Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Specials

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Wine Night! 50% Off Wines $99.00 and under.

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Sep 25, 2017 - Jan 19, 2018 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Monday Wine Night! 50% Off Wines $99.00 and under.

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Wine Night! 50% Off Wines $99.00 and under. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on full Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99. Special valid Sep 25, 2017 - Jan 22, 2018 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 10:00 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (64)
Comfort Food (54)
Great for Lunch (52)
See All
Good for a Date (43)
Good for Groups (43)
Fun (41)
Good for Birthdays (38)
Special Occasion (38)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (27)
Sunday Lunch (27)
Good for Anniversaries (25)
Worth the Drive (24)
Business Meals (22)
Great for Brunch (19)
Fit for Foodies (18)
Happy Hour (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Cozy (14)
Hot Spot (14)
Authentic (11)
Creative Cuisine (11)
People Watching (11)
Quick Bite (10)
Tasting Menu (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Pre/post Theatre (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (7)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Romantic (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Local Ingredients (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort By:
S
3245 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

We had friends from out of town visiting and liked to show them local flavor of our city and Cap City Diner filled the bill. Our service was exceptional.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

First time there. Food was fine not remarkable. Nice atmosphere. Staff was very friendly and attentive.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Bar Seating, Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

The food here was very well prepared and all was delicious. Three of us had the cod and crispy shrimp and it was excellent. My wife had an omelette which was also very good and it was filling as it was made with four eggs. The service was excellent. I would recommend this restaurant to everyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Cozy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

My son & I have Celiac Disease & so appreciate being able to eat delicious, safe food at Cap City!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 15, 2017

Very familiar with restaurant. It is a reliable standby when more unique spots are unavailable. It is always relaible. My meal was very good, my wife's fish was a little overcoojed and signature cocktails were somewhat pedestrian, aaalthough reasonably priced. There are times that I leave this restaurant and am convinced there is not much better, this was not one of those nights, though still pretty good.

Tags: Happy Hour, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on September 15, 2017

The food never disappoints! Great service and always seated right away with a reservation. Parking is sometimes difficult but we have always managed to find a spot nearby.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 13, 2017

MEATLOAF MEATLOAF MEATLOAF MEATLOAF MEATLOAF MEATLOAF MEATLOAF MEATLOAF MEATLOAF

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 12, 2017

Waitress and food was amazing, host was not inviting or seemed welcoming. Was celebrating an wedding anniversary and didn't like the fact we had to sit in the casual side (located left on the entrance by the kitchen) due to lack of seating even though we have made reservations. Felt as though we were already prejudge(not in a good way) as we walked in from the host. Overall 3/5 rating.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 11, 2017

Took our Grandson who goes to OSU. One of his favorite places. Had a great time and they didn't rush us. Thank you.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Always great service and yummy food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 10, 2017

Was a favorite restaurant for many years. Had friends visiting and decided to take them to Sunday Brunch. Food was served cold and server never checked back in until the end. Service and food have gone downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on September 10, 2017

We followed the waitress's recommendation and enjoyed the meatloaf and beef stroganoff. Great recommendations. The interior felt like an Art Deco diner. Great service as well.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 9, 2017

Great service. Our waitress was delightful, Mariah. Food, excellent as usual !! We love Cap City Diner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 9, 2017

Always very good and enjoyable

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

We arrived twenty minutes prior to our reservation and were welcomed and seated right away by the manager (awesome mustache!). It was my first visit, so I wasn't sure what to expect. What a pleasant experience! We were treated so well by the manager and our server that you'd have thought we were regulars. I can't say enough about the service. The food was delicious, as well. We had the meatloaf and walleye - huge servings of deliciousness. Highly recommend!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
·Dined on September 8, 2017

Good, as usual. Good menu with a variety of choices, and cost. A little cool in the dining room, but that seems to be the trend. Eight of us shared the Seriously Big Chocolate Cake!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Kansas City)·Dined on September 7, 2017

Used open table. Very easy to use. Hostess called to confirm. Thanks for a nice evening

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 6, 2017

The Trio lunch choice was awesome. Just the perfect amount of food, great selection of soup and salad. Very impressed!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

I enjoyed my dinner there. The food was great and it came out in a timely fashion.

