About Capitol Garage

1500 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of 15th and K, Capitol Garage is within walking distance of the capitol, convention center and Sacramento community theater, and has been a midtown icon for over 19 years. The menu spans the globe and has an eclectic mix to satisfy your culinary desires! Chef Raphael Kendall uses only the finest ingredients in his crowd pleasing dishes and offers them to you at an affordable price. Be sure not miss our delicious selection of house made artisan chocolates and indulgent cheesecakes, and our Weekend Brunch is the talk of the town with mouthwatering items such as the Dragon benedict with vegetable medley and our vegan biscuits and gravy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Comfort Food, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday Brunch & Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
15th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-3633

Website:
http://capitolgarage.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment to please all tastes!, Dance Hall Reggae(Friday nights 10-2) to Karaoke(Sunday night 9-2). Check out Capitolgarage.com for up to date info!

Catering:
We are a full service catering company. Please go to our website Capitolgarage.com for more details.

Parking Details:
Street parking where available, no metering after 6pm or on Sundays.

Executive Chef:
Raphael Kendall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining is perfect for hosting birthday parties, wedding rehearsals and many other events.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Mitchell: 8772758842

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We will be hosting an Art Dinner featuring Local Artist Aaron Hood ( hoodlyart.com ) with a special menu for art goers.

Restaurant Photos

B.L.T.
Garage Fries
Bacon Breakfast Sandwich
Southwest Salad
Banana Walnut Truffle
Chicken Winter Hash
Yala Noodles
The Other Half
Winter Nut Burger
Spicy Bloody Mary
Upside Down
Bourbon And Water
Vegan BLT
Sailor Piggy
Blue Ice
Blue Rock Candy
BBQ Brisket
Bacon Cheeseburger with Fried Egg
Gourmet Fries
Grilled Cheese Sandwich
Grilled Cheese And Gourmet Fries
Burger
Traditional Benedict
Eggs Benedict
Garage Spinach Salad
Chicken Tenders And Fries
Biscuits and Gravy
Jalapeno Biscuits And Gravy
Fruit Plate
Fiji French Toast
Sweet Potato Hash
Grilled Chicken Yala Noodle Bowl
Country Hash
BBQ Tofu
Brisket Tacos
Sausage Sliders
Monte Cristo
Turkey And Cheese Omelete
La Bajada Shredded Pork Benedict
Tofu Scramble
Spinach Salad
Mushroom Omelette
Nut Sweet Potato Burger
Chicken Tenders
Breakfast Burrito
Chilli Tofu
Frittata
Brunch Burrito
Fruit Plate First Course Brunch
Pastrami Scra
La Bajada
Smoked Salmon Eggs Benedict
Beef Brisket Eggs Benefict
Salmon BLT
White Chocolate Mocha

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Special valid Jun 29, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour!

Special valid Jun 29, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details

$1 off Small Plates $1 off Drafts $3 Wells $4 Wines $5 Margaritas $5 Long Islands $5 Absolut and Jameson. Excludes Tax and Tip. *Dine-in only *Cannot be combined with Groupon. Special valid Jun 29, 2016 - Sep 30, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 7:00 PM.

Capitol Garage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.6

ambience

3.6

value

3.6

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Sacramento / Sacramento Valley
Great for Lunch
Sacramento
Best Restaurants in Sacramento ›

Great for Lunch (20)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
See All
Great for Brunch (7)
Hot Spot (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Good for Groups (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (4)
Kid-friendly (4)
Scenic View (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
681 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I wish that the vegan dinner entrees wer ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 17, 2016

I wish that the vegan dinner entrees were as numerous and tasty as what is offered for breakfast.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value4

Capital Garage used to be one of my favo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Capital Garage used to be one of my favorite restaurants but sadly it has gone significantly downhill. The food was bad and overpriced. The kitchen said food was gluten free that wasn't and ended up causing issues for my friend. I'm sad we decided to come here. I definitely will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

