About Cantina Laredo - Columbus

8791 Lyra Drive
Columbus, OH 43240
View Larger Map

We create authentic Mexican food inspired by the cuisine of Mexico City and add a modern twist. Try our guacamole made tableside or our full Tequila Bar. We offer two private rooms with 50 and 30 seating. Delivery Service is available. And we are happy to cater your next event, large or small. Contact us today to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 11:00am - 9:00 pm, Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Polaris Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 781-1139

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/location/columbus-ohio/

Catering:
Cantina Laredo opens it's doors to parties as small as 10 and as large as 300. We also provide off-site catering for functions outside the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available behind and on both sides of the restaurant and valet service is available in the front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Leon DeLeon

Private Party Facilities:
Cantina Laredo boasts one of the most amazing private dining rooms in all of Columbus. We offer two private dining rooms. Our all seasons patio room seats 50, a private space with windows to open if weather permits. Our second private dining room features a wall of windows that disappears to be used as both an indoor and outdoor area, complete with heated outdoor tables and a fireplace inside. 32 people can comfortably dine and converse with a beautiful view of the Polaris Fashion Place promenade and fountains, with an additional 16 seats on the open-air patio. We also have a TV accessible for Power Point presentations and conferences.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Belcastro: 6147811139x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Rib-Eye Special Of The Day
  • Tres Leches Cake With Mango
  • Guacamole
  • Pescados
  • Tortas de Carnitas
  • Queso
  • Flan
  • Carnitas
Rib-Eye Special Of The Day
Tres Leches Cake With Mango
Guacamole
Pescados
Tortas de Carnitas
Queso
Flan
Carnitas

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

84% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (29)
great for lunch (24)
special occasion (21)
See All
fit for foodies (20)
kid-friendly (16)
great for outdoor dining (12)
hot spot (12)
neighborhood gem (11)
romantic (10)
vibrant bar scene (7)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (4)
scenic view (1)
Sort By:
Newest
453 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5

The dining room manager blade multiple t ...

vip
Dined 3 days ago

The dining room manager blade multiple trips to our table. He also acknowledged that a member of the party had special dietary needs and that they were aware and on top of it. Very enjoyable experience

food2
ambience3
service2
value3

We were quite surprised when the restaur ...

Dined 4 days ago

We were quite surprised when the restaurant was only about 20% full, considering it was dinner time on a Saturday night. Chips were fresh and tasty and the guacamole we ordered was delicious. The salsa was very different and I didn't care for it much, but others in our group liked it okay. I ordered chicken fajitas and was very disappointed. The chicken was badly over cooked and very dry and tough. It took a long time to receive our food and my meal was cold by the time I received it. Our waiter was very friendly but he made a lot of mistakes and was apologizing constantly. Several folks in our party of 7 had to send their iced tea back because it tasted odd. It took awhile to get the replacement tea but it was good and fresh when it finally came. The restaurant seemed poorly managed in general due to several unprofessional events during our dinner. At one point an employee yelled loudly across the restaurant to the bartender to ask why one of our drinks had not been served. One time was enough for this nearly 2.5 hour dinning experience.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enjoyable dining experience. Very good t ...

Dined 5 days ago

Enjoyable dining experience. Very good table side Guacamole, chips are good quality. The dipping sauces (two are given one is served warm and the other is served cold) interesting approach to chips and salsa. Booth size is large enough for 4-people. Overall a very nice dining experience indeed. Way to go! PS..make sure you order a Margarita!

Tags: great for brunch, fit for foodies, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

Our visit to Catina Laredo was very dist ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

Our visit to Catina Laredo was very disturbing. To begin with the restaurant was not busy at all. Our server seemed distracted and until,later in the meal disinterested in our needs. Our initial cocktail orders were delivered at different times to each of three of us. Two of the drinks were not what was ordered. Empty food trays were left by our table. When one corrected drink was served the person bringing it was in your face rude. Fortunately the food was very good. We were so shocked by our treatment that we will never go there again.

food5
ambience4
service2

The food was very good. My husband had t ...

vip
Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good. My husband had the sea bass, and I had the shrimp filled Chilies Rellenos. Both were prepared very well. The service was fair to average. We were seated in a back corner instead of a table by the open window with a view of the courtyard with children playing in the fountains. We moved to the table with the view. It took our waiter a very long time to come to bring our menus. After our food was delivered to the table, our waiter brought additional chips and salsa, but never returned to see if we were interested in another drink or to refresh our water. Overall, we were satisfied, but the service left a bit to be desired.

