About Capitol Garage

1500 K Street
Sacramento, CA 95814
View Larger Map

Located at the corner of 15th and K, Capitol Garage is within walking distance of the capitol, convention center and Sacramento community theater, and has been a midtown icon for over 19 years. The menu spans the globe and has an eclectic mix to satisfy your culinary desires! Chef Raphael Kendall uses only the finest ingredients in his crowd pleasing dishes and offers them to you at an affordable price. Be sure not miss our delicious selection of house made artisan chocolates and indulgent cheesecakes, and our Weekend Brunch is the talk of the town with mouthwatering items such as the Dragon benedict with vegetable medley and our vegan biscuits and gravy.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Fusion / Eclectic, Californian

Hours of Operation:
Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:00am; Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Sunday: 5:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday Brunch & Sunday Brunch: 8:00am - 3:00pm

Cross Street:
15th

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(916) 444-3633

Website:
http://capitolgarage.com/

Entertainment:
Entertainment to please all tastes!, Dance Hall Reggae(Friday nights 10-2) to Karaoke(Sunday night 9-2). Check out Capitolgarage.com for up to date info!

Catering:
We are a full service catering company. Please go to our website Capitolgarage.com for more details.

Executive Chef:
Raphael Kendall

Private Party Facilities:
Our private dining is perfect for hosting birthday parties, wedding rehearsals and many other events.

Private Party Contact:
Jerry Mitchell: 8772758842

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Cafe, Counter Seating, Dancing, Delivery, Entertainment, Farm to Table, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
It's that season again and love is in the air. We want everyone to come by to enjoy a great dinner. On Febuary 14 we will offering our Valentine's dinner. This lovely meal will include an appetizers, entree and a dessert. ($30 total)

Restaurant Photos

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

Father's Day Special Menus & Reservations

Sunday, June 19, 2016

Details
It's time, fathers. We will have a bloody mary menu available all day long, with special Dad's plates sure to satisfy any hunger, no matter how large.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun - Thu 4:00PM - 5:00PM 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Fri - Sat 9:00PM - 10:00PM

Capitol Garage Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.6

ambience

3.5

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

great for lunch (17)
great for outdoor dining (13)
fit for foodies (12)
See All
neighborhood gem (11)
great for brunch (10)
hot spot (9)
late-night find (6)
good for groups (6)
vibrant bar scene (5)
special occasion (4)
scenic view (3)
romantic (2)
kid-friendly (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
660 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

It was our first visit, my husband, my s ...

Dined 4 days ago

It was our first visit, my husband, my son, and myself. We were attending a musical and had been unable to find another reservation at our requested time. However, we will definitely be returning. I haven't had a hamburger or steak or other piece of beef that was cooked to my perfect medium rare expectations in years, and I eat out often. My son's pork chop elicited the same positive response, as did my husbands burger. Service was excellent and the prices were a real value. The portions were substantial, and we all took food home. My husband and I are mid-late70s, and my son is in his 50s, we enjoy eating out but we don't go downtown a lot. The Capitol Garage gives us a reason to change that. The location is good, nearby parking was available and reasonable, especially for a Saturday night. Overall, not being able to find another reservation turned out to be very good for us.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

We were there for dinner with friends be ...

Dined 5 days ago

We were there for dinner with friends before a play. My friends who are semi foodies were struggling with the limited menu. Once the food arrived they were very happy as was myself and husband. There may not be a lot of choices but the quality is superb. I would like to see more "calorie friendly" options and a couple more healthier type appetizers (stuffed mushrooms with seafood/dips and asparagus?). The price range seemed a little high but was offset by the quality. We will be back. Considering the restaurant caters to a full house before the show they did a great job of trying to get people feed and out timely. It did take 30 minutes to get our food but we waited to order due to gabbing too much and by then the restaurant was very very busy. We will be back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Pre-theater dinner

Dined 7 days ago

A great and convenient spot for dinner before a show. The parking garage on the corner is a deal at a$6 flat rate. The menu has something for everyone - gluten free, vegetarian, and meat eater. This is a specially good deal with the recent Group-on offer of $20 for $30 of food.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Steph was AWESOME...love pers ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Our server Steph was AWESOME...love personality combined with good service!

food5
ambience4
service5

The NY steak was very good. The corn on ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

The NY steak was very good. The corn on the cob was excellent. I wasn't sure if my 65+ parents were going to like a hip gastropub, but the were pleasantly surprised by the excellent customer service and great food.

food5
ambience5
service3

Love this place but the service every vi ...

