About Canyon Creek - Front Street

156 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 2L6
View Larger Map

Canyon Creek Front Street is located downtown Toronto, just steps from Union Station, Metro Toronto Convention Center and the Royal York Hotel.
Enjoy one of our many dishes served fresh from the kitchen, like our Calamari Fritti, Pan Roasted Salmon or Chipotle Sirloin Steak. Joining us for lunch? Try our popular Canyon Creek Prime Rib Sliders, Baby Kale and Quinoa Salad or Bandera Chicken Tacos.
Join us at Canyon Creek’s lively bar to sip cocktails and engage with a mix of guests, including savvy locals, business professionals, families, tourists and many just heading off a show or game. Move into our dining room for an intimate meal, or book one of the private dining rooms to host your meeting or event at any time.
So whether you’re looking for a delicious dinner before a game or show or live nearby and are looking for exciting conversation, Canyon Front Street is always here to give you a memorable time out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
American, Steakhouse, Contemporary Canadian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am – 11pm
Friday: 11:30am – midnight
Saturday: 4pm – midnight
Sunday: 4pm – 10pm

Cross Street:
York Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 596-2240

Website:
http://www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca/

Private Party Facilities:
Canyon Creek caters to a wide variety of special events.(Cocktail parties in the lounge; Family get-togethers; Wine tastings; Business meetings in our private boardrooms). Boardrooms are equipped with telephone & modem access, projection screens, and display boards.

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Private Room, Takeout, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca to view our party packages. Items on the regular menu can be easily incorporated into your party package. By attending to the smallest details we’ll ensure that your corporate or social event is memorable!

Restaurant Photos

Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street
Canyon Creek - Front Street

Promotions

Monday- Crafted Tall Cans

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Tuesday 5-7pm 8 Oz Wine for the Price of a 5 Oz

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Sat & Sun - $6 Caesar & $24 pitchers of Mojitos

Saturdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Wednesdays & Thursdays -Tasters & Taps @ 5

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Fridays After 5 - $3.00 Off Crafted Cocktails

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Promotions

Monday- Crafted Tall Cans

Mondays from 4:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Tuesday 5-7pm 8 Oz Wine for the Price of a 5 Oz

Tuesdays from 5:00 PM - 7:00 PM

Details
Sat & Sun - $6 Caesar & $24 pitchers of Mojitos

Saturdays and Sundays from 5:00 PM - 11:00 PM

Details
Wednesdays & Thursdays -Tasters & Taps @ 5

Wednesdays and Thursdays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details
Fridays After 5 - $3.00 Off Crafted Cocktails

Fridays from 5:00 PM - 11:30 PM

Details

Canyon Creek - Front Street Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

4.3

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

91% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown/ Financial District ›

good for groups (104)
special occasion (74)
fit for foodies (63)
See All
great for lunch (55)
romantic (42)
neighborhood gem (36)
notable wine list (23)
hot spot (20)
late-night find (16)
kid-friendly (15)
vibrant bar scene (14)
great for brunch (4)
great for outdoor dining (3)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
1936 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

The restaurant never disappoints.... gre ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

The restaurant never disappoints.... great food, value and atmosphere.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Canyon Creek never disappoints. Food, s ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 4 days ago

Canyon Creek never disappoints. Food, service, overall experience is always great

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Before finishing salad, they served main ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

Before finishing salad, they served main dishes. That made me lush to eat.

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

I had a summerlicious lunch. The appert ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined 6 days ago

I had a summerlicious lunch. The appertizer was very delicious. I had a togarashi tuna on crisp corn chips . For the main course, I had shrimp ravioli. It was very tasty but lack of vegie. I was disappointed with the desert. I had a banana cream pie. There is no pie! They put everything into a small bottle jar! Same for my friend's desert. He had a strawberry shortcake. They mixed everything into a small jar and served. There was no shortcake at all!

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The server was very inattentive and igno ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The server was very inattentive and ignored us numerous times when we were asking for drink refills. We began signalling for other servers and they ignored us as well as they quickly walked to the kitchen. The wait for food was extremely long and took well over 45 minutes after appetizers for our entrees to come out. When our server finally came by, we asked when our food would be coming out and he responded rudely and did not even answer when it would come out. The food came out shortly after and was already cold. In addition to the lack of service, the washrooms were gross with tissue paper all over the place and an overflowing basket of hand paper towels near the door. Definitely would not recommend this place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1

Great place to grab a bite before catchi ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Great place to grab a bite before catching a concert at Rogers Centre!

