Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.20mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 3.49mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi
  1. Distance: 2.20mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 3.49mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 2.20mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 3.49mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi
  1. Distance: 2.20mi
  2. Distance: 3.10mi
  3. Distance: 3.49mi
  4. Distance: 3.51mi

About Canyon Fireside Grille

Canyon Fireside Grille is located in the heart of Rancho Santa Margarita. Open daily for lunch and dinner and Sunday breakfast. This classic American Bar and Grille features the finest selection of USDA Prime and Choice steaks, prime rib, tender pork chops, fresh fish, rotisserie chicken, baby back ribs, fresh baked pot pies, specialty pasta, sandwiches, and salads. Canyon Fireside Grille's warm Molten Chocolate Cake (made to order), Butterscotch Creme Brulee, and Profiteroles will surely please your sweet tooth.

We are a neighborhood restaurant. Our goal is to be on a first name basis with each guest. I look forward to seeing you at your next visit.

Lawrence Gill and Melissa Wells- Management

22312 El Paseo
Suite A
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 9:30am - 9:00pm, Monday: 11:30am - 9:30pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; With Late Night Entertainment

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 888-8893

Website:
http://www.canyonfiresidegrille.com/

Entertainment:
We proudly feature live music on Friday and Saturday nights from 9pm to 12:30am.

Catering:
We currently offer self service catering off site and private, full service, catering on site.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Public Transit:
bus

Executive Chef:
Paulino Segura

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, BYO Wine, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can accommodate private parties at the restaurant up to 200 people.

Canyon Fireside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.5

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.4

ambience

3.7

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

75% would recommend it to a friend

Live Music (3)
Casual (3)
Fun (2)
See All
Happy Hour (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Special Occasion (1)
Great Beer (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Business Meals (1)
Good for Groups (1)
Dancing (1)
Seasonal (1)
Family Style (1)
People Watching (1)
Local Ingredients (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Fireplace (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Good for Anniversaries (1)
Good for a Date (1)
Disabled Access (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Tapas (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Romantic (1)
Sort By:
S
94 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

This is a nice place to go any night of the week

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 30, 2017

I have visited this restaurant a number of times over the years and noticed service and food quality continue to fall. I kept going back to give it a chance in the hope the issues were resolved, but this last visit was the nail in the coffin for me. Food, drink and service is inconsistent and I always leave frustrated about something. I don't expect much so that's saying something.

This time it was watered down drinks, warm beer, very poor service (long waits), poorly prepared dishes (undercooked and poorly timed) and lack of management ownership of noted and obvious issues at our table.

$170 I'll never get back and I'm irked to have spent there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value3

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on June 28, 2017

Horseradish salad dressing was waaay too firey

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on June 1, 2017

Great chicken pie and signature salad. Happy hour is nothing special. Some menu items are inconsistently prepared but service is always polite and efficient.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Montana)·Dined on May 29, 2017

I have been twice to this place. 1st time was overall ok. 2nd time it happened that they were understaffed and we waited for more than an hour for our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service1
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 27, 2017

Great service and amazing food. We will definitely be coming back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 20, 2017

We had a lovely evening. They have great corn bread.

Tags: Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Waiter did not get our order 100 percent correct and forgot to bring an item but was very nice and pleasant and we left happy with the dinner.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Brought my family for Mother's Day. The buffet choices, quality and taste were excellent for the price. I was a bit surprised that they were only about 2/3 full on Mother's day early afternoon. Despite not being very busy, it took the hostess over 5 minutes to acknowledge me at the hostess stand when I arrived with a reservation. But I think it was a case of an inexperienced person playing role of hostess. My group really enjoyed themselves, and we didn't feel rushed. Also, the place was surprisingly quiet and cozy.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Really disappointed with food. Meat was tough, eggs Benedict was watery, ran out of cheddar cheese for omelets, cook couldn't flip.
$40 a plate, expected much better food. Would not return. We had 7 people.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 14, 2017

So, we cam here for Mother's Day.

Pros:
1. Large Table for our party that was out of the day
2. Decent Looking Inside
3. Everyone was friendly

Cons:
1. Brunch Selection was kinda lacking (came in at 11am)
2. We had no silverware after asking a few times. I had to take it off another table
3. Server just kinda disappeared. Granted, they were busy, but this is brunch so all we needed other than our silverware was drinks and we had to ask a few times.

