About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: (210) 828-9669

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Report a photo problem

Sunday Breakfast - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Scottish Salmon And Kale Salad - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Lamb Special - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Capichino - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
fish tacos - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Char-grilled Gulf Oysters  - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Fire Chicken Herb Crusted chicken Wotha Warm hollandaise sauceon A Bed Of mashed potatoes - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Sticky Toffee Pudding - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Cedar plank salmon lobster mashed potatoes with corn and asparagus - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Buffalo mozzarella tomato pear with a drizzle of olive oil - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Bread and Butter - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Eggs Benedict - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Prime Rib - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Steak Frites - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Ribeye Steak - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Rack Of Lamb With Mint Rissotto - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Scallops - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
15 oz Ribeye - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Reuben With House Salad - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Sturgeon - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Mussels And Fries - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Chilled Peach Soup - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Grilled Salad With Beef Tenderloin - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Chicken And Brei Sandwich - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Mussels - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
The Commodore - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Pork Cassoulet - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Surf And Turf - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Smoked Scottish Salmon - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Antelope Burger - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Roast Chicken - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Warm Apple And Cranberry Crisp - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Heights Burger - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Out Of The Blue - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (41)
Special Occasion (37)
Neighborhood Gem (36)
See All
Great for Brunch (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Great for Lunch (32)
Creative Cuisine (32)
Business Meals (30)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Sunday Lunch (29)
Quiet Conversation (27)
Good for Birthdays (26)
Fit for Foodies (26)
Romantic (23)
Comfort Food (22)
Cozy (20)
Casual (19)
Pre/post Theatre (16)
Worth the Drive (16)
Good for Groups (15)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (10)
Local Ingredients (9)
Outstanding Value (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Fun (6)
Historic (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Seasonal (4)
Healthy (4)
People Watching (4)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Family Style (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Great Beer (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Tapas (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1112 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Antonio offered his advice on menu choic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Antonio offered his advice on menu choices. Friend would have preferred two crab cakes, versus just one. Antonio often knew what was needed even before we could ask. Coffee and water always filled. Except he failed to offer a scoop of ice cream with our bread pudding. Antonio took a few photos for us. Friends celebrating 45 years of marriage. Their first time to Cappys. They loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cappy's We go as often as we c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined 4 days ago

We love Cappy's We go as often as we can

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Cappy's never disappoints! Always consis ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Cappy's never disappoints! Always consistent regarding food quality & service!! I always recommend Cappy's!

Tags: , People Watching, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic find! Cappy's is an instituti ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined 5 days ago

Fantastic find! Cappy's is an institution. Fresh, local food with great taste. Fantastic atmosphere and fantastic service. The salmon was AMAZING!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great hospitality. Great re ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food, great hospitality. Great restaurant. I recommend Cappys for a dinning experience with class.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

CONSISTENTLY EXCELLENT. WE HAD THE LAMB ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 12, 2017

CONSISTENTLY EXCELLENT. WE HAD THE LAMB SHANK AND THE CRUSTED HALIBUT. BOTH PERFECTLY DONE AND SERVICE, AS ALWAYS, WAS OUTSTANDING.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lunch with a dear friend...conversation ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 4, 2017

Lunch with a dear friend...conversation great...noise level low. Food...terrific. The salmon is decine! The staf is polite and very willing to let you sit and visit. Thanks, Cappy!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had several mishap's at our last visit. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 2, 2017

Had several mishap's at our last visit. Quality of food was not up to par and we were overcharged on wine selection. Will have to take a break...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

I live in Dallas and come to Cappy's for ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 2, 2017

I live in Dallas and come to Cappy's for dinner every time that I come to visit family in San Antonio. Food is great and they have a wonderful wine list and great local art to look at, that is also available for purchase. one of my all time favorites.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Romantic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's is definitely one of the best re ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Cappy's is definitely one of the best restaurants in San Antonio.

It far surpasses all the newer trendy spots. Consistently excellent food great service. Our favorite for weekend brunch, weekday lunch,special occasion and any other day I manage to seek in.

Tags: , Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took family there for Sunday brunch. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We took family there for Sunday brunch. The menu had a wide range of menu options for this time of day. The menu offered traditional and unusual breakfast items, a range of seafood dishes, and even a delicious pot roast. We enjoyed the ambience, food, and service. Thumbs up!

Tags: Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, , Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, People Watching, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

We had NYE dinner at Cappy's. It was won ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

We had NYE dinner at Cappy's. It was wonderful. Swordfish dinner special was exceptional. Mustang chicken breading was a tad overcooked, but that's the only complaint. We'be been several times and they never disappoint.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent place for a New Years Eve dinn ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Excellent place for a New Years Eve dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Faboulous! Everything we had was superb ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Faboulous! Everything we had was superb! Steak, halibut and fresh gulf catch were excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food...Halibut was outstanding and ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food...Halibut was outstanding and Sarah did an outstanding job as our server....Thanks for a wonderful meal and friendly atmosphere!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service rushed. Hadn't finished appetize ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Service rushed. Hadn't finished appetizer when entrees appeared. Granted it was Christmas Eve at lunch and the place was busy. It's one of my favorite places to eat. But for future reference I would never recommend eating at Cappy's on holidays.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

This is a neighborhood friends kind of p ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is a neighborhood friends kind of place. Always great

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

25th Anniversary. Forgot the champagne ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

25th Anniversary. Forgot the champagne and lamb was swimming in purée carrot and stewed tomatoes. Too bad since the lamb was excellent. Not very happy with service and meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Cappys is always excellent weather you a ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Cappys is always excellent weather you are having a special dinner, week day lunch or weekend brunch. My favorite San Antonio restaurant by far.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Local Ingredients, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Celebrated my Mom's birthday with a late ...

vip
 (Central Texas)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Celebrated my Mom's birthday with a late lunch and ran up against the kitchen closing.

