Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

About Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

The Canyon Cafe is the perfect spot to savor modern American cuisine with southwest soul. Soak in breathtaking views of the Catalina Mountains from both indoor and outdoor seating.

Join us every Sunday, when we feature our Blues, Brews & BBQ Brunch, voted #1 Tucson Brunch two years in a row by Tucson Guide. Traditional and not-so-traditional brunch fare including locally brewed beer and favorites from the grill. Enjoy live music from the Tucson Jazz Society. A hip and casual way to relax on a Sunday. $42.00 per person.

Chef Ken Harvey showcases his modern American cuisine with a southwest twist, while focusing on locally sourced ingredients.

7000 N. Resort Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85750
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
N Kolb / Sunrise

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(520) 615-5496

Website:
http://www.loewshotels.com/en/Ventana-Canyon-Resort/dining/restaurants

Entertainment:
Live Music every Sunday during Brunch, featuring Local Blues Artists.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Complimentary Valet available

Private Party Facilities:
For private events in one of our banquet rooms, please contact our Catering
Team. We can accommodate parties from 10-600 guests in size for
weddings, fundraisers, corporate meeting, or any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Audra Barrios: (520) 529-7912

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Specials

Easter Restaurant Specials & Reservations

Sunday, April 16, 2017

Details

Join us for Easter Brunch 10am to 3pm

Mother's Day Menus & Specials

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Details

Celebrate mom today with our fabulous brunch served 10am to 3pm

Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.6

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Scenic View (17)
Sunday Lunch (12)
Great for Outdoor Dining (10)
See All
Great for Brunch (10)
Worth the Drive (9)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for Birthdays (8)
Fun (8)
Good for Groups (8)
Good for a Date (8)
Live Music (7)
Creative Cuisine (7)
Comfort Food (7)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Family Style (5)
Seasonal (5)
Casual (4)
Disabled Access (3)
Local Ingredients (3)
People Watching (3)
Romantic (3)
Good Vegetarian Options (3)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Fireplace (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Business Meals (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Healthy (2)
Fit for Foodies (2)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Coffee (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Live Sports (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Organic (1)
Late-night Find (1)
Kid-friendly (1)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Bar Seating (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Sort By:
S
271 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined 6 days ago

We come to the Sunday Brunch as often as possible for special occasions(usually once or twice per year). Everything was excellent as usual except the oysters on the half shell didn't taste fresh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined 6 days ago

The sea food doesn't taste nor smell fresh or good, it all tastes farm grown and not fresh nor appetizing. The prime rib was really chewy and had a lot of fat in it, the pork robs were also incredibly chewy and had a lot of fat and pieces of tendon. The ceviche is really not good, Ive tried great ceviche in mexico, and this was flat out the worst. The shrimp I will say everything else was very good. Seirously, every single other type of food there was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We enjoyed meal, music and walking through grounds after lunch. Unfortunately, I seemed to have had some food that made me very sich several hours after. Suspect it was from desert area as open to people walking by and not covered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous food. Amazing experience. One of the best Sunday Brunches I have ever had! I'd strongly recommend it! They do live Blues music. They include bottomless mimosas and beer with brunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Messed up our reservation, which was not good since we had special friends visiting. We did not get the table we had requested and the service was awful. The food itself was wonderful and the music gave it all a festive air.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was the third time we've made Sun brunch reservations. The open table option was easy; hadn't used it before. Service was quick, efficient & staff was very friendly. The outside grill is unique. It includes grilled veggies, various meats & fruit. Inside start with shrimp, sushi, several different salads. Order an omlet to taste. There's bacon and sausage and many other choices. Another unique offering is craft beer on the patio. This is the first time I've ever seen beer included in a Sunday champagne brunch. The restaurant rselves. itself is large & beautifully decorated. The views amazing. They offer valet parking; we parked ourselves. They have a regular menu but we've only been for brunch. We live in No Nevada but spend winter in Tucson. This is one of our go-to spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a hotel restaurant. We hoped to have lunch at the highly recommended Flying V restaurant at the resort, but they are only open for dinner. This is a very attractive room--quiet and with a view of the mountains and pool area, very pleasant ambiance. The lunch menu is very standard. There are sandwiches a few salads and some soups. We hoped for something a bit more imaginative. That said, The dishes are all very well prepared, however, with some imaginative twists. They are all reasonably priced. The steak salad had a substantial steak, but almost no salad. There were some radicchio leaves, almonds and blue cheese. Sadly, the steak was well cooked but lacking flavor. The guacamole was delicious, and the service was impeccable. Since there are few dining options in far Northeast Tucson, I would recommend this cafe for lunch for convenience, but I wouldn't recommend a special trip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic visit to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort for brunch. Enormous selection of tasty and attractive dishes, attentive but not cloying service. It was our second visit in as many years. Considering we don't live in Tucson, I'd say that's a good recommendation all by itself. We will return when we come through next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The music was very good. Although the selection of food was wide, overall, the food was mediocre. I went to the grill bar and was given an entire T-bone (I asked for a piece) and when I got back to the table, it was overcooked and cold. The breakfast food buffet was no better or worse than most, but certainly not first class.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Had both lunch there the first day of our stay. Fish tacos were dry and low quality.

