About Cantina Laredo - Columbus

8791 Lyra Drive
Columbus, OH 43240
View Larger Map

We create authentic Mexican food inspired by the cuisine of Mexico City and add a modern twist. Try our guacamole made tableside or our full Tequila Bar. We offer two private rooms with 50 and 30 seating. Delivery Service is available. And we are happy to cater your next event, large or small. Contact us today to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 11:00am - 9:00 pm, Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Polaris Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 781-1139

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/location/columbus-ohio/

Catering:
Cantina Laredo opens it's doors to parties as small as 10 and as large as 300. We also provide off-site catering for functions outside the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available behind and on both sides of the restaurant and valet service is available in the front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Leon DeLeon

Private Party Facilities:
Cantina Laredo boasts one of the most amazing private dining rooms in all of Columbus. We offer two private dining rooms. Our all seasons patio room seats 50, a private space with windows to open if weather permits. Our second private dining room features a wall of windows that disappears to be used as both an indoor and outdoor area, complete with heated outdoor tables and a fireplace inside. 32 people can comfortably dine and converse with a beautiful view of the Polaris Fashion Place promenade and fountains, with an additional 16 seats on the open-air patio. We also have a TV accessible for Power Point presentations and conferences.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Belcastro: 6147811139x

Additional:
Banquet, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking, Outdoor dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

  • Tacos De Fajita
  • Rib-Eye Special Of The Day
  • Tres Leches Cake With Mango
  • Guacamole
  • Pescados
  • Flan
  • Carnitas
  • Tortas de Carnitas
  • Queso
Tacos De Fajita
Rib-Eye Special Of The Day
Tres Leches Cake With Mango
Guacamole
Pescados
Flan
Carnitas
Tortas de Carnitas
Queso

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.2

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.1

service

3.8

ambience

4.2

value

3.8

noise

Moderate

83% would recommend it to a friend

Good for Groups (25)
Fit for Foodies (17)
Special Occasion (16)
See All
Great for Outdoor Dining (13)
Romantic (12)
Great for Lunch (12)
Kid-friendly (12)
Hot Spot (9)
Neighborhood Gem (9)
Great for Brunch (8)
Vibrant Bar Scene (6)
Scenic View (4)
Late-night Find (2)
Notable Wine List (1)
Sort By:
Newest
475 reviews
Loading Reviews ...

Our favorite Mexican dining destination! ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 20, 2016

Our favorite Mexican dining destination! Never disappoints.

Tags: Private Room, Great for Lunch, Paleo Friendly, Business Meals, Authentic, Bar Seating, Fireplace, Hot Spot, Casual, Creative Cuisine
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

We had a large group which I thought wou ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 19, 2016

We had a large group which I thought would illicit more frequent visits from our waitress but the drink refills were a bit slow. The food was delicious which made up for it a little bit!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service3
value3

We had a party if 10. Server was patient ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 18, 2016

We had a party if 10. Server was patient, courteous, and helpful. Chips and salsa excellent and plentiful. Everyone enjoyed their entrees. Drinks a little pricey.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service4

Food was very good, our server did a won ...

 
 (Raleigh)
·Dined on August 13, 2016

Food was very good, our server did a wonderful job, laughed and joked, the place is asceticly pleasing, only down side was, very litle noise dampening, so any large groups make it sound like a cafeteria.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Service was just ok, one plate was sent ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on August 7, 2016

Service was just ok, one plate was sent back due to sloppy presentation/lack of items, the other was bland.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience4
service3
value2

When we walked in, we were greeted by th ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 31, 2016

When we walked in, we were greeted by the host who promptly seated us in a booth that was dirty with crumbs and others things on the floor. Looking around I noticed the table could use a new coat of lacquer since it was beaten up pretty badly and a couple of the ceiling tiles were stained with age and dirt. Our waiter came to the table and got our drink order, he recommended the most expensive drink on the menu. The drink was watered down by the time I got it. Then he came back to get the food order, but as he was talking to us he was constantly looking around at the restaurant, not paying attention at all. We ordered the flautitas's which were so dry I had to pour my salsa on them for any flavor. Then the waiter came back and took our order. Again looking all over the place and not paying attention. I ordered the fish tacos, no cheese, it came with cheese to the table. This was because he wasn't paying attention nor bothered to write anything down. Then he disappeared for about 8 minutes, I timed it, no where in site. He was in a hurry to get us out of door. We shouldn't have tipped him, but I wait tables myself and don't do that. The bar tender wasn't even bar tending, she was flirting with some guy at the bar the whole time we were there. I mean she was literally sitting at a bar stool talking to him, WTF. The manager never stopped by to say anything to us. This place really sucks, I hope it goes under so something can come in its place. The whole staff is unprofessional and act like a bunch of crackheads.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service1
value3

