Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Canyon Creek - Front Street

Canyon Creek Front Street (2016 OpenTable winner 50 Best Steakhouses in Canada) is located downtown Toronto, just steps from Union Station, Metro Toronto Convention Center and the Royal York Hotel.
Enjoy one of our many dishes served fresh from the kitchen, like our Calamari Fritti, Pan Roasted Salmon or Chipotle Sirloin Steak. Joining us for lunch? Try our popular Canyon Creek Prime Rib Sliders, Baby Kale and Quinoa Salad or Bandera Chicken Tacos.
Join us at Canyon Creek’s lively bar to sip cocktails and engage with a mix of guests, including savvy locals, business professionals, families, tourists and many just heading off a show or game. Move into our dining room for an intimate meal, or book one of the private dining rooms to host your meeting or event at any time.
Whether you’re looking for a delicious dinner before a game or show or live nearby and are looking for exciting conversation, Canyon Front Street is always here to give you a memorable time out.

156 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 2L6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary Canadian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am – 11pm
Friday: 11:30am – midnight
Saturday: 4pm – midnight
Sunday: 4pm – 10pm

Cross Street:
York Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 596-2240

Website:
http://www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca/

Private Party Facilities:
Canyon Creek caters to a wide variety of special events.(Cocktail parties in the lounge; Family get-togethers; Wine tastings; Business meetings in our private boardrooms). Boardrooms are equipped with telephone & modem access, projection screens, and display boards.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca to view our party packages. Items on the regular menu can be easily incorporated into your party package. By attending to the smallest details we’ll ensure that your corporate or social event is memorable!

Canyon Creek - Front Street Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (47)
Casual (42)
Pre/post Theatre (35)
See All
Business Meals (31)
Good for Anniversaries (30)
Special Occasion (29)
Good for Birthdays (29)
Cozy (26)
Good for Groups (25)
Great for Lunch (23)
Quiet Conversation (19)
Romantic (18)
Comfort Food (18)
Fun (15)
Bar Seating (12)
Authentic (11)
Fit for Foodies (11)
Gluten Free Options (10)
Private Room (10)
Creative Cuisine (9)
Modern Decor (9)
Worth the Drive (9)
Happy Hour (8)
Neighborhood Gem (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Notable Wine List (8)
Late-night Find (8)
Tasting Menu (7)
Handcrafted Cocktails (7)
Vibrant Bar Scene (7)
Live Sports (6)
Hot Spot (6)
Paleo Friendly (5)
Family Style (5)
Outstanding Value (5)
Healthy (4)
Quick Bite (4)
Great Beer (4)
Local Ingredients (4)
Tapas (2)
Fireplace (2)
Great for Brunch (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Organic (1)
Vegan (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Waterfront (1)
Scenic View (1)
Molecular Gastronomy (1)
Seasonal (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
2411 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Service was outstanding start to finish. Food was mediocre at best.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

The food was great. Our waiter was a delight. The environment was so cozy. We had a great time . What else could we want for great dining?!they had it all.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

First time dining at a Canyon Creek, chose the the starter, entree, dessert for $37, had the chipotle sirloin and it was VERY tasty, right up there with the Keg!

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Romantic, Fun, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Ottawa)·Dined 5 days ago

A busy Saturday night at this establishment. The waiter was efficient, allbeit a tad rushed, he whizzed by a few times, and as he went by, kept mentioning that our drinks were on their way, though, we're not sure if the comment was for our table or the tables either side of us, because it encompassed all three booths! My steak was fine and my husband said his was OK, but our guests raved about the prime rib. But, hey, for $80 per couple including drinks in downtown Toronto, I think we fared pretty well. We'd go again

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Gluten Free Options, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 5 days ago

I marked on my open table reservation that it was for an anniversary celebration, no one at the restaurant made mention of the occasion. Our server Isaac was friendly, but cleared the entire table of all dishes while we were still seated. We would have preferred that he cleared just the entrée plates and left the rest until we left. Also our lobster and steak did not come with melted butter, and when I asked for melted butter , the waiter brought butter, but not melted butter. So I asked and finally got melted butter. Overall, a great dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Great and nice service

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 14, 2017

I have been going to Canyon Creek for many years but don't think I will return. I felt the cost was not in line with portion size and the restaurant was way to dark.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service4
value1

 
 (Montreal)·Dined on June 13, 2017

one of the few quiet places where downtown , where one can actually hear each other converse

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 12, 2017

Excellent food, great service, our waiter, Jim was attentive, fun, prompt with refills, made excellent recommendations, and that everything was to our liking. A really great lunch experience!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great food, very quiet, great staff. More of an adult restaurant.

Dining Occasion:Date
Tags: Great for Lunch, Pre/post Theatre, Kid-friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Romantic, Sunday Lunch, Happy Hour, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Birthdays, Gluten Free Options, Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Good for Groups, Fun, Hot Spot, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on June 10, 2017

For our 2 year Anniversary dinner this was a great spot for dinner. The price was reasonable for how great the food was..
I am hopping to bring family and friends to this nice place

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Casual, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Seasonal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The service was very good. My friend wanted a spicy dish but there was none on the menu. The server said that the pasta was the easiest thing to make extra spicy and when it came apparently it was indeed spicy and good.

I had a new dinner salad - cheddar and apple. It was much larger than expected and I couldn't eat it all. The dressing was a bit too sweet given that the apples provide sweetness. More apple and a tart or clean-finishing dressing would be my recommendation.

