About Canyon Creek - Front Street

156 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 2L6
View Larger Map

Canyon Creek Front Street is located downtown Toronto, just steps from Union Station, Metro Toronto Convention Center and the Royal York Hotel.
Enjoy one of our many dishes served fresh from the kitchen, like our Calamari Fritti, Pan Roasted Salmon or Chipotle Sirloin Steak. Joining us for lunch? Try our popular Canyon Creek Prime Rib Sliders, Baby Kale and Quinoa Salad or Bandera Chicken Tacos.
Join us at Canyon Creek’s lively bar to sip cocktails and engage with a mix of guests, including savvy locals, business professionals, families, tourists and many just heading off a show or game. Move into our dining room for an intimate meal, or book one of the private dining rooms to host your meeting or event at any time.
So whether you’re looking for a delicious dinner before a game or show or live nearby and are looking for exciting conversation, Canyon Front Street is always here to give you a memorable time out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary Canadian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am – 11pm
Friday: 11:30am – midnight
Saturday: 4pm – midnight
Sunday: 4pm – 10pm

Cross Street:
York Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 596-2240

Website:
http://www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca/

Private Party Facilities:
Canyon Creek caters to a wide variety of special events.(Cocktail parties in the lounge; Family get-togethers; Wine tastings; Business meetings in our private boardrooms). Boardrooms are equipped with telephone & modem access, projection screens, and display boards.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca to view our party packages. Items on the regular menu can be easily incorporated into your party package. By attending to the smallest details we’ll ensure that your corporate or social event is memorable!

Restaurant Photos

Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street

Promotions

3 Course Prix Fixe Menu

Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Lunch Menu

Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Monday - $6 Crafted Tall Cans

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 8 Oz Wine for the Price of a 5 Oz

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Wednesdays & Thursdays Tasters & Taps @ 5

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Fridays After 5 - $3.00 Off Crafted Cocktails

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Sat & Sun $6 Caesar $24 Pithers of Mojitos

Saturdays and Sundays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Canyon Club

Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

1,000-Point Tables

Promotions

3 Course Prix Fixe Menu

Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
3 courses of carefully crafted seasonal fare. Join us today for just $34.00. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 3:00 PM - 11:00 PM.
Lunch Menu

Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM

Details
Get more lunch in an hour. Enjoy our Canyon Lunch menu starting at just $12.95. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 3:30 PM.
Monday - $6 Crafted Tall Cans

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
$6 Craft beer tall cans every Monday from 4pm-7pm. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 10, 2016 - Jul 10, 2016 on Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
Tuesday 8 Oz Wine for the Price of a 5 Oz

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
8oz wines for the price of a 5oz glass every Tuesday from 5pm-7pm. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 10, 2016 - Jul 10, 2016 on Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM.
Wednesdays & Thursdays Tasters & Taps @ 5

Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
$5 OFF ALL SHARE FOOD $6 Stella & Muskoka Detour (16oz) $5.50 Beringer Pinto Grigio & Cabernet Sauvignon (5oz). Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 10, 2016 - Jul 10, 2016 on Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
Fridays After 5 - $3.00 Off Crafted Cocktails

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Try one of our Crafted Cocktails for $3 less - Bronx Sour, Blood & Sand Hemingway Daiquiri, Foxy Lady, Seventeen Fifty-One, Moscow Mule, Margarita Yucatan, Negroni or Comopolitan. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 10, 2016 - Jul 10, 2016 on Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM.
Sat & Sun $6 Caesar $24 Pithers of Mojitos

Saturdays and Sundays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM

Details
$6 Caesar all day Saturday and Sundays and $24 Pitchers of Mojitos from 4pm - Close Saturday and Sundays. Includes Tax and Tip. Special valid Mar 11, 2016 - Jul 11, 2016 on Saturdays and Sundays from 11:00 AM - 11:30 PM.
Canyon Club

Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM

Details
MEMBERS RECEIVE: - $10 off $30 just for joining. - Call-ahead seating - Access to secret menu items - Exclusive food and beverage experiences We’re always cooking up new ideas. Stay connected to the Club for so much more. Includes Tax and Tip. Visit our website to join: http://canyoncreekrestaurant.ca/club/. Special valid Mar 18, 2016 - Jul 18, 2016 all week from 11:00 AM - 11:00 PM.
1,000-Point Tables

See availability for 1000 point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:45PM

Sat 7:30PM - 11:45PM

Canyon Creek - Front Street Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

good for groups (128)
special occasion (86)
fit for foodies (74)
See All
great for lunch (68)
romantic (48)
neighborhood gem (44)
notable wine list (30)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (19)
vibrant bar scene (16)
kid-friendly (15)
great for brunch (5)
great for outdoor dining (2)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1902 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Everything tasted excellent. Service was ...

Dined 5 days ago

Everything tasted excellent. Service was efficient and collegial.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

My wife and I were visiting Toronto and ...

Dined 6 days ago

My wife and I were visiting Toronto and this place was near where we were staying. Great service and reasonable price. My wife and I both had steak and were not disappointed. Great meal!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

The food was amazing and a beautiful res ...

Dined 6 days ago

The food was amazing and a beautiful restaurant. Our server on the other hand (have been here several times and this is a first - generally service is terrific) was absolutely awful. He greeted us at the beginning of the dinner, was quite lovely, then never returned. I had to get up and find him to ask for a second glass of wine and refill of our water glasses (which were never refilled), our dinner dishes were piled on our table for at least 20 minutes until I finally grabbed him while he went by our table to ask for them to be cleaned up and for the bill. Upon bringing the bill, he says "oh, here we go, the cheapest bill". Very condescending and rude. After ordering appetizers, wine and main meals I don't believe that we should be judged or commented on with a "cheap" bill. His tip was 10% due to all the above. If I had him again I would leave.

food3
ambience2
service4
value3

Good place for a quick meal before a con ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

Good place for a quick meal before a concert at Roy Thompson Hall. Rather dark ambience but food was OK and the server very pleasant and helpful.

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

I like the privacy of the tables and the ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

I like the privacy of the tables and the clean air.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Our experience for the most part was goo ...

Dined on June 13, 2016

Our experience for the most part was good except the server told us at one point that our meals would be coming out shortly and then we waited almost 30 minutes after that until we received it. When we got our meals the steaks were just warm, not hot.....like they had been sitting for a while. But the all-inclusive menu was the best bet.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Straightfoward fare. Very busy restauran ...

Dined on June 12, 2016

Straightfoward fare. Very busy restaurant, had original reservation for 6 people but requested to add 2, front reception seemed unwilling to help but another staff person was able to assist when approached. seemed understaffed but very pleasant waiter. Salmon was to be cooked medium but definitely well done, could tell was under heat lamps for a bit due to cracked film on the pea puree. It does have a generous selection of meals items to choose from and everyone seemed to enjoy their meal.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were so happy with our experience at ...

Dined on June 11, 2016

We were so happy with our experience at Canyon Creek! My husband has food allergies and the server made him feel very assured right from the time we sat down. The food was outstanding and everyone was pleased with the whole experience. We will definitely return to Canyon Creek to enjoy another great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Love Canyon Creek

Dined on June 2, 2016

I often come to Canyon Creek for business lunches and I always have a positive experience. The food is great and I really love that the menu online tells you the nutritional information and calories. The services is always great and the ambiance is very relaxed.

Tags: great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Able to acomodate us on last minute notice

Dined on May 28, 2016

Great service with a full house. Food was great and atmosphere was perfect for a quick bit in between a jays game and a concert.

Tags: special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Night at Canyon Creek

Dined on May 28, 2016

I took my girls to the Carrie Underwood Concert and we had reservations for Canyon, our waiter and our experience was excellent and the time it took to get our meals was perfect!! It was a fantastic night and it started with a very positive experience at Canyon, food was great. We will be back!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great food, great service

Dined on May 28, 2016

From the cordial greeting to the delivery of the check, the entire experience was great. Food is excellent, prices are very reasonable. Highly recommend this establishment especially if you're attending ACC or Rogers Centre due to its proximity to both.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

A must on the list to try!

