Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Cappy's Restaurant

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: (210) 828-9669

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (66)
Neighborhood Gem (64)
Good for a Date (63)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (60)
Creative Cuisine (54)
Good for Birthdays (48)
Great for Brunch (48)
Fit for Foodies (42)
Sunday Lunch (42)
Great for Outdoor Dining (40)
Great for Lunch (39)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Worth the Drive (31)
Romantic (31)
Cozy (31)
Pre/post Theatre (27)
Casual (27)
Business Meals (27)
Comfort Food (21)
Authentic (20)
Notable Wine List (16)
Local Ingredients (16)
Good for Groups (16)
Healthy (15)
Historic (14)
Outstanding Value (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (13)
Modern Decor (10)
Seasonal (9)
People Watching (8)
Tasting Menu (6)
Kid-friendly (6)
Family Style (6)
Gluten Free Options (6)
Late-night Find (5)
Fun (4)
Scenic View (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Private Room (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Wood Oven (2)
Fireplace (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Vegan (1)
Tapas (1)
Live Music (1)
Great Beer (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
S
1227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Cappy's for lunch is always a special occasion! The servers couldn't be any more helpful, friendly, and efficient. It's one of San Antonio's landmark restaurants!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Quiet Conversation, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

Very friendly and efficient staff. Excellent management shines through!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined 6 days ago

Reservations made for 7:45pm arrived at restaurant 20 min early and was told we would be seated closer to reservation time. Hostess staff was not welcoming and sat numerous parties ahead of us and we were finally seated 10 min past our reservation time. No one asked if climbing stairs would be a problem and my wife is recovering from surgery to her foot and we were seated up stairs. We sat at our table for 5 minutes before we were greeted or water brought to the table. Waitress was busy but apologetic. The only good point was the the quality of the meal made up for the short fall of the hostess and opening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Family in town
93 bday

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 19, 2017

Always excellent with creative specials, attentive service in a fun, casual atmosphere

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 18, 2017

Excellent service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 17, 2017

The halibut was amazing. When we are in town we always eat here. Never disappointed.

Tags: Casual, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The best -- outstanding swordfish dinner! Just an overall superb restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 16, 2017

First visit, it was a great choice. We set upstairs. If you have trouble walking ask for downstairs. Food was excellent. The waitress was very helpful. We had a great evening

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Healthy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Salmon was practically raw in the middle, asked for doggie bag, checked it, and she didn't put my veggies in, asked why, she said, people really only want the protein. ( excuse me)? As much as the food cost, I would like all my leftovers!

Tags: Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This quaint San Antonio spot is perfect for teen to adults. My Hubby and "teen" Boys LOVED the food and the atmosphere. It was perfect for our special outing. It's definitely a San Antonio gem.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on April 15, 2017

We loved Cappy's and will definitely return next time we are in San Antonio. The service and the food were excellent.

Tags: Business Meals, Cozy, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 15, 2017

This was a first for us. We have driven by the sign several times and finally decided to try it out. THe atmosphere was ok. Definetly a much older crowd. Inside was a bit loud so chose to sit outside where the noise level was more enjoyable but made it more of a outdoor patio feel. Enjoyed the shrimp and brusselsptout appitizer and loved the Haibut and veggies!! It was delicious! We thought the crab cake was just ok. Topped it off with the coconut cream pie which we also thought was just ok. We unknowingly received it as a comp for it being our first visit. That was a nice touch. The hostess was great! Very thoughtful and personable. She genuinely wanted our experience to be enjoyable. All in all the menu was very small and for the atmosphere the prices were def "09" geared. Glad we tried it but not sure we would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 15, 2017

The service was very friendly and the food was incredible. I made a reservation for 7pm on a Friday, and my group was seated at a perfect table on the patio. We ordered the oysters, crab cake, ribeye, prime rib, mustang chicken, and the raspberry creme brûlée. Everything was so delicious! I can't wait to return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Disabled Access, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Love Cappys. Always consistent and prepares fresh fish very well. Servers are always great. Love quiteness.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Healthy, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (New Mexico)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Food and experience is consistently on point at Cappy's. Every time we visit San Antonio, we have to make a stop for brunch. Eggs Homard are the bombdiggity and one of our dining companions had a delicious omelet with spinach and Brie. Cappy's does not disappoint! We look forward to our next visit!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Great presentation, food and service! What a tucked away gem...will return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Food was mediocre. Service was slow. I had the Greek salad, which left much to be desired. It contained iceberg lettuce, a few slices of red onion, some sad black olives, perhaps one and one-half tiny grape tomatoes. (I asked for no feta.) They did, however, honor our request to sit outside which I appreciated and the server was nice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 6, 2017

As always, a nice evening with good food, service and ambiance.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Seasonal, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on April 6, 2017

