Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Cappy's Restaurant

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: (210) 828-9669

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (73)
Neighborhood Gem (66)
Good for a Date (65)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (55)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Fit for Foodies (50)
Great for Outdoor Dining (50)
Great for Brunch (48)
Sunday Lunch (46)
Creative Cuisine (45)
Great for Lunch (44)
Quiet Conversation (39)
Cozy (37)
Worth the Drive (35)
Business Meals (34)
Casual (32)
Pre/post Theatre (26)
Authentic (25)
Romantic (24)
Comfort Food (20)
Notable Wine List (17)
Local Ingredients (17)
Good for Groups (16)
Healthy (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (15)
Historic (10)
Modern Decor (9)
People Watching (9)
Seasonal (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Fun (7)
Late-night Find (5)
Disabled Access (5)
Private Room (5)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Bar Seating (4)
Family Style (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Vegan (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Scenic View (3)
Happy Hour (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Great Beer (2)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Fireplace (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Organic (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
1285 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

The food is amazing! I could live off the variety of bread they give you for brunch. The waitress was phenomenal, very up-beat and friendly.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 15, 2017

Cappy's has been a favorite for years. You can always depend on good food and great service. It is an great place to meet friends for a casual lunch because you are never rushed.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 14, 2017

The staff was very warm and accommodating which made our experience great. Autumn, our server, was knowledgeable and made great recommendations. The Chicken & Brie was delicious. Great find and we will return.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Authentic, Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on June 14, 2017

Very good food away from the downtown River Walk area. Wine list has some gems and is very reasonably priced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 13, 2017

EXCELLENT Dining Experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Well worth the price when compared to Ruth Chris, etc. Great food and service. Unpretentious.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Our fist time at Cappy's. Very good food, excellent service.

Tags: Cozy, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on June 11, 2017

I love Cappy's. Great food, ambiance, service. Love sitting on the patio. There's a reason it's been around for decades and hopefully many decades to come!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

We went there to celebrate a friend's birthday and had a very good time. The food was excellent. The only bad thing was the kitchen closed without telling us and we couldn't had dessert not coffee. Everything else was perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Count on Cappys restaurants to do the big and the little things right

Tags: Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Best meal we had in San Antonio. Rachel was an awesome server and the food was beyond expectations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Excellent food and great dessert. Service was attentive without being over the top. Went there on a Tuesday night and the restaurant was not noisy. So one can have a conversation.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 4, 2017

As usual the food and the service was over the top!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 3, 2017

It was our daughter's birthday and she had never been to Cappy's. It was a real treat for her. The food was outstanding as always and the service was first class. Great place.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Another great meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Dinner was great as always, love this place! It's in the neighborhood and you can always count on consistency.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Fantastic. Everything was so good and the service was wonderful.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Nice menu options. Reasonable portions. The space needs updating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The food is always good but it was especially good this time! Two of us had the scallops and they were outstanding! Perfectly prepared! Very good wine selection...and wonderful service! We will be back...

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 30, 2017

As always the food, service, and atmosphere are excellent. Great salads and the best hamburgers ever.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Afternoon Tea, Disabled Access, Good Vegetarian Options, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (México)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Excellent brunch! Delicious and great service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Cappy's In San Antonio... great location near downtown AND the 410 loop... imaginative and consistently excellent cuisine.... and on this last visit, the best server EVER. Totally knowledgeable about the menu items, personable, polite, intelligent, unobtrusive but always available.
I unconditionally recommend Cappy's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Great food with a large patio that's dog friendly!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 26, 2017

Took some visitors to Cappy's, was my first time as well. Sat outside, was very nice. Food was delicious. We sort of did a Tapas thing, sharing the: endive salad, chicken and liver patte, shrimp appetizer with Brussel sprouts, and the mussels dinner with frites. It was all outstanding, but the shrimp appetizer was our favorite !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Cappy's is always reliable and always delicious. They accommodate special requests graciously. I especially like their salmon and tuna.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Vegan, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Just wonderful food and excellent service. Even the vegetables accompanying the main course went well beyond the usual fare; included okra and somehow the roasted carrots were sublime. The seafood is to die for.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on May 17, 2017

Cappy's always makes you feel special. The food is good and the service is great.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

This has continued to be an excellent restaurant through the decades. A staple of the better '09 places, Cappys always serves great seafood dishes as well as chops and salads. Great place for nicer business lunches or special occasions alike.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 14, 2017

A bit noisy but the food & service were outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Afternoon Coffee, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Great for Lunch, Authentic, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Been going to Cappys since 1982. Always a good experience. It is a solid choice any time you want to get away from the kitchen but still enjoy a homey atmosphere with food you would want to serve at home.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 13, 2017

My wife and I visited our son in San Antonio and offered to take him and his girlfriend to any restaurant for his birthday. He chose Cappy's. We had a great evening with terrific starters, entrees, and desserts. The service was friendly, knowledgeable and unobtrusive.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Fabulous food & service. Best fish dishes we've ever tasted. Next time we will make a reservation for the patio!

Tags: Authentic, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Tahoe)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Our friends took us there they really like the place.
Service was attentive.

My wife ordered the rib eye which she said was cooked properly but chewy.

I ordered the pork chop special Big PC but maybe cooked too much. Very dense and not as tender as it should have been.

The risotto side was excellent.

If you don't like a side, don't ask to sub they won't, so pick another item.

Wine 110% markup. Decent selection.

Desserts were good. We had three different ones and they all were good.

Meal quality does not match the price they are requesting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 11, 2017

Raul was outstanding 😍great waiter!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Nice overall experience. Service was slow to start but excellent once we had server. Food was outstanding. Wife had a salad with scallops that was great. Overall a real treat.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We received wonderful service from Kayla and the entire front house staff! Kayla was friendly, knowledgeable of the menu and extremely efficient during our meal. The front house support staff gave wonderful support and were attentive to our needs (offering drink refills, changing silverware, removing plates,etc..) without any prompting or requests. Cappy's freshly baked house bread is such a treat...warm, moist and slighly sweet (and VERY hard to resist eating the entire basket solo!). It was the perfect sponge for soaking up the delicious garlic chili butter that remained in the shells of the grilled oysters appetizer. My husband enjoyed the famous Cappy's burger but he felt the bun didn't adequately support the size of the meat and toppings (it was a challenging "bite" to eat). The fresh catch Arctic Char was perfectly cooked but I found the accompanying sauce to be a bit bland (needing a touch of salt or "oomph" in flavor). The vegetables and sauteed spinach were lovely side complements to the dish (although I would have liked a touch more garlic added to the spinach). Kayla recommended the coconut cream pie for dessert. We managed to finish the generous slice (slab!) of the creamy creation. The coconut filling was delicate in flavor and sweetness (which I appreciated) and crowned with the absolute BEST Italian meringue cream that I have ever tasted (I would order "cream only" for dessert if it was an option!). Kudos to the professional, accommodating and hospitable staff at Cappy's! We look forward to future meals at this San Antonio model-gem-restaurant!

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

The ambiance, food, service are always top notch at Capy's. I enjoy the convince of making reservations through Open Table an it seems that the restaurants treat you with added attention when they see the reservation is through OT. When we arrived at the restaurant there was a line of people waiting for a table, but we were taken directly to a good table.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Loved the bruch selections and the food was amazing. Excellent service!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great Sunday meal pre-opera matinee. Fav is salmon on yummy kale salad. Cannot be beat!

Tags: People Watching, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food, beautiful building. If you are looking for THAT special place in San Antonio this is the best you can find.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.