About Cantina Laredo - Nashville

592 12th Avenue S
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Cantina Laredo serves authentic Mexican dishes in a sophisticated atmosphere. We offer daily fish specials, grilled chicken and steaks complimented by signature sauces such as chipotle-wine with portobello mushrooms or sauteed artichoke hearts and roasted red bell peppers. Follow on Twitter Become a fan on Facebook

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Division Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-9282

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/

Executive Chef:
Trey Cioccia

Private Party Contact:
Chris Collier: 6152599282

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Maria
asada y huevas
Ceviche
Frozen Casa Rita
Chips
Salsa
Fire Roasted Salsa
Guacamole
Shrimp Enchiladas
Mango Salad With Grilled Chicken
Camerones Escondidos
Chicken Chimichanga
beef fajitas
Camarones Escondidos
Mexican Brownie
Crab Cake Benedict
Durango
fish tacos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Nashville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.7

service

3.6

ambience

3.7

value

3.2

noise

Moderate

57% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (17)
Special Occasion (13)
Great for Lunch (12)
See All
Fit for Foodies (10)
Hot Spot (7)
Good for a Date (4)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Romantic (4)
Casual (4)
Great for Outdoor Dining (4)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fun (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Business Meals (2)
Good for Anniversaries (2)
Late-night Find (2)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Handcrafted Cocktails (1)
Tapas (1)
Scenic View (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
People Watching (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Cozy (1)
Sort By:
Newest
446 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Great chips and salsa! Food was good but ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great chips and salsa! Food was good but smaller portions than expected. Service was average. We were there on a Sunday and enjoyed lunch on the patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our server was not attentive and failed ...

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server was not attentive and failed to get our order correct and then argued that she was right. In the last 3 years, we've eaten at the restaurant many times (maybe 10-12) and have seen a steady decline in service and food quality over the last year +. Will most likely be our last time at Cantina Laredo as we have other choices in the area that we will begin to explore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We got there 15 minutes early for our 5: ...

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on September 5, 2016

We got there 15 minutes early for our 5:30 reservation for 10 people. There were maybe, 4 other tables in the entire restaurant seated, and we still didn't sit down until 5:35. There was zero urgency or hospitality to get our dinner started.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was very good but the bar and s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was very good but the bar and service was very slow. They also were out of specific bottles of wine but we very much appreciated the free glass of wine and upgraded bottle of wine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was OK.

 
 (Denver)
·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overpriced and food wasn't that great. F ...

 
 (Chicago)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overpriced and food wasn't that great. FYI they charge for sour cream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Service was okay; waitress was pretty ro ...

 
 (Seattle)
·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was okay; waitress was pretty robotic. We expected this to be a little more authentic. Food was okay.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Terrible service during lunch service

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 23, 2016

Terrible service during lunch service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Our server was great. Very friendly and ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was great. Very friendly and helpful. It was nice to go to a Mexican restaurant that isn't like almost every other Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For the price, I expected more interesti ...

 
 (New England)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

For the price, I expected more interesting Mexican food. Drinks were good but the food was rather bland and uninspiring.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great time .Great food. Great s ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great time .Great food. Great service. I have already recommend it to friends and in social media .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was very nice and the ser ...

 
 (Western NC)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice and the service was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Arrived on time for our reservations; we ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Arrived on time for our reservations; we were quickly seated. Service and attendance were timely and often enough to be helpful, but not to be bothersome. Server was well informed of drinks, favorites and dish preparation. Food was served hot and in timely manner. The food was good, but not outstanding enough for us to drive downtown again. The cuisine is described as fancy or modern Mexican. I'd rather have authentic Mexican in a dive or an upscale dinner than this as it was good, but not memorable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful birthday dinner with friends!

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Party of 10 for a friend's birthday. Ve ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Party of 10 for a friend's birthday. Very slow service, waters stayed empty most of the meal, forgot drink reorders, and checks were all wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our server was amazing! I really enjoyed ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server was amazing! I really enjoyed the restaurant. The food was delicious. However the drinks were overpriced considering they were primarily ice for $12.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

When I made the reservation via OpenTab ...

