About Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview

1299 Olentangy River Road
Columbus, OH 43212
View Larger Map

As with any diner, at Cap City Fine Diner & Bar you feel immediately comfortable and at ease. Like no other diner, it’s artsy and cool. The Cap City menu follows suit, with recognizable favorites like meatloaf receiving unexpected & delightful upscale twists, alongside trendier chef-driven dishes with big flavors. Desserts at this Cameron Mitchell Restaurant are retro-cool, taste better than you remember & are showstopper-sized.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:00am - 4:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 4:00pm -10:00pm, Friday: 4:00pm - 11:00pm, Saturday: 3:00-11:00pm; Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm; Saturday & Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 291-3663

Website:
http://capcityfinediner.com/Grandview

Executive Chef:
Larry MacDonald

Private Party Facilities:
We offer semi-private dining from 15-30 in our auxillary dining room, and specialize in large parties. We look forward to helping plan your next event.

Private Party Contact:
Dave Mosier : 6142913663x

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4 - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday

Monday Wine Night at Cap City Fine Diner and Bar
Enjoy any bottle of wine under $100 from our collection at half price.

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Promotions

Happy Hour at Cap City

Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM

Details
Join us in our bar at Cap City from 4:00 p.m. - 6:30 p.m. Monday- Friday and enjoy Happy Hour drink specials and specially priced appetizers!. Excludes Tax and Tip. Offer available in our bar area only from 4:00 -6:30 p.m, Monday-Friday. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 9, 2016 on Mondays - Fridays from 4:00 PM - 6:30 PM.
Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines

Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM

Details
Monday Night Wine Night 50% Off All Wines. Excludes Tax and Tip. Available on Bottles Only. Not available on Holidays or bottles over $99.00. Special valid May 9, 2016 - Sep 5, 2016 on Mondays from 11:30 AM - 10:00 PM.

Cap City Fine Diner & Bar - Grandview Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.5

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

95% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
3 More
Great for Lunch
Columbus
American
Columbus
Most Booked
Columbus
Best Restaurants in Grandview Heights ›

great for lunch (153)
good for groups (138)
neighborhood gem (115)
See All
fit for foodies (105)
special occasion (98)
kid-friendly (95)
great for brunch (94)
great for outdoor dining (66)
hot spot (46)
vibrant bar scene (21)
late-night find (19)
romantic (15)
notable wine list (12)
scenic view (5)
Sort By:
Newest
2569 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

I love this restaurant! I have never ha ...

Dined 6 days ago

I love this restaurant! I have never had a bad experience here. Great food great wait staff.indoor or outside seating brunch lunch or dinner call ahead reservations are best

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

We have eaten at Cap City in Grandview m ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have eaten at Cap City in Grandview many times and have only had positive things to say about our experience. Unfortunately, there were some problems this visit. We were served the wrong salad entrees. Other members of our party were served but, unfortunately, the correct salads did not arrive until at least 20 minutes later. The server apologized profusely. My guess is that she was new. We were understanding but it was a bit frustrating and disappointing. The server did deduct the entree's cost from our bill and did give us a complimentary dessert. This was not at our request. We appreciated the effort to make things "right".

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service4

I brought my boyfriend and family for bo ...

Dined 6 days ago

I brought my boyfriend and family for both my boyfriends birthday and father's day. It was my boyfriends first time and he absolutely LOVED the tamarind chicken wings!

food4
ambience3
service4

Fathers Day lunch with reservations at 1 ...

Dined 6 days ago

Fathers Day lunch with reservations at 1:15 for three people . We were seated outside at 2:00 along side two large parties with screaming children. We expected a delay in seating, but 45 minutes is ridiculous!! It was hot outside, hence the screaming kids. Our waiter was nice and kept our water glasses filled. Our food was a little delayed, but was served hot. Suggestions for Cap City: do not take reservations on holidays. It's apparent that you cannot meet that deadline.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The only negative feedback I have from o ...

Dined 6 days ago

The only negative feedback I have from our visit was about our wait. We had reservations for 12:15 and were not seated until almost 1pm. And with a hungry toddler, that was a bit trying!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

fun atmosphere for Fathers Day celebrati ...

Dined 6 days ago

fun atmosphere for Fathers Day celebration. Great brunch and beverage options. Servers were very pleasant.