Its a bit out of the way for me to go, so I really would need a good experience to come back.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 28, 2017

Made a reservation for a large party of 10. The restaurant was pretty dead for a Friday night when we arrived. Lots of open tables but guess what? Our table wasn't ready.... so we waited for 15 minutes to be seated and we were there on time. No one even told us the table was ready. I saw where it was set up and asked the us boy if we could sit down. Drinks took forever and the food took forever to come out. They ran out of prime rib on a slow night in 2 hours... so must of been a very small piece they cooked. We had 4 kids with us and it took 3 hour for us to get out of there. Which is crazy with kids. The Oso bucco was dry. Food was average and the service was horrible. Won't be going back there again ever. Don't waste your time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on April 1, 2017

Canyon Mac and cheese was good. Prime rib was flavorful. The baked potato was.disappointing, hard and the toppings tasted wrong. It could've used more cooking. For the price I expected more. Service started great. After the for was delivered the server seemed to disappear.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 26, 2017

Sunday brunch was fun. Food is excellent and service was good. They were able to accommodate children and have great value kids meals.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 24, 2017

We had a great time! Drinks and dancing to live music. Love it! Thank you so much!

Tags: Comfort Food, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Brussel sprouts and artichoke appetizers were really good. Entrees were good, martinis were just right.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Palm Springs)·Dined on February 4, 2017

When checking in they could not find our reservation, but they did seat us right away. Ordered drinks and appetizer, but they keep asking for our food order. Appetizer was just ok, spinach dip with chip wedges. Drinks were very watered down, Scotch with ice, but added water to fill the glass. Real problem was with the air inside, they had an open fire place and the entire restaurant had a gas smell that got worse as we ate. Ended up with a headache which ruined the entire evening. Need a better venting system. Will not be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service3
value2

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on January 21, 2017

Food was subpar, service wasn't great. We won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service2
value3

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on December 31, 2016

The food is good the cornbread was very good salmon was good however the service was really really bad. I don't know if it was the waiter or they're being overbooked or an experience with large crowds I just don't know but I was there before with a large crowd in the same type of thing happened I just don't think They were repaired. for large crowds they ran out of desserts and I would've kept us waiting 30 minutes for it so that service experience with that waiter was pretty bad unfortunately

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on December 3, 2016

Menu had a variety of delicious items. Waitress had a delightful personality

Tags: Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on November 5, 2016

This is a fine restaurant. Delicious comfort food, nice surroundings, gracious & attentive service without being obtrusive. Everything we've tried on the menu has met, or exceeded our expectations. This trip we had the fish & chips. They were some of the best we've had. Coated with a light, almost tempura batter, & tender, flakey Alaskan cod inside - they were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 31, 2016

This was my first time at this restaurant and I was a bit apprehensive at first because it was empty, but I attribute that to it being Halloween. The short ribs were to die for - tender and flavorful. The spinach artichoke dip and ahi tower were also very very good. I will be dining there again.

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

vip
 (Orlando)·Dined on October 21, 2016

This was the worst experience at any SoCal restaurant during my many visits over the last 5 years. The service was awful - we had an overwhelmed 20 year old who came to our table one time after ordering our food, and that was to grab our credit card!! If you like salt, the food is excellent!! Everything taste like swallowing ocean water. No butter was served with the underdone corn bread, and our salads and soups were served AFTER the arrival of our main courses, like some kind of a forgotten side dish. I won't even go into what happened when I asked for a cold glass for my beer!!!! There are so many fabulous restaurants in the area for the same or less money. Skip this place until they hire new management.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service1

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 20, 2016

I have had just about everything on their menu. Everything is absolutely delicious. Order whatever it is you enjoy and you will not be disappointed. Always clean & spacious dining area.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on October 7, 2016

When we got there they did not have our reservations even though i showed him confirmation on my phone I reserved a quiet booth for two for our anniversary he wanted to give me table in middle of room that we would have to wait for we left and manager came outside said table was just leaving let me buy u a drink needless to say went back inside but never got a free drink food took a very long time to come out long time to get check would not go back