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

When I made the reservation via OpenTable, I specifically requested a leisurely, non-rushed lunch and a male server (so my lunch guest would not be distracted by a woman). We were seated right next to two other tables when the place was empty and given the only female server working. We felt pressured to place our food order quickly and before our entrees arrived I overheard our server tell the next table she was done for the day and they could stay as long as they liked after paying the bill. I stopped her and told her should could transfer our table to another server so we could take our time but she said no and told us we could stay as long as we liked after paying the bill. The entrees came to the table very quick and right after we started eating the server asked if we'd be interested in dessert. She wanted to present the dessert tray immediately before we were even a quarter way through our entrees. She removed my guest's plate before he was even finished and tried to remove mine but I stopped her and said I'd like to finish. She seemed quite annoyed at me by this point so I just asked for the check as she obviously wanted to leave but wanted her tip first. We usually have dessert and drinks after eating, but it was not to be sine we were made to feel so uncomfortable in keeping our server. After paying the bill we went to the bar for drinks and was finally treated like a welcomed guest. Side note: the share plate on top of the stack sitting on the table was crusted with old food, the sugar caddy on the table was equally filthy, and the bowl of complimentary chips was crusted with filth on the outside too. The food was decent but overshadowed by the dismissal of my simple dining requests. I really appreciated the bartender afterwords but his graciousness did not make up for how rude we were treated before leaving the table and sitting at the bar. Far too many great places in Nashville to ever go back, sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

excellent food including desert. Great ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

excellent food including desert. Great location. Only negative was the slow service for server to arrive and then bring drinks on a night that was not busy. Have dined several times and will visit again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a business dinner at Cantina Laredo ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had a business dinner at Cantina Laredo last week and the food was just OK. It took almost 20 minutes after we ordered our drinks to receive them and payed premium price for a margarita that you could taste more mix than tequila. Our server was slow and not friendly. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Loved the outdoor seating & location, th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved the outdoor seating & location, the food was absolutely delicious and the drinks were great! Good selection for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

This was our first visit. We were celebr ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 13, 2016

This was our first visit. We were celebrating our 19th wedding anniversary. The service was good but the food was way overpriced and my chicken wasn't cooked fully. The flavor was also pretty bland. I wasn't impressed and will not be returning.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service5
value1

Dined early as had concert tickets that ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 8, 2016

Dined early as had concert tickets that evening. No issues with seating, service was friendly and prompt. Food(including dessert) was wonderful!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We've been to this restaurant many times ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

We've been to this restaurant many times and thought it was fast becoming one of our favorites but this visit made us re-evaluate. We made an online reservation & showed up on time to be greeting by the hostess & I guess a manager telling us that their liquor license had been suspended for 10 days & they could not serve any liquor but could serve beer. We were hugely disappointed as much of the reason we go there is to order their margaritas which are one of the best. We told them that & they said we could cancel or go ahead with our dinner, it was our choice. We decided to stay since getting there & parking is such a chore. In hindsight we should have left. Our waitress could have cared less, taking way too much time to even greet us & then when we got our food it was cold (and I do mean cold), obviously it had been sitting somewhere other than our table. No one came to check on anything or ask about beverage refills which BTW I ordered beer so I guess she too didn't care. However another manager came by to whom we expressed our huge disappointment in not being able to get margaritas & even asked about rain checks. He said state law prohibited him from giving away drinks (which seemed strange) but at no point did he say "let me tell you what I can do..." and then offer a free appetizer on the next visit or some sort of something to take the sting out of coming there to discover we couldn't get part of what reason we really come there to get! Obviously management doesn't know how to WOW! or begin to delight customers especially when something like this happens & your customers even tell them how disappointed they are. I wasn't looking to make out or get something free, but it would have been nice to have management realize here is someone who is obviously not a one-time visiting customer, who came here for something we couldn't deliver, they couldn't have known about it, here let me try to make it a little better and show some customer appreciation.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience1
service1
value2

First time here and unfortunately was le ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

First time here and unfortunately was less than impressed.

They informed me when I arrived that they had lost their liquor license and could only serve beer - not a big deal but a mild concern.

Staff was great - very friendly.

Food was way below what I was expecting. My wife ordered the Sea Bass and it arrived undercooked - think rubber consistency. We sent that back and it came back with the fish cooked but now smothered in sauce such that she had to search for the actual fish. Never had a manager come over to apologize.

I ordered the Mahi tacos (fried) - they had zero flavor and the taco shells were very dry and hard - think leather consistency. I added some salsa for flavor and just ate the fish, rice, and beans.

I doubt I'll give them a try again for a while. I had heard great things about them so maybe this was just a bad night?

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

A very nice lunch out with a good friend ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 30, 2016

A very nice lunch out with a good friend at a place we both enjoy. Just a little

noisy dining outside on a beautiful day.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

The food was good ..but unfortunately du ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 29, 2016

The food was good ..but unfortunately during my visit the restaurant had lost their liquor license and could not serve their signature margaritas.. this was disappointing.. hopefully the issue has been resolved.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Scenic View, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service3
value2

We have always enjoyed Cantina Laredo bu ...

