Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Capitol ChopHouse

Located 1 block from the capitol square in downtown Madison we are a classic steakhouse that supports local farmers and fresh seasonal ingredients whenever possible. We offer intimate private dining space for your special event, seasonal wine, beer, and cocktail dinners, and free parking right off the square. We carry Midwest beef, fresh seafood, WI craft beer on draft, and a thoughtful and focused wine selection.

9 East Wilson
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:30am, Saturday, Sunday 7am-12pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday, Sunday 12pm-2pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Pinckney Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 255-0165

Website:
http://www.capitolchophouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary underground and valet parking available for Restaurant Guests in the attached Hilton Madison Hotel's parking ramp.

Executive Chef:
Sean Pharr

Private Party Facilities:
Capitol ChopHouse offers two private dining rooms, which are able to accommodate groups ranging in size from 5 to 40 people, and will be more than happy to have a special menu created to cater specifically to your parties needs: from cocktail receptions to multi-course dinners. Complimentary underground parking available for all dining guests.

Private Party Contact:
Eric Knapton: (608) 260-2364

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Capitol ChopHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.4

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.8

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Quiet

94% would recommend it to a friend

Special Occasion (6)
Good for a Date (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
See All
Good for Anniversaries (5)
Notable Wine List (5)
Business Meals (3)
Casual (3)
Cozy (3)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Private Room (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Romantic (2)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Authentic (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Sort By:
S
703 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Outstanding dining experience. Our waiter, and staff were exceptional including hostess, bartender and chef. We had a special celebration, and they all contributed to a very memorable evening. Highly recommend The Capitol Chophouse to anyone!!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Tasting Menu, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Romantic, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Superb salads, steaks were flavorful and perfectly cooked. Decent beer menu, terrific wine selections. Limited outdoor seating but pleasant atmosphere. Service was top notch. Would return anytime, and plan to soon. Only downside: limited vegetarian choices. But duh. It's a chophouse!

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent meal! Our filets were prepared perfectly. Order a half-size Chopped Salad before your entree and you will not be disappointed! We also tried the grilled asparagus, but prepared with the garlic and chili oil typically used with the broccoli. Again it was excellent! The homemade lavendar blueberry ice cream was a great way to end our meal. Logan, our server, was extremely attentive and knowledgeable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Had a business meeting. Atmosphere was very open, not much privacy. Service was excellent. Menu was limited for lunch but had a nice variety of options.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 24, 2017

Anniversary

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on June 16, 2017

We enjoyed the experience very much. The prime ribs were generous in size and very tasty. Very juicy and did not dry out before finishing. Fine dining and good food is a lost art these days, but the Capitol Chophouse was tops in both areas. I recommend this place highly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We stayed at the Hilton and was attending a 1:00 performance at the Overture Center so the Chophouse seemed like a perfect choice for Mother's Day Brunch.
The host and waiter made the visit get off a slow start with seating us and getting our drinks. The food was very good and the ambiance was better than I even expected. For a small space (with one exit being right into the lobby), we felt like we were far away from the hotel. Upon finishing up our meal and needing to check out, the waiter was able to pass by our table numerous times without asking us how everything was or offering to get out check. My husband left to get us checked out and eventually I was left alone to sit and wait for the check. Finally when I sat some with credit card in hand, he offered to take care of paying for the meal. Surprising a big tip was already included in our check which was way more than he ever deserved.
We might go back again but hope to have a different host and waiter!

Tags: Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We've been twice in the past year and both times have had excellent waitstaff, but other than that there is nothing to recommend about it. The room is fairly sterile, the food bland and unremarkable. We tried dinner and we tried brunch (Mother's Day) and I think we will wait for a re-boot before we try again.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

vip
 (Raleigh)·Dined on May 3, 2017

Excellent overall meal and experience. Friendly and very helpful wait staff.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 29, 2017

Wonderful food, relaxed atmosphere and professional service. I have had both lunch and dinner here, and I always recommend it to others. Our server was delightful. She was warm, helpful, professional, and seems to enjoy working there, and it shows. Thank you for a fun and delicious night!

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on April 20, 2017

Service outstanding. Best muscles ever had. Crab legs great. Aged steak outstanding. Highly recommend.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 14, 2017

We always feel very welcome at the Capitol Chophouse. The drinks are generous and the service is flawless. I like the new sourdough baguette bread from Madison Sourdough.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on April 7, 2017

The Chop House stands out for two main things: great food, especially the steaks and quiet allowing for normal conversation.

Tags: Authentic, Romantic, Notable Wine List, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 18, 2017

The bread was sooooo hard to bite through; too thick, too tough. Over-priced for what you're getting. There are other restaurants now that serve comparable quality food for much cheaper.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a lovely evening. The food was good. Our server, Tanner, was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This place was AMAZING! Went for my sister's 18th birthday. I had the crab cakes and clam chowder. Crab cakes were delicious and the clam chowder was literallY THE BEST I have ever had. The service was great and very friendly. I asked the hostess if they could surprise my sister with the lava cake which they happily took care of and it was completely complimentary. Will definitely be coming back in the near future!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 25, 2017

We went to Capitol ChopHouse to celebrate a birthday. We chose it because of the menu we read online. However, the menu online didn't match the menu in house! Our server was wonderful though and explained new chef, etc... We weren't disappointed. Our food was great. The crab cakes were the best I've had in a long time. And they had crab legs already cracked open - hooray! The steak eaters in the group were all impressed and happy with their choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 14, 2017