Even though we had a reservation, we had ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Even though we had a reservation, we had to wait 15 minutes to be seated. They were not busy. It seemed like they weren't sure what they were doing. The bartender refused service to a member of a party and told him to sit back down at our table and wait for the server to take his drink order. We were served a cup of lemons after having been seated for approx. 10 minutes. Another 10 minutes went by and we finally got water. The food did not come out as ordered and it was nothing special. We split our bill between a few debit cards and we had written down how much should go on each card to make it easier on the server. They accidentally charged us each our portion plus the entire bill on one persons card (we were double charged). They couldn't seem to figure out how to void the charge. The service was slow and they seemed to not know what they were doing and the food wasn't all that great. I wouldn't return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Vegan menu improving. While the new men ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

Vegan menu improving. While the new menu has a few decent vegan options and is better than the most recent menu, the choices are still quite limited compared to when there were several tofu options available in the past. Current vegan options are mostly limited to dishes with black beans. The current emphasis on burgers and removal of fish and rib entrees was a disappointment to the omnivores in our party.

Has gone from our most frequented restaurant to somewhere we only go on occasion now.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

I have heard the food here is good, but ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I have heard the food here is good, but I can't speak from experience as we were unable to eat here despite making reservations. I gave everything middle ratings because ratings are required, but will update if I am ever able to actually dine at this restaurant. We made brunch reservations for noon on a Saturday. On the way to the restaurant we got stuck traffic and tried to call the restaurant to let them know we would be a few min late. The phone just rang and rang. Eventually an automatic greeting told us that the mailbox was full - please hang up. We confirmed that we had the correct phone number, and tried calling again 5 min later, and then again 10 min later, but with the same result. We decided to eat elsewhere since it seemed that either the restaurant was unexpectedly closed that day or the staff was completely overwhelmed (and thus would be unlikely to provide reasonably quick service). I would proceed with caution, and have a back up plan if you make reservations at Capitol Garage.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Always good, not great but very dependab ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Always good, not great but very dependable. We come here once a month for brunch.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a 12:15 lunch reservation. Finally ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Had a 12:15 lunch reservation. Finally got food at 1:40 pm. Server had to bag it since the four of us were late for our conference which had resumed at 1:15. Still had to walk 6 blocks to get back to the hotel. Server was apologetic saying something about the kitchen being too small? Seriously? Won't go back or recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value1

French toast!!

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

French toast!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were a group of 12 friends who met fo ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We were a group of 12 friends who met for dinner before Music Circus. The selection of food choices was fabulous, the food was great and very reasonable. The best was the staff - very friendly and incredibly accommodating in providing us with separate checks. We all agreed that we will be back soon!!

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was ok. Nothing to write home about. ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

It was ok. Nothing to write home about. Service was good but the food was just average. If I worked nearby I would go again but wouldn't make it a special trip destination.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Went for brunch.Overall good with pptent ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Went for brunch.Overall good with pptential to better.A mixture of great aspects (friendly service,atmosphere and memorable food quality like the eggsBenedict,potatoes,the hummus,mushroom gravy on biscuits).there were a few food-related negatives:o: omelette very dry,biscuits seemed homemade but were dry in the middle,they came back to tell us that they were out of key dish ingredients after we ordered (mushrooms for the mushroom benedict , chicken for the jicama salad with chicken)so we had to reorder a couple times.they also failed to serve items ordered the way they listed them on the menu. Service started out nicely but waitress was scarce after food was finally delivered.good but could be better.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

All you can drink mimosas were great! Se ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

All you can drink mimosas were great! Service was a slow but they did bring us some bread pudding to make up for it!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The food and drinks were delicious! The ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food and drinks were delicious! The staff was nice. My only complaint was how long it took to get the food and that there was a long delay between each person in our party of 10 getting their food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Were not very accommodating to our being ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Were not very accommodating to our being in a hurry. Served a table of 6 and a table of 2 who arrived after us first. Food was great but had to eat too fast!

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Delicious food and awesome service.

