About Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum

PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Welcome to Capital's newest restaurant concept. Located in the heart of Orange County inside Irvine Spectrum. With much success in its other location in the Diamond Jamboree center, Capital decided to launch another location in the O.C. Capital is most known for its award winning dim sum and fresh seafood selections. With over 100 dim sum selections to choose from daily and great fresh seafood offerings. Dim Sum favorites such as Sui Mai, Shrimp Har Gow and Baked B.B.Q. Buns are customer favorites to name a few. Live Seafood offerings from our 300 gallon tanks consist of Alaskan King Crab, Maine Lobsters, Dungeness Crab and Catch of the Day. This new concept offers a full bar with an outdoor patio dining experience. Reservations are suggested and offsite catering and private dining are available.

770 Spectrum Center Drive
Irvine, CA 92618
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Dim Sum, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Dim Sum Served: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday, Sunday and Holidays: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm.
Regular Menu Served: Monday- Friday 11:00 am - 9:30 pm Saturday and Sundays 10:00 am- 10:30 pm
Happy Hour Monday-Friday: 3:00 pm-7:00 pm Bar area only and no reservations)

Cross Street:
Irvine Center Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 788-9218

Website:
http://www.capital-seafood.com/

Entertainment:
Capital (Irvine Spectrum) offers a full bar with great selections of the finest wines and spirits. With 4 private dining rooms and patio dining to accommodate large parties.

Executive Chef:
Chef Bui

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.1

ambience

3.6

value

3.1

Noise

Moderate

56% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (4)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Happy Hour (2)
See All
Special Occasion (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Authentic (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Comfort Food (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Fun (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Sort By:
S
557 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on October 14, 2017

Service was a little rushed, but the food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on September 21, 2017

Very good food, good service; nice location has lots shopping stores and fun.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 17, 2017

We always go to Capital Seafood when we crave dimsum and good Chinese food. We had our usual egg drop soup, dimsum platter, yang chow fried rice and house special fish fillet (this one is not on the menu but they will make it for you if you ask for it). These are our set favorites and they did not disappoint!

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Went to Capital-Seafood Grill to meet up with some friends for dinner that I hadn't seen for awhile. In the past we have had excellent meals there, and we enjoy the fact that it's a large
enough place that we never feel rushed to get through a meal, and it's easy to talk and hear one
another. I don't know what was going on last night but the service and the food was terrible.

First, our server Mindy was pleasant but kept rushing us to order. After that we rarely saw her.
Next, the soup came out at the same time as the rest of the meal, when it should have came out
beforehand, so the table was overly crowded. The soup was hot, but the rest of the food came out barely warm. My friend ordered the duck and didn't like the taste of it and ended sending it
back because it tasted so badly, once we were able to flag down our server. Two of us ordered the Mongolian Beef which was tasty but barely warm, and the rice that came with it was cool as well. The portions were good sized, and everything, other than the duck would have been great
if the food had been the correct temperature. Even the hot water I ordered came out cool in the
pot.

I don't think we will be going back there again!

Tags: Good for Groups, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2017

Food was not that great. I ordered seafood chow fun noodles and I got mostly imitation crab sticks and fish cakes on it only two pieces of shrimps. The price was $18 . We also ordered chicken noodles , noodels were good but chicken was horrible as it was so gummy you cannot chew it. It's cheating the customer!!!!! Even online menu looks good but when you go to the restaurant it's completely different with less options. You are better off to go to PF Changs great quality food

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on August 20, 2017

Dirty bathroom, quick attention is needed.

Poor customer service, bad waiter attitude.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on August 14, 2017

We always enjoy this restaurant. The food is always good, sometimes the service is a little bumpy but all in all, it is worth the visit.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Customer service was not great. Staff is not accommodating and careless -
water, soup spills as they get taken away.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Nice price on lobster, crab and live shrimp. Impress lady

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Overpriced for what it was. All the food was fine, service was just okay, but $18 for wonton soup? Lobster for $188?!? Dim sum was the best thing we had.

