About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
David Moeser : (614) 291-3663

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid Jan 16, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (94)
Casual (82)
Great for Lunch (61)
See All
Good for Birthdays (60)
Fun (57)
Special Occasion (51)
Good for a Date (39)
Good for Groups (39)
Neighborhood Gem (37)
Sunday Lunch (34)
Good for Anniversaries (34)
Kid-friendly (33)
Business Meals (32)
Worth the Drive (31)
Creative Cuisine (30)
Authentic (29)
Cozy (28)
Family Style (24)
Fit for Foodies (24)
Great for Brunch (23)
Outstanding Value (22)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Open Kitchen (16)
Bar Seating (16)
Happy Hour (16)
Fireplace (15)
People Watching (13)
Great Beer (11)
Quick Bite (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Local Ingredients (10)
Hot Spot (10)
Modern Decor (10)
Healthy (9)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Romantic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Great for Outdoor Dining (6)
Afternoon Tea (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Paleo Friendly (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Seasonal (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (4)
Afternoon Coffee (3)
Spicy (3)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
3005 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 20 hours ago

Disappointed in the quality of our food. Chili was cold and had to send my salad back because it wasn't what I ordered. Once salad received, the turkey wasn't as expected. More like processed meat rather than roasted turkey per menu verbiage.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

We enjoyed bringing guests from Chicago to Cap City Diner.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service2
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

The food was decent, not the worst and not the best, but nothing special. A little overpriced too.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

It was an extra busy night, but the service and food were still outstanding.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Quick Bite, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

I love the pork chops and carrot cake

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Everything was great. My only minor complaint is that, in the past, when I made a reservation and noted that it was a special occasion -- in this case, my husband's 50th birthday -- they would acknowledge it somehow. There was nothing this time -- which was a little disappointing.

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Kid-friendly, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on February 18, 2017

We enjoy comfort food with our 95 year old mom at her favorite restaurant. The Ruben is her favorite, and the meatloaf can't be beat. Vegetable was happily switched to a different choice.

Since it was a weekend and at the end of brunch, we had lovely cinnamon rolls!

Tags: People Watching, Comfort Food, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We've been to Cap City many times over the years. I met a friend and my daughter before a show on a Friday night. We were able to make reservations on Friday and our table was ready on time. We all had crab cakes, which are some of the best I've ever had, lots of crab with great spice. Our server was fabulous and even though they were busy we never felt rushed. Cap City has kept up the quality of the service and food. We love Cap City.

Tags: Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Great Beer, Great for Lunch, Happy Hour, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

Great place

Needs a bit of updating

Can't wait for Dublin location to open

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 17, 2017

We were seated promptly and once we ordered our food was delivered quickly so we were able to get back to the office on time since we had a short time frame for lunch. The food and service were fantastic and I really appreciate that we were able to have a great meal and wonderful service in such a short amount of time. Highly recommend!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I've been there on many occasions over the past twenty years or so, but in recent years my experience has been limited to the bar area, appetizers, etc. We attended on Valentines evening, arrived early, sat at the bar first, had an appetizer and a drink. Female bartender was rude, short and had a real 'tude'. Then sat for dinner, my food was OK, but my ladies meatloaf is among the best ever, (that's why we went, she loves it) and our waitress has extremely nice. Will never go back to the bar......

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 15, 2017

I come to this location for everyday dining & special occasion. The food is great. management & staff always make sure your are satisfied.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

Loud and the server didn't refill water. Otherwise, food was good.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 13, 2017

There was ease of setting a reservation through OpenTable. We had a great experience and service was good .

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries, Hot Spot, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Very good. Great service and food. A little high priced for sandwiches but nice ambience

Tags: Fun, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 12, 2017

Every time we venture to Columbus Ohio I tell my friends we have to eat at cap city that is the best place to eat and love love the service.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Local Ingredients, Worth the Drive, Paleo Friendly, Comfort Food, Spicy, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Naples)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Dined here many times but this time the food a little off. Two crab topped tilapias, pork chops and spicy chicken rigatoni

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Outstanding food, so many choices. Wonderful waiter helped me choose the pecan crusted pork chops! They were amazing.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 11, 2017

Food was unique and tasty. Great variety. Lots of gluten free choices for those like my wife. Definitely will be dining there again!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Local Ingredients, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Outstanding Value, Late-night Find, Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Wonderful food and exceptional service. We had to wait to be seated (even with reservations)but once we were seated (10-15 minutes), the service was quick, the food was prepared and served quickly and hot! The space is a little cramped for the popularity of the place - you are a little "squeezed" but the food is very good, good size portions, and there's a nice variety on the menu to choose from.

Tags: Casual, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 8, 2017

The food was very good and the service was excellent! Have accommodated a big group for me twice and have been very friendly and helpful. Will definitely eat here again!

Tags: Outstanding Value, Open Kitchen, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on February 7, 2017

Great burger and the steak chili is awesome. Food portions very generous and the service was outstanding. Always try to make it here when in CBUS.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Took my daughter there for her birthday. We were promptly seated and wait staff did a nice job. Food was great. Will be back.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Great place to dine. It seems to get busy though

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 5, 2017

My wife wanted to eat brunch on her birthday and she chose Cap City Diner. We arrived earlier than our reservation was for and were seated with no wait. The server was a delight and the food was very good. Enjoyed the experience, the first time we had been there for brunch.

