About Cantina Laredo - Columbus

8791 Lyra Drive
Columbus, OH 43240
View Larger Map

We create authentic Mexican food inspired by the cuisine of Mexico City and add a modern twist. Try our guacamole made tableside or our full Tequila Bar. We offer two private rooms with 50 and 30 seating. Delivery Service is available. And we are happy to cater your next event, large or small. Contact us today to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 11:00am - 9:00 pm, Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Polaris Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 781-1139

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/location/columbus-ohio/

Catering:
Cantina Laredo opens it's doors to parties as small as 10 and as large as 300. We also provide off-site catering for functions outside the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available behind and on both sides of the restaurant and valet service is available in the front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Leon DeLeon

Private Party Facilities:
Cantina Laredo boasts one of the most amazing private dining rooms in all of Columbus. We offer two private dining rooms. Our all seasons patio room seats 50, a private space with windows to open if weather permits. Our second private dining room features a wall of windows that disappears to be used as both an indoor and outdoor area, complete with heated outdoor tables and a fireplace inside. 32 people can comfortably dine and converse with a beautiful view of the Polaris Fashion Place promenade and fountains, with an additional 16 seats on the open-air patio. We also have a TV accessible for Power Point presentations and conferences.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Belcastro: 6147811139x

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Tacos De Fajita - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Rib-Eye Special Of The Day - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Guacamole - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Tres Leches Cake With Mango - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Pescados - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Flan - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Tortas de Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Queso - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Tacos De Fajita - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Rib-Eye Special Of The Day - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Guacamole - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Tres Leches Cake With Mango - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Pescados - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Flan - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Tortas de Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Queso - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.2

service

4.1

ambience

4.1

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Special Occasion (5)
Great for Lunch (5)
See All
Tapas (5)
Kid-friendly (5)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for a Date (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Business Meals (4)
Authentic (4)
Spicy (4)
Good for Groups (3)
Private Room (3)
Modern Decor (3)
Good for Anniversaries (3)
Outstanding Value (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Tasting Menu (2)
Family Style (2)
Fireplace (2)
Fun (2)
Bar Seating (2)
Happy Hour (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Cozy (2)
Good for Birthdays (2)
Romantic (1)
Good Vegetarian Options (1)
Great for Outdoor Dining (1)
People Watching (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Pre/post Theatre (1)
Paleo Friendly (1)
Vegan (1)
Live Sports (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Fit for Foodies (1)
Gluten Free Options (1)
Sort By:
S
499 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

I chose Cantina Laredo for a special bir ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 27, 2016

I chose Cantina Laredo for a special birthday meal for my husband. We dined there about 2 months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time we were very disappointed in everything about this restaurant. The food was bland and overcooked, the service was nothing special (the waitress even brought us a bowl of broken tortilla chips) . It seemed nothing like we remember the from the first visit. There is no reason to ever go back there or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Didn't get checked in on open table. Wai ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 26, 2016

Didn't get checked in on open table. Waited forever for waitress to appear. She was very nice but very new. Brought app with no drinks yet. Waited over 15 minutes for water. Ordered a beef hard taco and a steak soft taco but got two ground beef

Told waitress wasn't correct wanted steak and she says the kitchen said it was the same thing??? I said no, I get this all the time. Took about 15 more minutes to bring a steak taco that was nothing like I've gotten in the past. Tiny and had stuff on it not normal. We go here slot and usually very good but this night was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Cantina Laredo is your upscale alternati ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 18, 2016

Cantina Laredo is your upscale alternative to local Mexican dining. The food is more like what you would find in actual nice restaurants in Mexico. The drinks are tasty and creative. The enchiladas are delicious! Try to book a table in Moe's section. He's wonderfully friendly and funny.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't get up to Polaris very often bu ...

vip
 (Washington DC)·Dined on November 12, 2016

We don't get up to Polaris very often but when we do we have dinner here. This visit was terrible. We were seated near the bar another party that arrived after us was walked to the other side. We waited for 25 minutes for a server to arrive. It seemed to never really get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Resteraunt - wonderful experience ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Resteraunt - wonderful experience as always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely enjoyed dining at Cantina Lar ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 11, 2016

Absolutely enjoyed dining at Cantina Laredo. Energetic ambiance with friendly service, great Mexican food and the city's best frozen margarita.

Tags: Private Room, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome waiter- Mohammad. Nice dinner. ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on November 10, 2016

Awesome waiter- Mohammad. Nice dinner. We'll visit again.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service! Great food! Frien ...