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

First time and experience was better tha ...

Dined on June 19, 2016

First time and experience was better than expected. Service was outstanding from the time we stepped into the restaurant. Food was excellent, could taste the freshness in the food. I will go back again very soon, hope to get the same service again.

Tags: great for brunch, kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you , we had an awesome time, gre ...

Dined on June 18, 2016

Thank you , we had an awesome time, great service, thank you

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, romantic, late-night find, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Cierra was fantastic! So atte ...

Dined on June 7, 2016

Our server Cierra was fantastic! So attentive and helpful. We even had our 4 year old and 10 month old with us and she was so fantastic with the kids too, which is so helpful because happy kids makes for happy parents and a superb dining experience! The food was outstanding as well. We were so glad to have the opportunity to celebrate our Anniversary. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant. Ask for Cierra because she is so professional and personable- it really made our experience top notch. Can't wait to get a chance to go back!

food5
ambience5
service5

The good is great! Best guacamole EVER!! ...

Dined on June 5, 2016

The good is great! Best guacamole EVER!!! And the service has been friendly and professional each time. Top notch!

food3
ambience4
service5

Good service good friends good time

Dined on June 4, 2016

Good service good friends good time

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Superb Experience

Dined on May 31, 2016

Third time there and the food continues to provide a unique slant with a superb taste. Staff were all A plus.

Tags: special occasion, great for lunch
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Needed a good place to have a not too le ...

Dined on May 21, 2016

Needed a good place to have a not too lengthy meal near our hotel. Cantina Laredo accomplished that handily. All of the food was very good, the margarita's were excellent, and the made at the table guacamole was some of the best we have ever had. Not just standard Mexican either- I had a very tasty Chilean Sea Bass with mildly spicy sauce.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Terrible Service

Dined on May 21, 2016

This place used to be great, but the service has went way downhill. We were greated by our server and told "its going to be awhile" After 10 minutes we approached the manager and got a different server who screwed up my meal and forgot my wine. We won't be back. The

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best chicken enchaladas I have ever had!

Dined on May 21, 2016

The chicken enchaladas are non-conventional and perfectly excellent! the guac is outstanding, as is the cheese dip! Mojitos are wonderful! Great restaurant and experience. Very pleasant and nicely affordable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is that I had a coupon ...

Dined on May 20, 2016

My only complaint is that I had a coupon for a free guacamole appetizer and noticed after I left that it wasn't taken off of my bill and I paid for it. I suppose it was my mistake for not checking before I left, but I was in a hurry and didn't think about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Mexican Fare!

Dined on May 12, 2016

I met a business associate for dinner at Cantina Laredo. It was the first time either of us had dined there. Our server, Mohammed, was fabulous! Our appetizers, entrees and desserts were very good, looked attractive and well sized.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food order shorted!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Was shorted food on my order and acknowledged by the waitress but since my order was changed from corn tortillas to flour they would only provide me 2 tacos instead of 3! Ridiculous! I made 2 references to the situation, and she evidently felt this was way it was going to be. Did not argue, or ask for a manager because I feel like this must be typical for this location. Does not compare to location in Jacksonville, Florida at all.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Hiro was our hero!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We had won a giftcard to Cantina Laredo & stopped by for dinner. I had the DELICIOUS avocado & artichoke enchiladas. They were a delicious, light option. Our server, Hiro, was attentive & delightful. Will be sure to ask for him in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Drink portions small and tons of ice

Dined on April 16, 2016

Drink portions small and tons of ice

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 8, 2016

I had an enjoyable experience for my birthday here. Mohammad was a great server and our food and drinks were fantastic. They even gave a desert for my birthday. Everyone had a wonderful time. I will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Mexican restaurants I ha ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

One of the best Mexican restaurants I have been to ever. Fresh and unique combinations, quality ingredients and spectacular service. A must visit when in town.

food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and service, nothing special t ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Good food and service, nothing special though. The guacamole was excellent. Nice experience and I would go back.

