Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

About Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

The Canyon Cafe is the perfect spot to savor modern American cuisine with southwest soul. Soak in breathtaking views of the Catalina Mountains from both indoor and outdoor seating.

Join us every Sunday, when we feature our Blues, Brews & BBQ Brunch, voted #1 Tucson Brunch two years in a row by Tucson Guide. Traditional and not-so-traditional brunch fare including locally brewed beer and favorites from the grill. Enjoy live music from the Tucson Jazz Society. A hip and casual way to relax on a Sunday. $42.00 per person.

Chef Ken Harvey showcases his modern American cuisine with a southwest twist, while focusing on locally sourced ingredients.

7000 N. Resort Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85750
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
N Kolb / Sunrise

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(520) 615-5496

Website:
http://www.loewshotels.com/en/Ventana-Canyon-Resort/dining/restaurants

Entertainment:
Live Music every Sunday during Brunch, featuring Local Blues Artists.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Complimentary Valet available

Private Party Facilities:
For private events in one of our banquet rooms, please contact our Catering
Team. We can accommodate parties from 10-600 guests in size for
weddings, fundraisers, corporate meeting, or any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Audra Barrios: (520) 529-7912

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.1

noise

Moderate

97% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (28)
Special Occasion (21)
Sunday Lunch (17)
See All
Scenic View (17)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
Good for a Date (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (13)
Live Music (12)
Worth the Drive (12)
People Watching (10)
Good for Groups (9)
Casual (9)
Fun (9)
Great for Lunch (9)
Creative Cuisine (8)
Comfort Food (8)
Kid-friendly (7)
Neighborhood Gem (7)
Family Style (5)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Great Beer (5)
Seasonal (4)
Quiet Conversation (4)
Romantic (3)
Hot Spot (3)
Healthy (3)
Vegan (2)
Business Meals (2)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Paleo Friendly (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Authentic (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Historic (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Outstanding Value (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Tapas (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Sort By:
S
302 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Baltimore)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Very disappointing all the way around. Was really looking forward to brunch and booked a table for 7 to celebrate my husband's 50th birthday. When I confirmed my reservation I was told that the birthday would be recognized. We arrived and were seated a table for 6, not 7. We had to find an extra chair on our own and waited 10 minutes for service and to get an extra place setting. I asked for coffee but my husband had to ask again 20 minutes later to remind the server to bring coffee. Although all of the adults at the table drank coffee we never got refills. We had to ask almost every time to get refills on our mimosas. The food selection was varied but most of the food was marginal at best. The service was terrible. We had to stack used dishes on our table as a hint to the servers to clear the table. Although we saw other servers recognizing birthdays at other tables, my husband's birthday was never acknowledged. The biggest insult was that a 20% gratuity, which in my opinion should be reserved for service that is well above average, was automatically added to our check with no option to adjust appropriately. Ridiculous. Do yourself a favor a pay the extra $10/person for Hacienda del Sol. I will never return.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value1

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on June 11, 2017

Great location, food & service! Always a pleasure every time I'm at this property!

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Denver)·Dined on June 4, 2017

The food was good, but for the cost of brunch the endless mimosas definitely made it worth it

Tags: Special Occasion, Fun, Good for a Date, Live Music, Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 28, 2017

We have been there many times over the years and will continue to return. Everything is beyond reproach, there is absolutely nothing to complain about. Wish there were more restaurants that valued their patrons as they do here. Food is always good. . Service is great when you consider how many people they serve. Danielle is our favorite server, always very attentive and smiling. Robert makes a good omelet.

Tags: Casual, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Vegan, Romantic, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (San Francisco)·Dined on May 28, 2017

One of the best resorts we have been to. The customer service was top notch!!! Beautiful location for a variety of occasions.

Probably the best Sunday brunch I have had.

Tags: Hot Spot, Worth the Drive, Fun
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 28, 2017

Another great afternoon enjoying the blues, brews and BBQ brunch. Food and beer was great as usual and the servers went out of their way to make sure we had what we needed. Can't wait until next time.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 27, 2017

We celebrated a birthday at the Canyon Café and it was lovely. After the meal we took the short walk up to the 30 foot waterfall along a beautiful rock pathway beside a gurgling little stream. The setting and the beauty of this awesome resort always fills my heart. It is one of the loveliest places in all of Tucson and hence a real favorite of mine.