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

I was very disappointed in the food. I ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

I was very disappointed in the food. I ordered the pork chop with a sauce and warm potato salad. The sauce for the pork chop was just jam and the " warm potato salad" was deep fried potatoes with fried onions. My husbands sandwich was dried out and barely edible. This was the second time being here. The food the first time was so much better. Unfortunately probably won't come back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value2

Very busy day in downtown Toronto with b ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Very busy day in downtown Toronto with both Guns and Roses and Def Leppard concerts along with the Honda Indy. Had a 5:30 reservation and was not a problem. Service was great and we were in and out in about 70 minutes but didn't feel rushed at all. Kudos to Jaryd (our server), he was fantastic! Best of luck with your music career Jaryd!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was excellent and the service w ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

The food was excellent and the service was incredible. We were served by Shaun and he was very friendly, prompt and attentive.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Surprsingly great prices for the locatio ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 16, 2016

Surprsingly great prices for the location. Steps from Union Station, Rogers Centre and ACC. Friendly service. Made a last minute change to my party and they accomodated us. There were vegans, vegetarians and meat lovers in our party, and there was something for everyone. Highly recommended.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We went for Summerlicious. The food was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

We went for Summerlicious. The food was good, and service was excellent

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Canyon Creek Front Street was a great ex ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 15, 2016

Canyon Creek Front Street was a great experience. Went during Summerlicious, and the menu was excellent - taste and value. Service was excellent - when our server was tied up with another table, there was always someone who would step in.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Food is decent and good value. Great pl ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Food is decent and good value. Great place for a casual meal with friends to chat.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Went for Summerlicious and the food was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Went for Summerlicious and the food was lovely as was the service. It was a bit on the loud side but we were there during the lunch rush and during the summerlicious even so this was to be expected. I would recommend this a nicer alterntive to Jack Astors or other big box chains.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The summerlicious menu was amazing. I st ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

The summerlicious menu was amazing. I started with the tuna appetizer, peruvian

chicken rice bowl and the dessert was the banana cream pie. Everything was delicious.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

Great food for Summerlicious, although t ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 11, 2016

Great food for Summerlicious, although the atmosphere was dark and similar to The Keg steakhouse. It was a warm sunny day and I would have preferred to be outside. Probably a good place to go in the winter. Service was also good but nothing crazy spectacular

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service4
value4

The food was excellent and we enjoyed th ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

The food was excellent and we enjoyed the atmosphere. Location was key for us too. Service was ok. Seemed like she had too many tables and wasn't able to quite give us the attention we would have liked. Had to wait a little longer than we should have a couple of times. The menu is fantastic. Definitely something for everyone.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, late-night find, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service2
value5

There are many great things to say about ...

 
 (Ottawa)
·Dined on July 9, 2016

There are many great things to say about this restaurant but the most notable is our server. He was friendly, had a good touch of humour when dealing with us and was overall very pleasant. He went out of his way to accomodate us and went as far as suggesting to split up a meal in two so that I could have two different meals on one plate. The steaks were tender and the marinades all worth trying. We were four and we all tried different steaks: rib eye done medium rare, the chipotle, the truffle steak and the filet mignon. Everyone loved their meal. Defintely a place to try again when in Toronto. Well done!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great find Service was friendly Food was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Great find

Service was friendly

Food was good quality

Loved the draft sampler

Tags: fit for foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value4

My son and I dined at Canyon Creek prior ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

My son and I dined at Canyon Creek prior to the Jay's game! Our steaks were prepared very well, and were exactly to temperature. When we received our meals we were a little put out because we were under the impression that seasonable vegetables were included (which was stated). It was a tiny little pile of a dozen leaves of Baby Spinach, with some scattered shoestring beetroot that was very woody and bland. Perhaps this was only decoration, not intended for eating?

Anyway, we will know for next time and will inquire about an included vegetable, as we will dine here again!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3

We were looking for a place to get a bur ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

We were looking for a place to get a burger before going to the ball game. Canyon Creek worked out well and the burgers and fries were good.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value3

Salty, portions small, pricey! Party of ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 7, 2016

Salty, portions small, pricey! Party of 3 on Prix menu, bill was quite expensive for lunch

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Made reservations online and requested a ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on July 4, 2016

Made reservations online and requested a quiet table cause it was my wife's birthday, we got the quiet surroundings but no acknowledgment on my wife's birthday, a piece of cake would have been nice especially after hearing happy birthday being sung to another guest!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Canyon Creek wasn't our first choice for ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Canyon Creek wasn't our first choice for an evening meal, but we could book it on line - that was the decider. We weren't disappointed with our choice, we were made welcome and served efficiently, the meal was very good and a decent wine list to choose from. An intelligent server looked after us well. We enjoyed our evening and would happily use Canyon Creek again.

