Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi
  1. Distance: 0.36mi
  2. Distance: 0.51mi
  3. Distance: 0.57mi
  4. Distance: 0.78mi

About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
David Moeser : (614) 291-3663

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Specials

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid Jan 16, 2017 - May 15, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Jan 9, 2017 - May 9, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Comfort Food (108)
Casual (93)
Good for Birthdays (73)
See All
Great for Lunch (71)
Good for a Date (63)
Fun (63)
Special Occasion (63)
Good for Groups (48)
Neighborhood Gem (46)
Good for Anniversaries (41)
Worth the Drive (37)
Kid-friendly (36)
Sunday Lunch (36)
Business Meals (35)
Family Style (27)
Creative Cuisine (27)
Fit for Foodies (25)
Hot Spot (25)
Bar Seating (24)
Great for Brunch (24)
Authentic (21)
Handcrafted Cocktails (21)
Cozy (21)
Happy Hour (21)
Open Kitchen (18)
Outstanding Value (18)
Pre/post Theatre (18)
Fireplace (15)
Great for Outdoor Dining (14)
People Watching (12)
Healthy (12)
Great Beer (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Tasting Menu (10)
Gluten Free Options (9)
Modern Decor (8)
Local Ingredients (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Romantic (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Paleo Friendly (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Disabled Access (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (5)
Good Vegetarian Options (5)
Historic (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Spicy (3)
Seasonal (2)
Notable Wine List (2)
Scenic View (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Private Room (1)
Live Sports (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
3085 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined 2 days ago

This was my first time eating at this location. I really like Cap City. I have always had a positive experience with it. The only negative was my brother's pasta with chicken. He said the chicken was too chewy, but the manager was kind and gave him a discount off his bill. I would definitely recommend Cap City for family events or an evening out.

Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was flavoreless and unproportional. Service was dragging.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

2 newbies both LOVED IT! Thanks for proving me right on the choice.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 5 days ago

Great atmosphere and food. Highly recommend the meatloaf. Best thing on the menu. And save room for dessert, literally.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Everything was delicious, the food prepared as ordered, and the service was friendly and attentive without being intrusive. What a nice relaxing experience.

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Three of us went to Cap City for Easter dinner. I understand it is a busy day and a holiday. We were disappointed in the quality of our food as it was inferior to previous visits. The two specials were crabcakes and beef stroganoff. The stroganoff was not very flavorful and had very little meat in it. What was there was very fatty. The crabcakes were over done and also not very flavorful and seemed to have a lot of filler not crab. The best I could say about our meal was It was mediocre. Probably won't be back in the near future.

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3
value2

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We have been to the Cap City Diner many times. Their sandwiches are very good (excellent reuben!) Good appetizers and overall high quality food. Carrot Cake is a killer dessert. Only issue this time was our seating. We had a reservation for six and sat in a booth that should only be used for 4 people (not much elbow room). Recommend specifying a round table if you have a party of 6. Otherwise it was a very good dining experience.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Kid-friendly, Afternoon Coffee, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I took my parents here for Easter Dinner. They came into town and wanted to try something new. With as busy as it was, I didn't feel like our meal or service suffered at all! We had very friendly service and my parents raved about the food for the rest of the day.

Tags: Historic, Hot Spot, Great for Lunch, Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Has went down hill. The meatloaf used to be outstanding but this time had a lot of fillers. Probably won't be back after eating there many times.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Easter Brunch with our OSU Freshman! Had a reservation, Restaurant was packed and running behind with seatings, not to worry...great service at the Bar while we waited to be seated on patio where we received friendly and fast service from Jess and her team! Brunch menu offers many delicious choices. French Toast rich and satisfying, Eggs Benedict savory and not too saucy, Four Egg omelette was delicious. The rolls were amazing and actually went back to the Dorm at OSU!

Tags: Bar Seating, Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Best service! Every time we dine here, the service is exceptional! Food is delicious too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Excellent food and service as always! Love Cap City

Tags: Family Style, Good for Birthdays, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Waiter was inattentive. Food is excellent. Ambiance is fun casual.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Detroit)·Dined on April 14, 2017

Cap city does not disappoint. We went for lunch and the menu had enough wonderful choices for all of us. I love the meatloaf and tried the. Blackberry lemonade. Tasted wonderful, but too sweet .

Tags: Authentic, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 12, 2017

good food/good service/ reasonable price, group of 8 friends had a good meal and good conversation.

