Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
11:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 32 times today

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

4.6
3616 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Comfort Food
  • Casual
  • Special Occasion
As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(614) 291-3663
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Larry MacDonald
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 3616 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
4.6based on recent ratings
4.6
food
4.6
service
4.3
ambience
4.3
value
Noise · Moderate
98% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
5.0Dined 3 days ago

One cannot go wrong with Cap City. Everything was perfect. The food was excellent from the appetizers through desserts. The service was also excellent. Our waiter was very personable and timed the food perfectly. Cap City is upscale, but casual. They have a full bar, but their cocktails are wonderful. And, they have a patio which is great. It was the perfect spot for our girls get together!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined 4 days ago

Great food, friendly staff.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 5 days ago

I brought my father to Cap City for his 80th birthday. It was his first time visiting the establishment. He was surprised at how good the food was and enjoyed everything. I also was as always impressed with the quality of food and the friendliness of the staff. If you’re looking for a hardy and flavorful meal give Cap City a try.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined 6 days ago

Just so-so. The Reuben was pretty tasteless.  Needed more sauerkraut and the corned beef had no flavor. Overpriced for what I got.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 15, 2018

Food was very good! Fries were a little crumbly, but only if I’m being SUPER nitpicks, still great food! Service was super fast. Was done with my main course in under 30 minutes.. almost too fast! Great for a casual occasion that’s not super formal or requiring to dress up

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 15, 2018

I was disappointed with the ribeye. It had a lot of gristle, especially toward the top. For almost $30.00 I expected better. On the plus side, Todd did an excellent job. He was very friendly and attentive. Lastly, I have been a patron of Cap City for a long tome, and this was the first time I had been disappointed with the food. I typically frequent the Gahanna location, though. Thanks.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Glad we made reservations; otherwise we would've had quite a wait. But that's a good thing for the restaurant. Enjoyed the glazed salmon meal very much. Great wait staff.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Always a good time at Cap City. Everyone in the family likes to eat there----all ages. Had a great server who was very eager to please. Mother's Day is pretty stressful at restaurants with families, kids, and so on.
I do remember one Mother's Day at your very restaurant about 10 years ago when you were understaffed and it took forever to get our food and our check, so I was prepared that it might be another one of those events.
We came with 12 people and it was excellent. Thank you for a nice Mother's Day celebration.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mothers day

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

We love Cap City normally, the only reason for my 3 star review is that after making a reservation 6 weeks in advance for our most recent visit they stuck us outside on a hot day with 4 elderly and 1 newborn. If you book through open table, you may want to call the restaurant also if you don’t want to be outside.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

As has been the case each time we’ve been to Cap City it’s been a good experience. Good food for the money!! Keep
It up!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Our waiter was very helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. He made us feel welcome. Food was delicious and reasonably priced.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 12, 2018

Looking forward to the remodel !

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 12, 2018

I think the menu is tired, and needs to be updated. There was one vegetarian option if you did not want a salad. The service was horrible.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 12, 2018

We celebrated Mother's Day on Saturday at lunchtime. This was a great place to accommodate 10 people including teenagers. Everyone found something they liked to eat and our server did a great job.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 9, 2018

Had not been for few years, so glad I came back, terrific!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 7, 2018

Server was great. Outside seating. Complimentary dessert so appreciated.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Friendly staff, awesome food and very quick service. We were In and out in under an hour and they were packed at the time due to OSU graduation. Very impressed.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 6, 2018

Our waitperson, Kaylynn was absolutely fabulous. I have a broken wrist and she had the kitchen chop up my salad a bit more. Perfect!

Honestly, she made the whole experience great!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

We were fortunate to once again have Vince as our server; one of Cap City finest, friendliest, most knowledgeable servers who always makes eating there even more fun! Food quality was great as always, with very large portions! Only disappointment was no room for their scrumptious desserts :( . We love the casual 70's atmosphere with lots of fun wall hangings, cool neon, and paintings to liven it up! And love those biscuits!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Wonderful as usual. It’s heart warming to have other servers stop to say hi.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 5, 2018

Excellent food!!

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 5, 2018

The food was excellent. We were a group of 10 and our server was great. One pretty big issue is that I made the reservation weeks in advance but we were not seated for almost 30 minutes after we checked in. And that was after I went back to the hostess stand after 20 minutes and was told we has not been marked as arrived.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

I had a large group and Cap City did a great job of accommodating us for a special occasion. Kylynn was a great server!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 29, 2018

We had a wonderful experience with Vince as our server.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Good selection on menu. Food was wonderful. Desserts were great and large enough to share.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

My family and I had a wonderful time our server was great !!!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 28, 2018

Anniversary

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 27, 2018

Absolutely fantastic service and exceptional food. We will
Be back!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Vince, our waiter, was very personable and the food was delicious.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 26, 2018

Great meal. I brought clients in from Morrison food service. They were impressed. Only problem was I got two bread puddings to go and there was no whiskey sauce. That was a huge let down when I got home.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 26, 2018

I go here about once a month. The service is always great. Today was the first time I had Grace as my server and she was above great. She was very attentive to our needs and was so friendly. Keep up the great service Grace.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 25, 2018

Enjoyed blue plate (Liver and onions)

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 24, 2018

We have been coming to Cap City Diner for over five years. The atmosphere, drinks and service are all outstanding. The food is usually quite tasty and the portions are large. My only complaint really is the chicken. Whenever we order chicken dishes, the chicken seems to be rubbery and in one case, it was under-cooked. The other non-chicken dishes, however, are always great.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on April 22, 2018

My food was cold. My guest felt uncomfortable and the salmon was overcooked

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 21, 2018

Service was great. A little noisy but always a great time. Food was also great but the gluten free calamari was a little different compared to other occasions when we had it.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Cap City is fantastic! We had a party of 6 with a reservation knowing large parties can take some time if you don’t plan ahead. My party was in town from Washington D.C. and they were so impressed with the variety of food and the comfortable atmosphere. It’s 2 days later and we are still talking about the calamari and the Reuben. Great place. Great service and a definte spot to bring folks visiting Columbus!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 20, 2018

Our waiter, Jon, was attentive and awesome. And, he had a bunch of tables. Our table ordered different dishes all great. We did not need dessert...I did not because I had a milkshake with lunch.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on April 17, 2018

The food is always excellent!

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
91

Tweets by Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview