About Canyon Creek - Front Street

156 Front Street West
Toronto, ON M5J 2L6
View Larger Map

Canyon Creek Front Street (2016 OpenTable winner 50 Best Steakhouses in Canada) is located downtown Toronto, just steps from Union Station, Metro Toronto Convention Center and the Royal York Hotel.
Enjoy one of our many dishes served fresh from the kitchen, like our Calamari Fritti, Pan Roasted Salmon or Chipotle Sirloin Steak. Joining us for lunch? Try our popular Canyon Creek Prime Rib Sliders, Baby Kale and Quinoa Salad or Bandera Chicken Tacos.
Join us at Canyon Creek’s lively bar to sip cocktails and engage with a mix of guests, including savvy locals, business professionals, families, tourists and many just heading off a show or game. Move into our dining room for an intimate meal, or book one of the private dining rooms to host your meeting or event at any time.
Whether you’re looking for a delicious dinner before a game or show or live nearby and are looking for exciting conversation, Canyon Front Street is always here to give you a memorable time out.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Steakhouse, Contemporary Canadian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Monday-Thursday: 11:30am – 11pm
Friday: 11:30am – midnight
Saturday: 4pm – midnight
Sunday: 4pm – 10pm

Cross Street:
York Street

Dress Code:
Smart Casual

Price Range:
CAN$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Diners Club, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 596-2240

Website:
http://www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca/

Private Party Facilities:
Canyon Creek caters to a wide variety of special events.(Cocktail parties in the lounge; Family get-togethers; Wine tastings; Business meetings in our private boardrooms). Boardrooms are equipped with telephone & modem access, projection screens, and display boards.

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Happy Hour, Late Night, Non-Smoking, Private Room, Wine

Special Events & Promotions:
Visit www.canyoncreekrestaurant.ca to view our party packages. Items on the regular menu can be easily incorporated into your party package. By attending to the smallest details we’ll ensure that your corporate or social event is memorable!

Restaurant Photos

Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Asian Nachos - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Kale & Quinoa Salad - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Burger, Sandwich, & Salads - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Bandera Chicken Tacos - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Cheesecake - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Garlic Shrimp Ravioli - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Tasters & Taps - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Calamari - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Butternut Squash Soup - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Lettuce Wraps - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Tandoori Chicken Salad - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Tasters Taps - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Sesame Sirloin Salad & Kale & Quinoa Salad - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Brownie - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Lobster Guacamole - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Low Country Fried Chicken - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
South West Chicken - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Clubhouse Sandwich - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Smoky Bacon Burger - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Pan Roasted Salmon - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Sesame Sirloin Salad - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Steak & Baked Potato - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Caeser - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON
Cocktails Friday - Canyon Creek - Front Street, Toronto, ON

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

Specials

Christmas Eve Special Menus & Offers

Saturday, December 24, 2016

Details

Treat yourself to a little something extra this holiday season. Add a 4oz lobster tail to any meal for just $10.99

Available December 5th - December 31st

Instantly increase your points with dining rewards

See availability for bonus point tables

Details
Sun 4:00PM - 10:00PM

Mon 11:30AM - 11:45AM 12:00PM - 1:00PM 1:15PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 11:00PM

Tue - Fri 2:00PM - 3:45PM 4:00PM - 4:00PM 8:00PM - 10:45PM

Sat 7:30PM - 11:45PM

Canyon Creek - Front Street Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.4

ambience

4.1

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

93% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto / Ontario
Most Booked 1000-Point Tables
Toronto
Best Restaurants in Downtown / Financial District ›

