Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network. To see if they take reservations and have availability, you will need to call the restaurant directly or visit their website. View Details

Restaurants you may also like

EVOOEVOO
(32)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
L'Unità EnotecaL'Unità Enoteca
(450)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Joso'sJoso's
(98)
Seafood | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
MisturaMistura
(410)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
NAONAO
(47)
Steakhouse | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
ChabrolChabrol
(64)
French | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
ONE RestaurantONE Restaurant
(647)
French / Canadian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
KOKO! Share BarKOKO! Share Bar
(108)
Korean | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Buca YorkvilleBuca Yorkville
(294)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
UtsavUtsav
(24)
Indian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
La SocieteLa Societe
(1038)
French | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Kasa MotoKasa Moto
(190)
Japanese | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Cibo Wine Bar - YorkvilleCibo Wine Bar - Yorkville
(132)
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
SassafrazSassafraz
(1054)
Contemporary French | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now
Annona At The Park Hyatt TorontoAnnona At The Park Hyatt Toronto
(564)
Mediterranean | Yorkville, Toronto
Reserve Now

About Cantine Bistro & Bar

138 Avenue Rd
Toronto, ON M5R 2H6
View Larger Map

Continuing a long tradition of great food, an inviting & warm atmosphere, and excellent service, Cantine Bar & Grill welcomes you. Under the helm of longtime restaurateur Joey Bersani, of Bersani and Carlevale, Flo's Diner and Byzantium, Cantine serves up just the right mix of great food, a great crowd and the perfect ambience; Making the corner of Avenue Road and Davenport the ONLY place to be. Cantine is your place for a romantic dinner for two, a fun evening out with friends, brunch with the kids, a family celebration, or a large group gathering/function. From the cozy, welcoming oversized leather sofa chairs that greet you upon entering, to the newly renovated full service bar (with 8 draft beers on tap), to the monthly art installations lining the walls, through to the weekly in house guest musicians and vocalists, Cantine remains one of Toronto's best kept secrets. With the city at our doorstep, the energy, beauty and vibrancy of Yorkville all around come and enjoy lunch and

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 2:30PM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM - 3:00PM
Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Cross Street:
Davenport

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 923-4822

Website:
http://www.cantine.ca/

Entertainment:
Alternating Friday evenings we feature a live musical performance from 8 pm to 10 pm

Public Transit:
Bay bus north from Bay Subway station exit Davenport@Avenue Road Avenue Road Bus north from Museum Subway Exit Avenue Road@Davenport

Private Party Facilities:
We are able to curtain off the rear of the restaurant to accommodate 36 to 40 guests; however the entire restaurant is available for bookings we can accommodate 70 guests

Private Party Contact:
Vivian: 4169234822

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, Cafe, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Personal wines welcome, Personal wines welcome (corkage fee applies), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine, Wine Bar

Restaurant Photos

  • Herb Crusted Tuna On Watercress With Wasabi Aioli
  • Bread
Herb Crusted Tuna On Watercress With Wasabi Aioli
Bread
Sort By:
Newest
287 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The good was delicious. I had the Spaghe ...

vip
Dined on June 18, 2015

The good was delicious. I had the Spaghettini with calamari. The calamari was the most tender I have ever had. My husband had the Spaghettini with Scallops which he enjoyed as well. Ambience was nice, it was early so Not crowded. He had found the Cantine 2 days prior when he had lunch there. Would definitely return.

food4
ambience4
service5

Weekend Brunch

Dined on October 11, 2014

A colleague was in Toronto for the weekend. This was the perfect place for brunch. Great service. Diverse menu. Good food. Able to chat with noise level not too bad.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service3

Good Value For The Money

Dined on October 11, 2014

I was very satisfied with the ambiance and the quality of food!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great Brunch Venue

Dined on September 28, 2014

Had brunch here last Sunday. The Caprese omelet was to die for. Coming back again soon

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service4

Ode to all things delicious

Dined on September 26, 2014

Have visited this restaurent mant times and have never been disappointed. Food is beautifully prepared, and presented and substantial. It's so nice to know that you're dining experience will be so satisfying time after time. If you like liver this is the very best and the mussels are wonderful. Can't wait to return

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service3

Downtown comfortable

vip
Dined on September 18, 2014

Food is always hot! Service is fast and friendly . Lots of variety and specials on to menu. Comfortable surroundings with beautiful artwork on the walls which is different every visit . Not too noisy but very busy. This is definitely a neighbourhood downtown gem

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food3
ambience3
service3

Always Reliable

Dined on September 14, 2014

The service is always friendly and the food is always good. An evening here is safe for a crowd because there's enough mainstream, old familiar favs, to please almost anyone.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience4
service2

Good food, not good service.

