About Capische

555 Kaukahi Street
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Where Northern Italy meets Southern France At the Top of Wailea. Tucked away on a steep hill is South Maui's best kept secret. A stone entryway leads you past the piano lounge and martini bar into two unique dining room settings. First the open lanai revealing 180 degree views of the surrounding ocean. Down below are tables set amongst pristine Japanese Gardens.
Owner and Award Winning Chef Brian Etheredge passionately embraces traditional Italian ingredients and recipes with concern for detail.
Our wine list consists of globally sourced wines of exceptional quality and is highlighted by our much sought after Italian selections.
Start your evening with a fine cocktail while listening to the smooth sounds of our live jazz and blues in our lounge Friday, Saturday and Sundays.
We love what we do, and you will see our intense appreciation for fine food, wine and service throughout your exquisite dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Kalai Waa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-2224

Website:
http://www.capische.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and Blues every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Come watch the dancing fingers of Mark Johnstone, an extremely talented jazz musician whom began playing at the age of five. Accompanied by John Zangrando on the saxophone Friday Night, you will feel the sounds in your soul. Saturday he teams up with Marcus Johnson on his upright bass sending the sensational beats drumming through your feet. Sunday nights hear soulful R&B tunes of Kelly Covington and Brian Cuomo. Their songs will bring you back to the memories of the past while you make new ones in the present.

Parking Details:
We have complimentary valet available or self parking if preferred.

Executive Chef:
Brian Etheredge

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties on the open air lanai as well as in our garden dining area. Our upstairs lanai can accommodate up to 70 guests with a picturesque view of the ocean. The intimate garden dining area will seat up to 50 guests.

We have on site wedding ceremony space available as well. Please call for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeannette Kasin: 8084637978x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Capische Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Italian
Hawaii
Best Ambiance
Maui
Romantic
Maui
1 More
Special Occasion
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

romantic (73)
special occasion (63)
great for outdoor dining (63)
See All
scenic view (56)
fit for foodies (53)
notable wine list (33)
neighborhood gem (12)
good for groups (6)
hot spot (4)
great for lunch (3)
great for brunch (3)
late-night find (2)
kid-friendly (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
893 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, as usual. Wonderful! We had ...

Dined 5 days ago

Very nice, as usual. Wonderful! We had an especially good time .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous! Service was excepti ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Service was exceptional + food and presentation were exquisite. Loved everything about the experience. Highly recommend and will return, prior to departing. Simply a divine dining delight! Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of our best dining experiences on Maui.

Dined on May 20, 2016

One of our best dining experiences on Maui. Such a gorgeous setting, delicious food, attentive service, and friendly. It is expensive but if you want a great meal with an amazingly romantic setting and gorgeous scenic view, this is your place! Worth it in our opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

great views

Dined on May 20, 2016

If you are looking for beautiful views, you have found the spot. Beautiful Italian/French restaurant. The homemade pasta dish are all excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and ambiance. Definitel ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Outstanding meal and ambiance. Definitely will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the restaurant. Great ser ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really enjoyed the restaurant. Great service, excellent food both in taste and presentation. Great view that would be fantastic for a sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place for a romantic dinner! Ex ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome place for a romantic dinner! Excellent food, view and service! Truffle risotto us a must!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and experience

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

We stumbled on the the restaurant driving around exploring Maui; we looked at the menu and were very impressed. Then we ran into a couple who told us it was their favorite. We made the reservation and wow, what an evening. If we were not moving to another part of the island much further away we would have dined there again. Still actually considering it. The best risotto, gnocchi and sashimi we've ever had. Wonderful flavor combinations that surprised and excited us throughout the evening. If you are a foodie - you definitely need to try capische!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This is one of the most beautifully roma ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is one of the most beautifully romantic restaurant lanais on Maui. Great views from high up the hill in Wailea. We had a wonderful meal. We split the truffle risotto, which was rich and creamy yet subtle. We also splits salad that was crisp and fresh. The lamb Oso Bucco was phenomenal. My fish less so, but the server was horrified to hear that and comp'ed my meal. We chose the creme brûlée flight for dessert and they added a lovely flourish for my husband's birthday. We can't wait to go back again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and view

Dined on May 7, 2016

My friend and I both had the mahi mahi, it was beautifully prepared and very fresh. I had the beef carpaccio , fabulous and my friend had the cauliflower asparagus soup, also delicious. Lovely sunset seen from the excellent vantage point of their outdoor dining area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantics Interlude

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

This restaurant is so incredible. A patio dining experience with food that is not forgettable. Our server was fabulous, meal incredible, and nothing to complain about. If you like romance,m with great food, this is your paradise and place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! The service & amb ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Fantastic experience! The service & ambience were exquisite! The food was first rate! We had the beef carpaccio, gnocchi, bolognese & beef filet. Each had its own flavor and was one of our best meals on the island. Highly recommend the small bite of dessert with the liloko'i tart. And overall experience one must repeat and a hidden gem!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, unique romantic

Dined on April 22, 2016

Capische? Is a one-of-a-kind restaurant in West Maui. The restaurant is intimate but tables are not too close together. Views are fantastic. And the food is all locally sourced fresh incredibly delicious and perfectly prepared. Outstanding service. And prices to match. Great for a special occasion for two. We will be back. Try a cocktail or dessert with passion fruit and any seafood or housemade pasta dish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful dining experience!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The service at Capische? is top notch - servers are attentive without being overly so. The food is quite good with creative presentation and great flavors. We've actually had breakfast, lunch and dinner here, as we are staying at Hotel Wailea. Highly recommended !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Bad experience, terrible food hit and miss.