Special Occasion (72)
Casual (68)
Good for Groups (67)
See All
Business Meals (59)
Good for a Date (52)
Pre/post Theatre (47)
Cozy (46)
Great for Lunch (41)
Good for Birthdays (39)
Comfort Food (35)
Romantic (34)
Good for Anniversaries (33)
Quiet Conversation (32)
Outstanding Value (25)
Creative Cuisine (24)
Fit for Foodies (21)
Neighborhood Gem (21)
Family Style (20)
Private Room (19)
Late-night Find (18)
Modern Decor (16)
Fun (16)
Bar Seating (15)
Notable Wine List (15)
Gluten Free Options (14)
Healthy (12)
Quick Bite (11)
Happy Hour (10)
Live Sports (10)
Vibrant Bar Scene (9)
Sunday Lunch (9)
Worth the Drive (8)
Kid-friendly (8)
Hot Spot (7)
Tasting Menu (7)
Great Beer (6)
Authentic (6)
Great for Brunch (6)
Local Ingredients (6)
Seasonal (6)
Spicy (5)
People Watching (4)
Handcrafted Cocktails (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Molecular Gastronomy (3)
Waterfront (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Historic (2)
Fireplace (2)
Afternoon Coffee (2)
Open Kitchen (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
Scenic View (1)
Live Music (1)
Tapas (1)
Organic (1)
Wood Oven (1)
Sort By:
S
2104 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Prime rib sandwich was very fatty. Frenc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 2 days ago

Prime rib sandwich was very fatty. French fries were cold on arrival at table

Tags: Cozy, Business Meals
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value4

Food was great as always. would definite ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 3 days ago

Food was great as always. would definitely go back. Service a bit slow. but it does get really busy at lunch time. i think there was a convention going on and people were coming in for lunch.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

We were a party of 4, for a pre-concert ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

We were a party of 4, for a pre-concert dinner. The staff were very friendly, professional and efficient. The food & wine were delicious!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Food was great as usual. Wine was grea ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was great as usual. Wine was great - but our server was less than present for the entire meal.

We had to wait for her to come back and order dessert and the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value4

Service by Shawn the waiter

 
 (New England)·Dined 5 days ago

Service by Shawn the waiter

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

My husband was disappointed with the pri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 6 days ago

My husband was disappointed with the prime rib, it was chewy and not very tender.

Tags: Quiet Conversation, Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value4

Great Food and Service. Our server Ken w ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Great Food and Service. Our server Ken was knowledgeable and personable - he took great care of our group. Carved and Crafted Steaks were delicious.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Business Meals, Private Room, Cozy, Good for Groups, Quiet Conversation, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Authentic, Creative Cuisine, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Romantic, Pre/post Theatre, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Dinner was great. Server was excellent. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Dinner was great. Server was excellent. Didn't like being put

by the kitchen door. This seems to be a pattern here - if you're not in a group of 4 or more, you get the cheap seats. We'll be more forceful the next time. Just were happy we could get a reservation before the Leafs game on Grey Cup weekend.

Overall, definitely recommended.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience2
service5

Our server Isaac was wonderful as was th ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined 7 days ago

Our server Isaac was wonderful as was the food. We arrived late due to traffic and bad weather. Upon our arrival we sere sat promptly and Isaac took great care of us to get us fed and out in time for the Toronto Leafs hockey game. The chipotle entree from the new "carved and crafted" menu was very good as well as the "Brooklyn Sour" cocktail.

Will continue to keep Canyon Creek as our go to restaurant before we go to the ACC.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Handcrafted Cocktails, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our server was great! Very energetic and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Our server was great! Very energetic and pleasant throughout the evening.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The overall experience was positive but ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 25, 2016

The overall experience was positive but not extraordinary. The food took a while to get to the table and the server was a little unsure about dairy free options. I did request dairy free options at the time of booking the reservation. The overall service was good and the server was always available.

Tags: Cozy, Good Vegetarian Options, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

We had a great night - delicious food, e ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 22, 2016

We had a great night - delicious food, excellent service and a classy yet welcoming atmosphere.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

I have been there many times. The food a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 22, 2016

I have been there many times. The food and service is always great. My guests were very impressed.

Tags: Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The food was "melt in your delicious". ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 18, 2016

The food was "melt in your delicious". The service was great.

