About Cantina Laredo - Columbus

8791 Lyra Drive
Columbus, OH 43240
View Larger Map

We create authentic Mexican food inspired by the cuisine of Mexico City and add a modern twist. Try our guacamole made tableside or our full Tequila Bar. We offer two private rooms with 50 and 30 seating. Delivery Service is available. And we are happy to cater your next event, large or small. Contact us today to learn more.

Dining Style:
Casual Elegant

Cuisines:
Mexican, Seafood, Vegetarian / Vegan

Hours of Operation:
Sunday Brunch: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Lunch: Everyday: 11:00am - 3:00pm; Dinner: Sunday 11:00am - 9:00 pm, Monday - Thursday: 3:00pm - 10:00pm, Friday & Saturday: 3:00pm - 11:00pm

Cross Street:
Polaris Parkway

Dress Code:
Casual Dress

Price Range:
$30 and under

Payment Options
AMEX, Discover, MasterCard, Visa

Phone Number:
(614) 781-1139

Website:
http://www.cantinalaredo.com/location/columbus-ohio/

Catering:
Cantina Laredo opens it's doors to parties as small as 10 and as large as 300. We also provide off-site catering for functions outside the restaurant.

Parking Details:
Public parking is available behind and on both sides of the restaurant and valet service is available in the front of the restaurant.

Executive Chef:
Leon DeLeon

Private Party Facilities:
Cantina Laredo boasts one of the most amazing private dining rooms in all of Columbus. We offer two private dining rooms. Our all seasons patio room seats 50, a private space with windows to open if weather permits. Our second private dining room features a wall of windows that disappears to be used as both an indoor and outdoor area, complete with heated outdoor tables and a fireplace inside. 32 people can comfortably dine and converse with a beautiful view of the Polaris Fashion Place promenade and fountains, with an additional 16 seats on the open-air patio. We also have a TV accessible for Power Point presentations and conferences.

Private Party Contact:
Michael Belcastro: 6147811139x

Additional:
Banquet/Private Rooms, Bar Dining, Beer, Delivery, Fireplace, Full Bar, Gluten-free Menu, Happy Hour, Non-Smoking Restaurant, Patio/Outdoor Dining, Private Room, Takeout, View, Weekend Brunch, Wheelchair Access, Wine

Restaurant Photos

Send a Gift Card

Buy now and send it instantly by email, or print a card to give in person.

Cantina Laredo - Columbus Ratings and Reviews

5
4
3
2
1

4.3

Overall Rating

based on recent ratings
food

4.4

service

4.1

ambience

4.2

noise

Moderate

88% would recommend it to a friend

good for groups (34)
special occasion (31)
great for lunch (26)
See All
fit for foodies (22)
romantic (20)
kid-friendly (19)
hot spot (15)
neighborhood gem (14)
great for outdoor dining (12)
vibrant bar scene (10)
great for brunch (7)
late-night find (5)
scenic view (2)
notable wine list (1)
Sort By:
Newest
439 reviews
Loading Reviews ...
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Best chicken enchaladas I have ever had!

Dined 5 days ago

The chicken enchaladas are non-conventional and perfectly excellent! the guac is outstanding, as is the cheese dip! Mojitos are wonderful! Great restaurant and experience. Very pleasant and nicely affordable.

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

My only complaint is that I had a coupon ...

Dined 6 days ago

My only complaint is that I had a coupon for a free guacamole appetizer and noticed after I left that it wasn't taken off of my bill and I paid for it. I suppose it was my mistake for not checking before I left, but I was in a hurry and didn't think about it.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great Mexican Fare!

Dined on May 12, 2016

I met a business associate for dinner at Cantina Laredo. It was the first time either of us had dined there. Our server, Mohammed, was fabulous! Our appetizers, entrees and desserts were very good, looked attractive and well sized.

Tags: fit for foodies, great for outdoor dining, romantic, special occasion, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience2
service2
value2

Food order shorted!

