Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.09mi
  3. Distance: 0.14mi
  4. Distance: 0.14mi

About Capo

Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.

1810 Ocean Ave.
Santa Monica, CA 90401
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday

Cross Street:
Pico

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(310) 394-5550

Website:
http://www.caporestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available.

Public Transit:
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Bruce Marder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Capo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.7

ambience

4.7

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

98% would recommend it to a friend

Notable Wine List (21)
Special Occasion (18)
Romantic (15)
See All
Fit for Foodies (14)
Neighborhood Gem (14)
Good for a Date (13)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Bar Seating (7)
Authentic (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Wood Oven (6)
Good for Birthdays (6)
Fun (6)
People Watching (5)
Cozy (5)
Worth the Drive (5)
Creative Cuisine (5)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Open Kitchen (4)
Business Meals (3)
Good for Groups (3)
Vibrant Bar Scene (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Casual (1)
Organic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Healthy (1)
Tapas (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Sort By:
S
613 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Capo is not inexpensive, but it never, ever disappoints! Wonderful food, great serving staff, lovely ambiance.

Tags: Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 5, 2017

One of, if not the best restaurants in the LA area. Truly authentic Italian offerings. The rigatoni is out of this world as is the Treviso salad. I could dine there twice a week and think I was in Heaven.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Creative Cuisine, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 4, 2017

Absolutely delicious! Not cheap--but we thoroughly enjoyed everything we ordered.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Wowed overall. Not cheap though. Superb service. Unreal deserts

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Cozy, Authentic, Notable Wine List, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 29, 2017

Love love love ❣️✨❣️

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Healthy, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 27, 2017

We dined there last year and this year was just as good. Perfect tasting menu with amazing wine pairings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Best spot in LA. We love Capo

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Fabulous food, exceptional wine list, and wonderful service.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

Pasta should be better
Everything else was top notch

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 2, 2017

The absolute best ever. Staff, ambiance and food!!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 2, 2017

Great food but absolutely ruined by terrible service. Ordered a $110 glass of wine that the wine director took 45 minutes to serve and 10 seconds to drop off with no explanation

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 1, 2017

My taste buds had a field day with the flavors from appetizers to the dessert we shared ... the corn ravioli is to die for ... my favorite dish ..nonetheless, everything I've , we'd tried was a 10... we will be back

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on June 1, 2017

What a room! Enter through the gates of Capo, and you feel immediately transported into what's easiest described as a world that's slightly other. With the feeling of a private club, minus the pretense, Capo pleases with a tad of seduction and subdued glamour. It's the type of place where patrons and staff celebrate any cultural icons or guests of note by not as much as blinking an eye. No matter where you are on the spectrum of cultural contribution, and even if you are not on that spectrum at all, at Capo you will be taken care of with the type of unpretentious and understated service that's as good as old world service gets –  it is honest and with heart, and that feels delightfully refreshing. Here, in this perfectly proportioned room, everyone get's to feel equally great. The elegantly charged atmosphere meets superb Italian cuisine at it's best – whether it's the truffle rigatoni or the fire grilled organic ribs with polenta, there's really no way for one to err. The palette of flavors surprise and satisfy and are rounded out by a selection of fantastic wines (priced from affordable to the sky's the limit – you may want the assistance of your sommelier to guide you through the book, if not for the recommendation, then at least for the thoughtful interaction). Capo is an experience you will want to come back for again, and then after a little while, again. Keep it special . . . it is.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on May 27, 2017

One of the best restaurants we've ever been to. We had two separate recommendations from friends when we told them we were headed to Santa Monica. Capo is one of the most professionally run restaurants from the Maitre'D to the bar tender to the waiter. Brilliantly trained and execution is the name of the game. The wine list is one of the most elegant and sophisticated collections I've see. Capo is not cheap on any level, but it was worth every minute and we'll return to Santa Monica (from NY) jus tot go to Capo.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Cozy, Fun, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Prices aren't posted online, so know ahead of time that this place is VERY expensive. But what a fine-dining treat!

Tags: Comfort Food, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Amazing restaurant and charming atmosphere. The sweet corn ravioli is a can't miss!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 5, 2017

Great restaurant with an amazing wine list. Had a great birthday dinner

Tags: Special Occasion, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Favorite restaurant in Los Angeles - And I eat out 6 nights a week!

