Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.07mi
  2. Distance: 0.79mi
  3. Distance: 2.03mi
  4. Distance: 2.08mi

About Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort

The Canyon Cafe is the perfect spot to savor modern American cuisine with southwest soul. Soak in breathtaking views of the Catalina Mountains from both indoor and outdoor seating.

Join us every Sunday, when we feature our Blues, Brews & BBQ Brunch, voted #1 Tucson Brunch two years in a row by Tucson Guide. Traditional and not-so-traditional brunch fare including locally brewed beer and favorites from the grill. Enjoy live music from the Tucson Jazz Society. A hip and casual way to relax on a Sunday. $42.00 per person.

Chef Ken Harvey showcases his modern American cuisine with a southwest twist, while focusing on locally sourced ingredients.

7000 N. Resort Dr.
Tucson, AZ 85750
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
American, Southwest

Hours of Operation:
Breakfast: Daily: 7:00am - 11:00am,
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 2:00pm
Lunch: Monday - Saturday: 11:00am - 2:00pm

Cross Street:
N Kolb / Sunrise

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Carte Blanche, Diners Club, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(520) 615-5496

Website:
http://www.loewshotels.com/en/Ventana-Canyon-Resort/dining/restaurants

Entertainment:
Live Music every Sunday during Brunch, featuring Local Blues Artists.

Parking Details:
Self Parking and Complimentary Valet available

Private Party Facilities:
For private events in one of our banquet rooms, please contact our Catering
Team. We can accommodate parties from 10-600 guests in size for
weddings, fundraisers, corporate meeting, or any special occasion.

Private Party Contact:
Audra Barrios: (520) 529-7912

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Cafe, Gluten-free Menu, High Tea, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, View, Weekend Brunch, Wine

Canyon Cafe at Loews Ventana Canyon Resort Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.6

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.5

service

4.7

ambience

4.5

value

4.0

noise

Moderate

96% would recommend it to a friend

Great for Brunch (22)
Scenic View (18)
Great for Outdoor Dining (17)
See All
Special Occasion (16)
Sunday Lunch (15)
Good for Birthdays (15)
Good for Anniversaries (11)
Creative Cuisine (10)
Comfort Food (9)
Live Music (9)
Good for a Date (9)
Casual (8)
Worth the Drive (8)
Great for Lunch (7)
Fun (7)
Neighborhood Gem (6)
Family Style (6)
Good for Groups (6)
People Watching (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Quiet Conversation (5)
Seasonal (4)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great Beer (3)
Romantic (3)
Bar Seating (2)
Hot Spot (2)
Disabled Access (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Historic (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Local Ingredients (2)
Healthy (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Open Kitchen (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Tapas (1)
Authentic (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Afternoon Tea (1)
Sort By:
S
293 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Went there for the Mother's Day Brunch. A bit spendy, but it was a special occasion. Friendly service; lots of choices from the menu. Not rushed through the meal.

Tags: Healthy, People Watching, Kid-friendly, Great for Brunch, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Gluten Free Options, Live Music, Disabled Access, Creative Cuisine, Family Style, Sunday Lunch, Fit for Foodies, Comfort Food
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5
value4

 
 (New England)·Dined on May 14, 2017

Mother's Day brunch was great ... too much food, but delicious. Very attentive staff. A bit pricey

Tags: Modern Decor, Special Occasion, People Watching, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 14, 2017

The Mother's Day brunch was out of this world! So much good food to pick from and bottomless mimosas. We will go again.

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 14, 2017

We all had a wonderful time celebrating Mothers Day

Tags: Special Occasion, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Lunch, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Fun, Kid-friendly, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Great food! Huge selection! Servers were wonderful!

Tags: Hot Spot, Scenic View, Fun, Casual, Kid-friendly, People Watching, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on May 7, 2017

Excellent dining venue - BBQ buffet- delicious! My husband and I decided we would put this dining option on our cslendar at leasr a couple of times s year.

We thank everyone for their attentive amd professional service.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Good for a Date, Handcrafted Cocktails, Great for Lunch, Historic, Creative Cuisine, Healthy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on May 7, 2017

We had our usual good time, great food and fun together. I look forward to the next time.

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Live Music, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Good for Birthdays, Local Ingredients
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Salt Lake City)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The Sunday Brunch at the Canyon Cafe is always top-notch. The food is always fresh and delicious. Having great live music is a plus!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (San Diego)·Dined on April 30, 2017

The whole afternoon was wonderful, the food was delicious and the way everything was presented was great. Loved the whole afternoon

Tags: Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Live Music, Authentic, Good for Groups, Scenic View, Family Style, Creative Cuisine, Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 30, 2017

One of the best brunch experiences ever! Service was excellent, food was superb, ambiance was perfect. Delicious selection of entrees, side dishes and desserts. Service was unobtrusive and professional. Refills offered in a timely manner and empty plates removed efficiently. Comfortable and casual with beautiful views.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 23, 2017

Best Sunday Brunch in Tucson; I highly recommend it!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Fun, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

