About Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

7000 N. Resort Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85750
View Larger Map

The Canyon Cafe is the perfect spot to savor modern American cuisine with southwest soul. Soak in breathtaking views of the Catalina Mountains from both indoor and outdoor seating.

Join us every Sunday, when we feature our Blues, Brews & BBQ Brunch, voted #1 Tucson Brunch two years in a row by Tucson Guide. Traditional and not-so-traditional brunch fare including locally brewed beer and favorites from the grill. Enjoy live music from the Tucson Jazz Society. A hip and casual way to relax on a Sunday. $42.00 per person.

Chef Ken Harvey showcases his modern American cuisine with a southwest twist, while focusing on locally sourced ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
N Kolb / Sunrise

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(520) 615-5496

Website:
http://www.loewshotels.com/en/Ventana-Canyon-Resort/dining/restaurants

Entertainment:
Live Music every Sunday during Brunch, featuring Local Blues Artists.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Complimentary Valet available

Private Party Facilities:
For private events in one of our banquet rooms, please contact our Catering
Team. We can accommodate parties from 10-600 guests in size for
weddings, fundraisers, corporate meeting, or any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Audra Barrios: 5205297912x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

100% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Phoenix / Arizona
American
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Tucson
2 More
Best Food
Tucson
Best Ambiance
Tucson
Best Restaurants in Tucson ›

great for brunch (38)
scenic view (23)
special occasion (23)
See All
good for groups (17)
great for outdoor dining (15)
fit for foodies (14)
romantic (8)
great for lunch (7)
kid-friendly (7)
neighborhood gem (6)
hot spot (6)
late-night find (2)
vibrant bar scene (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
212 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

As ALWAYS, my experience here was stella ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As ALWAYS, my experience here was stellar. This is the first time I was motivated enough to write a review however, and it is because of our waitress, Linda. Oh my goodness she added to the mood of our outing, she was so helpful and friendly. The Canyon Café Brunch is more delicious every time I go. I would highly recommend the brunch to anyone who likes good food- and lots of it!!

It costs 52 per person, gratuity included- but it is worth it! With that price, in addition to all you can eat breakfast, seafood, fresh grill, dessert and more... AND unlimited mimosas, craft beers, one Bloody Mary. ANNND you get to spend all day at the pool after. All included. So it's not just brunch, it's 52 dollars for a day staycation with delicious food.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Only disappointment was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great. Only disappointment was that the blues player was outside and it was too hot to eat outside; so couldn't hear him perform.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place for Sunday brunch! Tons of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place for Sunday brunch! Tons of choices with free flowing mimosas, bloody marys and beer :)

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been going to the Canyon Cafe's Su ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been going to the Canyon Cafe's Sunday brunch for several years and it is always an incredible selection of great food. The barbecued salmon and pineapple are my favorites, along with the chocolate covered strawberries and peach cobbler. The prime rib was a bit too rare this time and the barbecued brussel sprouts a bit too raw, but we always find good food choices that are cooked the best anywhere.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

There's a reason why their brunch is rated #1

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was excellent ! My wife who is a vegetarian really enjoyed her fill of freshly grilled vegetables. We usually have a difficult time finding a brunch that has high quality items for vegetarians while proving me with a great selection of meats. Service was great and the settings was terrific

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my wife had a very wonderful time ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Me and my wife had a very wonderful time. The food was delicious, your servers were very tending to the customers . I will be returning for Fathers day. But this time with family! I bragged so much that my wife made the reservations. lol!

Thank you!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch, late-night find, scenic view, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrible holiday service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten brunch here several times on non-holidays. His was our first Mother's Day bring and we found the lack of service horrible. We ended up several times with empty glasses of mimosa and plates needing to be cleared. I think the wait staff not serving or table were trying to help or inattentive waiter out because they would help sporadically but we only saw our actual waiter twice. He would come out from the back, look around, then return to the abyss I saw him do this several times while we had empty glasses and were trying to find room for new plates. We also waited over 20 minutes to have our check picked up. Never again will I pay a premium on a holiday, the service just wasn't worth the visit.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

H Great service, we were outside-harmoni ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

H

Great service, we were outside-harmonica guy didn't need a mic, seafood bad, prime rib bad, desserts great. Been there many times but this was a bump in the road. They did have the reservation but s at a table that was too small for one person let alone two. Would not offer us a table for 4 even though there were several tables for 4 with 2 people. Ended up outside with seriously loud music and bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Pretty awesome experience. I would come ...

 
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Pretty awesome experience. I would come early though if you are a prime rib connoisseur. It wasn't as tender as advertised and my kids all faced me and said, "ours is better."