It started bad with the waiter. My wife ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

It started bad with the waiter. My wife asked for a specific wine she had at the bar before dinner. The waiter said "we do not carry that wine". My wife went to the bar and asked for the wine herself and the bartender poured a glass for her We ordered our meals. Over 1 hour no food. Waiter said 5 more minutes, no food after 10 more minutes. Told waiter we do not want the meals. Manager came over, not to friendly. It was mt son's birthday. Very bad experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service1
value1

Honestly the best food I have EVER had! ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 30, 2016

Honestly the best food I have EVER had! Service was excellent and the restaurant was very tastefully decorated. Also the fountain out front was beautiful. Will be going back.

Tags: Great for Brunch, Kid-friendly, Good for Groups, Romantic, Special Occasion, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Food was cold, then second round was raw ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 25, 2016

Food was cold, then second round was raw. Two men began physically fighting and cursing in restaurant and manager told us legally they can't do anything but call security who never arrived. Restaurant 2/3 empty which should have told us. Do not go, gone way downhill.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2

Dinner was excellent! I've never eaten h ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

Dinner was excellent! I've never eaten here and not been impressed by the delicious food. The drinks were great - I had the Blood Orange Sangria which was refreshing and had the right amount of sweetness. We had a restaurant week special - Carne Asada with Cheese Enchilada - and the steak was tender, flavorful and perfectly cooked with tiny bits of char. The tres leches cake for dessert was also amazing with sweet mango pieces. The service was great and the food and drinks were served promptly. This place is really a favorite - can't wait to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service4
value5

We have been to Cantina Laredo several t ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

We have been to Cantina Laredo several times and have always been very happy with the food and the service. This time was a major disappointment in the service. After we ordered, we did not see our waiter Jacob until we were finished with dinner and had been sitting there for 10 minutes. He never checked to see if the food was correct (It was ), we didn't get any drink refills and we had to keep asking for everything. Drinks, boxes, the check. Jacob sent a bus person out to make the guacamole for us but we saw him making it himself for two other tables. I was also a little surprise that they did not wear food prep gloves while making it.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service1
value4

I was not impressed. Food lacked flavor ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 22, 2016

I was not impressed. Food lacked flavor and spice one would expect in Mexican food. Server was condescending and did not add to the experience in a positive way. I asked for a margarita with salt, there was no salt on my glass and when I asked him to fix it, he walked around the corner with my drink and returned with the same glass, no salt and set it on the table. We ended up getting our tab and leaving before actually having a meal. There are so many better options in Columbus than this over-priced place.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience2
service1

I went to Cantina Laredo with my office ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

I went to Cantina Laredo with my office as a going-away lunch for one of my coworkers. The food was excellent - a bit pricey in my own opinion, but it was delicious. I could see this being a great date night spot as the vibe was quite intimate and romantic. Overall, it was a great experience!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service3
value2

We had a nice dining experience for Rest ...

 
 (Orange County)
·Dined on July 20, 2016

We had a nice dining experience for Restaurant Week - it was pretty empty. However, my friends who ordered the RW prix fixe meal didn't even get their dessert! Such a disappointment

Tags: Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value2

Happy hour was great and we were able to ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

Happy hour was great and we were able to easily move to a table for dinner. It was the first time that my dining companions experienced Cantina Laredo and they had a great time.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

I have been to Cantina Laredo many times ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

I have been to Cantina Laredo many times and have really enjoyed the food and service, but not this time. The chips were great, but the meal was not up to the standard that I have had in the past. I had a chimichanga stuffed poblano pepper. The outside was not fully cooked and tasted doughy and the poblano pepper was not cooked, which I did not care for. We had to ask for items several times from our server and did not get water refills.

