About Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

7000 N. Resort Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85750
View Larger Map

The Canyon Cafe is the perfect spot to savor modern American cuisine with southwest soul. Soak in breathtaking views of the Catalina Mountains from both indoor and outdoor seating.

Join us every Sunday, when we feature our Blues, Brews & BBQ Brunch, voted #1 Tucson Brunch two years in a row by Tucson Guide. Traditional and not-so-traditional brunch fare including locally brewed beer and favorites from the grill. Enjoy live music from the Tucson Jazz Society. A hip and casual way to relax on a Sunday. $42.00 per person.

Chef Ken Harvey showcases his modern American cuisine with a southwest twist, while focusing on locally sourced ingredients.

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
N Kolb / Sunrise

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(520) 615-5496

Website:
http://www.loewshotels.com/en/Ventana-Canyon-Resort/dining/restaurants

Entertainment:
Live Music every Sunday during Brunch, featuring Local Blues Artists.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Complimentary Valet available

Private Party Facilities:
For private events in one of our banquet rooms, please contact our Catering
Team. We can accommodate parties from 10-600 guests in size for
weddings, fundraisers, corporate meeting, or any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Audra Barrios: 5205297912x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.6

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Loved For

Great for Brunch
Phoenix / Arizona
Best Overall
Tucson
Best Restaurants in Downtown Tucson ›

Great for Brunch (34)
Scenic View (25)
Special Occasion (19)
See All
Fit for Foodies (16)
Great for Outdoor Dining (16)
Good for Groups (14)
Sunday Lunch (11)
Casual (9)
Romantic (8)
Good for Birthdays (7)
Fun (6)
Worth the Drive (6)
Great for Lunch (6)
Comfort Food (6)
Good for Anniversaries (6)
Neighborhood Gem (5)
Kid-friendly (4)
People Watching (4)
Hot Spot (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Live Music (3)
Paleo Friendly (3)
Great Beer (3)
Quiet Conversation (3)
Modern Decor (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Outstanding Value (1)
Tasting Menu (1)
Authentic (1)
Healthy (1)
Vegan (1)
Creative Cuisine (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Waterfront (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Sort By:
Newest
227 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Excellent brunch, with highlights being ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent brunch, with highlights being the prime rib, barbequed meats and vegetables, oysters on the half shell and other seafood, great vegetables, cinnamon rolls, and the big dessert spread. The price includes champagne or mimosas, blood marys, and three local draft beers. The live music is a nice touch and service was both excellent and friendly. Everything seemed to be made from scratch and it was a lively but relaxing atmosphere. Our out-of-town guests had a marvelous introduction to Tucson, complete with their first Sonoran dog from the outdoor grill.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent brunch option, with great serv ...

 
 (San Francisco)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Excellent brunch option, with great service and a fantastic spread of options at the buffet. The location is also beautiful, although it will be much nicer when the weather cools off a little and you can sit outside to enjoy the live music. The interior of the hotel is very nice, but you miss out on the blues during brunch. They were also quite generous with the unlimited mimosas!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Paleo Friendly, Good for Anniversaries, Special Occasion, Great Beer, Scenic View, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great food as always. Attentive service ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

Great food as always. Attentive service. Good Mimosas. We will return.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fit for Foodies, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Good for a Date, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We did the blues brews bbqs brunch and i ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 11, 2016

We did the blues brews bbqs brunch and it was AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!

Tags: Comfort Food, Live Music, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Good for Birthdays, Modern Decor, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Special Occasion, Fun, Worth the Drive, Romantic, Great for Brunch, Good for a Date, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

You can never go wrong with Canyon Cafe! ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 10, 2016

You can never go wrong with Canyon Cafe! Gorgeous views of the Catalina Mountains, elegant yet rustic decor, friendly staff and good food! Lunch prices are right in line with other higher-end establishments.

Tags: Fun, Casual, Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We had reservations for Sept 4th as my g ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

We had reservations for Sept 4th as my guy's 28th birthday and he loves.. and I mean loves brunch.

Overall I'd give Loews a 4/5.

