HelpiOS AppAndroid AppWindows Phone AppWindows 8 App

Not available on OpenTable

Unfortunately, this restaurant is not on the OpenTable reservation network.
If you like, we’ll notify you by email if this restaurant joins.
Is this your restaurant? Claim this listing

Permanently Closed - Cantine Bistro & Bar

4.0
308 reviews
icon/ic_price_rangeCreated with Sketch.
CAN$31 to CAN$50
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Italian
Top Tags:
  • Neighborhood Gem
  • Fit for Foodies
  • Great for Lunch

Similar Restaurants

About

This restaurant is permanently closed.

Ladling the locals with brunch, lunch and dinner menu for two decades, Cantine Bistro and Bar is the home to Italian and American culinary exotics. Multiple lighting systems illuminate the trendy interior while creative artworks furnish the contrastingly traditional structured walls. The tables are arranged close to each other while providing considerable degree of mobility, which gives the ambience an intimate profile. The waiting staff is professional and non-intrusive which makes the dining experience at Cantine Bistro and Bar convenient and comprehensive.

A full three course can be ordered by the visiting patrons at Cantine Bistro and Bar. Poached eggs, omelettes, poultry burgers, Italian styled sandwiches, pastas and flatbreads� the restaurant offers a variety of food items. The menu also features delightful desserts.

Dining Style
Casual Dining
icon/ic_cuisineCreated with Sketch.
Cuisines
Italian, Comfort Food
icon/ic_clockCreated with Sketch.
Hours of operation
Lunch: Monday - Friday: 11:30AM - 2:30PM
Brunch: Saturday & Sunday: 10:00AM - 3:00PM
Dinner: Sunday & Monday: 5:00PM - 9:00PM
Tuesday - Saturday: 5:00PM - 11:00PM
icon/ic_phoneCreated with Sketch.
Phone number
(416) 923-4822
icon/ic_new_windowCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_paymentCreated with Sketch.
Payment options
AMEX, MasterCard, Visa
icon/ic_dress_codeCreated with Sketch.
Dress code
Casual Dress
icon/ic_private_diningCreated with Sketch.
Private party facilities
We are able to curtain off the rear of the restaurant to accommodate 36 to 40 guests; however the entire restaurant is available for bookings we can accommodate 70 guests
icon/ic_contactCreated with Sketch.
Private party contact
Vivian: (416) 923-4822
icon/ic_locationCreated with Sketch.
icon/ic_neighborhoodCreated with Sketch.
Neighborhood
icon/ic_cross_streetCreated with Sketch.
Cross street
Davenport
icon/ic_public_transitCreated with Sketch.
Public transit
Bay bus north from Bay Subway station exit Davenport@Avenue Road Avenue Road Bus north from Museum Subway Exit Avenue Road@Davenport
icon/ic_entertainmentCreated with Sketch.
Entertainment
Alternating Friday evenings we feature a live musical performance from 8 pm to 10 pm
Additional
Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, BYO Liquor, BYO Wine, Cafe, Corkage Fee, Counter Seating, Full Bar, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine
What 308 People Are SayingWrite a review
Overall ratings and reviews
4.0  based on all time ratings
4.1
food
3.9
service
3.9
ambience
4.0
value
Noise · Moderate
93% of people would recommend it to a friend
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
Sort by
Newest
Filters
viplaudan (Washington DC)
5.0  Dined on June 18, 2015

The good was delicious. I had the Spaghettini with calamari. The calamari was the most tender I have ever had. My husband had the Spaghettini with Scallops which he enjoyed as well. Ambience was nice, it was early so Not crowded. He had found the Cantine 2 days prior when he had lunch there. Would definitely return.

Report
Helpful
TorontoMom (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on October 11, 2014

A colleague was in Toronto for the weekend. This was the perfect place for brunch. Great service. Diverse menu. Good food. Able to chat with noise level not too bad.

Report
Helpful
Jellybean (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on October 11, 2014

I was very satisfied with the ambiance and the quality of food!

