About Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum

PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Welcome to Capital's newest restaurant concept. Located in the heart of Orange County inside Irvine Spectrum. With much success in its other location in the Diamond Jamboree center, Capital decided to launch another location in the O.C. Capital is most known for its award winning dim sum and fresh seafood selections. With over 100 dim sum selections to choose from daily and great fresh seafood offerings. Dim Sum favorites such as Sui Mai, Shrimp Har Gow and Baked B.B.Q. Buns are customer favorites to name a few. Live Seafood offerings from our 300 gallon tanks consist of Alaskan King Crab, Maine Lobsters, Dungeness Crab and Catch of the Day. This new concept offers a full bar with an outdoor patio dining experience. Reservations are suggested and offsite catering and private dining are available.

770 Spectrum Center Drive
Irvine, CA 92618
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Dim Sum, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Dim Sum Served: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday, Sunday and Holidays: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm.
Regular Menu Served: Monday- Friday 11:00 am - 9:30 pm Saturday and Sundays 10:00 am- 10:30 pm
Happy Hour Monday-Friday: 3:00 pm-7:00 pm Bar area only and no reservations)

Cross Street:
Irvine Center Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 788-9218

Website:
http://www.capital-seafood.com/

Entertainment:
Capital (Irvine Spectrum) offers a full bar with great selections of the finest wines and spirits. With 4 private dining rooms and patio dining to accommodate large parties.

Executive Chef:
Chef Bui

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

3.6

ambience

3.8

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (11)
Family Style (9)
Authentic (8)
See All
Great for Lunch (6)
Casual (6)
Special Occasion (5)
Spicy (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Business Meals (4)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Good for a Date (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Fun (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Healthy (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Private Room (0)
Sort By:
S
537 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Reading the other reviews I expected some service challenges, but was hopeful for the food. Service was OK, but food was not. Ordered Egg Rolls as a starter, Peking Duck, and Fried Rice. Peking Duck and Egg Rolls came out at the same time. Egg rolls were greasy, Peking Duck was bland. Fried Rice, which was ordered without egg, came with eggs and about 15 minutes after we had finished the Peking Duck and Egg Rolls. Won't be back

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 24, 2017

This is our to go to place for Chinese food. There are so many selections to choose from and we always come up with a good selection for the group we are with. The service is very good and I find the staff to be very attentive.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Family Style, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Very Slow service. And not good when we got it!
Waiter hardly knew English. I had to go to bar myself to order a Martini, as he did not understand. Wanted me to point it out on the menu....

Table was bothersome, in that it was one that folded out to seat 8 or 10 (we were 2). So kept hitting my knee on the struts underneath. AND, my wife was way way over ,,,,,,too far to talk comfortably.

Food was alittle overdone sauce wise. My wife felt ill the next day too.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Consistently great food at s good price. The Hot & Sour soup is the best I have had anywhere even in Asia. Service is good but noise level cam be a little much.

Take your left overs, they will still taste great the next day heated up.

Tags: Authentic, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Food was great and staff was very friendly. However service was less than attentive early on. Most likely due to a very busy Saturday night.

Tags: Family Style, Business Meals, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 29, 2017

We are regulars here and this was our first choice for Lunar New Year dinner. The food did not disappoint even though they ran out of Peking duck before we got there. I gave 3 stars for the service because it seemed like they were short handed. Our server took about 15 minutes after we were seated to even notice us. The table next to us were seated after us but he took their order first. Then they immediate got their food (10 minutes after ordering) while ours took another 20 minutes after we ordered. Then another 30 minutes passed between the dim sum platter and the first entree to arrive.

So it was rather annoying. We will always come back for the food, but will be a little more aggressive in the future to make sure we get some attention.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Casual, Comfort Food, Family Style, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Food was excellent. Dim sum. Shrimp and snow peas. Service a bit slow and we got the appetizer after main course was finished. BUT it was CHINESE new year so I was forgiving. It is a bit expensive.

Tags: Authentic, Family Style, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Excellent food and service
Our server kelvin was excellent

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 22, 2017

This place is like the Sizzler of Chinese food. Terrible service. Over priced. Grimy. With so many other options available at the Spectrum, why would you settle for this nonsense?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Be sure to have a waitress who can speak English. Communicating about the menuwas exasperating,

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service2
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant for authentic Cantonese / Chinese cuisine in S. Orange County. They also have dim-sum if you go at lunch

Tags: Spicy, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My mother and father in law enjoyed the food and the restaurant on New Year's Eve to celebrate their 88th birthdays.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Roast Duck is why we can and it did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were celebrating a 93rd birthday and the meal was delicious. The service was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was Xmas, so allowances should be made, but:

1. After checking in for a 6:45 pm reservation, we had to wait 30+ minutes to be seated.

2. We then waited for 15 minutes after being seated to order anything.

3. We weren't given the whole menu. We saw dishes we liked coming out of the kitchen after we had already ordered.

4. Our soup came before our mixed drinks.

5. One mixed drink was not drinkable, did not taste like its namesake.

6. I wasn't able to send it back because no one stopped long enough in front of our table for me even to ask for a different drink.

7. That soup I mentioned earlier was missing half of its ingredients it comes with. After almost finished with the soup a runner and manager came by with the remaining ingredients to put into the soup. We didn't accept it because we were almost done with our soup. We had to tell our waiter at the end of the meal or he would not have known.