Tags: Creative Cuisine, Happy Hour, Good for Birthdays, Authentic, Spicy, Romantic, Cozy, Seasonal, Business Meals, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We had a brief window of time to have a ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 17, 2016

We had a brief window of time to have a our meal, prior to attending a symphony concert. The staff were terrific in advising us about quickly available options...and in getting our order to the table. The food was good, too! WE have been here on a few occasions and all have been really good service and food.... in its own range.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Canyon Creek is one of my favourite 'loc ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 16, 2016

Canyon Creek is one of my favourite 'local' places to go to have a nice meal, at a good price and BE ABLE TO HEAR WHAT YOUR PARTNER/GUEST IS SAYING! I think they engineer it to be quiet and that is a wonderful change from most of the other downtown restaurants.

Tags: Casual, Neighborhood Gem, Cozy, Comfort Food, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

Nice place. Menu has something for every ...

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on November 13, 2016

Nice place. Menu has something for everyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Went with son and his girlfriend for din ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Went with son and his girlfriend for dinner before Raptor game. Ken, our waiter was prompt , polite and helpful with our selections. Service was quick and we had plenty of time before game. Would definetly return but would like to see a menu change up every once in a while as we are regulars and it has become quite predictable.

Tags: Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

I booked a table through the online rese ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 11, 2016

I booked a table through the online reservation system and noted that it was our 2nd Wedding Anniversary, hoping that they would have put something on the table or at least make mention of it but nothing was said or done. Not a big deal but what is the point of having a Special Requests/Notes section if nothing is done with it.

We both basically had the same meal. Prix Fix menu, prime rib. My wife had the soup and I had the caesar salad, we were not even halfway done the appetizers and our main course came. The Prime Rib was perfectly cooked but there was way too much fat on the meat. I realize prime rib is a fatty beef but we left almost half of the meat. We did not complain at the time as we were going to the Leaf game after our meal.

Dessert was very good.

Our server was very friendly, fast but seemed to be very rushed. Perhaps they were understaffed that night.

Overall we had a decent meal but for the price we paid, we definitely expected better.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value4

great food and service was incredible

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 11, 2016

great food and service was incredible

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We appreciated the gluten free menu and ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 10, 2016

We appreciated the gluten free menu and attention to detail. The meals were delicious!

Tags: Organic, Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Wood Oven
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value3

We were very disappointed with the overa ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

We were very disappointed with the overall experience. We were seated at 6:00pm and immediately told that the Prime Rib Feature was not available. This is not acceptable at 6:00 on a Monday night.

Also, our main course of very dry baked salmon, on an unappetizing plate, was dumped in front of us without even clearing away the remains of our very overpriced "Lobster???" Guacamole!

Overall, it was a very disappointing meal.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service1
value1

Very friendly and efficient service. Wel ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 7, 2016

Very friendly and efficient service. Well done. I'd never been before but I would definitely go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Compared to the Canyon Creek location in ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Compared to the Canyon Creek location in Etobicoke (from what i remember) this location is somehow lacking. Ya sure it has a modern style decor with lots of Ansal Adams photographs all over the walls which was lovely and the food is not terrible it was tasty enough, but it wasn't something to write home about. The staff was fine, our experience just did not live up to our expectations. I guess if you want to take your family to a restaurant that isn't like the Red Lobster type scenario, which i consider to be the McDonald's of Seafood restaurants, this restaurant would, in my opinion, be close to the same vein. Certainly above the McDonald's or Red Lobster level, but by no means a Barbarian or Michael's type of steak dinner dinning experience, actually, not even a Canyon Creek or The Keg, as i find them both better, food and environment wise. Price wise it is a reasonable option i guess. Still, regardless of the food scenario the environment played a big part and that is what we didn't care for ultimately. Perhaps it was the clientele that gave off a negative, you know T shirts and jeans kind of scenario sort of feeling. Anyway many people may enjoy it, we didn't enough to bother ever returning in the future that's for sure, as there are so many better restaurants to go to in the general area like on King or Queen Street, or in the downtown core. A nice option for a family outing perhaps. Or a work lunch scenario. Not a nice date night. Of course that's just my opinion.

