About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
David Moeser : 6142913663x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid Jan 16, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (76)
Casual (73)
Great for Lunch (54)
See All
Fun (50)
Special Occasion (48)
Good for Birthdays (47)
Good for a Date (38)
Good for Groups (36)
Sunday Lunch (33)
Business Meals (32)
Cozy (31)
Worth the Drive (31)
Neighborhood Gem (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Good for Anniversaries (27)
Authentic (25)
Kid-friendly (24)
Family Style (23)
Fit for Foodies (22)
Great for Brunch (22)
Pre/post Theatre (21)
Outstanding Value (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Fireplace (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Open Kitchen (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (12)
People Watching (11)
Tasting Menu (11)
Hot Spot (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Modern Decor (9)
Quiet Conversation (8)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Quick Bite (8)
Romantic (7)
Great Beer (7)
Healthy (6)
Afternoon Coffee (6)
Afternoon Tea (6)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (5)
Seasonal (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Historic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Vegan (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Scenic View (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
2950 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Was a little disappointed. The Thai Bee ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined a day ago

Was a little disappointed. The Thai Beef salad was full of ribs from the lettuce and all the tasty ingredients were cut in chunks too large to really combine flavors in one bite. The Bellini was nice, but the salad was a letdown.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

This used to be one of our favorite rest ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 2 days ago

This used to be one of our favorite restaurants. The quality of food was terrible. The salmon size was pitiful and the ribs were pure fat. Our waitress was kind but unfortunately that was about it. $24 for ribs was not worth it. $19 for salmon was not worth it either. A very expensive meal for terrible food. For a Cameron Mitchell restaurant chain, it was disappointing. Will not be back

Tags: Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Found this on Tripadvisor and wish I had ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined 2 days ago

Found this on Tripadvisor and wish I had discovered it soon after our move to Columbus. Great menu options, quality food, cool-diner vibe, and good value! Building looks a little worn, but don't let that slow you down as you go in.

Tags: Casual, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Rolls, Dinner (Ordered the Pork Chops ( ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Rolls, Dinner (Ordered the Pork Chops (2 were served !), Spicy Chicken Rigatoni and Childrens' Chicken tenders with a side salad) & Desserts (Key Lime Pie, Big Cup O'Chocolate, and the Oreo Snowball) did not disappoint!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Anniversaries, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual everything was wonderful. Mari ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

As usual everything was wonderful. Mariah is an excellent and friendly server. My granddaughter and I were thrilled to have her serve us and hope to have her again

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Anniversaries, Fireplace, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Open Kitchen, Authentic, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great lunch spot with outstanding menu a ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Great lunch spot with outstanding menu and good service.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Heat in the restrooms and out table was ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Heat in the restrooms and out table was in front of the front doors on a very cold day we were freezing

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value5

Group ages from 14 to 71 - all of us enj ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Group ages from 14 to 71 - all of us enjoyed the brunch food, the excellent server who made sure the teenagers had plenty of the wonderful brunch rolls, and the casual atmosphere that lets us relax and enjoy visiting with each other.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

The food was wonderful and out waitress ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 8, 2017

The food was wonderful and out waitress was top notch!! Highly recommend CapCity!

Tags: Family Style, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Fireplace, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a good dinner experience overall. ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 7, 2017

We had a good dinner experience overall. We will go again but I would not order the Reuben again next time.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Great service and delicious food. Love ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2017

Great service and delicious food. Love the patio in the summer.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

What's not to like. Wonderful comfort f ...

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on January 6, 2017

What's not to like. Wonderful comfort food and classic dishes like meatloaf and Ruben. The waitstaff was able to accommodate a change in veggie to one I liked as well as extra gravy for the meatloaf which is a great dependable dish.

MY 95 year old mother loves to come as well.

Tags: Casual, Open Kitchen, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

great food, great service. you can usua ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2017

great food, great service. you can usually get in and out in an hour during

lunch..

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As usual, Larry out did himself and staf ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 4, 2017

As usual, Larry out did himself and staff did also

Tags: Healthy, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

When I hear the word diner I think of br ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 2, 2017

When I hear the word diner I think of breakfast being served all day. I certainly expect at 11:30 am that breakfast choices other than an omelet would be offered. I ordered the 4 egg omelet. It was not good. The cheese was not melted and the tomatoes weren't fresh or expected. It came with home fries and they were too greasy and soggy. Bottom line, I can lower my expectations when I hear the word diner. However I expect better when it is advertised as a "fine diner." The Crest Gastropub offers a superior albeit more expensive omelet. I will not return to this restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3

My wife and I celebrated our 39th annive ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on January 1, 2017

My wife and I celebrated our 39th anniversary at Cap City Grill New Years Eve. We always have a great meal, and feel like the 40 mile drive is well worth the trip. This time she actually said "this was the very best restaurant steak I've ever had."

We'll be back!

Tags: Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Overall the service was very good, and t ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on January 1, 2017

Overall the service was very good, and the food was good just overpriced. Having been here before it was consistent in these areas.

Tags: Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value2

We love going there for New Years Eve di ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

We love going there for New Years Eve dinner. Just wish it had a little more space

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Family get together

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Family get together

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Delicious food always! Outstanding servi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Delicious food always! Outstanding service! Our favorite New Year's meal.

