About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00-11:00pm; Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Mosier : 6142913663x

Additional:
Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 9, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. Not available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 6, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 9, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

Great for Lunch (130)
Good for Groups (126)
Neighborhood Gem (110)
See All
Special Occasion (101)
Fit for Foodies (93)
Great for Outdoor Dining (83)
Kid-friendly (80)
Great for Brunch (78)
Hot Spot (42)
Vibrant Bar Scene (19)
Romantic (13)
Notable Wine List (12)
Late-night Find (11)
Scenic View (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2621 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Wonderful food, and friendly, quick serv ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 5 days ago

Wonderful food, and friendly, quick service! Known for its meatloaf, we did order that. The people who joined me said the salmon was great. I had the French toast. All I can say is, "Wow!" The kids have nice options, too, including fish and meatloaf. The server was really friendly and alert. Sit outside -- it's comfortable and quiet.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Kid-friendly, Quiet Conversation, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Groups, Fun, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

As we often do, we chose to celebrate a ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined 6 days ago

As we often do, we chose to celebrate a couple of family birthdays at Cap City. Our server was upbeat, helpful, and made great suggestions. We ordered a variety of entries, and everyone enjoyed a wonderful evening. Ordering our desserts to go was no problem at all. In particular, several of us enjoyed the peanut butter pie. The entire evening was filled with good food, conversation, and flawless service. Well done:)

Tags: Casual, Cozy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The soft pretzel was very generic. My hu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

The soft pretzel was very generic. My husband and I both enjoyed our main courses. Our server was fabulous. My drink (ginger marg) was not as good as I thought it would be for the price that it was.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Just love this place! Everything from t ...

vip
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 16, 2016

Just love this place! Everything from the aps to dessert are excellent. Never had a bad meal or anything to complain about! When are you opening in Cleveland?

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent service and food, just a bit c ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service and food, just a bit cramped and loud indoors. Lots of varied choices for starters and entrees and have never had a bad meal here. Awesome wait staff, knowledgeable and good natured. Leave room for dessert or take with you.

I highly recommend this restaurant, just don't expect a quiet venue.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Food is always delicious and our waitres ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Food is always delicious and our waitress Kylynn is always great on service. Only complaint would be it needs to be updated, such as new padding for the booths

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Hot Spot, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

Delicious food, excellent service, great ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Delicious food, excellent service, great recommendations.

Tags: Late-night Find, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Fit for Foodies, Hot Spot, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

As with any of Cameron Mitchell's restau ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

As with any of Cameron Mitchell's restaurants, the food and service is fabulous. Nice with birthday deserts to share. 10 1/2 rating

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Being new to the area, various reviews o ...

 
 (Louisville)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Being new to the area, various reviews of Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview indicated the food was good -- and it was. The environment is somewhere between old school northeast greek diner and a modern all american diner.

The service was spot on; attentive but not overpowering and the food was consistent and good. The layout was interesting from our booth as we could see the kitchen -- a welcome benefit. Always kinda cool to see the process.

Now, about the food -- the blue cheese potato chips are a must have. The chips themselves would have benefited by 30 seconds more in the fryer, but the sauce and blue cheese -- yummy.

The mahi mahi and fried chicken were workhorse plates. Not stellar, but very good and consistent.

All-in-all, a good place for a casual dinner or a dinner date.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Always a favorite spot especially to cel ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 10, 2016

Always a favorite spot especially to celebrate a birthday. Free dessert!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4

Always a special place to go for any occ ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Always a special place to go for any occasion! I have been here for birthdays, meetings, dates, and everday dining! Great food, friendly staff and one of a kind atmosphere. It is fancy but at the same time casual with the old school diner feel. My family and I love this restaurant!

Tags: Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City is always one of my favorites. ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Cap City is always one of my favorites. They have a great covered outdoor seating area, and it's a quiet spot for late night dining. Food is always excellent, although it would be nice to see more frequent menu updates. They are best known for their meatloaf dinner entree and their weekend brunch, but there are lots of other nice options.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

always a great restaurant - great servic ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

always a great restaurant - great service - wonderful food - never disappointed

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Traditional American comfort food in ele ...

 
 (Cleveland)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

Traditional American comfort food in elegant presentation. Few vegetarian options.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Always fantastic! Todd's one of the star ...

 
 (Minneapolis)
·Dined on August 5, 2016

Always fantastic! Todd's one of the star waitstaff

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Notable Wine List, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love the variety of food. More than a c ...

vip
 (Detroit)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Love the variety of food. More than a classic diner. We wanted to celebrate my mother's 95th birthday and she wanted to go there. Love the twist on their meatloaf and mashed potatoes with BBQ gravy and onion straws. Mom loved her Reuben. A really generous portion of carrot cake for dessert for her birthday made everything special.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

This restaurant is always amazing. We go ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

This restaurant is always amazing. We go to cap city very frequently. Love the food here.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always outstanding service and food!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 3, 2016

Always outstanding service and food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The hostess Yessy always greet you with ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 2, 2016

The hostess Yessy always greet you with a smile I've been eating there so many times she recognizes me each time. My favorite waitress is Kylynn and I always ask for her area. She always remembers when we order something off the menu and make changes on it she remembers the next time we order it. Once again with staff like Yessy and Kylynn and the food keeps me coming back.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was delicious and hot. Waiter ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 1, 2016

The food was delicious and hot. Waiter was very attentive to the group. Served with a smile. Will definitely return.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Took my girlfriend there for her birthda ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Took my girlfriend there for her birthday. We had a very nice evening. The barbecue ribs were awesome, and they have a great selection of beers on tap!

