Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Cappy's Restaurant

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: (210) 828-9669

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (53)
Good for a Date (51)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
See All
Special Occasion (47)
Creative Cuisine (46)
Great for Brunch (41)
Fit for Foodies (34)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Romantic (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Cozy (27)
Business Meals (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Great for Outdoor Dining (23)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Comfort Food (21)
Casual (18)
Authentic (17)
Good for Groups (15)
Outstanding Value (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
Local Ingredients (11)
Healthy (9)
Historic (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
People Watching (7)
Modern Decor (6)
Seasonal (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Family Style (4)
Late-night Find (3)
Scenic View (3)
Wood Oven (3)
Gluten Free Options (3)
Fun (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Sort By:
S
1187 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Went to Cappy's for Sunday brunch. Reservations made and table was ready when we arrived, 10 minutes early. Extensive menu for brunch, ranging from traditional breakfast fare to exotic lunch kind of dishes. Coffee was wonderful. Service was very attentive and prompt. Love the atmosphere. We dined upstairs in the loft. We loookf forward to dining there in the future and will try dinner next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined 4 days ago

Excellent brunch menu! Highly suggest for any size group!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

The brunch is a must! The freshly baked biscuits are outstanding, as is the rest of the brunch menu. We love the eggs benedict. The staff is always friendly no matter what time of day or how busy they are.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

Always dependable with delicious food, great service, good variety on the menu and
outstanding service.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

We made the reservation almost a week before for 6:30 and ended up waiting to be seated for 15 minutes. Then they took us upstairs to the "loft" which was full of 2 large groups with children. We then asked for a downstairs table and were seated next to a pole, which was uncomfortable for the person stuck next to it. We were 4 so no way to avoid the pole. We frequent Cappycinos at least once a week so we are regular customers. We were very disappointed with how we were treated. We ended up spending almost $300...not sure we will go back. Our server was the best experience overall.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food! Unfortunately, ran out of the Saturday brunch special I was really excited to try! Otherwise everything else was awesome!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Excelent!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

Great service and accommodated difficult diet superbly. Thank you !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 6 days ago

This is a great restaurant and we love coming here. The food is so well done and we really enjoy the iced tea, they put a mint leaf in it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined 6 days ago

Thanks for the great experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 16, 2017

Just a great restaurant. Our #1 favorite in San Antonio.

Tags: Historic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 13, 2017

My family and I very much enjoyed our dinner. Food at this restaurant is consistantly excellent. Alex, our server, was very efficient and curteous.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Historic, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Food Was excellent, but you really need to ask a lot of questions making sure you understand the terms of the food items.

My husband ordered the pork and didn't realize that it was a pork tenderloin style. He was expecting a pork chop rather than a breaded flattened tenderloin. We sent it back and they took it off our bill and were very gracious.

He ordered the soup and was very pleased. The mussels were awesome, the crabcakes were fantastic, and the salads were spectacular.!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Very pleased with this place! Food was excellent, we had the brunch and it was a great decision.

Tags: Historic, Bar Seating, Quiet Conversation, Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on March 12, 2017

The food and wines were excellent. The sticky toffee pudding was one of the best desserts we've ever had. Highly recommend!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Incredible food, outstanding service. Try the pate, and toffee dessert.

Tags: Good for a Date, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Outstanding Value, Handcrafted Cocktails, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Went for a birthday dinner. Food was delicious as usual, waitress was friendly and knowledgeable, we had a wonderful evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Excellent staff and service. We had the halibut which was superb. Server told us it was their best seller. Veggies with Julienne sauce were quite tasty. Shrimp ,nachos just OK.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Love Cappys! Food is just delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 5, 2017

The staff are all very friendly and efficient. They all help each other out which helps the smooth flow.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Had the best eggs benedict ever! Now my favorite brunch place!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (St. Louis)·Dined on March 4, 2017

A friend recommend Cappys for dinner while we were in San Antonio for work. Our group of 8 were seated upstairs. I absolutely love supporting a local restaurant, and this place delivered! The food was delicious, served with flair, and super friendly staff. Very nice selection of wine, craft beer and desserts that make your mouth water.
In fact my boss and another coworker who had dinner with us Friday night, went back Saturday night!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Sunday brunch is wonderful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Local favorite with great food and great atmosphere. Always a winner with our family.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

Always the best! We take all are friends, family, and clients.

