About Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum

770 Spectrum Center Drive
Irvine, CA 92618
View Larger Map

PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Welcome to Capital's newest restaurant concept. Located in the heart of Orange County inside Irvine Spectrum. With much success in its other location in the Diamond Jamboree center, Capital decided to launch another location in the O.C. Capital is most known for its award winning dim sum and fresh seafood selections. With over 100 dim sum selections to choose from daily and great fresh seafood offerings. Dim Sum favorites such as Sui Mai, Shrimp Har Gow and Baked B.B.Q. Buns are customer favorites to name a few. Live Seafood offerings from our 300 gallon tanks consist of Alaskan King Crab, Maine Lobsters, Dungeness Crab and Catch of the Day. This new concept offers a full bar with an outdoor patio dining experience. Reservations are suggested and offsite catering and private dining are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Dim Sum, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Dim Sum Served: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday, Sunday and Holidays: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm.
Regular Menu Served: Monday- Friday 11:00 am - 9:30 pm Saturday and Sundays 10:00 am- 10:30 pm
Happy Hour Monday-Friday: 3:00 pm-7:00 pm Bar area only and no reservations)

Cross Street:
Irvine Center Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 788-9218

Website:
http://www.capital-seafood.com/

Entertainment:
Capital (Irvine Spectrum) offers a full bar with great selections of the finest wines and spirits. With 4 private dining rooms and patio dining to accommodate large parties.

Executive Chef:
Chef Bui

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.0

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.5

ambience

3.8

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (5)
Good for Groups (4)
Family Style (3)
See All
Spicy (3)
Special Occasion (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Creative Cuisine (3)
Great for Lunch (3)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Fun (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Authentic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for Birthdays (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
526 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

This is our go-to restaurant for authent ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 7, 2017

This is our go-to restaurant for authentic Cantonese / Chinese cuisine in S. Orange County. They also have dim-sum if you go at lunch

Tags: Spicy, Kid-friendly, Outstanding Value, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

My mother and father in law enjoyed the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My mother and father in law enjoyed the food and the restaurant on New Year's Eve to celebrate their 88th birthdays.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Afternoon Tea
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Roast Duck is why we can and it did not ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Roast Duck is why we can and it did not disappoint!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We were celebrating a 93rd birthday and ...

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on December 29, 2016

We were celebrating a 93rd birthday and the meal was delicious. The service was excellent

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It was Xmas, so allowances should be mad ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 26, 2016

It was Xmas, so allowances should be made, but:

  1. After checking in for a 6:45 pm reservation, we had to wait 30+ minutes to be seated.
  1. We then waited for 15 minutes after being seated to order anything.
  1. We weren't given the whole menu. We saw dishes we liked coming out of the kitchen after we had already ordered.
  1. Our soup came before our mixed drinks.
  1. One mixed drink was not drinkable, did not taste like its namesake.
  1. I wasn't able to send it back because no one stopped long enough in front of our table for me even to ask for a different drink.
  1. That soup I mentioned earlier was missing half of its ingredients it comes with. After almost finished with the soup a runner and manager came by with the remaining ingredients to put into the soup. We didn't accept it because we were almost done with our soup. We had to tell our waiter at the end of the meal or he would not have known.
  1. Our first main dish arrived but we had no rice to go with it. We waited more than five minutes for our waiter to notice.
  1. We had to ask for water twice. It was the first thing we had asked for from our waiter.
  1. I felt bad for our waiter. He was pleasant at the end of the meal but for the first half of the meal he was clearly not happy with working this night. He swore while walking past us because a dish another customer had ordered was too spicy. It was ordered not to be spicy and the kitchen messed up.

I could go on up to 20 issues, but I think this tells enough.

My compassion led me to give the guy a 15% tip, but the service, some of which was clearly not his fault, was dreadful.