Tags: Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Five of us went to Cap City Diner before ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Five of us went to Cap City Diner before a Picnic with the Pops. Our server took our order quickly, brought us the food in good time and we were able to get out and downtown having had a great meal. It's not health food, but it's really good stuff.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

We were celebrating our wedding annivers ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

We were celebrating our wedding anniversary with 3 other couples. We had a great dining experience. The food was outstanding and our waitress had a wonderful personality and provided first class service! I would recommend Cap City Diner to anyone! Also the chocolate cake for dessert was amazing!

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Great venue-- very accommodating for a b ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Great venue-- very accommodating for a birthday event. would tho recommend more entrees for those with other issues-- like vegan/vegetarian thanks!! and organic

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Love this restaurant! Great food and win ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 29, 2016

Love this restaurant! Great food and wine selection.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I both ordered the Romano en ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

My wife and I both ordered the Romano encrusted chicken with garlic noodles in a creamy tomato sauce. It was excellent . As of now, it's my favorite entrée at Cap City. We managed to have a little room for dessert so my wife chose the Big Cup of Chocolate. Absolutely astounding!! One of the best desserts I have enjoyed in 6 decades of partaking on planet Earth. The waitress was not elite as we didn't see her much. The diner is always busy and we do hope to visit again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

This was my first time to Cap City Diner ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 24, 2016

This was my first time to Cap City Diner. The food and drinks were great! The AC was out on a 90+ degree day so it was a bit too warm inside. We deciding to eat and leave because it was getting too hot. Will return but will make sure the AC is working first.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Brian the bartender on the outside patio ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Brian the bartender on the outside patio was outstanding.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This night was a little off but still pl ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

This night was a little off but still pleasant. Our reservation was for 6 and we were seated promptly. It was very hot in the restaurant. I would have hoped for a bit more comfortable atmosphere. The server was fine. He was attentive and polite. I would not order the 'southern fried' chicken again. It was simply chicken cutlets. I think of bone in really crispy, pan fried chicken when I hear 'southern fried'. It was good but not spectacular. The pecan green beans with honey were delicious, however. I had asked for the server to order me a piece of the peach pie special at the beginning of our dinner as I know they tend to run out. Well I'm not sure if he thought I was joking, but by the time we finished our meal, he had not ordered it and they were out. I ordered blueberry instead, and it was a pleasant surprise. I love this restaurant and highly recommend it. Just maybe avoid it when it's 100 degrees outside.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cap City is just as great of an experien ...

vip
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Cap City is just as great of an experience now as it was when I lived in Columbus 10+ years ago. It's changed very little because the formula worked then & it works today equally as well. Consistently great food and great service.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City has a great covered patio, a qu ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Cap City has a great covered patio, a quirky indoor atmosphere and an interesting menu. I am generally very satisfied with whatever I order and the service has always been very good.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The only problem this time were two scre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

The only problem this time were two screaming children and the parents wouldn't take them out. My sister came up from Cincinnati especially to go to Cap City and with those kids screaming it wasn't very enjoyable. We ate our food and left and didn't get to visit as long as we normally do because of the noise.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good food at a good price. Daily specia ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

Good food at a good price. Daily special was outstanding.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

Waitress was overall great but did not o ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Waitress was overall great but did not offer dessert, she sort of gave us the check and disappeared. We were a little later in the evening but still 1/2 hour before closing.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Ate on the enclosed patio. Quiet and co ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 5, 2016

Ate on the enclosed patio. Quiet and comfortable surroundings.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

For all the hype this place gets, the fo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

For all the hype this place gets, the food is just good--nothing more, nothing less. You can get meals that are way better for half the price plenty of places around town. What you are paying for here is that it is a Cameron Mitchell restaurant. I will say that the service and drinks are great. That is what this place has that other restaurants don't. If I pay $85 for a dinner for two (1 app, 2 drinks, 2 entrees), I'm expecting something that I can't get for $50 at other places.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

As usual the food was good The service w ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

As usual the food was good The service was terrific and we had fun

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a good meal and I especially appr ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

Always a good meal and I especially appreciate their providing a beer flight. We ate "light" so as to order desert. I always try to do that, but get sucked in by the usual favorites.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Large group that likes liver and onions. ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

Large group that likes liver and onions. Some of us order other food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City in Grandview is one of our favo ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

Cap City in Grandview is one of our favorite go-to restaurants in Columbus. The drinks are great and affordable and the menu never disappoints. Love the live music on Mondays!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.