We are true foodies, and don't mind paying the price for a great meal. But when there are plenty of good (and more authentic) Chinese restaurants in the Irvine area for a much better value, this place underwhelmed. There is absolutely no need to overpay for lackluster food at a chain restaurant. You're paying for ambience and convenience if being at the mall.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Great food and great service. One of our favorite restaurants in Irvine!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 10, 2017

Good quality Chinese food. More authentic than PF Changs and the like. Orange chicken was good, and my wife enjoyed the sizzling seafood. Offer brown rice as an alternative.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

vip
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 10, 2017

My wife and I had the Filet mignon cube for dinner and return the next day for more of Filet mignon cube before we headed back to Las Vegas. Ben provided a 100 + Customer satisfaction. Both Foods and services are outstanding!!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 7, 2017

This was one of the worst Chinese food I've had The fish which was $98 dollars was tasteless. Supposedly it was steamed fresh and I don't understand why came out cold. Capital Seafood Irvine location is substantially better. The waiter could hardly understand English. And the manager was busy with the party of 10 and did not care about our party of 5. We were not the only one that were disappointed. All other tables around us were also not taken care of. I notice a lot of people trying to get the server's attention with no luck. This has been my second bad experience at this restaurant and it's definitely off my dining list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Worst customer service I've ever experienced. Stopped in for a quick bite after a movie on a Sat night because most of the restaurants in Irvine Spectrum had 1 - 1 1/2 hr wait and this was one of few restaurants I could get a reservation on Open Table. Service was extremely slow although they were not very busy. We weren't that hungry so we nibbled a bit and asked to take our leftovers home... waiter never came back with our food... when I inquired they looked for it for awhile and finally came back to let me know they had mistakenly given our leftovers to someone else. Waiter apologized and told me they were making us fresh plates to go. I waited 15 minutes for food and was handed small containers of what we ordered with less quantity than what we had left. Completely insulted by the gesture I left leaving my "fresh plates" with the manager simply saying no thank you to their meek gesture... for
It's called customer service for a reason. When you make a mistake, you need to make it right for the customer. When you don't, you lose a customer and many more....

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Amazing food with incredible service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 21, 2017

Our waitress was super rude and had a major attitude. There were 12 of us there to celebrate my brother's 1 year anniversary. That was how the evening started to the point I had to go to the manager and request a different server.
The food was super salty.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We all ate at different times The menu that you have and the one that we were given was slightly different with very different prices!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 22, 2017

Good, traditional Chinese food. The service is always good, and the food quality is excellent - the preparation is more traditional Chinese than PF Chang's.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Reading the other reviews I expected some service challenges, but was hopeful for the food. Service was OK, but food was not. Ordered Egg Rolls as a starter, Peking Duck, and Fried Rice. Peking Duck and Egg Rolls came out at the same time. Egg rolls were greasy, Peking Duck was bland. Fried Rice, which was ordered without egg, came with eggs and about 15 minutes after we had finished the Peking Duck and Egg Rolls. Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 23, 2017

This is our to go to place for Chinese food. There are so many selections to choose from and we always come up with a good selection for the group we are with. The service is very good and I find the staff to be very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 18, 2017

Very Slow service. And not good when we got it!
Waiter hardly knew English. I had to go to bar myself to order a Martini, as he did not understand. Wanted me to point it out on the menu....

Table was bothersome, in that it was one that folded out to seat 8 or 10 (we were 2). So kept hitting my knee on the struts underneath. AND, my wife was way way over ,,,,,,too far to talk comfortably.

Food was alittle overdone sauce wise. My wife felt ill the next day too.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Consistently great food at s good price. The Hot & Sour soup is the best I have had anywhere even in Asia. Service is good but noise level cam be a little much.

Take your left overs, they will still taste great the next day heated up.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Food was great and staff was very friendly. However service was less than attentive early on. Most likely due to a very busy Saturday night.

Tags: Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

We are regulars here and this was our first choice for Lunar New Year dinner. The food did not disappoint even though they ran out of Peking duck before we got there. I gave 3 stars for the service because it seemed like they were short handed. Our server took about 15 minutes after we were seated to even notice us. The table next to us were seated after us but he took their order first. Then they immediate got their food (10 minutes after ordering) while ours took another 20 minutes after we ordered. Then another 30 minutes passed between the dim sum platter and the first entree to arrive.