Tags: Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We waited 19 minutes to get water. My husbands steak was over-cooked and we asked them to fix and the waiter never came back to fix. It took us another 16 minutes to receive our check after asking for it. We never received or ice tea we ordered and our daughters meal was brought out 10 minutes later then all of the rest when all she had was a burger. We will not return

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on September 2, 2016

The cornbread was the hit of the evenings, good comfort food.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Always a great place to go for great quality service and delectable food! Great ambiance! Great view of the mountains! Lovely patio & great selection of beverages! Happy Hour is amazing!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Great ambiance, Excellent Food, and the waiter was extremely attentive, I enjoyed utilizing the open table for the very first time. it was very effective. The prices are reasonable. I did not ask for coffee, I should have, because it was brunch. I did not get to taste your desert array.
However, I want to note that the crab cakes were excellent! The entire place was well put together, enjoyable, AND provided A very nice overall appearance very enjoyable totally.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Rancho Santa Margarita doesn't have very many choices for steak and seafood and the popular place is Hannah's. I have been to this place in the past and have had bad food, bad service and decided to return this time to eat out with my friends. I was actually surprised at the food quality this time around. I ordered the trout and loved it. My friends liked their food too. The waitress was a bit slow due to a very large party she was serving next to us. I normally would not care but we were crunched on time with a movie to start within the hour. After I explained to her we did have to catch a movie she sped things up and provided great service. She got help from some other wait staff. I will return again to give it another shot with my husband in the near future.

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 12, 2016

Love this place...amazing food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on August 6, 2016

We came here on a whim after not being able to find a reservation at other restaurants in the area on short notice.

We were seated right away, but had to wait some time for our server to show up despite the restaurant being 1/3 full. Our server did a good job and was one of the bright spots of our meal.

We ordered drinks and an artichoke appetizer both of which were mediocre. The drinks were either under-poured or over- poured and the artichoke needed some more cook time, but was edible.

The filet was ordered medium rare, but it was cooked all the way through. The macadamia fish was over-breaded, much of the flavor was hidden and the breading was just too sweet.

We were in a hurry otherwise would've sent the steak back.

The plates/dishes all looked like they came straight from a roadside diner; they were covered with hard water spots and looked tired. I also had to ask for a steak knife after being unable to cut the steak with the dinner knife provided (a steak knife should've come with the meal anyway).

While the service was good, the food was sub par.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on May 27, 2016

What a great find and the food is good as well. Great music on Fri. and Sat. and the service is A plus. Nice outdoor patio as well. Highly recommend as a GEM in RSM.

Tags: Hot Spot, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on May 8, 2016

After checking the online menu, we made reservations for Mother's Day for our party of 7. They said they couldn't accommodate us until 2pm, though the restaurant was almost empty when we arrived. Greeting us at the door, the hostess told us that it was buffet only and that it was $50 per person. I took a look at the buffet and it looked like everything had been sitting out for hours. Even if it was fresh, there's no way it justified the price tag. Oh, and no kids menu either. We left and walked over to Wood Ranch, which was really good and less than half the price. Talk about a huge miss for a local restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Los Angeles)·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came here for Mother's Day. I specifically chose this restaurant because it did not have a high brunch price. At least I didn't think so from what I had researched online. I was very disappointed that they were doing a full service brunch for a high cost. Exactly what I was trying to avoid. It put a bit of a damper on the day. I just wanted to order off the menu. I felt a little bit taken advantage of.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on April 15, 2016

The cornbread is delicious and the pork loin was cooked perfectly! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was the worst brunch I have ever had and it was crazy expensive. We used to like this restaurant but will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on March 12, 2016

Have loved this place for more than a decade. This last time though, all of our dishes were slightly differently prepared, and noticeably lacking in flavor. The Canyon Mac did not have the good cheese flavor and the trout was unremarkable.
Wondering if chef or something changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on March 1, 2016

Nice place in RSM. enjoy the new menu, but bring back the chili.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Orange County)·Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was good however my macadamia crusted soul was a bit much on the macadamia side. It just overwhelmed the dash. The wife enjoyed her short ribs very much.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.