Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

Noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (91)
Casual (84)
Good for a Date (61)
See All
Great for Lunch (59)
Good for Birthdays (52)
Special Occasion (52)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Fun (44)
Good for Groups (43)
Business Meals (37)
Worth the Drive (34)
Kid-friendly (31)
Sunday Lunch (30)
Good for Anniversaries (29)
Pre/post Theatre (29)
Fit for Foodies (29)
Great for Brunch (28)
Bar Seating (23)
Creative Cuisine (23)
Cozy (18)
Gluten Free Options (16)
Hot Spot (16)
Authentic (15)
Happy Hour (14)
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Quiet Conversation (11)
Healthy (10)
Quick Bite (10)
Handcrafted Cocktails (9)
People Watching (9)
Great Beer (9)
Tasting Menu (9)
Disabled Access (7)
Romantic (7)
Good Vegetarian Options (6)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Late-night Find (5)
Local Ingredients (5)
Seasonal (5)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Notable Wine List (2)
Live Music (1)
Live Sports (1)
Scenic View (1)
Spicy (1)
Vegan (1)
Sort by
S
3406 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Fun place, great comfort food. Cold drafts from outside were quite evident at our table and other diners as well. Main course was served while I was still eating my soup. Part of my main course was lukewarm. Still, I love this place and will definitely return. Great food, great value.

Tags: Good for a Date, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Post phantom of the opera a perfect finish to our day

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was good. Service was good when we finally got seated. Even though we had a reservation, we had to wait 20 minutes to get seated

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

The food was fantastic and the cinnamon rolls are to die for! Our server, Sergei, was great!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Great for Lunch, Comfort Food, Casual, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined 3 days ago

Our group of three or four ordered across the menu - brunch, sandwich and full meal. All were good! Service was very good and meals came out quickly. I would recommend reservations because they were very busy on Sunday at noon.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 4 days ago

Very busy but hostesses (one named Amanda) did an excellent job staying cheerful and helpful. We had reservations for 6 pm and the four of us were seated at 6:10 so not too bad. Trey gave us excellent service. We all ordered sandwiches with fruit and were satisfied with our choices. For dessert we split a chocolate brownie sundae which was delicious. On our departure, unfortunately one of our party forgot her purse and did not realize it until she got home. No worries, Amanda left a phone message that the busboy had found it and it was locked in the safe in the office. A big thanks to the honest and quick-acting employees!

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
·Dined 4 days ago

We had a reservation but decided to to eat at the bar because the bartender was absolutely delightful! I don’t recall her name (lovely lady with red hair) but not only did she give exceptional service, she also gave us amazing recommendations on drinks, dinner entrees, and dessert!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Vancouver)·Dined 4 days ago

Great lunch with a college friend. The food was good and the atmosphere was cozy.

Tags: Happy Hour, Special Occasion, Fun, Great for Lunch, Cozy, Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Casual, Bar Seating, Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined 5 days ago

My wife and I recently visited the Grandview location. The food and service were great. I do like the vibe of the Dublin location better though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner before a theater show. Timing and service is perfect for a bite before the show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 9, 2018

The food was good but the service was horrible! He actually forgot about us. 😞

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service1

 
·Dined on January 8, 2018

We had just gone to an Ohio State basketball game!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Excellent food and great service. Good wholesome cooking and atmosphere.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

My family met at City diner in Grandview prior to going to Phantom of the Opera. We had a very pleasant experience and our waitress Kailyn was excellent. My sister left her tickets for the Phantom of the Opera laying on the table when we left and when she returned to get them Kailyn had found them and she saved the day! She was very sweet to my nieces, and my family really enjoyed her as our server. Excellent experience! Thanks!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Happy Hour, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Brunch, Good for Birthdays, Comfort Food, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Groups, Authentic, Kid-friendly, Gluten Free Options, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Seasonal, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2018

The food was very good and the service was excellent. We went to Cap City before we went to a play and we didn't feel rushed at all.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Excellent service and food! The food came out quickly and was hot and delicious. I had the southern fried chicken plate and the green beans with pecans and peppers were to die for! Hubby had the fish and shrimp plate and thoroughly enjoyed every bite!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Casual, Kid-friendly, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 7, 2018

Great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on January 7, 2018

food came out very quickly. rolls are outstanding and adictive!

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on January 7, 2018

Wonderful as always! Superior and timely service. Very generous portions and such a fun atmosphere!