 
 (Louisville)·Dined on November 9, 2016

Outstanding service! Great food! Friendly waiters! Awesome drink selections! Timely in serving groups as most recently visited w/ a group of 12---

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Outstanding Value, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome margaritas

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome margaritas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Favorite Mexican restaurant in Columbus, ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Favorite Mexican restaurant in Columbus, Ohio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was absolutely terrible. He w ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our waiter was absolutely terrible. He was grumpy and rude. Did not refill drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We made a reservation and arrived early ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 21, 2016

We made a reservation and arrived early.. was seated immediately.. food was as expected as always.. good!! No complaints on service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great greeter!! Had a seat on the quasi ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great greeter!! Had a seat on the quasi patio, beautiful breeze, great music, the food was okay, she loved hers, I had the soup, not the best. Skimpy and lukewarm.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent Food, drinks and Service. Very ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent Food, drinks and Service. Very nice atmosphere. Tableside Guac was excellent. Loved it. We were there for my daughter's and my girlfriend's birthday and they made this special dinner very memorable. Thank You!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. Definitely not ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was excellent. Definitely not your typical Mexican restaurant. Well prepared. Server was very knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have been to the Cantina Laredo in Ch ...

vip
 (Cincinnati)·Dined on September 23, 2016

We have been to the Cantina Laredo in Chicago & its menu seemed much more upscale. Our food in Columbus was OK but the service really lacked. Our waiter took a long time to come to our table to take a drink order & even complained to us he had too many tables to wait. He seemed very stressed & in a bad mood. He lightened up later. The food was OK but could have been better. Table-side guacamole was excellent. Margarita was like water with flavoring. Not worth the money at all & it was a Petron margarita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Good ambience, amazing food.

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good ambience, amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cantina Laredo had a wonderfully comfort ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 5, 2016

Cantina Laredo had a wonderfully comfortable, yet upscale, ambiance. The Mexican cuisine was superb. Big winners included the Chicken Mole Enchilada's and Chicken Enchilada's with cream sauce. Our guests also very much enjoyed the outstanding guacamole, the chicken taco's and, of course, the warm chocolate cake filled with warm chocolate sauce and topped with delicious vanilla bean ice cream! We also love your on line promotions and what you do for our Veterans on Veterans Day.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hadn't been there for a while. Food and ...

 
 (Cleveland)·Dined on September 3, 2016

Hadn't been there for a while. Food and ambience was excellent. Wait staff seemed a bit overwhelmed, maybe short staffed. Was a very long meal, but was ok with us. Really enjoyed it, will be back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First time here. I wanted Mexican, but s ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on September 2, 2016

First time here. I wanted Mexican, but somewhere different. Food was very good, except queso and guacamole very bland. Margaritas mostly watery and flavorless. Best is the Conco Rita (highly recommend). Service attentive and friendly. Lots of room around tables. Nice decor. I will go back.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bit expensive for product

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 27, 2016

Bit expensive for product

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Abraham and Moe are the best waiters. T ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 26, 2016

Abraham and Moe are the best waiters. Try to sit in their sections.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Vegan, Bar Seating, Authentic, Live Sports, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite Mexican dining destination! ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our favorite Mexican dining destination! Never disappoints.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a large group which I thought wou ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a large group which I thought would illicit more frequent visits from our waitress but the drink refills were a bit slow. The food was delicious which made up for it a little bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a party if 10. Server was patient ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a party if 10. Server was patient, courteous, and helpful. Chips and salsa excellent and plentiful. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Drinks a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good, our server did a won ...

 
 (Raleigh)·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was very good, our server did a wonderful job, laughed and joked, the place is asceticly pleasing, only down side was, very litle noise dampening, so any large groups make it sound like a cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was just ok, one plate was sent ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was just ok, one plate was sent back due to sloppy presentation/lack of items, the other was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

When we walked in, we were greeted by th ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 31, 2016

When we walked in, we were greeted by the host who promptly seated us in a booth that was dirty with crumbs and others things on the floor. Looking around I noticed the table could use a new coat of lacquer since it was beaten up pretty badly and a couple of the ceiling tiles were stained with age and dirt. Our waiter came to the table and got our drink order, he recommended the most expensive drink on the menu. The drink was watered down by the time I got it. Then he came back to get the food order, but as he was talking to us he was constantly looking around at the restaurant, not paying attention at all. We ordered the flautitas's which were so dry I had to pour my salsa on them for any flavor. Then the waiter came back and took our order. Again looking all over the place and not paying attention. I ordered the fish tacos, no cheese, it came with cheese to the table. This was because he wasn't paying attention nor bothered to write anything down. Then he disappeared for about 8 minutes, I timed it, no where in site. He was in a hurry to get us out of door. We shouldn't have tipped him, but I wait tables myself and don't do that. The bar tender wasn't even bar tending, she was flirting with some guy at the bar the whole time we were there. I mean she was literally sitting at a bar stool talking to him, WTF. The manager never stopped by to say anything to us. This place really sucks, I hope it goes under so something can come in its place. The whole staff is unprofessional and act like a bunch of crackheads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

