About Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum

770 Spectrum Center Drive
Irvine, CA 92618
View Larger Map

PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Welcome to Capital's newest restaurant concept. Located in the heart of Orange County inside Irvine Spectrum. With much success in its other location in the Diamond Jamboree center, Capital decided to launch another location in the O.C. Capital is most known for its award winning dim sum and fresh seafood selections. With over 100 dim sum selections to choose from daily and great fresh seafood offerings. Dim Sum favorites such as Sui Mai, Shrimp Har Gow and Baked B.B.Q. Buns are customer favorites to name a few. Live Seafood offerings from our 300 gallon tanks consist of Alaskan King Crab, Maine Lobsters, Dungeness Crab and Catch of the Day. This new concept offers a full bar with an outdoor patio dining experience. Reservations are suggested and offsite catering and private dining are available.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Chinese, Dim Sum, Seafood

Hours of Operation:
PLEASE CALL IN FOR LUNCH RESERVATIONS
Dim Sum Served: Monday - Friday: 11:00 am - 3:00 pm, Saturday, Sunday and Holidays: 10:00 am - 3:00 pm.
Regular Menu Served: Monday- Friday 11:00 am - 9:30 pm Saturday and Sundays 10:00 am- 10:30 pm
Happy Hour Monday-Friday: 3:00 pm-7:00 pm Bar area only and no reservations)

Cross Street:
Irvine Center Dr.

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 788-9218

Website:
http://www.capital-seafood.com/

Entertainment:
Capital (Irvine Spectrum) offers a full bar with great selections of the finest wines and spirits. With 4 private dining rooms and patio dining to accommodate large parties.

Executive Chef:
Chef Bui

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Wine

Restaurant Photos

House Special Shrimp
Dragon Soup Dumplings
Orange Chicken
Thai Basil and Chili Clams
siu mai
Spare Ribs
Red bean dessert
Hong Kong Style Chow Fun
Steamed Buns with pork
Pineapple Egg Buns
Almond Tea Souffle
Honey Walnut Shrimp

Capital Seafood - Irvine Spectrum Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.3

ambience

3.5

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

73% would recommend it to a friend

Fit for Foodies (5)
Good for Groups (5)
Special Occasion (4)
See All
Kid-friendly (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Scenic View (1)
Neighborhood Gem (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Sort By:
Newest
472 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We LOVE Capital Seafood! Excellent dim ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined 3 days ago

We LOVE Capital Seafood! Excellent dim sum, great fried rice, delicious Peking duck. We highly recommend. Wing is our favorite server.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiters and waitresses need to pay much ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 15, 2016

Waiters and waitresses need to pay much more attention to guest tables especially remember what guest' requests.

We asked for pepper and the waitress said yes, walked away and never come back with it although we asked in a very polite manner.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was really quite good! The standout ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food was really quite good! The standout was the lettuce wraps! The meat was so good, we could have eaten it by the spoonful! Everything we had was clean, and fresh and very very good! The place is LOUD, so a romantic dinner, it is not. There were several tables of patrons letting their kids run around like idiots! Their ignorance became our problem.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

It was just ok for my husband and I. See ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

It was just ok for my husband and I. Seemed a bit overpriced for the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3

Great for groups as the dishes are to be ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great for groups as the dishes are to be shared by everyone. Each dish has a lot of food. Best shared.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

The service was excellent and the food w ...

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The service was excellent and the food was authentic and so delicious. We ordered the wonton soup and also enjoyed the walnut shrimp with melon. Superb!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

This was the first time I have had dinne ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

This was the first time I have had dinner at Capital. We have previously been for dim sum which is very good. We had a reservation and our table was ready when we arrived. The filet of beef chunks was excellent and so was the pan fried noodle chow mein.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

This restaurant was recommended to us & ...

vip
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

This restaurant was recommended to us & this was our 1st visit. It is a beautiful restaurant. The service was exceptional. The food is excellent!! We had a variety of dim sum, fried rice and Peking duck. This food is the real deal. There is a reason why it was busy - excellent!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

I liked their winter-melon seafood soup, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

I liked their winter-melon seafood soup, lobster & noodles, vegetable combo dish. The beef was too salty, even I reminded the waiter to reduce the salt.

The waiter and waitress gave us very warm and careful services. Restaurant's location is good in Irvine Spectrum, and it's decoration was nice. Price is not too expense.

