Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Today
Time
7:00 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 31 times today

Capo

4.7
686 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$31 to $50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Perfect For:
  • Special Occasion
  • Notable Wine List
  • Good for Anniversaries
Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.
Dining Style
Fine Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(310) 394-5550
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Bruce Marder
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Pico
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Street parking available.
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.
Additional
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine
What 686 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.7based on recent ratings
4.7
food
4.6
service
4.6
ambience
3.9
value
Noise · Moderate
81% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 2 days ago

The manager, Justin, made our date night truly exceptional. We look forward to going back. This restaurant is a gem.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 6 days ago

Delicious food. Great ambience. Lovely waitress. The Heirloom tomato salad, corn ravioli and blackberry tart were out of this world!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 12, 2018

Great evening every time. The room is beautiful with fantastic artwork. Wine list exceptional. Food is the best. I love this place, and the service is great too. Try the lamb chops.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 8, 2018

We had a tight table in the corner next to the kitchen, not ideal but ok. Our reservation was at 8:15 and we waited about 10 min which is acceptable. Our waitress was a bit spread to thin and was not as attentive as we are use to, she also put some items on our bill that we never ordered.......food was very good.....their wood burning oven was out of order which influenced my dinner choice but I am being picky......it’s a great spot and will continue to dine here

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 6, 2018

Food off the mark.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Awesome food and service!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 5, 2018

Another overpriced restaurant with mediocre food.

There were children under 10 who were noisy and undisciplined. There was loud background music which added nothing positive.

Although our waitress was helpful and pleasant, some of the other staff were not. It felt as though we were just a task to be addressed rather than guests to be pleased.

Also the food came out very slowly.

Bottom line, at 1/2 the price still wouldn't go back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Great service, great food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 31, 2018

Wonderful!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 30, 2018

Awful. Waste of money, food was bland. For $35 you get a handful of pasta with a tablespoon of meat and that’s their house specialty. Better off feeding all of the homeless in Santa Monica than stepping foot in here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

Went there with the family for a nice dinner. Great atmosphere. Loved the music in the background. Wine and food was very good. Service was a little slow and the waitress could have done a little better job of clearing plates when our food was finished during the different courses. The Calamari was very rich but delicious (need to share with others as one portion is too much for an individual). Loved the Foie Gras slider and mushroom soup appetizers. The Branzino, Rigatoni, and Eggplant entrees were all very memorable.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 15, 2018

Simply amazing

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 11, 2018

Fabulous as always. An oldie but goodie.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

food and service does not get any better best restaurant in town

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 10, 2018

My favorite place.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 8, 2018

The best food in Santa Monica. Bar none. Great vibe. The absolute best.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on March 7, 2018

Food wasn’t that great for its price. Service was excellent though.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 23, 2018

Wonderful overall !

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on February 23, 2018

We had heard about this restaurant for years and unfortunately it beyond did not live up to the hype. The food was very mediocre and extremely expensive considering it was not made with any TLC. Each member of my family had a different dish from pasta to fish to risotto (both salad and soup for a starter) and nothing wowed. The pea soup was very salty and had so many huge pieces of mint floating around that you could barely taste the pea flavor. The pasta just ok, the mushroom risotto also a bit salty and lacking a depth of flavor that I have experienced at lessor touted restaurants. Two of our entrees were not hot. The desserts were probably the best part. Considering the hype (and price) of Capo I expected to have gotten an amazing meal or at least very good. Even the service was quite off and the sommelier kept going to my brother-in-law to try the wine while my father-in-law was the one who had ordered it which seemed so strange.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 21, 2018

Pricey but worth it. Dessert was to die for. Awesome service as well.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 17, 2018

Out third time here. One of our must visit places in Santa Monica. Always great engaging servers and an eclectic Italian menu. Truly something for everyone. Expensive but what isn’t for fine dining today? Interesting art, some quite erotic, on the walls, dark draperies and no windows make for a intimate dining experience. Perfect for Valentines weekend! It’s very loud with close quarters so be prepared to shift your chair when diners are coming and going. Impressive interior from a place that looks like a small brick warehouse on the outside. You could miss it easily when driving by. Capo is a winner!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 15, 2018

My husband and I went for Valentine’s Day dinner. It was so nice to be at a well paced restaurant that did not cram extra tables for dinner. Friendly service and great food! Always one of our favorite ‘go to’ places for a special occasion.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 10, 2018

