Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.20mi
  2. Distance: 0.22mi
  3. Distance: 0.23mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Caprice Bistro

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (61)
Good for Anniversaries (53)
Special Occasion (52)
See All
Romantic (52)
Authentic (48)
Creative Cuisine (43)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Good for Birthdays (31)
Cozy (29)
Neighborhood Gem (28)
Pre/post Theatre (24)
Quiet Conversation (23)
Worth the Drive (21)
Outstanding Value (20)
Notable Wine List (20)
Historic (13)
Casual (13)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Business Meals (10)
Bar Seating (9)
Waterfront (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Fun (6)
Healthy (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Tapas (4)
Tasting Menu (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Gluten Free Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Scenic View (3)
People Watching (3)
Great Beer (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Live Music (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Seasonal (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Family Style (1)
Sort By:
S
1121 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 3 days ago

This the best French restaurant we have found in Eastern NC. THE PRICES ARE REASONABLE AND THE FOOD IS EXCELLENT.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 4 days ago

We went for my husband's birthday and had a great experience. I ordered the house specialty and it was delicious. Service was also excellent! My husband's duck was just a bit dry, but other than that and overall good dinner.

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed our dinner in an authentic and charming French restaurant. We were welcomed and seated right away. Every dish was well prepared and delicious. We recommend the mussels and crepes.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Outstanding Value, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 7 days ago

Never fails to impress!! This is our "go-to" Place in Wilmington,NC. The best Moules et Frits outside of Belgium. True European flair.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We had an outstanding dinner there. The stsff was friendly, the food was awesome, we had starters, entrees and desserts snd everything was very good. Higly recommend this restaurant.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Authentic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu, Outstanding Value, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

One of our 'favs' ! We like the upstairs seating, it's not as crowded and noisy as the main floor.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and service was outstanding. Very nice setting to enjoy a meal and conversations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Fun, Outstanding Value, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Cozy, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 18, 2017

It's our favorite restaurant in town. We love eating at the bar upstairs!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary and wanted to dine some place special. Caprice Bistro was just the place. When I made the reservation, I requested a special table for the occasion and they did not fail us. Perfect spot by the window. Our server was attentive and the evening was wonderful. We enjoyed a bottle of champagne and from appetizers to dessert, we enjoyed an excellent meal at a leisurely pace. We felt like we were the only ones there and were treated with top notch attention.

This wasn't our first time at CB, and it definitely won't be our last. Wilmington has a real gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Wonderful little French restaurant in downtown Wilmington. The dining area downstairs is small and very tight if you're seated in the area against the wall. My daughter and I were too close to other patrons to have any type of conversation. It was St. Patrick's Day and a very loud group of four were seated next to us. If you desire privacy, ask for a separate table away from the "long booth" against the wall. That was my only concern. The service and food are outstanding! My daughter had crepes and I had the house specialty, Waterzooin, a seafood dish. Each bite was flavorful and they do not skimp on the seafood! Also very reasonably priced for the quality of food you receive. We tried the macarons for dessert....delicious!! We will return again but ask for a different table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on March 17, 2017

What a great bistro! Delicious fresh mussels. Great bread. Excellent service. We love this place. Split pea soup to die for.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on March 15, 2017

CPrice bistro is always accommodating and the food is as good as any in Paris. I know. I've traveled to paris frequently and am anxious to get back to caprice.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We decided to enjoy a nice dinner before seeing a local musical production. The ambience downstairs was warm and inviting. Our table was away from the door which is recommended due to the incoming blast of cold air when the front door opens. Our server, Katie, was friendly and attentive. Our meals were nicely prepared. Our first course was fresh and creatively presented. The sautéed Virginia trout and mussels in white wine were excellent. The wine list had a reasonable selection of French wines by the glass. Although the dessert menu had several rich selections, I was surprised that no fruit tarts were offered. At a good French restaurant which Caprice Bistro is, one normally sees an apple, pear, or mixed berry dessert offered. In any event, I would not hesitate to return to Caprice Bistro especially for their half price mussels and wine night!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Try to reserve a table upstairs. Less noise and a nice atmosphere. The grilled Romain lettuce with lightly fried shrimp, is to die for. Perfect to split this for 2 .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 10, 2017

We had a wonderful dinner celebrating two birthdays! All of our selections were superb - lamb shank, salmon, trout and the special which was flounder. We requested to sit upstairs, our favorite spot! Our server was knowledgeable and attentive. I would highly recommend Caprice Bistro!

Tags: Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Wonderful food and atmosphere! Great wine list with a wide variety to select from. Wait staff very attentive to our needs. We were there on a Sunday so no main course specials but food from menu is excellent! Desserts are over the top great! I was there for my birthday and they put a candle on my dessert, nice touch!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Very good French restaurant.
Perfect for a date or small group

Tags: Casual, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Atlantic City)·Dined on March 5, 2017

As usual, the mussels at Caprice Bistro were perfect! Special was swordfish with Moroccan seasoning (wonderful!), Pork Normandie was delicious, BEEF BOURGUIGNON was done perfectly and the Waterzooi (signature seafood dish)was terrific.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Late-night Find, Historic, Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic, Waterfront
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Small, noisy place with lots of classics on the menu such as escargot and boeuf bourguignon as well as innovative specials.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Outstanding as always. My husband and I dine here frequently. Our favorite restaurant in Wilmington NC!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Best restaurant in Wilmington NC - bar none!