The food was good but not great. Sam Woo does a better job as does China Moon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

I wouldn't recommend for vegetarians, pe ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I wouldn't recommend for vegetarians, people that like vegetables, or special orders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Capital Seafood was excellent. The food ...

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Capital Seafood was excellent. The food was well prepared and nicely presented. The Peking Duck, while expensive, was worth every penny. Our server, Jay, was attentive and friendly. The seating selections for a party of two are poor. They first attempted to seat us next to someone w at least 10 bags and boxes (Christmas shopping), the only other place for two was adjacent to the kitchen and an outside door that opened frequently letting cold air in... we would like to try the dim sum next time. And we will return

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Had to ask two servers for our drinks. S ...

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on December 24, 2016

Had to ask two servers for our drinks. Served appetizers after two main course meals were served. Finally had to ask someone to take our credit card so we could leave. Service was not good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

Quantity of every dish enough for everyo ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 12, 2016

Quantity of every dish enough for everyone but the waiter still recommend us to get set dinner (combo one) but expensive than order dish individually. After we order dish individually, they are enough to fill all of every one's tummy. Overall the taste of every dish is good but not top delicious. Before I make reservation of this restaurant, I read some reviews in Yelp, the price range for everyone is 11 - 30 is correct.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Our waitress was horrible. Very rarely ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Our waitress was horrible. Very rarely stopped by, and forgot to put the order in for our childs meal. Hostess was very unaccomdating too. The food was decent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

Our go to place - Capital Seafood. Whene ...

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Our go to place - Capital Seafood. Whenever we can't decide in a restaurant its Capital Seafood. House special shrimp and dim sum are always great. Chow fun as well

Tags: Family Style, Kid-friendly, Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Great food, but couldn't believe how noi ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 24, 2016

Great food, but couldn't believe how noisy the staff was in closing down the party room. They showed no concern for the diners.

Tags: Casual, Sunday Lunch, Fun, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service3
value3

Food is a little bland. Temperature is o ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 17, 2016

Food is a little bland. Temperature is on point. Service is so-so, manager needs to be RE-educated and trained on table/touching skills. Overall, an average dining experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2

We really enjoyed the tasty food and the ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on November 11, 2016

We really enjoyed the tasty food and the friendly atmosphere.

Tags: Quick Bite, Good Vegetarian Options, Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Poor service We were not happy at all

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 24, 2016

Poor service

We were not happy at all

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

We LOVE Capital Seafood! Excellent dim ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on September 27, 2016

We LOVE Capital Seafood! Excellent dim sum, great fried rice, delicious Peking duck. We highly recommend. Wing is our favorite server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiters and waitresses need to pay much ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waiters and waitresses need to pay much more attention to guest tables especially remember what guest' requests.

We asked for pepper and the waitress said yes, walked away and never come back with it although we asked in a very polite manner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was really quite good! The standout ...

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was really quite good! The standout was the lettuce wraps! The meat was so good, we could have eaten it by the spoonful! Everything we had was clean, and fresh and very very good! The place is LOUD, so a romantic dinner, it is not. There were several tables of patrons letting their kids run around like idiots! Their ignorance became our problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was just ok for my husband and I. See ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was just ok for my husband and I. Seemed a bit overpriced for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great for groups as the dishes are to be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great for groups as the dishes are to be shared by everyone. Each dish has a lot of food. Best shared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was authentic and so delicious. We ordered the wonton soup and also enjoyed the walnut shrimp with melon. Superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the first time I have had dinne ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was the first time I have had dinner at Capital. We have previously been for dim sum which is very good. We had a reservation and our table was ready when we arrived. The filet of beef chunks was excellent and so was the pan fried noodle chow mein.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was recommended to us & ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on July 20, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us & this was our 1st visit. It is a beautiful restaurant. The service was exceptional. The food is excellent!! We had a variety of dim sum, fried rice and Peking duck. This food is the real deal. There is a reason why it was busy - excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I liked their winter-melon seafood soup, ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2016

I liked their winter-melon seafood soup, lobster & noodles, vegetable combo dish. The beef was too salty, even I reminded the waiter to reduce the salt.

