Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
David Moeser : (614) 291-3663

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid Jan 16, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Bring your family to celebrate Easter with our Famous Brunch Plates on our menu on Easter Sunday. We will open an hour early, join us from 10:00-3:00 to enjoy our brunch menu in addition to our regular lunch menu. Make your reservations now, we will fill up quickly. Have a happy holiday.

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (108)
Casual (92)
Great for Lunch (69)
See All
Fun (66)
Good for Birthdays (66)
Special Occasion (61)
Good for a Date (55)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Groups (44)
Good for Anniversaries (40)
Kid-friendly (39)
Sunday Lunch (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Business Meals (32)
Family Style (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Authentic (26)
Cozy (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Bar Seating (21)
Outstanding Value (21)
Fireplace (18)
Open Kitchen (17)
Pre/post Theatre (17)
Hot Spot (15)
Happy Hour (15)
Handcrafted Cocktails (14)
Local Ingredients (12)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Great Beer (10)
Quick Bite (9)
Romantic (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Great for Outdoor Dining (7)
Late-night Find (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Disabled Access (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Modern Decor (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Seasonal (4)
Spicy (3)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Scenic View (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Historic (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
3052 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Absolutely delicious! We went on Sunday so two of us ordered the beef stroganoff, which was the daily special. It was to die for! The others really enjoyed their fish and chips and pork chops. The pecan topping on the pork chops made them the talk of the table.

We were seated in the back dining room and it was EXTREMELY loud. There were three tables of families with small children who were energetic. We noticed that the front dining rooms were much quieter.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Always reliable, Cap City is a family favorite. It's a great place to bring kids - it's just noisy enough we won't bother anyone. We love dinner there but sunday brunch is great too.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Great food. Terrific service. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Food and drinks were good. Only problem was porkchop was not fully cooked near the bone. Brought this to the servers attention and got not further response.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 6 days ago

I love Cameron Mitchell restaurants and Cap City is probably my favorite. The food is great, the staff is top notch, it's more casual than many of his other spots, and the desert is fantastici definitely recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined 6 days ago

I had the meatloaf, which is delicious, and a strawberry lemonade from the bar. Both were exceptionally good and I highly recommend them.

Tip...get a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Too noisy and too close to everyone else, but sometimes I am up for that. Always good. Our server was exceptional

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

We have never been disappointed with the food or service at Cap City. One of our favorite restaurants. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Great Birthday meal. All around very good. Super carrot cake. I had the pecan crusted pork chops.Generous serving. Pork chops tasted great however I did share with our server Christoper
at the end of the meal that there several areas around the edges where the pork chop was pink not cooked well & slightly liqiud red & jelly like sections ? Nonetheless the meal was good & our celebration was really good for our party of seven. Will dine here again.
James S.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Still our favorite place to eat in cbus. Always great food and service.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Cap City is a family favorite. It always exceeds expectations.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 15, 2017

This is the first time I have been disappointed in the food at Cap City. The calamari appetizer has changed form and flavor...the sauce was tasty but not what I was expecting. There were more vegetables than calamari. The two main meals' portion sizes were much smaller than expected and more expensive. Will probably just go for happy hour from now on. Our server was very good.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 15, 2017

We had so much fun. The food was wonderful, wait staff wonderful, atmo fantastic. Prices reasonable.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 14, 2017

Typically we love Cap City Diner but this time everything was off. Service was iffy and not too friendly. Our food came quickly but I could tell my omelet was microwaved because the cheese wasn't fully melted and the temperature was lukewarm at best. My broccoli was not seasoned. If this had been my first time visiting a Cap City Diner I never would have returned.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on March 13, 2017

The meatloaf melt is the BEST! Probably the best meatloaf I have ever had.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 13, 2017

Always a great meal and excellent service. We have been coming for 15 years and have never been disappointed.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value, Fun, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Had to wait 35 min even though we had a reservation

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 12, 2017

I don't know why I go here once a year or so. I'm never leaving completely satisfied. If it weren't for the location being close to my house, I would never make the effort to go here. I made a reservation for several reasons. 1. My Aunt is very impatient waiting for a table, anywhere. 2. We had a party of six and 3. I'm disabled and they don't have a convenient waiting area for someone in my condition. So, of course, we get there right on time for our 12:00 reservation on Sunday morning. The table isn't ready, but the host said that we could sot at the "full service" bar. I can't safely get on, or off, a bar stool and my party is not a "start drinking at noon on Sunday" group anymore. My wife finds me a small chair that we were able to move behind the giant gumball machine, so I could sit or stand without having to get out of everyone's way as they too had to wait for a table. I don't know who was a walk-in and who had reservations, but we all had one of those silly, and probably germ-ridden, vibrators to summon us when it was our turn at the trough. About 20 painful (literally for me) minutes later we got the jolt to move to the next station in the process, our table. The waitress was good and was pleasant. They put us at a table near the front, which is good for me, so that I didn't have to wind between tables in the main dining room. It took a while to order and to get our food, but we came at the peak time and we knew that. The food had mixed opinions. The reuben was very good. The fish sandwich was good. 2 of us had the omelet of the day. It had ham, cheese and diced tomatoes. It was below average. Too many tomatoes made it watery and it didn't have very much ham. I'm guessing that the preferred proportions vary by customer, so there were people who loved lots of tomatoes and very little ham, I get that. The entry way is not conducive to people who are handicapped or unstable. Multiple sets of swinging doors and several slopes.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value2