Overall, I like to use this restaurant for a special occasion getting together.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Usually a reliable place but Friday nigh ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Usually a reliable place but Friday night was horrible. With servers who couldn't be bothered attending to basic table needs, food that arrived cold, etc. This used to be a great place but the servers have become younger and with that, arrogance and a lack of training...really disappointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value2

A Real Disappointment

vip
 (New England)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

The food was terrible and the drinks insanely expensive. A Cosmo cost $24.00 because I requested Grey Goose Vodka . The service was barely adequate and no one smiles or welcomes you. In fact you actually feel unwelcome. We will not be going back and we would recommend you not go there either. This was the WORST dining experience we have had in years!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Chinese food was good but I've had bette ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 18, 2016

Chinese food was good but I've had better. Typical but pricey dim sum selections. Nice to place to go to once in a while but I felt it was overrated. Service is fast, almost too fast. I felt like they were rush us out of there.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Service

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Once we ordered not a single server stopped by our table to see if our food was good, water, or even the check. So dissapointing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1
value2

friend recommended

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 11, 2016

foods are quite expensive - services was average - to go could be in a plastic box rather than a Styrofoam and it got leak all over when i got home.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value1

Ive been here twice now. The first time ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 5, 2016

Ive been here twice now. The first time I thought maybe the wrong items. But now I know all the food is bland,and not enjoyable.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Very disappointed... No more a go to place...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 28, 2016

Been here on many occasions, mostly for dim sum. But the dinner we had to celebrate our Fathers 80th birthday was very disappointing. Everybody thought the food and service was terrible. Capital Seafood lost its way. Unfortunately I will not waste my time and money and not return anymore..

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Location is awesome! Eat and shop afterw ...

vip
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on March 21, 2016

Location is awesome! Eat and shop afterwards or vice versa. The food is ok everything just seems super salty. Food is definitely overloaded with MSG so if you have sensitivity towards MSG I would suggest to avoid this place. The good thing about this place is its not overly greasy like usual Chinese food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great chinese food anytime!! Dimsum on s ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on March 14, 2016

Great chinese food anytime!! Dimsum on sundays a must great food!!! Open Christmas day as well. The house string beans are killer:)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Kelvin is the BEST!!! :D Also, Peking du ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 26, 2016

Kelvin is the BEST!!! :D

Also, Peking duck and lobster is pretty good

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Great night

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on February 21, 2016

Perfect night. Dinner was great, everything was done perfect.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great but left forgotten!

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 15, 2016

Everything was great, until the place got a bit of a rush and at least four tables (in the same area) were left unattended for 40 mins. Meanwhile a large engagement party was constantly being attended. The house manager had to check us out, never saw our waiter again. Food was great, portions were large, saki was on-point.

Tags: Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

Dim sum terrible, poor, slow service. Ne ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 14, 2016

Dim sum terrible, poor, slow service. Never eat there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1

Happy new year!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 9, 2016

It was Chinese new year and the place was packed. The service was a bit slow but good for the circumstances. The special new year menu was excellent. 90% of the patrons were Chinese which is something I love to see in a Chinese restaurant. I really enjoyed sharing this holiday with them and watching all the families together. I plan on going every year from now on.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Dreadful food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

We had two appetizers, one noodle dish, one main dish and all were not only tasteless but also heavy and gluey. The noodles were inedible, a barely warm clump of food. The dim sum platter was also heavy and doughy, without much filling. We had heard good reports but would never return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value2

We eat at this restaurant every time we ...

vip
 (Kansas City)
·Dined on February 5, 2016

We eat at this restaurant every time we visit Irvine. The staff is extremely courteous and efficient. The food comes out hot and fast and its very very good. I recommend the Peking duck and any of their fish dishes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Portions were very large; I wish we had ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 31, 2015

Portions were very large; I wish we had been warned that we ordered too much food. The service was not very good. The menu also seems to have fewer options than in the past.

