About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00-11:00pm; Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Mosier : 6142913663x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Specials

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 6, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 9, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

Great for Lunch (92)
Good for Groups (91)
Neighborhood Gem (86)
See All
Special Occasion (77)
Great for Outdoor Dining (69)
Fit for Foodies (67)
Kid-friendly (60)
Great for Brunch (54)
Hot Spot (33)
Comfort Food (24)
Casual (22)
Vibrant Bar Scene (18)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Romantic (12)
Fun (10)
Good for a Date (10)
Notable Wine List (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Business Meals (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Happy Hour (6)
Authentic (5)
Family Style (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Outstanding Value (4)
Pre/post Theatre (3)
Scenic View (3)
Cozy (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Quiet Conversation (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Tasting Menu (2)
Healthy (2)
People Watching (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Tapas (1)
Historic (1)
Fireplace (1)
Great Beer (1)
Vegan (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Live Music (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Seasonal (1)
Sort By:
Newest
2648 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our table was available on time. The se ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Our table was available on time. The service we received was prompt and efficient. Our food arrived much more quickly than we expected and it was all delicious!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Had a great waiter and a great time brin ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 17, 2016

Had a great waiter and a great time bringing my family here for the first time.

The Breakfast Burrito was delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy Cap City. Out-of-town frien ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Always enjoy Cap City. Out-of-town friends. Wanted them to experience Cap City and they thoroughly enjoyed the food and the service

Tags: Local Ingredients, Bar Seating, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Not sure about the noise scale rating bu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Not sure about the noise scale rating but it was pretty noisy and very active environment. Not a quiet atmosphere to contemplate in. Parking is tight and could use more light.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for Groups, Family Style, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

After a rainy day OSU football game we d ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

After a rainy day OSU football game we ducted in for some food. Great food choices, great bar menu and we had a great waiter. I loved the Thai salad. Perfect dressing and delicious ingredients. Other members of my party enjoyed the Philly steak sandwich and burger. The food came fast and we were able to get in and out timely. Too full to try the desserts but they looked fabulous!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Healthy, Kid-friendly, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food as always was amazing! We were so f ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

Food as always was amazing! We were so full just after the appetizer!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

Great place to eat. Love the food! Bet ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 9, 2016

Great place to eat. Love the food! Better now that we can make reservation on the internet so we don't have to wait a long time for a table. Really love the Romano Crusted Chicken.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

A group of 8 met for dinner at Cap City ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

A group of 8 met for dinner at Cap City and we had a nice meal. Four got the pork chops and none could finish the enormous amount of food that was served. Same for the meat loaf and the seriously big chocolate cake (that is its real name, by the way - and it is a must have). The dining rooms are always lively and the table placement is rather dense - it lives up to its diner vibe that way. Good food, reasonable prices, nice staff - it is why we have eaten at Cap City 3-4 times per year for the past decade - but the seriously big chocolate cake would be reason enough.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

We were taken care of very well by our w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 6, 2016

We were taken care of very well by our waiter. He was attentive and patient when personal questions or requests were made. The food was great and a couple of us who had dessert asked to share one. Our waiter brought our own part of the dessert and split the amount on our bill without us even asking. I was very impressed. Our group used to work together at OSU and are now retired. We have a monthly luncheon together and choose different places. Cap City is definitely a favorite and we plan to come again soon for lunch.

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Vegan, Comfort Food, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City is very average. It isn't terr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Cap City is very average. It isn't terrible and it isn't excellent. The food quality is fine, but the plating is mediocre at best. I would certainly go back, but it isn't anywhere on my priority list.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We were there for Sunday brunch. Cap Ci ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We were there for Sunday brunch. Cap City is usually pretty consistent in food and quality. We had a party of six and four of the six received their meals. We then waited at least five minutes for the other two meals to arrive. Both meals were not very warm when they did arrive. Not up to typical Cap City standards.

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Deep dish apple pie with vanilla ice cre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Deep dish apple pie with vanilla ice cream was excellent and probably the best I have ever had. Entrees were fine, but not remarkable. Grits with peppers were good. Service was very good.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

We celebrated my daughter's 13th Birthda ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 3, 2016

We celebrated my daughter's 13th Birthday on Saturday. Good news for us, it was OSU-BG so the place was empty. Gave us lots of special attention. As always, loved the meatloaf. Lunch portion. Still crazy big! Also my daughter, who is celiac loved the ribs. They do such a nice job on gluten free. Rarely does Jaci get to enjoy "bread" at any restaurant. They took great care of her. Great for family and Business meals.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great meal. In town for Buckeye game. Ha ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 2, 2016

Great meal. In town for Buckeye game. Have made it a must when in town.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Had a great time. We sat outside. The we ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

Had a great time. We sat outside. The weather was perfect. Our Jimmy Fallon look-a-like waiter was great.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Comfort Food, Notable Wine List, Cozy, Hot Spot, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

No surprises, always consistent in excel ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on September 1, 2016

No surprises, always consistent in excellent food and service and appreciate that they have lots of "comfort" food on their menu

Tags: Great for Brunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Tapas, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

the patio was nice for our small after w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 30, 2016

the patio was nice for our small after work meeting.