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view, neighborhood gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have brunch here at least once a year

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a very special place to dine. There is food and drink for everyone. You can sit outside and listen to live music which is fun or inside where it is quiet enough to enjoy conversation with the people you are with. The views are stunning from anywhere. The only bump we experienced is that this time my mom was using a walker. From the front door to the restaraunt is a fairly long way-especially for an elder, and it is on indoor flagstone, so very tricky for a walker. The hotel did have a wheelchair which did the job but was literally duck-taped togehter. Without the wheelchair my mom would have had to go home.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, scenic view
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lavish brunch buffet

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to Loews Ventana Canyon for Easter brunch, and it was a lavish and spectacular spread of food, from breakfast to salads, seafood, barbeque, and desserts. Our group of eight enjoyed a leisurely meal and a walk up to the waterfall afterwards.

Tags: brunch, group bookings, outdoor eating, special occasions
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location and average brunch...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The brunch at Canyon Cafe used to be fantastic, however the price has gone up and the quality has gone down. It is still a beautiful location, but just not the same as it once was. I asked for a piece of prime rib and I wasn't actually sure what it was that I received. I had never seen prime rib cut in half and then carved. Maybe that is so kids aren't as wasteful or maybe it was lack of skill on behalf of the carver. The chuck wagon theme is nice for tourists, but I miss the time when the brunch was much more refined. The beer choices are also trendy. I was surprised that there was nothing middle of the road like a lager... just dark, porter (darker and heavier), and IPA.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Love Sunday brunch!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I love the Sunday brunch at Canyon Café. We came for his birthday last weekend, and it was as delicious as ever. Live blues music, outdoor dining, and that fabulous outdoor grill with grilled meats, fruit, and vegetables - blows away other places, in our opinion. We look forward to coming back!

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, attentive service, great food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful place to eat and see the mountains while having great food and service

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, scenic view, notable wine list
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location and fine food

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

great food, very nice location, good service, overall great. Nice selection of deserts, breakfast, and lunch, all prepared with a special touch

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had better brunches

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We have been to the Loews Ventana Canton Blues Brews and BBQ brunch 5 times before and it was exceptional. This time it was not. We had brunch at 11am and they had already run out of mushrooms and eggs Benedict. There were no toppings for the waffles like before. Service was lacking as we had to wave down other servers multiple times. The desserts were nothing spectacular like normal. For $50 a person after tip we expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Great Sunday Brunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We ate here for the Sunday brunch, and it was great. Lots of choices, endless mimosas, and an attentive staff.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not as good as in past

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

This was our third time here for a holiday buffet and while we had really enjoyed it in the past, this year was disappointing. The quality of the food seemed to have deteriorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

The best Buffet in Tucson !

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The staff was great.

The food was exceptional.

The electric guitar was calming and entertaining.

We will be back for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Well worth the cost as every thing made it our best Christmas ever.

Tags: special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Brunch 2015 version

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We have been having our Christmas meal at the Sunday brunch for many years. We love shellfish and they have never disappointed. Lots of choices: breakfast items, bakery, BBQ, sushi/sashimi, hot carved meats and salmon. The charcuterie and salad selections were a little sparse this year. Dessert choices were a little limited too compared to other years and the Bloody Mary mix it yourself bar was gone. However the one complimentary Bloody Mary, plentiful mimosas and draft beer were more than adequate.

One thing that never changes is the friendly and helpful serving staff.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Tucson Favorite Sunday Brunch.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

The selection is always great and DELICIOUS. We went at the last minute, and couldn't get in until the last seating and were disappointed because a lot of the selections were gone and they did not replenish. A lot of the food was cold at the breakfast area, and the sushi..... well the rice was not soft. Should not have tried it. But even so, it is still the best brunch in town with the best prime rib, brisket, and other items at the outdoor grill, and along with the mimosas, yea, really good. Some of the desserts are incredible for a buffet. We love it , but will make sure we get in earlier next time.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Canyon Cafe to celebrate my h ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We went to Canyon Cafe to celebrate my husbands' birthday. The food was fantastic - items I've never seen on a brunch menu before, with lots of healthy choices. Service was attentive without being cloying. The food was widely spaced - desserts to tempt you as you entered, breakfast bar in the back, seafood bar near the entry and barbecue/grilled items outside with the band. The result was a lively display, but no lines. My husband was presented with a beautiful dessert plate of items not on the brunch bar, that he could take home. He enjoyed that meal two more days as a result. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sunday Brunch

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The Sunday Brunch is amazing - tons of food, bottomless mimosas, and live music! If you are staying the weekend at LVC, this is a must.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellency but icy

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The food was excellent but it was incredibly cold in the entire establishment. This made the food go cold faster than normal and hard to enjoy. Other than that. Great as usual.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, romantic, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Never disappointing

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Great Sunday brunch. Our first choice for out of town guests and local friends. Food is wonderful and service is great. Too many food choices to eat at once so we just keep going back!

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, scenic view, hot spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent food and service!

vip
 (Portland)
·Dined on October 18, 2015

Excellent food and service!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Tucson Brunch

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 6, 2015

The Canyon Cafe has a well-deserved reputation in Tucson for having the best Sunday Brunch. The selection and quality of food is unsurpassed. The only downside is the price.

