About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: (210) 828-9669

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (43)
Neighborhood Gem (40)
Good for a Date (40)
See All
Great for Brunch (37)
Special Occasion (36)
Creative Cuisine (34)
Business Meals (29)
Great for Lunch (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Romantic (25)
Quiet Conversation (24)
Good for Birthdays (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Sunday Lunch (22)
Casual (20)
Cozy (20)
Comfort Food (18)
Worth the Drive (15)
Pre/post Theatre (14)
Good for Groups (13)
Authentic (12)
Handcrafted Cocktails (11)
Notable Wine List (9)
Outstanding Value (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Tasting Menu (8)
Healthy (7)
Historic (6)
Seasonal (6)
Family Style (4)
People Watching (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Fun (3)
Kid-friendly (2)
Great Beer (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Disabled Access (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Fireplace (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Scenic View (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
1156 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

this is our go to place for brunch! so g ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

this is our go to place for brunch! so good! our service is always great and attentive and the fact that they have gluten free options is outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

One in our party requested a different t ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

One in our party requested a different table than was reserved at a prime weekend hour thru Open Table because it was quite chilly inside so that situation was immediately embarrassing but the hostess handled it with generosity and a smile. The table she switched us to was on the patio under two very noisy, giant fans blowing so hard that the outdoor umbrellas were spinning, napkins were blowing away and even my glasses blew off the table. So, did we get what we deserved? I know Cappy's knows this fan set up isn't the best. Their answer for questions about the obnoxious fans is that they keep the flies away. Sooooo, fans it is, I guess, but know this if you request patio seating. The Curried Chicken Vegetable soup of the day was OUTSTANDING. My husband ordered the Prime Rib which they had, then they didn't, then they had two end pieces, then they didn't and finally they "found a piece" of regular sliced. That nonsense was so unlike the professionalism usually is the trademark of Cappy's service. As always, the Heights Burgers was raved about by all that ordered it. Our waitress, despite all the nonsense, was SUPERIOR, so friendly, knowledgeable, quick to smile and made the best of a not great situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

The food and service were wonderful! A g ...

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined 4 days ago

The food and service were wonderful! A great place away from the Riverwalk for a change of pace

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Have not been back for several years sin ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined 5 days ago

Have not been back for several years since we moved to Dallas. It was Great!! As remembered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a great expeierience and not only ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great expeierience and not only was the food great but so was the service. The waitstaff was so attentive to making sure we had everything we needed. Will be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, , Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and great service Capps alway ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great service

Capps always does a great job.

Although I am a vegan, there always are tasty alternatives

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Everything was phenomenal. Food, service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was phenomenal. Food, service, ambiance. Couldn't ask for better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was great, but food was lack ...

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was great, but food was lacking a bit. I ordered one of the specials which was steak, lobster, and potatoes and the entree was a little cold. My husband ordered the snapper which was not prepared correctly due to the amount of fish bones he had to remove. Dessert, we had the coconut cream pie which was excellent. Also, ordered a bottle of wine which was excellent too. I just felt it was too pricey for what we got in return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

Crab cake was so good and it just got be ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Crab cake was so good and it just got better from there. We had the chicken and shrimp/Oysters. Every bite was yummy!

The coconut cream pie was incredible and definitely shareable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My husband and I went for Sunday brunch. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

My husband and I went for Sunday brunch. The food was quite good but I have to say: not great. I ordered the steak and eggs with pancakes and a Mimosa which was good but the steak was a bit dry. My husband had some sort of beef dish which he said was not bad at all but also a bit dry also. We plan to go back for dinner sometime.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

We can always depend on Cappy's to have ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We can always depend on Cappy's to have great food and service!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great Food. Great Location and atmospher ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Great Food. Great Location and atmosphere with attentive service. I prefer downstairs and outside to upstairs tables.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always my favorite

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Always my favorite

Tags: Great for Brunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was really good. I got the crab ca ...

vip
 (Charlotte)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was really good. I got the crab cake and small salad while my husband got the bowl of Gumbo. Both were great and I would get them again. My only suggestion is to watch out for cost of specialty drinks. I ordered a Mimosa as we were their on a Sunday afternoon. It was considered a specialty drink and cost me $10 bucks for one small drink.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

I've been eating at Cappy's for years. I ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 5, 2017

I've been eating at Cappy's for years. It's a restaurant I would recommend to anyone. However, I was highly disappointed with the food this past Saturday night. Fennel salad was flavorless, prime rib was rubbery & tough. Balsamic brussels were flavorless & the balsamic was completely watered down. My father was craving a burger & the patty was way too small for the bun, so that was a downer. Kale salad left a lot to be wanted for. Our waitress was sweet, but a little uninformed with answers to questions. Just overall a bad experience for the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service3
value2

Cappy's, is always consistent and good. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Cappy's, is always consistent and good. Never have been disappointed.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent food and service. Halibut for ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Excellent food and service. Halibut for my wife, elk for me.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great date night with great food and gre ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Great date night with great food and great service. Accommodating for a family with a baby. Will absolutely recommend for future meal options.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was spectacular! The shrimp with b ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was spectacular! The shrimp with brussel sprouts entree was amazing! I ordered the gnocchi and scallops and it was mouthwatering. My Mom had the Mustang Chicken and the panko and horseradish crush was amazing (I had to sneak a bite in it looked so delicious).

