Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

About Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

The Canyon Cafe is the perfect spot to savor modern American cuisine with southwest soul. Soak in breathtaking views of the Catalina Mountains from both indoor and outdoor seating.

Join us every Sunday, when we feature our Blues, Brews & BBQ Brunch, voted #1 Tucson Brunch two years in a row by Tucson Guide. Traditional and not-so-traditional brunch fare including locally brewed beer and favorites from the grill. Enjoy live music from the Tucson Jazz Society. A hip and casual way to relax on a Sunday. $42.00 per person.

Chef Ken Harvey showcases his modern American cuisine with a southwest twist, while focusing on locally sourced ingredients.

7000 N. Resort Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85750
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
N Kolb / Sunrise

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(520) 615-5496

Website:
http://www.loewshotels.com/en/Ventana-Canyon-Resort/dining/restaurants

Entertainment:
Live Music every Sunday during Brunch, featuring Local Blues Artists.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Complimentary Valet available

Private Party Facilities:
For private events in one of our banquet rooms, please contact our Catering
Team. We can accommodate parties from 10-600 guests in size for
weddings, fundraisers, corporate meeting, or any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Audra Barrios: (520) 529-7912

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.7

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.6

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

4.3

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (26)
Special Occasion (17)
Sunday Lunch (16)
See All
Good for Groups (13)
Live Music (12)
Scenic View (12)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Worth the Drive (11)
Good for a Date (11)
Good for Birthdays (10)
People Watching (9)
Great for Outdoor Dining (9)
Casual (8)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Fun (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Kid-friendly (6)
Comfort Food (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Healthy (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Family Style (4)
Romantic (4)
Disabled Access (4)
Great Beer (4)
Good Vegetarian Options (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Hot Spot (3)
Local Ingredients (2)
Seasonal (2)
Vegan (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Authentic (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Modern Decor (1)
Historic (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
S
316 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Orlando)·Dined 2 days ago

One of the best brunches!! Has something for everyone! Second time here and will definitely come again.
Outstanding food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
·Dined 2 days ago

I've been going to Canyon Cafe's Sunday brunch every so often for over a year now. We always ask for Dannelle as our server! She takes great care of us, as do the rest of the staff, and we're always treated to amazing food in the beautiful Sonoran desert. If you like a wide variety of food, bottomless mimosas, and great service, then this is definitely the place for you :)

Tags: Good Vegetarian Options, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Creative Cuisine, People Watching, Great for Lunch, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Fun, Disabled Access, Scenic View, Great Beer, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Healthy, Great for Brunch, Cozy, Romantic, Quiet Conversation, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 13, 2017

Brunch offered unbelievable variety, it's an event more than a meal.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Live Music, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 10, 2017

Best burger I've had in quite some time. Loved the views and service was great. Really enjoyed our lunch.

Tags: Afternoon Coffee, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 6, 2017

Found the biggest gray hair in my oyster. Everyone didn't finish eating. What a waste of $42.00 times 6

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value1

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 30, 2017

We had a great view. This was my first brunch at this site. The extras that were included were impressive such as bloody marys and beer.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date, Fun, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Have been to brunch a few times. Each time it seems to decrease in quality. Breakfast food was cold. Waffles were cold, stale and that was usually my kid's favorite part. Dessert cookies stale. Granola berry bake was also stale and not edible. the Mac and Cheese is normally the best but this time it was left out sitting too long and cold, clumpy. I tried to tell someone about the waffles and cookies but they just looked at me. Breakfast food not rotated and was cold. BBQ stuff was good. I hope it gets better. Mothers day was awesome and fathers day was great. This time, not so much, especially for such a heafty price tag.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5
value1

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on July 16, 2017

It was awesome everything overall

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 16, 2017

From the moment we arrived until the moment we left, our server Melonie and her assistant Denis were very accommodating. Fantastic variety of foods to choose from. Though we were unable to try many things on offer at the buffet (because we were so full), everything we did have was very tasty and the bottomless mimosas were also a really nice touch.
We will definitely be back.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 16, 2017

Six of us went for the Buffet. It has the best variety of seafood, meats, desserts, etc. and great Mimosas. Service is excellent, our dishes are picked up once they are empty so we may get more food.. We have gone numerous times over the years and the quality of the Canyon Cafe has never changed, always fantastic. Danelle our server always has a smile and is very efficient. I ask for her when making reservations. You never feel rushed when sitting and enjoying the conversation of the people you are with. It is a great place, we will return again soon.

Tags: Casual, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on July 16, 2017

We've done the Champagne brunch with our bunch several times. You can't beat the variety of food.......omelets on demand, eggs Benedict, Sushi, oysters, salmon on the grill, roast beef, grilled veggies and of course, Mac and cheese. Don't miss this if you are in Tucson on a Sunday. 11:00 till you quit. Oh yeah, live music too and the servers are great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on July 1, 2017

The dining room has a wonderful view of the mountains and the staff was very professional and friendly. Great for get together of friends.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Requested special occasion recognition (25 yr anniversary) which was NOT recognized. Brunch selections have been reduced. Service was spotty at best. At $42 per person, we expected at least, our anniversary cookie or cup cake w/sparkler. Swimming pool users should be required to use basic pool cover up attire when entering/using the food service and eating areas.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on June 25, 2017

Lowes Canyon Cafe is one our favorites for a relaxing sunday brunch . Its always busy and reservations are recommended all year. Never had a bad day at their sunday brunch. Its a very happy crowd and great choices of food for your enjoyment and be sure to save room for Desserts..

