Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Cappy's Restaurant

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: (210) 828-9669

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.4

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Neighborhood Gem (51)
Good for a Date (45)
Special Occasion (45)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Good for Birthdays (36)
Sunday Lunch (35)
Great for Brunch (35)
Quiet Conversation (34)
Cozy (30)
Creative Cuisine (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Lunch (28)
Casual (28)
Great for Outdoor Dining (24)
Business Meals (23)
Romantic (22)
Worth the Drive (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Good for Groups (19)
Healthy (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
Comfort Food (17)
Local Ingredients (15)
Fun (12)
Authentic (11)
Afternoon Coffee (8)
Hot Spot (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Disabled Access (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
People Watching (4)
Seasonal (4)
Organic (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Afternoon Tea (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Scenic View (2)
Vegan (2)
Great Beer (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
1396 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

We enjoyed Eggs Commodore and the Texas Pot Roast. Cappy's is not a place we regularly frequent but are never disappointed when we do.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

It was my birthday and cappies is always a first choice for me—my family knows this is a sweet way to make mama happy.
Great memories are made there.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

"I love the relaxed feel of this place – like a comfortable dining room in a friends home. I definitely would return to try more dishes. Wide variety of options and takes available on the menu - - all of which are delivered with great detail to taste and dining experience. The Cappy's version of "Nachos" as an Appetizer are a specific "must have" - and don't forget the Lobster Mashed Potatoes

Tags: Fun, Romantic, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined 5 days ago

I have eaten at Cappy's many times snd always had great service. Unfortunately this night was horrid service. The young Man serving us on the patio gave the wrong drink three times, Doubled the price of the meal on our ticket and brought coffee without cream and even after asking him for it he brought it so late my coffee was cold. There was not even an apology from this young man and I had a friend from Houston that I was trying to impress that was certainly not impressed.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Healthy, Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined 5 days ago

Cappy's continues its unequalled record of excellent food (fairly priced) and excellent service. It is dependable in every respect.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 10, 2017

Hard to find and was a bit confused about where to walk upon entering (couldn’t find the hostess). Our waitress was delightful and bought a dessert for my boyfriend and I who were celebrating an anniversary. The scallops, bread, chocolate cake and ice cream were amazing!

Tags: Cozy, Late-night Find, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Dining with girlfriends for Sunday Brunch. Mimosas and Bloody Mary's are an excellent start. Benedict choices are always a favorite, like Eggs Sardue and Comodore. But, one friend really enjoyed the Spinach, Artichoke and Brie Omelet. I had the special of 2 Lamb Chops over eggplant puree. It was very tasty, but I would have liked one more chop. The breakfast breads are always good with Cappuccino!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 8, 2017

I made an Open Table reservation as I was leaving the Tobin theatre on Saturday night. We got the last reservation at 9:30. When we got there, the restaurant only had a few tables left who were finishing up for the evening. When I told them we had a reservation, they were happy to seat us, even though we were going to the very last people there. Our server, a lovely young lady, was very accommodating and friendly. Some of the wait staff left while we were there and they were beginning to clean, but they did not rush us. They stayed away from our area until we were done. All of us had seafood, which was very good. We will return.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Excellent service combined with excellent food makes for an excellent evening!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 7, 2017

Cappy's is always a go to pick for a great meal. Love the standard dishes and the weekend brunch menu is great.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Always a great meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Houston)·Dined on October 6, 2017

A little bit sad about the limited lunch menu, but the food and service was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on October 6, 2017

Pleasant atmosphere but the food was just average. It was crowded for lunch and my group felt a little hurried to make room for other diners.

The gluten-free options were not marked but the waitress explained my choices to me. I ordered the chicken salad and fruit plate. It was attractively presented with fresh fruit, and the chicken was seasoned nicely ... but the meat was dry and hard. It tasted like canned chicken, but was probably just overcooked. Although no one at the table complained, no one made a comment about how good their food was -- which is a silent verdict.

Tags: Casual, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 6, 2017

Cappy'a always consistant and always great. This is our go to place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Love the crab cakes here! Food is always delicious.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2017

One of /San Antonio's finest restaurants....service and food are outstanding. I am a frequent visitor...reception is flawless...friendly, welcoming...

