About Cantina Laredo - Nashville

592 12th Avenue S
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Cantina Laredo serves authentic Mexican dishes in a sophisticated atmosphere. We offer daily fish specials, grilled chicken and steaks complimented by signature sauces such as chipotle-wine with portobello mushrooms or sauteed artichoke hearts and roasted red bell peppers. Follow on Twitter Become a fan on Facebook

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Division Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-9282

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/

Executive Chef:
Trey Cioccia

Private Party Contact:
Chris Collier: 6152599282

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Bloody Maria
asada y huevas
Ceviche
Frozen Casa Rita
Salsa
Chips
Fire Roasted Salsa
Guacamole
Mango Salad With Grilled Chicken
Shrimp Enchiladas
Camerones Escondidos
Chicken Chimichanga
Camarones Escondidos
beef fajitas
Mexican Brownie
Crab Cake Benedict
Durango
fish tacos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Nashville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.1

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.9

ambience

4

noise

Moderate

76% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (33)
fit for foodies (22)
special occasion (17)
See All
great for outdoor dining (16)
neighborhood gem (16)
great for lunch (16)
hot spot (12)
great for brunch (8)
romantic (7)
vibrant bar scene (5)
kid-friendly (5)
late-night find (2)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
418 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

We have always enjoyed Cantina Laredo bu ...

Dined 6 days ago

We have always enjoyed Cantina Laredo but the service this time was very poor. It took over 15 minutes for anyone to even come by and offer water or greet us. The drinks took forever to come and arrived along with our meal. Also, valet parking has gone from free to $5.00 to $9.00 with no discount for eating here. We felt this was too much to spend in addition to dinner for about an hour. We are locals and will probably not be back. Many, many great restaurants in Nashville offer complimentary valet and we will seek these out in the future. It's a shame as this has always been our favorite go to Mexican restaurant.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food2
ambience4
service2
value1

Comer en otro sitio (eat somewhere else) ...

Dined 6 days ago

Comer en otro sitio (eat somewhere else), because this place is not so good (no tan bien). Food was on the cool side--the "melted" cheese had been sitting for a while and the service was terribly slow. We were the first people in the restaurant and there were only two other tables in service the whole time we were there--can't imagine how long it would have taken if the restaurant had been even half full! And there was good reason why there was no body in the restaurant which we discovered when we got our food. Appetizers, main dish and drinks were all very subpar and they were not shy about charging high prices for everything--way over priced, especially for such poor quality food--meat an chicken just not good--NO TAN BIEN!!!

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

I chose this restaurant based on good Op ...

Dined 7 days ago

I chose this restaurant based on good OpenTable reviews but the service was very slow, the sangria tasted like pineapple juice and the food was okay. Our server was apologetic but we were left waiting quite a long time for drinks although most of them were sangria. There were many empty tables so it would be surprising if the bartender was backed up. Great chips and salsa's, the guac was very good too. The chicken enchiladas were soaked in some type of sour cream sauce that isn't mentioned on the menu.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

This was our 1st time in Nashville. This ...

Dined on June 23, 2016

This was our 1st time in Nashville. This place was excellent. Drinks were fabulous and the food was delicious. I would definitely recommend

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience2
service2
value2

The food was marginal. The service was ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was marginal. The service was slow. We asked for our party of 11 to be seated together. We were told they could not accommodate our request. However there were several large parties already seated and numerous groups of tables in our area that could have been put together to accommodate our party. Those tables remained empty during our entire stay. Once was enough for me.

food2
ambience3
service3
value1

Overpriced and mediocre. I was highly di ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Overpriced and mediocre. I was highly disappointed after all the hype I heard around town about Cantina Laredo.

food2
ambience3
service2
value1

Food was less than impressive, for the p ...

Dined on June 17, 2016

Food was less than impressive, for the price. Our server was and very rehearsed; she also our table three before she was ready for us to order. She never asked us if we wanted drinks either--weird.

Tags: kid-friendly
food4
ambience3
service2
value4

The food was very good -- excellent in f ...

