Is this your restaurant?Claim this listing.

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
Get Notified
We'll send you an email if this restaurant joins OpenTable.
Notify Me

Restaurants you may also like

FiguresFigures
(59)
$$$$
Fusion / Eclectic | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 23 times today
EVOOEVOO
(179)
$$$$
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 9 times today
L'Unità EnotecaL'Unità Enoteca
(608)
$$$$
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 27 times today
Joso'sJoso's
(257)
$$$$
Seafood | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 27 times today
MisturaMistura
(524)
$$$$
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 5 times today
Sopra LoungeSopra Lounge
Reviews Coming Soon
$$$$
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Terroni  YONGE (at Price St.)Terroni YONGE (at Price St.)
(1310)
$$$$
Italian | Rosedale / Summerhill, Toronto
Booked 117 times today
Piano PianoPiano Piano
(447)
$$$$
Contemporary Italian | The Annex, Toronto
Booked 80 times today
Buca YorkvilleBuca Yorkville
(592)
$$$$
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 37 times today
Café BouludCafé Boulud
(1608)
$$$$
French | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 60 times today
PlantaPlanta
(619)
$$$$
Vegetarian / Vegan | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 82 times today
Cibo Wine Bar - YorkvilleCibo Wine Bar - Yorkville
(451)
$$$$
Italian | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 54 times today
STK - TorontoSTK - Toronto
(263)
$$$$
Steakhouse | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 76 times today
Café CancanCafé Cancan
(50)
$$$$
Bistro | The Annex, Toronto
Booked 30 times today
ONE RestaurantONE Restaurant
(892)
$$$$
French / Canadian | Yorkville, Toronto
Booked 46 times today

Nearby points of interest

  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi
  1. Distance: 0.06mi
  2. Distance: 0.25mi
  3. Distance: 0.35mi
  4. Distance: 0.39mi

About Permanently Closed - Cantine Bistro & Bar

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Ladling the locals with brunch, lunch and dinner menu for two decades, Cantine Bistro and Bar is the home to Italian and American culinary exotics. Multiple lighting systems illuminate the trendy interior while creative artworks furnish the contrastingly traditional structured walls. The tables are arranged close to each other while providing considerable degree of mobility, which gives the ambience an intimate profile. The waiting staff is professional and non-intrusive which makes the dining experience at Cantine Bistro and Bar convenient and comprehensive.

A full three course can be ordered by the visiting patrons at Cantine Bistro and Bar. Poached eggs, omelettes, poultry burgers, Italian styled sandwiches, pastas and flatbreads� the restaurant offers a variety of food items. The menu also features delightful desserts.

138 Avenue Rd
Toronto, ON M5R 2H6
View Larger Map

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Italian, Comfort Food

Hours of Operation:
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 2:30PM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM - 3:00PM
Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 11:00PM

Cross Street:
Davenport

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
CAN$31 to CAN$50

Payment Options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(416) 923-4822

Website:
http://www.cantine.ca/

Entertainment:
Alternating Friday evenings we feature a live musical performance from 8 pm to 10 pm

Public Transit:
Bay bus north from Bay Subway station exit Davenport@Avenue Road Avenue Road Bus north from Museum Subway Exit Avenue Road@Davenport

Private Party Facilities:
We are able to curtain off the rear of the restaurant to accommodate 36 to 40 guests; however the entire restaurant is available for bookings we can accommodate 70 guests

Private Party Contact:
Vivian: (416) 923-4822

Additional:
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Sort By:
S
308 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on June 18, 2015

The good was delicious. I had the Spaghettini with calamari. The calamari was the most tender I have ever had. My husband had the Spaghettini with Scallops which he enjoyed as well. Ambience was nice, it was early so Not crowded. He had found the Cantine 2 days prior when he had lunch there. Would definitely return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2014

A colleague was in Toronto for the weekend. This was the perfect place for brunch. Great service. Diverse menu. Good food. Able to chat with noise level not too bad.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on October 11, 2014

I was very satisfied with the ambiance and the quality of food!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 28, 2014

Had brunch here last Sunday. The Caprese omelet was to die for. Coming back again soon

Tags: Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 26, 2014

Have visited this restaurent mant times and have never been disappointed. Food is beautifully prepared, and presented and substantial. It's so nice to know that you're dining experience will be so satisfying time after time. If you like liver this is the very best and the mussels are wonderful. Can't wait to return

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 18, 2014

Food is always hot! Service is fast and friendly . Lots of variety and specials on to menu. Comfortable surroundings with beautiful artwork on the walls which is different every visit . Not too noisy but very busy. This is definitely a neighbourhood downtown gem

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 14, 2014

The service is always friendly and the food is always good. An evening here is safe for a crowd because there's enough mainstream, old familiar favs, to please almost anyone.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on September 7, 2014

Had brunch with my girlfirends there. The ambiance was great and we didn't feel like we were being rushed out. The food was good, although portion sizes smaller than in the past when I have eaten there. The food came quickly, but overall the service wasn't good. We waited forever to get our coffee's re-filled and had to ask repeatedly. Overall just not that friendly either!

