About Capo

1810 Ocean Ave.
Santa Monica, CA 90401
View Larger Map

Capo faire, a modern Italian style cuisine, offers a rustic yet elegant dining room with high-beamed ceilings, flickering candles and a brightly burning corner fireplace. Capo has an extensive wine list as well as a full bar.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian

Hours of Operation:
Tuesday - Friday: 6:00pm - 10:00pm; Saturday: 6:00pm - 11:00pm; Closed Sunday – Monday

Cross Street:
Pico

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options

Phone Number:
(310) 394-5550

Website:
http://www.caporestaurant.com/

Parking Details:
Street parking available.

Public Transit:
Big Blue Bus on Pacific and Ocean Park Blvd.

Executive Chef:
Bruce Marder

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Full Bar, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Saffron Rissoto With Gold Leaf
Branzino
Burrata With Truffles
Spaghetti Carbonara With Quail Egg
Bluefin Tuna Tartare
Rigatoni With Truffle Meat Sauce
White Corn Ravioli W Truffles And Pasta W Meat Sauce
Shrimp Carpaccio
Burrata Caprese
White Corn Ravioli With Black Truffles

Capo Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.8

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Los Angeles
Best Overall
Westside
Best Food
Westside
2 More
Romantic
Westside
Italian
Westside
Best Restaurants in Santa Monica ›

Special Occasion (28)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Notable Wine List (22)
See All
Romantic (20)
Neighborhood Gem (11)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Good for Birthdays (3)
Business Meals (3)
Worth the Drive (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Authentic (2)
Cozy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
People Watching (1)
Great for Lunch (1)
Fun (1)
Sort By:
Newest
497 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was awful. Fish was dry, portions s ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined 4 days ago

Food was awful. Fish was dry, portions small, flavors bland...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service4
value1

Capo was recommended to us by a friend a ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Capo was recommended to us by a friend and we were so happy we went! My sisters and I celebrated our September birthdays at Capo. The atmosphere was unique (like a small house with lots to see on the walls). They have an extensive appetizer menu that was wonderful. We especially enjoyed the sweet corn raviolis. The service was outstanding and the pasta was excellent. (I had the rigatoni with meat sauce). It was a very memorable evening and we will definitely be back!

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Authentic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Great menu. Great service. Everything ab ...

vip
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great menu. Great service. Everything about it. Blows away Dan Tana.

Book in advance !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful gastronomic experience in ever ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Wonderful gastronomic experience in every way- Look forward to returning!

Tags: Notable Wine List, Fit for Foodies, Cozy, Special Occasion, Business Meals, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My favorite restaurant in the LA area

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

My favorite restaurant in the LA area

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This review is long overdue. This was my ...

 
 (Austin)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

This review is long overdue. This was my 3rd time at Capo and my boyfriend's 7-10th time. We flew in from Texas just to eat at Capo for my boyfriend's 34th birthday, and it was well worth it!! Not only was every bite magnificent, but the service cannot be beat. From the waiter to the manager, each treated us with so much courtesy. Capo is a great place all around! Highly recommended: white corn ravioli in truffle sauce, hamachi, Kansas City dry rub steak, black berry crisp (dessert)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

It is a good restaurant and everyone was ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

It is a good restaurant and everyone was very nice there. And we did not even paid for the entire bill. We had a gift letter from Capo. They sent it to us because they cancelled my previous reservation that I had for my husband's birthday. Anyway, it is too expensive for the food they offer. Thanks Capo but I don't think I will see you guys again.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Food was good, but not amazing for the m ...

vip
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food was good, but not amazing for the money. Our service was excellent, but, again, the food is nothing that unique and not as good as our previous visits.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

This was the second time in six months w ...

 
 (Dallas)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

This was the second time in six months we dined at Capo. The experience was terrific as was the food and service. Five stars.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious grilled artichoke heart salad ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Delicious grilled artichoke heart salad and corn and truffle ravioli was memorable. Very attentive and friendly waiter. We loved it and would recommend.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Absolutely amazing. Best dining experien ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Absolutely amazing. Best dining experience we've had since moving to LA 3 years ago. Stacks up to anything in New York, Boston, or London. Service was like you read about. Flavors were amazing. Can't say enough good about the experience. Impeccable.

Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Romantic, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We have typically dined at Capo perhaps ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We have typically dined at Capo perhaps once a year over the last 5.... Upon entering we were remembered and greeted warmly..very nice and very professional. Capo remains one of our favorites. We look forward to visiting for our anniversary in October.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Incredible meal from start to finish - b ...

vip
 (London)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

Incredible meal from start to finish - best Italian food in Los Angeles!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We ordered the Osso Buco, and the prepar ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

We ordered the Osso Buco, and the preparation was really different-all the meat was cut off the bone & diced, with spices. Instead of the typical shank, we received a longer bone, cut in half with marrow. My husband's stomach was upset for 2 days after eating it. We also ordered the octopus, which was tender, but we did not like the fact that it was smothered in barbecue sauce. Overall, I would say that we thought the restaurant was overpriced & over hyped. Our expectations were not met.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4

Over rated, food ok but way too expensi ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 11, 2016

Over rated, food ok but way too expensive. $ 50. corkage fee... really???

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value1

Absolutely the worst LA 'fine' dining ex ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Absolutely the worst LA 'fine' dining experience I have ever had. Our server described the difference between two glasses of Chardonnay in terms of price differentials as opposed to tasting notes. The condescension continued when he couldn't/ wouldn't describe the tasting menu, just that the "chef would decide."

After standing and waiting for five minutes to speak with the floor manager to change waiters, the meal just tanked. Absolutely no genuine accountability from staff- I feel terrible for the chef- heads would roll as a result if this place actually wants to compete for patrons amidst LA finest. What a darn disappointment. Sad to lose local business from tech beach professionals looking to continue client meetings locally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

My favorite restaurant of all time!

