Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 1.05mi
  2. Distance: 1.15mi
  3. Distance: 1.33mi
  4. Distance: 1.42mi

About Cappy's Restaurant

This casual, upscale restaurant offers innovative American cuisine including the freshest seafood from the Gulf of Mexico, Atlantic and Pacific, great steaks from Allen Brothers in Chicago, and regional and seasonal specialties. Daily lunch and dinner specials feature local ingredients whenever possible. The Heights burger can be paired with hand cut French fries, crispy thin onion rings, homemade lemon-pepper potato chips or German potato salad. There is an outdoor patio under a canopy of oak trees that's shady and extremely popular with locals and visitors to San Antonio. The brunch offered on Saturdays and Sundays features a menu of classic egg dishes, Texas pot roast, jumbo lump crab cake, seasonal "out of the blue" seafood entrees, entree salads, and Mustang chicken. Cappy's has an ever-changing, dynamic and well-priced wine list, with great choices by the glass or bottle. Full bar.

5011 Broadway
San Antonio, TX 78209
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Contemporary American

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Friday:
Lunch 11:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Saturday
Brunch 10:00-2:30
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Sunday:
Brunch 10:00-3:00
Dinner 5:30-10:00

Cross Street:
Mary D

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(210) 828-9669

Website:
http://www.cappysrestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Parking available all around the restaurant as well as street parking. Handicap parking available along the north side of the restaurant.

Public Transit:
VIA bus stop one block away at Broadway/Patterson. Broadway runs north-south from downtown to Loop 4l0.

Executive Chef:
Gabriel Ibarra

Private Party Facilities:
Semi-private dining upstairs in loft. Seats up to 48.

Private Party Contact:
Trevor Lawton: (210) 828-9669

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Cappy's Restaurant Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.6

value

4.5

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (64)
Good for a Date (57)
Neighborhood Gem (55)
See All
Good for Birthdays (51)
Good for Anniversaries (49)
Great for Brunch (44)
Fit for Foodies (41)
Great for Lunch (38)
Sunday Lunch (38)
Quiet Conversation (37)
Creative Cuisine (35)
Cozy (35)
Great for Outdoor Dining (34)
Business Meals (34)
Casual (32)
Worth the Drive (29)
Pre/post Theatre (22)
Romantic (19)
Comfort Food (18)
Authentic (15)
Good for Groups (15)
Notable Wine List (14)
Local Ingredients (14)
Handcrafted Cocktails (12)
Fun (11)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Hot Spot (5)
Gluten Free Options (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Afternoon Tea (4)
Seasonal (4)
Bar Seating (4)
People Watching (4)
Vegan (3)
Great Beer (3)
Happy Hour (2)
Organic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Quick Bite (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Spicy (1)
Scenic View (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
1345 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (México)·Dined 2 days ago

La gente fue muy amable, ñdc

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

This restaurant has been here for a long time. Food is very consistent and very good. Also a good value. The salmon is excellent as well as the steak Frites. My daughter only orders the mustang chicken which is also really good. Cappy Lawton, the owner runs an excellent restaurant . Prices are quite reasonable considering the quality. I have NEVER had bad service here and substitutions are always accommodated.

Tags: Disabled Access, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 3 days ago

Enjoyable Sunday brunch. Great atmosphere, tasty food and wide variety of food selections at good value. For upscale neighborhood dining this is a good choice.

Tags: Cozy, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 3 days ago

Love this restaurant. Came for brunch...fresh squeezed OJ was amazing as was muffin basket with strawberry butter. The waitress was super helpful and accommodated all our special orders.Entrees were large- we prob could have shared. We asked to take home muffins and she brought us extra!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

I like very much Cappys, the ambience and food, no internet! Very serious waiters!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined 4 days ago

My favorite restaurant in San Antonio! It's always difficult to decide what to order, so many are favorites. Steaks are good, seafood always fresh and interesting, and great deserts in a wonderful atmosphere!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy, Pre/post Theatre, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was excellent, and the entrees were generously sized. My only complaint was the size of the salad. We ordered the special salad, which was the Grilled Market Salad with grilled peaches. Without the peaches, the salad is $10. With the peaches, it was $12.50. For that price, we assumed it would be enough to share. When it arrived on two plates, there were about 4 pieces of lettuce, a few diced beets, 2 slices of peach and not much else. They were really small! For $12.50?! Either lower the salad price or make it larger.
Our dinner was great, otherwise. Our server was really good, as well.