The food, however, was very good.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

I like the dim sum and the service is gr ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 28, 2015

I like the dim sum and the service is great. Thank you

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

The family decided to have Thanksgiving ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 27, 2015

The family decided to have Thanksgiving dinner at a restaurant. We agreed upon Capital Seafood. Thanks for a good experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

The time it took to get our food was terribly slow

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 7, 2015

The time it took to get our food was terribly slow. It took at least 40 minutes to get our main entrees. We only ordered 3 entrees and an appetizer. All three entrees did not get served to us at the same time. It took another 10 minutes to get the last dish. Was disappointed in the amount of time to receive our food. It has never been this slow before.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1

Always love the dim sum. Not having to ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

Always love the dim sum. Not having to wait with reservation through Open Table is a plus. Mentioned it to our friends and they are sold as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Mediocre service

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 29, 2015

Thr food was very good and portion sizes were generous for 2 people splitting the dishes. The place was kind of dead for a 4:30 dinner time we had. In the separate back dining area that was completely empty, we noticed a man sleeping in the booth. When our server noticed us staring, he apologized for him and said it was his coworker who was really high. We were shocked there wasn't a manager to send this guy home!! Not a single employee even batted an eye to their fellow server sleeping on the job. For the price some people pay for a dinner here, I can't believe not more people complained.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2

We were treated so badly here and will a ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 22, 2015

We were treated so badly here and will absolutely never go back. We had an open table reservation for 10:15 and got there 10:10 and were refused service as they said they close at 10:30 and weren't even apologetic for not serving us . They shouldn't be on open table at all if they cannot go by their reservation timings. I will be contacting customer service about this.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

The Dim Sum was the best part of the meal.

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 20, 2015

Very good service. Lots of choices between different types of meat and fish along with different types of preparation and sauces. Known in the area for it's quality Dim Sum. You have to try it.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Couples & Groups who share

 
 (Baltimore)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

It is good for Dim Sum or groups who like to share. Individual orders come out slowly one at time. As the only vegetarian at the table couldn't share dishes that came out sooner, so I spent so much time just waiting for food w/o meat. Also, my friend had a hard time finding chicken that wasn't breaded and deep fried before flavoring.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

Poor service for the brand

vip
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2015

Not nearly to the standard of capital grill. We had a large group and none of the service staff could communicate with us. This lead to us ordering $750 of extra food AFTER we had already ordered our meals. I expected more from the capital brand.

I won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I got ripped off ! customer beware!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 2, 2015

I got ripped off ! The restaurant charged me 276.0 a 3.5 pound steamed fish. They claimed it was imported from Australia. I was charged 78+ Dollars a pound. It tasted no difference than any other fishes at any Chinese restaurant! The waiter never informed me of the price at time taking the order. I never had to pay this much for a fish. The 3.5 lbs Fish must be on the list and danger species? Or the restaurant must have paid its plane ticket from Australia to the U.S.?

What a fraud!

customers beware !!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

You will probably be fine - if you're Asian

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 26, 2015

I made a reservation through Open Table. My party arrived 5 mins early and despite I could see several tables open, we were told our table wasn't ready and were handed a pager. We went to the bar and ordered drinks but after waiting for ten minutes, my wife was fuming as several parties of asians were led to tables. She approached the hosted when she saw what appeared to be a manager and told him we had reservations and demanded to know why we were still waiting. He immediately took us to a table (one that had been unoccupied the entire time) and we were seated.

More long waits until the waiter arrived. We ask for water and the brought plastic cups with lids that are normally reserved for children. I noted that every other table had regular glasses.

We ordered the food and more long waiting. The food finally arrived (we had been at the restaurant for 45 mins at this point) and it was good. It wasn't knock-you-socks-off, but about Panda Express good.

I had made a note on my reservation that it was my wife's birthday, but the night passed without a mention from the staff - maybe we were not of the right persuasion to have such an occasion noted.

Overall, I would recommend one go to another restaurant that values all of their customers

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1

Great meal. Great service

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on July 20, 2015

Lots of food. Great service. Good bar drinks. Well worth it!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Love the dim sum, but entrees are good as well.

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 23, 2015

The only fault I find is the people with the dim sum carts & trays are too pushy & intrusive. Also it's very hard to understand their descriptions of the items. The regular wait staff is younger, thus with better English. We always get a few different things and share them. Would like to try more, but we get full too soon! In the past we've had the wonton soup that comes family style and is cheap & delish. We've tried the large scallops entree with tons of diagonal cut fresh asparagus - - TDF. On the whole, cost seems somewhat reasonable.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

Like the reservation was not there

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on June 22, 2015

Still waited 40 mins with opentable reservation after we agreed to sit in the bar section. Otherwise, it would have been a longer wait.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.