About Capische

555 Kaukahi Street
Wailea, HI 96753
View Larger Map

Where Northern Italy meets Southern France At the Top of Wailea. Tucked away on a steep hill is South Maui's best kept secret. A stone entryway leads you past the piano lounge and martini bar into two unique dining room settings. First the open lanai revealing 180 degree views of the surrounding ocean. Down below are tables set amongst pristine Japanese Gardens.
Owner and Award Winning Chef Brian Etheredge passionately embraces traditional Italian ingredients and recipes with concern for detail.
Our wine list consists of globally sourced wines of exceptional quality and is highlighted by our much sought after Italian selections.
Start your evening with a fine cocktail while listening to the smooth sounds of our live jazz and blues in our lounge Friday, Saturday and Sundays.
We love what we do, and you will see our intense appreciation for fine food, wine and service throughout your exquisite dining experience.

Dining Style:
Fine Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, French

Hours of Operation:
Dinner: Sunday - Saturday: 5:30pm - 9:30pm

Cross Street:
Kalai Waa

Dress Code:
Business Casual

Price Range:
$31 to $50

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, JCB, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(808) 879-2224

Website:
http://www.capische.com/

Entertainment:
Live Jazz and Blues every Friday, Saturday and Sunday. Come watch the dancing fingers of Mark Johnstone, an extremely talented jazz musician whom began playing at the age of five. Accompanied by John Zangrando on the saxophone Friday Night, you will feel the sounds in your soul. Saturday he teams up with Marcus Johnson on his upright bass sending the sensational beats drumming through your feet. Sunday nights hear soulful R&B tunes of Kelly Covington and Brian Cuomo. Their songs will bring you back to the memories of the past while you make new ones in the present.

Parking Details:
We have complimentary valet available or self parking if preferred.

Executive Chef:
Brian Etheredge

Private Party Facilities:
We can accommodate large parties on the open air lanai as well as in our garden dining area. Our upstairs lanai can accommodate up to 70 guests with a picturesque view of the ocean. The intimate garden dining area will seat up to 50 guests.

We have on site wedding ceremony space available as well. Please call for more details.

Private Party Contact:
Jeannette Kasin: 8084637978x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Chef's Table, Counter Seating, Entertainment, Full Bar, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Curried lentils, arugula, fennel, radish, yam, poached eggs
 Ahi tuna crudo, buddda's hand vinaigrette, white balsamic, crispy kale, beets
Charcuterie – Lamb rillettes with Heineken guava mustard and pickled radish, speck, prosciutto with fennel agrodolce, honey, fennel pollen
Hawaiian Amberjack Crudo
ahi tuna carpaccio
Poblano Pepper Margarita
Orechiette With Sausage Appetizer
Prosecco
White Rock Cocktail
Beet Salad
Opakapaka Fish
Beef Carpaccio
White Truffle Risotto
Bread
Ahi Tuna Crudo
Grenache
Arugula & Crispy Prosciutto Salad
Shrimp Carbonara

Capische Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.7

service

4.6

ambience

4.7

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Romantic
Hawaii
Italian
Hawaii
Best Overall
Maui
5 More
Best Service
Maui
Best Ambiance
Maui
Outdoor Dining
Maui
Romantic
Maui
Special Occasion
Maui
Best Restaurants in Wailea ›

romantic (72)
special occasion (64)
great for outdoor dining (60)
See All
fit for foodies (53)
scenic view (53)
notable wine list (34)
neighborhood gem (9)
good for groups (6)
vibrant bar scene (3)
hot spot (3)
kid-friendly (1)
great for brunch (1)
great for lunch (1)
late-night find (1)
Sort By:
Newest
904 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

Had a very good dinner and the server (C ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Had a very good dinner and the server (Candace) was exceptional!

food5
ambience4
service5

Capische offers a truly unique dining ex ...

vip
Dined on June 17, 2016

Capische offers a truly unique dining experience in a relaxed environment with amazing food and exceptional service. If dining before sunset I recommend not sitting in the garden as the airflow is limited. After sunset when things cool the garden becomes a romantic scene. Try the Lamb it is out of this world.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I went for breakfast one day and for din ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

I went for breakfast one day and for dinner another while staying at Hotel Wailea. The food was good but definitely not worth the price. My husband and I enjoyed our breakfast but agreed the total cost was not worth the eggs and side of fruit. For dinner, I felt the portion of food did not match the price. Also as a baker, I was also not impressed that the chocolate lava cake was missing the molten center. We did enjoy our cocktails and the waitstaff was very pleasant.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

This was my 2nd time to Capische and let ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

