About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday | 11:00am - 4:00pm
Dinner: Monday - Thursday | 4:00pm -10:00pm
Friday | 4:00pm - 11:00pm
Saturday | 3:00-11:00pm
Sunday | 3:00pm - 9:00pm
Saturday & Sunday Brunch | 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
David Moeser : 6142913663x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Specials

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Specials

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details

Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 6, 2017 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. NOT available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid Sep 12, 2016 - Jan 9, 2017 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

value

4.2

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
American
Columbus
1 More
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

Comfort Food (63)
Casual (59)
Great for Lunch (58)
See All
Good for Groups (47)
Special Occasion (45)
Neighborhood Gem (44)
Good for Birthdays (33)
Fit for Foodies (31)
Great for Outdoor Dining (30)
Good for a Date (29)
Business Meals (27)
Fun (27)
Great for Brunch (27)
Sunday Lunch (25)
Kid-friendly (24)
Creative Cuisine (20)
Worth the Drive (19)
Hot Spot (17)
Authentic (17)
Cozy (16)
Good for Anniversaries (15)
Family Style (14)
Modern Decor (13)
Happy Hour (13)
Pre/post Theatre (12)
Outstanding Value (11)
Vibrant Bar Scene (10)
Romantic (9)
Handcrafted Cocktails (8)
Open Kitchen (8)
Gluten Free Options (8)
Quick Bite (7)
Bar Seating (7)
Local Ingredients (7)
Fireplace (6)
People Watching (6)
Quiet Conversation (6)
Tasting Menu (5)
Afternoon Coffee (5)
Notable Wine List (4)
Late-night Find (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Great Beer (4)
Afternoon Tea (3)
Healthy (3)
Historic (3)
Vegan (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Seasonal (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Live Music (1)
Scenic View (1)
Tapas (1)
Sort By:
S
2701 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Vince was an excellent server

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 6 days ago

Vince was an excellent server

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Very crowded.. We were squeezed into a b ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined 7 days ago

Very crowded.. We were squeezed into a booth w/o be asked if that was ok. 4 of our 5 meals came out at the same time. The 5th about 5 min later and the eggs were over cooked. The size of the Mimosas has gotten smaller. Our server only returned twice.

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

We had Vince as our waiter and he was as ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

We had Vince as our waiter and he was as wonderful as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, different twist on classic c ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Great food, different twist on classic comfort foods. The tamarind wings were a big hit, the warm pretzel with cheese and mustard, yum! The vegetable plate was great. The rib-eye well enjoyed! We didn't have room for dessert :-(

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Comfort Food, Casual, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Sunday Lunch, Open Kitchen
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The service was outstanding. The food w ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The service was outstanding. The food was fresh and flavorful. Portions were more than generous.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This is a favorite in our family! We lov ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 20, 2016

This is a favorite in our family! We love to come for brunch...it never disappoints!

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch, Business Meals, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My state came with bone chips and too mu ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

My state came with bone chips and too much gristle, I told management and they replaced my steak and apologized. It was good effort on their part, but I still do not like the stake. I did ask for a dessert menu and it was never brought out. On that Friday evening it was very noisy.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5
value5

Cap City never disappoints. This is my f ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Cap City never disappoints. This is my family's favorite place for birthday dinners, post-graduation dinners, or just anytime we want a special night out or get-together. Our waiter was very attentive, and had a great sense of humor. The meatloaf was fantastic as always, and two in our party got the salmon, which was also delicious. My husband got the pork chops, and my daughter loves the Romano-crusted chicken. Everyone left satisfied, and with leftovers for tomorrow's lunch.

Tags: Romantic, Hot Spot, Pre/post Theatre, Special Occasion, Authentic, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always a great meal when we go here and ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Always a great meal when we go here and I am never disappointed!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The pecan crusted pork chops were amazin ...

 
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on November 16, 2016

The pecan crusted pork chops were amazing! The mashed potatoes were among the best I've ever eaten. The carrot cake was very good though I would have liked more cream cheese frosting (it was a thin layer on the side and between 2 layers of cake). The strawberry basil lemonade was way too sweet and you couldn't really taste the basil in it.

