About Cappy's Restaurant

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: 2108289669x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

noise

Moderate

99% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
7 More
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Overall
San Antonio
Best Food
San Antonio
Best Value
San Antonio
Neighborhood Gem
San Antonio
Contemporary American
San Antonio
Best Restaurants in Alamo Heights ›

neighborhood gem (106)
special occasion (91)
fit for foodies (80)
See All
great for brunch (78)
great for outdoor dining (78)
great for lunch (73)
romantic (46)
good for groups (37)
notable wine list (28)
hot spot (16)
kid-friendly (11)
scenic view (3)
late-night find (2)
Sort By:
Newest
896 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great cocktail menu and very good mixolo ...

Dined 4 days ago

Great cocktail menu and very good mixologists. I really enjoyed trying some new drinks. Dinner and service were excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Cappy's is always a great experience and ...

Dined 5 days ago

Cappy's is always a great experience and finding new, creative menu items is just part of the treat. I found the oysters to be some of the best ever, as was the shrimp. (first time I had tired it!) Four out of town guests with me could not have been more pleased with the wine, the choices on the menu and the quality of the food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

You could really tell that they take tim ...

Dined on May 17, 2016

You could really tell that they take time to train their wait staff. They were polite and extremely knowledgeable. Outstanding customer service.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Sunday Birthday Brunch

Dined on May 15, 2016

Cappy's is a favorite of my Mom's so it made sense to come here to celebrate her birthday. Just as on previous visits, our food and service were great! I had the Cobb Salad with the house dressing and was very pleased. We will be back again!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Enjoyed

Dined on May 14, 2016

1st time visit. Enjoyed the food and the ambiance. Waitress was nice.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food and service were excellent! Th ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

The food and service were excellent! The pace the drinks, food and desserts arrived was excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

What a find!

Dined on May 10, 2016

Booking a restaurant from another state is challenging, but based on the great reviews I chose Cappy's for a client dinner. They did not disappoint! Local clients had been wanting to come to the restaurant and hadn't, but vowed to bring their spouses back ASAP. Very accommodating for groups, wonderful service and phenomenal food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

It is our excellent neighborhood restaur ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

It is our excellent neighborhood restaurant!! It is everything you would want to experience when choosing a place to dine. LOVE IT!!!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good quality food as usual

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

Good quality food as usual

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

a great dining experience

Dined on May 1, 2016

This restaurant is wonderful! The food is what it's all about--and the food is fabulous! Add to that the knowledgeable and attentive wait staff and you have a great dining experience. I almost wish I lived in San Antonio so I could take advantage of eating in this restaurant every week! We brought our three grandchildren to a San Antonio weekend as a special treat and this Sunday brunch at Cappy's was a highlight for us all.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Awesome Waiter!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Daniel was an absolutely outstanding waiter! We had the porkchop and the fried shrimp. Their daiquiri is to die for. It was our 10 year anniversary and we decided to sit on the patio as it was really cold inside but other than that, it was a great meal. Our first time to San Antonio and first time to Cappy's. Will be coming back to both!

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Service was fantastic and the food was even better! Everything we had was cooked perfectly and full of flavor. Can't wait to go back!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

My mom was visiting me from FL and we we ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

My mom was visiting me from FL and we went here on her last night in town. The bartender was very sweet and Alex, our server was great with making suggestions. Mom and I can't wait to bring my dad to Cappy's!!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently great

Dined on April 20, 2016

Cappy's just gets better and better. The food, wine, ambiance and spectacular wait staff. We had such fun and have planned another lunch in 2 weeks.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent weekend brunch

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

The weekend brunch food is a good as the menu reads. The staff were very accommodating to our multiple changes in plans. Turned a crazy day into a relaxing experience. Great place to chill on the week end.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Always Spot On

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

You can always count on a pleasant dining experience at Cappy's. A perfect place to have a patio dinner when the weather is nice. Food and Service consistently great!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Typical excellent meal. We are never dis ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

Typical excellent meal. We are never disappointed. This time we had gumbo, crab cake and mussels.

