Make a reservation

Party Size
For 2
Date
Thu, 5/24
Time
8:30 PM
icon/ic_social_proofCreated with Sketch.
Booked 3 times today

Canyon Fireside Grille

3.8
123 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
$30 and under
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
American
Top Tags:
  • Casual
  • Bar Seating
  • Kid-friendly
Canyon Fireside Grille is located in the heart of Rancho Santa Margarita. Open daily for lunch and dinner and Sunday breakfast. This classic American Bar and Grille features the finest selection of USDA Prime and Choice steaks, prime rib, tender pork chops, fresh fish, rotisserie chicken, baby back ribs, fresh baked pot pies, specialty pasta, sandwiches, and salads. Canyon Fireside Grille's warm Molten Chocolate Cake (made to order), Butterscotch Creme Brulee, and Profiteroles will surely please your sweet tooth.

We are a neighborhood restaurant. Our goal is to be on a first name basis with each guest. I look forward to seeing you at your next visit.

Lawrence Gill and Melissa Wells- Management
Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
American, Steakhouse
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Sunday: 9:30am - 9:00pm, Monday: 11:30am - 9:30pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; With Late Night Entertainment
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(949) 888-8893
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_chefCreated with Sketch.
Executive chef
Paulino Segura
icon/ic_cateringCreated with Sketch.
Catering
We currently offer self service catering off site and private, full service, catering on site.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_parking_detailsCreated with Sketch.
Parking details
Plenty of parking
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
bus
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
We proudly feature live music on Friday and Saturday nights from 9pm to 12:30am.
icon/ic_special_eventsCreated with Sketch.
Special events & promotions
We can accommodate private parties at the restaurant up to 200 people.
Additional
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 123 People Are Saying
Overall ratings and reviews
Reviews can only be made by diners who have eaten at this restaurant
3.8based on recent ratings
3.7
food
3.6
service
3.7
ambience
3.3
value
Noise · Moderate
29% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
2.0Dined 5 days ago

The ambience was nice and the menu interesting. Unfortunately, the service was mediocre and the food was just terrible. The pasta shrimp had so much butter, that everything was so slimy...the roux wasn't fully mixed and it looked like clumps of fat. The flank steak was good, but not $23 good. We will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Disappointed to find out we could not order the normal brunch menu when we were there on Mother's Day, instead only had a mediocre, over priced brunch buffet to pick from. Limited options for the cost (no bread other than mini bagels, and corn bread at the dessert table?). Service was slow, coffee was not hot. Dessert options were limited and not very good. Lots of dirty plates in the "clean" plate stack at the buffet. Overall not a great experience after spending $50/pp for 7.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 13, 2018

Mother’s Day brunch was good with limited buffet. However it was priced reasonably and a nice environment

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 1, 2018

Some is well prepared and some not!
Salads are awesome the flank steak was tough !
Pot pie is good!!
Needs more chicken but, the pie is huge!!
Our waiter was awesome!!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on April 1, 2018

Our server, Melissa, was wonderful. Food was delicious, fabulous salmon salad, will go back for that again! Local neighborhood favorite now!

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on March 25, 2018

This is a great locals hangout for American comfort food.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 25, 2018

We are always very pleased when eating at Canyon Fireside. We bought our friends to celebrate a birthday and it was their first visit. They also were pleased. It was a noon brunch and earned four stars across the board. Perhaps our next visit will be dinner and earn five stars. Cheers!

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on March 24, 2018

This place was like the twilight zone. First, no one in there. No ambiance music. Then , they have a firepit INSIDE and it smells propane gas all over ! We ask to be sar as Ar from the smell as possible . The waitress suggest to ‘match’ is with this couple of strangers , saying that ‘I know them they are really cool’...then she hands us out the menus. We get up and leave. Never again. Hard to believe...

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on March 3, 2018

Came for an anniversary dinner. Great food, reasonable prices, efficient and friendly service. Will definitely return!