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Delicious food and awesome service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Made a reservation to dine before going ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Made a reservation to dine before going to the theatre. It took 50 minutes for our food to be served. The food was excellent, but we had to rush. Manager helped with the bill which was very nice of him. They also held our leftovers as we did not want have other theatre patrons smell our leftovers.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Good food, very understaffed during busy times

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

My daughter and I planned our evening meal here before attending a musical across the street at the Sacramento Community Theatre. We'd heard the food was good and really enjoyed the Capitol Garage Fries; the hamburgers were good. We had planned to eat 2 hours before the show and were quite nervous when it took over a half an hour between arriving for our reservation and ordering. It was another 45 minutes before our food arrived. It was a busy time as others had planned on eating before the show as well; a couple seated about 10 minutes after we arrived had to have their food boxed up as there was not time to finish their meal and make it to the show on time. I would eat here again but only during off times or when I didn't have an event to attend after dinner.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

Terrible, horrible, disinterested servic ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 25, 2016

Terrible, horrible, disinterested service. 3 different wait staff NEVER brought us water or silverware after we asked each of them.

But the service was also super SLOW!!!

Never going back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

It was our first visit, my husband, my s ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

It was our first visit, my husband, my son, and myself. We were attending a musical and had been unable to find another reservation at our requested time. However, we will definitely be returning. I haven't had a hamburger or steak or other piece of beef that was cooked to my perfect medium rare expectations in years, and I eat out often. My son's pork chop elicited the same positive response, as did my husbands burger. Service was excellent and the prices were a real value. The portions were substantial, and we all took food home.

My husband and I are mid-late70s, and my son is in his 50s, we enjoy eating out but we don't go downtown a lot. The Capitol Garage gives us a reason to change that. The location is good, nearby parking was available and reasonable, especially for a Saturday night. Overall, not being able to find another reservation turned out to be very good for us.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Table had not been wiped clean before we ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

Table had not been wiped clean before we were seated. Waited a good 10+ min before the waiter came by. Then, we couldn't order drinks because we hadn't been given a wine list. Waiter seemed like there were too many tables...? We didn't get the usual attention.

Black bean burger was good, as usual. A little chintzy on the side of fries. The breakfast burrito was ok - couldn't identify any egg inside of it though, lots of guacamole.

It was hard to find a vegan or vegetarian option on the menu; should be more. We don't want to eat the same few things all the time. Hate ordering items & having chef "hold the meat" or whatever, because then we don't get our $ worth.

The carrot ribbon pasta was delish! the last time we were there, but it does not fill you up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We stopped here for dinner after my fami ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 22, 2016

We stopped here for dinner after my family saw my theatre show at the Centre Theatre. Service was quite slow and even though there weren't that many folks in the restaurant, we didn't really receive the attention we should have. I also felt the food was lack luster.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

We were there for dinner with friends be ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

We were there for dinner with friends before a play. My friends who are semi foodies were struggling with the limited menu. Once the food arrived they were very happy as was myself and husband. There may not be a lot of choices but the quality is superb. I would like to see more "calorie friendly" options and a couple more healthier type appetizers (stuffed mushrooms with seafood/dips and asparagus?). The price range seemed a little high but was offset by the quality. We will be back. Considering the restaurant caters to a full house before the show they did a great job of trying to get people feed and out timely. It did take 30 minutes to get our food but we waited to order due to gabbing too much and by then the restaurant was very very busy. We will be back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

Pre-theater dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 19, 2016

A great and convenient spot for dinner before a show. The parking garage on the corner is a deal at a$6 flat rate. The menu has something for everyone - gluten free, vegetarian, and meat eater. This is a specially good deal with the recent Group-on offer of $20 for $30 of food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Our server Steph was AWESOME...love pers ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Steph was AWESOME...love personality combined with good service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The NY steak was very good. The corn on ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

The NY steak was very good. The corn on the cob was excellent. I wasn't sure if my 65+ parents were going to like a hip gastropub, but the were pleasantly surprised by the excellent customer service and great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Love this place but the service every vi ...

vip
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

Love this place but the service every visit has been slow and surly. But the food is so good it is worth dealing with the service. They have fantastic vegetarian options and I am not a vegetarian.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Horrible experience