Had breakfast buffet the next day and the food was excellent!! Although a little on the expensive side. Highly recommend the breakfast buffet. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best brunch in Tucson!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just lovely. Was there for a meeting and had the regular lunch menu, everything was simply delicious And exceeded expectations . The waitstaff were terrific! They were serving Sunday brunch (which I will go back for) the selection Foods and quality were phenomenal ( observing from peoples plates ) and smelled terrific!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great brunch buffet and great atmosphere...the service was ok...it is usually better. I've been there times when they do not let your champagne glass get half empty before refilling it. Must have been understaffed this day. Still great!!! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing Christmas brunch! From the outdoor beer and BBQ to the rows and rows of food beautifully displayed inside, it was overwhelmingly awesome! Fresh made personal pasta and omelette chefs and seafood galore! The kids loved the juice shots and the chocolate fountain! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I made the reservation for Sunday brunch. Food was as described in many reviews (good and varied but not exceptional).
All online information indicated that the cost was $42 per person.
The bill was presented to my husband who paid it without comment in front of our guest.
Only later did I discover that this was a holiday event at a cost of $79 per person.
I believe that information should have been disclosed at the time of the reservation or when the venue contacted us to confirm.
I would never return for a "holiday event " nor recommend it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Day Brunch was awesome! Kind of expensive at $80 each but a lot of choices and quite delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My daughter and I had Christmas Day Brunch, which this year, Christmas fell on Sunday so it was perfect. We could have stayed all day eating, if I was not watching my weight. The food was spectacular. Not a thing was missing!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As many time as we have gone, we are never disappointed. This was a family event . Our daughter & family here for Christmas from England.
Thank all for a delightful time.
See you again, next year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 17, 2016

After a long life I have learned to give due consideration to the simple things. At the Canyon Cafe the lunch special was a half grilled cheese sandwich and a cup of soup. So I gave it a try. Fantastic! The sandwich was a big half, a tomato/Canadian bacon melt on perfect large-cell bread. The soup was pork pasole. Outstanding! Someone in the kitchen knows! I will seize every opportunity to bring my guests here. BTW: the server was very accommodating.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Quiet Conversation, Paleo Friendly, Fun, Business Meals, Scenic View, Family Style, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on December 11, 2016

It was just a little cold, we sat outside, when I made the reservation I was told there would be some sun. You guys should invest in heat lamps. Otherwise everything was very good.

Tags: Fun, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on December 4, 2016

Another successful brunch. Never dissapointed food is always 1st class. As a brunch buffet goes. The food is always hot always nd he BBQ is cooked to perfection. A great range to choose from.

Tags: Worth the Drive, Casual, Fun, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Cozy, Good for a Date, Comfort Food, People Watching, Local Ingredients, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 24, 2016

The best Thanksgiving Buffet ever!!! The selection went on forever. The staff was always available to help. Tables were spaced far apart, for private conservations. Relaxed atmosphere Never felt rushed, even though they were slammed with people. Everyone was so friendly!!!

Tags: Seasonal, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Casual, Great for Lunch, Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

To celebrate my 75th birthday, my wife asked where I would like to go. My immediate response was, "Ventana Canyon Sunday Brunch." We've been there numerous times in the past and I would go there again next Sunday.

The champagne and craft beer (Barrio) flow, the food selections are enormous, the service (Thanks Tina & Denis) are wonderful. Shrimp, oysters, prime rib, ribs, fish, chicken, cheeses, fruit, salads, omelette station and every brunch item you can imagine are available.

