About Caprice Bistro

Thierry and Patricia Moity were previous owners of Patou Bistro in Charlotte, NC and Cafe de Bruxelles in New York City.

Delight in Chef Thierry Moity's traditional French cuisine. Chef Moity, who has been cooking since age 13 in some of the finest French restaurants in Europe and New York City. The French cuisine is influenced by a combination of traditions-Patricia comes from the northern part of France near the Belgium border, while Thierry's origins are deeply rooted in the central provinces of the country.

According to Chef Moity, the food is served fast paced and in generous portions." I want everyone to feel welcome in my restaurant". We are working against the stereotype that French food must be intimidating and expensive.

10 Market Street
Wilmington, NC 28401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
French, Belgian

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: sunday tru thursday: 5pm to 10pm.
Friday-Saturday: 5pm to 11 pm.

Cross Street:
Water St.

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(910) 815-0810

Website:
http://capricebistro.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking and public garage deck

Executive Chef:
Thierry Moity

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Takeout, Wine

Caprice Bistro Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.8

service

4.8

ambience

4.6

value

4.6

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (54)
Good for a Date (54)
Romantic (51)
See All
Special Occasion (50)
Authentic (48)
Fit for Foodies (38)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Cozy (32)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Worth the Drive (22)
Quiet Conversation (22)
Neighborhood Gem (22)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Notable Wine List (18)
Outstanding Value (18)
Historic (10)
Casual (9)
Local Ingredients (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Healthy (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Waterfront (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Business Meals (6)
Tapas (5)
Fun (5)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
People Watching (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Scenic View (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Late-night Find (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (2)
Great Beer (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Live Music (1)
Spicy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1089 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

My wife and I went here for a belated Va ...

 
 (Greensboro)·Dined 2 days ago

My wife and I went here for a belated Valentines Day dinner. This was our first experience with French cuisine. The food was fabulous, the atmosphere was cozy and romantic, and our server, Katie, was very friendly and helpful with our dinner and wine selections. We cannot wait to return soon. It is a pricer restaurant than we are used to, but we were made to feel right at home by the staff.

Tags: Romantic, Tapas, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice Bistro is our favorite downtown ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined 4 days ago

Caprice Bistro is our favorite downtown restaurant for a romantic meal with authentic Belgium cuisine. Service is professional, with long-tenured staff. Lobster Bisque and Salmon dishes are exceptional.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Low lighting, candlelight, amazing food, ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 4 days ago

Low lighting, candlelight, amazing food, great wait staff... Just what I was hoping to find and so much more for a special occasion date. Tables were a bit crowded for my liking so we were close enough to talk to other couples (but this did lead to conversation about desserts... Which by the way, are delicious!) Our waitress (Katie, I think?) was incredibly friendly, helpful, and attentive. The wine offering was extensive, so I opted for the "house red wine" just to not spend time making a decision.... Come to find it was a delicious glass (or two). Very pleased with this find, and it'll definitely remembered as a great place for a special date!

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Favorite place for 15 years, great Frenc ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined 4 days ago

Favorite place for 15 years, great French/Belgian food, never disappoint

Tags: Historic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So happy a friend suggested the restaura ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined 4 days ago

So happy a friend suggested the restaurant!! I use to travel frequently to Paris and miss it

Caprice is very authentic Wish we lived closer we would come often !!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food was amazing as always but for s ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing as always but for some reason our server was off. She seemed like she didn't know what she was doing or just didn't care. Never had anything but top notch service at caprice until now. I will return because i love the food and atmosphere but next time i hope to have a different server.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

Great little French bistro...only improv ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Great little French bistro...only improvement would be outside dining.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Food is outstanding every time!!

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 6 days ago

Food is outstanding every time!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Went to Caprice Bistro for Valentine's d ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined 7 days ago

Went to Caprice Bistro for Valentine's dinner. Excellent food and wine. Parking in the garage one block away. Service was good and never felt rushed. One of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington. A little pricey but very good for a special occasion or taking out of town guests to.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Cozy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Amazing food, service, ambiance and wine ...

vip
 (Western NC)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Amazing food, service, ambiance and wine! Our first time there and we will definitely go back!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food, very French ambience (lo ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Delicious food, very French ambience (love!), terrific service---perfect for a lovely Valentines dinner. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is my favorite restaurant in Wilmin ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 11, 2017

This is my favorite restaurant in Wilmington. Everything from appetizers, to soup, to main course, to dessert has always been par excellence. Authentic French modern cuisine. The wife is the wonderful hostess and the husband is the main chef. Everyone I have introduced to the restaurant has raved about it. From service to casual atmosphere to food everything is repeatedly excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Authentic, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful French restaurant in downtown ...

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Wonderful French restaurant in downtown Wilmington, NC. Do not miss the mussels (especially the curry version)!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful pre Valentine's Day m ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We had a wonderful pre Valentine's Day meal at Caprice. I had eaten there before, my husbands first time. Our meals were delicious. Hubby enjoyed the pea soup and duck confit. I had the escargot and mussels for my entree. I began the evening with the house red wine and was surprised how generous the portion was. Service was professional which I sometime find lacking in restaurants down here. We will definitely be back before too long.

Tags: Quiet Conversation,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Takes me back to gay Paris! We have ne ...

vip
 (Greensboro)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Takes me back to gay Paris!