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service3

Good met their high standards but servic ...

vip
Dined 6 days ago

Good met their high standards but service wasn't as good as normal but still very good.

food3
ambience4
service4
value3

The pretzel was wonderful. We got the me ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

The pretzel was wonderful. We got the meatloaf to split. It was enough for lunch but was not hot enough temperature wise

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Cap City is always good. Upscale twist o ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Cap City is always good. Upscale twist on comfort food and some unique innovative dishes.

Tags: great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

WE WERE A GROUP OF WOMEN FROM OUR CHURCH ...

Dined on June 14, 2016

WE WERE A GROUP OF WOMEN FROM OUR CHURCH WHO MEET MONTHLY IN A VARIETY OF PLACES. EVERYTHING WAS GREAT BUT THE NOISE LEVEL . YOU KNOW 11 OLD LADIES LIKE TO BE ABLE TO HEAR EACH OTHER. BUT THE FOOD WAS DELICIOUS AND OUR SERVER WAS EXCELLENT, DESPITE THE NOISE, NO DOUBT, WE WILL RETURN.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food2
ambience3
service3
value5

The noise level made it difficult to car ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

The noise level made it difficult to carry on a conversation with our friends

Tags: great for brunch
food2
ambience3
service3
value3

Disappointing food, it wasn't warm and c ...

vip
Dined on June 12, 2016

Disappointing food, it wasn't warm and came in two parts. Cinnamon buns tasted stale, like they've been sitting out. Also felt the service was rushed. Our server continuously came over to ask to clear our plates which we clearly weren't finished with yet. Have tried Cap City several times because friends always recommend it, but doubt very much I'll return.

food5
ambience5
service2
value5

We love cap city, but the air conditioni ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We love cap city, but the air conditioning was out ( it was 90 degrees outside) and no one let us know until we were seated. On top of being extremely hot our server was awful. She was not friendly or attentive. Did not ask about appetizers, felt like she was rushing us through our whole dinner. We had to ask for refills and she was rude when asked for some extra ice water because it was so hot. We love the food at cap city but our experience this time was just terrible.

Tags: hot spot
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

We were there on a hot Saturday night fo ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were there on a hot Saturday night for a 5:00 pm reservation for a birthday with 7 people. There was no air conditioning in our part of the restaurant. The waiter stayed away ; I was given one drink and never offered another. We requested an outdoor table but they said that wasn't possible for our size group. A group the same size was leaving the outdoors as we arrived. I did not feel as though we were thought of as valued customers.

Tags: kid-friendly
food5
ambience5
service4

Love this place! By far the best diner ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Love this place! By far the best diner in the city.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I chose Cap City for celebrating a frien ...

Dined on June 6, 2016

I chose Cap City for celebrating a friend's retirement. I let the restaurant know that this was a surprise dinner, and as requested, our party was seated before our friend arrived. As always, the service was great, and the food was delicious. The Romano Crusted Chicken is amazing, and be sure to save room for the gigantic chocolate cake (or take a slice home)! Whether you are celebrating a special occasion, or just looking for amazing dessert, Cap City will not disappoint!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

The pecan crusted pork chop was a newly ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The pecan crusted pork chop was a newly discovered gem. Can't forget the meatloaf of course.

food5
ambience5
service5

Amazing as always! Meatloaf is the best!

Dined on June 4, 2016

Amazing as always! Meatloaf is the best!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Grad Party

Dined on June 4, 2016

Cap City Diner was able to house our party of 10 and also several other groups. The menu is always fantastic and the service even more so. Our party had a great time and given the need to do so again, I would have no issue going to or suggesting Cap City Diner.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Graduation Brunch

Dined on June 4, 2016

Our party of eight was seated a few minutes before our reservation time; at a nice table in the middle of the main dining room. We have been to Cap City before and the restaurant lived up to my previous experiences; very good food, an attentive wait staff, and an ambiance and noise level more suited to a boisterous night out rather than an intimate gathering. Everyone in our party enjoyed the wide variety of appetizers and entrees that were ordered. This Cap City location is in a building that was an old diner at one time. As the building was repurposed and is not a new build, the layout is a little helter skelter and broken up. A portion of the old diner is still used in the front (and is configured to look like an old diner); the rest of the building is an addition added by Cap City. These two areas are very distinct from one another, and unless you are familiar with the older section, I recommend requesting the main or back part of the building. Cap City is kind of between casual and upscale. A great place to get somewhat upscale food, but at a lower price point and with mid-range ambiance. Also a good place for business lunches or dinners - but a little on the noisy side.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Not that great

Dined on June 4, 2016

Themeatloafwasterrible. Thepotatoeswerelessthanaverage. Thedesertsweregood.

food5
ambience5
service4

Food is always delicious, but was partic ...

