About Capitol ChopHouse

9 East Wilson
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Located 1 block from the capitol square in downtown Madison we are a classic steakhouse that supports local farmers and fresh seasonal ingredients whenever possible. Our brunch is primary sourced from the Dane County Farmers' Market. We offer intimate private dining space for your special event, seasonal wine, beer, and cocktail dinners, and free parking right off the square. We carry Midwest beef, fresh seafood, WI craft beer on draft, and a thoughtful and focused wine selection.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm
Brunch: Saturday and Sunday: 10:00am - 2:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Pinckney Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 255-0165

Website:
http://www.capitolchophouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary underground and valet parking available for Restaurant Guests in the attached Hilton Madison Hotel's parking ramp.

Executive Chef:
Anthony Lemens

Private Party Facilities:
Capitol ChopHouse offers two private dining rooms, which are able to accommodate groups ranging in size from 5 to 40 people, and will be more than happy to have a special menu created to cater specifically to your parties needs: from cocktail receptions to multi-course dinners. Complimentary underground parking available for all dining guests.
Special Events: The Capitol ChopHouse additionally offers special holiday brunch buffets throughout the year.

These include Thanksgiving, Easter Sunday, Mothers Day and U.W. Graduation weekend.

Additionally we offer a special Christmas Eve dinner every year.

Private Party Contact:
Eric Knapton: 6082602364x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Restaurant Photos

Clam Chowder
Roasted potatoes
Filet Mignon
Lobster Mac N'cheese
Lava Cake
Wedge Salad
Prime Rib
Carrot Ca
Oysters
Tuna Tar
Mini Shellfish Sampler
Kentucky Side Car
Shrimp C
New York Strip
Carrpacio
truffle fries with parmesan

Capitol ChopHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.4

noise

Quiet

84% would recommend it to a friend

special occasion (19)
romantic (13)
good for groups (9)
See All
great for lunch (7)
notable wine list (7)
fit for foodies (5)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (1)
hot spot (1)
kid-friendly (1)
neighborhood gem (1)
Sort By:
Newest
601 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

After eating at Rare, I did not think I ...

Dined 4 days ago

After eating at Rare, I did not think I could find a steak better than what I experienced there. However, not only the food quality but the customer service, and management at the Chophouse was phenomenal. Our server's name was Lee, every recommendation he made was incredible. I would recommend this place to anyone looking for the overall experience of good food and great service. Not only did they make it an experience but they made it personal. The manager shared personal stories about her children that related to the customers and I really appreciated that. I am looking forward to trying the next round of food we eat here!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

When I made the reservation I mentioned ...

Dined 4 days ago

When I made the reservation I mentioned that we were celebrating our anniversary.When we arrived the hostess congratulated us.Our waiter also acknowledged our anniversary and offered us a complimentary sparkling wine.They also comped our dessert in honor of the occassion.The friendly staff,excellent food and service, and special treatment made for a very special evening indeed.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We celebrated our daughter's graduation ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

We celebrated our daughter's graduation and couldn't have been happier with our experience. Our waiter, Lee, was witty and knowledgable. The food was excellent; we ordered steaks, salmon, bass, and chicken, all done as we specified. We cruised into dessert with lava cake, ice cream flavor of the day, and cheesecake, with portions that could be shared amongst the five of us. Lee was attentive without being overbearing and offered coffee "to go" for our trip home. With the location close to Monona Terrace and top-notch service and food, we will ride on the memories of our perfect day for years to come.

food2
ambience3
service2

Disappointing. We brought our family of ...

vip
Dined on May 15, 2016

Disappointing. We brought our family of six here to celebrate graduation. We were disappointed in the quality of our meals. Our service was quite slow. Our loaded potatoes were barely warm, and my husband's medium filet was well done. The creamed spinach was also lukewarm, and the green beans were burned and returned uneaten, but our waiter did not inquire about why. While we expected premium prices, we anticipated a better dining experience. I would not recommend this restaurant.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the meal. Also shuttle to ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Really enjoyed the meal. Also shuttle to and from a concert.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

