About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: 2108289669x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Breakfast
Scottish Salmon And Kale Salad
Lamb Special
Capichino
fish tacos
Char-grilled Gulf Oysters
Fire Chicken Herb Crusted chicken Wotha Warm hollandaise sauceon A Bed Of mashed potatoes
Sticky Toffee Pudding
Cedar plank salmon lobster mashed potatoes with corn and asparagus
Buffalo mozzarella tomato pear with a drizzle of olive oil
Bread and Butter
Eggs Benedict
Prime Rib
Steak Frites
Ribeye Steak
Rack Of Lamb With Mint Rissotto
Scallops
15 oz Ribeye
Reuben With House Salad
Sturgeon
Mussels And Fries
Chilled Peach Soup
Grilled Salad With Beef Tenderloin
Chicken And Brei Sandwich
Mussels
The Commodore
Pork Cassoulet
Surf And Turf
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Antelope Burger
Roast Chicken
Warm Apple And Cranberry Crisp
Heights Burger
Out Of The Blue

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
9 More
Best Value
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

Special Occasion (106)
Neighborhood Gem (105)
Fit for Foodies (86)
See All
Great for Brunch (75)
Great for Lunch (69)
Great for Outdoor Dining (57)
Good for Groups (45)
Romantic (43)
Notable Wine List (33)
Hot Spot (9)
Kid-friendly (8)
Scenic View (7)
Late-night Find (6)
Sort By:
Newest
971 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The Mustang Chicken entree was served un ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 6 days ago

The Mustang Chicken entree was served unattractively - way too many mashed potatoes atop a very few pieces of broccoli with the chicken tossed on top. The hostesses interrupted our table conversation too often to ask if "everything was alright," and the poor acoustics carried the loud voices of large groups to our table, making our attempt at a one-on-one conversation difficult. And, the waiter was a bit abrupt.

I love Cappy's, but this was not a highlight of many meals there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

What a wonderful meal!!! Shrimp nachos a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a wonderful meal!!! Shrimp nachos and the rib eye were good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxing place to have dinner, and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very relaxing place to have dinner, and there was a nice variety of dishes to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Cappy's is always FIRST CLASS! Great fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Cappy's is always FIRST CLASS! Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Love their onion rings.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's is mine and my husband's favorit ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Cappy's is mine and my husband's favorite restaurant is San Antonio. The food is delicious. The atmosphere is relaxing and laid back. Every server we've ever had has been nice and courteous and knowledgable about the menu. I would consider this more adult oriented. We've never taken our kids. This has only been a "date night" spot for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and excellent service, as alwa ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food and excellent service, as always. The scallops I ordered were perfectly prepared. Our server was a delight.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second time eating there. Th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was my second time eating there. The problem was my first time was 5 stars across the board. The waitress that took care of us was so great I couldn't wait to come back. From what we were told she no longer worked there and had moved on to better things. The waitress that took care of us the second time was just OK. Nothing bad but definitely nothing great. She did bare minimum at that was it. Not sure if I'd want to go again at this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I made reservations for my husbands birt ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I made reservations for my husbands birthday, we got there early and were seated immiately without any wait time. But we were dishearten with the wine list. We usually drink a semi-mild sweeten wine, usually Moscato or Reseiling . They did not carry a Moscato but their 2 selections for reseisling were very dry. They did take both bottles of Reseisling back. We wound up ordering 2 specialty drinks from the bar. Their specials for the night Mahi, Mahi was superb, my husband was treated for a dessert for his birthday, which was a apple cobbler with ice cream. The dessert would have been perfect if only the apples slices would have been cooked a little bit longer, the apple slices were not cooked completely were very hard . Other than that the evening would have been perfect for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The appetizers were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. The appetizers were to die for. However the atmosphere was more for elderly people. Not a very diverse kinda crowd either. Will recommend for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Another great lunch on the patio. Love ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Another great lunch on the patio. Love this place and now converted four of my girlfriends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was fabulous, well ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

As usual, the food was fabulous, well presented, and the service was wonderful. Anytime you have a special occasion or just want a delicious dinner, you can count on Cappy's. Also, when they have a special offering, check it out. It is usually amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we loved it there the only thing it was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

we loved it there the only thing it was hard to find there's not a sign out front

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and delicious food! Always ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great Service and delicious food! Always and continuously a great experience. Highly Recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's never disappoints. The menu was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Cappy's never disappoints. The menu was great and everything tasted great. The manager (female) was all over the floor. Nice experience..:

