About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: 2108289669x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Breakfast
Scottish Salmon And Kale Salad
Lamb Special
Capichino
fish tacos
Char-grilled Gulf Oysters
Sticky Toffee Pudding
Fire Chicken Herb Crusted chicken Wotha Warm hollandaise sauceon A Bed Of mashed potatoes
Buffalo mozzarella tomato pear with a drizzle of olive oil
Cedar plank salmon lobster mashed potatoes with corn and asparagus
Bread and Butter
Eggs Benedict
Prime Rib
Steak Frites
Ribeye Steak
Scallops
Rack Of Lamb With Mint Rissotto
15 oz Ribeye
Reuben With House Salad
Mussels And Fries
Chilled Peach Soup
Sturgeon
Grilled Salad With Beef Tenderloin
Mussels
Chicken And Brei Sandwich
The Commodore
Pork Cassoulet
Surf And Turf
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Antelope Burger
Roast Chicken
Warm Apple And Cranberry Crisp
Heights Burger
Out Of The Blue

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
9 More
Best Value
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

neighborhood gem (106)
special occasion (101)
fit for foodies (82)
See All
great for brunch (74)
great for lunch (71)
great for outdoor dining (60)
good for groups (46)
romantic (36)
notable wine list (32)
kid-friendly (10)
hot spot (8)
late-night find (6)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
951 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent service and cuisine. Perfect a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

Excellent service and cuisine. Perfect ambiance and very knowledgeable staff. Courteous and professional staff. Food is delectable and entices the tastebuds. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening with good food a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

We had a lovely evening with good food and great service to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers are beyond the best. Coc ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The appetizers are beyond the best. Cocktails are always spot on. This kitchen gets it right every time.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I love the mussels. The service is alway ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love the mussels. The service is always excellent. Going to Cappy's is a treat!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding in every way. Food and serv ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Food and service tops. Staff and assistant manager gave remarkable attention not only to us but all diners.

Duane Young

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly, efficient staff. Well balanced ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Friendly, efficient staff. Well balanced menu. Excellent food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy sis my "go To" restaurant for busi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Cappy sis my "go To" restaurant for business lunchesd, family get together's and when I am in the mood for s great meal and the best service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love lunch on the patio here😊

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Love lunch on the patio here😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experienced here, great service & ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experienced here, great service & yummy drinks

Tags: good for groups, romantic, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, food and service! Defi ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, food and service! Definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good restaurant in Alamo Heights! The re ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good restaurant in Alamo Heights! The restaurants offered a outside dining but too hot in July. The menu was diverse and the food was very good!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been eating here since 2008. Never had a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Been eating here since 2008. Never had a bad meal. The food is consistently fresh and wait staff is prompt, friendly and efficient.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our lunch -the place fills up ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch -the place fills up by noon, so get there early to get the table you want.

Beef Stew was a special and it was dark and delicious. Salads were fresh and appetizing. Service was very helpful, except we waited a long time for our check to be collected. We often sit on the patio in the afternoons and that is very comfortable. Will be back. Thanks.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Cappy's and enjoyed our evening ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love Cappy's and enjoyed our evening with family. The only disappointment was that the waiter made no mention of the birthday we were there to celebrate. I had included that information on my Open Table reservation.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service and the meal was excel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service and the meal was excellent as usual! I can trust Cappy's to have consistently good food and good service!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had brunch at Cappy's today. First ti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had brunch at Cappy's today. First time there and we'll return. The food was exceptionally good. My friend had the breakfast special and I had Louie Eggs Benedict. Brandie was our server, great service by her and the rest of staff. Delicious mini muffins to start and fantastic coffee too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Cappys! Always great service, drink ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love Cappys! Always great service, drinks, and food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Cappy's for it's reputation a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Cappy's for it's reputation as having good food and service. We were not disappointed. Being from out-of-town, we wanted to get away from the hectic tourism at the riverwalk. It was an easy 10 minute Uber drive away. The server, manager and member of the owner's family all took interest in our experience. If in San Antonio,we will definitely return to Cappy's.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was delicious, I had the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While the food was delicious, I had the Halibut which the waiter recommended. He walked by our table 4 times after our food was served and never stopped to ask us how everything was. We were 3/4 done when he finally asked. While we were eating he was sitting behind the hostess stand rolling silverware. i expect better service in a restaurant like this!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Quiet evening on the patio. Very relaxi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Quiet evening on the patio. Very relaxing. Great food and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service! The Halib ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food and great service! The Halibut and Red Snapper were both excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Excellent service really makes a good me ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

