About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00-11:00pm; Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Mosier : 6142913663x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

great for lunch (132)
good for groups (123)
neighborhood gem (105)
See All
fit for foodies (97)
special occasion (91)
kid-friendly (83)
great for brunch (80)
great for outdoor dining (68)
hot spot (40)
vibrant bar scene (18)
late-night find (11)
romantic (10)
notable wine list (10)
scenic view (4)
Sort By:
Newest
2590 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Cap City is just as great of an experien ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cap City is just as great of an experience now as it was when I lived in Columbus 10+ years ago. It's changed very little because the formula worked then & it works today equally as well. Consistently great food and great service.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City has a great covered patio, a qu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Cap City has a great covered patio, a quirky indoor atmosphere and an interesting menu. I am generally very satisfied with whatever I order and the service has always been very good.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The only problem this time were two scre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The only problem this time were two screaming children and the parents wouldn't take them out. My sister came up from Cincinnati especially to go to Cap City and with those kids screaming it wasn't very enjoyable. We ate our food and left and didn't get to visit as long as we normally do because of the noise.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food at a good price. Daily specia ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food at a good price. Daily special was outstanding.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Waitress was overall great but did not o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Waitress was overall great but did not offer dessert, she sort of gave us the check and disappeared. We were a little later in the evening but still 1/2 hour before closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ate on the enclosed patio. Quiet and co ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Ate on the enclosed patio. Quiet and comfortable surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For all the hype this place gets, the fo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

For all the hype this place gets, the food is just good--nothing more, nothing less. You can get meals that are way better for half the price plenty of places around town. What you are paying for here is that it is a Cameron Mitchell restaurant. I will say that the service and drinks are great. That is what this place has that other restaurants don't. If I pay $85 for a dinner for two (1 app, 2 drinks, 2 entrees), I'm expecting something that I can't get for $50 at other places.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

As usual the food was good The service w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As usual the food was good The service was terrific and we had fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal and I especially appr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a good meal and I especially appreciate their providing a beer flight. We ate "light" so as to order desert. I always try to do that, but get sucked in by the usual favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Large group that likes liver and onions. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Large group that likes liver and onions. Some of us order other food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City in Grandview is one of our favo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Cap City in Grandview is one of our favorite go-to restaurants in Columbus. The drinks are great and affordable and the menu never disappoints. Love the live music on Mondays!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Food was great but our server was not t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Food was great but our server was not the usual Cameron Mitchell experience we have had in the past...not impressed.

Tags: kid-friendly, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

Our meals were delicious with generous p ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Our meals were delicious with generous portion sizes. Service was excellent. I never miss a trip to Cap City when Inam visiting my kids at OSU!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner! Prompt service. Plenty of ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Great dinner! Prompt service. Plenty of parking. Wait staff recognized special occasion.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Cap City always serves tasty meals. I ap ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Cap City always serves tasty meals. I appreciated their awareness to my gluten free diet. I was served gluten free rolls while waiting for our meal. It was also a treat because the fries are not fried with battered foods. So I could safely order french fries.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Food is top quality as well as the servi ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

Food is top quality as well as the service. Come here every chance we get. I could say what dishes I really like but the list would go on and on. Just order it you'll love it especially the chocolate layer cake

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing and the service was ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

The food was amazing and the service was great! We all have a great time!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The server's advice was invaluable in he ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The server's advice was invaluable in helping us order the best entrees of the house.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Came here with friends last week, the re ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

Came here with friends last week, the restaurant has been on our bucket list.

Service was just fine, as my one friend stated our server was like a robot. Our server wasn't enthusiastic and when the food came, just put it on the table.

Food was ok, I ordered the meatloaf and while it was good, it wasn't worth the $$.

Cameron has a lot better restaurants I suggest checking out.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was excellent. We were pleased ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

The food was excellent. We were pleased with the quality and portions.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service4
value4

I love this restaurant! I have never ha ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I love this restaurant! I have never had a bad experience here. Great food great wait staff.indoor or outside seating brunch lunch or dinner call ahead reservations are best

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We have eaten at Cap City in Grandview m ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We have eaten at Cap City in Grandview many times and have only had positive things to say about our experience. Unfortunately, there were some problems this visit. We were served the wrong salad entrees. Other members of our party were served but, unfortunately, the correct salads did not arrive until at least 20 minutes later. The server apologized profusely. My guess is that she was new. We were understanding but it was a bit frustrating and disappointing. The server did deduct the entree's cost from our bill and did give us a complimentary dessert. This was not at our request. We appreciated the effort to make things "right".