Our reservation was for noon. Initially our hostess was a bit rude and outwardly seemed to prefer to be doing anything other than her job. Our waitress was prompt and attentive making up for the hostess' negative vibe.

The food was delicious and we couldn't stop going back for more. The meat outside was by far our highlight.

The desert overall was good but one dish had a distinct taste of soap... not sure why.

The seating was very comfortable and relaxing.

Unfortunately by 1240 our server became missing in action and we spent a solid 20 minutes waiting for a check with empty plates in front of us and a lack of refills on our beverages.

The atmosphere was very pleasant for the most part aside from the big windows having spider webs in all the corners 10 feet or higher from the ground. At a resort of this caliber that was a shame.

Like I stated previously 4/5 . Could use minor improvements.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3
value4

Went for my wife's birthday, and were tr ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Went for my wife's birthday, and were treated to absolutely fantastic food and 5 star service. We will be going again with any guests that come to stay to show off one of Tucson's treasures!

Tags: Comfort Food, Fit for Foodies, Casual, Sunday Lunch, Good for Anniversaries, Scenic View, Fun, Creative Cuisine, Good Vegetarian Options, Romantic, Healthy, Vegan, Special Occasion, Paleo Friendly, Local Ingredients, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Great for Brunch, People Watching
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Everything was super. Wait staff was won ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 21, 2016

Everything was super. Wait staff was wonderful and everyone was thoroughly satisfied.

Tags: Local Ingredients, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Groups, Casual, Outstanding Value, Sunday Lunch, Authentic, Fit for Foodies, Great Beer, Kid-friendly, Tasting Menu, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The ambiance and service were fantastic! ...

 
 (Los Angeles)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

The ambiance and service were fantastic! However, the food left a lot to be desired. Pick and choose wisely at the brunch buffet. Seafood was great, however, most everything else was flavorless...even the grilled meat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience5
service5

Enjoyed the Sunday Brunch.The service wa ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Enjoyed the Sunday Brunch.The service was excellent especially Adam. Was too hot to sit outside so we were unable to enjoy the Blues trio that was playing.Would be nice if they could have the music"piped in" to the inside seating.The food and selection was outstanding.!!!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Excellent service, delicious food, great ...

 
 (San Diego)
·Dined on August 14, 2016

Excellent service, delicious food, great variety, plus plenty of champagne makes this a special experience for bringing out of town guests to enjoy the beautiful AZ desert setting. A shame that the music was not audible inside & the outdoor setting was uncomfortably warm in August. Nevertheless it is always a special treat for Sunday brunch.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Fabulous brunch - loved the addition of ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Fabulous brunch - loved the addition of grilled foods along with other prepared foods. Deserts were delicious. Jazz combo added great background music.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I was very disappointed at the selection ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I was very disappointed at the selections for lunch. Not much for low calories selections

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

I ordered steak and eggs for breakfast m ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on August 6, 2016

I ordered steak and eggs for breakfast my steak was barely cooked I asked the waitress to send it back I got my steak 20 minutes later and it was burnt. For a$20 meal I would think that the food would have better quality.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4
value1

Really enjoyed my visit as well as food. ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

Really enjoyed my visit as well as food. At the last minute 4 additional guests joined my party, and we were accommodated without an issue. The variety of food choices was excellent. The group decided since we had such an awesome time that we would make reservations to go back next month for a weekend stay.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

As ALWAYS, my experience here was stella ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 10, 2016

As ALWAYS, my experience here was stellar. This is the first time I was motivated enough to write a review however, and it is because of our waitress, Linda. Oh my goodness she added to the mood of our outing, she was so helpful and friendly. The Canyon Café Brunch is more delicious every time I go. I would highly recommend the brunch to anyone who likes good food- and lots of it!!