Tags: Great for Outdoor Dining
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience5
service2
value2

We came to this restaurant for restauran ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 19, 2016

We came to this restaurant for restaurant week. It's a good thing we ate a lot of salsa and chips because the meal itself was not that good. The food was just barely warm and was not high quality food. We had fish tacos and the fish was very dry and tasteless, the rice was tasteless and the black bean dish was not good. Our waiter did keep our water glasses filled. I don't think I would go back.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food1
ambience2
service2
value3

I've dined at Cantina Laredo previous an ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 18, 2016

I've dined at Cantina Laredo previous and have always had a wonderful experience. However I did feel our party was slightly neglected. They weren't extremely busy but so I did wonder if the service was different because we selected to restaurant week menu

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Romantic, Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service2
value3

My wife took me out for my birthday. Ver ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 3, 2016

My wife took me out for my birthday. Very enjoyable evening. Atmosphere was great. Food was excellent.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

the wait staff was very friendly. We we ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 2, 2016

the wait staff was very friendly. We were there quite early for our reservation but they were able to seat us. They took our appetizer order, then our drink & food order. Our food came out and I had to ask about our drinks. They went and got them. The drinks (margarita's) were good! My food was OK. The two individuals that ordered the tacos didn't get much meat on them for the price. Was a very skimpy meal for them. Would probably be an OK place for drinks & appetizers if seated at the bar. We most likely will not be back.

Tags: Scenic View
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value2

The server Marcus was not attentive and ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on July 1, 2016

The server Marcus was not attentive and kept on trying to convince me to order drinks that I didn't want. When I ordered a second margarita, it didn't get to my table until as asked a passing hostess to get it for me from the bar. He never came to check on us. The guacamole was delicious and the kids loved their meals but my chicken and beef fajitas had a piece of blue plastic in between the meat!!! Marcus was nowhere to be found so the hostess found the manager to come see it for himself. He offere me another meal but I was afraid of kitchen retaliation (I've heard many stories enough to know to not bother) After the yummy apple pie with ice cream, the bill came and Marcus didn't even tell me that the entree was taken off the bill. I had to look at the receipt to realize that. I still tipped him 18-20% but honestly, he deserved maybe a 10% tip. I love the restaurant and had a great first experience before this so I will give it another try but I will make sure I'm just there for drinks at the bar.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service1
value3

The dining room manager blade multiple t ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

The dining room manager blade multiple trips to our table. He also acknowledged that a member of the party had special dietary needs and that they were aware and on top of it. Very enjoyable experience

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

We were quite surprised when the restaur ...

 
 (New York Area)
·Dined on June 26, 2016

We were quite surprised when the restaurant was only about 20% full, considering it was dinner time on a Saturday night. Chips were fresh and tasty and the guacamole we ordered was delicious. The salsa was very different and I didn't care for it much, but others in our group liked it okay. I ordered chicken fajitas and was very disappointed. The chicken was badly over cooked and very dry and tough. It took a long time to receive our food and my meal was cold by the time I received it. Our waiter was very friendly but he made a lot of mistakes and was apologizing constantly. Several folks in our party of 7 had to send their iced tea back because it tasted odd. It took awhile to get the replacement tea but it was good and fresh when it finally came. The restaurant seemed poorly managed in general due to several unprofessional events during our dinner. At one point an employee yelled loudly across the restaurant to the bartender to ask why one of our drinks had not been served. One time was enough for this nearly 2.5 hour dinning experience.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food2
ambience3
service2
value3

Enjoyable dining experience. Very good t ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 24, 2016

Enjoyable dining experience. Very good table side Guacamole, chips are good quality. The dipping sauces (two are given one is served warm and the other is served cold) interesting approach to chips and salsa. Booth size is large enough for 4-people. Overall a very nice dining experience indeed. Way to go! PS..make sure you order a Margarita!

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Brunch, Hot Spot, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Our visit to Catina Laredo was very dist ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

Our visit to Catina Laredo was very disturbing. To begin with the restaurant was not busy at all. Our server seemed distracted and until,later in the meal disinterested in our needs. Our initial cocktail orders were delivered at different times to each of three of us. Two of the drinks were not what was ordered. Empty food trays were left by our table. When one corrected drink was served the person bringing it was in your face rude. Fortunately the food was very good. We were so shocked by our treatment that we will never go there again.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2
value3

The food was very good. My husband had t ...

