About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: 2108289669x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Breakfast - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Scottish Salmon And Kale Salad - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Lamb Special - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Capichino - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
fish tacos - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Char-grilled Gulf Oysters  - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Fire Chicken Herb Crusted chicken Wotha Warm hollandaise sauceon A Bed Of mashed potatoes - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Sticky Toffee Pudding - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Cedar plank salmon lobster mashed potatoes with corn and asparagus - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Buffalo mozzarella tomato pear with a drizzle of olive oil - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Bread and Butter - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Eggs Benedict - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Prime Rib - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Steak Frites - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Ribeye Steak - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Rack Of Lamb With Mint Rissotto - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Scallops - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
15 oz Ribeye - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Reuben With House Salad - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Sturgeon - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Mussels And Fries - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Chilled Peach Soup - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Grilled Salad With Beef Tenderloin - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Chicken And Brei Sandwich - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Mussels - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
The Commodore - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Pork Cassoulet - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Surf And Turf - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Smoked Scottish Salmon - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Antelope Burger - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Roast Chicken - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Warm Apple And Cranberry Crisp - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Heights Burger - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX
Out Of The Blue - Cappy's Restaurant, San Antonio, TX

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Value
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
1 More
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

Neighborhood Gem (48)
Special Occasion (41)
Good for a Date (36)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (35)
Great for Lunch (34)
Great for Brunch (32)
Creative Cuisine (31)
Fit for Foodies (30)
Quiet Conversation (30)
Sunday Lunch (28)
Business Meals (27)
Good for Anniversaries (26)
Romantic (24)
Cozy (23)
Good for Birthdays (22)
Good for Groups (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Worth the Drive (16)
Casual (16)
Notable Wine List (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Authentic (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Fun (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Healthy (7)
Outstanding Value (6)
Wood Oven (5)
Historic (5)
People Watching (4)
Family Style (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Seasonal (3)
Disabled Access (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Great Beer (2)
Kid-friendly (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Scenic View (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Sort By:
S
1049 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We had just ran the SA Marathon and met ...

vip
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

We had just ran the SA Marathon and met at Cappy's for brunch before the long drive back to Houston. My friend's salmon's dish was fine but my hamburger was brought out with the bottom bun sitting on a bed of wet lettuce and tomatoes. The fries were lukewarm and not crispy; and the hamburger had gone soggy at this point. The service was attentive and I should have asked for my food to be redone but we had already waited 25 minutes past our reservation time. This was at 1PM and the restaurant waiting area was crowded with about 15 people and we were told that we are the next one up each time they sat people who walked in a lot later than us. At one point my partner asked the host if they forgot about us and she told us "no." Moments later, she asked us to remind her what name we used for the reservation. So I would think that she did forget us.

I will not be coming back nor would I recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Steak was overall not flavorful, salmon ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 5 days ago

Steak was overall not flavorful, salmon was good and lobster mac and cheese was also good. Two entrees, 2 alcohlic drinks plus tip for just under $100, not worth it. Much better value found elsewhere

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Laura was our waitress and she was fabul ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 28, 2016

Laura was our waitress and she was fabulous. Our food was tasty and since we were celebrating my friend's birthday, she was given a cake on the house. Great food, atmosphere and service. Have been returning to Cappy's when possible.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Romantic, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Hostesses are not friendly. Been here ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Hostesses are not friendly. Been here numerous times. Always requested to sit by window, ample window seating was available. We were told that was for reservations. Made a reservation. Was still told it was unavailable. Not acceptable why do they have tables there if they are not seating people there. Food is excellent but customer service is much to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

Ratings are enough

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Ratings are enough

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Can always count on Cappy's for exquisit ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Can always count on Cappy's for exquisite dining and a relaxed, quiet atmosphere. This was our first time to dine in the loft area. We usually take a table out on the veranda. Atmosphere was quiet and peaceful. Not one of those noisy restaurants where you can't hear your own conversation. The Ahi Tuna was delicious, and the service was excellent. Our attendant, Pollina, was very attentive to our comfort and needs. Thank you for providing such great service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food is always excellent and the ser ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 17, 2016

The food is always excellent and the service is most attentive. The new bartenders have not been up to the standard of the rest of the restaurant recently. We sent two cocktails back because they were not made correctly. Even a new bartender should be able to mix a decent Manhattan. During our last visit, I had to argue with the bartender over how to make a Side Car.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

Cappy's is a great neighborhood restaura ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Cappy's is a great neighborhood restaurant. You always know you going to have a good meal.

