About Capo

1810 Ocean Ave.
Santa Monica, CA 90401
View Larger Map

Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday

Cross Street:
Pico

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(310) 394-5550

Website:
http://www.caporestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available.

Public Transit:
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Bruce Marder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saffron Rissoto With Gold Leaf - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
Branzino - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
Burrata With Truffles - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
Spaghetti Carbonara With Quail Egg - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
Bluefin Tuna Tartare - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
Rigatoni With Truffle Meat Sauce - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
White Corn Ravioli W Truffles And Pasta W Meat Sauce - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
Shrimp Carpaccio - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
Burrata Caprese - Capo, Santa Monica, CA
White Corn Ravioli With Black Truffles - Capo, Santa Monica, CA

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Specials

New Year's Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 31, 2016

Details

Thank you for choosing to dine with us New Years Eve

Capo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

86% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (16)
Fit for Foodies (13)
Notable Wine List (11)
See All
Romantic (10)
Good for a Date (9)
Wood Oven (7)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Worth the Drive (6)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Authentic (6)
Fun (5)
Cozy (4)
Neighborhood Gem (3)
Business Meals (3)
Fireplace (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good for Groups (2)
People Watching (2)
Open Kitchen (2)
Historic (2)
Casual (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Sort By:
S
518 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Capo is one of the best restaurants in a ...

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined 2 days ago

Capo is one of the best restaurants in all of LA. The food and service are both amazing. The atmosphere is perfect for just about anything. It consistently delivers on a great night out. It is our "go to" when friends/family come to LA to visit. It is always what we recommend to people when they ask. Bravo!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Muy buen ambiente, atención increible, c ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Muy buen ambiente, atención increible, comida muy bien preparada, sabores fuertes e increíble carta de vinos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The food is beyond excellent so price do ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food is beyond excellent so price doesn't matter. The wine list is outrageously expensive and the prices do not match the quality. The server tried to make me feel bad since I only wanted to spend $150 - she kept suggesting $200 bottles of wine that I know are overpriced. I have a deep knowledge of wine and was not intimidated!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

This is one of the best. The food is ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is one of the best. The food is extraordinary, and the service perfect. The prices are high, but the quality is there.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Not impressed. Came in on a Friday night ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Not impressed. Came in on a Friday night. Ordered mushroom soup it tasted terrible. Had them change it to a garden salad, which tasted like dirt. We had pasta, which was ok, but tasted store bought. Rack of lamb was under seasoned and came a bit burned. I asked for medium well, it was medium... Chicken Parmesan was nothing special. The dessert - blueberry pie was way to sweet. We couldn't eat it... So we ate the complementary dessert that they serve in the end of every meal, I assume made outside of the restaurant because it was edible...

Overall I would never come back to this restaurant, however the local crowd seems to like it. So maybe we just choose the wrong dishes or came on the off night...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

Ok I have been to Capo a few times over ...

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Ok I have been to Capo a few times over the years. Always remember it when I am in Santa Monica. I always remember I love the food and ambiance. In fact on this visit sat next to Jerry Seinfeld which was a premium LA experience. I guess the only thing I didn't like was the cost. I eat at a lot of expensive places but must say 28 for a grilled Caesar Salad was intrusive. Looking at a plate with less than $1 in ingredients seemed well just wrong. They must have 20+ appetizers ranging from the low $20's to more than $100. My lamb chops were $74 I think. I would just tell the management its great that you can get the price but please consider being more rational!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

Overall , Pretentious and Overly Expensi ...

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall , Pretentious and Overly Expensive.

No accommodations made for a nut allergy or recommendations on the menu - dishes with nuts were still served.

The food and service did not meet with prices charged , a very disappointing evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

Delicious food, great service, and wonde ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food, great service, and wonderful ambiance. We were in Santa Monica for vacation and this is one of the best restaurants we ate at. I definitely recommend if you love Italian.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capo is the most amazing place in all of ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Capo is the most amazing place in all of LA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wildly expensive. $35 for a glass of wi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wildly expensive. $35 for a glass of wine? I will never go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

The most rude staff ever. The worst 80's ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The most rude staff ever. The worst 80's music playing which makes no sense for a romantic Italian restaurant.

The food was below average. I would highly recommend avoiding this restaurant at all cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Really amazing food and awesome service. ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really amazing food and awesome service. It's quite pricey. Very small, so no privacy, and you are rubbing elbows with strangers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We do not recommend this establishment. ...

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We do not recommend this establishment. Service was average. Noise level was extreme. Table for two was so crowded the waiter could not get through to serve the food or drinks. For the food.. very average. The Zucchini Appetizer was of low quality. The Spaghetti ‘Jean Paul Belmondo’ was nothing special as it was about the same as you'd get any any "mall" Sarpino's Pizzeria. And wine by the glass is way to expensive. A single glass of Chianti at $25.00 or a single glass of Vouray at $30.00 don't waste your money. Sorry their are much better Italian restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

The best Don't tell anyone

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The best

Don't tell anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was an absolutely amazing experienc ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was an absolutely amazing experience. The food was delicious and the wine was perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our reservation was at 10 pm, yet they w ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our reservation was at 10 pm, yet they were rushing us the entire meal/experience. They were literally begging us to order everything (including dessert!) when we first sat down. This was our anniversary dinner that turned into a disaster. Huge bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

One of the best restaurants in LA. Top ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

One of the best restaurants in LA. Top 5 in my book. And the best steak cooked to perfection over an open wood burning grill. A must for any foodie. And the octopus is also amazing. Oh yeah and don't forget all those amazing pastas.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

The menu and food at Capo is absolutely ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The menu and food at Capo is absolutely phenomenal, but is not inexpensive. In fact, it is very pricey. With that said, if you can afford it, I can't think of a better place to go. It's a hot spot among people who are okay with those prices and you will not be the least bit disappointed in the menu, food, service, drinks, etc.

