About Capo

1810 Ocean Ave.
Santa Monica, CA 90401
View Larger Map

Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday

Cross Street:
Pico

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(310) 394-5550

Website:
http://www.caporestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available.

Public Transit:
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Bruce Marder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saffron Rissoto With Gold Leaf
Branzino
Burrata With Truffles
Spaghetti Carbonara With Quail Egg
Bluefin Tuna Tartare
Rigatoni With Truffle Meat Sauce
White Corn Ravioli W Truffles And Pasta W Meat Sauce
Shrimp Carpaccio
Burrata Caprese
White Corn Ravioli With Black Truffles

Capo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Best Overall
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Westside
Best Ambiance
Westside
1 More
Italian
Westside
Best Restaurants in Santa Monica ›

Fit for Foodies (28)
Special Occasion (27)
Notable Wine List (24)
See All
Romantic (24)
Neighborhood Gem (15)
Late-night Find (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Good for Groups (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
487 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Delicious grilled artichoke heart salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined 4 days ago

Delicious grilled artichoke heart salad and corn and truffle ravioli was memorable. Very attentive and friendly waiter. We loved it and would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing. Best dining experien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely amazing. Best dining experience we've had since moving to LA 3 years ago. Stacks up to anything in New York, Boston, or London. Service was like you read about. Flavors were amazing. Can't say enough good about the experience. Impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have typically dined at Capo perhaps ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 5 days ago

We have typically dined at Capo perhaps once a year over the last 5.... Upon entering we were remembered and greeted warmly..very nice and very professional. Capo remains one of our favorites. We look forward to visiting for our anniversary in October.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible meal from start to finish - b ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Incredible meal from start to finish - best Italian food in Los Angeles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the Osso Buco, and the prepar ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We ordered the Osso Buco, and the preparation was really different-all the meat was cut off the bone & diced, with spices. Instead of the typical shank, we received a longer bone, cut in half with marrow. My husband's stomach was upset for 2 days after eating it. We also ordered the octopus, which was tender, but we did not like the fact that it was smothered in barbecue sauce. Overall, I would say that we thought the restaurant was overpriced & over hyped. Our expectations were not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Over rated, food ok but way too expensi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Over rated, food ok but way too expensive. $ 50. corkage fee... really???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Absolutely the worst LA 'fine' dining ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the worst LA 'fine' dining experience I have ever had. Our server described the difference between two glasses of Chardonnay in terms of price differentials as opposed to tasting notes. The condescension continued when he couldn't/ wouldn't describe the tasting menu, just that the "chef would decide."

After standing and waiting for five minutes to speak with the floor manager to change waiters, the meal just tanked. Absolutely no genuine accountability from staff- I feel terrible for the chef- heads would roll as a result if this place actually wants to compete for patrons amidst LA finest. What a darn disappointment. Sad to lose local business from tech beach professionals looking to continue client meetings locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

My favorite restaurant of all time!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant of all time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing - caesar salad and riga ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was amazing - caesar salad and rigatoni with truffle meat sauce were the best. The let down was the service, at these prices you expect it to be flawless and it fell way below this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romance, Special Occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

This restaurant is one of the best. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best. The food is simple and elegant with extra special flavors....lighter than air gnocchi...moist and tender short rib meat in bolognese...delicious! Chocolate souffle is outstanding. The decor and the lighting are perfect and the service is above and beyond. It is a little loud, since there are no sound absorbers, but so worth visiting. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usuall the food and service was outst ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As usuall the food and service was outstanding. The burnt Cesar salid is a must have. The short rib ravioli and the veal chop are outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent and I loved th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was excellent and I loved the homey feel of the restaurant. The food was fantastic as was the wine list. Great dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We are glad we celebrated our 31st weddi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We are glad we celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Capo's. As a subscriber to Wine Spectator I read about Capo and how excellent the food and wine is. We were not disappointed. I had the rigatoni and mushroom soup, both exquisite. My wife and I also enjoyed the half bottle of Barolo wine. We will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Capo's is a wonderful Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Capo's is a wonderful Italian restaurant in the Santa Monica beach area. The Italian pastas are all wonderful - perfection. The artichoke appetizer is delicious, too. Also, had a sole entree which was the best I ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are so many wonderful creations to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

There are so many wonderful creations to try it is hard to decide what to order. Everything is excellently prepared. Plan ahead to get a reservation for this very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capo is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Capo is one of our favorite restaurants in all of Los Angeles. The service and food is among the best. I would not hesitate if you have the money to spend recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant, VERY VERY EXPEN ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, VERY VERY EXPENSIVE by most standards. You get what you pay for but this was too high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the bone in filet

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Loved the bone in filet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special menu

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We asked for a special tasting menu with wine pairings. This was not on the menu but our server and the staff were very accommodating and provided an excellent meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Expensive, but memorable