Dined on April 20, 2016

First, we had dinner on the night we arrived. The gnocci with beef cheek was an excellent starter, which is why we were so dissapointed when the venison arrived and tasted like it had been in a freezer storage for two years. What's more, is that it was the very first item the waitress had recommended! Second meal was breakfast, and we wanted room service on the first morning of our honeymoon stay at Hotel Wailea. When we called, they told us the kitchen was too busy to deliver. So we doggie bagged our breakfast to bring it to the room. This didn't bother us, but when the veggie omlete tasted like hard cardboard and was covered, and in fact saturated with black pepper, and then the kale salad was soggy, the coffee was like water....it was unbeliveable that this award-winning restaurant and more than $100 breakfast was a complete failure!! Two Truly disappointing meals!! Time to take a closer look at your kitchen,...., Capiche?

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Capische ancora

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

We were delighted to learn that truffle mushroom risotto has returned to the menu. Spectacular sunset. New entree was interesting (Venison with rub and variety of taste complements). Bolognese superior. Lililoi tart was unique and Excellent service is standard. This is one of our favorite restaurants on Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautifully romantic fine dining experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

We dined twice at Capische? during our recent vacation in Maui. The first night we ate later in the evening and had a wonderful semi private experience sitting in their garden area. The second time was the final night of our vacation and we had an early dinner while sitting on the balcony watching an absolutely amazing sunset. Both experiences were outstanding in every way. Every detail of the meal was exquisite. The sophisticated combinations of flavors used in each dish along with an elegant presentation made this our top dining experience in Maui. The service and setting could not have been better. We started with the crudo board which included three unique preparations of local raw fish presented beautifully on a slate board. The first time we dined there I had the Snapper which was prepared beautifully, but the addition of the tortelloni and chestnut brown butter sauce made this a favorite. My husband had to have this dish the second time we dined so he could have more than just a taste from my plate. The second night I had the Filet Mignon which was also outstanding. The flavors and the sauce presented in dollops on the plate allowed you to experience each taste differently. Other places we dined at in Maui include Ferraro's at the four seasons and Mama's fish house which were also good, but this was our favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sublime restaurant - best in Maui

Dined on April 16, 2016

My favourite restaurant in Maui for a romantic date. Ambiance is amazing sitting in the garden. Food sublime - fresh and delicious and service exemplary! Couldn't fault it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our anniversary wit ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary with a sunset dinner and were not disappointed. The waitstaff was well trained and were not obtrusive to our special evening, slipping in and out to clear away plates, refill glasses, etc. The food was well prepared, we enjoyed the snapper and risotto as the mains and had the Caesar salad and quinoa salad as apps. We orders the cre me brûlée for dessert but as a special anniversary the staff brought us a free caramel chocolate dessert was amazing and I reccomend it to anyone that enjoys caramel. It was a special touch and we thank The restaurant for a great evening with an amazing sunset view

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite several trips to Maui in recent ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Despite several trips to Maui in recent years, this was our first time at Capische, and it was worth the effort to find this gem, a bit off the beaten path. It's high up on a hill, in the Hotel Wailea, (a very exclusive and charming resort), with a westward view of the coastline, the ocean, and even the northwestern half of the island in the distance. All tables are outside, though ours was on the upper (covered) level, which afforded an even better view. Oh, and did I mention we ate at sunset, watching the sun set over the Hawaiian Pacific? Service was excellent, as was the food, which competes with the view as the main attraction. But this is one "view" restaurant that doesn't just "get by" on the breathtaking vistas! I had a bouillabaisse that was incredible and flavorful - full of lobster, clams, mussels, fish, shrimp, etc.- AND the chef didn't hesitate to make it without certain spices that I can't digest. One of our party had the rack of venison, and others had steak and Mahi, all of which were incredible. The best dessert in the house was a lillikoi (passionfruit) pastry with coconut sorbet, and it was a masterful blend of "sweet and sour", and though small in size, it was quite satisfying, and really intrigued the taste buds. The wine list was a nice mix of American (mostly CA) and European wines, though there were selections from S. America and elsewhere, too. 3 hours just flew by, between enjoying the company, the food/wine, and the stunning view! Capische will now be on our "must do" list on future trips to Maui!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not worth the $$$