This was my 2nd time to Capische and let me just say one word; OUTSTANDING. The view and ambiance were 2nd to none and the food was as good as anywhere else I've been on Maui. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED. There is no better dining view in Maui. Period.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capische was our after-elopement-in-maui ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Capische was our after-elopement-in-maui dinner. We came right from the beach wedding, white clothes stained in sand. They knew right who we were from my OpenTable reservation, seated us immediately even though we were about 30 minutes early. Gave us a great balcony seat looking out over the water. The food was pricey, but good. I had the Cioppino (Italian seafood stew, to be crude) and it was wonderful. The ambiance was great. My newlywed wife had the Duck Breast, and it was wonderful. When ordering, knowing I'm a philistine about wine, I asked the waiter to suggest something to pair with the Cioppino, and he offered to bring out a couple for me to try. I told him, bring what you would suggest, and he did, and it was wonderful. Even my unrefined tongue could tell it was a wonderful wine, and it went perfectly with the flavors in the Cioppino. Great service, great food, wonderful view in Maui. What more could you ask for? There's a reason this is the top rated restaurant in south Maui. Splurge, it's worth it!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Romantic. Intimate. Beautiful views. Fla ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Romantic. Intimate. Beautiful views. Flawless service. Easily some of the best food I've ever had. Go. Now.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

extraordinary experience

Dined on June 9, 2016

We went first to the bar in the piano Lounge, which was optimum for the sonic sunset. Dinner was outside in the garden area. Extraordinary service, food and scene. My group of three per used the menu, we thought we knew what we wanted...but the server gave such a detailed and knowledgeable account of the offerings, we had to take a few. I Utes to discuss and decide! Wonderful service and food, served up in a nice display

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food2
ambience5
service4
value2

Nice atmosphere, not very Italian

Dined on June 4, 2016

Lovely setting with outside balcony tables and piano bar in background. Bread course was excellent, soup also good. I had the Bolognese and it was very bland, nearly inedible actually. I'm Italian, so it's probably my own fault for ordering Italian food in Hawaii, but given the name of the restaurant and the price of the meal, I was hopeful. Overall, nice place but entirely forgettable meal for quite a bit of money.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

What a beautiful evening. The baked fish ...

vip
Dined on June 1, 2016

What a beautiful evening. The baked fish was so amazing and the service was attentive, fast and kind.

food5
ambience5
service5

Just go and enjoy great food, nice servi ...

Dined on May 31, 2016

Just go and enjoy great food, nice service

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very nice, as usual. Wonderful! We had ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Very nice, as usual. Wonderful! We had an especially good time .

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of the best in Wailea

vip
Dined on May 27, 2016

It's not cheap (what in Wailea is), but if you are looking for a can't miss special occasion place with a great view, quiet ambience (you can talk to your partner), great wines and really excellent food, it's hard to beat Capische. It's not down on the beach (it's at the Hotel Wailea), but since it is located up on the hill the view is still excellent - try to plan to be there at sunset (on the lanai). The food is superb. Recommendations are the Crudo Board and Grilled Caesar for starters, Cioppino, Venison and (surprisingly) Shelton Chicken, plus whatever the fresh catch of the day is. And definitely try the Lilikoi Bar dessert - a fun and sophisticated take on the classic lemon bar. Overall - if you are in Wailea, want to splurge a little for a special occasion, this is the place.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely fabulous! Service was excepti ...

vip
Dined on May 23, 2016

Absolutely fabulous! Service was exceptional + food and presentation were exquisite. Loved everything about the experience. Highly recommend and will return, prior to departing. Simply a divine dining delight! Thank you!

food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of our best dining experiences on Maui.

Dined on May 20, 2016

One of our best dining experiences on Maui. Such a gorgeous setting, delicious food, attentive service, and friendly. It is expensive but if you want a great meal with an amazingly romantic setting and gorgeous scenic view, this is your place! Worth it in our opinion.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

great views

Dined on May 20, 2016

If you are looking for beautiful views, you have found the spot. Beautiful Italian/French restaurant. The homemade pasta dish are all excellent.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5

Outstanding meal and ambiance. Definitel ...

vip
Dined on May 17, 2016

Outstanding meal and ambiance. Definitely will return.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Really enjoyed the restaurant. Great ser ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Really enjoyed the restaurant. Great service, excellent food both in taste and presentation. Great view that would be fantastic for a sunset.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Awesome place for a romantic dinner! Ex ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Awesome place for a romantic dinner! Excellent food, view and service! Truffle risotto us a must!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Exceptional food and experience

vip
Dined on May 10, 2016

We stumbled on the the restaurant driving around exploring Maui; we looked at the menu and were very impressed. Then we ran into a couple who told us it was their favorite. We made the reservation and wow, what an evening. If we were not moving to another part of the island much further away we would have dined there again. Still actually considering it. The best risotto, gnocchi and sashimi we've ever had. Wonderful flavor combinations that surprised and excited us throughout the evening. If you are a foodie - you definitely need to try capische!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