Dined on May 1, 2016

Love this place but the service every visit has been slow and surly. But the food is so good it is worth dealing with the service. They have fantastic vegetarian options and I am not a vegetarian.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Horrible experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

We had reservations for 4 at 1`2:30 Sunday before the community center performance of Newsies. We were seated at 12:30. Gave the waitress our order. At 1:30 we still hadn't receive our food. We had to leave. They kept telling us our order would be out in 2-3 min. Never happened.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday Brunch

Dined on April 16, 2016

I went here with a group of 7 for my birthday. Food was excellent, service was wonderful, and you can't beat $9 bottomless mimosas. The staff even brought out a slice of white chocolate chiffon cake that was absolutely delicious for my birthday. I'll definitely be visiting again soon.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service3

Good breakfast. Large portions and good ...

Dined on April 16, 2016

Good breakfast. Large portions and good coffee. And they don't let you see the bottom of the coffee cup! So it's a great place to go to wake up. The raspberry bar was awesome too

food3
ambience4
service2
value4

good food, slow service

Dined on April 14, 2016

Glad we finally tried Capital Garage, great atmosphere and good beer selection which is from all local breweries. Service was slow but the food was good. If you go there before going to a show, I suggest going 2 hours prior to show so you aren't rushed.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Pre-show Dinner

Dined on April 14, 2016

Great place for a pre-play dinner! Convenient (and reasonably priced) parking just a short walk away. Easy walk to theater. Good food and very friendly for vegetarians and gluten free.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service1

Service normally great. Waitress quit pa ...

vip
Dined on April 10, 2016

Service normally great. Waitress quit paying any attention to us and the host ended up waiting on us because he noticed we had waited for our food for so long. Which was almost an hour until we got food. Food also not on par with how it usually is. I ordered the dragon Benedict and one of the eggs cooked so long it became a hard boiled egg.

food2
ambience5
service5
value2

Great customer service but okay drinks

Dined on April 9, 2016

I'm not much of a drinker and asked the waitress what kind of alcohol I should select for a margarita. She recommended the lower quality since the drink is masked by the margarita flavoring. I ordered 2 margaritas and an appetizer. When I received the check I ended up paying $9.50 per margarita. I almost fell out of my chair, because the glass was small and loaded with ice. I just told myself I'll never buy drinks from this place again. Nice atmosphere to hang out with friends and enjoy an appetizer, but not sure about drinks.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Found this place on a Google search for ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

Found this place on a Google search for brunch. Oh boy am I glad I picked this place above the rest! Just the place I've been looking to experience while I'm in Sacramento! Such a trendy place! The unlimited mimosas is what got me there. The food and service is what we'll have me going back for more!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was excellent. We each cleaned our plate

Dined on March 27, 2016

Service was friendly and fun. Food was excellent. They really know how to mix flavors. Everything was delish!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

Bait & Switch :(

Dined on March 23, 2016

When we arrived at 7:30 pm the place was clean, but except for 2 other tables it was empty. Asked for the special they had on the sandwich board outside and was told they stopped serving it at 7:00. We were handed abridged menus, so I mentioned that their website offered numerous more items. Waitress told me what was on the menu she handed us was all they offered. I ordered a Capitol burger 'medium well,' but received a Capitol Burger 'medium-rare.' Needless to say I barely ate half of it, asked for a box and gave the rest to a homeless person sitting outside. Not one of their finest hours in my opinion and I most likely won't go back

Tags: late-night find
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

Forgotten at the Garage

Dined on March 20, 2016

Okay food. Great Bloody Mary. Lousy waitress. Sat us, gave us our Bloody Mary's, took our order all within 5 minutes. We had no contact with her for another 45 minutes when I asked where the food was, and she said that the kitchen was having difficulty getting food out. 10 minutes later she comes up from behind me and says our ticket is next. 10 minutes later we get our food. The BM's were gone at about the 30 minute mark, and she never asked if we wanted more. Never told us what was going on. Never acknowledged us. There was plenty of wait staff, because when we did get our food, it was delivered by someone else. She definitely needs more training on how to be a good waitress. I would have dealt with the wait if she had of kept us informed, we should have had our drinks refilled or even been given water, and the management should have given away hors d'oeuvres for making us wait so long.

food3
ambience3
service4
value3

Great staff

Dined on March 19, 2016

Great location. We were in a hurry to get to a show on time and the staff was very considerate and helped us get out on time. Food was good and I appreciated that I could make a reservation.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

They didn't put in all our orders so 3 ...