The cost of the food was over rated. If a facility is going to have such a big event, they need to have someone assigned to keep the bathroom clean and supplied with toilet tissue.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 16, 2017

We went for Easter brunch. Everything was top notch. Great food & terrific service. Lots & lots of choices which we loved.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

I have attended Sunday Brunch at Loews Ventana Canyon in the past and they have always been enjoyable and the price was $42.50 a person. Decided to take my husband, son and daughter-in-law to Loews for Easter Brunch. First off, you have to book online through Open Table since you could only get voice mail recording every time you called hotel directly. Booked on open table a reservation for 4. There was never any indication on Loew's Ventana Canyon website or on Open Table about the cost of the brunch. I nearly fell out of my chair when I got the bill for $80 a person. I almost cried and my family felt sorry for me handling such a large bill. My husband does not drink, and is on a restricted diet so it was a waste paying for drinks for him. My son is diabetic so the same applies. I do have to say the selection of food was truly outstanding. We were seated outside under the tent and it felt like we were at one huge wedding celebration. The lamb while delicious was very fatty same for the prime rib. We all commented that so many of the meals contained too many weird spices. (must be because we are so close to the border) While we all enjoyed the brunch it was ruined by the sticker shock of the bill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Wonderful experience but was a little too costly. No wonder I could not find the price listed anywhere at almost $100/person. I would rather have had less selection and pay less. Meat selection was less than other brunches at Loews at a lower price.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, People Watching, Special Occasion, Great Beer
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service5
value3

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 16, 2017

Great Easter Brunch. Probably the best Easter brunch I have had in many years. So many choices and all were excellent. Non-stop champagne and Bloody Marys. Fantastic desert bar. Puts many of the Vegas buffets to shame. A bit pricey at $80 a person but worth it once a year.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Anniversaries, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 15, 2017

Everything was lovely. We sat outdoors -'it was a beautiful day and the service was superior as always.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

My son from the United Kingdom is visiting us and I really wanted him to enjoy the brunch at Loews Ventana Canyon. This was not a good idea. The food just did not taste well. The barbecue vegetables outside on the grill had been blackened (burnt) and the vegetables were still raw... not even crispy the way I like it. I remembered that this was the reason why we had not returned here for 2 years. We are international travelers and a simple meal on the streets of Croatia would have tasted like heaven comparing with we had Sunday. I'm very disappointed especially the cost of the food - does NOT justify the lack of taste and flavor. Wont return to this establishment.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service3
value1

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best Sunday Brunch in Tucson!!! The food was great!! Worth the price.

Tags: Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on April 9, 2017

Best food selection in Tucson! This is our new favourite brunch.

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on April 9, 2017

I took my wife to the Sunday buffet for her 75th birthday. The selection can please anyone’s palette; you can select from their outdoors grill with ribs, lamb prime rib, chicken and various grilled vegetables. Inside you have a seafood bar with shrimp, mussels, oysters on the half shell and ceviche. They have a breakfast area for omelets and eggs plus various salads and if you’re into desserts they temp you when you enter down the hall to the hostess with a 30 foot table of calories galore. You also get all the champagne or mimosa you want plus Craft Beers though I stayed with the champagne.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on March 26, 2017

This is called the best brunch in Tucson and I totally agree. My friend from out of town and I both loved it. They tried to seat us inside and it wouldn't have been as nice. Outside was amazing.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on March 19, 2017

We come to the Sunday Brunch as often as possible for special occasions(usually once or twice per year). Everything was excellent as usual except the oysters on the half shell didn't taste fresh.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on March 19, 2017

The sea food doesn't taste nor smell fresh or good, it all tastes farm grown and not fresh nor appetizing. The prime rib was really chewy and had a lot of fat in it, the pork robs were also incredibly chewy and had a lot of fat and pieces of tendon. The ceviche is really not good, Ive tried great ceviche in mexico, and this was flat out the worst. The shrimp I will say everything else was very good. Seirously, every single other type of food there was delicious.

Tags: Scenic View, Family Style, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on March 12, 2017

We enjoyed meal, music and walking through grounds after lunch. Unfortunately, I seemed to have had some food that made me very sich several hours after. Suspect it was from desert area as open to people walking by and not covered.

Tags: Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Diego)·Dined on March 12, 2017

Fabulous food. Amazing experience. One of the best Sunday Brunches I have ever had! I'd strongly recommend it! They do live Blues music. They include bottomless mimosas and beer with brunch.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Good for Birthdays, Fun, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Good for Groups, Casual, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New England)·Dined on March 5, 2017

Messed up our reservation, which was not good since we had special friends visiting. We did not get the table we had requested and the service was awful. The food itself was wonderful and the music gave it all a festive air.