Tags: Business Meals, Healthy, Quiet Conversation, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 21, 2017

The resort is in a nice place, and the staff is pretty nice. The problem is the food, the oysters looked like popped balloons full of mud. The ribs were dry. The mac n cheese was watery. Truly, not terrible. Nevertheless, it's not worth the price of 42 greenbacks per person. I would only recommend it if you plan on getting your moneybag worth in drinks. If you want to get tanked, this might be a good value.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service4
value1

 
 (Denver)·Dined on May 21, 2017

This is our 4th visit to the Canyon Cafe brunch at Ventana Canyon in Tucson. The food is consistently delicious and plentiful. Service can be slow but not painfully slow....just a lag between the request and having your needs met by the wait staff. Nothing major. The Jazz is phenomenal as are the mimosa's. The brunch has become an "anything goes" as far as dress code which takes away from the ambiance a bit, but it is a resort so to some degree that is expected. Bottom line, the main thing is the food and it is amazing. Definitely go and enjoy yourself!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for the Mother's Day Brunch. A bit spendy, but it was a special occasion. Friendly service; lots of choices from the menu. Not rushed through the meal.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was great ... too much food, but delicious. Very attentive staff. A bit pricey

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch was out of this world! So much good food to pick from and bottomless mimosas. We will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We all had a wonderful time celebrating Mothers Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food! Huge selection! Servers were wonderful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent dining venue - BBQ buffet- delicious! My husband and I decided we would put this dining option on our cslendar at leasr a couple of times s year.

We thank everyone for their attentive amd professional service.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had our usual good time, great food and fun together. I look forward to the next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Sunday Brunch at the Canyon Cafe is always top-notch. The food is always fresh and delicious. Having great live music is a plus!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The whole afternoon was wonderful, the food was delicious and the way everything was presented was great. Loved the whole afternoon