Dined on March 18, 2016

They didn't put in all our orders so 3 people were done eating before the fourth person's meal came out. They also claimed I didn't have a reservation even though they had called confirm it earlier that day.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Great service. Food was okay.

Dined on March 11, 2016

The service was great, very attentive. The kitchen was very slow and the food was average at best. My risotto was watery rice with too much corn. It was not a risotto in my opinion. The rice crispy treats were awesome.

Tags: great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

We were disappointed with the menu. We h ...

Dined on February 28, 2016

We were disappointed with the menu. We had been to Capitol Garage several times in the past and found the previous menu much more interesting. Some dishes were good; others were disappointing.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Tried this restaurant for the first time ...

vip
Dined on February 21, 2016

Tried this restaurant for the first time for Sunday brunch and was very happy with the selection and quality of food served. Love the endless Bloody Marys which they offer when you order a meal. Will definitely go back to this restaurant!!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food1
ambience1
service1

We had to leave as they had their Valent ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

We had to leave as they had their Valentine's day menu on offer only. It was $30 per person and we had 5 kids and 6 adults in our group. They did not have kids menu either. On their Valentine's day menu the choices were very limited for our group as we only eat fish and chicken. The host was kind enough to call across the street and get us a table at Cafeteria 151 (I guess that's what the name is). I was very disappointed as the host called to confirmed the reservation on the phone but did not mention about their special menu at that time to me. He took my phone number and said that the manager will be contacting me to at least offer something in return for our ruined Valentine's Dinner and surprise.

food5
ambience3
service5

Great food - Excellent service - we had ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Great food - Excellent service - we had a prefix menu $30 each for Valentine's Day and the selection was great. I had Shrimp Fettuccine with home made noodles - the other meal was vegan vegetables and carrot noodles excellent. The only improvement would have been the dessert.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious Valentine's Day menu!

Dined on February 15, 2016

Our dinner was delicious and very well presented, with three courses served at just the right pace for a special Valentine's Day dinner.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service3
value5

new menu

vip
Dined on February 7, 2016

Had been our favorite and most frequented restaurant. We are used to menu changes here periodically but are very unhappy with the current menu. Spouse is vegan, and I usually prefer to order vegan food here as well. While there are still several vegan options, they are far less appealing than what has been available over the last several years. Tofu is no longer even an option. At least vegan desert options remain good. Non-vegan menu remains a very good value with good sized portions for the price.

food3
ambience2
service2

Food was ok - nothing remarkable althoug ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

Food was ok - nothing remarkable although the fries appetizer with sweet soy was tasty. Service was so-so. Never brought the plates for the appetizer that the waiter himself brought up saying he forgot them. Finally brought a steak knife for the meat after realizing he forgot that too and after two different waiters were asked - it arrived after about 10-15 minutes and laborious attempts at trying to 'saw' the steak with a butter knife. It wasn't horrible overall, but we definitely won't go back. Spend you money elsewhere and enjoy yourself.

food4
ambience2
service4
value2

Very good food, but smallish and loudish

Dined on February 1, 2016

Enjoyed the food, but a bit of a short menu for what I've seen in Midtown. Also, although the food was tasty, I just didn't feel the pricing matched up. Loud to me for a small place...and it wasn't very busy so just bad acoustics I suppose.

food1
ambience3
service3

The first pastrami melt that was brought ...

vip
Dined on January 23, 2016

The first pastrami melt that was brought out to me was cold as were the burnt fries which were also cold. I told another server and she took it back to be remade. This time the food was hot but there was barely any fillings in the sandwich especially for the $13 price.

food1
ambience2
service3
value3

Small portions/unseasoned fiid

vip
Dined on January 2, 2016

This was our 2nd and final visit here. Both times the food was under seasoned and overcooked. Our second waitress was nice, but had too many tables. Service was VERY slow. The portions seemed to be kid-sized. They are many other places to go and get a much better meal.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Capitol Garage a Great Find in Downtown