Tags: Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value2

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on February 26, 2017

This was the third time we've made Sun brunch reservations. The open table option was easy; hadn't used it before. Service was quick, efficient & staff was very friendly. The outside grill is unique. It includes grilled veggies, various meats & fruit. Inside start with shrimp, sushi, several different salads. Order an omlet to taste. There's bacon and sausage and many other choices. Another unique offering is craft beer on the patio. This is the first time I've ever seen beer included in a Sunday champagne brunch. The restaurant rselves. itself is large & beautifully decorated. The views amazing. They offer valet parking; we parked ourselves. They have a regular menu but we've only been for brunch. We live in No Nevada but spend winter in Tucson. This is one of our go-to spots.

Tags: Good for a Date, Great for Outdoor Dining, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

vip
 (Minneapolis)·Dined on February 25, 2017

This is a hotel restaurant. We hoped to have lunch at the highly recommended Flying V restaurant at the resort, but they are only open for dinner. This is a very attractive room--quiet and with a view of the mountains and pool area, very pleasant ambiance. The lunch menu is very standard. There are sandwiches a few salads and some soups. We hoped for something a bit more imaginative. That said, The dishes are all very well prepared, however, with some imaginative twists. They are all reasonably priced. The steak salad had a substantial steak, but almost no salad. There were some radicchio leaves, almonds and blue cheese. Sadly, the steak was well cooked but lacking flavor. The guacamole was delicious, and the service was impeccable. Since there are few dining options in far Northeast Tucson, I would recommend this cafe for lunch for convenience, but I wouldn't recommend a special trip.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Sacramento)·Dined on February 19, 2017

Fantastic visit to Loews Ventana Canyon Resort for brunch. Enormous selection of tasty and attractive dishes, attentive but not cloying service. It was our second visit in as many years. Considering we don't live in Tucson, I'd say that's a good recommendation all by itself. We will return when we come through next year.

Tags: Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Good for Birthdays
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (New York Area)·Dined on February 12, 2017

The music was very good. Although the selection of food was wide, overall, the food was mediocre. I went to the grill bar and was given an entire T-bone (I asked for a piece) and when I got back to the table, it was overcooked and cold. The breakfast food buffet was no better or worse than most, but certainly not first class.

Tags: Live Music
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value1

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on February 10, 2017

Had both lunch there the first day of our stay. Fish tacos were dry and low quality.

Had breakfast buffet the next day and the food was excellent!! Although a little on the expensive side. Highly recommend the breakfast buffet. Staff is friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Quiet Conversation
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

vip
 (Phoenix)·Dined on February 5, 2017

Best brunch in Tucson!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

vip
 (San Francisco)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Just lovely. Was there for a meeting and had the regular lunch menu, everything was simply delicious And exceeded expectations . The waitstaff were terrific! They were serving Sunday brunch (which I will go back for) the selection Foods and quality were phenomenal ( observing from peoples plates ) and smelled terrific!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Scenic View, Good for Anniversaries, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Local Ingredients, Fun, Live Music, Sunday Lunch, Great for Brunch, Paleo Friendly, Fit for Foodies, Organic, Special Occasion, Gluten Free Options, Good Vegetarian Options, Healthy, People Watching, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on January 8, 2017

Great brunch buffet and great atmosphere...the service was ok...it is usually better. I've been there times when they do not let your champagne glass get half empty before refilling it. Must have been understaffed this day. Still great!!! We will be back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Amazing Christmas brunch! From the outdoor beer and BBQ to the rows and rows of food beautifully displayed inside, it was overwhelmingly awesome! Fresh made personal pasta and omelette chefs and seafood galore! The kids loved the juice shots and the chocolate fountain! We'll definitely be back!

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Good for Anniversaries, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Tucson)·Dined on December 25, 2016

I made the reservation for Sunday brunch. Food was as described in many reviews (good and varied but not exceptional).
All online information indicated that the cost was $42 per person.
The bill was presented to my husband who paid it without comment in front of our guest.
Only later did I discover that this was a holiday event at a cost of $79 per person.
I believe that information should have been disclosed at the time of the reservation or when the venue contacted us to confirm.
I would never return for a "holiday event " nor recommend it.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Scenic View, Family Style
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value2

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 25, 2016

Christmas Day Brunch was awesome! Kind of expensive at $80 each but a lot of choices and quite delicious!

Tags: Comfort Food, Creative Cuisine, Worth the Drive, Good Vegetarian Options, Sunday Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value3

 
 (Tampa)·Dined on December 25, 2016

My daughter and I had Christmas Day Brunch, which this year, Christmas fell on Sunday so it was perfect. We could have stayed all day eating, if I was not watching my weight. The food was spectacular. Not a thing was missing!!!

Tags: Fireplace, Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Worth the Drive, Happy Hour, Great for Brunch, People Watching, Fun, Romantic, Good for Groups, Live Music, Casual, Afternoon Coffee, Quiet Conversation, Business Meals, Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View, Seasonal, Comfort Food, Healthy, Fit for Foodies, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

 
 (Phoenix)·Dined on December 18, 2016

As many time as we have gone, we are never disappointed. This was a family event . Our daughter & family here for Christmas from England.
Thank all for a delightful time.
See you again, next year.

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Sunday Lunch, Family Style, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.