About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: 2108289669x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Sunday Breakfast
Scottish Salmon And Kale Salad
Lamb Special
Capichino
fish tacos
Char-grilled Gulf Oysters
Sticky Toffee Pudding
Fire Chicken Herb Crusted chicken Wotha Warm hollandaise sauceon A Bed Of mashed potatoes
Buffalo mozzarella tomato pear with a drizzle of olive oil
Cedar plank salmon lobster mashed potatoes with corn and asparagus
Bread and Butter
Eggs Benedict
Prime Rib
Steak Frites
Ribeye Steak
Scallops
Rack Of Lamb With Mint Rissotto
15 oz Ribeye
Reuben With House Salad
Mussels And Fries
Chilled Peach Soup
Sturgeon
Grilled Salad With Beef Tenderloin
Mussels
Chicken And Brei Sandwich
The Commodore
Pork Cassoulet
Surf And Turf
Smoked Scottish Salmon
Antelope Burger
Roast Chicken
Warm Apple And Cranberry Crisp
Heights Burger
Out Of The Blue

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
11 More
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Service
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Great for Lunch
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

neighborhood gem (106)
special occasion (95)
great for brunch (78)
See All
fit for foodies (76)
great for lunch (71)
great for outdoor dining (69)
good for groups (41)
romantic (37)
notable wine list (36)
hot spot (13)
kid-friendly (12)
scenic view (4)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
925 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service5

Excellent service really makes a good me ...

vip
Dined a day ago

Excellent service really makes a good meal great. Our knowledgeable and ebullient server enhanced the experience. But my steak, ordered VERY rare was, unfortunately not great. This was not the fault of the server, but the kitchen. Cappys will continue to be a go to spot, but not for steak.

food4
ambience5
service5

Grief oysters were inedible. Awful seas ...

Dined 3 days ago

Grief oysters were inedible. Awful seasoning.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Saturday and Sunday brunch is always gre ...

Dined 4 days ago

Saturday and Sunday brunch is always great. One of the best fancy laid back places to enjoy eclectic renditions of American dishes.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Cappy's has been a family favorite since ...

Dined 6 days ago

Cappy's has been a family favorite since the 1970s. It just keeps getting better

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Love lunch on the patio here!

vip
Dined on June 21, 2016

Love lunch on the patio here!

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Restaurant is just OK, nothing special, ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Restaurant is just OK, nothing special, nothing bad. My wife and I wanted moscato wine which they don't have. The waitress recommended zinfandel which was just OK. They were about 15-20 minutes late getting us seated for our reservation, but it was Fathers' Day. Really no reason to make an effort to go back seeing how there are so many other good restaurants around.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Just great food in a comfortable environ ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Just great food in a comfortable environment at reasonable prices.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

Cappy's is located in the popular Broad ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Cappy's is located in the popular Broadway area, home to the Witte and McNay museums as well as other trendy restaurants and shops. This is a small, and I emphasize small, restaurant that was apparently built in an older building. It is a clever design but...it features all hard surfaces between the floor and the extensive but attractive use of wood. The tables are very close together and there is an open upstairs are as well.The result was that neither of us could very well hear the waitress description of the specials. The background noises overwhelmed the dining experience for me. Perhaps choosing the outside seating would have eliminated this difficulty. The various combinations of egg dishes for brunch did look attractive but if we go back we will be seated outside.

Tags: great for brunch
food4
ambience5
service4

Cappy's was great as usual, except for a ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

Cappy's was great as usual, except for a dessert special which had little flavor. They took it off our bill. This is one of our favorite restaurants in San Antonio.

food5
ambience4
service5
value5

I've going over 20 years, not disappoint ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

I've going over 20 years, not disappointed, yet. Highly recommended it.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife took me to Cappy's for Father's ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife took me to Cappy's for Father's Day brunch. As always, the food, service and ambience were outstanding and just what we have come to expect from this great neighborhood spot. We both had brunch items, and I can easily say that Cappy's really knows how to make hollandaise. The Lawtons have done a great job in maintaining an Alamo Heights institution in Cappy's.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food. All the staff was courteous. ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great food. All the staff was courteous. I had the beef tenderloin with sides. Onions to die for. Our waitress, Rachel was awesome. Excellent service without hovering over our table. Will be back.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was very good. Food very delici ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was very good. Food very delicious. We tried a different appetizer and it was great. Had a lovely evening.