We took my grandmother out for Mother's ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

We took my grandmother out for Mother's day brunch. It was very nice.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Food and service excellent. Never felt r ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Food and service excellent. Never felt rushed. Relaxing.

food4
ambience5
service5
value3

Excellent steak & scallops

Dined on May 7, 2016

We had dinner before the evening rush, so the place was quieter than usual. Our steak and scallops were prepared to perfection. The waiter was prompt and attentive, although he wasn't sure how to react when one of the customers shared that her hot entrée came at room temperature. She would have appreciated having it warmed. The chophouse salad is tasty and the Caesar salad is generous and not too salty. Great option to celebrate Mother's Day!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantatic as always

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

I arranged a surprise dinner for my wife to celebrate Mother's Day. Everything came off without a hitch and the meal was fantastic! You can't go wrong at Capitol Chophouse!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chop House always lives up to my expectations.

Dined on April 14, 2016

I told the host we only had 45 minutes, and she relayed this info to the server. He was polite and very prudent with his service so we could get back to the office for our afternoon meetings. The Chop House has superb food and a quiet, relaxing, yet professional atmosphere.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service3
value3

Not as good as it used to be.

Dined on March 27, 2016

We have gone to the chophouse for many, many years....12 or so. Last 2 brunches were not great. Easter brunch was a flop. The steak sandwich was very fatty as was the ham. My daughters pancakes were burned. The wait for our food exceeded an hour. This is difficult for most adults but especially difficult with two children, one of which was a preschooler. There was no mention of a long way from the staff or an apology. We also had to wait and ask about our drinks from the bar. Keep in mind, it wasn't very busy that day. It could be that they're better staffed for dinner time so I will try again then. But it is disappointing since we've been coming to the chophouse for so long. For the price, you're better off going to somewhere with more efficient service and superior quality food.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fantastic Service

vip
Dined on March 18, 2016

While the food at Chophouse was significantly improved over our last visit , our server stole the show. He was prompt and knowledgable and super friendly an polite.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Underwhelmed :-(

Dined on March 18, 2016

When my husband and I dined here, it was a very slow night, with only a handful of diners. Despite this, the serving time between all of the courses was looong and our waiter fairly inattentive. So much so that he forgot that I was supposed to have dessert included in my prixe faire menu selection, until we reminded him! The prixe faire is a good value, based on the menu prices of the individual offerings. I requested a substitution of the salad choice, since I didn't like the main ingredient. This was honored, and I chose the house "chopped salad" instead. The salad was exactly that, a coarsely chopped mound of ingredients that looked more like and had the texture of coleslaw, even though it didn't taste like coleslaw. Can't say that it appealed to me, though. My main course was 2 perfectly cooked lamb chops, coated with an overly spicy rub that had some "heat" to it. The combination of 5-spice with heat really detracted from the taste of the lamb :-( My husband's steak was done right, though (as one would expect from a place like this). As previously mentioned, the waiter forgot to bring my dessert (buttermilk panacotta with a berry compote) until reminded. Once it arrived, we encountered an overly large glass, filled with a tasteless cream topped with a gelled berry layer and a few pieces of fruit. We had noticed other diners sending almost the whole thing back, and now we knew why! I can make a better panacotta at home than this. It's a very simple dessert, so how anyone could mess up this badly is beyond me :-( Based on our disappointing experience, I don't think that we will be returning..

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, late-night find
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

Two years later

vip
Dined on March 12, 2016

After being regulars since openning, we stopped going about two years ago when the food was no longer good. We decided to try again. With the exception of the salads, the food is still not good. The crab cakes were tasteless and not firm or crispy. The chicken seemed to have been reheated, perhaps microwaved and tasteless. The skin was slimy. The included vegetables were barely cooked and tasteless. The ala carte baked potato was large, but lacked crisp skin; perhaps steamed? Service was excellent. $90 for a bad meal. Maybe we'll try again in another two years or maybe not.

food5
ambience5
service5

Family gathering. The location is perfe ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