This is one of the most beautifully roma ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

This is one of the most beautifully romantic restaurant lanais on Maui. Great views from high up the hill in Wailea. We had a wonderful meal. We split the truffle risotto, which was rich and creamy yet subtle. We also splits salad that was crisp and fresh. The lamb Oso Bucco was phenomenal. My fish less so, but the server was horrified to hear that and comp'ed my meal. We chose the creme brûlée flight for dessert and they added a lovely flourish for my husband's birthday. We can't wait to go back again!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding food and view

vip
Dined on May 7, 2016

My friend and I both had the mahi mahi, it was beautifully prepared and very fresh. I had the beef carpaccio , fabulous and my friend had the cauliflower asparagus soup, also delicious. Lovely sunset seen from the excellent vantage point of their outdoor dining area.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Romantics Interlude

vip
Dined on May 2, 2016

This restaurant is so incredible. A patio dining experience with food that is not forgettable. Our server was fabulous, meal incredible, and nothing to complain about. If you like romance,m with great food, this is your paradise and place to be.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5

Fantastic experience! The service & amb ...

Dined on April 25, 2016

Fantastic experience! The service & ambience were exquisite! The food was first rate! We had the beef carpaccio, gnocchi, bolognese & beef filet. Each had its own flavor and was one of our best meals on the island. Highly recommend the small bite of dessert with the liloko'i tart. And overall experience one must repeat and a hidden gem!

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Fabulous food, unique romantic

Dined on April 22, 2016

Capische? Is a one-of-a-kind restaurant in West Maui. The restaurant is intimate but tables are not too close together. Views are fantastic. And the food is all locally sourced fresh incredibly delicious and perfectly prepared. Outstanding service. And prices to match. Great for a special occasion for two. We will be back. Try a cocktail or dessert with passion fruit and any seafood or housemade pasta dish.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

Wonderful dining experience!

vip
Dined on April 21, 2016

The service at Capische? is top notch - servers are attentive without being overly so. The food is quite good with creative presentation and great flavors. We've actually had breakfast, lunch and dinner here, as we are staying at Hotel Wailea. Highly recommended !

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food1
ambience4
service2
value1

Bad experience, terrible food hit and miss.

Dined on April 20, 2016

First, we had dinner on the night we arrived. The gnocci with beef cheek was an excellent starter, which is why we were so dissapointed when the venison arrived and tasted like it had been in a freezer storage for two years. What's more, is that it was the very first item the waitress had recommended! Second meal was breakfast, and we wanted room service on the first morning of our honeymoon stay at Hotel Wailea. When we called, they told us the kitchen was too busy to deliver. So we doggie bagged our breakfast to bring it to the room. This didn't bother us, but when the veggie omlete tasted like hard cardboard and was covered, and in fact saturated with black pepper, and then the kale salad was soggy, the coffee was like water....it was unbeliveable that this award-winning restaurant and more than $100 breakfast was a complete failure!! Two Truly disappointing meals!! Time to take a closer look at your kitchen,...., Capiche?

Tags: scenic view
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Capische ancora

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

We were delighted to learn that truffle mushroom risotto has returned to the menu. Spectacular sunset. New entree was interesting (Venison with rub and variety of taste complements). Bolognese superior. Lililoi tart was unique and Excellent service is standard. This is one of our favorite restaurants on Maui.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Beautifully romantic fine dining experience

Dined on April 17, 2016

We dined twice at Capische? during our recent vacation in Maui. The first night we ate later in the evening and had a wonderful semi private experience sitting in their garden area. The second time was the final night of our vacation and we had an early dinner while sitting on the balcony watching an absolutely amazing sunset. Both experiences were outstanding in every way. Every detail of the meal was exquisite. The sophisticated combinations of flavors used in each dish along with an elegant presentation made this our top dining experience in Maui. The service and setting could not have been better. We started with the crudo board which included three unique preparations of local raw fish presented beautifully on a slate board. The first time we dined there I had the Snapper which was prepared beautifully, but the addition of the tortelloni and chestnut brown butter sauce made this a favorite. My husband had to have this dish the second time we dined so he could have more than just a taste from my plate. The second night I had the Filet Mignon which was also outstanding. The flavors and the sauce presented in dollops on the plate allowed you to experience each taste differently. Other places we dined at in Maui include Ferraro's at the four seasons and Mama's fish house which were also good, but this was our favorite.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Sublime restaurant - best in Maui