Dined on January 1, 2016

Went on NYE with a group of 6 and they were great about accomodating us a few minutes early. Our waitress was ON it! and we were a needy group! The cocktail menu looked great, but we were not in the mood for that so didn't try it. All the food was good (I must confess I didn't like my Mac n' Cheese--too smoky for my tastes, but others at my table were happy to eat so maybe it was just me). I think this would be a great spot when the weather is nice and they roll up the garage doors. Also close to theaters, etc. We'll be back.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Fun NYE Dinner

Dined on January 1, 2016

We had tickets for the theater at the Community Center on NYE and were looking for a restaurant that was nearby, not too expensive, and would take reservations for our group of 6. Capitol Garage fit the bill, perfectly. An easy walk to the theater. I understand that my experience was probably out of the norm, as it was a holiday. Although the Garage Fries were the yummiest thing I've had in a long while, my hamburger was undercooked (I ordered it medium) and the bun was mushy on the bottom while being very "bready" on the top (I finally discarded the top bun and ate with a fork). The spinach salad my friend ordered was very good - just the right amount of dressing. The mac 'n cheese app, ordered by another friend, was mushy but tasty. I suspect if we'd gone on a "regular night," the food would be more carefully prepared. We will definitely be back.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find in Sac

vip
Dined on January 1, 2016

Great food with reasonable prices. Very eclectic locale.

Tags: fit for foodies, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service4

Small place. Service is slow but food i ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

Small place. Service is slow but food is fantastic and wait staff friendly.

food4
ambience3
service4
value5

Anna and Joe

Dined on December 26, 2015

Found this neat restaurant online, one of the few open on Christmas. We had a good time and the service and food was great. Would recommend this restaurant to anyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

A casual place with bright paintings and ...

Dined on December 26, 2015

A casual place with bright paintings and surprisingly great food1

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

SKIP THIS PLACE!

Dined on December 25, 2015

Terrible service and rude management. I would not recommend this place to anyone. We waited 1 hour and 15 minutes for our food, only to send it back because it was cold. We only saw our waitress twice. Food was good, but not worth the wait. Save yourself time and frustration, skip this place.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun brunch

Dined on December 25, 2015

Went for brunch om Christmas day and was not disappointed. The staff was cheerful and the food was all around good. I had the steelhead benedict and they were kind enough to make it with gluten free bread. It was amazing! Drinks were tasty and the bill was less than I expected.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service4

Nothing Special

Dined on December 16, 2015

We visited for an early dinner before B Street Theatre. Because our reservation was very early at 4:45, there were only a few others in the restaurant. The menu offered something for everyone, and my husband and I both ordered the Pastrami Melt along with drinks. Our meal was delivered in a timely fashion - a large sandwich and overflowing fries. The pastrami was good, but the sandwich was ruined by undercooked bacon. At first bite I felt like I was chewing on a greasy rubbery slab of fat, and I removed the remainder of the bacon from the sandwich. After I cut off the undercooked fat, I replaced the rest of the bacon, and the sandwich was edible. The fries were nothing special - a mixture of some firm and crispy along with some soft. 2 pet peeves: 1. The menu states that the sandwich comes with fries; however, to substitute small house salad or soup, it will be an additional $2. Really? To swap out the overflowing portion of mediocre fries? Come on, people! $2 for a few vegetables or cup of soup? Are you going to give me a credit for the fries that I am not eating? 2. The check came to $34.87, and we paid cash. When the change came back, we received only the paper money, not the 13 cents in change. No explanation. This is not the first time that this has happened in an area restaurant; in fact, it seems to be a growing trend. My 13 cents may seem insignificant, but how much coinage is accumulated in a day, a week, etc? In conclusion: Undercooked bacon Ridiculous overcharge for salad instead of fries Keeping some of my change (which is actually stealing!) The service was good I cannot recommend this restaurant, and I will not be eating there again.

food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Nope!

Dined on November 1, 2015

Went here for brunch and had reservations. They were still 30 minutes late in seating us. We ordered food and waited a long time. Servers kept saying "10 more minutes" and we finally had enough and left. The food was coming out as we were walking out the door, but at that point it had been about an hour since we ordered. What bothered me the most was the waitress saying "Well we're always busy, haven't you been here before? It takes about an hour that's why there's drinks." Very callous, and accepting of the long wait for food.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.