Tags: Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Casual, Healthy, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

We had reservations for six (6) and when ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

We had reservations for six (6) and when seated, we were put into a booth that was meant more for four (4) persons. It was very tight. We had to request to be moved, which took a few minutes for someone to approve. We were moved to a larger table meant for six people and the rest of the experience was wonderful, as expected.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

pretty sure our server was new. what hap ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

pretty sure our server was new. what happened to the Cameron Mitchell service we used to get here? our order was wrong and not corrected or offered to be fixed. we sat in the booth right next to the kitchen which was disruptive for our meal even with a reservation? this is the 2nd time in a row it's been a less than ok experience. hopefully the new dublin location will offer better service.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

We go to this restaurant quite often. T ...

vip
 (New York Area)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

We go to this restaurant quite often.

The food is consistently good and only a few times over the years have we been disappointed with the service. Almost always friendly.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great food and great service Really en ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food and great service Really enjoyed the evening

Tags: Kid-friendly, Romantic, Hot Spot, Casual, Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, good service, very good valu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Great food, good service, very good value -- one of my favorite restaurants in Columbus.

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

One of our favorite places.

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

One of our favorite places.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We've been going here for years. Love th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 26, 2016

We've been going here for years. Love the open kitchen, love the dinner rolls, blue cheese potato chips, meatloaf, and cake as big as your head.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Open Kitchen, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The vegetarian sampler provided enough v ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

The vegetarian sampler provided enough variety for dinner and lunch the next day. It's helpful to have reservations.

Tags: Fun, Good Vegetarian Options, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Love the chocolate cake you get for your ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Love the chocolate cake you get for your birthday!!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great place to hold a business interview ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 25, 2016

Great place to hold a business interview for those coming from out of town. Convenient and easy to access.

Tags: Modern Decor, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Wonderful food, and friendly, quick serv ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Wonderful food, and friendly, quick service! Known for its meatloaf, we did order that. The people who joined me said the salmon was great. I had the French toast. All I can say is, "Wow!" The kids have nice options, too, including fish and meatloaf. The server was really friendly and alert. Sit outside -- it's comfortable and quiet.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As we often do, we chose to celebrate a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

As we often do, we chose to celebrate a couple of family birthdays at Cap City. Our server was upbeat, helpful, and made great suggestions. We ordered a variety of entries, and everyone enjoyed a wonderful evening. Ordering our desserts to go was no problem at all. In particular, several of us enjoyed the peanut butter pie. The entire evening was filled with good food, conversation, and flawless service. Well done:)

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The soft pretzel was very generic. My hu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The soft pretzel was very generic. My husband and I both enjoyed our main courses. Our server was fabulous. My drink (ginger marg) was not as good as I thought it would be for the price that it was.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just love this place! Everything from t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Just love this place! Everything from the aps to dessert are excellent. Never had a bad meal or anything to complain about! When are you opening in Cleveland?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food, just a bit c ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service and food, just a bit cramped and loud indoors. Lots of varied choices for starters and entrees and have never had a bad meal here. Awesome wait staff, knowledgeable and good natured. Leave room for dessert or take with you.

I highly recommend this restaurant, just don't expect a quiet venue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always delicious and our waitres ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is always delicious and our waitress Kylynn is always great on service. Only complaint would be it needs to be updated, such as new padding for the booths

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service, great recommendations.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As with any of Cameron Mitchell's restau ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

As with any of Cameron Mitchell's restaurants, the food and service is fabulous. Nice with birthday deserts to share. 10 1/2 rating

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Being new to the area, various reviews o ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Being new to the area, various reviews of Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview indicated the food was good -- and it was. The environment is somewhere between old school northeast greek diner and a modern all american diner.

The service was spot on; attentive but not overpowering and the food was consistent and good. The layout was interesting from our booth as we could see the kitchen -- a welcome benefit. Always kinda cool to see the process.

Now, about the food -- the blue cheese potato chips are a must have. The chips themselves would have benefited by 30 seconds more in the fryer, but the sauce and blue cheese -- yummy.

The mahi mahi and fried chicken were workhorse plates. Not stellar, but very good and consistent.

All-in-all, a good place for a casual dinner or a dinner date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a favorite spot especially to cel ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a favorite spot especially to celebrate a birthday. Free dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Always a special place to go for any occ ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a special place to go for any occasion! I have been here for birthdays, meetings, dates, and everday dining! Great food, friendly staff and one of a kind atmosphere. It is fancy but at the same time casual with the old school diner feel. My family and I love this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City is always one of my favorites. ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Cap City is always one of my favorites. They have a great covered outdoor seating area, and it's a quiet spot for late night dining. Food is always excellent, although it would be nice to see more frequent menu updates. They are best known for their meatloaf dinner entree and their weekend brunch, but there are lots of other nice options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always a great restaurant - great servic ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

always a great restaurant - great service - wonderful food - never disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.