Dined on May 27, 2016

Food is consistently good and the service always ready to serve and make suggestions!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, hot spot, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Coffee Crusted Steak is an absolute must ...

vip
Dined on May 21, 2016

Coffee Crusted Steak is an absolute must-try! Delicious!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food1
ambience3
service3
value1

Very Disappointing meal

Dined on May 16, 2016

The restaurant was recommended. My sister and I were looking forward to a nice dinner. Unfortunately we were very disappointed . Our meals came lukewarm, steak overcook and prime rib was chewy. The prices were too high for such low quality meals. We won't return or recommend.

food2
ambience3
service4
value4

I was visiting from Vancouver, BC and I ...

Dined on May 15, 2016

I was visiting from Vancouver, BC and I wanted to try a 'local' franchaise from the GTA. As a steakhouse, it was nothing to write home about, but everything else was slightly above average. It's location by Union station and the stadium makes it a good place. The food was again, nothing to write home about, but decent value. I was expecting an East Coast version of the popular K*g franchaise from out West, but the flavor of the steak (I was able to try to the sirloin and the prime rib), which both were good, but not mouth watering. Otherwise, a nice, but not especially modern, nor especially trendy spot. Service was friendly though. I would recommend for families as there didn't seem to be any large crowds drinking heavily or after work bar scene (it was a sunday however).

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Great Experience

Dined on May 13, 2016

Private table, nice, quiet atmosphere. Food was outstanding. Salmon was perfect. Prime rib cooked exactly right. The Spanish coffee for dessert was delicious. Highly recommend. Server was outstanding - friendly, quick, attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Great service

Dined on May 12, 2016

Great service

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Enjoyed a meal before a concert

Dined on May 12, 2016

My husband and I enjoyed a meal before we went to a concert at the ACC. The service was very good. We would return.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We were on vacation in Toronto, and foun ...

vip
Dined on May 12, 2016

We were on vacation in Toronto, and found this wonderful restaurant! Food was delicious, service was outstanding, and we had a fantastic time!

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

An array of food with many gluten free o ...

Dined on May 12, 2016

An array of food with many gluten free options. Our server went out of his way to ensure food allergies were met. The food was amazing!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This is a solid steak house at a price p ...

vip
Dined on May 11, 2016

This is a solid steak house at a price point below the Morton's of the world. Prime rib is very good

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience5
service4

Canyon Creek has been our go-to special ...

Dined on May 8, 2016

Canyon Creek has been our go-to special occasion restaurant for almost 6 years now...Normally the food is pretty much perfect....BUT...On this occasion the steaks we ordered particularly my wife's did produce the usual WOW THAT IS A GREAT STEAK moment! Carole ordered the top sirloin with the lobster and bernaise sauce...she ordered the steak medium and it was more like rare Also, a minor faux-pas when it came to dessert...for one reason or another, our server assumed that we would be sharing a dessert. Carole ordered her own desser as part of the Mothers Day menu. I was ordering a la carte, and my dessert order was not taken until we could get our servers attention and it took a few minutes before we could get that sorted out.

food3
ambience3
service5
value3

Cute place to go on a date

Dined on May 6, 2016

The Front Street location is definitely a convenient location, it's right down the street from Union Station. They have such a big selection of food so you can always come back and try something different. The atmosphere and our particular server made the experience very enjoyable and delightful. The calamari was really good. I'd definitely get that again. It's a good place to try. Especially if you're feeling a good steak but not at the expensive price of other steak restaurants.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

May 6

Dined on May 6, 2016

I told the waiter we were going to a show but the food for the 4 people who came later still took a long time. We left early, they left later and were late for the show. Also one of us had an allergic reaction to apple in a salad.

Tags: good for groups
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was good and the waiter was fantast ...