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

the whole staff was very friendly and ac ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

the whole staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our. First time and we loved it ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our. First time and we loved it. We plan to bring friends. We have heard about Cappy's which led us to take the cooking class he did at Central Market this year. My one suggestion is that you add a bar upstairs. We ordered a glass of wine before our entree arrived and got it when we were almost finished w/ our meal. That was not good. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food and great recommendations

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Delicious food and great recommendations

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Most of our meal was very good. My dinne ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Most of our meal was very good. My dinner was the fish special for the day. It was not flavorful and needed something extra added to the recipe. The waiter had said the fish was mild, so, maybe I should have ordered something else. I normally like Cappy's fish dishes very much. Cappy's is a good restaurant and we will return soon. The service was good, as usual.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Excellent service and cuisine. Perfect a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Excellent service and cuisine. Perfect ambiance and very knowledgeable staff. Courteous and professional staff. Food is delectable and entices the tastebuds. Definitely will visit again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a lovely evening with good food a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We had a lovely evening with good food and great service to celebrate a birthday.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The appetizers are beyond the best. Coc ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

The appetizers are beyond the best. Cocktails are always spot on. This kitchen gets it right every time.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

I love the mussels. The service is alway ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I love the mussels. The service is always excellent. Going to Cappy's is a treat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Outstanding in every way. Food and serv ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Outstanding in every way. Food and service tops. Staff and assistant manager gave remarkable attention not only to us but all diners.

Duane Young

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Friendly, efficient staff. Well balanced ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Friendly, efficient staff. Well balanced menu. Excellent food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy sis my "go To" restaurant for busi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

Cappy sis my "go To" restaurant for business lunchesd, family get together's and when I am in the mood for s great meal and the best service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love lunch on the patio here😊

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

Love lunch on the patio here😊

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great experienced here, great service & ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great experienced here, great service & yummy drinks

Tags: Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great atmosphere, food and service! Defi ...

vip
 (Austin)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Great atmosphere, food and service! Definitely going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good restaurant in Alamo Heights! The re ...

vip
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

Good restaurant in Alamo Heights! The restaurants offered a outside dining but too hot in July. The menu was diverse and the food was very good!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Been eating here since 2008. Never had a ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Been eating here since 2008. Never had a bad meal. The food is consistently fresh and wait staff is prompt, friendly and efficient.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

We enjoyed our lunch -the place fills up ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

We enjoyed our lunch -the place fills up by noon, so get there early to get the table you want.

Beef Stew was a special and it was dark and delicious. Salads were fresh and appetizing. Service was very helpful, except we waited a long time for our check to be collected. We often sit on the patio in the afternoons and that is very comfortable. Will be back. Thanks.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

We love Cappy's and enjoyed our evening ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

We love Cappy's and enjoyed our evening with family. The only disappointment was that the waiter made no mention of the birthday we were there to celebrate. I had included that information on my Open Table reservation.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent service and the meal was excel ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Excellent service and the meal was excellent as usual! I can trust Cappy's to have consistently good food and good service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We had brunch at Cappy's today. First ti ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

We had brunch at Cappy's today. First time there and we'll return. The food was exceptionally good. My friend had the breakfast special and I had Louie Eggs Benedict. Brandie was our server, great service by her and the rest of staff. Delicious mini muffins to start and fantastic coffee too!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Always a great experience.

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Always a great experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Love Cappys! Always great service, drink ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Love Cappys! Always great service, drinks, and food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went to Cappy's for it's reputation a ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

We went to Cappy's for it's reputation as having good food and service. We were not disappointed. Being from out-of-town, we wanted to get away from the hectic tourism at the riverwalk. It was an easy 10 minute Uber drive away. The server, manager and member of the owner's family all took interest in our experience. If in San Antonio,we will definitely return to Cappy's.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

While the food was delicious, I had the ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

While the food was delicious, I had the Halibut which the waiter recommended. He walked by our table 4 times after our food was served and never stopped to ask us how everything was. We were 3/4 done when he finally asked. While we were eating he was sitting behind the hostess stand rolling silverware. i expect better service in a restaurant like this!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Quiet evening on the patio. Very relaxi ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Quiet evening on the patio. Very relaxing. Great food and cocktails.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food and great service! The Halib ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

Great food and great service! The Halibut and Red Snapper were both excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.