About Capitol ChopHouse

9 East Wilson
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Located 1 block from the capitol square in downtown Madison we are a classic steakhouse that supports local farmers and fresh seasonal ingredients whenever possible. Our brunch is primary sourced from the Dane County Farmers' Market. We offer intimate private dining space for your special event, seasonal wine, beer, and cocktail dinners, and free parking right off the square. We carry Midwest beef, fresh seafood, WI craft beer on draft, and a thoughtful and focused wine selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Pinckney Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 255-0165

Website:
http://www.capitolchophouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary underground and valet parking available for Restaurant Guests in the attached Hilton Madison Hotel's parking ramp.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lemens

Private Party Facilities:
Capitol ChopHouse offers two private dining rooms, which are able to accommodate groups ranging in size from 5 to 40 people, and will be more than happy to have a special menu created to cater specifically to your parties needs: from cocktail receptions to multi-course dinners. Complimentary underground parking available for all dining guests.
Special Events: The Capitol ChopHouse additionally offers special holiday brunch buffets throughout the year.

These include Thanksgiving, Easter Sunday, Mothers Day and U.W. Graduation weekend.

Additionally we offer a special Christmas Eve dinner every year.

Private Party Contact:
Eric Knapton: 6082602364x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Lava Cake
Clam Chowder
Filet Mignon
Lobster Mac N'cheese
Roasted potatoes
Wedge Salad
Carrot Ca
Prime Rib
Oysters
Tuna Tar
Kentucky Side Car
Mini Shellfish Sampler
Shrimp C
New York Strip
Carrpacio
truffle fries with parmesan

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Capitol ChopHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.5

ambience

4.3

value

3.7

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Special Occasion
Madison
Best Restaurants in Madison ›

Special Occasion (21)
Romantic (11)
Great for Lunch (8)
See All
Good for Groups (7)
Fit for Foodies (7)
Notable Wine List (7)
Great for Brunch (3)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
610 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Hadn't been here for quite awhile. Lunch ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 8, 2016

Hadn't been here for quite awhile. Lunch was surprising good; great value and tasty. Service was top-notch. We weren't rushed at all. Will good again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Rene was a great server & Amanda was a g ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Rene was a great server & Amanda was a great bartender

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

Terrible food...for this price I expect ...

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 28, 2016

Terrible food...for this price I expect much more...I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We dined for restaurant week. I'd say th ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We dined for restaurant week. I'd say the food was decent but nothing like you'd expect would come out of there. I'm glad we only did the restaurant week. I wouldn't spend the normal prices to eat there. Service felt rushed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

We enjoyed our dinner and the service. ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

We enjoyed our dinner and the service. We were expecting the portions to be larger. The prepared plates were small portions.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

First time dining at the Chop House. Wha ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 21, 2016

First time dining at the Chop House. What a treasure! Great food, reasonable prices and nice atmosphere. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The chopped salad heavily covered in dre ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 17, 2016

The chopped salad heavily covered in dressing making the blue cheese taste so overpowering. All our steaks were over done as were the crab legs. My wife's filet (requested as medium) came out almost well to the point the no juices even came from it. The smashed potatoes were dry and bland in taste. I felt bad, we left a lot of food on the table. Good things: the rolls are warm and spreads yummy, the servers are very nice, and the drink menu is large!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

The service was outstanding. I had the p ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

The service was outstanding. I had the prime rib which was cooked to perfection, it melted in my mouth. I also had crab legs which were very tasty.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The mariinis at the Chophouse are the be ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

The mariinis at the Chophouse are the best anywhere. The service is always great and attentive. Usually a great meal. However recently the crab cake was not fresh and after a bite we sent it back. It made Susan sick. But the calamari was as good as always. A half order is perfect as an appetizer for two. I think the kitchen needs some attention though.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value3

After eating at Rare, I did not think I ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

After eating at Rare, I did not think I could find a steak better than what I experienced there. However, not only the food quality but the customer service, and management at the Chophouse was phenomenal. Our server's name was Lee, every recommendation he made was incredible. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for the overall experience of good food and great service. Not only did they make it an experience but they made it personal. The manager shared personal stories about her children that related to the customers and I really appreciated that. I am looking forward to trying the next round of food we eat here!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

When I made the reservation I mentioned ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on June 28, 2016

When I made the reservation I mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary.When we arrived the hostess congratulated us.Our waiter also acknowledged our anniversary and offered us a complimentary sparkling wine.They also comped our dessert in honor of the occassion.The friendly staff,excellent food and service, and special treatment made for a very special evening indeed.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We celebrated our daughter's graduation ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's graduation and couldn't have been happier with our experience. Our waiter, Lee, was witty and knowledgable. The food was excellent; we ordered steaks, salmon, bass, and chicken, all done as we specified. We cruised into dessert with lava cake, ice cream flavor of the day, and cheesecake, with portions that could be shared amongst the five of us. Lee was attentive without being overbearing and offered coffee "to go" for our trip home. With the location close to Monona Terrace and top-notch service and food, we will ride on the memories of our perfect day for years to come.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Disappointing. We brought our family of ...