 
 (Atlanta)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

We have always enjoyed Cantina Laredo but the service this time was very poor. It took over 15 minutes for anyone to even come by and offer water or greet us. The drinks took forever to come and arrived along with our meal. Also, valet parking has gone from free to $5.00 to $9.00 with no discount for eating here. We felt this was too much to spend in addition to dinner for about an hour. We are locals and will probably not be back. Many, many great restaurants in Nashville offer complimentary valet and we will seek these out in the future. It's a shame as this has always been our favorite go to Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Good for Groups, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

Comer en otro sitio (eat somewhere else) ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

Comer en otro sitio (eat somewhere else), because this place is not so good (no tan bien). Food was on the cool side--the "melted" cheese had been sitting for a while and the service was terribly slow. We were the first people in the restaurant and there were only two other tables in service the whole time we were there--can't imagine how long it would have taken if the restaurant had been even half full! And there was good reason why there was no body in the restaurant which we discovered when we got our food. Appetizers, main dish and drinks were all very subpar and they were not shy about charging high prices for everything--way over priced, especially for such poor quality food--meat an chicken just not good--NO TAN BIEN!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

I chose this restaurant based on good Op ...

 
 (Milwaukee)
·Dined on June 25, 2016

I chose this restaurant based on good OpenTable reviews but the service was very slow, the sangria tasted like pineapple juice and the food was okay. Our server was apologetic but we were left waiting quite a long time for drinks although most of them were sangria. There were many empty tables so it would be surprising if the bartender was backed up. Great chips and salsa's, the guac was very good too. The chicken enchiladas were soaked in some type of sour cream sauce that isn't mentioned on the menu.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

This was our 1st time in Nashville. This ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our 1st time in Nashville. This place was excellent. Drinks were fabulous and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

The food is fantastic, great cocktails, ...

 
 (Toronto)
·Dined on June 23, 2016

The food is fantastic, great cocktails, very friendly service. It was my second time there--the first time was unforgettable, and the second lived up to expectations. The two colleagues I brought with me were both raving about my excellent choice!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was marginal. The service was ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was marginal. The service was slow. We asked for our party of 11 to be seated together. We were told they could not accommodate our request. However there were several large parties already seated and numerous groups of tables in our area that could have been put together to accommodate our party. Those tables remained empty during our entire stay. Once was enough for me.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Overpriced and mediocre. I was highly di ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Overpriced and mediocre. I was highly disappointed after all the hype I heard around town about Cantina Laredo.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Food was less than impressive, for the p ...

 
 (St. Louis)
·Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was less than impressive, for the price. Our server was and very rehearsed; she also our table three before she was ready for us to order. She never asked us if we wanted drinks either--weird.

Tags: Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value1

The food was very good -- excellent in f ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was very good -- excellent in fact, but for some reason the service was incredibly slow, including the delivery of simple drinks from the bar. And the restaurant was operating at about 1/4 capacity. At one point I had to ask the hostess to find our waiter, who had gone missing. The service was friendly, but difficult to locate.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

Love it! Great guacamole, great drinks, ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on June 10, 2016

Love it! Great guacamole, great drinks, great Mexican food! We go as often as we can!

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Consistently Good

vip
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 30, 2016

They usually have a Sea Bass special that we love. They have changed it to Flounder for now. Not quite as good. The Cabo Flip Margarita is excellent!!!

Tags: Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

We will not be going back.

 
 (East Tennessee)
·Dined on May 29, 2016

They were out of pelligrino, out of lids for my kids cup. My kids rice was so spicy that my fiance couldnt even eat it. I ordered the chicken tacos and my beans and rice were also incredibly spicy, so much so that I ended up sending it back. I like a little bit of spice but this was so hot that tears were coming out of my eyes. Nowhere on the menu did it state that this dish was that hot or I wouldnt have ordered it. I also dont understand why they would serve something that spicy to a child. My fiances mole enchilada was literally just a piece of chicken wrapped in a flour tortilla, and the queso did not taste good at all. The server was super nice and attentive but the food was terrible.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

Service was poor. Slow to place drink or ...

 
 (Las Vegas)
·Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was poor. Slow to place drink order, slow to deliver drinks and food. Restaurant was not crowded at all at 7:00pm on a Friday night.

Server wiped his brow with his hand and then made our guacamole.

This place has really slipped in recent months.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Great appetizers, entrees, and drink - a ...

 
 (Nashville)
·Dined on May 26, 2016

Great appetizers, entrees, and drink - absolutely my favorite Mexican restaurant!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.