Dined on June 16, 2016

The food was very good -- excellent in fact, but for some reason the service was incredibly slow, including the delivery of simple drinks from the bar. And the restaurant was operating at about 1/4 capacity. At one point I had to ask the hostess to find our waiter, who had gone missing. The service was friendly, but difficult to locate.

Tags: good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Love it! Great guacamole, great drinks, ...

Dined on June 10, 2016

Love it! Great guacamole, great drinks, great Mexican food! We go as often as we can!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Consistently Good

Dined on May 30, 2016

They usually have a Sea Bass special that we love. They have changed it to Flounder for now. Not quite as good. The Cabo Flip Margarita is excellent!!!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food1
ambience2
service4
value1

We will not be going back.

Dined on May 29, 2016

They were out of pelligrino, out of lids for my kids cup. My kids rice was so spicy that my fiance couldnt even eat it. I ordered the chicken tacos and my beans and rice were also incredibly spicy, so much so that I ended up sending it back. I like a little bit of spice but this was so hot that tears were coming out of my eyes. Nowhere on the menu did it state that this dish was that hot or I wouldnt have ordered it. I also dont understand why they would serve something that spicy to a child. My fiances mole enchilada was literally just a piece of chicken wrapped in a flour tortilla, and the queso did not taste good at all. The server was super nice and attentive but the food was terrible.

food4
ambience3
service1
value2

Service was poor. Slow to place drink or ...

Dined on May 28, 2016

Service was poor. Slow to place drink order, slow to deliver drinks and food. Restaurant was not crowded at all at 7:00pm on a Friday night. Server wiped his brow with his hand and then made our guacamole. This place has really slipped in recent months.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great appetizers, entrees, and drink - a ...

Dined on May 26, 2016

Great appetizers, entrees, and drink - absolutely my favorite Mexican restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exceptional.

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was exceptional.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall very good! Great food, a little expensive!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall very good! Great food, a little expensive! Service was very slow though. It wasn't terribly busy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service5

Our service was excellent! I love the gu ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our service was excellent! I love the guac and the queso with beef and pico de gallo. I had some special requests on a margarita and they didn't bat an eye and it was delicious!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Just skip it

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was 'good' not great and not what I expected. Tre' Leches cake was very good. portions small, service was slow, just an OK dinner that I drove 45 minutes to and paid $120 for.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter, Charles, was delightful.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was pleasant. The service was very good. When the diners in the adjoining booth left, the noise level diminished a lot making it very easy to hear each other in our booth. The prices were fair and portions very generous.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Below Average

Dined on May 2, 2016

Overall experience was well below avearge. Hostess had an attitude, and did not seem to want to be bothered. Waiter was pleasant, but only seen towards the end of our meal after our glasses were empty for some time. The foot was cold, and bland. Very disappointed since I was the person who suggested our meeting place. It has been over a year since my last visit, but will not be back. It's a shame to see how far it has fallen.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Mexican Dining Experience!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Cantina Laredo is a great place with excellent food and margaritas! The ahi tuna tacos (appetizer) are outstanding especially when paired with the Cabo margarita.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was good, the drinks were good, but the best element this night was the service. Everyone who waited on us was fantastic, from the bar tender to both people that waited on us at the table. The hostess could have been more personable, but the rest more than made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I were in Nashville for our one year anniversary. I made a reservation at Cantina Lerado for 6:30. We were running a few minutes late but were still seated immediately. Our server was friendly and brought us drinks and chips and salsa quickly. My husband and I both enjoyed our meals. The menu clearly noted the meals that could be made gluten free which was very convenient for my husband who has a gluten allergy. The fresh guacamole was exceptional! Our server never asked if we wanted anything boxed and she never cleared our table even after bringing us coffee, which I thought was unusual, but we assumed she was new. Overall, great experience!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food4
ambience3
service4

Food was good and service was good.