Tags: Good for Groups, Sunday Lunch, Kid-friendly, Happy Hour, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

Nice and professional staff, good food that never disappoints, good and friendly staff from seating to table service....It's the building/room's lack of handling typical noise. Can't have a conversation with the person sitting across the table. And it was a two person table. Such a disappointment to take this off my list as a go-to dinner spot.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value5

 
·Dined on September 2, 2017

"bob evans with a bar", this place has really gone downhill. The food taste like it is microwaved GFS/Sysco preserved meals. The atmosphere is a mix between harsh lighting and crying babies. It actually makes flying coach seem bearable. The view... you have a panoramic view of a demolition site (No Joke). I feel like an idiot for making actual reservations to this place...

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 27, 2017

Been here dozens of times and never had a bad meal or experience. Wait staff is knowledgeable, menu is extensive and food well-prepared. Thank you for helping my family celebrate my mother's birthday.

Tags: Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, People Watching, Vibrant Bar Scene, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2017

Josh our Server was fantastic. The food was delicious and prepared perfectly. We were full but we had to take home dessert and the Chocolate Cake is a must try dessert.

Tags: Quick Bite, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 23, 2017

We had a large balance of gift cards to use. We used the night to reconnect with some old friends. Everyone had great meals, then the four of us got six deserts. Two went home and we shared four. It was a great night and fantastic deserts!! We will be back with more gift cards.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 19, 2017

From the time we arrived until we left we were very well taking care of.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Fun, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 16, 2017

Loud and we were seated right by kitchen door. Very hard to carry on conversation. Ordered a steak and not cooked enough and brought it home to cook later.

Tags: Happy Hour, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on August 15, 2017

Can't review... door was locked when we arrived for our open table 10:00 p.m. reservation.... I understand closing early when its a slow night but hey take your availability off of late night restaurants or call or email and say "Hey we closed early" .. we could have booked elsewhere and not drive out to Grandview. And as it was we had then to eat at a very very poor substitute for great ambience and food.

Tags: Fun, Handcrafted Cocktails, Sunday Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

We had a party of 16 and everyone was incredibly accommodating and helpful. Thank you for the wonderful service!

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 12, 2017

The food was delicious. I might suggest leaving off the bread under the meatloaf - NOT necessary and takes away from the dish. Peanut Butter pie was wonderful. Service was attentive and friendly. Would happily go back when we're in the area.

Tags: Cozy, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

This is a consistently delicious place. Service is great!

Tags: Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Seasonal, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I had friends in from out of town and they were very impressed. It's one of my favorite restaraunts and they never disappoint.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 11, 2017

excellent dinner, food and service was spot on. If you need great diner food, this is it.

Tags: Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Bar Seating, Tasting Menu, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 10, 2017

Excellent service and food. Brought a group of 13 Senior Citizens lunch. They had our table ready. Only concern was as the restaurant filled up with the afternoon crowd, it began to get a bit noisy. Other than that, it was a great experience.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 6, 2017

We took our daughter here for her second birthday, and our waitress was so attentive and helpful. And the giant smile on her face when she got her carrot cake and ice cream with a candle was priceless. Love this place and their service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails, Disabled Access, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Cozy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Good food and good service! We went for Sunday brunch and our party ordered almost every item on brunch menu. Everyone liked their food. Service was attentive without being overbearing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

We had a reservation and we arrived about 5 minutes early. We checked in and were given a pager to be notified when our table was ready. We watched multiple groups walk in and be sat immediately so after about 25 min of waiting (20 past our reservation time), we asked how much longer. We were then told that they had already marked that we were seated. We were seated soon after but an apology or something to make up for it would have made the visit much better.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 28, 2017

Exceptional service provided by our server Shawn. Extremely personable and responsive!

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

Food A
Service A+

I'd go back ...whenever- very good all around

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined on July 21, 2017

I have eaten at Cap City before and the food was fresh. This time, the chicken wings were hard, as if they were reheated from happy hour time. My husband and I were seated at 7:00 pm on July 21, 2017 on the patio, with two friends. My blue cheese salad was limp/old and they forgot the dressing. Our guests ordered a beer and didn't get to him until the bill came. The server said the beer was on the bar, that he forgot it. He handed it to our guest and it was warm. He said he apologized. We needed to ask him to remove the cost of the beer from the bill.
I will not visit Cap City again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on July 21, 2017

The meatloaf is a real star, get it. The other food we had was good-to-very good. The carrot cake stood out. The pork chops were just okay.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.