We have never had a bad experience at Caprice Bistro. The food is authentic French cuisine. The ambience is very authentic too. We always end up with Jay as our server & he's awesome. I had the grilled romain salad with shrimp & the flounder. Both were wonderful. This is will always be our favorite spot in downtown Wilmington.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Cozy, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Historic, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and even better food. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service and even better food. I would highly recommend caprice as one of your fine dining options in Wilmington.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Caprice has been our favorite restaurant ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Caprice has been our favorite restaurant in Wilmington for ten years now. The owners and staff are thoughtful and efficient, the food is consistently wonderful and the downtown environment is truly old Wilmington. Well worth the price.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was the second time that my husband ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 6, 2017

This was the second time that my husband and I went to Caprice. First time we went there we loved it so we decided to go back there for my husbands birthday while his parents were in town. I am originally from France, I moved here in the states 6 years ago, and trust me when I say that the food tasted just like home. From the appetizers to the desserts everything was excellent. Portions are just perfect. Wine selections is large. I definitely will be back there!!

Tags: Good for a Date, , Romantic, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Belgium/French bistro. Always con ...

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great Belgium/French bistro. Always consistently good; can get noisy if there's a large group.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

Outstanding as always. Excellent food an ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Outstanding as always. Excellent food and great value

Tags: Molecular Gastronomy, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

This was a great night of dinning with m ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 4, 2017

This was a great night of dinning with my family thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

At Caprice Biatro, I always feel more li ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 2, 2017

At Caprice Biatro, I always feel more like a guest than a customer. Service and hospitality are always wonderful. My wife and I love going here for special occasions!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We always enjoy our dining experience at ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We always enjoy our dining experience at Caprice Bistro. The food is wonderful, and the service is friendly and efficient. It is one of our favorite restaurants in Wilmington.

Tags: Special Occasion, Romantic, Happy Hour, Seasonal, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Cozy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been here several times, this wa ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on February 1, 2017

We have been here several times, this was perhaps the best meal we have eaten here. Food is superb. Tomato tarte tatin was amazing as was the pork chop with the Calvados sauce. Don't pass up the profiteroles for dessert. Service was impeccable. Can't wait to go back.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service - a fantastic din ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Great food and service - a fantastic dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I find Caprice Bistro to consistently be ...

 
 (Key West)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I find Caprice Bistro to consistently be the best restaurant in Wilmington

Tags: Good for a Date, Cozy, Romantic
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We came to Wilmington for a bridge tourn ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We came to Wilmington for a bridge tournament. After doing research we decided this was a foodie restaurant worth trying. It was so good, we decided to come back the next night, too. Our server, Katie, is a real gem!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Bring back the old pork dish. Pork chop ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Bring back the old pork dish. Pork chop was good but no comparison to the pork loin.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, wonderful ambiance, and grea ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Great food, wonderful ambiance, and great attention to details and to us!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food of exceptional quality, service was ...

vip
 (E. Tennessee)·Dined on January 25, 2017

Food of exceptional quality, service was great, although we could have sat upstairs where it was quieter, we chose to sit downstairs where it was more lively. All in all a great experience at another local restaurant.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband, adult son and I went for din ...

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband, adult son and I went for dinner and were very impressed. Creative, delicious foods - hog cheeks and country pate appetizers, local trout, goat cheese creme brûlée to die for. We were a bit early and waited upstairs in the comfortable sofa bar. Friendly and engaging staff. Loved every minute!

Tags: Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner.

vip
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Birthday dinner.

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first time here and couldn' ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 20, 2017

This was our first time here and couldn't have been more pleased. We started with the escagot which was our first time trying it and it was outstanding. My husband had the steak and I had seafood. One of the best meals ever. The drinks were outstanding and the service was wonderful. Great evening all around.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always very good food at Caprice Bistro. ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Always very good food at Caprice Bistro. Be sure to make a reservation as Caprice is popular.

Wonderful location for dinner prior to a Thalian Hall presentation as the wait staff asks if you have as time line when arriving in early in the dinner hour, and follows up with attentive service.

Thalian Hall is only a ten minute walk from Caprice, and a public parking garage is only one block away.

Tags: Tapas, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Went for dinner on a Monday night and it ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 17, 2017

Went for dinner on a Monday night and it was wonderful as always. Our server Jack did a great job, even heated our cream for our coffee.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Happy Hour, Vibrant Bar Scene, , Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This is one of my favorite restaurants i ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This is one of my favorite restaurants in the Wilmington area. Whenever we are in town for a visit it's always on our list to stop in for dinner. This trip was no different. We both had the porkchop Normandie and it was delicious. The tomato tarte tatin was pretty tasty too. We'll be back again the next time we're in Wilmington.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

The menu on the web site is different fr ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 14, 2017

The menu on the web site is different from the restaurant menu. Web has a flat iron steak for $17. Restaurant only had a NY strip steak for $26. Which I ordered. The meat was very tough and chewy. Not a good value. My husband had the lamb shank and said it was OK. The mussel appetizer was good. I would not go back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

We go to Caprice Bistro regularly. Great ...

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on January 14, 2017

We go to Caprice Bistro regularly. Great food and great service. Great place

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays,
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first visit to Caprice Bist ...

 
 (Wilmington)·Dined on January 13, 2017

This was our first visit to Caprice Bistro although we're local. What a wonderful place for a cozy, romantic, delicious experience! The service and food was absolutely the best! We had pate, the pork and a flounder/shrimp special and " floating island" for dessert. Very different and so yummy! We will return and cannot wait to try other dishes.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Tapas, Romantic, Good for a Date, Gluten Free Options, Creative Cuisine, Waterfront, Fit for Foodies, Historic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent service and delicious food.

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Excellent service and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.