Tags: Good for a Date, People Watching, Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

As always, Cappy's was excellent. Food was outstanding and table service was great. The hostess however did not look at our seating requirement on our reservation and tried to send us upstairs - my wife cannot walk upstairs. She also did not furnish the server with our food allergy information which we have written out to make it easier for the server to understand. Furthermore she was somewhat rude and told us to wait while she was very friendly greeting another patron that entered behind us that she was obviously familiar with. We noticed an empty table and she stated she was holding that for someone else. The young lady trying to seat us was very kind and seemed a little embarrassed. Another hostess said she would seat us at that table anyway and seated us promptly.
We go about once each month for brunch so we are not weekly regulars but have been going fairly often for several years now. This is the first and I hope only time we have had anything other than an optimal experience at Cappy's.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I HAVE LOVED CAPPY'S FOR DECADES. THE MENU AND QUALITY JUST KEEPS GETTING BETTER AND BETTER. A "GO TO" CHOICE.

Tags: Wood Oven, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Late-night Find, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Cappy's is our favorite neighborhood restaurant. Not loud, so you can have a conversation with good friends. Consistently excellent.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 23, 2017

As usual, the food was excellent. In particular, the halibut was a great piece of fish, well prepared and not overcooked or dry at all. Service was attentive but not intrusive. Even in the middle of the week, the place was full; but with a reservation we were seated immediately and thoroughly enjoyed our evening.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Outstanding food, great patio, great waitress- perfect experience

Tags: Cozy, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

this is our go to place for brunch! so good! our service is always great and attentive and the fact that they have gluten free options is outstanding!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 19, 2017

One in our party requested a different table than was reserved at a prime weekend hour thru Open Table because it was quite chilly inside so that situation was immediately embarrassing but the hostess handled it with generosity and a smile. The table she switched us to was on the patio under two very noisy, giant fans blowing so hard that the outdoor umbrellas were spinning, napkins were blowing away and even my glasses blew off the table. So, did we get what we deserved? I know Cappy's knows this fan set up isn't the best. Their answer for questions about the obnoxious fans is that they keep the flies away. Sooooo, fans it is, I guess, but know this if you request patio seating. The Curried Chicken Vegetable soup of the day was OUTSTANDING. My husband ordered the Prime Rib which they had, then they didn't, then they had two end pieces, then they didn't and finally they "found a piece" of regular sliced. That nonsense was so unlike the professionalism usually is the trademark of Cappy's service. As always, the Heights Burgers was raved about by all that ordered it. Our waitress, despite all the nonsense, was SUPERIOR, so friendly, knowledgeable, quick to smile and made the best of a not great situation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

 
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on February 18, 2017

The food and service were wonderful! A great place away from the Riverwalk for a change of pace

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Have not been back for several years since we moved to Dallas. It was Great!! As remembered.

Tags: Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

We had a great expeierience and not only was the food great but so was the service. The waitstaff was so attentive to making sure we had everything we needed. Will be coming back.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Great food and great service
Capps always does a great job.
Although I am a vegan, there always are tasty alternatives

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Everything was phenomenal. Food, service, ambiance. Couldn't ask for better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on February 15, 2017

The service was great, but food was lacking a bit. I ordered one of the specials which was steak, lobster, and potatoes and the entree was a little cold. My husband ordered the snapper which was not prepared correctly due to the amount of fish bones he had to remove. Dessert, we had the coconut cream pie which was excellent. Also, ordered a bottle of wine which was excellent too. I just felt it was too pricey for what we got in return.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Just passing thru San Antonio and chanced upon Cappy's. Great place! We'll be back.

Tags: Late-night Find, Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Gluten Free Options, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Crab cake was so good and it just got better from there. We had the chicken and shrimp/Oysters. Every bite was yummy!
The coconut cream pie was incredible and definitely shareable!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.