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 14, 2018

Valentines Day was our first experience at Canyon Fireside Grille. Perhaps I should have done more investigating. It’s ok for lunch or a casual meal. Meeting people for drinks there would be fine also. Not somewhere I’d revisit for a special occasion. The food was okay. The staff was nice but the service was terrible. We waited so long for everything. We never received the lobster bisque which was supposed to be the first course. My husband never received the second beer he requested, the artichoke dip was tasty but didn’t nearly have enough pita chips. We requested more but didn’t receive them until we were almost finished with our entrees and the dip was then, cold and lumpy. My iced tea was never refilled since our waiter didn’t revisit us to see if we needed anything more. And finally, as he cleared out plates, our waiter said he’d be back with the check. He never asked if we wanted dessert. It was like he couldn’t wait for us to leave.
Once again, the employees were all nice. But mentally they didn’t seem present nor did they seem to have much experience or training. We won’t be returning.
Perhaps our experience was unusual. I’ll never know.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on February 3, 2018

The food was expensive for what it was. The portions were small, the meat was chewy and not hot.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 19, 2018

Found hair in food, were ignored by our waitress, had to go get the hostess to inform them. Then the manager didn't even take a minute to come out.

So disrespectful on so many levels.

Just walked out

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on January 19, 2018

One of the worse experiences at a restaurant ever. Took forever to have someone take our order. Salads came out after the entree! Pot pie was soggy and the filling couldn’t match the $.99 pot pies from the grocery store. Nobody came back to fill our water or to check how the food was. My wife had the short rib dinner. It was dry and tough. It took 40 minutes from the time we finished to get our check to leave. We had to wave our waiter down to even get it. I told her to take it right then so we didn’t have to wait. There were people waiting to get a table. You’d think they’d want to clear tables and turn around customers to bring in more money. We will never go back!😡

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 18, 2018

Sat us right away and served us quickly. Steak was cooked to order. Nice compliments for meal.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on January 6, 2018

A neighborhood go-to for us when we want good food in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. Server, Tori, was so helpful, but not intrusive. We had meatloaf, & pasta. Both were very good, as expected. I really enjoyed the pasta. Full flavored! They even did a sauce substitution to meet my dietary needs. Very pleased.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 30, 2017

Very pleased with our first visit. We will be back.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on December 29, 2017

Had a reservation at 9:30. Showed up and they told us the kitchen had been closed for half an hour.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2017

This restaurant needs a “kick in the kester”. It doesn’t have any life or vibrancy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on December 24, 2017

I made reservations here for Christmas Eve for me and my family. It is definitely a small-town neighborhood type restaurant where the local college kids work. Our server was a nice young man and very friendly but the service overall was incredibly slow. Perhaps they were simply short staffed that night. We ordered salads prior to receiving our entrees but the entrees were served before we ever received the salads and then they finally brought one of the 3 salads to the table. My parents ended up canceling their salad and my sister got hers 20 minutes AFTER the entrees were served. Overall, the ambiance was nice. Food was marginal. It’s definitely an okay place to go if you just don’t want to go far from home but don’t expect anything spectacular here.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on December 13, 2017

Seven girls friends out for lunch! It was wonderful. Food was great...service was great! I've been there before but never with a group. We had a private area....and the server was so sweet!

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on December 1, 2017

The lamb chops tasted “old” or “gamey”. The sprouts were cold. The waitress did not apologize for the cold food. The place is in need of some decoration and was quite cold when we first arrived. Will not be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on November 4, 2017

Meal was very good and the wait staff were friendly. Their corn bread is crazy good. I'll definitely be going back.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on October 21, 2017

Went here for anniversary dinner. Great service and awesome food! Will definitely go back m. Highly recommended if you want to go casual or on a date.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on September 17, 2017

Reserved on OT for my birthday with family. On a Sunday , so I didn’t expect the place to be busy. Not only there wasn’t a single patron there, but there a guy mopping the floor, and some chairs already on tables. Ready to close. That means they preferred not having any patrons walk by at that time. So we walked away and ended up at Hanna’s in the same strip mall, which was amazing.
So no food review, but this manager was unprofessional. Establishment need to provide the same experience to its patrons, from opening to closing.
This place is known for its happy hour vibe - I wouldn’t recommend it for dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

