Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi
  1. Distance: 0.00mi
  2. Distance: 0.01mi
  3. Distance: 0.11mi
  4. Distance: 0.17mi

About Canyon Creek - Front Street

Canyon Creek Front Street (2016 OpenTable winner 50 Best Steakhouses in Canada) is located downtown Toronto just steps from Union Station, Metro Toronto Convention Center and Royal York Hotel.
Enjoy one of our many dishes served fresh from the kitchen like our Calamari Fritti, Pan Roasted Salmon or Chipotle Sirloin Steak. Joining us for lunch? Try our popular Prime Rib Sliders, Baby Kale and Quinoa Salad or Bandera Chicken Tacos.
Join us at Canyon Creek’s lively bar to sip cocktails and engage with a mix of guests, including savvy locals, business professionals, families, tourists and many just heading off to see a show or game. Move into our dining room for an intimate meal, or book one of the private dining rooms to host your meeting or event at any time.
Whether you’re looking for a delicious dinner before a game or show or live nearby and are looking for exciting conversation, Canyon Front Street is always here to give you a memorable time out.

156 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 2L6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary Canadian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am – 11pm
Friday: 11:30am – midnight
Saturday: 4pm – midnight
Sunday: 4pm – 10pm

Cross Street:
York Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 596-2240

Website:
http://www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca/

Private Party Facilities:
Canyon Creek caters to a wide variety of special events.(Cocktail parties in the lounge; Family get-togethers; Wine tastings; Business meetings in our private boardrooms). Boardrooms are equipped with telephone & modem access, projection screens, and display boards.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca to view our party packages. Items on the regular menu can be easily incorporated into your party package. By attending to the smallest details we’ll ensure that your corporate or social event is memorable!

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:45PM

Sat 7:30PM - 11:45PM

Canyon Creek - Front Street Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

92% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (192)
Good for a Date (186)
Pre/post Theatre (169)
See All
Special Occasion (149)
Business Meals (147)
Good for Groups (138)
Cozy (133)
Good for Anniversaries (121)
Good for Birthdays (118)
Quiet Conversation (105)
Great for Lunch (96)
Comfort Food (95)
Romantic (95)
Creative Cuisine (66)
Fun (63)
Outstanding Value (57)
Fit for Foodies (49)
Bar Seating (49)
Modern Decor (44)
Notable Wine List (39)
Neighborhood Gem (38)
Private Room (38)
Worth the Drive (37)
Family Style (36)
Quick Bite (36)
Late-night Find (35)
Gluten Free Options (35)
Happy Hour (31)
Authentic (27)
Tasting Menu (27)
Great Beer (26)
Vibrant Bar Scene (24)
Sunday Lunch (23)
Live Sports (22)
Hot Spot (21)
Paleo Friendly (16)
Handcrafted Cocktails (16)
Seasonal (16)
Local Ingredients (15)
Great for Brunch (10)
Good Vegetarian Options (9)
Waterfront (8)
Fireplace (7)
Tapas (6)
Open Kitchen (6)
People Watching (6)
Spicy (5)
Molecular Gastronomy (4)
Afternoon Coffee (4)
Scenic View (2)
Historic (2)
Organic (2)
Wood Oven (2)
Vegan (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Live Music (1)
Dancing (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
2476 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Spent date night at Canyon Creek. Food was great. Service was fast and friendly. Overall an enjoyable experience. Short walk to the harbour front / CN Tower / etc. so good jumping off point for whatever you want to do downtown.

Tags: Good for a Date, Tasting Menu, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 4 days ago

Last Saturday, my husband and I and 2 other couples went for a nice dinner.
It was a short walk from our hotel-the Fairmont Royal York.
The atmosphere was wonderful. Our waiter Dima was very friendly and knowledgeable.
And mainly the food was amazing. The menu is very big and there were a lot of choices.
We had 3 appetizer platters: Calamari, spinach and Cheese Dip and Lobster Guacamole! I liked all 3 of them.
For the main course I had Fillet and Lobster!
Steak was cooked to perfection and was melting in my mouth! Other people had Prime Rib and Rib-eye!
Overall, we all enjoyed our food. Thank you for having fun us!