Tags: Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This is a small, quiet, civilized restaurant if you don't mind banquet seating near other couples. There are also some isolated tables for more privacy. The choice is yours. Love the escargot and pate appetizers. Many entrees are hearty and earthy with a fine influx of herbs and complex flavors. Wine list could include some affordable cabs. Waiter was attentive without being cloying. He was told it was my birthday, and he simply wished me a happy birthday. He said a birthday candle would not stand up in my side of mashed sweet potatoes. We did not order dessert because we were satiated. The Women's Restroom was clean and bright. This restaurant never disappoints, and the quality is consistent.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on March 1, 2017

One of the best restaurants in town. Great food with great wine at a fair price.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 28, 2017

The dining room was tight seating - but came off as cozy vs noisy. But if a busy dining evening, be prepared to be surrounded by high energy. A creative menu with many delectable choices, served attractively and piping hot. Everyone ate every last bite. Our waiter was knowledgeable and proud of the fare she served; attentive but not intrusive. Overall an excellent dining experience.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

We had a lovely time, a beautiful dinner , drinks, and dessert. Wait staff was great. I have no complaints. Don't miss the escargot, it was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 26, 2017

I ordered the steak frites and the meat was prepared as ordered. However the fries were soggy and nor crispy. I informed the waitress who indicated that she would tell the kitchen staff. I heard nothing further.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Favorite place in Wilmington! The specials are always amazing and the service is excellent. Be sure to make reservations well in advance

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This was our first time, but it won't be our last! May be our new favorite restaurant. Can't wait to dine at Caprice again!!

Tags: Great Beer, Late-night Find, Fun, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Outstanding Value, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 23, 2017

The location of Caprice Bistro, near the river and within walking distance to a lot of the hip spots in downtown Wilmington, is excellent, and on a Wednesday night we lucked into street parking very near the restaurant.

The mirror-lined main rectangular dining room feels very much like a bistro in Paris.

Our dinner started on a high with two wonderful cocktails, my ice-cold vodka martini and my companion's amazing and unusual Manhattan (a mix of bourbon, B&B and Grand Marnier).

We shared the escargot appetizer ($8.95) in a garlic and roquefort sauce, which was delicious, and the accompanying French bread made it even better.

For an entree, I had the steak frites -- the strip steak au poivre ($26.95, I believe the most expensive item on the menu) was very good, although probably not U.S. Prime, cooked to my exact order, and the French fries were hand cut and perfect. If anything, it was too much of a good thing -- the steak was much larger than expected and potatoes came in a heaping serving. I had a glass of the house Cab with my steak frites, and it was a large pour and reasonably priced ($9.50).

My companion ordered another long-time Caprice Bistro favorite, the Seafood Waterzooi ($19.95), which she pronounced wonderful, a mix of local seafood plus salmon in a cream sauce.

Service was intuitive not intrusive, and our waiter was very knowledgeable.

The total bill for two came to about $90 before tip, a very fair price for the quality of the meal and the delightful setting. When in Wilmington, we'll return.

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 20, 2017

Good French Cuisine and welcoming atmosphere.
Nice wine list and affordable.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Outstanding Value, Family Style, Cozy, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Romantic, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 19, 2017

This was our second visit to Caprice. We are from out of town. Our first visit was so memorable we really looked forward to being able to dine at Caprice again. We ended up with the same lovely waitress who has worked there for 7 years. Both times the owner was there overseeing things. We had many different menu items as four of us were dining, and everything was delicious. The gateau pate with hot mushroom sauce was delicate and delicious. The mussels, curry or garlic, were tender and flavorful. Pistachio salmon was done just right. Traditional boeuf bourguignon had us imagining the French countryside. My husband had the Waterzooi, the house specialty, which was a creamy version of bouillabaisse. Caprice is a diamond in the heart of waterfront Wilmington.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Lovely authentic French bistro. The owner remembered us and gave us our favorite corner table. The Prince Edward mussels marienere were delicious. The Black Sea bass with shrimp was perfect with wonderful vegetables. Our waiter was very attentive. Always good food.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 17, 2017

My wife and I went here for a belated Valentines Day dinner. This was our first experience with French cuisine. The food was fabulous, the atmosphere was cozy and romantic, and our server, Katie, was very friendly and helpful with our dinner and wine selections. We cannot wait to return soon. It is a pricer restaurant than we are used to, but we were made to feel right at home by the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Caprice Bistro is our favorite downtown restaurant for a romantic meal with authentic Belgium cuisine. Service is professional, with long-tenured staff. Lobster Bisque and Salmon dishes are exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 16, 2017

Low lighting, candlelight, amazing food, great wait staff... Just what I was hoping to find and so much more for a special occasion date. Tables were a bit crowded for my liking so we were close enough to talk to other couples (but this did lead to conversation about desserts... Which by the way, are delicious!) Our waitress (Katie, I think?) was incredibly friendly, helpful, and attentive. The wine offering was extensive, so I opted for the "house red wine" just to not spend time making a decision.... Come to find it was a delicious glass (or two). Very pleased with this find, and it'll definitely remembered as a great place for a special date!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Favorite place for 15 years, great French/Belgian food, never disappoint

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 15, 2017

So happy a friend suggested the restaurant!! I use to travel frequently to Paris and miss it
Caprice is very authentic Wish we lived closer we would come often !!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 14, 2017

The food was amazing as always but for some reason our server was off. She seemed like she didn't know what she was doing or just didn't care. Never had anything but top notch service at caprice until now. I will return because i love the food and atmosphere but next time i hope to have a different server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Great little French bistro...only improvement would be outside dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Food is outstanding every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.