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Local Ingredients, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Outstanding brunch as expected!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
·Dined on October 1, 2017

Always have found the food very good but not a fan of the new trend of piling the food on top of each other. Great server. If you wish to talk go when it's not crowded.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 30, 2017

Service was very good. Chairs are very uncomfortable. Scallops were good but risotto was not. Roast beef was tough and lacked flavor. Mashed potatoes were mediocre . The crab cake was the best of the dishes we all tried. The food quality has definitely suffered recently.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

We had a very enjoyable date. The service was excellent and catered to us, recommendations were spot on, and the food was excellent. We took our leftovers home and the kids ate mine, which made me sad.

Tags: People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 30, 2017

All I want to say about Cappys is that it was fabulous. It is frustrating that you have to have at least 50 characters, because that is really all I want to say:-)

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 28, 2017

As always, Cappy's is our go-to restaurant. The waitstaff is professional, caring, and courteous. The food? Super! Even the "well" gin is good. Don't bother ordering Hendrick's or Bombay! Love this place.

Tags: Business Meals, Seasonal, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value5

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Our group of six, family and freinds, took advantage of the eclectic menu, sampling chicken, scallops, and pork, all wonderful. Our server Sam was great: Prompt, informative, but not intrusive. Overall a good experience we will repeat!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 25, 2017

I love Cappy's! The food and bar are amazing. The setting is romantic. Cappy's is my go-to choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 23, 2017

Birthday celebration!! Was here 9/20/17 for another friends birthday!! Obviously we love Cappy's!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Stopped for dinner before the theater. The wine was typically overpriced, as most restaurants are. Food was good, service was excellent, but we would recommend not ordering Kaku fish -- tough as swordfish, or worse. One dinner arrived completely done, the other arrived seared, which actually worked for us, but rather inconsistent from the kitchen. The accompaniments were delicious; veggie medley fresh and perfectly cooked, mashed taters ditto. We'll be back.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 22, 2017

Consistently good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 21, 2017

We always like to go to Cappy's for intimate dinners with friends.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Healthy, Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Made a reservation, arrived on time, still had to wait.
My Prime Rib was a bit nervy.
The wine was excellent. My martini could have been better.
Service was excellent and the price reasonable, that is why we keep returning.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Service was great, atmosphere was pleasant, and the bartender was spot on....our cocktails were perfect! We love Cappy's and it's our go to place when we can ditch the kids!

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Per usual, another fabulous dining experience . Great drinks, wonderful cuisine and a great vibe.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 16, 2017

Always consistent service and food. We will come back again soon.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Disabled Access
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 15, 2017

As usual lunch was great! The server was fantastic and everyone was pleased with their selections. I really like being able to book through Open Table. It is convenient and efficient.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Brunch, Organic, Good for a Date, Authentic, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Our favorite neighborhood restaurant! Always consistently delicious food, great service and the best outdoor porch in town

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, People Watching, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 14, 2017

Cappy always does a great job with his restaurants. Consistently good food.

Tags: Romantic, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 10, 2017

I was excited to go to Cappy's because I had had a very nice experience the Wednesday early dinner and was eager to have our family birthday brunch there Sunday. I was not only disappointed but was embarrassed that I had bragged about the service, food and ambiance. We arrived a few minutes to our reservation and were seated upstairs in the loudest possible environment even though there were several tables open downstairs. We were seated by the loudest family upstairs and couldn't hear the waitress telling us the specials. I ordered the grilled shrimp special.. the shrimp was cold and undercooked.. spit two out on the plate after I choked down one.. they were mushy and translucent with no hint of pink. Totally sickening. I couldn't eat the zucchini after that. My friend had two that were almost done on her plate so she ignored the near raw ones but said it was not good. We did tell waitress and it was taken off the bill. Guess the chef was too busy to come out or the manager. Won't be going again

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 10, 2017

My wife and I haven't been to Cappy's in years, so we easily chose it from Open Table choices for a relaxing dinner spot where we could treat ourselves after some challenging days. We arrived on time for our reservation and were promptly sat at a table for two. Sometimes, two-tops are smallish, however, our table at Cappy's easily accommodated all of our food drink for the remainder of the evening. Our server was Taylor and she was professional and knowledgeable, explaining the evening's features and answering questions about drinks and wines. We shared two appetizers and two salads, and then split a dessert. It was a fun way to try different flavors without over-ordering or having to take food home. We will enjoy returning to Cappy's!

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always a fabulous experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on September 8, 2017

Great food and service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on September 5, 2017

Always one of the most consistent experiences in town. I never turn down an opportunity to eat at Cappy's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.