Tags: Family Style, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Ruben was excellent. Usually you will fi ...

vip
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on November 14, 2016

Ruben was excellent. Usually you will fine a Ruben cocooned in a piece of bread that is slopped with butter and fried. The Ruben here was awesome that it was lightly toasted without tons of butter. The corn-beef was nice and stringy. Perfect amount of dressing and cheese. Not sloppy at all. The wedge was good but got a bad chunk of lettuce. The core was hard and bad. But still ate thru edges and was good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

This is our second time at this restaura ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on November 13, 2016

This is our second time at this restaurant. We went last year when I was visiting in Columbus, and I looked forward to going to again this time. The food is generally great, portions are huge (which makes for great takeaway for the week), and the atmosphere is lively, which we needed after the election. We had the same waiter, Vince, who is great, attentive, know the menu, and has a fun sense of humor. We will ask for Vince the next time we are there, and there will be a next time. The carrot cake is to die for and could feed a family of 6.

Tags: Business Meals, Paleo Friendly, Sunday Lunch, Modern Decor, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My friends and I stopped here for supper ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My friends and I stopped here for supper on our way to a concert. Our waitress was very nice and always kept our drinks refilled. Our food, main entree and dessert, were both fabulous. I was so glad that I made reservations at Cap City. It was the first time that my friends had been there and I'm sure that we will all be back. Thanks for a great experience!

Tags: Business Meals, Happy Hour, Worth the Drive, Outstanding Value, Fun, Authentic, Casual, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Cap City used to be a favorite in the ea ...

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Cap City used to be a favorite in the early 2000s. Perhaps the growth of nicer restaurants in the industry has made this spot seem less tasty, or maybe it really has changed a lot since then. I've been a few times in the last few years and that was probably my last. A Reuben with very little meat and my moms quiche was almost purely spinach, and a very dated Ohio style salad with cheddar cheese on it .. well, there are simply better meals to be had out there in the mid market food establishments. Nice server though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Food is always good! Got the blue chees ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Food is always good! Got the blue cheese chips and meatloaf, yum!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My daughter had the pulled chicken sandw ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 13, 2016

My daughter had the pulled chicken sandwich it was a little dry.She has had it before and its been really good in the past. Everything else was great!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value5

Excellent service and food. The Crab Cak ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Excellent service and food. The Crab Cakes were delicious. The beer was cold. The server was attentive.

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was ok and everything is premad ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The food was ok and everything is premade so if you don't like a certain item that's listed you cannot ask for it without that certain item. Also our service was terrible. We were on a date and had an appetizer, 2 entrees and two drinks. We wanted to get a dessert to go and our waiter never brought it and then when our check came he did not order it. He was with a large group but should have given his attention to all of his customers, not just the large ones. So, if you want to have a good experience then you should go with a group unless you want to be ignored and run out of your drinks. What a horrible experience and we will not be back.

Tags: Historic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value1

The food was great. All homemade. We hav ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 10, 2016

The food was great. All homemade. We have been here twice now. Only issue both times is very poor service. :( but food made up for it. Waitress was nice we but never came to the table for long periods of time.

Tags: Authentic, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

My family loves this place. It's always ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My family loves this place. It's always the top choice for birthday celebrations and get-togethers. The food is delicious with abundant portions. The staff is always outstanding. We recommend this place to all of our friends and acquaintances.

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our waitress was wonderful and the food ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Our waitress was wonderful and the food was great!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5

Good was great! I had the Meatloaf (amaz ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Good was great! I had the Meatloaf (amazing), husband had the Philly Cheesesteak (also great).. Split the pretzel as an appetizer. Great food but seems a little pricey for what you get. I would go again though!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Went here for my son's birthday, the foo ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Went here for my son's birthday, the food was outstanding and the service was really excellent. Love this restaurant.

