About Cantina Laredo - Columbus

8791 Lyra Drive
Columbus, OH 43240
View Larger Map

We create authentic Mexican food inspired by the cuisine of Mexico City and add a modern twist. Try our guacamole made tableside or our full Tequila Bar. We offer two private rooms with 50 and 30 seating. Delivery Service is available. And we are happy to cater your next event, large or small. Contact us today to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 11:00am - 9:00 pm, Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Polaris Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 781-1139

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/location/columbus-ohio/

Catering:
Cantina Laredo opens it's doors to parties as small as 10 and as large as 300. We also provide off-site catering for functions outside the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available behind and on both sides of the restaurant and valet service is available in the front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Leon DeLeon

Private Party Facilities:
Cantina Laredo boasts one of the most amazing private dining rooms in all of Columbus. We offer two private dining rooms. Our all seasons patio room seats 50, a private space with windows to open if weather permits. Our second private dining room features a wall of windows that disappears to be used as both an indoor and outdoor area, complete with heated outdoor tables and a fireplace inside. 32 people can comfortably dine and converse with a beautiful view of the Polaris Fashion Place promenade and fountains, with an additional 16 seats on the open-air patio. We also have a TV accessible for Power Point presentations and conferences.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Belcastro: (614) 781-1139

Additional:
Banquet, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Tacos De Fajita - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Rib-Eye Special Of The Day - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Guacamole - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Tres Leches Cake With Mango - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Pescados - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Flan - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Tortas de Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
  • Queso - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH

Report a photo problem

Tacos De Fajita - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Rib-Eye Special Of The Day - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Guacamole - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Tres Leches Cake With Mango - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Pescados - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Flan - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Tortas de Carnitas - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH
Queso - Cantina Laredo - Columbus, Columbus, OH

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.3

service

4.2

ambience

4.2

value

3.9

noise

Moderate

90% would recommend it to a friend

Casual (8)
Special Occasion (8)
Good for a Date (6)
See All
Business Meals (5)
Good for Birthdays (5)
Romantic (5)
Fireplace (5)
Tapas (5)
Happy Hour (4)
Good for Groups (4)
Worth the Drive (4)
Good for Anniversaries (4)
Private Room (4)
Creative Cuisine (4)
Spicy (3)
Handcrafted Cocktails (3)
Cozy (3)
Bar Seating (3)
Kid-friendly (3)
Fit for Foodies (3)
Great for Outdoor Dining (3)
Gluten Free Options (2)
Great for Lunch (2)
Comfort Food (2)
Outstanding Value (2)
Fun (2)
Neighborhood Gem (2)
Good Vegetarian Options (2)
Seasonal (1)
Modern Decor (1)
Authentic (1)
Great for Brunch (1)
Vibrant Bar Scene (1)
Hot Spot (1)
Quiet Conversation (1)
Sunday Lunch (1)
Quick Bite (1)
Dining Occasion:
S
Sort By:
S
530 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

We really enjoyed Catina Laredo. It's a ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

We really enjoyed Catina Laredo. It's a nice restaurant, great staff, nice environment, and the food was delicious. I would have rated it a five but the tamales were a bit salty and the Empanadas were different than expected. We loved our server, Muhammad, was great. Very accommodating and friendly.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5

Food was delicious! Been wanting to try ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Food was delicious! Been wanting to try this restaurant for quite a while. It won't take that long for us to go back. Service was excellent and food was superb!

Tags: Special Occasion, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Very good food, excellent service. Great ...

 
·Dined 3 days ago

Very good food, excellent service. Great outdoor area for fun summer people watching.

Tags: Sunday Lunch, Special Occasion, Romantic, Great for Outdoor Dining, Casual, Good Vegetarian Options, Good for Birthdays, Happy Hour, Kid-friendly, Spicy, Quick Bite, Tapas
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Used open table reward. Reservations ri ...