food4
ambience5
service4
value5

My favorite San Antonio Brunch Spot

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Every time we visit San Antonio, I try to get to Cappy's for brunch. They feature a daily special or two which are so tempting. My husband had the oatmeal cookie pancakes with scrambled eggs - loved it. My daughter had the pot roast and poached eggs on polenta with hollandaise - loved it though the portion was large. My favorite is the Eggs Homard - truffled scrambled eggs with lump crabmeat and a lobster tail on top - unbelievable. I could have used a little fruit on the side as a palate cleanser but I adore this dish. The basket of mini muffins and cornbread to start is very good and tides you over until the main dish appears. Coffees, lattes were all very well done. I look forward to my next visit and wish I went often enough that I might venture away from Eggs Homard!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Always Reliable

vip
Dined on April 2, 2016

Cappy's has been around for so long that it might be overlooked. The food and service are always reliable. It's a sure thing that you will not be disappointed.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Delicious Brunch

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our second visit in 2 weeks to Cappy's for brunch - and it didn't disappoint. The food is delicious, with great mini muffins, scones and cornbread to start. If you like benedicts, this is your place. I believe I read at least 5 unique ones on the menu . Service was great both times, with attentive wait staff. My husband and I have sat both inside and outside on their great little patio. Either spot is perfect for a weekend brunch.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service3

Service was not what we are used to at C ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

Service was not what we are used to at Cappy' this night.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently wonderful

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Cappys ALWAYS has an interesting menu, great food and wonderful service!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service4

Order the Homard breakfast at brunch--yo ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Order the Homard breakfast at brunch--you will not regret it!

food5
ambience5
service3
value5

great place for brunch

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

The food is marvelous and the atmosphere is great - the service is a little slow but they were very busy.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Brunch

Dined on March 27, 2016

It was wonderful. We love the bread basket full of warm sweet breads. We haven't been disappointed in Cappy's at all!! The cappuccino is always amazing!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

Always consistent! The food is always co ...

vip
Dined on March 27, 2016

Always consistent! The food is always consistent, the service is always attentive and friendly, and we are never disappointed!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful!

Dined on March 26, 2016

Fabulous menu and service! We will definitely return here often

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Reliably delicious

Dined on March 24, 2016

A go-to spot for business lunch. Great service, very good food, and nice looking crowd in a casual chic atmosphere.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service3

The food was out of this world. For such ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

The food was out of this world. For such an elevated menu, we were supremely disappointed by the poor wine selection.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great good - great service

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great good - great service

food5
ambience4
service5

Everything was great from the wine selec ...

Dined on March 19, 2016

Everything was great from the wine selection to the appetizer to the dishes we ordered; three of us all three loved our dinner experience.

food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding Ribeye with marrow butter sa ...

Dined on March 13, 2016

Outstanding Ribeye with marrow butter sauce! OMG! I'll go again.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. Enjoyable outside patio, ...

Dined on March 12, 2016

Great service. Enjoyable outside patio, perfect for a weekend brunch.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

The brunch menu was amazing.

Dined on March 12, 2016

My husband ordered the Ranch Hand, and I ordered the poached eggs on crab cakes. It was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

First time there since the fire. Glad no ...

Dined on March 11, 2016

First time there since the fire. Glad nothing has changed this special place Cappy created.

Tags: neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

Not a good experience ;-(

Dined on February 28, 2016

My steak was way under cooked. Potatoes had blood on them. This had been one of my favorite spots. It was my birthday and they charged us for dessert. I wont be going back anytime soon. Way overpriced for what was on my plate too.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Business Dinner with Clients

Dined on February 24, 2016

The service is always outstanding and the food is delicious. I was not as impressed with the food on this occasion, but it was still very good. Just not outstanding, as I have been accustomed to enjoying at Cappy's. It will not stop me from dining at Cappy's again.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Our evening at Cappy's, Feb 22, 2016

Dined on February 23, 2016

As ALWAYS, Cappy's did not disappoint. We got a table upstairs, which we requested, and our waitperson Rachel was accommodating, pleasant and efficient. We have enjoyed service from her before, so it was a pleasure to see her once again. We have introduced friends from the North East to Cappy's as well, and they say that it is "right up there" with restaurants in NYC and Boston. Never mind them: it's right up there for the Southwest as well!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Elegant Decadence

Dined on February 21, 2016

An incredible brunch in beautiful surroundings with excellent service.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great atmosphere.1

Dined on February 17, 2016

Took a friend there for lunch. Using Open Table, they new it was her birthday when we arrived. We both had the crab cake and salad, and it was delicious as usual. We also received a delicious complimentary dessert. I will definitely return. Cappy's is great for a special occasion.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.