Tags: Modern Decor, Casual, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value3

$36 prix fixe menu was great: Choice of ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

$36 prix fixe menu was great: Choice of a) two salads and soup b) 4-5 entrées (Prime Rib 8oz was one) and c) 2 desserts.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Absolutely wonderful, loved the food, lo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Absolutely wonderful, loved the food, loved the atmosphere, loved the service!

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Great for Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Pre/post Theatre, Healthy, Romantic, Good for a Date, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Creative Cuisine, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was amazing and staff were very fri ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Food was amazing and staff were very friendly !!!! The food and drinks came fast .. would defiantly go back and recomend to everyone !

Tags: Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The group enjoyed the food and atmospher ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 5, 2016

The group enjoyed the food and atmosphere. The waitress was very pleasant.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Tasting Menu
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Memorable Service Good value

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 4, 2016

Memorable Service

Good value

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

My friend and I had the 3 course meal. ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 3, 2016

My friend and I had the 3 course meal. It was delicious and a good value.

Tags: Outstanding Value, Business Meals, Special Occasion, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Service was great! The birthday girl was ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 2, 2016

Service was great! The birthday girl was gluten and dairy free so instead of a birthday dessert they brought a glass of prosecco with a sparkler! Made her night.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service5

Good food - service a bit slow at times ...

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

Good food - service a bit slow at times but we had gone before a hockey game. Much prefer this level of noise - we could have an actual conversation vs that at neighboring places that you would have to yell into someones ear to actual be heard.

Tags: Quick Bite
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value4

We're a fairly frequent visitor to Canyo ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

We're a fairly frequent visitor to Canyon Creek, albeit over a few different locations. It was a night where the Leafs were in town, so restaurant was very busy and our entrees were slow. My guest's entrée was overcooked and dry, but they made arrangements to replace it fairly quickly and comp'd a glass of wine. We love the Caesar salad and the pumpkin spice crème brulee was awesome! The fixed price menu is great value! Overall, we'll be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value4

we attended on a hockey game night, the ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on November 1, 2016

we attended on a hockey game night, the server was very busy and service was not the best and the food was warm/cold that had to sent back, I assume as it was waiting to be picked up.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

They have delicious steaks, prime rib an ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 30, 2016

They have delicious steaks, prime rib and ravioli. The location is great if you are heading to a game at the ACC afterwards. It is an easy walk. It is also walking distance to Front Street, Union Station and the subway. Great location, great food and a great spot to go with friends before attending a sporting event!

Tags: Gluten Free Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Good food with great service. Always a n ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Good food with great service. Always a nice experience

Tags: Special Occasion, Outstanding Value
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

People were very nice. We didn't feel ru ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 29, 2016

People were very nice. We didn't feel rushed at all. Dinner was delicious and the dessert (banana & coconut creme pie) was amazing.

Tags: Pre/post Theatre, Good for a Date, Quiet Conversation, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The service was excexcellent and not rus ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

The service was excexcellent and not rushed. Our steaks were perfectly cooked

Tags: Romantic, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Bar Seating, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We organized a gathering of friends who ...

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 28, 2016

We organized a gathering of friends who had not seen each other in over a year. Making the reservation online was so easy and efficient

Our meals were excellent and so was the service. Our server was amazing and really was an integral part of our evening being such a success

Tags: Gluten Free Options, Worth the Drive, Afternoon Coffee, Healthy, Quick Bite, Comfort Food, Business Meals, Good for Groups, Authentic, Good for a Date, Cozy, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The prix fixe special is a great deal. I ...

 
 (Atlantic Canada)·Dined on October 26, 2016

The prix fixe special is a great deal. If you're thinking about going to the Keg or Moxie's, go here instead.

Tags: Business Meals, Notable Wine List, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.