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Disappointing.

We brought our family of six here to celebrate graduation. We were disappointed in the quality of our meals. Our service was quite slow.

Our loaded potatoes were barely warm, and my husband's medium filet was well done. The creamed spinach was also lukewarm, and the green beans were burned and returned uneaten, but our waiter did not inquire about why.

While we expected premium prices, we anticipated a better dining experience.

I would not recommend this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2

Really enjoyed the meal. Also shuttle to ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 13, 2016

Really enjoyed the meal. Also shuttle to and from a concert.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We took my grandmother out for Mother's ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my grandmother out for Mother's day brunch. It was very nice.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food and service excellent. Never felt r ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service excellent. Never felt rushed. Relaxing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent steak & scallops

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 7, 2016

We had dinner before the evening rush, so the place was quieter than usual. Our steak and scallops were prepared to perfection. The waiter was prompt and attentive, although he wasn't sure how to react when one of the customers shared that her hot entrée came at room temperature. She would have appreciated having it warmed. The chophouse salad is tasty and the Caesar salad is generous and not too salty. Great option to celebrate Mother's Day!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Fantatic as always

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on May 6, 2016

I arranged a surprise dinner for my wife to celebrate Mother's Day. Everything came off without a hitch and the meal was fantastic! You can't go wrong at Capitol Chophouse!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chop House always lives up to my expectations.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on April 14, 2016

I told the host we only had 45 minutes, and she relayed this info to the server. He was polite and very prudent with his service so we could get back to the office for our afternoon meetings. The Chop House has superb food and a quiet, relaxing, yet professional atmosphere.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not as good as it used to be.

 
 (Miami)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We have gone to the chophouse for many, many years....12 or so. Last 2 brunches were not great. Easter brunch was a flop. The steak sandwich was very fatty as was the ham. My daughters pancakes were burned. The wait for our food exceeded an hour. This is difficult for most adults but especially difficult with two children, one of which was a preschooler. There was no mention of a long way from the staff or an apology. We also had to wait and ask about our drinks from the bar. Keep in mind, it wasn't very busy that day. It could be that they're better staffed for dinner time so I will try again then. But it is disappointing since we've been coming to the chophouse for so long. For the price, you're better off going to somewhere with more efficient service and superior quality food.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Fantastic Service

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

While the food at Chophouse was significantly improved over our last visit , our server stole the show. He was prompt and knowledgable and super friendly an polite.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Underwhelmed :-(

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 18, 2016

When my husband and I dined here, it was a very slow night, with only a handful of diners. Despite this, the serving time between all of the courses was looong and our waiter fairly inattentive. So much so that he forgot that I was supposed to have dessert included in my prixe faire menu selection, until we reminded him! The prixe faire is a good value, based on the menu prices of the individual offerings. I requested a substitution of the salad choice, since I didn't like the main ingredient. This was honored, and I chose the house "chopped salad" instead. The salad was exactly that, a coarsely chopped mound of ingredients that looked more like and had the texture of coleslaw, even though it didn't taste like coleslaw. Can't say that it appealed to me, though. My main course was 2 perfectly cooked lamb chops, coated with an overly spicy rub that had some "heat" to it. The combination of 5-spice with heat really detracted from the taste of the lamb :-( My husband's steak was done right, though (as one would expect from a place like this). As previously mentioned, the waiter forgot to bring my dessert (buttermilk panacotta with a berry compote) until reminded. Once it arrived, we encountered an overly large glass, filled with a tasteless cream topped with a gelled berry layer and a few pieces of fruit. We had noticed other diners sending almost the whole thing back, and now we knew why! I can make a better panacotta at home than this. It's a very simple dessert, so how anyone could mess up this badly is beyond me :-( Based on our disappointing experience, I don't think that we will be returning..

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Late-night Find, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Two years later

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on March 12, 2016

After being regulars since openning, we stopped going about two years ago when the food was no longer good. We decided to try again. With the exception of the salads, the food is still not good. The crab cakes were tasteless and not firm or crispy. The chicken seemed to have been reheated, perhaps microwaved and tasteless. The skin was slimy. The included vegetables were barely cooked and tasteless. The ala carte baked potato was large, but lacked crisp skin; perhaps steamed? Service was excellent. $90 for a bad meal. Maybe we'll try again in another two years or maybe not.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Family gathering. The location is perfe ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on March 6, 2016

Family gathering. The location is perfect and the service and food were as well. Would definitely recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Food, not so great greeting

