About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: 2108289669x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Breakfast
Scottish Salmon And Kale Salad
Lamb Special
Capichino
fish tacos
Char-grilled Gulf Oysters
Fire Chicken Herb Crusted chicken Wotha Warm hollandaise sauceon A Bed Of mashed potatoes
Sticky Toffee Pudding
Cedar plank salmon lobster mashed potatoes with corn and asparagus
Buffalo mozzarella tomato pear with a drizzle of olive oil
Bread and Butter
Eggs Benedict
Prime Rib
Steak Frites
Ribeye Steak
Rack Of Lamb With Mint Rissotto
Scallops
15 oz Ribeye
Reuben With House Salad
Sturgeon
Mussels And Fries
Chilled Peach Soup
Grilled Salad With Beef Tenderloin
Chicken And Brei Sandwich
Mussels
The Commodore
Pork Cassoulet
Surf And Turf
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Antelope Burger
Roast Chicken
Warm Apple And Cranberry Crisp
Heights Burger
Out Of The Blue

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

Neighborhood Gem (100)
Special Occasion (93)
Fit for Foodies (73)
See All
Great for Lunch (63)
Great for Brunch (62)
Great for Outdoor Dining (49)
Good for Groups (43)
Romantic (41)
Notable Wine List (32)
Creative Cuisine (12)
Good for Anniversaries (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Cozy (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Business Meals (8)
Scenic View (8)
Sunday Lunch (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Hot Spot (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Kid-friendly (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Pre/post Theatre (4)
Healthy (4)
Casual (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Authentic (3)
People Watching (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Historic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (1)
Seasonal (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
Newest
996 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food very good. Had coconut cream pie fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined 7 days ago

Food very good. Had coconut cream pie for desert. May go back and just have pie. Outstanding.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Cappy's is our go to for a really nice l ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Cappy's is our go to for a really nice lunch - and sometimes for a weekend brunch. The food is always perfect and the patio is a very relaxed place to linger over wine.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a wonderful meal on our way to th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

We had a wonderful meal on our way to the Symphony. Recommend it highly, service was prompt, food very good and made it to Tobin on time.

Tags: Casual, Local Ingredients, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

All around great experience. One of the ...

vip
 (Houston)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

All around great experience. One of the best restaurants in SA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Attentive service, delicious and interes ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Attentive service, delicious and interesting menu. Cappy's has very consistent food and service---always dependable for a delicious meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

So nice to be in a lovely res truant wh ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

So nice to be in a lovely res truant where the food and service is outstanding and it is quiet enough to have a conversation 👍🏻👍🏻👍🏻

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It's been years since I dined at Cappys ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It's been years since I dined at Cappys and it was as great as I remembered. We were a party of 3 and each had a different menu choice: prime rib, lamp chops and beef tenderloin. Food was great, and we all enjoyed it and we're very pleased. Service was exceptional, the server took his time to explain the menu items and took good care to make himself available without hanging around and being intrusive. We ate in the early pm and felt that we picked the best time as the restaurant was quiet and cozy. This would be a great choice for Saturday date night or a birthday celebration. We will definitely be making a return visit.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was great. A bit old-timey. Whi ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

The food was great. A bit old-timey. White tablecloth restaurant. No fusion here!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A pretty day and lunch on Cappy's deck.. ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

A pretty day and lunch on Cappy's deck...what could be better?!?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Fabulous outdoor dining area! Food and s ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Fabulous outdoor dining area! Food and service were excellent (must have: Brussel sprouts). Highly recommend. Will be backmagain the next time I'm in San Antonio!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Paleo Friendly, Gluten Free Options, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An exceptional dinner and superb service ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 8, 2016

An exceptional dinner and superb service from our server - Shere, who made the entire evening very memorable. Knowledgeable, courteous, friendly and attentive. This dinner was a special occasion, and the food was excellent as always. We will continue the tradition of Cappy's for special occasions... and even some that aren't. Kudos to Shere. And thank you for the desert!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time ever for a less-than-stellar ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 7, 2016

First time ever for a less-than-stellar review. For some reason, our drinks took a very long time to arrive, and the restaurant had not yet begun to fill. My martini was both sparse in amount and "watered-down" tasting. My friend, who ordered a Manhattan, requested a replacement. Hers didn't taste good. The waiter, Daniel, did a good job of checking on us, despite having to assist at what seemed to be a lot of other tables as well. The food was, as usual, quite good.

"Something" was not quite right, though. Suggest that you revisit the Field Greens Salad (formerly the House Salad). Skimpy amount, dressing negligible. Of course, we'll be back. Just hope that our dinner on 9/7 was an anomaly.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Awesome experience, joseph was really ni ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

Awesome experience, joseph was really nice to us and very helpful. The manager greeted us as well and treated us with welcome complementary dessert !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit to Cappy's. Th ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

This was our first visit to Cappy's. The food and service were excellent! Raul provided impeccable service!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Healthy, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's is so dependable and consistentl ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Cappy's is so dependable and consistently great food - we've never been disappointed. Servers are very well trained.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was very good. The staff who s ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was very good.

The staff who served at the table were very attentive.

The welcome, however was a little frosty. We let the hostess know we had booked and she checked for our names. As we were waiting to be seated another lady came by and pretty much ordered us to sit down in the 'waiting area.' She was rude and abrupt.