We had heard very good thing about Capo and were excited to have our first meal. We had to wait a few minutes for our table, but used the time to decide on a wine. The recommendation was excellent. We were seated at our table after a few minutes we spoke with a waitress. She seem confused because she did not realize we had bought a bottle of wine. She answered our questions, but never returned. After waiting with empty glasses another waiter stopped by and we discussed ordering our appetizers first. We were told the kitchen couldn't handle the order being split. We said we needed another minute. He never returned. Eventually I had to engage the maitre d who quickly addressed the situation. Unfortunately we had waited over 45 min just to get our order in. Our food was very good, but not exceptional, but that may have been due to some confusion over my wife's dietary restrictions. I believe they misinterpreted her request and over corrected for what we wanted. Overall it was a very nice restaurant, but between the service and food issues, I would not consider it exceptional.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on February 9, 2018

After so long in business (for LA), they still manage to get everything right, every time, with every table. It’ll always be our favorite.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 26, 2018

This Restaurant is always a Treat
Food is GREAT !!!
and the service is always wonderful

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 25, 2018

Possibly the best dining experience in LA. Impeccable service; meticulous attention to detail for every course; every ingredient is fresh; also, the vibe has a great energy. I know it draws mostly local, but I come from La Canada for Capo.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 23, 2018

Have lived in LA for 30 years don’t know how I ever missed going to this restaurant. It is a jewel .
You have never had Italian food until you taste it at Capo.
Expensive and worth every penny !

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Abosolutely outstanding.!!!>...>....................................................Aaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaa writing more because of 50 char minimum to write a review on opentable which is LAME

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

We were greeted with a smile and were immediately seated. It was early so the restaurant was not busy. It took a few minutes for our waiter to take our wine order and another 10 minutes to return to tell us that they were out of that wine. Have you ever seen their list? He did offer three alternatives.
The food was fabulous but when the waiter came and asked the obligatory on how it tasted he heard my wife's response but didn't acknowledge mine. For a $400.00 meal I expected a little more interest

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 20, 2018

Nice restaurant with great ambiance. Excellent fois gras - would go there just to have this. Also crab cake was amazing - just basically a bunch of lovely crab meat and butter. The mains were good, but not amazing. Dessert was good, but not amazing. The wine is terribly overpriced. I have had cheaper meals that were just as good, so can't really recommend this just based on how expensive it is. For the price, I expect everything to0 blow my mind.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Loved everything!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 11, 2018

Food and service is always exceptional! Glenn was amazing as usual and the second time he's waited on us. Will never get tired of going to Capo!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 11, 2018

We hadn't been to Capo in well over a decade, but for nostalgic reasons, a friend in from out-of-town and I thought we would revisit. We were there fairly early, so a crowd had not yet arrived. But when we requested an empty corner table, we were told it was meant for larger parties (for four), and directed us to deuces along the trafficked, and cold, front door. (Apparently, couples are second rate). We had a wonderful and attentive waitress; the sommelier was a tad dour. Their open-fire menu is quite extraordinary, the wine list is world class. We ordered specials (truffled pasta and charred caesar salad, followed by branzino), which were good, but lacked that certain subtlety one discovers in truly magnificent dishes (too much salt, butter, etc.). Chocolate souffle was ample, amuse bouche and cookie tray unexpected treats. Prices are a bit extreme for the experience, but we enjoyed the evening.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on January 4, 2018

Capo is NOT to be missed! This restaurant is a total gem. The food is amazing! The staff is attentive without being overbearing. I love the decor where old school meets eclectic. It is open yet cozy and the GRILL! The grill makes for food truly exceptional. Our charred Caesar salad, the calamari and our steaks were like nothing we have ever eaten. We will definitely be back as this is one of the best dining experiences in Southern California.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Amazing place for celebrations or everyday special dining, always great food and service, always a great experience!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 7, 2017

Never ceases to be amazing! The food and service are outstanding.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 25, 2017

We fly in from the east coast just to satisfy a craving for the wonderful food and warm and inviting service at Capo. a one of a kind gem.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 21, 2017

Everything was wonderful but the price!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on November 18, 2017

I had an exceptional meal - I chose simple dishes but the quality of the ingredients and cooking was superb. I would go out of my way to eat here... in fact I would eat at Capo regularly if it was practical and I had the money.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 17, 2017

Capo is the bar that all other restaurants are looking to live up to. Whatever you order it is inevitably the best “whatever you order” that you’ve ever had.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
18