Dined on September 7, 2014

Had brunch with my girlfirends there. The ambiance was great and we didn't feel like we were being rushed out. The food was good, although portion sizes smaller than in the past when I have eaten there. The food came quickly, but overall the service wasn't good. We waited forever to get our coffee's re-filled and had to ask repeatedly. Overall just not that friendly either!

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Loved it!

Dined on August 30, 2014

Great spot for brunch. Really nice ambiance, and service was impeccable! Thanks so much for having us!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food3
ambience3
service4

Jaytee

Dined on July 22, 2014

Lunched with a friend, salad nicoise , Cobb salad, no wine. Food was fine, not outstanding, service a bit slow but adequate. Cantine is very consistent and well priced. I have lunched and dined many times and will continue to do sp.

Tags: great for brunch, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service4

Love the steak

Dined on July 20, 2014

The steak here is amazing! I loved it. Would definitely come back again. Great experience overall.

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Reliable neighborhood go-to

Dined on July 20, 2014

A good straightforward neighborhood restaurant with high standards for unpretentious mains. Fresh ingredients, well prepared, served in a friendly yet orderly way. Unusually for a place of tjis kind, the desserts are excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Best summerliscious meal

Dined on July 20, 2014

Dinner at Cantine was a treat! We were greeted immediately upon entering the restaurant, had a wonderful server and a friendly helpful bus boy. The menu was extensive compared to other summerliscious menus and the food was great. I had herb crusted cod that was to die for. All four people at my table cleaned their plates bare. We had an early reservation on a Sunday night and by the time we left the place was full and hopping and very noisy. I would definitely go back for any meal there in the future.

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

Great omelettes. I was delighted when I ...

Dined on July 20, 2014

Great omelettes. I was delighted when I ordered scrambled eggs with salmon to have it presented with two large slices of salmon perfectly presented. The onions were sautéed and every so yummy.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service3

summerlicious delicious

Dined on July 18, 2014

Yummy_Good, tasty, and nice varied menu. Waiters seemed to have other things on their minds. Seem like they don't want to be there? A little bit more on the plate would have been good too!

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience2
service2

Lots of choices for the Summerlicious me ...

Dined on July 15, 2014

Lots of choices for the Summerlicious menu. We received our food quickly however we found that the servers were not very friendly. Overall we expected better service.

food5
ambience5
service5

Loved the flat iron steak! Great ambianc ...

Dined on July 15, 2014

Loved the flat iron steak! Great ambiance and overall dining experience.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, romantic, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

We had a great night, food and service w ...

Dined on July 14, 2014

We had a great night, food and service were fantastic

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service4

good place to go on a special day

Dined on July 14, 2014

friendly service, good foods, good atmosphere, located in a good neighbourhood

Tags: great for brunch, romantic, late-night find
food5
ambience5
service4

Great food and good service

Dined on July 10, 2014

I went for summerlicious and truly enjoyed the grilled calamari and fish of the day which happened to be tilapia. The service was great initially, but as it started to get busier, it took almost 30 minutes just to get someone to bring the debit machine so we pay for our meals... Overall, a great experience!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Always delicious

Dined on July 8, 2014

This is my favourite neighbourhood restaurant. The food and service are both excellent and the staff are always friendly and accommodating.

Tags: great for brunch, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Delicious food!

Dined on July 8, 2014

We went there for summerlicious and enjoyed every bite.

Tags: great for lunch
food1
ambience1
service1

Summerlicious are not available

Dined on July 6, 2014

We went for Summerlicious, but menu was not available on that day we went even though there was such a indication from their web. I checked with them after we visit( didn't eat) E mail reply was even more made me unpleasent. I won't go this place again.

food4
ambience5
service4

I love this restaurant . It is a really ...

Dined on July 5, 2014

I love this restaurant . It is a really fun place and it has great food.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent choice. Enjoyed the meal and w ...

Dined on July 5, 2014

Excellent choice. Enjoyed the meal and whole dining experience very much. Look forward to returning!

