Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
David Moeser : (614) 291-3663

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (100)
Casual (87)
Great for Lunch (73)
See All
Good for a Date (66)
Special Occasion (59)
Good for Birthdays (59)
Good for Groups (54)
Fun (52)
Neighborhood Gem (48)
Good for Anniversaries (43)
Worth the Drive (41)
Sunday Lunch (40)
Business Meals (34)
Kid-friendly (33)
Fit for Foodies (27)
Family Style (27)
Great for Brunch (26)
Handcrafted Cocktails (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Bar Seating (22)
Authentic (22)
Pre/post Theatre (20)
Cozy (18)
Happy Hour (17)
Open Kitchen (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
Great Beer (13)
Healthy (13)
Outstanding Value (12)
Tasting Menu (12)
People Watching (11)
Modern Decor (9)
Fireplace (9)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Local Ingredients (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Late-night Find (6)
Seasonal (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Quick Bite (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Historic (4)
Romantic (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Molecular Gastronomy (2)
Spicy (2)
Tapas (2)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
S
3139 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Loved it. The food is extremely well cooked and the service impeccable. The tamarind wings are delicious and the meatloaf is worth the price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Check in process is slow, but everything else is consistently great.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

The food was good with decent size portions. Great dessert selection. A little noisy but to be expected on a busy weekend. I have visited this location several times. The wait staff are friendly and attentive.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

We split an entree and salad, and that makes a great dinner with a cocktail to start. Love the meatloaf!

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 19, 2017

Food and service were both excellent. Highly recommend dining there

Tags: Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Always love Cap City. Really enjoyed the patio tonight!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 16, 2017

Cap City Diner is still crazy good after all these years.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Family Style, Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 15, 2017

We were looking for a place to grab a quick bite before heading to the airport for our long flight back to CA. What a nice way to end the trip. The menu had a lot of comfort food items to pick from and our server Sean was wonderful. Sean was patient and informative when we struggled with which yummy sounding menu items to pick for lunch. Sean's professionalism and impeccable timing made our final travel meal even more perfect.

Tags: Business Meals, Modern Decor, Cozy, Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Casual, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The wait was a bit too much for having a reservation (over 45 min) but it was Mothers Day. My guess is they over booked themselves. A manager brought over a complimentary appetizer, the chips with bleu cheese however I don't like bleu cheese...I would have rathered a complimentary chocolate cake! The fish and chips were good, husbands flatbread was good but my sons flatbread was over cooked and tasted as though it had been sitting under the heat lamps for a while. I just wanted to get home so didn't bother with speaking to a manager about the rushed service and not so great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a reservation for 6:30. Unfortunately, we had to wait 45 minutes to be sat despite our reservation. I would recommend they try not to overbook, especially on Mother's Day when they know it will be busy.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

I am never disappointed when I done at Cap City Diner

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Open Kitchen, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Fun, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, People Watching, Modern Decor, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Outdoor Dining, Authentic, Good for Anniversaries, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We asked for boxes and the waitress said she would box it in the kitchen. She came back ten minutes later with just one box. When we asked she said the other food was thrown away.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great food that came hot and ready to the table quickly. Highly recommended for an older parent who enjoys simple comfort food done perfectly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our Mother's Day dinner was decent with two exceptions; my husband's ribeye was fatty and my son's cheeseburger was dry. I totally understand it's Mother's Day and it's busy but I personally thought the food could have been better. My son took one bite of his burger. I thought the waitress would have asked if she could get him something else but she didn't and my son said he wasn't hungry after the 1st bite. I think he lost his appetite. We'll definitely visit the Gahanna location but not sure we'll be back to the Grandview location.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We dined on Mother's Day, so the atmosphere was chaotic, but was handled well by the wait staff.

Tags: Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Fun, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Noise level was very loud and hard to have a conversation

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We had a party of 10 seated on the patio for Mother's Day - food was awesome as always and our server was exceptional! We are never disappointed at Cap City!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Fun, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We enjoyed our Sunday Mothers' Day brunch -- once we were seated. Although we
had a reservation, we were told that Cap City was "running behind," and we had to
wait about 15 minutes. Normally this wouldn't have mattered so much, but we had
with us my 92-year-old mother, who finds it hard to stand and wait -- which was why
we came to a place with reservations. I do think, being Mothers' Day, things might
have moved a little more quickly. But the food was good, the service was great, and
we had a nice brunch.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for a Date, Seasonal, Great for Lunch, Afternoon Coffee, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Family Style, Neighborhood Gem, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Took mom for Mother's Day. Reservations for 1:15, seated at 1:35 - not terrible. The greeter was cool despite the antsy crowd, and our waitress was fantastic. The meatloaf was more loaf than meat. Could be I just made a poor menu choice, but I was not impressed with the food. To be fair, I will have to give the place another shot some time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We went to Cap City for Mother's Day. The food was just okay as hadn't been there for a while. Service great as all Cameron restaurants. We were a little disappointed overall as the meals were just okay. The parking there is terrible. It is still a place we will go but probably not the top of our list - we didn't get the Big Chocolate cake which might have changed our opinion to "great"

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Enjoyed ANOTHER wonderful meal at Cap City. This is the Mrs.' favorite place to eat so naturally we would eat here for Mothers's Day. Thanx a million for your dedication to making our dining experiences always the best!