Plan to drop at least a couple of hundred dollars or more for a dinner of two.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We were appalled at the price of the men ...

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We were appalled at the price of the menu. We were a party of three who have eaten at numerous top priced restaurants around the world and could not believe the cost of the entries. The service was fair and with the prices that were being charged you should have had over the top service. It was a most disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

Have been here multiple times and I'm ne ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Have been here multiple times and I'm never disappointed. Beautiful atmosphere, incredible and helpful staff, incredible food (must try the white corn raviolis).

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was awful. Fish was dry, portions s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was awful. Fish was dry, portions small, flavors bland...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Capo was recommended to us by a friend a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Capo was recommended to us by a friend and we were so happy we went! My sisters and I celebrated our September birthdays at Capo. The atmosphere was unique (like a small house with lots to see on the walls). They have an extensive appetizer menu that was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the sweet corn raviolis. The service was outstanding and the pasta was excellent. (I had the rigatoni with meat sauce). It was a very memorable evening and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great menu. Great service. Everything ab ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great menu. Great service. Everything about it. Blows away Dan Tana.

Book in advance !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful gastronomic experience in ever ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful gastronomic experience in every way- Look forward to returning!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in the LA area

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the LA area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This review is long overdue. This was my ...

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This review is long overdue. This was my 3rd time at Capo and my boyfriend's 7-10th time. We flew in from Texas just to eat at Capo for my boyfriend's 34th birthday, and it was well worth it!! Not only was every bite magnificent, but the service cannot be beat. From the waiter to the manager, each treated us with so much courtesy. Capo is a great place all around! Highly recommended: white corn ravioli in truffle sauce, hamachi, Kansas City dry rub steak, black berry crisp (dessert)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a good restaurant and everyone was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It is a good restaurant and everyone was very nice there. And we did not even paid for the entire bill. We had a gift letter from Capo. They sent it to us because they cancelled my previous reservation that I had for my husband's birthday. Anyway, it is too expensive for the food they offer. Thanks Capo but I don't think I will see you guys again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Food was good, but not amazing for the m ...

vip
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was good, but not amazing for the money. Our service was excellent, but, again, the food is nothing that unique and not as good as our previous visits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This was the second time in six months w ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was the second time in six months we dined at Capo. The experience was terrific as was the food and service. Five stars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious grilled artichoke heart salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious grilled artichoke heart salad and corn and truffle ravioli was memorable. Very attentive and friendly waiter. We loved it and would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing. Best dining experien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely amazing. Best dining experience we've had since moving to LA 3 years ago. Stacks up to anything in New York, Boston, or London. Service was like you read about. Flavors were amazing. Can't say enough good about the experience. Impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have typically dined at Capo perhaps ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have typically dined at Capo perhaps once a year over the last 5.... Upon entering we were remembered and greeted warmly..very nice and very professional. Capo remains one of our favorites. We look forward to visiting for our anniversary in October.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible meal from start to finish - b ...

vip
 (London)·Dined on August 17, 2016

Incredible meal from start to finish - best Italian food in Los Angeles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the Osso Buco, and the prepar ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

We ordered the Osso Buco, and the preparation was really different-all the meat was cut off the bone & diced, with spices. Instead of the typical shank, we received a longer bone, cut in half with marrow. My husband's stomach was upset for 2 days after eating it. We also ordered the octopus, which was tender, but we did not like the fact that it was smothered in barbecue sauce. Overall, I would say that we thought the restaurant was overpriced & over hyped. Our expectations were not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Over rated, food ok but way too expensi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 11, 2016

Over rated, food ok but way too expensive. $ 50. corkage fee... really???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Absolutely the worst LA 'fine' dining ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the worst LA 'fine' dining experience I have ever had. Our server described the difference between two glasses of Chardonnay in terms of price differentials as opposed to tasting notes. The condescension continued when he couldn't/ wouldn't describe the tasting menu, just that the "chef would decide."

After standing and waiting for five minutes to speak with the floor manager to change waiters, the meal just tanked. Absolutely no genuine accountability from staff- I feel terrible for the chef- heads would roll as a result if this place actually wants to compete for patrons amidst LA finest. What a darn disappointment. Sad to lose local business from tech beach professionals looking to continue client meetings locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

My favorite restaurant of all time!

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant of all time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing - caesar salad and riga ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was amazing - caesar salad and rigatoni with truffle meat sauce were the best. The let down was the service, at these prices you expect it to be flawless and it fell way below this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

This restaurant is one of the best. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 24, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best. The food is simple and elegant with extra special flavors....lighter than air gnocchi...moist and tender short rib meat in bolognese...delicious! Chocolate souffle is outstanding. The decor and the lighting are perfect and the service is above and beyond. It is a little loud, since there are no sound absorbers, but so worth visiting. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usuall the food and service was outst ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 17, 2016

As usuall the food and service was outstanding. The burnt Cesar salid is a must have. The short rib ravioli and the veal chop are outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.