Tags: Comfort Food, Good for Groups, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I went with a friend and we had a wonder ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 2, 2016

I went with a friend and we had a wonderful time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We usually go here for "occasions" - not ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We usually go here for "occasions" - not fancy special, but for a nice dinner before a show, or with out of town guests for something different. Always good food

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Exceptional service, food is always supe ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Exceptional service, food is always superb. This is one of my favorite restaurants.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Cap City Diner was very good. Our waite ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Cap City Diner was very good. Our waiter was quick and very nice. They had our food to our table very quick!! The beer cheese pretzel appetizer was very good. I had the four egg omelet and it was very good!! My wife had the spinach Quiche which was good as well. I would recommend the diner for brunch on the weekends.

Tags: Quick Bite, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value5

I was impressed with the variety of menu ...

 
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on October 29, 2016

I was impressed with the variety of menu items, the large portions, and the great service. I was with a group of 6, and we hadn't seen each other for many years, and we were encouraged to take our time and enjoy each others' company. (We would not have stayed if a lot of people were waiting for tables, but we had 8:00 reservations, and the tables were clearing out.) Our waiter did a great job with recommendations of food and drinks, and he was personable.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great food, good service, cool, relaxed ...

 
 (Savannah)·Dined on October 28, 2016

Great food, good service, cool, relaxed atmosphere. We eat at Cap City every couple of months, roughly, and always enjoy it.

Tags: Comfort Food, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Pork chops were excellent. Steak and bla ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 27, 2016

Pork chops were excellent. Steak and black bean soup, harvest salad, and house salad were good. Chocolate cake was outstanding. Really loud and noisy. Hard to communicate with others at the table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

I took a date of mine to Cap City and we ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

I took a date of mine to Cap City and we had a wonderful experience there. The timing of service was on point and the food was delicious. He got the ponzu salmon and I got the mahi mahi; both were served hot and the grits that come with the mahi were creamy, flavorful, and delicious. I love the rolls, and the seriously big chocolate cake that Cap City is famous for lived up to its reputation. Loved the atmosphere and plan to go back! The section of the restaurant hearkening back to 50's diners also looked adorable. Thanks CMR!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, People Watching, Fit for Foodies, Authentic, Historic, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Not a great meal this time. I was disapp ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Not a great meal this time. I was disappointed. My soup was salty, and my two apple salad had not much flavor and only a couple bits of bacon. My daughter had a grilled cheese and the cheese was not melted all the way.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value3

Excellent place to eat, food was perfect ...

 
 (Dallas)·Dined on October 22, 2016

Excellent place to eat, food was perfect temperature. Favorite place to eat and meet friends for dinner or lunch. A Columbus must visit.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always enjoy eating here. Quality and fa ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 15, 2016

Always enjoy eating here. Quality and favor is outstanding. Reservation system is a huge plus.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food! Business meeting that laste ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 12, 2016

Great food! Business meeting that lasted longer than expected-they continued to check with us and offer refills. A little loud at first, but no more than any other place at lunch.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

It had been a hard day and we needed a g ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 11, 2016

It had been a hard day and we needed a good place to eat with solid comfort food. Cap City fit the bill and lived up to the recommendation from a good friend.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value3

Fletcher was great! Good was good but no ...

 
·Dined on October 10, 2016

Fletcher was great! Good was good but nothing to write home about .

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

I have always enjoyed the food and atmos ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 7, 2016

I have always enjoyed the food and atmosphere at Cap City. I was visiting with my 18 year old nephew and my 3 year old daughter. There were lively families, romantic couples, and elderly groups all dining in the same room, all enjoying their dinner experience. The wait staff is very friendly and helpful, and the food is always delicious. The atmosphere was loud enough that I didn't feel a need to shush my daughter every time she talked (3 year olds can be loud!), but not so loud that we felt like we were shouting to understand one another across the table. Love Cap City! Great Food, and equally great service!

Tags: Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Kid-friendly, Family Style, Comfort Food, Casual, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

As usual excellent experience ...seated ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 7, 2016

As usual excellent experience ...seated promptly, friendly helpful wait staff, food came quickly and was hot. Everything was tasty....fair value, generous portions. You can count on Cap City for a predictably good meal.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Comfort Food, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Like always, a great meal. My out of to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 3, 2016

Like always, a great meal. My out of town guests were very pleased.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.