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Four of us dined. We ordered four appetizers, four glasses of wine, four entrees, two deserts and three coffees. Everything was delicious and well presented. The bill (with tip and tax) came to $500. The couple with us is from Chicago and they reiterated that Capo was a memorable experience for them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for 4 or more but...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

great place, wonderful food but tight for a romantic dinner. You are right on top of all other tables - no separation...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food was great but a bit overpriced. Not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was great but a bit overpriced. Not sure the prices are justified for the level of food you get. Not sure I'd go there again. Enjoyed but didn't blow me away for the price we paid. Service was excellent though. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Capo is perfection. The food, the atmosp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Capo is perfection. The food, the atmosphere and especially the staff make every dinner there memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capo never disappoints.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Capo never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem at the Beach

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Capo has been around since 1999 and it only took me 17 years to finally have the opportunity to experience this unassuming pricey high-end Italian eatery with a neighborhood beach vibe. What a hidden gem that you may simply have driven by without even noticing the place!

Capo is a wonderful treat and great for special occasions or simply for incredible Italian food. Each dish is well executed and presented. The white corn ravioli with black truffles is absolutely heavenly; the osso buco with the truffle vegetable sauce is one of the best I've ever had; and the Maple Leaf duck breast were all clear standouts of their menu. Hard to believe, but their desserts are even made from scratch to order on site so you have to order it in advance with the rest of your meal. Service is also first rate. . .very professional and accommodating.

Ambiance - Check!

Food - Double Check!

Service - Triple Check!

The only criticism is their choice and volume in background music. It would have been fine without it. Also, as a Wine Spectator award recipient with their award winning wine list, be sure to bring the Brinks truck with you if you order any of their fine wines.

In such a competitive market, Capo has outlived many of the fine dining restaurants in Los Angeles that have come and gone and I have happily just discovered why!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A special treat and my new favorite rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

A special treat and my new favorite restaurant in Santa Monica.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectaucar food / ambience / service. HU ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Spectaucar food / ambience / service. HUGE wine selection. Very expensive. Very ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Had dinner her Thursday night with friends. The food was amazing , service was excellent - the staff was very friendly, unlike some of the reviews we read before going. So glad we chose this restaurant to start off our 4 day vacation in LA!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well-rounded Italian, fresh & exquisitely prepared

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Candle lighting (check), cheeky chochskis (check), friendly servers (check), spacious tables and seating (check). Took my girlfriend here for her birthday dinner and it was a perfectly executed meal: octopus that was perfectly tender and well-seasoned, the creamiest burratta salad, with amazing fresh tomato and basil, and the fantastic veal chop - medium rare - which melts in your mouth, brick oven baked to a perfect shade of pink consistent through its body. The blackberry crumble to finish was outstanding. The birthday girl enjoyed the soufflé, though I found this to be the most pedestrian part of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super high prices-gnocchi so over cooked ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Super high prices-gnocchi so over cooked it was mush -had to send it back-the room was the best thing about the restaurant-

Would not return-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Excellent food and service.

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on April 1, 2016

Excellent food and service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Quaint upscale "hole in the wall" Italian

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Lovely restaurant nestled in an unassuming building. Very interesting artwork and small sculptures that don't quite go along with the Italian restaurant; yet it works. Overall, service is not what I would expect at this price point. However, the food does speak for itself. Sweet corn ravioli with truffles was a highlight. The tasting menu allows you to sample a little bit of everything. Some were spot on (ravioli, Octopus, al forno Caesar, branzino), while others just missed the mark (scottish salmon, NY strip). Also great for Hollywood type sightings.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value3

amazing

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 26, 2016

Capo is a very special restaurant. It is expensive, and worth every penny as the food and service are impeccable. I took my partner there for his birthday and it was remarkable. Order the caprese, Branzini, and the gnochi, you won't be disappointed!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capo always delights!

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on March 25, 2016

Capo never fails! Always an amazing experience-- superior food, outstanding service, fabulous wine!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and service, as always.

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Exceptional food and service, as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Never disappoints!! Always a wonderful ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

Never disappoints!! Always a wonderful meal/experience, sometimes fell a bit rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A Special Dinner

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

Capo is that special place you go to for any reason. Food is amazing, great wine list, and strong service.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Italian

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on February 28, 2016

We had to wait on our reservation and the manager bought our first glass of wine, wonderful. The place is crowded so a bit loud. Food was really good. We had pasta which was very reasonably priced, the meats were much more pricey. Great service, a book of wines (some reasonable, some not). I highly recommend to those looking for great italian food.

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Perfection.

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Perfection. They had the wrong date (a week later than the real reservation) for some reason.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Amazing food, best grill chef ever- Grea ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

Amazing food, best grill chef ever- Great service, a wine list to die for and don't forget to order the blackberry crisp for dessert- Thank you Brian (bartender) and Josh (waiter).

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.