It costs 52 per person, gratuity included- but it is worth it! With that price, in addition to all you can eat breakfast, seafood, fresh grill, dessert and more... AND unlimited mimosas, craft beers, one Bloody Mary. ANNND you get to spend all day at the pool after. All included. So it's not just brunch, it's 52 dollars for a day staycation with delicious food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was great. Only disappointment was ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Food was great. Only disappointment was that the blues player was outside and it was too hot to eat outside; so couldn't hear him perform.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value4

Great place for Sunday brunch! Tons of ...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

Great place for Sunday brunch! Tons of choices with free flowing mimosas, bloody marys and beer :)

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

We've been going to the Canyon Cafe's Su ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

We've been going to the Canyon Cafe's Sunday brunch for several years and it is always an incredible selection of great food. The barbecued salmon and pineapple are my favorites, along with the chocolate covered strawberries and peach cobbler. The prime rib was a bit too rare this time and the barbecued brussel sprouts a bit too raw, but we always find good food choices that are cooked the best anywhere.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

There's a reason why their brunch is rated #1

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The food was excellent ! My wife who is a vegetarian really enjoyed her fill of freshly grilled vegetables. We usually have a difficult time finding a brunch that has high quality items for vegetarians while proving me with a great selection of meats. Service was great and the settings was terrific

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Me and my wife had a very wonderful time ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 15, 2016

Me and my wife had a very wonderful time. The food was delicious, your servers were very tending to the customers . I will be returning for Fathers day. But this time with family! I bragged so much that my wife made the reservations. lol!

Thank you!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Terrible holiday service

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 8, 2016

We have eaten brunch here several times on non-holidays. His was our first Mother's Day bring and we found the lack of service horrible. We ended up several times with empty glasses of mimosa and plates needing to be cleared. I think the wait staff not serving or table were trying to help or inattentive waiter out because they would help sporadically but we only saw our actual waiter twice. He would come out from the back, look around, then return to the abyss I saw him do this several times while we had empty glasses and were trying to find room for new plates. We also waited over 20 minutes to have our check picked up. Never again will I pay a premium on a holiday, the service just wasn't worth the visit.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value3

H Great service, we were outside-harmoni ...

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on May 1, 2016

H

Great service, we were outside-harmonica guy didn't need a mic, seafood bad, prime rib bad, desserts great. Been there many times but this was a bump in the road. They did have the reservation but s at a table that was too small for one person let alone two. Would not offer us a table for 4 even though there were several tables for 4 with 2 people. Ended up outside with seriously loud music and bad food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

Pretty awesome experience. I would come ...

 
 (Shreveport)
·Dined on April 17, 2016

Pretty awesome experience. I would come early though if you are a prime rib connoisseur. It wasn't as tender as advertised and my kids all faced me and said, "ours is better."

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

We have brunch here at least once a year

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on April 3, 2016

This is a very special place to dine. There is food and drink for everyone. You can sit outside and listen to live music which is fun or inside where it is quiet enough to enjoy conversation with the people you are with. The views are stunning from anywhere. The only bump we experienced is that this time my mom was using a walker. From the front door to the restaraunt is a fairly long way-especially for an elder, and it is on indoor flagstone, so very tricky for a walker. The hotel did have a wheelchair which did the job but was literally duck-taped togehter. Without the wheelchair my mom would have had to go home.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Special Occasion
1 person found this review helpful.
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

lavish brunch buffet

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on March 27, 2016

We went to Loews Ventana Canyon for Easter brunch, and it was a lavish and spectacular spread of food, from breakfast to salads, seafood, barbeque, and desserts. Our group of eight enjoyed a leisurely meal and a walk up to the waterfall afterwards.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

Great location and average brunch...

vip
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on March 20, 2016

The brunch at Canyon Cafe used to be fantastic, however the price has gone up and the quality has gone down. It is still a beautiful location, but just not the same as it once was. I asked for a piece of prime rib and I wasn't actually sure what it was that I received. I had never seen prime rib cut in half and then carved. Maybe that is so kids aren't as wasteful or maybe it was lack of skill on behalf of the carver. The chuck wagon theme is nice for tourists, but I miss the time when the brunch was much more refined. The beer choices are also trendy. I was surprised that there was nothing middle of the road like a lager... just dark, porter (darker and heavier), and IPA.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Love Sunday brunch!

