Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Capo

Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.

1810 Ocean Ave.
Santa Monica, CA 90401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday

Cross Street:
Pico

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(310) 394-5550

Website:
http://www.caporestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available.

Public Transit:
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Bruce Marder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Happy Mother's Day!

Capo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (21)
Special Occasion (19)
Notable Wine List (18)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Wood Oven (14)
Neighborhood Gem (12)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Authentic (9)
Local Ingredients (8)
Cozy (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (6)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Fun (5)
Bar Seating (4)
Open Kitchen (3)
Business Meals (3)
People Watching (3)
Fireplace (3)
Casual (2)
Seasonal (1)
Healthy (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Sort By:
S
592 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined 5 days ago

I would recommend anything cooked on the open Fire. We had the chicken and the steak !
Best flavor ever. I think it's almond wood

Tags: Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 13, 2017

What a great place. It was a business dinner and we were late but the host could not have been nicer about it, despite the issues it caused. And the food--a great grilled Cesar salad, yummy heirloom tomato and burrata, fettuccine with morels, something like corn ravioli with truffles, so good. only one star off for uncomfortable chair which dug into my behind (the ones without arms).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 6, 2017

Dinner at Capo was a real treat. From starters to entrees it was delicious and the warm chocolate soufflé topped off the whole wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 6, 2017

GREAT STAFF ....EXCELLENT FOOD ....KILLER WINE ......XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX00000000000000000000000000

Tags: Open Kitchen, Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Wood Oven, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Fireplace, Historic, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 1, 2017

My friends from Rome and Milan were unimpressed w the Cacio Pepe. To oily. We spen$180 per person.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Much too loud. Food good but too expensive. Tables too close together.

Tags: Open Kitchen, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Capo is a special treat to enjoy. It is always terrific and the people there are so friendly and appropriately attentive. I try to visit this place whenever I am in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Capo is pricy. Known for its' beef, those entrees are around $60-70, accompanied by some beans mixed with veggies. Yummy mashed potatoes are extra. But for me, it's worth it since I don't eat beef often. Mushroom soup is very tasty. Pasta is also renowned but I have celiac and haven't tried their gluten-free pasta. It's a small spot with good service. You might spot a movie star. Sister restaurant next door, Cora's is the best breakfast/lunch spot around with delectable huevos rancheros.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 19, 2017

I haven't visited Capo in a couple years, and I'm so happy we went back! The restaurant was much more energetic than I remembered, with a fun playlist playing in the background, amazing service, and delicious food. I plan on going back much more often now!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Wood Oven, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Food was incredible. Had the chefs tasting menu. Absolutely superb.
Fantastic and attentive service all around. Really nice wine selections.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 3, 2017

This place was Great !
Food was amazing
Service was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 3, 2017

We have always enjoyed capo during our visits to Santa Monica and have had good food and service. However this occasion we arrived at 6:10 for a 6:30 reservation made 1 1/2 months prior there was not 1 customer in the establishment. Before seating us the maitre'd stated we would have to be done by 7:45, we were very taken back with his statement yet agreed since we live 300 miles away and wanted to enjoy a nice dinner while visiting again. By 6:40 our order had not been taken and now we felt pressured to hurry, if you have dined at Capo you are aware dinner for 3 and a bottle of wine will be well over $500.00 which is fine for good food and service. We ended up leaving without eating rather than feeling rushed to shove down the food and swig a $300.00 bottle of wine. We will not be returning during future visits to Santa Monica, after conversation with the maitre'd it was apparent it really did not matter to him. The turn n burn mentality is not what you would expect from a fine dining establishment and is very disappointing from a place we enjoyed very much in the past and have spoke highly of.

2 people found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 1, 2017

I took my husband to Capo for his birthday and it was a wonderful evening! We hadn't been to Capo before even though we live in Santa Monica. It is our favorite restaurant now! The food was delicious. We felt welcome because the waiters were so accommodating and seemed to really enjoy making the evening special. So unusual! I liked the 70's music too. Definitely order the ravioli filled with corn and the blackberry crumble.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 25, 2017

I love the food staff and wine list
It's a favorite

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 24, 2017

Excellent meal. Pasta, sauces, and steak were all fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Our meal was one of the finest I've ever experienced. The service was outstanding; all of our waiters recommendations were fantastic. The caesar salad is beyond anything I've ever tasted. We shared pasta for an appetizer along with the calamari (highly recommended). The sole, branzino, bone-in filet, and NY were amazing.