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 15, 2017

The food was great. Cappy's gave us a free appetizer because we had a short wait before we were seated. We loved the Brussels Sprouts they gave us. Noise level was pretty high but we didn't seem to mind too much. It was a lovely 2-hour lunch. I had the crab cake which is always awesome.

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Had soup yesterday and both were delicious

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

The food was very good, as always and the atmosphere was perfect for a date. The service, while capable and professional, was extremely aggressive in pushing us out the door from the moment we sat down. I can understand if there are wait lists and you're wanting to move tables, but it wasn't at all crowed and there were plenty of empty tables. Our server was overly pushy and making us feel like rushed in our conversation and time together during the meal. She plopped the check down as soon as I had my last bite and firmly said "thanks for coming you have a nice day" and wheeled around to the next table. Really not a great experience. Please allow your customers to relax and enjoy their time there. Thanks.

Tags: Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service2
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Food was excellent! We were celebrating a birthday and it was just the perfect place. Our server, Sarah, is amazing! She took care of our every need with such light-heartedness . She's my fav of mine. Sarah made our birthday girl feel really special! Thank you so much Sarah.

,

Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Afternoon Coffee
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Best crab cakes in San Antonio and I've tried 5 different restaurants and CAPPY's is number 1

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

We absolutely LOVE everything about Cappy's! The service is the best in the city. The food is amazing and always consistent. The people are so nice and we always LOVE going tonCappy's. It feels like home to us.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 12, 2017

Our dinner was excellent. The fish dishes were outstanding. The bread is right out of the oven. Our waitress was knowledgeable, fun and accommodating. The upstairs area was very quaint and comfortable. This restaurant is consistently great.

Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 9, 2017

Two of us had the scallops which were outstanding in both creative sauces, perfectly cooked, and very appetizingly presented. Portion was generous. I reserved ahead and gave detailed instructions about what we needed for one mobility impaired person, one hearing impaired person, a desire for a quiet area, and a theatre deadline. They accommodated us in every way without our feeling rushed and without interfering with our visiting. Very impressive--this was a repeat visit and there will be more.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Just perfect. Everything. Our server, Taylor, was lovely. My salmon was delicious as was my husband's Mustang Chicken and our shared side dish of Brussels sprouts could have been my main meal. We were gifted with an "extra" Fredericksburg peach and blackberry cobbler sent upstairs by the kitchen by mistake. The perfect ending! We will most certainly return soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New Mexico)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Great atmosphere, good food and wonderful service!!!

Tags: Local Ingredients, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Healthy, Business Meals, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Key West)·Dined on August 3, 2017

Was a very charming place with fantastic food. A must go to place in San Antonio. You want be disappointed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on August 2, 2017

Our server was excellent. Food was great. A little on the pricey side, but otherwise good. The warm chocolate cake we had for dessert was unbelievable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 1, 2017

We've been to Cappy's about 5 times; we like to go whenever we visit San Antonio. The food is superb: try the mussels, the scallops, and the gumbo. The desserts are also great.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Great atmosphere, we were seated quickly, brunch was amazing! Had mimosas those were delish as well. My only complaint was the service was not so great we sat at our table for a good 10 minutes before we finally started to get frustrated and called a waitress over from a nearby table. Apparently no one told our waitress we were sitting there. We got our drinks and food order promptly but no refills on our waters or even asked if we wanted to order more beverages which we would've. But overall food was great service was ok.