 
 (Palm Springs)
·Dined on March 13, 2016

My husband and I love the Sunday brunch at Canyon Café. We came for his birthday last weekend, and it was as delicious as ever. Live blues music, outdoor dining, and that fabulous outdoor grill with grilled meats, fruit, and vegetables - blows away other places, in our opinion. We look forward to coming back!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Beautiful setting, attentive service, great food

vip
 (Chicago)
·Dined on February 27, 2016

Wonderful place to eat and see the mountains while having great food and service

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Notable Wine List, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great location and fine food

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on February 7, 2016

great food, very nice location, good service, overall great. Nice selection of deserts, breakfast, and lunch, all prepared with a special touch

Tags: Great for Brunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

We had better brunches

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on January 10, 2016

We have been to the Loews Ventana Canton Blues Brews and BBQ brunch 5 times before and it was exceptional. This time it was not. We had brunch at 11am and they had already run out of mushrooms and eggs Benedict. There were no toppings for the waffles like before. Service was lacking as we had to wave down other servers multiple times. The desserts were nothing spectacular like normal. For $50 a person after tip we expect better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service3
value1

Great Sunday Brunch

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on January 3, 2016

We ate here for the Sunday brunch, and it was great. Lots of choices, endless mimosas, and an attentive staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Not as good as in past

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

This was our third time here for a holiday buffet and while we had really enjoyed it in the past, this year was disappointing. The quality of the food seemed to have deteriorated.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service5
value1

The best Buffet in Tucson !

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

The staff was great.

The food was exceptional.

The electric guitar was calming and entertaining.

We will be back for Thanksgiving and Christmas.

Well worth the cost as every thing made it our best Christmas ever.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Christmas Brunch 2015 version

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 25, 2015

We have been having our Christmas meal at the Sunday brunch for many years. We love shellfish and they have never disappointed. Lots of choices: breakfast items, bakery, BBQ, sushi/sashimi, hot carved meats and salmon. The charcuterie and salad selections were a little sparse this year. Dessert choices were a little limited too compared to other years and the Bloody Mary mix it yourself bar was gone. However the one complimentary Bloody Mary, plentiful mimosas and draft beer were more than adequate.

One thing that never changes is the friendly and helpful serving staff.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

A Tucson Favorite Sunday Brunch.

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

The selection is always great and DELICIOUS. We went at the last minute, and couldn't get in until the last seating and were disappointed because a lot of the selections were gone and they did not replenish. A lot of the food was cold at the breakfast area, and the sushi..... well the rice was not soft. Should not have tried it. But even so, it is still the best brunch in town with the best prime rib, brisket, and other items at the outdoor grill, and along with the mimosas, yea, really good. Some of the desserts are incredible for a buffet. We love it , but will make sure we get in earlier next time.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We went to Canyon Cafe to celebrate my h ...

 
 (Sacramento)
·Dined on December 20, 2015

We went to Canyon Cafe to celebrate my husbands' birthday. The food was fantastic - items I've never seen on a brunch menu before, with lots of healthy choices. Service was attentive without being cloying. The food was widely spaced - desserts to tempt you as you entered, breakfast bar in the back, seafood bar near the entry and barbecue/grilled items outside with the band. The result was a lively display, but no lines. My husband was presented with a beautiful dessert plate of items not on the brunch bar, that he could take home. He enjoyed that meal two more days as a result. We would go back in a heartbeat.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Best Sunday Brunch

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The Sunday Brunch is amazing - tons of food, bottomless mimosas, and live music! If you are staying the weekend at LVC, this is a must.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

Excellency but icy

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on December 13, 2015

The food was excellent but it was incredibly cold in the entire establishment. This made the food go cold faster than normal and hard to enjoy. Other than that. Great as usual.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service3

Never disappointing

 
 (Phoenix)
·Dined on November 15, 2015

Great Sunday brunch. Our first choice for out of town guests and local friends. Food is wonderful and service is great. Too many food choices to eat at once so we just keep going back!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.