First time here. Good food, liked the fireside seats but sat in the restaurant this time. Then the Band started and dancing. Looks like a fun locals bar. Must have been a bridal shower group there as well and they were having some fun. Great people watching.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on September 9, 2017

Nice place, not too stuffy nor too casual. Service is good. Food was great. Nice drink list. We did not participate but, heard the live music after leaving the movies and almost came back for another drink just to check it again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 19, 2017

Wonderful meal and live entertainment by The Odds. Did not disappoint, will return again.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on August 5, 2017

We frequent restaurants in this area frequently prior to catching a movie. We enjoy Hanna's but it can be busy, noisy and tough to get in. Canyon Fireside Grill is a great option. Not quite as glitzy but great food and service at a lower price point.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on August 4, 2017

We arrived 5 minutes before our reservation time on a Friday night and was told they did not have record of our reservation. Since there were just two of us, the host was able to find a table for us. Our server was friendly and energetic which was good. My husbands salmon was cooked perfectly but the side was not. I ordered teriyaki steak. The meat was cooked perfectly but the sauce was spicy hot and did not resemble teriyaki. It was supposed to be served over rice and Asian vegetables. There was a little rice and lots of mushy squash as the vegetable, which I could not eat. We have come to this restaurant off and on for many years. The menu this time had a few original items and some new ones. A very limited wine list for those that want wine with dinner, which is less than before. It will be a while before we return but I am sure we will eventually. And we will bring our own wine.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 30, 2017

This is a nice place to go any night of the week

Report
Helpful
2.0Dined on June 30, 2017

I have visited this restaurant a number of times over the years and noticed service and food quality continue to fall. I kept going back to give it a chance in the hope the issues were resolved, but this last visit was the nail in the coffin for me. Food, drink and service is inconsistent and I always leave frustrated about something. I don't expect much so that's saying something.

This time it was watered down drinks, warm beer, very poor service (long waits), poorly prepared dishes (undercooked and poorly timed) and lack of management ownership of noted and obvious issues at our table.

$170 I'll never get back and I'm irked to have spent there.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on June 28, 2017

Horseradish salad dressing was waaay too firey

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on June 1, 2017

Great chicken pie and signature salad. Happy hour is nothing special. Some menu items are inconsistently prepared but service is always polite and efficient.

Report
Helpful
1.0Dined on May 29, 2017

I have been twice to this place. 1st time was overall ok. 2nd time it happened that they were understaffed and we waited for more than an hour for our food.

Report
Helpful
5.0Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service and amazing food. We will definitely be coming back.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a lovely evening. They have great corn bread.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Waiter did not get our order 100 percent correct and forgot to bring an item but was very nice and pleasant and we left happy with the dinner.

Report
Helpful
4.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my family for Mother's Day. The buffet choices, quality and taste were excellent for the price. I was a bit surprised that they were only about 2/3 full on Mother's day early afternoon. Despite not being very busy, it took the hostess over 5 minutes to acknowledge me at the hostess stand when I arrived with a reservation. But I think it was a case of an inexperienced person playing role of hostess. My group really enjoyed themselves, and we didn't feel rushed. Also, the place was surprisingly quiet and cozy.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

Really disappointed with food. Meat was tough, eggs Benedict was watery, ran out of cheddar cheese for omelets, cook couldn't flip.
$40 a plate, expected much better food. Would not return. We had 7 people.

Report
Helpful
3.0Dined on May 14, 2017

So, we cam here for Mother's Day.

Pros:
1. Large Table for our party that was out of the day
2. Decent Looking Inside
3. Everyone was friendly

Cons:
1. Brunch Selection was kinda lacking (came in at 11am)
2. We had no silverware after asking a few times. I had to take it off another table
3. Server just kinda disappeared. Granted, they were busy, but this is brunch so all we needed other than our silverware was drinks and we had to ask a few times.

Its a bit out of the way for me to go, so I really would need a good experience to come back.

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
4