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

I brought my boyfriend and family for bo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

I brought my boyfriend and family for both my boyfriends birthday and father's day. It was my boyfriends first time and he absolutely LOVED the tamarind chicken wings!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Fathers Day lunch with reservations at 1 ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Fathers Day lunch with reservations at 1:15 for three people . We were seated outside at 2:00 along side two large parties with screaming children. We expected a delay in seating, but 45 minutes is ridiculous!! It was hot outside, hence the screaming kids. Our waiter was nice and kept our water glasses filled. Our food was a little delayed, but was served hot. Suggestions for Cap City: do not take reservations on holidays. It's apparent that you cannot meet that deadline.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

The only negative feedback I have from o ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The only negative feedback I have from our visit was about our wait. We had reservations for 12:15 and were not seated until almost 1pm. And with a hungry toddler, that was a bit trying!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

fun atmosphere for Fathers Day celebrati ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

fun atmosphere for Fathers Day celebration. Great brunch and beverage options. Servers were very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Good met their high standards but servic ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Good met their high standards but service wasn't as good as normal but still very good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

The pretzel was wonderful. We got the me ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

The pretzel was wonderful. We got the meatloaf to split. It was enough for lunch but was not hot enough temperature wise

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Cap City is always good. Upscale twist o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Cap City is always good. Upscale twist on comfort food and some unique innovative dishes.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

WE WERE A GROUP OF WOMEN FROM OUR CHURCH ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 14, 2016

WE WERE A GROUP OF WOMEN FROM OUR CHURCH WHO MEET MONTHLY IN A VARIETY OF PLACES. EVERYTHING WAS GREAT BUT THE NOISE LEVEL . YOU KNOW 11 OLD LADIES LIKE TO BE ABLE TO HEAR EACH OTHER. BUT THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND OUR SERVER WAS EXCELLENT, DESPITE THE NOISE, NO DOUBT, WE WILL RETURN.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The noise level made it difficult to car ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

The noise level made it difficult to carry on a conversation with our friends

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value5

Disappointing food, it wasn't warm and c ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Disappointing food, it wasn't warm and came in two parts. Cinnamon buns tasted stale, like they've been sitting out. Also felt the service was rushed. Our server continuously came over to ask to clear our plates which we clearly weren't finished with yet. Have tried Cap City several times because friends always recommend it, but doubt very much I'll return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

We love cap city, but the air conditioni ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We love cap city, but the air conditioning was out ( it was 90 degrees outside) and no one let us know until we were seated. On top of being extremely hot our server was awful. She was not friendly or attentive. Did not ask about appetizers, felt like she was rushing us through our whole dinner. We had to ask for refills and she was rude when asked for some extra ice water because it was so hot. We love the food at cap city but our experience this time was just terrible.

Tags: hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We were there on a hot Saturday night fo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were there on a hot Saturday night for a 5:00 pm reservation for a birthday with 7 people. There was no air conditioning in our part of the restaurant. The waiter stayed away ; I was given one drink and never offered another. We requested an outdoor table but they said that wasn't possible for our size group. A group the same size was leaving the outdoors as we arrived. I did not feel as though we were thought of as valued customers.

Tags: kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Love this place! By far the best diner ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Love this place! By far the best diner in the city.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

I chose Cap City for celebrating a frien ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 6, 2016

I chose Cap City for celebrating a friend's retirement. I let the restaurant know that this was a surprise dinner, and as requested, our party was seated before our friend arrived. As always, the service was great, and the food was delicious. The Romano Crusted Chicken is amazing, and be sure to save room for the gigantic chocolate cake (or take a slice home)! Whether you are celebrating a special occasion, or just looking for amazing dessert, Cap City will not disappoint!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pecan crusted pork chop was a newly ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The pecan crusted pork chop was a newly discovered gem. Can't forget the meatloaf of course.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always! Meatloaf is the best!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing as always! Meatloaf is the best!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Grad Party

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Cap City Diner was able to house our party of 10 and also several other groups. The menu is always fantastic and the service even more so. Our party had a great time and given the need to do so again, I would have no issue going to or suggesting Cap City Diner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Graduation Brunch

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Our party of eight was seated a few minutes before our reservation time; at a nice table in the middle of the main dining room. We have been to Cap City before and the restaurant lived up to my previous experiences; very good food, an attentive wait staff, and an ambiance and noise level more suited to a boisterous night out rather than an intimate gathering. Everyone in our party enjoyed the wide variety of appetizers and entrees that were ordered.

This Cap City location is in a building that was an old diner at one time. As the building was repurposed and is not a new build, the layout is a little helter skelter and broken up. A portion of the old diner is still used in the front (and is configured to look like an old diner); the rest of the building is an addition added by Cap City. These two areas are very distinct from one another, and unless you are familiar with the older section, I recommend requesting the main or back part of the building.

Cap City is kind of between casual and upscale. A great place to get somewhat upscale food, but at a lower price point and with mid-range ambiance. Also a good place for business lunches or dinners - but a little on the noisy side.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.