Tags: Cozy, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
·Dined on July 30, 2017

Our guests from Houston were so impressed they encouraged us to share more of our secret San Antonio spots.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 28, 2017

We made a reservation and were seated right away. After being seated, it took our waitress 15 minutes to come to our table to get a drink order. The food was decent, nothing to rave about, however the shrimp nachos were very good. The atmosphere was the worst part as it was extremely loud and the tables are so close together that you find yourself having to raise your voice quite a bit just so your table can hear you over the table conversation next to you. We ended up having to get our dessert to go because we couldn't handle the noise level and not being able to have a nice conversation over dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Always fabulous! I love to come to Cappys! Great atmosphere, wonderful outside dining and charming inside. The food is delicious and has a different flair than most restaurants!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

I would definitely not recommend Cappy's. We were visiting from out of town and hoped to have a relaxing evening at a local quaint restaurant. Pricing of the menu would have been reasonable if the food was good. That's about the most positive thing I have to say about it. Both of us had steaks. Both were not just overlooked but severely charred and tasted burnt. Although the kitchen was accommodating in substituting mashed potatoes in place of couscous which is how the steak was offered on the menu with my friend's item. His comment was they tasted like boxed. Not good for an entree priced in the mid 30's. Service was subpar. Not a positive review and we are an extremely laid back pair.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Always a great experience!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Austin)·Dined on July 22, 2017

This was my second visit for brunch with my husband and two sons. Love this place! Food is consistently good and menu is inventive and well thought out. Cocktails are excellent and service is lovely. The bread basket of tiny baked treats alone is worth the trip.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on July 22, 2017

AwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesomeAwesome

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Overall our visit was good. Our waitress was stretched too thin and our service suffered as a result.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Cozy, Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Excellent restaurant with a great wine list. We go there for the fried shrimp and are never disappointed.

Tags: Great Beer, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on July 19, 2017

My friend, whose birthday it was, had a wonderful time. Good enough for me!

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Cappy's has the rare combination of very good service, delicious food and an inviting ambiance where you do not have to yell to be heard. My wife and i will definitely be back again. Our top recommendation: don't skip dessert and order the sticky toffee pudding! The specialty cocktails are also very delicious.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Husband ordered the surf and turf special but he stated his Maine lobster was overcooked. I had the diver scallops, usually my favorite. Chimichurri on the Maine lobster appeared to only moisten the dry course. Steak was prepared well. I've eaten the diver scallops here three times, but the menu preparation changed so this prep included a bed of carrot rissoto.....which I personally was not find of. One of my scallops was overcooked but edible.
our starters were shrimp nachos and jumbo lump crabcake..both were tasty.

Tags: Seasonal, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Delicious food great price

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 14, 2017

My wife and I eat at Cappy's regularly, usually for Sunday brunch.
The brunches are always very good.On this occasion, however, we
both ordered the kprim rib. My wife ordered hers rare and I ordered mine
medium rare. Both came to us very overcooked and the meat was so
tough we could hardly cut it with a steak knife. We were bioth hoping for
a customary roast prime rib served au jus.

We will go back to Cappy's for weekend brunch but never for the
prime rib. It was awful!~

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 13, 2017

Very good ambiance, interesting layout and décor.
Service acceptable, friendly and polite but modestly slow for lunch.
Felix Bean burger with gorgonzola cheese is very intense....spicy, extreme flavor, and very messy to eat, even when cut in half...

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Excellent food and service.
Outstanding server(Antonio) and friendly staff.
I wish we had a Cappy's in Austin!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (México)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Nos encanto la ambientación del lugar y su comida de alta cocina, todos los platos bien presentados y equilibrados en su preparación. Definitivamente un lugar para visitar si se quiere consentir y a sus seres queridos.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 11, 2017

Good food. Good service. Good friends. Great for ladies who lunch. nu

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Local Ingredients, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on July 10, 2017

It is not only our favorite neighborhood restaurant, but it also ranks in the top 5 favorites of all time. Their food and service is always spot on. In five years of family dinners, business lunches, and date nights, we've never been disappointed - not even once. They recently made a few changes to the menu which we LOVE. The new rack of lamb is outstanding! Cappy's also has the best gumbo in SA and fabulous, fabulous, fabulous soup du jour.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Romantic, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.