Tags: Wood Oven, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (London)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Truly outstanding Italain in Santa Monica - try the veal scalopini and the whitke crn ravioli

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

My husband and I had a romantic evening celebrating our 10yr anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This place was amazing! We did the chef's tasting menu ($120/head) and it was fantastic. Hidden Santa Monica gem.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Warm and friendly. Great Pastas

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Capo's is the best Italian restaurant in California. Great people, great food. Always high quality.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The dining experience is nothing short of amazing. We come here every year for my birthday and it's always such a treat. Thank you Kyle and the rest of the crew for an incredible night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding. Everything we ate was perfect. Corn & truffle ravioli, grilled Ceasar, buratta and veggie salad, rigatoni, the bone in fillet was in the top three I've ever eaten.

Friendly and attentive service. Eclectic art on the walls.

It is expensive, but it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

They need to figure out the tables near the door. Too much draft and then when you're not in the way of the other tables it's not a great view (of the door). Not the best seat, the waiter for the other table kept hitting my chair. I ended up moving over and it was fine but was the view of the door.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The restaurant was a fun experience. It was crowded, busy, and way too loud. Food was really good. We did the tasting menu. Corkage fee was outrageous ($50).

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This is an expensive but flawed restaurant which does not quite live up to the cost. Attractive room and good service. But the most important part - the food - was spotty. The chocolate soufflé was superb; the fois gras appetizer of appropriate size and well cooked. The main courses were, however, poor. The osso bucco was off the bone and chopped up as if it were hamburger. Strange and inappropriate herbal flavors were added. Not good. The dover sole was cooked properly if a bit dry but it was accompanied not by potatoes and a soft creamed vegetable but by dried out roasted vegetables. At these prices quite disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food, service, Somm, atmosphere...Fantastic!!!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my favorite place! But last night was a bit off! I split the Spaghetti Carbonara and it wasn't what I had In The past! Big chunks of onions a soup sauce not you creamy egg dish with pancetta and peas🙄 They offered me something else and I order the Cesar salad! It came charred which was ok but overly smoked in taste! the sole was split too and was good but so thin that we should have never split it! Our friends ordered the Florentina steak which was huge and very tasty and flavorful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Nice evening and high class dining experience. Everything was positive but a bit "pricey". That was the only negative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I dream of Capo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was out-of-this-world good. And the service very attentive without being cloying. As first-time diners there we had a lot of questions about the menu, which they patiently answered. Every dish was perfection. It's very expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Go!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

NOT cheap, but worth it for special occasion. Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I recommend Capo enthusiastically - for regular dining. For prix-fixe special occasion dinners - like New Year's Eve, my suggestion is to stay away.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything superb, even though New Year's Eve. Our server Vanessa was as perfect as our divine 5 course meal. Service
and excellent quality, chef never disappoints, if you are looking for a Fabulous good experience both classy and not pretentious
than go to Capo you will be amazed with every scrumptious morsel., Truffles abound .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Paid 600 dollars to sit next to the door where we had people standing over us the entire time while we ate and we could not even speak to each other because it was so noisy. The people were waiting for a table even though there was a small waiting room the stood right in top of us. Staff did not ask them to kindly move so instead my husband had someone behind in his face for the meal. Tasting menu is a rip off. Salad choice is charred romaine!!! For 120 a person I expect more fine cuisine. Pasta and steak were amazing though. Next time i would just order a pasta and steak. Skip the tasting. White corn ravioli is the best. Waiter and staff were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I always come here for our birthdays and it never disappoints! We went earlier this week for my birthday and had the best time. Our server, Glen, was super knowledgeable, funny and attentive. The food is simply fantastic. We had the artichoke, burrata caprese, and octopus al forno to start. All were phenomenal and fresh. For entrees, I split two pastas (truffle Bolognese rigatoni and uni/calamari spaghetti) and my husband had the filet mignon - both dishes were fabulous. Then we had the blackberry crisp and chocolate volcano cake for dessert. All the food was truly delicious. Our Capo birthday tradition will continue for years to come - we love this place!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the very few truly upscale restaurants left in WLA in a cozy, intimate atmosphere. Wonderful staff with 'no attitude' anywhere. One of the best steaks in memory. Highly recomended. We had to run home home because of our alarm going off, which made us 45 minutes late, but they held our reservation and could not have been more gracious and accommodating.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

As always the food and evening is just what you want for an Italian dinner and more. They know how to make you happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Several different waiters attended to my wife and I. The wine, the bread, the apps, the pasta and steak were amazing. Go wherever the waiter takes you on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.