Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi
  1. Distance: 0.04mi
  2. Distance: 0.18mi
  3. Distance: 0.20mi
  4. Distance: 0.24mi

About Capitol ChopHouse

Located 1 block from the capitol square in downtown Madison we are a classic steakhouse that supports local farmers and fresh seasonal ingredients whenever possible. We offer intimate private dining space for your special event, seasonal wine, beer, and cocktail dinners, and free parking right off the square. We carry Midwest beef, fresh seafood, WI craft beer on draft, and a thoughtful and focused wine selection.

9 East Wilson
Madison, WI 53703
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Seafood, American

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Monday - Friday: 6:30am - 11:30am, Saturday, Sunday 7am-12pm
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30am - 2:00pm, Saturday, Sunday 12pm-2pm
Dinner: Monday - Saturday: 5:00pm - 10:00pm

Cross Street:
South Pinckney Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(608) 255-0165

Website:
http://www.capitolchophouse.com/

Parking Details:
Complimentary underground and valet parking available for Restaurant Guests in the attached Hilton Madison Hotel's parking ramp.

Executive Chef:
Sean Pharr

Private Party Facilities:
Capitol ChopHouse offers two private dining rooms, which are able to accommodate groups ranging in size from 5 to 40 people, and will be more than happy to have a special menu created to cater specifically to your parties needs: from cocktail receptions to multi-course dinners. Complimentary underground parking available for all dining guests.

Private Party Contact:
Eric Knapton: (608) 260-2364

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Full Bar, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Mon - Sat 8:15PM - 9:00PM

Capitol ChopHouse Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.0

service

4.0

ambience

3.9

value

3.3

noise

Moderate

77% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Anniversaries (7)
Special Occasion (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
See All
Good for a Date (6)
Pre/post Theatre (5)
Romantic (5)
Good for Birthdays (4)
Business Meals (4)
Worth the Drive (3)
Notable Wine List (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Private Room (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Fun (2)
Cozy (2)
People Watching (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Dancing (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Casual (1)
Live Sports (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
S
690 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The bread was sooooo hard to bite through; too thick, too tough. Over-priced for what you're getting. There are other restaurants now that serve comparable quality food for much cheaper.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on March 11, 2017

We had a lovely evening. The food was good. Our server, Tanner, was excellent.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Cozy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This place was AMAZING! Went for my sister's 18th birthday. I had the crab cakes and clam chowder. Crab cakes were delicious and the clam chowder was literallY THE BEST I have ever had. The service was great and very friendly. I asked the hostess if they could surprise my sister with the lava cake which they happily took care of and it was completely complimentary. Will definitely be coming back in the near future!

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Modern Decor, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 26, 2017

We went to Capitol ChopHouse to celebrate a birthday. We chose it because of the menu we read online. However, the menu online didn't match the menu in house! Our server was wonderful though and explained new chef, etc... We weren't disappointed. Our food was great. The crab cakes were the best I've had in a long time. And they had crab legs already cracked open - hooray! The steak eaters in the group were all impressed and happy with their choices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 15, 2017

Immediately upon entering the Chophouse, I could tell I was in for a rare treat. I had expected a high class experience, but I was blown away. Even the lobby exuded extravagance. The hostess quickly took our coats and even presented my date with a rose, a great little addition to help set the mood of the night. Upon ordering, I was a little uncomfortable with the prices but it wasn't terrible considering the experience. Our waiter was prompt, smooth, and extremely polite. The food took quite awhile to come, this is not a place to come if you have somewhere to be, but it was well worth the wait. The steak was perfect in every way and the sides didn't let me down either. My biggest complaint for the night was how long it took to get my check. I waited nearly an hour after both my companion and I were finished before finally waiving down the hostess to assist me. Overall, a great experience. 9.2/10

Tags: Good for a Date, Notable Wine List, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Romantic, Good for Anniversaries, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Expensive but delicious! Service was attentive, food was great - just a bit expensive.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Late-night Find, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Excellent service and food!!! The primrose rib was perfection!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 12, 2017

We went there 5 years ago for our anniversary and it was so much better then. It was a 4 or 5 course meal and the food was better. We were looking forward to go back for years, we were a bit let down. Not worth the price anymore.

Tags: Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was outstanding I thought. The space is very small, however, and some of the tables are jammed in pretty close to each other. My daughter and I were in between two other tables and we were all sorta having conversations together as the proximity was New York City cafe style.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Tanner was server and did a very nice job. Food was OK but not outstanding. Not in a hurry to return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on January 27, 2017

The food and service here were second to none. We came here for restaurant week and everything from the starter to the desert was delicious. Needless to we will be back in the near future!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tallahassee)·Dined on January 11, 2017

Some of the staff were attentive, others not so much. My steak was overcooked (in fairness to the restaraunt, I did NOT make this known to my server). Since I was staying at the hotel, and it was convenient, I had lunch there the next day. Food was good, not great; service was passable but unremarkable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on January 8, 2017

As always, the Chophouse did not disappoint. It is our go to celebratory restaurant. Their service is second to none. The wait staff is professional, friendly and down to earth while the food is exceptional.

Tags: Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Authentic, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on January 1, 2017

The food was great! We went on New Year's Eve, I assume the holiday made it busier (slower) than normal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 30, 2016

This restaurant was a disaster; at this pricepoint, the meals and service should be perfect! It was just the opposite- our meals were served cold and had to be sent back. Food quality was questionable! We were not the only people that had complaints- we will not return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Escargot en croute and Caesar salad are recommended with any steak on the menu.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Delivered the wrong steak to my customer, Caesar salad was heavy on dressing, wife's steak was tough and the broccoli was over seasoned with spices. I have eaten at this restaurant before with no issues, this time is was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 25, 2016

This is our original Christmas Eve spot, and we were so glad when we found out that it would be open for Christmas Eve again this year (not very many places are). Our waiter, Clay, was friendly and approachable and added to the fun. My Amish chicken was buttery and delicious; my mother was pleasantly surprised that her brandy old fashioned was actually muddled. Thanks for letting our tradition continue!

