About Cantina Laredo - Nashville

592 12th Avenue S
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Cantina Laredo serves authentic Mexican dishes in a sophisticated atmosphere. We offer daily fish specials, grilled chicken and steaks complimented by signature sauces such as chipotle-wine with portobello mushrooms or sauteed artichoke hearts and roasted red bell peppers. Follow on Twitter Become a fan on Facebook

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Division Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-9282

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/

Executive Chef:
Trey Cioccia

Private Party Contact:
Chris Collier: 6152599282

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Outdoor Smoking Area, Private Room, Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Maria - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
asada y huevas - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Ceviche - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Frozen Casa Rita - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Chips - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Salsa - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Fire Roasted Salsa - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Guacamole - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Shrimp Enchiladas - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Mango Salad With Grilled Chicken - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Camerones Escondidos - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Chicken Chimichanga - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
beef fajitas - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Camarones Escondidos - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Mexican Brownie - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Crab Cake Benedict - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
Durango - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN
fish tacos - Cantina Laredo - Nashville, Nashville, TN

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Nashville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

3.9

service

3.8

ambience

4.0

value

3.5

noise

Moderate

67% would recommend it to a friend

Good for a Date (10)
Casual (10)
Good for Groups (9)
See All
Special Occasion (7)
Fit for Foodies (5)
Neighborhood Gem (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Vibrant Bar Scene (3)
Late-night Find (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Fun (3)
Hot Spot (2)
Romantic (2)
Sunday Lunch (2)
Great for Outdoor Dining (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Business Meals (2)
Handcrafted Cocktails (2)
Pre/post Theatre (2)
People Watching (2)
Modern Decor (2)
Cozy (2)
Great for Brunch (1)
Happy Hour (1)
Tapas (1)
Worth the Drive (1)
Scenic View (1)
Great Beer (1)
Spicy (1)
Sort By:
S
468 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Food was exceptional. Good service. Traf ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 4 days ago

Food was exceptional. Good service. Traffic and parking was terrible. Use the valet across the street in front of Sambuca's.

Tags: Casual, Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience3
service4
value3

Service was good as usual. The food wa ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined 6 days ago

Service was good as usual. The food was sub par and has been bad now for two visits. We won't be back unless they improve the food. Brisket tacos were rubbery and shells were stale. Queso was very runny and cold.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value2

Wonderful experience. Food was excellen ...

 
 (Memphis)·Dined on November 27, 2016

Wonderful experience. Food was excellent and the waitress was more than accommodating on our food choices. I would def recommend this restaurant . We will visit again next time we are in Nashville!!!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

First, let me start with the service… Ky ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 20, 2016

First, let me start with the service… Kyle, our server, was great, so this review does not reflect on him. In the five years that I've been going to Cantina Laredo, this by far was the worst meal that I've ever had there, and it was the exact same thing I've ordered at least twice before. My date's meal was also terrible. Like my entre, it had no flavor, limited ingredients, and was just poorly made. The top shelf margaritas that we ordered were also terrible. They were too sweet, and there was no hint of tequila in them. This location has really gone downhill in the last year, and I won't be returning anytime soon.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service5
value1

Salsa was great, just like one finds in ...

vip
 (Dallas)·Dined on November 20, 2016

Salsa was great, just like one finds in Texas. Carnitas excellent. Enchilada mole was not very flavorful. Expensive.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

The carne asada enchilada was excellent ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on November 11, 2016

The carne asada enchilada was excellent along with the margaritas. Great service as well!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We have dined at Cantina Laredo many tim ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on November 6, 2016

We have dined at Cantina Laredo many times and had incredible service and food. However, last evening was the exception our waitress Maria was not attentive and in a hurry the entire evening. Our order was incorrect and she blamed us when she got it wrong. I think she may need additional training and thee food was not good.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service1
value2

First time dining at this restaurant in ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 29, 2016

First time dining at this restaurant in the Gulch. Good food and good value!

Tags: Late-night Find, Good for a Date, Pre/post Theatre, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value5

It wasn't worth the time or money. Overp ...

