About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00-11:00pm; Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Mosier : 6142913663x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 9, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.
Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. Not available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

great for lunch (184)
good for groups (174)
neighborhood gem (143)
See All
fit for foodies (131)
great for brunch (116)
kid-friendly (113)
special occasion (111)
great for outdoor dining (63)
hot spot (53)
late-night find (27)
vibrant bar scene (26)
romantic (20)
notable wine list (16)
scenic view (6)
Sort By:
Newest
2539 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City was amazing! I can not wait to ...

Dined 6 days ago

Cap City was amazing! I can not wait to go back to try more items off the menu. The food, the drinks, the service was awesome. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Quality Food and Great Service!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I am always happy with the food, service and atmosphere at Cap City. We probably only dine here a couple of times a year but when we do, I wonder why we don't more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Usually I love CapCity Diner, but on thi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Usually I love CapCity Diner, but on this occasion it was hellishly noisy, the bread was blah, the appetizers were just okay, and the key lime pie was way too fluffy!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Service!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went out for dinner before a show. Had reservations, but still had a wait-other than that, Cap City was great as usual. Amazing service, great recommendations on food. Crab cakes, tilapia and chicken rigatoni awesome. Never disappoints-loved our server-he was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

A Columbus gem- you can't go wrong with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

A Columbus gem- you can't go wrong with Cap City. Definitely more of an energetic atmosphere. A little noisy to hear conversations . Food is always good. Been there many times and will return again.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Had the crab cake blue plate special. T ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Had the crab cake blue plate special. They were on par with a fast food seafood chain quality item. Unfortunately this food is on par with most other Cameron Mitchell food...

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! A little too loud at lunch t ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food! A little too loud at lunch time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never a bad meal

Dined on May 12, 2016

This place has something for everyone and every time I go I am never disappointed. Had dinner on the patio which was really nice and the service is always really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfort view almost in sight of the Olen ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Comfort view almost in sight of the Olentangy!! We are exploring Cameron Mitchell restaurants. This one perhaps slightly missed the mark, even though the food was very good and both atmosphere and service excellent. We will go back and re-evaluate.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter, food . Loved it all

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Waiter, food . Loved it all

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City Diner always serves wonderful f ...

Dined on May 10, 2016

Cap City Diner always serves wonderful food and has an outstanding wait staff.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Always a Great Meal

vip
Dined on May 8, 2016

We have been to Cap City many times. This time it was a graduation dinner that was on Mother's Day. It was packed! But it did not matter. Service was as good as every. Meals were hot...and delivered to our table within 15-20 minutes of ordering. All meals were delicious! Dessert was to die for...Banana Bread Pudding the BEST.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great Mother's Day

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great way to celebrate Mother's Day. And with my daughter being celiac, they are very, very gluten free friendly!!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Fun Grad Dinner

Dined on May 8, 2016

We went to Cap City for my son's graduation dinner. The waiter was fantastic and so was the food!!

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great experience

Dined on May 8, 2016

Great experience and I have to thank manager Michael for modifying my reservation on a Mother's Day to accommodate us. He went above and beyond to make sure we were able to have a good time. Thanks again Michael.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Lovely Mother's Day lunch

Dined on May 8, 2016

Party of eleven for Mother's Day and we were seated on the patio which was perfect. Food was terrific-salmon cooked perfectly, lettuce crisp and fresh, gluten free options for my mom, complimentary cinnamon rolls and great service. Third year we have celebrated Mother's Day at Cap City and has been awesome each time.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Consistently good food and generous port ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Consistently good food and generous portions. Out of town guests always enjoy this venue. Free cake on your birthday-bonus!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food2
ambience4
service2

Dined at the restaurant for Brunch on Mo ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Dined at the restaurant for Brunch on Mothers Day. Took a bit of time before our server was able to just get a drink order for us. Everything was ok until 1 of the 3 entrees was held up for an unknown reason for about 5 mins and when it came out the plate was very hot but the short rib (eggs on hash) was room temp and the over easy eggs were solid yolk centers. No explanation or apology. Not a good experience.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

My secret: Get the giant slab of chocola ...