Dined on April 25, 2016

Was shorted food on my order and acknowledged by the waitress but since my order was changed from corn tortillas to flour they would only provide me 2 tacos instead of 3! Ridiculous! I made 2 references to the situation, and she evidently felt this was way it was going to be. Did not argue, or ask for a manager because I feel like this must be typical for this location. Does not compare to location in Jacksonville, Florida at all.

food4
ambience4
service5
value5

Hiro was our hero!

vip
Dined on April 24, 2016

We had won a giftcard to Cantina Laredo & stopped by for dinner. I had the DELICIOUS avocado & artichoke enchiladas. They were a delicious, light option. Our server, Hiro, was attentive & delightful. Will be sure to ask for him in the future.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, great for lunch, neighborhood gem, hot spot
food4
ambience3
service4

Drink portions small and tons of ice

Dined on April 16, 2016

Drink portions small and tons of ice

food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Birthday dinner

Dined on April 8, 2016

I had an enjoyable experience for my birthday here. Mohammad was a great server and our food and drinks were fantastic. They even gave a desert for my birthday. Everyone had a wonderful time. I will come back.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion
food5
ambience5
service5

One of the best Mexican restaurants I ha ...

Dined on March 29, 2016

One of the best Mexican restaurants I have been to ever. Fresh and unique combinations, quality ingredients and spectacular service. A must visit when in town.

food4
ambience5
service5

Good food and service, nothing special t ...

Dined on March 25, 2016

Good food and service, nothing special though. The guacamole was excellent. Nice experience and I would go back.

food2
ambience2
service4
value3

Sloppy kitchen

Dined on March 13, 2016

Despite the front-end manager covering for the kitchen staff, the overall experience was nothing to write home about. Ordered an entree that was supposed to be "chicken stuffed with spinach and shrimp". What I really got was a chicken breast with some spinach tossed on top, smothered in a delicious sauce (a plus), and only two small shrimp--one of which hadn't been properly shelled and cleaned (still had full shell and appendages attached). Front-end manager did respond with sincerity and comped the entree. However, I think that this kind of oversight (not just one shrimp) but the lack of care about the presentation and food quality on the way out to the diner is indicative of a problem with the restaurant and team.

food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Review

Dined on March 12, 2016

My family and I used to eat here regularly, at least once a month, but lately it seems like the quality is not the same, the prices have increased and the wait staff hasn't been that great either. It's too bad because we really enjoyed going there as frequently as we used to.

food3
ambience3
service3
value3

GOOD FOOD! THE GUACAMOLE WAS GREAT FOR A ...

Dined on March 6, 2016

GOOD FOOD! THE GUACAMOLE WAS GREAT FOR A GROUP OF FRIENDS!

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, great for lunch
food3
ambience3
service2
value2

Unimpressive and loud.

Dined on March 6, 2016

Entire restaurant was so loud - I had to yell to be heard across the table. Appetizer arrived after cold entrees were delivered. Overall - unimpressive for the amount of money I dropped.

Tags: great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service3
value5

Excellent Food - Slow Service

Dined on February 28, 2016

Very unique and delicious entree and appetizer options as well as a fabulous drink menu. I highly recommend Cantina Laredo. Only half negative comment was our server was very slow and forgetful. I will return, and I'm sure the service will be better - no doubt about that.

Tags: romantic, neighborhood gem, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

The staff was so efficient, attentive an ...

vip
Dined on February 27, 2016

The staff was so efficient, attentive and prompt. Our meals were delicious.

food4
ambience4
service4
value3

Great food and ambiance. Terrible margaritas.

Dined on February 21, 2016

We visited Cantina Laredo's on a Sat night and it was busy, but not crazy busy and we were seated right away. The atmosphere, music, and decor was great. Its hard to find a Mexican restaurant that will pass muster for a date night, but this one did it with flying colors. The service was prompt and thorough. Chips and salsa was great and both of our dinners (chicken enchilada and carnitas taco) were delicious. The problem was the margaritas. We ordered the classic ones on the rocks and they were terribly watered down and didnt even have limes. We sent them back and they made them again and were a little better, but still not as good as the ones I can make at home with margarita mix! Hope it was just an inexperienced bartender because otherwise we really liked the restaurant.

Tags: romantic, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Surprisingly Good Upscale Mexican

Dined on February 17, 2016

Had dinner and the service was excellent, the food was GREAT. I will be back.

