About Capo

1810 Ocean Ave.
Santa Monica, CA 90401
View Larger Map

Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday

Cross Street:
Pico

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(310) 394-5550

Website:
http://www.caporestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available.

Public Transit:
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Bruce Marder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Capo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Romantic (13)
Special Occasion (13)
Wood Oven (11)
See All
Good for a Date (11)
Notable Wine List (10)
Authentic (9)
Fit for Foodies (9)
Good for Anniversaries (7)
Cozy (7)
Creative Cuisine (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Fun (5)
Fireplace (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Business Meals (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Tasting Menu (3)
Casual (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Historic (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sort By:
S
572 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 16, 2017

This place was amazing! We did the chef's tasting menu ($120/head) and it was fantastic. Hidden Santa Monica gem.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 8, 2017

Capo's is the best Italian restaurant in California. Great people, great food. Always high quality.

Tags: Romantic, Authentic, Fireplace, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on January 29, 2017

The dining experience is nothing short of amazing. We come here every year for my birthday and it's always such a treat. Thank you Kyle and the rest of the crew for an incredible night

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Antonio)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Outstanding. Everything we ate was perfect. Corn & truffle ravioli, grilled Ceasar, buratta and veggie salad, rigatoni, the bone in fillet was in the top three I've ever eaten.

Friendly and attentive service. Eclectic art on the walls.

It is expensive, but it was worth it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 27, 2017

They need to figure out the tables near the door. Too much draft and then when you're not in the way of the other tables it's not a great view (of the door). Not the best seat, the waiter for the other table kept hitting my chair. I ended up moving over and it was fine but was the view of the door.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

The restaurant was a fun experience. It was crowded, busy, and way too loud. Food was really good. We did the tasting menu. Corkage fee was outrageous ($50).

Tags: Good for a Date, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This is an expensive but flawed restaurant which does not quite live up to the cost. Attractive room and good service. But the most important part - the food - was spotty. The chocolate soufflé was superb; the fois gras appetizer of appropriate size and well cooked. The main courses were, however, poor. The osso bucco was off the bone and chopped up as if it were hamburger. Strange and inappropriate herbal flavors were added. Not good. The dover sole was cooked properly if a bit dry but it was accompanied not by potatoes and a soft creamed vegetable but by dried out roasted vegetables. At these prices quite disappointing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

 
 (Baltimore)·Dined on January 19, 2017

Great food, service, Somm, atmosphere...Fantastic!!!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Business Meals, Bar Seating, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 15, 2017

This was my favorite place! But last night was a bit off! I split the Spaghetti Carbonara and it wasn't what I had In The past! Big chunks of onions a soup sauce not you creamy egg dish with pancetta and peas🙄 They offered me something else and I order the Cesar salad! It came charred which was ok but overly smoked in taste! the sole was split too and was good but so thin that we should have never split it! Our friends ordered the Florentina steak which was huge and very tasty and flavorful!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value1

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 12, 2017

Nice evening and high class dining experience. Everything was positive but a bit "pricey". That was the only negative.

Tags: Special Occasion, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 6, 2017

One of my very favorite restaurants. I dream of Capo.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on January 5, 2017

The food was out-of-this-world good. And the service very attentive without being cloying. As first-time diners there we had a lot of questions about the menu, which they patiently answered. Every dish was perfection. It's very expensive but worth it for a special occasion. Go!

Tags: Romantic, Local Ingredients, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 4, 2017

NOT cheap, but worth it for special occasion. Everything was fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

I recommend Capo enthusiastically - for regular dining. For prix-fixe special occasion dinners - like New Year's Eve, my suggestion is to stay away.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Everything superb, even though New Year's Eve. Our server Vanessa was as perfect as our divine 5 course meal. Service

and excellent quality, chef never disappoints, if you are looking for a Fabulous good experience both classy and not pretentious

than go to Capo you will be amazed with every scrumptious morsel., Truffles abound .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Paid 600 dollars to sit next to the door where we had people standing over us the entire time while we ate and we could not even speak to each other because it was so noisy. The people were waiting for a table even though there was a small waiting room the stood right in top of us. Staff did not ask them to kindly move so instead my husband had someone behind in his face for the meal. Tasting menu is a rip off. Salad choice is charred romaine!!! For 120 a person I expect more fine cuisine. Pasta and steak were amazing though. Next time i would just order a pasta and steak. Skip the tasting. White corn ravioli is the best. Waiter and staff were good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 29, 2016

My husband and I always come here for our birthdays and it never disappoints! We went earlier this week for my birthday and had the best time. Our server, Glen, was super knowledgeable, funny and attentive. The food is simply fantastic. We had the artichoke, burrata caprese, and octopus al forno to start. All were phenomenal and fresh. For entrees, I split two pastas (truffle Bolognese rigatoni and uni/calamari spaghetti) and my husband had the filet mignon - both dishes were fabulous. Then we had the blackberry crisp and chocolate volcano cake for dessert. All the food was truly delicious. Our Capo birthday tradition will continue for years to come - we love this place!