Dined on June 3, 2016

Food is always delicious, but was particularly impressed how quickly our food was served. Especially since it was a Friday night!

food4
ambience4
service5

Always consistent in food & service. Sti ...

Dined on June 2, 2016

Always consistent in food & service. Still my favorite Cameron Mitchell restaurant. Server Cody was great!

food4
ambience5
service4

Good spot for comfort food. Nice patio

Dined on June 1, 2016

Good spot for comfort food. Nice patio

food5
ambience5
service5

The meatloaf is the best. Since it was S ...

Dined on May 29, 2016

The meatloaf is the best. Since it was Sunday, the blue plate stroganoff was excellent as well.

food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Just not as good as I expected

Dined on May 29, 2016

Very accommodating to my celiac husband who requires a gluten-free meal. But the food just wasn't that good. I couldn't even finish my meal because I didn't like it, and I had ordered a familiar dish I would normally love. I expect a lot more from a Cameron Mitchell restaurant and at that price level. I don't think we will be back.

food5
ambience3
service4
value4

Mom, dad, and toddler

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great menu options for kids of all ages. Loaded chips were delicious.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Excellent food and service as usual! Onl ...

Dined on May 27, 2016

Excellent food and service as usual! Only downside- it was quite noisy for a Friday night and too muggy to eat on the patio; holding a conversation was difficult, so we did not linger after dinner.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

cake

Dined on May 22, 2016

Excellent for Sunday brunch, appreciate ordering from a menu rather than a buffet. The chocolate cake made it a fine birthday celebration.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
food3
ambience2
service2

While a staple of a location, the servic ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

While a staple of a location, the service and food seem to have slipped. Our server (and many of the others) seemed to have too many tables to make sure they were attentive. It wasn't that he was a "bad" server, just too many tables and patrons. The food was mediocre compared to other offerings in Columbus. 10+ years ago it might have been the flavor of the year but no longer. Dinner for 3 with 1 mid ranged offering and 2 lower end offerings plus 3 soft drinks/teas, including tip was over $80. Wouldn't make this an every week stop, but there are a couple decent menu items that you might come back for every once in a long while

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cap City was amazing! I can not wait to ...

vip
Dined on May 18, 2016

Cap City was amazing! I can not wait to go back to try more items off the menu. The food, the drinks, the service was awesome. We will definitely be back soon!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Always Quality Food and Great Service!

Dined on May 14, 2016

I am always happy with the food, service and atmosphere at Cap City. We probably only dine here a couple of times a year but when we do, I wonder why we don't more often.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Usually I love CapCity Diner, but on thi ...

Dined on May 14, 2016

Usually I love CapCity Diner, but on this occasion it was hellishly noisy, the bread was blah, the appetizers were just okay, and the key lime pie was way too fluffy!

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Outstanding Service!!

Dined on May 14, 2016

Went out for dinner before a show. Had reservations, but still had a wait-other than that, Cap City was great as usual. Amazing service, great recommendations on food. Crab cakes, tilapia and chicken rigatoni awesome. Never disappoints-loved our server-he was the best!

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service4

A Columbus gem- you can't go wrong with ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

A Columbus gem- you can't go wrong with Cap City. Definitely more of an energetic atmosphere. A little noisy to hear conversations . Food is always good. Been there many times and will return again.

food2
ambience3
service4
value1

Had the crab cake blue plate special. T ...

Dined on May 13, 2016

Had the crab cake blue plate special. They were on par with a fast food seafood chain quality item. Unfortunately this food is on par with most other Cameron Mitchell food...

food5
ambience4
service5

Great food! A little too loud at lunch t ...

vip
Dined on May 13, 2016

Great food! A little too loud at lunch time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Never a bad meal

Dined on May 12, 2016

This place has something for everyone and every time I go I am never disappointed. Had dinner on the patio which was really nice and the service is always really good.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Comfort view almost in sight of the Olen ...

Dined on May 11, 2016

Comfort view almost in sight of the Olentangy!! We are exploring Cameron Mitchell restaurants. This one perhaps slightly missed the mark, even though the food was very good and both atmosphere and service excellent. We will go back and re-evaluate.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Waiter, food . Loved it all

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

Waiter, food . Loved it all

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.