Tags: good for groups, romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience4
service3

Tacos al carbon. New favorite.

vip
Dined on February 15, 2016

Tacos al carbon. New favorite.

food4
ambience5
service5
value4

Feb 14 review

Dined on February 14, 2016

This was our 6th time at Cantina Laredo and one of the best dinners...we booked at 2:30 to get in before the rush and was pleasantly surprised they were not busy when we arrived. The service was 110% and the food was good as well. The past few times we dined there it was busy and loud, and hard to get a booth, so we enjoyed our time this go around. We were seated at a booth as requested. The table guacamole was perfect. The waiter was very nice and professional. Will make another visit to this restaurant in the next six months for sure.

Tags: romantic, special occasion, neighborhood gem
food5
ambience3
service5

Had requested a booth , but got half boo ...

Dined on February 14, 2016

Had requested a booth , but got half booth !! Everything else , food , service excellent !!

food5
ambience5
service5

Excellent as always!!! Our server even s ...

vip
Dined on February 14, 2016

Excellent as always!!! Our server even surprised us with a specialty dessert on the house - love this place!

food4
ambience3
service3
value2

You need to know the manager

vip
Dined on February 13, 2016

We had a 4:30 reservation on Valentines Day. Arrived at 4:25 and gave our name for the 4:30 reservation. We were told our table was not ready as it was not cleaned. We noted numerous other empty tables but were told we had to wait. Another guy came in who knew the manager as they greeted each other. He asked for a table for 5. Manager asked if he had a reservation and he said NO. Manager then looked around and immediately sat his group while we still waited on a table to be cleaned. Again numerous other tables were open but since I did not know the manager we continued to wait. Meal was okay. Service was fine. Paid with a credit card. Next day, I get a notice from Open Table that Cantina Laredo reported to them that we failed to show. So I had to take time to respond with table number, waitress name, and the credit card information. Then Cantina Laredo decided to tell Open Table we did show up. Again, I guess if you know the manager, you don't have this type of lousy service. We won't be back!

food5
ambience5
service4
value5

Excellent Mexican food

Dined on February 13, 2016

This place is a big step up from your standard Mexican restaurant. Have been here multiple times, and it is always a pleasure.

Tags: fit for foodies
food5
ambience5
service5
value3

Great food, great service

Dined on February 13, 2016

We came here on Valentine's weekend for a rare date without our toddler. We made reservations just in case. We are new to Columbus and this was recommended to us as we love Mexican food. It was fantastic! My beef was perfectly cooked, the queso was delicious and so were our margaritas. We will certainly go again. The service was great and our server Mohammad did a wonderful job. Perfect date night !

Tags: romantic, special occasion, hot spot
food5
ambience3
service5
value3

Great service

Dined on February 12, 2016

I believe our server's name was Mohamed and he was fantastic. His service was great as were his food recommendations. Thanks!

Tags: kid-friendly, good for groups, great for lunch
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

First Cheat Night!!

vip
Dined on February 9, 2016

I have been on a diet for 6 months and my first cheat night after 6 months was chips and quac from Cantina Laredo. It was great! (not as great as losing the weight) but always consistently great.

Tags: good for groups, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food2
ambience4
service2

First off... I'm not cheap; however, my ...

Dined on February 5, 2016

First off... I'm not cheap; however, my bill for two adults and two children was of the price you might pay for an upscale steak house... This is NOT an upscale steak house ... It's Mexican. PLEASE lower your prices... Holy cow! The restaurant could have been packed on a Friday had prices been reasonable.

food5
ambience5
service5

Our favorite Mexican food in Polaris are ...

Dined on January 31, 2016

Our favorite Mexican food in Polaris area! The fish tacos are awesome!

food4
ambience1
service2
value1

Too Loud

Dined on January 30, 2016

Impossibly loud, I could hear about 60% of what my closest diners were saying. We left early to escape the cacophony. The line at the desk was so long and slow, it took 10 minutes just to get to the front. And we had reservations!! Under-staffed.