Dined on April 16, 2016

My favourite restaurant in Maui for a romantic date. Ambiance is amazing sitting in the garden. Food sublime - fresh and delicious and service exemplary! Couldn't fault it.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We went to celebrate our anniversary wit ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

We went to celebrate our anniversary with a sunset dinner and were not disappointed. The waitstaff was well trained and were not obtrusive to our special evening, slipping in and out to clear away plates, refill glasses, etc. The food was well prepared, we enjoyed the snapper and risotto as the mains and had the Caesar salad and quinoa salad as apps. We orders the cre me brûlée for dessert but as a special anniversary the staff brought us a free caramel chocolate dessert was amazing and I reccomend it to anyone that enjoys caramel. It was a special touch and we thank The restaurant for a great evening with an amazing sunset view

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Despite several trips to Maui in recent ...

vip
Dined on April 9, 2016

Despite several trips to Maui in recent years, this was our first time at Capische, and it was worth the effort to find this gem, a bit off the beaten path. It's high up on a hill, in the Hotel Wailea, (a very exclusive and charming resort), with a westward view of the coastline, the ocean, and even the northwestern half of the island in the distance. All tables are outside, though ours was on the upper (covered) level, which afforded an even better view. Oh, and did I mention we ate at sunset, watching the sun set over the Hawaiian Pacific? Service was excellent, as was the food, which competes with the view as the main attraction. But this is one "view" restaurant that doesn't just "get by" on the breathtaking vistas! I had a bouillabaisse that was incredible and flavorful - full of lobster, clams, mussels, fish, shrimp, etc.- AND the chef didn't hesitate to make it without certain spices that I can't digest. One of our party had the rack of venison, and others had steak and Mahi, all of which were incredible. The best dessert in the house was a lillikoi (passionfruit) pastry with coconut sorbet, and it was a masterful blend of "sweet and sour", and though small in size, it was quite satisfying, and really intrigued the taste buds. The wine list was a nice mix of American (mostly CA) and European wines, though there were selections from S. America and elsewhere, too. 3 hours just flew by, between enjoying the company, the food/wine, and the stunning view! Capische will now be on our "must do" list on future trips to Maui!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Not worth the $$$

Dined on April 6, 2016

Incredibly over priced. The hotel is alright and the idea of having an outdoor restaurant is good, but they don't have any heat lamps or protection from the wind... Service was nice and attentive, but couldn't overcompensate for the just okay meal at an exorbitant price.

food5
ambience5
service5

Beautiful balcony dining or garden dinin ...

vip
Dined on March 26, 2016

Beautiful balcony dining or garden dining! Fit for foodies for sure!! Don't miss the mushroom/truffle risotto!!

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Tom our server was very helpful and we r ...

vip
Dined on March 25, 2016

Tom our server was very helpful and we really enjoyed our dinner.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Wonderful location and fantastic food an ...

vip
Dined on March 23, 2016

Wonderful location and fantastic food and service. Out go to place in Maui.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Capische? Absolutely!

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Fabulous meal. Great service. Sweeping views of the Pacific Ocean. It was a wonderful night.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food4
ambience5
service5

Excellent food, service, and setting. We ...

vip
Dined on March 21, 2016

Excellent food, service, and setting. We have dined here several times and cannot say enough great things.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Best Ever in Maui

Dined on March 19, 2016

What a find! Capische is expensive (same territory as Mama's or Nick's), but absolutely outstanding .... perfect for a romantic special occasion. A bit "off the beaten track", but well worth the trip!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Over-the-top service and food. We had re ...

Dined on March 17, 2016

Over-the-top service and food. We had reserved a garden table for four for a special occasion, however, the windy weather necessitated the closure of the garden area. The manager very quickly set up an amazing table in a private corner of the lobby surrounded by plants and lovely lighting and we were thrilled. Erica was our attentive and knowledgeable server. Everyone, including the bartender, was amazing and our experience was wonderful. If we are ever in Maui again, Capische will be our first dinner stop. And maybe our second and third......

food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Lovely quiet dinner for 4, just what we ...

vip
Dined on March 15, 2016

Lovely quiet dinner for 4, just what we wanted. Both the drink and dinner menus were creative and well thought out. Two ordered a seafood and pasta dish that was deemed excellent. One ordered the chicken marsala which also got rave reviews. I had the cioppino which in my opinion won the evening. The fish and shell fish were cooked to perfection then added to the rich stock and served over orecchiette pasta. The only down note was that I couldnt finish every drop. In my opinion, perfection! The chef here obviously cares a great deal about his craft.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.