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Sloppy kitchen

Dined on March 13, 2016

Despite the front-end manager covering for the kitchen staff, the overall experience was nothing to write home about. Ordered an entree that was supposed to be "chicken stuffed with spinach and shrimp". What I really got was a chicken breast with some spinach tossed on top, smothered in a delicious sauce (a plus), and only two small shrimp--one of which hadn't been properly shelled and cleaned (still had full shell and appendages attached). Front-end manager did respond with sincerity and comped the entree. However, I think that this kind of oversight (not just one shrimp) but the lack of care about the presentation and food quality on the way out to the diner is indicative of a problem with the restaurant and team.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Review

Dined on March 12, 2016

My family and I used to eat here regularly, at least once a month, but lately it seems like the quality is not the same, the prices have increased and the wait staff hasn't been that great either. It's too bad because we really enjoyed going there as frequently as we used to.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

GOOD FOOD! THE GUACAMOLE WAS GREAT FOR A ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

GOOD FOOD! THE GUACAMOLE WAS GREAT FOR A GROUP OF FRIENDS!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Unimpressive and loud.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Entire restaurant was so loud - I had to yell to be heard across the table. Appetizer arrived after cold entrees were delivered. Overall - unimpressive for the amount of money I dropped.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent Food - Slow Service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very unique and delicious entree and appetizer options as well as a fabulous drink menu. I highly recommend Cantina Laredo. Only half negative comment was our server was very slow and forgetful. I will return, and I'm sure the service will be better - no doubt about that.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was so efficient, attentive an ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The staff was so efficient, attentive and prompt. Our meals were delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and ambiance. Terrible margaritas.

Dined on February 21, 2016

We visited Cantina Laredo's on a Sat night and it was busy, but not crazy busy and we were seated right away. The atmosphere, music, and decor was great. Its hard to find a Mexican restaurant that will pass muster for a date night, but this one did it with flying colors. The service was prompt and thorough. Chips and salsa was great and both of our dinners (chicken enchilada and carnitas taco) were delicious. The problem was the margaritas. We ordered the classic ones on the rocks and they were terribly watered down and didnt even have limes. We sent them back and they made them again and were a little better, but still not as good as the ones I can make at home with margarita mix! Hope it was just an inexperienced bartender because otherwise we really liked the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly Good Upscale Mexican

Dined on February 17, 2016

Had dinner and the service was excellent, the food was GREAT. I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Tacos al carbon. New favorite.

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Tacos al carbon. New favorite.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Feb 14 review

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our 6th time at Cantina Laredo and one of the best dinners...we booked at 2:30 to get in before the rush and was pleasantly surprised they were not busy when we arrived. The service was 110% and the food was good as well. The past few times we dined there it was busy and loud, and hard to get a booth, so we enjoyed our time this go around. We were seated at a booth as requested. The table guacamole was perfect. The waiter was very nice and professional. Will make another visit to this restaurant in the next six months for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Had requested a booth , but got half boo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had requested a booth , but got half booth !! Everything else , food , service excellent !!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!!! Our server even s ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent as always!!! Our server even surprised us with a specialty dessert on the house - love this place!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

You need to know the manager

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a 4:30 reservation on Valentines Day. Arrived at 4:25 and gave our name for the 4:30 reservation. We were told our table was not ready as it was not cleaned. We noted numerous other empty tables but were told we had to wait. Another guy came in who knew the manager as they greeted each other. He asked for a table for 5. Manager asked if he had a reservation and he said NO. Manager then looked around and immediately sat his group while we still waited on a table to be cleaned. Again numerous other tables were open but since I did not know the manager we continued to wait. Meal was okay. Service was fine. Paid with a credit card. Next day, I get a notice from Open Table that Cantina Laredo reported to them that we failed to show. So I had to take time to respond with table number, waitress name, and the credit card information. Then Cantina Laredo decided to tell Open Table we did show up. Again, I guess if you know the manager, you don't have this type of lousy service. We won't be back!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Mexican food

Dined on February 13, 2016

This place is a big step up from your standard Mexican restaurant. Have been here multiple times, and it is always a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great service

Dined on February 13, 2016

We came here on Valentine's weekend for a rare date without our toddler. We made reservations just in case. We are new to Columbus and this was recommended to us as we love Mexican food. It was fantastic! My beef was perfectly cooked, the queso was delicious and so were our margaritas. We will certainly go again. The service was great and our server Mohammad did a wonderful job. Perfect date night !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service

Dined on February 12, 2016

I believe our server's name was Mohamed and he was fantastic. His service was great as were his food recommendations. Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First Cheat Night!!

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

I have been on a diet for 6 months and my first cheat night after 6 months was chips and quac from Cantina Laredo. It was great! (not as great as losing the weight) but always consistently great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2

First off... I'm not cheap; however, my ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

First off... I'm not cheap; however, my bill for two adults and two children was of the price you might pay for an upscale steak house... This is NOT an upscale steak house ... It's Mexican. PLEASE lower your prices... Holy cow! The restaurant could have been packed on a Friday had prices been reasonable.

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.