Tags: Wood Oven, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 24, 2016

One of the very few truly upscale restaurants left in WLA in a cozy, intimate atmosphere. Wonderful staff with 'no attitude' anywhere. One of the best steaks in memory. Highly recomended. We had to run home home because of our alarm going off, which made us 45 minutes late, but they held our reservation and could not have been more gracious and accommodating.

Tags: Business Meals, Authentic, Special Occasion, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on December 15, 2016

As always the food and evening is just what you want for an Italian dinner and more. They know how to make you happy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 14, 2016

Service was excellent. Several different waiters attended to my wife and I. The wine, the bread, the apps, the pasta and steak were amazing. Go wherever the waiter takes you on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on December 9, 2016

Capo is one of the best restaurants in all of LA. The food and service are both amazing. The atmosphere is perfect for just about anything. It consistently delivers on a great night out. It is our "go to" when friends/family come to LA to visit. It is always what we recommend to people when they ask. Bravo!!

Tags: Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Romantic, Good for a Date, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on December 9, 2016

The food is quite good, but the non- traditional Italian meals, that they push are very expensive and I do not go to an Italian restaurant for steak. I attempted to make a small change on a vegetable but they resisted. Good wine list- extensive.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Muy buen ambiente, atención increible, comida muy bien preparada, sabores fuertes e increíble carta de vinos.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 2, 2016

The food is beyond excellent so price doesn't matter. The wine list is outrageously expensive and the prices do not match the quality. The server tried to make me feel bad since I only wanted to spend $150 - she kept suggesting $200 bottles of wine that I know are overpriced. I have a deep knowledge of wine and was not intimidated!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on December 2, 2016

Unfortunately, I sat on this review for two weeks to see if the restaurant would fix their shortcomings. But after failing to return calls that were promised from the owner... here we go.

I dined at Capo on December 3rd to kick off my girlfriend's birthday weekend. It was our first time and we were both ecstatic. The host that greeted us was exceptional and definitely the highlight of Capo.

The problems began once we were seated at our table. It became apparent we were to be treated like children for the rest of the evening. Of course, we received one of the worst seats in the house, despite my notes that it was a special occasion, that's okay, we can work with this. Then our server arrived (I didn't catch her name, because she never introduced herself) - she simply walked over and asked deadpan, "what wine do you want?", I selected a beautiful Gevrey Chambertin, no response, just walked off. Maybe 15 minutes later our wine arrived, maybe 15 minutes later yet she returned to ask, "what do you want?" no explanation of food, no help with the menu, it was service I would have expected at McDonald's.

This continued until at one point the host reemerged to remind our server that there was a birthday at the table, again deadpan "oh, which one?" Night was ruined at that point. $300+ for some seriously delicious food that was overshadowed by some of the most disrespectful and utterly bizarre attitudes from a server I've had in LA.

My girlfriend called and spoke with the manager the following day, he was apologetic and claimed he would call back with the owner to right what had happened... shocker, that call never came.

1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 1, 2016

This is one of the best. The food is extraordinary, and the service perfect. The prices are high, but the quality is there.

Tags: Romantic, Worth the Drive, Fit for Foodies, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 19, 2016

Not impressed. Came in on a Friday night. Ordered mushroom soup it tasted terrible. Had them change it to a garden salad, which tasted like dirt. We had pasta, which was ok, but tasted store bought. Rack of lamb was under seasoned and came a bit burned. I asked for medium well, it was medium... Chicken Parmesan was nothing special. The dessert - blueberry pie was way to sweet. We couldn't eat it... So we ate the complementary dessert that they serve in the end of every meal, I assume made outside of the restaurant because it was edible...

Overall I would never come back to this restaurant, however the local crowd seems to like it. So maybe we just choose the wrong dishes or came on the off night...

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value1

vip
 (Seattle)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Ok I have been to Capo a few times over the years. Always remember it when I am in Santa Monica. I always remember I love the food and ambiance. In fact on this visit sat next to Jerry Seinfeld which was a premium LA experience. I guess the only thing I didn't like was the cost. I eat at a lot of expensive places but must say 28 for a grilled Caesar Salad was intrusive. Looking at a plate with less than $1 in ingredients seemed well just wrong. They must have 20+ appetizers ranging from the low $20's to more than $100. My lamb chops were $74 I think. I would just tell the management its great that you can get the price but please consider being more rational!

