About Cantina Laredo - Nashville

592 12th Avenue S
Nashville, TN 37203
View Larger Map

Cantina Laredo serves authentic Mexican dishes in a sophisticated atmosphere. We offer daily fish specials, grilled chicken and steaks complimented by signature sauces such as chipotle-wine with portobello mushrooms or sauteed artichoke hearts and roasted red bell peppers. Follow on Twitter Become a fan on Facebook

Dining Style:
Casual Dining

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Steak

Hours of Operation:
Brunch: Sunday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Monday - Saturday:11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday - Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm, Sunday: 3:00pm - 9:00pm

Cross Street:
Division Street

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(615) 259-9282

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/

Executive Chef:
Trey Cioccia

Private Party Contact:
Chris Collier: 6152599282

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Bar/Lounge, Beer, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Area, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Smoking Area (patio only), Takeout, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Nashville Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

87% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (29)
fit for foodies (26)
neighborhood gem (17)
See All
great for outdoor dining (16)
special occasion (15)
great for lunch (15)
hot spot (13)
vibrant bar scene (8)
romantic (8)
great for brunch (8)
late-night find (3)
kid-friendly (3)
scenic view (1)
notable wine list (1)
 (1)
 (1)
Sort By:
Newest
405 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Great appetizers, entrees, and drink - a ...

Dined 5 days ago

Great appetizers, entrees, and drink - absolutely my favorite Mexican restaurant!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5

The service was exceptional.

Dined on May 18, 2016

The service was exceptional.

food5
ambience4
service3
value4

Overall very good! Great food, a little expensive!

vip
Dined on May 14, 2016

Overall very good! Great food, a little expensive! Service was very slow though. It wasn't terribly busy.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience2
service5

Our service was excellent! I love the gu ...

Dined on May 9, 2016

Our service was excellent! I love the guac and the queso with beef and pico de gallo. I had some special requests on a margarita and they didn't bat an eye and it was delicious!

food3
ambience4
service2
value2

Just skip it

Dined on May 9, 2016

Food was 'good' not great and not what I expected. Tre' Leches cake was very good. portions small, service was slow, just an OK dinner that I drove 45 minutes to and paid $120 for.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Waiter, Charles, was delightful.

Dined on May 8, 2016

The food was pleasant. The service was very good. When the diners in the adjoining booth left, the noise level diminished a lot making it very easy to hear each other in our booth. The prices were fair and portions very generous.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

Below Average

Dined on May 2, 2016

Overall experience was well below avearge. Hostess had an attitude, and did not seem to want to be bothered. Waiter was pleasant, but only seen towards the end of our meal after our glasses were empty for some time. The foot was cold, and bland. Very disappointed since I was the person who suggested our meeting place. It has been over a year since my last visit, but will not be back. It's a shame to see how far it has fallen.

food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Excellent Mexican Dining Experience!

Dined on April 30, 2016

Cantina Laredo is a great place with excellent food and margaritas! The ahi tuna tacos (appetizer) are outstanding especially when paired with the Cabo margarita.

Tags: fit for foodies, hot spot
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Great service

Dined on April 27, 2016

The food was good, the drinks were good, but the best element this night was the service. Everyone who waited on us was fantastic, from the bar tender to both people that waited on us at the table. The hostess could have been more personable, but the rest more than made up for it.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Great food!

Dined on April 25, 2016

My husband and I were in Nashville for our one year anniversary. I made a reservation at Cantina Lerado for 6:30. We were running a few minutes late but were still seated immediately. Our server was friendly and brought us drinks and chips and salsa quickly. My husband and I both enjoyed our meals. The menu clearly noted the meals that could be made gluten free which was very convenient for my husband who has a gluten allergy. The fresh guacamole was exceptional! Our server never asked if we wanted anything boxed and she never cleared our table even after bringing us coffee, which I thought was unusual, but we assumed she was new. Overall, great experience!!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Cantina Laredo

Dined on April 21, 2016

A great restaurant with great food and service !!!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food2
ambience4
service4

Expensive. One dish took much longer tha ...

