Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
David Moeser : (614) 291-3663

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

94% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (77)
Casual (73)
Great for Lunch (63)
See All
Good for a Date (58)
Good for Groups (54)
Good for Birthdays (53)
Special Occasion (52)
Fun (44)
Neighborhood Gem (41)
Good for Anniversaries (38)
Worth the Drive (36)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Fit for Foodies (32)
Kid-friendly (30)
Business Meals (28)
Hot Spot (26)
Great for Brunch (26)
Great for Outdoor Dining (25)
Cozy (21)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Bar Seating (20)
Authentic (19)
Happy Hour (17)
Handcrafted Cocktails (17)
Family Style (15)
Tasting Menu (12)
Great Beer (12)
Quick Bite (10)
People Watching (10)
Healthy (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Seasonal (7)
Modern Decor (7)
Open Kitchen (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Romantic (5)
Late-night Find (4)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Fireplace (3)
Tapas (2)
Historic (2)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Live Music (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Live Sports (1)
Vegan (1)
Private Room (1)
Sort By:
S
3200 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

Cap City is consistently a great meal with good service. The family members choose Cap City over any other restaurant. We like the casual atmosphere, the great food and the WONDERFUL desserts. This last time we visited during restaurant week and took part in the $25 three course meal at an awesome deal. Great family friendly place!

Tags: Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
·Dined 2 days ago

Very good food, portions are generous. Good place to have dinner with your spouse.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was good but nothing was hot. Server was pleasant, professional but disengaged. She had to ask someone else Everytime we had a menu question. Thanks to my company, it was still a good time and I tipped extra for holding the table since we lingered while busy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

I love Cap City and the food in general was its usual great fare. But the warm rolls were dry tasteless and hard. Waiter got us fresh and they were better but still tasted day old. Also would say that when someone has sauce on the side and asks for leftovers to be wrapped the waiter should NOT pour the sauce over the food but keep in separate. With only those minor issues it's still a great place

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Amazing service and really good food for a decent price.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

Cute place. Had a diner feel but a little more upscale. Prices very reasonable and a variety of options to choose from on the menu. Food came out pretty fast!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Food was excellent. Our server was slow to come over to our table, although service was good. Just took awhile to order drinks, dessert and to get check. We were seated by the kitchen, which was fine but the table was a little too close to the pathway as my chair got bumped several times. Again, food was EXCELLENT!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual, the good was consistently great and the service was cordial. Nice, relaxed, unhurried ambience

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Quality food at reasonable prices. Great location.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very happy with a round table. Several of the food items were not hot enough. Would definitely go there again. Blueberry pie was excellent.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Food was delicious and service was wonderful!!! Two people in our party are gluten free and the server was very informative and suggestive of her favorite items.

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Cap City Diner is always very good-great for comfort food and casual dining. Very noisy, though!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Great Beer, Bar Seating, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Food is always fresh, with generous portions. Our dining companion overslept and was 20 minutes late for our reservation. Our server was very accommodating, which we appreciated. Definitely check out the patio bar!

Tags: Good for Groups, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Met a friend I hadn't seen in a long time - stayed at our table much longer than a normal lunch but the patio was not crowded and the server did not mind. Of course, we tipped accordingly. Greek salad with chicken was great. Cocktails and wine were cold and refreshing. Cap City Grandview is my go-to for great casual food; reasonable pricing and friendly servers.

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 6, 2017

Excellent food, excellent service. Good time had for all.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fun, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Dependable quality food, service and atmosphere. A favorite place for friends to gather and a place for family celebrations.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on July 3, 2017

Had a large group in town for a volleyball tournament. They reserved the patio for us and the service and food were excellent. Would definitely return

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Very good to excellent upscale comfort food in a relaxed atmosphere. Generally large portions. Oustandong desserts. This is a place that you will come back to frequently. They are opening a store inDublin, and have, in addition to the Olentangy River location a store in Gahanna. This is one of the most successful restaurants in Columbus, and for good reason.s

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on July 2, 2017

Fantastic food and environment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Service was efficient and sufficient -- so efficient, in fact, that you got the impression you are in a factory. Food was uninspired and entirely too expensive for what you get. Pretty sure the calamari was previously frozen and the sweet & sour sauce was no different than what you get at a mediocre Chinese restaurant. Fish & chips were under-seasoned. Fish sandwich had cheese on it. It had what!? Overall, a real disappointment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

 
 (Indiana)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Food was incredible as you'd expect. We will be back many times.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 1, 2017

Three out of four entrees with our table were excellent but the Saturday special short ribs were a bit disappointing. Loved the Romano chicken.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Great service and food, Vince our waiter was fantastic!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Food not up to usual standards. Cod and shrimp unremarkable as was the Thanksgiving turkey sandwich. The blue cheese chips were outstanding.