In one respect this place was perfect. I chose it hoping it would not be too loud on a Friday night so my friend and I could talk and got my wish. I simply don't get why the music has to be amped up in places with no dance floor. Conversation was easy - no shouting required. For that reason alone I'll come back and try a few other things on the menu.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 9, 2017

The quality of the food and drinks were great but our server was very slow and unprofessional and gave us attitude when we asked her to correct our order.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Tags: Happy Hour, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service1
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 8, 2017

Although the service was awesome, I found the chicken in the goat cheese penne on the dry side. The chicken was not tender and juicy like how it should be.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Quick Bite, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 7, 2017

First time here and had a great experience. Service was tops (Jim) - food excellent - great value. Ambience was nice - very upbeat but not too loud. Overall really enjoyed it and will certainly be back -would recommend to anyone!

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for Groups, Vibrant Bar Scene, Great for Brunch, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 6, 2017

Cappuccino's were outstanding with baileys!! Food was delicious. Atmosphere was very pleasant and clean. A little dark though...

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Bar Seating, Good for Birthdays, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Good service. Food was good, the fries were dry and seemed to be frozen, but ribs and coconut shrimps apps were very good.

Dining Occasion:Business Meal
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 5, 2017

Have been to canyon creek many times but was disappointed this time with the menu. What was good was that portion sizes were a bit smaller than I remember but overall I found fewer items that appealed.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Business Meals, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 4, 2017

Dinner was very filling and tasty. We dropped in after a Blue Jays game, 20 minutes before our reservation, with no problem getting seated. We'll be going back again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Waiter was awesome good food

Dining Occasion:Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 3, 2017

I simply mentioned that we were celebrating my cousins birthday- when we sat down. We received a complimentary dessert with a sparkler. What a nice surprise! Although we didn't want dessert - we ate the whole thing! Loved it.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 3, 2017

Nice anniversary dinner

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Groups, Fun, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 31, 2017

Great food. Prices are reasonable. Quiet. Great service. Will definitely go back.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 30, 2017

Baked potato was cold, farmhouse stew serving small - other than that its a nice spot.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Cozy, Tapas, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 29, 2017

Our dining experience was very good. Everyone was warm and friendly and our waiter was relaxed but attentive too. He added to our family special birthday celebration with the small touches. Overall great dinner. 👍

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Waterfront, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Notable Wine List, Casual, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on May 28, 2017

found this spot open on Sunday evening for dinner. The food was very good (pasta with chicken and baby kale with quinoa salad). Prices are reasonable and the service was excellent. You go down into a basement area and it is quiet.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Tags: Good for a Date, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 26, 2017

We reserved at Canyon Creek for a meal and drink prior to the Blue Jays game. Service was friendly and food was quite good. There was a reasonable selection of both wines and beers. Pricing was reasonable and the noise level was moderate, but still allowed for conversation. The sports on the TV sets provided a good pre-game atmosphere. I noted that more than half of the diners had Blue Jay attire, so the mood was upbeat.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays, Late-night Find, Pre/post Theatre, Great Beer, Business Meals, Comfort Food, Casual, Live Sports, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Charleston)·Dined on May 21, 2017

We enjoyed everything so much the first night, that we went back the next evening and ordered the exact same dinner.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Special Occasion, Good for a Date, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on May 20, 2017

Best meal and service we had while visiting Toronto from the States. Food was every bit as good as Morton's or Ruth Chris in my opinion, and much more reasonably priced.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Cozy, Casual, Good for a Date, Worth the Drive, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 18, 2017

Great spot for a quiet meal, the food and service was great. This s why I am a regular at this location.

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual, Comfort Food, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 17, 2017

I like this restaurant because it always has something on the menu that I like (sometimes too much to be able to choose!). The menu has a great variety. The shared items have an unusual twist on common appetizers. My friend had never been to a Canyon Creek and was very impressed. The service was very attentive and we loved the birthday dessert.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

What a great experience! We visited for Mothers Day. The service was spectacular! Kenny is one of the best servers we have had in a long time. First experience at this location and will definitely be back! Thank you for making it special.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Gave us our own private room because they knew we had an event going on without even having to ask. We were late but still seated and treated like queens thanks to brad and his team ! Thanks a lot will be returning

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Quiet Conversation, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Happy Hour, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Fireplace, Modern Decor, Gluten Free Options, Vibrant Bar Scene, Special Occasion, Private Room
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on May 13, 2017

While the service was friendly, it took longer than we had hoped to get our food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 12, 2017

Excellent as always. This was my first trip to the Front Street location, it was wonderful. Thank you for great service and excellent food.....

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Detroit)·Dined on May 10, 2017

We loved the apps... one in our party did not care for their entree

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 10, 2017

Table was ready when we arrived, excellent service, food was hot , great tasting food, no wait time at all

Dining Occasion:Friends' Get-Together
Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Great Service. Great Food. Definitely recommend visiting.

Dining Occasion:Everyday Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

Fabulous! Everyone had a good time and we got a private room so we were happy. Hamburger was excellent.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 6, 2017

We had a table near the kitchen. It was very hot there. Our waiter was busy with a large group. No one removed my salad plate when the main courses arrived. Our table was very small. A very disappointing dining experience.

Dining Occasion:Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience1
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.