Dined on April 6, 2016

Incredibly over priced. The hotel is alright and the idea of having an outdoor restaurant is good, but they don't have any heat lamps or protection from the wind... Service was nice and attentive, but couldn't overcompensate for the just okay meal at an exorbitant price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful balcony dining or garden dinin ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful balcony dining or garden dining! Fit for foodies for sure!! Don't miss the mushroom/truffle risotto!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tom our server was very helpful and we r ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Tom our server was very helpful and we really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful location and fantastic food an ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Wonderful location and fantastic food and service. Out go to place in Maui.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capische? Absolutely!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Fabulous meal. Great service. Sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean. It was a wonderful night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, and setting. We ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Excellent food, service, and setting. We have dined here several times and cannot say enough great things.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Ever in Maui

Dined on March 19, 2016

What a find! Capische is expensive (same territory as Mama's or Nick's), but absolutely outstanding .... perfect for a romantic special occasion. A bit "off the beaten track", but well worth the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Over-the-top service and food. We had re ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Over-the-top service and food. We had reserved a garden table for four for a special occasion, however, the windy weather necessitated the closure of the garden area. The manager very quickly set up an amazing table in a private corner of the lobby surrounded by plants and lovely lighting and we were thrilled. Erica was our attentive and knowledgeable server. Everyone, including the bartender, was amazing and our experience was wonderful. If we are ever in Maui again, Capische will be our first dinner stop. And maybe our second and third......

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely quiet dinner for 4, just what we ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Lovely quiet dinner for 4, just what we wanted. Both the drink and dinner menus were creative and well thought out. Two ordered a seafood and pasta dish that was deemed excellent. One ordered the chicken marsala which also got rave reviews. I had the cioppino which in my opinion won the evening. The fish and shell fish were cooked to perfection then added to the rich stock and served over orecchiette pasta. The only down note was that I couldnt finish every drop. In my opinion, perfection! The chef here obviously cares a great deal about his craft.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Superb food and service. Anna was our w ...

vip
Dined on March 11, 2016

Superb food and service. Anna was our waitress, assisted by Guillermo. We had the mushroom risotto which was even better than superb! and the cioppino which was spectacular. This is a high end restaurant. Pricey, but worth the price.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Sunset dinner

Dined on March 11, 2016

We had a birthday dinner here. The food was great and the sunset view was amazing.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Can not wait to go back

vip
Dined on March 5, 2016

this is a favorite for both of us. The booths are comfortable, the food is excellent, the service prompt and professional, the bartenders know what they are doing and the sauces as out of this world. Go and experience excellency!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went back 3x in 5 nights!

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Ok so I understand how people might say this restaurant is on the expensive side, but it's truly "upscale casual" fine dining. The food is superb and chef was willing to accommodate dietary restrictions and preferences. What really stood out for us, however, was the amazing service we received. Two of the nights we were there we had Christian as a server, and one night we had Mark. Even with completely different styles, we felt so welcomed by them. We understand the view is supposed to be spectacular and there is a lovely garden to eat in, but we went later and loved dining on the open air Lanai. The fact that we went back 3x in 5 nights kind of says it all. We appreciate many other spots on Maui, but we felt Capische gave us the best over all dining experience. Go and enjoy!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service4

Wonderful view, delicious food, and grea ...

vip
Dined on March 1, 2016

Wonderful view, delicious food, and great service.

food4
ambience5
service5

Great view, good, informed service. Food ...

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great view, good, informed service. Food was overall great. Chicken, as is always a risk was a bit dry. Ahi preparation was unique and delicious. Wine list is good and well balanced. Staff care about you and their place. Always recommend. Been over a dozen times in last 5 years. I do miss the old beet and goat cheese bar salad, the pumpkin gnocci and the lamb ragout with pasta. It was our favorite happy hour dish

food3
ambience4
service4

Monchong tough. Way over cooked. Beet s ...

vip
Dined on February 20, 2016

Monchong tough. Way over cooked. Beet salad excellent. View outstanding

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at CA ...

Dined on February 16, 2016

We celebrated our 25th anniversary at CAPISCHE. The manager and staff were friendly and professional. The food was EPIC!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Service was outstanding , food was good. ...

Dined on February 15, 2016

Service was outstanding , food was good. Great wine list.

food3
ambience3
service3

Ok, not great. Service was ok, he was fr ...

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Ok, not great. Service was ok, he was friendly enough. The truffle risotto was under whelming, definitely have had much better. The braised lamb osso busco was very good. My husband's steak was just ok. We skipped dessert as nothing really appealed to us. Just ok. Probably would not return. Additionally the address provided on open table was incorrect. Do not follow the pin. If you zoom out on the map then you will see that the restaurant is actually the opposite direction.

food3
ambience5
service5
value2

Valentine's Dinner

Dined on February 15, 2016

This was our 3rd visit to Capische and first I will start off by saying the place is beyond beautiful and the staff is wonderful. Our prior visits the food was AMAZING, this time I think maybe they were overwhelmed with the Valentine's rush. We ordered a lobster caprese salad that was anything but a caprese salad. We also had the risotto which is SPECTACULAR, so yummy! The cioppino was delicous and the filet although a little spicy was also quite delicious. I definitely recommend visiting this restaurant when coming to Maui, it is very romantic.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.