I was unaware of this hidden gem. Great menu, food, and service. Alex and Jaime were attentive and sociable servers. They even provided a complimentary dessert since it was our first visit to the restaurant. I will be back!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Romantic, Authentic, Great for Lunch, Business Meals, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Cozy, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (New Orleans)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Cappy's has not disappointed me! They seriously have the best scrambled eggs I have ever had!! They create such unique combinations. The staff is always friendly!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

I regularly recommend Cappy's for dinner, due to consistently great food & exceptional service. We tried their brunch today for the first time, and Cappy's did not disappoint! Brunch is available both Saturday and Sunday. Reservations are available on OpenTable. They have a nice selection of breakfast & lunch items on their brunch menu. I had the Homard (truffled scrambled eggs, lump crab, butter-poached lobster tail), and my wife had the Louie (poached eggs, blue crab cakes, hollandaise, on a soft, fresh english muffin. The savory flavors were incredible. My wife doesn't like overly runny poached eggs, and they did a great job of fulfilling her request for the yolk to be "more done." The server clarified if she would like the yolk "oozy, not runny," which resulted in a perfect consistency. We finished off brunch with coffee drinks (Kioke Coffee for my wife & Cafe Godiva for me) and their amazing Sticky Toffee Pudding which is topped with
butterscotch brandy sauce and served with a scoop of vanilla bean ice cream on the side. Enjoy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Great all around

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (México)·Dined on April 2, 2017

Diver scallops were horrible but the sticky toffee pudding was amazing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Always good, but lots of special competition nearby. Cappys survives on a solid base.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Get the Shrimp Nachos!!! I've never had a bad meal and the staff never disappoint. steaks cooked to perfection using simple ingredients , Heights Burger is one of the best in town, unique side dishes, Cappy's is a must try in San Antonio.

Tags: Authentic, Casual, Local Ingredients, Historic, Good for a Date, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We adore this romantic, consistently high-quality restaurant nestled into a cozy, wooded quiet spot where one can withdraw frim the frenzy of the external world and retreat into a pampered, warm hideaway. Food is always appealing and the hostesses and staff are attentive and knowledgeable and welcoming.

Tags: Cozy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 31, 2017

Seemed flustered when multiple parties showed up at 530 with reservations. With only one person seating patrons, there was some awkward standing around.
The food was good and the rest of the service was appropriate. Nothing was truly outstanding. Solid but not five stars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Denver)·Dined on March 29, 2017

Overall it was very good. Definitely recommend it.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 27, 2017

We were disappointed that our reservation was not available at the time booked via OpenTable. Other tables, apparently business diners, were seated before us and a table was not available when we arrived on time. We had to wait for a table to "open up".

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 26, 2017

As always, wonderful food!!! We love brunch at Cappy's!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

vip
 (Miami)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Per usual Cappys has fabulous food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on March 26, 2017

We came for Sunday brunch and it was delicious!! The patio atmosphere was perfect. The service was amazing. The food was delicious!

Tags: Seasonal, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Excellent service. Wide variety of choices on the dinner menu. Sophisticated yet comfortably friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Pre/post Theatre, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Five of us dined at Cappy's for a birthday celebration. We always look forward to dining there!
The hostess and wait staff were great - we were somewhat disappointed in our seating. Even though we had requested a table for five in a "quiet area" on the first floor, we were seated
next to the kitchen entrance. The entrance is screened, but still is a less comfortable location than other tables for five.
Additionally, the lighting was very poor. There were no candles/lights on any of the tables in the interior dining area - we ended up using cell phone lights to read the menu.
The food/presentation was very nice, as it always is. Did have a bit of a problem with the prime rib, though - it was difficult to cut - seemed tough. Also unusual. The dessert was wonderful.
Know now to specify our table location further when we reserve again.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Historic, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Great service and acknowledgement of our request for a timely departure to the SA symphony. Food was lovely and the wait staff was attentive to our needs though busy. All in all, a terrific dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Phenomenal overall.
One evening we invited a teenager who had his first fine dining. This was an amazing heartfelt moment.
He was encouraged to select fish.
His choice was the hamburger.
It filled my daughter, husband and myself with a happiness that we will always keep at heart.
He said, "this is the best burger I have ever had".
We shared a couple of creme brule's, once again, all smiles at we looked at each other with content.
We will continue to introduce fine dining as a way to encourage individuals to make healthy choices overall.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Central Texas)·Dined on March 23, 2017

This was our first time at Cappy's and we were fortunate to run into and be introduced to Cappy himself. Delicious food and absolutely wonderful all around experience. It is definitely on our favorite neighborhood eatery list!!

Tags: Historic, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Went to Cappy's for Sunday brunch. Reservations made and table was ready when we arrived, 10 minutes early. Extensive menu for brunch, ranging from traditional breakfast fare to exotic lunch kind of dishes. Coffee was wonderful. Service was very attentive and prompt. Love the atmosphere. We dined upstairs in the loft. We loookf forward to dining there in the future and will try dinner next time.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Excellent brunch menu! Highly suggest for any size group!

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.