I had booked a table on the deck and was disappointed to be seated on plastic garden furniture.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

Although the food is very good, the serv ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Although the food is very good, the servers appear to prefer guests who are regulars and seem to provide more attentive service to those who frequent the rest. It is hard to imagine how frequently one would need to eat there in order to gain acceptance.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

This was my third time eating there and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was my third time eating there and each trip was great. About as close to fine dining without paying full price. Prime rib, ribeye steak and salmon to die for. Going back for more.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Cappy's never fails to impress with a fa ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Cappy's never fails to impress with a fantastic meal. The lamb chops were cooked to perfection and the smashed peas and potatoes on the side were awesome. The table shared the chocolate cake with ice cream and the coconut cream pie. Both were delicious!!! I can't wait to go back!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had not been there in a long time. Very ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Had not been there in a long time. Very local neighborhood oriented. Excellent service but we di have to wait about 20 minutes for our table (we had reservations). Very good food.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great food, well liked by what appeared ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Great food, well liked by what appeared to be a regular clientele. A bit noisy, unique chair design, slightly overpriced.

Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Nice enjoyable dinner. Not overly expens ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Nice enjoyable dinner. Not overly expensive. Excellent service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A warm inviting restaurant, with outstan ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

A warm inviting restaurant, with outstanding food and service.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Historic, Fit for Foodies, People Watching, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Brussel sprouts were delicious!!

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Brussel sprouts were delicious!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The Mustang Chicken entree was served un ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The Mustang Chicken entree was served unattractively - way too many mashed potatoes atop a very few pieces of broccoli with the chicken tossed on top. The hostesses interrupted our table conversation too often to ask if "everything was alright," and the poor acoustics carried the loud voices of large groups to our table, making our attempt at a one-on-one conversation difficult. And, the waiter was a bit abrupt.

I love Cappy's, but this was not a highlight of many meals there.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value3

What a wonderful meal!!! Shrimp nachos a ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

What a wonderful meal!!! Shrimp nachos and the rib eye were good

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very relaxing place to have dinner, and ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Very relaxing place to have dinner, and there was a nice variety of dishes to choose from.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Cappy's is always FIRST CLASS! Great fo ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Cappy's is always FIRST CLASS! Great food, great service, great atmosphere. Love their onion rings.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's is mine and my husband's favorit ...

 
 (New Orleans)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Cappy's is mine and my husband's favorite restaurant is San Antonio. The food is delicious. The atmosphere is relaxing and laid back. Every server we've ever had has been nice and courteous and knowledgable about the menu. I would consider this more adult oriented. We've never taken our kids. This has only been a "date night" spot for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food and excellent service, as alwa ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Good food and excellent service, as always. The scallops I ordered were perfectly prepared. Our server was a delight.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

This was my second time eating there. Th ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

This was my second time eating there. The problem was my first time was 5 stars across the board. The waitress that took care of us was so great I couldn't wait to come back. From what we were told she no longer worked there and had moved on to better things. The waitress that took care of us the second time was just OK. Nothing bad but definitely nothing great. She did bare minimum at that was it. Not sure if I'd want to go again at this point.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

I made reservations for my husbands birt ...

 
 (Houston)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I made reservations for my husbands birthday, we got there early and were seated immiately without any wait time. But we were dishearten with the wine list. We usually drink a semi-mild sweeten wine, usually Moscato or Reseiling . They did not carry a Moscato but their 2 selections for reseisling were very dry. They did take both bottles of Reseisling back. We wound up ordering 2 specialty drinks from the bar. Their specials for the night Mahi, Mahi was superb, my husband was treated for a dessert for his birthday, which was a apple cobbler with ice cream. The dessert would have been perfect if only the apples slices would have been cooked a little bit longer, the apple slices were not cooked completely were very hard . Other than that the evening would have been perfect for a birthday celebration.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. The appetizers were ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Food was excellent. The appetizers were to die for. However the atmosphere was more for elderly people. Not a very diverse kinda crowd either. Will recommend for sure.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Another great lunch on the patio. Love ...

vip
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Another great lunch on the patio. Love this place and now converted four of my girlfriends.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, the food was fabulous, well ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

As usual, the food was fabulous, well presented, and the service was wonderful. Anytime you have a special occasion or just want a delicious dinner, you can count on Cappy's. Also, when they have a special offering, check it out. It is usually amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

we loved it there the only thing it was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

we loved it there the only thing it was hard to find there's not a sign out front

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Service and delicious food! Always ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great Service and delicious food! Always and continuously a great experience. Highly Recommend.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's never disappoints. The menu was ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Cappy's never disappoints. The menu was great and everything tasted great. The manager (female) was all over the floor. Nice experience..:

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

the whole staff was very friendly and ac ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

the whole staff was very friendly and accommodating. Food was excellent.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our. First time and we loved it ...

 
 (San Antonio)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

This was our. First time and we loved it. We plan to bring friends. We have heard about Cappy's which led us to take the cooking class he did at Central Market this year. My one suggestion is that you add a bar upstairs. We ordered a glass of wine before our entree arrived and got it when we were almost finished w/ our meal. That was not good. Our waiter was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.