Tags: Romantic, Handcrafted Cocktails, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Nice overall but I can't see paying these prices for the food and lack of ambiance. Tables were too close together. Unfortunately it does not compare to the likes of Ruth's Chris.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Great place for a family gathering for the holidays

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Private Room, Bar Seating, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on December 15, 2016

waiter needs work. didn't fill water glasses and had to walk to the bar to get wine. not a fan of the new menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Service wasn't what I have previously experienced.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 30, 2016

Rack of lamb. Medium rare. Superb!
Salmon delicious
Only complaint was glass of red wine had been open awhile. It was cheerfully replaced

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 24, 2016

I first ate at the Chophouse 2 years ago for
their Thanksgiving buffet. It was reasonable and delicious. The next year went again with family and to our disappointment there was no buffet only a small menu. We ordered the only thing on the menus that sounded half
way appealing which was a hamburger topped with an egg, so basically like a small
breakfast. More like an appetizer!
This year again called and made a reservation-after much thought. I thought I would view the menu online and decide from there. I brought my son there and we had the
"Thanksgiving dinner."
The biggest joke was that they gave us
A small tray of ice cold pastries to start with.
Then immediately after came the entree.
For around 26 bucks each we got 2 small circle slices of turkey, and a "sausage patty" so the menu described it as. When I told the waiter the sausage patty was good I asked him what exactly it was. Turned out to be gizzard and liver. I about barfed it up! Gross. It didn't say that at all in the menu.
And I think we got a small amount of something else that was not even memorable. So I gave the Chophouse another chance which I now regretted! I will
never go back there again. They had a fabulous buffet that they got rid of! I'd be surprised if by this time next year they would even have a restaurant at all!
Don't waste your money or time. It's a shame.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 20, 2016

We came here with some dear friends and were excited to see that prime rib was the special of the night. When it came it was tepid. Our fault for not calling it to the attention of the waitstaff as we were heavily into our conversation, but probably won't go here again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Service was terrible. Had reservations and was seated at the back booth by the kitchen door so there was constant traffic at my back. Ordered our drinks and after 15 minutes signaled the hostess to come over because our waiter wasn't around and said we've been waiting 15 minutes for our drinks and she asked what they were. My drink arrived and 10 minutes later my husbands arrived. The waiter blamed it on a new bartender...said we would get his drink taken off the bill which it never was. The place was not that crowded for the time we had to wait. Husband had the special which was Crab legs. 3 skinny halves (more like Snow crab). I have had better meals at Texas Road House for a 1/4 of the price. My husband is a Hilton Diamond member and this was so disappointing for this type of establishment and the amount of money spent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We went to "audition" Chop House for a rehearsal dinner in the spring by enjoying a meal. The restaurant was quiet; maybe 3 or 4 other tables. The service was slow, and the food, when delivered, was warm, not hot. It was delicious, notwithstanding. We asked some questions about the private dining room and no one knew anything.

Tags: Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on November 3, 2016

Service was excellent, but I am not a fan of the new menu items.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Modern Decor, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on October 15, 2016

The crab cakes were more filling than crab. Very dense. My $46 dry aged ribeye was extremely tough! They took it off the bill. Service was slow and he seemed very uninterested. Would not go back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Not at all what I expected for the price we paid.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Food was good, but service was marginal at best. Our waiter was overwhelmed. I felt the three 'hostesses' could have helped a lot more i.e. deliver drinks, fill water glasses, etc. Service was slow and it was unfortunate as I had invited friends from out of town.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Unfortunately, they ran out of good food. We went there about 8p. Our first choice (lamb chops) had already sold out. Then we both chose the prime rib. Minutes later our server notified us that there was only one more prime rib. After reviewing the menu again, we decided to leave. Maybe we will go earlier next time. :'(

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on October 8, 2016

I am very disappointed with the upgrade of the Capital Chophouse. The decor was nice but lacked the clubhouse feel of the old Chophouse. The lighting was too bright and the walls too white. The service was good but I did not see any of the old waitstaff. Our waitress did not know the wine list. The food was just okay not great. My daughter's steak was cold, the once great chophouse salad was boring, and appetizer was bland. They may have upgraded the menu but they did not give the chef room to improve on it nor put a spin on it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4
value1

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Food and ambience were very good. Service started off a little slow, but picked up as the dinner went along.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on September 18, 2016

The filet was excellent, prepared perfectly. The tuna tartare appetizer was very tasty and plentiful for 2 people. Chophouse is always very accommodating - my husband wanted to get smaller portions of a few items and they did this - no problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Service started out well but then the waitress disappeared. One dinner roll was great; the other was hard and needed to be replaced (again, waitress not around so needed to get the attention of another staff member). Salmon was good; steak was average. Ambiance was disrupted by someone dropping a tray of food and dishes and later by dropping a small tray table. Wanted to like this place and it unfortunately is was average.

Tags: Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 2, 2016

We like the service at theChophouse. The steaks are the big draw. Calamari appetizer is very good. Everyone seems to like the new chef.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 8, 2016

Hadn't been here for quite awhile. Lunch was surprising good; great value and tasty. Service was top-notch. We weren't rushed at all. Will good again soon.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on August 6, 2016

Rene was a great server & Amanda was a great bartender

Tags: Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value2

vip
 (Milwaukee)·Dined on July 28, 2016

Terrible food...for this price I expect much more...I would not recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.