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual, Worth the Drive, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Our entire visit was excellent. We decided on Cap City for a Mother's Day brunch and I'm so happy we did. We have never been disappointed and this visit was no exception. As someone who works in the service industry I know busy occasions such as Mother's Day can be a mess - but everything was flawless. The host(s), management, and our server were all friendly, welcoming and made our visit just that much better. Thank you for a great experience!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's day brunch was great overall.

Minus 1 star: I ordered the salmon lox bagel... they were bit skimpy on the salmon lox given the price. I get more at my local bagel shop at a half the cost.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Washington DC)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Great place. Great Service. We had a food allergy and they were prepared for that with no hesitation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 14, 2017

My husband and I went to Cap City for brunch on Mother's Day. The food was fine, but nothing I would go out of my way for. Only 30 minutes passed from the time we got there til the time we left, so needless to say, we felt rushed to get in and get out. It's fine if you're trying to grab a quick bite, but not for a special occasion.

Tags: Casual, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Capp City has been one of my favorite places to go and eat until this past trip. The menu has changed and many things, like the crab stuffed tilapia (which I ordered every time) was taken off of the menu. We were told anything expensive (like crab) was taken off of the menu in order to reduce costs. I always liked Capp City for their quality, expensive food but it seems the restaurant has taken a different approach. Now it seems like more of a cheap, casual diner to me.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Cozy, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Great food as always, Cap City is consistently tasty and this trip was the same. It was a great place to celebrate mom's and lots of folks doing the same. Food was top notch, service was excellent. Only major downside - no more Big Cup of Chocolate for dessert! This news brought tears to 7 year old eyes as she heard her favorite dessert is gone. She was in good company as we had a few folks around us bummed out as well, none quite to tears but who knows if the waterfall happened right when we left. Please bring this back Cameron!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

Cap City is one of our favorite restaurants to go to for celebrating birthdays, graduations, etc. The food is always delicious, and service is prompt.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

We haven't been to Cap City in a while but we are sure glad we went. The Blue Cheese Chips were as awesome as we remembered and so were both of our entrees. Our waiter was excellent! It was a wonderful overall experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 13, 2017

I enjoying meeting friends for brunch. It's always a great atmosphere and dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Was Graet dinner an excellent customer service and Great manager.... (David)

Tags: Business Meals, Family Style, Fireplace, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Food was excellent. Coconut pie was ok. Felt like it was old. Crust was soggy. I was disappointed especially bc it was my birthday dessert.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Great food and great atmosphere! Or server was awesome and anticipated or need veggie were even asked.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Open Kitchen, Good for a Date, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Found a hair in my pasta - order Romano Crusted Chicken. It was twirled with the pasta, so I ended up eating only my chicken. Our server did not return for quite some time and since I was there with a few other people I just finished my chicken. I pointed it out to the sever on my b&b plate when he finally came to clear out plates. He didn't take the meal off my bill.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on May 9, 2017

We enjoyed the home made chips and blue cheese crumbles appetizer. Not remotely healthy, but TASTY. Washed it down with,a beer flight of local brews. My pork chop was excellent. No room for dessert. Our server was fantastic, came by at all the right times, no more. Excellent anseers for all our questions. Thanks for a great experience.

Tags: Great Beer, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent food as always. Service was amazing as usual. Noise levels were unacceptable. Seated at an awkward table in the middle of the floor. They're really trying to cram people in like sardines now, it seems. Was directly under a music speaker - very awkward trying to talk to 80s pop blaring over your head.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Family Style, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience1
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Service was amazing and food was prepared insanely fast. It was probably the fastest order-to-table I have had at a sit-down. I had the ruben which was filling. 7/7

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Food is consistently excellent at Cap City. I am a bit disappointed in the chicken breast cutlets for the balsamic chicken as they are somewhat dry and not as tender as in the past. However, the flavor remains good. A bit more sauce would be appropriate. The service at Cap City is always outstanding as is the appearance. It is a comfortable and enjoyable experience albeit a bit noisy when at capacity. We have been customers for several years and will continue to dine at Cap City.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Naples)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Love the pork chops! They are so tender and tasty!

Tags: Kid-friendly, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on May 5, 2017

My husband (who is gluten free) and I both enjoyed our meals. The restaurant was very busy, as it always seems to be, but we had reservations and were seated right away with quick and good service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.