Tags: Fun, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 8, 2017

Cap City has always been one of my favorite dining spots. A Cameron Mitchell restaurant (and one he continues to own), it has quality in every area: service and food. With some of Cameron's own creations (like the blue cheese potato chips made in-house), it also has a very creative and diverse menu. The quality is always good, and I've never had a bad server experience. For almost any occasion, this is a great place to dine. One tip: if you plan on going during a busy time (like a weekend night), make a reservation.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Pre/post Theatre, Seasonal, Authentic, Gluten Free Options, Fun, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine, Paleo Friendly, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Worth the Drive, Good for Birthdays, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 7, 2017

What a great waiter we had for my cousin's 73rd birthday! Thank you

Tags: Hot Spot, Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation, Happy Hour, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 5, 2017

Jon our waiter did a great job. So did the GM. Thanks for the great greeting and service! Sharon

Tags: Good for Groups, Good for Birthdays, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 4, 2017

We enjoyed sitting in the diner for easier conversation. The Calamari was a great recommendation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

This is always our first choice for anniversaries, special events, pre-movie dining, and out-of-town guests' treat. Nothing beats the Chicken Romano menu item, the lettuce wedge, and the CHOCOLATE CAKE.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

As always, great food and excellent service! And who can resist the Seriously Big Chocolate Cake!

Tags: Bar Seating, Open Kitchen, Quick Bite, Handcrafted Cocktails, Casual, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Pre/post Theatre, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Dinner with new friends from Pittsburgh and Denver visiting Columbus turned out super! Seated in a booth that was a bit cozy, but added to the ambience and energy of our group of 5 adults. Beverages, food, and service received rave reviews all around. Even had a "handle bar moustache" connection with one of our guests and your manager on Saturday evening! Crab cakes, ribs, etc. were a huge hit! I earned big compliments for my restaurant selection! Knew that I would. Always a great special place.

Tags: Good for Groups, Gluten Free Options, Healthy, Comfort Food, Hot Spot, Handcrafted Cocktails, People Watching, Bar Seating, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Fun, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Open Kitchen, Good for Birthdays, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Worst experience with the staff seating us we have ever had. Ended up leaving because of their rudeness

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 31, 2017

We had the fish and chips with coke slaw and a side of the skillet beans. Food was great along with the service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Food never disappoints. Service excellent. Only complaint is the music was way to loud. Should only be background so you don't have to shout to be heard by others at your table. Asked to have it turned down and they did. Otherwise love Cap City!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Molecular Gastronomy, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 26, 2017

It was a great day for brunch with friends.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 26, 2017

Went for Sunday brunch and had a wonderful experience and great good. I will definitely go back.

Tags: Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Healthy, Romantic, Late-night Find, Afternoon Coffee, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Pre/post Theatre, Comfort Food, Worth the Drive, Quick Bite, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Modern Decor, Sunday Lunch, Cozy, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Great Beer, Fun, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 25, 2017

Capcity is awesome! It is one of my favorite places in Columbus to go!

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Had an open table- wasn't ready until 10 minutes after time I made the reservation for. Food was excellent as always, but our server was not very attentive!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on March 24, 2017

Went here for the first time 3/24. Our server was very attentive. The food was great - huge portions!

Tags: Cozy, Casual, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 24, 2017

There were 4 of us and each ordered something different! Everyone enjoyed their meal. Portion were ample and plentiful. Service was excellent!

Tags: Casual, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 23, 2017

Services was prompt but only okay. We weren't offered second drinks and our water glasses were empty from the meal on. The food was delivered quickly once ordered. However it didn't blow me away like it used to.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Absolutely delicious! We went on Sunday so two of us ordered the beef stroganoff, which was the daily special. It was to die for! The others really enjoyed their fish and chips and pork chops. The pecan topping on the pork chops made them the talk of the table.

We were seated in the back dining room and it was EXTREMELY loud. There were three tables of families with small children who were energetic. We noticed that the front dining rooms were much quieter.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Casual, Family Style, Good for a Date, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value4

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Always reliable, Cap City is a family favorite. It's a great place to bring kids - it's just noisy enough we won't bother anyone. We love dinner there but sunday brunch is great too.

Tags: Business Meals, Bar Seating, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 19, 2017

Great food. Terrific service. One of our favorite restaurants.

Tags: Good for a Date, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 18, 2017

Food and drinks were good. Only problem was porkchop was not fully cooked near the bone. Brought this to the servers attention and got not further response.

Tags: Casual, Handcrafted Cocktails, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I love Cameron Mitchell restaurants and Cap City is probably my favorite. The food is great, the staff is top notch, it's more casual than many of his other spots, and the desert is fantastici definitely recommend.

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem, Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Hawaii)·Dined on March 17, 2017

I had the meatloaf, which is delicious, and a strawberry lemonade from the bar. Both were exceptionally good and I highly recommend them.

Tip...get a reservation.

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Comfort Food, Great for Brunch, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Groups, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

Too noisy and too close to everyone else, but sometimes I am up for that. Always good. Our server was exceptional

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on March 17, 2017

We have never been disappointed with the food or service at Cap City. One of our favorite restaurants. Highly recommend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.