Dined on May 6, 2016

Food was good and the waiter was fantastic. It was a little noise but that was due to Blue Jay fans excited about the Upcoming Dodgers game.

food5
ambience4
service4
value5

Second Time Around

Dined on May 6, 2016

This was our second time in a few weeks dining at Canyon Creek. It was a VERY early dinner, before an evening Jays game on a Friday, and it was pretty empty, except for probably an office group starting their weekend early. They were at the other side of the restaurant, and were fine most of the time, but once in a while the whole table burst out into very loud laughter and loud talking, which is common with larger groups, and we were far enough removed from them that it wasn't a problem. The food was great as usual, and service was okay. Timing of everything was good.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great dinner

Dined on May 6, 2016

Canyon creek was fantastic.. really enjoyed the meal, service and prices.. not one food item I did not joy.. would recommend this restaurant to anyone.. I went out with a couple coworkers and they also really enjoyed the meal and ambience

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
food4
ambience4
service5

We had a simple meal of burgers with ski ...

vip
Dined on May 1, 2016

We had a simple meal of burgers with skinny fries. The burgers were juicy and flavourful.

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great prime rib!

Dined on April 28, 2016

We arrived a few minutes early and our table was ready. The food was delicious and cooked exactly like we ordered. We loved the ambiance of the place. The servers and staff were all very kind and we would highly recommend this restaurant!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food, great waiter, think his name ...

Dined on April 27, 2016

Great food, great waiter, think his name was Jim. Made us very welcome

food5
ambience5
service5

Always a pleasure.

Dined on April 25, 2016

Always a pleasure.

food5
ambience4
service5

Has dinner on a Sunday after a Blue Jays ...

Dined on April 24, 2016

Has dinner on a Sunday after a Blue Jays game. We arrived 30 minutes earlier than I had booked the reservation, but not a problem for the staff. I had the garlic shrimp ravioli, and it was yummy, couldn't stop eating it! There was a good amount of shrimp. My partner has the southern chicken sandwich with fries, all was deliciously devoured. I'd definitely come back again.

food2
ambience4
service3
value4

Very Ok - Keg is better!

Dined on April 23, 2016

Mediocre food, mediocre service, the location seemed dull from the outside as well. Tons of other great restaurants nearby that doesn't make this place special. It's a good place for just a regular dinner, nothing big.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Overall very good - food, ambience, service, price

Dined on April 23, 2016

We got in on Saturday night on short notice, had a very professional server and enjoyed our meals very much.

Tags: good for groups, late-night find
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

Good

Dined on April 23, 2016

Bread was very dry but our host was great and the main too! All-in-all a good place to eat.

Tags: romantic
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

date night at the Canyon

Dined on April 19, 2016

The ease of booking through open table while at my desk was fantastic ! and highly recommended. Friendly staff and excellent menu, a bigger variety on appetizers would )not have gone amiss :) Ambient tunes were very apropos and I have to say the timing of when the food was brought out was on point. Highly recommended. try the Sangria ! ~Maverick~

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service5

Service was excellent but the food was m ...

vip
Dined on April 16, 2016

Service was excellent but the food was mediocre. Had the chicken tacos and the soft taco got soggy and fell apart very easily. Also found it to be too dark in the restaurant.

food1
ambience2
service2
value1

Food Quaility was lacking

Dined on April 14, 2016

This was our third time coming to Canyon Creek the first time was 2 years ago and the food was excellent, we came back again last year and the food was good but everyone said it was better the year before. But we came back again this year and the food was very bad 2 people ordered steaks one New York Strip and he felt it lack flavor and was not tender the other order the Filet and it was over done but do to timing he ate his meal. The third dinner ordered Salmon as he had done 2 times before and they have changed how they prepare it and he also was unhappy with the flavor of the Salmon.

food5
ambience4
service5

Delicious dishes! Had the 3 course prix ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Delicious dishes! Had the 3 course prix fixe meals. Accommodated food allergy. Great service--prompt and attentive. However, sat next to a group of four and one person was extremely loud the entire time. Thought she might be quiet when she was eating, but no...she went on and on. We know a lot about her life we didn't want to know. Overall, great place and the food was well prepared.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.