 
·Dined 6 days ago

Used open table reward. Reservations right on and staff very friendly. Service very good. Mexican food didn't stand out above the rest places. Needed more seasoning a bit bland. Wife not high on margarita. Would return, but not high on list. Best part was staff and decor.

Tags: Tapas, Creative Cuisine, Gluten Free Options, Fireplace
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service5
value3

The food is excellent and very nicely se ...

 
·Dined on January 14, 2017

The food is excellent and very nicely served. My only complaint is the noise level.

Tags: Special Occasion, Good for Anniversaries, Fit for Foodies, Good Vegetarian Options
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

I had the seasoned rib-eye steak and it ...

 
·Dined on January 12, 2017

I had the seasoned rib-eye steak and it was excellent. Others had the carne asada and other more traditional dishes and they were also very good! It was a Thursday night so fairly quiet. Had a great time and will return.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service4
value3

Came in strictly for the $10 fajitas. Th ...

 
·Dined on January 10, 2017

Came in strictly for the $10 fajitas. This was an unusual experience in that the service was slow and half the food was bland.

The service: was seated quickly and given chips and salsa. It was such a long time from being seated to getting our drink order, that I actually called the restaurant and asked for our wait staff. The staff that did arrive was friendly and personable, like usual.

The food: we got the combination fajitas. The steak was very tasty, as expected, but the chicken was bland. It tasted like there wasn't any seasoning applied to the chicken at all...which was weird since grill marks could be seen on the chicken strips, so it should have at least tasted grilled.

It wasn't just my chicken, but my eating companions as well. An unusual experience from a restaurant that, to me, is synonmous with flavor

Tags: Good for Birthdays, Casual, Good for Groups, Hot Spot, Fireplace, Neighborhood Gem, Private Room, Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Anniversaries, Good for a Date, Great for Lunch, Worth the Drive, Bar Seating
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service3
value3

Not sure what happened on Saturday night ...

 
·Dined on January 8, 2017

Not sure what happened on Saturday night but this was the worst experience we have ever had at Cantina Laredo. We have been frequent diners and will not be back for a long time. Wait time for table was twice what they said when we checked-in. Food took an hour and a half to arrive at the table. And to top it off, our favorite dessert of brownie with cinnamon ice cream was so stale that it crumbled when we used our forks to get a bite. Again not sure what was going on.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service3
value1

We are frequent customers of this restau ...

 
·Dined on January 7, 2017

We are frequent customers of this restaurant but had the worst experience this evening. The menu has changed since our last visit, and the quality of the food has declined along with the drinks. Our waiter Tyler was busy, and our food took forever to come out and when it did, 3 of our 4 dinners were cold. He didn't clear our plates or ask if we wanted take home boxes. No apology for the delay or the cold food. Really disappointed in our go to place for higher quality Mexican food. We won't be back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience3
service1
value1

Good Ambience and overall nice place for ...

 
·Dined on December 30, 2016

Good Ambience and overall nice place for get together. Wait staff was excellent. Did not like the drinks ( watered down and just not prepared right) and limited not so appealing vegetarian options. Food was of ok quality compared to the price.

Tags: Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience4
service4
value2

Made reservations and got to the restaur ...

 
·Dined on December 26, 2016

Made reservations and got to the restaurant and was seated at the tables near the bar - not a good place to talk because of the noise level. Was greeted by our server and put our drink and appetizer order in. We got our cheese appetizer, no chips and salsa and had to ask where the chips were at. The waiter has to tell someone to bring us chips and the cheese sauce had skimmed over by the time we got our chips (about 10 minutes after we arrived - tables around us that came in after us got chips). I ran out of water and had to ask for water - the waiter did not come over but once after the food arrived. My cousin and I were celebrating our birthdays and planned to sit and talk but they never cleared the table - so we left so we could talk without dishes on our table.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value4

GREAT Cocktails. I love the different t ...

 
·Dined on December 8, 2016

GREAT Cocktails. I love the different twists on the Margarita and Always the prepared Fresh Table side Guacamole is Outstanding!