I want to thank the waitress for patiently allowing us to order just behind cut off time as several of our party flew in from out of town and were running a few minutes late.

The food came fast, was excellent and of course it was nice and quiet given we were the only ones still there. In addition to the late order holding the kitchen up, the staff was having their gift exchange between lunch and dinner shifts. Despite all this activity, our waitress was gracious and allowed us to wrap up without stress.

Thank you

Tags: Casual, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

The experience and food was excellent fr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 18, 2016

The experience and food was excellent from start to finish. This is one of San Antonio's greats.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Fried Shrimp with Remoulade

 
 (Houston)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Fried Shrimp with Remoulade

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Fantastic as always. Never had anything ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Fantastic as always. Never had anything bad here in the 8 years I've been going here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our service was great! Food was outstan ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Our service was great! Food was outstanding...love the gumbo. We enjoyed a couple of glasses before dinner and were able visit without being rushed. Everything on the menu is so good!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

My aunt, brother, and I had dinner at Ca ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on December 10, 2016

My aunt, brother, and I had dinner at Cappy's before we saw the Nutcracker (an annual tradition for my aunt and I), and we absolutely loved it. The cocktails were great--I had the Santa Margarita and the Carmina Burana. We started with the chicken and duck liver pate, which was incredible. The flavors were great and the sweet and spicy topping really made the dish pop. We also received an incredibly generous portion!

Since it was Saturday night, all three of us had the special--Prime Rib with mashed potatoes and veggies. My aunt and I split a plate, and they gave us VERY generous portions when they split it in the kitchen. Everything was wonderful and my aunt said that the mashed potatoes were some of the best she's ever eaten! We will definitely be back....even if it's just to get the pate!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's always offers an excellent exper ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Cappy's always offers an excellent experience. You cannot go wrong.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food....every single course... ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Excellent food....every single course.....and excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cappy's and visit whenever we ar ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 9, 2016

We love Cappy's and visit whenever we are in San Antonio. The sticker toffee pudding was especially outstanding but everything was really excellent. Great menu selections to choose from!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had just ran the SA Marathon and met ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on December 4, 2016

We had just ran the SA Marathon and met at Cappy's for brunch before the long drive back to Houston. My friend's salmon's dish was fine but my hamburger was brought out with the bottom bun sitting on a bed of wet lettuce and tomatoes. The fries were lukewarm and not crispy; and the hamburger had gone soggy at this point. The service was attentive and I should have asked for my food to be redone but we had already waited 25 minutes past our reservation time. This was at 1PM and the restaurant waiting area was crowded with about 15 people and we were told that we are the next one up each time they sat people who walked in a lot later than us. At one point my partner asked the host if they forgot about us and she told us "no." Moments later, she asked us to remind her what name we used for the reservation. So I would think that she did forget us.

I will not be coming back nor would I recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Steak was overall not flavorful, salmon ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Steak was overall not flavorful, salmon was good and lobster mac and cheese was also good. Two entrees, 2 alcohlic drinks plus tip for just under $100, not worth it. Much better value found elsewhere

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Laura was our waitress and she was fabul ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Laura was our waitress and she was fabulous. Our food was tasty and since we were celebrating my friend's birthday, she was given a cake on the house. Great food, atmosphere and service. Have been returning to Cappy's when possible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostesses are not friendly. Been here ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hostesses are not friendly. Been here numerous times. Always requested to sit by window, ample window seating was available. We were told that was for reservations. Made a reservation. Was still told it was unavailable. Not acceptable why do they have tables there if they are not seating people there. Food is excellent but customer service is much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Ratings are enough

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ratings are enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can always count on Cappy's for exquisit ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Can always count on Cappy's for exquisite dining and a relaxed, quiet atmosphere. This was our first time to dine in the loft area. We usually take a table out on the veranda. Atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. Not one of those noisy restaurants where you can't hear your own conversation. The Ahi Tuna was delicious, and the service was excellent. Our attendant, Pollina, was very attentive to our comfort and needs. Thank you for providing such great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always excellent and the ser ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food is always excellent and the service is most attentive. The new bartenders have not been up to the standard of the rest of the restaurant recently. We sent two cocktails back because they were not made correctly. Even a new bartender should be able to mix a decent Manhattan. During our last visit, I had to argue with the bartender over how to make a Side Car.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Cappy's is a great neighborhood restaura ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Cappy's is a great neighborhood restaurant. You always know you going to have a good meal.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful and the food wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was wonderful and the food was delicious. There were five of us and everyone enjoyed their food. It was our first time going there, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Cappy's was just plain won ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our dinner at Cappy's was just plain wonderful, and our waiter Marcus was worth the price of admission! Really, we three long-time friends commented frequently on the great the food was--from cocktails and appetizers through entrees and desserts--and how we ought not let months pass without returning. There is a balance waitstaff need to achieve--friendly but not intrusive, warm and helpful but not in the way, accommodating while not hurrying diners--and Marcus was all that. Probably the best waiter I've ever encountered. Overall just a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time there, food/service very good a ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

1st time there, food/service very good and exceeded expectations. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entrees were all very good. Three o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The entrees were all very good. Three of us were disappointed with the gumbo, as it had no shrimp whatsoever.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.