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Lunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

This place made our drinks exactly as we wanted them and these are drinks that other places have yet to make well for us. The food was delicious and some of the best we've had.

Tags: Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 6, 2018

Food and service were fantastic as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
·Dined on January 6, 2018

Mattthew was a great server. He was very attentive and helped to make our visit a pleasant one.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Fun, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 5, 2018

Cap City came through yet again. It’s our standard go-to because it’s always fantastic. Great for our pre-teen boys and great for us adults. The Walleye special was amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Our server was very good; the food was excellent and out to the table quickly.
Only bad thing to report is there is not enough parking...very challenging
and frustrating trying to find a place even nearby to park.

Tags: Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

 
·Dined on January 5, 2018

Great service and food. Our server, Lori, was exceptional. The salmon is the best! Always my go-to spot for any occasion.

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Seasonal, Neighborhood Gem, Bar Seating, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on January 1, 2018

I always love Cap City. They take great food and put it in a setting that is more comfortable. Besides they always serve my favorite food, Souther Fried Chicken. Hmmm.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s Eve night out- we enjoyed very much and will return!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 31, 2017

One of our very favorite places in CBus. It is a bit pricey for a diner but, the quality of the food is over the top.

Tags: Bar Seating, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Great Beer, Comfort Food, Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2017

Always looking for restaurants where I can talk to whomever I'm with whether friends, job candidates, out of town visitors . So many places in Columbus are just waaaay too loud. A friend and I chose to come early on New Year's Eve. The waitstaff were amazingly patient and efficient considering the number of clients who showed up without reservations--I'm sure they thought they would be early enough not to need them, but I'm glad we got one. The food was good--and plentiful. We split all three items.
Thank you for a mellow early evening holiday!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Fit for Foodies, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 31, 2017

New Year’s Eve early dinner, Solid meal

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Uopn entering the restaurant it was evident it was a Saturday night with the number of patrons waiting for a table and I believe most if not all had reservations. Since the restaurant was a mostly open concept the noise level was pretty significant as the seating was close together.

The menu selection was quite varied from pecan crusted pork chops, burgers, to meatloaf. The pork chops were very tasty and juicy! The table agreed. The menu selections leaned more toward a diner or comfort food selections with signifant portions for take home or sharing of an entree. The deserts looked large and good but we opted out since we could not finish our entrees.

The food was prepared as ordered and tasted very good. The selections for low carb were limited but the request substitutions were honored by our server.

Overall, Cab City is suited well for a family or friends gathering and expect to pay with tip ~$30/pp if you have non alcoholic drinks, entree, and share a desert.

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great time! Didn’t have to wait long at all. Server was very attentive

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on December 30, 2017

Had a great time!! Everyone was very friendly. Meatloaf was delicious. Chocolate cake was fabulous.

Tags: Handcrafted Cocktails, Pre/post Theatre, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 30, 2017

Great meal service food just OK wine very expensive bar service great

Tags: Quick Bite, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 29, 2017

loud& noisy pricey, drinks were30% of 200$ bill,4kids

Tags: Authentic, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on December 28, 2017

Our party of four had a great meal! Meat loaf, fish and chips, salmon and fried chicken. We are not necessarily clean platers but we were at this meal. Everything was delicious. Wish we had room for desserts because we saw them come out and they looked fantastic.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on December 28, 2017

I would definitely recommend the blue cheese chips appetizer! However, their meatloaf tasted like dog food.... NOT good at all!!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 28, 2017

We were celebrating the birthday of a colleague and one other person who had never experienced the "chips". We all ordered something different and certainly enjoyed the "chips". The desert was terrific, the chocolate cake cannot be beat. Our waitress was very responsive. We will be back, for sure!

Tags: Healthy, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Great for Brunch, Afternoon Coffee, Fun, Neighborhood Gem, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Gluten Free Options, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on December 27, 2017

Food is always delicious at Cap City Diner. This time, I had the pecan-crusted pork chops for lunch. They were tender and cooked just right; served with delicious chipotle & cheddar mashed potatoes plus spinach. The "seriously big chocolate cake" is just that - seriously big. No joke - probably 10" tall. We shared among 4 of us and still took home left over cake. Service was excellent - attentive and friendly.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Business Meals, Fun, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on December 27, 2017

It was a very busy night at the restaurant. Our Service was good even though it was busy. The crusted chicken is my favorite, but this time the chicken was over done. Even so, I will order it again when I return for another meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.