Tags: Casual, Happy Hour
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Super delicious Mexican food and amazing ...

 
·Dined on December 7, 2016

Super delicious Mexican food and amazing margaritas! The top shelf guacamole and queso are the best. I've tried several entree items and am never disappointed. The La Bandera is my favorite margarita. Love this place!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I chose Cantina Laredo for a special bir ...

 
·Dined on November 27, 2016

I chose Cantina Laredo for a special birthday meal for my husband. We dined there about 2 months ago and thoroughly enjoyed it. This time we were very disappointed in everything about this restaurant. The food was bland and overcooked, the service was nothing special (the waitress even brought us a bowl of broken tortilla chips) . It seemed nothing like we remember the from the first visit. There is no reason to ever go back there or recommend it to anyone.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Didn't get checked in on open table. Wai ...

 
·Dined on November 26, 2016

Didn't get checked in on open table. Waited forever for waitress to appear. She was very nice but very new. Brought app with no drinks yet. Waited over 15 minutes for water. Ordered a beef hard taco and a steak soft taco but got two ground beef

Told waitress wasn't correct wanted steak and she says the kitchen said it was the same thing??? I said no, I get this all the time. Took about 15 more minutes to bring a steak taco that was nothing like I've gotten in the past. Tiny and had stuff on it not normal. We go here slot and usually very good but this night was off

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2
value3

Cantina Laredo is your upscale alternati ...

 
·Dined on November 18, 2016

Cantina Laredo is your upscale alternative to local Mexican dining. The food is more like what you would find in actual nice restaurants in Mexico. The drinks are tasty and creative. The enchiladas are delicious! Try to book a table in Moe's section. He's wonderfully friendly and funny.

Tags: Tapas, Casual
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

We don't get up to Polaris very often bu ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

We don't get up to Polaris very often but when we do we have dinner here. This visit was terrible. We were seated near the bar another party that arrived after us was walked to the other side. We waited for 25 minutes for a server to arrive. It seemed to never really get better.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Great Resteraunt - wonderful experience ...

 
·Dined on November 12, 2016

Great Resteraunt - wonderful experience as always !

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Absolutely enjoyed dining at Cantina Lar ...

 
·Dined on November 11, 2016

Absolutely enjoyed dining at Cantina Laredo. Energetic ambiance with friendly service, great Mexican food and the city's best frozen margarita.

Tags: Private Room, Spicy, Modern Decor
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome waiter- Mohammad. Nice dinner. ...

 
·Dined on November 10, 2016

Awesome waiter- Mohammad. Nice dinner. We'll visit again.

Tags: Business Meals, Creative Cuisine, Good for Anniversaries
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

Outstanding service! Great food! Frien ...

 
·Dined on November 9, 2016

Outstanding service! Great food! Friendly waiters! Awesome drink selections! Timely in serving groups as most recently visited w/ a group of 12---

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, , Special Occasion, Handcrafted Cocktails, Good for Birthdays, Worth the Drive, Good for Anniversaries, Spicy, Business Meals, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Awesome margaritas

 
·Dined on November 5, 2016

Awesome margaritas

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service4

Favorite Mexican restaurant in Columbus, ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Favorite Mexican restaurant in Columbus, Ohio

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Our waiter was absolutely terrible. He w ...

 
·Dined on October 29, 2016

Our waiter was absolutely terrible. He was grumpy and rude. Did not refill drinks.

Tags: Happy Hour, Cozy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value2

We made a reservation and arrived early ...

 
·Dined on October 21, 2016

We made a reservation and arrived early.. was seated immediately.. food was as expected as always.. good!! No complaints on service

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Great greeter!! Had a seat on the quasi ...

 
·Dined on October 6, 2016

Great greeter!! Had a seat on the quasi patio, beautiful breeze, great music, the food was okay, she loved hers, I had the soup, not the best. Skimpy and lukewarm.