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

My favorite restaurant of all time!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing - caesar salad and riga ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Food was amazing - caesar salad and rigatoni with truffle meat sauce were the best. The let down was the service, at these prices you expect it to be flawless and it fell way below this.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value2

This restaurant is one of the best. The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This restaurant is one of the best. The food is simple and elegant with extra special flavors....lighter than air gnocchi...moist and tender short rib meat in bolognese...delicious! Chocolate souffle is outstanding. The decor and the lighting are perfect and the service is above and beyond. It is a little loud, since there are no sound absorbers, but so worth visiting. Highly recommend!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usuall the food and service was outst ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

As usuall the food and service was outstanding. The burnt Cesar salid is a must have. The short rib ravioli and the veal chop are outstanding

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The service was excellent and I loved th ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

The service was excellent and I loved the homey feel of the restaurant. The food was fantastic as was the wine list. Great dinner!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We are glad we celebrated our 31st weddi ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

We are glad we celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at Capo's. As a subscriber to Wine Spectator I read about Capo and how excellent the food and wine is. We were not disappointed. I had the rigatoni and mushroom soup, both exquisite. My wife and I also enjoyed the half bottle of Barolo wine. We will be coming back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Capo's is a wonderful Italian restaurant ...

 
 (Washington DC)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Capo's is a wonderful Italian restaurant in the Santa Monica beach area. The Italian pastas are all wonderful - perfection. The artichoke appetizer is delicious, too. Also, had a sole entree which was the best I ever had.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

There are so many wonderful creations to ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

There are so many wonderful creations to try it is hard to decide what to order. Everything is excellently prepared. Plan ahead to get a reservation for this very special experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capo is one of our favorite restaurants ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Capo is one of our favorite restaurants in all of Los Angeles. The service and food is among the best. I would not hesitate if you have the money to spend recommending this restaurant.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Outstanding restaurant, VERY VERY EXPEN ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Outstanding restaurant, VERY VERY EXPENSIVE by most standards. You get what you pay for but this was too high.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Loved the bone in filet

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Loved the bone in filet

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Special menu

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

We asked for a special tasting menu with wine pairings. This was not on the menu but our server and the staff were very accommodating and provided an excellent meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value2

Expensive, but memorable

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

Four of us dined. We ordered four appetizers, four glasses of wine, four entrees, two deserts and three coffees. Everything was delicious and well presented. The bill (with tip and tax) came to $500. The couple with us is from Chicago and they reiterated that Capo was a memorable experience for them.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great for 4 or more but...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 27, 2016

great place, wonderful food but tight for a romantic dinner. You are right on top of all other tables - no separation...

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great authentic food. Knowledgeable staf ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Great authentic food. Knowledgeable staff. Amazing wine list. Bring your wallet.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was great but a bit overpriced. Not ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

Food was great but a bit overpriced. Not sure the prices are justified for the level of food you get. Not sure I'd go there again. Enjoyed but didn't blow me away for the price we paid. Service was excellent though. Very friendly staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Capo is perfection. The food, the atmosp ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

Capo is perfection. The food, the atmosphere and especially the staff make every dinner there memorable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Capo never disappoints.

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Capo never disappoints.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Hidden Gem at the Beach

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Capo has been around since 1999 and it only took me 17 years to finally have the opportunity to experience this unassuming pricey high-end Italian eatery with a neighborhood beach vibe. What a hidden gem that you may simply have driven by without even noticing the place!

Capo is a wonderful treat and great for special occasions or simply for incredible Italian food. Each dish is well executed and presented. The white corn ravioli with black truffles is absolutely heavenly; the osso buco with the truffle vegetable sauce is one of the best I've ever had; and the Maple Leaf duck breast were all clear standouts of their menu. Hard to believe, but their desserts are even made from scratch to order on site so you have to order it in advance with the rest of your meal. Service is also first rate. . .very professional and accommodating.

Ambiance - Check!

Food - Double Check!

Service - Triple Check!

The only criticism is their choice and volume in background music. It would have been fine without it. Also, as a Wine Spectator award recipient with their award winning wine list, be sure to bring the Brinks truck with you if you order any of their fine wines.

In such a competitive market, Capo has outlived many of the fine dining restaurants in Los Angeles that have come and gone and I have happily just discovered why!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

A special treat and my new favorite rest ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 28, 2016

A special treat and my new favorite restaurant in Santa Monica.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Spectaucar food / ambience / service. HU ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 15, 2016

Spectaucar food / ambience / service. HUGE wine selection. Very expensive. Very ...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful restaurant!

 
 (Jacksonville)
·Dined on April 8, 2016

Had dinner her Thursday night with friends. The food was amazing , service was excellent - the staff was very friendly, unlike some of the reviews we read before going. So glad we chose this restaurant to start off our 4 day vacation in LA!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Well-rounded Italian, fresh & exquisitely prepared

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Candle lighting (check), cheeky chochskis (check), friendly servers (check), spacious tables and seating (check). Took my girlfriend here for her birthday dinner and it was a perfectly executed meal: octopus that was perfectly tender and well-seasoned, the creamiest burratta salad, with amazing fresh tomato and basil, and the fantastic veal chop - medium rare - which melts in your mouth, brick oven baked to a perfect shade of pink consistent through its body. The blackberry crumble to finish was outstanding. The birthday girl enjoyed the soufflé, though I found this to be the most pedestrian part of the meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Super high prices-gnocchi so over cooked ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on April 2, 2016

Super high prices-gnocchi so over cooked it was mush -had to send it back-the room was the best thing about the restaurant-

Would not return-

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.