It started bad with the waiter. My wife ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2016

It started bad with the waiter. My wife asked for a specific wine she had at the bar before dinner. The waiter said "we do not carry that wine". My wife went to the bar and asked for the wine herself and the bartender poured a glass for her We ordered our meals. Over 1 hour no food. Waiter said 5 more minutes, no food after 10 more minutes. Told waiter we do not want the meals. Manager came over, not to friendly. It was mt son's birthday. Very bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Honestly the best food I have EVER had! ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 30, 2016

Honestly the best food I have EVER had! Service was excellent and the restaurant was very tastefully decorated. Also the fountain out front was beautiful. Will be going back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold, then second round was raw ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was cold, then second round was raw. Two men began physically fighting and cursing in restaurant and manager told us legally they can't do anything but call security who never arrived. Restaurant 2/3 empty which should have told us. Do not go, gone way downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Dinner was excellent! I've never eaten h ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2016

Dinner was excellent! I've never eaten here and not been impressed by the delicious food. The drinks were great - I had the Blood Orange Sangria which was refreshing and had the right amount of sweetness. We had a restaurant week special - Carne Asada with Cheese Enchilada - and the steak was tender, flavorful and perfectly cooked with tiny bits of char. The tres leches cake for dessert was also amazing with sweet mango pieces. The service was great and the food and drinks were served promptly. This place is really a favorite - can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Cantina Laredo several t ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been to Cantina Laredo several times and have always been very happy with the food and the service. This time was a major disappointment in the service. After we ordered, we did not see our waiter Jacob until we were finished with dinner and had been sitting there for 10 minutes. He never checked to see if the food was correct (It was ), we didn't get any drink refills and we had to keep asking for everything. Drinks, boxes, the check. Jacob sent a bus person out to make the guacamole for us but we saw him making it himself for two other tables. I was also a little surprise that they did not wear food prep gloves while making it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I was not impressed. Food lacked flavor ...

vip
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 22, 2016

I was not impressed. Food lacked flavor and spice one would expect in Mexican food. Server was condescending and did not add to the experience in a positive way. I asked for a margarita with salt, there was no salt on my glass and when I asked him to fix it, he walked around the corner with my drink and returned with the same glass, no salt and set it on the table. We ended up getting our tab and leaving before actually having a meal. There are so many better options in Columbus than this over-priced place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I went to Cantina Laredo with my office ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 20, 2016

I went to Cantina Laredo with my office as a going-away lunch for one of my coworkers. The food was excellent - a bit pricey in my own opinion, but it was delicious. I could see this being a great date night spot as the vibe was quite intimate and romantic. Overall, it was a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a nice dining experience for Rest ...

 
 (Orange County)·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a nice dining experience for Restaurant Week - it was pretty empty. However, my friends who ordered the RW prix fixe meal didn't even get their dessert! Such a disappointment

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Happy hour was great and we were able to ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2016

Happy hour was great and we were able to easily move to a table for dinner. It was the first time that my dining companions experienced Cantina Laredo and they had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Cantina Laredo many times ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2016

I have been to Cantina Laredo many times and have really enjoyed the food and service, but not this time. The chips were great, but the meal was not up to the standard that I have had in the past. I had a chimichanga stuffed poblano pepper. The outside was not fully cooked and tasted doughy and the poblano pepper was not cooked, which I did not care for. We had to ask for items several times from our server and did not get water refills.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We came to this restaurant for restauran ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 19, 2016

We came to this restaurant for restaurant week. It's a good thing we ate a lot of salsa and chips because the meal itself was not that good. The food was just barely warm and was not high quality food. We had fish tacos and the fish was very dry and tasteless, the rice was tasteless and the black bean dish was not good. Our waiter did keep our water glasses filled. I don't think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

I've dined at Cantina Laredo previous an ...

 
 (Columbus)·Dined on July 18, 2016

I've dined at Cantina Laredo previous and have always had a wonderful experience. However I did feel our party was slightly neglected. They weren't extremely busy but so I did wonder if the service was different because we selected to restaurant week menu

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.