Tags: Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value2

vip
 (Edmonton)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Overall , Pretentious and Overly Expensive.

No accommodations made for a nut allergy or recommendations on the menu - dishes with nuts were still served.

The food and service did not meet with prices charged , a very disappointing evening .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Delicious food, great service, and wonderful ambiance. We were in Santa Monica for vacation and this is one of the best restaurants we ate at. I definitely recommend if you love Italian.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Authentic, Casual, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Capo is the most amazing place in all of LA!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Wildly expensive. $35 for a glass of wine? I will never go back.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

The most rude staff ever. The worst 80's music playing which makes no sense for a romantic Italian restaurant.

The food was below average. I would highly recommend avoiding this restaurant at all cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Really amazing food and awesome service. It's quite pricey. Very small, so no privacy, and you are rubbing elbows with strangers.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We do not recommend this establishment. Service was average. Noise level was extreme. Table for two was so crowded the waiter could not get through to serve the food or drinks. For the food.. very average. The Zucchini Appetizer was of low quality. The Spaghetti ‘Jean Paul Belmondo’ was nothing special as it was about the same as you'd get any any "mall" Sarpino's Pizzeria. And wine by the glass is way to expensive. A single glass of Chianti at $25.00 or a single glass of Vouray at $30.00 don't waste your money. Sorry their are much better Italian restaurants in the area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service2
value1

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 13, 2016

The best

Don't tell anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 12, 2016

This was an absolutely amazing experience. The food was delicious and the wine was perfection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Our reservation was at 10 pm, yet they were rushing us the entire meal/experience. They were literally begging us to order everything (including dessert!) when we first sat down. This was our anniversary dinner that turned into a disaster. Huge bummer.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 8, 2016

One of the best restaurants in LA. Top 5 in my book. And the best steak cooked to perfection over an open wood burning grill. A must for any foodie. And the octopus is also amazing. Oh yeah and don't forget all those amazing pastas.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 5, 2016

The menu and food at Capo is absolutely phenomenal, but is not inexpensive. In fact, it is very pricey. With that said, if you can afford it, I can't think of a better place to go. It's a hot spot among people who are okay with those prices and you will not be the least bit disappointed in the menu, food, service, drinks, etc.

Plan to drop at least a couple of hundred dollars or more for a dinner of two.

Tags: Healthy, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Wood Oven, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, People Watching, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

vip
 (Charleston)·Dined on September 28, 2016

We were appalled at the price of the menu. We were a party of three who have eaten at numerous top priced restaurants around the world and could not believe the cost of the entries. The service was fair and with the prices that were being charged you should have had over the top service. It was a most disappointing experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 25, 2016

Have been here multiple times and I'm never disappointed. Beautiful atmosphere, incredible and helpful staff, incredible food (must try the white corn raviolis).

Tags: Authentic, Cozy, Outstanding Value, Romantic, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Groups, Creative Cuisine, Tasting Menu, Pre/post Theatre, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List, Good for Birthdays, Historic, Special Occasion, Wood Oven, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 22, 2016

Food was awful. Fish was dry, portions small, flavors bland...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Capo was recommended to us by a friend and we were so happy we went! My sisters and I celebrated our September birthdays at Capo. The atmosphere was unique (like a small house with lots to see on the walls). They have an extensive appetizer menu that was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the sweet corn raviolis. The service was outstanding and the pasta was excellent. (I had the rigatoni with meat sauce). It was a very memorable evening and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful gastronomic experience in every way- Look forward to returning!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great menu. Great service. Everything about it. Blows away Dan Tana.

Book in advance !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 17, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the LA area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Austin)·Dined on September 11, 2016

This review is long overdue. This was my 3rd time at Capo and my boyfriend's 7-10th time. We flew in from Texas just to eat at Capo for my boyfriend's 34th birthday, and it was well worth it!! Not only was every bite magnificent, but the service cannot be beat. From the waiter to the manager, each treated us with so much courtesy. Capo is a great place all around! Highly recommended: white corn ravioli in truffle sauce, hamachi, Kansas City dry rub steak, black berry crisp (dessert)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on September 10, 2016

It is a good restaurant and everyone was very nice there. And we did not even paid for the entire bill. We had a gift letter from Capo. They sent it to us because they cancelled my previous reservation that I had for my husband's birthday. Anyway, it is too expensive for the food they offer. Thanks Capo but I don't think I will see you guys again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

vip
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was good, but not amazing for the money. Our service was excellent, but, again, the food is nothing that unique and not as good as our previous visits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.