Dined on April 24, 2016

Food was good and service was good.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cantina Laredo

Dined on April 21, 2016

A great restaurant with great food and service !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4

Expensive. One dish took much longer tha ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Expensive. One dish took much longer than the others and it was clear they were under a heat lamp for far too long

food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Ehhhhhhh

Dined on April 16, 2016

First off the server we had was fantastic. He kept the drinks coming, answered all questions, checked in frequently, and did not rush us. The restaurant was at about 80 degrees for some reason and stayed that way the entire time. It also had a unpleasant smell like old hotel carpet. It was a very off putting combo for eating. The food was decent but nothing special which struck me as odd for such a highly rated establishment. Overall it was fine but I do not plan to go back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Business Dinner

Dined on April 11, 2016

The food at Cantina Laredo was excellent, as usual. I got the Carne Asada this time and thoroughly enjoyed it - the Mexican Brownie Dessert, served with hot brandy butter in a cast iron skillet and topped with ice cream - is always a favorite.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service3

Food seems to have slipped. I thought t ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food seems to have slipped. I thought the queso was out of a jar with a little pico tossed on top. Fajitas weren't sizzling and was sort of chopped up chicken. Waitress got my order wrong and the enchiladas seemed to have the same weird cheese as the queso. While it was good I wouldn't call it GORMET as they tout on their marquee.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food was just ok. Tortilla soup very ket ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was just ok. Tortilla soup very ketchupy tasting. Passion fruit marg was good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Cantina Laredo. I can't say that every visit has been outstanding but this visit was very nice. The service was very good and the food was delicious and hot. There was even enough food for all three of us to save for the next day. Yum! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially those visiting Nashville on a moderate budget.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in The Gulch

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is by far our favorite spot in The Gulch. Great food! Great servers! Great cocktails!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The server spilled the drinks on one of ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The server spilled the drinks on one of people in our group, we didn't make a big deal accepted the apology and tried to eat fast as our friend's pants were soaked! His meal at least should have been complement of the restaurant but it wasn't... We were not there to get free food but it would have been appreciated after the inconvenience to him...

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent as was the Cabo F ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was excellent as was the Cabo Flip margarita. A little noisy, but the service was good.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Need to Get the Reservations Under Control

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a reservation for a large group which I had confirmed that day by phone. We were seated 40 minutes late which is unacceptable to me if you have a confirmed reservation. They kept saying that they had large tables who wouldn't get up. In my opinion that shows bad planning on their part. They eventually sat us at two round tables pushed together not even designed for a large group. They did buy us a round of drinks after I suggested they do so due to their error. They had offered water and chips and salsa which is something you already get for free. I would be hesitant to plan a dinner there in the future.

food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Not our best experience at Cantina Laredo

Dined on March 13, 2016

We dined at Cantina Laredo on 3/12/16 for my husband's birthday. While the food was incredible (as always) our service was nothing to brag about whatsoever. Our server, Aubrey, was in what seemed like the biggest rush of her life. I have never felt like more of an inconvenience to a server in all of my years of dining out. It was so bad that my husband actually suggested that I hurriedly pay the bill so Aubrey could get out of there because she clearly had more important things to do.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad Experience

Dined on March 12, 2016

I made my reservation through Open Table and when I got there the hostess said it would just be a minute before we were seated. We went to the bar and 20 minutes later when I went back to the hostess she forgot who I was and then rushed to find us a table. It was extremely noisy in the side room we were seated in, where it looked like large parties normally go and there were a few. We could hardly speak to one another without screaming. The waitress never refilled our water. She was very busy waiting on the large parties.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Somewhat disappointed

Dined on March 12, 2016

The guacamole made at table side was great. The remainder of the food was just ok - service was somewhat slow and inattentive. Although we had a reservation for 7:00PM, we had to wait for 20 minutes to be seated, and the table had been vacant the entire time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nashville Mexican

Dined on March 12, 2016

Absolutely loved our dinner at Cantena Laredo. Also awesome Margaritas

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Always Delicious

Dined on March 2, 2016

Well, the appetizers were great but the girl waiting on us never came back to check on us once we got appetizers. So we decided that was enough and left. I eat a Cantina Laredo quite often and this has never happened! No worries though - I love your food enough that this will not deter me from coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great place!

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.