Family gathering. The location is perfect and the service and food were as well. Would definitely recommend.

food5
ambience2
service5
value5

Great Food, not so great greeting

Dined on February 14, 2016

The food was fantastic, and our server, Tanner, was excellent. However, the bartender seemed to be taking tables, so the wait at the bar was kind of ridiculous. I don't know if they were short staffed, but we had a reservation and arrived early to have a drink at the bar. By the time we were asked if we wanted a drink, our table was ready. They should really have a Bartender, and not a server who is sometimes behind the bar. Also, the hostess kind of said, hi and walked away. I wasn't sure if she would get us at the bar or wait there. Overall, our experience was great, but if we wouldn't have waiting through the initial experience of being ignored and felt "in the way", we wouldn't' have known that.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Food Great, Service Poor

Dined on February 13, 2016

The food at the Capitol Chophouse was good, the Filet Mignon and Iron skillet steaks were great. But the service was very very poor. I had reservations over a week in advance when I arrived there was a lot of booths and tables open, but the hostess wanted to sit us right next to the bar in high set chairs, I said could we sit in a booth for there was many of them available but she said no we are full. I told her the chairs are to high and that I have hip replacements. She then said," I will see what I can do". We did get a booth, but then notice that others who were getting seated after us were already getting attention with water, bread and a waiter. After 10 min a woman came to our table and gave us the specials for the night and said she would be right back. Again this time after 15 minutes I asked another waiter where is our waitress? He looked around and said she is preoccupied , but I can help you. I thought she should be preoccupied with us? For she was bartender and never saw or heard from her again. After are meal, I again had to wait for the bill, the restaurant was not full and those booths the hostess said were reserved when we arrived were still open an hour later. I felt that no one really cared on how we were treated for a 100 dollar meal with no drinks or desert, but I still tipped 20 dollars. (should of not tipped at all except for the chef) As I was leaving the front desk asked," how was everything" we told her about the poor service and she said I am sorry, would you like a drink? I said we do not drink and left. Customer service in the Chophouse is very poor.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent fine dining

Dined on February 13, 2016

Another great experience at Chop House with my wife

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience4
service2

Wait staff did not know anything about w ...

Dined on February 9, 2016

Wait staff did not know anything about wine, steaks or not cooked according to request. For being a higher-end restaurant service and quality food was more like Applebee's

food5
ambience5
service5

Me and my fiancé had a wonderful dinner ...

Dined on February 4, 2016

Me and my fiancé had a wonderful dinner at the ChopHouse tonight! As we entered the restaurant there was no host but the bartender, Amanda, immediately came over and greeted us and took us to our table. We had an early reservation so we got to see how the night picked up with more people coming in. There must have been a large group that was staying in the hotel because there were a few of them that came into the ChopHouse to have dinner and it started to pick up really quickly. The whole serving staff was amazing, they really worked as a team when the restaurant started to fill up with guests. They made us feel like we were they only table in the restaurant, even though it was picking up quickly. Rene came over and helped out our server, Tanner, by pouring wine when our glasses were empty. Logan helped clear our plates when we were finished with them as our server was bringing out our entrees. This restaurant is my number one choice, the service is wonderful, the staff is amazing, and the food is top notch! I would recommend it to anyone visiting or living in the Madison area!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Anniversary Dinner

Dined on January 23, 2016

Had a fabulous anniversary dinner with my husband. My steak was melt in your mouth amazing, the wine was a perfect match and our server was very knowledgeable. Overall it was a great experience and I would recommend to anyone.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best steak in Madison

vip
Dined on January 22, 2016

Crabcake and fillet are both one of the best in Madison.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

We went there for lunch during restauant weeK.

Dined on January 21, 2016

It took an hour and a half which was quite long. The lunch option were ok. The dessert was really good.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

Capitol Chophouse, a great place for dining

Dined on January 18, 2016

I went there for Restaurant Week and was impressed. The three-course menu was varied enough for anyone to find something they would eat. The ambiance was romantic. And, the wait staff was fairly attentive; however, I sat for half the dinner with no water refill. This was disappointing.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Great service!