Dined on May 7, 2016

My secret: Get the giant slab of chocolate cake and have them box half to go. Best breakfast leftovers.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent Sangria, meatloaf and talaria!

vip
Dined on May 6, 2016

Excellent Sangria, meatloaf and talaria!

food5
ambience5
service5

Wasn't too busy.

Dined on May 6, 2016

Wasn't too busy.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Ok but noisy

vip
Dined on May 5, 2016

Food was good. The menu is extensive requiring more than a few minutes to make a decision. The biggest downside to the place is the noise. We basically gave up trying to talk. having to repeat items x2 or x3 makes the meal stressful.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service3

It was very loud- I don't remember it be ...

Dined on April 30, 2016

It was very loud- I don't remember it being that way from past visits. Also, the service was slow and the food good, but nothing to rave about. We got dessert and the portions were large, but the cakes were dry. Disappointed.

food4
ambience3
service5

Food was good. Service was good. Wonderf ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Food was good. Service was good. Wonderful time!

food5
ambience5
service5

Good service and excellent food. The mea ...

Dined on April 28, 2016

Good service and excellent food. The meatloaf is the best in town!

food5
ambience5
service5

The pretzel appetizer was probably the b ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

The pretzel appetizer was probably the best thing I've ever eaten.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service and food great as always!

Dined on April 24, 2016

Service and food great as always! Big chocolate cake is soooo yummy!

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food2
ambience3
service4

Sent back order twice. I requested soft ...

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

Sent back order twice. I requested soft cooked poached eggs with my Eggs Benedict. Came with semi-solid yolks. Sent back and they came back with completely solid yolks. They didn't charge me but I would have rather had a decent breakfast.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Good meal and good company

Dined on April 23, 2016

We ate at Cap City for a reunion of sorts. Everyone enjoyed what they ordered. Service was great---respectful of the fact that people were talking and socializing and was able to be both efficient and still let people enjoy themselves.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience4
service4

Great place to eat, looking forward to o ...

Dined on April 23, 2016

Great place to eat, looking forward to our next visit!

food3
ambience3
service1
value3

Our food was fine. Unfortunately there w ...

Dined on April 21, 2016

Our food was fine. Unfortunately there were three bugs by our table (one on my son's napkin). Even more disappointing, the restaurant didn't seem to care. The manager came and apologized and offered to move our table, however we were half way through our meals and really just wanted to get out of the restaurant. Additionally, they offered no form of compensation (didn't give us a discount, a free dish/dessert/drink - nothing), and the waiter never addressed the situation, only the manager did. Since service is a big part of competition/dining, we will certainly not be returning for this reason alone.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent meal all around

Dined on April 21, 2016

We all loved the appetizers and entrees. The service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5

Always a good spot

vip
Dined on April 20, 2016

Always a good spot

food5
ambience5
service5

Pecan Pork Chops were excellent.

vip
Dined on April 17, 2016

Pecan Pork Chops were excellent.

food4
ambience4
service5

It is a consistent favorite which shines ...

Dined on April 17, 2016

It is a consistent favorite which shines time and time again.

food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The Best Pork Chop in the City

Dined on April 17, 2016

Get the pork chop. Split it with a friend and it will be enough for both of you. Now that I've had it, I never want anything else!

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

One of our favorite restaurants

Dined on April 16, 2016

The food is consistently delicious. The drinks are way overpriced.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

We seats ask for Alex Press's section. H ...

vip
Dined on April 15, 2016

We seats ask for Alex Press's section. He is a wonderful server.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always A Winner!

Dined on April 15, 2016

Cap City never fails to deliver. We had a group of six, several of whom happen to be general managers of popular restaurants, but who had never experienced Cap City. Needless to say, these are very picky, critical diners; however, they raved about the quality of the food, the service, and the experience as a whole. We were seated immediately, and were able to be out in time to make it to a concert that evening. Try the meatloaf, Romano-crusted chicken breast, and the crab cakes...really, no choice is wrong. The food is all incredible. Always a great experience!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service2

The food was good, large portions. 24k C ...

Dined on April 15, 2016

The food was good, large portions. 24k Carrot Cake was really good and enormous. Service was only ok. For as much wait staff was on for a Friday 4:30 reservation, I would have expected far more attentive service. We'll go back, but not in a hurry.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.