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was fantastic, and our server, Tanner, was excellent. However, the bartender seemed to be taking tables, so the wait at the bar was kind of ridiculous. I don't know if they were short staffed, but we had a reservation and arrived early to have a drink at the bar. By the time we were asked if we wanted a drink, our table was ready. They should really have a Bartender, and not a server who is sometimes behind the bar. Also, the hostess kind of said, hi and walked away. I wasn't sure if she would get us at the bar or wait there. Overall, our experience was great, but if we wouldn't have waiting through the initial experience of being ignored and felt "in the way", we wouldn't' have known that.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Food Great, Service Poor

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

The food at the Capitol Chophouse was good, the Filet Mignon and Iron skillet steaks were great. But the service was very very poor. I had reservations over a week in advance when I arrived there was a lot of booths and tables open, but the hostess wanted to sit us right next to the bar in high set chairs, I said could we sit in a booth for there was many of them available but she said no we are full. I told her the chairs are to high and that I have hip replacements. She then said," I will see what I can do".

We did get a booth, but then notice that others who were getting seated after us were already getting attention with water, bread and a waiter. After 10 min a woman came to our table and gave us the specials for the night and said she would be right back. Again this time after 15 minutes I asked another waiter where is our waitress? He looked around and said she is preoccupied , but I can help you. I thought she should be preoccupied with us? For she was bartender and never saw or heard from her again.

After are meal, I again had to wait for the bill, the restaurant was not full and those booths the hostess said were reserved when we arrived were still open an hour later.

I felt that no one really cared on how we were treated for a 100 dollar meal with no drinks or desert, but I still tipped 20 dollars. (should of not tipped at all except for the chef)

As I was leaving the front desk asked," how was everything" we told her about the poor service and she said I am sorry, would you like a drink? I said we do not drink and left.

Customer service in the Chophouse is very poor.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Excellent fine dining

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Another great experience at Chop House with my wife

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wait staff did not know anything about w ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

Wait staff did not know anything about wine, steaks or not cooked according to request. For being a higher-end restaurant service and quality food was more like Applebee's

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2

Me and my fiancé had a wonderful dinner ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on February 4, 2016

Me and my fiancé had a wonderful dinner at the ChopHouse tonight! As we entered the restaurant there was no host but the bartender, Amanda, immediately came over and greeted us and took us to our table. We had an early reservation so we got to see how the night picked up with more people coming in. There must have been a large group that was staying in the hotel because there were a few of them that came into the ChopHouse to have dinner and it started to pick up really quickly. The whole serving staff was amazing, they really worked as a team when the restaurant started to fill up with guests. They made us feel like we were they only table in the restaurant, even though it was picking up quickly. Rene came over and helped out our server, Tanner, by pouring wine when our glasses were empty. Logan helped clear our plates when we were finished with them as our server was bringing out our entrees. This restaurant is my number one choice, the service is wonderful, the staff is amazing, and the food is top notch! I would recommend it to anyone visiting or living in the Madison area!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 23, 2016

Had a fabulous anniversary dinner with my husband. My steak was melt in your mouth amazing, the wine was a perfect match and our server was very knowledgeable. Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Madison

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on January 22, 2016

Crabcake and fillet are both one of the best in Madison.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went there for lunch during restauant weeK.

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 21, 2016

It took an hour and a half which was quite long. The lunch option were ok. The dessert was really good.

Tags: Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

Capitol Chophouse, a great place for dining

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on January 18, 2016

I went there for Restaurant Week and was impressed. The three-course menu was varied enough for anyone to find something they would eat. The ambiance was romantic. And, the wait staff was fairly attentive; however, I sat for half the dinner with no water refill. This was disappointing.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Great service!

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful with all aspects of the menu. The food was delicious, the pace was nice and slow and the place is beautiful.

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently the best restaurant in Madison

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 19, 2015

One of the few restaurants left with professional waiters. Rene takes his job seriously and we notice. The food and wine list round out what is great a dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

great place to celebrate

vip
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 17, 2015

we wanted a special restaurant to celebrate the holidays so we picked Capital Chophouse. we weren't disappointed! service and food great, a variety of wines and food to choose from, nice decorations and the meal was perfectly paced. we never felt rushed.

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Mildly confusing a la cart menu, great s ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 16, 2015

Mildly confusing a la cart menu, great steaks, and knowledgeable server.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

THe lobster was phenomenal!

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The lobster was phenomenal! My husband had the Oscar style steak and it was delicious. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Great lunch place for our group

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on December 11, 2015

We had our Holiday office lunch here and we were greeted by friendly staff, great waiter and good food. Historic building is classy with access to a hotel and Monona Terrace Convention Center.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

We went early but service was great, raw ...

 
 (Hawaii)
·Dined on November 21, 2015

We went early but service was great, raw oysters fresh and steaks cooked to order. Fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.