Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Capo

Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.

1810 Ocean Ave.
Santa Monica, CA 90401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday

Cross Street:
Pico

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(310) 394-5550

Website:
http://www.caporestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available.

Public Transit:
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Bruce Marder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Capo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

Noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (12)
Notable Wine List (12)
See All
Romantic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Worth the Drive (10)
Special Occasion (9)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Authentic (6)
Business Meals (6)
Cozy (6)
Bar Seating (6)
Good for Groups (5)
Hot Spot (5)
People Watching (5)
Tasting Menu (4)
Comfort Food (3)
Seasonal (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
Fun (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Healthy (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Casual (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Organic (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Sort by
S
648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (London)·Dined 3 days ago

I had an exceptional meal - I chose simple dishes but the quality of the ingredients and cooking was superb. I would go out of my way to eat here... in fact I would eat at Capo regularly if it was practical and I had the money.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Romantic, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Capo is the bar that all other restaurants are looking to live up to. Whatever you order it is inevitably the best “whatever you order” that you’ve ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 5 days ago

Crazy expensive. Not worth it to me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 6 days ago

My favorite Italian in Los Angeles

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on November 5, 2017

Service was 5 star this evening. Food was not exceptional for the price. Would you believe an artichoke was $28 as a split appetizer.
Wine is always good here although expensive

Tags: Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value1

 
 (Portland)·Dined on October 26, 2017

The experience was a bit disappointing. Servers were old school pretentious and didn’t seem to really have passion for the food.
I felt like a tourist; one of many passing through the revolving door.
Food was good but not remarkable.
There are too many great restaurants in LA to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Pittsburgh)·Dined on October 21, 2017

Very very expensive for the quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2017

Food was very excellent. Wine list could be simplified for those of us who aren't sommeliers.

Tags: Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2017

Capo is simply one of the very best restaurants in West LA...and indeed competes with the best in America.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 1, 2017

Fabulous food and service. Takeby our American Express Black card.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 28, 2017

Truffles were aromatic and heavenly. $50 corkage seemed high. Nevertheless, we do enjoyed Capo that we are returning tonight.

Tags: Romantic, People Watching, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Very expensive, but great quality and delicious food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Our 4-some shared the very large steak prepared in the wood oven and it was quite good, prepared well, super char on outside. That's where anything positive about this restaurant ends.
What are they thinking and how do they have such an over-rated notion of the restaurant to charge such outrageous prices? It is an insult! To have pricing that is so out of cinque with both the overall food preparation (I had an eggplant appetizer that was virtually unidentifiable and almost tasteless) and other up-scale restaurants is wholly unjustified.

Atmosphere is outdated and overcrowded, tables too close. Nothing really enjoyable about it.

I have eaten in top restaurants from here to New York and have never experienced such absurd prices - BEWARE!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 17, 2017

Pretty good! Not totally worth the cost but we enjoyed the meal overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 14, 2017

A birthday tradition that always succeeds our highest expectations. Just what a special meal for a special occasion should be. Also, nice to drop in and take a seat at the bar (if you can get one!) and share some wine and pasta.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2017

The food was excellent, but was is worth the astronomic prices? No!. Every dish, while good, was ridiculously overpriced. The wine list, in particular, was insane. I don't mind pay a lot for an incredible meal, but here you pay more than it's worth.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Miami)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Nice but no need to be that expensive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 6, 2017

My go-to place for special occasion dinners. My friend and I each had the $120 8 course tasting menu and, as always, it was superb. Best of all, except for the steak, each of the other courses is different so it actually becomes a 15 course tasting menu if you're willing to share. My only regret was that they made no acknowledgment of my friend's birthday even though I had mentioned it twice -- once when making the reservation on Open Table and a second time when I called the hostess to confirm my reservation.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on September 3, 2017

Second time. Second time with frustrating service. Tables are cramped. They offer worst tables to single guests.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 3, 2017

The food, ambiance and service were all exceptional, but the prices are very high. That being sad, we will definitely return to dine at Capo, but not regularly, as we could only justify that price tag for a special occasion.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Authentic, Seasonal, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 2, 2017

We haven't been to Capo in quite awhile. We are so happy we remembered how fabulous it is. The food, setting and service were impeccable. All weekend at dinner time, I have wished we were there again.