 
 (Oklahoma City)·Dined on October 28, 2016

It wasn't worth the time or money. Overpriced for the quality and the taste you are getting.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service2
value2

Love cantina Laredo - but service has fe ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 25, 2016

Love cantina Laredo - but service has fell off the cliff

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value3

I had read pretty good reviews about thi ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 22, 2016

I had read pretty good reviews about this place but honestly I was unimpressed. For was mediocre at best and the service not great either.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Unfortunately our experience was very po ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Unfortunately our experience was very poor. We had a reservation but really didn't need one as it was not crowded at all. No one waited on us for at least 20 mins and our waiter was changed twice after that. We literally did not get a glass of water we asked for till we were getting our checks and the hostess had to bring it. We thought we were on a hidden game show.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Always quality food. We go to sit outsi ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 16, 2016

Always quality food. We go to sit outside on the street and watch the goings-on in the Gulch. We love the outdoor dining and find the inside ambiance just okay.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

We were a party of 8 and made reservatio ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 15, 2016

We were a party of 8 and made reservations for 6:00 on a Saturday night. The restaurant was not busy at that time however our cocktails took a long time. We ordered the table side guacamole which was fantastic. I ordered the Avocado and Artichoke Enchlidas which were also fantastic except I found a long black hair inside. They did take it off the bill but a manager never came over.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value3

Great food and wonderful service!! We h ...

 
 (Las Vegas)·Dined on October 14, 2016

Great food and wonderful service!! We had the tacos one night and quesadillas another night. Both choices were very good!

Tags: Vibrant Bar Scene, Fit for Foodies, Handcrafted Cocktails
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

The food was great. It was not crowded g ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on October 14, 2016

The food was great. It was not crowded given it was a Thursday night at 7pm. Classy place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

The food was very good, but our waiter w ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 25, 2016

The food was very good, but our waiter was incompetent. Probably a one-off, so I'd go back, but I'd ask for a different waiter if we got him again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service1
value2

The food was average ... We had a salad ...

 
 (Birmingham)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was average ... We had a salad with chicken, cheese dip, guacamole made tableside, combination fajitas, and beef nachos.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service1
value2

Good food!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 24, 2016

Good food!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great chips and salsa! Food was good but ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 18, 2016

Great chips and salsa! Food was good but smaller portions than expected. Service was average. We were there on a Sunday and enjoyed lunch on the patio.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service2
value3

Our server was not attentive and failed ...

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 16, 2016

Our server was not attentive and failed to get our order correct and then argued that she was right. In the last 3 years, we've eaten at the restaurant many times (maybe 10-12) and have seen a steady decline in service and food quality over the last year +. Will most likely be our last time at Cantina Laredo as we have other choices in the area that we will begin to explore.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service1
value2

We got there 15 minutes early for our 5: ...

 
 (Richmond)·Dined on September 5, 2016

We got there 15 minutes early for our 5:30 reservation for 10 people. There were maybe, 4 other tables in the entire restaurant seated, and we still didn't sit down until 5:35. There was zero urgency or hospitality to get our dinner started.

Tags: Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

I always have a great experience at Cant ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on September 4, 2016

I always have a great experience at Cantina. The food is always delicious and the service is usually wonderful. I will say that the food is a tad overpriced for what it is

Tags: Special Occasion, Great for Brunch, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service3
value2

The food was very good but the bar and s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on September 4, 2016

The food was very good but the bar and service was very slow. They also were out of specific bottles of wine but we very much appreciated the free glass of wine and upgraded bottle of wine.

Tags: Romantic, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value3

Food was OK.

 
 (Denver)·Dined on September 4, 2016

Food was OK.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Overpriced and food wasn't that great. F ...

 
 (Chicago)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Overpriced and food wasn't that great. FYI they charge for sour cream

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service4

Service was okay; waitress was pretty ro ...

 
 (Seattle)·Dined on August 28, 2016

Service was okay; waitress was pretty robotic. We expected this to be a little more authentic. Food was okay.