Tags: Authentic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience5
service4
value3

Excellent Food, drinks and Service. Very ...

 
·Dined on October 2, 2016

Excellent Food, drinks and Service. Very nice atmosphere. Tableside Guac was excellent. Loved it. We were there for my daughter's and my girlfriend's birthday and they made this special dinner very memorable. Thank You!!

Tags: Tapas, Good for Birthdays, Casual, Special Occasion, Great for Brunch
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value4

The food was excellent. Definitely not ...

 
·Dined on September 24, 2016

The food was excellent. Definitely not your typical Mexican restaurant. Well prepared. Server was very knowledgeable and friendly

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4

We have been to the Cantina Laredo in Ch ...

 
·Dined on September 23, 2016

We have been to the Cantina Laredo in Chicago & its menu seemed much more upscale. Our food in Columbus was OK but the service really lacked. Our waiter took a long time to come to our table to take a drink order & even complained to us he had too many tables to wait. He seemed very stressed & in a bad mood. He lightened up later. The food was OK but could have been better. Table-side guacamole was excellent. Margarita was like water with flavoring. Not worth the money at all & it was a Petron margarita.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience3
service2

Good ambience, amazing food.

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Good ambience, amazing food.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Cantina Laredo had a wonderfully comfort ...

 
·Dined on September 5, 2016

Cantina Laredo had a wonderfully comfortable, yet upscale, ambiance. The Mexican cuisine was superb. Big winners included the Chicken Mole Enchilada's and Chicken Enchilada's with cream sauce. Our guests also very much enjoyed the outstanding guacamole, the chicken taco's and, of course, the warm chocolate cake filled with warm chocolate sauce and topped with delicious vanilla bean ice cream! We also love your on line promotions and what you do for our Veterans on Veterans Day.

Tags: Comfort Food, Kid-friendly, Worth the Drive
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Hadn't been there for a while. Food and ...

 
·Dined on September 3, 2016

Hadn't been there for a while. Food and ambience was excellent. Wait staff seemed a bit overwhelmed, maybe short staffed. Was a very long meal, but was ok with us. Really enjoyed it, will be back again.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Authentic, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service3
value4

First time here. I wanted Mexican, but s ...

 
·Dined on September 2, 2016

First time here. I wanted Mexican, but somewhere different. Food was very good, except queso and guacamole very bland. Margaritas mostly watery and flavorless. Best is the Conco Rita (highly recommend). Service attentive and friendly. Lots of room around tables. Nice decor. I will go back.

Tags: Family Style, Happy Hour, Casual, Pre/post Theatre, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Handcrafted Cocktails, Creative Cuisine, Good for a Date
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4
value4

Bit expensive for product

 
·Dined on August 27, 2016

Bit expensive for product

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience3
service3

Abraham and Moe are the best waiters. T ...

 
·Dined on August 26, 2016

Abraham and Moe are the best waiters. Try to sit in their sections.

Tags: Quick Bite, Casual, Vegan, Bar Seating, Authentic, Live Sports, Fireplace, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Private Room, Modern Decor, Handcrafted Cocktails, Kid-friendly, Good Vegetarian Options, Tapas, Gluten Free Options, Spicy
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5
value4

Our favorite Mexican dining destination! ...

 
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our favorite Mexican dining destination! Never disappoints.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a large group which I thought wou ...

 
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a large group which I thought would illicit more frequent visits from our waitress but the drink refills were a bit slow. The food was delicious which made up for it a little bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a party if 10. Server was patient ...

 
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a party if 10. Server was patient, courteous, and helpful. Chips and salsa excellent and plentiful. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Drinks a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good, our server did a won ...

 
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was very good, our server did a wonderful job, laughed and joked, the place is asceticly pleasing, only down side was, very litle noise dampening, so any large groups make it sound like a cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was just ok, one plate was sent ...

 
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was just ok, one plate was sent back due to sloppy presentation/lack of items, the other was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.