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

The food was very good. My husband had the sea bass, and I had the shrimp filled Chilies Rellenos. Both were prepared very well. The service was fair to average. We were seated in a back corner instead of a table by the open window with a view of the courtyard with children playing in the fountains. We moved to the table with the view. It took our waiter a very long time to come to bring our menus. After our food was delivered to the table, our waiter brought additional chips and salsa, but never returned to see if we were interested in another drink or to refresh our water. Overall, we were satisfied, but the service left a bit to be desired.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service2

First time and experience was better tha ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 19, 2016

First time and experience was better than expected. Service was outstanding from the time we stepped into the restaurant. Food was excellent, could taste the freshness in the food. I will go back again very soon, hope to get the same service again.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Brunch, Great for Lunch, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Romantic
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Thank you , we had an awesome time, gre ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 18, 2016

Thank you , we had an awesome time, great service, thank you

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Outdoor Dining, Late-night Find, Romantic, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Enchiladas were unique and great

 
 (New England)
·Dined on June 11, 2016

Enchiladas were unique and great

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

Our server Cierra was fantastic! So atte ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on June 7, 2016

Our server Cierra was fantastic! So attentive and helpful. We even had our 4 year old and 10 month old with us and she was so fantastic with the kids too, which is so helpful because happy kids makes for happy parents and a superb dining experience! The food was outstanding as well. We were so glad to have the opportunity to celebrate our Anniversary. I would not hesitate to recommend this restaurant. Ask for Cierra because she is so professional and personable- it really made our experience top notch. Can't wait to get a chance to go back!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience4
service5

The good is great! Best guacamole EVER!! ...

 
 (Cincinnati)
·Dined on June 5, 2016

The good is great! Best guacamole EVER!!! And the service has been friendly and professional each time. Top notch!

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5

Good service good friends good time

 
 (Charlotte)
·Dined on June 4, 2016

Good service good friends good time

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience4
service5

Superb Experience

 
 (Virginia)
·Dined on May 31, 2016

Third time there and the food continues to provide a unique slant with a superb taste. Staff were all A plus.

Tags: Great for Lunch, Special Occasion
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Needed a good place to have a not too le ...

 
 (Detroit)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

Needed a good place to have a not too lengthy meal near our hotel. Cantina Laredo accomplished that handily. All of the food was very good, the margarita's were excellent, and the made at the table guacamole was some of the best we have ever had. Not just standard Mexican either- I had a very tasty Chilean Sea Bass with mildly spicy sauce.

Tags: Good for Groups, Kid-friendly
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value4

Terrible Service

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

This place used to be great, but the service has went way downhill. We were greated by our server and told "its going to be awhile" After 10 minutes we approached the manager and got a different server who screwed up my meal and forgot my wine. We won't be back. The

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food3
ambience2
service1
value1

Best chicken enchaladas I have ever had!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 21, 2016

The chicken enchaladas are non-conventional and perfectly excellent! the guac is outstanding, as is the cheese dip! Mojitos are wonderful! Great restaurant and experience. Very pleasant and nicely affordable.

Tags: Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is that I had a coupon ...

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 20, 2016

My only complaint is that I had a coupon for a free guacamole appetizer and noticed after I left that it wasn't taken off of my bill and I paid for it. I suppose it was my mistake for not checking before I left, but I was in a hurry and didn't think about it.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Great Mexican Fare!

 
 (Columbus)
·Dined on May 12, 2016

I met a business associate for dinner at Cantina Laredo. It was the first time either of us had dined there. Our server, Mohammed, was fabulous! Our appetizers, entrees and desserts were very good, looked attractive and well sized.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Great for Outdoor Dining, Hot Spot, Romantic, Special Occasion, Vibrant Bar Scene
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Food order shorted!

 
 (Tampa)
·Dined on April 25, 2016

Was shorted food on my order and acknowledged by the waitress but since my order was changed from corn tortillas to flour they would only provide me 2 tacos instead of 3! Ridiculous! I made 2 references to the situation, and she evidently felt this was way it was going to be. Did not argue, or ask for a manager because I feel like this must be typical for this location.

Does not compare to location in Jacksonville, Florida at all.

Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Hiro was our hero!

vip
 (Columbus)
·Dined on April 24, 2016

We had won a giftcard to Cantina Laredo & stopped by for dinner. I had the DELICIOUS avocado & artichoke enchiladas. They were a delicious, light option.

Our server, Hiro, was attentive & delightful. Will be sure to ask for him in the future.

Tags: Fit for Foodies, Good for Groups, Great for Lunch, Hot Spot, Kid-friendly, Neighborhood Gem
Was this review useful to you?Yes·No·
food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.