Tags: People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

Our food was delicious and we all enjoyed our dinners. The salad was fresh, chilled and different. Our main entrees and desserts were wonderful. We all tried the special dessert of the day which was Strawberry Shortcake with ice cream. It had a very special taste which none of us could place. Just a hint of something not usually used in shortcake but great tasting. Thanks Cap City for helping us have a great casual 44th anniversary dinner with friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 30, 2017

New menu, eliminated some of my favorites. For example, no mussels, several desserts gone. Cocktails didn't taste the same, although same ingredients listed. Maytag potato chips divine, blackened salmon salad delicious. My husband's ribeye also great. We both were craving key lime pie-- gone! Our back up lava cake also gone. One of the best key lime pies we have had-- please bring it back! Also happy hour prices should apply to the main dining room, IMO.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Food was terrific. Service was pleasant. A very enjoyable evening.

Tags: Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Cap City is a favorite for me and my husband ~ food is always consistent & delicious!! Make sure to treat yourself to the Maytag blue cheese chips!!!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 27, 2017

Our waiter, Zachary, was so friendly, personable and amazing! He was very attentive to our needs and just wonderful. The food was amazing and dessert was the best! My friend and I split dessert and Zachary made sure that we each had our own "split" dessert so we didn't have to share off of the same plate.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 26, 2017

So disappointed after reading reviews. My birthday lunch with Mom. Server Lori gets 5 stars - she was great. The carrot cake was all I wanted it to be - one of the best I've ever had. But, Mom's cherry pie was oddly gelatinous without discernible cherries. The "award-winning, signature-dish-meatloaf" was a complete fail. Both of us ordered it. I should have complained,
so the restaurant could have replaced our meals, so that's on me. We were hungry. BUT - if you tout a dish, you better deliver. Served on an unnecessary slice of bread that soaked up the scant, tasty BBQ "gravy," the meatloaf itself was surprisingly bland with no real "meat taste" and no sign of onions or peppers. The texture was soft, and there was no caramelization on top. More of that BBQ gravy would have helped. Making the dish worse, the "buttermilk chive" mashed potatoes on top of the meatloaf were cafeteria-grade. I've had better at the hot bar at Giant Eagle. A few "chili fried onions" were greasy and limp and added nothing to the dish. All in all it was a very "soft" dish - no textural contrasts - perfect if you have no teeth. Or tastebuds.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 25, 2017

The 5 of us has been to Capp City several times. We enjoy the food. the staff, and the freedom of being able to throw a small party for us. Everything was great at this time as other times. I am sure that we will be back in the future. Esp for dessert menu, your Carrot Cake is the best in the city. As I have tried Carrot Cake at any restaurant has it on the menu. And you guys rock!!!
The staff was great and paid attention to our order and everything was the way we ordered it.
Keep up the great work.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Hot Spot, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 23, 2017

Cap City delivered once again! Excellent food as always. Very busy Friday lunch crowd made the noise level almost unbearable for a quick lunch meeting. Otherwise, no complaints.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 19, 2017

Was a little disappointed with how loud it was, but not sure that can be helped. Our server Zach was Awesome!!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

I've never had a bad meal at Cap City. Only issue being one reason we decided to go there was to have Key Lime Pie for desert which they had taken off the menu. Major disappointment. The coconut cream pie pales in comparison.

Tags: Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Father's Day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

Everything was great except parking

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 18, 2017

We were disappointed in our experience. We had a reservation at 11 for 6 people (5 plus a high chair). We arrive 10 minutes early and we were told our table would be ready right at 11. Meanwhile, tables of 6 were waking in and being sat right away. At 11:20, we still weren't sat. They informed us that they were waiting on our assigned table to get up. However 3 other tables of 6 came in (without reservations) and were sat right away. I understand it's busy because it was Fathers Day, but there is no point in making a reservation if we have to wait 25-30 minutes past our time to be sat. And when we asked the manager why we weren't being sat, he responded with "well, I can't go over to a table and make them leave!" The service and food was also less than desirable. I don't think we will be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Server Grace was outstanding ! Manager sent a free appetizer to table upon seating. We only had to wait about 30 seconds before being seated. Much appreciated on a very busy Saturday evening.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

Great service. We were seated right away while other people without a reservation had to wait. Thank you for honoring our reservation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on June 17, 2017

First time there and the food was excellent! Best cod I've had! Excellent staff. Loud but it's a diner.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.