Tags: Fun, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Our server was wonderful and the food wa ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our server was wonderful and the food was delicious. There were five of us and everyone enjoyed their food. It was our first time going there, we will be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our dinner at Cappy's was just plain won ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Our dinner at Cappy's was just plain wonderful, and our waiter Marcus was worth the price of admission! Really, we three long-time friends commented frequently on the great the food was--from cocktails and appetizers through entrees and desserts--and how we ought not let months pass without returning. There is a balance waitstaff need to achieve--friendly but not intrusive, warm and helpful but not in the way, accommodating while not hurrying diners--and Marcus was all that. Probably the best waiter I've ever encountered. Overall just a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

1st time there, food/service very good a ...

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on November 12, 2016

1st time there, food/service very good and exceeded expectations. Will definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The entrees were all very good. Three o ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The entrees were all very good. Three of us were disappointed with the gumbo, as it had no shrimp whatsoever.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Cappy's is a San Antonio mainstay for a ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Cappy's is a San Antonio mainstay for a reason. Top quality on all levels. The food is outstanding and interesting, the service is superb, and the drinks are well-poured. We always have a great experience at Cappy's!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service, good pace, and delicious ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Great service, good pace, and delicious meal. Don't be put off by the external look of this place or the causal atmosphere. The food is very good!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value5

We adore Cappy's for its comfortable, wa ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 5, 2016

We adore Cappy's for its comfortable, warm setting, intimate feel and welcoming staff. Dana is a treasure, always so kind and inviting. We enjoy beginning a weekend there with a quiet sumptuous dinner and some fine wine, but Sunday brunch is also a lovely treat. The array of items on the menu will appeal to most diners.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always good , food, service & this time ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Always good , food, service & this time an amazing Pisco Sour!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Took 20 to 30 min to get a glass of wine ...

vip
 (Denver)·Dined on October 30, 2016

Took 20 to 30 min to get a glass of wine at the start of the meal. Had to send back muscles as sauce was not done correctly. Off night for kitchen and staff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

Food was good and delivered on time. Se ...

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Food was good and delivered on time. Server wrote down our order but didn't bring 3 items. I ordered half bottle of wine and after 15 minutes I had to remind server to bring it.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

A favorite of ours. Fun and comfort on ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 27, 2016

A favorite of ours. Fun and comfort on the patio.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

Capppy's is a wonderful neighborhood res ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Capppy's is a wonderful neighborhood restaurant and we feel lucky be close to it. The food is consistently good however I was a bit disappointed in the lump crab cake entree that was advertised by our waitress as a larger than appetizer size portion, not true. I left hungry-- the half-dollar size crab cake with a small salad was definitely appetizer size.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Always a favorite

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 26, 2016

Always a favorite

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Celebrate with friends for brunch. Grea ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Celebrate with friends for brunch. Great menu, with lots of breakfast dishes

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Excellent food and service! This was ou ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Excellent food and service! This was our second visit. It has been a very nice dining experience each time.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent, simply excellent - - Food, Se ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Excellent, simply excellent - - Food, Service and Quality - - Looking forward to my next visit

Tags: Fun, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and service, a bit noisy

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 21, 2016

Great food and service, a bit noisy

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always consistent great food in a pleasa ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 19, 2016

Always consistent great food in a pleasant atmosphere. Friendly service.