Dined on December 19, 2015

Our server was very knowledgeable and helpful with all aspects of the menu. The food was delicious, the pace was nice and slow and the place is beautiful.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Consistently the best restaurant in Madison

vip
Dined on December 19, 2015

One of the few restaurants left with professional waiters. Rene takes his job seriously and we notice. The food and wine list round out what is great a dining experience.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

great place to celebrate

vip
Dined on December 17, 2015

we wanted a special restaurant to celebrate the holidays so we picked Capital Chophouse. we weren't disappointed! service and food great, a variety of wines and food to choose from, nice decorations and the meal was perfectly paced. we never felt rushed.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Mildly confusing a la cart menu, great s ...

Dined on December 16, 2015

Mildly confusing a la cart menu, great steaks, and knowledgeable server.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5

THe lobster was phenomenal!

Dined on December 13, 2015

The lobster was phenomenal! My husband had the Oscar style steak and it was delicious. My mouth is watering just thinking about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience5
service5

Great lunch place for our group

Dined on December 11, 2015

We had our Holiday office lunch here and we were greeted by friendly staff, great waiter and good food. Historic building is classy with access to a hotel and Monona Terrace Convention Center.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5

We went early but service was great, raw ...

Dined on November 21, 2015

We went early but service was great, raw oysters fresh and steaks cooked to order. Fantastic.

food4
ambience4
service4

great food and service

Dined on November 11, 2015

The service and food were great - was just surprised at how limited the food offerings were for lunch. We had the pork melt, which was very tasty. Would probably go for dinner next time.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5

Our special night!!!!

Dined on October 24, 2015

Everything was so special for us. It was our anniversary and Renee our waiter, was outstanding. We'll be back. We even got a call earlier that day to confirm our reservations. Very classy!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience2
service2

Average

Dined on October 17, 2015

Service and food average. Above average pricing. Benefit is restaurant accepts reservations on a Friday night.

food3
ambience5
service4

A special place

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

We were celebrating that evening, and it was the perfect spot. The service was wonderful. The wine list notable. Suggestion is to choose from the dry aged meat selections.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food3
ambience1
service3

Chop It Off Your List

vip
Dined on October 11, 2015

Better choices available to you in Madison. Tired decor. Steaks not prepared to order. Nice waiter but understaffed.

food5
ambience5
service5

Great Night!

Dined on October 4, 2015

It was the perfect place to reconnect with a high school friend I've known for over 50+ years. The food was amazing, service was impeccable which made for the perfect setting for old friends to meet. Thank you to the entire staff that made this a great night!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
food2
ambience4
service4

No cheese curds

Dined on October 3, 2015

I had the 20oz. prime rib medium rare. It wasn't blow your socks off amazing. All of our steaks were over cooked and kinda dry. I've had better and worse. It was nice a atmosphere. A little disappointed that they didn't have cheese curds. Kinda thought that was a staple in Wisconsin.

food4
ambience4
service3

I went there with two other colleagues d ...

Dined on September 1, 2015

I went there with two other colleagues during Epic's UGM 2015 meeting. We were greeted almost immediately, and we were fortunate to place our order prior to the large party of 60 people in the main dining area. The bread was rather hard, but the different array of butters, olive oil and sun-dried tomato tapenade was delightful. Their seasonal tomatoes with balsamic vinegar was delicious and fresh, but the entrees were the stars of the show. The 6-oz filet med-rare was superb, and plentiful choices of side dishes were generously portioned. I closed the meal with Warre's Otima 10-yr port!

food5
ambience5
service5

What a lovely meal!

vip
Dined on August 25, 2015

Wanted a restaurant within walking distance of Best Western on the Park. Nice reviews on Open Table lead us to Capitol Chophouse. Steak was perfectly prepared (all agreed), side orders of brussel sprouts and asparagus were delicious. And an added bonus, the waiter recommended we order a 1/2 portion of the salads since they were quite large. Wedge was perfect! And of course - wine selection was vast. Very nice wines available for a good price.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.