Tags: Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on August 30, 2014

Great spot for brunch. Really nice ambiance, and service was impeccable! Thanks so much for having us!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 22, 2014

Lunched with a friend, salad nicoise , Cobb salad, no wine. Food was fine, not outstanding, service a bit slow but adequate. Cantine is very consistent and well priced. I have lunched and dined many times and will continue to do sp.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2014

The steak here is amazing! I loved it. Would definitely come back again. Great experience overall.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2014

Dinner at Cantine was a treat! We were greeted immediately upon entering the restaurant, had a wonderful server and a friendly helpful bus boy. The menu was extensive compared to other summerliscious menus and the food was great. I had herb crusted cod that was to die for. All four people at my table cleaned their plates bare. We had an early reservation on a Sunday night and by the time we left the place was full and hopping and very noisy. I would definitely go back for any meal there in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2014

A good straightforward neighborhood restaurant with high standards for unpretentious mains. Fresh ingredients, well prepared, served in a friendly yet orderly way. Unusually for a place of tjis kind, the desserts are excellent.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2014

Food is great if you love meat. Make sure to request things that you want as sometimes they don't come bt with everything they have. Downtown location is better in terms of ambiance and performances...but a much longer wait if you don't have a reservation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 20, 2014

Great omelettes. I was delighted when I ordered scrambled eggs with salmon to have it presented with two large slices of salmon perfectly presented. The onions were sautéed and every so yummy.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 18, 2014

Yummy_Good, tasty, and nice varied menu. Waiters seemed to have other things on their minds. Seem like they don't want to be there?
A little bit more on the plate would have been good too!

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2014

Lots of choices for the Summerlicious menu. We received our food quickly however we found that the servers were not very friendly. Overall we expected better service.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 15, 2014

Loved the flat iron steak! Great ambiance and overall dining experience.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2014

We had a great night, food and service were fantastic

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 14, 2014

friendly service, good foods, good atmosphere, located in a good neighbourhood

Tags: Great for Brunch, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 10, 2014

I went for summerlicious and truly enjoyed the grilled calamari and fish of the day which happened to be tilapia. The service was great initially, but as it started to get busier, it took almost 30 minutes just to get someone to bring the debit machine so we pay for our meals... Overall, a great experience!

Tags: Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 8, 2014

This is my favourite neighbourhood restaurant. The food and service are both excellent and the staff are always friendly and accommodating.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 8, 2014

We went there for summerlicious and enjoyed every bite.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 6, 2014

We went for Summerlicious, but menu was not available on that day we went even though there was such a indication from their web. I checked with them after we visit( didn't eat) E mail reply was even more made me unpleasent. I won't go this place again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2014

I love this restaurant . It is a really fun place and it has great food.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2014

Excellent choice. Enjoyed the meal and whole dining experience very much. Look forward to returning!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Special Occasion, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 5, 2014

Saturday night at Cantine Bistro. Summerlicious menu was wonderful. Had the grilled Calamari and Flat Iron Steak. Both done to perfection. Wine list is extensive and sommelier was very knowledgeable. Wouldn't change a thing!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Romantic, Neighborhood Gem, Notable Wine List
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on July 4, 2014

We have been regular customers for many years and always return to Cantine for great food at a very fair price.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 27, 2014

I went to dinner and when i got there the hostess told me: SORRY but we are CLOSED. I was surprised and explained that i have a reservation at 9. She went to check the system and found it so she was like OK you can stay but you have to order right now because the kitchen is closing. I was so upset and replied by NO THANKS and left. It was very unprofessional and I would not recommend this restaurant to anyone

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 25, 2014

Disappointed at the table we were put at; I said we were bringing people for an occasion and we got stuck in a corner. I specifically asked for a good table. Food, however, is very good.

Tags: Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on June 14, 2014

Consistently great food. Best chicken and/or liver with mashed potatoes in the city! Reasonably priced as well. I dine here often as one of my "go-to" restaurants.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on June 2, 2014

Always reliabl. Always served gourmet food beautifully plated. the service is warm and attentive. the menu is extensiiiiive with many great offerings. Love this place.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 25, 2014

Cantine Bistro & Bar is a delicious and friendly restaurant. My friends, family and I have been coming here for years. The food is terrific and the staff/service are knowledgeable, efficient and kind. The maitre d's are welcoming and helpful. Owner Joey Bersani greets his guests with a relaxed, brief visit; you can tell he loves his business. The menu has lots to offer...they'll even do my egg-white omelettes without butter or oil when I ask! The breads and olives at dinner are the best in town. The grilled salmon with wasabi is also a perennial favourite - delish. The restaurant itself is very pretty and displays local artists. In short, and as you can tell, I love Cantine!

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 23, 2014

I have been coming to Cantine on a non-regular basis since it originally opened, then closed then opened again, guessing 30 years on and off. Alwasy found it a comfortable and relaxing place with goog food.

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 20, 2014

FOOD IS CONSISTANLY GOOD & THE SERVICE & ATMOSPHERE CASUAL & FRIENDLY

Tags: Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4

vip
 (Toronto)·Dined on May 15, 2014

The food is well prepared and beautifully served. Service is warm and efficient. Great menu with lots of optio s. This is a neighbourhood gem

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service5

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 26, 2014

Cantine never fails to please. We went for brunch, just coffees and eggs, and the madeleine is always perfect. The poached eggs are medium, smoked salmon thinly sliced and the spinach just blanched. Yum! A basket of toast arrived to munch on while we waited (not that it took long at all!). Coffee refills were prompt.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Neighborhood Gem, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 20, 2014

Cantine is a neighbourhood gem. The food is consistently good, we eat there often.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
 (Toronto)·Dined on April 19, 2014

A great neighbourhood restaurant with reasonable prices for good cuisine. This has been a staple go to place in the area for over a decade and has a loyal client base of neighbours who appreciate the value and consistently good food and service.

Tags: Kid-friendly, Special Occasion, Great for Lunch, Late-night Find, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

 
·Dined on April 4, 2014

The food is consistently good. The prices are extremely reasonable. It's almost weird to me that a pint of beer is 5.50. Especially considering the area and the staff is great.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Neighborhood Gem, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.