Tags: People Watching, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Hot Spot, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Cozy, Handcrafted Cocktails, Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 1, 2017

20 years and just as good as the day they opened. Truly outstanding food

Tags: Authentic, Seasonal, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Disabled Access, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 31, 2017

Good food. Pricy but a variety of options. Hidden spot. Sophisticated crowd.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Food was amazing . Justin and the staff were excellent !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (London)·Dined on August 24, 2017

Some of the best food in LA that really impresses clients. Great staff and beautiful Tuscan decor. A true gem in Santa Monica.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Notable Wine List, Organic, Seasonal, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 17, 2017

Birthday by myself

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Appetizer/pasta were decent, main courses solidly mediocre at any price, but especially at the exorbitant prices they charge. Service was extremely uneven -- from the long wait for the maitre d to show up, to the failure to pour the wine from the wine bottle, to the indifference of the server generally. And for some reason, in this very high priced, presumably high end restaurant, they play rock songs at a loud volume. I liked the songs, but not in this setting. So, at the end of the day, mediocre over priced food, indifferent service and basically no atmosphere. Not what I wanted -- or thought I was getting -- for our wedding anniversary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value1

 
·Dined on August 11, 2017

Fabulous dining experience. Wonderful ambiance, service and food. Always a must in Santa Monica.

Tags: Hot Spot, Comfort Food, Bar Seating, Special Occasion, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very good Italian Food - very mature people

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Food was excellent, especially both pastas with black truffles. Server offered great suggestions and was very professional. But the prices were all outrageous, especially wine prices! $20+ for a nice but not spectacular glass.

I would recommend only if you are not price sensitive. This was a special occasion for us. We won't make it a habit.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Great wine list, but way over priced. Average food. Waiter had a bad attitude. I would never go back or recommend to a friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 5, 2017

Fantastic find! Food was outstanding, and the wine list was unbelievable. The staff made you feel like family. We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 4, 2017

I order the cheese ravioli soup to start, it was chicken broth with tiny little ravioli and no flavor at all. My sister had the caesar to start and it was very good. I had a steak for dinner which was very good, I liked the flavor very much. My husband had the seafood pasta and not only did it not look very good, he said it didn't taste that good either. I have always wanted to try this restaurant and now I have. I will not be going back. I thought the food was going to be fantastic as I had heard such great things. The service was excellent though and I did like the ambiance.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 26, 2017

My family and I went to Capo for my birthday - the ambiance is that of maybe a European restaurant tucked away with a very relaxed yet special feel to it. The waiters were outstanding , my twin nine year olds were accommodated perfectly in pairing down dishes that kids will eat - the filet was superb! The corn ravioli was on another level and the chocolate lava cake - there are no words, it was heavenly. The only reason I question the value is that the prices are so steep, which won't deter me from coming again but just not as frequently as I might like to. It's definitely one of the best evenings I have had in Santa Monica.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Great way to start off my Birthday week. I requested a vegetarian dish and the chef made an amazing grilled vegetable dish that was devine. All in all i would come at least once per week if possible.
Most restaurants in LA become stale after so many years but Capo is always consistently great. Also, it doss not hurt that I was seated next to Michelle Pfeiffer and around art worthy of the finest galleries the in not Museum. Look for the sculptures that are flipping the middle finger at you. LOL

Tags: Local Ingredients, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Capo is not inexpensive, but it never, ever disappoints! Wonderful food, great serving staff, lovely ambiance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of, if not the best restaurants in the LA area. Truly authentic Italian offerings. The rigatoni is out of this world as is the Treviso salad. I could dine there twice a week and think I was in Heaven.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Not cheap--but we thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wowed overall. Not cheap though. Superb service. Unreal deserts

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Love love love ❣️✨❣️

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.