8. Our first main dish arrived but we had no rice to go with it. We waited more than five minutes for our waiter to notice.

9. We had to ask for water twice. It was the first thing we had asked for from our waiter.

10. I felt bad for our waiter. He was pleasant at the end of the meal but for the first half of the meal he was clearly not happy with working this night. He swore while walking past us because a dish another customer had ordered was too spicy. It was ordered not to be spicy and the kitchen messed up.

I could go on up to 20 issues, but I think this tells enough.

My compassion led me to give the guy a 15% tip, but the service, some of which was clearly not his fault, was dreadful.

The food was good but not great. Sam Woo does a better job as does China Moon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

We went out for Christmas Eve dinner with our friends to celebrate the holidays. This was our first time here, but our friends had been here on numerous occasions and raved about how good the food was. It was fantastic! The service was excellent and very friendly. The food was outstanding and very plentiful. We had reservations made through Open Table, and we were seated immediately. Although the place was packed, our food came out in a timely manner, and our server made sure we were well taken care of at all times. Very vibrant atmosphere! Will be going back again in the near future.

Tags: Good for Groups, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I wouldn't recommend for vegetarians, people that like vegetables, or special orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Capital Seafood was excellent. The food was well prepared and nicely presented. The Peking Duck, while expensive, was worth every penny. Our server, Jay, was attentive and friendly. The seating selections for a party of two are poor. They first attempted to seat us next to someone w at least 10 bags and boxes (Christmas shopping), the only other place for two was adjacent to the kitchen and an outside door that opened frequently letting cold air in... we would like to try the dim sum next time. And we will return

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had to ask two servers for our drinks. Served appetizers after two main course meals were served. Finally had to ask someone to take our credit card so we could leave. Service was not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Quantity of every dish enough for everyone but the waiter still recommend us to get set dinner (combo one) but expensive than order dish individually. After we order dish individually, they are enough to fill all of every one's tummy. Overall the taste of every dish is good but not top delicious. Before I make reservation of this restaurant, I read some reviews in Yelp, the price range for everyone is 11 - 30 is correct.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our waitress was horrible. Very rarely stopped by, and forgot to put the order in for our childs meal. Hostess was very unaccomdating too. The food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our go to place - Capital Seafood. Whenever we can't decide in a restaurant its Capital Seafood. House special shrimp and dim sum are always great. Chow fun as well

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, but couldn't believe how noisy the staff was in closing down the party room. They showed no concern for the diners.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food is a little bland. Temperature is on point. Service is so-so, manager needs to be RE-educated and trained on table/touching skills. Overall, an average dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We really enjoyed the tasty food and the friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Poor service

We were not happy at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We LOVE Capital Seafood! Excellent dim sum, great fried rice, delicious Peking duck. We highly recommend. Wing is our favorite server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waiters and waitresses need to pay much more attention to guest tables especially remember what guest' requests.
We asked for pepper and the waitress said yes, walked away and never come back with it although we asked in a very polite manner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was really quite good! The standout was the lettuce wraps! The meat was so good, we could have eaten it by the spoonful! Everything we had was clean, and fresh and very very good! The place is LOUD, so a romantic dinner, it is not. There were several tables of patrons letting their kids run around like idiots! Their ignorance became our problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was just ok for my husband and I. Seemed a bit overpriced for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great for groups as the dishes are to be shared by everyone. Each dish has a lot of food. Best shared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was authentic and so delicious. We ordered the wonton soup and also enjoyed the walnut shrimp with melon. Superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was the first time I have had dinner at Capital. We have previously been for dim sum which is very good. We had a reservation and our table was ready when we arrived. The filet of beef chunks was excellent and so was the pan fried noodle chow mein.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us & this was our 1st visit. It is a beautiful restaurant. The service was exceptional. The food is excellent!! We had a variety of dim sum, fried rice and Peking duck. This food is the real deal. There is a reason why it was busy - excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I liked their winter-melon seafood soup, lobster & noodles, vegetable combo dish. The beef was too salty, even I reminded the waiter to reduce the salt.
The waiter and waitress gave us very warm and careful services. Restaurant's location is good in Irvine Spectrum, and it's decoration was nice. Price is not too expense.
Overall, I like to use this restaurant for a special occasion getting together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Usually a reliable place but Friday night was horrible. With servers who couldn't be bothered attending to basic table needs, food that arrived cold, etc. This used to be a great place but the servers have become younger and with that, arrogance and a lack of training...really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was terrible and the drinks insanely expensive. A Cosmo cost $24.00 because I requested Grey Goose Vodka . The service was barely adequate and no one smiles or welcomes you. In fact you actually feel unwelcome. We will not be going back and we would recommend you not go there either. This was the WORST dining experience we have had in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Chinese food was good but I've had better. Typical but pricey dim sum selections. Nice to place to go to once in a while but I felt it was overrated. Service is fast, almost too fast. I felt like they were rush us out of there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Once we ordered not a single server stopped by our table to see if our food was good, water, or even the check. So dissapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2016

foods are quite expensive - services was average - to go could be in a plastic box rather than a Styrofoam and it got leak all over when i got home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.