Dined on April 18, 2016

Expensive. One dish took much longer than the others and it was clear they were under a heat lamp for far too long

food3
ambience2
service5
value3

Ehhhhhhh

Dined on April 16, 2016

First off the server we had was fantastic. He kept the drinks coming, answered all questions, checked in frequently, and did not rush us. The restaurant was at about 80 degrees for some reason and stayed that way the entire time. It also had a unpleasant smell like old hotel carpet. It was a very off putting combo for eating. The food was decent but nothing special which struck me as odd for such a highly rated establishment. Overall it was fine but I do not plan to go back.

food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Business Dinner

Dined on April 11, 2016

The food at Cantina Laredo was excellent, as usual. I got the Carne Asada this time and thoroughly enjoyed it - the Mexican Brownie Dessert, served with hot brandy butter in a cast iron skillet and topped with ice cream - is always a favorite.

Tags: good for groups
food2
ambience2
service3

Food seems to have slipped. I thought t ...

Dined on April 10, 2016

Food seems to have slipped. I thought the queso was out of a jar with a little pico tossed on top. Fajitas weren't sizzling and was sort of chopped up chicken. Waitress got my order wrong and the enchiladas seemed to have the same weird cheese as the queso. While it was good I wouldn't call it GORMET as they tout on their marquee.

food3
ambience3
service3

Food was just ok. Tortilla soup very ket ...

Dined on April 3, 2016

Food was just ok. Tortilla soup very ketchupy tasting. Passion fruit marg was good.

food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Good Experience

Dined on April 2, 2016

This was our fourth visit to Cantina Laredo. I can't say that every visit has been outstanding but this visit was very nice. The service was very good and the food was delicious and hot. There was even enough food for all three of us to save for the next day. Yum! I would recommend this restaurant to anyone, especially those visiting Nashville on a moderate budget.

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best in The Gulch

Dined on April 2, 2016

This is by far our favorite spot in The Gulch. Great food! Great servers! Great cocktails!

Tags: great for outdoor dining, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service1
value3

The server spilled the drinks on one of ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The server spilled the drinks on one of people in our group, we didn't make a big deal accepted the apology and tried to eat fast as our friend's pants were soaked! His meal at least should have been complement of the restaurant but it wasn't... We were not there to get free food but it would have been appreciated after the inconvenience to him...

Tags: great for brunch
food5
ambience4
service5

The food was excellent as was the Cabo F ...

Dined on March 27, 2016

The food was excellent as was the Cabo Flip margarita. A little noisy, but the service was good.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Need to Get the Reservations Under Control

vip
Dined on March 20, 2016

We had a reservation for a large group which I had confirmed that day by phone. We were seated 40 minutes late which is unacceptable to me if you have a confirmed reservation. They kept saying that they had large tables who wouldn't get up. In my opinion that shows bad planning on their part. They eventually sat us at two round tables pushed together not even designed for a large group. They did buy us a round of drinks after I suggested they do so due to their error. They had offered water and chips and salsa which is something you already get for free. I would be hesitant to plan a dinner there in the future.

food5
ambience4
service2
value5

Not our best experience at Cantina Laredo

Dined on March 13, 2016

We dined at Cantina Laredo on 3/12/16 for my husband's birthday. While the food was incredible (as always) our service was nothing to brag about whatsoever. Our server, Aubrey, was in what seemed like the biggest rush of her life. I have never felt like more of an inconvenience to a server in all of my years of dining out. It was so bad that my husband actually suggested that I hurriedly pay the bill so Aubrey could get out of there because she clearly had more important things to do.

Tags: special occasion
food3
ambience1
service1
value1

Bad Experience

Dined on March 12, 2016

I made my reservation through Open Table and when I got there the hostess said it would just be a minute before we were seated. We went to the bar and 20 minutes later when I went back to the hostess she forgot who I was and then rushed to find us a table. It was extremely noisy in the side room we were seated in, where it looked like large parties normally go and there were a few. We could hardly speak to one another without screaming. The waitress never refilled our water. She was very busy waiting on the large parties.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

Somewhat disappointed

Dined on March 12, 2016

The guacamole made at table side was great. The remainder of the food was just ok - service was somewhat slow and inattentive. Although we had a reservation for 7:00PM, we had to wait for 20 minutes to be seated, and the table had been vacant the entire time.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Nashville Mexican

Dined on March 12, 2016

Absolutely loved our dinner at Cantena Laredo. Also awesome Margaritas

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service1
value5

Always Delicious

Dined on March 2, 2016

Well, the appetizers were great but the girl waiting on us never came back to check on us once we got appetizers. So we decided that was enough and left. I eat a Cantina Laredo quite often and this has never happened! No worries though - I love your food enough that this will not deter me from coming back!