Tags: Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

I've always loved this place! Never go wrong with a Cameron Mitchell restaurant! I've tried a lot of different entrées here and everything is always on perfect!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Really really appreciated getting the chocolate cake for free since it was my Mom's birthday! That's awfully kind!

Tags: Authentic, Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Visiting Columbus from out of town. Looking for a place that was kid-friendly but also adult-friendly. This was a perfect compromise. Kids loved the food and dessert. Parents loved the booze selection along with the food. I would call it traditional favorites with an eclectic spin. Location was also good, as we were driving from the Ohio Expo Center to Hilliard-area. Parking was a challenge though. Small lot surrounded by other businesses. We had to circle a few times to find a space.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 4, 2017

Wonderful! We go often, not as often as we'd like, but every time the food and service are perfect.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 3, 2017

The food is always great but it's so loud in there it's hard to talk. That's a good thing though as business is booming!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 3, 2017

I was disappointed in my meal selection this time. My wife had her usual salmon salad which was very good. I had the Philly Steak and Cheese and it was not up to the usual greatness that my meals at Cap City are. I probably will not order it again. The service from Vince was fantastic. We always try to have him be our server. The time with him leading makes any problems non existent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on February 3, 2017

It was ok. The noise level was so high you had to scream to be heard.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value2

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on February 1, 2017

Awesome food awesome service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 31, 2017

Business Lunch for 3. Guests ordered salads and I had the crabcake sandwich. Everyone enjoyed the food, and service was great. Noise level was excessive, however we were seated next to a large party. Will go back again

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 30, 2017

Our lunch was wonderful. The atmosphere was fun and cozy, and our waiter, Fletcher, was fabulous! Looking forward to going back!

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2017

I had the Philly cheese steak sandwich, EXCELLENT! In the past I've enjoyed the Tamarind Chicken Wings (super tasty), the Wedge Salad, the Fish and Chips. All of which I would recommend.

Tags: Bar Seating, Handcrafted Cocktails, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 29, 2017

Fun, the eggs Benedict was pretty good, they brought cinnamons to the table for free which was INCREDIBLE. Will visit again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

The food was good but quite pricey for what you got. Very crowded, feel like they need to expand. It was a great experience but wouldn't go back unless someone wanted to experience it that hadn't and we were just going along.

Tags: Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 28, 2017

Visited last night for National Chocolate Cake Day. Thanks Cameron Mitchell restaurants for supporting Children's Hunger Alliance. The cake was awesome!

Tags: People Watching, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 23, 2017

Great menu choices and delicious food. Our waiter was excellent, made some suggestions we took and we were completely satisfied! We always enjoy Cap City!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual, Disabled Access, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 23, 2017

This was my first time at Cap City. Every employee was very welcoming which matched the overall environment very well. Casual, yet delicious!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Great for Lunch, Fun, Casual, Great Beer, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Hawaii)·Dined on January 22, 2017

Well done Cap City. Charming place. Excellent place to dine for Sunday lunch/brunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Enjoyed our meal there as always. Glad to take advantage of the Restaurant Week special!

Tags: Business Meals, Fun, Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

We always enjoy Cap City, but learned that the couple we were meeting had had a bad experience on their prior visit and hadn't been back. They asked for recommendations and I suggested the Romano Crusted Chicken as it our "go-to" choice and they really enjoyed it.

We really enjoyed the cinnamon rolls and I would have given 5 stars all-around, but it was too warm in the restaurant. I know it was an unexpectedly warm day outside, but it was quite stuffy in the busy, busy restaurant.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Quick Bite, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 21, 2017

The food here is good and consistent. Server was attentive and friendly. It was incredibly noisy - we were seated in the second section back, in the center of the room, and we could not hear each other. I would recommend it but ask the host to seat you in the quieter area. (the area around the bar and the dining area just behind the bar were noticeably quieter)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 19, 2017

This was my first time dining at Cap City Diner, and it was during Restaurant Week. It was very busy, as to be expected. The food was great. I ordered the fried chicken as my entree and carrot cake for dessert. Both were excellent. The cake is huge, so be prepared to either take some home if dining alone or share if you're dining with others.

The only thing about the experience was our waiter hovered over our table, despite it being so busy. It seemed like he was checking on us every two or three minutes. One of my dinner companions thought maybe he was trying to rush us out. But maybe 30 minutes into dinner, the rush died down (there seemed to be a lot of people there who were attending a hockey game that evening). Yet our waiter still hovered over us.

All in all it was a good experience and I would dine there again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 19, 2017

I forgot my waiter's name, but he was excellent. Service was outstanding. Ruby

Tags: Quick Bite, Spicy, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Healthy, Great for Lunch, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 18, 2017

We had the best experience at Cap City for our anniversary. We were blown away by the service and the food is always delicious.

Tags: Fun, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 18, 2017

Had a wonderful time. Staff was great and our dinner 'which was fantastic by the way" came out within 10 minutes. Try the tamarind wings there worth every penny 😊

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 16, 2017

This is a great spot for restaurant week. The food was very good and reasonably priced. Check out 'wine enthusiast' night for an added bonus! Service was prompt and friendly.

Tags: Happy Hour, Notable Wine List, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.