Tags: Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food and atmosphere. Classy and re ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Great food and atmosphere. Classy and relaxed at the same time. Great service. Overall, a really quality place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Local Ingredients, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As always the food, ambiance and service ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 15, 2016

As always the food, ambiance and service was super. I was very disappointed that you don't offer muscles on the weekend for lunch. It was my daughters birthday and she chose Cappy's because she craved muscles. I assured her yours were the best! It kind of put a damper on her special celebration.

Tags: Happy Hour, Tapas, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Whenever we visit San Antonio, we have t ...

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Whenever we visit San Antonio, we have to stop at Cappy's and every time I have to order the Eggs Homard - I simply cannot get past them on the menu. (Maybe if we were there more often I would branch out!) The other folks in our party love the daily specials for brunch (Oatmeal Raisin pancakes I believe), the pot roast was outstanding, and the benedict is fabulous. The basket of breakfast morsels brought before the meal is terrific - a selection of savory and sweet served with Strawberry butter - delectable!

I'm intrigued by Cappicino's next door - maybe next visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We had dinner with friends. I ordered th ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 11, 2016

We had dinner with friends. I ordered the Salmon and was outstanding, and my wife ordered the Halibut excellent as well.

We are looking forward to come back soon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was a great experience! Good drinks ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 11, 2016

This was a great experience! Good drinks, great salad, and the bread was unreal! We each got an entree we had never tried before - they were great and the server was knowledgeable about the menu. The best part was the bus boy was the true definition of customer service! He was attentive and polite and never let a drink get low or a dirty plate sit. Such a wonderful thing to see a young man truly put his heart into his job!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Great menu and great presentation. First ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 10, 2016

Great menu and great presentation. First rate service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a very nice anniversary dinner an ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We had a very nice anniversary dinner and our waiter was great. I had the filet and the cut of meat was excellent and cooked perfectly. My husband loved his prime rib. His portion was generous with a large piece of steak, veggies, and heaping mashed potatoes. For the price of mine, I think more veggies would have been appropriate. The only other suggestion: the half bottle of wine was really only a glass for each of us. It would have been cheaper for us each just to order a glass. The noise level was okay, but there was an older couple we could hear loudly talking about politics (which we didn't agree with). Overall it was a nice experience and our first time at Cappy's. (been to Cappycinos several times)

Tags: Historic, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

The restaurant is very cozy and provides ...

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 9, 2016

The restaurant is very cozy and provides something for everyone. The food is great and Sarah was our terrific server.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

This was our first experience at Cappy's ...

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 9, 2016

This was our first experience at Cappy's and we were not disappointed. The menu is limited but there is enough variety to tease the best palate. We had the crab cake appetizer and the roasted oysters... Both were excellent tasty choices. For the entrees, the choices are excellent. The ribeye was cooked to perfection and excellent for presentation and taste. The catch of the day was simply outstanding. Good wine list with choices for all tastes. Good desert menu and interesting specialty after dinner drinks. The service was prompt, courteous and top class. Overall, it was a great experience and we feel invited to dine with them again!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Fun, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food was prepared ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2016

Excellent service and food was prepared very well.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food: excellent! Service: excellent!! No ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2016

Food: excellent! Service: excellent!! Noise level: ouch!!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cappy's has been a favorite of ours for ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Cappy's has been a favorite of ours for as long as it has been there, the food is exilente and service is as always good . what more can I say? Cappy's is the best.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Richest gumbo ever. Yum!

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Richest gumbo ever. Yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Excellent Lunch at Cappy's today. I had ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Excellent Lunch at Cappy's today. I had the Fried Gulf Shrimp which was cooked perfectly, rice was well seasoned and the sauce was to die for. My wife had the bowl of Gumbo and she couldn't put her spoon down. The appearance of the gumbo is dark and mysterious giving you the feeling it may have too many flavors, but upon eating it you realize that the flavors are well balanced and there is enough protein to compliment every bite from the chicken to the blackened drum fish. We finished off with a very decadent Raspberry Vanilla Bean Creme Brûlée. The fresh raspberries were just the right touch in cutting the sweetness level and really being able to appreciate the vanilla custard underneath the crunchy sugar topping. We will definitely be back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.