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of the best brunch experiences ever! Service was excellent, food was superb, ambiance was perfect. Delicious selection of entrees, side dishes and desserts. Service was unobtrusive and professional. Refills offered in a timely manner and empty plates removed efficiently. Comfortable and casual with beautiful views.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best Sunday Brunch in Tucson; I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The cost of the food was over rated. If a facility is going to have such a big event, they need to have someone assigned to keep the bathroom clean and supplied with toilet tissue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch. Everything was top notch. Great food & terrific service. Lots & lots of choices which we loved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have attended Sunday Brunch at Loews Ventana Canyon in the past and they have always been enjoyable and the price was $42.50 a person. Decided to take my husband, son and daughter-in-law to Loews for Easter Brunch. First off, you have to book online through Open Table since you could only get voice mail recording every time you called hotel directly. Booked on open table a reservation for 4. There was never any indication on Loew's Ventana Canyon website or on Open Table about the cost of the brunch. I nearly fell out of my chair when I got the bill for $80 a person. I almost cried and my family felt sorry for me handling such a large bill. My husband does not drink, and is on a restricted diet so it was a waste paying for drinks for him. My son is diabetic so the same applies. I do have to say the selection of food was truly outstanding. We were seated outside under the tent and it felt like we were at one huge wedding celebration. The lamb while delicious was very fatty same for the prime rib. We all commented that so many of the meals contained too many weird spices. (must be because we are so close to the border) While we all enjoyed the brunch it was ruined by the sticker shock of the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful experience but was a little too costly. No wonder I could not find the price listed anywhere at almost $100/person. I would rather have had less selection and pay less. Meat selection was less than other brunches at Loews at a lower price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter Brunch. Probably the best Easter brunch I have had in many years. So many choices and all were excellent. Non-stop champagne and Bloody Marys. Fantastic desert bar. Puts many of the Vegas buffets to shame. A bit pricey at $80 a person but worth it once a year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was lovely. We sat outdoors -'it was a beautiful day and the service was superior as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My son from the United Kingdom is visiting us and I really wanted him to enjoy the brunch at Loews Ventana Canyon. This was not a good idea. The food just did not taste well. The barbecue vegetables outside on the grill had been blackened (burnt) and the vegetables were still raw... not even crispy the way I like it. I remembered that this was the reason why we had not returned here for 2 years. We are international travelers and a simple meal on the streets of Croatia would have tasted like heaven comparing with we had Sunday. I'm very disappointed especially the cost of the food - does NOT justify the lack of taste and flavor. Wont return to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best Sunday Brunch in Tucson!!! The food was great!! Worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best food selection in Tucson! This is our new favourite brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I took my wife to the Sunday buffet for her 75th birthday. The selection can please anyone’s palette; you can select from their outdoors grill with ribs, lamb prime rib, chicken and various grilled vegetables. Inside you have a seafood bar with shrimp, mussels, oysters on the half shell and ceviche. They have a breakfast area for omelets and eggs plus various salads and if you’re into desserts they temp you when you enter down the hall to the hostess with a 30 foot table of calories galore. You also get all the champagne or mimosa you want plus Craft Beers though I stayed with the champagne.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is called the best brunch in Tucson and I totally agree. My friend from out of town and I both loved it. They tried to seat us inside and it wouldn't have been as nice. Outside was amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We come to the Sunday Brunch as often as possible for special occasions(usually once or twice per year). Everything was excellent as usual except the oysters on the half shell didn't taste fresh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The sea food doesn't taste nor smell fresh or good, it all tastes farm grown and not fresh nor appetizing. The prime rib was really chewy and had a lot of fat in it, the pork robs were also incredibly chewy and had a lot of fat and pieces of tendon. The ceviche is really not good, Ive tried great ceviche in mexico, and this was flat out the worst. The shrimp I will say everything else was very good. Seirously, every single other type of food there was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We enjoyed meal, music and walking through grounds after lunch. Unfortunately, I seemed to have had some food that made me very sich several hours after. Suspect it was from desert area as open to people walking by and not covered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous food. Amazing experience. One of the best Sunday Brunches I have ever had! I'd strongly recommend it! They do live Blues music. They include bottomless mimosas and beer with brunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Messed up our reservation, which was not good since we had special friends visiting. We did not get the table we had requested and the service was awful. The food itself was wonderful and the music gave it all a festive air.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was the third time we've made Sun brunch reservations. The open table option was easy; hadn't used it before. Service was quick, efficient & staff was very friendly. The outside grill is unique. It includes grilled veggies, various meats & fruit. Inside start with shrimp, sushi, several different salads. Order an omlet to taste. There's bacon and sausage and many other choices. Another unique offering is craft beer on the patio. This is the first time I've ever seen beer included in a Sunday champagne brunch. The restaurant rselves. itself is large & beautifully decorated. The views amazing. They offer valet parking; we parked ourselves. They have a regular menu but we've only been for brunch. We live in No Nevada but spend winter in Tucson. This is one of our go-to spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a hotel restaurant. We hoped to have lunch at the highly recommended Flying V restaurant at the resort, but they are only open for dinner. This is a very attractive room--quiet and with a view of the mountains and pool area, very pleasant ambiance. The lunch menu is very standard. There are sandwiches a few salads and some soups. We hoped for something a bit more imaginative. That said, The dishes are all very well prepared, however, with some imaginative twists. They are all reasonably priced. The steak salad had a substantial steak, but almost no salad. There were some radicchio leaves, almonds and blue cheese. Sadly, the steak was well cooked but lacking flavor. The guacamole was delicious, and the service was impeccable. Since there are few dining options in far Northeast Tucson, I would recommend this cafe for lunch for convenience, but I wouldn't recommend a special trip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic visit to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort for brunch. Enormous selection of tasty and attractive dishes, attentive but not cloying service. It was our second visit in as many years. Considering we don't live in Tucson, I'd say that's a good recommendation all by itself. We will return when we come through next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The music was very good. Although the selection of food was wide, overall, the food was mediocre. I went to the grill bar and was given an entire T-bone (I asked for a piece) and when I got back to the table, it was overcooked and cold. The breakfast food buffet was no better or worse than most, but certainly not first class.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.