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Classic American comfort food with a high end note and taste

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Stopped in for lunch with the kids on a Saturday afternoon, and had a delightful time. My 8 yr old son was glad to have something other than burgers, grilled cheese and mac & cheese on the kids menu (not that there's anything wrong with those) and chose the grilled salmon which he LOVED. I got the short rib has with eggs, which was excellent, and my daughter devoured the fish tacos. We both got strawberry basil lemonade - and appreciated them bringing a carafe of it with each glass. The only critique would be slightly slow waitstaff service, but they were busy and he tried to be attentive.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun, Fit for Foodies, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 11, 2017

Seated right away, but near two large groups. Server was unenthusiastic and music was too loud.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 10, 2017

Great food, great service. We were seated right away! Love cap city.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Family Style, Comfort Food, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on March 10, 2017

As always a great dinner! Never a complaint at Cap City!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Vibrant Bar Scene, Authentic, Bar Seating, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 9, 2017

We haven't been to Cap City in quite a while and it was as good as remembered. We were meeting our son-in-law downtown and this got us out of the rush and yet, close to downtown. It's always a good meal and a fun place to eat.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 9, 2017

Terrific. Great food and,service. Always reliable. Love the menu choices.

Tags: Disabled Access, Cozy, Paleo Friendly, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 6, 2017

Waitress was a little lacking.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Always good food, and still like this location much better than Gahanna. We decided to split an entree, trying to cut back a little, no extra charge and the server was very good about taking care of us! Our favorite place next to the Avenue!!!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We had a great experience overall. Our table near the door was a little drafty but that's the only complaint. It was my birthday and I got a free dessert! It was a great evening!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Was just ok. Nothing special.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Cap City Fine Diner and Bar is a Columbus classic! It was one of the first local restaurants I ate at when I first moved to Columbus and has been a favorite of mine ever since. It is the most affordable and casual Cameron Mitchell Restaurant, but you experience an extraordinary level of service and attention to detail from your servers. Although more upscale than your typical diner, Cap City still offers the blue plate specials like Liver and Onions, Chicken Pot Pie, Pot Roast, BBQ Ribs and Beef Stroganoff.

If it is your first time dining here, you must try the Cap City Diner Meatloaf! The meatloaf is PHENOMENAL!!! Actually, it is the BEST meatloaf I have ever eaten. The meatloaf is served on top of toast with buttermilk-chive mashed potatoes and chili onion rings and drizzled with an amazing BBQ gravy. It is the ultimate comfort food dish!

Besides offering the best meatloaf, Cap City also has the BEST desserts in Columbus. If you have a sweet tooth, you must try the Seriously Big Chocolate Cake. Its title doesn’t lie…it is the world’s largest piece of chocolate cake! The Big Cup O’ Chocolate, which is a mug of warm, double chocolate lava cake topped with Johnson’s Triple Vanilla Bean ice cream, is equally as large and delicious as the cake. If you can’t tell already, all of the portions are very generous and can be split…I highly recommend splitting the desserts if you don’t want to end up in a sugar coma.

As with any diner, you receive classic comfort food dishes. But unlike other diners, you will be left wanting to return for the showstopper-sized desserts and outstanding service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fireplace, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Expect wonderful cuisine, adequate service, and a worst-in-town Bloody Mary.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value4

vip
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 5, 2017

We are from Cleveland and this is our go to spot when we are in Columbus. The food is excellent. Had the Stuffed French Toast and it was outstanding. The rolls are the best around.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Great food and service as always!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Great food at reasonable prices. We dine here regularly and always have great service. For large groups, I'd recommend reservations, especially on weekends.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Cozy, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Casual, Great Beer, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 4, 2017

Good food, excellent service
Good seating options.

Tags: Disabled Access, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 4, 2017

First time at Cap City, and we were not disappointed at all. Wonderful food, great (and knowledgeable) service, & good atmosphere. Our waiter gave us time to go over menu, and also gave us some fantastic recommendations - which we took and we're happy we did! We will be back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 3, 2017

As always the good and service top notch. Our waiter Vince is a riot. Always a fun night when at one of his tables.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Worth the Drive, Casual, Open Kitchen, Fireplace, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Business Meals, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 2, 2017

Noisy but fun. Good comfort foods

Tags: Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 1, 2017

Love this restaurant! We always have wonderful service. The meatloaf dinner is by far my favorite dish!! If you have a sweet tooth chocolate cake is out of this world amazing!!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Bar Seating, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Local Ingredients, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 1, 2017

everything was really good, but my fish was just a bit dry.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.