Tags: fit for foodies, great for lunch
food5
ambience5
service5

Great place!

Dined on February 27, 2016

Great place!

food3
ambience4
service4
value4

Good place with great food

Dined on February 27, 2016

Met out of town friends for dinner. Seated immediately with courteous service. Drinks came quickly as did food. Waiter was attentive. Noise level very low. Overall a relaxing atmosphere for an evening with good food. Moderately priced. Poor WiFi connectivity both inside and outside of the building. The Gulch should be a place where you can order an Uber or Lyft driver online. I had to take a cab because of no connectivity.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5

Incredible!!!

Dined on February 25, 2016

Incredible!!!

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Meal!

Dined on February 22, 2016

I went to Cantina Laredo with a group of 5. Their Queso Laredo was delicious (good chips are always nice). My party tried a variety of their dishes from the Fajita Tacos to the Beef Enchiladas and everyone was very happy with their meal. Their beans could use some improving (three of 5 got different kinds - pinto, black, refried) and none of them were very memorable. Other than that, we had great service and great food. A great Mexican food experience!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wonderful Service in a Wonderful Venue

Dined on February 20, 2016

Our party of 4 was seated inside the restaurant. We were there at 8pm on Friday night and it was pretty loud inside. Our server, Christian, graciously helped us move to the outside. He was friendly & patient with us. We were a group of friends meeting up to talk and catch up. I think we were there for four hours (technically until the closed and had us leave). All of the staff was wonderful especially considering how late we stayed. We dine here frequently. The food has always been wonderful. I don't really like Mexican food but could eat this every day of the week!

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, late-night find, hot spot
food3
ambience4
service5
value3

Chicken Was Kind of Nasty

Dined on February 14, 2016

We eat at Cantino Laredo regularly. On this trip, our waiter was great but I have to say my food was awful--kind of nasty bony chicken wrapped in a cold egg. I'm going to chalk it up to the fact that it was a busy brunch time on Valentines day, but I will never order that Brunch special again.

food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Great time

Dined on February 14, 2016

Wife and I went here because we like Mexican food and the Gulch is a great place. Parking was easy hostess was friendly and our reservation was perfect. Our waiter was attentive and had great recommendations. The food was very good and the portions were the perfect size. The Bloody Maria was excellent! I would say this place was much better than average, and bordering on excellent.

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Excellent Experience

Dined on February 14, 2016

Out celebrating Valentine's Weekend in Nashville, Cantina Laredo was recommended to us by a friend and we couldn't have been happier. Located in the popular 'Gulch', we were seated immediately and promptly attended to. The 'Cabo Flip' margarita (although a bit pricey) was as great as any we've had anywhere and the guacamole made fresh at the table is a fun experience as well. We would definitely return and recommend this to others!

Tags: hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Food was amazing!!! Service was A-1

Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was amazing!!! Service was A-1

food4
ambience3
service1

Food was great but the service was horri ...

vip
Dined on February 12, 2016

Food was great but the service was horrible. The restaurant was only half full, but it would take 10 minutes to get a refill once we asked

food5
ambience5
service5

Food is always good and service wonderfu ...

Dined on February 7, 2016

Food is always good and service wonderful.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Friday night fun

Dined on January 30, 2016

We met another couple there and had great drinks, food and conversation. the Marguaritas were awesome, fresh guacamole made at the table. We all ordered a different meal and each one was great. Our server was friendly and polite and didn't rush us out when we were done. He even offered to split our check, including splitting the appetizer in half!

Tags: neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Always Great !

Dined on January 26, 2016

We drive from Gallatin to eat here! Always great !! We love they have valet, too. Being able to book on open table makes it even more convenient!

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience5
service5

Great food l! Best cheese dip I've ever ...

Dined on January 19, 2016

Great food l! Best cheese dip I've ever had.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.