Report
Helpful
vipISpy (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on September 28, 2014

Had brunch here last Sunday. The Caprese omelet was to die for. Coming back again soon

Report
Helpful
Montana (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on September 26, 2014

Have visited this restaurent mant times and have never been disappointed. Food is beautifully prepared, and presented and substantial. It's so nice to know that you're dining experience will be so satisfying time after time. If you like liver this is the very best and the mussels are wonderful. Can't wait to return

Report
Helpful
vipfoodllover (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on September 18, 2014

Food is always hot! Service is fast and friendly . Lots of variety and specials on to menu. Comfortable surroundings with beautiful artwork on the walls which is different every visit . Not too noisy but very busy. This is definitely a neighbourhood downtown gem

Report
Helpful
kevinf8 (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on September 14, 2014

The service is always friendly and the food is always good. An evening here is safe for a crowd because there's enough mainstream, old familiar favs, to please almost anyone.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
3.0  Dined on September 7, 2014

Had brunch with my girlfirends there. The ambiance was great and we didn't feel like we were being rushed out. The food was good, although portion sizes smaller than in the past when I have eaten there. The food came quickly, but overall the service wasn't good. We waited forever to get our coffee's re-filled and had to ask repeatedly. Overall just not that friendly either!

Report
Helpful
Kris (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on August 30, 2014

Great spot for brunch. Really nice ambiance, and service was impeccable! Thanks so much for having us!

Report
Helpful
Foodmaven (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on July 22, 2014

Lunched with a friend, salad nicoise , Cobb salad, no wine. Food was fine, not outstanding, service a bit slow but adequate. Cantine is very consistent and well priced. I have lunched and dined many times and will continue to do sp.

Report
Helpful
jollyrancher (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on July 20, 2014

The steak here is amazing! I loved it. Would definitely come back again. Great experience overall.

Report
Helpful
CheerfulFoodie (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on July 20, 2014

Dinner at Cantine was a treat! We were greeted immediately upon entering the restaurant, had a wonderful server and a friendly helpful bus boy. The menu was extensive compared to other summerliscious menus and the food was great. I had herb crusted cod that was to die for. All four people at my table cleaned their plates bare. We had an early reservation on a Sunday night and by the time we left the place was full and hopping and very noisy. I would definitely go back for any meal there in the future.

Report
Helpful
vipBenna9 (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on July 20, 2014

A good straightforward neighborhood restaurant with high standards for unpretentious mains. Fresh ingredients, well prepared, served in a friendly yet orderly way. Unusually for a place of tjis kind, the desserts are excellent.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on July 20, 2014

Food is great if you love meat. Make sure to request things that you want as sometimes they don't come bt with everything they have. Downtown location is better in terms of ambiance and performances...but a much longer wait if you don't have a reservation.

Report
Helpful
Barbie (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on July 20, 2014

Great omelettes. I was delighted when I ordered scrambled eggs with salmon to have it presented with two large slices of salmon perfectly presented. The onions were sautéed and every so yummy.

Report
Helpful
BenjieW (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on July 18, 2014

Yummy_Good, tasty, and nice varied menu. Waiters seemed to have other things on their minds. Seem like they don't want to be there?
A little bit more on the plate would have been good too!

Report
Helpful
divinediner19 (Toronto)
2.0  Dined on July 15, 2014

Lots of choices for the Summerlicious menu. We received our food quickly however we found that the servers were not very friendly. Overall we expected better service.

Report
Helpful
OpenTable Diner (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on July 15, 2014

Loved the flat iron steak! Great ambiance and overall dining experience.

Report
Helpful
Claudia (Toronto)
5.0  Dined on July 14, 2014

We had a great night, food and service were fantastic

Report
Helpful
jeekkk (Toronto)
4.0  Dined on July 14, 2014

friendly service, good foods, good atmosphere, located in a good neighbourhood

Report
Helpful
1
2
3
16