Immediately upon entering the Chophouse, I could tell I was in for a rare treat. I had expected a high class experience, but I was blown away. Even the lobby exuded extravagance. The hostess quickly took our coats and even presented my date with a rose, a great little addition to help set the mood of the night. Upon ordering, I was a little uncomfortable with the prices but it wasn't terrible considering the experience. Our waiter was prompt, smooth, and extremely polite. The food took quite awhile to come, this is not a place to come if you have somewhere to be, but it was well worth the wait. The steak was perfect in every way and the sides didn't let me down either. My biggest complaint for the night was how long it took to get my check. I waited nearly an hour after both my companion and I were finished before finally waiving down the hostess to assist me. Overall, a great experience. 9.2/10

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Expensive but delicious! Service was attentive, food was great - just a bit expensive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Excellent service and food!!! The primrose rib was perfection!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 11, 2017

We went there 5 years ago for our anniversary and it was so much better then. It was a 4 or 5 course meal and the food was better. We were looking forward to go back for years, we were a bit let down. Not worth the price anymore.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was outstanding I thought. The space is very small, however, and some of the tables are jammed in pretty close to each other. My daughter and I were in between two other tables and we were all sorta having conversations together as the proximity was New York City cafe style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Tanner was server and did a very nice job. Food was OK but not outstanding. Not in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 26, 2017

The food and service here were second to none. We came here for restaurant week and everything from the starter to the desert was delicious. Needless to we will be back in the near future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 10, 2017

Some of the staff were attentive, others not so much. My steak was overcooked (in fairness to the restaraunt, I did NOT make this known to my server). Since I was staying at the hotel, and it was convenient, I had lunch there the next day. Food was good, not great; service was passable but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 7, 2017

As always, the Chophouse did not disappoint. It is our go to celebratory restaurant. Their service is second to none. The wait staff is professional, friendly and down to earth while the food is exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food was great! We went on New Year's Eve, I assume the holiday made it busier (slower) than normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This restaurant was a disaster; at this pricepoint, the meals and service should be perfect! It was just the opposite- our meals were served cold and had to be sent back. Food quality was questionable! We were not the only people that had complaints- we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Escargot en croute and Caesar salad are recommended with any steak on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Delivered the wrong steak to my customer, Caesar salad was heavy on dressing, wife's steak was tough and the broccoli was over seasoned with spices. I have eaten at this restaurant before with no issues, this time is was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 24, 2016

This is our original Christmas Eve spot, and we were so glad when we found out that it would be open for Christmas Eve again this year (not very many places are). Our waiter, Clay, was friendly and approachable and added to the fun. My Amish chicken was buttery and delicious; my mother was pleasantly surprised that her brandy old fashioned was actually muddled. Thanks for letting our tradition continue!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice overall but I can't see paying these prices for the food and lack of ambiance. Tables were too close together. Unfortunately it does not compare to the likes of Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place for a family gathering for the holidays

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 14, 2016

waiter needs work. didn't fill water glasses and had to walk to the bar to get wine. not a fan of the new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 10, 2016

Service wasn't what I have previously experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 29, 2016

Rack of lamb. Medium rare. Superb!
Salmon delicious
Only complaint was glass of red wine had been open awhile. It was cheerfully replaced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I first ate at the Chophouse 2 years ago for
their Thanksgiving buffet. It was reasonable and delicious. The next year went again with family and to our disappointment there was no buffet only a small menu. We ordered the only thing on the menus that sounded half
way appealing which was a hamburger topped with an egg, so basically like a small
breakfast. More like an appetizer!
This year again called and made a reservation-after much thought. I thought I would view the menu online and decide from there. I brought my son there and we had the
"Thanksgiving dinner."
The biggest joke was that they gave us
A small tray of ice cold pastries to start with.
Then immediately after came the entree.
For around 26 bucks each we got 2 small circle slices of turkey, and a "sausage patty" so the menu described it as. When I told the waiter the sausage patty was good I asked him what exactly it was. Turned out to be gizzard and liver. I about barfed it up! Gross. It didn't say that at all in the menu.
And I think we got a small amount of something else that was not even memorable. So I gave the Chophouse another chance which I now regretted! I will
never go back there again. They had a fabulous buffet that they got rid of! I'd be surprised if by this time next year they would even have a restaurant at all!
Don't waste your money or time. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 19, 2016

We came here with some dear friends and were excited to see that prime rib was the special of the night. When it came it was tepid. Our fault for not calling it to the attention of the waitstaff as we were heavily into our conversation, but probably won't go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Service was terrible. Had reservations and was seated at the back booth by the kitchen door so there was constant traffic at my back. Ordered our drinks and after 15 minutes signaled the hostess to come over because our waiter wasn't around and said we've been waiting 15 minutes for our drinks and she asked what they were. My drink arrived and 10 minutes later my husbands arrived. The waiter blamed it on a new bartender...said we would get his drink taken off the bill which it never was. The place was not that crowded for the time we had to wait. Husband had the special which was Crab legs. 3 skinny halves (more like Snow crab). I have had better meals at Texas Road House for a 1/4 of the price. My husband is a Hilton Diamond member and this was so disappointing for this type of establishment and the amount of money spent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We went to "audition" Chop House for a rehearsal dinner in the spring by enjoying a meal. The restaurant was quiet; maybe 3 or 4 other tables. The service was slow, and the food, when delivered, was warm, not hot. It was delicious, notwithstanding. We asked some questions about the private dining room and no one knew anything.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.