Wilmington, love the food and waiter attention even when busy.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Naples)·Dined on September 1, 2017

Overall good food. However, the Beef Bourgion meet was very tough. The suave was delicious so I tried to overlook that. Onion tart was great and my martini was perfection. The lovely hostess accommodated our party with the window seat upstairs. Was a bit surprised that we told them it was our anniversary and they did not send over a complimentary dessert or even a cookie. They wished us happy anniversary so they knew. Four dinners, salads and appertisers and drinks would have more than covered the free dessert.

Tags: Scenic View, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Always great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Our food was good....a friend loved the mussels. My Scottish salmon was tasty, but a little dry and the same comment regarding the bass. The tables are so close together and the party of 8 next to us drowned out any possible conversation at our table. Space the tables better....this isn't France! Service was incredibly slow. We like the ambience and will return.

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 31, 2017

A small French bistro in the center of everything. They good food and attentive service. Can have to much noise. One of our favorites.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 27, 2017

Fabulous find.... the food was outstanding and our waiter was wonderful in describing the menu and pairing our wines with our order. Will definitely go back when in town again!

Tags: Special Occasion, Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual, Worth the Drive, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 26, 2017

What a wonderful little restaurant. First time I have had really good service in a while, the woman served effortlessly, effectively, and was polite with out being chatty. The menu has some classic choices you don't see much anymore. The bread is great. Simple bistro food done well. I only wish there where more places like this. Fabulous!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Authentic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on August 25, 2017

We have been to Caprice Bistro many times. The main course was very good. Service was excellent. Cocktails were great. Our dessert, a chocolate cake, was a bit disappointing. It was OK, but there was too much chocolate syrup and too little cake. And, the cake was unexceptional. The restaurant can (and should) do better. I would go again and recommend the restaurant to others.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 23, 2017

Good, as usual. We come to Wrightsville from Durham and always reserve a night at Caprice Bistrot.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on August 22, 2017

Order the duck confit, TRUST ME!!!! and the escargot are excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Excellent food and service. The lamp chop special was cooked to perfection. The wine we ordered was not available, so the owner suggested another brand that was more expensive, but did not charge us extra. Have been there many times and never disappointed.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Fun, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 19, 2017

It's always a wonderful meal at Caprice.
We feel welcomed and at home with the very capable staff.
Is there such a thing as more than 5 stars?

Tags: Seasonal, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 19, 2017

We ate the tomato tartin, the bouillabaisse special and the salmon dish. Everything was delicious, cooked to perfection, our waiter was quite attentive and the owner addressed us by name when she came to check on us. We will definitely dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 16, 2017

This is my 5th visit so obviously I enjoy this spot. I had the beef Bourgogne and it was very flavorful but the beef was a bit dry. My guests had the salmon and mussels and enjoyed their dinners very much. Service was very good. For the price, Caprice is a very good value.

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 13, 2017

We have been many times and the service and food are Consistently excellent.

Tags: Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Perfection on a plate. Excellent spot for a meal, appetizers or dessert. We sat upstairs this time and it was nice. Excellent wait staff. Very nice manager.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 11, 2017

We enjoyed our meal, food was great, Jay our server was helpful. Wine list is limited , suggest bringing your own wine . ..corkage fee $20. Small restaurant,, can be a bit noisy. Reservation recommend during summer months.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Always worth it and always well taken care of and most enjoyable on a Friday evening with all the action going on outside downtown.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Waterfront, Quick Bite, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

We love Caprice. Our yearly 3 week vacation to Wrightsville Beach always includes several visits to Caprice. The service is wonderful. We especially love Katie. The food is always delicious. A must stop when in the Wilmington area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 8, 2017

Sensational local restaurant! Was recommended by a friend & did not disappoint!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Always a good meal and great service. Staff is very knowledgeable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We had the grouper special and steak. Both were excellent! The Cesar and arugula salad are always great. Katie is an excellent server!

Tags: Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Never had a disappointing meal here. Everything is wonderful. We go back and forth to Manhattan and Caprice Bistro ranks right up with the best from NYC. Wish we could come more often.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on August 5, 2017

We live in Virginia but we're often in the Wilmington area and ALWAYS plan a visit to Caprice. The food is wonderful and the folks there are delightful. Katie is our new favorite server. She's knowledgeable and attentive without being intrusive. We highly recommend Caprice Bistro!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Authentic, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.