About Canyon Fireside Grille

22312 El Paseo
Suite A
Rancho Santa Margarita, CA 92688
View Larger Map

Canyon Fireside Grille is located in the heart of Rancho Santa Margarita. Open daily for lunch and dinner and Sunday breakfast. This classic American Bar and Grille features the finest selection of USDA Prime and Choice steaks, prime rib, tender pork chops, fresh fish, rotisserie chicken, baby back ribs, fresh baked pot pies, specialty pasta, sandwiches, and salads. Canyon Fireside Grille's warm Molten Chocolate Cake (made to order), Butterscotch Creme Brulee, and Profiteroles will surely please your sweet tooth.

We are a neighborhood restaurant. Our goal is to be on a first name basis with each guest. I look forward to seeing you at your next visit.

Lawrence Gill and Melissa Wells- Management

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse

Hours of Operation:
Sunday: 9:30am - 9:00pm, Monday: 11:30am - 9:30pm, Tuesday - Thursday: 11:30am - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 11:30am - 10:30pm; With Late Night Entertainment

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(949) 888-8893

Website:
http://www.canyonfiresidegrille.com/

Entertainment:
We proudly feature live music on Friday and Saturday nights from 9pm to 12:30am.

Catering:
We currently offer self service catering off site and private, full service, catering on site.

Parking Details:
Plenty of parking

Public Transit:
bus

Executive Chef:
Paulino Segura

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Counter Seating, Dancing, Entertainment, Fireplace, Full Bar, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Personal wines welcome, Private Room, Smoking Area, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
We can accommodate private parties at the restaurant up to 200 people.

Canyon Fireside Grille Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

3.9

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.8

service

3.9

ambience

3.9

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

79% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (6)
special occasion (5)
neighborhood gem (4)
See All
late-night find (4)
romantic (3)
hot spot (3)
vibrant bar scene (3)
great for brunch (2)
great for outdoor dining (2)
fit for foodies (2)
great for lunch (2)
kid-friendly (1)
Sort By:
Newest
62 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

A great place for fun, good food and music

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

What a great find and the food is good as well. Great music on Fri. and Sat. and the service is A plus. Nice outdoor patio as well. Highly recommend as a GEM in RSM.

Tags: romantic, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Big disappointment

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

After checking the online menu, we made reservations for Mother's Day for our party of 7. They said they couldn't accommodate us until 2pm, though the restaurant was almost empty when we arrived. Greeting us at the door, the hostess told us that it was buffet only and that it was $50 per person. I took a look at the buffet and it looked like everything had been sitting out for hours. Even if it was fresh, there's no way it justified the price tag. Oh, and no kids menu either. We left and walked over to Wood Ranch, which was really good and less than half the price. Talk about a huge miss for a local restaurant!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

We came here for Mother's Day. I

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We came here for Mother's Day. I specifically chose this restaurant because it did not have a high brunch price. At least I didn't think so from what I had researched online. I was very disappointed that they were doing a full service brunch for a high cost. Exactly what I was trying to avoid. It put a bit of a damper on the day. I just wanted to order off the menu. I felt a little bit taken advantage of.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value1

The cornbread is delicious and the pork ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on April 16, 2016

The cornbread is delicious and the pork loin was cooked perfectly! :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was the worst brunch I have ever ha ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

This was the worst brunch I have ever had and it was crazy expensive. We used to like this restaurant but will not go again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

Have loved this place for more than a de ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

Have loved this place for more than a decade. This last time though, all of our dishes were slightly differently prepared, and noticeably lacking in flavor. The Canyon Mac did not have the good cheese flavor and the trout was unremarkable.

Wondering if chef or something changed.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Nice place in RSM. enjoy the new menu, ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 2, 2016

Nice place in RSM. enjoy the new menu, but bring back the chili.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Too much macadamia nut

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 13, 2016

Food was good however my macadamia crusted soul was a bit much on the macadamia side. It just overwhelmed the dash. The wife enjoyed her short ribs very much.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

I have been here many times and enjoyed ...

 
 (Central Coast)
·Dined on January 31, 2016

I have been here many times and enjoyed everything about it. Unfortunately this last visit was way below average. My short rib was extremely dry, and our server wasn't that helpful. It was like pulling teeth to get her help with the menu items. This is why I didn't bother telling her about my food. My husband did enjoy his chicken, and I'm glad because this was his first visit to Canyon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1

No wonder why their CEO did Undercover Boss

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 9, 2016

Ordered the Cajan Shrimp pasta which was spicy because they put alot of pepper in it. It was disappointing. Also our waitress was very absent minded with 1) coming by to get us refills but then forgets when she comes back 2) had to be asked if our food was done since we waited 45 mins and i just order pasta and 3) charging my credit card to the wrong bill. Hopefully they do better to other guests and since this is my first impression, we won't be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

It was a very nice dinner and our waiter ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on December 6, 2015

It was a very nice dinner and our waiter was great and even inquired about the bartenders making a blackberry martini for my wife (her favorite when we go to Canyon).

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Wine is half off on Wednesdays!!!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on November 26, 2015

Wine is half off on Wednesdays!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Very good food. The cornbread and biscui ...