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Fun, Good for Birthdays, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Houston)·Dined 4 days ago

Great food and friendly service.....what more could one ask for! The Guacamole with Lobster was awesome....and we are very hard to please with Guacamole! We did pric fixe.... great food! Soup, salad, chicken, prime rib... both desserts! Nice evening!

Tags: Good for a Date, Fit for Foodies, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined 5 days ago

Great place and the service was awesome!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 15, 2017

My husband said they were the best ribs he had ever had.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on August 14, 2017

Great value and quality in a steak-house plus. Our waiter was excellent as was the food. Just about perfect! Hard to believe this nice an atmosphere, quality, and reasonable pricing for the quality in the heart of downtown Toronto. Far exceeded our expectations.

Tags: Special Occasion, Quiet Conversation, Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Business Meals, Good for a Date, Hot Spot, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 14, 2017

I stopped here with a friend after the 360 Restuarant at the CN tower messed up our reservation. We got excellent service and the food was great! It really made up for the disappointing let down from the original reservation we had booked. We definitely recommend and will be back! :)

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Afternoon Tea, Special Occasion, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Waiter was unreal, she was attentive and kind. Definitely a place for a good steak!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

 
·Dined on August 13, 2017

Very slow service. Manager came over to apologize, but did no offer any compensation. Food was cold and taste was disappointing. We had dined here 6 months ago and enjoyed it. We will not be returning. The restaurant was not busy at the time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value1

 
·Dined on August 12, 2017

Server was great...very friendly and understanding of our young children!

Tags: Good for Groups, Tapas, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 11, 2017

I made a reservation for 8pm for 2 people. When I got there at 8, I was immediately greeted and given a very nice table. Our server, Mark, came by within a couple of minutes with the menu and to take our drink orders. After a few more minutes he came back to take our food order, just as we had just finished deciding. We ordered: the peruvian crispy chicken, Asian tacos, coconut shrimp, and a side order of seasonal veggies. About 10 minutes after we ordered, we received a fresh, right-out-of-the-oven multigrain bread with a side of sweet butter. The bread was so moist, soft, warm, and delicious, but we wanted to save more room for our other plates, so we had to abstain from more bread. The sweet butter complimented the bread really nicely, too. Our dishes cane out within 10 minutes after the bread was brought to our table. The best dish was definitely the peruvian crispy chicken, as all the flavours were on point. It was a bit spicy, but not overwhelmingly so. The coconut shrimp was our second favorite. It had the right amount of crunch, and the coconut flavour did not overwhelm the shrimp taste - I just wish they put 6 shrimps instead of 5 per order. The Asian nachos were definitely a bit too salty and too saucy for our liking. It left us both with a very dry mouth afterwards despite drinking so much water. Overall, great service, great atmosphere, and great food. I'll be back again :)

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Very noisy
Food was tasty
Portion sizes were good, perhaps a little on the large size

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
·Dined on August 8, 2017

Service was Excellent, as well as the Food

My Issue was the lighting. I know I am in the minority, but I hate low level lighting

Especially your restaurant, because it is underground

Tags: Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5
value3

 
·Dined on August 6, 2017

We used to go for the pork chops. You were the chophouse. Now chops are not offered any longer

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value3

 
 (Atlanta)·Dined on August 5, 2017

I don't eat meat very often but the chipotle prime rib I had was very, very good. I was starving so I ate everything off my plate and left full. The only "negative" I have was the butter they provided with the bread they bring to every table. It was a sweet butter but would have complimented the bread better if it were a savory, salted butter. That is verrryyyy minor so basically I had a great experience there.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined on August 4, 2017

Took a friend here after a spa day and the food was good, service was good, the only complaint was a couple of dirty glasses, which the server took and replaced with clean ones. Would come again and recommend to others.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Romantic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 31, 2017

Good food espucally the prix fixe but service was a little slow. We were there almost 2 hours.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 30, 2017

Always a great dining experience, I have meal there every time I am in Toronto. Jonathan was a wonderful server, had a wonderful time. See you next time I am in Toronto.

Tags: Special Occasion, Cozy, Business Meals, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Quiet Conversation, Tasting Menu, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 26, 2017

Great food and great service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

Great steaks and sliders.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on July 25, 2017

Really enjoyed the bread, honey butter, shrimp ravioli (which I'd never had before and was delicious) and Kim Crawford wine. It was all excellent.