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

We had reservations for 4 at 1`2:30 Sunday before the community center performance of Newsies. We were seated at 12:30. Gave the waitress our order. At 1:30 we still hadn't receive our food. We had to leave. They kept telling us our order would be out in 2-3 min. Never happened.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Birthday Brunch

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

I went here with a group of 7 for my birthday. Food was excellent, service was wonderful, and you can't beat $9 bottomless mimosas. The staff even brought out a slice of white chocolate chiffon cake that was absolutely delicious for my birthday. I'll definitely be visiting again soon.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good breakfast. Large portions and good ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

Good breakfast. Large portions and good coffee. And they don't let you see the bottom of the coffee cup! So it's a great place to go to wake up. The raspberry bar was awesome too

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

good food, slow service

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Glad we finally tried Capital Garage, great atmosphere and good beer selection which is from all local breweries. Service was slow but the food was good. If you go there before going to a show, I suggest going 2 hours prior to show so you aren't rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Pre-show Dinner

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

Great place for a pre-play dinner! Convenient (and reasonably priced) parking just a short walk away. Easy walk to theater. Good food and very friendly for vegetarians and gluten free.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Service normally great. Waitress quit pa ...

vip
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 10, 2016

Service normally great. Waitress quit paying any attention to us and the host ended up waiting on us because he noticed we had waited for our food for so long. Which was almost an hour until we got food. Food also not on par with how it usually is. I ordered the dragon Benedict and one of the eggs cooked so long it became a hard boiled egg.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1

Great customer service but okay drinks

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on April 9, 2016

I'm not much of a drinker and asked the waitress what kind of alcohol I should select for a margarita. She recommended the lower quality since the drink is masked by the margarita flavoring. I ordered 2 margaritas and an appetizer. When I received the check I ended up paying $9.50 per margarita. I almost fell out of my chair, because the glass was small and loaded with ice. I just told myself I'll never buy drinks from this place again. Nice atmosphere to hang out with friends and enjoy an appetizer, but not sure about drinks.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Easter brunch was great!

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Easter brunch was great!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Found this place on a Google search for ...

 
 (San Joaquin)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Found this place on a Google search for brunch. Oh boy am I glad I picked this place above the rest! Just the place I've been looking to experience while I'm in Sacramento! Such a trendy place! The unlimited mimosas is what got me there. The food and service is what we'll have me going back for more!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was excellent. We each cleaned our plate

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was friendly and fun. Food was excellent. They really know how to mix flavors. Everything was delish!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Bait & Switch :(

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 23, 2016

When we arrived at 7:30 pm the place was clean, but except for 2 other tables it was empty. Asked for the special they had on the sandwich board outside and was told they stopped serving it at 7:00. We were handed abridged menus, so I mentioned that their website offered numerous more items. Waitress told me what was on the menu she handed us was all they offered. I ordered a Capitol burger 'medium well,' but received a Capitol Burger 'medium-rare.' Needless to say I barely ate half of it, asked for a box and gave the rest to a homeless person sitting outside.

Not one of their finest hours in my opinion and I most likely won't go back

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Forgotten at the Garage

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

Okay food. Great Bloody Mary. Lousy waitress. Sat us, gave us our Bloody Mary's, took our order all within 5 minutes. We had no contact with her for another 45 minutes when I asked where the food was, and she said that the kitchen was having difficulty getting food out. 10 minutes later she comes up from behind me and says our ticket is next. 10 minutes later we get our food. The BM's were gone at about the 30 minute mark, and she never asked if we wanted more. Never told us what was going on. Never acknowledged us. There was plenty of wait staff, because when we did get our food, it was delivered by someone else. She definitely needs more training on how to be a good waitress. I would have dealt with the wait if she had of kept us informed, we should have had our drinks refilled or even been given water, and the management should have given away hors d'oeuvres for making us wait so long.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Great staff

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 19, 2016

Great location. We were in a hurry to get to a show on time and the staff was very considerate and helped us get out on time. Food was good and I appreciated that I could make a reservation.

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

They didn't put in all our orders so 3 ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

They didn't put in all our orders so 3 people were done eating before the fourth person's meal came out. They also claimed I didn't have a reservation even though they had called confirm it earlier that day.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.