Tags: kid-friendly, great for outdoor dining
food5
ambience5
service3
value4

great atmosphere

Dined on January 30, 2016

Food was great! Service was great! I will definitely return again!

Tags: romantic, special occasion
food2
ambience3
service2

Restaurant week. It was so crowded. Took ...

Dined on January 23, 2016

Restaurant week. It was so crowded. Took forever just to get water. Don't blame the waiter as this was clearly a management issue. Staff is unclear about what is gluten free. Couldn't get clear answers as to how things were cooked so a guest didn't even eat (he has Celiacs) . Won't go back anytime soon. Quality has really gone down. Too bad cause it was stellar when it first opened.

food4
ambience5
service5
value5

Fabulous Mexican fare at Cantina Laredo

Dined on January 20, 2016

My boyfriend and I visited Cantina Laredo for the first time during Columbus Restaurant Week. The atmosphere is trendy, comfortable and classy. The service was perfect, attentive and friendly. The food was very good. My boyfriend ordered the asada steak and cheese enchilada. Delicious! The seasonings on the steak were some of the best I've ever had. I ordered the pollo chipotle with mexican rice. The chicken was perfectly done and the dish was very good though not very original. The margaritas are freshly made from scratch and taste it. Best margaritas around! Will definitely be returning.

Tags: good for groups, hot spot
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

Wow! Fantastic service

vip
Dined on January 17, 2016

We visited for our anniversary and they treated us so well. I had put a note in my reservation and they went above and beyond to make sure we had a great experience. They allowed us to pick out of two choices, one in a private room in front of the fireplace and another in a busier room in front of the fireplace. Our waiter was fantastic! The food was delicious and I'm now telling everyone how impressed I am. Thank you for going above and beyond for two new parents that were celebrating. You gave us a priceless memory and earned two new customers for life

Tags: good for groups, great for outdoor dining, special occasion
food5
ambience4
service5
value5

Quiet night during the NCAA National Championship

Dined on January 12, 2016

Had a wonderful dinner here. Our first time. Very fresh food and wonderful service.

Tags: fit for foodies
food3
ambience4
service3
value2

Expensive

Dined on January 1, 2016

Food was good however, not much different than lower-priced mexican options such as El Vaquero. Margaritas were expensive.

Tags: hot spot
food5
ambience5
service4
value4

Great authentic Mexican menu

vip
Dined on December 31, 2015

Pleasantly surprised at how authentic the experience was. Lots of taco options, which was awesome for me. Table side guacamole and outstanding margarita list.

Tags: kid-friendly, fit for foodies, good for groups, special occasion, neighborhood gem, hot spot, vibrant bar scene
food4
ambience3
service3
value3

BUSY ON NEW YEAR'S EVE

Dined on December 31, 2015

I must wear a "give me a poor table" sign on my back. We asked for a booth when making the reservation on Open Table and we did get a booth. However, it was stuck in a corner by the entrance and across from the hostess stand. I asked if they had anything else in the fireplace room and was told they were booked. It gets REALLY BORING staring at a wall all through dinner. Maybe the server was new, as when we asked for recommendations he did not have any. As we ordered he said what we each ordered was good. Said the chef occasionally makes him a filet. We were not there for steak. His level of attentiveness was average. Asked a couple of times if everything was OK, but that was it. Food was tasty and hot. Portions adequate. Nice job on the food.

food2
ambience3
service5
value1

Over-priced food, little flavor

Dined on December 31, 2015

Prices were ridiculous. $14.99 for a cheese quesadilla, really!

Tags: fit for foodies, romantic
food5
ambience5
service5
value5

The restaurant's food was fresh and tasty.

Dined on December 16, 2015

I loved the guacamole that was made fresh in front of me. We had a party of 6 and it was a birthday celebration. The staff was helpful and friendly. The bartender even took pictures of us. My friend felt

Tags: good for groups, special occasion, great for lunch, vibrant bar scene
food5
ambience5
service5

Great meal

Dined on December 12, 2015

Had a great time with friends and the food was fantastic. Love their fresh guacamole. Service was excellent.

Tags: fit for foodies, good for groups

Report this review as inappropriate?

If you believe this review should be removed from OpenTable, please let us know and someone will investigate.