Tags: Special Occasion, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Fun, Casual, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Cozy, Good for a Date, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 25, 2017

The food was great! The device was great! Price was great! We all left happy!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Tampa)·Dined on July 24, 2017

Terrible dinner. Only saving grace was they comped the meal. Mixup on order. 40 minutes wait for main course. Absentee waiter. Awful experience. Busy but no excuse.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value1

 
·Dined on July 24, 2017

This restaurant is a gem. Everything is tasty. From the garden burger, to the trout or
the prime rib , you won't be disappointed.
The wine and desserts were reasonably priced and enjoyable.
The service was excellent. I can't wait to return.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

 
·Dined on July 23, 2017

Was not very flexible with dinner options. E.g. Wanted mushrooms on the side but couldn't do it...probably because there were hardly any put in dish. Dessert wasn't worth having ...was served in a thimble instead of a dish.

Tags: Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (New York Area)·Dined on July 22, 2017

I took a client there for dinner and it took us 3.5 hours to finish a quick dinner. Our server must have been overwhelmed serving multiple tables and our main course order was only placed in 20 min after we had finished eating our appetizer - around 40 min after we had started then one of the order was mistakenly brought with mashed potatoes when specifically asked for none. Food was good but service really bad

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

 
 (Omaha)·Dined on July 22, 2017

Some of the handcrafted cocktails were good. The gin ones were too strong. Lobster was pretty decent. Steak was seasoned well but not a good cut of meat. Shrimp was cheap quality for expensive prices.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value2

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 21, 2017

Some plates were mixed up and food took longer to arrive. The server was polite (she and the bread and honey butter) were probably the "best" of the evening

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

vip
 (Richmond)·Dined on July 20, 2017

Wonderful experience! Will be returning. The Summerlicious Menu is a bargain.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value2

 
·Dined on July 19, 2017

My girlfriend and I visited Canyon Creek for the Summerlicious menu. We respectively ordered the Bangkok Tostada, Tomato Fennel Soup, two Chimichurri Sirloin, Mango Ice, and Key Lime Pie. The soup was appetizing, tostada was crispy, and steak was scrumptious. The Key Lime Pie, however, was slightly too sweet.

The atmosphere was classy, with friendly and helpful waiters.

The restaurant is recommendable.😋

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Gluten Free Options, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2017

Excellent food...dark restaurant...it is in a basement...though the ambiance is great.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 17, 2017

My friend and I wanted a place where the food was good and we were able to hear each other talk. Canyon Creek Front Street fit the bill nicely. Service was excellent - thank you Alejandro!

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Romantic, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Our waiter was very disorganized. He asked if we wanted bread and 20 min later still no bread. 15 minutes and 2 requests later to get regular horse radish which was ordered when he took the order. Prime rib was half fat. This used to be our go to place when we travel to Toronto for venues but it seems to have maybe gone downhill. Appetizers were good though.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

We had a fabulous dinner, we tried the "summerlicious" and was very pleased with the offering and the flavour of our meals. The service was great at the bar side and the restaurant too. We always go there before shows and would continue going. With our reservation, everything went super smooth and the staff were so customer oriented, they should give lesson to other restaurant! Thank you.

Tags: Tasting Menu, Happy Hour, Cozy, Local Ingredients, Healthy, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2017

Summerliciois menu as promised. Good value. Ambiance is a bit too dark.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Lunch, Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

 
·Dined on July 14, 2017

Summerlicious menu was very tasty. Wine selection great. But service from Kenny and Ian was outstanding. Friendly efficient good jovial humour. Kenny should train all canyon creek staff in exceptional customer service!

Tags: Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

A chance to get together with old friends. Great private room and waiter Chad terrific. Highly recommend the food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2017

Very good but this particular Friday the food came out too slowly and the lunch was well over 90 minutes in length, usually it is much quicker. Nevertheless I will be back.

Tags: Business Meals, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 12, 2017

Good summerlicious lunch, good service, menu plus decent price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Waterfront, Paleo Friendly, Seasonal, Sunday Lunch, Tasting Menu, Quiet Conversation, Live Sports
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2017

Well the food and drinks were excellent the only downside was that the washrooms were a complete disaster… This is all part of the dining experience as well and should be tended to more regularly

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.