Tags: group bookings, romance, special occasions, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

The food was excellent and the waitstaff ...

 
 (Atlantic City)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

The food was excellent and the waitstaff friendly and knowledgeable. They make a great Bloody Mary too!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

We arrived at the same time as guests wh ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

We arrived at the same time as guests who had their appetizer and main course served to them (and they were almost done eating their main) before we got our appetizers.

There was a couple who arrived after us who received their burgers/main courses before we had any food as well. It was very confusing and upsetting given we were hungry.

The management of the restaurant did address our concerns but we didn't enjoy seeing the food come to other guests before us knowing we had arrived well before them.

Tags: romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2
value3

I went with my realtor. He had a club sa ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 27, 2016

I went with my realtor. He had a club sandwich and salad. I had the kale and quinoa salad, it was tasty. Our server was very personable, his name was Alejandro from the Dominican Republic.

It was not a bad experience, likewise it was not noteworthy.

They have a lunch menu that starts at $12.95, very centrally located.

Tags: great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

Our server, Megan was prompt and courteo ...

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Our server, Megan was prompt and courteous. My husband and I had the prix fixe menu, both opting for Caesar salad and prime rib. The salad had too much dark green romaine for my liking, but otherwise was good. The prime rib was excellent, and the blueberry-lemoncello creme brûlée was lovely.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

We were impressed by the quality of the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 22, 2016

We were impressed by the quality of the food and the excellent service. We do occasionally visit the restaurant because of these factors and intend to do so in the future.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Every time we go to Canyon Creek it neve ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 21, 2016

Every time we go to Canyon Creek it never disappoints!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Everything tasted excellent. Service was ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Everything tasted excellent. Service was efficient and collegial.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My wife and I were visiting Toronto and ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

My wife and I were visiting Toronto and this place was near where we were staying. Great service and reasonable price. My wife and I both had steak and were not disappointed. Great meal!

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was amazing and a beautiful res ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

The food was amazing and a beautiful restaurant. Our server on the other hand (have been here several times and this is a first - generally service is terrific) was absolutely awful. He greeted us at the beginning of the dinner, was quite lovely, then never returned. I had to get up and find him to ask for a second glass of wine and refill of our water glasses (which were never refilled), our dinner dishes were piled on our table for at least 20 minutes until I finally grabbed him while he went by our table to ask for them to be cleaned up and for the bill. Upon bringing the bill, he says "oh, here we go, the cheapest bill". Very condescending and rude. After ordering appetizers, wine and main meals I don't believe that we should be judged or commented on with a "cheap" bill. His tip was 10% due to all the above. If I had him again I would leave.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

Good place for a quick meal before a con ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

Good place for a quick meal before a concert at Roy Thompson Hall. Rather dark ambience but food was OK and the server very pleasant and helpful.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service4
value3

We love going to Canyon Creek before the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

We love going to Canyon Creek before the theatre. Great food and service always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

I like the privacy of the tables and the ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

I like the privacy of the tables and the clean air.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Our experience for the most part was goo ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 13, 2016

Our experience for the most part was good except the server told us at one point that our meals would be coming out shortly and then we waited almost 30 minutes after that until we received it. When we got our meals the steaks were just warm, not hot.....like they had been sitting for a while. But the all-inclusive menu was the best bet.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value5

Straightfoward fare. Very busy restauran ...

 
 (Edmonton)
·Dined on June 12, 2016

Straightfoward fare. Very busy restaurant, had original reservation for 6 people but requested to add 2, front reception seemed unwilling to help but another staff person was able to assist when approached. seemed understaffed but very pleasant waiter. Salmon was to be cooked medium but definitely well done, could tell was under heat lamps for a bit due to cracked film on the pea puree. It does have a generous selection of meals items to choose from and everyone seemed to enjoy their meal.

Tags: good for groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

We were so happy with our experience at ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

We were so happy with our experience at Canyon Creek! My husband has food allergies and the server made him feel very assured right from the time we sat down. The food was outstanding and everyone was pleased with the whole experience. We will definitely return to Canyon Creek to enjoy another great dinner!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Chicken sandwich is always great

vip
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Chicken sandwich is always great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.