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food!! Never have a bad meal when ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great food!! Never have a bad meal when we go here. Love the appetizer! 4 of them ended up at our table. Add they were very nice to the two toddlers we had at our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great service. We went for my mil's birt ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Great service. We went for my mil's birthday. She had a nice time.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Good food and good service in a bustling ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2016

Good food and good service in a bustling atmosphere- fun people watching too!

Tags: Great for Lunch, People Watching, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Server was excellent as was service! Fo ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2016

Server was excellent as was service! Food was awesome!! We had reservations, therefore, we had no wait time!! All around 5 stars!!

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Gone to Cap City numerous times over the ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Gone to Cap City numerous times over the years, have always enjoyed & left positive reviews in the past. Went on 12/29/16, although early & a Thursday, made reservations given holiday week to be safe. Party of 4 so requested a booth. Unfortunately request was not noted or accommodated, was set outside on patio. Freezing Ohio December evening with unusually high wind and drizzle. Back patio cover was ripped, as wind surges lifted awning and support bars banged the entire time. Neighboring crowds joked wether we should all go inside. Understand the place was packed & management is trying to get more revenue, but not the same experience and when you are spending a $100 for party of four having burgers and fish in chips, you expect more. Servers were nice and put in a bad place in having to serve parties outside. Big Cameron Mitchell fan & supporter over the years. Cap City should remember that although it was a great destination 15 years ago, they now have more competition in the area, even against better sister spots like Hudson & The Pearl. On a positive, food was outstanding as always; have never received a bad meal here.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service2
value2

Our meal was served promptly even though ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2016

Our meal was served promptly even though it was very busy. The waitress brought our bills promptly and returned quickly.

Great Service and great food!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Molecular Gastronomy, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Thanks for making a birthday special. Gr ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2016

Thanks for making a birthday special. Great food and service.

Tags: Good for Groups, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Family Style, Fun, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Creative Cuisine, Casual, Vibrant Bar Scene, Romantic, Bar Seating, Comfort Food, Great for Outdoor Dining, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We have been to Cap City several times b ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2016

We have been to Cap City several times before. We were disappointed tonight when, after placing all of our orders and the salads already arriving, our server informed us that they were out of one of our entrees (this was about 7:30). The manager never stopped by to say hello or apologize, which is unusual for a Cameron Mitchell restaurant. Disappointing management this evening.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Have been to Cap City three times now. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 26, 2016

Have been to Cap City three times now. Good food, fun atmosphere. It can be noisy.

Tags: Casual, Fit for Foodies, Fun, Happy Hour, Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

We enjoyed a great meal at Cap City Gran ...

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We enjoyed a great meal at Cap City Grandview. Food was delicious; everybody in our group of 7 was happy with their food. Service was friendly and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We decided to dine here on a whim. Afte ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 26, 2016

We decided to dine here on a whim. After booking on OpenTable we arrived at the diner and were immediately seated and the waiter, Johnny, was absolutely perfect from the moment he approached our table until we left. The food was delicious and the desserts were incredible. Will definitely be going back!

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Fireplace, Good for a Date, Happy Hour, Afternoon Coffee, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Very good food and service as expected. ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on December 23, 2016

Very good food and service as expected. A bit pricey, but was a nice afternoon for a birthday get together.

Tags: Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Neighborhood Gem, Pre/post Theatre, Worth the Drive, Creative Cuisine, Fireplace, Fit for Foodies, Open Kitchen, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Service a bit slow, pricey, and noise le ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 22, 2016

Service a bit slow, pricey, and noise level high. Mostly because of large party in same room. Food always good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Consistently good food and service. We'l ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on December 20, 2016

Consistently good food and service. We'll run restaurant.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have eaten there several times but I ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 19, 2016

We have eaten there several times but I must say my dinner was the best yet. Wasn't planning on having fish but it was excellent. Look forward to returning soon.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

Excellent food, excellent service. Highl ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 19, 2016

Excellent food, excellent service. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cap City never fails to impress new dine ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Cap City never fails to impress new diners. We took my niece's new husband there for a meal while they were visiting and he was quite impressed with the decor and the food. We had a lovely time as always.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great spot! I've lived in Columbus my wh ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 17, 2016

Great spot! I've lived in Columbus my whole life and have visited many Cameron Mitchell restaurants - this one might just take the cake for taste and value! I had the chicken hoagie, fries, and bread, which were all home run. Already planning my next visit!

Tags: Casual, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful night out with good friends at ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Wonderful night out with good friends at Cap City. We had a reservation for 6 of us at 6:30 on a Friday evening and were seated right away when we arrived 5 minutes early. Seated at a round table in the main dining room but in an out of the way (almost private) area, which was perfect for us as we were really able to have good fun and conversation. Our server was very friendly, attentive and professional. Food was delicious -- we did splurge on the blue cheese potato chips to begin with and then we had salads and sandwiches which were all great -- very large portions of everything, a good value. We have been to Cap City many times over the years for different occasions and each and every time there has been a good experience. Not one concern/complaint. Thank you!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Family Style, Healthy, Fun, Special Occasion, Outstanding Value, Cozy, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fireplace, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Could have been better.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 16, 2016

Could have been better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.