Very fresh seafood!

Also ordered a white wine Sangria (not a regular menu item) and it was amazing!! Just a perfect amount of bitter and sweet, polished off with a nice fruit garnish.

Overall experience was wonderful and I'll definitely be back!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had brunch at Cappy's with some frien ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We had brunch at Cappy's with some friends in town for the day. I hadn't been there in years, but was happy we made the choice. The food was delicious, the service was awesome and the brunch choices were out of this world.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great place to dine off the hustle and b ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Great place to dine off the hustle and bustle path. I really like Cappy's !

Tags: Cozy, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent food, good service and an exqu ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Excellent food, good service and an exquisite time. Wouldn't change a thing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Food and service impeccable, as always. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food and service impeccable, as always. I would have preferred the ground floor, felt a bit isolated and out of touch upstairs.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation, People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had a wonderful time. Service was pe ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We had a wonderful time. Service was perfect, some of the best that we've had anywhere. Food was excellent, everyone cleaned their plates and ordered dessert.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent evening with marvelous food. ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent evening with marvelous food. The Brussels sprouts and shrimp appetizer dish is outstanding. We don't get there often because of the distance but it is definitely worth the drive. Makes a great spot on the way to the symphony.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We took our 1 year old son and the serve ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 27, 2017

We took our 1 year old son and the servers were wonderful and accommodating for all of the things a 1 year old does/needs. Food was wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. ...

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food, service and atmosphere. Cappy's is a great place.

Tags: Happy Hour, Healthy, Fireplace, Cozy, Quiet Conversation, , Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Been here many time, one of my favorite! ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 26, 2017

Been here many time, one of my favorite! Had the special Austria Elk, the meat was so tender. My 2 friends had the scallops & red snapper & they said the food was delicious. We ended up having a dessert (to celebrate my birthday), the chocolate cake was delicious but I was just too full to have too many bites!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Elizabeth was an amazing server. Excelle ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Elizabeth was an amazing server. Excellent first experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent food for Sunday brunch. The sc ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Excellent food for Sunday brunch. The scallop special was cooked perfectly! And our daughter enjoyed her elevated Mac-n-cheese. Great service and wonderful ambience. Can be a little loud at times, but still fun and energetic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My husband and I have been frequenting C ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

My husband and I have been frequenting Cappy's since we first moved here in 2014. The food is always beautifully prepared and never overpriced for the quality. We have never had a bad experience and we always take friends, family and business associates here as the atmosphere is cozy and quaint without being overbearing or noisy. I highly recommend this restaurant for any occasion!

Tags: Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our first Cappy's visit was brunch a cou ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Our first Cappy's visit was brunch a couple weeks ago brought us back for dinner. Was not disappointed. Service and food will not disappoint. First class all the way (clean eating utensils between courses, hot & delicious food and so on). Bon appetit!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food consistently. Service always ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Great food consistently. Service always on point. Hostess could be more accommodating but not a huge deal.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

The Best..We eat at Cappy's often and it ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The Best..We eat at Cappy's often and it does not disappoint.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Although the food and wine were a bit pr ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 20, 2017

Although the food and wine were a bit pricey, the atmosphere was very nice and quiet. My sister and I were able to talk without shouting. Everything was clean. The wait staff was wonderful. No one tried to hurry us off when we were finished eating. We talked for a good half hour or more after our meal. Very pleasant place.

Tags: Business Meals, Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

My "go to" place for business lunches an ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

My "go to" place for business lunches and dinner with my wife--great food and exceptional service!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

I took some friends there for my birthda ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 18, 2017

I took some friends there for my birthday and Restaurant Week. I'm from Seattle and there the restaurants that participate all offer pre set menus to really get a feel for what the chef is all about. Cappy's didn't do that so that was a bit disappointing; but we made our own tour of the chef by selecting several items to share. Everything was really quite good and we had a lovely time. I wish they had a tasting menu though - not looking for a discount - just would like to experience the chef's interpretation of food. Wine pairings would be an added bonus.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

The service and food were excellent as u ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

The service and food were excellent as usual. This was a last minute reservation for quick family get together. I recommend the Sunday brunch menu. The prices are reasonable and the service is always good. This is an extremely busy restaurant but after 2pm it usually slows down. Everything is always cooked to perfection and taste delicious. The food is always served "hot" and not at room temperature. Which is a big issue with busy restaurants. The biscuit tray is also delicious. They have a variety of small biscuits served with regular and strawberry flavored butter. Love it!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Antonio offered his advice on menu choic ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 15, 2017

Antonio offered his advice on menu choices. Friend would have preferred two crab cakes, versus just one. Antonio often knew what was needed even before we could ask. Coffee and water always filled. Except he failed to offer a scoop of ice cream with our bread pudding. Antonio took a few photos for us. Friends celebrating 45 years of marriage. Their first time to Cappys. They loved it.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Afternoon Tea, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We love Cappy's We go as often as we c ...

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 15, 2017

We love Cappy's We go as often as we can

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.