The waiter and waitress gave us very warm and careful services. Restaurant's location is good in Irvine Spectrum, and it's decoration was nice. Price is not too expense.

Overall, I like to use this restaurant for a special occasion getting together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually a reliable place but Friday nigh ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 26, 2016

Usually a reliable place but Friday night was horrible. With servers who couldn't be bothered attending to basic table needs, food that arrived cold, etc. This used to be a great place but the servers have become younger and with that, arrogance and a lack of training...really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

A Real Disappointment

vip
 (New England)·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was terrible and the drinks insanely expensive. A Cosmo cost $24.00 because I requested Grey Goose Vodka . The service was barely adequate and no one smiles or welcomes you. In fact you actually feel unwelcome. We will not be going back and we would recommend you not go there either. This was the WORST dining experience we have had in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Chinese food was good but I've had bette ...

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 18, 2016

Chinese food was good but I've had better. Typical but pricey dim sum selections. Nice to place to go to once in a while but I felt it was overrated. Service is fast, almost too fast. I felt like they were rush us out of there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Service

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 17, 2016

Once we ordered not a single server stopped by our table to see if our food was good, water, or even the check. So dissapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

friend recommended

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 11, 2016

foods are quite expensive - services was average - to go could be in a plastic box rather than a Styrofoam and it got leak all over when i got home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Ive been here twice now. The first time ...

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 5, 2016

Ive been here twice now. The first time I thought maybe the wrong items. But now I know all the food is bland,and not enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very disappointed... No more a go to place...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 28, 2016

Been here on many occasions, mostly for dim sum. But the dinner we had to celebrate our Fathers 80th birthday was very disappointing. Everybody thought the food and service was terrible. Capital Seafood lost its way. Unfortunately I will not waste my time and money and not return anymore..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Location is awesome! Eat and shop afterw ...

vip
 (Central Coast)·Dined on March 21, 2016

Location is awesome! Eat and shop afterwards or vice versa. The food is ok everything just seems super salty. Food is definitely overloaded with MSG so if you have sensitivity towards MSG I would suggest to avoid this place. The good thing about this place is its not overly greasy like usual Chinese food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great chinese food anytime!! Dimsum on s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great chinese food anytime!! Dimsum on sundays a must great food!!! Open Christmas day as well. The house string beans are killer:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Kelvin is the BEST!!! :D Also, Peking du ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2016

Kelvin is the BEST!!! :D

Also, Peking duck and lobster is pretty good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great night

 
 (Central Coast)·Dined on February 21, 2016

Perfect night. Dinner was great, everything was done perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great but left forgotten!

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great, until the place got a bit of a rush and at least four tables (in the same area) were left unattended for 40 mins. Meanwhile a large engagement party was constantly being attended. The house manager had to check us out, never saw our waiter again. Food was great, portions were large, saki was on-point.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Dim sum terrible, poor, slow service. Ne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 14, 2016

Dim sum terrible, poor, slow service. Never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Happy new year!

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 9, 2016

It was Chinese new year and the place was packed. The service was a bit slow but good for the circumstances. The special new year menu was excellent. 90% of the patrons were Chinese which is something I love to see in a Chinese restaurant. I really enjoyed sharing this holiday with them and watching all the families together. I plan on going every year from now on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dreadful food

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had two appetizers, one noodle dish, one main dish and all were not only tasteless but also heavy and gluey. The noodles were inedible, a barely warm clump of food. The dim sum platter was also heavy and doughy, without much filling. We had heard good reports but would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We eat at this restaurant every time we ...

vip
 (Kansas City)·Dined on February 5, 2016

We eat at this restaurant every time we visit Irvine. The staff is extremely courteous and efficient. The food comes out hot and fast and its very very good. I recommend the Peking duck and any of their fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.