Tags: special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Service was great. Food was good. One me ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Service was great. Food was good. One member of our party said his prime rib was a bit too dry.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our anniversary brunch here was wonderfu ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Our anniversary brunch here was wonderful. My wife and I both had one of the egg dishes which were excellent. Highly recommend!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4

Great spot for brunch. The Mako shark w ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Great spot for brunch. The Mako shark was delicious.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

A San Antonio classic! You won't be disa ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

A San Antonio classic! You won't be disappointed! We always enjoy being there.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Steady, consistent restaurant with good ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

Steady, consistent restaurant with good service and pricing. When I am hosting business dinners, this is the non-touristy "go to" place for me. It's quiet, relaxed and has a menu for just about every palette. I like the lamb chops with smashed peas/potatoes (little more flavor please) . There are some interesting appetizers. We ordered crab claws. I would like to have seen more than 4 on a plate but, they were very good. I am picky. Will go back.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service, pleasant and ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Great food, great service, pleasant and relaxing ambiance.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Cappy's never fails to impress with grea ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

Cappy's never fails to impress with great service, quality food and marvelous attention to detail.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was outstanding. Came in from H ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Service was outstanding. Came in from Houston, met family from east coast. We all enjoyed the food, the service, the overall experience. A San Antonio treasure

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dining!

Dined on June 7, 2016

As usual Cappy's was outstanding. Food is always excellently prepared and served. It is delicious. It was a birthday celebration at lunch. The honoree was treated specially nice and very attentive during entire time. Our small group regularly celebrates our birthdays at Cappys. It's a long tradition that we thoroughly enjoy.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4

From apps to desert... Excellent prepara ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

From apps to desert... Excellent preparations.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We enjoyed dinner at Cappy's. The food ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

We enjoyed dinner at Cappy's. The food was excellent.

Tags: neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

The snapper and the pork Milanese were e ...

vip
Dined on May 30, 2016

The snapper and the pork Milanese were excellent! This was our first visit and we will return!

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Sunday brunch

Dined on May 29, 2016

Goggled best brunch in San Antonio and Cappy's was on the list and close to my hotel. Arrived early and they seated us with no problems. Food was good but a bit pricey. Service was prompt and friendly. Would go again for an occasion.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Exceptional service. Good food. Casual c ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Exceptional service. Good food. Casual chic atmosphere.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Cappy's isn't always excellent. Their Su ...

Dined on May 22, 2016

Cappy's isn't always excellent. Their Sunday brunch is my favorite in San Antonio. The seafood entrees all are excellent, and the Heights Burger is a great guilty pleasure.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great cocktail menu and very good mixolo ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Great cocktail menu and very good mixologists. I really enjoyed trying some new drinks. Dinner and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cappy's is always a great experience and ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

Cappy's is always a great experience and finding new, creative menu items is just part of the treat. I found the oysters to be some of the best ever, as was the shrimp. (first time I had tired it!) Four out of town guests with me could not have been more pleased with the wine, the choices on the menu and the quality of the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

You could really tell that they take tim ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

You could really tell that they take time to train their wait staff. They were polite and extremely knowledgeable. Outstanding customer service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Birthday Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Cappy's is a favorite of my Mom's so it made sense to come here to celebrate her birthday. Just as on previous visits, our food and service were great! I had the Cobb Salad with the house dressing and was very pleased. We will be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed

Dined on May 14, 2016

1st time visit. Enjoyed the food and the ambiance. Waitress was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent! Th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service were excellent! The pace the drinks, food and desserts arrived was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a find!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Booking a restaurant from another state is challenging, but based on the great reviews I chose Cappy's for a client dinner. They did not disappoint! Local clients had been wanting to come to the restaurant and hadn't, but vowed to bring their spouses back ASAP. Very accommodating for groups, wonderful service and phenomenal food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It is our excellent neighborhood restaur ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

It is our excellent neighborhood restaurant!! It is everything you would want to experience when choosing a place to dine. LOVE IT!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good quality food as usual

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Good quality food as usual

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

a great dining experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is wonderful! The food is what it's all about--and the food is fabulous! Add to that the knowledgeable and attentive wait staff and you have a great dining experience. I almost wish I lived in San Antonio so I could take advantage of eating in this restaurant every week! We brought our three grandchildren to a San Antonio weekend as a special treat and this Sunday brunch at Cappy's was a highlight for us all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome Waiter!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Daniel was an absolutely outstanding waiter! We had the porkchop and the fried shrimp. Their daiquiri is to die for. It was our 10 year anniversary and we decided to sit on the patio as it was really cold inside but other than that, it was a great meal. Our first time to San Antonio and first time to Cappy's. Will be coming back to both!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was fantastic and the food was even better! Everything we had was cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.