Tags: Business Meals, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Good for Anniversaries, Paleo Friendly, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Excellent food! I highly recommend it! The service was impeccable. My dining companion was late in arriving and they were very understanding.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Absolutely delicious!!!! The service was impeccable and the food was sublime. Best Caesar salad and branzino I've had in a long time. Excellent sommelier as well.. looking forward to our return

Tags: Cozy, Organic, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 19, 2017

I would recommend anything cooked on the open Fire. We had the chicken and the steak !
Best flavor ever. I think it's almond wood

Tags: Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 12, 2017

What a great place. It was a business dinner and we were late but the host could not have been nicer about it, despite the issues it caused. And the food--a great grilled Cesar salad, yummy heirloom tomato and burrata, fettuccine with morels, something like corn ravioli with truffles, so good. only one star off for uncomfortable chair which dug into my behind (the ones without arms).

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on April 7, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Romantic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Dinner at Capo was a real treat. From starters to entrees it was delicious and the warm chocolate soufflé topped off the whole wonderful experience.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 5, 2017

GREAT STAFF ....EXCELLENT FOOD ....KILLER WINE ......XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX00000000000000000000000000

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 31, 2017

My friends from Rome and Milan were unimpressed w the Cacio Pepe. To oily. We spen$180 per person.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Much too loud. Food good but too expensive. Tables too close together.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Capo is pricy. Known for its' beef, those entrees are around $60-70, accompanied by some beans mixed with veggies. Yummy mashed potatoes are extra. But for me, it's worth it since I don't eat beef often. Mushroom soup is very tasty. Pasta is also renowned but I have celiac and haven't tried their gluten-free pasta. It's a small spot with good service. You might spot a movie star. Sister restaurant next door, Cora's is the best breakfast/lunch spot around with delectable huevos rancheros.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Capo is a special treat to enjoy. It is always terrific and the people there are so friendly and appropriately attentive. I try to visit this place whenever I am in town.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 18, 2017

I haven't visited Capo in a couple years, and I'm so happy we went back! The restaurant was much more energetic than I remembered, with a fun playlist playing in the background, amazing service, and delicious food. I plan on going back much more often now!

Tags: Tasting Menu, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 3, 2017

Food was incredible. Had the chefs tasting menu. Absolutely superb.
Fantastic and attentive service all around. Really nice wine selections.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Romantic, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on March 2, 2017

This place was Great !
Food was amazing
Service was perfect

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on March 2, 2017

We have always enjoyed capo during our visits to Santa Monica and have had good food and service. However this occasion we arrived at 6:10 for a 6:30 reservation made 1 1/2 months prior there was not 1 customer in the establishment. Before seating us the maitre'd stated we would have to be done by 7:45, we were very taken back with his statement yet agreed since we live 300 miles away and wanted to enjoy a nice dinner while visiting again. By 6:40 our order had not been taken and now we felt pressured to hurry, if you have dined at Capo you are aware dinner for 3 and a bottle of wine will be well over $500.00 which is fine for good food and service. We ended up leaving without eating rather than feeling rushed to shove down the food and swig a $300.00 bottle of wine. We will not be returning during future visits to Santa Monica, after conversation with the maitre'd it was apparent it really did not matter to him. The turn n burn mentality is not what you would expect from a fine dining establishment and is very disappointing from a place we enjoyed very much in the past and have spoke highly of.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 28, 2017

I took my husband to Capo for his birthday and it was a wonderful evening! We hadn't been to Capo before even though we live in Santa Monica. It is our favorite restaurant now! The food was delicious. We felt welcome because the waiters were so accommodating and seemed to really enjoy making the evening special. So unusual! I liked the 70's music too. Definitely order the ravioli filled with corn and the blackberry crumble.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 24, 2017

I love the food staff and wine list
It's a favorite

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (New England)·Dined on February 23, 2017

Excellent meal. Pasta, sauces, and steak were all fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Our meal was one of the finest I've ever experienced. The service was outstanding; all of our waiters recommendations were fantastic. The caesar salad is beyond anything I've ever tasted. We shared pasta for an appetizer along with the calamari (highly recommended). The sole, branzino, bone-in filet, and NY were amazing.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 22, 2017

Truly outstanding Italain in Santa Monica - try the veal scalopini and the whitke crn ravioli

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 21, 2017

My husband and I had a romantic evening celebrating our 10yr anniversary.

Tags: Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2017

This place was amazing! We did the chef's tasting menu ($120/head) and it was fantastic. Hidden Santa Monica gem.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.