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on November 1, 2015

Very good food. The cornbread and biscuits were delicious! The two scrambled egg plate was not a very big portion - maybe extra small eggs? Overall very good food. The ambience feels like a cafeteria inside but it is clean.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Recent changes are worth visiting

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on October 11, 2015

We have been coming here for years but it is not usually our first choice. For me the reason was partially tied to the ambience. They recently redid the interior and I like it a lot. The new menu still has the original favorites and new choices. I had the pork chop and it was great. New additions to the wine list were nice. We'll be back

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Disappointing dinner and service!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 20, 2015

I took my friends to the Canyon Fireside Grille for dinner as they had never been there before. We all had planned on having the prime rib which they are known for. Our reservation was for 7 pm, and when we got there, no one was at the hostess desk so we had to wait until we were noticed. When we went to order, and the first of us ordered the prime rib, we were told they had ran out, so we went back to our menus to decide on something else, which was a big disappointment. Our waiter told us he would bring out our cornbread skillet while we were deciding, and finally about 20 minutes later we had to remind him to bring it. Another server came over and took our order as he was too busy. I had ordered their steak salad, which I highly enjoyed in the past. However, once we finally got our dinner, which took overly long to come out, I noticed, once I started eating my salad, that some of the ingredients were missing. Our waitress never came back to our table once the food was served, so I was unable to let her know, and I tried to get the attention of both of the servers that had waited on us, but they just walked past the table. By the time the waitress came back to see if we wanted dessert, I told her about my salad and she apologized, and asked if I wanted her to bring the ingredients that were missing. I pointed out that I only had a few bites left of the lettuce and that it would be ridiculous at this point. I ordered dessert and coffee, and she left the bill. I wrote to the restaurant via their email address, which turned out to be inactive, so I printed off the letter and sent it directly to the restaurant. That was three weeks ago and they have not contacted me. I also sent a letter to their home office as well regarding their food and poor service, and they too have ignored my feedback. Due to their poor lack of customer service and their choice to ignore my feedback regarding my recent experience, I will not be returning!

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service2

Good Food, Good Service

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on September 13, 2015

I really like The Canyon, I'm actually not sure why I don't eat here more. We can usually always get a table, they have live music on the weekends, and the food and service is really good. I always look forward to their prime rib and some corn bread. My wife and I always talk about where to eat and we always forget about this place but I'm not really sure why. It's almost like a backup restaurant for us in case we can't get in anywhere else but I'm not sure why we treat it like that because the food is always better than were we wanted to go in the first place. Going to have to rethink my food priorities after this and move The Canyon up a notch.

Tags: late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

Will never eat there again

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 31, 2015

We went there a few days after a coupon came in the mail so you would think they would be ready...There was one waitress for the entire dining room so service was incredibly slow. They were out of cheeseburgers and fries (really?!), we got our appetizer but had no utensils to eat it with(and we had a coupon for it but they neglected to apply the coupon), the steak salad was a pile of bagged salad with 5 strips of meat on top. My son's girlfriend ,whose birthday dinner it was, ordered a chicken pot pie which came to the table with the entire top crust black ." I won't charge you for this" the waitress said. I was so embarrassed! When I talked to the manager on duty she made excuses but did nothing to compensate us for this bad experience. We watched 4 other groups get up and walk out that night, I wish we had, too. I will never make that mistake again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1

Neighborhood Gem in RSM

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on August 9, 2015

I really enjoy Canyon's for a Sunday brunch. Atmosphere is cozy and relaxing. Service

is great, and food is tasty, especially the Blueberry Cornbread Skillet that come complementary for the table to share. Nice way to start off the day!!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

Food was marginal at best.

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 11, 2015

Pork chops were fatty and had a majority of grissel. Pot our was delicious but was so hot it took over 30 minutes for it to even be edible. Waitress was amazing, very sweet and engaging in conversation. Just overall the food was not good and too many choices in RSM to go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5

I think this one is going to close soon

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on June 29, 2015

Service was pretty slow despite the fact that there were only 3 tables occupied in the whole restaurant. Food was fair at best. My meatloaf was so overprocessed it was practically a pate loaf.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3

This place has great food!!!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 17, 2015

Our first visit to this restaurant was very pleasant. The servers are very friendly and breakfast was great. They give you complimentary cornbread which might have been the best I have had. The portions are good and the eggs benedict was perfect. Fluffy eggs and not to buttery. Location is great with plenty of parking as its located in a shopping center.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

They were out of everything!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 11, 2015

They were out of everything and were not prepared for the day. They are changing the menu and its not getting great reviews

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

Great for Brunch!