Excellent service really makes a good meal great. Our knowledgeable and ebullient server enhanced the experience. But my steak, ordered VERY rare was, unfortunately not great. This was not the fault of the server, but the kitchen. Cappys will continue to be a go to spot, but not for steak.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Grief oysters were inedible. Awful seas ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Grief oysters were inedible. Awful seasoning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Cappy's is really a great place to go fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cappy's is really a great place to go for brunch, lunch or dinner and I will definitely return after this, my first visit. The ambiance is comfortable, friendly and inviting, and the wait staff is super attentive. My aunt ordered the eggs Benedict which was delicious, and I ordered the gumbo which was densely seasoned and, for my taste, would have been better served in a smaller dose with the rice on the side to be added as desired. It would have been wise to have ordered a fresh, green salad with this dish to balance it out. I'm looking forward to trying the other items on their varied menu and relaxing in the casual, friendly environment.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Saturday and Sunday brunch is always gre ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Saturday and Sunday brunch is always great. One of the best fancy laid back places to enjoy eclectic renditions of American dishes.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's has been a family favorite since ...

 
 (Amarillo)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Cappy's has been a family favorite since the 1970s. It just keeps getting better

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Love lunch on the patio here!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Love lunch on the patio here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Restaurant is just OK, nothing special, ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Restaurant is just OK, nothing special, nothing bad. My wife and I wanted moscato wine which they don't have. The waitress recommended zinfandel which was just OK. They were about 15-20 minutes late getting us seated for our reservation, but it was Fathers' Day. Really no reason to make an effort to go back seeing how there are so many other good restaurants around.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Just great food in a comfortable environ ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Just great food in a comfortable environment at reasonable prices.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cappy's is located in the popular Broad ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cappy's is located in the popular Broadway area, home to the Witte and McNay museums as well as other trendy restaurants and shops. This is a small, and I emphasize small, restaurant that was apparently built in an older building. It is a clever design but...it features all hard surfaces between the floor and the extensive but attractive use of wood. The tables are very close together and there is an open upstairs are as well.The result was that neither of us could very well hear the waitress description of the specials. The background noises overwhelmed the dining experience for me. Perhaps choosing the outside seating would have eliminated this difficulty. The various combinations of egg dishes for brunch did look attractive but if we go back we will be seated outside.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Cappy's was great as usual, except for a ...

vip
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Cappy's was great as usual, except for a dessert special which had little flavor. They took it off our bill. This is one of our favorite restaurants in San Antonio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

I've going over 20 years, not disappoint ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I've going over 20 years, not disappointed, yet. Highly recommended it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

My wife took me to Cappy's for Father's ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife took me to Cappy's for Father's Day brunch. As always, the food, service and ambience were outstanding and just what we have come to expect from this great neighborhood spot. We both had brunch items, and I can easily say that Cappy's really knows how to make hollandaise.

The Lawtons have done a great job in maintaining an Alamo Heights institution in Cappy's.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic server who knew the menu. Wide ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fantastic server who knew the menu. Wide variety of food that was delicious. Fun cocktail list. Desserts blew us and our friends away, so save room!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. All the staff was courteous. ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. All the staff was courteous. I had the beef tenderloin with sides. Onions to die for. Our waitress, Rachel was awesome. Excellent service without hovering over our table. Will be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Service was very good. Food very delici ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was very good. Food very delicious. We tried a different appetizer and it was great. Had a lovely evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great. Food was good. One me ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great. Food was good. One member of our party said his prime rib was a bit too dry.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Our anniversary brunch here was wonderfu ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Our anniversary brunch here was wonderful. My wife and I both had one of the egg dishes which were excellent. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great spot for brunch. The Mako shark w ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Great spot for brunch. The Mako shark was delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.