Tags: great for brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Awesome Bruch at Canyon Cafe!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 30, 2015

I had not been to the Canyon Café in a long time. It has not lost its excellence! The Sunday Brunch at this restaurant was one of the best I have had the pleasure to dine at in years. Great food, great ambience, helpful customer service and an amazing view made this a very memorable outing. The brunch was a little pricey but I would not hesitate to go back again.

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

BEST BRUNCH in Tucson!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

The BEST BRUNCH in Tucson by far! All of my favorite food in one place! Unlimited mimosas and amazing bloody mary. The only thing that would make it better would be to have a sushi chef on hand.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Come hungry!

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 23, 2015

This is the third time we have been to the Sunday buffet and we have never been disappointed. We take all of our out of town guests here. The food is top notch and the fact that you can have breakfast, lunch, dinner, dessert, etc is perfect for everyone's needs. Make reservations ahead of time as the prime time (11-1130) fills up quickly. We like to sit outside and listen to the little jazz/blues ensemble. We have heard different performers each time and they have all been great! Oh and bottomless mimosas! We add a splash of cranberry juice to ours for a different option.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Great selection.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 16, 2015

Great selection.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1

Brunch at Canyon Cafe

 
 (Caribbean)
·Dined on July 12, 2015

OMG! What an amazing brunch! Huge variety and everything was delicious. Great value, wonderful food, beautiful scenery. There was also live music by the outdoor barbeque. What fun! It couldn't have been better. We had a ball!

Tags: great for brunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

July 4th Celebration

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 5, 2015

We chose to go to Ventana for dinner on the 4th of July because the resort was reserved for private parties and it was near to our house. I reserved our table through open table but did not realize that we would be seated outside. The weather was fine but we were told we would be restricted to the July 4th buffet and would not be able to order off of the menu. We said that was fine but should have checked the buffet items first. The food was fine but nothing special - mediocre mac and cheese, salad, mashed potatoes, hot dogs, rubbery chicken, and meatloaf. Again, the food was okay but not for the price that they charged. We also saw several other tables next to us ordering from the menu even though we were told we couldn't do that. I also wasn't able to find a menu online for the Canyon Cafe which would have been helpful in determining which of the Ventana restaurants to choose in the first place.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4

Great way to spend a Sunday afternoon

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 28, 2015

Ah, Sunday champagne brunch! It doesn't get any better than here. Beautiful views, gracious ambiance and all the champagne and/or craft beer you can legally handle. They have shrimp, oysters, roasted pork loin, prime rib, ribs, omelette station, cheese/cold cut station,grilled veggies, humumgous dessert tables. All for $42 and the table service is great. No rush.

We've been here numerous times before and we love coming back.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Another terrific Adventure at Brews, Blues, BBQ

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 21, 2015

My family has much enjoyed the Brews, Blues, BBQ brunches many times. The Canyon Cafe offers terrific food, service and a unique experience.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, great for lunch, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Sunday Brunch Only Fair

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 14, 2015

The Sunday brunch has some high points (an outdoor barbecue with good prime rib and barbecue ribs), but the offerings were generally only adequate and the desserts were uninspired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service3

Best Sunday Brunch in Tucson

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

My husband and I celebrated our 31st wedding anniversary at the Canyon Cafe's Sunday brunch on May 24th, and it was as fantastic as ever. The cafe opens up the doors to the patio so it's easy to get to the grilled food out in the BBQ area. The grilled food (asparagus, pineapple, salmon, brisket, BBQ ribs, prime rib, chicken) is our favorite, but the desserts are wonderful and the cold seafood (clams and shrimp) are really good, too. The wait staff is very attentive refilling the drinks and taking away empty plates. We walked along the paved paths to the waterfall above the pool area after eating, and visited the butterfly garden and the overlook above the pool. On our way out, there were some docents from the Desert Museum in the lobby with an owl, a bull snake, a scorpion, a golden eagle and a tarantula on display. That was an extra bonus to a great celebration of our anniversary.

Tags: great for brunch, great for outdoor dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

Thirsty

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

With the all you can eat atmosphere at times it seemed a little little haphazard. However If you want something to drink other than the endless mimosas or beer you will find uourself up the creek without a paddle and thirsty.

Outside grill was delish, but maybe they should invest in a proper tent for shade, the random pool Umbrellas didn't seem to do the trick. We are in the desert!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1

Great but exceptional

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 24, 2015

The Cafe was excellent. for brunch, if you are inside, make sure you are out of the sun. Try to go early, it gets crowded at about 11:00. The food was well done.

Just outside is the pool and as usual a party atmosphere.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Mother's Day Brunch

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 10, 2015

Canyon Cafe has the best Sunday brunch in Tucson - maybe in AZ. The shrimp were huge & juicy & the mussels cooked perfectly. The cocktail sauce was the perfect spicy blend. My husband had a number of helpings of bacon which he thought was cooked to perfection as were the eggs benedict. The prime rib couldn't have been better & while I've always liked salmon, the grilled salmon was outstanding; juicy with a fabulous flavor. Lots of sides and choices. Loved everything.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, scenic view
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.