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

We took my mother here for Mother's Day Brunch and the ambiance, service, and food was incredible. They also offered bottomless mimosas and the champagne was decent! I would definitely recommend as a great place for brunch! Cheers!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Comfort Food

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

My friend (who is health concious, particularly about what she ingests) & I both had husbands away on business, & decided to dine together Fri evening. She had never been to Canyons, so I suggested we go there. It was a chilly, rare, rainy day, & Mac & cheese beckoned me. We had her well behaved toddler in tow. Canyons did not dissapoint. The warm, inviting environment, & delete cious comfort food fit the bill perfectly. We were kindly seated at a large, wrap around booth that made dinner with her son easy! I shared a sample of Mac & cheese with them, & may friend revelled in the creamy, goodness & blend of flavors. She had the cornbread stuffed, roasted chicken, which she was delighted with the preparation. Great service, warm atmosphere, and delicious food in a friendly environment, what more could be asked of a restaurant on a rainy evening? Enjoyed the experience, and will continue to dine at Canyons. Thanks Canyons!

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Great Place with Great Food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 25, 2015

We frequent this gem spot and love the service and management. We totally recommend it for dinner, Happy Hour, and Brunch!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

great service and food

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on April 19, 2015

Overall this restaurant turned out very good. The service kept our glasses full and attended to us well. My prime rib came out perfectly cooked. I recommend straight horseradish as the creamy one did not have a lot of zing. The baked potato could have used more butter and chives but was cooked right.

My only complaint would be how long it took to get our meals. The place was not entirely busy but it took about an hour before we were served our meals. We were a party of 14.

Tags: fit for foodies, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Easter Brunch

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on April 5, 2015

Our family enjoyed Easter Brunch together on the patio this past Sunday. I was a little thrown off when we arrived and we were told there was no menu available and only the buffet. But honestly the spread was awesome; shrimp, fish, prime rib, fruit, desserts, omelet bar, waffle bar, etc. Our server was constantly refilling our champagne glasses and was very attentive. I thought this was a great find and will definitely go back.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Canyon is a great date night place

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 21, 2015

The servers and manager always make us feel appreciated and they take great care of us. The food is delicious and we will return often.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Nice Late afternoon gathering place

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on March 7, 2015

Came in with a group of 9 friends, happy hour wine list is decent, nothing to write home about. Food was good, Lamb lolipops very good along with the steak salad and flatbreads.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Never disappointed

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 28, 2015

We have eaten at Canyon Grill for years. They changed owners a few months back, changed up the menu a bit, and did some internal renovations, which were positive.

They kept the more popular foods on the menu and also the happy hour menu.

We are never disappointed in the food here. It is a great place close to home with a great menu. I had the canyon salad with salmon, my son had the steak salad. My husband loves the buffalo chicken wings and wedge with chicken. Also, great burgers!!!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

Canyon Fireside delivers a good date night

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We shared a bottle of wine, ahi appetizer and also had salmon dinner and sea bass dinner. The food was very good, service was equally good and servers were friendly and knowledgeable. We will definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, late-night find, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Valentines night

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 15, 2015

We go there every valentines and enjoy the relaxed but nice time.

Tags: neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

Impressed

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on February 14, 2015

This was our first visit and all 5 of us in our party were quite impressed. Everyone raved about the food and the service was spot on. We ate inside where the atmosphere was great. The band starting playing at 9pm just as we were getting up from our table. We will definitely be back, and will make sure to be done eating again by 9pm as it was a bit loud for dining conversation once the band started. We noticed the patio on the way out, and would certainly give that a try as well. All in all, a very pleasant first time experience and we would all highly recommend it.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good and everyone at o ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on February 3, 2015

The food was very good and everyone at our table had the same item, the salmon lunch. It was excellent and appeared healthly too!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Highly recommend..great food and music

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on February 1, 2015

Great steaks, fish and drinks

Good find.....top notch service and great music

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Only In Orange County!

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 29, 2015

We were seated in the middle of a production filming of The Housewives of Orange County. Fireside is just outside Coto de Caza, so that's where the "Housewives" all live. Anyway, Fireside handled it VERY well and the food/service was great...along with the entertainment of seeing the filming.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Great to know we have this fantastic bru ...

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 18, 2015

Great to know we have this fantastic brunch option nearby. We had now idea. Great menu. Great food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

A nice surprise for date night!

vip
 (Orange County)
·Dined on January 10, 2015

We stopped in at Canyon after not dining there for several years. Hubby got the chicken pot pie which was delicious and really large (definitely enough to share). I ordered the salmon and loved that you can pick your fish and many different preps. The fish was perfectly cooked and seasoned with rice and a vegetable. Hubby and I split a salad and it was large enough for both of us....and crunchy, fresh and delicious.

We shared a bottle of reasonably priced wine and our server was very friendly, attentive and helpful with suggestions and the menu. We will definitely return.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

NYE dinner, service below par

vip
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on January 1, 2015

The food was great, the service lacking. Had to wait quite a while for the initial drinks although the place was maybe 60% full. Had to wave down the waitress each time that we needed anything. Two couples and two of us ordered steaks, one rare and one medium. These were mixed and not able to find out until we both started eating. They had a band and after dinner we had a great time. Would have been a perfect evening but just wish the service wasn't lacking.

Tags: great for outdoor dining, romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Big Disappointment

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on December 20, 2014

Much too loud to have a conversation over dinner even BEFORE the band started playing .

Both of our main dishes were either over or under cooked, very bland and under-seasoned. It also seemed that everything we had was overly sweetened, from the cornbread to the salad to the main entrée.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.