Tags: Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

Terrible service during lunch service

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 23, 2016

Terrible service during lunch service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Our server was great. Very friendly and ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Our server was great. Very friendly and helpful. It was nice to go to a Mexican restaurant that isn't like almost every other Mexican restaurant.

Tags: Late-night Find, Special Occasion, Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

For the price, I expected more interesti ...

 
 (New England)·Dined on August 13, 2016

For the price, I expected more interesting Mexican food. Drinks were good but the food was rather bland and uninspiring.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service3
value2

We had a great time .Great food. Great s ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on August 12, 2016

We had a great time .Great food. Great service. I have already recommend it to friends and in social media .

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Hot Spot, Romantic, Late-night Find
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value4

The atmosphere was very nice and the ser ...

 
 (Western NC)·Dined on July 30, 2016

The atmosphere was very nice and the service was great

Tags: Fit for Foodies
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value5

Arrived on time for our reservations; we ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Arrived on time for our reservations; we were quickly seated. Service and attendance were timely and often enough to be helpful, but not to be bothersome. Server was well informed of drinks, favorites and dish preparation. Food was served hot and in timely manner. The food was good, but not outstanding enough for us to drive downtown again. The cuisine is described as fancy or modern Mexican. I'd rather have authentic Mexican in a dive or an upscale dinner than this as it was good, but not memorable.

Tags: Great for Lunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service4
value2

Wonderful birthday dinner with friends!

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Wonderful birthday dinner with friends!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Party of 10 for a friend's birthday. Ve ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Party of 10 for a friend's birthday. Very slow service, waters stayed empty most of the meal, forgot drink reorders, and checks were all wrong.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Our server was amazing! I really enjoyed ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 23, 2016

Our server was amazing! I really enjoyed the restaurant. The food was delicious. However the drinks were overpriced considering they were primarily ice for $12.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5

When I made the reservation via OpenTab ...

vip
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 18, 2016

When I made the reservation via OpenTable, I specifically requested a leisurely, non-rushed lunch and a male server (so my lunch guest would not be distracted by a woman). We were seated right next to two other tables when the place was empty and given the only female server working. We felt pressured to place our food order quickly and before our entrees arrived I overheard our server tell the next table she was done for the day and they could stay as long as they liked after paying the bill. I stopped her and told her should could transfer our table to another server so we could take our time but she said no and told us we could stay as long as we liked after paying the bill. The entrees came to the table very quick and right after we started eating the server asked if we'd be interested in dessert. She wanted to present the dessert tray immediately before we were even a quarter way through our entrees. She removed my guest's plate before he was even finished and tried to remove mine but I stopped her and said I'd like to finish. She seemed quite annoyed at me by this point so I just asked for the check as she obviously wanted to leave but wanted her tip first. We usually have dessert and drinks after eating, but it was not to be sine we were made to feel so uncomfortable in keeping our server. After paying the bill we went to the bar for drinks and was finally treated like a welcomed guest. Side note: the share plate on top of the stack sitting on the table was crusted with old food, the sugar caddy on the table was equally filthy, and the bowl of complimentary chips was crusted with filth on the outside too. The food was decent but overshadowed by the dismissal of my simple dining requests. I really appreciated the bartender afterwords but his graciousness did not make up for how rude we were treated before leaving the table and sitting at the bar. Far too many great places in Nashville to ever go back, sadly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience1
service1
value2

excellent food including desert. Great ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 14, 2016

excellent food including desert. Great location. Only negative was the slow service for server to arrive and then bring drinks on a night that was not busy. Have dined several times and will visit again

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Had a business dinner at Cantina Laredo ...

 
 (Nashville)·Dined on July 14, 2016

Had a business dinner at Cantina Laredo last week and the food was just OK. It took almost 20 minutes after we ordered our drinks to receive them and payed premium price for a margarita that you could taste more mix than tequila. Our server was slow and not friendly. Will not be going back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1
value1

Loved the outdoor seating & location, th ...

 
 (Philadelphia)·Dined on July 13, 2016

Loved the outdoor seating & location, the food was absolutely delicious and the drinks were great! Good selection for dinner!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.