Tags: fit for foodies, special occasion, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience4
service5

Wonderful

Dined on July 5, 2014

Saturday night at Cantine Bistro. Summerlicious menu was wonderful. Had the grilled Calamari and Flat Iron Steak. Both done to perfection. Wine list is extensive and sommelier was very knowledgeable. Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic, neighborhood gem, notable wine list
food5
ambience5
service5

Great little bistro

Dined on July 4, 2014

We have been regular customers for many years and always return to Cantine for great food at a very fair price.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food1
ambience1
service1

No Dinner

Dined on June 28, 2014

I went to dinner and when i got there the hostess told me: SORRY but we are CLOSED. I was surprised and explained that i have a reservation at 9. She went to check the system and found it so she was like OK you can stay but you have to order right now because the kitchen is closing. I was so upset and replied by NO THANKS and left. It was very unprofessional and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone

food4
ambience3
service3

Disappointed at the table we were put at ...

Dined on June 25, 2014

Disappointed at the table we were put at; I said we were bringing people for an occasion and we got stuck in a corner. I specifically asked for a good table. Food, however, is very good.

Tags: neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5

Consistently great food. Best chicken an ...

Dined on June 14, 2014

Consistently great food. Best chicken and/or liver with mashed potatoes in the city! Reasonably priced as well. I dine here often as one of my "go-to" restaurants.

Tags: fit for foodies, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

Always reliabl. Always served gourmet fo ...

Dined on June 2, 2014

Always reliabl. Always served gourmet food beautifully plated. the service is warm and attentive. the menu is extensiiiiive with many great offerings. Love this place.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Our Go-To Place!

Dined on May 25, 2014

Cantine Bistro & Bar is a delicious and friendly restaurant. My friends, family and I have been coming here for years. The food is terrific and the staff/service are knowledgeable, efficient and kind. The maitre d's are welcoming and helpful. Owner Joey Bersani greets his guests with a relaxed, brief visit; you can tell he loves his business. The menu has lots to offer...they'll even do my egg-white omelettes without butter or oil when I ask! The breads and olives at dinner are the best in town. The grilled salmon with wasabi is also a perennial favourite - delish. The restaurant itself is very pretty and displays local artists. In short, and as you can tell, I love Cantine!

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Good to Go

Dined on May 23, 2014

I have been coming to Cantine on a non-regular basis since it originally opened, then closed then opened again, guessing 30 years on and off. Alwasy found it a comfortable and relaxing place with goog food.

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service4

FOOD IS CONSISTANLY GOOD & THE SERVICE & ...

Dined on May 20, 2014

FOOD IS CONSISTANLY GOOD & THE SERVICE & ATMOSPHERE CASUAL & FRIENDLY

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Great neighbourhood gem

Dined on May 15, 2014

The food is well prepared and beautifully served. Service is warm and efficient. Great menu with lots of optio s. This is a neighbourhood gem

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience3
service3

Cantine never fails to please. We went ...

Dined on April 26, 2014

Cantine never fails to please. We went for brunch, just coffees and eggs, and the madeleine is always perfect. The poached eggs are medium, smoked salmon thinly sliced and the spinach just blanched. Yum! A basket of toast arrived to munch on while we waited (not that it took long at all!). Coffee refills were prompt.

food4
ambience4
service4

Cantine Bistro

Dined on April 20, 2014

Cantine is a neighbourhood gem. The food is consistently good, we eat there often.

food4
ambience4
service4

A great neighbourhood restaurant with re ...

Dined on April 19, 2014

A great neighbourhood restaurant with reasonable prices for good cuisine. This has been a staple go to place in the area for over a decade and has a loyal client base of neighbours who appreciate the value and consistently good food and service.

Tags: special occasion
food4
ambience4
service5

Delicious, relaxed and reasonable

Dined on April 4, 2014

The food is consistently good. The prices are extremely reasonable. It's almost weird to me that a pint of beer is 5.50. Especially considering the area and the staff is great.

Tags: great for brunch, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food4
ambience4
service4

First Time for Brunch

Dined on March 23, 2014

Easy to book online; table was ready; felt welcomed; no waiting to be offered coffee! I loved seeing an artist's excellent work for sale! Lots of menu choices; each of us enjoyed our various selections--my Tuscan omelet with 1/2 salad 1/2 frites was excellent! I look forward to my next brunch or meal at Cantine!

Tags: great for brunch, neighborhood gem

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.