Our group of six were delighted. as usual.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Special Occasion, Great for Outdoor Dining, Worth the Drive, Live Music, Scenic View, Great Beer, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on November 6, 2016

My first visit to Canyon Cafe with 3 other family members... the Blues, Brews & BBQ brunch was a pleasant experience. The only disappointment was that the grilled fish and ribs were overcooked. Everything else was great... the service, the music, and the rest of the food!

Tags: Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

vip
 (Tucson)·Dined on November 6, 2016

Not like it used to be...

For those folks who have been going there for a long time you know that it isn't like it used to be. At one time the Sunday brunch was truly remarkable. I keep going hoping to see if the refinement might return. It is in a beautiful location and the food is bountiful. The food is also mundane for an expensive Sunday brunch, although the quality of the food was a little better than my previous visit. The service is good as you would expect it to be. I will probably go back again, but still hope for the quality it to improve.

Tags: Seasonal, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 30, 2016

We always enjoy the Blues, Brews, and BBQ brunch. Alex was our server and he was wonderful and attentive. We sat outside and it was such a nice environment. The music was really good too. We recommend this place to everyone we know.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Brews,blues and BBQ was fantastic. Staff was outstanding.

Tags: Fun, Disabled Access, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Good for a Date, Healthy, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 23, 2016

Always special. We come to Loews Ventana Canyon brunch twice a year with our good friends for an always special occasion. The service is consistently excellent and friendly. Their brunch has every dining selection - sushi, oysters on the half shell, green lip mussels, cheeses, every possible breakfast selection, mimosas forever, bloody marries, on the grill - vegetables, Sonoran dogs, prime rib, chicken, salmon, ribs, BBQ, and the list goes on. Extensive desserts! A very special dining experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Healthy, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

The food offerings and size of complimentary Bloody Mary were scaled down from our prior experiences. Barbecue offerings were still wonderful. Service was excellent. Still a great experience despite the changes.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Sunday Blues & BBQ brunch was fabulous! There was a large selection of food choices, and the music added so much to the dining experience.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

We were seated immediately. Our table was in the lounge area adjacent to the windows. From that location you could not hear the music being played outside. But that was the only negative. Our service was very good and as usual, the buffet was outstanding with an abundance of choices. We will certainly go again in the future.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on October 9, 2016

Good food, however, brunch selection has been scaled back since our last visit. The prime rib roast was very rare and tough unlike our many previous visits.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent brunch, with highlights being the prime rib, barbequed meats and vegetables, oysters on the half shell and other seafood, great vegetables, cinnamon rolls, and the big dessert spread. The price includes champagne or mimosas, blood marys, and three local draft beers. The live music is a nice touch and service was both excellent and friendly. Everything seemed to be made from scratch and it was a lively but relaxing atmosphere. Our out-of-town guests had a marvelous introduction to Tucson, complete with their first Sonoran dog from the outdoor grill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent brunch option, with great service and a fantastic spread of options at the buffet. The location is also beautiful, although it will be much nicer when the weather cools off a little and you can sit outside to enjoy the live music. The interior of the hotel is very nice, but you miss out on the blues during brunch. They were also quite generous with the unlimited mimosas!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food as always. Attentive service. Good Mimosas. We will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 11, 2016

We did the blues brews bbqs brunch and it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 10, 2016

You can never go wrong with Canyon Cafe! Gorgeous views of the Catalina Mountains, elegant yet rustic decor, friendly staff and good food! Lunch prices are right in line with other higher-end establishments.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had reservations for Sept 4th as my guy's 28th birthday and he loves.. and I mean loves brunch.
Overall I'd give Loews a 4/5.
Our reservation was for noon. Initially our hostess was a bit rude and outwardly seemed to prefer to be doing anything other than her job. Our waitress was prompt and attentive making up for the hostess' negative vibe.
The food was delicious and we couldn't stop going back for more. The meat outside was by far our highlight.
The desert overall was good but one dish had a distinct taste of soap... not sure why.
The seating was very comfortable and relaxing.
Unfortunately by 1240 our server became missing in action and we spent a solid 20 minutes waiting for a check with empty plates in front of us and a lack of refills on our beverages.
The atmosphere was very pleasant for the most part aside from the big windows having spider webs in all the corners 10 feet or higher from the ground. At a resort of this caliber that was a shame.
Like I stated previously 4/5 . Could use minor improvements.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday, and were treated to absolutely fantastic food and 5 star service. We will be going again with any guests that come to stay to show off one of Tucson's treasures!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Healthy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything was super. Wait staff was wonderful and everyone was thoroughly satisfied.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.