So it was rather annoying. We will always come back for the food, but will be a little more aggressive in the future to make sure we get some attention.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Food was excellent. Dim sum. Shrimp and snow peas. Service a bit slow and we got the appetizer after main course was finished. BUT it was CHINESE new year so I was forgiving. It is a bit expensive.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 27, 2017

Excellent food and service
Our server kelvin was excellent

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

This place is like the Sizzler of Chinese food. Terrible service. Over priced. Grimy. With so many other options available at the Spectrum, why would you settle for this nonsense?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Be sure to have a waitress who can speak English. Communicating about the menuwas exasperating,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 6, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant for authentic Cantonese / Chinese cuisine in S. Orange County. They also have dim-sum if you go at lunch

Tags: Spicy, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

My mother and father in law enjoyed the food and the restaurant on New Year's Eve to celebrate their 88th birthdays.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 28, 2016

Roast Duck is why we can and it did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 28, 2016

We were celebrating a 93rd birthday and the meal was delicious. The service was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

It was Xmas, so allowances should be made, but:

1. After checking in for a 6:45 pm reservation, we had to wait 30+ minutes to be seated.

2. We then waited for 15 minutes after being seated to order anything.

3. We weren't given the whole menu. We saw dishes we liked coming out of the kitchen after we had already ordered.

4. Our soup came before our mixed drinks.

5. One mixed drink was not drinkable, did not taste like its namesake.

6. I wasn't able to send it back because no one stopped long enough in front of our table for me even to ask for a different drink.

7. That soup I mentioned earlier was missing half of its ingredients it comes with. After almost finished with the soup a runner and manager came by with the remaining ingredients to put into the soup. We didn't accept it because we were almost done with our soup. We had to tell our waiter at the end of the meal or he would not have known.

8. Our first main dish arrived but we had no rice to go with it. We waited more than five minutes for our waiter to notice.

9. We had to ask for water twice. It was the first thing we had asked for from our waiter.

10. I felt bad for our waiter. He was pleasant at the end of the meal but for the first half of the meal he was clearly not happy with working this night. He swore while walking past us because a dish another customer had ordered was too spicy. It was ordered not to be spicy and the kitchen messed up.

I could go on up to 20 issues, but I think this tells enough.

My compassion led me to give the guy a 15% tip, but the service, some of which was clearly not his fault, was dreadful.

The food was good but not great. Sam Woo does a better job as does China Moon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

We went out for Christmas Eve dinner with our friends to celebrate the holidays. This was our first time here, but our friends had been here on numerous occasions and raved about how good the food was. It was fantastic! The service was excellent and very friendly. The food was outstanding and very plentiful. We had reservations made through Open Table, and we were seated immediately. Although the place was packed, our food came out in a timely manner, and our server made sure we were well taken care of at all times. Very vibrant atmosphere! Will be going back again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 24, 2016

I wouldn't recommend for vegetarians, people that like vegetables, or special orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Had to ask two servers for our drinks. Served appetizers after two main course meals were served. Finally had to ask someone to take our credit card so we could leave. Service was not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Capital Seafood was excellent. The food was well prepared and nicely presented. The Peking Duck, while expensive, was worth every penny. Our server, Jay, was attentive and friendly. The seating selections for a party of two are poor. They first attempted to seat us next to someone w at least 10 bags and boxes (Christmas shopping), the only other place for two was adjacent to the kitchen and an outside door that opened frequently letting cold air in... we would like to try the dim sum next time. And we will return

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 11, 2016

Quantity of every dish enough for everyone but the waiter still recommend us to get set dinner (combo one) but expensive than order dish individually. After we order dish individually, they are enough to fill all of every one's tummy. Overall the taste of every dish is good but not top delicious. Before I make reservation of this restaurant, I read some reviews in Yelp, the price range for everyone is 11 - 30 is correct.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Our waitress was horrible. Very rarely stopped by, and forgot to put the order in for our childs meal. Hostess was very unaccomdating too. The food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.