Tags: Good for Groups, Comfort Food, Live Music, Good Vegetarian Options, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Disabled Access, Hot Spot, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very disappointing all the way around. Was really looking forward to brunch and booked a table for 7 to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. When I confirmed my reservation I was told that the birthday would be recognized. We arrived and were seated a table for 6, not 7. We had to find an extra chair on our own and waited 10 minutes for service and to get an extra place setting. I asked for coffee but my husband had to ask again 20 minutes later to remind the server to bring coffee. Although all of the adults at the table drank coffee we never got refills. We had to ask almost every time to get refills on our mimosas. The food selection was varied but most of the food was marginal at best. The service was terrible. We had to stack used dishes on our table as a hint to the servers to clear the table. Although we saw other servers recognizing birthdays at other tables, my husband's birthday was never acknowledged. The biggest insult was that a 20% gratuity, which in my opinion should be reserved for service that is well above average, was automatically added to our check with no option to adjust appropriately. Ridiculous. Do yourself a favor a pay the extra $10/person for Hacienda del Sol. I will never return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great location, food & service! Always a pleasure every time I'm at this property!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was good, but for the cost of brunch the endless mimosas definitely made it worth it

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have been there many times over the years and will continue to return. Everything is beyond reproach, there is absolutely nothing to complain about. Wish there were more restaurants that valued their patrons as they do here. Food is always good. . Service is great when you consider how many people they serve. Danielle is our favorite server, always very attentive and smiling. Robert makes a good omelet.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vegan, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the best resorts we have been to. The customer service was top notch!!! Beautiful location for a variety of occasions.

Probably the best Sunday brunch I have had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Another great afternoon enjoying the blues, brews and BBQ brunch. Food and beer was great as usual and the servers went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. Can't wait until next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at the Canyon Café and it was lovely. After the meal we took the short walk up to the 30 foot waterfall along a beautiful rock pathway beside a gurgling little stream. The setting and the beauty of this awesome resort always fills my heart. It is one of the loveliest places in all of Tucson and hence a real favorite of mine.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The resort is in a nice place, and the staff is pretty nice. The problem is the food, the oysters looked like popped balloons full of mud. The ribs were dry. The mac n cheese was watery. Truly, not terrible. Nevertheless, it's not worth the price of 42 greenbacks per person. I would only recommend it if you plan on getting your moneybag worth in drinks. If you want to get tanked, this might be a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is our 4th visit to the Canyon Cafe brunch at Ventana Canyon in Tucson. The food is consistently delicious and plentiful. Service can be slow but not painfully slow....just a lag between the request and having your needs met by the wait staff. Nothing major. The Jazz is phenomenal as are the mimosa's. The brunch has become an "anything goes" as far as dress code which takes away from the ambiance a bit, but it is a resort so to some degree that is expected. Bottom line, the main thing is the food and it is amazing. Definitely go and enjoy yourself!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for the Mother's Day Brunch. A bit spendy, but it was a special occasion. Friendly service; lots of choices from the menu. Not rushed through the meal.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was great ... too much food, but delicious. Very attentive staff. A bit pricey

Tags: Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch was out of this world! So much good food to pick from and bottomless mimosas. We will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We all had a wonderful time celebrating Mothers Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent dining venue - BBQ buffet- delicious! My husband and I decided we would put this dining option on our cslendar at leasr a couple of times s year.

We thank everyone for their attentive amd professional service.

Tags: Scenic View, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food! Huge selection! Servers were wonderful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had our usual good time, great food and fun together. I look forward to the next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Sunday Brunch at the Canyon Cafe is always top-notch. The food is always fresh and delicious. Having great live music is a plus!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The whole afternoon was wonderful, the food was delicious and the way everything was presented was great. Loved the whole afternoon

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of the best brunch experiences ever! Service was excellent, food was superb, ambiance was perfect. Delicious selection of entrees, side dishes and desserts. Service was unobtrusive and professional. Refills offered in a timely manner and empty plates removed efficiently. Comfortable and casual with beautiful views.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best Sunday Brunch in Tucson; I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The cost of the food was over rated. If a facility is going to have such a big event, they need to have someone assigned to keep the bathroom clean and supplied with toilet tissue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch. Everything was top notch. Great food & terrific service. Lots & lots of choices which we loved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have attended Sunday Brunch at Loews Ventana Canyon in the past and they have always been enjoyable and the price was $42.50 a person. Decided to take my husband, son and daughter-in-law to Loews for Easter Brunch. First off, you have to book online through Open Table since you could only get voice mail recording every time you called hotel directly. Booked on open table a reservation for 4. There was never any indication on Loew's Ventana Canyon website or on Open Table about the cost of the brunch. I nearly fell out of my chair when I got the bill for $80 a person. I almost cried and my family felt sorry for me handling such a large bill. My husband does not drink, and is on a restricted diet so it was a waste paying for drinks for him. My son is diabetic so the same applies. I do have to say the selection of food was truly outstanding. We were seated outside under the tent and it felt like we were at one huge wedding celebration. The lamb while delicious was very fatty same for the prime rib. We all commented that so many of the meals contained too many weird spices. (must be because we are so close to the border) While we all enjoyed the brunch it was ruined by the sticker shock of the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful experience but was a little too costly. No wonder I could not find the price listed anywhere at almost $100/person. I would rather have had less selection and pay less. Meat selection was less than other brunches at Loews at a lower price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter Brunch. Probably the best Easter brunch I have had in many years. So many choices and all were excellent. Non-stop champagne and Bloody Marys. Fantastic desert bar. Puts many of the Vegas buffets to shame. A bit pricey at $80 a person but worth it once a year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was lovely. We sat outdoors -'it was a beautiful day and the service was superior as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.